About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: 9017633700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cobbler
  • Spinach Salad
  • Chocolate Grenache
  • Goat Cheese Terrine
  • Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
  • Chocolate Ganache Tart
  • Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
  • Seared Bass Confit
  • Lamb Meatballs
Cobbler
Spinach Salad
Chocolate Grenache
Goat Cheese Terrine
Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
Chocolate Ganache Tart
Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
Seared Bass Confit
Lamb Meatballs

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
13 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East-Bartlett / Collierville / Germantown ›

special occasion (73)
romantic (56)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
notable wine list (37)
neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (19)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is incredible. I was hesitan ...

Dined 4 days ago

This place is incredible. I was hesitant at first but I will come back again and again when I come to Memphis.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant. We have been h ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Our favorite restaurant. We have been here many times to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and other milestones. We always enjoyed everything Erling Jensen has to offer. The service is above excellent. The menu selections are amazing. The portions are always generous. Every dining experience was outstanding. It is top notch. We love the Sunday night menu. It offers a great variety and great value for the money. Our waitress Peden was very professional, personable and friendly. She was great. She made our evening even more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent as always. Tried the crawfish ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent as always. Tried the crawfish bisque for the first time - excellent! Several of us had the cornmeal dusted oysters as an appetizer. They are the best we've ever had anywhere. I had the Dover Sole served with lump crabmeat. It's my favorite dish at Erling's. The others had the special which was Halibut. We split three desserts, the chocolate molten type dessert our favorite. Erling greeted us at the door, came by our table pnce, plus told us goodbye when we left. We had a great waiter who was very tall. P.S. The walnut rolls - fresh out of the oven - with real butter - are to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I had out of town friends and the dinner ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had out of town friends and the dinner was perfect! The food was great, our server was awesome, and the ambiance was just what we had hoped for!! Thanks so much!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

77th Birthday

Dined on June 10, 2016

I always book Erling Jensen's restaurant for special occasions because I know it will be a wonderful meal without any surprises. They provide extra touches throughout the meal and are great at celebrating special events! The wait staff is professional, kind, and concerned about you having a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time

Dined on June 6, 2016

2nd time to Erling Jentzen, this time to celebrate my son's birthday. Food and service were again outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster pancakes were awesome.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Lobster pancakes were awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great! No complaints from anyone in our group of 7 people!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my most expensive Memphis lawyer ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my most expensive Memphis lawyer to dinner here, he do loved the experience, he tore up a $5,000.00 invoice he planned on presenting to me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Wonderful!!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is probably some of the best I've ever had!!! A little pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, great food, great service.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had an extremely positive dining experience. Chef Erling Jensen met us a the door, and ensured we had a very nice time. My wife enjoyed her birthday celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Class Restaurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was exquisite. The staff was warm, professional, and socially down to earth. The dining experience is simply the best I have ever had. The crab cakes are second to none. The food presentation looks every bit as good as the food taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on May 22, 2016

Two thousand words are insufficient to express the lingering delight of our Erling Jensen meal. From the seating to the very end, the experience was all we looked forward to it being. Every morsel of every plate was delectable. My guest, who was celebrating my birthday, insisted upon my tasting the chocolate soufflé. I had never had nor had the desire to have soufflé of any kind. OH MY LORD!! Three days later and we each are savoring the decadent, dense and out of this world chocolate! What a standard for future soufflé endeavors to match! The salmon and lobster were cooked to my exact request AND were delivered to the table as though it were straight from the fire! Writing anything else would only be redundant. Our original plans were for May, 2015 but my guest had a medical emergency and did not make it to Memphis until May, 2016. I have no idea whether or not this review would have been the same; however, if "timing is everything", I am delighted that THIS time, we went to Erling Jensen!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. The menu is unique to this a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food. The menu is unique to this area, with exquisite ingredients and dishes mainly from central and northern Europe. The service was good, but I wish we would have been tended to less, it almost became annoying to have the waiter/server come by every 5 minutes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, Erling was an absolute deligh ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, Erling was an absolute delight -- the wine selection is impressive and the menu offers ample variety. All courses were prepared to perfection. We were celebrating our son's graduation (pop the champagne!) and Erling offers the perfect venue for such a special occasion. And we were tickled to have Erling himself stop by our table a couple of times -- very nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the place to go in Memphis for t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is the place to go in Memphis for that 'special night'. The service, ambiance and menu are absolutely magnificent. This restaurant is a bit pricey for some, but you get what you pay for. The crab cakes (Appetizer) can make a meal by themselves. The rack of lamb was perfect. Ask for 'Too Tall', the most marvelous attendant in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our New Favorite

