About Elk Ave Prime

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Pork Chops, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk and 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Maxwell's Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Tim Egelhoff

Private Party Facilities:
Maxwell's Steakhouse boasts a private dining room for up to 80 people as well as our entire establishment should your group expand past our private dining room walls.

Private Party Contact:
Curtis Higgins: 2144371726x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Mountains
Steakhouse
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Crested Butte ›

Notable Wine List (25)
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was very good, but sitting i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was very good, but sitting in the front room was cold since the door was opened so many times letting the cold air breeze through. They really should put in a set of double doors to prevent it. Also, the steaks we bought were good and cooked as ordered. I bought bone in rib-eye for $48, wife bought 6 oz filet for $35 AND these were a la carte! Needed to buy another 2 side dishes for $10 to $15 each. The dinner was about $150 for 2 including tip, and we just had a beer and glass of wine. For those prices I am expecting exceptional food, and it was just "good". The value /price is not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We make an annual trip to Crested Butte ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We make an annual trip to Crested Butte and have made Elk Ave Prime part of our ritual. The food is consistently great and the service is always good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have tried this restaurant five times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have tried this restaurant five times hoping for better steaks, didn't happen. Average food for high dollar price.

The best experience was having Chicken Fried Steak at the bar on their separate bar menu.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Elk Ave Prim ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

This was our first visit to Elk Ave Prime, we started with the deviled eggs which were delicious. Next my husband got the 18 oz Bone in Ribeye, cooked perfectly rare. The filet mignon 8oz that I had was delicious, with a crab cake on the side. The crab cake had great flavor and just the right amount of breading to hold it together. All food is a la carte so you can create a meal that is exactly what you want! Despite the hair ... the rest of the food was delicious, and our server was excellent.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Different name from 2-3 years ago when w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Different name from 2-3 years ago when we were last in Crested Butte, but the same great food. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and my martini was excellent. Would certainly recommend for anyone visiting Crested Butte.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal in this upsc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal in this upscale but comfortable downtown Crested Butte restaurant. Very impressive wine list on an iPad aided by David, our knowledgable waiter, was a nice start to the dinner. Items are pricey but substantial quantity and high quality are noteworthy. My husband and I shared a salad and entree and had plenty of food. We will definitely return to Elk Ave Prime on our next visit to Crested Butte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steaks are expensive.. which is fine ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The steaks are expensive.. which is fine, if the taste aligned with the price. The Wagu steak was very chewy and pretty unimpressive. I spoke with some people who sat next to me and ordered the filet, and they were also unimpressed.

The ambiance was cute and the service was in line with what you would expect from an expensive steak house. I would not go back, however, as I feel there are better places to dine in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant was virtually empty when ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant was virtually empty when we arrived for our 6 p.m. reservation and was packed by the time we left. We had heard good things about the bar menu but chose to eat in the dining room and were not disappointed. There were 4 diners at our table and had a wide variety of items from the menu. The jalapeno corn chowder was a resounding hit! The crab cake appetizer was also delicious and easily split. The deviled eggs sounded more promising than they were, with a little bacon and sea salt but still pretty bland. The steaks were almost all a la carte and very expensive but really not much more than a good steakhouse anywhere. The chicken entree was delicious and enough to split between 2. I had the house salad with "bistro steak" and the honey balsamic vinaigrette dressing and it was stunning! We were too full for dessert but the tap beer offerings were plentiful and the wine list had a wide variety of choices. I will certainly go back the next time I'm in CB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waygu strip steak and waygu carpaccio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Waygu strip steak and waygu carpaccio outstanding. Sous Vide pork belly still makes me salivate. Sides, big and yummy. Wine list...one of the best in the West.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the view! Restaurant was very clean ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the view! Restaurant was very clean and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We are never disappointed at Elk Prime!! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are never disappointed at Elk Prime!! The wine list continues to grow with fabulous wines and the steaks.....simply the best. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here on a vacation to Crested B ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We dined here on a vacation to Crested Butte and it was nice. My wife had the salmon and said it was excellent. I had the bone in KC strip which was outbid the ordinary for me as I love a good filet cooked right. It was ok but I wish I would have gotten the filet. I also had the regular Mac and Cheese which was outstanding. The wine list is extraordinary and if you appreciate fine wines I am sure you can find something you will like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My husband and my favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and my favorite restaurant in Crested Butte. It has the food, wine and service of a big City with the ambience and charm of CB. We can go there with the kids/group or on a date night. Perfection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! I don't know where to start on how ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wow! I don't know where to start on how fabulous our experience and meal was at Elk Ave Prime! The service was fabulous! Everybody works together and the process is practically seamless from refilling water to removing plates to bringing the next course. The food was incredible. Our appetizer was made from all local ingredients. The steak was off the charts amazing! The side dishes were plentiful enough to share. We didn't save enough room for dessert although I'm sure they were just as amazing as everything else! We will most definitely dine here again when we return to Crested Butte. You should too ... you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service from front desk on into me ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great service from front desk on into meal. Food incredible. One of our faves. See you next trip!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience in every r ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience in every respect although the noise level somewhat inhibited table conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They went out of their way to acknowledg ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They went out of their way to acknowledge our anniversary. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We came to Elk for a date night. At fir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We came to Elk for a date night. At first the waiter was attentive and friendly, however, he became less so as the night progressed. The food was terrible. I had the sword fish and I ordered it medium- it came out completely rare. So rare, in fact, that I could barely cut it. My husband ordered the most expensive steak on the menu, also medium. His came out completely rare as well. After the waiter dropped off the food, we hardly saw him. He didn't even check in to see how the food was. At a steakhouse with steakhouse prices, we were extremely disappointed and will not go back. Such a bummer as we live here half the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

