About Elliott's on Linden

905 Linden Road
Pinehurst, NC 28374
View Larger Map

When philosophy and action proceed hand-in-hand, something extraordinary happens: a guiding principle is formed.

For Chef/Owner Mark Elliott, that principle is to serve the best and freshest locally produced agrarian products to his guests. It's a principle that was formed in Mark's childhood, and as a young apprentice chef in Southeastern England. Mark would further develop a deep connection to the green grocer, the baker, the fish monger, the butcher, the cheesemaker. Daily sourcing for the kitchens provisions was a way of life.

From this restaurant's first days, Chef Elliott has forged relationships with regional farmers to obtain their produce, livestock and artisan products when they are at the peak of freshness.

Today, Chef Elliott continues to serve guests cuisine crafted from the fresh ingredients that the area's farmers have to offer. It's a principle we live with every plate we serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 5

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 215-0775

Website:
http://www.elliottsonlinden.com/

Catering:
Elliott’s catering is unmatched in making sure your event is perfectly catered & tended. Personalized menus & direct interaction with the chef are always the standard when planning your event. Everything you need is provided so you can focus on the more important matters at hand. Attentive staff & cuisine matching that of the restaurant ensure your guests have a memorable time.

Executive Chef:
Mark J Elliott

Private Party Facilities:
Bring your party to Elliott’s! Accommodations for up to 60 are easily provided. Customized menus, for sit down dinner or hors d oeuvres for your cocktail party are happily provided & served with the elegance & style you expect from Elliott’s.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rabbit Pot Pie
Creme Brulee
Duck
Striped Bass
Braised Lamb Shank
Lamb Loin
Cedar Plank Salmon
Cornish Pasty
Tuna Nicoise Salad
Roasted Pheasant with Bacon and Pancetta.
Pork Chop With Stilton And Pears, Pureed White Yams With Horseradish, Cider Reduction And Kale
Bloody Mary
Mother Earth Endless River Kolsch-Style Ale
Cheddar And Chive Biscuits
Spicy Pork Mofongo
New Holland The Poet Oatmeal Stout
Seared Scallops
Calamari
Pickled Shrimp
Elk
roasted banana
Watermelon Salad
Nc Shrimp Rillettes
Amuse
Chicken Porchetta
Beef Bulgogi
Chicken Ballentine

Elliott's on Linden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best steaks I've ever had, ve ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best steaks I've ever had, very quiet and outgoing waiter who kept up with everything we needed. We had an overall great experience here for our anniversary dinner. We would dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We're from Washington DC but we've spent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We're from Washington DC but we've spent many evenings exploring dining in the Southern Pines and Pinehurst area. Among the handful of pretty darn good restaurants, Eliot's on Linden stands out as the best. I had a seafood special both times we went this week (one based on triggerfish and the other based on halibut); and my wife had their signature salmon on a plank with a Jack Daniels based glaze. Both were 10's - the quality of the fish was impressive; they were not just getting by on the creative preparations. One night we were joined by hungry Army officers who also enjoyed their offerings including duck and steak. Cheese and charcuterie offerings featured local dairy and butcher products and were great. Eliot's menu highlights the area farms that are their suppliers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I, being Pinehurst residents ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I, being Pinehurst residents, have been to Elliot's before and were anxious to take our out of town guests to it. We had early reservations, which was very easy on-line. The food was excellent, the service, Carol, was delightful and very helpful with the menu. She made everything sound so good and patiently repeated the somewhat complex specials. It was a little noisy because a couple got engaged. We never saw the propective groom, but the bride to be came running into the main dining room from the bar to announce their engagement. She was a little more than tipsy, but it was still fun to watch them. The food was fresh, which is the best part of Eliiots. The wine was very good with the meal, but we found the same one at another Pinehurst Restaurant 2 nights later for $11 less. So, the corking fee is a little steep. But, overall, our friends can't wait to come back. They thought the decor was very extremely nice also.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife is a vegetarian. She did not se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My wife is a vegetarian. She did not see anything that appealed on the menu, and we considered leaving. However, the waitress persuaded her that the chef would come up with something she would like. My wife loved the vegetarian pasta that the chef prepared. I had the duck and thought it was superb. The waitress was friendly and helpful in the extreme. I had a very minor complaint that there was a bit too much of a wait after the salad and before the entree arrived. Overall, however, this was an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience all around. I had the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience all around. I had the salmon and it was phenomenal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent wine pairing with ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, excellent wine pairing with help from our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The fish special I ordered was extremely ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The fish special I ordered was extremely salty. I moved to Pinehurst 9 years ago and the food was SPECTACULAR in the past, but the past two times it has been diner quality. I spent $70 on extremely salty fish, to the point my mouth was numb.

