Elliott's Oyster House

4.5
3707 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
For more than 30 years, Elliott's Oyster House has been Seattle's showcase for classic Northwest seafood. This classic seafood house is renown for simple preparations that highlight the natural flavors of the finest seafood in the Pacific Northwest. We specialize in serving fresh local Dungeness crab, wild Northwest salmon, Alaskan halibut, fresh Pacific finfish, Northwest shellfish, and our specialty, fresh oysters.


At Elliott's, we believe our choices today affect the oceans of tomorrow. So we're committed to serving sustainable seafood, a win-win for your taste buds and the environment. We have long-standing partnerships with local crabbers, oyster growers and fishermen, who use environmentally sound practices. To help the planet even further, we compost everything possible. Come join us for lunch or dinner, and discover the wonders of sustainable seafood for yourself.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 623-4340
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Spaulding
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Spring Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available beginning at 5pm every evening.


Street parking and public lots are available during lunch service.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Metro Transit Routes 99-O and 99-I at
Alaskan Way and Spring(.10 mi)
Metro Transit Routes 10-O, 11-O, 113-I, 121-I, 121-O, 122-I, 125-I, 15-O, 18-O, 21-I, 22-I, 56-I and 994-I at First Avenue and University St (.15 mi)
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access
What 3707 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The service was good and the setting is nice. The Calamari starter and my wife’s seafood salad were also good. However, I ordered the cioppino and asked before ordering if it had cilantro in the dish, and the waiter said he’d check. He came back and said it didn’t. It did. I despise cilantro. It didn’t become noticeable until I’d eaten about half of it, but it was then evident in every mouthful. I couldn’t eat any more. I did tell the waiter and he removed one glass of wine from my bill, but that’s not the point, the chef should know what is in his food. Also, removing a glass of wine kind of misses the point, there wasn’t a problem with the wine

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 3 days ago

Tourist Trap! Go somewhere else. Food was below par. Salmon Fritter only had cornbread. There was maybe a sliver of salmon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great and a definitely a fun fun time. Also great food, Paducah northwest cuisine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Visited 2 times during recent Seattle visit. Great outdoor seating. Knowledgable servers re types of oysters. Good alternatives. Friendly staff, delish food. Of note..happy hour ended at 5, not 6 as noted in media.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Very well prepared and yummy food. The drinks were good too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

I love this place, go there often and do the Oyster New Year every few years. Our Father's Day dinner had some disappointments however. First of all, it seems like everything in Seattle is skyrocketing in price. A dinner for four was $280 and only one alcoholic beverage! The entrees are really expensive. Also, ordered a dozen oysters at $3.75 a pop and two of them barely had any meat on them and looked shredded. Sent them back, which is something I have never had to do. Service wasn't too great, no water refills and I bet I would have bought another glass of wine or coffee but was never asked! For what they charge you would expect better! My advice is to do the happy hour and sit at the bar if you want the best service and bang for your buck at Elliott's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great fresh seafood!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Seafood salad was average at best, especially for $26.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We stopped in after a Mariners game on Father’s Day, of course they were very busy but we had great service, or food arrived quickly and we were able to get out on time to catch a ferry

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

I was very disappointed in the taste/quality of food. I ordered the $39.99 Scallop entree and it was let down. The dish was cold and the flavors/sauces were unimpressive to my pallet. I did order oysters and those were good. I heard that Elliott's was a must when visiting Seattle but I disagree. I will give Elliott's an A+ on ambiance and views. That was very nice part of our dining experience. Our waiter, Joe was very pleasant too. Overall I say it was a good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Elliot's offers an amazing view of Puget Sound and the Seattle waterfront, and they offer up the freshest oysters in town as well. We also love the Dungeness Crab, and there are always a number of specials...some of the fish has more sauce than needed, but just order it on the side!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Food was excellent. A bit over-priced for such a casual feel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Elliott’s is an institution on the Seattle waterfront, it shouldn’t be missed. That said, it’s noisy and very expensive. We found that overall the food was good, but inconsistent. The halibut was excellent, on the other hand, the king salmon was over cooked and dry with a tomato based plate sauce that added nothing to the dish.

The service is impeccable and attentive, the wine list is extensive and appropriate.

We would likely return in the future for a special occasion, but order carefully.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Excellent oysters any way you want- pan fried- oysters rockefellers- raw!! Delicious!!!
Great atmosphere for family lunches and date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Red clam chowder best we ever had; King crab was steamed perfectly.
Great atmosphere on waterfront, sit outside if weather cooperates!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Really good oysters and scallops. The weather was incredible so having a view of the water the day we went was incredible. Highly recommend anyone to go here if they're looking for a nice night out with family/significant other and are looking for some good seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

They were able to convert my reservation to Happy Hour reservations. No wait time if you get there by 2:30 for the 3PM Happy Hour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Fantastic food, great environment. My only critique, our main dishes were brought out as we were still finishing our appetizers (even with telling the server we were in no rush). That being said, definitely coming back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great setting on the Seattle waterfront. Grab a table outside if you can. The seafood salad and soups were great, so were the oysters! Skip the ceviche. Have a cocktail or two. Prices are high, but the setting, food and authentic vibe make it well worth it, especially for a special occasion. We had just come off of the Argosy Harbor Tour next door and were early for our reservation. They took us in just a few minutes and we had a great early dinner. We'd definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Food was pretty good, but the service was poor. Third time eating at Elliot’s and we won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We bring all our out-of-town family members when they come to visit...our favorite spot for lunch after walking through Pike’s Market and before visiting Waterfront attractions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We loved everything! Especially the pan fried oysters!!! We’re still telling our friends about our experience! Mind you we live an hour away from New Orleans and there frequently. So we know good food!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Went there while visiting Seattle, had a fun lunch with excellent oysters and fresh fish (Sea bass).

