Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Envoy

Since its opening in 2005, Envoy Restaurant in the Ambassador Hotel has been charming guests with its nostalgic 1920's ambiance, world class cuisine and impeccable service. Envoy's menu showcases artisan regional ingredients while fusing recognizable American cuisine with global influences.

2308 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST

Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am

BRUNCH:

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm


LUNCH:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


DINNER:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE FOOD SERVICE HOURS:

Sunday - Thursday : 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday-Saturday: 11:00am - Midnight

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 345-5015

Website:
http://www.envoymilwaukee.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of catering and private menu options. Please contact Jeanne Garcia at 414-345-5021 for detailed information.

Parking Details:
Our well-lit, secure, private parking structure and surface lot,makes parking effortless. Located directly behind the Ambassador Hotel. Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Ismail Oztas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining and event planning is available. Please contact Jeanne Garcia, Food & Beverage Operations Manager, for detailed information. 414-345-5021

Specials

1928 Priced Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Sunday Brunch

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Mother's Day Brunch

Sundays from 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Specials

1928 Priced Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Who Says Ya' Can't Go Back? It's 1928 at Envoy! Sun-Thurs from 4p-7p buy one martini or nostalgic cocktail and receive your next at 1928's price! Select appetizers are 50% off too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in Envoy's Lounge. Special valid Apr 5, 2017 - Aug 5, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mother's Day Brunch will be a buffet style service with several chef attended stations. Brunch includes a glass of champagne for Mom!

Sunday Brunch

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

An Award Winning Sunday Brunch Experience! Enjoy unlimited small plate, made to order brunch selections with a Chef attended omelet station. Excludes Tax and Tip. Sundays 10a-3p $20 per person, $12.95 Children 12 & under. Special valid Apr 5, 2017 - Aug 5, 2017 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Wine Wednesdays at Envoy | 50% off bottles of wine | Lounge & Dining Room. Special valid Apr 5, 2017 - Aug 5, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Mother's Day Brunch

Sundays from 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Buffet style service with several chef attended stations. Includes a glass of champagne for mom. Excludes Tax and Tip. Sunday, May 14th 9a-3p $45 pp, $15 children 12 & under. Special valid Apr 26, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Sundays from 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

Private Dining

Envoy, located in the Ambassador Hotel, has several intimate private dining rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 120 guests. Private rooms are located adjacent to Envoy's dining room as well as adjacent to the Ambassador Hotel's Lobby areas.

Envoy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (15)
Historic (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 9 hours ago

The food was delicious but it took much to long to get drinks and food. The place is way understaffed and has really serious management issues. Since there are other restaurants with really good food, we cannot recommend this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Historic and picturesque. Food was very good, esp fish tacos. Service was attentive and very friendly. Happy hour was a little odd.. buy one martini and get the second for 1928 prices. Fine, but not about to have two martinis; would rather just have one at discount rate. Appetizers were not appealing, but were also at half price. Other than oddly priced happy hour, very enjoyable and would recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

After having Easter Brunch, we couldn't wait to come back. So, we were there again the next Sunday. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was delightful . The only negative was that I had to ask 3 times for toast. They delivered potatoes to me twice when I asked that they be skipped

