Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Elixir

4.8
537 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Local Ingredients
Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(802) 281-7009
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chad Lumbra
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Amtrak station nearby.
Additional
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking
What 537 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Unimpressive outer appearance belied a wonderful inner charm. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Food was excellent in taste and presentation. My wife's dish included asparagus, which she doe not like very much. We asked if we could switch her vegetable with mine. Not only did they willing accommodate our request, but the reorganized the presentation to incorporate the changes. This added to the wonderful experience. In addition, they have some very good wines at very reasonable prices. We enjoyed the dinner immensely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding. Food was incredibly fresh and tasty, and service friendly and efficient Worth a detour when heading to Vermont or New Hampshire

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent as usual! Can't wait to go back. I don't want to write more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

This is our local favorite: consistently wonderful food, thoughtful staff, and nice atmosphere. They take excellent care of me as a celiac as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

BEST restaurant in New England. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

A wonderful atmosphere from the time you step into the restaurant. Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Dinner was excellent, as it always is at Elixir. My wife's crispy chicken thigh and my veal saltimbocca were both innovative and yummy. Importantly, Elixir has the best $7.50 cocktails that we've experienced anywhere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

I love the Elixir Restaurant in White River Junction, Vermont and highly recommend it. The truffled french fries are a wonderful starter. We also enjoyed a seasonal starter that was special that night: wild morel mushrooms , gnocchi, spinach and a great sauce. My main course was the chicken thigh which sounds simple but is incredibly delicious, served with a square of polenta, sauteed mushrooms, spinach, capers and a scrumptious sauce.
Our server that evening was outstanding. She was very attentive and made it a very special meal. I've eaten in restaurants in France and Italy over the years, and so I have some experience.
She was a very special server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Elixir continues to be my go to restaurant when I’m in the area of White River Junction. The food is fabulous and the prices are more than fair given the exceptional quality of the ingredients and preparation. The cocktails are creative and an amazing value. The bad news is that parking is becoming harder to find (but always possible), which is great news for downtown White River Junction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This is a favorite of ours. The food is excellent and consistently so. The service is superb.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Service was very attentive. When I bill came a little too attentive got the feeling we were being rushed out the door once our entree plates were removed even though we still had cocktails on the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Always consistent good food, fun cocktails, friendly staff. Love this place, wish we lived closer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Host was excellent and made us feel very welcome. Our server was pleasant enough but left us unattended for quite a while.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great food and service in a pleasant atmosphere. Very friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Just as good today as when it first opened. The food is fresh, beautifully presented, and full of flavor. You won't find better desserts in the Upper Valley. The wine list is comprehensive and fairly priced. Skip and Jane are welcoming hosts and the waitstaff are the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Always a pleasure to dine at Elixir. Good food and drinks with great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellently prepared dishes. Plenty of variety. Elixir successfully challenges
our taste expectations. Lovely! The veal saltimbocca was marvelo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

One of my favorite places. Close to home and every one there knows us!
Only place to get a Crazy Jane cocktail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Always a great dining experience each and every time we have been here! It is a great place to combine a theatre night at Northern Stage with dinner at Elixir. Always keep it in mind for that special occasion or when friends and family are visiting the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I brought my husband to Elixir for our anniversary. Our meals were delicious and the staff was wonderful. Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

It was fantastic!!!! Everything!!!! The food was great the service spectacular!! It always is wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Best veal Inever had, and I’ve had alot. It’s artfully done. The last bese veal I had was a place in Virginia called Landini Brothers that had held the best veal crown with me for over a decade.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We always try to eat here when we go to a play or opera in the area. The food and service are both excellent and if you ask them to make sure you are done in time to make a curtain, they will do so. It's even better to get there with time to spare to better enjoy the meal, but we came down from Montpelier (50 miles) after work for a 7:30 show at Northern Stage and had to squeeze the meal into about one hour and they made it work without rushing us. It is a short menu, but they do all of it well and their full bar has excellent selections for wines and cocktails.
My only note of caution is to avoid the two-tops around the perimeter of the room if you are averse to sitting under an ac vent. On a hot day it's great, but it can be a bit chilly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Delicious meal and excellent service. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Elixir is a very pleasant place to have a meal. The food is delicious and well presented.
The vegetarian risotto is a favorite and the truffle fries are a must have!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I'm having trouble finding the words for this review, because I haven't had service this good in at least a decade. Completed tailored towards our date night, my significant other and I had an exceptional and lovely experience here. Every request we had took on a level of consideration by the waitress (Lynn) that I have not experienced beyond top-tier venues. I certainly did not expect such a gem to exist so conveniently located between where my significant other and I live.

