About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: 9017633700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cobbler - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Spinach Salad - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Chocolate Grenache - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Goat Cheese Terrine - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Lamb Meatballs - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Chocolate Ganache Tart - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
  • Seared Bass Confit - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Cobbler - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Spinach Salad - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Chocolate Grenache - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Goat Cheese Terrine - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Salmon Frittata Amuse Bouche - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Lamb Meatballs - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Duck Leg Dumplings And Pork Belly - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Chocolate Ganache Tart - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN
Seared Bass Confit - Erling Jensen The Restaurant, Memphis, TN

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
11 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East-Bartlett / Collierville / Germantown ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Private Room (11)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service with creative dishes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service with creative dishes prepared flawlessly. Well thought out wine list. A totally enjoyable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal and great service equal a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent meal and great service equal a wonderful evening. They also have a very good wine list. It's our go-to place for a special meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When it is time to celebrate a special o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

When it is time to celebrate a special occasion, Erling Jensen The Restaurant is our place to go. This time, it was to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary. The service, food ,drinks, and ambience were impeccable. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped inside the door. We had a most delightful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can honestly say that when you want th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I can honestly say that when you want the best dining experience you want Erling Jensen! Quick tip ask for Sotoka if you want the best service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding menu, prepared with obvious ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding menu, prepared with obvious meticulousness. Scott was our waiter and was very personable and attentive. Mr. Jensen was very sensitive to our concern over the derivation of foie gras and graciously allowed a scallop substitution to this course on their Friday Night Wine Dinner menu. Even the desserts had Mr. Jensen's initials in chocolate on the side of each dish. My wife, whose birthday we were celebrating, was absolutely ecstatic with this choice of restaurant for the occasion. We will certainly be visiting with them again!!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The occasion this time was my wife's 60t ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The occasion this time was my wife's 60th birthday. Even so, this visit was special - it was also Erling's 20th anniversary for opening the restaurant. He served a 5-course prix fixe menu, which was absolutely out of this world throughout. We have been to this restaurant before, but never enjoyed it as much as we did this time (still, it is among the top 100 restaurants in the country, so even on a regular day, it is definitely worth a visit.) A very nice gesture was that engraved champagne flutes was given to all guests on exiting. This was truly a memorable experience. Congratulations Erling - many happy returns!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This meal was in celebration of Erling's ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This meal was in celebration of Erling's 20th anniv. in business. It was outstanding as always. Erling, Too Tall , John and wine the team took such good care of us. It was a prefix menu so everything was easy and well paced. A very special celebration to be apart of!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience! Wine food ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Wine food coordination was superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Since moving to Memphis 16 years ago, Er ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Since moving to Memphis 16 years ago, Erling Jensen continues to be our FAVORITE restaurant!!! Erling is truly a Master Chef and his food is always unique in flavor profile and presentation. The overall dining experience is just that... an EXPERIENCE!!!

Celebrating the restaurant's 20th Anniversary with a five course dinner and wine pairing was a truly memorable dinning experience. Erling and Team were PHENOMENAL!!! Every dish was so good you just could not imagine it prepared differently and tasting any better: Scallops with Saffron Vanilla Sauce; Scottish Pheasant Breast with Lingonberries; Roasted Lamb Loin En Croute with Lobster Glace; Bison Ribeye with Foie Gras Demi Glace; Chocolate Soufflé; and each paired with a wine. AWESOME!!!!!!!

We have dined at many fine restaurants across America, including restaurants owned/operated by Food Network stars. Consistently at Erling Jensen, we have enjoyed some of the best food and dining experiences we have had ANYWHERE in America.

Erling and Team, CONGRATULATIONS on 20 years of fine dining. Best Wishes for many more. We LOVE Ya!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place for dining in Memphis ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our favorite place for dining in Memphis for over twenty years.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed everything! They have caviar! I ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Enjoyed everything! They have caviar! I can check that off my bucket list. Every dish was wonderful. Appetizers? Wonderful! Buffalo? Delicious. Loved everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine at Erling's every year for our a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dine at Erling's every year for our anniversary. Again, we were not disappointed this year. The menu was divine and our service (as usual) was excellent. Would not change a thing about the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed the Friday wine/dinner s ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have enjoyed the Friday wine/dinner specials many times. Affords a great opportunity to learn about different wines, taste delicious food and relax in style.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we pulled into the parki ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

From the moment we pulled into the parking lot we were treated like special guest. We were seated in a cozy dining area with 4 other tables. The one area of improvement could be the timeliness of the server after we sat down. Once he took our drink order the rest of the meal flowed nicely. Many delicious flavors in the grouper and the halibut. Not to mention the very crispy and warm bread that was served. Overall, a very special evening at a very fine establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Friday night wine/food pairing is in ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Friday night wine/food pairing is incredible every time we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated her birthday in ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday in grand fashion and Erving Jensen was fantastic...from the crab cakes to the bison ribeye the food was phenomenal. The service we received was the most attentive and wonderful we've ever had!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the reception from the parking vale ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

From the reception from the parking valet to the table visit by Erling Jensen, the evening was wonderful. Brought a couple of out-of-town visitors for dinner and they too felt the special charm of this jewel of Memphis. The table ordered a wide range from the menu and every item was perfect. Appetizers, main courses and desserts were perfect and the the service was timed impeccably. This restaurant is a place you go to enjoy great food and to talk with your friends. Didn't see one cell phone! The art of dining is alive and well at Erling Jensen's.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Erling has made our experienc ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

