Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: (901) 763-3700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Romantic (48)
See All
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for a Date (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Business Meals (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Private Room (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a 5-star experience. Our favorite in Memphis.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal experience. Request Yana as your server! She is delightful and exceptional at her job. Chef Jenseng made frequent visits to our table to ensure we were completely satisfied and happy we had chosen his establishment to share an evening with. This is our new favorite restaurant. We will most certainly return. The food was magnificent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at Erling Jensen once or twice a year for more years than I can remember and we have never had a meal that was less than incredible. This occasion was my daughter's birthday and her first gourmet dining experience. The staff helped to make it an unforgettable evening for us all.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always an amazing experience. Everyone enjoyed their meals. And desserts were amazing. Especially loved the blueberry cobbler.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Erling's has incredible food, a friendly staff, and great ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was covered in a thick dark sauce that took away from the taste of the steak and lobster. More of a winter sauce too. Not very seasonal. Wasn't very impressed this time

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

A great meal with great service.

Hate to share our find but the Sunday night special is a great. Still expensive but more than worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our dinner was amazing. Scotty was very attentive and gave great dining suggestions. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary- delightful server, wonderful food! Always our Favorite place to celebrate!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our second time to visit Erling Jensen for the tasting menu. The food was creative and delicious, and we really appreciated the wine manager's explanations of each wine before each course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

One of the best gems in Memphis. Great food and atmosphere. Very creative Menu. excellent wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is a gem of a restaurant hidden back off of Poplar at the end of Yates. The lamb chops are a specialty and very good. Other offerings are excellent as well. The service was great as well. Have now eaten there twice and will be going back. Prices are up there but worth it for the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful meal (as always). A diner gets fed at this restaurant. Service was impeccable (as always)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Quality place. Clever combinations. Decent WBG list. Very nice overall, though a little loud for my 80-year-old parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved it but save up before going. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Shame on me for not going here more often. Delightful!
Superior waitstaff. Knowledgeable, non- intrusive and timely.
Crab cakes a must but share, so you have room to taste more. Lamb was as good as I have had in this city.
Anxious to do the wine dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were delighted with our choice! On the occasion of our 39th wedding anniversary, we could not have asked for a more perfect evening. Thanks to everyone!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Erling's is an exceptional restaurant with exceptional food and service. The best! The only reason I rated the noise level less than the best is that there were 3 loud tables around us that not only were loud with each other, they decided to have group, cross table conversations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was superb. Nothing wrong on that front. The service was a little slow, but at least the waiter was not overbearing and bothersome.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Erling Jensen was by far the best fine dining restaurant we dined at in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant! Great food and service!! This was our first visit but we will be back! Chef Erling Jenson came out to speak when we arrived and again when we were departing! How delightful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is the second time we dined here - and both times were fantastic. This evening we had the Friday Wine Dinner menu - where each course was paired with a different wine.

Both the food, and the wines it was paired with, were phenomenal. The service - impeccable.

Depending on which room you are seated - and who is seated nearby - it can get a little loud, but not overbearingly so.

I encourage you to visit this fine restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love the Sunday 3-course dinner options. The food is alway prepared perfectly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner. Between the two of us we had a fabulous carrot based soup, delicious salad with fried oysters, an excellent beef filet with tasty sauce, excellent order of scallops. They started us off with a complimentary fish ceviche.

The grand mariner soufle was anice and airy though i wish i had gone for the chocolate version.

The only dish we were disappointed in was the lobster pancakes. They had a nice flavor but the sauce over powered the lobster.

Best waiter "Too Tall" that we have had in a long time. He made the whole experience especially nice. He was both fun and efficient and professional.

I did't look at the whole wine list, but the wine by the glass offerings showed a lot of thought.

We will definately return when our budget allws.


Mark and Tom.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Exceptional food and service! Erling has a unique culinary touch that is Always special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food here was amazing! Everything we ordered was delicious and we will definitely be returning if we visit Memphis again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Erling Jensen. Our cocktails were perfectly made, the walnut bread was served warm and the salad my husband had was to die for. My husband ordered the elk chops and he would not stop raving about how good they were. I am a very picky eater and they were able to make me a piece of grilled chicken and French fries, which were very good I might add. For dessert we had the chocolate soufflé and the blueberry cobble, both were exceptional. The staff went out of their way to wish us a happy anniversary and make our time at the restaurant special. Erling came and introduced himself and asked us about the food and the experience. He also made sure we got to our car okay. It's all these small gestures that make your experience something to remember. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is my favorite restaraunt in the memphis metro area for upscale French cuisine. I have travelled extensively and would say that this is consistently my best dining experience. Every visit is pure joy. The service is fantastic and the food is even better. U can not go wrong with the friday night wine pairing menu. For adults that enjoy food as entertainment in a refined atmosphere, your will find no better place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always memorable in every category. Erling's is clearly the best restaurant in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Erling's is consistently excellent. My husband and I always enjoy it. The staff are very professional and the food is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Ambiance and service were good, but the overall value for the quality of the food and experience was not. Visiting from San Francisco, we are used to $45 entrees, but expect much better quality at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter lunch. Great menu or just let them know & EJ will prepare you anything that is possible

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

simple outstanding - the ambience, the food, the service, the wine list, everything was beyond my expectations. Was there for Easter brunch and could not believe the value of the menu. Would definitely go there again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is one of the best secrets of Memphis! The food and ambience is a much desired pleasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This establishment continues to deliver in all phases. Great place for an important business dinner. Terrific presentations, great food and it will cost you. You get what you pay for applies here. We did. You can't go wrong here. Consistently top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Not as good as several previous times I have been there, but still top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always excellent food and service! My favorite place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have been a few times and have never been disappointed with the food, service or the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.