About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: 9017633700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cobbler
  • Spinach Salad
  • Chocolate Grenache
  • Goat Cheese Terrine
  • Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
  • Chocolate Ganache Tart
  • Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
  • Seared Bass Confit
  • Lamb Meatballs
Cobbler
Spinach Salad
Chocolate Grenache
Goat Cheese Terrine
Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche
Chocolate Ganache Tart
Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly
Seared Bass Confit
Lamb Meatballs

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
13 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East-Bartlett / Collierville / Germantown ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (62)
fit for foodies (54)
See All
notable wine list (34)
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent. Loved the palat ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. Loved the palate cleansing after each course

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service that was provided began incr ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service that was provided began incredible - starting at the parking lot with the level of professionalism and sincerity that the security had. When inside, our server was very attentive and sincere, as well as the server assistants. The food was absolutely phenomenal, it's definitely a place I will be going to again. The night was topped off when the head chef came out into the dining room and checked on every single table with actual care and concern. What an amazing restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic from the time you ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was fantastic from the time you walk through the door. Very special to have the chef and owner check on us and how we liked the meal. Desserts were fabulous also!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my favorite place in Memphis. Ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my favorite place in Memphis. Everything is fresh, exquisitely prepared and is as delicious as the presentation. We are never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good restaurant. Taste was a litt ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good restaurant. Taste was a little bit salty, but it is personal matter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I were in Memphis for a spec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I were in Memphis for a special occasion and decided to try this restaurant. Everything was excellent. Crawfish Bisque, scallops, halibut, soufflé - delicious. Service was the best we have had in a long time. We hope to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at EJ is more than just going out ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Dining at EJ is more than just going out for dinner; it is an event. Presentation, flavors, serving size-always perfect! I very much appreciate the Sunday 3 course, set price dinners, these offer quite a few choices and are always something to look forward to. We always ask to be seated in Scott's section. He is professional, knowledgeable, and always fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time to eat there. The first time ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Second time to eat there. The first time was remarkable but the second time was horrible. I ordered the elk and it came to my table smelling like I had died and layed in the sun for a week and they had to take it back and bring me something else which was buffalo and it was stringy and almost raw. I was very disappointed for me and my wife.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Dinner was wonderful and the service sup ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Dinner was wonderful and the service superb, fine dining at its best. My party size kept changing, but they accommodated the numbers up to the final count of 5 with great courtesy. The special order birthday cake was everything we asked for and tasted just fabulous. Many thanks to the entire team for making our birthday dinner a true celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible and the waitress ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was incredible and the waitress was caring and thorough. Would Def come back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erling Jensen's is hands down the best r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Erling Jensen's is hands down the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peaceful environment, warm and sincere s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Peaceful environment, warm and sincere service, and impeccable food. One of the best dining experiences I've had in Memphis in years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep up the excellent work! The food is ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Keep up the excellent work! The food is always excellent and the staff is very attentive!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is incredible. I was hesitan ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This place is incredible. I was hesitant at first but I will come back again and again when I come to

Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant. We have been h ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. We have been here many times to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and other milestones. We always enjoyed everything Erling Jensen has to offer. The service is above excellent. The menu selections are amazing. The portions are always generous. Every dining experience was outstanding. It is top notch. We love the Sunday night menu. It offers a great variety and great value for the money. Our waitress Peden was very professional, personable and friendly. She was great. She made our evening even more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Tried the crawfish ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent as always. Tried the crawfish bisque for the first time - excellent! Several of us had the cornmeal dusted oysters as an appetizer. They are the best we've ever had anywhere. I had the Dover Sole served with lump crabmeat. It's my favorite dish at Erling's. The others had the special which was Halibut. We split three desserts, the chocolate molten type dessert our favorite. Erling greeted us at the door, came by our table pnce, plus told us goodbye when we left. We had a great waiter who was very tall.

P.S. The walnut rolls - fresh out of the oven - with real butter - are to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had out of town friends and the dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had out of town friends and the dinner was perfect! The food was great, our server was awesome, and the ambiance was just what we had hoped for!! Thanks so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

77th Birthday

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I always book Erling Jensen's restaurant for special occasions because I know it will be a wonderful meal without any surprises. They provide extra touches throughout the meal and are great at celebrating special events! The wait staff is professional, kind, and concerned about you having a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

2nd time to Erling Jentzen, this time to celebrate my son's birthday. Food and service were again outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster pancakes were awesome.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Lobster pancakes were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always!

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great! No complaints from anyone in our group of 7 people!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my most expensive Memphis lawyer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my most expensive Memphis lawyer to dinner here, he do loved the experience, he tore up a $5,000.00 invoice he planned on presenting to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Wonderful!!!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is probably some of the best I've ever had!!! A little pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, great food, great service.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had an extremely positive dining experience. Chef Erling Jensen met us a the door, and ensured we had a very nice time. My wife enjoyed her birthday celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Class Restaurant

