About Elliott's on Linden

905 Linden Road
Pinehurst, NC 28374
View Larger Map

When philosophy and action proceed hand-in-hand, something extraordinary happens: a guiding principle is formed.

For Chef/Owner Mark Elliott, that principle is to serve the best and freshest locally produced agrarian products to his guests. It's a principle that was formed in Mark's childhood, and as a young apprentice chef in Southeastern England. Mark would further develop a deep connection to the green grocer, the baker, the fish monger, the butcher, the cheesemaker. Daily sourcing for the kitchens provisions was a way of life.

From this restaurant's first days, Chef Elliott has forged relationships with regional farmers to obtain their produce, livestock and artisan products when they are at the peak of freshness.

Today, Chef Elliott continues to serve guests cuisine crafted from the fresh ingredients that the area's farmers have to offer. It's a principle we live with every plate we serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 5

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 215-0775

Website:
http://www.elliottsonlinden.com/

Catering:
Elliott’s catering is unmatched in making sure your event is perfectly catered & tended. Personalized menus & direct interaction with the chef are always the standard when planning your event. Everything you need is provided so you can focus on the more important matters at hand. Attentive staff & cuisine matching that of the restaurant ensure your guests have a memorable time.

Executive Chef:
Mark J Elliott

Private Party Facilities:
Bring your party to Elliott’s! Accommodations for up to 60 are easily provided. Customized menus, for sit down dinner or hors d oeuvres for your cocktail party are happily provided & served with the elegance & style you expect from Elliott’s.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rabbit Pot Pie
Creme Brulee
Duck
Striped Bass
Braised Lamb Shank
Lamb Loin
Cedar Plank Salmon
Roasted Pheasant with Bacon and Pancetta.
Pork Chop With Stilton And Pears, Pureed White Yams With Horseradish, Cider Reduction And Kale
Cornish Pasty
Tuna Nicoise Salad
Watermelon Salad
Calamari
Spicy Pork Mofongo
Elk
Mother Earth Endless River Kolsch-Style Ale
Seared Scallops
Bloody Mary
Nc Shrimp Rillettes
Cheddar And Chive Biscuits
Amuse
roasted banana
New Holland The Poet Oatmeal Stout
Pickled Shrimp
Chicken Porchetta
Beef Bulgogi
Chicken Ballentine

Elliott's on Linden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

fit for foodies (32)
special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (20)
See All
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (15)
great for lunch (11)
romantic (11)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance and decor was fantastic. Menu ...

Dined 6 days ago

Ambiance and decor was fantastic. Menu was unique. Specials on board were a little hard to read from our seat. Filet melted in your mouth. Pork tacos were crazy spicy but good. Dessert (Apple/blueberry crumble with ice cream) tasted very good but was barely warm. Would've been better heated up more. Would definitely go back. Reservations recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have come here for years. Food alway ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have come here for years. Food always good. One person at the table did not like the way you had to order sides a la carte with some of the entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Commendations for "excellent" service fr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Commendations for "excellent" service from entering Elliot's, dinner and departing. Food ordered was exceptional and each course arrived with perfect timing. My visiting guest and I never felted rushed and were able to spend our time catching up. Once again, Elliot's never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Totally delightful, as always. Elliott' ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Totally delightful, as always. Elliott's never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and awesome service! Carol ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Awesome food and awesome service! Carol is the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elliott's on Linden has become a fast fa ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Elliott's on Linden has become a fast favorite. I love the decor and ambience. The food is original, absolutely delicious and locally sourced. What more could you want? The wine selection is excellent. On the 5-6 times I've eaten at Elliott's the food was superb and the staff very friendly. I recommend the Shrimp & Grits as an appetizer to share (enough for 3-4 people) or as an entrée. The scallops appetizer is divine, as well. For the main course, you can't go rong with the lamb, elk, or the daily seafood specials. If on a low-sodium diet, be sure to mention that. Sometimes the sides are a bit salty for my tastes (fingerling potatoes & veggies). It's expensive, but worth it for a nice evening out or special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible farm to table restaurant....m ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Incredible farm to table restaurant....my favorite restaurant in Moore County!!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

2 entrees and 1 glass of wine tax and ti ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

2 entrees and 1 glass of wine tax and tip $100. If I am spending $100 there are other restaurants I would opt for. The wine by the glass was 5/10. The waiter never asked me which I wanted. Just assumed the $10. Soft shell crabs could have been crispier. The duck was tough and too much sauce drowned the plale.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls night out

Dined on May 11, 2016

there were five of us for our "girls night out", we had excellent service, delicious food, ordered across the menu, a couple of us had a starter course with salad, our server had a special dessert made as requested, there was no problem getting individual checks and overall the evening and dinner were terrific. We will definitely do that again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Clearly The Best Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is definitely our go-to spot for special occasions. The food is always outstanding. The servers are well informed, and courteous, although not the quality of service you might expect for the prices. Classic dishes like Roast Chicken, and Shrimp and Grits are extraordinary, Chicken and Waffles like you've never tasted before! Easily the best in Moore County.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just ok

