Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: (901) 763-3700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (53)
Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (47)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (21)
Business Meals (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (13)
Private Room (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Erling's is consistently excellent. My husband and I always enjoy it. The staff are very professional and the food is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Ambiance and service were good, but the overall value for the quality of the food and experience was not. Visiting from San Francisco, we are used to $45 entrees, but expect much better quality at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter lunch. Great menu or just let them know & EJ will prepare you anything that is possible

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

simple outstanding - the ambience, the food, the service, the wine list, everything was beyond my expectations. Was there for Easter brunch and could not believe the value of the menu. Would definitely go there again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is one of the best secrets of Memphis! The food and ambience is a much desired pleasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This establishment continues to deliver in all phases. Great place for an important business dinner. Terrific presentations, great food and it will cost you. You get what you pay for applies here. We did. You can't go wrong here. Consistently top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Not as good as several previous times I have been there, but still top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always excellent food and service! My favorite place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have been a few times and have never been disappointed with the food, service or the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was great as usual. The service is always prompt and flawless.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely at the top of his game, Erling creates a spectacular menu and experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very Noisy Environment. VERY LITTLE COZINESS FOR 85TH BIRTHDAY WITH WIFE. EXCELLENT SERVICE BUT FRANTIC ACTION WHICH WAS DISTRACTING.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I've eaten at Erling Jensen before, but Saturday night was a major disappointment! Walked in the front door - we were not greeted by the maitre d. I had requested a table (a week earlier) that was NOT in the main traffic area - where were we seated, right in the middle of the floor when there were tons of other tables available. When I asked if we could move to a different table - the maitre d kind of huffed and finally pointed to something else. He did not walk us to that table.

Food was pretty good, but way overpriced for what we got - as were the drinks.

It's no wonder the popularity of Erling Jensen is on the decline!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was incredible. The service was excellent. The only thing I'd change is who I sat by.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always fantastic. Presentation, service, food excellence

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service! Everything about this restaurant is awesome!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I love this place. I've never had a meal here that was not excellent. The Owner and all of the staff are wonderful, kind, friendly and provide great service. I like everyone but we have been partial to Shannon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Superb! Superb! ..........................................................

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

In my opinion the best restaurant/food in Memphis. We had the elk and the buffalo - both were outstanding. Our waiter was fantastic! The only negative was the noise as we were seated next to a large loud table - but that wasn't the restaurants fault. If your thinking about going - just go - you won't regret it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 28, 2017

There is a reason this place is voted one of the top 2 or 3 restaurants in Memphis year after year. The food offerings are always original and well thought out, incredibly scrumptious with portions for customers who like to eat. The service is always spot on. These folks are consistently top shelf and should be on everyone's restaurant bucket list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing pairings and well planned menu. This is a class establishment!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

5 Stars. Great in every facet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

birthday celebration! It was a quiet Saturday night in the restaurant but we had a nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Still the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We chose the four course meal with wine pairing. Both of us were very pleased! Our waiter was attentive, helpful. Wine steward offered commentary with each of his selections for the evening. Would go again, and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and service at Erling's never fails to exceed expectations. We always have a wonderful time. Highly recommend this establishment whether you want to sit at the bar or have a sit down meal. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We loved it as always. We are never disappointed. Consistently great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Memphis' best fine dining restaurant - hands down. My husband and I always choose Erling's for date night. On the rare occasion that we bring our two toddlers along, the staff could not be more welcoming. Love, love, love Erling's and his staff!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Will be back , food is always amazing. One of the gems in the restaurant business.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day and my Fiancé was blown away. The food was amazing and the service was top notch!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Erling Jensen has been in business for 20 years in Memphis. In the restaurant world, making it 20 years is quite a feat. The reason he has succeeded is simple - quality food, beautifully presented and served with care. Still our favorite after all these years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Impeccable service and outstanding set menu. A fantastic Valentine's date meal I will not soon forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was unaware that they had a set, limited menu for Valentine's Day, and was rather disappointed with the selection. The food tasted as though it had been prepared in advance and was served lukewarm and soggy. The selection was extremely limited and the food was mediocre. For an $85 dinner per person, my expectations were pretty high and the food didn't deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Erling's is a Memphis treasure. Every time we eat at Erling's, we say that we should come here more often!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful meal! Service great - music great.
Perfect Valentine's night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Erling's never disappoints. The service is outstanding and the food is very good. I have a gluten intolerance and they go out of their way to accommodate me without making me feel like it's a bother. The chef is very friendly and frequently walks through the restaurant and greets diners. It's our favorite restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Erling's has been a 5 Star experience every time I've gone. The food is incredible and the service is phenomenal. This is by far the best place to eat in Memphis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was above average, but for the price it was a let down. In my opinion, it costs double of what it's worth. I've been to restaurants with much better food and it didn't cost this much. If you are looking for a restaurant that is focused on the quality of its food then I would look elsewhere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Scott was fantastic! With recommendations from start to finish, our dinner was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Initially was seated in the Bar Area that was like sitting in a library where everyone could hear what each other was saying. We asked to be seated somewhere else which the staff was very accommodating to our request. Shannon the server and the food was great. It was a combination birthday-valentines dinner for my wife.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.