About Emeril's Restaurant

If you are unable to make your reservation online, please call us at 504-528-9393.

Emeril’s Restaurant is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s famed flagship restaurant housed in a renovated pharmacy warehouse in New Orleans’ Warehouse District. Since opening in 1990, Emeril’s has been a definitive force in contemporary New Orleans cuisine and has earned rave reviews and accolades for over 25 years, including Esquire magazine’s “Restaurant of the Year” and Wine Spectator’s “Grand Award” for 14 consecutive years. At the helm is chef de cuisine David Slater, who works closely with Chef Emeril to push culinary boundaries and deliver bold and diverse flavors for a one-of-a-kind dining experience with unparalleled service and a festive unpretentious setting.

800 Tchoupitoulas
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole, Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Julia Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 528-9393

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/emerils-new-orleans/

Parking Details:
Complimentary, secure valet parking across from the restaurant

Executive Chef:
David Slater

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine & service.

Private Party Contact:
Ashton Senn: (504) 528-9393

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Emeril's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (145)
Good for a Date (142)
Creative Cuisine (129)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Notable Wine List (96)
Business Meals (88)
Romantic (87)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Open Kitchen (76)
Authentic (70)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Local Ingredients (63)
Modern Decor (59)
Worth the Drive (53)
Fun (51)
Good for Groups (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Cozy (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
Bar Seating (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Historic (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Casual (32)
Outstanding Value (31)
Tasting Menu (26)
People Watching (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Healthy (17)
Spicy (17)
Seasonal (16)
Private Room (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Happy Hour (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
7384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We come here every time we visit New Orleans and it is one of our favorites. We've probably been there about 10 times. However we often have felt disappointed somewhat in the service level. This most recent time we were seated in a very tucked away table. It was about 20 degrees warmer here than everywhere in the restaurant. Although we mentioned it to our server nothing really changed. We ordered a very nice bottle of wine for our meal. And then we're told they did not have any left. This was completely understandable. We ordered another bottle with the recommendation of the sommelier, and he quoted a price. We were overcharged 45 for this bottle. Just disappointing as the attitude about it seemed to be more matter of fact than apologetic. We had a very disappointing experience with their service in January for a special occasion. I did not take the time to mention it to management thought, but I should have. However, the food is outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I started off with the crab cakes which were ok, didn't have the wow factor. We shared the swordfish which was great. We also shared the truffle chicken with a bowl of crawfish which was way over priced at MKT $60.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Very friendly and attentive staff. I was disappointed with the clarity of their menu and food options. The communication between myself and the waiter was difficult as they explain a lot of the food options verbally and with the numerous ingredients talked about it was hard to tell take it all in. In the end I just wanted a chicken meal and choose the only one listed on their menu. When my meal arrive I was shocked to see a meal that is clearly designed for two if not more people at a price of $60. The waiter did not to a good job in clarifying the size of the meal and cost. At first I thought I was the one who made the mistake but when a saw a neighboring patron with the same shocking face that I had with the same meal I felt the waiter could have done a better job explaining the meal that was ordered. My advice is to ask you waiter many questions to ensure you are getting the right meal for you. I am not a huge eater so this meal was a big waste for me.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great. Staff were cordial and informative. Great portions of food. The best. Loved the location and ambiance.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

just wished that what was said on the menu came out on the plate . i got the lobster skewers app and it said, it was to come out on a celery salad and blue cheese . and it came out on just lettuce . told the waiter . and all they said was they haven't seen the menu in a long time . bla bla bla . whatever !!! just a little disappointed as I think if Emeril knew his food came out wrong he would be too...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Had lunch. It was wonderful. Our waitress, Tori, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing and very tasty! I would absolutely recommend going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We went there because of the name & food was marginal, veggies too spicy, pork chop was bland, hanger steak was tough. Plate presentation was beautiful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband, myself and my pagents enjoyed a lovely dinner at Emeril's while visiting New Orleans. The atmosphere was quaint but busy. All tables were filled. We had a service staff of 3 people who were all very attentive and welcomed special requests. The food was fabulous and we never wanted for anything .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

The service the food it was delicious and the service was great would do it again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Noise level in this restaurant is too loud I would not return there is no comparison to the Emerill's NOLA restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

OMG this was my second time there and it was absolutely wonderful!! Lobster skewers were AMAZING!!! Who knew this wonderfully delicious buffalo sauce would taste so good on lobster?! They have THE best wine bible in the world! Tré was impeccable! Loved loved loved him!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service at a surprisingly reasonable price. Cocktails, salad, entrees with a bottle of wine, followed by coffee and dessert for less than we've paid at less good restaurants. Definitely a must do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good!! Service and food were amazing! Pricy, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Steak was undercooked and the brisket portion was small.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great meal with a business associate. Food was very good. Portion sizes about right. The servers were incredible as they were anticipating our every need.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Sadly we were disappointed. The tuna meatballs themselves were okay. The best part of the dish was the perfectly cooked and brightly flavored tomatoes. The lobster tchoup would have been better but my egg was overcooked and I couldn't mix it properly into my salad dressing, so instead I had minced egg. The chicken...what is with the chicken? Who needs 2 chicken breasts, 2 legs and 2 thighs in one meal? We were supposed to share? That was never suggested by staff. And who wants to pay $60 for chicken that was actually underflavored? The fried was good, but not exceptional and the truffled was bland. Such a disappointing experience. Service team? Head waitress was pretty absent while she left the other 2 men helping her to be our servers. We enjoyed their gracious and friendly support at least. I hope they are tipped fairly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Playing off the name, the restaurant offers a more watered down take on cajun influnced food. Portions are huge ( the pork chop was enormous) which also drives up prices - mains start at $30 and head into the 40s. A special of wild boar enchaladas was heavy on rice, skimmpy on the thinly rolled enchaladas for $30. Butter abounds and can make for a rich meal. The andoulle crusted drum was tasty, and rich in its meunier sauce. For dessert stick to the top of the list with house favorites: the soft pretzel bread pudding was a disappointment compared to its classic sibling. Service was attentive and friendly if not a tad bit too intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I wish I could give more than 5 stars for the service! One of the best experiences I have ever had.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was Amazing, everything was amazing the ppl, the food , just everything from the time we walk in until we walk out. I will be back