I was out with a friend and didn't want to ruin the night, so I didn't complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elliott's is my go to restaurant to unwi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Elliott's is my go to restaurant to unwind, relax, and enjoy some great food and spirits when I travel through the area. I always bring co-workers with me and none of them have been disappointed. Excellent food, service, and ambiance as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my mom's 60th birthday ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went here for my mom's 60th birthday and were blown away by the atmosphere, wine/ cocktails and food. My only complaint would be the noise level (our waitress had a hard time hearing us, but she was VERY nice), and that it took quite a while to get our food. They were also out of the bottle of wine we wanted, so gave us something comparable but ended up being more expensive. Either way, we really had a special evening and will be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Organic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Private Room, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was in a good location an ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The restaurant was in a good location and we were given a recommendation by a friend. There was only one server working and she was clearly working hard but unfortunately we didn't receive a lot of attention. I had the caprese salad pizza and it was more of a flatbread. I didn't like it very much. I would be willing to try the restaurant again but this visit did not wow is by any mean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was fantastic. The waitress ap ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was fantastic. The waitress appeared to know little about the menu (had to read them from notes). At another table, another waitress know them from memory and told other customers of a special that our server didn't tell us was available. They were out of a signature lamb dish and had limited (1-3) plates available with other menu items. They were out of their well vodka and thus limited drinks unless you wanted to pay a $3 up charge.

The food we ordered always great. Service was pathetic, at best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The chicken and waffle was amazing with ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The chicken and waffle was amazing with a sweet and spicy combo, and the rack of lamb was the perfect amount of savory! The scallop ceviche was the best way I've ever had scallops prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a fantastic dinner, just as we w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner, just as we were beginning to lose faith in the touted restaurants! Sarah was our server and she was wonderful. I could have tried so much from the menu but alas I only have 1 stomach to fill. Thank you EOL and Sarah!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Elliott's on Linden does not d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always Elliott's on Linden does not disappoint. Good choices and creative presentations. we will return even though we have to drive nearly an hour to partake. It's worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated our 34 th wedding annivers ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We celebrated our 34 th wedding anniversary. The restaurant congratulated us, sat us by the window and the wait person took our picture and raeally made the evening social. The elk chops and rack of la,b were wonderful. We ordered a very nice bottle of wine which was superb. We will go back to this wonderful gem.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent experience, the food is outsta ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

excellent experience, the food is outstanding, a must-stop when we are in Pinehurst.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Our l ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Our little waitress was new to the restaurant ,but she was great. She was well versed in all the restaurant had to offer. The menu is so varied and every thing was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elliotts is our favorite in Pinehurst! A ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Elliotts is our favorite in Pinehurst! Always delish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation. They set us in the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a reservation. They set us in the bar despite having an empty dining room. We asked to be moved but were turned down.

Waiter forgot bread service and told us the specials after we had already ordered.

Duck was tough, un-sliced and lukewarm.

Restaurant doesn't come close to delivering for the price you pay.

