About Emeril's Restaurant

If you are unable to make your reservation online, please call us at 504-528-9393.

Emeril’s Restaurant is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s famed flagship restaurant housed in a renovated pharmacy warehouse in New Orleans’ Warehouse District. Since opening in 1990, Emeril’s has been a definitive force in contemporary New Orleans cuisine and has earned rave reviews and accolades for over 25 years, including Esquire magazine’s “Restaurant of the Year” and Wine Spectator’s “Grand Award” for 14 consecutive years. At the helm is chef de cuisine David Slater, who works closely with Chef Emeril to push culinary boundaries and deliver bold and diverse flavors for a one-of-a-kind dining experience with unparalleled service and a festive unpretentious setting.

800 Tchoupitoulas
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole, Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Julia Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 528-9393

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/emerils-new-orleans/

Parking Details:
Complimentary, secure valet parking across from the restaurant

Executive Chef:
David Slater

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine & service.

Private Party Contact:
Ashton Senn: (504) 528-9393

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Emeril's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (169)
Good for a Date (160)
Creative Cuisine (155)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (136)
Fit for Foodies (127)
Romantic (112)
Notable Wine List (107)
Good for Birthdays (106)
Business Meals (92)
Local Ingredients (75)
Authentic (74)
Worth the Drive (64)
Fun (64)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Good for Groups (56)
Handcrafted Cocktails (53)
Great for Lunch (46)
Comfort Food (45)
Open Kitchen (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Bar Seating (34)
Casual (32)
Cozy (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Modern Decor (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
People Watching (17)
Spicy (17)
Seasonal (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Historic (12)
Healthy (10)
Great Beer (8)
Family Style (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Organic (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Tapas (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Live Music (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
7756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 21 hours ago

Excellent food and service! I'm in love with this restaurant!❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I've been to Emeri's many times and can't recall a bad meal. This time, though, my meal (duck) was simply awful. I was at a business meeting and felt uncomfortable complaining otherwise I would have let the waiter know. I expect more from Emeril's. At one point, the duck was so chewy, I thought I would have to spit it in my napkin.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional management and service. Will visit again someday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was amazing, fiancé enjoyed her birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The customer service is what stood out the most for us. Tori and her assistants were outstanding. Very friendly, professional and attentive. We were worried that there wouldn't be much on the menu that my daughter would care to eat. But Tori made some recommendations and my daughter enjoyed every bite.

We were seated on time, our orders were taken promptly, and the food came out in reasonable time. The food was delicious! Overall, our first time at Emeril's was excellent! Best service we have received ever compared to other fine dining restaurants. And the food was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

The Staff is amazing. Very warm and non judgmental. I wasn't wearing casual formal wear or anything of the sort, but jeans, our company v neck and wedges. I loved the atmosphere and it was a little loud, but that's because of another table. They closed the doors to respect the other guests. I appreciated that. The service was quick and efficient and the food was amazing. I could taste the richness and vibrancy of each flavor. Marvelous job! ♡

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Pear blossom cocktail was amazing!
I thought the Snapper special was excellent.
My guests enjoyed the Salmon and Hanger Steak dishes.

It wasn't clear to us who our primary wait person was. Several times I looked for who I thought it was to find out the status of a salad order and to ask for the check. She was so busy with other customers that I had to flag other wait staff. I do want to acknowledge that she was very helpful to me in deciding my meal order. Wait team was very attentive to filling waters, swapping utensils, etc. These things happened without us hardly noticing. That was nice. ... Something I'm not used to was the clearing of plates of my guests who had finished their main course while I was still eating mine. The noise level was high, so we had to repeat ourselves several times during our conversation.

