About Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace

321 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Deal makers, politicians and businessmen frequent the restaurant regularly making it the place see and be seen. The hotel main dining room serves traditional breakfast with a twist; deli sandwiches, creative entree's and salads for lunch, as well as our City Search 2006 Best Brunch winning Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch. Three tiers of champagne are offered to complement the experience: Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and of course, Dom Perignon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast; price range $31-$50: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday 7:00AM - 10:00AM

Lunch; price range $31-$50:Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch; price range $54-$75: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Holiday Brunches; price range $71: 10:00AM - 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Broadway & Tremont Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-3111

Website:
http://www.brownpalace.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz trio during Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Parking Details:
The Brown Palace Hotel has valet parking as you arrive at the entrance of the hotel. Ellyngton's will validate your parking ticket for the Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch.

Public Transit:
Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California

Executive Chef:
Paul Venturo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Denver / Colorado
Best Ambiance
Denver
Great for Brunch
Denver
1 More
Contemporary American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

great for brunch (51)
special occasion (46)
great for lunch (27)
See All
good for groups (25)
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (15)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Go someplace else

Dined 3 days ago

Poor service, dated ambience, over-priced. Ellyngton's is not worth the money for breakfast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing and luxurious Champagne Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had heard that within the historic Brown Palace that Ellyngton’s is famous for their brunch. I can understand why after having an amazing dining experience. This is truly special from the plethora of high quality buffet choices; prime rib, shrimp, sushi, pastries, egg dishes, and fantastic desserts, you will enjoy it all…and of course, the champagne! Look to Ellyngton’s to indulge yourself by enjoying the wonderful Sunday Champagne brunch. Tip: Be sure to make reservations as it is a very popular restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Was celebrating a signicant birthday - a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Was celebrating a signicant birthday - also did so 5 years ago. Will do it again!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Both my business associate and I enjoyed ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Both my business associate and I enjoyed our breakfast very much!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 3rd X going back. Should I say more!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We're from Rosenberg, TX and took our best friends to celebrate their bday. Our favorite is brunch! Delish food, Great ambience, Host and Server were extraordinary and made sure to make us feel right at home and special! Love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very posh

Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a fun experience. Excellent shrimp cocktail and the dessert bar was over the top!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

The food options were wonderful. Althoug ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food options were wonderful. Although as someone who is allergic to shellfish there could've been more non-shellfish options. It was so packed and busy it was difficult to talk. I'm not sure it was worth the steep price I paid. Over $200 for three people

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Denver

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, service, and location. Always high quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Better options out there for upscale breakfast.

Dined on March 27, 2016

I stayed at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and booked breakfast downstairs at Ellyngton's since I had heard good things about it. -The staff is great: they are informative, and always present when needed, exactly what you would expect of a high tier restaurant. -The food is very standard. If Ellyngton's wasn't located in the Brown Palace it would be completely unremarkable. The Denver Biscuit Company offered significantly more gourmet and 'premium' feeling options at a fraction of the price. It's probably worth mentioning that most of the diners appeared to be older, and familiar with the staff. It reminds me of the Drake hotel in Chicago: it still brings in a lot of older folks willing to pay a premium because they remember the heyday of the place. If you like a more interesting fare, or actual value in a meal: look elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ok

Dined on March 20, 2016

It was fair. Good food, pricey & we were seated in the way bac. Nice music.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

We celebrated my husbands birthday here on Sunday March 13. The array of food was overwhelming and everything we tried was delicious. My husband had the Eggs Benedict and found it to be very good. The prime rib was tender and well seasoned and the chilled shrimp was awesome. We were really too full to do justice to the dessert selection, but the couple of bites I tried, crème brulee and a pecan tart were so good, and to top it off they brought my husband a special birthday cupcake! The only thing I would have changed was to request a table by the windows, instead of next to a wall in the back of the room.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

very disappointed

Dined on March 6, 2016

It's sad to write this review. We have always thought of the Brown Palace as the place in Denver for an elegant brunch. Last Sunday was so disappointing. Food: We arrive to find that the offering of food has been cut by a quarter. Where there used to be a section devoted to breakfast items that that was part of the triangle in the middle of the room taking the place of what was before an entire section of lunch items. Carved beef was tough, omelets ordinary, pasta offering where raviolis with almost no filling. Service: Always the best before, in one meal had to ask for coffee refills three time, had to flag down another waiter to get cream brought to the tale and had to request that our water glasses be filled. Too bad that such a fine dining experience has gone down hill so badly.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ellyngton's brunch was great for our anniversary

