About Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace

321 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Deal makers, politicians and businessmen frequent the restaurant regularly making it the place see and be seen. The hotel main dining room serves traditional breakfast with a twist; deli sandwiches, creative entree's and salads for lunch, as well as our City Search 2006 Best Brunch winning Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch. Three tiers of champagne are offered to complement the experience: Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and of course, Dom Perignon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast; price range $31-$50: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday 7:00AM - 10:00AM

Lunch; price range $31-$50:Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch; price range $54-$75: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Holiday Brunches; price range $71: 10:00AM - 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Broadway & Tremont Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-3111

Website:
http://www.brownpalace.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz trio during Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Parking Details:
The Brown Palace Hotel has valet parking as you arrive at the entrance of the hotel. Ellyngton's will validate your parking ticket for the Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch.

Public Transit:
Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California

Executive Chef:
Paul Venturo

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Indulge in our Christmas brunch in downtown Denver at Ellyngton's, Showcasing the lavish brunch tables, fresh seafood selections and artful items from the hotel's own bakery, The Brown Palace encourages guests to choose from four tiers: just brunch, Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and Dom Perignon

Private Dining

Ideal for a power breakfast or lunch, Ellyngton's is a fine dining destination serving contemporary American cuisine with attentive and thoughtful service.

Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Great for Brunch (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Historic (16)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (7)
Live Music (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A party of two each had a separate meal. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

A party of two each had a separate meal. One an entree which was well prepared and reportedly delicious. The other a sandwich which was mostly bread, with overcooked meat and a side of potatoes which were also overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Dress nicely and enjoy the whole vibe he ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Dress nicely and enjoy the whole vibe here. Come hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my mother in laws 80th birth ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went for my mother in laws 80th birthday. Even though we put that in the reservation and mentioned it on the phone when we needed to change the number of people for the reservation AND mentioned it in front of the wait person, no one acknowledged her special birthday. The omelette station did not have enough staff, so that the line ran around one third of the food selections making it nearly impossible to get food unless you kept interrupting guests in the omelette line. The waiter was attentive, but I needed to ask for water refills every time and none was brought without asking. Overall this was not the experience that we had expected from the Brown Palace. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed champagne brunch. All details ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed champagne brunch. All details of our service and food was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my best friend's 30th birt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We celebrated my best friend's 30th birthday at Ellnyington's. It's definitely pricey -- $80 for the Domain Chandon brunch buffet ($70 for just the buffet) -- but a worthy splurge for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I went to Sunday Champagne Brunch at Ell ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I went to Sunday Champagne Brunch at Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace last Sunday, and it was truly amazing! The selection and quality of every item at each station is top notch, from the chilled shrimp and the sushi bar to the chocolate fountain fondue and the most delicious bananas foster made to order. It is truly an experience, so you need to clear your afternoon schedule and just plan to sit for a few hours of eating and drinking.

The service was good, although it was quite busy. There were just a couple of times when the finished plates took a little long to be cleared from the table , but otherwise the waiter was attentive and very knowledgeable about the brunch offering. They have a little 1950's-style live three-person band which reminded me of Desi Arnaz in the 'I Love Lucy' days, little white suit coats and all!

I would call this a good brunch for a special occasion, because it IS a bit pricey. The food alone, (without any champagne) is $70 per person, and then there are two options of "all-you-can-drink" champagne which tack on $10 or $20 to that amount, depending on your choice. So you are looking at around $100 per person for brunch, which is NOT what I do every Sunday, although I can dream of a life such as that without any trouble at all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Usually service is spot on but it took a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Usually service is spot on but it took a bit for the server to come over for drinks and then my tea bag was not replaced leaving me with hot water to drink. Breakfast was fine as usual but nothing to get excited over. For the location and convenience, I'll still be coming back.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter Keith was excellent! He was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waiter Keith was excellent! He was attentive but it intrusive. The seafood blew me away. The shrimp was wonderful as were the smoked cod and trout. Enjoyed the pancakes very much. And everything was cooked perfect. All desserts were wonderful. I thought the drinking chocolate would be hot but that was an assumption on my part. I recommend highly for brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

If you are looking for a place with old- ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