Overall, a good experience with well prepared food. For the price I would have liked more of a feeling of being truly welcomed. The wait staff was attentive and efficient, but in a hurried and robotic way. It's hard to make the personal connection I would have liked when the place is so busy and the tables are being turned over so rapidly. That's why 4 stars and not five.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was very overpriced. Service was awesome, but the dining area is very loud. Expected the food to be better for the amount of money paid. Difficult to hear the two others at the table.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Today is my birthday and the staff went out of their way to make this occasion very special. The food and drinks were amazing. I can't express how wonderful this Restaurant is and highly recommend for your visit to The Big Easy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service was excellent! Everyone was very kind and accommodating to our group which included young kids. That being said, I feel that the food is overpriced. The meals were simply ok and presentation was lacking. The BBQ shrimp was very smoky...no BBQ flavor, just smoke. We went for my birthday lunch and they gave me a small scoop of sorbet which was very nice but again not great presentation...just a scoop in a small bowl with a little candle. I'm sorry to say, I've seen better presentation at many other (often cheaper) restaurants I have been to in and out of NOLA over the years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Staff was exceptional. Even better service than my visit Emeril's Orlando. And the food was above already high expectations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The one thing that was not good was that the coffee was not hot. After adding cream to the coffee, it was not even warm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Awesome birthday dinner!! The food, the drinks, the staff, and the service at Emeril's was such an experience!! Great memories

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I watched his show, cooked his food and couldn't wait to eat here but I was very disappointed with the food. We chose the summer menu - a 3 course prix fixe dinner. I did not like any of the courses; appetizer was Elote - I ate the corn - I was hungry; main course was Gulf Swordfish Escabeche - it was just a piece of fish pan fried - no flavor; I just picked at the mousse - nothing special. My husband had gumbo - it was just OK; he had the banana rum cake - it was a bit dry.
I would suggest eating a la carte - perhaps those choices will better. I was underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and awesome ambiance. Wait staff is very helpful and pleasant and provided excellent customer service. Menu is different than online menu and prices were significantly higher. However, we were celebrating our anniversary so in the end it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Started off well. We were there celebrating my fiancee birthday. 3 different ppl called us by name in the beginning while they passed around the reservation chit from open table. Unfortunately when the paper disappeared he forgot who we were. Waiter made a great recommendation on a pinot noir. Which we took for $75. Great value for the quality. Bbq shrimp was as good as advertised. Frog legs came out a little bland. Duck tour, fried rice was ok. We ate it bc we were hungry. The leg was amazing but the duck breast was probably the worst I've tasted in years, anywhere. Pork chop looked great to the eye and was edible but was definitely overcooked. I imagine it would be good if prepared medium. Had some dry bites that needed washing down with the wine. Then came dessert. No mention of the signature chocolate soufle. When we tried to order it, the waiter did his best to talk us out of it. We still wanted it. Now he talked about the 40 minutes it would take to make it (menu says 30) we still wanted it, we could order another round of drinks or coffee. But now he tells us the kitchen is starting to break down for the night, we should try something quicker. Fine we took a chocolate dome cake with cherries that he recommended. Most disappointing dessert and experience I've had in 2017.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Emirils is on our top-ten dinner meals of all-time list - and we have a long list. First of all, the quality of service is simply over-the-top, or as my wife says: "a 10 on a 5 point scale." It's friendly, ever-present, genuine, conscientious, and - just plain good. Their staff enjoys working there nd shows it. And that's before you get to the food. Every dish we've had has had delicate, yet complex flavors in N'awlins style - fit for gourmets as well as authentic southern food afficianados. We love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Good service, good gumbo. The entrees were mediocre, especially for the price. Cheese board had good cheeses but the bread was dry and almost stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The restaurant was excellent and the lady that waited on us was as good as it gets!! The food was excellent as was the wine! Would love to come and visit again!😀🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner here. I can't say enough great things about the service we received - super attentive, knowledgeable and super-friendly. The food was outstanding - only wish we had room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We loved dining at Emeril's. They accommodated our group of eight in an excellent manner. Service was top notch, and professionalism was abundant. Our server, Trey, was awesome!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time dining at Emerils. The service was inpeccable. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. I wish knew her name because she made the experience for my out of town guest feel welcomed Instantly. Food was delicious and cooked perfectly. We started with the barbecued shrimp as an appetizer, cooked perfectly. My family ordered the Chicken and Waffles, Andouille Crusted Gulf Drum, and myself the Endive salad. The portions were plentiful and well presented. The crusted drum was to die for! We left satisfied and full, all for under $100.00 with drinks! Highly recommend to anyone looking to stop in for lunch. I will be back again soon with my husband as to try other dishes on the menu.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Lovely setting but service left a lot to be desired. Our waiter seemed bored and was generally unfriendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very poor gluten free options and the kitchen staff could be heard from our table complaining and commenting on simply fixing a hamburger without a bun. It was intended to be a quiet meal with our daughter and it turned out to be very unpleasant. We own and cook out of the lagasse girls gluten free cookbook and thought this restaurant would certainly have some options for us...instead there were very few options and disgruntled comments from the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Really enjoyed the experience. The food was absolutely delicious and the staff was superb. I would love to see an Emeril's restaurant open in the Raleigh area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always wanted to eat here for years.
Was worth the wait. What to do something neat reserve the Chiefs table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I chose Emeril's for my birthday dinner and I was absolutely delighted. The food was delicious, the restaurant is beautiful and the service was absolutely amazing. As a previous server myself, I was really, really pleased not with just my server, but the restaurant staff as a whole. I will definitely be going back and I would recommend Emeril's to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Family vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Amazing experience overall. The food was DELICIOUS and the service was top notch. I will definitely be back on my next N.O. trip!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Amazing is what comes to mind. we ordered from the new Taste of Summer menu and ordered different items so that we could taste everything. We had the Caprese, Elote and the Pate to start. All were delicious. We had Gumbo, Shrimp and Clams in paper as an entree. The gumbo was smoky and spicy. I loved it! Dessert was Key Lime Cheesecake, Carrot Cake and peach cobbler for dessert. I would go back again today if I could. Delicious from beginning to end. The service was impeccable and every need was met quickly. Great job Emeril's!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were not impressed with the white chocolate creme brûlée...but was delightful the brussel sprouts salad and would love it to have the receipt ! Had a wonderful evening....

