Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Private Party Contact:
Oriana Iannitti: (805) 962-3313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.enterprisefishcosantabarbara.com/parties

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (43)
Good for Groups (28)
Fun (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
People Watching (10)
Business Meals (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Live Sports (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Waterfront (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I wish it had been a better experience. I came prepared for a great meal and it started out just fine. By the time the entree came however, things went downhill fast. I ordered what should have been an easy meal. Filet mignon. I got it cold and it tasted like a bit gamey. Maybe it was me, it's a seafood restaurant, right? Anyway I'd go back again - but I won't go for steak.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has so much promise - but it acts like a lot of fish restaurants in upscale tourist towns - great atmosphere, lively place, good appetizers and soups - but the main event, the fish(!) is overcooked and dry as a bone. Fish should come off the grill at the exact moment that it is done (unless you are getting sushi or seared). So often these big fish restaurants leave it on the grill for minutes too long, and what you get is a fish which you can barely swallow. Happens all the time, and I was hoping that Enterprise wouldn't fall victim to that kind of experience. Both my mom's fish (swordfish) and my fish (seabass) came out with an excellent topping and nice presentation - but one bite on each revealed a taste of chicken at a church picnic, than fantastic, fresh seafood. I would still probably recommend this place to friends for the ambiance - but I'd tell them to stick with shellfish, soups, salads, and appetizers. If they are going to order the fish, I'd also recommend a lot of alcohol to numb your sensation, and anger for paying $27 for a maritime hockey puck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

My son got sick from a $29 Swordfish, we all for a Clam chowder with Lots of corn and few chewy clams that was so full of corn starch that the spoon did not fall over and the "Crispy Brussels Sprouts were soggy in a vinegar bath. So to make it short the food sucked on all accounts and the price is very high for nothing in return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. We requested blue cheese crumbles for our salad & it took quite awhile to get them...main course was on its way before we finished.
Reservations online was a breeze.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Really enjoy this place. One of our favorite places to eat in Santa Barbara. You can get your seafood and an adult beverage for a decent price. I like to people watch and this place is good for that. You can watch the chefs prepare the food through viewing windows. In all we had a great time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Booked a Sat night table for our family. In Santa Barbara for a short visit, had to try one of the top-rated seafood restaurants. The food was alright - the lobster bisque was tasty but heavy, the cioppino was ok, the grilled shrimp and the mahi-mahi were not extraordinary. The biggest drawback was the cacophony and the snug seating. There were 6 of us and we could not hear each other because it was so loud. The seating is super tight. I am a foodie and love to try restaurants and innovative cuisines. I am always surprised at how some great restaurants make no effort to create an ambience of comfort where you can have a conversation. Our server was very nice and polite, though she looked harassed. If you're a 20 something, its ok to dine in a place that sounds like a fish market, I for one regretted making the dinner reservation, as soon as we walked in. We fled as soon as we finished our main entree, to get dessert in a place that was less frenetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was a bit too chain- restaurant feeling. The calamari app was tough, I had a very good crab mac n cheese, my husband had the parmesan diver sole, which I think was the best of what we had. This place is really good for a big group with a variety of tastes and people with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The old-factory deco style is great and very inviting. And the open kitchen
Food is good, very fresh seafood and good value
Service was very attentive.
A good dinner option in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was excellent although the lobster tail was a little pricey for the size. The service was excellent brought us items that we wanted without us asking her for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This place is hopping with excitement! Housed in an old industrial laundry, don't expect to carry on a quiet discussion. But if you want well priced, excellent food, and snappy service, and don't mind the throbbing beat, this is the place! My wife had New England and I had Manhattan clam chowder, and both were great (included!) She then enjoyed a large mixed grill of fish and shellfish which she loved. My entree was a triple fillet Dover sole, simply done with capers, but fantastic! As with most SB spots, local wines dominated the list, and values were several. A little tricky to find the parking but worth the hunt!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our dinner was amazing. Great new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The halibut with the spicy corn sauce is exceptional. Don't forget to ask for the 3 corn tortillas and cole slaw.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was exceptional under difficult circumstances... a very crowded bar celebrating fiesta. Food and drinks were excellent .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The chowder was the only thing good about this restaurant. Seating was terrible, service bad, food greasy and way over-priced.
Will never go back or recommend to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A fun, active vibe that was perfect for a celebratory dinner out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We visited Enterprise 25 years ago when our children were attending college in Santa Barbaara. After recently moving here, we decided to go back and check it out as locals. We were wonderfully surprised to find an excellent fish restraurant with reasonable prices, a creative menu and good service in our own home town. Whether you're visitors or locals, this is a good place for good food fresh from the waters of the Pacific!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were so happy to see that Fish Enterprise was still open for business in Santa Barbara! We visit at least once or twice a year and love the fresh fish dinners!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