If you are looking for a place with old-world charm, this is the place. This is not your everyday brunch spot, but for when you have a birthday, baby shower, special occasion, it is great. For the price, some of the food could be fresher (the seafood and sushi is not that great), but I for one am coming for the breakfast items and desserts, so its not a huge detractor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My husband and I went to Sunday brunch f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I went to Sunday brunch for our anniversary at Ellyngton's, and were extremely impressed with the selection of food and ambience. The service was mediocre as it took quite some time to get coffee after ordering, and refills were late in coming as well. Overall, the food was phenomenal, the jazz band talented, and the ambience delightful.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were seated at the best table in the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were seated at the best table in the restaurant (corner in the middle), making for a very pleasant location .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious food and wonderful service! T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service! Thank you Keith and Jerome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always looked forward to business lunc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I always looked forward to business lunches at Ellington's when I worked downtown, but after retiring, I've had fewer opportunities to go to downtown Denver. But when I was asked for recommendations for a special lunch after a,day at the art museum, it was the first place I thought of. As always we had superb service, good menu choices, and excellent preparation and presentation. I had the prawns and cous cous, really wonderful. Plus, you get to enjoy the ambience of the gorgeous Brown Palace lobby. Great place to dine when in downtown Denver.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is the best Brunch in town !!!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It is the best Brunch in town !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did the Champaign Brunch it was AWSOM ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We did the Champaign Brunch it was AWSOME !!! Plus we got to met Philip Rivers the QB for Chargers!!👏🏻👏🏻

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had the privilege to dine here for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had the privilege to dine here for our anniversary trip. Didn't disappoint. Excellent service. We'll trained staff. Great selection of food. The ambiance.. the decor is just ❤️❤️ classic . Over all. We had a wonderful time. Great food, great service. Great experience,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service and atmosphere, howe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Exceptional service and atmosphere, however, that's all. ROI is low and they need to lean heavily upon their former reputation. The food would have been marginal at a fourth of the price; there was nothing great about any of the food selections. Sure chilled shrimp is good, but that's kind of difficult to mess up.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We met friends for Sunday brunch. My on ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We met friends for Sunday brunch. My only complaint was the band was too loud and it was hard to have a conversation even though we were 4 tables away from the band. Best brunch Iwe have ever had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was my first time here. I really en ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was my first time here. I really enjoyed the atmosphere. The band they had playing was amazing. I really enjoyed the ambiance as well as the food. It was buffet but I really enjoyed it. Definitely enjoyed the smoked salmon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brown palace a intimate, beautiful p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The brown palace a intimate, beautiful place to dine. I went for lunch with my girlfriends and the ambiance was excellent and the service was great. The food was AMAZING! Will return...my favorite restaurant in Denver so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitstaff was polite and attentive. Menu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Waitstaff was polite and attentive. Menu was adequate for breakfast. However, they don't have biscuits on the menu. So if you order the American Breakfast you get toast, toast or toast. I would recommend the restaurant. Food is good and pastries are fresh and baked in house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of variety in the food options. The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lots of variety in the food options. The price is high but the quality is great. They do not label any of the items so if you have any food allergens or want to know what items are you need to guess. Some desserts are small options so you can try more items but again not labeled or signed in any way. Great for a special occasion but the price is high so unless you consume a ton of food the value is not good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was good but food was subpar. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service was good but food was subpar. I ordered Egg Benedict. The Hollandaise sauce was broken and looked like it had been prepared long ago. Unnecessarily doused in truffles and truffle oil so that was the predominant flavor.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

WOW WOW WOW!!! I Think that is you want ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

WOW WOW WOW!!! I Think that is you want to got back in time to a time that is not seen any

more then this is the place... The history and the architecture is just amazing . The service from

