Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort by
S
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistent fantastic experience.
Great food great service great host.
Thanks again

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and presentation were wonderful. Although she was extremely nice, our waitress was either distracted or could not remember our orders. Drinks were wrong, my wife’s sides were prepared incorrectly after express instructions, and our leftovers were never brought to our table!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

The ambience was now very accommodating the chef came to see us and made sure that we enjoyed our dinner will definitely come back

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Erling's is always a special place. Food is always outstanding and the service is on a different level. My last meal was with a group of eight good friends and we were served by Ken. He did an excellent professional job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Very nice and quaint restaurant. We happened to be seated with a very loud party of 12, but it was still nice. Food was very tasty though it could have been served hotter than it was. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Every time I have ever been to Erling Jensen, it was just flawless. This time, it was less than A+. I don't know whether it was just that I had a cold, or that on New Year's Eve your people were distracted, but I'm thinking that if this was how it would be every time, I wouldn't go back.
Your prices are high enough that I have the right to expect perfection. However, there were perfect moments--our server was one of these, and another was that after my friend's steak was too rare, Mr. Jensen came out to apologize, and that was a nice touch.

I'm still going to be a fan, so carry on!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great dinner and service was exceptional!! Beef tenderloin was on point!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Best meal we have had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Erling Jensen provides excellent food and excellent service as always

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Always fantastic- they make a regular weekday feel like your 20th anniversary. Hands down, best in Memphis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Celebrates Christmas Eve with family dinner. The food and service were impeccable. Redfish , lamb chops, scallops to name a few. Would highly recommend for special night or celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2017

My wife and I love this restaurant. Erling is a great chef! He is so personable, visiting each table of guests. The food is great and the service is impeccable.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 24, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Memphis. Erling's never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2017

This is always my go to restaurant in Memphis. The food is always extraordinary. All the items on their menu are just amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We had a delicious meal with great service. The gingerbread souffle was mouthwatering. Salmon was tender and flavorful. Vegetarian option was delicious. Thanks, Erling!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

We had the most amazing wine tasting dinner. Our service was excellent. They food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 1, 2017

AMAZING!!!!!! I'm never disappointed. From the first bite to the last, everything was sheer perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 28, 2017

I took my wife to Erling Jensen for our 3 year marriage anniversary and they made us feel special. They were very attentive and that made for a very relaxing environment. The waiter explained the courses and it sound so tasty and mouth watering.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We went for dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday and every detail was exceptional! Scott our waiter was lovely and tailored our experience perfectly. We will be back again and will request Scott! Try the warm chocolate cake souffle at the end of the meal for a special treat. Make a reservation as soon as possible!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Absolutely superior in every detail! Will go every time we get anywhere near Memphis!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our first visit. Food was outstanding. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Price was better than expected. A perfect evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2017

This is always my "go to" place for an awesome meal. Their Sunday night dinners are the perfect proportion and priced just right. The options are always hard to choose from and each is spectacular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great fine dining in East Memphis. Menu changes by the season. Our food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Love this place. Always something new to try. Our server was excellent. Crab cakes were the best I've ever had. We will be back soon for the blueberry cobbler...a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

food was not as great like usual- just did not leave completely impressed- but service was over the top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Terrific food and Scott gave us great service. A complete dining experience that as full time Rv'ers we go out of our way to experience whenever we get near Memphis. Have never been disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I love this restaurant! The staff is fun and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed, but still extraordinary and the food is by far the best in the Greater Memphis Area! Fridays and Sundays are seriously great deals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Erling continues to stay at the top of the chef scene. The flavors are outstanding and modern yet classic. This is a must dine place in Memphis if you appreciate great cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Went here for my wife's birthday. She loves the diverse menu and so do I. I had ostrich and it was great. Scott, the waiter, was attentive and pleasant with a great recommendation for wine to go with the meal. Food is the star though and the lobster pancake appetizer is just unbelievably delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. We went on Sunday and had the prix fix menu. We both had the chopped romaine salad and the redfish. I had the pumpkin spice bread pudding and he had the peach empanadas. Everything was delicious. The service is wonderful and attentive. Try the pear martini, so good.
We loved it so much we invited friends and are going back in November.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 25, 2017

EJ’s is always a wonderful place for a special occasion! The food and service never disappoints! And special requests are always handled with ease.

But parents please leave small children at home!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I love this restaurant. Have never been disappointed. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Scrumptious buffalo tenderloin, perfectly done, as was my wife's bone-in veal chop. Overdid it with souffle's (Grand Marnier and Chocolate), but they were outstanding. Excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

we have been here 3 times and every time food and service gets better and better!! we wanted seconds

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything was excellent - food, service, ambiance
Dietary restrictions were accommodated 100%
Can't think of a better place to have dinner for a special occasion
Highly recommend and will be back

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant in the city, impeccable service and the food is amazing every time. It will not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent as always!!! Love the consistency in food and service. Love this place!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Wonderful food, outstanding service. Friday night tasting menu is a delight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good food. I came in for the burger but it was off the menu for now. They said it might be back for the fall menu soon. I had the lobster roll which was really good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Overall everything was fantastic. Great menu with unique items (Ostrich, etc). The food was phenomenal. I do have a few suggestions for the chefs.

The crawfish bisque had too many crawfish. It took away from the delicious sauce/soup. Always had a mouthful of crawfish. The bearnaise with the buffalo was to thick and gelatinous. A little on the gritty side as well. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.