About Enigma Restaurant

445 Mt. Rushmore Road
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

South Dakota's top fine dining destination offering internationally inspired organic cuisine.
Enigma Restaurant located downtown, provides the perfect location, atmosphere & cuisine for your first meeting of the day over breakfast, your high powered lunch meeting, your night on the town or for that very special occasion. The Enigma Restaurant, a AAA three diamond restaurant, is located at the New Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/ Mt. Rushmore. Enigma, is one of the finest of Rapid City restaurants featuring elegant dining, specialty drinks fine organic wines & stylish service. Guests can enjoy our signature "Mystery Dinner" and daily specials.
Enigma Restaurant serves: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Room Service is available for Hotel guests 6:30am-9pm.
Part of the Enigma Restaurant is our, 445 Lounge, a non-smoking, upscale lounge, offering delicious martinis with premium vodkas, fine wines, organic beers, great music and a fun relaxing atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am -11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Rushmore Road/ Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 716-0600

Website:
http://www.enigmarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Booked through catering office only

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Jon Fearon

Private Party Facilities:
Private room seating up to 35 people. We invite you to book your special event or company party with us.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan McDonald: 6057167236x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Enigma Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

3

ambience

3.4

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

romantic (3)
special occasion (3)
fit for foodies (2)
See All
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Okay service, delicious food

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious particularly the dessert. However the service was really slow especially considering that the restaurant was not very full and it was a Friday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

This could be a good restaurant

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the most surly service in a restaurant that I have had in years. It started when our waiter was asking if we wanted coffee as he was walking us to our seats. I thought he must have some special coffee as he was promoting it before we were even seated. He replied that he did not know what it was, "it was coffee." We declined. The restaurant was still empty we asked to order off the menu. Our waiter was displeased, I suspect as he was expecting the place to be slammed any minute. We did order off of the menu and our omelet, waffle, bacon and fruit were all good, not great, but good. I understand he thought we ordered too much food. So as he was picking up the plates, he felt a need to ask my girlfriend who left half of her waffle, "So, are you full?" Either this was unnecessary sarcasm, or the man is lacking in social graces. I would return to Enigma. I would not have him as my waiter.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is amazing!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every was raved 😌!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

They have some work to do to justify their prices

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was unique and well prepared, but portions were small and prices were high. The booth we were seated in was worn and the fabric was cracked. Not acceptable for a restaraunt costing over $200 per couple.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Never Again!!!

Dined on January 30, 2016

The hostess greeted us in a way that seemed as if we were imposing upon her. The waiter made exactly three trips to our table--and, those trips were very basic. The food was prepared in a basic, mundane way. This is by no means fine dining. There are many better options in Rapid City.

food4
ambience3
service1

Enigma

Dined on October 7, 2015

Great food, disappointing service, several errors on drinks, and after corrected, still not all that good. Need a better bartender.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Over Priced

Dined on October 6, 2015

While the food and service were good their prices are way over priced. The entries don't come with any sides you have to order your sides, even a salad, separate. I ordered a steak and left hungry.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service but...........

Dined on July 27, 2015

We had been here once before and loved the "Mystery Dinner" so we decided to book it again for my wife's birthday. Even though I mentioned that it was my wife's birthday in both the Opentable reservation and to the waiter when we arrived, there was no special recognition of her birthday during the dinner or the dessert. This was a great disappointment to me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Upscale and Electric

Dined on June 3, 2015

We noticed the spacious floor plan when we arrived. There were a couple large groups also dining that night, but the noise level was comfortable and not bothersome. The waitstaff was very helpful and engaging. Many selections for wine and food. Overall, this was a very nice restaurant to enjoy a quiet dinner but it is located in downtown which was perfect for walking around afterwards.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

Server needs training.

Dined on February 22, 2015

While our server was pleasant enough he did not seem to have had any training & was unsure of what is expected when working with us. Example; seated us and walked away without introducing himself or asking if we'd like something from the bar. When we spend $100.00 for a meal we expect the service to match that level. They were not busy at all so it was not like the staff was being pushed to their limits. I really put this more on management for lack of training then on the server for poor service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service1

Not impressed

Dined on February 15, 2015

Very poor, slow service. Quality of food was mediocre considering the price. Very subpar experience.

food1
ambience2
service5

Never again.

Dined on February 14, 2015

Valentines Day meant Enigma tried to impress with a fancy menu complete with a $160 price tag per couple for the 4 course meal. The meal was overcooked, smothered in gravy and served haphazardly by poorly trained staff. I've been to 5 star restaurants and happily paid for the splurge because it was a top notch culinary experience. I wish this had been that. But it was a far cry from excellent that left us annoyed and a bit poorer. There was no mention upon making a reservation that the only menu option was the Valentines menu. Perhaps if we could have chosen from the standard menu we would have been more pleased. When we asked our waitress, she said our only choice was in front of us. We won't be back as we were underwhelmed and disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service4

it's a mystery

Dined on January 17, 2015

Did the mystery dinner, loved that it came with 4 courses and 2 drinks! First 3 courses were excellent! I thought the dessert was a bit lacking, but I could just not be a fan of baked alaska(topped with some sort of liquorice meringue). I will say one of my favorite parts if the meal is the raspberry sorbet palate cleanser! Love the quiet ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Pricey but worth it for a special night out

