Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Worth the Drive (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Casual (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Healthy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great Beer (9)
Historic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

First time ever dining at Elixir and we are huge fans and will dine there often. Great food, great value. Excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal were delicious, the service professional and friendly, the atmosphere welcoming. I have dined here many times and I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined 7 days ago

Elixir never disappoints. Just a great experience in WRJ as it continues to develop and reinvent itself. Skip is a wonderful host, food is creative, drinks are great and everything is reasonably priced.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderfully attentive service from our waitress ... and the food preparation and presentation were excellent. Ambiance was casual, friendly and personal ... I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates wonderful food for a special night out or who is treating a friend or business acquaintance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had heard about Elixir and decided to check it out. We walked in the door and were greeted by Skip, the owner. His staff, especially our waitress, Gretchen, was very professional, friendly, helpful and accommodating. The menu was eclectic and had something for everyone. The calamari appetizer was superb (stuffed with crabmeat). Both entrees were delicious and presentation was perfect. Everything exceeded our expectations. Definitely THE place in White River Junction and worth the drive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent but I thought the portions were small for the price. I had the shrimp scampi and it literally had only six small shrimp. While I'd recommend the restaurant, you'll want an app, entree, and dessert to avoid leaving hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent choice for fresh, creative food and in a vibrant, urban-chic-meets-Vermont-un-self-conscious setting.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was tasty, though part of my wife's meat was a little over cooked. The ambience was nice though really, not much of a view. Service was excellent. Parking was definitely a problem. Cocktails were excellent. This was not our first visit, nor our last. Elixir is a solid choice. Recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent everything! We've been to Elixir several times over the years and it NEVER disappoints. Great food, staff and service - what more could one ask for? Always dependable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been here twice and the food is top notch! Service was spot on and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a great menu, comfortable, unique in this area, and on par with my favorite Bistro in New York City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

When I made my reservation I indicated the restrictions in my vegan diet. After arriving and being informed of the daily specials, I was pleasantly surprised that the chef added an item especially for me, a vegetable and bean casserole that was wonderful. In addition, both our waitress and the bartender were extremely friendly and personable with their suggestions and information. We felt welcomed and well taken care of and enjoyed our meals immensely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great food, service and interior! My friend and I had a great get-together there enjoying the food, drink and desert.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Really enjoyed my meal and the staff. Came here as a visitor to the area and found them on Trip Advisor. Had a really unique and delicious stuffed calamari as a starter - very good. The Veal was tender and tasty and the gratin was wonderful.

Wish I could go back to night but alas, I am back in Boston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food well prepared and delivered by attentive servers. The scallops were delicious and perfectly cooked, and the truffle fries, as always, are irresistible. The crab stuffed calamari was a new item and was very tasty. The bananas foster bread pudding is a standard and always delicious. We've been here many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always great food and service. I've been to Elixer a number of times and has always been great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

As always the food was interesting and very good. Service was friendly and excellent. We love this little spot of "city" in WRJ. Chip makes you feel like a returning friend. We love to bring our friends to Elixir and no one is ever disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great restaurant never disappoints. Awesome food, good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

In our 2 1/2 years of dining at Elixir, it has never failed to please... excellent food and service and always a great welcome from the owner. A real gem of a place.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Visited Elixir for the first time on my birthday. We sat in a quieter section attached to the main dining area. The Lemon Thyme Martini and Winter Solstice cocktails were very well made. The veal with sage & mushrooms was absolutely the best veal I've had, and came with an excellent gratin. (Veal and Winter Solstice were specials, so sadly may not be on the menu long) The staff were very polite and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We try to visit Elixir at least once per month, it is always a pleasure. The chef and owners have imagination., that is very important to me.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of the better and more unique experiences in the Upper Valley. Skip is a great host and the food and drink are always wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was great and the portions ample. The service was very attentive and helpful. I have eaten at Elixir before and will continue to do so - I feel that I can count on excellent food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Exceptional food and very nice ambiance although a bit noisy for tables in the middle of the room. Service very friendly but a little bit slow. However, others who have time limitations noted that servers have been very accommodating. We will definitely recommend Elixir to others and will return again!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

From first entering Elixir, to the wonderful service and outstanding food, presentation, hand-crafted cocktails and wine list, it was superb. Don't know why we waited so long to try it, but now I'm hooked. Return visits are going to happen. A gem, hidden away but great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and cocktails. Service was excellent. Manager was very accommodating.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was great as was the service. Definitely will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous meal, everything was scrumptious! Excellent service, creative drinks and lots of smiles all around. Don't miss this one!

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This restaurant is perfection. We have been delighted with our dining experience each and every time. The owner, Skip, has great spirit and he is passionate about the food, the service and the clients. We love going to Elixir and always make it a part of our Vermont experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Awesome staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Elixir was a fabulous find! A tiny restaurant in White River Junction, VT near the train station has the food of a five star restaurant anywhere. The drinks and meals were delicious. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The waitress was very attentive. This will be our go-to restaurant now when visiting our son at college.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Healthy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We knew going in that the food would be good, the staff was great and gave honest, helpful suggestions. The owner gave us a tour of the restaurant and its history after our meal, which was completely above and beyond. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Waiter confirmed we were pre theater so ensured we were served with plenty of time to make the curtain. Delectable fresh pea soup followed by pan-roasted cod did not disappoint. Another successful dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Elixir is a special place for food and drink quality and variety. And we have always valued the friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been going to Elixir for years and was glad to see that they'd "joined" OpenTable as it makes it easier to get a reservation. The menu is varied and there are always a couple of interesting specials. Cocoa-dusted petit filet mignons are a perennial favorite and they never disappoint. Serving sizes are perfect and the food and wine are very reasonably priced. It's a big draw for the Dartmouth College community so if you're planning to try it during a college event be sure to get your reservations early. Overall a fantastic casual culinary experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner was a bit slow coming out of the kitchen but we really weren't concerned because we were enjoying the evening. When our bill came, our waitress explained that our 2 desserts and expressions were comped because we had to wait for our entrees. To top it off, the owner/ manager came over after to apologize. Elixir is one class act restaurant and our meals were delicious !!!!! Highly recommend !

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good. We were pleasantly surprised. Drinks were a bit weak but good

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Whenever we travel to Vermont, we begin with reservations at Elixir. There's always a warm welcome, elegant, professional service, in an attractive, cozy historic setting. We have dined in many "fine" restaurants over our 66 years together and have never, ever had fillet mignon as tender, tasteful and perfectly prepared as that which we enjoy at Elixir.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If a restaurant can't cook better than me, it automatically receives a bad mark from me. I'm a gourmet cook and have worked in restaurants as well as catering on my own. I know what's good as well as how things on the menu are to be cooked. Elixir was for me - average. I found the menu to be disappointingly uncreative and ridiculously overpriced. I had the Vegetable Risotto, which was bland and runny and I suspect the vegetables were frozen. The cost? $17.50! The menu had dishes that I have already made myself - and made them cheaper.
I realize that most people aren't cooks and don't have my taste palate - my husband got the Duck and enjoyed it - so I won't say, "don't go". But if you are a foodie, you may be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Elixir is consistently good, both in food and service. In our case, the cauliflower soup was excellent and the eggplant tomato soup was good (though the tomato was so strong we couldn't taste the eggplant). The scallops were very good and the filet mignon was tasty (though we ordered medium-well and got well done). The homemade ice cream was very good (though too sweet). Wine selections were reasonable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.