About Elk Ave Prime

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Pork Chops, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk and 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Maxwell's Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Tim Egelhoff

Private Party Facilities:
Maxwell's Steakhouse boasts a private dining room for up to 80 people as well as our entire establishment should your group expand past our private dining room walls.

Private Party Contact:
Curtis Higgins: (214) 437-1726

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
See All
Fireplace (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Romantic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and great service. Couldn't ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and great service. Couldn't have been happier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our birthdays h ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our birthdays here and had great food and even better service. This is one of our favorites in this area.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Traditional steakhouse with great steaks ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Traditional steakhouse with great steaks, awesome specials and decent cocktails. Family-sized sides are plenty for two.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food ruined by robotic uninspi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food ruined by robotic uninspired service. Steakhouse should not rush service. It was clear that rushed service was ingrained in the staff which is unacceptable at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

This was one of the most amazing dinners ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was one of the most amazing dinners I have had in a long time! Better than power house Steakhouses in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in CB!! ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in CB!! Julie and Curtis are amazing owners. The wine list always includes some well priced surprises and is always changing. The food is fabulous, from the steaks to the cauliflower steak, always spot in.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, , Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service... nice restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and service... nice restaurant in a small town

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to this restaurant o ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We have been coming to this restaurant on a regular basis. We have a second home here and it is one of our favorites because they have food for every member of our family: carnivores, omnivores and vegetarians/gluten free.

Their menu is original "deconstructed tuna roll"? My husband had the elk ossobuco which he thought was a bit dry. My daughter had the deconstructed tuna as a starter and another tuna dish as an entree. Both were very good. I had the fried green tomatoes (delicious) and the cauliflower steak as my main course (loved it, I had half of it for lunch, the next day!)

The chef came to our table to introduce himself, which I thought was a nice gesture. Our server, Alex, was a lovely young lady who knew the menu well and couldn't have been more accommodating answering our questions.

There are cheaper options for dining at Crested Butte, like Secret Stash (really, really good pizza) or Slogars (delicious fried chicken), but Elk Ave Prime is know for its steaks and they do those really, really well. We'll be back!

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out with the family - we had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great night out with the family - we had some kids with us that wouldn't have finished an expensive entree, and they were very gracious to let us split dishes and just order family style sides for the table

We loved the bacon appetizer - all food was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The filet and the smoked potato AuGratin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The filet and the smoked potato AuGratin were so good we ate at Elk twice in one week while in CB over Christmas break. Nice wine list too and everyone was knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic steaks. Excellent sides and ap ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

fantastic steaks. Excellent sides and appetizers. Wine menu very good as well. Highly recommend. Pricey but worth it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit overrated for the price. I think ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A bit overrated for the price. I think they're getting the price from ambiance more than steak quality. $12 for a basic glass of Cabernet? We'll go to the Wooden Nickel next door next time...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were there over Christmas week when C ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were there over Christmas week when CB was very crowded. We were seated right on time for our reservation though, received prompt, attentive service, including wine recommendations from the owner, had four perfectly cooked steaks and great side dishes.

It's not cheap, but it was easily the best dining experience we had in Crested Butte. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pampered by service, blown away by the f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Pampered by service, blown away by the food. What a beautiful warm place.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, loved the atmosphere and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was great, loved the atmosphere and food as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought the prices were mightily high ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I thought the prices were mightily high for a low key ski town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great steak and fantastic service. It wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great steak and fantastic service. It was cold outside but warn inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive steak place. Good wine selecti ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Expensive steak place. Good wine selection, also expensive. Good steaks. Son got Elk, said it is great.

Ask for seat away from door to avoid repetitive cold blasts. They need a double door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Christmas dinner. Glad we were seated i ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner. Glad we were seated in the corner by the windows - felt cozier than being in the middle of the room. Steaks were expensive but delicious. Sides just okay. don't recommend the ceasar but rest of the party liked the wedge salad. Main complaint was that everything came out at different times so by the time everyone had their food the sides and a couple of entrees were not warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We drove up to CB for the holidays on Ch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We drove up to CB for the holidays on Christmas day, and arranged dinner here. What a fantastic experience! The food was amazing and the service was great as well. We sure made some long lasting memories with this dinner. I highly recommend it. Even my kiddos loved it as well!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place. The steaks are amaz ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love this place. The steaks are amazing! The service and staff are attentive and gracious. The noise level is just right. You can have a conversation and yet loug enough for children. We will be coming back again and again.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a regular and have never been disapp ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I'm a regular and have never been disappointed. Best Steakhouse and Restaurant in CB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and nice wine list. Second ti ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and nice wine list. Second time this week for our family. If you are looking for a good steak with nice wine in CB this is the place to go. They are very attentive to your needs and have a varied menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was AMAZING and our waitor was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was AMAZING and our waitor was exceptional. It was a little noisy but overall a great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but the food was outstanding .Pro ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Pricey but the food was outstanding .Probably the best lamb I've ever had and I've had a lot. Hubbs had the Texas wagyu strip and was thoroughly impressed. sides were delicious as well. Need to mention the staff as well, (above and beyond) .My son was having growing pains and they hunted down some aspirin for him ,which was much appreciated

