Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Erling Jensen The Restaurant

Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the healthy, imaginative eclectic and ethnically diverse cuisine of today.

1044 S. Yates Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Poplar

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 763-3700

Website:
http://www.ejensen.com/

Catering:
Wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, special events etc...

Parking Details:
Valet is available

Executive Chef:
Erling Jensen

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups from ten to fifty people. Audio Visual equipment available for professional presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Jaquila Jensen or Alison Pollan: (901) 763-3700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Erling Jensen The Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful evening enjoyed by 2 couples. Our dinners were perfectly prepared and served by an attentive smiling server.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience and food, as always. Scott provided superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food, service, staff impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Erling's has the best food in town and is the best value. Erling is personable, greets his customers personally to check on their satisfaction, and is extraordinarily flexible in his preparations.
He has awesome Sunday nite dinners and Fri nite wine dinners.
Erling's price point is extremely reasonable. Portions are very large

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

All four of us agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever eaten.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent service by Scott. He was awesome. He was so polite, professional, friendly, and super attentive. We were there for birthday celebration and he acknowledged my husband's birthday multiple times and thank us for dining. The entire staff was amazing. Mr. Jensen himself came out and greeted multiple tables and thanked the patrons for coming in. We had the Sunday night menu and all the items were delicious. We also had the lobster pancake for appetizer. It was a great evening. Only slight complaint was we sat at main dining area and 2 large tables next to us were very loud. Overall, our experience was super.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our meal was perfect as always. Our server, Shannon, is the best!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have never been disappointed with Chef Erling's menus. And the service is outstanding as well. Such a treat to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Probably one of the best restaurants I've been to. Great menu, staff and chef Jensen came to our table to make sure we were happy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As always, the food and service was excellent. It's our favorite spot and the staff is so personable. We love this gen of a restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and nice atmosphere. Service was very professional and knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very good atmosphere and food however prices can be more aligned with food portions. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

All I can say is, I'm glad I found this place and we will DEFINITELY be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Erling Jensen's has been our "go-to" choice for years for special celebrations. It never fails to provide perfection. This visit, the antelope was new to the menu and a spectacular dish, as was the crawfish bisque appetizer. It's ALL GOOD!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely spectacular!!! We have been going there for years and have NEVER been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My husband and I have enjoyed Erling Jensen's for years and it continues to top our list of favorite places to dine. The food and service is consistently amazing and we're looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

If there is something you want that is not on their menu they will be happy to prepare it for you! Just let Erling and his staff now a few days ahead. We have requested Bouillabaisse for our anniversary dinner for several years now and it is both AWESOME AND AMAZING!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Outstanding Fine Dining. Chef was very attentive and looked for feedback. It was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our food and dessert were not that great but the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Phenomenal. The portions were well-sized, and there were several flavors during the course of the meal that I experienced for the first time. The service was wonderful, and the atmosphere was comfortable. I felt like I could really relax and breathe slowly. It is obvious that the staff pays close attention to detail. It was a privilege to be there. From now on, I will recommend Erling Jensen to anyone looking for a memorable dinner. Thank you all.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food was great, but Shannon was not the best server we've had. She seemed out of it and forgot a few things. She overcharged us more drinks than we had and messed up the checks a few times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

excellent had Sunday menu it was perfect the three course meal! Went for Birthday it was special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love this restaurant. Always great food and the service is great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Birthday celebration. More noise than usual. Otherwise outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Chef prepared an amazing antelope and was in the dining rooms engaging with guests. The saucier is fabulous. Scott, our server was coming cal and added to our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was excellent as always. That's why we choose Erling's for our special moments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As usual the meal did not disappoint. The red fish and crawfish étouffée dish was not only delectable but a vision to behold! The bison ribeye was just as tasty for breakfast as it was for dinner. The portion was huge! And the oyster salad shocked me it. I thought there would be two or three oysters, there were a dozen at least. Our personal favorites the lobster pancake and the chocolate soufflé were as scrumptious as ever!! The only downside of the evening...a large group was just too loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Little disappointed with my bill we were there for the Sunday night special and it was 38.00 each for two people. We had 3 drinks and one glass of wine and two coffee and out bill ended up 132.00. that mean on average on drinks and coffee were 12.00 plus each I think that is a little much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always divine! Great service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was wonderful as always! I love being able to have something different. I had the antelope and it was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was outstanding and Too-Tall, our server, was wonderful. However, the noise level was horrible and made for a less-than-enjoyable experience. This was not our first time having Sunday dinner here, but it may well be our last for quite a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Awesome service and even better food! The bison sirloin was the most tender and best seasoned cut of meat I've ever tasted! The chef even came out and greeted each table. And the Brandy Alexander...perfect! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My favorite place in Memphis!! I highly recommend it, especially on Sunday nights with a great Sunday menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fabulous service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent as usual. I have been dining here for 20 years and it remains my favorite. Each course was prepared perfectly for my tastes. Service was very good with a nice balance between attentiveness and letting us talk. Erling is not cheap but imo he is worth it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a 5-star experience. Our favorite in Memphis.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Phenomenal experience. Request Yana as your server! She is delightful and exceptional at her job. Chef Jenseng made frequent visits to our table to ensure we were completely satisfied and happy we had chosen his establishment to share an evening with. This is our new favorite restaurant. We will most certainly return. The food was magnificent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have eaten at Erling Jensen once or twice a year for more years than I can remember and we have never had a meal that was less than incredible. This occasion was my daughter's birthday and her first gourmet dining experience. The staff helped to make it an unforgettable evening for us all.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.