About Ember Urban Eatery

435 Virginia Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46203
View Larger Map

Family owned restaurant and bar. We are centrally located on the Cultural Trail on the Virginia Ave Cooridor, between downtown and Fountain Square in the up and coming Fletcher Place neighborhood. We want you to feel at home at Ember. We believe you come in as our guest and leave as our friend. We serve American fare with a twist. We believe fresh is best, so we made our food from scratch. We offer free parking in our front lot, back retail parking garage or street parking is available. Don't forget we have 12 local beers on tap and a full bar. In the warm months we have a dog friendly patio with ample outside seating and a great view of the downtown skyline. Eat and Drink Local.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday- Thursday 11:00 AM- 9:30 PM
Friday 11:00 AM -10:00 PM
Saturday 1:00 PM- 10:00PM

Cross Street:
East and South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 340-1868

Website:
http://www.emberurbaneatery.com/

Catering:
We can cater your special event! Whether it is a business meeting, family gathering, shower, small luncheon or dinner party. Call Shelly at
317-340-1868 for information

Parking Details:
There is parking in the front lot and we also have additional parking in the back on the ground level of parking garage. Our back door is always open to friends. There is also plenty of street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Lawson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ember Urban Eatery
Ember Urban Eatery

Ember Urban Eatery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was just average. The dining room ha ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was just average. The dining room had no energy as all of the booths were high back and the place had very little open table seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

My wife and I went out on a date night a ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I went out on a date night and the only reason we ended up at this wonderful place was through Devour Downtown. OMG we are coming back the food was delicious, and the service was even better than the food. The Ember Urban Eatery made a date night wonderful. The Brisket melted in my mouth, don't bother asking for a fork you won't need it. The mashed potatoes that were paired with the Brisket were also delicious. And desert was very good pecan roll, vanilla ice cream rolled in candied pecans and Carmel syrup. Oh yeah, after writing this review I think I might just go back Today.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, Love, Love this place! Every meal ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love, Love, Love this place! Every meal is above average. And the team there works hard to be sure you that you have a great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very excellent food and service combined ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very excellent food and service combined with good value

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very intimate setting with really good f ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very intimate setting with really good food. Not a great deal to chose from on menu, but what is available is very well made and seasoned. Will definitely return to this establishment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went during Devour Downtown and was shoc ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Went during Devour Downtown and was shocked at how horrible the service was. The person who greeted us, who I presumed was the manager or owner, was flippant. The appetizers took 45 mins to reach the table. Beer took 30. The food was not special. The main courses included simple pasta with meat sauce and spicy alfredo. Am very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Four of us experienced Ember Urban Eater ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Four of us experienced Ember Urban Eatery during Devour Downtown. They had a menu of great choices that was more than reasonably priced. Even though a severe thunderstorm had knocked out their power for two hours, by the time we arrived they had pretty much caught up on orders and were functioning smoothly. Excellent service. Loved the goat cheese appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the location. Great menu. Went for ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Loved the location. Great menu. Went for Devour Downtown and ate off the limited menu. Good options. The food was decent and I would probably give a better rating, but it took way too long for us to get our meal. They were busy, but I can't imagine any more than usual. We were ready to leave after an hour and just as we were discussing it our food came. We may have enjoyed it a little more if we weren't so irritated. I'll think about trying again to see if that was a one time thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Baked goat cheese and entres were great!

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Baked goat cheese and entres were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

We came here for a Devour Downtown speci ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We came here for a Devour Downtown special and loved it! The portions were big... enough to take home some for the next day. I don't normally choose vegetarian options, but the ragu was fantastic (vegan even!). The service was pretty slow, but great! Just plan enough time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been wanting to try this place fo ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I have been wanting to try this place for a while and it definitely did not disappoint! The wings are amazing, and a must have! The menu really offers a great variety for a very practical price. The tacos were very filling (and I even added brisket to them which added a whole new layer of flavor!!!). The tenderloin and buffalo chicken sandwich were also very good! Nice craft beer choices too. We will definitely be going back to make our way through the other items on the menu!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a wonderful find! The own ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place was a wonderful find! The owner is charming and warm and the food was divine! The breaded pork tenderloin is perfection! Other dining highlights were the potato croquettes, the baked goat cheese and the pecan encrusted ice cream, all were delightful. They also have this wonderful cucumber cocktail (and I don't even like cucumber!) that is perfect for summer. Cannot wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Love Love this place.

