About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Executive Chef:
Bruce Choi

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Glass Of Merlot
Diet Coke
Lobster Bisque
Half Dozen Oysters
A Dozen Oysters
Mesquite Grilled Artichoke
Mixed Seafood Grill
Bread and Butter
Veggie Potstickers
Fanny Bay Oysters On The Half Shell
Steamed Mussels
Grilled Halibut Special
Lobster Bisque With Puffed Pastry
Clams
Telegraph White Ale
Hawaiian Ahi Poke
Sesame & Coconut Shrimp
Caprese Salad With Scewered Scallops
Split Lobster Tail With Rice And Grilled Vegetables
Fried Calamari
Grilled Salmon
Whole Maine Lobster
Dozen Oysters
Creme Brulee
Cioppino
Lightly Seared Ahi Poki
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Dungeness Crab Cocktail
Sea Bass with Miso
Mesquite Grilled Scallop Skewer
Balsamic Marinated Artichoke
Miso Glazed Sea Bass
raw oysters
Fish Taco
Boston Clam Chowder
Margarita
Sole
Ahi Sashimi

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Good for Groups (33)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Price for Steak and Fish is not listed o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Price for Steak and Fish is not listed on the menu. This is to understand for catch of the day, but not for beef. So you have to ask the waiter for the price of different steaks. He was wondering about my question, but had to inform himself about the prices. Maybe I am the only person who wants to know the price of a 43$ steak?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always have a great meal and good select ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always have a great meal and good selection of choices, can sometimes be a little noisy but overall a favorite place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Yummy lobster special Monday and Tuesday

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

Yummy lobster special Monday and Tuesday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I wish I could remember our waitresses n ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I wish I could remember our waitresses name. She was exceptional. Graduate of USB, recently married and was soon to go on her honeymoon. She made the whole experience fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice option for several choices of fish ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice option for several choices of fish and shellfish. Reasonable value. Just a little too loud.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great casual atmosphere with creative fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great casual atmosphere with creative food. Nice happy hour, too. We did both on our overnight stay in Santa Barbara, and would definitely return. The parking situation is a little awkward. As a visitor to Santa Barbara, we had to drive by several times before we figured out how to get to their parking lot, which then cost us an extra $6. Maybe they could validate for their customers, who might then stay and spend money a little longer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great and the food is ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service is always great and the food is always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

excellent mesquite grilled sea-food. bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

excellent mesquite grilled sea-food. but $58 for a lunch time lobster tail, not even a whole lobster, is just silly, so the very fine shrimp had to do.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality fish and served as large portion ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Quality fish and served as large portions so go hungry! Poke and the Tuna tartare for starters where excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was phenomenal. Wil ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service was phenomenal. Will go back for more!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Kindly accommodates ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent service. Kindly accommodates special menu requests. Kathryn was the best server ever. Always had a smile. Food was delicious.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific fish tacos! We stopped in for a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrific fish tacos! We stopped in for a quick bite pre-wine tastings and really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent ad the waitres ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service was excellent ad the waitress was sociable and very nice. Congratulations to her on her wedding day tomorrow!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food always great. Clam chowder is fabul ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food always great. Clam chowder is fabulous. This time however my sea bass was under cooked and it had to be returned. When it came back they had not reheated other items on my plate. Still a great place as I've been there before and had great dining experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Scallops were perfect! Good s ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good food. Scallops were perfect! Good service! Fun, lively place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really amazing food and atmosphere. I wi ...

vip
 (Ireland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really amazing food and atmosphere. I will definitely return for dinner again v soon as the food was so fresh and incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was excellent. Service was terrible ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was terrible. Our order was brought out incorrectly and when we told our server about he had the gall to actually ask us if we were sure this wasn't what we ordered. Twice! One of our party had to eat their order before it got cold but the other person had to sit and watch the other eat while his was made. Then i had to watch him eat after mine was finished. No apologies, no concessions. Beverage service was slow as well. Went most of the meal with empty glasses. Swordfish was cooked perfectly and the fish and chips with sweet potato fries was great as well. Not greasy at all.

Waiter seemed to forget our table once we pointed our errors. We then had 3 other people waiting on us.

Probably will not return and would not recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Always a fan favorite -- especially Mond ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always a fan favorite -- especially Monday - Wednesday when they have seafood specials (lobster and oysters!). Not great for private conversations as quite loud at times. Bar is VERY loud but a rockin good time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food took a while to get but other than ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food took a while to get but other than that it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The potatoes Romano are the bomb! We lov ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The potatoes Romano are the bomb! We love the service and come here often for family special dinners! Keep up the yummy meals.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was good for a chain res ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was good for a chain restaurant but we wanted something different

