About Envoy

2308 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Since its opening in 2005, Envoy Restaurant in the Ambassador Hotel has been charming guests with its nostalgic 1920's ambiance, world class cuisine and impeccable service. Envoy's menu showcases artisan regional ingredients while fusing recognizable American cuisine with global influences.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:

Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am,

Sunday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Lounge Menu:

Daily: 11:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 345-5015

Website:
http://www.envoymilwaukee.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of catering and private menu options. Please contact Jeanne Garcia at 414-345-5021 for detailed information.

Parking Details:
Our well-lit, secure, private parking structure and surface lot,makes parking effortless. Located directly behind the Ambassador Hotel. Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Ismail Oztas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining and event planning is available. Please contact Jeanne Garcia, Food & Beverage Operations Manager, for detailed information. 414-345-5021

Restaurant Photos

  • Envoy
  • Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
  • Seared Scallops
Envoy
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Seared Scallops

Promotions

1928 Priced Happy Hour!

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Sunday Brunch

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Friday Fish Fry

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

1928 Priced Happy Hour!

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Who Says Ya' Can't Go Back? It's 1928 at Envoy! Weeknights from 4p-7p buy one martini or nostalgic cocktail and receive your next at 1928's price! Appetizers are 50% off too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in Envoy's Lounge. Special valid Aug 1, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Wine Wednesdays at Envoy | 50% off bottles of wine | Lounge & Dining Room. Special valid Apr 1, 2016 - Aug 1, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.
Sunday Brunch

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details
An Award Winning Sunday Brunch Experience! Enjoy unlimited small plate, made to order brunch selections with a Chef attended omelet station. Excludes Tax and Tip. Sundays 10a-3p $20 per person, $12.95 Children 12 & under. Special valid Apr 1, 2016 - Aug 1, 2016 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM.
Friday Fish Fry

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
All you can eat choice of baked cod, breaded fried cod, greek style cod or crispy fried gulf shrimp served with homemade coleslaw, black rye bread, hot apple compote and choice of chive potato pancakes or fries Pan Fried Perch $19 Clam Chowder. Excludes Tax and Tip. Friday Fish Fry served in lounge or dining room during lunch and dinner hours. Special valid Apr 1, 2016 - Aug 1, 2016 on Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Envoy, located in the Ambassador Hotel, has several intimate private dining rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 120 guests. Private rooms are located adjacent to Envoy's dining room as well as adjacent to the Ambassador Hotel's Lobby areas.

Envoy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

great for brunch (26)
special occasion (19)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
great for lunch (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (12)
romantic (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday Brunch (group of 3) - it ...

Dined 5 days ago

Went for Sunday Brunch (group of 3) - it was outstanding. Loved the small plates approach rather than buffet or one selection. Our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Envoy is a very nice place.We had brunch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Envoy is a very nice place.We had brunch,ordering small.Every item I ordered it didn't get.I received something different.We find out waiters first time doing brunch.He was pleasant but not attentive.Had to wait for even the coffee.We are done with the dinning room there!We will stay in the bar area!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We went there for brunch and the food wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went there for brunch and the food was excellent. For $20 you could order multiple small plate dishes from the menu. The crème brule French toast was delicious. The service was disappointing but I think it was our particular server. We will probably try again hoping that this was just a fluke.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we visit Milwaukee we stay at t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Whenever we visit Milwaukee we stay at the Ambassador Hotel and eat dinner at the Envoy, which is part of the hotel. We love feeling like we've stepped back in time to the Art Deco era. The food is great and the service outstanding. It's a nice quiet place for the kind of elegant dinner that never goes out of style!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Envoy never disappoints. I had dinner there with a friend before a show at the Riverside. This was the first time I had the fish fry-actually I opted for the shrimp. My friend ordered the perch. Both were tasty, well presented and substantial amount. We used the complimentary shuttle to and from the theater which is a great perk when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent presentation of entrees. Relish plate and bread with balsamic and oil were appreciated. Perfect size salad to accompany dinners. Scallops and bourbon glazed ribs were delicious. Attentive and friendly waitstaff. Perfect start to a night at the theater.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful as always!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have visited the Envoy brunch numerous times and are never disappointed. The Mothers Day brunch was amazing with the small plates and room full of breakfast items. The weekly brunch of small plates and made to order omelettes leave nothing to be desired. Not to mention the customer service!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Going downhill

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We've visited Envoy several time, each subsequent visit has gotten worse. The service and food quality have just become bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my graduation for l ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to celebrate my graduation for late night snacks and drinks, and it was great for a family of a variety of ages!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Your service was very friendly but you didn't have

