About Elk Ave Prime

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Pork Chops, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk and 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Maxwell's Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Tim Egelhoff

Private Party Facilities:
Maxwell's Steakhouse boasts a private dining room for up to 80 people as well as our entire establishment should your group expand past our private dining room walls.

Private Party Contact:
Curtis Higgins: 2144371726x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Notable Wine List
Mountains
Steakhouse
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Crested Butte ›

Notable Wine List (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Historic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thanksgiving buffet was very good and th ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was very good and the appetizers were spectacular. Recommend to everyone.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Thanksgiving buffet! All th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving buffet! All the favorites everyone was better than the last one. Pecan and pumpkin pies finished us off!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our Thanksgiving meal here, and w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had our Thanksgiving meal here, and we were not disappointed with the special buffet they put out for this meal. Not only was everything tasty but the service at our table was excellent, with staff making sure we had everything we needed. It made for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Over priced for the quality of food. Gre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Over priced for the quality of food. Great service. I've tried this restaurant 3 different times and to me is not worth trying again. Compared to what else CB has to offer this is not worth eating at. It's nice people watching, having a cocktail and maybe an app. I would rather spend my money at Soupçon for a true fine dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate Thanksgiving dinner there and it ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We ate Thanksgiving dinner there and it was uninspired. It had all the traditional foods plus prime rib. The stuffing was more like polenta, the roasted vegetables were dull and the salad was simple. On the other hand, the prime rib and the bread pudding were quite good. I would have liked a cheese sauce with the veggies, gravy boats on each table, stuffing made with bread crumbs or corn bread and apple pie with more apples than crust. I recognize Thanksgiving dinner is not their specialty but for the price, I expected more creativity.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Off-season in Crested Butte can be total ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Off-season in Crested Butte can be totally awesome - like Elk Ave Prime being open but not completely full on a Sunday night at 6:00! Our waitress was fantastic, the cocktails were delicious (my favorite was the ginger Cosmo!) and dinner was totally awesome! We started with salads, which were very good and nice-sized. I ordered the bone-in rib-eye for dinner, cooked medium, and a side of oven-roasted vegetables. The steak was cooked perfectly and was SOOO good! The vegetables...well, they were not so great, but I didn't come to Elk Ave Prime for the vegetables, so I can move past that. My husband ordered the lamb chops dinner special, which came with mushroom risotto, and everything was cooked perfectly and was delicious...and the risotto...oh, it was outstanding! For dessert, we ordered the cherry cobbler - takes a few minutes to be baked, but is worth the wait (seriously, it's not long...8 minutes maybe?)!

The wine list: it is definitely robust and worth checking out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my husband's birthday here ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday here. The wine list is excellent and both of our meals were delicious. My husband had the filet mignon cooked to perfection with the Cabernet Demi-glaze sauce and fried Brussel sprouts. I had the chicken fried tenderloin with cream gravy, white cheddar mashed potatoes and grilled vegetables. We highly recommend both and look forward to returning to Elk Ave Prime very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the elk special and it was delicious ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had the elk special and it was delicious! Nice ambience. Dessert choices not too great but steak and elk were awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Walk into the warmth of a fireplace surr ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Walk into the warmth of a fireplace surrounded by thick logs and the feeling you have just entered an old lodge. Service is excellent; very attentive and knowledgable. Our 6 and 8oz filets were cooked perfectly. There is a nice list of sides that will easily serve two. We had the cheesy Mac and cheese which was perfect. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner in Crested Butte, second ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great dinner in Crested Butte, second time there this vacation. It's a spot I always hit when there, either for lunch or dinner, or both. The Medium Well larger filet my dinner companion ordered was overly cooked.... a bit charred. The waiter offered to replace it, but it was already over half eaten (not the charred part). The waiter did take if off the check. He was tipped as though we had been charged the full amount, as he was extremely attentive and diligent. Great dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to try some of the local game ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We wanted to try some of the local game meat; so we gave Elk Ave Prime a try.I had the Bison Ribeye and my wife had the duck. I enjoyed mine; it was properly cooked, and had a nice flavor. I thought the wine list was too inflated price wise. I don't like to pay more than a 100% mark up over retail; I think that's gouging...

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was very good, but sitting i ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The service was very good, but sitting in the front room was cold since the door was opened so many times letting the cold air breeze through. They really should put in a set of double doors to prevent it. Also, the steaks we bought were good and cooked as ordered. I bought bone in rib-eye for $48, wife bought 6 oz filet for $35 AND these were a la carte! Needed to buy another 2 side dishes for $10 to $15 each. The dinner was about $150 for 2 including tip, and we just had a beer and glass of wine. For those prices I am expecting exceptional food, and it was just "good". The value /price is not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We make an annual trip to Crested Butte ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We make an annual trip to Crested Butte and have made Elk Ave Prime part of our ritual. The food is consistently great and the service is always good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have tried this restaurant five times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have tried this restaurant five times hoping for better steaks, didn't happen. Average food for high dollar price.

The best experience was having Chicken Fried Steak at the bar on their separate bar menu.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Elk Ave Prim ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 21, 2016

This was our first visit to Elk Ave Prime, we started with the deviled eggs which were delicious. Next my husband got the 18 oz Bone in Ribeye, cooked perfectly rare. The filet mignon 8oz that I had was delicious, with a crab cake on the side. The crab cake had great flavor and just the right amount of breading to hold it together. All food is a la carte so you can create a meal that is exactly what you want! Despite the hair ... the rest of the food was delicious, and our server was excellent.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Different name from 2-3 years ago when w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Different name from 2-3 years ago when we were last in Crested Butte, but the same great food. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and my martini was excellent. Would certainly recommend for anyone visiting Crested Butte.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal in this upsc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal in this upscale but comfortable downtown Crested Butte restaurant. Very impressive wine list on an iPad aided by David, our knowledgable waiter, was a nice start to the dinner. Items are pricey but substantial quantity and high quality are noteworthy. My husband and I shared a salad and entree and had plenty of food. We will definitely return to Elk Ave Prime on our next visit to Crested Butte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steaks are expensive.. which is fine ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The steaks are expensive.. which is fine, if the taste aligned with the price. The Wagu steak was very chewy and pretty unimpressive. I spoke with some people who sat next to me and ordered the filet, and they were also unimpressed.

