About Epiphany Farm-to-Fork

519 Greensboro Avenue
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
View Larger Map

Epiphany Farm-to-Fork is a fine dining establishment specializing in New American cuisine with Asian influences focusing on organic meats and locally grown organic produce, as well as sustainably caught or raised seafood. The menu is updated with fresh offerings on a weekly basis.

We have an outstanding wine list focusing on boutique wineries and small production wines. We also feature hand-crafted cocktails and specialize in re-imaginings of often forgotten classic cocktails. Our entire beer selection is exclusively Alabama-brewed.

For larger groups and private functions Epiphany offers a private room seating up to thirty five people which is available free of charge for parties of fifteen or more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Closing

Cross Street:
University Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 344-5583

Website:
http://epiphanyfarm2fork.com/

Parking Details:
Epiphany Cafe is located in downtown Tuscaloosa with available parking on the street as well as a new parking garage being constructed two blocks from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tres Jackson

Private Party Contact:
Ward Bedsole: 205-344-5583x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cauliflower Souffle
Veal Hanger Steak With Crispy Chicken Skin And Salt Cured Egg
Bread Service With Pork Butter
Chocolate Mousse
Pana Cotta
Sweet Pot
Scallops
Oysters
Fried Chicken, Collards, Creamed Corn
Brown Butter Financier

Epiphany Farm-to-Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Most Booked
Tuscaloosa
Best Restaurants in Tuscaloosa ›

fit for foodies (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (4)
See All
special occasion (3)
romantic (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food; great atmosphere; incredible ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food; great atmosphere; incredible service. A must-do in Tuscaloosa!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in while in town for work. Ended u ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Went in while in town for work. Ended up sitting at the bar (my choice) for happy hour specials. AMAZING food and prices were low low. I would definitely recommend and go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it, go for sure and treat yourself! ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Love it, go for sure and treat yourself! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great 3 hour dinner with new friends. Fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great 3 hour dinner with new friends. Food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Planning to eat here every time I come t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Planning to eat here every time I come to Tuscaloosa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodie!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Awesome, unique, fresh flavors with a variety of options. A flavor explosion! Perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, fantastic service!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We are 3 travelling foodie friends and stumbled across this incredible find! We loved everything we had, just amazing!!! Thank you for everything, I so hope we make it back someday

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for fresh farm-to-table food

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Compliments to the chef for his creativity in bringing fresh food, perfectly prepared, to the table. The offerings are familiar foods, but not your run-of-the-mill fare. It's definitely fusion cuisine. The Brussel Sprouts with kimchi, blue cheese, and raisin are to die for! The Hot Chicken has such a flavorful crisp crust! We cannot wait to go back for more!

Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and how each dish is prepared and was helpful in making recommendations. The service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back again...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Returned for another visit while in town, and again had a really enjoyable evening. Epiphany always seems to offer something new and creative on the menu. When combined with excellent service (thank you Anthony and Cam), it makes for a great evening. I wish we lived closer... but will return next time we are in town if we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A mixed bag

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We started with 2 small plates from the garden & grains portion of the menu. The fried Brussel sprouts were fabulous - and I don't like this vegetable! The grain salad was a beautiful mix of kumquats and other citrus flavors, but the grains were undercooked and crunchy. Then we ordered prawns with a sunflower seed hummus from the meat & fish portion of the menu. Very disappointed. It had been sprinkled with sea salt, but rather carelessly so a few bites were super salty, but otherwise very bland. Definitely needed some Tony's and lemon to perk it up. Our server offered us something else, but we didn't want to chance it on another dish. Nice ambiance, but I expected better food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Expected a bit too much. Nothing bad j ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Expected a bit too much. Nothing bad just no wow. Scallops were warm, not hot. Cornbread and ancient grains pudding were excellent desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wow! Really interesting and delicious food.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Gourmet small and large plates. Food bought from local farmers. Fresh, wonderful, unusual combinations of food and herbs. A must-go!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unique!

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

You do not want to go to this restaurant if you want the standard steak and potatoes.

However, if you want excellent, innovative dishes that are farm to fork, this may just be the place for you. You can order smaller plates or larger plates. We ordered several smaller plates to share.