Dined on May 15, 2016

enough staff to attend the customers; our group waited for a long time to get initial and on going service. That is not the first time that has happened to us. Other than that, your place is fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good dinner, great waiter.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was good, not rushed. I like the relish tray and bread with dipping plate. My rib eye steak was a little rare for medium, but after I tasted it and it melted in my mouth I was very happy. My husband said his prime rib was only average. I loved the truffle mashed potatoes and the salad was lovely and generous with home made dressing. We tried the Cappuccino Mousse for dessert with coffee and it was delicious. Our waiter made the dinner even better by checking to see when I wanted him to put our entree order in (everyone should do this!) so we weren't rushed and he met our every need without having to ask. I think my steak dinner at $34 was very fairly priced.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

celebrated birthday dinner & a play. wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

celebrated birthday dinner & a play. was great to have the shuttle service so we could all travel together and not worry about parking near the theater - dinner was GREAT and timing worked out marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not our first time at Envoy

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We go to Envoy frequently...especially when we have In Tandem theatre tickets...We go into the bar to have their great drink specials (NOT available in the Restaurant) and their special menu items...which are more than adequate and great prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They treat us well!

Dined on May 10, 2016

We hold a monthly meeting and always prefer the Envoy. Ken is one of the best waiters anywhere. Interesting menu and quality food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Sunday brunch is outstanding! Others,not so much

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Sunday brunch is worth every dollar! The food is warm, made to your liking and you can eat endless amounts until your gut tells you otherwise! But when it comes to special occasion holiday buffets, well...that's another story. There are some items from the original Sunday brunch menu available and added items in another room for the special buffet. The problem with the main buffet being in this room is that there are windows on one wall and they are located directly across where the food is laid out. This would be okay if it were 90 degrees outside. But if it is chilly and breezy, so is the food on the buffet table. Why not just move the whole buffet outside in the parking lot? Food should stay warm, shouldn't it? The pre-made waffles and pancakes are a real turn off. Maybe it's just me, but I like my pancakes and waffles made fresh off the griddle and hot! If the butter does not melt on my pancakes, I ain't eating them...period! There are two meats offered. Turkey and Prime Rib. No gravies or sauce, no vegetables and no potatoes. Unless you like breakfast potatoes with your main meats, then I guess that will satisfy some people. There is an abundance of very delicious cooked shrimp, smoked fish, and a variety of fruit and deserts. The breakfast choices outweigh the dinner type choices so the variety of food is very limited and not worth the price. If you want a delicious, hot breakfast I suggest George Webb. Save your money and skip their holiday buffets and go to the Envoy for their weekly Sunday brunch. It's totally worth it!

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Wasn't Happy About Seating

Dined on May 8, 2016

I think the staff should be educated to the history of why its very important not to attempt to sit African American couples in the rear of the restaurant when ample seats are available up front. Actions like this open old wounds and have the potential to effect one's decision to return. Especially when reservations were made well in advance.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Place to Celebrate

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was an excellent place to celebrate a special event. The service was outstanding and the food exceeded expectations. The service staff was extremely attentive and the options were outstanding. It is a place where we will return to try other options from the very interesting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Bad service...great food now what?

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was the best ever. The chef prepared some unbelievable dishes seasoned very well and came out quickly. Ambiance was upscale but not stuffy however the worst service we have ever encountered. A paralegal, police, court commissioner and a sheriff all dining with me to celebrate my birthday at this place of my choice, I was so embarrassed. I hope the food and atmosphere will overshadow the horrible service and maybe they will tell a friend. I WILLNOT!!! Which is so sad.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Just ok.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food sounds much better on the menu than in reality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there twice in 3 weeks

Dined on April 15, 2016

Convenient for attending shows at Irish Cultural and HeritageCenter. We brought 2 different couples for the experience Both times were good experience

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Envoy Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

I love the Ambassador. Their brunch is great, and their bar and dinner are even better! The wait to get the bill was a bit long, but I could tell the waitress was new and was trying to be respectful and not interrupt conversation. All in all, I always recommend the Envoy/Ambassador. Their small plates brunch is a cool "different" thing to do!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Heard about the Envoy from show on PBS. Glad we were watching PBS that day as we had a great experience. Service was attentive and friendly. Food was presented in attraftive manner. We felt this was a great value and find. We plan to be back often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friday fish specials

Dined on March 18, 2016

The Fish dinners were very good. Disappointed with the very small serving of coleslaw. It was all of 3 tablespoons. Why so skimpy? Our guests love coleslaw, but the serving dish was more appropriate for serving tartar sauce. Also, the feta cheese served top of the Greek fish dinner was not very generous. Overall, all was good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ben

Dined on March 16, 2016

Ben, our waiter, was excellent! He anticipated a lot. We are tough as there are 6 of us with separate checks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ike as our server is the BEST!!!

