About Elk Ave Prime

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Pork Chops, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk and 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Maxwell's Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Tim Egelhoff

Private Party Facilities:
Maxwell's Steakhouse boasts a private dining room for up to 80 people as well as our entire establishment should your group expand past our private dining room walls.

Private Party Contact:
Curtis Higgins: 2144371726x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Crested Butte ›

notable wine list (13)
special occasion (10)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
romantic (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding dining experience in every r ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding dining experience in every respect although the noise level somewhat inhibited table conversation.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They went out of their way to acknowledg ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They went out of their way to acknowledge our anniversary. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We came to Elk for a date night. At fir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We came to Elk for a date night. At first the waiter was attentive and friendly, however, he became less so as the night progressed. The food was terrible. I had the sword fish and I ordered it medium- it came out completely rare. So rare, in fact, that I could barely cut it. My husband ordered the most expensive steak on the menu, also medium. His came out completely rare as well. After the waiter dropped off the food, we hardly saw him. He didn't even check in to see how the food was. At a steakhouse with steakhouse prices, we were extremely disappointed and will not go back. Such a bummer as we live here half the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

They were out of several key menu items. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

They were out of several key menu items. Food was good, but value low.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Awesome food. Curtis the owner made cert ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Awesome food. Curtis the owner made certain everything was to our liking.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding, and the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was outstanding, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times....we alwa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have eaten here many times....we always love the drinks, appetizers, service and quality food. Crabcake appetizer is a must! The kitchen was a bit off on this particular night as 3 of our 4 steak orders were botched. Curtis came to the table to personally apologize and comped our entire meal. Not necessary but he did it anyway. Outstanding service on his part and it shows how much he cares about his customers experience. Definitely stands out in my book!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service was top quality. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service was top quality. I only wish we could have eaten there more than once. It was a memorable dining experience for my Australian cousins, who are real international foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual food and service were excellent ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As usual food and service were excellent and met expectations

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A world class steak house in a little to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

A world class steak house in a little town in the Rockies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great prime selection

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Extremely pleased with experience. The food and service are great, I've had the dry aged ribeye and the waygu ribeye, my wife had the smoked chicken both visits. Constructive critiques are as follows: The al a carte sides option is a little annoying, especially since the sides are meant to serve two but some items come with sides (smoked chicken) so my side with the steak is a doubled portion. First visit was last fall and we were seated by the door to the patio area, it was chilly and the traffic in and out was a little distracting. The second visit was spring, we were seated right next to the fireplace and buy the end of the meal, I was dying of heat stroke.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dinner in Crested Butte

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We had a fabulous last night in town dinner. Everything was superb including the excellent wine that was recommended by the waiter. The appetizer fish pate was fabulous as was the filet mignonette. Sides of mushrooms and the appetizer Brussels sprouts were tasty. The dessert we selected was the cherry cobbler and the bread pudding, both were excellent.

Highly r commend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect environment and perfect food!

 
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Perfect environment and perfect food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bartenders have been upgraded, Food was very good

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

We have eaten at Elk Ave and its prior incarnations many times over the last decade. At our most recent visit the food was certainly good but the standout was our bar tender and server, Cole. He went out his way to get to know us, in a professional manner. We went back the next night for drinks and he remembered us both by name. He is such an upgrade. Elk Ave should be proud to have him on their team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elk avenue prime

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Good spot in Crested Butte for a steak with a first class wine list. Excellent service and a entertaining atmosphere in a Colorado mountain town environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Best fine dining in CB. It is expensive but certainly worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The BEST restaurant in town!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We are always pleased with the food at "Prime" in a town with so many great restaurants to choose from, the service is great and very professional, and they are kind enough to allow Aaron of Mountain Spirits to hold his wine class there during Ski season. Their food pairing for these events is wonderful!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eaten here multiple times

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

I have eaten here multiple times, I am always very excited to go back! However this time was very disappointing. I ordered the only steak that comes with sides and there was a sauce on it that wasn't on the menu. I didn't care for it at all, I left more than half of the meat and was not happy. I was with 4 others and one ordered the petit filet, while everyone else's steak looked divine, her's resembled more of a flat hockey puck. Not sure I'll run back there next time like I always have in the past....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

CB steakhouse

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Pleasant steakhouse with nice atmosphere. However pricey and loud. Our table was somewhat in entryway with a terrible draft and kids backed up to our table. The steak wasn't prepared as requested but okay. If you get a Bloody Mary be prepared; very spicy. I would try this restaurant again, but at best at was just good, not excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal in Crested Butte

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Not fussy but the food was a homerun. The staff was so welcoming to my 8 month old and the noise level was perfect that she didn't bother anyone but that it was not too loud to hear the people at the end of the table.

Best meal we had in crested butte, hands down.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Solid Steak House

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a really great time here on Valentine's Day. Shared the Fried Brussels Sprouts appetizer, which was great and we each had a rib eye. The steaks were cooked right and high quality (spring for the wagyu if you can). Great job on the cocktails. Flourless Chocolate Cake made for a nice finish. Kitchen smoothly accommodated a food allergy. Top notch service, friendly and professional. Will return next time we are in Crested Butte.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible Food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Elk Ave Prime had a special on boneless buffalo ribeye the night we went It was burnt, flavorless and tough. They served a tray of bread before the entree arrived -- which was heavy as a lead weight. We also ordered the potatoes au gratin and truffled corn -- couldn't tell the two dishes apart in terms of flavor or looks. Yuk!

Horrible place. The room was smoky and hot.

Stay away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

great atmosphere bad food.