Only the spicy clam chowder was not a hit. Beer selection was also appropriate for the food. Altogether an excellent place to enjoy seafood at the waterfront.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Restaurant was excellent but was not happy that we made reservations on line but when we got to the restaurant, they didn’t have our reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We enjoyed every bite. The staff easily accommodated a food allergy and the water view was memorable. The waiter was particularly professional. We have placed Elliott’s on our “must do” list when we visit our son in Seattle. Happy graduation, Pierre, from the HCDE program at the University of Washington!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great Oyster sampler put up by the waitress. Very FRESH!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service was great. Unfortunately the crab tasted old and was an very off putting grey in color. The French fries were cooked below temp and were soggy and limp. Since we ordered a seafood tower, we ate everything else which tasted great but, you would think a high-volume seafood place would be serving less than perfect and seafood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I expected more from this place. I’ve had better ceviche at home in Texas. My friends had oysters, and they did get a lot of help from the waitress, but I never developed a taste for oysters and I was sort of forgotten. That said, it is right on the water and has great ambiance. It was overall ok, but I will try another place if I’m in Seattle again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We were in Seattle to run the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. We made Elliott’s our first stop after checking into our hotel.
We had a reservation, checked in, grabbed a beer at the bar while waiting for our table and then we were seated almost right after our beers arrived.
We opted for a platter of seafood to start. Crab, shrimp and oysters. The shrimp was amazing! I must add that I do not say this lightly, as I am a very picky seafood person and usually never have shrimp that is cleaned and prepped to my liking and this was perfect. Both crab options were excellent as well and couldn’t have been more delicious. The oysters were just ok, which was disappointing because we upgraded those too.
Clam chowder was really good too.
Since it was our Anniversary we were treated to a delicious dessert... amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Surprised the service was so indifferent, food was OK but nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Visiting Seattle from FL, DC and Ohio....and cruising on to Alaska. This dinner was the first night our family was together while meeting in Seattle and it was truly a great start to a wonderful trip and cruise. King crab legs, oysters......all wonderful. The Oysters Rockfeller could have been broiled a little longer as the oysters were basically raw under the spinach topping but were good. Would highly recommended this location for locals as well as visitors to the Seattle area.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I chose Elliot's for a business dinner with out of town guests because of the location on the pier and the view (according to Open Table), but I would absolutely not recommend it. Fewer than half of the tables have any sort of view and without one, the place feels like a glorified Red Robin - dated decor, generic furniture and clueless servers, plus mediocre and overpriced food.

The oyster selection was the only redeeming quality, but there are plenty of better restaurant options in Seattle, if that's what you're looking for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

It’s a bit pricey but the seafood is absolutely divine. The fried oysters are beyond good. The location on the waterfront is memorable. The staff are superbly trained. Elliott’s Oyster House will definitely be on my list when we visit Seattle again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We decided to go to Elliott's because of the Copper River Salmon -which is only around for a short while. I used to work at Elliott's many years ago and have fond memories of the food being excellent. The prices have gone up and the quantity down I felt. No bread or starch,which apparently is the trend for high end restaurants these days, was a disappointment. My husband is a big bread fan so this didn't work for him. Sure, we could have ordered bread but for the price of our meal it should have come with!! My salmon was kind of a thin piece and all that came with was asparagus and mushrooms. Lucky for them the view is great and ambiance the same. Our server was good -cracked a few jokes - but service was not really the well oiled machine I once remembered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Oyster selection and quality was exquisite. Good wine selections with many local/regional wines. Fish was fresh and delicious with colorful and creative presentation. Attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The oysters are so fresh. We enjoyed the chowder very much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We were celebrating our first visit to Seattle and this was the perfect place. The restaurant and surrounding area seemed a fantastic example of wonderful city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The food and service were excellent. The location was ideal - right on the wharf! With it being
a lovely area meant loads of people so the place was a bit crowded and loud. Not ideal for a quiet intimate meal but wonderful if you want a lively atmosphere with delicious seafood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Tourist trap!,
Oysters good but extremely overpriced.
Salmon terrible. Over cooked,fatty.
Orders didn't came together to the table.
Would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Was an average meal. Had higher expectations. Service was average as well. Server not very attentive, drinks not refreshed, no follow up after food was delivered, two requests for the bill etc... Great atmosphere. Hoping our experience was simply a fluke.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
93

Tweets by Elliott's Oyster House