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat here every time we are in Crested ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We eat here every time we are in Crested Butte. Great cuts of meat. Everything is always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We all ordered something different. Two ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We all ordered something different. Two said they would order their entree again. Two said they were disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Thanksgiving buffet was very good and th ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was very good and the appetizers were spectacular. Recommend to everyone.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, , Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Thanksgiving buffet! All th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving buffet! All the favorites everyone was better than the last one. Pecan and pumpkin pies finished us off!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our Thanksgiving meal here, and w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had our Thanksgiving meal here, and we were not disappointed with the special buffet they put out for this meal. Not only was everything tasty but the service at our table was excellent, with staff making sure we had everything we needed. It made for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Over priced for the quality of food. Gre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Over priced for the quality of food. Great service. I've tried this restaurant 3 different times and to me is not worth trying again. Compared to what else CB has to offer this is not worth eating at. It's nice people watching, having a cocktail and maybe an app. I would rather spend my money at Soupçon for a true fine dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate Thanksgiving dinner there and it ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We ate Thanksgiving dinner there and it was uninspired. It had all the traditional foods plus prime rib. The stuffing was more like polenta, the roasted vegetables were dull and the salad was simple. On the other hand, the prime rib and the bread pudding were quite good. I would have liked a cheese sauce with the veggies, gravy boats on each table, stuffing made with bread crumbs or corn bread and apple pie with more apples than crust. I recognize Thanksgiving dinner is not their specialty but for the price, I expected more creativity.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Off-season in Crested Butte can be total ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Off-season in Crested Butte can be totally awesome - like Elk Ave Prime being open but not completely full on a Sunday night at 6:00! Our waitress was fantastic, the cocktails were delicious (my favorite was the ginger Cosmo!) and dinner was totally awesome! We started with salads, which were very good and nice-sized. I ordered the bone-in rib-eye for dinner, cooked medium, and a side of oven-roasted vegetables. The steak was cooked perfectly and was SOOO good! The vegetables...well, they were not so great, but I didn't come to Elk Ave Prime for the vegetables, so I can move past that. My husband ordered the lamb chops dinner special, which came with mushroom risotto, and everything was cooked perfectly and was delicious...and the risotto...oh, it was outstanding! For dessert, we ordered the cherry cobbler - takes a few minutes to be baked, but is worth the wait (seriously, it's not long...8 minutes maybe?)!

The wine list: it is definitely robust and worth checking out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the elk special and it was delicious ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had the elk special and it was delicious! Nice ambience. Dessert choices not too great but steak and elk were awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday here ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday here. The wine list is excellent and both of our meals were delicious. My husband had the filet mignon cooked to perfection with the Cabernet Demi-glaze sauce and fried Brussel sprouts. I had the chicken fried tenderloin with cream gravy, white cheddar mashed potatoes and grilled vegetables. We highly recommend both and look forward to returning to Elk Ave Prime very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walk into the warmth of a fireplace surr ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Walk into the warmth of a fireplace surrounded by thick logs and the feeling you have just entered an old lodge. Service is excellent; very attentive and knowledgable. Our 6 and 8oz filets were cooked perfectly. There is a nice list of sides that will easily serve two. We had the cheesy Mac and cheese which was perfect. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner in Crested Butte, second ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great dinner in Crested Butte, second time there this vacation. It's a spot I always hit when there, either for lunch or dinner, or both. The Medium Well larger filet my dinner companion ordered was overly cooked.... a bit charred. The waiter offered to replace it, but it was already over half eaten (not the charred part). The waiter did take if off the check. He was tipped as though we had been charged the full amount, as he was extremely attentive and diligent. Great dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to try some of the local game ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We wanted to try some of the local game meat; so we gave Elk Ave Prime a try.I had the Bison Ribeye and my wife had the duck. I enjoyed mine; it was properly cooked, and had a nice flavor. I thought the wine list was too inflated price wise. I don't like to pay more than a 100% mark up over retail; I think that's gouging...

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was very good, but sitting i ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The service was very good, but sitting in the front room was cold since the door was opened so many times letting the cold air breeze through. They really should put in a set of double doors to prevent it. Also, the steaks we bought were good and cooked as ordered. I bought bone in rib-eye for $48, wife bought 6 oz filet for $35 AND these were a la carte! Needed to buy another 2 side dishes for $10 to $15 each. The dinner was about $150 for 2 including tip, and we just had a beer and glass of wine. For those prices I am expecting exceptional food, and it was just "good". The value /price is not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.