As always, Erling has made our experience at his restaurant absolutely wonderful. We started off splitting the lobster pancake (crepe) which is most delightful to the tastebuds. I had one of his signature dishes - the pecan molasses lamb chops - that I believe to be the best in the mid-south. My wife had the ostrich that had a satsuma-sage-mustard sauce served over fingerling potatoes with mushrooms and pearl onions. What a taste sensation! Just fantastic! (You really must try it!!) Wrapped up dinner with the peach strudel and caramel ice cream. Sublime! Erling, thank you for the delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the ambiance, service and uni ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, service and unique menu choices. I had ostrich which I never had before and it's was good. The Kahlua Soffle was a bit too sugary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten at restaurants across the glo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I've eaten at restaurants across the globe, casual and exquisite, ethnic-oriented and fusion, as well as 5-star and trendy. I brought my parents to Erling Jensen to celebrate their 65th wedding anniversary a few days ago, and I must say that the experience was one of the best I've ever experienced...ever. Not only was the waitress top-notch (didn't even write down our orders, but memorized each facet), but the food was out of this world outstanding. The chef was superlative. I only wish that Erling Jensen was closer to Washington D.C! I strongly would urge all Memphians to experience this restaurant. I promise, you won't regret it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. One of the best restaurants in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit and we went for ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our first visit and we went for our wedding anniversary. My wife and I agreed that it was one of the best meals and dining experiences of our lives. Chef Jensen stopped by our table several times to personally check on us and the entire staff made sure that we had a remarkable evening.

The wine list was fantastic and the house made infused whiskey was spectacular. From the soup at the beginning of the meal, to the brownie bites that were included in our take home bag, every dish was refined to its highest form.

We are already looking forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time to the EJ's and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our first time to the EJ's and we really enjoyed the superb food and great service. We also enjoyed seeing & chatting with Erling as he made his way around to all the tables. There happened to be two tables of sales reps from somewhere...the noise level picked up after drinks and that was the only drawback for us. We will return on a regular basis and will ask for a quieter area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent as always. Erling Jensen is ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Magnificent as always. Erling Jensen is our go to place for special occasions. Love the Sunday night menu--perfect portions. However the regular menu is outstanding, and it's hard to choose among all the appetizers, special salads, entrees and desserts. We always end up taking part of our food home when we order from the regular menu, so we get to prolong the pleasure by having it the next night. The pecan crusted rack of lamb is the best!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service. I can't ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing food and great service. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most memorable meals and that ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the most memorable meals and that is saying alot since we just returned from Italy.

Erling is a master at preparation and presentation. It was also a treat to have him visit our table and take an interest in our experience. Absolutely the best place for your most special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we enjoyed our dinner howeve ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Once again, we enjoyed our dinner however, the service was not up to the level of the food. Our server came to our table as soon as we were seated and wanted to know if we wanted a cocktail, but did not offer us a drinks menu. I had to ask for a wine list prior to ordering dinner and my spouse agsin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a larger party of nine so it was ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had a larger party of nine so it was a little difficult to really enjoy everyone's company. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent as well. I have dined here before and will certainly do so again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very solid place Very good food a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always very solid place

Very good food and consistently nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great restaurant with a wonder ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant with a wonderful dining experience. Great food, excellent service, and a staff that communicates their appreciation for you being there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, food, atmosphere were all ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service, food, atmosphere were all exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was superb! Made even better ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was superb! Made even better when Erling takes time out from working in his kitchen to make the rounds in the dining room. He runs a perfect restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very unique and special dining experienc ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very unique and special dining experience. Cozy and excellent attention to details. Full course meal. Walnut bread was excellent. A special vegan dish was prepared for my wife and she said it was excellent.

The only thing is we had to park across the street due to the limited parking. However it is a quiet street.

Definitely a dining experience we will return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite place to eat in Memp ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is my favorite place to eat in Memphis. I haven't been able to get here in a very long time due to illness. On this trip, I was so glad to be able to return. Nothing has changed. Erling Jensen is still perfection!!! Consistently perfect every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like this place so much that we went ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We like this place so much that we went out of our way, coming back to Maryland from a trip out west, to stop here specifically to have another fabulous meal. It did not disappoint. The sweet bread and foie gras appetizers were simply out of this world, and my salmon risotto was amazingly complex, every morsel a reward. Chef came out twice to check on us which was most appreciated. Everything about the food is perfect. It was a busy Saturday night and we were not quite in the first seating, leading to a little bit of hiccups in the service, nothing major, and we would still plan to come back a third time on our next trip through Memphis. You should, too, if it's all about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants in Memphis

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely great meal, Buffalo Ri ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had an absolutely great meal, Buffalo Ribeye special was killer! The halibut special was not too bad as well, actually, it was also excellent! Our server Paden was on top of her game, could not ask for a better server/spokesperson for this restaurant. If you want upscale food and drinks, this IS YOUR PLACE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday event for my wife with 4 other ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Birthday event for my wife with 4 other family members. Great food and great evening!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! HUGE portions!! Just wis ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food! HUGE portions!! Just wish it was less noisy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular meal and service! This was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Spectacular meal and service! This was the top rated restaurant in Memphis on Open Table so we decided to go there. We were not disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.