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. Incredible value, the quality is amazing. Food is made to order for brunch, much better than a buffet. Service was impeccable. Fantastic place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The tomato basil soup was awesome , the salmon one of the best she has ever had and carnita quesedillas with zucchini was excellent. The staff are top notch very attentive. We always have a great meal and a great experience at the Envoy. We never hesitate to recommend the restaurant to friends. And, of course, experiencing the beauty of the Ambassador is always a treat. Go Milwaukee!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tapas, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The wait staff was wonderful, no rushing and very personable. The food was delicious and the environment in a historical hotel in Milwaukee was very attractive. We will go again. Plus the shuttle for the theatre was very accommodating and a bonus!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am sorry to say that we were very disappointed w/ our Easter Sunday brunch experience. We had a 2:00 pm reservation and we wer not seated until 2:20 (not a huge deal 'cause it was busy and a holiday - but since there were 9 of us, we were seated in a separate room that had no decor whatsoever). We all went to the buffet once for a plate. When it was time to make a second trip we discovered everything was being shut down - meat stations were gone and utensils & plates were missing. Another couple had the same thing happen and they were also quite upset. They were told that brunch was only served until 3:00, which was not disclosed to us upon our being seated late. Very poor planning for a holiday brunch. Seriously, who goes to a buffet brunch at a cost of $30 per person and only make one trip or w/o being able to try other items. Also, a staple item on their small plates menu (lox & bagels) was no longer available to order...how coiled you run out of that at a brunch? Fortunately the waitress & manager were very nice and reduced our meals from $30 to $20 each. But I was very embarrassed to have chosen the spot for brunch and have that scenario.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was FABULOUS! All the food was exquisite and service was fantastic. European-style pastries were served as we were seated. Very unusual in that you can order as many items from the "small plates" menu in addition to visiting the buffet, an omelet bar, a carving station (prime rib and leg of lamb) and a coffee bar with luscious desserts. The "small plates" were exceptional and creative. We are so glad we chose The Envoy for our Easter Brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent! Service was excellent. Food was great. Atmosphere was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Disappointed
We went here for Easter Brunch and I come to this restaurant once a month for a business meeting, so I thought it would be good. We wanted to go to brunch with a buffet and champagne included. Well they had the restaurant set up awkwardly and we had to walk through the lobby to get to the buffet. We found out after our server came over that the new chef made an error on the brunch details and in fact there was no champagne included nor soda. We did end up each getting a free glass of champagne after speaking to the manager.
Coffee was not served to you at your table nor juice which was quite in convenient when you are trudging across the lobby with it.
The food was good but the rest of the things listed above made the experience only fair.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Historic, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I would not recommend anyone go to this restaurant. This was our fourth time here and the worst service we have ever received at any restaurant. The waiter took our order and we did not get our food until 45 minutes later after a number of tables, who arrived after us, received their food. The restaurant was also supposed to have complimentary mimosas and champagne as stated on their website but did not provide to anyone and when staff was asked about this customers were told they needed to talk to the manager. Horrible. Our service was so bad we spoke to the manager but were only told "it is busy" when half the tables were not full. We gave this place four tries because the food was good but we had two out of four experiences with terrible service and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice casual dinner in the bar area. Our server and the food were both great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were looking for a Sunday brunch close to the Marcus Center. This is not walking distance, but they offer free shuttle service to customers. The food was outstanding! We also had a wonderful waiter. The only downside was that there were only 2 servers which, due to a couple of large groups, caused service to be somewhat slow... but not slow enough to keep us from seeing our show! I would highly recommend Envoy to friends and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a wonderful property and full of promise. But the service was dreadfully reluctant and seemingly mired in unhappiness elsewhere. Perhaps the food was better than it seemed - hard to tell with the dark cloud hanging over the cuisine. Avoid the restaurant and order at the bar where life - and martinis - flow forth energetically!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Brunch at Envoy is always a wonderful experience. We were celebrating an 85th birthday and he really enjoyed brunch. One of the best things about dining at Envoy for brunch is they bring the food to you rather than having a buffet which can be a challenge for older people with mobility issues.
This is one of my favorite places for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of my favorite brunches in town. They have to figure out a place to move the omelet station that wont fill the dining room with smoke and make your clothes smell like smoke when you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was great and our server was really nice. Will go again for a group brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful food, excellent service, beautiful environment. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is always good, staff is friendly and professional.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the menu for the Sunday brunch. The small plates are filling and you can order 2 items at a time. No wasting of food. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I always enjoy going to the Envoy at the Ambassador Restaurant. The staff is very welcoming and accommodating, and the decor and atmosphere are warm and inviting. The food is creative and delicious, and I have never been disappointed with a meal there. A gem of the Milwaukee restaurant scene.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I dined there Friday evening. We like to go there when we are looking for something a cut above in dining. We love Envoy, set in the restored Art Deco masterpiece, the Ambassador Hotel. The dining room is elegant, the staff professional. Business casual is the norm for dress, although we've seen patrons in t-shirts and jeans dining happily. You wouldn't be out of place in a jacket and tie. My wife and I both enjoyed the Friday fish selection, she the fried cod and the baked for me. The standard of quality is high. For example, we both had clam chowder. Now clam chowder is an offering many restaurants do well, but the Envoy's version sets the standard for flavor profile, incorporating bits of green pepper and other elements that deepens the soup into the sublime. The rest of the meal was as good. The serving size was generous as well. The servers there are, as I say, professional. Our waiter was pretty busy with other tables, but he was right there for us, pacing the dinner nicely, refreshing our drinks when needed, but always in the background. We are regular customers. You should be, too. You won't regret it.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Horrible service and food was mediocre at best. Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate my fathers birthday. Been here for brunch a few times over the years but as of late the food and service has gotten worse and worse. Let me add the time before this was Mother's Day for brunch and the service was horrible. The waiter (Ike) ignored us at times, served other tables and not ours and the worst part when he brought our food and sat the tray down he coughed over every plate and then he sat the plates on our table and walked away. Every other guest looked on in surprise. We had to ask for a different waiter and again wait for our food. We paid full price, was not apologized and the disgusting behavior by this waiter was disregarded by the manager. Now back to this past Sunday. We decided to give it another try and that was a bad decision. We asked for a particular waiter thinking that would help but it didn't. Our first food order was late and when it came it wasn't our order. When our order finally came it still was incorrect. The steak was bleeding over entire plate and the turkey bacon was uncooked. Then we noticed that the other waiter (Ike) would walk by us and cough loudly(not once, not twice but three times he did this). My mother got so upset she told our waiter and he jokingly said she should punch him. (What!?) then our waiter goes over by Ike and the two are smiling. We call Ike over to ask him what his problem is and he says he remembers us and Happy New Year then walks away. We were so upset we paid and left. We will never go back to this restaurant and I suggest you don't either unless you like horrible food and service for $20 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I discovered the Sunday brunch about 4 years ago and have returned approximately 12 times since then. Whenever we are looking for a Sunday Brunch we look no further than the brunch at Envoy. I have taken many people there for their first time and they have continued to go back with other first timers. This is MY favorite place to go to eat. I would do brunch every week if my friends didn't mind brunch instead of dinner! I am a HUGE fan.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good but not great. The menu was limited but a good value for the price. It was not busy for a Friday night, so it was quiet. It was very casual with metal tables, not good for a special occasion. The service was good. The dining room was cold for it was near the side door and you could feel a cold breeze when the door would open.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was a great place for a really good lunch with friends. Linen tablecloths were not offputting but really made it feel special. We could talk and laugh and hear each other. The food was really good and there were enough choices for everyone to be happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We stopped in before a trip to the orchestra and were very pleased. The food was delicious and hot, the service was good, and it had a cool, dark and romantic vibe to it. A little pricey, but all and all a fun date night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A bit of a hidden gem. The brunch with made-to-order small plates was fantastic. The omelet bar was a delicious addition too. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful building with delicious food. Price is not as high as you would expect.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed the brunch after church yesterday. The service, food, atmosphere and value were wonderful and met our needs. The plates were small but extremely full! The omlete bar included a nice assortment of fresh veggies and cheeses. A friend had mentioned/recommended this brunch a number of times. Now I'll be spreading the word and definitely returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Menu was very interesting and small plate concept was great. In total we ordered 7 plates. All food was served cold-nothing even lukewarm. Too many salty dishes and too many dishes had "hasbrown" potatoes that were basically flavorless. On a positive note, the servers were pleasant and the ambiance was good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Although the food was as good as expected what stood out the most to me to be honest was and the obvious desire from the staff to make special doe my lady a great one...we have already night at he hotel n will eat at envoy again...

