About Ember Urban Eatery

435 Virginia Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46203
View Larger Map

Family owned restaurant and bar. We are centrally located on the Cultural Trail on the Virginia Ave Cooridor, between downtown and Fountain Square in the up and coming Fletcher Place neighborhood. We want you to feel at home at Ember. We believe you come in as our guest and leave as our friend. We serve American fare with a twist. We believe fresh is best, so we made our food from scratch. We offer free parking in our front lot, back retail parking garage or street parking is available. Don't forget we have 12 local beers on tap and a full bar. In the warm months we have a dog friendly patio with ample outside seating and a great view of the downtown skyline. Eat and Drink Local.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday- Thursday 11:00 AM- 9:30 PM
Friday 11:00 AM -10:00 PM
Saturday 1:00 PM- 10:00PM

Cross Street:
East and South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 340-1868

Website:
http://www.emberurbaneatery.com/

Catering:
We can cater your special event! Whether it is a business meeting, family gathering, shower, small luncheon or dinner party. Call Shelly at
317-340-1868 for information

Parking Details:
There is parking in the front lot and we also have additional parking in the back on the ground level of parking garage. Our back door is always open to friends. There is also plenty of street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Lawson

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ember Urban Eatery
Ember Urban Eatery

Ember Urban Eatery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
See All
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been wanting to try this place fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I have been wanting to try this place for a while and it definitely did not disappoint! The wings are amazing, and a must have! The menu really offers a great variety for a very practical price. The tacos were very filling (and I even added brisket to them which added a whole new layer of flavor!!!). The tenderloin and buffalo chicken sandwich were also very good! Nice craft beer choices too. We will definitely be going back to make our way through the other items on the menu!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a wonderful find! The own ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place was a wonderful find! The owner is charming and warm and the food was divine! The breaded pork tenderloin is perfection! Other dining highlights were the potato croquettes, the baked goat cheese and the pecan encrusted ice cream, all were delightful. They also have this wonderful cucumber cocktail (and I don't even like cucumber!) that is perfect for summer. Cannot wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Love Love this place.

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food is divine. Service is impeccable . It is truly a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fresh flavorable dishes at reasona ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great fresh flavorable dishes at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I couldn't make up my mind, so I followe ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I couldn't make up my mind, so I followed the menu advice and chose the Dean burger. Excellent burger that was reasonably sized and cooked to order. I gave Ember Urban a four star on food since the primary dinner menu is pub food. The menu was rather limited if looking for a full dinner. The restaurant has an excellent location to head off to downtown functions, particularly for Bankers Life fieldhouse such as the Pacers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the brisket with cheese grits. It w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Had the brisket with cheese grits. It was very good. And a nice change of pace from regular bbq. The black bean and pork belly chili was an experience as well. Sweet/Salty and a little spicy. Ambience was not what we expected. Nice and quiet nonetheless. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Service and Food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our appetizer, the Urban Wings, great flavor and distinctive preparation. Everyone got a different Dinner, I really enjoyed the Ragu over Cheese Grits, My wife had a burger and I was jealous! The Brisket Reuben was great as was the 4 cheese pasta. We would all try again and have something different I'm sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I wasn't very impressed with the food or ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I wasn't very impressed with the food or menu. Service wasn't great either. Overall I wouldn't recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Very disappointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The starters were good - Baked goat cheese and potato Croquettes. The entrees were not up to our expectations.

My companion had the smoked brisket ragu - way to salty. She only ate a few bites.

I ordered the brandy peppercorn medallions. It was supposed to be filet (Lightly floured filet medallions) per the menu. It was so overcooked it was stringy - I have never had filet that looked like this. It was also over salted (and I like salt:)) . It was a very disappointing meal.

The service was good:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food great, service not so much

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was very good and fresh. The bartender who turned out to be the owner was very nice and attentive. However, while sitting at the bar waiting for our reservation, we didn't get sat until 30 minutes past our reservation, took 15 minutes to get any menus, another 10 for our drinks, appetizers came out only after we asked a second time for them. It was for devour downtown, and I think the staff was unprepared for the amount of people that were coming through that door. The food was very good, and will go back when it is less busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

great dinner spot

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My friend and I chose Ember because the Goat Cheese appetizer sounded tasty as did the other options. We were not disappointed! The Goat Cheese appetizer was spectacularly tasty. we also tried the Tomato Basil Bisque - it needed a dash of salt, but once we added that, it was also excellent. The Brisket Ragu with cheesy grits was quite tasty, but the other star of the meal besides the goat cheese app was the desserts. The chocolate cake was moist and dense and sinfully chocolaty. The signature dessert, a scoop of excellent vanilla ice cream coated with candied pecan pieces and drizzled with some caramel sauce was out of this world. Overall a stellar meal. Service was great except for the time it took to get our check which was a little long. My bill was correct, my friends had an extra iced tea on it, but the server came back and commented that he realized it was wrong before she could even complain.

