Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Ember Urban Eatery

4.5
103 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Cozy
Family owned restaurant and bar. We are centrally located on the Cultural Trail on the Virginia Ave Cooridor, between downtown and Fountain Square in the up and coming Fletcher Place neighborhood. We want you to feel at home at Ember. We believe you come in as our guest and leave as our friend. We serve American fare with a twist. We believe fresh is best, so we made our food from scratch. We offer free parking in our front lot, back retail parking garage or street parking is available. Don't forget we have 12 local beers on tap and a full bar. In the warm months we have a dog friendly patio with ample outside seating and a great view of the downtown skyline. Eat and Drink Local.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday- Thursday 11:00 AM- 9:30 PM
Friday 11:00 AM -10:00 PM
Saturday 1:00 PM- 10:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 340-1868
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Jason Lawson
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We can cater your special event! Whether it is a business meeting, family gathering, shower, small luncheon or dinner party. Call Shelly at
317-340-1868 for information
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East and Virginia
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is parking in the front lot and we also have additional parking in the back on the ground level of parking garage. Our back door is always open to friends. There is also plenty of street parking available.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 103 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.8
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We are here for the first time recently. My husband and I both enjoyed our meals. The brisket is their specialty. It was delicious. My husband had a spicy chicken pasta and enjoyed it very much. We wanted to eat downtown but most places are hard to get in to with no reservations. We didn't have dessert, but it looked wonderful. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great drinks. The food - well the main dish, salmon, was quite good, but the supporting players, rice pilaf and steamed vegetables, were forgettable at best.

I suggest the Baked Goat Cheese appetizer. It is quite creamy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Matt the waiter was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We visited as a result of advertising for Tenderloin Week. We will definitely go back. It was the best tenderloin we had if the four restaurants we visited last week. I'd definitely recommend. Our server, Matt, was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

This was our first visit. We were looking for a place close to downtown as we were going to Old National Center for a play. SO GLAD we decided to give it a try!!! We will be back!!! The food was amazing; great beer selection; and great service!! The owner heard it was our first time and she made sure we had a great experience. This is a hidden gem!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Enjoy the friendly atmosphere a little more each time we dine there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Our first time won’t be our last time...really very good...lots of variety, friendly owners and great food at a reasonable price for

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

What a treat to discover this restaurant! The food was quite tasty, the wine reasonably prices (although not an extensive list), and the wait person was attentive. Sandwiches to entrees---chicken marsala was more than ample and easily shared by two. Our daughter had the brisket sandwich and it was fine. This is a casual, friendly neighborhood restaurant---cozy setting and friendly wait staff. Parking made it easy and all was a wonderful alternative to fighting downtown.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We really enjoyed Ember.
Prices were very reasonable and food was very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

First time eating here. My husband and I went during Savor Indy. Although small and quaint, the service was excellent. My baked penne was delicious! From the host to our server, their staff was very friendly and attentive. We will most definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The cajun brisket fettuccine is amazing, particularly since I don't care for Alfredo sauce...The brisket dinner was also really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Food was delicious! Had a few gluten free options which I have to have so that made it interesting! Will go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Server was marginal with limited drink and menu knowledge, recommendations, and overall demeanor. Food was outstanding, dessert was delicious. Had the burger they claim is best in Indy....maybe a little far praise, but still very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

The service was spot on, not pushy, not neglected. The variety of menu items was great as we had from pasta to a great looking burger in our group. Everyone loved the food! Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Local spot / owners on site and work there. Been there a few times and never disappointed. Quality food and service at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

The service was top-notch, and our food was incredible. Overall, a fantastic experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Was great! Good food and super fast service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Outstanding good, seriously one of The best places to eat downtown!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Another excellent dining experience. Already made reservations for 10 days from now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Service and food was great. Tucked away but glad we found it. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Food was delicious not your run of the mill menu. Great dessert. Courteous and timely service. East access for parking. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 10, 2017

If you’re looking for a lively, happening, urban experience this is not it. Even though it’s fairly close to downtown, this is a suburban neighborhood restaurant in a strip mall. We didn’t realize this when we decided to go there and were in a time crunch or we would have left as soon as we walked in and figured this out. The music was late 70s early 80s - Eddie Rabbit, Doobie Brothers, Commodores, etc. My husband and I️ are in our early 50s and I️ think we were the youngest people there. The food was ok - not bad but not exceptional. The wings were “flavored” with lots of black pepper, and we both had dishes containing diced brisket (???) rather than shredded. I️f we lived in the neighborhood, this would be an easy decent fallback for a quick bite. But because we’re visiting from out of town, we just wanted a more special, fun dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Going to be a regular “go to” for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Our waiter was very open to questions and suggestions. He was knowledgeable of the menu. The food was full of flavor. I had the brisket sandwich with fries. The brisket was full of flavor and paired well with the bbq coleslaw that topped it. I would suggest that they add other side items, such as sweet potato fries.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

This was our first visit but definitely not our last. We are downtown for Mass almost every Saturday evening. Don’t know how we’ve missed this place but we are so happy we found it. Count on us being regulars. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Josh made us feel very welcome.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Food had good flavor. The service was great. It was a great quick choice to dine out. Want to go back to try the Burgers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Another nice meal at Embers! We were pleased with the food and service, as always. We have never had a bad meal here and the wait staff is pleasant and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2017

We've had this on our list to try sometime when we were in the area. We were happily surprised to find normal but interesting menu items! I had the pizza and was not disappointed. My husband had the Smoked Brisket Ragu and also enjoyed. We finished it off with the Carmel Pecan Ice Cream Ball - Delicious! We were surprised that it was not busier on a Saturday evening, we would not have needed a reservation - but I wouldn't chance it! :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Food OK. Nothing special. Somewhat pricy. Close to downtown so can walk to Banker's Life or Lucas Oil. Closed on Sunday so can't use pre-Colts games.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

My husband and I ate here for the first time last week before attending a First Friday Art Walk event. The staff was friendly and we were seated promptly. The place is small, and although almost every table was full, it was still quiet and we could talk easily. Perhaps it gets louder later, but at 6:30 it was very relaxing! The large piece of brisket I had was tender and very flavorful. When my husband wanted a beer (after we had $5 margaritas for Cinco de Mayo) and he did not know what to order, the server brought 2 choices for him to sample without being asked! Excellent service! We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding place! Great value!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

You must try the potato croquettes! They are the most incredible appetizer we've ever had. If I'm ever in Indy again, I'm going there and ordering two of those for my meal! :)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2017

My food was cold waiter was nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Great v day special. Great service. Missed seeing Rob and Shelly. But the staff did a great job in their absence.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food and great service. Very friendly environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband and I went with our friends to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and the wait staff was fantastic! Our waiter got our orders correct the first time and worked with the kitchen staff and the bartender to put the number 15 on our cake and in my martini. It was a great experience! Love the location!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Great family run place. Our food was great and the service was fantastic. It is not very big but big enough! We totally enjoyed our dinner and will go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food, and nicely priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

We visited during Devour Indy. Great 3 course meal for $20 a person. I ordered the penne pasta bake and he ordered the Cajun brisket fettuccine for entrees. Potato croquettes and baked goat cheese for apps and double chocolate cake and pecan ball for desserts. Everything was delicious and full of flavor. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3