Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Private Party Contact:
Oriana Iannitti: (805) 962-3313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.enterprisefishcosantabarbara.com/parties

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (32)
Fun (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Family Style (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Live Sports (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Fish enterprise is always reliable for a good seafood dinner. It's near the beach and has a big bar scene. It's not fabulous but we never hesitate to go here with the family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The lobster bisque was the best I had ever tasted, and the Scallops & Shrimp Fetticine was delicious. Definitely worth making the reservation ahead of time. We walked right in with about a 5 minute wait for our table while the party ahead of us had a 40 minute wait.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was great. I ordered the sesame seared tuna. Our server was awesome even got the recipe for a sauce on my mom's salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fish was a very thin cut and the swordfish fairly tasteless. The waitress was exceedingly rushed and inattentive. Certainly not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The only thing lacking was service. Asked the bussers twice about our server as we were sitting there for at least 10 mins before she, Lindsey, showed. Said she was held up in back... ok maybe extend apologies first. Nevertheless, The halibut was excellent and though Lindsey never warned up we let it slide and gave her 20% tip anyway.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had the mixed seafood grill. The skewer contained generous portions of fish, shrimp, and scallops and a few cherry tomatoes, small onion and green pepper pieces. Everything was perfectly prepared. Sides were good. Server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a great place to eat with my family and small kids. We all love the food and service is always great. Best clam chowder in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service was really good and the menu great. Prices were very reasonable. The order was brought to our table in a very timely manner and the waiter checked on us frequently to make sure we had everything we required.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food

Went twice

Open table members treated as very valuable customers
With priority seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and service! Must try the lobster bisque! It is outstanding!!

Tags: Live Sports, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always a favorite. Go there often with friends and family.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our server was super friendly and amazing! I wish I had caught his name. He was thoughtful enough to write down some places for us to visit while in town. Food took awhile, but we didn't mind. Food was good.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This restaurant is ALWAYS a pleasure! Love it always!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 2, 2017

"I love the energy of this place. I definitely will return to try more dishes. The oysters are always amazing and the Cesar salad was refreshing. . Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was fast and friendly. Some of the best fish I've had in Santa Barbara, might be my new favorite restaurant in town. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great service! The food was amazing and my two year old daughter loved getting her food in a paper boat! Will definitely continue coming here! Love the macadamia mahi mahi and the popcorn shrimp!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good dinner! Several options of fresh fish, I liked that we can see the cooks in the middle of the restaurant! Food was tasty and well prepared:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Enterprise Fish Co. has always been a winner in my book...until last Saturday. Let's start with the positives. They took us early for our reservation. The bread was great. The wait-staff was attentive. The food came out relatively quickly and was well-prepared.

The negatives. Portion size was small. My sesame-crusted ahi was just blah. Blah is the only way I can describe it. Not much taste. And for some reason, even though it was cut into thin slices, it was tough/stringy. That's not something I've ever experienced with ahi before. For the amount of ahi on my plate, the dish was WAY overpriced.

So, last Saturday Enterprise disappointed. I'll probably give it another try to see if they were just having an off-day in the kitchen, or whether they've slipped overall. Time will tell...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

worst valentine's day dinner ever! I can't rate the food because we didn't even get to order. We were barely 10 minutes into the evening when our waiter tripped and spilled an entire bloody mary on me. right down the front of my top, and into my lap. i was covered in tomato juice. They did very little to help or offer any apology. Maybe they were as shocked as I was, but they just let me walk out, humiliated in front of everyone. Awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this place go on Tuesday for the lobster special... so good we are going again tomorrow last night in SB

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent seafood- nicely presented and very tasty. Good service. In a busy,noisy restaurant, they found us a quiet table which allowed us to hear each other

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. Had made reservations and they were ready when we arrived. Service was on point. Fish was good. Potato was a little dry. Very nice waiter. Brought a dessert for free. Would go again .

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding menu options. Unpretentious, casual vibe with several televisions showing sports in the bar. Quality fish, fresh herbaceous seasoning. Attentive server. Nice kid menu options. The quality of the fish, service, and location command the price. State Street location and parking off Rey/Montecito is convenient for locals and tourists alike.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere
Never rushed yet 'pampered '
Food - delish!

