About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Executive Chef:
Bruce Choi

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Glass Of Merlot - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Diet Coke - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lobster Bisque - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Half Dozen Oysters - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
A Dozen Oysters - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Veggie Potstickers - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Fanny Bay Oysters On The Half Shell - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Steamed Mussels - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Grilled Halibut Special - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lobster Bisque With Puffed Pastry - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Clams - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Telegraph White Ale - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Bread and Butter - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Hawaiian Ahi Poke - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Sesame & Coconut Shrimp - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Caprese Salad With Scewered Scallops - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Split Lobster Tail With Rice And Grilled Vegetables - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Fried Calamari - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Grilled Salmon - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Whole Maine Lobster - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Dozen Oysters - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Mesquite Grilled Artichoke - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Mixed Seafood Grill - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Creme Brulee - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Cioppino - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lightly Seared Ahi Poki - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Dungeness Crab Cocktail - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Sea Bass with Miso - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Mesquite Grilled Scallop Skewer - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Balsamic Marinated Artichoke - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Miso Glazed Sea Bass - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
raw oysters - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Fish Taco - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Boston Clam Chowder - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Margarita - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Sole - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Ahi Sashimi - Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Casual (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Fun (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Waterfront (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We come here about 6 times a year. We ar ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We come here about 6 times a year. We are never disappointed. Great fish and seafood! My husband loves the cioppino and the jambalaya. I love the trout. The service is always attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

10年前に来たお店。当時と変わらず雰囲気が港町のシーフードレストランという感じで ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on November 25, 2016

10年前に来たお店。当時と変わらず雰囲気が港町のシーフードレストランという感じでなかなか。クラッシックなシーフードプレートを注文、ジャケ、ホタテ、海老に付け出しのブロッコリー、味がシンプルで量がちょうど良くとても美味しかったです。日本人にはお薦め!

Tags: デートにピッタリ, シンプルモダンなインテリア
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Had a phenomenal sea bass! Was truly une ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a phenomenal sea bass! Was truly unexpected. Get the bisque with the puff pastry!! To die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived 5 minutes early but were refu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We arrived 5 minutes early but were refused service. Pretty nasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Not sure who could have written a good r ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Not sure who could have written a good review. The fish was disgusting. Soaked in butter. Tasted like it had been frozen. Nothing I ate was anywhere close to fresh. Never had such a bad meal anywhere in California while visiting.

The waiter even seemed apologetic without actually apologizing.

Would not recommend this to anyone and have never posted a bad review before. Only thing that could have made this food experience worse would have been a episode of food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Tuna Tartar will bring anyone back for m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tuna Tartar will bring anyone back for more. Outstanding. Our server was great. Thank you to Greg! Holly & Nathan from Buffalo

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for casual meal. Good for f ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice place for casual meal. Good for familes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A pretty good dining place. I love the d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A pretty good dining place. I love the decorations inside the restaurant. Fancy and interesting. The fish tanks are pretty. I have to mention that the food was great. More than I expected.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mussels + oysters were excellent

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Mussels + oysters were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had been here once years ago for lunc ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We had been here once years ago for lunch. Dinner is much better. We had seven fresh fish to choose from - cooked a variety of ways. They also had a great gluten free menu to help me figure my choices. All of their salad dressings are gluten free. I enjoyed lobster bisque without the bread bowl - really yummy! And I had fresh Alaskan Halibut! Excellent! Our server Alexis, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I asked a lot of questions. She made our dining experience great.

The fire from the grill is very hot. We moved from our first seat. The place is loud. Couple of TVS going with sporting events. Quite a few large parties.

We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great place for fresh seafood and good a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place for fresh seafood and good atmosphere. Fun place for dates and family both. Been there three times now and had a good experience each time.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband had the halibut and loved it!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My husband had the halibut and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Always great, are family got together to ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always great, are family got together to have fun and good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A bit on the noisy side, but excellent f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2016

A bit on the noisy side, but excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Revisited here after 10 years and sadly ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Revisited here after 10 years and sadly will not be dining here again. We got spicy squid to start which was tough and chewy, mains were fine but ordinary. The service was friendly but very rushed, got the impression that they like people to vacate the table as quickly as possible to fit in more diners. Previously we found the ambience to be lively but this time everything seemed louder and faster, overall not a relaxing dining experience. Had to argue to get a table as we were 15 minutes late due to traffic so not a very good impression to start with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My family & I love the Enterprise. We al ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My family & I love the Enterprise. We always bring our family when they come from Europe & other parts of the United States. We also bring out of town guests & business clients.