Keith was on point.The food was fantastic and hot or cold.The music by Danny Showers is a person that you just don't here anymore ... On the other side of this , Having family with kids under 5th grade this is not the place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently Great service and food. I e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Consistently Great service and food. I enjoy this restaurant for it's low noise level which makes it easy to have a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was INCREDIBLE! Soooo friendly and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Staff was INCREDIBLE! Soooo friendly and helpful, the food was AMAZING and we just had a wonderful experience. We went on Sept. 18th and had a 10:00 reservation, the host was SO FUNNY and made us feel so comfortable. Your chef (female from Johnson and wales) did an INCREDIBLE bananas fosters....we cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff and beautiful spread of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Dancing, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent place to bring spec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is an excellent place to bring special people in your life: whether business or not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Delightful and professional staff; very ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delightful and professional staff; very accommodating. A must-do while in Denver!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and Ellyington's did not disappoint. The food was fantastic. So many delicious choices. Nice to know we can go to the Brown Palace for the gold standard of brunches. Very nice. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Brown Palace. The food at the b ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the Brown Palace. The food at the brunch was great. The desserts were excellent. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch on Sunday - it was ab ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went for brunch on Sunday - it was absolutely lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I think this experience at the Brown is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I think this experience at the Brown is way overrated and not a good value. It is a stunning hotel and the restaurant is beautiful. That is well worth a visit. I felt the food was good but nothing extraordinary. I guess I expected more for the hefty $55 price tag. The prime rib was a stand out and really delicious and the shrimp was really plentiful and fresh. Other than that it was pretty normal fair with not a lot of unusual offerings. For such an expensive brunch, one would expect something out of the common fair and unique. The service was fair. Had to ask for water and champagne too many times. Also cleared some of my own dishes. Not cool. The band was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This was the best salmon and rice combin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was the best salmon and rice combination I have ever had, also crab cakes were

great and the club sandwich was delicious. Everything we had ordered was excellent and service was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greeted at the desk with a Happy Anniver ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Greeted at the desk with a Happy Anniversary. Next, seated by the door, furthest away from the music so it sounded like it was piped in, at a table with a formerly white, holed tablecloth, and constantly glared at by one of the ladies at that podium where we were seated. We did mention the tablecloth to the staff, but, all we heard was that they would tell the host. Really? This is first class??? From the start we could see how far down the totem pole Ellyngton had gone. The Brown's reputation used to be all about the customer...

Food was constantly running out and servers needed to be told to replace it. It wasn't always hot, bacon was rubbery and overdone and the fake eggs for the omelettes, not so good. We love a good dessert, but honestly, if you have to ask, what is it? And the answer is that's our cheesecake...enough said.

Second rate everything and it was anything but, romantic or special. A terrible disappointment that should've been an amazing experience for us. Service was decent, but not terribly efficient. Would we go back??? Never. What a disappointment. Years ago, it was such an amazing and elegant place. We were so excited to go there...not anymore!

Save your money, go to Olive Garden or Red Lobster and spend the rest to see a live show.

Frankly, Village Inn would've been a better choice at a fraction of the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Sunday brunch buffet. Endless cham ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Sunday brunch buffet. Endless champs and amazing food. You have to ask to order the eggs Benedict, but it's sooooo good with shave black truffles on it. The onlyissue I had was my champagne glass stayed empty too often. If I am paying for endless, I don't want to wait no matter how classy the joint is.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was amazing and the atmosphere was wonderful. It is a great place to go for special occasions or just for a delicious breakfast.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was truly a luncheon to remember fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was truly a luncheon to remember for me and two friends -- all of us have birthdays within one week, so always celebrate our birthdays together. Ellyngton's at The Brown Palace pulled out all the stops for our celebration. The food was presented looking like a painting and was gourmet. We toasted with champagne and oohed and aahed when complimentary tarts with candles twinkling arrived for a dessert surprise. Our waiter entered into the spirit of the occasion and one of my friends even asked to take HIS picture after he graciously took ours. We won't soon forget this year's birthday celebration. The old world charm of The Brown Palace is still alive and well and I hope to return to relax and enjoy it again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ellyngton's Champagne Brunch was delicio ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ellyngton's Champagne Brunch was delicious they had a variety of food choices and not to mention their dessert. Service is great and you never run out of champagne it just keeps coming. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Champagne Brunch is a memorable expe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Champagne Brunch is a memorable experience in a lovely, historic setting with a great, mellow jazz band. The food is delicious and the dessert tables decadent! As a vegetarian, I would simply have appreciated more variety in options - more vegetarian sushi, a tofu/seitan dish, crackers to accompany the available cheeses, etc. Overall, I highly recommend this brunch for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ellyngton's is a true find. Located in ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ellyngton's is a true find. Located in the historic Brown Palace, it provides extraordinary service and a menu that is every bit as au courant as many restaurants considered trendier. This would be a terrific choice for a special occasion, whether it's an anniversary dinner or lunch with important clients. The prices are reasonable considered the quality provided. Ellyngton's is worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.