About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: (901) 763-3700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Romantic (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Private Room (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service at Erling's never fails to exceed expectations. We always have a wonderful time. Highly recommend this establishment whether you want to sit at the bar or have a sit down meal. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We loved it as always. We are never disappointed. Consistently great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Memphis' best fine dining restaurant - hands down. My husband and I always choose Erling's for date night. On the rare occasion that we bring our two toddlers along, the staff could not be more welcoming. Love, love, love Erling's and his staff!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Will be back , food is always amazing. One of the gems in the restaurant business.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day and my Fiancé was blown away. The food was amazing and the service was top notch!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Erling Jensen has been in business for 20 years in Memphis. In the restaurant world, making it 20 years is quite a feat. The reason he has succeeded is simple - quality food, beautifully presented and served with care. Still our favorite after all these years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Impeccable service and outstanding set menu. A fantastic Valentine's date meal I will not soon forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was unaware that they had a set, limited menu for Valentine's Day, and was rather disappointed with the selection. The food tasted as though it had been prepared in advance and was served lukewarm and soggy. The selection was extremely limited and the food was mediocre. For an $85 dinner per person, my expectations were pretty high and the food didn't deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Erling's is a Memphis treasure. Every time we eat at Erling's, we say that we should come here more often!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful meal! Service great - music great.

Perfect Valentine's night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Erling's never disappoints. The service is outstanding and the food is very good. I have a gluten intolerance and they go out of their way to accommodate me without making me feel like it's a bother. The chef is very friendly and frequently walks through the restaurant and greets diners. It's our favorite restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Erling's has been a 5 Star experience every time I've gone. The food is incredible and the service is phenomenal. This is by far the best place to eat in Memphis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was above average, but for the price it was a let down. In my opinion, it costs double of what it's worth. I've been to restaurants with much better food and it didn't cost this much. If you are looking for a restaurant that is focused on the quality of its food then I would look elsewhere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Scott was fantastic! With recommendations from start to finish, our dinner was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Initially was seated in the Bar Area that was like sitting in a library where everyone could hear what each other was saying. We asked to be seated somewhere else which the staff was very accommodating to our request. Shannon the server and the food was great. It was a combination birthday-valentines dinner for my wife.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I eat out a lot at the finer restaurants in Memphis, and we travelbalot too. For some reason we rarely go to EJ. We are there the other night and it was absolutely incredible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

As always, Erling Jensen's does not disappoint. The service was impeccable, the food delicious and inventive and the atmosphere soothing and comfortable. It is expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always excellent food and service here. My wife tried the wine paired 5 course meal and it was great with excellent wines. My filet was perfect. Service is first rate from the host to the wait staff to the valet parking. There are even extras served (We had a crab salsa on cracker to begin, and a small scoop of sherbet before our entrees to cleanse the pallet).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

An evening out with my wife. Ordered dessert with our entrée. Great food! Great service! Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! Friendly atmosphere. Very attentive staff. Well done Mr Jensen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was excellent and friendly. I appreciated being able to split plates on salad and appetizers

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have always had a wonderful dining experience at this restaurant. The staff is extremely attentive from the moment that you drive up until you have exited the property. The food is second to none. Being greeted by Mr. Jensen truly adds to our overall experience. I have and will continue to recommend this restaurant as the restaurant to visit while in the Memphis area. Truly a "Jewel"!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wild meats and well constructed plates. Every detail is taken care of for your special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Scott, the waiter was a bit pretentious suggesting how lucky we were that he got our order in in front of a larger group. Just unnecessary... But as always such a wonderful place to have an amazing meal. Love the Sunday dinner package, just perfect amount of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

As compared to other restaurants Erling Jenson is on the pricier side but it comes with excellent value. The service is amazing. The food is some of the best (and I'm comparing to restaurants in cities like New York). It has great atmosphere and great food, wine and dessert choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I cannot say enough about the service, food, and overall experience at Erling Jensen. This was our first time, and we will be returning. We were celebrating a birthday, and they were extremely accommodating for the special occasion. The food was cooked perfectly. Our waitress was extremely helpful making suggestions. We highly recommend the crab cakes as an appetizer and the soufflé or apple strudel for dessert. That being said, I'm convinced you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. No details have been overlooked here. Thank you for an absolutely top notch experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The cocktails, food (bison ribeye, sea bass), and wine were all outstanding. The service was above and beyond. Erling came by our table twice. When our leftovers were misplaced, the kitchen prepared another full meal for us to take home. They made our anniversary special and we will be returning often.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

English pea soup very sour and Luke warm.

Crab cocktail drowned in Holl. Sauce.

Sea bass , lobster risotto cold when served.

