Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace

Deal makers, politicians and businessmen frequent the restaurant regularly making it the place see and be seen. The hotel main dining room serves traditional breakfast with a twist; deli sandwiches, creative entree's and salads for lunch, as well as our City Search 2006 Best Brunch winning Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch. Three tiers of champagne are offered to complement the experience: Domaine Chandon, Moet et Chandon, and of course, Dom Perignon.

321 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
HOLIDAY BRUNCH PRICING (Does not include tax & gratuity)
Just Brunch....$70.95
Domain Chandon.....$80.95
Moet & Chandon.....$90.95
Children 6 to 12.....$20.95
Children 5 & Under.....Free

Breakfast Price Range $31-$50:
Breakfast Hours:
Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Saturday 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday 7:00am - 9:00am

Lunch: Price Range $31-$50:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

DOM PERIGNON SUNDAY BRUNCH (Pricing does not include tax & gratuity)
HOURS 10:00am-2:00pm
Just Brunch....$53.95
Domain Chandon.....$63.95
Moet & Chandon.....$73.95
Children 6 to 12.....$20.95
Children 5 & Under.....Free

Cross Street:
Between Broadway & Tremont Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-3111

Website:
http://www.brownpalace.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz trio during Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Parking Details:
The Brown Palace Hotel has valet parking as you arrive at the entrance of the hotel. Ellyngton's will validate your parking ticket for the Dom Perignon Sunday Brunch.

Public Transit:
Bus: Civic Center; Light Rail: 18th & California

Executive Chef:
Paul Venturo

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 11:00AM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:15AM 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM

Private Dining

Ideal for a power breakfast or lunch, Ellyngton's is a fine dining destination serving contemporary American cuisine with attentive and thoughtful service.

Ellyngton's at the Brown Palace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (41)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Sunday Lunch (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Live Music (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Historic (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 hours ago

I enjoyed lunch here so much yesterday that I had to head downstairs this morning for breakfast, too. And I'm really glad I did. This was the best breakfast I have had in a very long time.

They started us off with an amuse bouche. Let's see....when was the last time I had an amuse bouche for breakfast? Ummm...never? A deep spoon of chocolate chip pancake topped with macerated strawberries and powdered sugar. Yummy bite.

I was super hungry this morning and although I am not a fan of omelets typically, I decided to order one with green chilies and cheese. I think this was the best omelet I have ever had in my entire life. Fluffy and packed with diced mild green chilies and melted American cheese. So delicious! The hash brown were perfectly crisp, and a serving of thick, sourdough toast smothered with strawberry jam was a great accompaniment.

My boyfriend had the Irish Cut Oatmeal Brulee topped with Bourbon Apples and Streusel. Wow!!! This tasted like apple pie! Really delicious, but our only complaint was that it wasn't very hot when it was served.

The food was extraordinary and I really enjoyed this restaurant. It was pricey though - $44 for 2 for breakfast. And unfortunately I have to say that the service was not good. We were basically abandoned by our waiter, never checked on, and had to flag someone down near the end of our meal just to get refills on our coffees and waters. When he did return, he was pretty forgetful.

Other than that though, what a great place! You definitely need to stop in when you are in Denver.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

My boyfriend and I are in town for business and staying at The Brown Palace. We decided to take a break from working and head downstairs to Ellynton's for lunch.

The atmosphere of the restaurant is quite formal, and very refined feeling. We were promptly helped and greeted.

I was super impressed by the menu! They had so many different options which sounded absolutely amazing.

My boyfriend ordered the Country Club and fries which were both very good. I wanted to eat light and had a large Superfood Salad which contained greens, raspberries, blackberries, tomatoes, cucumber, pecans and candied cashews topped with a lavender vinaigrette. The salad was perfect - light and fresh and just what I needed.

