About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Executive Chef:
Bruce Choi

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

good for groups (41)
fit for foodies (32)
special occasion (27)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
vibrant bar scene (26)
great for lunch (23)
hot spot (20)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (8)
romantic (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent clam chowder. Sea food prepar ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent clam chowder. Sea food prepared well in a straight forward manner.

food4
ambience3
service5

Great server!!! Made the experience wond ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great server!!! Made the experience wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Make a reservation!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a reservation for Mother's Day and walked right in. The were super slow as expected on a holiday but the food was fabulous as always! That's why we always come back! It wasn't quite right that they jacked their prices up for a holiday though. Lunch for two adults and one small child was $100! But the potatoes Romano is to die for! And really good iced tea. And the blackened halibut was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

This restaurant is amazing! The environm ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! The environment is awesome and the food is super delish! We loved and definitely returning with more family.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lobster

Dined on May 4, 2016

Best deal around 2 pound lobster for 40.00 plus 2 sides......

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food has declined in quality

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Been dining here for many years, but had a bad food experience recently. My wife's halibut was supposed to be medium-well done, but had a gooey spot in the middle as well as what appeared to be a stringy fish gut. My expensive Maine lobster was under-cooked on one side.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

If you MUST..

Dined on April 23, 2016

The good just is not good. The only redeeming quality of the place is its proximity to the train station otherwise go some place else

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect anniversary dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

We arrived almost 30 minutes early, expecting to wait at the bar, we were pleasantly surprised that they seated us right away. The service was very good, attentive but not intrusive. The food was excellent, everything we tried was to our liking. The lobster bisque was perfect. Not a seafood fan? You don't have to be, the steak was just as good as the blackened Mahi-Mahi. It was the perfect anniversary dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2

The food was delicious: cooked as reques ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was delicious: cooked as requested. The ancillary personnel were pleasant, timely, and accommodating. However the waitress that attended our table was not friendly, I had to find her whenever we needed drink refills, she didn't even bother to come back to the table to check on us once our food was served. I've been to this restaurant several times previously. This has been the worst service I've ever experienced from this restaurant. She managed to check on her other tables that surrounded our table but she could never seem to make it to our table. Normally, I would've left an appropriate tip for a job well done but I left the minimum amount only because all of the other people that helped us. If I had a choice I would have left the tip for everyone else that had to help with dinner and as much as I paid for food, appetizers, and drinks I expected more courtesy from my server.

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food; Poor service

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed the Jambalaya. Left glasses case on table. Sent email inquiry to see if it was found. Received no response.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lunch "Special"

Dined on April 14, 2016

The $12 lunch specials include "a little bit of this and bit of that". We enjoyed the Caesar Salad (but skip the packaged croutons!), and the tomato-based red clam chowder. The fried calamari was just ok, with big fat pieces; and the "fresh tuna taco" gets a "D" for never-minD. We've been there a couple of times with a discount coupon, so that might be the reason we get the C-minus food, but well . . . that is NO way to encourage us to come back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Stopped here on our cross country roadtrip for my boyfriend's birthday. Awesome atmosphere, great service and the tropical aquarium was beautiful even though eating seafood in front of fishies seems pretty messed up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Fun outing. Rather loud & crowded.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Fun outing. Rather loud & crowded.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tasty, but loud

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's a "warehouse" setting--it's going to be a bit loud. It's a nice piece of fish--it's going to be a bit pricey. I would've liked, however, for my macadamia coated/crusted fish to be actually can't covered as such. Seemed more of a dab or topping. Like I said, tasty, but different than expected. 😊

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Always a great experience at Enterprise. ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Always a great experience at Enterprise. Good food and wide variety. Service and the atmosphere are very pleasant.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good for lunch reasonable prices. Also e ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Good for lunch reasonable prices. Also even better if you have an Access card. Kids menu available.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Cute Place but food was hit and miss

Dined on March 28, 2016

Yummy lobster bisque and calamari but disappointing meal. When it comes to restaurants I have one big pet peeve; putting in strong flavored ingredients and not listing them with the dish description. Red peppers being one of those! I ordered parmesan crusted fish with a lemon caper sauce. A nice light tasty sauce. It came with a bunch of chopped red peppers all over it! Big mistake! My husband order rice pilaf as a side and again it contained a bunch of chopped red peppers. So that being said I would ask a lot of questions when ordering here.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Every time we go to Santa Barbara, we make it a point to eat at Enterprise Fish Co., and it's ALWAYS fantastic!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service, good food, fun atmosphere

Dined on March 26, 2016

We are visiting from Nashville, TN and had someone recommend Enterprise Fish Co to us. So glad we went in!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I wasn't blown away.

Dined on March 22, 2016

The side salad with blue cheese was a bit soggy and the salmon was tasty but a bit over cooked. We had the mud pie for dessert and it was good but clearly not housemade or spectacular. Our service was phenomenal and I thought the interior was fitting for being a coastal restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, noisy.

