Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Private Party Contact:
Oriana Iannitti: (805) 962-3313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.enterprisefishcosantabarbara.com/parties

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (46)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Fun (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Authentic (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Healthy (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
People Watching (8)
Live Sports (8)
Great Beer (6)
Historic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Waterfront (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Cozy (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great and had reservations we sat down right away. Only flaw
Was there was a limited menu since it was Father's Day wasn't to happy about that because some of the people in our party looked online at the menu before we came to the restaurant and those items were not available .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We have people who are gluten-free and family with allergies to dairy, egg, nuts/peanuts, shellfish and salmon. We went with a party of 8 for a graduation brunch and our Waiter Diego made sure every single thing was safe for every single person in our party and provided excellent service in a very full restaurant on father's day and sunday graduation day! The kitchen knew every ingredient in every dish and it was a pleasure - great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate my daughter's graduation from UC Santa Barbara and Father's Day. We were greeted by a very busy but friendly and professional host the service was outstanding we ordered the grilled mix kebabs and I had the wild fresh halibut. The food was fresh and expertly prepared. It will definitely be a repeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Matt took great care of us and has personality to spare. A little noisy, but it was graduation time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Brett was an awesome server! The food was very good. Enjoy going anytime in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

I found the Enterprise Fish Co. on Yelp and Trip Advisor. Overall the restaurant was very very good. We made a reservation and were seated immediately at a table on the window upon arriving. Our waitperson was an affable young man who gave us honest answers to our question and was overall helpful. The food was excellent. I had New England Clam Chowder. I am from New England so I have some experience with NE clam chowders. Theirs was very good. On the thick and creamy side with a generous amount of clam and potato. My wife had Trout Almondine with a baked potato and steamed broccoli. I had Parmesan Encrusted Dover Dole with a Potatoes Romano (mashed covered with a crusty coat of Romano cheese) and streamed broccoli. Everything but the Potatoes Romano were excellent. The Potatoes Romano had very little flavor and the coating itself had a slight resemblance to thin leather.

HOWEVER, I was considering ordering some wine with dinner but the waiter whisked away the wine list after we had ordered pre-dinner drinks. My cup of chowder (an appetizer) arrived promptly. I had taken about three spoonfuls when-- Surprise!! -- our entrees delivered by I assume was a kitchen expediter, not my waiter, had arrived -- way too soon. I scarfed down my chowder and proceeded onto the main meal. We had coffee and split a mud pie for dessert. Very good.

So, aside from some less than ideal expediting of our entrees, this place is an excellent choice for good fresh fish.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I read several reviews on this restaurant and decided to book it for my daughter's graduation lunch. There was an excellent variety of seafood on the menu and the portions were generous. We really enjoyed the Hawaiian Poke starter, which was fresh and tasty with a little bit of a kick. I enjoyed the warm sourdough bread with my Cioppino which had a good variety of salmon, crab, mussels, crab, and shrimp. My wife loved the miso-glazed sea bass. Unfortunately, we didn't have room for dessert due to filling up on our starters (including clam chowder soup or salad) and main entrees. We had a terrific waitress who filled our water glasses and tended to our needs throughout the meal. The place was a bit noisy, but we enjoyed the energy and the maritime decor. Overall we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was wonderful. The halibut was amazing and the service was great. I would highly recommend the Enterprise Fish Co.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Enterprise has always been my go to since I was young. Long time ago. I've had several bdays here as well as get together, dates, and for a long time, a Thursday night ritual. Don't change a thing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My husband and I always love to eat there,just so happen it was special Lobster day and we really enjoyed it,we wish you would have more Lobster days,our experience was awesome,Thank You so much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Sehr leckere Hummer Bisque, ungewöhnliches Ambiente, toller Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2017

very good lunch meal. selection ample and pricing well within range.. wait staff very personable, attentive and accommodating. thank you for making a special occasion nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our food was fine, nothing remarkable. The swordfish was a little dry, but quite acceptable. We also had the fish tacos which were unremarkable. The lobster bisque and caesar salad were very good and I would recommend them. It may be that we did not order their best items on their menu. The service was very good. Pleasant and attentive. It was very noisy, so not a great place to visit. Not a bad place to go, but nothing special. The price was very reasonable