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Erlings has become a favorite for my husband and me. Whether it is a buffalo burger with truffle french fries--my favorite, or something more fancy or complicated, the food is one of the best in Memphis. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Choices for brunch were varied and offered something for everyone in our group. The accompaniments were perfect and really added to the main items. All the food was prepared well and food was not overcooked or too salty which can be a problem at many places. Although a set menu the food seemed very much made to order. Service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spot in Memphis

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always great food and fantastic service. Chef Jensen is amazing and fully involved in the experience of his guests. The food never disappoints and Too Tall always impresses. Thanks for a great time once again

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef. Great Food. Great Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined at Erling Jensen's the first time ever, for our 50th wedding anniversary dinner meal. The staff was courteous, very attentive and made you feel like visiting royalty. The food was exceptional, well prepared and very tasty. Their wine meal of 5 courses with a different wine for each course was excellent. Their scallops were excellent and done properly and delicious. The restaurant was quiet, and pleasantly dimly lit. The food was also very nicely presented on the plates. If you dine at Erling Jensens, prepare yourself for pleasing taste sensations and combinations of food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best

Dined on April 29, 2016

Erling Jensen is truly one of the best restaurants in Memphis. After my first time enjoying dinner there a few years ago, it has quickly become one of my favorite places for dinner. They have an amazing wine selection with a weekly wine dinner on Friday night. They serve a wide array of appetizers, salads, soups and entrees to meet every need. The food and service is of the highest quality. Too Tall is our favorite server. Please save room for dessert as you won't find a better soufflé in town!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Nice restaurant but wasn't for us

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I enjoy fine dining and are not to strangers to nicer restaurants. Unfortunately Erling Jensen was a little to eclectic/different for our tastes. To be fair, we have friends that love this restaurant and would highly recommend it to others. My biggest issue was the way the food was prepared or more specifically the angus filet. It is red wine infused and that is exactly all I could taste. It is unfortunate that the incredible flavor of a filet of this quality is completely hidden behind the red wine. I asked my wife to try it and while she liked the taste a little more then I did, she agreed that it so overwhelmed the filet it was all she could taste. My wife ordered the special for the evening, the red fish with lobster. She was also not very impressed with her choice. In the middle of the meal we found ourselves listing all the other restaurants we wish we would have chosen that evening. While the service was incredibly slow, by design as far as we could discern, they were also very nice. We choose not to say anything about our meal because we were served exactly what we ordered and as described in the menu. I am convinced that if we would have decided to say something about our meal the restaurant manager/staff would have been more then willing to serve something more to our liking. I feel this one was on us and next time I will do a little more research when trying a new 'upscale' restaurant. My wife asked me to be careful in reviewing this establishment because our friends love it so much and the quality of the food was excellent. Bottom line, if you love a great steak house and have a limited palate as it appears I do, you might want to take a good look at the menu before choosing here.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of the best

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

There are quite a few restaurants in Memphis, some quite good and notable. Erling's is one of those. Situated in a former home, the inside is quiet, linen on the tables, knowledgeable person greeting you at the door, and while I have my favorite waitress, I have never had a bad server at anytime. The menu has a lot of variety, including Foie Gras, wild game, and one of the few places I can get Sole, with crab on the side. All in all, it is one of our "go to" places when we want a really good meal with no sense of rushing you. To top it off, I drive Porches, and so does Erling the owner and chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Sunday night dinner! We were ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonderful Sunday night dinner! We were hosting relatives from Italy and Norway, and our guests enjoyed the meal as much as conversing in Danish with Chef Jensen. They commented on how impressed they were with the food and the service. They travel quite a bit and everything met the high standards to which they are accustomed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as well as service.

