Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Elixir

4.8
502 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Special Occasion
Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(802) 281-7009
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chad Lumbra
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Amtrak station nearby.
Additional
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking
What 502 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service. The owner, Skip, not only greets you, he makes sure to offer sincere thanks when you are leaving. It is a great place for date night, everyday dining and pre-theater at Northern Stage or the Briggs Opera House. A restaurant for adults though I am sure kids are welcome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Another pre-theater supper. Service, as usual, was timely and friendly. Food is fresh, mostly local, imaginative and attractively presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

It had been a while since our last visit, and both of us remarked that we were foolish to wait so long. The food is excellent, the service is superb. Ambiance along the train tracks with the evening Montrealer coming through is trendy, upscale and comfortable. I had filet mignon cooked perfectly to my request. She had the risotto, also prepared with skill. A wonderful, but too brief evening due to a quick exit to a show. Thanks Elixir staff for accommodating us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We are locals and have frequented Elixir several times, and it is always quite good. The menu choices are always unique, and every time we go, the meals are downright winners. It was both our anniversary and dinner before a show, and the staff checked with us about our evening plans and made sure we were finished with plenty of time to make our show. And they did it without making us feel rushed. The desserts are to die for - we had the raspberry chocolate lava cake - just right for splitting - but it was a tough choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We really enjoyed our dinner. The food and service was excellent. The owner took the time to come to our table and chat. Very nice man, and apparently a conscientious employer. We'll return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

First time visiting both the town and restaurant. Loved everything about the restaurant. Service and food excellent and in a well restored freight building. Enjoyed chatting with the owner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Elixir salad excellent as were seared scallops special and shrimp scampi on menu. Terrific waitress.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

As a vegan used to going to high end restaurants, I was some what disappointed. I attempted to ask about possible substitutions, but was dismissed. I was then served a pretty sad looking salad with about 10 spinach leaves and a couple nuts. It’s important for restaurants to be flexible with customers that require some changes due to dietary restriction. Additionally, a customer should NEVER feel mocked for their dietary restrictions as I was by our waitress . All that being said, my friends enjoyed their meals and the atmosphere was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

As always we had an amazing meal with amazingly personal service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The quality of the food was tremendous! Everyone in our group of five was delighted with their meal. Of course we are particularly fond of Bartender Sean! I recommend Elixir without reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We were delighted with our evening at Elixir.... our waitress was quite knowledgeable and helpful....
We will recommend all our friends to visit !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

This restaurant is over 100 miles away from us, but we make it a point to visit 3 or 4 times a year. The food and service at this restaurant are top notch. Menu changes seasonally plus there are always specials. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

No matter where we dine we always compare it to Elixir! The owner, Skip, is warm and welcoming and always reserves our favorite table by the window s we can watch the trains go by. Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Elixir is always a sure bet for an enjoyable dining experience. It’s the perfect combination of excellent food, wine, atmosphere, and service. Skip is is seasoned professional when it comes to restaurant management. There is a reason they don’t have to advertise.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great food and experience. Moderately pricey and somewhat cramped bar. Will go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Excellent food! Great service. Prices very reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great food and wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Excellent food. Love this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. Three of us had the petite filet and all ordered it differently and were all satisfied. The 4th ordered the special of braised beef and was equally pleased. Our server was attentive, friendly and professional. I would highly recommend Elixir for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

What a gem..this was a recommendation from our Marriott Hotel...we had a great meal, met one of the owners and thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and our dinner. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

My wife and I have eaten many times at Elixir – we consider it to be THE restaurant of choice in the Upper Valley. Like many places popular with young people these days, it's a bit noisy; so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with hearing issues. That said, everything else is first rate. Ambience, service, choice and quality of wine and food...all are excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The scallops were great. Warehouse atmosphere. Kind of scruffy parking but it is an old area. Next door to a music venue.
Wait staff and front desk very friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Despite it is small town, but food was delicious, I enjoyed the veal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Again, or perhaps that should be ‘as always’ fabulous!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I love Elixir because of the quality of the food, the atmosphere and the service. Its a grown up place : ) The ONLY caveat is that the portions are on the small side. You might need to get that extra app in order to leave full. That being said, they have the best priced wines by the glass in the whole Upper Valley, so you save money there. This is my favorite for before-a-show and when I want to pretend I'm in someplace more chic and cosmopolitan. Very very romantic too. Excellent date night spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This restaurant is a standout in the area, or in any area. Properly made cocktails, a solid wine list, attentive service, and wonderfully prepared entrees (the cocoa-dusted petits filets, as others have noted, are a standout) make Elixir a cut above. When he learned that we are new to the area, the owner came by and had a nice discussion about the general local restaurant scene that made us feel especially welcome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Food and service were excellant! Elixir Manhatten was great. Server was very professional and personable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Excellent food, wine and service. A very attentive staff from the moment you enter the restaurant until you leave. Highly recommend eating here and having a nightcap at the bar after attending a performance at Northern Stage.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Food was delicious but skimpy. Waitress was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Another incredible night at one of our top 5 favorite places to eat - worth the drive from anywhere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Dinner at Elixir is extraordinary! No where in the Upper Valley is there better food or a nicer staff. I had the best lobster bisque I have ever tasted. Not too much sherry, not too much cream and a full 2 1/2 oz of lobster pieces. My entre of scallops on shredded potato was perfect. Both were crisp on the outside and melt in your mouth delicate on the inside. My husband's appetizer of lambchop "pops" was luscious and flavor filled. His veal saltimboca is his favorite item on Elixir's menu. My husband is an extraordinary cook and swears he will never be able to make saltimboca as perfectly as the chef at Elixir. The owners, Skip and Jane dedicate themselves to caring for their staff and their customers which pays off doubly for the customers. Elixir has the most cordial, knowedgeable, and enthusiastic servers anywhere. They clearly like their jobs and add a quality of enjoyment to the dinner that matches the quality of the food. Dinner at Elixir is the best you will ever have in the Upper Valley.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Wonderful evening after a long day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Our waitress was outstanding!! Extremely attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Creative menu for both food and drinks.
The service was excellent, attentive but not intrusive.
We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2018

The food was fantastic. The server was very polite and professional. She did get a bit busy and was delayed in bringing us the items we requested. The gentleman working the front desk was warm and friendly. Overall, it was a great dinning experience. Bravo! I will return anytime I'm in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Another great meal at Elixir
The food is always strong, the staff is even better.
Especially love the bar (thx Sean)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Enjoyed a pre-theater dinner with friends. The servers were attentive, the menu offered good choices, and our dinners were piping hot. The bar is well-stocked and the wine list had a nice selection. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2018

It's always good here...Elixir is one of our favorites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I fondly remember the opening of Elixir many years ago - everyone was so excited to have a new, upscale restaurant in White River Junction. On a recent visit back to Vermont, my friends there suggested we go to Elixir again. The food was scrumptious - friends had the crispy chicken thighs and I had petit filets. Divine and cooked to perfection. Just the right amount of food, not too much, not too little. Our server was delightful and checked in often but not too often. We asked for a quiet area so we could talk and were seated in the small back dining room which was perfect. You can see out into the main restaurant but the noise level is much less! I am so glad Elixir has been so successful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Great great food and cocktails. Service was fantastic too. The waitress and owner seemed to both be locals and were so friendly and appreciative of our business. Oh and the wine......we had a bottle that we know and it was like 20% less than we have seen elsewhere. I think we paid $72 and have paid $50 in a liquor store. Not a bad markup for a restaurant at all.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13