Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Envoy

Since its opening in 2005, Envoy Restaurant in the Ambassador Hotel has been charming guests with its nostalgic 1920's ambiance, world class cuisine and impeccable service. Envoy's menu showcases artisan regional ingredients while fusing recognizable American cuisine with global influences.

2308 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST

Monday: Closed for Breakfast (Caffe' Deco is open)

Tuesday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am

BRUNCH:

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm


LUNCH:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


DINNER:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE FOOD SERVICE HOURS:

Sunday - Thursday : 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday-Saturday: 11:00am - Midnight

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 345-5015

Website:
http://www.envoymilwaukee.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of catering and private menu options. Please contact Jeanne Garcia at 414-345-5021 for detailed information.

Parking Details:
Our well-lit, secure, private parking structure and surface lot,makes parking effortless. Located directly behind the Ambassador Hotel. Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Ismail Oztas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining and event planning is available. Please contact Jeanne Garcia, Food & Beverage Operations Manager, for detailed information. 414-345-5021

Private Dining

Envoy, located in the Ambassador Hotel, has several intimate private dining rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 120 guests. Private rooms are located adjacent to Envoy's dining room as well as adjacent to the Ambassador Hotel's Lobby areas.

Envoy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Brunch at Envoy is always a wonderful experience. We were celebrating an 85th birthday and he really enjoyed brunch. One of the best things about dining at Envoy for brunch is they bring the food to you rather than having a buffet which can be a challenge for older people with mobility issues.
This is one of my favorite places for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of my favorite brunches in town. They have to figure out a place to move the omelet station that wont fill the dining room with smoke and make your clothes smell like smoke when you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was great and our server was really nice. Will go again for a group brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful food, excellent service, beautiful environment. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is always good, staff is friendly and professional.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the menu for the Sunday brunch. The small plates are filling and you can order 2 items at a time. No wasting of food. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I always enjoy going to the Envoy at the Ambassador Restaurant. The staff is very welcoming and accommodating, and the decor and atmosphere are warm and inviting. The food is creative and delicious, and I have never been disappointed with a meal there. A gem of the Milwaukee restaurant scene.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I dined there Friday evening. We like to go there when we are looking for something a cut above in dining. We love Envoy, set in the restored Art Deco masterpiece, the Ambassador Hotel. The dining room is elegant, the staff professional. Business casual is the norm for dress, although we've seen patrons in t-shirts and jeans dining happily. You wouldn't be out of place in a jacket and tie. My wife and I both enjoyed the Friday fish selection, she the fried cod and the baked for me. The standard of quality is high. For example, we both had clam chowder. Now clam chowder is an offering many restaurants do well, but the Envoy's version sets the standard for flavor profile, incorporating bits of green pepper and other elements that deepens the soup into the sublime. The rest of the meal was as good. The serving size was generous as well. The servers there are, as I say, professional. Our waiter was pretty busy with other tables, but he was right there for us, pacing the dinner nicely, refreshing our drinks when needed, but always in the background. We are regular customers. You should be, too. You won't regret it.