I wholeheartedly give a full recommendation to visit Elixir, and if especially on a date night, you should be treated to quite the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

It was a quiet night, our original four for dinner changed to 3 with a good fried driving 100 miles to join us ( when we told her it was elixir!!).
We were served by our favorite gal, Lynn. She is polite, knowledgeable and knows dining protocol.
The food: we 2 gals selected the Scallop special served with an incredible gentle cheese sauce which enhanced, not over powered the delicate dry sea scallops. My husband selected the salmon and literally would have licked the plate. (That's when the red hen bakery baguette comes in handy)
We will continue our patronage, this restaurant is a real value and excellent addition to the upper valley offerings. Kate

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We went early in order to go to a nearby show. The service was excellent and timely and the food was delicious. It is a wonderful restaurant to have in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Delicious dinner. Scallops were superb! Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

A great restaurant with excellent service! It does not disappoint....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This was our second visit to this restaurant
Food and service was great both times
I had salmon and my wife the scallops
Both were cooked perfectly
We passed on dessert this time but for our next visit
Will try their homemade ice cream
Which is said to be terrific

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent evening; it Elixir lived up to the reviews. This was a get together for a good friend and I. White River Junction was our half way point and, no offense, but WRJ is not a place I would look for fine dining options.
The restaurant and bar seating area was full at 6pm. There was a pre-theater crowd lending a busy but not overwhelmingly active and loud crowd. I informed our waitress Lana that we were not in any rush and wanted to have a leisurely dining experience. Lana was great! A few times were noticed she would sneakily walk by looking for the slightest gesture that we might be ready for the next drink or to order apps or the entree.
Beside the service, it was obvious the bartender was enjoying himself interacting, serving and mixing drinks for the restaurant patrons. I ordered the Elixer Manhattan, my buddy a martini--both were very good.
The menu is limited but offers chicken, seafood, beef and vegetarian fare and all made in house. The crab stuffed calimari was a surprising treat! I have never had a calamari tentacle stuffed and the spicy red sauce was a great combination. My friend ordered the vegetarian risotto and was extremely pleased. My petit filet mignon was perfectly cooked to desired temp and was juicy and tender.
We spent three hours enjoying our company and food. We did not look at the desert menu but maybe another time!
For two apps, two drinks each and two entrees, total bill was just over $100--a great bargain!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Your selection criteria could use some work... "Vegan... vegetarian.... paleo?" Good for a laff I suppose ...

Elixir is superb.

The owners/managers are sincere dedicated pros and we we very lucky to have them here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Wanted to go for a nice dinner out with my husband. Very nice atmosphere. Everybody for the individual greeting us at the door to all servers were extremely friendly, helpful and polite. Nice menu with multiple good options. Food was nicely portioned and very tasty! Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great food and service. The owner, Skip, not only greets you, he makes sure to offer sincere thanks when you are leaving. It is a great place for date night, everyday dining and pre-theater at Northern Stage or the Briggs Opera House. A restaurant for adults though I am sure kids are welcome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Another pre-theater supper. Service, as usual, was timely and friendly. Food is fresh, mostly local, imaginative and attractively presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It had been a while since our last visit, and both of us remarked that we were foolish to wait so long. The food is excellent, the service is superb. Ambiance along the train tracks with the evening Montrealer coming through is trendy, upscale and comfortable. I had filet mignon cooked perfectly to my request. She had the risotto, also prepared with skill. A wonderful, but too brief evening due to a quick exit to a show. Thanks Elixir staff for accommodating us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We are locals and have frequented Elixir several times, and it is always quite good. The menu choices are always unique, and every time we go, the meals are downright winners. It was both our anniversary and dinner before a show, and the staff checked with us about our evening plans and made sure we were finished with plenty of time to make our show. And they did it without making us feel rushed. The desserts are to die for - we had the raspberry chocolate lava cake - just right for splitting - but it was a tough choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We really enjoyed our dinner. The food and service was excellent. The owner took the time to come to our table and chat. Very nice man, and apparently a conscientious employer. We'll return!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14