About Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace

321 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Deal makers, politicians and businessmen frequent the restaurant regularly making it the place see and be seen. The hotel main dining room serves traditional breakfast with a twist; deli sandwiches, creative entree's and salads for lunch, as well as our City Search 2006 Best Brunch winning Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch. Three tiers of champagne are offered to complement the experience: Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and of course, Dom Perignon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast; price range $31-$50: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday 7:00AM - 10:00AM

Lunch; price range $31-$50:Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch; price range $54-$75: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Holiday Brunches; price range $71: 10:00AM - 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Broadway & Tremont Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-3111

Website:
http://www.brownpalace.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz trio during Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Parking Details:
The Brown Palace Hotel has valet parking as you arrive at the entrance of the hotel. Ellyngton's will validate your parking ticket for the Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch.

Public Transit:
Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California

Executive Chef:
Paul Venturo

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Great for Brunch (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Lunch (20)
See All
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for brunch on Sunday - it was ab ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 2 days ago

We went for brunch on Sunday - it was absolutely lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I think this experience at the Brown is ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I think this experience at the Brown is way overrated and not a good value. It is a stunning hotel and the restaurant is beautiful. That is well worth a visit. I felt the food was good but nothing extraordinary. I guess I expected more for the hefty $55 price tag. The prime rib was a stand out and really delicious and the shrimp was really plentiful and fresh. Other than that it was pretty normal fair with not a lot of unusual offerings. For such an expensive brunch, one would expect something out of the common fair and unique. The service was fair. Had to ask for water and champagne too many times. Also cleared some of my own dishes. Not cool. The band was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This was the best salmon and rice combin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was the best salmon and rice combination I have ever had, also crab cakes were

great and the club sandwich was delicious. Everything we had ordered was excellent and service was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greeted at the desk with a Happy Anniver ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Greeted at the desk with a Happy Anniversary. Next, seated by the door, furthest away from the music so it sounded like it was piped in, at a table with a formerly white, holed tablecloth, and constantly glared at by one of the ladies at that podium where we were seated. We did mention the tablecloth to the staff, but, all we heard was that they would tell the host. Really? This is first class??? From the start we could see how far down the totem pole Ellyngton had gone. The Brown's reputation used to be all about the customer...

Food was constantly running out and servers needed to be told to replace it. It wasn't always hot, bacon was rubbery and overdone and the fake eggs for the omelettes, not so good. We love a good dessert, but honestly, if you have to ask, what is it? And the answer is that's our cheesecake...enough said.

Second rate everything and it was anything but, romantic or special. A terrible disappointment that should've been an amazing experience for us. Service was decent, but not terribly efficient. Would we go back??? Never. What a disappointment. Years ago, it was such an amazing and elegant place. We were so excited to go there...not anymore!

Save your money, go to Olive Garden or Red Lobster and spend the rest to see a live show.

Frankly, Village Inn would've been a better choice at a fraction of the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Sunday brunch buffet. Endless cham ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Sunday brunch buffet. Endless champs and amazing food. You have to ask to order the eggs Benedict, but it's sooooo good with shave black truffles on it. The onlyissue I had was my champagne glass stayed empty too often. If I am paying for endless, I don't want to wait no matter how classy the joint is.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was amazing and the atmosphere was wonderful. It is a great place to go for special occasions or just for a delicious breakfast.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was truly a luncheon to remember fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was truly a luncheon to remember for me and two friends -- all of us have birthdays within one week, so always celebrate our birthdays together. Ellyngton's at The Brown Palace pulled out all the stops for our celebration. The food was presented looking like a painting and was gourmet. We toasted with champagne and oohed and aahed when complimentary tarts with candles twinkling arrived for a dessert surprise. Our waiter entered into the spirit of the occasion and one of my friends even asked to take HIS picture after he graciously took ours. We won't soon forget this year's birthday celebration. The old world charm of The Brown Palace is still alive and well and I hope to return to relax and enjoy it again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ellyngton's Champagne Brunch was delicio ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ellyngton's Champagne Brunch was delicious they had a variety of food choices and not to mention their dessert. Service is great and you never run out of champagne it just keeps coming. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Champagne Brunch is a memorable expe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Champagne Brunch is a memorable experience in a lovely, historic setting with a great, mellow jazz band. The food is delicious and the dessert tables decadent! As a vegetarian, I would simply have appreciated more variety in options - more vegetarian sushi, a tofu/seitan dish, crackers to accompany the available cheeses, etc. Overall, I highly recommend this brunch for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ellyngton's is a true find. Located in ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ellyngton's is a true find. Located in the historic Brown Palace, it provides extraordinary service and a menu that is every bit as au courant as many restaurants considered trendier. This would be a terrific choice for a special occasion, whether it's an anniversary dinner or lunch with important clients. The prices are reasonable considered the quality provided. Ellyngton's is worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always lovely at the Brown Palace a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It's always lovely at the Brown Palace and the ambiance is posh and old world. It's expensive but never disappointing. Make it a special time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Ellyngton's exceeded the expectations I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Ellyngton's exceeded the expectations I had coming in. The atmosphere was superb. The menu is excellent. The execution of service is flawless.

