Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Romantic (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy the Friday night wine menus. Great way to try interesting wines and the food is always superb. The entire staff demonstrates their desire for you to enjoy yourself and pamper you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Love this place. Sunday night dinner is a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Try the specials. And try something out of your comfort zone because it will most likely be good here. Especially the desserts. One more tip, if you like your steak medium-medium well, go ahead and ask for well done, virtually all meats are cooked a little on the red side. Otherwise, excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This restaurant is always fabulous in every way! Perfect for any occasion or just a casual bite in the bar area!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great restaurant. I was in town for work from the northeast. I was expecting bbq but was steered this direction. Fantastic recommendation. I would go as often as possible if I lived near by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Easily the best restaurant in Memphis. The chef is outstanding and visits every table to welcome his guests. The food is perfectly cooked every time. It is creative and delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I choose to dine here because of the comfortable quiet atmosphere. The food is always over the top exceptional! A true dining experience! So many restaurants now are very noisy! Erling Jensen is a try "Fine Dining " experience!
Thank You!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Understated elegance. Impeccable service- our server, Satoko was superb. Menu items unique, flavorful and well executed. From foie gras to antelope- everything was nothing less than exquisite . Chef came to table side three times for an unobtrusive visit to ensure all was to standards. The restaurant was was pleasantly upscale without being "stuffy". If I lived closer, I would dine here weekly. I cannot commend this restaurant vigorously enough. Fine dining is done in an exemplary fashion. Plaudits for Mr. Jensen and his staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Haven't been here in a while, the food was great, service impeccable, and ambiance was perfect!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Best restaurant in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent special occasion venue with fine personal service(Rachel) food herb enhanced! Especially enjoyed kiwi tart for dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Too Tall was an amazing server! The antelope filet was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We chose Erling's to celebrate our 49th anniversary. The service was impeccable as usual. Lobster pancakes and crispy oyster salads were fine appetizers. Several specials were offered that were very tempting. One of us enjoyed antelope loin that was exceptionally tender and delicious. The halibut entree from the menu was also excellent. We shared a special chocolate dessert that was elegantly inscribed to commemorate our anniversary. A memorable night!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Overall very good. Was a little disappointed with the dover sole (too many capers) as well as the escargot (not enough garlic and juice). No big deal and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful evening enjoyed by 2 couples. Our dinners were perfectly prepared and served by an attentive smiling server.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent experience and food, as always. Scott provided superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food, service, staff impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Erling's has the best food in town and is the best value. Erling is personable, greets his customers personally to check on their satisfaction, and is extraordinarily flexible in his preparations.
He has awesome Sunday nite dinners and Fri nite wine dinners.
Erling's price point is extremely reasonable. Portions are very large

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

All four of us agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever eaten.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent service by Scott. He was awesome. He was so polite, professional, friendly, and super attentive. We were there for birthday celebration and he acknowledged my husband's birthday multiple times and thank us for dining. The entire staff was amazing. Mr. Jensen himself came out and greeted multiple tables and thanked the patrons for coming in. We had the Sunday night menu and all the items were delicious. We also had the lobster pancake for appetizer. It was a great evening. Only slight complaint was we sat at main dining area and 2 large tables next to us were very loud. Overall, our experience was super.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our meal was perfect as always. Our server, Shannon, is the best!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have never been disappointed with Chef Erling's menus. And the service is outstanding as well. Such a treat to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Probably one of the best restaurants I've been to. Great menu, staff and chef Jensen came to our table to make sure we were happy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As always, the food and service was excellent. It's our favorite spot and the staff is so personable. We love this gen of a restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and nice atmosphere. Service was very professional and knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very good atmosphere and food however prices can be more aligned with food portions. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

All I can say is, I'm glad I found this place and we will DEFINITELY be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Erling Jensen's has been our "go-to" choice for years for special celebrations. It never fails to provide perfection. This visit, the antelope was new to the menu and a spectacular dish, as was the crawfish bisque appetizer. It's ALL GOOD!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely spectacular!!! We have been going there for years and have NEVER been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My husband and I have enjoyed Erling Jensen's for years and it continues to top our list of favorite places to dine. The food and service is consistently amazing and we're looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

If there is something you want that is not on their menu they will be happy to prepare it for you! Just let Erling and his staff now a few days ahead. We have requested Bouillabaisse for our anniversary dinner for several years now and it is both AWESOME AND AMAZING!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Outstanding Fine Dining. Chef was very attentive and looked for feedback. It was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our food and dessert were not that great but the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Phenomenal. The portions were well-sized, and there were several flavors during the course of the meal that I experienced for the first time. The service was wonderful, and the atmosphere was comfortable. I felt like I could really relax and breathe slowly. It is obvious that the staff pays close attention to detail. It was a privilege to be there. From now on, I will recommend Erling Jensen to anyone looking for a memorable dinner. Thank you all.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food was great, but Shannon was not the best server we've had. She seemed out of it and forgot a few things. She overcharged us more drinks than we had and messed up the checks a few times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

excellent had Sunday menu it was perfect the three course meal! Went for Birthday it was special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love this restaurant. Always great food and the service is great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Birthday celebration. More noise than usual. Otherwise outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.