Dined on March 6, 2016

Ellyngton's was a great place for our anniversary brunch and I would definitely recommend for a brunch for a special occasion. Definitely worth the cost and both my wife and I loved the live band.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

Food was average as was the service. Fo ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was average as was the service. For the price it should have been much better on both ends. We will not be returning

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A little disappointing!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We chose Ellyngton's for Sunday Brunch on Valentine's Day. A memorable brunch is one of my favorite experiences and I was very anxious to try their highly recommended champagne brunch. Unfortunately the experience fell short of my expectations. First, our group of four had to wait 15-20 minutes for a table when we arrived. Our waiter was attentive and the atmosphere/live music was enjoyable. The various stations -- salad, seafood, omelet, carving, desert -- were nicely presented and overall, the buffet food choices were extensive and good. However, three of us found pieces of shell in the oysters, nearly breaking our teeth! When we got to the carving station, the available prime rib that two of us received was not rare as requested and quite tough. On a bright note, the made-to-order Bananas Foster was the hit of the day! Perhaps holidays are challenging for all restaurants, but given the price (over $100 per person), I'm hesitate to give them another try.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Valentines Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was good, not great. We were expecting a wide variety of delicious food and while the food was pretty good, there wasn't much as far as variety. Perhaps our expectations were too high as we travel to Hawaii often and their expensive buffets are off-the-charts delicious. Also, maybe we're just not classy enough to get how this is makes sense from a value standpoint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Ellington's

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was excellent and the food & entertainment was great!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the food were truly outs ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

The service and the food were truly outstanding, love coming to Ellington's for brunch.

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

All great except for server

Dined on January 31, 2016

Love the history and class of the Brown Palace and wanted to share this for my daughters 18th birthday. Once seated we waited nearly 15 minutes before the server came to the table and maybe said three words. We tried to make conversation but the server clearly had no time, personality or sense of humor. Although this was a brunch buffet for the cost and place you would expect some sort of customer appreciation. Observing the other wait staff and their interaction with their guest we defiantly got cheated. This server really needs to look for a different line of work. On the positive, the food is great especially the prime rib and all of the other staff was very pleasant and courteous. FYI...the brunch price starts at $55 per person

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food but so expensive

Dined on January 31, 2016

$53.95 for the "just brunch" option; more if you added champagne. On the other hand, the food was very good (husband had an issue with the oysters; otherwise we would have rated it 5 stars), there was a huge variety of options, and everything else was delicious. The service was outstanding -- attentive but not obtrusive. Definitely a special-occasion place!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sunday Brunch EVER

Dined on January 31, 2016

Had the Sunday Brunch and we must say it was the best we have ever had. Such impeccable style, presentation, taste and service, It's just sad it took me this long to try it. $50 for the basic brunch w/o champagne and it had every kind of fresh seafood, sushi, prime rib, leg of lamb, breakfast essentials, and deserts you could imagine. So many things were made to order right in front of you, even a chocolate fountain and made to order banana's foster - to die for! If it's time for a spurge on a great brunch, Ellyngton's can't be beat.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful as a always, service and food exquisite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ellyngton's at The Brown

Dined on January 15, 2016

Always a grand experience dining at Ellyngton's. Would recommend it to anyone/everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Experience

Dined on January 10, 2016

Beautiful dining in an historic hotel setting. Seated at a window next to the trio of musicians who provided a very mellow vibe through-out the dining experience. Armond, our waiter was very attentive and anticipated our needs. Loved the sushi, shrimp, mussels, trout offerings as well as the usual omelets and breakfast fare. Endless champagne, and just a good overall experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brown Elegance!

Dined on January 10, 2016

Going to the Brown Palace is always an exercise in elegance. The brunch is expensive but worth it. The service at Ellyngtons cannot be beaten. Beautiful setting and great food make this a must see in downtown. The staff is extremely attentive and professional. Go for a special occasion or just treat yourself!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

They always have the best buffet ANYwher ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

They always have the best buffet ANYwhere, but three things stand out: 1)New York Strip Steak at the Carving Table! 2)Tremendous service from start to finish, esp. Ed our waiter - so friendly, efficient & fast! 3) a great jazz combo created the perfect ambiance. 6 stars out of 5!

food5
ambience4
service1
value1

Brunch is Great, service leaves alot to be desired

Dined on January 1, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely, the piano player a delight, the food was delectable but the service was less than par. We picked the most expensive champagne brunch (which apparently gives you 5 glasses each) which would have sufficed if our server was actually attentive and served us when we needed more. He was not very friendly and he was definitely not interested in tending to us. He would disappear and sometimes we wouldn't see him for 20 minutes or so. We ultimately decided to just leave and forgo the rest of our drinks and brunch. I would assume that this experience could have been a "perfect 10" if we had a kind, attentive, competent server.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, but