Try others in Moore County.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

May be the best fish tacos that I have e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

May be the best fish tacos that I have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. We had dinner on Fri ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was great. We had dinner on Friday night and were so impressed, we decided to eat dinner here again on Saturday. Great service. Really great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere, food was excellent, gr ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, food was excellent, great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and good service, kitchen ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and good service, kitchen accommodating to special requests as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Our waitress was fant ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service. Our waitress was fantastic. Food was delicious. Enjoyed the calamari for the app., the pork pot pie w/ apricots was flavorful, and the cheese cake w/chocolate graham cracker crust was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special friend's b ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were celebrating a special friend's birthday and they are from out of town. We had an awesome dinner and great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to celebrate our 9 ye ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate our 9 year anniversary and was immediately blow away by the service upon arrival. The hostess managed to arrange the best table in the house within an hour notice. By far the best dinning experience we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambiance and decor was fantastic. Menu ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Ambiance and decor was fantastic. Menu was unique. Specials on board were a little hard to read from our seat. Filet melted in your mouth. Pork tacos were crazy spicy but good. Dessert (Apple/blueberry crumble with ice cream) tasted very good but was barely warm. Would've been better heated up more. Would definitely go back. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have come here for years. Food alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have come here for years. Food always good. One person at the table did not like the way you had to order sides a la carte with some of the entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Commendations for "excellent" service fr ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Commendations for "excellent" service from entering Elliot's, dinner and departing. Food ordered was exceptional and each course arrived with perfect timing. My visiting guest and I never felted rushed and were able to spend our time catching up. Once again, Elliot's never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally delightful, as always. Elliott' ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Totally delightful, as always. Elliott's never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Awesome food and awesome service! Carol ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Awesome food and awesome service!

Carol is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elliott's on Linden has become a fast fa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Elliott's on Linden has become a fast favorite. I love the decor and ambience. The food is original, absolutely delicious and locally sourced. What more could you want? The wine selection is excellent. On the 5-6 times I've eaten at Elliott's the food was superb and the staff very friendly. I recommend the Shrimp & Grits as an appetizer to share (enough for 3-4 people) or as an entrée. The scallops appetizer is divine, as well. For the main course, you can't go rong with the lamb, elk, or the daily seafood specials. If on a low-sodium diet, be sure to mention that. Sometimes the sides are a bit salty for my tastes (fingerling potatoes & veggies). It's expensive, but worth it for a nice evening out or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible farm to table restaurant....m ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Incredible farm to table restaurant....my favorite restaurant in Moore County!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2 entrees and 1 glass of wine tax and ti ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

2 entrees and 1 glass of wine tax and tip $100.

If I am spending $100 there are other restaurants I would opt for.

The wine by the glass was 5/10. The waiter never asked me which I wanted. Just assumed the $10. Soft shell crabs could have been crispier. The duck was tough and too much sauce drowned the plale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Girls night out

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

there were five of us for our "girls night out", we had excellent service, delicious food, ordered across the menu, a couple of us had a starter course with salad, our server had a special dessert made as requested, there was no problem getting individual checks and overall the evening and dinner were terrific. We will definitely do that again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clearly The Best Food

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is definitely our go-to spot for special occasions. The food is always outstanding. The servers are well informed, and courteous, although not the quality of service you might expect for the prices. Classic dishes like Roast Chicken, and Shrimp and Grits are extraordinary, Chicken and Waffles like you've never tasted before!

Easily the best in Moore County.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Just ok

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was ok. Pork chop was decent but the star of the plate was the plantain. My fiancé had salmon - undercooked and overall not very good. The manager comp'ed us the salmon and a dessert, so I appreciated the attempt to make things right.

Best item of the night was the cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I had out of town guests and made a rese ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I had out of town guests and made a reservation at Elliott's. Two people had the two fish specials, one couldn't eat his it was so bad, and the other ate most of his, but said it was dry and overlooked. The third person had pork, which was overlooked and tough. We have been to Elliott's before, and the food is never consistent. I would not recommend this restaurant, as you never know if the food is prepared well or not. Very embarrassing. I would not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great place with a fun and inventive men ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Great place with a fun and inventive menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.