About Elixir

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Vermont
Best Food
Vermont
3 More
Best Service
Vermont
Best Value
Vermont
American
Vermont
Best Restaurants in White River Junction ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Casual (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Historic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (9)
Authentic (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely delicious. Awesome menu and g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely delicious. Awesome menu and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was very good, just a bit loud! T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Dinner was very good, just a bit loud! The service was outstanding. We were seated quickly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised to find suc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful restaurant in White River Jct! We were immediately asked whether we were attending a show (which we were), and the food service was timed appropriately. Drink selections are extensive and inexpensive. The menu features a variety of dishes. We tried the salmon and the steak, and both were excellent. I highly recommend Elixir! Great atmosphere and good service in addition to excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are lucky to have a gem like this in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We are lucky to have a gem like this in the neighborhood. Food is always extraordinary and the menu is always changing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was beyond comparison, absolute ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was beyond comparison, absolutely delicious! Great service, special recognition to Brenna for such pleasant, high quality service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant knows how to serve you a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant knows how to serve you a wonderful evening of great food and service. I went with the truffle dip sauce and fries for a starter then pan seared scallops with truffle mashed potatoes. It was SUPER and served hot and timely. Do yourself a flavor and try Elixir out, you won't be disappointed. The owner greeted us and was sure to say comeback next trip, We will make a return trip.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little difficult to find as it is set ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A little difficult to find as it is set back from the road but what a find! Our meals, a filet and shrimp scampi, were excellent. The shrimp scampi was different than usual but excellent. The filet was perfect. Owner is very pleasant to talk with. Brenna, our server, was outstanding. Excellent wine list with reasonable prices. I wished I lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went here with my wife as we were in the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here with my wife as we were in the area. Very pleasant atmosphere with excellent food and service. Surprised at the modest cost. Will go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional in all categories - atmosphe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Exceptional in all categories - atmosphere, service,fine dining options, & personal attention by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough good things about thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. As far as my wife and I are concerned it's the best place to eat in Vermont. We love the food , owner and wait staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and inviting. Great staff. Good f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Warm and inviting. Great staff. Good food and a solid value. What could be better!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a really good vibe. Food and drinks ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a really good vibe. Food and drinks were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went to Elixir before seeing a play d ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We went to Elixir before seeing a play down the street at Northern Theater. We were seated right away, which was nice because we were on a bit of a schedule. The service was extremely efficient and pleasant. The food was very good. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You felt very welcomed Gracious friend ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

You felt very welcomed

Gracious friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was great but they didn't ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The restaurant was great but they didn't have my reservation when we arrived. So if we had made it for a later time through open table we probably wouldn't have been able to get a seat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful meal. Delicious food, perfect ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful meal. Delicious food, perfect serving size.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't say enough about this place. Skip ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Can't say enough about this place. Skip has a great love for his work and it shows. Great waitstaff, bartenders and food! Definitely a must book in the Upper Valley

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal - the best I've had in th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent meal - the best I've had in the area. Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and festive for a birthday dinner. S ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun and festive for a birthday dinner. Service was friendly and attentive. Lively atmosphere. Many older patrons, probably going to the theatre nearby. Appetizers were good and fun to share. Filet mignon and Scallops were particularly delicious entrees. They comped the birthday boy's dessert. Good wine. Cold cappuccino was the only disappointment. Worth the drive from Hanover or beyond. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere, a real gem in White River Junction.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed a tasty dinner! Ingredients f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We enjoyed a tasty dinner! Ingredients fit well together.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We look forward to a meal at Elixir ever ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We look forward to a meal at Elixir every October when we vacation in Vermont. Great food and quality of service. Interesting location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

excellent food. very fair wine prices. g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

excellent food. very fair wine prices. good service. Only complaint is very limited menu options.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have a very nice dinner w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great place to have a very nice dinner with family. Menu is limited but the food is exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends suggested we go there for dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Friends suggested we go there for dinner. All of us had the filet mignon which was cooked perfectly! The caesar salad was delicious and the desserts were amazing. We had a molten lava cake with Chambord as well as the creme brulee. They were besutifully presented and the molten lava cake was something I never had before...delicious! The waitstaff was very attentive filling our water and wine glasses as well as making sure we had everything we needed! Watching the trains go by was also entertaining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with some friends of mine befo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went here with some friends of mine before a concert. We had an early reservation because we were unsure how long the meal would take us. The place was pretty empty when we first got there but soon filled up. People of all ages, some with kids others without, some obviously on dates. The atmosphere fit all occasions.

The proportions were fair, tasted great and the prices reasonable. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in on Amtrack which was 1 plus h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We came in on Amtrack which was 1 plus hour late and caused us to miss our dinner reservation when we called they told us not to worry they would seat us ASAP and that was within 10 min of getting there. The food was incredible, the owner was seating people and talking to everyone to make sure it was a great experience. Prices were in line with a great restaurant. Would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great to have locally brewed craft be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

So great to have locally brewed craft beer on tap! thanks Elixir!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to have dinner here. G ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always a pleasure to have dinner here. Great buzz (but not loud), great ambiance, genuinely welcoming staff, beautifully plated food. I've been a regular for half a dozen years, and each visit feels special. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were going to be traveling by White R ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were going to be traveling by White River junction and have been wanting to try Elixor. It was a bit tough to get a reservation so call ahead for sure. The overall evening was great. The food well prepared, the wine list very good and reasonable, the wait staff attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our Upper Valley favorite ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is one of our Upper Valley favorites, and we have never failed to have an excellent meal and a good experience. It is one of our favorite places!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly service in a pleasant setting w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Friendly service in a pleasant setting with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable meal as always. We would ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very enjoyable meal as always. We would prefer that the meats were sourced more from local farms.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went on a whim and were more than ple ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went on a whim and were more than pleasantly surprised. Elixir was outstanding. Clearly the best food we have had in the Upper Valley. The ambiance was excellent and the service superb. Their cocktails were not over priced and the food from presentation to amount and taste was wonderful. Easy to recommend as one of the best in the area!! Two thumbs up (only because I have only two thumbs)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not easy to find, but worth it! Industri ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Not easy to find, but worth it! Industrial area. Welcoming. Personable. Delightful service. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On Tuesday, September 6, 2016, my wIfe a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

On Tuesday, September 6, 2016, my wIfe and I had dinner with three friends. Our dinner was excellent. The food was very tasty. The service was also excellent. One of our guests had his birthday then. They brought a cake with a candle for his birthday. That was very nice. The owner, Skip, honored my request to have a quiet table. The Chef is very reliable.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the pantheon of restaurants in the Up ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

In the pantheon of restaurants in the Upper Valley, Elixir stands out for quality of food and good service. The wine list is short but well selected, proving that one doesn't need a copious cellar to deliver a satisfying selection to customers. The menu makes use of local ingredients wherever possible, and the dishes are creatively designed and prepared . A very "uptown" place is the resurgent downtown of White River Junction

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was excellent, priced about rig ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was excellent, priced about right and the service was superior.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

limited menu but delicious food and exce ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2016

limited menu but delicious food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding menu selections, delicious v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding menu selections, delicious variety, impeccable service, reasonably priced. You'll never go wrong eating at Elixir for any occasion!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.