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was ok. Pork chop was decent but the star of the plate was the plantain. My fiancé had salmon - undercooked and overall not very good. The manager comp'ed us the salmon and a dessert, so I appreciated the attempt to make things right. Best item of the night was the cheesecake.

food1
ambience2
service3

I had out of town guests and made a rese ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I had out of town guests and made a reservation at Elliott's. Two people had the two fish specials, one couldn't eat his it was so bad, and the other ate most of his, but said it was dry and overlooked. The third person had pork, which was overlooked and tough. We have been to Elliott's before, and the food is never consistent. I would not recommend this restaurant, as you never know if the food is prepared well or not. Very embarrassing. I would not return to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place with a fun and inventive men ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great place with a fun and inventive menu!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Pinehurst!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Best food in Pinehurst!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

2nd visit

Dined on April 12, 2016

This was our second visit. I suspect we chose the wrong things consequently less memorable than the 1st, which was excellent. Service a bit hit and miss.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Pricing Unreasonable

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was very good, but the $200+ bill with tip was unreasonable. When my wife ordered her wine, she misunderstood that $10/$20 pricing was for a half glass vs. a full glass. She got what were termed two full glasses that looked like normal pours for $40. That may have been our mistake, but it seemed a little cagey to me. Since I don't drink wine, I didn't even notice until the bill came. Since we just returned from a 12-day trip to the East Coast, we have eaten in several nice restaurants, but they were all less expensive per person and had food that was, at least, as good in every case. Hope this helps someone. B.I. Barlow

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

A nice find in Pinehurst.

Dined on March 18, 2016

We had a steak, "pink" grouper special and their signature salmon. We think they got something wrong in the kitchen because the steak wasn't really hot and the salmon was 10 minutes later than the other food. But the manager apologized and comped the wine. Restaurant aficionados might complain but we were friends, having a good time, and weren't in a rush. We all enjoyed our food and would certainly go again when in Pinehurst. They think a lot of their wine list noting the prices but we found a very nice red blend for less than $30. The food is a little pricy but certainly not unreasonable with unique items for everyone's taste. Order a half salad with dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elliot's- Never a bad decision!

Dined on March 17, 2016

We dine at Elliot's several times a year. We go back because we've never had less than exceptional experiences there. The occasion this time was our ninth anniversary. When I made the reservations, I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary. The team there made special entre plans and brought out complimentary champagne. We celebrated a special evening and enjoyed a fabulous meal, wonderful wine from their cellar, excellent deserts, and stellar service. I give them five stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Setting and Food

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had a lovely dinner with excellent, freshly prepared food. They were quite busy the night we were there with a special event, but they still treated us well and we had a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT

Dined on March 8, 2016

Our 30th wedding anniversary was celebrated here with just one thing to say: EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT. The best dinner food we've ever had, along with the service.... and we have traveled a lot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as always..... scrumptious

Dined on March 5, 2016

the food and service were phenomenal. Elliotts is always our first choice for our Real Estate firms get togethers. Lots of choices for everyone..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal

Dined on February 27, 2016

Elliot's is a fantastic place. Great food, great service and a warm, inviting atmosphere. In my mind, it's the best restaurant in Pinehurst/Southern Pines despite some very strong competition. The food is very creative and the wine list has great variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. Desert was a little ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was very good. Desert was a little outrageous pricewise, even for a nicer restaurant - and, unless you ask, you wouldnt know until you get the check, because there is no pricing on menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dinner at Elliott's

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a lovely Valentine's Day dinner at Elliott's in Pinehurst. Choices were great but we were pleased with the excellent lamb with veggie and tasty Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert. We will be back to try some of the other items on Mark's menu and wine list. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was great, the staff was professional and we loved the atmosphere! Will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful meals for wife and myself..ser ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful meals for wife and myself..server was amazing..attentive and totally informed with menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Farm to Table innovations!

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Elliott's is my favorite local restaurant. The farm to table menu is unique and delicious. The Chef keeps enough specials that you never get bored with the menu. From a great personal wait staff that remember your name and your favorite drink, to great special nights such as wine tastings or special tasting menus, to just a normal Friday date night - this restaurant never disappoints. A solid wine list tops off the great meal choices!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

All around favorable experience

Dined on January 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our first visit to EOL. We were travelling through the area and chose it for our Anniversary dinner. We arrived ~ 10 minutes early on a very rainy Friday night but were seated immediately at our reserved table even though the pace was full. Our server Eryn was friendly, attentive and helped us through our first time there. EOL seemed to be full of locals returning again and again. Black eyed pea on home made cracker amuse bouche and cheddar/jalapeno mini biscuits were a great start. We shared the daily special appetizer - brisket tacos. Outstanding. We shared a salad (which Eryn had suggested given the size) and were pleased when they came out plated separately. Everything was fresh. Great suggestion. We both ordered the NY strip and they were cooked just as ordered. Very generous cuts. Sides are seasonal (this time of year root veggies) to represent their farm to table commitment. Too full for desert, but Eryn did bring us some small flutes of Prosecco to toast our special occasion. All in all a terrific experience. A little pricey but worth it for a special occasion. Only slight negative was no one from the back of the house came around, but the front of the house service was outstanding. We would definitely recommend to our friends and look forward to visiting again next time we pass through.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time for lunch -- was excellent