An excellent gem for foodies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Dean Burger and tenderloin were FANTASTIC!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

First, I have to qualify my review because I was there very early lunch, not busy at all. So I cannot really comment on how noisy it is, etc, but I met my dad there for lunch and the food was excellent. He had the pork tenderloin and, after trying a taste, I was a bit sorry I didn't order that. But then I tried my burger and it was outstanding as well. One of the best burgers I've had. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best burger and wings in town!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Best burger and wings in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rich

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellently prepared and very tasty food. Nice laid back atmosphere. Close to downtown and great spot to hit before a Pacer game!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just good

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food here was pretty good, and that is the important thing right? The service was good too. The décor is really bland though. I think this is a new place, but it looks straight out of the 90s. The problem for them I think will be the proximity of a lot of better choices. If they were in some suburb with few other choices they might do better, because I doubt I will come back here for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Nice Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

The food was good, but nothing special. The nachos had great flavor but basic. The grilled cheese sandwich had good choice of cheese, bread average white bread. (The kind you make at home) The hamburger was great! This is a good lunch option maybe not as many good choices for a dinner date night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First visit

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

This was our first visit to Ember. We went during Devour Downtown and ordered from that menu. All of the selections sounded great. Everyone in our party was happy with the food. Especially good were the Brisket dinner and the Gumbo appetizer. The bread pudding dormdessert was also excellent. Our server, John, was very attentive and personable. The atmosphere was casual but upscale. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Highly recommend Ember Urban Eatery!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We ate here as part of Devour Downtown. We were seated outside, so unable to judge the noise level indoors. They do allow dogs outside, which is great - looks like they even provided a big water dish for the dog at the next table! Their Shrimp & Grits was fantastic - the chorizo sausage added a nice bite. My husband had the vegetarian entree, and said it was quite good. We both loved their gumbo appetizer, and the bread pudding was very good. The service was excellent, as well. We would definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outside dining was great. it was a Frida ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

outside dining was great. it was a Friday had music which was a bonus. had the dean burger, cooked as I requested and was delicious. nice selection of local beers. was in Indy to visit my daughter, will stop again when in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great First Visit

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

We were looking for a quick bite, and this place fit the bill. We shared the brisket nachos, and we each enjoyed a beer. We were interested in the urban wings, but decided to pass because the nachos were plentiful. Our server gave us a sample of the wings! We'll be back to get more of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this place ! Food great ! We can ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 26, 2015

We love this place ! Food great ! We can hear the conversation at the table , great music but not blasting !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not especially interesting

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

The ambience at Ember Urban Eatery is more like a classy diner than a fancy restaurant. Most tables are booths lined up against one wall, and the lighting is pretty bright. Food was good but not amazing, and they have a nice selection of local beers on tap.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Yum!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

This was a fabulous find! So glad we chose to try this out during Devour Downtown. I would definitely return. The menu and food were amazing!! The staff and servers were wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Experience!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

Found this place on the Devour Downtown menu. The staff was great and a lot of fun! The food was absolutely AMAZING! Will definitely be going back!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, nice bar

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 20, 2015

Food was pretty good, I would go back and try more off the regular menu. The scene is casual but nice and the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

enjoyed ourselves

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

We wanted to get out of the burbs and enjoy the downtown restaurant scene. We parked right in front! Very friendly staff, good food, relaxed atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went her for lunch several months ago an ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 21, 2014

Went her for lunch several months ago and liked it so thought I would try it for dinner prior to a concert at Bankers Life. Big mistake. Here were the issues: 1) Handed us a menu with several items highlighted and stated those items were not yet available. 2) Then ordered a certain type of beer that was listed on the menu and was told it was not available due to tap issues 3) My husband wanted a mixed drink and they only have beer/wine(not their fault I know). 4) Server complained that she was the only server and had been there all day. 5) Finally ordered from the limited menu and my husband ordered the pasta alfredo with chicken. The pasta was literally macaroni and cheese! 6) we were offered 2 pieces of cheesecake for free even though we didn't want it and were on our way to a concert so could not take to go box. I believe we should have gotten a discount on our bill. This restaurant better get their act together or they will not last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

terrible food

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

We were looking forward to dining here since is was on the top 10 list for the summer. But we were forced to spend either $20 or $30 on the Devour Downtown promo. The pork chops were overcooked and the sea bass (obviously frozen) was absolutely disgusting. The wings were good, shrimp cocktail was average but the salad was downsized for the promo. Then came the dessert...on a plastic plate and miniscule. This restaurant needs to understand the DD promo is to be a good deal for the consumer to try out the menu. NOT a way to gouge. We spent $80 that was a total waste! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Outdoor seating - poor dessert

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

Service was great. The outdoor patio had a great breeze, and allowed dogs. The tables are spaced far enough apart that you can't hear the conversations occurring next to you. The shrimp appetizer was good. The main course (pork) had great flavor but was overcooked making cutting process more vigorous than normal. The dessert was very bland, served on a small disposable plate, and not uniform in appearance throughout our table. They did have an eclectic and good selection of local brews on tap.

