About Elixir

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Vermont
Best Service
Vermont
Best Value
Vermont
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Vermont
Neighborhood Gem
Vermont
Best Restaurants in White River Junction ›

fit for foodies (61)
neighborhood gem (46)
special occasion (39)
See All
notable wine list (22)
romantic (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were staying locally in White River a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were staying locally in White River and rather than driving 20 minutes to our favorite restaurant in the area, we decided to eat in town.

We arrived at 6pm with a reservation and were quickly seated. Menus were proffered and we selected a glass of wine and a local beer from the extremely reasonably priced drinks and wine menus.

For a starter we shared a n order of prosciutto, while for entrees my wife chose the salmon, while I ordered the filet mignon. I could not help but noticing that most mains were priced under $20, unheard of for a restaurant pf this quality. Our food was excellent. We rounded off our meal with some tea and an excellent creme brulee.

The restaurant is very bright and airy and much of those dining seemed to be regulars. A gentleman who appeared to be an owner engaged almost every table in at least a brief conversation. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing and not the slightest bit pretentious.

It is likely we will dine here again when we return to Vermont.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was amazing. The service was a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

the food was amazing. The service was awesome. the only downfall if your celebrating an anniversary ( we were our 21st) not a place were you can talk without almost shouting. Overall, one of our best experiences at a restaurant. We can always talk on the way home

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dinner at Elixir. Love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Elixir. Love the setting and ambiance. Wait staff and chef were very accommodating of our request to split an appetizer, entree and dessert. Cocktails were fun and on the less expensive side. I've already recommended Elixir to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixer offers a small but varied menu--a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Elixer offers a small but varied menu--and the food is always well prepared. I dine here regularly. I just wish they were open every day of the week and for lunch. Fine restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was attentive and quick, and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server was attentive and quick, and we were able to enjoy being together without constant interruptions. The food is some of the best we have eaten in the Upper Valley. Between appetizers, entree and dessert the 5 of us tried 12 different items and they were all top quality. A huge splurge for a very special occasion and a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places in th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in the Upper Valley to dine! We were regulars before we moved to Long Island and now, whenever we are back there, Elixirs is our place to go! Excellent food and beverage and the staff are all professional and courteous. Our hats off to Skip for running such an excellent establishment

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary which we celebrat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was our anniversary which we celebrated with friends. All good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! We found Elixir to have gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What a find! We found Elixir to have great food--- memorable flavor elements and careful preparation. The best restaurant we've eaten at in a 20 mile radius from Lebanon, NH. Better than many restaurants in Boston that are twice the price. Will go again (and again).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

always excellent food always seasonal an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

always excellent

food always seasonal and fresh

fun to watch trains pass by

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding friendly service. Seared Se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding friendly service. Seared Sea Scallops were perfectly prepared. The Truffled Fries were tasty and crispy. Lana was a friendly and attentive server. Absolutely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! I will definitel ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was delicious! I will definitely be back the next time I am heading up to Stowe. Will be sure to time my arrival through WRJ to coincide with dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good. Felt bad for ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very good. Felt bad for our server. She could have used help. We cancelled a round of drinks because we had finished dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service, great food, nice interior ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service, great food, nice interior - external view from inside the restaurant leaves something to be desired.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service would highly ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food and service would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I truly enjoyed my Experience from begin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I truly enjoyed my Experience from beginning to End and so did my Date!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the food, service, amb ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely loved the food, service, ambiance, etc! We consider ourselves foodies and eat out at some fantastic restaurants, but this one is now on the top of our list! Food was fabulous! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! Can't say enough ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was outstanding! Can't say enough about the service. We were stuck in Boston traffic, called to say we'd be an hour or more late, and the host went out of his way to make sure we would have a table when we arrived. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Elixir 's owner provides his guests with a friendly personal greeting, happy to give lots of information about the restaurant. The menu is small, but the dishes we tried were tasty and well prepared. The service was excellent and prices very moderate.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place with excellent food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

You cannot go wrong with Elixir. While the menu is small there is something for everyone, including vegetarians. The appetizers are a must with the mussels ranking at the top followed by the truffle fries. Some of their staples make it a difficult choice, but you can enjoy the options. The portions are just right and leaves room for desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband and I were traveling from Massachusetts to celebrate my sister's birthday. I saw the reviews for this restaurant online and, knowing my sister's discerning palate, thought it would be the perfect choice. It did not disappoint! The food was perfectly prepared and delicious! The wine list was extensive and the owner and staff were all so accommodating in making our meal a happy and memorable occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy drinks and apps.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The mussels in red curry broth were outstanding! Cocktails were fun and summery. The rest of the meal was good. I had delicious scallops, but my husband was underwhelemed by his roast chicken.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great meal at Elixir. Great service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ambience is nice, but service was excellent. Shane was our waiter, interesting and thoughtful. Owner or manager Skip set us up with a nice wine at a very good price point. Overall, value of the meal was extremely good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always A Pleasure

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We go for special occasions, dinner with friends or just 'date night'.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixir is always great food and interesting drinks

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Elixir has the right combination of many things: great foot, light portions, interesting concoctions, excellent attentive staff and management, interesting ambiance, with a bar off to one corner - so not separated, but not overpowering the dining area. Granted, it is in an industrial park along-side the railroad tracks; but that is great when a train rolls through.