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had such a great time. The food is great, super friendly service. Great all round.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Busy restaurant with tons of fresh and well prepared seafood dishes to choose from. Open kitchen is fun to watch and the chef-cooks love to pose for photos. I had perfectly prepared local mussels and a good enough gin & tonic. There Mon-Tues lobster special was tempting but at 2 lbs, I couldn't have finished and my spouse/date doesn't eat fish. Go here for well prepared seafood, lively (actually super noisy, loud but in a fun way) atmosphere. I recommend that you think through everything you want and need before you place your order including remember extra lemon, butter and bread - because the servers are literally running and do not stop back to see how everything is or even if you like it. Tables are close together so it's best with a group where you can create your own "pod." I was prepared for it to be about good, simple honest seafood well prepared without any frills and I was not disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food is delicious and worthwhile. The Wednesday $1 oysters were absolutely scrumptious. The swordfish meal was also very good. Overall a great gem in a beautiful town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Even though we had a reservation the hostess put us in a queue of about 12 other people who had reservations but were waiting for their tables too. We waited about 15 minutes. I had the thinnest halibut steak I've ever seen, as if they cut a normal size halibut steak in half or thirds. It was overcooked and it seemed they tried to compensate by adding lots of butter on top. My friend had the lobster bisque and one of the set entrees, which was quite good. Order carefully and you might have a good dinner. We also had to ask for everything twice - another menu, silverware, and something to balance the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Restaurant in a large old building from the early 1900's with lots of character but very bad for muffling the noise of the kitchen, bar and diners. The food makes up for the noise! The brussels sprout appetizer was out of this world. Great entrees, reasonable prices, and outstanding staff. It is one of our favorite places to take out-of-town guests.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great fresh fish and nice happy hour atmosphere. Not as many tourists as the places right on the water. Sweet potato fries with fish were a new one but it was actually a great combo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic place to eat and drink. Beautiful nautical decor, fabulous food. Loved the nightime service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was visiting my daughter and wanted to take her to a nice dinner. I was so excited and ordered the lobster tail and did not ask the market price. My mistake. Turns out it was $58.00! Meanwhile, at Hendry's Boathouse, one can order a whole lobster, 1.5 pounds, with sides and a salad for $45.00. I am a teacher and saved my money to fly out and go to a nice dinner. I was astounded and disheartened and I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our OpenTable reservation was not noted by the restaurant, and so it was a concern they didn't have a table for us. Food was ok, my wife's fish was very dry, mine was fine, service was fine, but for the price we could have done better in Santa Barbara. Wouldn't recommend it, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The youngest in our group of 5 was 20 the oldest was 70. The food was excellent and the service was very good. The servers came by about every 15 minutes asking if we needed anything and was everything good. All in all it was a great way to introduce our New York friends to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We took an Amtrak train from L.A to S.B. to celebrate a colleague's birthday. In making the reservation we indicated we were celebrating a birthday. The restaurant welcomed us with a Happy Birthday greeting so I was impressed that they read the special note on the reservation. Emma was our server - she was friendly, courteous, and beverage & food was served in a timely fashion. The food was great - grilled shrimp and fried calamari!! We enjoyed the 'virgin' mojitos.
Emma surprised us with a birthday oreo ice cream pie - heaven sent - yum yum!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I had made reservations for 5:30 after being @ the Symphony w friends. Unfortunately, we were seated @ 6:30 due to the computer being down. They apparently had to cancel other reservations later in the evening as they were unable to accommodate their guests. Since it was Mothers Day I'm sure they lost $.
We still enjoyed our meal & all employees wee very apologetic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our first choice for seafood. Make the drive a few times each year to enjoy seafood cooked to its finest.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The lobster bisque is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The only criticism on the food would be that the grilled veggies were good, but not very well seasoned - a little boring. The scallops in the risotto could have been better - not coated but lightly seasoned.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Poor service, loud, way too expensive, and mediocre food. We would never return.
It seemed like they could care less if we were there or not.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 11, 2017

First time I tried the lobster bisque with pastry . That's just something!!! I like it.
Nice place. I'm glad I made a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great Food and location, near the Santa Barbara Pier.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food, great service, love the ambiance. Went there with friends for an early casual dinner. Dis not disappoint!

Tags: Live Sports, Waterfront, Historic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

2nd time to have the crab dinner. crab was ok not great! very expensive mistake again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed Our meals (fish), but certainly not remarkable, just OK food. Atmosphere cool, but quite dated. Looked just like it did 35 years ago!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was good but we waited for a really long time. Service was solid

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Have eaten dinner here numerous times over the years and have NEVER had a meal that was less than excellent.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had a great dinner was fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I've never had a bad meal here. My favorite is the Miso Glazed Sea Bass!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We always try to eat here when we stay in Santa Barbara and they always make us happy we do. Food was great, service was good and its a very convenient location on State St. A little pricey but not out of line with the area.

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.