Dined on March 20, 2016

It was a Saturday, so I expected it to be noisy. It wasn't a problem for us. The fish was good. Haven't been there in years, so happy to revisit and have a good meal.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good basic food

Dined on March 19, 2016

The Enterprise Fish Co. has basic, consistently good food. If you are hungry and looking for a fair deal, you will find it at Enterprise Fish Co. Don't count on socializing. Although they can put two tables together for larger parties, the sound prevents even the simplest conversation with the person next to you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite Spot

Dined on March 12, 2016

A must stop on way to LA or SB visit. We've been coming here for years and it never disappoints. Food and service are top notch.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on March 10, 2016

My husband and I each had the 2 lb. lobster which was fantastic. That's saying a lot because we come from San Diego, where the lobster is great. He had the best clam chowder he has ever had. I had a baked potato and grilled veggies which were wonderful. We topped it off with the warm molten dessert. Service was great. Our server was very friendly and attentive. It's easy to see why this place is a favorite with locals and tourists. I highly recommend going there for a lovely dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enterprise Fish

Dined on March 9, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant. It was not easy to get to their parking lot, hidden by an underpass. The reservations were honored promptly. The food was good but not exceptional. Pricing was as expected. Seating was a bit cluttered and close. Most notible was, in a search for fresh fish in the area, Enterprise was about the only restaurant in that came up.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch on a Sunday afternoon, nice an ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had lunch on a Sunday afternoon, nice and quiet, not a lot of people there, but have been here in the evening when it's busy and it can be loud, but what do you expect they come here for good food and to have a good time, always liked this place,

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

Enjoyed dinner for three. Nice ambiance but a tad noisy. Food was good. I had seas bass that was quite good, husband had the mahi mahi which was good. Service was fair. Busy place! Lots to look at from the ceiling, walls, bbq area and diners. Would recommend this and will go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were treated very well.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our servers were excellent. We were very happy with everything. Thank you for putting us at a quiet table for my birthday dinner. That was very nice for that occasion.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Happy Hour!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Happy hour deals were great - and so was the food! Definitely recommend the mussels and calamari.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

enterprise fish

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

A great evening with 6 people. Food was excellent- paricularly mussels, cioppino,jambalaya, and grilled prawns. Also Manhattan clam chowder. Service very attentive and pleasant. Good selection of beers. We were sated at a table ,at our request, which was quiet( relatively)

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Brett

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good food, good value, good times. Great place. Easy to recommend.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Italian Fish Lover

Dined on February 27, 2016

The Cioppino was about the best I have ever had. It was loaded with crab, mussels, clams, scalps, salmon and a white fish (either cod or halibut). The tomato fish sauce was the best. I would highly recommend the cioppino to anyone who likes fish!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the aquarium!

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had 6:30 reservation and restaurant was already sold out of 3 of their fish choices. Unusual for a seafood restaurant. Waiter was apologetic and second choices were delicious so I guess all was well. Waiter said large group was reason for shortage. Not sure if it was just the large group by restaurant was very noisy. Enjoyed watching the fish in the aquarium as we waited for our dinner.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

First, the wine list both by the bottle ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

First, the wine list both by the bottle and the glass is extensive and appreciated by those of us who live wine. Second, the lobster bisque is fabulous- flaky crust over smooth and flavorful bisque...yum! Third, service was excellent - I'd call out our server by name of only I could remember it! He was friendly, courteous, and attentive. Had a great dining experience, and will be back.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

yuck

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

just gross-if you enjoy seafood-DON'T go here. The prawns were the size of a pebble, the fish taco's were dry and tasteless.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was amazing, lobster bisque soup wi ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was amazing, lobster bisque soup with the breaded top was unique and great tasting. The house salad compared to all the other dishes left more to be desired. The south african lobster tail as a main dish was melt in your mouth with lemon butter delicious. If you have not had a dish at the restaurant... do. They only thing that left me wanting were the chairs.... not so comfortable, but hey it's a casual venue so what did I expect.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were very pleased with the experience at this great Santa Barbara institution, always friendly, always solid flavorful food, though more expensive over the years, but in the middle of a major tourist town to be expected.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Place

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for the first time on night before Valentine's Day. Great calamari - not too bready and large pieces - oysters good but would have liked larger selection. Lobster bisque excellent and risotto with scallops was great. Nice draft beer selection. Kind of noisy but we liked the vibrancy that brings with it. Definitely returning.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally recommend Enterprise Fish Co. Bu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Totally recommend Enterprise Fish Co. Busy 3 day weekend, fast service, super fresh seafood, and very delicious. Very friendly and attentive staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded Expectations

Dined on February 14, 2016

Based on reviews from various sites, we made a reservation. We were expecting good food, but the food was incredible! I highly recommend the Crispy Brussels Sprouts for your appetizer. The Cioppino was some of the best I've ever enjoyed, although I would never describe it as spicy as the menu did. The wait staff was friendly and knowledgable about the menu. They took the time to converse and make suggestions even though the restaurant was packed due to the Valentine's Day weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.