Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace

Deal makers, politicians and businessmen frequent the restaurant regularly making it the place see and be seen. The hotel main dining room serves traditional breakfast with a twist; deli sandwiches, creative entree's and salads for lunch, as well as our City Search 2006 Best Brunch winning Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch. Three tiers of champagne are offered to complement the experience: Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and of course, Dom Perignon.

321 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
UPCOMING EVENT:
125th ANNIVERSARY HOLIDAY BRUNCH:
SATURDAY, AUG 12 & SUNDAY, AUG 13
9:00am-2:00pm (HOLIDAY PRICING WILL APPLY, SEE PRICING BELOW)

HOLIDAY BRUNCH PRICING (Does not include tax & gratuity)
Just Brunch....$70.95
Domain Chandon.....$80.95
Moet & Chandon.....$90.95
Children 6 to 12.....$20.95
Children 5 & Under.....Free

Breakfast Price Range $31-$50:
Breakfast Hours:
Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Saturday 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday 7:00am - 9:00am

Lunch: Price Range $31-$50:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

DOM PERIGNON SUNDAY BRUNCH (Pricing does not include tax & gratuity)
HOURS 10:00am-2:00pm
Just Brunch....$53.95
Domain Chandon.....$63.95
Moet & Chandon.....$73.95
Children 6 to 12.....$20.95
Children 5 & Under.....Free

Cross Street:
Between Broadway & Tremont Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-3111

Website:
http://www.brownpalace.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz trio during Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Parking Details:
The Brown Palace Hotel has valet parking as you arrive at the entrance of the hotel. Ellyngton's will validate your parking ticket for the Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch.

Public Transit:
Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California

Executive Chef:
Tim Ralphs

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 11:00AM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM

Private Dining

Ideal for a power breakfast or lunch, Ellyngton's is a fine dining destination serving contemporary American cuisine with attentive and thoughtful service.

Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (45)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Romantic (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Live Music (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

There are only nice things to be said about this restaurant, great service, great food and beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

WE enjoyed the whole experience but I ordered Croque Madame
and they gave me 4 slices of bread. Too much compared to the sauce they had on it. Who need 4 slices of bread for one lunch!
The Heirloom salad was delicious that came with it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Like the restaurant earlier that week, though I stated clearly on open table that we were celebrating a birthday- it was again ignored!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went to Brunch for a birthday celebration; the food & service was great. The only downside was that the prices they charged were $20 higher per person than what the web site stated. For 8 people that is $160 bucks out of our pocket that shouldn't of happened. It will make me seriously consider whether we will go back or not.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was delicious!!!! The ambiance was wonderful! The omelet station was incredible! I will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Sunday Brunch for my wifes' birthday. Only reason it didn't get 5-Stars on all lines, was that we were seated in the back area where it was much noisier and they seem to have trouble controlling the overall room temp.
Bit pricey, but knew that going there. Great place for special occasions. We'll go again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent brunch location with classy service, setting and location

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Words alone cannot describe how great this Sunday Brunch is and since I'm not a millennial, I don't take (endless) photos of my food so I can't post those as "proof". Service is perfection which goes along with each and every item on the buffet. A wonderful trio provides live music to complete the ambience. Coffee and juice is included and champagne (yes, real champagne) is bottomless for either $10 or $20 more depending on which is ordered. That's a very fair price and also allows a table to make their own decisions on having bubbly, or not and if so, which one. It's now Tuesday when I type this and I think that I can finally eat something later today. Maybe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

the service ruined big part of the experience. I told them about the birthday but they forgot until before we left they brought a cupcake and apologized for forgetting. The seating team might've worked in any field but definitely not hospitality. The one who brought the water was so sick he was shaking and dropped water all over the table.

I hope it was perfect because it was a special occasion and I really loved the history of the place and the food is amazing. the Live music was great too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have enjoyed Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace in the past but I think it's time for them to upgrade a few things. For starters the food, don't get me wrong the meats, desserts and side dishes were great, but I think they need to come up with a few more high-class items. And secondly, the champagne didn't come around as fast as I would have liked. But all and all dining there brought back a lot of good memories.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fabulous time, great food and service. The lie music was a great touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The brunch was amazing and the staff was lovely! I loved the band they had there. It was the right combination of food, music and conversation. Will definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Ellyngton`s is elegant enough to be pretentious. It is anything but. Not only is the food outstanding, but the staff, all of them, were warm, friendly and seemed to really like each other. All of the above is a recipe for a fantastic and memorable adventure! I highly recommend the Sunday brunch. Thank you Ellyngton`s!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Champagne brunch on Sunday was fabulous. Great service, good food (desserts are amazing!), and a small Trio performing. Just a wonderful place to grab brunch solo, as a couple or with the family. And the hotel is historic and beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food and the service were excellent as always.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was so amazing! The seafood is fresh and the omlette bar has so many choices. The Eggs Benedict are to die for because the hollandaise sauce has truffle shavings. There is also freshly made sushi and a carving station. I'm not a big sweets person but there is a chocolate fountain with white and milk chocolate (possibly dark), made to order bananas fosters, and delicately delectable chocolates, and cakes. I wanna go back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The variety of food was amazing, and everything was presented beautifully. Our server, Keith, was exceptional, going above and beyond, friendly and knowledgeable but never intrusive. The table was set beautifully and our champagne glasses were never less than half-full! Highly recommend this for special events, a little pricey for the average Sunday brunch though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great for business

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My first visit, had a Cobb salad. Was expecting maybe a little something special since it was the Brown Palace. Was iceberg lettuce & nothing unique, disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our server, Ed was attentive, professional and friendly. The food was good, but not excellent. The danish was dried out and at this price-point, my expectation was higher. The live music was very nice and much appreciated. Overall, I would recommend this for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food is always amazing and I have been coming to the Brown for at least one meal a week for many years but I have noticed a turnover in the wait staff recently and, although the food is good, the service is incredibly slow and not particularly good.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food in a lovely atmosphere. I recommend the Sunday brunch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great service and food for breakfast. Interesting history.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I enjoyed lunch here so much yesterday that I had to head downstairs this morning for breakfast, too. And I'm really glad I did. This was the best breakfast I have had in a very long time.

