Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara

Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake.

Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.

225 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am-9:30pm,
Friday - Saturday 11:30am-11pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 962-3313

Website:
http://www.enterprisefishco.com/santabarbara/fishco.html

Parking Details:
There are two parking lots adjacent to our building. One is off of Montecito Street at Rey Street. You can also park at the amtrack parking lot that can be accessed from State Street as well as Montecito Street.

Public Transit:
Amtrak

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.enterprisefishcosantabarbara.com/parties

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (35)
Fun (22)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Lots of freshly prepared fish dishes, which are actually hard to find on the West coast. This restaurant does a good job and has a reasonable selection of varieties. Excellent crab louis brought us back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I have to say that the seafood dinners we ordered were not that impressive. I would not recommend this place if you are looking for a quality seafood meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Jordan our server made our dining experience a great dinner for our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

The serve was great. No complaints, although I think the lobster tail was a little overpriced. Other than that we had a great time. With the app, we walked right in and was seated immediately. Thumbs up 🙃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Second time here. The mesquite fired fresh fish options are all great!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Much improved. My wife and I plus 2 grandchildren all had a wonderful meal with great service. A very enjoyable time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Healthy, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was friendly and energetic . The lobster roll appetizers were filled with meat and nicely seasoned. Chowder taste was a good mixture of clam with a hint of bacon but much too think presumably with flour. The crisp crab salad was ample and had skewered shrimp to compliment the crab. The issue was the Ahi...the wasabi tasted mostly of mayonnaise and did nothing to bump up the fish. In fact the Ahi was nothing like what one sees in Hawaii. The slices seemed to have ribbons of what presumably is the equivalent of fascia in beef. The end result was an ample serving of Ahi slices with a nondescript wasabi and almost a toughness typically not seen in Ahi.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Don't forget to ask what market price for lobster tail is! $58 for small lobster tail and French fries , and cup of chowder was a little much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Visited with our adult daughter and sadly we were disappointed. The drinks came wrong twice and one of the meals was wrong too. Then to cap it all the bill was wrong. The seafood platter that I had was also quite overcooked with the butterfly prawns so hard and chewy they couldn't be eaten. All in all a sad state of affairs for what was once a great place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Good local, kind of loud/energetic seafood restaurant in the heart of Santa Barbara. Solid seafood, nice wine list, very good service. I was not amazed or disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food always good and reliable, but service was lacking this time. Server could use little extra training in hospitality,,returning to the table to see if you anything else, picking up used cups and glasses,when they give refills. Attitude was lackadaisical.
Also, for the second time at this restaurant, they cancelled my open table resv., as if I wasn't there. I always specifically say I have an Open Table reservation and repeat my name and the time. I think the hosting personnel need training on how to use the open table system.
I called later and the manager was able to recall the cancelled resv., so that I could get my points!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Quality seafood and service was excellent. A little pricey.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

They did not have my reservation on their end. But still stead me.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We love this place. I've never had a poor meal here. We had the trout and the mahi mahi. Both were cooked to perfection. Great service. They allow you to pace your meal and don't rush you. Huge bar selection. We will definitely come back. It's a very busy place so I would recommend reservations. Also know the parking is free up to 75 minutes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Awful. Careless staff, rushed, mediocre food ordered and served without explaining, fish tasteless. And rats running around outside the entrance. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The miso glazed sea bass is my favorite. They also have great New England clam chowder .

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I wanted to try a new seafood place for us while in Santa Barbara. I made reservations on Open Table for a party of 3 at 7:30 on a Tuesday night. When we arrived, the place was packed. The atmosphere was on the border line of typical seafood restaurant touristy feel. The tables are fairly close to each other and the place is bustling with conversation. Becky was our server.

We ordered cocktails while perusing the menu. We ordered the Mesquite Prawns, Miso Glazed White Sea Bass (served sauteed green beans, risotto cake) and the Tuesday Lobster Dinner Special (2lb. lobster for $38, good deal!) All the entrees came with your choice of a side or New England Clam Chowder or Salad. The Lobster special came with both. The food was good, all the seafood was cooked perfectly.

Everything ran smoothly, service from Becky was perfect up until the end when we requested our bill. We had to flag down another server to get our bill, wait for the bill to be picked up, and wait to get it back to sign, a TOTAL of 34 minutes we waiting for bill paying! Becky went MIA and we were the forgotten child. That was my only compliant.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Lots of character with no attitude here. Food is simply delicious. Gluten free options were super tasty. Very fun night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We love the food, but we felt very rushed, we were served with drinks and appetizers, oysters, calamari, no less that 10 minutes, our waiter wa serving us salad and soup, mind you we only ate a couple of oysters by that time,(and it's not like we were talking to much, ) and again they brought our main entree out while we haven't finished our appetizers, , soup and salad was not even eaten yet!!!they don't look and see if they should serve the next course, , mentioned it to the manager, he apologized but it ruined the experience for us already. Too bad , food was good, it felt like a fast food joint, we know they want to appear efficient, but we felt like they want to get rid of you quickly, and there wasn't a line to get a table even!!!!
Something they should improve on, otherwise, it's a good food place.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was pretty spotty. Just slow and food wasn't delivered timely. Food was alright; atmosphere was fun place but there are many other places in SB to try as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

