About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Bar Seating (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Casual (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Authentic (10)
Historic (9)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great Beer (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible meals and service. Really un ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

Incredible meals and service. Really unique venue. The salmon and scallops are my personal favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elixir is always good. We've never had a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Elixir is always good. We've never had a bad meal here. Service is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Tina Marie provided great ser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Tina Marie provided great service by suggesting food and wine that paired well with our evening. We return year after year for the pan fried chicken, scallops, and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come often and let be this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We come often and let be this restaurant. One of the best in the area

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to Elixir we seem to ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Every time we go to Elixir we seem to have a great experience and it keeps improving. We met friends who were going for their first visit to Elixir. We ordered drinks and an order of delicious frites to share. Our server, Brenna, was very attentive and offered the specials, and we all chose the dinner special. Veal Saltimbocca. It was served with a potato gratin and asparagus.......in a word, the dinner was superb ! We had a bottle of nicely priced zinfandel

and topped it all off with two desserts for the table which we shared. It was a busy Friday night, and there were several tables that turned, but it was never distracting. Great service with great food......it explains why Elixir is so popular and why you should always make a reservation or else you will be waiting to be seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at Elixir. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at Elixir. The service was excellent Abby did a great job.

The food and drinks were outstanding. I recommend Elixir enthusiastically.

Tags: , Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is just a wonderful eating place with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It is just a wonderful eating place with always a warm welcome from the Owner.He has taken an old railroad warehouse an made it a place for dining, excellent food, fun atmosphere, with bar and comfortable table settings . The waitstaff are there with great service and all the service you need. You must go there to see for your self.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, , People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent spot.. very cozy inside.. Wish ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

excellent spot.. very cozy inside.. Wish they didn't ran out of muscles...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a lovely evening. Food is always ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a lovely evening. Food is always fabulous and our waitress was wonderful. One recommendation: it was cold by the windows. You may want to consider window treatments especially for winter. I did notice another couple close by had to wear their coats too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Elixir is great! From the minute we wal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Elixir is great! From the minute we walked through the door and were seated we were treated like special guests. Wine list was very affordable, service was timely and allowed for an intimate dinner. (We are locals and I highly recommend the mussels...and the French fries with aioli.) But tonight we came in pre-performance for the theater and I had the salmon. Perfectly cooked and wonderfully plated. My date had the scallops. Many oohs and aahs. I highly recommend reservations as it is usually very crowded. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love this place. They did make a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I just love this place. They did make a mistake on our order, but quickly brought out the right dish within a few minutes. The waitstaff are great and you can tell the owner really loves the business. He is courteous and available. I wish I could go there everyday!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. One of my fa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service and food. One of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could not have been more pleased. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We could not have been more pleased. I have difficulty hearing in most restaurants, but my wife and I were able to carry on a conversation even though the restaurant was nearly full. Food was excellent, I especially liked the chicken, and my wife loved the risotto, including the leftovers we took home and ate for lunch the following day. We shared a delicious appetizer of prosciutto, pears, and cheese. Wine list is extensive and fairly priced.....several wines I enjoy at under $7.50 a glass. We loved the decor and mentioned that to Skip when we left. He proceeded to give us an interesting short tour of his part of the restored freight house. We have been there twice in the past few months and will be going more frequently in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were heading to a show after dinner. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were heading to a show after dinner. The owner greeted us, hung up our coats and asked if we were heading to the show. He said he'd let our server know so we'd make it in time. The meal was delicious and we made it to the show with time to spare!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is amazing! We travel fr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! We travel from the other side of the state to visit - it's worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another nice meal at Elixir. One of sev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Another nice meal at Elixir. One of several enjoyable restaurants in downtown White River Junction. This one is right by the tracks so summer time evenings, you might see a train enter and leave the station!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoy our meal a birthday dinner. Food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoy our meal a birthday dinner. Food was atmosphere was good drinks for good service was okay we will come back again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Elixir has consistently good food and wi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Elixir has consistently good food and wine at reasonable prices. This time had a two specials, pork belly appetizer and short rib entree, which were both comfort food but delicious. Service was excellent and friendly even though it was a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and location Although parkin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and location

Although parking is a bit limited,don't let that stop you.

They have a wide variety of food for all tastes and a pretty good wine and beverage list to choose from.

