About Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace

321 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Deal makers, politicians and businessmen frequent the restaurant regularly making it the place see and be seen. The hotel main dining room serves traditional breakfast with a twist; deli sandwiches, creative entree's and salads for lunch, as well as our City Search 2006 Best Brunch winning Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch. Three tiers of champagne are offered to complement the experience: Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and of course, Dom Perignon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast; price range $31-$50: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday 7:00AM - 10:00AM

Lunch; price range $31-$50:Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch; price range $54-$75: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Holiday Brunches; price range $71: 10:00AM - 3:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Broadway & Tremont Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-3111

Website:
http://www.brownpalace.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz trio during Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Parking Details:
The Brown Palace Hotel has valet parking as you arrive at the entrance of the hotel. Ellyngton's will validate your parking ticket for the Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch.

Public Transit:
Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California

Executive Chef:
Paul Venturo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Denver / Colorado
Great for Brunch
Denver
Great for Lunch
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

great for brunch (43)
special occasion (38)
great for lunch (19)
See All
good for groups (19)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (3)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's always lovely at the Brown Palace a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's always lovely at the Brown Palace and the ambiance is posh and old world. It's expensive but never disappointing. Make it a special time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Ellyngton's exceeded the expectations I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Ellyngton's exceeded the expectations I had coming in. The atmosphere was superb. The menu is excellent. The execution of service is flawless.

My date and I enjoyed robust scotch with our smooth cigars. I should note that the humidor at Ellyngton's is perhaps without equal in downtown from my experience. The cigars were very fresh and added great character to the scotch.

We that up with a some steaks. They were perfectly cooked, well balanced in flavor, and very filling. At this point we were so happy we had to order some port for my wife, and cognac for myself, just to prolong our experience.

Ellyngton's is about the experience. The food, the drinks, the atmosphere of the beautiful room, and exceptional service all come together to make a really timeless evening that I wished would never end.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Ellyngton's Sunday brunch. T ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We enjoyed Ellyngton's Sunday brunch. The food was outstanding. Everything was fresh, beautifully displayed, and delicious. The waitstaff was very attentive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were expecting the Brown Palace to kn ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were expecting the Brown Palace to knock our socks off. We knew it would be a bit on the pricey side, but we never imagined the Sunday Brunch would be so.....ordinary. There were so few choices. Nothing wowed us. It was about $20 higher than other brunches in town and there was nothing to justify that. In fact, it would have been $30 more if we had actually ordered champagne. So disappointing. We really just couldn't believe it could be so blah! Explore around town. But we wouldn't recommend this. It will be a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Went to celebrate our sons birthday. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to celebrate our sons birthday. The Brown Palace Hotel is well known for being high end. Having heard about the hotel we gave the brunch a try. The dining area is elegant decorated with flowers and ice sculptures. Tables, table settings and stemware are done up nice. Linen tablecloths and napkins put on the finishing touches. There was a very impressive selection of see food including sushi and sashimi. The omelette bar had many selections of meat and vegetables. The carving station includes a tasty prime rib and what appeared to be a pork shoulder. A variety of breads and pastries were set out along the buffet which also included salads, cheese, luncheon type meats, pasta dishes and a huge assortment of fruits and deserts to include a chocolate fountain. Well done we will return .

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Always a rewarding experience, great fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a rewarding experience, great food in an elegant setting.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anthony was our server. His service was ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Anthony was our server. His service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Eating lunch at this restaurant was a ve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Eating lunch at this restaurant was a very pleasant experience. It felt elegant, yet approachable. The food and service were excellent and it was quiet, making it easy to have a conversation.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected Ellyngton's for its quality ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We selected Ellyngton's for its quality and reliably superb service. The food was great, as always, but our server was a major disappointment. We'll be back, but we'll insist on a server who will stop by now and then to take our order, bring our food, maybe see how we're doing, refill our beverages, and remember to both bring the check AND process our payment. Novel concept, I know! But a business breakfast shouldn't take 2 hours due to slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Excellent food -- never had a better bru ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food -- never had a better brunch in the Denver area. Pricey and I couldn't eat enough to justify the cost, but I'd go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place for a fancy brunch! The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place for a fancy brunch! The food was outstanding, our waiter was fantastic and you cannot beat the ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrible. Had to ask for ref ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was horrible. Had to ask for refills for orange juice then water and milk for my son. For the price and the prestige that comes with Brown Palace, I would expect to have my drink refilled without having to ask. This is a buffet, you clear my plates and refill my drinks, was that so hard to do?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Enjoyable Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Stayed downtown Denver over the weekend and Ellynton's is a nice spot for a leisurely late breakfast. Brunch Buffet filled with tasty shellfish. Prompt but not pesky table service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ellyngton's was great... in the 1980's