The ambiance was cute and the service was in line with what you would expect from an expensive steak house. I would not go back, however, as I feel there are better places to dine in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant was virtually empty when ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant was virtually empty when we arrived for our 6 p.m. reservation and was packed by the time we left. We had heard good things about the bar menu but chose to eat in the dining room and were not disappointed. There were 4 diners at our table and had a wide variety of items from the menu. The jalapeno corn chowder was a resounding hit! The crab cake appetizer was also delicious and easily split. The deviled eggs sounded more promising than they were, with a little bacon and sea salt but still pretty bland. The steaks were almost all a la carte and very expensive but really not much more than a good steakhouse anywhere. The chicken entree was delicious and enough to split between 2. I had the house salad with "bistro steak" and the honey balsamic vinaigrette dressing and it was stunning! We were too full for dessert but the tap beer offerings were plentiful and the wine list had a wide variety of choices. I will certainly go back the next time I'm in CB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waygu strip steak and waygu carpaccio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Waygu strip steak and waygu carpaccio outstanding. Sous Vide pork belly still makes me salivate. Sides, big and yummy. Wine list...one of the best in the West.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the view! Restaurant was very clean ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the view! Restaurant was very clean and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We are never disappointed at Elk Prime!! ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are never disappointed at Elk Prime!! The wine list continues to grow with fabulous wines and the steaks.....simply the best. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here on a vacation to Crested B ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We dined here on a vacation to Crested Butte and it was nice. My wife had the salmon and said it was excellent. I had the bone in KC strip which was outbid the ordinary for me as I love a good filet cooked right. It was ok but I wish I would have gotten the filet. I also had the regular Mac and Cheese which was outstanding. The wine list is extraordinary and if you appreciate fine wines I am sure you can find something you will like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My husband and my favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and my favorite restaurant in Crested Butte. It has the food, wine and service of a big City with the ambience and charm of CB. We can go there with the kids/group or on a date night. Perfection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! I don't know where to start on how ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wow! I don't know where to start on how fabulous our experience and meal was at Elk Ave Prime! The service was fabulous! Everybody works together and the process is practically seamless from refilling water to removing plates to bringing the next course. The food was incredible. Our appetizer was made from all local ingredients. The steak was off the charts amazing! The side dishes were plentiful enough to share. We didn't save enough room for dessert although I'm sure they were just as amazing as everything else! We will most definitely dine here again when we return to Crested Butte. You should too ... you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service from front desk on into me ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great service from front desk on into meal. Food incredible. One of our faves. See you next trip!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience in every r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience in every respect although the noise level somewhat inhibited table conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They went out of their way to acknowledg ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2016

They went out of their way to acknowledge our anniversary. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We came to Elk for a date night. At fir ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We came to Elk for a date night. At first the waiter was attentive and friendly, however, he became less so as the night progressed. The food was terrible. I had the sword fish and I ordered it medium- it came out completely rare. So rare, in fact, that I could barely cut it. My husband ordered the most expensive steak on the menu, also medium. His came out completely rare as well. After the waiter dropped off the food, we hardly saw him. He didn't even check in to see how the food was. At a steakhouse with steakhouse prices, we were extremely disappointed and will not go back. Such a bummer as we live here half the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

They were out of several key menu items. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

They were out of several key menu items. Food was good, but value low.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Awesome food. Curtis the owner made cert ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Awesome food. Curtis the owner made certain everything was to our liking.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding, and the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was outstanding, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times....we alwa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have eaten here many times....we always love the drinks, appetizers, service and quality food. Crabcake appetizer is a must! The kitchen was a bit off on this particular night as 3 of our 4 steak orders were botched. Curtis came to the table to personally apologize and comped our entire meal. Not necessary but he did it anyway. Outstanding service on his part and it shows how much he cares about his customers experience. Definitely stands out in my book!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

For some reason it was seriously smokey ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 4, 2016

For some reason it was seriously smokey in there - --

But some of the best food in CB for certain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food and service was top quality. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service was top quality. I only wish we could have eaten there more than once. It was a memorable dining experience for my Australian cousins, who are real international foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual food and service were excellent ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2016

As usual food and service were excellent and met expectations

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A world class steak house in a little to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2016

A world class steak house in a little town in the Rockies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great prime selection

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Extremely pleased with experience. The food and service are great, I've had the dry aged ribeye and the waygu ribeye, my wife had the smoked chicken both visits. Constructive critiques are as follows: The al a carte sides option is a little annoying, especially since the sides are meant to serve two but some items come with sides (smoked chicken) so my side with the steak is a doubled portion. First visit was last fall and we were seated by the door to the patio area, it was chilly and the traffic in and out was a little distracting. The second visit was spring, we were seated right next to the fireplace and buy the end of the meal, I was dying of heat stroke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dinner in Crested Butte

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We had a fabulous last night in town dinner. Everything was superb including the excellent wine that was recommended by the waiter. The appetizer fish pate was fabulous as was the filet mignonette. Sides of mushrooms and the appetizer Brussels sprouts were tasty. The dessert we selected was the cherry cobbler and the bread pudding, both were excellent.

Highly r commend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect environment and perfect food!

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Perfect environment and perfect food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.