If I'm ever back in WRJ Elixir is the place go be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious. Awesome menu and g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Awesome menu and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was very good, just a bit loud! T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Dinner was very good, just a bit loud! The service was outstanding. We were seated quickly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised to find suc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful restaurant in White River Jct! We were immediately asked whether we were attending a show (which we were), and the food service was timed appropriately. Drink selections are extensive and inexpensive. The menu features a variety of dishes. We tried the salmon and the steak, and both were excellent. I highly recommend Elixir! Great atmosphere and good service in addition to excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are lucky to have a gem like this in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We are lucky to have a gem like this in the neighborhood. Food is always extraordinary and the menu is always changing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was beyond comparison, absolute ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was beyond comparison, absolutely delicious! Great service, special recognition to Brenna for such pleasant, high quality service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant knows how to serve you a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant knows how to serve you a wonderful evening of great food and service. I went with the truffle dip sauce and fries for a starter then pan seared scallops with truffle mashed potatoes. It was SUPER and served hot and timely. Do yourself a flavor and try Elixir out, you won't be disappointed. The owner greeted us and was sure to say comeback next trip, We will make a return trip.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little difficult to find as it is set ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A little difficult to find as it is set back from the road but what a find! Our meals, a filet and shrimp scampi, were excellent. The shrimp scampi was different than usual but excellent. The filet was perfect. Owner is very pleasant to talk with. Brenna, our server, was outstanding. Excellent wine list with reasonable prices. I wished I lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just like all the rest of the times we d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Just like all the rest of the times we dine there. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT. Best restaurant in the Upper Valley. Hands down.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with my wife as we were in the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here with my wife as we were in the area. Very pleasant atmosphere with excellent food and service. Surprised at the modest cost. Will go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional in all categories - atmosphe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Exceptional in all categories - atmosphere, service,fine dining options, & personal attention by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was nothing like the menu liste ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The menu was nothing like the menu listed online, leading to a rather down date. When we walked into the restaurant, we were told to wait. Not offered a seat at the half empty bar, just told to wait at the door. We could clearly see at least 8 empty tables and even though we arrived 5 minutes before our reservation time, we were forced to wait over 15 minutes as walk in customers were seated before us. When we were finally offered a table, it took nearly 20 minutes before they even asked what we wanted to drink. The service was absolutely abysmal. We ended up splitting 6 desserts because the menu we were given was extremely pretentious and came across as unappetizing to both of us. The bread pudding was okay at best, while the other 5 desserts were barely touched. We stopped for fast food on the way home, it was infinitely better. We were later informed that only hipsters and self important vegans eat at this restaurant. We will NEVER return nor will we ever recommend that even people we dislike eat at this establishment. Pity, the original menu we read sounded delicious. Don't be fooled by fake reviews, we were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I can't say enough good things about thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. As far as my wife and I are concerned it's the best place to eat in Vermont. We love the food , owner and wait staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and inviting. Great staff. Good f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Warm and inviting. Great staff. Good food and a solid value. What could be better!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a really good vibe. Food and drinks ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a really good vibe. Food and drinks were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went to Elixir before seeing a play d ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We went to Elixir before seeing a play down the street at Northern Theater. We were seated right away, which was nice because we were on a bit of a schedule. The service was extremely efficient and pleasant. The food was very good. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You felt very welcomed Gracious friend ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

You felt very welcomed

Gracious friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was great but they didn't ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The restaurant was great but they didn't have my reservation when we arrived. So if we had made it for a later time through open table we probably wouldn't have been able to get a seat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful meal. Delicious food, perfect ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful meal. Delicious food, perfect serving size.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't say enough about this place. Skip ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Can't say enough about this place. Skip has a great love for his work and it shows. Great waitstaff, bartenders and food! Definitely a must book in the Upper Valley

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal - the best I've had in th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent meal - the best I've had in the area. Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and festive for a birthday dinner. S ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun and festive for a birthday dinner. Service was friendly and attentive. Lively atmosphere. Many older patrons, probably going to the theatre nearby. Appetizers were good and fun to share. Filet mignon and Scallops were particularly delicious entrees. They comped the birthday boy's dessert. Good wine. Cold cappuccino was the only disappointment. Worth the drive from Hanover or beyond. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.