All of our entrees were delicious! The restaurant is very tightly packed with patrons and a bit noisy - not a place for quiet conversation. That's not a bad thing - just something to note.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This restaurant is touristy, loud, and feels like it could use a good scrubbing. On the plus side the food was very tasty and the service was very good. It's convenient but we'll head elsewhere in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Good quality was terrible. Halibut way over cooked. Clam
Chowder Boston tasteless. Noise level crazy loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I feel like this place was kind of a mess. Well under staffed, hostess was in a craze and the place wasn't even jam packed, but it seemed they were still under staffed for a weekend. After sitting there for awhile, we got up and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Specials were all excellent, though the mixed grill skewer was a bit undercooked. Service was attentive during a busy time.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Both mixed seafood and Dover sole very good. Not a lot of ambiance here, but food is good, prices moderate and service good. Good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went there for a Lobster dinner for my wife. They had a flyer on the table advertising a Lobster dinner for $38.00 on Monday and Tuesday. The day we went it was $60. We found a coupon on the Internet, but they said they would not honor it as it was not theirs. The manager was adamant about not honoring the coupon. We had dinner there, but we're greatly disappointed as we had this reservation for quite a while and my wife was really looking forward to a Lobster dinner. We will not be coming back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Enterprise Fish is fine if you are young, on a budget and want a huge selection of fish and shellfish. We were there on a Friday night and they were completely sold out. Our waiter was very professional and our food came quickly. We were not impressed with the preparation. My husband had a fish special and it did not look like anything I want to try. I opted for the Shrimp Gumbo. It would have been good had it not been so watery that it was not even the consistency of a good soup. What was painful was the noise level......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

First visit. We sat near the bar and is was very noisy. Nest time we will request a table in the rear of the restaurant. Food was very good. I took the recommendation of the server for Cioppino - it was very, very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Good seafood, great menu, fresh fish and very friendly staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were in Santa Barbara with friends on vacation. Our friends are very critical if the dinner is not to their expectations so we were kind of nervous suggesting this place It was great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I like the food at this restaurant and the service is usually pretty good. However, the noise level is very, very loud and not good for couples or groups of 4 and below.

What with the two noisy groups around us and a crying child we could not wait to leave.

"Did we want a dessert, additional wine, coffee ? Yes please - but we can't bear to be in the place a minute longer, so can we just have the check?"

Won't be back until summer is over and the crowds have lessened.

Suggestion to restaurant: put couples and small groups (no kids) in area away from the rabble, where one can talk in relative comfort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Celebrating our son's birthday. Food & service outstanding! Love the clam chowder and fresh fish! My son received a complimentary dessert for his birthday which was a nice touch and nice ending to a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was very good, pricing was reasonable and service was fair/mediocre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Overall the food and drinks where very good, the service started off strong but as soon as we ordered we never really got much service from our server.
We had to clear all of our own app plates, then Soup/ Salad course to the end of the table in an attempt to get them moved off our table. Our table was a mess from start to finish.
No dessert was offered, I had to flag down the server and ask for dessert menus and more drinks. They never even cleared all of our entrée plates.
18% Tip was added to our check as we had four adults and three kids but the server never mentioned the tip when he dropped the check or when he returned with the Credit card slip.
We spend $380 with tax & Tip for very average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This is a bustling barn of a place with TVs all around for the sports crowd. The seafood is good with a lot of variety. Conversation can be tough due to the noise but focusing on your food isn't such a bad option. Parking is easy at the adjacent City lot.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food..good for parties..noisy..but thats to be expected on a Saturday night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very good food, sitting not really comfortable, I know it's a very old building , so quite noisey, otherwise good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My lobster roll was good and the fish sticks were tasty but my sister got sick from the ceviche. Maybe stay away from the raw fish. I know seafood can be tricky though so may not be the restaurant's fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was an okay experience overall. I liked our server - he was nice & accomodating. The food was good but it wasn't anything special. I liked the options though. The soda my boyfriend ordered was flat and my iced tea wasn't that great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was fantastic, but the food was not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was delicious, waitress awesome ...
It was relaxing, we were never rushed ...always a good to in SB

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.