Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

we have been here 3 times and every time food and service gets better and better!! we wanted seconds

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything was excellent - food, service, ambiance
Dietary restrictions were accommodated 100%
Can't think of a better place to have dinner for a special occasion
Highly recommend and will be back

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant in the city, impeccable service and the food is amazing every time. It will not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent as always!!! Love the consistency in food and service. Love this place!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Wonderful food, outstanding service. Friday night tasting menu is a delight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good food. I came in for the burger but it was off the menu for now. They said it might be back for the fall menu soon. I had the lobster roll which was really good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Overall everything was fantastic. Great menu with unique items (Ostrich, etc). The food was phenomenal. I do have a few suggestions for the chefs.

The crawfish bisque had too many crawfish. It took away from the delicious sauce/soup. Always had a mouthful of crawfish. The bearnaise with the buffalo was to thick and gelatinous. A little on the gritty side as well. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Their Sunday special dinner is an outstanding experience. This was our anniversary celebration with our family and everyone was very pleased with the dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonder place. Food and services wss excellent. We definitely will visit again and bring friends and relatives there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary here. We were not disappointed! I had salad and the salmon...everything was EXCELLENT! My husband had steak and the bisque...again EXCELLENT! Great atmosphere. Great service. Great food. Exceeded our expectations! We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Always great, never a bad meal. Erling is consistently the best chef in Memphis

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Service was impeccable, and the halibut was particularly outstanding. There is a nice variety of dishes to choose from and there are new items on the menu each time !

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Started with the escargot which was fabulous. Next, I shared the Baby spinach salad with lingonberry vinaigrette which was one of the most delicious salads I've ever had! The entree we shared was the Elk special which was very tender and tasty. We ended the night with the pecan praline souffle which was amazing!
The reason I didn't give the Ambiance an "Outstanding" is because we were seated next to a table of 6 that was VERY loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We always enjoy the Friday night wine menus. Great way to try interesting wines and the food is always superb. The entire staff demonstrates their desire for you to enjoy yourself and pamper you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Love this place. Sunday night dinner is a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Try the specials. And try something out of your comfort zone because it will most likely be good here. Especially the desserts. One more tip, if you like your steak medium-medium well, go ahead and ask for well done, virtually all meats are cooked a little on the red side. Otherwise, excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This restaurant is always fabulous in every way! Perfect for any occasion or just a casual bite in the bar area!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great restaurant. I was in town for work from the northeast. I was expecting bbq but was steered this direction. Fantastic recommendation. I would go as often as possible if I lived near by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Easily the best restaurant in Memphis. The chef is outstanding and visits every table to welcome his guests. The food is perfectly cooked every time. It is creative and delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I choose to dine here because of the comfortable quiet atmosphere. The food is always over the top exceptional! A true dining experience! So many restaurants now are very noisy! Erling Jensen is a try "Fine Dining " experience!
Thank You!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Understated elegance. Impeccable service- our server, Satoko was superb. Menu items unique, flavorful and well executed. From foie gras to antelope- everything was nothing less than exquisite . Chef came to table side three times for an unobtrusive visit to ensure all was to standards. The restaurant was was pleasantly upscale without being "stuffy". If I lived closer, I would dine here weekly. I cannot commend this restaurant vigorously enough. Fine dining is done in an exemplary fashion. Plaudits for Mr. Jensen and his staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Haven't been here in a while, the food was great, service impeccable, and ambiance was perfect!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Best restaurant in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent special occasion venue with fine personal service(Rachel) food herb enhanced! Especially enjoyed kiwi tart for dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Too Tall was an amazing server! The antelope filet was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We chose Erling's to celebrate our 49th anniversary. The service was impeccable as usual. Lobster pancakes and crispy oyster salads were fine appetizers. Several specials were offered that were very tempting. One of us enjoyed antelope loin that was exceptionally tender and delicious. The halibut entree from the menu was also excellent. We shared a special chocolate dessert that was elegantly inscribed to commemorate our anniversary. A memorable night!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Overall very good. Was a little disappointed with the dover sole (too many capers) as well as the escargot (not enough garlic and juice). No big deal and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful evening enjoyed by 2 couples. Our dinners were perfectly prepared and served by an attentive smiling server.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent experience and food, as always. Scott provided superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food, service, staff impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Erling's has the best food in town and is the best value. Erling is personable, greets his customers personally to check on their satisfaction, and is extraordinarily flexible in his preparations.
He has awesome Sunday nite dinners and Fri nite wine dinners.
Erling's price point is extremely reasonable. Portions are very large

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

All four of us agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever eaten.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent service by Scott. He was awesome. He was so polite, professional, friendly, and super attentive. We were there for birthday celebration and he acknowledged my husband's birthday multiple times and thank us for dining. The entire staff was amazing. Mr. Jensen himself came out and greeted multiple tables and thanked the patrons for coming in. We had the Sunday night menu and all the items were delicious. We also had the lobster pancake for appetizer. It was a great evening. Only slight complaint was we sat at main dining area and 2 large tables next to us were very loud. Overall, our experience was super.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our meal was perfect as always. Our server, Shannon, is the best!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have never been disappointed with Chef Erling's menus. And the service is outstanding as well. Such a treat to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Probably one of the best restaurants I've been to. Great menu, staff and chef Jensen came to our table to make sure we were happy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As always, the food and service was excellent. It's our favorite spot and the staff is so personable. We love this gen of a restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and nice atmosphere. Service was very professional and knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.