We always enjoy the ambiance & wonderful service!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, we had the Maine lobster ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent meal, we had the Maine lobster, cudos to the bus boy who returned my iPad, I don't know his name however I am very appreciative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service, plenty of choices on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent service, plenty of choices on the menu, fun environment but could still hear ourselves speak. Super choice for our wedding anniversary. Oh, and good desserts.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Price for Steak and Fish is not listed o ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Price for Steak and Fish is not listed on the menu. This is to understand for catch of the day, but not for beef. So you have to ask the waiter for the price of different steaks. He was wondering about my question, but had to inform himself about the prices. Maybe I am the only person who wants to know the price of a 43$ steak?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always have a great meal and good select ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Always have a great meal and good selection of choices, can sometimes be a little noisy but overall a favorite place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Yummy lobster special Monday and Tuesday

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Yummy lobster special Monday and Tuesday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I wish I could remember our waitresses n ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I wish I could remember our waitresses name. She was exceptional. Graduate of USB, recently married and was soon to go on her honeymoon. She made the whole experience fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice option for several choices of fish ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice option for several choices of fish and shellfish. Reasonable value. Just a little too loud.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great casual atmosphere with creative fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great casual atmosphere with creative food. Nice happy hour, too. We did both on our overnight stay in Santa Barbara, and would definitely return. The parking situation is a little awkward. As a visitor to Santa Barbara, we had to drive by several times before we figured out how to get to their parking lot, which then cost us an extra $6. Maybe they could validate for their customers, who might then stay and spend money a little longer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great and the food is ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service is always great and the food is always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

excellent mesquite grilled sea-food. bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

excellent mesquite grilled sea-food. but $58 for a lunch time lobster tail, not even a whole lobster, is just silly, so the very fine shrimp had to do.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere with even better menu o ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great atmosphere with even better menu of fresh fish choices. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality fish and served as large portion ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Quality fish and served as large portions so go hungry! Poke and the Tuna tartare for starters where excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was phenomenal. Wil ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service was phenomenal. Will go back for more!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Kindly accommodates ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent service. Kindly accommodates special menu requests. Kathryn was the best server ever. Always had a smile. Food was delicious.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific fish tacos! We stopped in for a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrific fish tacos! We stopped in for a quick bite pre-wine tastings and really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent ad the waitres ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service was excellent ad the waitress was sociable and very nice. Congratulations to her on her wedding day tomorrow!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food always great. Clam chowder is fabul ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food always great. Clam chowder is fabulous. This time however my sea bass was under cooked and it had to be returned. When it came back they had not reheated other items on my plate. Still a great place as I've been there before and had great dining experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Scallops were perfect! Good s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good food. Scallops were perfect! Good service! Fun, lively place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really amazing food and atmosphere. I wi ...

vip
 (Ireland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really amazing food and atmosphere. I will definitely return for dinner again v soon as the food was so fresh and incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was excellent. Service was terrible ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was terrible. Our order was brought out incorrectly and when we told our server about he had the gall to actually ask us if we were sure this wasn't what we ordered. Twice! One of our party had to eat their order before it got cold but the other person had to sit and watch the other eat while his was made. Then i had to watch him eat after mine was finished. No apologies, no concessions. Beverage service was slow as well. Went most of the meal with empty glasses. Swordfish was cooked perfectly and the fish and chips with sweet potato fries was great as well. Not greasy at all.

Waiter seemed to forget our table once we pointed our errors. We then had 3 other people waiting on us.

Probably will not return and would not recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Always a fan favorite -- especially Mond ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always a fan favorite -- especially Monday - Wednesday when they have seafood specials (lobster and oysters!). Not great for private conversations as quite loud at times. Bar is VERY loud but a rockin good time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food took a while to get but other than ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food took a while to get but other than that it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The potatoes Romano are the bomb! We lov ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The potatoes Romano are the bomb! We love the service and come here often for family special dinners! Keep up the yummy meals.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was good for a chain res ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was good for a chain restaurant but we wanted something different

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.