About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: 9017633700x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cobbler
  • Spinach Salad
  • Chocolate Grenache
  • Goat Cheese Terrine
  • Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
  • Lamb Meatballs
  • Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
  • Chocolate Ganache Tart
  • Seared Bass Confit
Cobbler
Spinach Salad
Chocolate Grenache
Goat Cheese Terrine
Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
Lamb Meatballs
Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
Chocolate Ganache Tart
Seared Bass Confit

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
13 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East-Bartlett / Collierville / Germantown ›

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (69)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (16)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best dining experience we've had in Mem ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best dining experience we've had in Memphis in years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erling Jensen is an amazing chef and he ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Erling Jensen is an amazing chef and he has a beautiful quiet restaurant. Anything you put in your mouth is wonderful and the service is impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Sunday specials. Great options ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved the Sunday specials. Great options to choose from and did not disappoint. Good sized portions with the typical attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the little side room a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated in the little side room and while there were only 12 other people in the room, the other people were not aware that their voices carried inside that room. I could hear and understand everything that was being said at the table at the opposite side of the room. I think this is prevalent in most public places as people forget they are not at home. Poor manners as far as I am concerned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first Friday Wine Dinner. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first Friday Wine Dinner. The choices were excellent, the wine pairings were delicious. Erling Jensen's has become a very affordable choice for gourmet dining, now that they offer a 3 course dinner every Sunday for $38 ( NO corkage fee on the first Sunday of the month!) This is my new favorite restaurant. :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go to restaurant when in Mem ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is our go to restaurant when in Memphis. Great food always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful outing for our annive ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonderful outing for our anniversary. The 3 course dinner was exceptional. And while our lamb and buffalo tenderloin was cooked exceptionally by was outshone Bunche halibut dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us were there for my in-laws 63r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Four of us were there for my in-laws 63rd wedding anniversary. He is blind and she does not get around great. The staff was so considerate and accommodating. The chef came out to greet them, which made them feel so special. The waitress, Sadonca (not sure how to spell) was fabulous and so attentive. The food was absolutely mouth watering. My first visit there and will def be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a spectacular dining experience.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Just a spectacular dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything outstanding however my wife's ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

everything outstanding however my wife's halibut was very dry but the sauce was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious as always. The menu for the F ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious as always. The menu for the Friday night wine dinner was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent service, very attentive to det ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent service, very attentive to detail. Nice cozy atmosphere, worked well for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have never, ever had a bad experience ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have never, ever had a bad experience at Erling Jensen. From the moment you enter until the moment you leave the service is impeccable. The food is outstanding! Erling practically lives at the restaurant ensuring everything is perfect. One of my favorite restaurants in Memphis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this restaurant. The service was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I LOVE this restaurant. The service was amazing and the food was even better! I can't wait to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Erling never fails to provide the best ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Erling never fails to provide the best cuisine !! Every person you encounter from the moment you arrive are extreme professional , friendly and accommodating in every way . I love the updates to the fresh decor as well . Five stars !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Loved the palat ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was excellent. Loved the palate cleansing after each course

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service that was provided began incr ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service that was provided began incredible - starting at the parking lot with the level of professionalism and sincerity that the security had. When inside, our server was very attentive and sincere, as well as the server assistants. The food was absolutely phenomenal, it's definitely a place I will be going to again. The night was topped off when the head chef came out into the dining room and checked on every single table with actual care and concern. What an amazing restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic from the time you ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was fantastic from the time you walk through the door. Very special to have the chef and owner check on us and how we liked the meal. Desserts were fabulous also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my favorite place in Memphis. Ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my favorite place in Memphis. Everything is fresh, exquisitely prepared and is as delicious as the presentation. We are never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good restaurant. Taste was a litt ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good restaurant. Taste was a little bit salty, but it is personal matter.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I were in Memphis for a spec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I were in Memphis for a special occasion and decided to try this restaurant. Everything was excellent. Crawfish Bisque, scallops, halibut, soufflé - delicious. Service was the best we have had in a long time. We hope to return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at EJ is more than just going out ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Dining at EJ is more than just going out for dinner; it is an event. Presentation, flavors, serving size-always perfect! I very much appreciate the Sunday 3 course, set price dinners, these offer quite a few choices and are always something to look forward to. We always ask to be seated in Scott's section. He is professional, knowledgeable, and always fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time to eat there. The first time ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Second time to eat there. The first time was remarkable but the second time was horrible. I ordered the elk and it came to my table smelling like I had died and layed in the sun for a week and they had to take it back and bring me something else which was buffalo and it was stringy and almost raw. I was very disappointed for me and my wife.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Dinner was wonderful and the service sup ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Dinner was wonderful and the service superb, fine dining at its best. My party size kept changing, but they accommodated the numbers up to the final count of 5 with great courtesy. The special order birthday cake was everything we asked for and tasted just fabulous. Many thanks to the entire team for making our birthday dinner a true celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible and the waitress ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was incredible and the waitress was caring and thorough. Would Def come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erling Jensen's is hands down the best r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Erling Jensen's is hands down the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peaceful environment, warm and sincere s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Peaceful environment, warm and sincere service, and impeccable food. One of the best dining experiences I've had in Memphis in years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep up the excellent work! The food is ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Keep up the excellent work! The food is always excellent and the staff is very attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is incredible. I was hesitan ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This place is incredible. I was hesitant at first but I will come back again and again when I come to

Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant. We have been h ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. We have been here many times to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and other milestones. We always enjoyed everything Erling Jensen has to offer. The service is above excellent. The menu selections are amazing. The portions are always generous. Every dining experience was outstanding. It is top notch. We love the Sunday night menu. It offers a great variety and great value for the money. Our waitress Peden was very professional, personable and friendly. She was great. She made our evening even more special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Tried the crawfish ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent as always. Tried the crawfish bisque for the first time - excellent! Several of us had the cornmeal dusted oysters as an appetizer. They are the best we've ever had anywhere. I had the Dover Sole served with lump crabmeat. It's my favorite dish at Erling's. The others had the special which was Halibut. We split three desserts, the chocolate molten type dessert our favorite. Erling greeted us at the door, came by our table pnce, plus told us goodbye when we left. We had a great waiter who was very tall.

P.S. The walnut rolls - fresh out of the oven - with real butter - are to die for!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had out of town friends and the dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had out of town friends and the dinner was perfect! The food was great, our server was awesome, and the ambiance was just what we had hoped for!! Thanks so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

77th Birthday

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I always book Erling Jensen's restaurant for special occasions because I know it will be a wonderful meal without any surprises. They provide extra touches throughout the meal and are great at celebrating special events! The wait staff is professional, kind, and concerned about you having a special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

2nd time to Erling Jentzen, this time to celebrate my son's birthday. Food and service were again outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster pancakes were awesome.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Lobster pancakes were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always!

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great! No complaints from anyone in our group of 7 people!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my most expensive Memphis lawyer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my most expensive Memphis lawyer to dinner here, he do loved the experience, he tore up a $5,000.00 invoice he planned on presenting to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Wonderful!!!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is probably some of the best I've ever had!!! A little pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, great food, great service.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had an extremely positive dining experience. Chef Erling Jensen met us a the door, and ensured we had a very nice time. My wife enjoyed her birthday celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Class Restaurant

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was exquisite. The staff was warm, professional, and socially down to earth. The dining experience is simply the best I have ever had. The crab cakes are second to none. The food presentation looks every bit as good as the food taste.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.