Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Erling Jensen The Restaurant

4.8
1056 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(901) 763-3700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Erling Jensen
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Poplar
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is available
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1056 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

This was our first visit to Erling Jensen and it will not be our last. We had the perfect anniversary celebration and were treated like we were the honored guests of the evening! The atmosphere of the restaurant was elegant, yet comfortable and quiet, yet bustling with conversations all about. And. The service was impeccable.
Yana made us feel welcome and very special. She was personable and friendly, yet very professional in her demeanor and presentation.
I know the extra treats and intermezzo sorbet are probably standard, but Yana made it seem like they were special offerings just for us!
The Spinach salad, which we split was delectable. Hubby had the Duck Confit and I had the grilled Rack of Lamb. Both were cooked to perfection and quite yummy. Our only issue with the food was the accompaniments of each of our entrees. We both agreed that the sweet potato puree should have been served with the duck and the fingerling potatoes should have accompanied the lamb, which had a tangy sweet sauce on it. We actually swapped our potatoes mid-dinner and found the flavors to be much more satisfying.
We ended with the Chocolate Mousse which was melt in the mouth kind of good! All in all, the dinner was superb. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Never disappointed!!! Wonderful atmosphere, staff, and meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

my wife and I live 50 miles from Memphis. She grew up in Memphis. For the last 3 years, we
have been dining at each of the top 10 restaurants listed in the Memphis Magazine. This restaurant is close to the top. To expensive for my pocket book. The service was exceptional.
We shared the Salmon .They separated it for us, which was nice. The Salmon was under cooked
for me. it was taken back and cooked some more. Then it was very tasty. Normally we spent around $40.00 for a meal. This one cost $103. Plus a $15.00 Tip. We may go back once a year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My experience with Erling Jensen The Restaurant was nothing short of amazing! Everything from the food to the service to the ambiance was top notch. Best dining experience I’ve ever had here in the Memphis Area. I would definitely recommend Erling Jensen to my friends and anyone else interested in fine dining with a local Restauranteur.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Our waitress was very attentive. One of the best in our dining experiences. The seafood was excellent. The wine selection very good. Will definitely come again. diane

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

My husband and I were looking for a new restaurant to celebrate our 4th anniversary . We were not disappointed with our restaurant selection. As we came in the door we were greeted with a handshake by the chef/owner. Extremely personal touch and very much appreciated. Our server Yana was very attentive. I would definitely recommend this place for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We love this restaurant, especially chef’s meal with wine pairings. Always a good evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

What an exquisite meal and wonderful service. We had the goat cheese salad, salmon, lamb, raspberry souffle & apple cobbler. Everything was exceptional and the Chef was vey kind, visiting each table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wonderful meal and wonderful service! This is the first time we have dined here. This restaurant was highly recommended by friends and our experience was the same - excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Elegant menu options, inventive and fresh. My salmon was perfect. Antelope was enjoyed by my dining companion, as was the crispy duck. Service was efficient but cold and brusque. Server Payton was humorless and businesslike without a trace of interest in the actual people at the table or the occasion. Seemed annoyed that we didn’t order dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Interesting restaurant with atmosphere. Service was nice. However, both the lamb chops and salmon were under cooked and raw. The server never came back to see how the meal was. Just a bad luck day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Celebrating Easter
With a very special lady born in1917.
Started with a crisp Mimosa
Staff was attentive but not intrusive.
Each course was presented in a timely, not rushed, manner..
Suggested wine parings were excellent.
Flavors both simple and complex combined for a delightful and delicious meal,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Have been there many times and always have excellent food!!! Best food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We love EJ. It’s always so relaxing and the food is always amazing. Try the lobster pancake! It’s phenomenal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We enjoy fine dining and good conversation, high quality, not rushed and not noisy. The food is exquisite, the service impeccable and the atmosphere a joy. It is the best restaurant in Memphis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The food was exceptional and the service was excellent. It is always nice when the chef comes by your table to make sure everything is OK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Excellent as always. Sunday night is my favorite - in the grill or the dining room. Best restaurant in Memphis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Exceptional food and service and also good value. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The best restaurant in Memphis! We have never had a bad meal or service in all our visits. Mr. Jensen is an absolute artist when it comes to preparing delicious meals. My highest recommendation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

High end cuisine, best restaurant in Memphis. We ate an elk tenderloin that was cooked to perfection. The wine selection was very fitting to the dish. Raspberry soufflé second to none. Overall a very memorable dining experience for our wedding anniversary. Thank you Erling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent food, excellent and friendly service--highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Erling’s always delivers excellent food. My wife is vegetarian and every time we come Erling puts together a wonderful unique vegetarian plate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Food was excellent with little surprises thrown in throughout the meal. Chef came around to see how I was enjoying my meal and I was. Ended with a delicious soufflé.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Erling Jensen is more than a good chef and restaurateur...he is "an artist"! The quality and presentation of meal made it a night to be savored and remembered. There was literally not one flaw in our special dinner for four. We were met at every turn with an attitude of "Special Interest" by the entire staff...from the first telephone contact all the way to Erling coming to our table to visit. Finally, cu do's and thanks to our server for making the evening special from beginning to end!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The food was excellent. The antelope special was one of the best meals I have
eaten in quite some time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

I had the monk fish special. It was good!
Service was very good. They took great care of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The food and ambiance were excellent. The menu had a wide range of choices and the service was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Excited food! Best Steak in all of Memphis. Lamb was flawless. This is fine dining in ever regard. An elderly crowd, but that wasn’t a draw back, just an observation. Dessert was mind blowing as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

As always, the meal and service were wonderful. We were in a smaller room so it was a little louder than normal but it did not interfere with our enjoyment. Can’t wait to go back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Have enjoyed Erling Jensen for several different occasions. Each time the food was great, service awesome and atmosphere perfect. Now no place bats 100 every time but Erling Jensen is as close as it gets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Ken and Jaquila were fantastic. We decided to eat dinner at the bar, and it was very enjoyable. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was fun for a Monday night. We can’t wait to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Outstanding service. They do all the little things to make your dining experience special. Food was terrific. best place in Memphis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It was two of our Birthdays which when asked by waitress we told her. That was the last mention of the occasion made by waitress. Kind of disappointed since I went there for my wedding aniversity and was greeted with a small dessert for the occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Fabulous in all respects, as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Wonderful food and service. It was, as always, a special dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

As always, Erling Jensen provided an outstanding meal with all of the class and quality you would expect in a fine dining experience. The wine list is extensive and has something for every occasion and taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Fantastic food and environment. Top notch! Erling Jensen's exceeded all expectations for fine dining food and experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This is my favorite Memphis restaurant. From the time you drive up for valet till you pick up your elegantly packages and labeled to-go, this restaurant is pure CLASS. Best food in Memphis ! Waitress was attentive without being intrusive. Why would you go anywhere else?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

What a great meal ! Every course was an absolute delight to my taste buds. One of the best dining experiences I have had in months !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

OUTSTANDING!!!!!! Food and Service was AWESOME.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27

Tweets by Erling Jensen The Restaurant