About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Executive Chef:
Bruce Choi

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Sports (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Historic (2)
Romantic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Enterprise Fish Co. has always been a winner in my book...until last Saturday. Let's start with the positives. They took us early for our reservation. The bread was great. The wait-staff was attentive. The food came out relatively quickly and was well-prepared.

The negatives. Portion size was small. My sesame-crusted ahi was just blah. Blah is the only way I can describe it. Not much taste. And for some reason, even though it was cut into thin slices, it was tough/stringy. That's not something I've ever experienced with ahi before. For the amount of ahi on my plate, the dish was WAY overpriced.

So, last Saturday Enterprise disappointed. I'll probably give it another try to see if they were just having an off-day in the kitchen, or whether they've slipped overall. Time will tell...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

worst valentine's day dinner ever! I can't rate the food because we didn't even get to order. We were barely 10 minutes into the evening when our waiter tripped and spilled an entire bloody mary on me. right down the front of my top, and into my lap. i was covered in tomato juice. They did very little to help or offer any apology. Maybe they were as shocked as I was, but they just let me walk out, humiliated in front of everyone. Awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this place go on Tuesday for the lobster special... so good we are going again tomorrow last night in SB

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent seafood- nicely presented and very tasty. Good service. In a busy,noisy restaurant, they found us a quiet table which allowed us to hear each other

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. Had made reservations and they were ready when we arrived. Service was on point. Fish was good. Potato was a little dry. Very nice waiter. Brought a dessert for free. Would go again .

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding menu options. Unpretentious, casual vibe with several televisions showing sports in the bar. Quality fish, fresh herbaceous seasoning. Attentive server. Nice kid menu options. The quality of the fish, service, and location command the price. State Street location and parking off Rey/Montecito is convenient for locals and tourists alike.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere

Never rushed yet 'pampered '

Food - delish!

Great beverage menu and price

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Salmon and halibut were overcooked. Not much taste to the food.

Too noisy for a good conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

We love this restaurant. It's loud so don't expect cozy and quiet but the food is good and the servers are really nice. A little pricey so we save it for special occasions.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

I go because I get to feast on lobster on the anniversary of my marriage and that's the place to go in Santa Barbara if you want lobster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a reservation, but were surprised that we were taken to just about the worst table in the place when we arrived. We offered to wait, but were told all of the 'good' tables were reserved. We said we had a reservation, but this didn't seem to help. After a minute of refusing to take the first three bad tables we got a mediocre table and were ok with the selection. We noted that many good tables seemed to be available in the next 10 minutes of so.

It was a special occasion--my birthday--and we had a coupon, but had not shown this yet. We go to the Enterprise often, but this was worse than average treatment. I wondered if they put the Open Table people in the second-class section!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

A go-to place for me when I'm in Santa Barbara, delicious fresh-caught seafood, perhaps a bit slow in service, very popular, it seems. Great waitress we had. You can watch the cooks at their craft, complete with wood-fired grill. Televised sports are on at various spots, but no sound, so you can watch or ignore, based on your preference. Not too expensive, but definitely not inexpensive either.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Well, it's New Year's Eve and we just walked out of this restaurant after waiting 35 minutes. We never ate. We arrived on time for our 9pm reservation and the unfriendly (I'm being nice) hostess takes us to the worst table in the place, right next to the service room where staff are walking in and out. We said nicely that the table was not going to work for us and asked if they could seat us somewhere else. She said it would be a 15 minute wait. We sat at the bar for 25 minutes and after asking for an update on our table we were told they were "cleaning" tables for us. Huh? Meanwhile, parties of 2 were walking in and being seated at tables that would have worked for us. The two hostesses were rude and unaccommodating. Enterprise, we have eaten at your restaurant a few times and that's why we came back. But, based on this evenings experience you won't be seeing us again. Our service at the bar was fine. The only reason I rated this restaurant is because I couldn't save my entry without doing so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

It's was New Years Eve so I knew we would need a reservation. It took an extra 20 minutes to get seated and it was cold so the crowds were trying to find a place to squeeze inside to stay warm. Not a fun or comfortable wait but again it was NYE so we remained patient.

The food was fine but felt rushed and the saving grace was our server, he was fantastic. Not much else to say, we have eaten at the Santa Monica location many times and had a good experience. I think they did their best on a super busy and cold night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve so very full, thank goodness for a reservation. Seated by the door, so got a cold blast each time door opened. No swordfish available tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good ambience e good food but too much expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We visited this restaurant many years ago and decided to try it again on our most recent visit to Santa Barbara. Instantly familiar was the difficulty getting to the restaurant as the address is on State St. but you cannot get to their free parking lot unless you find 'the way' to the freeway frontage road that goes up and over State St. Otherwise - you can pay a fee and park at the train station.

Upon arrival, out party of 2 was seated at a very small table next to a walkway/stairway entrance to the particular area of the dining room. When I requested seating a t a larger table nearby, the hostess informed us they had reserved that table for a larger reservation. Within minutes a party of 2 was seated right where I requested!! I did not complain but was very frustrated to see several 4-tops turn in the same area while we ate, only to be re-seated with parties of 2. That set a negative tone from the outset.