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Ellyngton's was great... in the 1980's. Everything from the menu, the furniture, to the draperies is outdated. The food was mediocre at best. There weren't a lot of options and it was all very pricy. Forgive me, but I don't see what on a bagel with lox would cost $16. Also, counting this as a main breakfast entrée is a stretch. To this note, there weren't a whole lot of options and everything on their menu was boring, safe, and overdone.

I got the corned beef hash, which somehow tasted like dried out chorizo. My boyfriend was unfortunate enough to have had the eggs benedict (which came highly recommended). His poached eggs were way over cooked, past the point of a soft boiled egg, paired with a tiny amount of hollandaise that was separating on the plate, led to a less than satisfying meal. He ended up picking it apart and basically ate an English muffin with some ham on the side (for a bargain of only $17). As a side note I did really enjoy the coffee that they served.

When you initially walk into the lobby of the hotel and the dining room itself, you are definitely taken back 100 years into tht fine dining of the era. However, once you sit down and have time to actually examine where you are seated things take on a different tone. The upholstery is worn and stained with use. The carpets are old, threadbare, and ugly (and obviously not the original, so there should be no qualms with ripping up that atrocity). The curtains are straight out of the 1980's and some were so old that they didn't hang properly. It was all very disappointing and just seemed tired.

Overall this was a mediocre dining experience. I won't be going back unless big changes are made, nor will I be recommending this place to anyone. The prices are high, the service was subpar, and the food was mediocre at best.

Its time for a revamp Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace, especially for the prices you are charging!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

TOP DRAWER

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

What can you say about this historic meeting place, full of history, and with a great chef, professional wait staff, and all around great service. Food is exquisite. Have a great time at the Brown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the selection, everything tasted very fresh. Service was excellent and the live music made it seem like you stepped back in time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Go someplace else

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Poor service, dated ambience, over-priced. Ellyngton's is not worth the money for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

An amazing and luxurious Champagne Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had heard that within the historic Brown Palace that Ellyngton’s is famous for their brunch. I can understand why after having an amazing dining experience. This is truly special from the plethora of high quality buffet choices; prime rib, shrimp, sushi, pastries, egg dishes, and fantastic desserts, you will enjoy it all…and of course, the champagne! Look to Ellyngton’s to indulge yourself by enjoying the wonderful Sunday Champagne brunch.

Tip: Be sure to make reservations as it is a very popular restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was celebrating a signicant birthday - a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Was celebrating a signicant birthday - also did so 5 years ago. Will do it again!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Both my business associate and I enjoyed ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Both my business associate and I enjoyed our breakfast very much!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our 3rd X going back. Should I say more!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We're from Rosenberg, TX and took our best friends to celebrate their bday. Our favorite is brunch! Delish food, Great ambience, Host and Server were extraordinary and made sure to make us feel right at home and special! Love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very posh

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a fun experience. Excellent shrimp cocktail and the dessert bar was over the top!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food options were wonderful. Althoug ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food options were wonderful. Although as someone who is allergic to shellfish there could've been more non-shellfish options. It was so packed and busy it was difficult to talk. I'm not sure it was worth the steep price I paid. Over $200 for three people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

One of the best restaurants in Denver

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, service, and location. Always high quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better options out there for upscale breakfast.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I stayed at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and booked breakfast downstairs at Ellyngton's since I had heard good things about it.

-The staff is great: they are informative, and always present when needed, exactly what you would expect of a high tier restaurant.

-The food is very standard. If Ellyngton's wasn't located in the Brown Palace it would be completely unremarkable. The Denver Biscuit Company offered significantly more gourmet and 'premium' feeling options at a fraction of the price.

It's probably worth mentioning that most of the diners appeared to be older, and familiar with the staff. It reminds me of the Drake hotel in Chicago: it still brings in a lot of older folks willing to pay a premium because they remember the heyday of the place.

