Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Side by Side RestaurantThe Side by Side Restaurant
(209)
$$$$
Southern | Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa
Booked 14 times today
Highlands Bar & GrillHighlands Bar & Grill
(1922)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 38 times today
Hot and Hot Fish ClubHot and Hot Fish Club
(468)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 27 times today
Texas de Brazil - BirminghamTexas de Brazil - Birmingham
(1408)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
OceanOcean
(932)
$$$$
Seafood | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 8 times today
Cafe DupontCafe Dupont
(289)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 14 times today
BottegaBottega
(985)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 16 times today
Galley and GardenGalley and Garden
(464)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 7 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - BirminghamRuth's Chris Steak House - Birmingham
(544)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 13 times today
Firebirds Wood Fired Grill - BirminghamFirebirds Wood Fired Grill - Birmingham
(39)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 13 times today
J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill - HooverJ. Alexander's - Redlands Grill - Hoover
(125)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 6 times today
Bistro Two EighteenBistro Two Eighteen
(368)
$$$$
French | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 2 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - Birmingham - Brookwood VillageBRIO Tuscan Grille - Birmingham - Brookwood Village
(520)
$$$$
Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 11 times today
Habitat Feed & SocialHabitat Feed & Social
(188)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 10 times today
Bistro VBistro V
(298)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 8 times today

About Permanently Closed - Epiphany Farm-to-Fork

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Epiphany Farm-to-Fork is a fine dining establishment specializing in New American cuisine with Asian influences focusing on organic meats and locally grown organic produce, as well as sustainably caught or raised seafood. The menu is updated with fresh offerings on a weekly basis.

We have an outstanding wine list focusing on boutique wineries and small production wines. We also feature hand-crafted cocktails and specialize in re-imaginings of often forgotten classic cocktails. Our entire beer selection is exclusively Alabama-brewed.

For larger groups and private functions Epiphany offers a private room seating up to thirty five people which is available free of charge for parties of fifteen or more.

519 Greensboro Avenue
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Closing

Cross Street:
University Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 344-5583

Website:
http://epiphanyfarm2fork.com/

Parking Details:
Epiphany Cafe is located in downtown Tuscaloosa with available parking on the street as well as a free parking garage two blocks from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tres Jackson

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Doss: (205) 344-5583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Despite being the night before their final closing, we expected quality farm-to-table during our dining experience. However, it was poorly seasoned and some items were burned to char (Brussel sprouts, carrots, and lamb). Epiphany was our favorite restaurant when we lived in town, and when we heard they were closing for good we traveled all the way from North Carolina to have one last taste. It is a shame the last taste was an awful one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I've always loved Epiphany and the creative dishes they come up with. It's very unfortunate that they are closing December 17th. I would recommend everyone check out their new project called Animal Butter when it opens.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We ended up in Tuscaloosa because I went rogue with a hotel booking but after eating at Epiphany I am SO very glad that I did
I found it through TripAdvisor and booked it for an early dinner. We arrived to find it quiet and the restaurant empty, however there were many people eating at the bar when we arrived.
Eliza showed us to our table and was with us all evening and was, quite frankly superb - she was knowledgable, informative, enthusiastic, realistic, passionate and honest
The food here is described beautifully and when it arrives it looks and tastes just as delicious as it looks and everything we had was sublime - which included a free dish from the kitchen of shaved scallops with kumquat and chilli
Cocktails were creative, tasty and strong - if you are not staying in town then I would recommend an Uber so you can enjoy the drinks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was a ball game weekend so there were a lot of big groups that were fairly loud, but not rowdy. We loved it. I did think it was strangely bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was outstanding, very different (in a good way) combinations of tastes and textures. Brussel Sprouts were a great way to start. You can decide between small plates or big plates for dinner - it was perfect for the evening with old friends, it was quiet so we could linger and chat (Wednesday evening in T-town - - - obviously the students study!) Or it might just be out of their price range. Will go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service was slow, food was good,and interesting but quantity was too small for the price. Husband left hungry, after spending $45, and angry at doing so!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We've been twice in the last month and it was fabulous both times. Love the Brussel sprout appetizer. Great service too!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Whenever we visit Tuscaloosa, a visit to Ephiphany is on the calendar. The restaurant features a variety of well prepared appetizers, small plates, big plates, and desserts. The preparation is excellent, but with a minimalist presentation. The flavors are superb.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Had dinner with my husband. Great server, Eliza! Shared chanterelle mushroom small plate - very bland. You could do such great things with mushrooms and the kitchen failed miserably. Had to dump a ton of salt in it. Husband had spaghetti with sausage; he said it was ok. I had hot fried chicken. Liked the hash and pickled collard greens that came with the chicken. Chicken itself was tasty but I thought the batter was too thick - it almost overpowered the chicken. Thought the ambiance was ok - could be much better. It's like they haven't really decided what kind of atmosphere they were trying to create. All in all ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Had great small plates and pasta. Will take all my foodie friends!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Some farm-to-table establishments flood you with information as an attempt to set themselves apart. This place did a wonderful job of empowering us as consumers, allowing us to make our own decisions and ask the questions that were important to us. The entire staff was both friendly and knowledgeable. We went on a Wednesday night, so it was fairly quiet. If you're looking for a date spot, this is one of the better places in T-Town. That said, make sure you bring your wallet.

