Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Casual (18)
Romantic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (8)
Great Beer (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Organic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Recommended by a friend as an alternative to Hanover choices. A really great find!! Excellent food, nice service and very good and moderately priced wine list. We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Awesome food, friendly staff and great ambience. Very nice selection of wine too! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food is consistently excellent. The waitstaff polished, professional and attentive. We love it here!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We loved our dinner here! The service was phenomenal, the drinks were delicious, the food was lovely. When you first drive in you may wonder if you're in the right place but once you're inside you know it's the place you were looking for! The next time we are in the area, we will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was great. Loved my salmon dish; although this time of year, it was a tempura scallion not a ramp. (Still delicious though!) Our server was super attentive and very friendly.
Thanks so much for a lovely date night while we were on vacation!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation time but were able to grab a seat at the bar for a drink. Skip promptly came to get us as soon as our table was ready. Choosing our meals was difficult as everything on the menu sounded wonderful. Unique blends of food and seasonings that I never would have thought of. After we made our selections we had some questions about the wine list and again Skip came to our aid. Great recommendation that went well with the veal saltimbocca and seafood ciopinno. After dinner we opted for a taste of grappa after chatting some more with the host/owner. A very fun evening of tasting and visiting. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere very warm and inviting. Don't pass up the opportunity to try this great restaurant. We will be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was wonderful , the waitress was terrific

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent food preparation, timely delivery, excellent service by the wait staff. The noise level was a bit high for these older eardrums.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food as always! I brought my friend from Singapore and he loved the Skipapore Sling and everything we ordered... it was also great to see Skip again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

You have to be paying attention to find Elixir. They have very little outside signage, but it is worth the effort. They've been there nine years housed in an old railroad freight yard brick building in White River. The menu is short and doesn't vary a lot, but the food is pretty close to fine dining and closer than anything else we've found in the White River Lebanon area. The wine list and cocktails are also up to the task. When we go to a show or performance in the area, Elixir is our first choice for dinner before the show.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Skip is a great operator, goes out of his way to accommodate and the food was excellent. There were a variety of dishes which makes this restaurant work for variety of dietary restrictions. Delicious and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and interesting menu. We could actually hear each other talk also.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Food, The Service, The Value - Best in upper Valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We are from D.C. and never miss Elixir when in the area. The noise level can be a bit much during busy seasons, but the food and service and management are first rate.( I'm told there is a " quiet room" which we'll try next trip to VT.)

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Healthy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We have been to Elixir a few times previously and it never disappoints. Great cocktails and well chosen wine list. One of Vermont's finest restaurants and very well priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Portions are way too small. Do not a good value at all , but taste was excellent

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience. The food was great and very fresh. Good wine selection to. Definitely would recommend and return to when we are in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Out of this world delicious mussels and bread for dipping in the incredible broth, not to be missed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

The manager was gracious and attentive. Our wait person had a great sense of humor.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

On Tuesday, July 18, 2017, my wife, our two friends and I had dinner there. It was excellent. The two owners are very friendly and effective. They pay a lot of attention to my request for a quiet table. The service is very good. The food is perfect. We have been there many times.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A special occasion......being with family and celebrating daughter's birthday. Meals were outstanding as usual. Reasonable, delicious, great service. First restaurant of choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have visited Elixir many time now and we always find the food to be excellent, the staff to be superb, and the ambiance fun. As it the past we would certainly recommend Elixir to any and all for whatever occasion might present itself. This restaurant is SO good that one should not wait for any special occasion - just get a reservation, go and enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our meal was terrific with a high level of attention to the small details; inexpensive for such high quality food; wait staff attentive and caring without being intrusive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

As usual, everything at Elixir was perfect....we'll be back soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Skip and his team always put together an amazing experience at Elixir. Whether it is an anniversary, birthday or just meeting friends for dinner, Elixir delivers the right experience. The food is great, the ambiance and environment is inviting and fun, and they even have a separate back table if you have a larger party wanting some seclusion. It is a great place and I cannot recommend it enough!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Our server Teena was absolutely awesome.... incredibly nice and made great recommendations for dinner and dessert. The owner was extremely generous and welcoming as well. HIGHLY recommend the filet dish and bananas foster dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Never disappointed! I just love the simple elegance, great food, laid back atmosphere… That's classy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We have dined at Elixir several times and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. When it's busy, which is often, it can at times get noisy but don't let that discourage you; the food is worth it.

The noise is the only negative I can think of and sometimes wish they would spoil the "old freight house" ambiance for some sound deadening features.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had an outstanding experience at Elixir. Exceptional food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

So glad we learned about Elixir. What a great meal in a restaurant with a great atmosphere. What an amazing hidden gem in downtown White River Junction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Culinary standards remain high at Elixir. Great cocktail. Terrific antipasto. Delicious entrees. Sumptuous dessert. Bravo!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We have been here several times and have enjoyed each the me. Very good food and excellent service. We had the foraged morels as an appetizer - what a treat! They also have a good wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent choice of cocktails and our server was very good. They accommodated my food allergies. The salmon and lentils is my favorite. Nice place for dinner and not too loud. One of the few great food places in the upper valley. Definitely make a reservation!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

LOok no further...this place is wonderful!! We were passing thru from Maine & found this on Yelp & TripAdvisor. It is outstanding, very creative menu, warm friendly service, good healthy choices, very reasonable. Even had wine specials by the glass!! ELixir salad was superb, filets done perfectly, tiramisu was small but Divine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Just an altogether delightful experience. Food, server, wine recommendation all great way to begin the evening that was followed by a Judy Collins concert right down the street. Elixir was an early and continues as an important part of the burgeoning White River Junction "scene".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

As usual we were very happy with our dining experience at Elixir. The waitstaff is friendly and professional and the food is alway delicious! We are always happy to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best in the Valley!! Great food.. Elixar truly is a local gem. You need to experience it.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Skip does a great job and the meals we've had there are consistently good, as is the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place! I'm not big on ambiance but it's got a cool vibe. The back room is quieter than the main dining room. My wife and I were there for the food. I was a professional chef for 10 years, in the nearby area. You will have a hard time finding a comparable restaurant anywhere close. Creative food, without crazy foo-foo menus and just plain delicious execution! Clean, bold flavors in every dish!
Waitstaff was totally professional. Everything was spot on. Highly recommended a visit.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place, food and service. A must go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.