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In an ever-changing food scene (i.e., new must-visit eateries popping up in none of the same-old neighborhoods, and venerated establishments slipping a bit), Emeril's on Tchoupitoulas has managed to stay put as one of THE best places to eat in New Orleans. Emeril Lagasse's original eponymous restaurant -- which we first enjoyed more than 20 years ago -- still manages to impress with old favorites (duck wings Hunan; the amazing pork chop that rivals Ditka's and Perry's) and new ones (a spectacular fried chicken dish; purple sweet potato cheesecake), and a stellar wine list. This year, we snagged the corner table in the kitchen (on 3/18/17) and were treated to a few chef's specials that were not on the menu, an excellent wine and super-friendly (hugs when we left!), efficient attention from our server. We enjoyed it so much we wondered why it had been 4 years since our last visit. Over the years we've been a group of 10 in the gorgeous private "library" room, and tables of 5 or 6 in the main dining room; the noise level is moderate but we were never not able to hear everyone at the table. By all means try the "new kids," (we do every year) but do not relegate Emeril's to the has-been category, because this place continues to set the standard for fine New Orleans dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

On vacation and was a fan of Emrils show therefore the curiosity to gave dinner. Great service and food was excellent!!!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very attentive, but not stuffy service. All staff was excellent. Enormous wine list - actually a book! Very good food - Had the Duo of Beef and Wife had Hanger steak - both very good. Dessert was best part- famous banana crème pie was best I ever had. A memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great dinner! Excellent atmsophere- love the open kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

From apps to entrée was delicious. Service impeccable. I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Really nice restaurant. Prices were high but I guess that's what you pay when you go to an iconic restaurant. food was really good though and the restaurant is well operated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was good, but expensive; staff very attentive. I had chicken and waffles for the first and last time; my daughter had the salmon which she loved; the atmosphere was wonderful; sangria was great

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Worst experience ever (service wise). After we ate the appetizers we were waiting for the entrees for a long time, we kindly asked to the area manager why it was taking so long to get our food and his answer was: "you're in a fine dining restaurant and you have to wait up to 40 minutes to get your entrees". He was very rude and disrespectful. However one of the waitress came and asked us to wait five more minuetes, we waited 10 but the food never came and We decided to cancel the order. Immediately he showed off with the check and never explained or apologized for the Inconvenient. Looks like the waitress are better trained than the manager. So disappointed for the time spent in this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Emeril's combines unparalleled service with top-notch ingredients and their preparation. Throughout the entire meal service it's a treat to watch the teamwork amongst the staff while the Exec Chefs plate meals and bark out orders. It's a NOLA must do.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 17, 2017

FABULOUS !

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were greeted warmly. The attention by our waiters was more than I have ever experienced. Explanations about the food and tips were incredible. The drinks and entrees were fantastic, and the dessert was top notch! I will return to Emeril's next time I visit New Orleans!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

service was superb. I felt the waitstaff attentive; yet not overbearing. Food and presentation were outstanding. The porkchop was divine!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I ordered the red snapper with root vegetables. The fish was moist and flavorful, vegetables were roasted- an excellent dish. My mother ordered duck, she liked her dish also. A glass of house Pinot Grigio was good. No complaints with the food except I prefer french bread over the selection of mixed bread types. I found all the staff running around us a little distracting too. The restaurant was better than I expected. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent experience. A really wonderful staff who attend to needs before they are needs and who do little special things. Just great. Food quite good and prepared as described by the staff.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We went to Emeril's original restaurant. I know he has several more in NOLA, but we didn't have time. This one was amazing. The service was on point, the atmosphere was really nice and the food? The food was better than excellent. Fresh, cooked perfectly, artfully arranged and delicious. Would go back right now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely excellent food and service! A true experience of New Orleans cuisine! Lobster skewer appetizer is like no other. Amazing redfish and sweet potatoes. The bread, cornbread and muffins were so good. Sorry we didn't have bigger stomachs for dessert too. The customer service was superb! We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The host could not find our reservations until we showed him the email confirming it. The side dishes were not harmonious with the main plate, (i.e. duck confit with lobster and white beans with ham hocks?!) I expected much more from this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Amazing escargot and salad with the smoked mushrooms and grapes! Love the creativity of the menu and all was delicious. All wait staff was freindly and very accommodating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The staff was very hospitable, and knowledgeable of their restaurants menu and wine selection. Food was just as imagined it would be true to Emerils style and flavors.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.