Two cappuccinos with biscotti topped off our meal. This was such a lovely experience I'm planning on returning for breakfast tomorrow while my SO attends a meeting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best brunch buffets in Denver! Great ambiance and live band. The prime rib and bananas foster were out of this world!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day brunch was wonderful! Our server was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. Our only suggestion is to include a green vegetable option to accompany the carved meat selections. We saw the potato bar and the salad bar was plentiful; however a standard green vegetable-- sprouts, broccoli, asparagus, green beans, etc. would have been appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This brunch is NOT for quitters or the light hearted. Shmancy brunch buffets are actually really hard to do well. They pretty much nailed it with keeping a good balance of enough of a dish on display so that you rarely got there and there was something out but also not so overstocked that anything on the buffet looked like it had been there a beat too long. Also, they were constantly restocking those things that ran out quickly. I was sheepishly (not really that sheepishly) taking the last 6 oysters and when I turned around a server was waiting patiently with a tray of oysrters - I hadnt even seen or heard her get there. If I lived in Denver I would probably be here once a month - I'd be broke and huge(r) but probably worth it in the scheme of things.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing food and service, the best brunch buffet I've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I was seated at a very nice table with a great view. I grew up in Denver and our family always went to what was at the time The San Marcos Room for Easter Sunday breakfast and First Communions. Now as Ellyngton's it has the same friendly but elegant atmosphere. I scored the food quality only 4 stars because the scrambled eggs were a little cold around the edge, but not a deal killer.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My sister and I took our parents to Ellyngton's for their Anniversary. The ambiance and service was exceptional. The food was scrumptious and the presentation was just as lovely. I look forward to another trip to Denver to partake once again. Yummy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always love this place! We helped my aunt celebrate her tenure and it was a treat for her.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very stuffy. Small menu, brunch was nothing fancy. Service was polite and fast.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

AS luck would have it, Her Birthday fell on a Sunday. What better way to celebrate than with a champagne brunch at a classic venue

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Just elegant and yet casual, impeccable service, delicious food, perfect environment for special occasion or quiet conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall the brunch at Ellyington's was quite disappointing. The brunch included champaign and we had to ask multiple times for refills. The food was tasty, however for the price the selection was bland. There was very little creativity and selection compared to other brunches we have been to. I would rather go back to Jill's where the price is half and there was a larger selection. This brunch is rated one of the best in Colorado, however I would not recommend this brunch and will not return for the Sunday brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was told there were no reservations available at noon when I wanted to go. Instead made one for 10:30 AM because that's all that was available. When we got there, almost every table was empty when we came and when we left at 11:45. Disappointing. Menus were dirty. Food was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We attended Mother's Day brunch at Ellyngton's and it was superb! Everyone had a wonderful time. The food was excellent with a good variety and the dessert station can please any kid (or grown kid)! I would highly recommend their brunch for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ellyntond has Great service subpar food, good bloody Mary's

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The brunch at Ellyngton's may very well ruin any future brunches you attend. I could go on and on about how top-notch everything is, i.e. the service and the food, but what I should really do is offer advice to anyone reading this:

There are so many wonderful items to choose from, start very slow lest you wind up in a deep, possibly painful, food coma. This eating experience is a marathon, not a sprint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been to the Brown's Palace a few of times and decided to invite my son and his family to celebrate my granddaughters advancement into the martial arts world of the, "Black-Belt"! She recently advanced into her, "OREO", aka, "Conditional Black Belt" and a celebration was at hand! it was so wonderful to share some of the stories of the palace with her that we had once learned about on a prior visit, when she was much younger, like 4. Being 11 today, and achieving such a high honor we knew that, The Brown's Palace's Ellington Sunday Brunch would be just the treat for her!
The Ellington's did not disappoint!
Learning of the palace’s historical stories from a previous guided tour and being able to share this knowledge with the family was so fun! If you have never taken the guided tour, they do not disappoint in that arena either! Just knowing all of the stories (paintings) that are on the walls, and sitting in front of you when you walk in, like the water fountain, the one or two balcony railings that are upside down or backwards just to be, "not perfect" in the lobbies phenomenal lobby. Just the little things, like the huge Spa entrance that was once a fireplace at the palace! So, much history! So, if you love wonderful, wonderful food, devine service, valet parking with reservations, and history, you will love, “Denver’s Brown’s Palace”! So many wonderful restaurants and such beautiful rooms!
You just have to take a guided tour, sleep there, eat there, listen to the history, amazing stories!!!!
Congratulations Ms. Rylee Belle, our little OREO!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Family Style, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Friendly and welcoming staff, a surprisingly casual atmosphere for their Sunday champagne brunch (suit and tie definitely not required). Different pricing options were a plus. Service was good, food options good, quality good. We sat very near the musicians so at times difficult to talk. We were a table of 6 and took up a lot of room on their stage--the tables for two around us were quite squished--not sure at around $75 per they felt they were getting the experience they paid for. Overall enjoyable, certainly fine to try at least once if the pocketbook can support it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