My date and I enjoyed robust scotch with our smooth cigars. I should note that the humidor at Ellyngton's is perhaps without equal in downtown from my experience. The cigars were very fresh and added great character to the scotch.

We that up with a some steaks. They were perfectly cooked, well balanced in flavor, and very filling. At this point we were so happy we had to order some port for my wife, and cognac for myself, just to prolong our experience.

Ellyngton's is about the experience. The food, the drinks, the atmosphere of the beautiful room, and exceptional service all come together to make a really timeless evening that I wished would never end.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Ellyngton's Sunday brunch. T ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We enjoyed Ellyngton's Sunday brunch. The food was outstanding. Everything was fresh, beautifully displayed, and delicious. The waitstaff was very attentive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were expecting the Brown Palace to kn ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were expecting the Brown Palace to knock our socks off. We knew it would be a bit on the pricey side, but we never imagined the Sunday Brunch would be so.....ordinary. There were so few choices. Nothing wowed us. It was about $20 higher than other brunches in town and there was nothing to justify that. In fact, it would have been $30 more if we had actually ordered champagne. So disappointing. We really just couldn't believe it could be so blah! Explore around town. But we wouldn't recommend this. It will be a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Went to celebrate our sons birthday. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to celebrate our sons birthday. The Brown Palace Hotel is well known for being high end. Having heard about the hotel we gave the brunch a try. The dining area is elegant decorated with flowers and ice sculptures. Tables, table settings and stemware are done up nice. Linen tablecloths and napkins put on the finishing touches. There was a very impressive selection of see food including sushi and sashimi. The omelette bar had many selections of meat and vegetables. The carving station includes a tasty prime rib and what appeared to be a pork shoulder. A variety of breads and pastries were set out along the buffet which also included salads, cheese, luncheon type meats, pasta dishes and a huge assortment of fruits and deserts to include a chocolate fountain. Well done we will return .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Always a rewarding experience, great fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a rewarding experience, great food in an elegant setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anthony was our server. His service was ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Anthony was our server. His service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Eating lunch at this restaurant was a ve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Eating lunch at this restaurant was a very pleasant experience. It felt elegant, yet approachable. The food and service were excellent and it was quiet, making it easy to have a conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected Ellyngton's for its quality ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We selected Ellyngton's for its quality and reliably superb service. The food was great, as always, but our server was a major disappointment. We'll be back, but we'll insist on a server who will stop by now and then to take our order, bring our food, maybe see how we're doing, refill our beverages, and remember to both bring the check AND process our payment. Novel concept, I know! But a business breakfast shouldn't take 2 hours due to slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Excellent food -- never had a better bru ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food -- never had a better brunch in the Denver area. Pricey and I couldn't eat enough to justify the cost, but I'd go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place for a fancy brunch! The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place for a fancy brunch! The food was outstanding, our waiter was fantastic and you cannot beat the ambiance!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrible. Had to ask for ref ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was horrible. Had to ask for refills for orange juice then water and milk for my son. For the price and the prestige that comes with Brown Palace, I would expect to have my drink refilled without having to ask. This is a buffet, you clear my plates and refill my drinks, was that so hard to do?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Enjoyable Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Stayed downtown Denver over the weekend and Ellynton's is a nice spot for a leisurely late breakfast. Brunch Buffet filled with tasty shellfish. Prompt but not pesky table service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ellyngton's was great... in the 1980's

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Ellyngton's was great... in the 1980's. Everything from the menu, the furniture, to the draperies is outdated. The food was mediocre at best. There weren't a lot of options and it was all very pricy. Forgive me, but I don't see what on a bagel with lox would cost $16. Also, counting this as a main breakfast entrée is a stretch. To this note, there weren't a whole lot of options and everything on their menu was boring, safe, and overdone.

I got the corned beef hash, which somehow tasted like dried out chorizo. My boyfriend was unfortunate enough to have had the eggs benedict (which came highly recommended). His poached eggs were way over cooked, past the point of a soft boiled egg, paired with a tiny amount of hollandaise that was separating on the plate, led to a less than satisfying meal. He ended up picking it apart and basically ate an English muffin with some ham on the side (for a bargain of only $17). As a side note I did really enjoy the coffee that they served.

