About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-10pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Executive Chef:
Bruce Choi

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private locations.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Glass Of Merlot
Diet Coke
Lobster Bisque
Half Dozen Oysters
A Dozen Oysters
Mesquite Grilled Artichoke
Mixed Seafood Grill
Bread and Butter
Veggie Potstickers
Fanny Bay Oysters On The Half Shell
Steamed Mussels
Grilled Halibut Special
Lobster Bisque With Puffed Pastry
Clams
Telegraph White Ale
Hawaiian Ahi Poke
Sesame & Coconut Shrimp
Split Lobster Tail With Rice And Grilled Vegetables
Caprese Salad With Scewered Scallops
Grilled Salmon
Fried Calamari
Whole Maine Lobster
Dozen Oysters
Cioppino
Creme Brulee
Lightly Seared Ahi Poki
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Dungeness Crab Cocktail
Sea Bass with Miso
Mesquite Grilled Scallop Skewer
Miso Glazed Sea Bass
raw oysters
Balsamic Marinated Artichoke
Boston Clam Chowder
Fish Taco
Margarita
Sole
Ahi Sashimi

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

good for groups (32)
neighborhood gem (26)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
special occasion (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
kid-friendly (18)
hot spot (16)
great for lunch (15)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to lunch here for my birthday. Ther ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went to lunch here for my birthday. There were 4 adults, a three year old and a one year old. The kids meals come in a cool paper boat. Between the boat and the little toys they get it kept them pretty busy. I had the fish and chips with sweet potato fries. Both were delicious. My companions said the fish tacos were really good too. Prices are average. Even though we told them it was my birthday there was no treat after lunch :(

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The catch of the day was Sea Bass. It wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

The catch of the day was Sea Bass. It was grilled until it was absolutely dry and falling apart. This is a sea food restaurant...you would think that you could time the fish - it was awful.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We took my 10 year old nephew out to din ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

We took my 10 year old nephew out to dinner at Enterprise because he wanted "Santa Barbara seafood." Enterprise never disappoints! The food was delicious, selection is enormous and the service was right on point for us adults. The best thing is that they take reservations through OpenTable! It's always a busy place and on a Saturday night, we didn't want to wait for a table. We were able to get a reservation for the exact time we desired. Thank you, we had a great experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice dinner after walking around S ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a nice dinner after walking around SB all day. Fish was tasty, drinks good, a bit noisy but was a great meal altogether.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I try to come here every time I am in to ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I try to come here every time I am in town. If not for dinner, they have a delicious happy hour menu. We love the calamari; it is fresh and so tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you love fish and a fun place to eat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If you love fish and a fun place to eat it,the Enterprises Fish Co. Is the place to go . We always eat there when we are in Santa Barbara .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enterprise continues to surprise. Its b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enterprise continues to surprise. Its been around awhile and its located away from the high-traffic parts of State Street. Nevertheless, it has consistently delivered a solid dining experience. The place is big and on the loud side, but the overall ambiance is informal and easy goping. No need to dress up. All are welcome. Good bar scene, too. As for the meal, the fish is not fishy, portions are reasonable (neither too small nor excessive) and the nmost things come with two real sides. Not simpley garnishes. If you want a baked potato, you'll get an actual baked potato. Not a potato-ette. Expect that dinner is going to run $75-100 for two, with drinks. Good food. Fair price. Given some of the alternatives in town, Enterprise is always on my recommendation list. Hasn't disappointed yet.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great as always!! Visiting our favorite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great as always!! Visiting our favorite city!! Lobster bisque was amazing! Mixed grill was wonderful! Also the salmon was amazing!! Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance - the decor matches the " ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great ambiance - the decor matches the "fish co" theme. Server was prompt and responsive. Kids meals came in a little boat which they enjoyed. Unfortunately my sea bass was overcooked and a bit dry, though the miso sauce was good. My wife's pasta was also average - her comment was it was nothing she couldn't make at home. Overall a fun restaurant to visit, but food was only average.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Besides the fact that they did not accep ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Besides the fact that they did not accept our reservation because is was less than 1 hour out - we ended up waiting for 25 minutes then eating in the bar area. Why is this an option (open table) if they will not honor it. Almost walked out due to the rude hostess. However a waitress overheard the conversation and placed us in a corner table near the bar area - where we ended up having dinner as well. After the early battle the night settled in and the food was very good. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Horrible food - greasy, over cooked. Wor ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Horrible food - greasy, over cooked. Worst meal we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was excellent. Martinis and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was excellent. Martinis and oysters prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, great atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food, great atmosphere and the service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wives dish entitled "Parmesan Crusted ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wives dish entitled "Parmesan Crusted Halibut" was fair at best in terms of flavor, needs work, sorry chef.

My dish of Salmon was above average. Overall restaurant experience was very good, insuring our return next time in California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Had 645pm resv for lobster special. Wait ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had 645pm resv for lobster special. Waited 30 min to place order after ordering drink/ appt. That's when was told no lobsters left for advertised special. Should have told us when took drink order. They just wanted to sucker diners in. Paid for drinks and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

meh......... food not so good burger was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

meh.........

food not so good

burger was bad~under cooked fatty bacon, sunny side egg on top was medium to hard.....

ahi tune salad was supposed to be blackened (wasn't)

classic poke appetizer, wasn't classic, but smothered in grilled onions

won't go back

mediocre food very overpriced.....