Always been a favorite for me and James. Thanks, Dave

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Recommended by friends we were not disap ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Recommended by friends we were not disappointed in the least. From the moment we arrived you felt like you were being welcomed to someone's home and Skip could not have been more gracious to these first timers. The filet mignon which my wife had was fantastic and the scallops were cooked to perfection. Definitely a return visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in White River Junction

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We stumbled upon this wonderful spot through a google search. We were looking for something not too far from Quechee. The ambiance is unique being the space of an old freight house next to the train tracks. We were greeted nicely upon entering and seated right away. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was beautifully plated and delicious. We had the salmon, scallops and fillets. Thumbs up to all. Very nice portions, just right. Some of us even had room for dessert. Local wine and beer was available. We would highly recommend this spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic place for a nice dinner ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What a fantastic place for a nice dinner. The food was seasoned well, not overdone. We had a truffle fries appetizer and it was not drenched in truffle oil.

I had pork osso busco that fell off the bone. Cauliflower was so good, I ate it all. I don't like cauliflower. Companion has scallops cooked to perfection.

Wine list was much varied than I would expect for an off the path place. Nice picks from all over.

Highly recommend a stop here if you are in the area and looking for something more than basic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what I expected...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

After hearing a variety of people talking about Elixer, and how it was all the rage in the area, I made reservations for three of us last Friday.

First I want to say that the service was excellent. From the moment we came through the door, to the bartender to the waitstaff, and the bus staff. Everyone was very attentive and polite.

Atmosphere:

However, from the time we came through the door we were also disappointed with the atmosphere. Not only is the main dining room fairly small, perhaps 30' square, but it is all four hard straight walls with almost no sound absorbing materials. Thus the room was quite loud. I asked the host for a quieter location and he seated us in an even smaller side room, which at the time we were seated (6:30pm) we were the only ones the room and it was great, but with six tables in that small room which quickly filled up, that too became quite loud.

Food:

Two of us ordered the Seared Salmon, which we agreed was simply Excellent. The best piece of salmon we have had in ages, and the Braised Red Cabbage was a perfect compliment.

The third person ordered the Roasted Chicken Breast. After noting that she was only picking at the chicken I asked if it was not good. Said it was dry and overcooked. I tried it and agree, the chicken was poor and the accompanying Mustard-Tarragon Spaetzle was marginal at best, very lack-luster.

Price:

3 entrees, 3 house wines, 1 mixed drink, 1 beer = $118.00 Very respectable.

Overall I can only give Elixer a fair rating, I was so much hoping for more...........

Tags: good for groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Some of the best food I have ever tasted ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Some of the best food I have ever tasted. A top ten in my book. Service was more than could have been expected. A great spot.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find while visiting Dartmouth

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

While visiting our kid at Dartmouth this last weekend, we decided to hop in the car and see what else was in the area. We were thrilled to find Elixir, and had a great dinner with foodie-worthy choices on the menu, excellent preparation, and friendly service. There was also a nice selection of reasonably priced wines and some fun signature cocktails. The bar seems like a lively place for locals. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A can't miss restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We never have had a bad meal or bad experience at Elixir! Highly recommend that you try it out !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't get here as often as I would like ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Don't get here as often as I would like as it is a couple of hours away from us. However, any time we are in the area, this is our go to place. Food is always amazing, and service is pleasant, promo, and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Often pick friends up from the train sta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Often pick friends up from the train station in White River Junction and I was thrilled to find such an excellent restaurant so close. Now, I don't have to rush back to East Burke, VT before the restaurants close. My scallops were amazing and my friend had calamari salad--wow!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a surprise !!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We did not expect such a great ambiance and particularly such a wonderful sort of European style menu. The food was excellent, our waitress very quick and efficient! Can't wait to travel back in this area for an "encore dinner" at Elixir

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best filet I've ever had!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived in town late evening after driving from Burlington. We checked into our hotel, and immediately turned to the need for FOOD!! We quickly made an 'open table' reservation (very easily done!) and headed out. The owner greeted us warmly even though the restaurant officially closing 15 minutes later. The place was comfortably crowded, and not too loud. Drinks were served quickly, thank you very much! The atmosphere was easy and server quite friendly. My partner and I both ordered the filet and we settled in to relax. By the time we ordered another drink (beers), our dinner was served. I am not kidding when I say the beef was cooked to perfection. And along side the mashed potatoes and red wine demi glaze, ahhhhhhhh!!

I was in heaven. Thank you for a great meal!

RR & SM

Burlington, VT

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love Elixir

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Another great meal in White river junction. elixir is a find and worth the trip. We have always enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great and innovative food with excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great and innovative food with excellent personal service. Always a great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elixir serves interesting food well prep ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Elixir serves interesting food well prepared at a great price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, great atmosphere. There's a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere. There's a real a commitment to excellence, but in environment that is friendly, non-stuffy, very comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful find!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We heard about Elixir from friends and finally decided to try it. Great food, good service, wonderfully nice owners. It is now our favorite dinner date spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.