Dined on March 1, 2016

Tried the daily special -- chicken enchiladas -- and they were gourmet enchiladas -- great tasting and beautiful to look at. My guest had the Chicken Cashew Salad. We were both pleased. Having Ike as our waiter just makes the experience more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Always a delicious meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

True hidden gem

Dined on February 15, 2016

What can I say, food was outstanding, service was great and the surroundings were very nice. Enjoyed lunch here with my husband. Will come back to try dinner. Lovely place😊

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The server did the best he could;

Dined on February 14, 2016

They had only three servers on for the Saturday night before Valentines Day! The staff shortage reduced the potential for excellent service; dishes not removed timely, dishes presented with, "Who ordered..." The food was good, unfortunately it was not well plated. We each ordered prime rim, very good; but it was squashed on a plate that would have better served a petite filet. The bread and olive oil plate was excellent, almost sweet! We ordered dessert to go: chocolate mousse was fine, whipped cream - I'm not sure it was house made. It would have been better if they had skipped the commercial mini chocolate chips and used a shredded good quality chocolate bar. Oh, not being a true wine snob; I think I was served a Chardonnay instead of a Savingion Blanc, too sweet. Yes, I know, white with red meat?!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Envoy always good!

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

When you are at the bar, far better than being in main dining room because food is cheaper and faster.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food, would definitely recommend.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was great. This was my second time dining. I will return. I did notice that chandeliers were very dusty. This should be addressed immediately. That would brighten up the room.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Tasty brunch needing service improvements

Dined on February 7, 2016

Loved the small plate brunch. Even my young girls found plates they liked. Service could be improved. Felt like we had to beg for our next plates.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably Good

Dined on February 5, 2016

Most often, when I'm at Envoy it's for a business lunch or a meeting after work. The food is high quality, good and I can always find healthy options! Service is impeccable and the atmosphere is perfect for business meetings. Too many other places are blasting techno and you can barely hear yourself, let alone someone else. This is definitely my 'go to' place for getting things done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good service, easy parking

Dined on February 1, 2016

Friends from Greendale and Wauwatosa met me at The Envoy because it was quiet enough for conversation, good food, easy to find, easy to park. We all said we would be delighted to gather there again.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Sunday brunch at Envoy!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

We love Sunday brunch at Envoy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Girls weekend

Dined on January 17, 2016

So nice. Everyone helpful and friendly. Shuttle service is awesome. Great time. Good food. Brunch was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Still Possibly the Best Sunday Brunch Ever

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Remains one of the best Brunch ideas and values in the city, and we never see it anywhere else in the country so that's why we always bring out of town guests here for Brunch. The small plate brunch items ordered off the menu are always delicious and nicely presented, plus made to order omelets were great too. Since this was not a holiday week or weekend, the service was fast at the table and fast from the kitchen. On busier holiday or crowded Sundays it can be a wait, so it's best to not go here if you're in a hurry and it's busy. Be forwarded, the salads are NOT small, but they are very tasty and tough to stop eating ;-) Only disappointment this winter is the Crawfish Etoufee Egg Benedict, it deff looks great described on the menu, but isn't as good as their crab cake benedict or their regular benedict or other egg items.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice Place

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

The décor is very retro and is a comfortable setting for dinner. We had very good service. The food was good, but not outstanding by any means. Although I would recommend the Envoy to a friend, it would be with reservations, as other restaurants could offer a better value.

food2
ambience2
service2

We went on New Years Eve. The dining ar ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went on New Years Eve. The dining area was somewhat chilly due to the foot traffic in the hotel leading to outside. The crab cakes were heavily breaded. The onion soup had too many croutons and not enough cheese. My steak was good and cooked to temperature, but, my companion's steak was overcooked and stringy. Our server seemed to be rushing us initially but, I slowed things down for us. Unfortunately, our server decided that we were the people to complain about the night and other tables too. Made for an unpleasant experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a completely enjoyable lunch with ...

Dined on December 7, 2015

It was a completely enjoyable lunch with my coworkers.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service2

dinner

Dined on November 14, 2015

This was not our first trip to Envoy, our past dinners have been good. The hotel is beautiful and the restaurant elegant. The food at this meal was not good. My dinner was cold when it came to the table (baked fish, potato pancakes), the rye bread was dry and the beer warm. Unfortunately the waitress did not come to check on us and being hungry I was forced to eat my cold meal. In general the way in which the food was prepared left a lot to be desired, the coldness may have influenced the taste. The best part of the meal was the warm bread sticks and relish tray that the manager brought us at the beginning. The manager asked us about our dinner after we were finished and even though we were not happy she just said she would let the kitchen know. She didn't offer dessert or an incentive to try the restaurant again, so we won't be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.