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

waiting 1/2 hour after reservation time for a table. Not enough waitstaff for the small plate service for so many people. Some of the food was cold coming out of the kitchen. The manager did try to make amends with a round of Mimosas (and they were very very good) but the relaxed elegance I'd hoped for was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

5 friends met for brunch. The building was beautifully maintained deco. Very pleasant. The food was sometimes only OK. The idea of small plates for a brunch is excellent and a great idea.
It is easy to be able to try a few things. I applaud this idea. The menu offered "bruleed oatmeal with fruit"but it was just oatmeal with brown sugar on top and 3 blueberries. The word burleed inferred a crunchy melted sugar on top-which it didn't have and even on a small plate, 3 blueberries seemed stingy. I can put brown sugar and 3 blueberries on oatmeal at home and not be charged $7. Most of us were satisfied with the brunch but no one once said, "This is really delicious." That makes me think there is work to be done here.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great to be able to try so many entrees! Think because waiter was so busy the food wasn't quite as hot as we'd have liked it though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our food was excellent, but we think our server was "new." He kept getting two members of our party switched (given them each other's entree and then each other's dessert). For part of the time we were the only people in the restaurant, so it wasn't that he was busy. We asked a few questions that he was unable to answer, though he definitely went to get the answers. After dinner two of us went into the bar to have an after-dinner drink. Service there was prompt but the bartender did NOT warm our brandy glasses before pouring our Courvoisier; it's a little thing but I would have expected it in this type of establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our entrees and cocktails were very good and the waiter was excellent. He was attentive, offered suggestions, checked on specials for the day and also asked the chef about a certain side dish that I asked about. Our issue was the hostess. When we arrived at 5:30, not one single table was filled. We were the only couple here. She took us to a tiny table for two and we asked her if it was possible to get a larger table. She hesitated and said she had to check her reservation list. She finally decided she could allow us to sit in the corner four top that was adjacent to the kitchen door where the food was coming out and also alongside the doorway to the hotel lobby. Really! Not a single other table was occupied and this was the best she could do.. We told her we were taking the 6:30 shuttle service to an event downtown, which we missed because the shuttle driver didn't see anyone waiting (that's because we were seated so far away from the entrance, that NOBODY could see us). As an hour elapsed, there were exactly four other guests eating dinner...two singles and one other couple. Hostess etiquette should be addressed for future dining experiences if I intend to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, good service. We went to Envoy prior to a theatre performance and service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall we were disappointed with our experience. Our waiter was SO SLOW and inattentive. All our food was delivered relatively cool and when you boost small plate service I expect my food to be hot and cooked as ordered. Our steak plates were very over cooked and embarrassingly tiny in size. We then tried the prime rib and it was way over cooked and not very tasty. The "homemade corned beef hash was small pieces of corn beef mixed with the same breakfast potatoes that were used as fillers on many of the plates. Good Cesar salad and catfish, maybe it was an of day but I would NOT recommend to others from the experience we had. Surprised for $20.00 a person that no drinks came with the brunch, not even coffee!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.