Due to the great flavor combinations of the main course and outdoor/dog friendly seating, I would probably visit Ember Urban Eatery again to see if my second visit yields higher ratings than my first experience during Devour Downtown.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Menu was Devoured

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2014

Really disappointing. Came by for casual dinner--saw sandwiches and salads online. Instead of having a separate Devour Downtown menu, their Devour menu was the only menu! Instead of wings and sandwiches, was $30 three course prix fixe. Instead of two sandwiches for about $10 each, ended up spending $85 for food (no drinks) that wasn't fancy and, the kicker, served with plastic ware. PLASTIC WARE. It is absolutely unacceptable to spend that much money and not get a real plate to eat off of... Steaks were overdone and spouse's dessert was tiny and partially frozen. I wanted to like this spot since it's in my neighborhood, but this was not a good experience. The server was pleasant though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great location

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2014

The location and outdoor music were great. The pork chop was very dry and tough and the polenta did not seem to fit with the flavors. The steak had good flavor but a little over cooked for what it was ordered. The great outdoor seating saved this experience. Our service was great too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

WORTH A LOOK AND A RETURN

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2014

It is a small neighborhood eatery (with little parking). We ordered Sangria, which was excellent. The service was awesome and attentive. We ordered the shrimp cocktail which had huge shrimp and great sauce, the 6oz bass with mushroom risotto, mouthwatering, buttery and delicious. We finished with the amaretto cheesecake. The only strange thing was dessert was served on plastic disposable plates..weird, but overall a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Server & food great, hostess a twit

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

My husband and I made a reservation since we knew the restaurant would be busy during the Devour Downtown week. We got there and the hostess said they only had one table open. It looked like an extra table brought out from the storage room and put in the corner facing the door. We said we had a reservation and she said "well that's all we have." We said we would wait for a better table and thankfully one opened up quickly. Our server, Kandy, was fantastic and the food was great. You just have to make it by the unpleasant hostess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

not bad!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

We went during Devour Downtown, which might not be fair to offer a rating! But the food was decent and a great price. Our waitress seemed like she was rushing us just a little bit, but it's understandable during an event like that. The ambiance was okay and it worked well for just a casual night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time at Ember Urban

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2014

We ate outside on the porch. They had a nice live band that add a great atmosphere to our dinner. Some of the patrons brought their dogs and that made it very homey. We had the Devour Downtown menu. Eggplant and pasta. Sea Bass and Risotto. The Sea Bass was outstanding. Risotto was also very good!!! There was nothing wrong with the Eggplant, but it could not stand up to the Sea Bass. Our server was new. But, service was good and our food came quickly. It was a good experience. We will eat their again.

The location was great for us. It is away from downtown, so parking was easy. They have a parking lot and plenty of parking on the street.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Ten!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2014

Looking for a new place to go for an anniversary dinner that was not too formal, we found Ember Urban Eatery and what a wonderful surprise! Shelley took great care of us the whole evening and the food was great! Interesting combinations, lots of flavors. I am not a risotto fan normally, but the best thing (of many great things) was the risotto!! Infused with bone marrow, it was just fantastic!! We'll go back, and back, and back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ember is a keeper

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

The Ember is definitely a place we will return to. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding! We would recommend this for sure.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is one of the best places to relax ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2014

This is one of the best places to relax and just sit outside and enjoy great food! The small bar inside is cozy and very inviting. I have been there twice and brought four people and all of them raved about it. You must try it and have some of the Moscato!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awful customer service!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

We made a reservation for 6 people and had 2 cancel at the last minute. Shortly after being shown to our table, the owner asked if I had an Open Table reservation. I told her that I did. She then proceeded to berate me in front of our group, telling me that she would be "eating the cost" of my party being smaller than my original reservation stated. She then said that I needed to sign in to my Open Table account to prevent that from happening, and that if I continued to "overbook", it would reflect poorly on my account. She then proceeded to sit 2 tables away and lit up a cigarette. I have brought smaller parties to restaurants where I've made Open Table reservations and never heard a thing about it. We won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great patio, view of downtown, and the c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

Great patio, view of downtown, and the chicken wings may just be the best in Indy (and I consider myself a bit of a wing snob!). The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Will be returning soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.