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food is divine. Service is impeccable . It is truly a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fresh flavorable dishes at reasona ...

 
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great fresh flavorable dishes at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I couldn't make up my mind, so I followe ...

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I couldn't make up my mind, so I followed the menu advice and chose the Dean burger. Excellent burger that was reasonably sized and cooked to order. I gave Ember Urban a four star on food since the primary dinner menu is pub food. The menu was rather limited if looking for a full dinner. The restaurant has an excellent location to head off to downtown functions, particularly for Bankers Life fieldhouse such as the Pacers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the brisket with cheese grits. It w ...

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Had the brisket with cheese grits. It was very good. And a nice change of pace from regular bbq. The black bean and pork belly chili was an experience as well. Sweet/Salty and a little spicy. Ambience was not what we expected. Nice and quiet nonetheless. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Service and Food

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our appetizer, the Urban Wings, great flavor and distinctive preparation. Everyone got a different Dinner, I really enjoyed the Ragu over Cheese Grits, My wife had a burger and I was jealous! The Brisket Reuben was great as was the 4 cheese pasta. We would all try again and have something different I'm sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I wasn't very impressed with the food or ...

 
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I wasn't very impressed with the food or menu. Service wasn't great either. Overall I wouldn't recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Very disappointed

 
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The starters were good - Baked goat cheese and potato Croquettes. The entrees were not up to our expectations.

My companion had the smoked brisket ragu - way to salty. She only ate a few bites.

I ordered the brandy peppercorn medallions. It was supposed to be filet (Lightly floured filet medallions) per the menu. It was so overcooked it was stringy - I have never had filet that looked like this. It was also over salted (and I like salt:)) . It was a very disappointing meal.

The service was good:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food great, service not so much

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was very good and fresh. The bartender who turned out to be the owner was very nice and attentive. However, while sitting at the bar waiting for our reservation, we didn't get sat until 30 minutes past our reservation, took 15 minutes to get any menus, another 10 for our drinks, appetizers came out only after we asked a second time for them. It was for devour downtown, and I think the staff was unprepared for the amount of people that were coming through that door. The food was very good, and will go back when it is less busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

great dinner spot

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My friend and I chose Ember because the Goat Cheese appetizer sounded tasty as did the other options. We were not disappointed! The Goat Cheese appetizer was spectacularly tasty. we also tried the Tomato Basil Bisque - it needed a dash of salt, but once we added that, it was also excellent. The Brisket Ragu with cheesy grits was quite tasty, but the other star of the meal besides the goat cheese app was the desserts. The chocolate cake was moist and dense and sinfully chocolaty. The signature dessert, a scoop of excellent vanilla ice cream coated with candied pecan pieces and drizzled with some caramel sauce was out of this world. Overall a stellar meal. Service was great except for the time it took to get our check which was a little long. My bill was correct, my friends had an extra iced tea on it, but the server came back and commented that he realized it was wrong before she could even complain.

An excellent gem for foodies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Dean Burger and tenderloin were FANTASTIC!

 
·Dined on January 7, 2016

First, I have to qualify my review because I was there very early lunch, not busy at all. So I cannot really comment on how noisy it is, etc, but I met my dad there for lunch and the food was excellent. He had the pork tenderloin and, after trying a taste, I was a bit sorry I didn't order that. But then I tried my burger and it was outstanding as well. One of the best burgers I've had. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best burger and wings in town!

 
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Best burger and wings in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rich

 
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellently prepared and very tasty food. Nice laid back atmosphere. Close to downtown and great spot to hit before a Pacer game!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just good

 
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food here was pretty good, and that is the important thing right? The service was good too. The décor is really bland though. I think this is a new place, but it looks straight out of the 90s. The problem for them I think will be the proximity of a lot of better choices. If they were in some suburb with few other choices they might do better, because I doubt I will come back here for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Nice Neighborhood Restaurant

 
·Dined on September 19, 2015

The food was good, but nothing special. The nachos had great flavor but basic. The grilled cheese sandwich had good choice of cheese, bread average white bread. (The kind you make at home) The hamburger was great! This is a good lunch option maybe not as many good choices for a dinner date night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First visit

 
·Dined on September 4, 2015

This was our first visit to Ember. We went during Devour Downtown and ordered from that menu. All of the selections sounded great. Everyone in our party was happy with the food. Especially good were the Brisket dinner and the Gumbo appetizer. The bread pudding dormdessert was also excellent. Our server, John, was very attentive and personable. The atmosphere was casual but upscale. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Highly recommend Ember Urban Eatery!