Dined on January 1, 2016

The brunch was even more pricey than imagined despite the quality of food. We also had to find our waiter several times for coffee refills.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Brunch

Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent New Year's Day spread again complimented by excellent table service - relaxed pace of service and no push to turn tables. Nice selection of chilled seafood, meat carving station, typical breakfast fare, plus bite size selection of desserts and chocolate fountain.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had brunch at Ellyngton's on two ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We have had brunch at Ellyngton's on two previous occasions and the food and service is always great.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with our grandson

Dined on December 30, 2015

We met our grandson, who lives in Indiana, and his two friends for lunch on December 30th. The Brown Palace looked beautiful with holiday decorations. Ellyngton's was very impressive. The staff were very attentive and our lunches were delicious. We took pictures of the presentation before we began to eat and all was as delicious as it looked. My husband and I plan to return - just the two of us - and I am sure we will enjoy it. I hope we will again have the same server (I am sorry I did not jot down his name).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love going to Ellyngtons!

Dined on December 27, 2015

Very fresh fruit. Servers are attentive and informative. Delicious eggs Benedict made fresh.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not a Good Experience

Dined on December 25, 2015

When we arrived, we waited in line for 10 minutes at Ellingtons, which was the restaurant listed on our reservation, with no one at the reception desk. Once they arrived, we were advised that our reservation was not at Ellington's and we should report to an obscure location on the stairs. We were then seated along the balcony at tables that appeared to be set up for overflow. We were also required to go to a meeting room on the second level for their buffet that did not seem to have the same selection as the one in Ellingtons. All in all, it was not a good experience; especially considering the premium price. We will not be returning.

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Bait and Switxh

Dined on December 24, 2015

We made reservations for a Christmas Eve brunch with music, ice sculptures, and a large buffet. We received our confirmation from Ellyngton's, but when we arrived, the maitre 'd placed us (after a wait) in the Palace Arms. We had a toddler with us, so being in a bar was not what we expected. There was no music or ice sculptures. The buffet was tiny and everything was cold. We were extraordinarily disappointed to say the least. They never mentioned the switch of restaurants and when we paid ($20 each!) they kept or credit card for 20 minutes and charged is twice. I will never be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Stunning!

Dined on December 24, 2015

If you haven't had a chance to visit the Brown Palace during the Holidays, you must! And while you're there, have breakfast (or brunch on the weekends) at Ellyington's. It's a truly magical experience with fine dining at its best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed at Ellyngton's

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

Not as good as we expected for the price. The Buffalo burger was good, but the steak salad was very disappointing...the meat had a lot of gristle in it, and the dressing was almost non-existant.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Poor service, low grade food.

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

First they delayed in bringing our order of Champagne ( Champagne listed on the menu was not available on site, neither glasses to serve it according to waiter. Waiter was annoyed when asked to replenish the bread from three guess and when asked for more butter, he brought a overflowing cup of butter like telling, "so you don't ask me any more"--really poor, lackluster, and in poor taste service. The LOBSTER MILANESE herb gnocchi was over cooked like rocks. Want more bad news? Of special notice, the waiter was soon to remark to my Spanish accent (I'm from Puerto Rico). He promptly welcome me and my guests to the USA. In case you don't know, Puerto Rico is a territory of the USA, therefore we are US citizens as you probably know. Both my guess and I proudly serve in the USAF for 23 and 27 years respectively to protect the freedom of your ignorant servers to insult us at will. This was supposed to be a very special Christmas Lunch for my 90-year old mother--what a fiasco! Definitely I will not recommend your establishment to friends and associates Thank you for listening. I hope you have a Merry Christmas. Rafael F. Mejias, (ret) Major, USAF

food4
ambience5
service5

Great Christmas Brunch

Dined on December 13, 2015

The food, service and decor were all stellar. It was a great special occasion brunch. The only problem was with reservations -- we could not get a table at any time other than 7:30 am. Although that is insanely early for brunch, we had heard so many good things we decided to go for it. When we got there, the restaurant was basically deserted -- and it remained deserted for the duration of our meal. By 9 am when we left, the restaurant was still uncrowded. I have no idea why we couldn't be accommodated at a more reasonable time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best dining in Denver.

Dined on December 8, 2015

Absolutely the best dining in Denver.

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch at the Brown Palace

Dined on December 6, 2015

Excellent as always! From the table to the choices of food ~ Wow! and finally the dessert table...anyone would enjoy it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.