They were out of several key menu items. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

They were out of several key menu items. Food was good, but value low.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Awesome food. Curtis the owner made cert ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Awesome food. Curtis the owner made certain everything was to our liking.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding, and the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was outstanding, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times....we alwa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have eaten here many times....we always love the drinks, appetizers, service and quality food. Crabcake appetizer is a must! The kitchen was a bit off on this particular night as 3 of our 4 steak orders were botched. Curtis came to the table to personally apologize and comped our entire meal. Not necessary but he did it anyway. Outstanding service on his part and it shows how much he cares about his customers experience. Definitely stands out in my book!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

For some reason it was seriously smokey ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

For some reason it was seriously smokey in there - --

But some of the best food in CB for certain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food and service was top quality. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service was top quality. I only wish we could have eaten there more than once. It was a memorable dining experience for my Australian cousins, who are real international foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual food and service were excellent ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As usual food and service were excellent and met expectations

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A world class steak house in a little to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

A world class steak house in a little town in the Rockies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great prime selection

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Extremely pleased with experience. The food and service are great, I've had the dry aged ribeye and the waygu ribeye, my wife had the smoked chicken both visits. Constructive critiques are as follows: The al a carte sides option is a little annoying, especially since the sides are meant to serve two but some items come with sides (smoked chicken) so my side with the steak is a doubled portion. First visit was last fall and we were seated by the door to the patio area, it was chilly and the traffic in and out was a little distracting. The second visit was spring, we were seated right next to the fireplace and buy the end of the meal, I was dying of heat stroke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dinner in Crested Butte

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We had a fabulous last night in town dinner. Everything was superb including the excellent wine that was recommended by the waiter. The appetizer fish pate was fabulous as was the filet mignonette. Sides of mushrooms and the appetizer Brussels sprouts were tasty. The dessert we selected was the cherry cobbler and the bread pudding, both were excellent.

Highly r commend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect environment and perfect food!

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Perfect environment and perfect food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bartenders have been upgraded, Food was very good

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

We have eaten at Elk Ave and its prior incarnations many times over the last decade. At our most recent visit the food was certainly good but the standout was our bar tender and server, Cole. He went out his way to get to know us, in a professional manner. We went back the next night for drinks and he remembered us both by name. He is such an upgrade. Elk Ave should be proud to have him on their team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elk avenue prime

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Good spot in Crested Butte for a steak with a first class wine list. Excellent service and a entertaining atmosphere in a Colorado mountain town environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Best fine dining in CB. It is expensive but certainly worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The BEST restaurant in town!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We are always pleased with the food at "Prime" in a town with so many great restaurants to choose from, the service is great and very professional, and they are kind enough to allow Aaron of Mountain Spirits to hold his wine class there during Ski season. Their food pairing for these events is wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eaten here multiple times

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

I have eaten here multiple times, I am always very excited to go back! However this time was very disappointing. I ordered the only steak that comes with sides and there was a sauce on it that wasn't on the menu. I didn't care for it at all, I left more than half of the meat and was not happy. I was with 4 others and one ordered the petit filet, while everyone else's steak looked divine, her's resembled more of a flat hockey puck. Not sure I'll run back there next time like I always have in the past....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

CB steakhouse

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Pleasant steakhouse with nice atmosphere. However pricey and loud. Our table was somewhat in entryway with a terrible draft and kids backed up to our table. The steak wasn't prepared as requested but okay. If you get a Bloody Mary be prepared; very spicy. I would try this restaurant again, but at best at was just good, not excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal in Crested Butte

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Not fussy but the food was a homerun. The staff was so welcoming to my 8 month old and the noise level was perfect that she didn't bother anyone but that it was not too loud to hear the people at the end of the table.

Best meal we had in crested butte, hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Solid Steak House

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a really great time here on Valentine's Day. Shared the Fried Brussels Sprouts appetizer, which was great and we each had a rib eye. The steaks were cooked right and high quality (spring for the wagyu if you can). Great job on the cocktails. Flourless Chocolate Cake made for a nice finish. Kitchen smoothly accommodated a food allergy. Top notch service, friendly and professional. Will return next time we are in Crested Butte.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible Food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Elk Ave Prime had a special on boneless buffalo ribeye the night we went It was burnt, flavorless and tough. They served a tray of bread before the entree arrived -- which was heavy as a lead weight. We also ordered the potatoes au gratin and truffled corn -- couldn't tell the two dishes apart in terms of flavor or looks. Yuk!

Horrible place. The room was smoky and hot.

Stay away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

great atmosphere bad food.

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Sadly this restaurant has everything going for it except taste. Beautiful atmosphere exceptional service perfect location. The food unfortunately was bland at best. Our steak wasn't seasoned in the least. We ordered a side of mushrooms and cheddar potatoes. The mushrooms were over cooked and dry. Our potatoes were simply mashed potatoes without any flavor topped with a bit of white cheddar. Zero flavor here. We were so disappointed. I don't mind paying the price they request for good food but when you don't even finish the meal because it's too bland that's unacceptable. I think I'll send them a box of seasoning for Christmas 😜

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Another great meal

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I try to eat at Elk Prime Ave at least once every time that I visit Crested Butte. During peak season didn't change the product and I'm glad for that. Another great experience!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.