WE visit Santa Barbara every couple of years and never miss a dinner here. Great Cioppino and fantastic clam chowder.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time back In a number of years. Kitsch decor. Noisy. Fish smothered in odd oil concoction, very salty. If you are looking for a loud, busy place, with high end junk food, this is the spot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We were 3 people - my friends ordered a calamari appetizer and fish tacos - thought it was overpriced for what they got. I ordered the catch of the day which arrived not fully cooked. Also we were supposed to get salads with our order which they forgot to bring - in the end I returned my fish - the manager apologized and offered us a dessert to compensate - we declined - she didn't charge me for the fish and also the calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I booked this restaurant and then there was a small thunder storm which put out the power and when we arrived at the restaurant it was all closed up. No one thought to call me to let me know so we were too late to make alternative plans. Very very angry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was good, noise level high. Service was excellent. Probably more suitable for gathering with friends rather than date as it was hard to hold a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food- drinks were delicious- a bit on the expensive side but good. Chowder was so good! We all got different dishes and everyone loved all of it

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was a little pricey for what you get. We are used to Lure prices and yummy food. I am sorry that you are probably used to hearing that. If it weren't for our awesome waiter Diego we would probably not come back to try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was our one special night out for dinner on our vacation. We had 5 in our party. The menu is varied enough to please all. We all had fish or seafood of some sort. The appetizers were tasty and everything seemed very fresh. The prices seemed reasonable for the quality and we shared a nicely priced bottle of wine (those of us who were wine drinkers). We experienced competent service. It's a fairly noisy, bustling ambiance so not sure it would be a great choice for a romantic dinner out. I have to ding the food slightly for serving a steamed vegetable side doused with oil - likely excessive run-off from my trout. All in all, after seeing some more negative reviews comparing the food here to standard "chain restaurants", we were all pleasantly surprised at the variety of dishes that were done well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Wife's birthday. She loves the Lobster Bisque. We were seated without any wait and sat near the large front aquarium and ate fish - interesting juxtaposition. Nice decor. Still think about the place as a laundry but that was years ago and restaurant has been here since 1977 and replaced the hotel linens with fantastic nautical decorations and historic black and white photos. I had a fried seafood platter with white fish, calamari, shrimp and scallops. Came with four sauces and was delicious. My wife had the crab grilled cheese sandwich. She could not eat it all so we took half home. I had some of the half and it was delicious. Overall a very nice early evening dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was pretty bland. The Ahi poke was weird tasting & salty. Presented with a pile of salty onion on top.
The Lobster roll had no flavor what's so ever
The mussels where actually nice and meaty.
Overall very basic food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We realized we have been coming here for 40yrs, since we moved to the area. Amazing they are still doing a great job, always a good meal with many options in a central location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food, nothing extraordinary. Just basic restaurant

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always a locals favorite. Specials every week. We'll e back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I wish it had been a better experience. I came prepared for a great meal and it started out just fine. By the time the entree came however, things went downhill fast. I ordered what should have been an easy meal. Filet mignon. I got it cold and it tasted like a bit gamey. Maybe it was me, it's a seafood restaurant, right? Anyway I'd go back again - but I won't go for steak.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This restaurant has so much promise - but it acts like a lot of fish restaurants in upscale tourist towns - great atmosphere, lively place, good appetizers and soups - but the main event, the fish(!) is overcooked and dry as a bone. Fish should come off the grill at the exact moment that it is done (unless you are getting sushi or seared). So often these big fish restaurants leave it on the grill for minutes too long, and what you get is a fish which you can barely swallow. Happens all the time, and I was hoping that Enterprise wouldn't fall victim to that kind of experience. Both my mom's fish (swordfish) and my fish (seabass) came out with an excellent topping and nice presentation - but one bite on each revealed a taste of chicken at a church picnic, than fantastic, fresh seafood. I would still probably recommend this place to friends for the ambiance - but I'd tell them to stick with shellfish, soups, salads, and appetizers. If they are going to order the fish, I'd also recommend a lot of alcohol to numb your sensation, and anger for paying $27 for a maritime hockey puck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My son got sick from a $29 Swordfish, we all for a Clam chowder with Lots of corn and few chewy clams that was so full of corn starch that the spoon did not fall over and the "Crispy Brussels Sprouts were soggy in a vinegar bath. So to make it short the food sucked on all accounts and the price is very high for nothing in return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good food. We requested blue cheese crumbles for our salad & it took quite awhile to get them...main course was on its way before we finished.
Reservations online was a breeze.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Really enjoy this place. One of our favorite places to eat in Santa Barbara. You can get your seafood and an adult beverage for a decent price. I like to people watch and this place is good for that. You can watch the chefs prepare the food through viewing windows. In all we had a great time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Booked a Sat night table for our family. In Santa Barbara for a short visit, had to try one of the top-rated seafood restaurants. The food was alright - the lobster bisque was tasty but heavy, the cioppino was ok, the grilled shrimp and the mahi-mahi were not extraordinary. The biggest drawback was the cacophony and the snug seating. There were 6 of us and we could not hear each other because it was so loud. The seating is super tight. I am a foodie and love to try restaurants and innovative cuisines. I am always surprised at how some great restaurants make no effort to create an ambience of comfort where you can have a conversation. Our server was very nice and polite, though she looked harassed. If you're a 20 something, its ok to dine in a place that sounds like a fish market, I for one regretted making the dinner reservation, as soon as we walked in. We fled as soon as we finished our main entree, to get dessert in a place that was less frenetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was a bit too chain- restaurant feeling. The calamari app was tough, I had a very good crab mac n cheese, my husband had the parmesan diver sole, which I think was the best of what we had. This place is really good for a big group with a variety of tastes and people with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.