About Envoy

2308 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Since its opening in 2005, Envoy Restaurant in the Ambassador Hotel has been charming guests with its nostalgic 1920's ambiance, world class cuisine and impeccable service. Envoy's menu showcases artisan regional ingredients while fusing recognizable American cuisine with global influences.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST

Monday: Closed for Breakfast (Caffe' Deco is open)

Tuesday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am

BRUNCH:

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm


LUNCH:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


DINNER:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE FOOD SERVICE HOURS:

Sunday - Thursday : 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday-Saturday: 11:00am - Midnight

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 345-5015

Website:
http://www.envoymilwaukee.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of catering and private menu options. Please contact Jeanne Garcia at 414-345-5021 for detailed information.

Parking Details:
Our well-lit, secure, private parking structure and surface lot,makes parking effortless. Located directly behind the Ambassador Hotel. Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Ismail Oztas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining and event planning is available. Please contact Jeanne Garcia, Food & Beverage Operations Manager, for detailed information. 414-345-5021

Restaurant Photos

  • Envoy
  • Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
  • Seared Scallops
Envoy
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Seared Scallops

Specials

1928 Priced Happy Hour!

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

1928 Priced Happy Hour!

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Who Says Ya' Can't Go Back? It's 1928 at Envoy! Weeknights from 4p-7p buy one martini or nostalgic cocktail and receive your next at 1928's price! Select appetizers are 50% off too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in Envoy's Lounge. Special valid Aug 1, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Private Dining

Envoy, located in the Ambassador Hotel, has several intimate private dining rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 120 guests. Private rooms are located adjacent to Envoy's dining room as well as adjacent to the Ambassador Hotel's Lobby areas.

Envoy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always Great...NOT our first time here, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always Great...NOT our first time here, nor will it be our last!

Food is great; atmosphere very nice and VERY quiet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rated 1 star just to review posted. Had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Rated 1 star just to review posted.

Had a reservation for Saturday the 27 of August at 2p.m., when we arrived after driving almost 5 hours at 2:04. There was NO ONE around!!! When we asked someone at the lounge connected to the Envoy, they told us that the waitstaff at the restaurant all went home! Don't know who to more disappointed with "Opentable(did they not get our reservation sent) or The Envoy restaurant(did they not care, because we were the only reservation )".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were staying at the Ambassador Hotel ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were staying at the Ambassador Hotel to attend a Cubs game. We enjoyed a great breakfast at Envoy: omelet, hash browns and an English muffin for $10. It was delicious and the dining room was nicely decorated in keeping with the Art Deco feel of the hotel. They also made a great Bloody Mary.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch: Told by friend excellent brunch. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch: Told by friend excellent brunch. Food was cold except for waffles or omelette bar.

Disappointing. Won't go there again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Went for Sunday Brunch (group of 3) - it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch (group of 3) - it was outstanding. Loved the small plates approach rather than buffet or one selection. Our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Envoy is a very nice place.We had brunch ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Envoy is a very nice place.We had brunch,ordering small.Every item I ordered it didn't get.I received something different.We find out waiters first time doing brunch.He was pleasant but not attentive.Had to wait for even the coffee.We are done with the dinning room there!We will stay in the bar area!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We went there for brunch and the food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went there for brunch and the food was excellent. For $20 you could order multiple small plate dishes from the menu. The crème brule French toast was delicious. The service was disappointing but I think it was our particular server. We will probably try again hoping that this was just a fluke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Whenever we visit Milwaukee we stay at t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Whenever we visit Milwaukee we stay at the Ambassador Hotel and eat dinner at the Envoy, which is part of the hotel. We love feeling like we've stepped back in time to the Art Deco era. The food is great and the service outstanding. It's a nice quiet place for the kind of elegant dinner that never goes out of style!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Envoy never disappoints. I had dinner there with a friend before a show at the Riverside. This was the first time I had the fish fry-actually I opted for the shrimp. My friend ordered the perch. Both were tasty, well presented and substantial amount. We used the complimentary shuttle to and from the theater which is a great perk when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent presentation of entrees. Relish plate and bread with balsamic and oil were appreciated. Perfect size salad to accompany dinners. Scallops and bourbon glazed ribs were delicious. Attentive and friendly waitstaff. Perfect start to a night at the theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have visited the Envoy brunch numerous times and are never disappointed. The Mothers Day brunch was amazing with the small plates and room full of breakfast items. The weekly brunch of small plates and made to order omelettes leave nothing to be desired. Not to mention the customer service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Going downhill