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Horrible service and food was mediocre at best. Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate my fathers birthday. Been here for brunch a few times over the years but as of late the food and service has gotten worse and worse. Let me add the time before this was Mother's Day for brunch and the service was horrible. The waiter (Ike) ignored us at times, served other tables and not ours and the worst part when he brought our food and sat the tray down he coughed over every plate and then he sat the plates on our table and walked away. Every other guest looked on in surprise. We had to ask for a different waiter and again wait for our food. We paid full price, was not apologized and the disgusting behavior by this waiter was disregarded by the manager. Now back to this past Sunday. We decided to give it another try and that was a bad decision. We asked for a particular waiter thinking that would help but it didn't. Our first food order was late and when it came it wasn't our order. When our order finally came it still was incorrect. The steak was bleeding over entire plate and the turkey bacon was uncooked. Then we noticed that the other waiter (Ike) would walk by us and cough loudly(not once, not twice but three times he did this). My mother got so upset she told our waiter and he jokingly said she should punch him. (What!?) then our waiter goes over by Ike and the two are smiling. We call Ike over to ask him what his problem is and he says he remembers us and Happy New Year then walks away. We were so upset we paid and left. We will never go back to this restaurant and I suggest you don't either unless you like horrible food and service for $20 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I discovered the Sunday brunch about 4 years ago and have returned approximately 12 times since then. Whenever we are looking for a Sunday Brunch we look no further than the brunch at Envoy. I have taken many people there for their first time and they have continued to go back with other first timers. This is MY favorite place to go to eat. I would do brunch every week if my friends didn't mind brunch instead of dinner! I am a HUGE fan.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good but not great. The menu was limited but a good value for the price. It was not busy for a Friday night, so it was quiet. It was very casual with metal tables, not good for a special occasion. The service was good. The dining room was cold for it was near the side door and you could feel a cold breeze when the door would open.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was a great place for a really good lunch with friends. Linen tablecloths were not offputting but really made it feel special. We could talk and laugh and hear each other. The food was really good and there were enough choices for everyone to be happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We stopped in before a trip to the orchestra and were very pleased. The food was delicious and hot, the service was good, and it had a cool, dark and romantic vibe to it. A little pricey, but all and all a fun date night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A bit of a hidden gem. The brunch with made-to-order small plates was fantastic. The omelet bar was a delicious addition too. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful building with delicious food. Price is not as high as you would expect.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed the brunch after church yesterday. The service, food, atmosphere and value were wonderful and met our needs. The plates were small but extremely full! The omlete bar included a nice assortment of fresh veggies and cheeses. A friend had mentioned/recommended this brunch a number of times. Now I'll be spreading the word and definitely returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Menu was very interesting and small plate concept was great. In total we ordered 7 plates. All food was served cold-nothing even lukewarm. Too many salty dishes and too many dishes had "hasbrown" potatoes that were basically flavorless. On a positive note, the servers were pleasant and the ambiance was good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Although the food was as good as expected what stood out the most to me to be honest was and the obvious desire from the staff to make special doe my lady a great one...we have already night at he hotel n will eat at envoy again...