Great beverage menu and price

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Salmon and halibut were overcooked. Not much taste to the food.
Too noisy for a good conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We love this restaurant. It's loud so don't expect cozy and quiet but the food is good and the servers are really nice. A little pricey so we save it for special occasions.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I go because I get to feast on lobster on the anniversary of my marriage and that's the place to go in Santa Barbara if you want lobster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a reservation, but were surprised that we were taken to just about the worst table in the place when we arrived. We offered to wait, but were told all of the 'good' tables were reserved. We said we had a reservation, but this didn't seem to help. After a minute of refusing to take the first three bad tables we got a mediocre table and were ok with the selection. We noted that many good tables seemed to be available in the next 10 minutes of so.
It was a special occasion--my birthday--and we had a coupon, but had not shown this yet. We go to the Enterprise often, but this was worse than average treatment. I wondered if they put the Open Table people in the second-class section!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A go-to place for me when I'm in Santa Barbara, delicious fresh-caught seafood, perhaps a bit slow in service, very popular, it seems. Great waitress we had. You can watch the cooks at their craft, complete with wood-fired grill. Televised sports are on at various spots, but no sound, so you can watch or ignore, based on your preference. Not too expensive, but definitely not inexpensive either.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Well, it's New Year's Eve and we just walked out of this restaurant after waiting 35 minutes. We never ate. We arrived on time for our 9pm reservation and the unfriendly (I'm being nice) hostess takes us to the worst table in the place, right next to the service room where staff are walking in and out. We said nicely that the table was not going to work for us and asked if they could seat us somewhere else. She said it would be a 15 minute wait. We sat at the bar for 25 minutes and after asking for an update on our table we were told they were "cleaning" tables for us. Huh? Meanwhile, parties of 2 were walking in and being seated at tables that would have worked for us. The two hostesses were rude and unaccommodating. Enterprise, we have eaten at your restaurant a few times and that's why we came back. But, based on this evenings experience you won't be seeing us again. Our service at the bar was fine. The only reason I rated this restaurant is because I couldn't save my entry without doing so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It's was New Years Eve so I knew we would need a reservation. It took an extra 20 minutes to get seated and it was cold so the crowds were trying to find a place to squeeze inside to stay warm. Not a fun or comfortable wait but again it was NYE so we remained patient.

The food was fine but felt rushed and the saving grace was our server, he was fantastic. Not much else to say, we have eaten at the Santa Monica location many times and had a good experience. I think they did their best on a super busy and cold night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve so very full, thank goodness for a reservation. Seated by the door, so got a cold blast each time door opened. No swordfish available tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good ambience e good food but too much expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We visited this restaurant many years ago and decided to try it again on our most recent visit to Santa Barbara. Instantly familiar was the difficulty getting to the restaurant as the address is on State St. but you cannot get to their free parking lot unless you find 'the way' to the freeway frontage road that goes up and over State St. Otherwise - you can pay a fee and park at the train station.

Upon arrival, out party of 2 was seated at a very small table next to a walkway/stairway entrance to the particular area of the dining room. When I requested seating a t a larger table nearby, the hostess informed us they had reserved that table for a larger reservation. Within minutes a party of 2 was seated right where I requested!! I did not complain but was very frustrated to see several 4-tops turn in the same area while we ate, only to be re-seated with parties of 2. That set a negative tone from the outset.

We enjoyed the Steamers appetizer and I had a cup of the lobster bisque with puff pastry. The lobster bisque does not disappoint and it is one of those things we had remembered from years prior. My swordfish an my wife's Cioppino, we agreed, were both good, but not great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Been going there for 35 years and still good! Looking forward to many more visits!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, appropriate quantity, prompt seating, excellent and friendly service - an all around great place to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome! Great food, & service. A must do, when in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great seafood and the food quality is good....would visit again when returning to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great seafood especially 2-lb Maine Lobster special on Mon-Tues only.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was great, as always. Service was haphazard and rushed. Entree arrived minutes after drinks were served and salad arrived after entree. Manhattan was supposed to have a Luxardo cherry and it came with a 99 cent store cherry. We know the difference.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.