If you like a more interesting fare, or actual value in a meal: look elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Ok

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

It was fair. Good food, pricey & we were seated in the way bac. Nice music.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We celebrated my husbands birthday here on Sunday March 13. The array of food was overwhelming and everything we tried was delicious. My husband had the Eggs Benedict and found it to be very good. The prime rib was tender and well seasoned and the chilled shrimp was awesome. We were really too full to do justice to the dessert selection, but the couple of bites I tried, crème brulee and a pecan tart were so good, and to top it off they brought my husband a special birthday cupcake! The only thing I would have changed was to request a table by the windows, instead of next to a wall in the back of the room.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It's sad to write this review. We have always thought of the Brown Palace as the place in Denver for an elegant brunch. Last Sunday was so disappointing.

Food: We arrive to find that the offering of food has been cut by a quarter. Where there used to be a section devoted to breakfast items that that was part of the triangle in the middle of the room taking the place of what was before an entire section of lunch items. Carved beef was tough, omelets ordinary, pasta offering where raviolis with almost no filling.

Service: Always the best before, in one meal had to ask for coffee refills three time, had to flag down another waiter to get cream brought to the tale and had to request that our water glasses be filled.

Too bad that such a fine dining experience has gone down hill so badly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Ellyngton's brunch was great for our anniversary

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Ellyngton's was a great place for our anniversary brunch and I would definitely recommend for a brunch for a special occasion. Definitely worth the cost and both my wife and I loved the live band.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was average as was the service. Fo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was average as was the service. For the price it should have been much better on both ends. We will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

A little disappointing!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We chose Ellyngton's for Sunday Brunch on Valentine's Day. A memorable brunch is one of my favorite experiences and I was very anxious to try their highly recommended champagne brunch. Unfortunately the experience fell short of my expectations. First, our group of four had to wait 15-20 minutes for a table when we arrived. Our waiter was attentive and the atmosphere/live music was enjoyable. The various stations -- salad, seafood, omelet, carving, desert -- were nicely presented and overall, the buffet food choices were extensive and good. However, three of us found pieces of shell in the oysters, nearly breaking our teeth! When we got to the carving station, the available prime rib that two of us received was not rare as requested and quite tough. On a bright note, the made-to-order Bananas Foster was the hit of the day! Perhaps holidays are challenging for all restaurants, but given the price (over $100 per person), I'm hesitate to give them another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentines Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Was good, not great. We were expecting a wide variety of delicious food and while the food was pretty good, there wasn't much as far as variety. Perhaps our expectations were too high as we travel to Hawaii often and their expensive buffets are off-the-charts delicious. Also, maybe we're just not classy enough to get how this is makes sense from a value standpoint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Ellington's

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was excellent and the food & entertainment was great!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and the food were truly outs ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The service and the food were truly outstanding, love coming to Ellington's for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All great except for server

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Love the history and class of the Brown Palace and wanted to share this for my daughters 18th birthday. Once seated we waited nearly 15 minutes before the server came to the table and maybe said three words. We tried to make conversation but the server clearly had no time, personality or sense of humor. Although this was a brunch buffet for the cost and place you would expect some sort of customer appreciation. Observing the other wait staff and their interaction with their guest we defiantly got cheated. This server really needs to look for a different line of work. On the positive, the food is great especially the prime rib and all of the other staff was very pleasant and courteous. FYI...the brunch price starts at $55 per person

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food but so expensive

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

$53.95 for the "just brunch" option; more if you added champagne. On the other hand, the food was very good (husband had an issue with the oysters; otherwise we would have rated it 5 stars), there was a huge variety of options, and everything else was delicious. The service was outstanding -- attentive but not obtrusive. Definitely a special-occasion place!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Sunday Brunch EVER

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Had the Sunday Brunch and we must say it was the best we have ever had. Such impeccable style, presentation, taste and service, It's just sad it took me this long to try it. $50 for the basic brunch w/o champagne and it had every kind of fresh seafood, sushi, prime rib, leg of lamb, breakfast essentials, and deserts you could imagine. So many things were made to order right in front of you, even a chocolate fountain and made to order banana's foster - to die for!

If it's time for a spurge on a great brunch, Ellyngton's can't be beat.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful as a always, service and food exquisite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ellyngton's at The Brown

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Always a grand experience dining at Ellyngton's. Would recommend it to anyone/everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Beautiful dining in an historic hotel setting. Seated at a window next to the trio of musicians who provided a very mellow vibe through-out the dining experience. Armond, our waiter was very attentive and anticipated our needs. Loved the sushi, shrimp, mussels, trout offerings as well as the usual omelets and breakfast fare. Endless champagne, and just a good overall experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.