(lobster market price $80/lb......... wasn't when I was last at a fresh fish market)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Later arrival in Santa Barbara on a Frid ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Later arrival in Santa Barbara on a Friday evening, but we were able to secure a reservation. when we arrived, parking was non-existent, and the crowd waiting outside was about 20 people. The wait-staff was on point, and we were seated within 10 minutes. There were no long waits for service, and both our orders were perfectly cooked and served hot. Both food and service were excellent! My overall rating of 3 is based on the noise level and crowded conditions. To be fair, it was also graduation night, and many large groups made reaching our table, the bathrooms, and the front door... difficult. I definitely recommend Enterprise Fish Co for quality of food and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Nice food with great service and a vibr ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice food with great service and a vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's very noisy and crowded and we mean ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It's very noisy and crowded and we mean noisy!! The food was okay, nothing to write home about sadly although the grilled vegies were good. Both fish dishes were overlooked and tough. Our waitress, although nice, forgot to give us our grilled artichoke appetizer entirely and forgot to put the salad dressing on the side. It's busy, it's loud, and not for a romantic dinner for sure. A big party of people (about 20) was seated next to us as we were leaving and they were yelling and jumping on the chairs. We were happy they were having fun but glad we were leaving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Excellent food. Very busy night. Waiter ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food. Very busy night. Waiter was trying very hard. We would go back if the occasion up. The food prices was very reasonable for the quality.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent clam chowder. Sea food prepar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent clam chowder. Sea food prepared well in a straight forward manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great server!!! Made the experience wond ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great server!!! Made the experience wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Make a reservation!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a reservation for Mother's Day and walked right in. The were super slow as expected on a holiday but the food was fabulous as always! That's why we always come back! It wasn't quite right that they jacked their prices up for a holiday though. Lunch for two adults and one small child was $100! But the potatoes Romano is to die for! And really good iced tea. And the blackened halibut was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is amazing! The environm ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! The environment is awesome and the food is super delish! We loved and definitely returning with more family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Lobster

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Best deal around 2 pound lobster for 40.00 plus 2 sides......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food has declined in quality

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Been dining here for many years, but had a bad food experience recently. My wife's halibut was supposed to be medium-well done, but had a gooey spot in the middle as well as what appeared to be a stringy fish gut. My expensive Maine lobster was under-cooked on one side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

If you MUST..

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The good just is not good. The only redeeming quality of the place is its proximity to the train station otherwise go some place else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Perfect anniversary dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We arrived almost 30 minutes early, expecting to wait at the bar, we were pleasantly surprised that they seated us right away. The service was very good, attentive but not intrusive. The food was excellent, everything we tried was to our liking. The lobster bisque was perfect. Not a seafood fan? You don't have to be, the steak was just as good as the blackened Mahi-Mahi. It was the perfect anniversary dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious: cooked as reques ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was delicious: cooked as requested. The ancillary personnel were pleasant, timely, and accommodating. However the waitress that attended our table was not friendly, I had to find her whenever we needed drink refills, she didn't even bother to come back to the table to check on us once our food was served. I've been to this restaurant several times previously. This has been the worst service I've ever experienced from this restaurant. She managed to check on her other tables that surrounded our table but she could never seem to make it to our table. Normally, I would've left an appropriate tip for a job well done but I left the minimum amount only because all of the other people that helped us. If I had a choice I would have left the tip for everyone else that had to help with dinner and as much as I paid for food, appetizers, and drinks I expected more courtesy from my server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Good food; Poor service

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed the Jambalaya. Left glasses case on table. Sent email inquiry to see if it was found. Received no response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Lunch "Special"

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The $12 lunch specials include "a little bit of this and bit of that". We enjoyed the Caesar Salad (but skip the packaged croutons!), and the tomato-based red clam chowder. The fried calamari was just ok, with big fat pieces; and the "fresh tuna taco" gets a "D" for never-minD. We've been there a couple of times with a discount coupon, so that might be the reason we get the C-minus food, but well . . . that is NO way to encourage us to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Stopped here on our cross country roadtrip for my boyfriend's birthday. Awesome atmosphere, great service and the tropical aquarium was beautiful even though eating seafood in front of fishies seems pretty messed up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun outing. Rather loud & crowded.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Fun outing. Rather loud & crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Tasty, but loud

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It's a "warehouse" setting--it's going to be a bit loud. It's a nice piece of fish--it's going to be a bit pricey. I would've liked, however, for my macadamia coated/crusted fish to be actually can't covered as such. Seemed more of a dab or topping. Like I said, tasty, but different than expected. 😊

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great experience at Enterprise. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always a great experience at Enterprise. Good food and wide variety. Service and the atmosphere are very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good for lunch reasonable prices. Also e ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Good for lunch reasonable prices. Also even better if you have an Access card. Kids menu available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cute Place but food was hit and miss

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Yummy lobster bisque and calamari but disappointing meal. When it comes to restaurants I have one big pet peeve; putting in strong flavored ingredients and not listing them with the dish description. Red peppers being one of those! I ordered parmesan crusted fish with a lemon caper sauce. A nice light tasty sauce. It came with a bunch of chopped red peppers all over it! Big mistake! My husband order rice pilaf as a side and again it contained a bunch of chopped red peppers. So that being said I would ask a lot of questions when ordering here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great meal!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Every time we go to Santa Barbara, we make it a point to eat at Enterprise Fish Co., and it's ALWAYS fantastic!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service, good food, fun atmosphere

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We are visiting from Nashville, TN and had someone recommend Enterprise Fish Co to us. So glad we went in!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.