About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: 9017633700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cobbler
  • Spinach Salad
  • Chocolate Grenache
  • Goat Cheese Terrine
  • Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
  • Lamb Meatballs
  • Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
  • Chocolate Ganache Tart
  • Seared Bass Confit
Cobbler
Spinach Salad
Chocolate Grenache
Goat Cheese Terrine
Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
Lamb Meatballs
Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
Chocolate Ganache Tart
Seared Bass Confit

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
13 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We like this place so much that we went ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We like this place so much that we went out of our way, coming back to Maryland from a trip out west, to stop here specifically to have another fabulous meal. It did not disappoint. The sweet bread and foie gras appetizers were simply out of this world, and my salmon risotto was amazingly complex, every morsel a reward. Chef came out twice to check on us which was most appreciated. Everything about the food is perfect. It was a busy Saturday night and we were not quite in the first seating, leading to a little bit of hiccups in the service, nothing major, and we would still plan to come back a third time on our next trip through Memphis. You should, too, if it's all about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants in Memphis

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best restaurants in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely great meal, Buffalo Ri ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had an absolutely great meal, Buffalo Ribeye special was killer! The halibut special was not too bad as well, actually, it was also excellent! Our server Paden was on top of her game, could not ask for a better server/spokesperson for this restaurant. If you want upscale food and drinks, this IS YOUR PLACE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday event for my wife with 4 other ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Birthday event for my wife with 4 other family members. Great food and great evening!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! HUGE portions!! Just wis ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food! HUGE portions!! Just wish it was less noisy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular meal and service! This was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Spectacular meal and service! This was the top rated restaurant in Memphis on Open Table so we decided to go there. We were not disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my all-time Memphis favorites. We ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of my all-time Memphis favorites. We love the food, service and atmosphere of EJ.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried this restaurant as it was bille ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We tried this restaurant as it was billed as one of the top (fit for foodies) list. We tried the Sweetbreads appetizer unfortunately one was bad. It had a bad smell on the plate. The restaurant was kind enough to take off the bill but at this level is should not have made it to the plate. Entrees were very good. The Dover Sole meuniere was wonderful! Server had quite a few tables and was really hustling. Didn't like the small rooms as the restaurant was crowded. Wish we had a better experience to report! If in town again I may give it another shot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We had the Friday night wine dinner, wit ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had the Friday night wine dinner, with 5 small courses paired with wine -- spectacular!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another perfect and enjoyable dinner! A ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Another perfect and enjoyable dinner! A great value and MEMPHIS Gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, friendly and knowledgeable wait st ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice, friendly and knowledgeable wait staff.

Erling himself was very visible.

Made my wife feel special on her birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service never felt rushed. Del ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service never felt rushed. Delicious options both surf and turf.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the Dover Sole Meuniere and the S ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had the Dover Sole Meuniere and the Salmon dish. Both were well prepared with a very attractive presentation. There was a very tasty amuse bouche and a refreshing sorbet between courses. The bread was warm, of a couple of different types and quite fresh and hearty. The peach strudel was not flaky as with an apple strudel--but maybe it was not intended to be so. Overall a very good meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Memphis. We particularly appreciate the "Sundays Are Special" menu, a prix fixe menu at a very attractive price available at dinner on Sundays. The quality of ingredients is superior and the dishes are very varied and creative.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always depend on Erilng Jensen's ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