For one of the most recommended brunch places in Denver, this place was a let down. Most of the ready-made foods, such as waffles and bacon, were difficult to eat and seemed like it was left there for awhile. We were not impressed by the omelette station because the end result was very dry for fresh made omelettes. Everything was exceptionally salty or sickenly sweet. The only items we enjoyed were the baked croissants and seafood bar with sushi. We left feeling disappointed at the quality and did not feel like it was worth the money.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always classy. Great variety of food, fresh ingredients, well prepared. Staff courteous and welcoming.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This brunch is amazing. It is a bucket list item to do in Denver in the historic, beautiful Brown Palace.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great seats! Good music and superb service. Tasty food as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good experience as usual. Quiet and great food perfect for a business lunch.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always amazing! I'm not usually into buffets....but I love this place!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best brunch I have enjoyed in years. I am visiting from the Washington DC

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ellyngton's has been and continues to be my favorite breakfast and brunch spot in Denver. Having an excuse to walk through the Brown Palace Hotel is simply the cherry on the top. The food is always outstanding and the wait staff is truly unparalleled. Ask to be seated in Keith's section, he's incredible! On Sunday mornings they offer a small breakfast buffet prior to Sunday Brunch. If you're not hungry enough for the full Brunch then I would highly recommend this as an alternative. The price is right as well. Fabulous ambiance, delicious food, and doting staff make for a wonderful experience, regardless of the occasion.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Lovely old world charms for a typical hotel breakfast menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went to Ellyngton's for breakfast to celebrate my wife's birthday and I enjoyed the experience as much as she did, if not more. The ambience is exceptional, the food simple and delicious and the coffee is one of the best we have had. We will be going back again for sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had to wait over 20 minutes for our table even though we had made a reservation many weeks in advance. They were rude about it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch. $71/person. Ridiculous price for a brunch regardless of where it's served. Food was good. Service was good. Just over the top price

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to Ellington's many times for brunch over the years and I'm happy to say that the quality and standards have not wavered. I was afraid that coming here for Easter would prove to be a letdown; I'm happy to report that this was not the case. The food was fantastic, the champagne was flowing and the service was flawless. The Easter bunny was even around for the kids. My only disappointments were sitting close enough to the band to have much chair actually touch the piano, and the missing cheese selections - one of my highlights. That aside, we had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and are planning to do this every year going forward. There was a wide variety of food at the brunch and the dessert bar was amazing. Very good experience and would absolutely recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was delicious and it was quiet, with attentive service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Nice and quiet for business meeting, food was good, service was excellent.
Crab Cakes had very little flavor and I was surprised.
I would have lunch again there with a client as I could hear the conversation and that is important. Services again was excellent!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always the best food and Ambiance Service and attention.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very disappointed in the food. Omelette was dry and tough; bacon was almost burned and hard to chew. My friend's Hollandaise Sauce was plastic and unappetizing. We shared a bagel with lox, the lox was very fishy-tasting.

Also, our waiter failed to remove trash from the table, a small thing, but the Brown Palace has been known for the ultimate in dining/serving practices.

The cost of $64.80 plus a very generous tip was wasted that day. It was our first and last visit to Ellyngton's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This restaurant is always great, food, music, service!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Enjoyed a Special Brunch for my wife's 50th Birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic brunch! What a great time we had. Food was excellent. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.