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was exquisite. The staff was warm, professional, and socially down to earth. The dining experience is simply the best I have ever had. The crab cakes are second to none. The food presentation looks every bit as good as the food taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Two thousand words are insufficient to express the lingering delight of our Erling Jensen meal. From the seating to the very end, the experience was all we looked forward to it being. Every morsel of every plate was delectable. My guest, who was celebrating my birthday, insisted upon my tasting the chocolate soufflé. I had never had nor had the desire to have soufflé of any kind. OH MY LORD!! Three days later and we each are savoring the decadent, dense and out of this world chocolate! What a standard for future soufflé endeavors to match! The salmon and lobster were cooked to my exact request AND were delivered to the table as though it were straight from the fire! Writing anything else would only be redundant. Our original plans were for May, 2015 but my guest had a medical emergency and did not make it to Memphis until May, 2016. I have no idea whether or not this review would have been the same; however, if "timing is everything", I am delighted that THIS time, we went to Erling Jensen!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. The menu is unique to this a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food. The menu is unique to this area, with exquisite ingredients and dishes mainly from central and northern Europe. The service was good, but I wish we would have been tended to less, it almost became annoying to have the waiter/server come by every 5 minutes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Erling was an absolute deligh ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, Erling was an absolute delight -- the wine selection is impressive and the menu offers ample variety. All courses were prepared to perfection. We were celebrating our son's graduation (pop the champagne!) and Erling offers the perfect venue for such a special occasion. And we were tickled to have Erling himself stop by our table a couple of times -- very nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the place to go in Memphis for t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This is the place to go in Memphis for that 'special night'. The service, ambiance and menu are absolutely magnificent. This restaurant is a bit pricey for some, but you get what you pay for. The crab cakes (Appetizer) can make a meal by themselves. The rack of lamb was perfect.

Ask for 'Too Tall', the most marvelous attendant in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our New Favorite

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Erlings has become a favorite for my husband and me. Whether it is a buffalo burger with truffle french fries--my favorite, or something more fancy or complicated, the food is one of the best in Memphis. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Choices for brunch were varied and offered something for everyone in our group. The accompaniments were perfect and really added to the main items. All the food was prepared well and food was not overcooked or too salty which can be a problem at many places. Although a set menu the food seemed very much made to order. Service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spot in Memphis

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always great food and fantastic service. Chef Jensen is amazing and fully involved in the experience of his guests. The food never disappoints and Too Tall always impresses.

Thanks for a great time once again

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef. Great Food. Great Service

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined at Erling Jensen's the first time ever, for our 50th wedding anniversary dinner meal.

The staff was courteous, very attentive and made you feel like visiting royalty. The food was exceptional, well prepared and very tasty. Their wine meal of 5 courses with a different wine for each course was excellent. Their scallops were excellent and done properly and delicious. The restaurant was quiet, and pleasantly dimly lit. The food was also very nicely presented on the plates.

If you dine at Erling Jensens, prepare yourself for pleasing taste sensations and combinations of food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Erling Jensen is truly one of the best restaurants in Memphis. After my first time enjoying dinner there a few years ago, it has quickly become one of my favorite places for dinner. They have an amazing wine selection with a weekly wine dinner on Friday night. They serve a wide array of appetizers, salads, soups and entrees to meet every need. The food and service is of the highest quality. Too Tall is our favorite server. Please save room for dessert as you won't find a better soufflé in town!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant but wasn't for us

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I enjoy fine dining and are not to strangers to nicer restaurants. Unfortunately Erling Jensen was a little to eclectic/different for our tastes. To be fair, we have friends that love this restaurant and would highly recommend it to others. My biggest issue was the way the food was prepared or more specifically the angus filet. It is red wine infused and that is exactly all I could taste. It is unfortunate that the incredible flavor of a filet of this quality is completely hidden behind the red wine. I asked my wife to try it and while she liked the taste a little more then I did, she agreed that it so overwhelmed the filet it was all she could taste. My wife ordered the special for the evening, the red fish with lobster. She was also not very impressed with her choice. In the middle of the meal we found ourselves listing all the other restaurants we wish we would have chosen that evening.

While the service was incredibly slow, by design as far as we could discern, they were also very nice. We choose not to say anything about our meal because we were served exactly what we ordered and as described in the menu. I am convinced that if we would have decided to say something about our meal the restaurant manager/staff would have been more then willing to serve something more to our liking. I feel this one was on us and next time I will do a little more research when trying a new 'upscale' restaurant.

My wife asked me to be careful in reviewing this establishment because our friends love it so much and the quality of the food was excellent. Bottom line, if you love a great steak house and have a limited palate as it appears I do, you might want to take a good look at the menu before choosing here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

One of the best

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

There are quite a few restaurants in Memphis, some quite good and notable. Erling's is one of those. Situated in a former home, the inside is quiet, linen on the tables, knowledgeable person greeting you at the door, and while I have my favorite waitress, I have never had a bad server at anytime. The menu has a lot of variety, including Foie Gras, wild game, and one of the few places I can get Sole, with crab on the side. All in all, it is one of our "go to" places when we want a really good meal with no sense of rushing you. To top it off, I drive Porches, and so does Erling the owner and chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful Sunday night dinner! We were ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonderful Sunday night dinner! We were hosting relatives from Italy and Norway, and our guests enjoyed the meal as much as conversing in Danish with Chef Jensen. They commented on how impressed they were with the food and the service. They travel quite a bit and everything met the high standards to which they are accustomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as well as service.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was excellent as well as service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Learned about Erling Jensen through a casual conversation with some friends. Inviting, friendly and professional staff. Food quality was outstanding. My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

From the moment we were greeted until we walked out the door, the staff was attentive & intuitive, not to mention - the food was awesome!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.