TL;DR: worth it, in terms of customer empowerment, ambience, quality/taste of food, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Jake our waiter was great and very knowledgeable. We will most definitely be back next time we are in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best meal's I have ever eaten! Ingredients were so fresh and used so smartly together!! We ordered several different items.....and each was better than the previous.
Service (Jake) was great.....attentive and knew the menu well.
My only negative critic was that the music was a little loud for dinner conversation.....the food is the superstar so let it shine without distraction.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Gem in the neighborhood! Enjoyed our meal. First timers in town for Alabama's parent weekend. The gnocchi was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food...your mouth will feel like its has had a party in it...can't misses include the House Made Cheese, Fried Brussel Sprouts, Eggplant Meatballs and Slow Roasted Lamb...leave room for the Olive Oil Cake! Wonderful presentation and flavors...whenever we visit UA, we make a reservation at Epiphany...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

In Tuscaloosa for the football game and wanted fine dining. Everything was very nice. Not super hungry so did not sample a lot on menu. The waiter was very enthusiastic about the menu. He made the dining experience wonderful

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2016

BEST FOOD EVER!! Fresh. Healthy. Pairings were like a rainbow in my mouth. Flavors orgasmic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We always make a point to stop by when visiting the kids at UA. Servers are the best. Food is excellent and inventive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food is amazing!! I love all the different flavors that you can taste in the food. Fresh!! My favorite place in Tuscaloosa!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food; great atmosphere; incredible service. A must-do in Tuscaloosa!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Went in while in town for work. Ended up sitting at the bar (my choice) for happy hour specials. AMAZING food and prices were low low. I would definitely recommend and go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Love it, go for sure and treat yourself! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great 3 hour dinner with new friends. Food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Planning to eat here every time I come to Tuscaloosa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Awesome, unique, fresh flavors with a variety of options. A flavor explosion! Perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2016

We are 3 travelling foodie friends and stumbled across this incredible find! We loved everything we had, just amazing!!! Thank you for everything, I so hope we make it back someday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Compliments to the chef for his creativity in bringing fresh food, perfectly prepared, to the table. The offerings are familiar foods, but not your run-of-the-mill fare. It's definitely fusion cuisine. The Brussel Sprouts with kimchi, blue cheese, and raisin are to die for! The Hot Chicken has such a flavorful crisp crust! We cannot wait to go back for more!

Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and how each dish is prepared and was helpful in making recommendations. The service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Returned for another visit while in town, and again had a really enjoyable evening. Epiphany always seems to offer something new and creative on the menu. When combined with excellent service (thank you Anthony and Cam), it makes for a great evening. I wish we lived closer... but will return next time we are in town if we can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2016

We started with 2 small plates from the garden & grains portion of the menu. The fried Brussel sprouts were fabulous - and I don't like this vegetable! The grain salad was a beautiful mix of kumquats and other citrus flavors, but the grains were undercooked and crunchy. Then we ordered prawns with a sunflower seed hummus from the meat & fish portion of the menu. Very disappointed. It had been sprinkled with sea salt, but rather carelessly so a few bites were super salty, but otherwise very bland. Definitely needed some Tony's and lemon to perk it up. Our server offered us something else, but we didn't want to chance it on another dish. Nice ambiance, but I expected better food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Expected a bit too much. Nothing bad just no wow. Scallops were warm, not hot. Cornbread and ancient grains pudding were excellent desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Gourmet small and large plates. Food bought from local farmers. Fresh, wonderful, unusual combinations of food and herbs. A must-go!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 27, 2016

You do not want to go to this restaurant if you want the standard steak and potatoes.

However, if you want excellent, innovative dishes that are farm to fork, this may just be the place for you. You can order smaller plates or larger plates. We ordered several smaller plates to share.

The Baked Cauliflower Souffle was excellent as was the Ricotta Gnocchi. The House Made Chorizo Tamales were good but could have used a little more spices in my opinion. Also had the Crispy Pork Cheeks. The pork itself was very good but again the Smoked Yogurt-Pickled AM Red Pea Salad-Charred Sweet Peppers could have used a few more spices.

Oh, and the beet and expresso dessert was very tasty.

Overall, a very nice meal and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Very good. We enjoyed every part of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 20, 2016

The ambiance and dining experience overall was great. Our waitress was very attentive to our needs and welcoming. She wasn't that knowledgeable about the drink menu but she did check in with the bartender to ensure every question we asked was answered appropriately. The downside to the restaurant was the price point being on the high end for a Tapas style restaurant and the farm to table concept was never explained (a new person that has never been to a farm-to-table concept wouldn't understand the difference from a regular restaurant and Tapas style was never explained either if you are new to this style of dining). Fortunately we have experienced both but a person new to this experience would not have been able to appreciate both concepts they offered. Tapas usually consists of sharing 6-8 small plates sometimes even more. The prices were on the high end and the food was good but not great enough to justify the price point. Overall we had a great time for our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I liked it but I could see if it wasn't for everyone. I love the fact that everything is local but it is also very pricey. You will not get fully satisfied also unless you order a lot of food. Service was good and very Friendly!
I will do happy hour next time and get half off appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2016

All of the food was source from local farms. It was fresh and cooked like no other and perfection. The dishes are amazing. The wine select was great and our waiter had knowledge of ALL. Wow what a great dining experience! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service!! Unique food. Not kid friendly at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 10, 2016

Great food and lots of variety. Service was excellent as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2015

Great food, great service. I wish they would bring back the shrimp spaghetti though.

Can't wait to try the new restaurant, "ab" next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner. We started with bread and pork butter (think bacon butter) YUM. All three of us ordered a different entre - the winner was the flank steak, but the pasta and pork dishes were great as well. Highly recommend this restaurant for the fresh food, ever changing menu and stocked bar.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.