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Sadly this restaurant has everything going for it except taste. Beautiful atmosphere exceptional service perfect location. The food unfortunately was bland at best. Our steak wasn't seasoned in the least. We ordered a side of mushrooms and cheddar potatoes. The mushrooms were over cooked and dry. Our potatoes were simply mashed potatoes without any flavor topped with a bit of white cheddar. Zero flavor here. We were so disappointed. I don't mind paying the price they request for good food but when you don't even finish the meal because it's too bland that's unacceptable. I think I'll send them a box of seasoning for Christmas 😜

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Another great meal

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I try to eat at Elk Prime Ave at least once every time that I visit Crested Butte. During peak season didn't change the product and I'm glad for that. Another great experience!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Night Out With Friends

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

First let me say I am uncertain of why there are so many negative reviews. We all had a fabulous dining experience and though it pricey you are in a mountain town so to be expected. Filet were the choice for the evening and even though it could have been a bit more rare than it came out it was still flavorful. The sides are large enough to share so we ordered the creamed corn, risotto, and the white cheddar whipped potatoes. All were fantastic! We skipped dessert which I regret but was way too full. The food was delivered in a timely manner to the table and the service was good. If you are looking for a nice night out I would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rather average and not good value for money.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This restaurant was pretty typical for a tourist town, overpriced and underwhelming.

I ordered the bone marrow as an appetizer, and there was barely any marrow in it. The main meal of steak and potatoes was pretty much a standard "meat and veg" plate and certainly not worth the asking price.

It is a typical problem in a resort town where a $150 meal turns into a $250 meal for no good reason. It wasn't a total disaster but we won't be going there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A freezing gristly experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This is a review for dinner on 2/6/16. The room was very cold!! Almost half of us had to wear our down jackets to try to keep warm. Imagine digging into your $50 steak wearing your heavy jacket. One couple even walked over to the fireplace in the corner to try to get warm, but were disappointed to learn that it was only decorative and didn't produce heat.

The owner/chef apologized for the cold conditions, and explained that the building was old and the heater didn't work well and it was cold outside. A small space heater was set next to our tables, but it had no noticeable effect on the cold room.

So, all of us just froze while we ate dinner.

On to the food: The brussel sprouts appetizer was super super good. We also had the smoked trout dip, and it was pretty good, but too much horse radish and not enough smoked trout. My date had the Wagyu Steak (sp?), and it was great. The cheesy potatoes side was also really good.

I had the 18oz ribeye. Unfortunately, it was fatty, gristly, and over cooked. It was outrageously poor for $50. Think the same kind of steak you would get from The Sizzler, but at 4x the cost. The restaurant boasts USDA Prime cuts, but this glue factory escapee was far from that standard. I was shocked by the incongruence between price and quality.

The O/C came by to ask about our meals, and I lied and said everything was fine because at that point we were freezing our a$$e$ off, and we just wanted to get the heck out of there and get warm. A do-over is better than nothing, but, for $50 for just the steak, it should be right the first time. I only ate about a 1/4 of it, and took the rest with me in a doggy bag, but ended up dropping it in the first dumpster I passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent choice for dinner in Crested Butte

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Nice location on Elk Ave, good atmosphere, excellent menu and wine list. Service was top notch. The bar scene looked inviting, too. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is an ok place

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The sides were lukewarm and not very tasty and the lamb chops were almost all fat. The fillet was good, but nothing special.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful again!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

My husband and I went here again this year and had a wonderful meal of Elk, fois gras, and escargot. Great house salad also. Just excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We had an expensive meal with wine, appetizers, steak, and dessert. Most food was very good. Great wine list! Server was very nice but food came out all whacky. Several times food came from the kitchen but wasn't ours. Our food was served before our appetizers.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Poor quality beef

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Bison ribeye was tough and without flavor. Apps and sides also bland.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Great night out.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Arrived early for our reservation. Enjoyed a glass of wine at the bar. Friendly bartender and good service. Our table was ready exactly on time. Buffalo steak I ordered was done perfectly and delicious. My wife had a flank steak salad that she enjoyed. Sides were tasty and the service was impeccable. Next time in Crested Butte we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and everyone was so nice. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great service and everyone was so nice. Best item we had was the ravioli appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Menu changes

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Wish you could order from the bar menu while dining at restaurant. When you have children it's best to sit in chair instead of a bar stool. Bring back chicken fried elk!!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food should never be srved cold.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

We chose Elk Prime because it was our second time eating there and also not much to choose from on Thanksgiving in Crested Butte. Our first experience was June of 2015 and was ok. The service was decent and food was also decent. We knew going in there was a limited menu. The food served was decent tasting except all of our meals were cold. I don't mean room tempature cold but cold cold. Then they ran out of a few things like dessert. So for 25 dollars we got cookies not even fresh baked or warm. Just stale cookies for 25 dollars. The restaurant itself is amazing but the service and food quality is not up to par in my opinon. Winter or not food should never come out cold period.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

All you can eat - not!!!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Thanksgiving dinner - made reservations and paid for all we can eat. They did not have stuffing nor pie (apple, pecan, or pumpkin) but turkey was very good. Did not give seconds on sweet potatoes. Service was slow and did not offer discount on food. Used to be Maxwells which had rep of bad service - thought new place would change the rep. Not sure Id eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great service and food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We made a reservation, arrived early and seated promptly. The dinner was a birthday celebration and the guest of honor received a free delicious dessert, large enough portion for sharing. Dinner was awesome, service great, and we sat by the stone gas fireplace. Lovely!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit was better!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Great quality food and service. Loved the pasta dish and the steaks! The bread pudding dessert is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Jarred was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was to die for, steaks and veggies done perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.