Dined on January 1, 2015

My boyfriend and I went on New Years Eve just for something different and special. We ordered the mystery dinner and were not disappointed. Our meal was very unique and delicious! It was full of items that I would never order for myself but thoroughly enjoyed. It is not something we can afford to do very often, but were glad that this was where we chose to splurge!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great for special occasions

Dined on December 13, 2014

We came for my husbands birthday and we decided to do the mystery dinner. It was so much fun not knowing the meal and getting excellent food. We really enjoyed the first 3 courses. The dessert wasn't my favorite, but was good. We were so full by then it didn't really matter. We have down this before and haven't been disappointed yet!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

A change of pace

Dined on December 2, 2014

Very quiet place when we came in. I had to ask our server questions about food on the menu for which she did not know the correct answer, but she went back to the cook and got it correct. On my dish, the red snapper I would have preferred the asparagus than the celery. And the apple dessert we had, we had homemade cobbler the nite before that was better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Married Couple Date Nite

Dined on September 13, 2014

We had the mystery dinner with the wine pairing. It was a four course meal. Each of the courses were amazing, and they were things that I would not likely have ordered. Excellently prepared, absolutely delicious, and beautifully plated.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Food was expensive

Dined on September 13, 2014

We went there and spent a lot of money and the portions were small. The food was okay but over priced for the amount we received. Will think about going back in the future.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service1

Not worth the money!

Dined on August 31, 2014

We thought this was going to be a nice higher end restaurant based on prices of food. It was far from it. The food was good but I could have went to a nice food chain such as Texas road house and had just as good if not better steak and chicken for less than half of the cost. Very limited menu was surprised not to have more options for being a "nice" restaurant. Atmosphere was pretty descent until a bus tour group of 40 plus came in and stood all through out restaurant. It got very loud in such a small place. I could hardly hear my wife across the table with out her almost yelling. Very disappointed was suppose to be a special night. Will never go back and will definitely never tell any friends or family to go.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

A Fun 13th Anniversary Date

Dined on August 29, 2014

Went all in and tried the 4-Course Mystery Dinner for 2. My wife and I enjoyed it thoroughly; each dish was very unique in its taste and presentation. The dessert was too rich for my wife to finish, but other than that we had fun letting the chef decide on a unique and unconventional series of entrees and appetizers for us. The atmosphere was very quiet and it felt somewhat uncomfortable really opening up in conversation together. Even our waiter barely spoke loud enough to be heard. It was very different than our usual spots but we're glad we tried it out and look forward to the next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Rapid city find

Dined on August 16, 2014

We found enigma on line when we arrived in rapid city, SD. At the hotel, people had heard of it as good, but had not been there. The food was excellent and the restaurant was quiet and relaxing. I can also say that the service was efficient and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitly worth finding this place!

Dined on July 22, 2014

After conference mtgs, bus trips, hundreds of people, area attractions, this place was a real find! Excellent and fresh food, prepared and presented well, attentive and friendly service, quiet respectable relaxing atmosphere. Treated like Queens and Kings. Off the beaten Main St. path, but totally worth finding! Go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3

Not what I expected

Dined on July 10, 2014

As a traveler I used Open Table to find a fine dining location. I was very disappointed. The menu on line was not what was offered. The waiter did not understand or know if they offered sparkling water. (They did.) The buffalo oso boco was tough. The chicken dish was described as having spinach in it but none was found. We were both disappointed with our meals. When traveling it would be nice to be able to believe the reviews.

food4
ambience3
service1

Missing Meal

Dined on June 13, 2014

While, ultimately, everyone in my party seemed to enjoy their food one of us waited for his meal while the others awkwardly started theirs. He waited and waited. - More than five minutes. This is an unpardonable breach of service. I would not give this place a second chance

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the Mystery Dinner

Dined on June 11, 2014

My wife and I were visting the Dakotas and happened to stay at the Adoba Eco hotel where the restaurant is located. We glanced at the dinner menu and, based on what we saw, decided to try it out. We chose the four-course Mystery menu with wine pairings. The food was presented in a gorgeous manner and was delicious. And we tried things we would never have ordered. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

A quiet place for dinner

Dined on April 20, 2014

We enjoy the quiet atmosphere of Enigma. It's perfect for our 'date night'. On this visit we found the Asparagus Soup to be over salted. We tried the Eggplant Moussaka and felt it really should be listed as a "Deconstructed Eggplant Parmesan." The vegetables where whole and near raw, which was a new experience in eating eggplant. While the accompanying sauces were very good, it's not something we will order again. The bone-in veal was done very well and we enjoyed the balsamic reduction that accompanied it.

food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely

Dined on March 2, 2014

We dined here on a frigid Saturday night, so the restaurant was really quiet. We had a very romantic date and the scallops were AMAZING.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good meal and service