Dined on January 13, 2016

we have enjoyed each visit -- ride was worth it for sure -- diuner and /or lunch

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointing NYE dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

I normally love Elliott's, but was not impressed with our experience on New Year's Eve. Despite having a reservation, we had to wait 20 minutes for our table and then we weren't even seated in their dining room or bar area. Instead, they put us in a room where the normally hold art classes. It was bright, loud, and not the ambiance we were looking for. Most notable was the poor service. Our waitress forgot many things we requested and had to be asked several times to bring them. And still there were items we never received. Mosy frustrating was the fact that she was not even the slightest bit apologetic for her repeated mistakes.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

A good hostess is essential.

Dined on December 25, 2015

My husband and I were recommended Elliot's for our Christmas Eve dinner. As we'd arrived early for our reservations, we decided to have a seat at the bar until our table was open. Once seated at our table, we sat for a good 20 minutes waiting for our waiter. My husband got up and made the hostess aware of the lack of service. She said she would get someone right away. We waited for another 10 mins and still no waiter. We decided to return to the bar and order our dinner there with no recognition from the hostess. If it was not for the excellent attention and good humor by the bartenders, we would not have stayed. They were great. The food was excellent as well. All in all we ended up enjoying ourselves. Just a heads up to the chef/owner that a bad hostess can set a negative first impression. Kudos to the young bartenders that turned our evening around and kept it festive!

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fresh local farm to table food

Dined on December 16, 2015

Someone told us to try Elliots for our one night in Pinehurst and I am so glad we went there instead of staying at the hotel. I knew I would like it when I walked in. The bar was so beautiful, modern yet rustic all al the same time. The service was beyond great. Our waitress and another waitress were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. The food was so delicious and they had a good wine selection for me!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service3

The salmon was outstanding as usual!! Di ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

The salmon was outstanding as usual!! Disappointed with elk being served without side dish. Macaroni and cheese about the best around . We come here every year for the elk and salmon but this year the Elk was oddly prepared and although it was always expensive it usually came with side vegetables. Everything else was good. Unfortunately 4 of the 10 of us ordered the elk; for the large price tag it was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

We will be back.

Dined on November 28, 2015

After buying a home in Pinehurst in January, we have been slowly finding our way about the local dining scene. Elliott's on Linden is, so far, tops. Great meal, fantastic staff, and an elegant atmosphere. I would not hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant Great Food

Dined on November 21, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a nice restaurant to go to for our 16th Wedding Anniversary, Since we are so close to Pinehurst and Southern Pines we decided to look there as it would give us a chance to get out of town but not to far away. We looked at some of the reviews and Chose Elliot's on Linden due to the menu seemed to have a few more options than some of the others that came up. We read the reviews and of course you will always have those one or two negative nellie's. I can say it was a wonderful experience form start from getting reservations and looking at reviews on openTable all the way through. We weren't sure of dress code so wife called and was told casual was fine and the biggest thing they wanted was for us to enjoy the food. Getting there was easy as reminder from openTable had all the info on it. We arrived a little early but was able to look at the items the adjoining provision store has in it and finding a few items we wanted to get. When we checked in we were seated right away and our server was full of good information and suggestions and was right on with them all. My wife and I from the appetizer all the way through kept saying this was the best Restaurant that we ever ate at. The mussels were amazing and a must have if you go, My wife's filet was perfect and would melt in your mouth, I had the Rabbit and Pistachio sausage that was recommended and it was awesome. We have been trying to figure the next occasion to go back for but I am sure it will be on our regular list. Our worries were it would be over the top and very pricey but it was neither, Nice down to Earth place with Great food and Service. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

food always fresh and excellent. well w ...

vip
Dined on November 9, 2015

food always fresh and excellent. well worth the drive as location is off the beaten path . daily specials and fresh seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service4

Good service, not food

Dined on November 8, 2015

The service and ambiance was great, however the food was too niche, and was too rustic/pioneer for my party's taste. Was expecting something very different than what we read on the website/others reviews. The pork tenderloin was very tough and had no flavor, which was not expected considering the expirience and hype this restraunt has.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Elliott's Great Again . . . . As Always

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

We've been to Elliott's . . . . . oh, 50 times or more over last 10 years. It's still fantastic and we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent for dinner

Dined on October 28, 2015

We had a mixed group of 8 golfers. It was fun and we all agreed the food was wonderful. There is a special art gallery for groups which our friends were in and that also looked great. Service was also good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.