When you initially walk into the lobby of the hotel and the dining room itself, you are definitely taken back 100 years into tht fine dining of the era. However, once you sit down and have time to actually examine where you are seated things take on a different tone. The upholstery is worn and stained with use. The carpets are old, threadbare, and ugly (and obviously not the original, so there should be no qualms with ripping up that atrocity). The curtains are straight out of the 1980's and some were so old that they didn't hang properly. It was all very disappointing and just seemed tired.

Overall this was a mediocre dining experience. I won't be going back unless big changes are made, nor will I be recommending this place to anyone. The prices are high, the service was subpar, and the food was mediocre at best.

Its time for a revamp Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace, especially for the prices you are charging!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

TOP DRAWER

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

What can you say about this historic meeting place, full of history, and with a great chef, professional wait staff, and all around great service. Food is exquisite. Have a great time at the Brown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the selection, everything tasted very fresh. Service was excellent and the live music made it seem like you stepped back in time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Go someplace else

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Poor service, dated ambience, over-priced. Ellyngton's is not worth the money for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

An amazing and luxurious Champagne Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had heard that within the historic Brown Palace that Ellyngton’s is famous for their brunch. I can understand why after having an amazing dining experience. This is truly special from the plethora of high quality buffet choices; prime rib, shrimp, sushi, pastries, egg dishes, and fantastic desserts, you will enjoy it all…and of course, the champagne! Look to Ellyngton’s to indulge yourself by enjoying the wonderful Sunday Champagne brunch.

Tip: Be sure to make reservations as it is a very popular restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was celebrating a signicant birthday - a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Was celebrating a signicant birthday - also did so 5 years ago. Will do it again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Both my business associate and I enjoyed ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Both my business associate and I enjoyed our breakfast very much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our 3rd X going back. Should I say more!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We're from Rosenberg, TX and took our best friends to celebrate their bday. Our favorite is brunch! Delish food, Great ambience, Host and Server were extraordinary and made sure to make us feel right at home and special! Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very posh

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a fun experience. Excellent shrimp cocktail and the dessert bar was over the top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food options were wonderful. Althoug ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food options were wonderful. Although as someone who is allergic to shellfish there could've been more non-shellfish options. It was so packed and busy it was difficult to talk. I'm not sure it was worth the steep price I paid. Over $200 for three people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

One of the best restaurants in Denver

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, service, and location. Always high quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better options out there for upscale breakfast.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I stayed at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and booked breakfast downstairs at Ellyngton's since I had heard good things about it.

-The staff is great: they are informative, and always present when needed, exactly what you would expect of a high tier restaurant.

-The food is very standard. If Ellyngton's wasn't located in the Brown Palace it would be completely unremarkable. The Denver Biscuit Company offered significantly more gourmet and 'premium' feeling options at a fraction of the price.

It's probably worth mentioning that most of the diners appeared to be older, and familiar with the staff. It reminds me of the Drake hotel in Chicago: it still brings in a lot of older folks willing to pay a premium because they remember the heyday of the place.

If you like a more interesting fare, or actual value in a meal: look elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Ok

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

It was fair. Good food, pricey & we were seated in the way bac. Nice music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We celebrated my husbands birthday here on Sunday March 13. The array of food was overwhelming and everything we tried was delicious. My husband had the Eggs Benedict and found it to be very good. The prime rib was tender and well seasoned and the chilled shrimp was awesome. We were really too full to do justice to the dessert selection, but the couple of bites I tried, crème brulee and a pecan tart were so good, and to top it off they brought my husband a special birthday cupcake! The only thing I would have changed was to request a table by the windows, instead of next to a wall in the back of the room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It's sad to write this review. We have always thought of the Brown Palace as the place in Denver for an elegant brunch. Last Sunday was so disappointing.

Food: We arrive to find that the offering of food has been cut by a quarter. Where there used to be a section devoted to breakfast items that that was part of the triangle in the middle of the room taking the place of what was before an entire section of lunch items. Carved beef was tough, omelets ordinary, pasta offering where raviolis with almost no filling.

Service: Always the best before, in one meal had to ask for coffee refills three time, had to flag down another waiter to get cream brought to the tale and had to request that our water glasses be filled.

Too bad that such a fine dining experience has gone down hill so badly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Ellyngton's brunch was great for our anniversary

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Ellyngton's was a great place for our anniversary brunch and I would definitely recommend for a brunch for a special occasion. Definitely worth the cost and both my wife and I loved the live band.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was average as was the service. Fo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was average as was the service. For the price it should have been much better on both ends. We will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.