They started us off with an amuse bouche. Let's see....when was the last time I had an amuse bouche for breakfast? Ummm...never? A deep spoon of chocolate chip pancake topped with macerated strawberries and powdered sugar. Yummy bite.

I was super hungry this morning and although I am not a fan of omelets typically, I decided to order one with green chilies and cheese. I think this was the best omelet I have ever had in my entire life. Fluffy and packed with diced mild green chilies and melted American cheese. So delicious! The hash brown were perfectly crisp, and a serving of thick, sourdough toast smothered with strawberry jam was a great accompaniment.

My boyfriend had the Irish Cut Oatmeal Brulee topped with Bourbon Apples and Streusel. Wow!!! This tasted like apple pie! Really delicious, but our only complaint was that it wasn't very hot when it was served.

The food was extraordinary and I really enjoyed this restaurant. It was pricey though - $44 for 2 for breakfast. And unfortunately I have to say that the service was not good. We were basically abandoned by our waiter, never checked on, and had to flag someone down near the end of our meal just to get refills on our coffees and waters. When he did return, he was pretty forgetful.

Other than that though, what a great place! You definitely need to stop in when you are in Denver.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My boyfriend and I are in town for business and staying at The Brown Palace. We decided to take a break from working and head downstairs to Ellynton's for lunch.

The atmosphere of the restaurant is quite formal, and very refined feeling. We were promptly helped and greeted.

I was super impressed by the menu! They had so many different options which sounded absolutely amazing.

My boyfriend ordered the Country Club and fries which were both very good. I wanted to eat light and had a large Superfood Salad which contained greens, raspberries, blackberries, tomatoes, cucumber, pecans and candied cashews topped with a lavender vinaigrette. The salad was perfect - light and fresh and just what I needed.

Two cappuccinos with biscotti topped off our meal. This was such a lovely experience I'm planning on returning for breakfast tomorrow while my SO attends a meeting.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best brunch buffets in Denver! Great ambiance and live band. The prime rib and bananas foster were out of this world!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The brunch for special occasions was not as great for the value . We went to brunch so many times like for example Inverness hotel very elegant so many verity and very reasonable or other place like view house very reasonable the same time spectacular . My suggestion is with what the price you charge for special occasions your food must be lot better than other places , Other than that service was wonderful very professional staff very respectful and hard worker .

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day brunch was wonderful! Our server was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. Our only suggestion is to include a green vegetable option to accompany the carved meat selections. We saw the potato bar and the salad bar was plentiful; however a standard green vegetable-- sprouts, broccoli, asparagus, green beans, etc. would have been appreciated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This brunch is NOT for quitters or the light hearted. Shmancy brunch buffets are actually really hard to do well. They pretty much nailed it with keeping a good balance of enough of a dish on display so that you rarely got there and there was something out but also not so overstocked that anything on the buffet looked like it had been there a beat too long. Also, they were constantly restocking those things that ran out quickly. I was sheepishly (not really that sheepishly) taking the last 6 oysters and when I turned around a server was waiting patiently with a tray of oysrters - I hadnt even seen or heard her get there. If I lived in Denver I would probably be here once a month - I'd be broke and huge(r) but probably worth it in the scheme of things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing food and service, the best brunch buffet I've ever had.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I was seated at a very nice table with a great view. I grew up in Denver and our family always went to what was at the time The San Marcos Room for Easter Sunday breakfast and First Communions. Now as Ellyngton's it has the same friendly but elegant atmosphere. I scored the food quality only 4 stars because the scrambled eggs were a little cold around the edge, but not a deal killer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My sister and I took our parents to Ellyngton's for their Anniversary. The ambiance and service was exceptional. The food was scrumptious and the presentation was just as lovely. I look forward to another trip to Denver to partake once again. Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always love this place! We helped my aunt celebrate her tenure and it was a treat for her.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very stuffy. Small menu, brunch was nothing fancy. Service was polite and fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

AS luck would have it, Her Birthday fell on a Sunday. What better way to celebrate than with a champagne brunch at a classic venue

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our server was fantastic; he took a true interest our dinning pleasure and my sisters birthday. He even took the time to go back to the buffet to look for something unique for me to try. It was an enjoyable time for my sister and family.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Just elegant and yet casual, impeccable service, delicious food, perfect environment for special occasion or quiet conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall the brunch at Ellyington's was quite disappointing. The brunch included champaign and we had to ask multiple times for refills. The food was tasty, however for the price the selection was bland. There was very little creativity and selection compared to other brunches we have been to. I would rather go back to Jill's where the price is half and there was a larger selection. This brunch is rated one of the best in Colorado, however I would not recommend this brunch and will not return for the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was told there were no reservations available at noon when I wanted to go. Instead made one for 10:30 AM because that's all that was available. When we got there, almost every table was empty when we came and when we left at 11:45. Disappointing. Menus were dirty. Food was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We visit Ellyngton's every Mother's Day for the wonderful brunch. It is our favorite place and has become a family tradition. The service was exemplary and the food was fantastic as usual. We were greeted with professionalism and a welcoming smile. Our family was greatly appreciative of the special accommodation in merging two two-person reservations to one family of four. We look forward to returning next year. Thank you so much for this continued experience that is so delightful!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.