Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: (901) 763-3700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Authentic (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Seasonal (8)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding Fine Dining. Chef was very attentive and looked for feedback. It was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our food and dessert were not that great but the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Phenomenal. The portions were well-sized, and there were several flavors during the course of the meal that I experienced for the first time. The service was wonderful, and the atmosphere was comfortable. I felt like I could really relax and breathe slowly. It is obvious that the staff pays close attention to detail. It was a privilege to be there. From now on, I will recommend Erling Jensen to anyone looking for a memorable dinner. Thank you all.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food was great, but Shannon was not the best server we've had. She seemed out of it and forgot a few things. She overcharged us more drinks than we had and messed up the checks a few times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

excellent had Sunday menu it was perfect the three course meal! Went for Birthday it was special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love this restaurant. Always great food and the service is great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Birthday celebration. More noise than usual. Otherwise outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Chef prepared an amazing antelope and was in the dining rooms engaging with guests. The saucier is fabulous. Scott, our server was coming cal and added to our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was excellent as always. That's why we choose Erling's for our special moments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As usual the meal did not disappoint. The red fish and crawfish étouffée dish was not only delectable but a vision to behold! The bison ribeye was just as tasty for breakfast as it was for dinner. The portion was huge! And the oyster salad shocked me it. I thought there would be two or three oysters, there were a dozen at least. Our personal favorites the lobster pancake and the chocolate soufflé were as scrumptious as ever!! The only downside of the evening...a large group was just too loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Little disappointed with my bill we were there for the Sunday night special and it was 38.00 each for two people. We had 3 drinks and one glass of wine and two coffee and out bill ended up 132.00. that mean on average on drinks and coffee were 12.00 plus each I think that is a little much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always divine! Great service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was wonderful as always! I love being able to have something different. I had the antelope and it was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was outstanding and Too-Tall, our server, was wonderful. However, the noise level was horrible and made for a less-than-enjoyable experience. This was not our first time having Sunday dinner here, but it may well be our last for quite a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Awesome service and even better food! The bison sirloin was the most tender and best seasoned cut of meat I've ever tasted! The chef even came out and greeted each table. And the Brandy Alexander...perfect! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My favorite place in Memphis!! I highly recommend it, especially on Sunday nights with a great Sunday menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fabulous service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent as usual. I have been dining here for 20 years and it remains my favorite. Each course was prepared perfectly for my tastes. Service was very good with a nice balance between attentiveness and letting us talk. Erling is not cheap but imo he is worth it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a 5-star experience. Our favorite in Memphis.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Phenomenal experience. Request Yana as your server! She is delightful and exceptional at her job. Chef Jenseng made frequent visits to our table to ensure we were completely satisfied and happy we had chosen his establishment to share an evening with. This is our new favorite restaurant. We will most certainly return. The food was magnificent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have eaten at Erling Jensen once or twice a year for more years than I can remember and we have never had a meal that was less than incredible. This occasion was my daughter's birthday and her first gourmet dining experience. The staff helped to make it an unforgettable evening for us all.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always an amazing experience. Everyone enjoyed their meals. And desserts were amazing. Especially loved the blueberry cobbler.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Erling's has incredible food, a friendly staff, and great ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was covered in a thick dark sauce that took away from the taste of the steak and lobster. More of a winter sauce too. Not very seasonal. Wasn't very impressed this time

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

A great meal with great service.

Hate to share our find but the Sunday night special is a great. Still expensive but more than worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We have never had anything but incredible meals here. The food and the service are always top notch. The atmosphere is perfect for both formal occasions and less formal dining. Our waiter made the evening for us. He was friendly, knowledgable, and a consummate professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our dinner was amazing. Scotty was very attentive and gave great dining suggestions. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary- delightful server, wonderful food! Always our Favorite place to celebrate!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our second time to visit Erling Jensen for the tasting menu. The food was creative and delicious, and we really appreciated the wine manager's explanations of each wine before each course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the best gems in Memphis. Great food and atmosphere. Very creative Menu. excellent wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is a gem of a restaurant hidden back off of Poplar at the end of Yates. The lamb chops are a specialty and very good. Other offerings are excellent as well. The service was great as well. Have now eaten there twice and will be going back. Prices are up there but worth it for the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful meal (as always). A diner gets fed at this restaurant. Service was impeccable (as always)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Quality place. Clever combinations. Decent WBG list. Very nice overall, though a little loud for my 80-year-old parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Shame on me for not going here more often. Delightful!
Superior waitstaff. Knowledgeable, non- intrusive and timely.
Crab cakes a must but share, so you have room to taste more. Lamb was as good as I have had in this city.
Anxious to do the wine dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved it but save up before going. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were delighted with our choice! On the occasion of our 39th wedding anniversary, we could not have asked for a more perfect evening. Thanks to everyone!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Erling's is an exceptional restaurant with exceptional food and service. The best! The only reason I rated the noise level less than the best is that there were 3 loud tables around us that not only were loud with each other, they decided to have group, cross table conversations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was superb. Nothing wrong on that front. The service was a little slow, but at least the waiter was not overbearing and bothersome.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Erling Jensen was by far the best fine dining restaurant we dined at in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant! Great food and service!! This was our first visit but we will be back! Chef Erling Jenson came out to speak when we arrived and again when we were departing! How delightful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.