The Baked Cauliflower Souffle was excellent as was the Ricotta Gnocchi. The House Made Chorizo Tamales were good but could have used a little more spices in my opinion. Also had the Crispy Pork Cheeks. The pork itself was very good but again the Smoked Yogurt-Pickled AM Red Pea Salad-Charred Sweet Peppers could have used a few more spices.

Oh, and the beet and expresso dessert was very tasty.

Overall, a very nice meal and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good. We enjoyed every part of our ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Very good. We enjoyed every part of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Farm to Table Restaurant

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The ambiance and dining experience overall was great. Our waitress was very attentive to our needs and welcoming. She wasn't that knowledgeable about the drink menu but she did check in with the bartender to ensure every question we asked was answered appropriately. The downside to the restaurant was the price point being on the high end for a Tapas style restaurant and the farm to table concept was never explained (a new person that has never been to a farm-to-table concept wouldn't understand the difference from a regular restaurant and Tapas style was never explained either if you are new to this style of dining). Fortunately we have experienced both but a person new to this experience would not have been able to appreciate both concepts they offered. Tapas usually consists of sharing 6-8 small plates sometimes even more. The prices were on the high end and the food was good but not great enough to justify the price point. Overall we had a great time for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very healthy, unlike any restaurant in ttown

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I liked it but I could see if it wasn't for everyone. I love the fact that everything is local but it is also very pricey. You will not get fully satisfied also unless you order a lot of food. Service was good and very Friendly!

I will do happy hour next time and get half off appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All of the food was source from local fa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

All of the food was source from local farms. It was fresh and cooked like no other and perfection. The dishes are amazing. The wine select was great and our waiter had knowledge of ALL. Wow what a great dining experience! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service!! Unique food. Not kid fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service!! Unique food. Not kid friendly at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and lots of variety. Service ...

vip
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Great food and lots of variety. Service was excellent as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great, as usual

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Great food, great service. I wish they would bring back the shrimp spaghetti though.

Can't wait to try the new restaurant, "ab" next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, Unique Food

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner. We started with bread and pork butter (think bacon butter) YUM. All three of us ordered a different entre - the winner was the flank steak, but the pasta and pork dishes were great as well. Highly recommend this restaurant for the fresh food, ever changing menu and stocked bar.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food but table are too big

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

I like pretty much everything about this restaurant except one thing (two things). The tables are too big. I went with my wife and we wanted to talk while having delicious food. There is only one size table which is long and deep, big enough to seat about eight people. The music was slightly obtrusive. The only solution we came up with was to sit perpendicular around one corner of the massive table so we were close. We had a great evening.

One other thing: we ordered a dessert that was described in great detail. Except when we got it, we found it was in a shallow plum compote (which wasn't part of the description). Generally I dislike it when food comes notably different from how it is described. But the dessert was really nice anyway; we enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A great find in Tuscaloosa

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Epiphany offers sublimely prepared dishes with a sustainable ethos. The freshness and high quality of the ingredients shines through in every dish. The preparation is creative and the flavor pairings are marvelous. The service was very good, even on a very busy night. Wine list is surprisingly good. I never expected to find this kind of foodie heaven in Tuscaloosa, but I'm very happy that I did.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful !

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

Everything about the menu is creative. The farm fresh vegetables are prepared and served with perfection. The pasta selection is great, as well as the fish, meat, chicken, etc.... I highly recommend this restaurant, as much thought and preparation goes into every dish that leaves the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely fantastic experience. Love t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Absolutely fantastic experience. Love the "small plate" design of the menu. The food was 5 star. Shocking to find such an outstanding restaurant in a college town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The meal at Ephiphany was one of the best ever! The food was outstanding ( especially the brussel sprout appeitizer and the rabitt main course).Will return the next time I am in Tuscaloosa

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best farm to table healthy eating excell ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

Best farm to table healthy eating excellence ever!! Imagine a vegetable as dessert. Chef's counter is fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rude wait staff. Left without being served

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

I sat at the bar for 5 min making eye contact with multiple wait staff and bar tenders. They never acknowledged my existence with even a head nod or suggesting they would be with me shortly. I finally got up and found a restaurant where you didn't have to be a hipster to get service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Artistry

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Truly creative fresh foods. This was exactly what we were looking for: great vegetables , very good fish and meats. Not your run of the mill restaurant in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Edgy

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Maybe just a little outside of my comfort zone. It's like many of the dishes are prepared from the basket on Chopped. Often the ingredients are not intuitively supported by the other ingredients, but sometimes we get lucky, and we have an innovative fusion and sometimes we don’t. I just haven't received my Epiphany yet.