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was excellent as well as service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

Learned about Erling Jensen through a casual conversation with some friends. Inviting, friendly and professional staff. Food quality was outstanding. My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

From the moment we were greeted until we walked out the door, the staff was attentive & intuitive, not to mention - the food was awesome!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant without being stuffy

Dined on April 6, 2016

Our experience was wonderful and relaxing. The food was amazingly delicious, generously portioned, and beautifully presented. The staff was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The addition of the happy birthday message on the dessert plate was also a very nice touch. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurant

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had an amazing birthday celebration for my boyfriend. Service and food are implacable. Can't wait to be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding meal, the wine list is quite ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding meal, the wine list is quite comprehensive. The chef/owner is on site and does visit the tables. Very good restaurant

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It's usually the best restaurant in Memp ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

It's usually the best restaurant in Memphis on consistency . But food was kinda bland that night didn't see working don't know if he wasn't there or what .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

“Celebrated my mom's 60th Birthday!”

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food and service! The staff was very accommodating. They (including the chef) checked on us continuously to make sure everything was enjoyable. Crab cakes, asparagus soup & asparagus salad were magnificent! Enjoyed the lobster pancake, walnut bread, and seafood bisque as well. I would definitely go back! Hats off to the chef and staff!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true restaurant !

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Erling's is the Premier restaurant in town with superb service, and notable wine list. While the menu might create challenges as it does contain many off the beaten path choices, the restaurant does its best to accommodate. Ask for TooTall as he is just the best server.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Guy serving us was second to none. Very, ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Guy serving us was second to none. Very, very good

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I like to go there on specia ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

My wife and I like to go there on special occasions as the place is somewhat pricey but we feel we are getting our money's worth.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Erling Jensens- one of our favorite restaurants

Dined on March 16, 2016

The ambiance is so intimate and romantic. The service is usually outstanding (however we werent really impressed with our last server). The food is exquisite and very well prepared. The chef always visits our table. The food is pricey but we expect that with this level of fine dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Birthday celebration! A friend and I sh ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Birthday celebration! A friend and I shared Quail appetizer, Oyster salad, Dover sole, and Kahlua Soufflé. All marvelous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magical

Dined on March 10, 2016

What a magical and magnificent evening. The food was outstanding. Our Server, Scott, was Simply the Best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wonderful

Dined on March 7, 2016

We especially like the 3-course Sunday special for $38. The first Sunday of every month there is also no corkage fee so you can bring your own wine for no extra charge. The food is creative and delicious. Our favorite waiter is Too Tall. He is always pleasant and attentive. We were there for 3 hours and enjoyed every minute. Top notch in every way! I think it is the perfect way to spend a Sunday evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not up to snuff

Dined on February 28, 2016

Considering reputation as well as many past excellent experiences, our last visit here was not up to snuff. Service was surprisingly slow and more inattentive as the evening wore on. By the end, another server had to take, over as ours had basically deserted us without comment. In retrospect, I should have talked to the host. There was a dinner party in an adjacent room so maybe that was diverting attention, but its no excuse for a place like this. The food was divided in quality. The salmon with risotto my wife had was excellent; the lamb shank special I had was good but too salty- another surprise considering the chef's gift with lamb chops, which I consider the best in town. The underling grits were extremely creamy and tasty. The crab cake appetizer was outstanding, as always. This is still a really nice place and we have had many great dinners here, so I want to cut them some slack and consider this aberrant, but I felt I needed to comment given the price and reputation. If you've never been here, its worth checking out, but you might ask around and find out if anyone else who frequents this place has had a similar experience of late.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.