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We searched several sources for a good s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We searched several sources for a good seafood restaurant for our weekend visit with friends to Santa Barbara. Enterprise Fish Co. seems to get good reviews so we decided to eat here. We arrived in time for our reservation (Saturday, mid-afternoon) and were promptly seated. I was really looking forward to trying the Macadamia Mahi Mahi. The first thing our server told us was that the Mahi Mahi was one of the items they ran out of. Seriously? Out of Mahi Mahi at 3:00pm on a Saturday? I decided to try the Golden Fried Seafood Platter, as did two others. On their menu, it says it comes with "Coconut shrimp, fresh fish, sea scallops, calamari". When our orders arrived, all three orders of the platter were plated differently - with different ingredients! Two plates had three dipping sauces, one had only two. One plate had two small fried octopuses while the others had none. Octopus? That's not on the menu! Leftovers from the day before or maybe they were trying to make up for the fact that the plate with octopus didn't have any fish on it? One plate had two pieces of fish, another had only one and the third had none! One plate had an overload of calamari while another had absolutely none! There were NO coconut shrimp on any of the plates. There were one or two sesame seed encrusted shrimp on two plates. The third plate, you guessed it, had none. Again, NO coconut shrimp on any of our plates. There were a couple of very small sautéed shrimp and one small scallop on each plate. Maybe it should be called the leftover platter. Now let's talk about the quality of the food. Fried seafood is not rocket science. Whoever is preparing (and plating) these meals needs to be re-trained! Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING was extremely overcooked. All of our seafood was tough and chewy - shoe leather tough - and had to be cut with a knife. For $24 a plate, this was a ripoff. I'm not one to make a scene, especially with guests. It was embarrassing and we would never eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Every Wednesday. . . $1 oysters YUM; Mon ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Every Wednesday. . . $1 oysters YUM; Monday and Tuesday specials on Maine lobster - to die for. Great local spot for many, many years. Gets noisy and crowded during Holidays and Fiesta, but you can always count on the food and drink. Staff if all gracious, courteous and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Parmesan encrusted halibut was amazing. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Parmesan encrusted halibut was amazing. Our waiter (Craig?) was very attentive but not intrusive. Very enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Large and noisy, but not offensively so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Large and noisy, but not offensively so if you sit near the walls ( not in the middle - leave that to the party people)

Great variety of fish dishes all well prepared.

Also steak/ lamb/ burgers etc

Wine list excellent, also reasonably priced

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went to lunch here for my birthday. Ther ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went to lunch here for my birthday. There were 4 adults, a three year old and a one year old. The kids meals come in a cool paper boat. Between the boat and the little toys they get it kept them pretty busy. I had the fish and chips with sweet potato fries. Both were delicious. My companions said the fish tacos were really good too. Prices are average. Even though we told them it was my birthday there was no treat after lunch :(

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The catch of the day was Sea Bass. It wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The catch of the day was Sea Bass. It was grilled until it was absolutely dry and falling apart. This is a sea food restaurant...you would think that you could time the fish - it was awful.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We took my 10 year old nephew out to din ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We took my 10 year old nephew out to dinner at Enterprise because he wanted "Santa Barbara seafood." Enterprise never disappoints! The food was delicious, selection is enormous and the service was right on point for us adults. The best thing is that they take reservations through OpenTable! It's always a busy place and on a Saturday night, we didn't want to wait for a table. We were able to get a reservation for the exact time we desired. Thank you, we had a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice dinner after walking around S ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a nice dinner after walking around SB all day. Fish was tasty, drinks good, a bit noisy but was a great meal altogether.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is really mediocre.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is really mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

I try to come here every time I am in to ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I try to come here every time I am in town. If not for dinner, they have a delicious happy hour menu. We love the calamari; it is fresh and so tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We wanted a fresh fish place to have din ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We wanted a fresh fish place to have dinner and chose this. I had not been there but my husband had. We split the chowder which was good (not great). I had the cioppino special which was very good and he had the parmesan crusted dover sole which was also good. The service was pretty spotty and it was somewhat noisy but we had a good table by the window that was relatively quiet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

If you love fish and a fun place to eat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If you love fish and a fun place to eat it,the Enterprises Fish Co. Is the place to go . We always eat there when we are in Santa Barbara .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enterprise continues to surprise. Its b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enterprise continues to surprise. Its been around awhile and its located away from the high-traffic parts of State Street. Nevertheless, it has consistently delivered a solid dining experience. The place is big and on the loud side, but the overall ambiance is informal and easy goping. No need to dress up. All are welcome. Good bar scene, too. As for the meal, the fish is not fishy, portions are reasonable (neither too small nor excessive) and the nmost things come with two real sides. Not simpley garnishes. If you want a baked potato, you'll get an actual baked potato. Not a potato-ette. Expect that dinner is going to run $75-100 for two, with drinks. Good food. Fair price. Given some of the alternatives in town, Enterprise is always on my recommendation list. Hasn't disappointed yet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great as always!! Visiting our favorite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great as always!! Visiting our favorite city!! Lobster bisque was amazing! Mixed grill was wonderful! Also the salmon was amazing!! Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance - the decor matches the " ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great ambiance - the decor matches the "fish co" theme. Server was prompt and responsive. Kids meals came in a little boat which they enjoyed. Unfortunately my sea bass was overcooked and a bit dry, though the miso sauce was good. My wife's pasta was also average - her comment was it was nothing she couldn't make at home. Overall a fun restaurant to visit, but food was only average.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Besides the fact that they did not accep ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Besides the fact that they did not accept our reservation because is was less than 1 hour out - we ended up waiting for 25 minutes then eating in the bar area. Why is this an option (open table) if they will not honor it. Almost walked out due to the rude hostess. However a waitress overheard the conversation and placed us in a corner table near the bar area - where we ended up having dinner as well. After the early battle the night settled in and the food was very good. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Horrible food - greasy, over cooked. Wor ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Horrible food - greasy, over cooked. Worst meal we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was excellent. Martinis and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was excellent. Martinis and oysters prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.