Dined on February 8, 2014

Enigma has struggled over the past year to maintain their once excellent quality. Certainly our meal tonight was a definite uptick from previous meals. Our server was highly attentive and professional. We had the crab cakes, grilled Caesar salad, and the beef tenderloin, which was done to perfection. We also learned there will be a new chef taking over in a few weeks, so we are hopeful the Enigma is on the rebound!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful

Dined on January 1, 2014

We enjoyed the dinner the food was great! It is on the spendy side but we don't eat like that all the time so was a nice treat for the 6 of us. The only complaint was the waitress, she was wonderful just did't get our drinks, dressings, etc very fast, she would forget. But, it was fine, we weren't in a hurry. The other main complaint was that we were sat at a table on the north side believe under a vent, and we were terrible cold, not just a little cold, a lot cold. And we mentioned that to the waitress and she said she told whoever about it. There are two vents on the ceiling and when they kick in it is very cold...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good-pleasant surprise

Dined on December 29, 2013

Our party of three ordered mahi mahi, elk tenderloin and bone in veal chop. All were AWESOME!!! Wine list is good. Waiter was VERY good. Would go back in a heart beat!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Never Disappointed

Dined on November 17, 2013

This is not my first visit to Enigma and certainly won't be my last. I enjoy going for the exciting and always delicious Mystery Dinner! Wonderful drinks, amazing food, great service, and so much fun guessing what the next course will be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Slowly Sliping

Dined on November 17, 2013

Once weekly patrons we've backed our visits off to once a month. Since the management change last June, Enigma just hasn't returned to its former self. The new menu is out and the filet we had was great, as was the grilled Caesar salad. However, the crab cakes have gone from sublime to truck-stop quality. But worse was the service. How do you neglect a table when there are only two full in the entire restaurant? Our server found a way.

food3
ambience5
service3

Anniversary Date

Dined on November 11, 2013

Went there on an anniversary date and it was very romantic. I believe we were the only other ones eating there at 8 pm on a Sunday night. They had just gotten a new menu and we had the elk and a seafood pasta. The elk was super tender, but the sauce wasn't very good on top. The seafood pasta was pretty good it had shrimp and scallops. Definitely don't think any of the food was up to par with the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1

Love4Food

Dined on November 2, 2013

We have been to here several times.I had better service as McDonalds. The food was ok, not outstanding like in the past.My hubby and I had the mystery dinner.To start we had to asked to order drinks. With having the mystery dinner, the waiter did not tell us what were eating I had to ask .My hubby has a gluten allergy which I told open table prior he had no idea so I told him when we got there. With the main course, he brought us an unknown side, I asked him again what were were eating he said couscous, gluten intolerant folks can not eat that, which was fine because it was flavorless.Waiter forgot our forks for the dessert so we sat there for several minutes looking at the dish,which was not that great any way. Very frustrating.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience3
service2

Disappointing

Dined on October 13, 2013

My husband and I ate here because we had a coupon and were EXTREMELY disappointed in the quality and flavor of the food. The waiters were alright, but seemed to be in their own world. I had always wanted to try eating at this restaurant, and am very upset that I did. A complete waste of money and time.

food3
ambience3
service2

When we walked in I had high

Dined on September 24, 2013

When we walked in I had high hopes after viewing the menu the day before. Unfortunately the service left quite a bit to be desired. Once our server warmed up to us (about 15 min later) he was ok, but sadly never did meet the expectations I had with the price and quality of the menu. We ordered the Mystery Dinner for Two which was actually quite fun and adventurous, and delicious. Although I was hoping for better service, overall it was a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Meal Ever

Dined on August 31, 2013

Took my husband here for his birthday. We had the four course mystery dinner and my husband said it was the best meal he'd ever eaten. The flavor combinations were surprising and delicious! The wait staff was fantastic, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Hanging In There

Dined on August 30, 2013

Enigma went through a management change at the beginning of the summer of 2013. Many of the familiar faces are gone and we, too, took a several month hiatus. We returned this week and were pleased to be greeted by a former host, Peggy, and enjoyed a great meal. We had the salmon creeps, Caesar salad, and beef fillet, all done perfectly. We now stay away from the crab cakes as, sadly, they no longer use fresh crab. Back in the day they were the best that could be found anywhere! It's gratifying Enigma is able to keep up with their food quality. Finding a new staff that will sustain their tradition of excellence will be the challenge.

food1
ambience3
service3

Unpleasant Dining Experience

Dined on June 22, 2013

The service was good, however the food was terrible. I know the food was organic but that does not mean it should not be tasty. I ordered a basic steak & potatoes. The steak was riddled with fat which made it inedible. They need a new chef!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent start to finish

Dined on June 14, 2013

Armando, our server, was spot on. Very pleasant, professional service, perfect timing, and knew the menu very well. Ate here as the last meal on a very special 3 week trip with my daughter. Although we had some very good meals along our journey, this was the only place the meal was excellent start to fininsh. Maryland crabcake appetizers were made correctly. My pork tenderloins on quinoa and her elk dish, and shared dessert custard and fresh fruit all excellent and presented beautifully. We moved our reservation to an earlier time slot with no problem. Quiet so we could talk over our adventures and unwind before our trip home. What a wonderful place to finish out our vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.