Service very folksie and not formal for the setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Crabmeat soup was amazing! Buffalo tenderloin was sensational!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is an upscale place. It is a Memphis landmark, really. The service is fantastic - the food unparalleled. We can't go that often but the food and ambience is absolutely worth saving up for!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and excellent service. We split each course - service was very gracious about it and we had plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was a Anniversary Dinner for my wife and I. Neither of us had eaten here before and I knew I wanted a Special Place for our 19th Anniversary. We were greeted at the front door and welcomed inside and promptly seated. Our server was very knowledgeable in his recommendations and Mr. Jensen came out 5 times to make sure all was good and I was Fantastic!!! We both left with a feeling that our patronage was sincerely Welcomed and we will definitely be returning!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was amazing as usual. The new black grouper was perfection. Impeccable service and spot on drinks.

Always a great choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was great, but we had to wait 34 minutes to be seated on an 08:30 reservation. I literally had a conversation with my family around 20 minutes and decided we were taking our business elsewhere at 35 minutes. We were finally seated just before we were walking out the door. I am not sure if they over booked or accepted too many walk-ins, but clearly that is far too long to wait. We were offered multiple apologies, but that was it. I have had much smaller problems at other restaurants and they automatically comp a dish or desserts and we never complain. We are not those type of people. Our waitress literally asked us at one point if we wanted a salad removed from our bill because the fried cheese on it was nasty. She brought it up, not us. We said no and surprise it was still on the bill. This is not a question you ask a party that has already waited 34 minutes to be seated. You just comp it without a second thought. This experience will definitely weigh the next time we make a decision as to what top restaurant we want to eat at that evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Service was excellent, food was a bit under cooked, Buffalo tenderloin ordered med rare came out rare, scallops were raw in the middle. Whatever your taste is, order one up. Been there before with no issues and will go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The restaurant is a great place for a business meal or an intimate dinner with a loved one. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

It was an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The menu selections were creative and complex, the preparation was excellent, plating for my wife's meal deserved a picture and we took one! Service was excellent. We're in our 60's and have enjoyed many dining experiences in the US and Europe but my wife and I decided this is probably in the top 10 of anywhere we've dined.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Hard to beat the food Erling serves. It's such a great dining experience in Memphis. Best local restaurant in Memphis hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This is my go to place for dinner always. Love the food and this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We were a group of six friends, just having a get-together, and happy to be going to the Sunday night prix fixe dinner, which is very good value. The food is excellent, and the service was first class by our waiter, Ken. There are little surprises throughout the meal, little "amuse-bouches" which makes this restaurant more like a European one. Highly recommended, and will go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding service with creative dishes prepared flawlessly. Well thought out wine list. A totally enjoyable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a delightful experience when dining at EJensen's. This was a special occasion....birthday of a friend. The 4 of us had appetizers and entrees, then we shared the wonderful chocolate soufflé. Each of us had a different entree...all large portions and delicious food. Our server was attentive, witty and professional. He did an outstanding job.

Scott, I think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Had an excellent meal at Erling Jensen consisting of 2 appetizers and a lovely glass of Sauterne. The first appetizer was the jumbo lump crab meat with hollandaise accompanied by the caviar. It was delightful with a huge portion of crab. I followed that with Seared La Belle Farm Foie Gras, Strawberry Tomato Sorbet, Balsamic Honey Strawberries, and Brioche â tete. Absolutely incredible flavors. The foie gras was seared perfectly and melted in my mouth. The sorbet was incredible along with the balsamic glazed strawberries. Yana was a terrific server, amazingly professional pleasant and friendly. Erling came out of the kitchen on 2 occasions to ask if I was enjoying the meal. The restaurant was packed, a testament to it's amazing cuisine!

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent meal and great service equal a wonderful evening. They also have a very good wine list. It's our go-to place for a special meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

When it is time to celebrate a special occasion, Erling Jensen The Restaurant is our place to go. This time, it was to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary. The service, food ,drinks, and ambience were impeccable. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped inside the door. We had a most delightful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I can honestly say that when you want the best dining experience you want Erling Jensen! Quick tip ask for Sotoka if you want the best service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding menu, prepared with obvious meticulousness. Scott was our waiter and was very personable and attentive. Mr. Jensen was very sensitive to our concern over the derivation of foie gras and graciously allowed a scallop substitution to this course on their Friday Night Wine Dinner menu. Even the desserts had Mr. Jensen's initials in chocolate on the side of each dish. My wife, whose birthday we were celebrating, was absolutely ecstatic with this choice of restaurant for the occasion. We will certainly be visiting with them again!!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The occasion this time was my wife's 60th birthday. Even so, this visit was special - it was also Erling's 20th anniversary for opening the restaurant. He served a 5-course prix fixe menu, which was absolutely out of this world throughout. We have been to this restaurant before, but never enjoyed it as much as we did this time (still, it is among the top 100 restaurants in the country, so even on a regular day, it is definitely worth a visit.) A very nice gesture was that engraved champagne flutes was given to all guests on exiting. This was truly a memorable experience. Congratulations Erling - many happy returns!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.