We enjoyed the Steamers appetizer and I had a cup of the lobster bisque with puff pastry. The lobster bisque does not disappoint and it is one of those things we had remembered from years prior. My swordfish an my wife's Cioppino, we agreed, were both good, but not great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Been going there for 35 years and still good! Looking forward to many more visits!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, appropriate quantity, prompt seating, excellent and friendly service - an all around great place to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome! Great food, & service. A must do, when in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great seafood and the food quality is good....would visit again when returning to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great seafood especially 2-lb Maine Lobster special on Mon-Tues only.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was great, as always. Service was haphazard and rushed. Entree arrived minutes after drinks were served and salad arrived after entree. Manhattan was supposed to have a Luxardo cherry and it came with a 99 cent store cherry. We know the difference.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Get there early for dinner-sit in the bar= open seating.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a great place for fish and happy hour. Place is a little noisey, but food is excellent, and drinks are a value,.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

My only complaint is that Enterprise has increasingly skimped on mud pie, lessening ice cream amount with a vast cover-up of whipped cream.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was great and the wine corkage is very reasonable ($18) compared to other SB venues. Unfortunately, the server was not trained in the least about wine service. If you BYO, be prepared to take a little control of your service or you'll end up with filled to brim glasses and Champagne in red wine stems.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Good quality food at a realistic price, aquarium divides two of the eating areas which added a nice touch to our dining experience and creates a good ambiance.

Would recommend based on our single dining experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

went with my husband and kids on Sat night. We had delicious steamers, louie salad (add the crab) and some soup, everything hit the spot and was delicious! My kids had fried shrimp and they came with some sides in this adorable boat, they loved it and enjoyed the meal. They sat us next to the fish and even had a little craft for them to do. We had a blast, would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

We come here about 6 times a year. We are never disappointed. Great fish and seafood! My husband loves the cioppino and the jambalaya. I love the trout. The service is always attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

10年前に来たお店。当時と変わらず雰囲気が港町のシーフードレストランという感じでなかなか。クラッシックなシーフードプレートを注文、ジャケ、ホタテ、海老に付け出しのブロッコリー、味がシンプルで量がちょうど良くとても美味しかったです。日本人にはお薦め!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a phenomenal sea bass! Was truly unexpected. Get the bisque with the puff pastry!! To die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

We arrived 5 minutes early but were refused service. Pretty nasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Not sure who could have written a good review. The fish was disgusting. Soaked in butter. Tasted like it had been frozen. Nothing I ate was anywhere close to fresh. Never had such a bad meal anywhere in California while visiting.

The waiter even seemed apologetic without actually apologizing.

Would not recommend this to anyone and have never posted a bad review before. Only thing that could have made this food experience worse would have been a episode of food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Nice seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tuna Tartar will bring anyone back for more. Outstanding. Our server was great. Thank you to Greg! Holly & Nathan from Buffalo

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice place for casual meal. Good for familes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

A pretty good dining place. I love the decorations inside the restaurant. Fancy and interesting. The fish tanks are pretty. I have to mention that the food was great. More than I expected.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Mussels + oysters were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

We had been here once years ago for lunch. Dinner is much better. We had seven fresh fish to choose from - cooked a variety of ways. They also had a great gluten free menu to help me figure my choices. All of their salad dressings are gluten free. I enjoyed lobster bisque without the bread bowl - really yummy! And I had fresh Alaskan Halibut! Excellent! Our server Alexis, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I asked a lot of questions. She made our dining experience great.

The fire from the grill is very hot. We moved from our first seat. The place is loud. Couple of TVS going with sporting events. Quite a few large parties.

We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place for fresh seafood and good atmosphere. Fun place for dates and family both. Been there three times now and had a good experience each time.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

My husband had the halibut and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always great, are family got together to have fun and good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2016

A bit on the noisy side, but excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Revisited here after 10 years and sadly will not be dining here again. We got spicy squid to start which was tough and chewy, mains were fine but ordinary. The service was friendly but very rushed, got the impression that they like people to vacate the table as quickly as possible to fit in more diners. Previously we found the ambience to be lively but this time everything seemed louder and faster, overall not a relaxing dining experience. Had to argue to get a table as we were 15 minutes late due to traffic so not a very good impression to start with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

My family & I love the Enterprise. We always bring our family when they come from Europe & other parts of the United States. We also bring out of town guests & business clients.

We always enjoy the ambiance & wonderful service!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent meal, we had the Maine lobster, cudos to the bus boy who returned my iPad, I don't know his name however I am very appreciative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent service, plenty of choices on the menu, fun environment but could still hear ourselves speak. Super choice for our wedding anniversary. Oh, and good desserts.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Price for Steak and Fish is not listed on the menu. This is to understand for catch of the day, but not for beef. So you have to ask the waiter for the price of different steaks. He was wondering about my question, but had to inform himself about the prices. Maybe I am the only person who wants to know the price of a 43$ steak?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Always have a great meal and good selection of choices, can sometimes be a little noisy but overall a favorite place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.