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

waiting 1/2 hour after reservation time for a table. Not enough waitstaff for the small plate service for so many people. Some of the food was cold coming out of the kitchen. The manager did try to make amends with a round of Mimosas (and they were very very good) but the relaxed elegance I'd hoped for was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

5 friends met for brunch. The building was beautifully maintained deco. Very pleasant. The food was sometimes only OK. The idea of small plates for a brunch is excellent and a great idea.
It is easy to be able to try a few things. I applaud this idea. The menu offered "bruleed oatmeal with fruit"but it was just oatmeal with brown sugar on top and 3 blueberries. The word burleed inferred a crunchy melted sugar on top-which it didn't have and even on a small plate, 3 blueberries seemed stingy. I can put brown sugar and 3 blueberries on oatmeal at home and not be charged $7. Most of us were satisfied with the brunch but no one once said, "This is really delicious." That makes me think there is work to be done here.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great to be able to try so many entrees! Think because waiter was so busy the food wasn't quite as hot as we'd have liked it though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our food was excellent, but we think our server was "new." He kept getting two members of our party switched (given them each other's entree and then each other's dessert). For part of the time we were the only people in the restaurant, so it wasn't that he was busy. We asked a few questions that he was unable to answer, though he definitely went to get the answers. After dinner two of us went into the bar to have an after-dinner drink. Service there was prompt but the bartender did NOT warm our brandy glasses before pouring our Courvoisier; it's a little thing but I would have expected it in this type of establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our entrees and cocktails were very good and the waiter was excellent. He was attentive, offered suggestions, checked on specials for the day and also asked the chef about a certain side dish that I asked about. Our issue was the hostess. When we arrived at 5:30, not one single table was filled. We were the only couple here. She took us to a tiny table for two and we asked her if it was possible to get a larger table. She hesitated and said she had to check her reservation list. She finally decided she could allow us to sit in the corner four top that was adjacent to the kitchen door where the food was coming out and also alongside the doorway to the hotel lobby. Really! Not a single other table was occupied and this was the best she could do.. We told her we were taking the 6:30 shuttle service to an event downtown, which we missed because the shuttle driver didn't see anyone waiting (that's because we were seated so far away from the entrance, that NOBODY could see us). As an hour elapsed, there were exactly four other guests eating dinner...two singles and one other couple. Hostess etiquette should be addressed for future dining experiences if I intend to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, good service. We went to Envoy prior to a theatre performance and service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall we were disappointed with our experience. Our waiter was SO SLOW and inattentive. All our food was delivered relatively cool and when you boost small plate service I expect my food to be hot and cooked as ordered. Our steak plates were very over cooked and embarrassingly tiny in size. We then tried the prime rib and it was way over cooked and not very tasty. The "homemade corned beef hash was small pieces of corn beef mixed with the same breakfast potatoes that were used as fillers on many of the plates. Good Cesar salad and catfish, maybe it was an of day but I would NOT recommend to others from the experience we had. Surprised for $20.00 a person that no drinks came with the brunch, not even coffee!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Our sever, Ike , was outstanding! Very knowledgeable regarding the menu; offered good recommendations.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always Great...NOT our first time here, nor will it be our last!
Food is great; atmosphere very nice and VERY quiet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Rated 1 star just to review posted.
Had a reservation for Saturday the 27 of August at 2p.m., when we arrived after driving almost 5 hours at 2:04. There was NO ONE around!!! When we asked someone at the lounge connected to the Envoy, they told us that the waitstaff at the restaurant all went home! Don't know who to more disappointed with "Opentable(did they not get our reservation sent) or The Envoy restaurant(did they not care, because we were the only reservation )".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were staying at the Ambassador Hotel to attend a Cubs game. We enjoyed a great breakfast at Envoy: omelet, hash browns and an English muffin for $10. It was delicious and the dining room was nicely decorated in keeping with the Art Deco feel of the hotel. They also made a great Bloody Mary.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch: Told by friend excellent brunch. Food was cold except for waffles or omelette bar.
Disappointing. Won't go there again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch (group of 3) - it was outstanding. Loved the small plates approach rather than buffet or one selection. Our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Envoy is a very nice place.We had brunch,ordering small.Every item I ordered it didn't get.I received something different.We find out waiters first time doing brunch.He was pleasant but not attentive.Had to wait for even the coffee.We are done with the dinning room there!We will stay in the bar area!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went there for brunch and the food was excellent. For $20 you could order multiple small plate dishes from the menu. The crème brule French toast was delicious. The service was disappointing but I think it was our particular server. We will probably try again hoping that this was just a fluke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Whenever we visit Milwaukee we stay at the Ambassador Hotel and eat dinner at the Envoy, which is part of the hotel. We love feeling like we've stepped back in time to the Art Deco era. The food is great and the service outstanding. It's a nice quiet place for the kind of elegant dinner that never goes out of style!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Envoy never disappoints. I had dinner there with a friend before a show at the Riverside. This was the first time I had the fish fry-actually I opted for the shrimp. My friend ordered the perch. Both were tasty, well presented and substantial amount. We used the complimentary shuttle to and from the theater which is a great perk when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent presentation of entrees. Relish plate and bread with balsamic and oil were appreciated. Perfect size salad to accompany dinners. Scallops and bourbon glazed ribs were delicious. Attentive and friendly waitstaff. Perfect start to a night at the theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have visited the Envoy brunch numerous times and are never disappointed. The Mothers Day brunch was amazing with the small plates and room full of breakfast items. The weekly brunch of small plates and made to order omelettes leave nothing to be desired. Not to mention the customer service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We've visited Envoy several time, each subsequent visit has gotten worse. The service and food quality have just become bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to celebrate my graduation for late night snacks and drinks, and it was great for a family of a variety of ages!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 15, 2016

enough staff to attend the customers; our group waited for a long time to get initial and on going service. That is not the first time that has happened to us. Other than that, your place is fabulous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.