Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: (901) 763-3700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Private Room (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Authentic (11)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was superb. Nothing wrong on that front. The service was a little slow, but at least the waiter was not overbearing and bothersome.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Erling Jensen was by far the best fine dining restaurant we dined at in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant! Great food and service!! This was our first visit but we will be back! Chef Erling Jenson came out to speak when we arrived and again when we were departing! How delightful!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is the second time we dined here - and both times were fantastic. This evening we had the Friday Wine Dinner menu - where each course was paired with a different wine.

Both the food, and the wines it was paired with, were phenomenal. The service - impeccable.

Depending on which room you are seated - and who is seated nearby - it can get a little loud, but not overbearingly so.

I encourage you to visit this fine restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love the Sunday 3-course dinner options. The food is alway prepared perfectly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner. Between the two of us we had a fabulous carrot based soup, delicious salad with fried oysters, an excellent beef filet with tasty sauce, excellent order of scallops. They started us off with a complimentary fish ceviche.

The grand mariner soufle was anice and airy though i wish i had gone for the chocolate version.

The only dish we were disappointed in was the lobster pancakes. They had a nice flavor but the sauce over powered the lobster.

Best waiter "Too Tall" that we have had in a long time. He made the whole experience especially nice. He was both fun and efficient and professional.

I did't look at the whole wine list, but the wine by the glass offerings showed a lot of thought.

We will definately return when our budget allws.


Mark and Tom.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Exceptional food and service! Erling has a unique culinary touch that is Always special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food here was amazing! Everything we ordered was delicious and we will definitely be returning if we visit Memphis again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Erling Jensen. Our cocktails were perfectly made, the walnut bread was served warm and the salad my husband had was to die for. My husband ordered the elk chops and he would not stop raving about how good they were. I am a very picky eater and they were able to make me a piece of grilled chicken and French fries, which were very good I might add. For dessert we had the chocolate soufflé and the blueberry cobble, both were exceptional. The staff went out of their way to wish us a happy anniversary and make our time at the restaurant special. Erling came and introduced himself and asked us about the food and the experience. He also made sure we got to our car okay. It's all these small gestures that make your experience something to remember. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is my favorite restaraunt in the memphis metro area for upscale French cuisine. I have travelled extensively and would say that this is consistently my best dining experience. Every visit is pure joy. The service is fantastic and the food is even better. U can not go wrong with the friday night wine pairing menu. For adults that enjoy food as entertainment in a refined atmosphere, your will find no better place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always memorable in every category. Erling's is clearly the best restaurant in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Erling's is consistently excellent. My husband and I always enjoy it. The staff are very professional and the food is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Ambiance and service were good, but the overall value for the quality of the food and experience was not. Visiting from San Francisco, we are used to $45 entrees, but expect much better quality at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter lunch. Great menu or just let them know & EJ will prepare you anything that is possible

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

simple outstanding - the ambience, the food, the service, the wine list, everything was beyond my expectations. Was there for Easter brunch and could not believe the value of the menu. Would definitely go there again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is one of the best secrets of Memphis! The food and ambience is a much desired pleasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This establishment continues to deliver in all phases. Great place for an important business dinner. Terrific presentations, great food and it will cost you. You get what you pay for applies here. We did. You can't go wrong here. Consistently top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Not as good as several previous times I have been there, but still top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always excellent food and service! My favorite place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have been a few times and have never been disappointed with the food, service or the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was great as usual. The service is always prompt and flawless.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely at the top of his game, Erling creates a spectacular menu and experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very Noisy Environment. VERY LITTLE COZINESS FOR 85TH BIRTHDAY WITH WIFE. EXCELLENT SERVICE BUT FRANTIC ACTION WHICH WAS DISTRACTING.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I've eaten at Erling Jensen before, but Saturday night was a major disappointment! Walked in the front door - we were not greeted by the maitre d. I had requested a table (a week earlier) that was NOT in the main traffic area - where were we seated, right in the middle of the floor when there were tons of other tables available. When I asked if we could move to a different table - the maitre d kind of huffed and finally pointed to something else. He did not walk us to that table.

Food was pretty good, but way overpriced for what we got - as were the drinks.

It's no wonder the popularity of Erling Jensen is on the decline!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was incredible. The service was excellent. The only thing I'd change is who I sat by.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Top of the line dining. First class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always fantastic. Presentation, service, food excellence

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service! Everything about this restaurant is awesome!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I love this place. I've never had a meal here that was not excellent. The Owner and all of the staff are wonderful, kind, friendly and provide great service. I like everyone but we have been partial to Shannon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Superb! Superb! ..........................................................

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

In my opinion the best restaurant/food in Memphis. We had the elk and the buffalo - both were outstanding. Our waiter was fantastic! The only negative was the noise as we were seated next to a large loud table - but that wasn't the restaurants fault. If your thinking about going - just go - you won't regret it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 28, 2017

There is a reason this place is voted one of the top 2 or 3 restaurants in Memphis year after year. The food offerings are always original and well thought out, incredibly scrumptious with portions for customers who like to eat. The service is always spot on. These folks are consistently top shelf and should be on everyone's restaurant bucket list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing pairings and well planned menu. This is a class establishment!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

5 Stars. Great in every facet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

birthday celebration! It was a quiet Saturday night in the restaurant but we had a nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Still the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We chose the four course meal with wine pairing. Both of us were very pleased! Our waiter was attentive, helpful. Wine steward offered commentary with each of his selections for the evening. Would go again, and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and service at Erling's never fails to exceed expectations. We always have a wonderful time. Highly recommend this establishment whether you want to sit at the bar or have a sit down meal. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.