Anna was a delightfully prepared waitress who was very knowledgeable about the menu, ingredients and the preparation.

I see a lot of effort to be creative, but compared what I consider my local Mobile comps, Dumb Waiter and Kitchen on George, it seems the folks at Epiphany may be trying a little too hard or are reaching too far. Relax and make it about cooking well, not so avant garde!

This was my third visit and so far my overall comment is, "OK, that was interesting."

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Casually Sophisticated!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Wow, what a wonderful dining experience in a college town. The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The kitchen was very cautious about my food allergy. The food was incredible. It has a laid back atmosphere but sophisticated menu. Two thumbs up!!!!

A culinary treasure in a sea of mediocrity that we hope to enjoy on all of our visits to Tuscaloosa.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Trying too hard to trick it up

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

We've eaten at Epiphany a few times over the past couple of years, and generally it's been good enough to encourage us to return. This past time however, everyone in our group felt as though the entrees were just way too "tricked up" -- as if it was an attempt to make it so different from everyone else. Even the featured cocktails had to have some oddball collection of liquids, to the point that they didn't taste remotely close to the descriptions. The overall taste combinations just didn't work for us, and strangely even the "large plate" entrees were very small. Three quarter-sized scallops for $24? Really?

Have to scratch this one off my list of places to eat when visiting Tuscaloosa, sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very surprised

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Was not expecting such a find in a college town. Food was excellent with a lot of thought behind presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really Unique

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

This "genuine" farm to table restaraunt had some of the most creative combinations of foods

I have had. We shared 6 or 7 different dishes. Each one was unique, and better than the one

before. This place takes food very seriously. I am from New Orleans, and really appreciate good food. THIS place has good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Epiphany is an amazing food exoerience! ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 3, 2015

Epiphany is an amazing food exoerience! The food, the service, the attention to detail...you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant meal for our group

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

The food is always good here. The menu is a little tough to decipher but the waitress gave us good information. This is a tapas style and not like some of the tapas restaurants I see around the country. The size of the tapas varried from serving 1 to serving 4. We ended up ordering more food than we needed. I rate the food outstanding and the every changing menu is a treat. A good place to take a client or adults. I find the prices at the top end of my range but good for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A hidden gem of a restaurant.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

There is not much left to desire when you dine here. The service, food, wait staff, etc. are all great. It's a good thing that I don't live in Tuscaloosa because I would be there all the time.

Alex Guess

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique and Delicious

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Wonderful restaurant with a great atmosphere. Great wine selection. All of the dishes were truly unique and incredibly good. Menu is more Tapas style, than al a carte. We each ordered a vegetable and meat, and shared. Also, I highly recommend sharing a dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

Some of the portion sizes are what I would consider tapas so just keep that in mind as you order.

The orecchiette (adult macaroni as our server deemed it) was fantastic and will end up being one of those kind of dishes we will crave and have to go back and get every now and then - small serving.

Fried brussell sprouts were great with a nice tiny hint of heat in the after taste - large serving.

Fried Breast of Georgia Quail (pan fried) was very tasty and cooked perfectly and in a delicious mushroom sauce- small to medium serving.

Unfortunately, we decided to get to dessert instead of trying the short ribs which they said were a healthy serving so maybe a large plate there and we look forward to finding out. I'd bet their short ribs are great.

Only disappointment was the dessert - we ate all of it but the Panna Cotta was a little bland and needed more sweet to it.

Good wine selection. Cool unique water glasses were a nice touch. Great service. Definitely going back to this place!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with my family

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

Just had dinner at Epiphany. Food was quite good but I would not go back based on the scallop dish I ordered. Two regular sized sea scallops for 22 dollars?. Forget that! If this fix this, it will be worth going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.