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We've visited Envoy several time, each subsequent visit has gotten worse. The service and food quality have just become bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We went to celebrate my graduation for l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to celebrate my graduation for late night snacks and drinks, and it was great for a family of a variety of ages!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your service was very friendly but you didn't have

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

enough staff to attend the customers; our group waited for a long time to get initial and on going service. That is not the first time that has happened to us. Other than that, your place is fabulous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Good dinner, great waiter.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was good, not rushed. I like the relish tray and bread with dipping plate. My rib eye steak was a little rare for medium, but after I tasted it and it melted in my mouth I was very happy. My husband said his prime rib was only average. I loved the truffle mashed potatoes and the salad was lovely and generous with home made dressing. We tried the Cappuccino Mousse for dessert with coffee and it was delicious. Our waiter made the dinner even better by checking to see when I wanted him to put our entree order in (everyone should do this!) so we weren't rushed and he met our every need without having to ask. I think my steak dinner at $34 was very fairly priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

celebrated birthday dinner & a play. wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

celebrated birthday dinner & a play. was great to have the shuttle service so we could all travel together and not worry about parking near the theater - dinner was GREAT and timing worked out marvelous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not our first time at Envoy

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We go to Envoy frequently...especially when we have In Tandem theatre tickets...We go into the bar to have their great drink specials (NOT available in the Restaurant) and their special menu items...which are more than adequate and great prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They treat us well!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We hold a monthly meeting and always prefer the Envoy. Ken is one of the best waiters anywhere.

Interesting menu and quality food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch is outstanding! Others,not so much

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Sunday brunch is worth every dollar! The food is warm, made to your liking and you can eat endless amounts until your gut tells you otherwise! But when it comes to special occasion holiday buffets, well...that's another story. There are some items from the original Sunday brunch menu available and added items in another room for the special buffet. The problem with the main buffet being in this room is that there are windows on one wall and they are located directly across where the food is laid out. This would be okay if it were 90 degrees outside. But if it is chilly and breezy, so is the food on the buffet table. Why not just move the whole buffet outside in the parking lot? Food should stay warm, shouldn't it? The pre-made waffles and pancakes are a real turn off. Maybe it's just me, but I like my pancakes and waffles made fresh off the griddle and hot! If the butter does not melt on my pancakes, I ain't eating them...period! There are two meats offered. Turkey and Prime Rib. No gravies or sauce, no vegetables and no potatoes. Unless you like breakfast potatoes with your main meats, then I guess that will satisfy some people. There is an abundance of very delicious cooked shrimp, smoked fish, and a variety of fruit and deserts. The breakfast choices outweigh the dinner type choices so the variety of food is very limited and not worth the price. If you want a delicious, hot breakfast I suggest George Webb. Save your money and skip their holiday buffets and go to the Envoy for their weekly Sunday brunch. It's totally worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Wasn't Happy About Seating

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I think the staff should be educated to the history of why its very important not to attempt to sit African American couples in the rear of the restaurant when ample seats are available up front. Actions like this open old wounds and have the potential to effect one's decision to return.

Especially when reservations were made well in advance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful Place to Celebrate

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was an excellent place to celebrate a special event. The service was outstanding and the food exceeded expectations. The service staff was extremely attentive and the options were outstanding. It is a place where we will return to try other options from the very interesting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bad service...great food now what?