You can always depend on Erilng Jensen's for a superior meal, innovative menu, and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for my aunt's 85th birthday. She ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We came for my aunt's 85th birthday. She absolutely loved the food, the atmosphere, and Erling came over and greeted her before and after dinner. She didn't think she wanted dessert, but they brought out freshly baked chocolate chip cookies on a plate with a candle and Happy Birthday beautifully written in chocolate. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Disabled Access, Vegan, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were our Anniversary. This restaura ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were our Anniversary. This restaurant was recommended by a friend. They accomodated my request for flowers for my wife. The food and service were awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service top notch. Creative dishes.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service top notch. Creative dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience we've had in Mem ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best dining experience we've had in Memphis in years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erling Jensen is an amazing chef and he ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Erling Jensen is an amazing chef and he has a beautiful quiet restaurant. Anything you put in your mouth is wonderful and the service is impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Sunday specials. Great options ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved the Sunday specials. Great options to choose from and did not disappoint. Good sized portions with the typical attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the little side room a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated in the little side room and while there were only 12 other people in the room, the other people were not aware that their voices carried inside that room. I could hear and understand everything that was being said at the table at the opposite side of the room. I think this is prevalent in most public places as people forget they are not at home. Poor manners as far as I am concerned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first Friday Wine Dinner. ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first Friday Wine Dinner. The choices were excellent, the wine pairings were delicious. Erling Jensen's has become a very affordable choice for gourmet dining, now that they offer a 3 course dinner every Sunday for $38 ( NO corkage fee on the first Sunday of the month!) This is my new favorite restaurant. :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go to restaurant when in Mem ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is our go to restaurant when in Memphis. Great food always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful outing for our annive ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonderful outing for our anniversary. The 3 course dinner was exceptional. And while our lamb and buffalo tenderloin was cooked exceptionally by was outshone Bunche halibut dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us were there for my in-laws 63r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Four of us were there for my in-laws 63rd wedding anniversary. He is blind and she does not get around great. The staff was so considerate and accommodating. The chef came out to greet them, which made them feel so special. The waitress, Sadonca (not sure how to spell) was fabulous and so attentive. The food was absolutely mouth watering. My first visit there and will def be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a spectacular dining experience.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Just a spectacular dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything outstanding however my wife's ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

everything outstanding however my wife's halibut was very dry but the sauce was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious as always. The menu for the F ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious as always. The menu for the Friday night wine dinner was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent service, very attentive to det ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent service, very attentive to detail. Nice cozy atmosphere, worked well for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have never, ever had a bad experience ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have never, ever had a bad experience at Erling Jensen. From the moment you enter until the moment you leave the service is impeccable. The food is outstanding! Erling practically lives at the restaurant ensuring everything is perfect. One of my favorite restaurants in Memphis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this restaurant. The service was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I LOVE this restaurant. The service was amazing and the food was even better! I can't wait to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Erling never fails to provide the best ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Erling never fails to provide the best cuisine !! Every person you encounter from the moment you arrive are extreme professional , friendly and accommodating in every way . I love the updates to the fresh decor as well . Five stars !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Loved the palat ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was excellent. Loved the palate cleansing after each course

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service that was provided began incr ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service that was provided began incredible - starting at the parking lot with the level of professionalism and sincerity that the security had. When inside, our server was very attentive and sincere, as well as the server assistants. The food was absolutely phenomenal, it's definitely a place I will be going to again. The night was topped off when the head chef came out into the dining room and checked on every single table with actual care and concern. What an amazing restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic from the time you ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was fantastic from the time you walk through the door. Very special to have the chef and owner check on us and how we liked the meal. Desserts were fabulous also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my favorite place in Memphis. Ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my favorite place in Memphis. Everything is fresh, exquisitely prepared and is as delicious as the presentation. We are never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good restaurant. Taste was a litt ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good restaurant. Taste was a little bit salty, but it is personal matter.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I were in Memphis for a spec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I were in Memphis for a special occasion and decided to try this restaurant. Everything was excellent. Crawfish Bisque, scallops, halibut, soufflé - delicious. Service was the best we have had in a long time. We hope to return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at EJ is more than just going out ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Dining at EJ is more than just going out for dinner; it is an event. Presentation, flavors, serving size-always perfect! I very much appreciate the Sunday 3 course, set price dinners, these offer quite a few choices and are always something to look forward to. We always ask to be seated in Scott's section. He is professional, knowledgeable, and always fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.