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is the second Emeril's at which I have dined. The overall experience was excellent with many highlights.
First of all, the service was outstanding. Everyone is treated as if they are the most important guest. This experience starts at the door and continues until you leave.
The apex of Emeril's is always the banana cream pie, which isn't really food so much as it is visceral nirvanic event, transcending a taste experience to become a spiritual memory.
The signature pecan-crusted drum fish was excellent. Perfectly cooked and well-balanced with the grilled vegetables. The side of skillet greens, while well-textured, lacked significant seasoning.
My wife had the chicken and vegetable soup, which was not very notable. The lobster tchoup salad was imaginative though my wife was not a fan of the soft-boiled egg. Poached may have done better.
The blue crab appetizer was very tasty.
We did not partake in any alcohol, but the wine list looked excellent.
We considered it an excellent overall value and and thoroughly enjoyed dining there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

great food. love this place. it was a great choice

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I didn't like the popcorn with the swordfish. But, the fish was exceptional. Wait staff was superb. The summer fare special was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We have dined at all of Emeril's New Orleans restaurant and have never been disappointed. The small plates/appetizers are creative (the crab and brie angel hair was wonderful) and everything is made with fresh local ingredients. Staff are attentive without hovering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

World class food and service. It never disappoints.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was delicious as always. My shrimp were so fresh and sweet! Visit this place anytime you're in NO. It's a must!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Not quite as good as I expected but I am glad I visited this restaurant while I was in New Orleans.

Staff was great, so was the service, but I had higher hopes for the food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The dining experience significantly exceeded expectations and my expectations were very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The service was outstanding! The food was terrific. Great experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.