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was the best ever. The chef prepared some unbelievable dishes seasoned very well and came out quickly. Ambiance was upscale but not stuffy however the worst service we have ever encountered. A paralegal, police, court commissioner and a sheriff all dining with me to celebrate my birthday at this place of my choice, I was so embarrassed. I hope the food and atmosphere will overshadow the horrible service and maybe they will tell a friend. I WILLNOT!!! Which is so sad.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Just ok.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food sounds much better on the menu than in reality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Been there twice in 3 weeks

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Convenient for attending shows at Irish Cultural and HeritageCenter. We brought 2 different couples for the experience

Both times were good experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Envoy Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I love the Ambassador. Their brunch is great, and their bar and dinner are even better! The wait to get the bill was a bit long, but I could tell the waitress was new and was trying to be respectful and not interrupt conversation. All in all, I always recommend the Envoy/Ambassador. Their small plates brunch is a cool "different" thing to do!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Find!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Heard about the Envoy from show on PBS. Glad we were watching PBS that day as we had a great experience. Service was attentive and friendly. Food was presented in attraftive manner. We felt this was a great value and find. We plan to be back often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday fish specials

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Fish dinners were very good. Disappointed with the very small serving of coleslaw.

It was all of 3 tablespoons. Why so skimpy?

Our guests love coleslaw, but the serving dish was more appropriate for serving tartar sauce.

Also, the feta cheese served top of the Greek fish dinner was not very generous.

Overall, all was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ben

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Ben, our waiter, was excellent! He anticipated a lot. We are tough as there are 6 of us with separate checks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ike as our server is the BEST!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Tried the daily special -- chicken enchiladas -- and they were gourmet enchiladas -- great tasting and beautiful to look at. My guest had the Chicken Cashew Salad. We were both pleased. Having Ike as our waiter just makes the experience more special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a delicious meal.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Always a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

True hidden gem

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

What can I say, food was outstanding, service was great and the surroundings were very nice. Enjoyed lunch here with my husband. Will come back to try dinner. Lovely place😊

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The server did the best he could;

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

They had only three servers on for the Saturday night before Valentines Day! The staff shortage reduced the potential for excellent service; dishes not removed timely, dishes presented with, "Who ordered..."

The food was good, unfortunately it was not well plated. We each ordered prime rim, very good; but it was squashed on a plate that would have better served a petite filet.

The bread and olive oil plate was excellent, almost sweet!

We ordered dessert to go: chocolate mousse was fine, whipped cream - I'm not sure it was house made. It would have been better if they had skipped the commercial mini chocolate chips and used a shredded good quality chocolate bar.

Oh, not being a true wine snob; I think I was served a Chardonnay instead of a Savingion Blanc, too sweet. Yes, I know, white with red meat?!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Envoy always good!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

When you are at the bar, far better than being in main dining room because food is cheaper and faster.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the food, would definitely recommend.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was great. This was my second time dining. I will return. I did notice that chandeliers were very dusty. This should be addressed immediately. That would brighten up the room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty brunch needing service improvements

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Loved the small plate brunch. Even my young girls found plates they liked. Service could be improved. Felt like we had to beg for our next plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Reliably Good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Most often, when I'm at Envoy it's for a business lunch or a meeting after work. The food is high quality, good and I can always find healthy options! Service is impeccable and the atmosphere is perfect for business meetings. Too many other places are blasting techno and you can barely hear yourself, let alone someone else. This is definitely my 'go to' place for getting things done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, easy parking

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Friends from Greendale and Wauwatosa met me at The Envoy because it was quiet enough for conversation, good food, easy to find, easy to park. We all said we would be delighted to gather there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Sunday brunch at Envoy!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We love Sunday brunch at Envoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Girls weekend

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

So nice. Everyone helpful and friendly. Shuttle service is awesome. Great time. Good food. Brunch was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still Possibly the Best Sunday Brunch Ever

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Remains one of the best Brunch ideas and values in the city, and we never see it anywhere else in the country so that's why we always bring out of town guests here for Brunch. The small plate brunch items ordered off the menu are always delicious and nicely presented, plus made to order omelets were great too. Since this was not a holiday week or weekend, the service was fast at the table and fast from the kitchen. On busier holiday or crowded Sundays it can be a wait, so it's best to not go here if you're in a hurry and it's busy.

Be forwarded, the salads are NOT small, but they are very tasty and tough to stop eating ;-)

Only disappointment this winter is the Crawfish Etoufee Egg Benedict, it deff looks great described on the menu, but isn't as good as their crab cake benedict or their regular benedict or other egg items.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.