 
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We ate here as part of Devour Downtown. We were seated outside, so unable to judge the noise level indoors. They do allow dogs outside, which is great - looks like they even provided a big water dish for the dog at the next table! Their Shrimp & Grits was fantastic - the chorizo sausage added a nice bite. My husband had the vegetarian entree, and said it was quite good. We both loved their gumbo appetizer, and the bread pudding was very good. The service was excellent, as well. We would definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outside dining was great. it was a Frida ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2015

outside dining was great. it was a Friday had music which was a bonus. had the dean burger, cooked as I requested and was delicious. nice selection of local beers. was in Indy to visit my daughter, will stop again when in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great First Visit

 
·Dined on June 27, 2015

We were looking for a quick bite, and this place fit the bill. We shared the brisket nachos, and we each enjoyed a beer. We were interested in the urban wings, but decided to pass because the nachos were plentiful. Our server gave us a sample of the wings! We'll be back to get more of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this place ! Food great ! We can ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2015

We love this place ! Food great ! We can hear the conversation at the table , great music but not blasting !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not especially interesting

 
·Dined on February 28, 2015

The ambience at Ember Urban Eatery is more like a classy diner than a fancy restaurant. Most tables are booths lined up against one wall, and the lighting is pretty bright. Food was good but not amazing, and they have a nice selection of local beers on tap.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Yum!!!

 
·Dined on January 31, 2015

This was a fabulous find! So glad we chose to try this out during Devour Downtown. I would definitely return. The menu and food were amazing!! The staff and servers were wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Experience!

 
·Dined on January 31, 2015

Found this place on the Devour Downtown menu. The staff was great and a lot of fun! The food was absolutely AMAZING! Will definitely be going back!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, nice bar

 
·Dined on January 20, 2015

Food was pretty good, I would go back and try more off the regular menu. The scene is casual but nice and the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

enjoyed ourselves

 
·Dined on January 17, 2015

We wanted to get out of the burbs and enjoy the downtown restaurant scene. We parked right in front! Very friendly staff, good food, relaxed atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went her for lunch several months ago an ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2014

Went her for lunch several months ago and liked it so thought I would try it for dinner prior to a concert at Bankers Life. Big mistake. Here were the issues: 1) Handed us a menu with several items highlighted and stated those items were not yet available. 2) Then ordered a certain type of beer that was listed on the menu and was told it was not available due to tap issues 3) My husband wanted a mixed drink and they only have beer/wine(not their fault I know). 4) Server complained that she was the only server and had been there all day. 5) Finally ordered from the limited menu and my husband ordered the pasta alfredo with chicken. The pasta was literally macaroni and cheese! 6) we were offered 2 pieces of cheesecake for free even though we didn't want it and were on our way to a concert so could not take to go box. I believe we should have gotten a discount on our bill. This restaurant better get their act together or they will not last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

terrible food

 
·Dined on August 30, 2014

We were looking forward to dining here since is was on the top 10 list for the summer. But we were forced to spend either $20 or $30 on the Devour Downtown promo. The pork chops were overcooked and the sea bass (obviously frozen) was absolutely disgusting. The wings were good, shrimp cocktail was average but the salad was downsized for the promo. Then came the dessert...on a plastic plate and miniscule. This restaurant needs to understand the DD promo is to be a good deal for the consumer to try out the menu. NOT a way to gouge. We spent $80 that was a total waste! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Outdoor seating - poor dessert

 
·Dined on August 29, 2014

Service was great. The outdoor patio had a great breeze, and allowed dogs. The tables are spaced far enough apart that you can't hear the conversations occurring next to you. The shrimp appetizer was good. The main course (pork) had great flavor but was overcooked making cutting process more vigorous than normal. The dessert was very bland, served on a small disposable plate, and not uniform in appearance throughout our table. They did have an eclectic and good selection of local brews on tap.

Due to the great flavor combinations of the main course and outdoor/dog friendly seating, I would probably visit Ember Urban Eatery again to see if my second visit yields higher ratings than my first experience during Devour Downtown.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

This was an enjoyable experience. I had ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2014

This was an enjoyable experience. I had never been before. Devour brought me into the area. The ambiance was very cafe-esque and not a done dining location. The food was a much higher caliber than the location suggested and I enjoyed the food very much. Staff is friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.