About Elixir

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Vermont
6 More
Best Food
Vermont
Best Service
Vermont
Best Value
Vermont
Fit for Foodies
Vermont
Neighborhood Gem
Vermont
American
Vermont
Best Restaurants in White River Junction ›

Fit for Foodies (54)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Casual (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Historic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came in on Amtrack which was 1 plus h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We came in on Amtrack which was 1 plus hour late and caused us to miss our dinner reservation when we called they told us not to worry they would seat us ASAP and that was within 10 min of getting there. The food was incredible, the owner was seating people and talking to everyone to make sure it was a great experience. Prices were in line with a great restaurant. Would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great to have locally brewed craft be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

So great to have locally brewed craft beer on tap! thanks Elixir!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to have dinner here. G ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Always a pleasure to have dinner here. Great buzz (but not loud), great ambiance, genuinely welcoming staff, beautifully plated food. I've been a regular for half a dozen years, and each visit feels special. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were going to be traveling by White R ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were going to be traveling by White River junction and have been wanting to try Elixor. It was a bit tough to get a reservation so call ahead for sure. The overall evening was great. The food well prepared, the wine list very good and reasonable, the wait staff attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our Upper Valley favorite ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is one of our Upper Valley favorites, and we have never failed to have an excellent meal and a good experience. It is one of our favorite places!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly service in a pleasant setting w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Friendly service in a pleasant setting with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable meal as always. We would ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very enjoyable meal as always. We would prefer that the meats were sourced more from local farms.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went on a whim and were more than ple ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went on a whim and were more than pleasantly surprised. Elixir was outstanding. Clearly the best food we have had in the Upper Valley. The ambiance was excellent and the service superb. Their cocktails were not over priced and the food from presentation to amount and taste was wonderful. Easy to recommend as one of the best in the area!! Two thumbs up (only because I have only two thumbs)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not easy to find, but worth it! Industri ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Not easy to find, but worth it! Industrial area. Welcoming. Personable. Delightful service. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On Tuesday, September 6, 2016, my wIfe a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

On Tuesday, September 6, 2016, my wIfe and I had dinner with three friends. Our dinner was excellent. The food was very tasty. The service was also excellent. One of our guests had his birthday then. They brought a cake with a candle for his birthday. That was very nice. The owner, Skip, honored my request to have a quiet table. The Chef is very reliable.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the pantheon of restaurants in the Up ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

In the pantheon of restaurants in the Upper Valley, Elixir stands out for quality of food and good service. The wine list is short but well selected, proving that one doesn't need a copious cellar to deliver a satisfying selection to customers. The menu makes use of local ingredients wherever possible, and the dishes are creatively designed and prepared . A very "uptown" place is the resurgent downtown of White River Junction

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was excellent, priced about rig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was excellent, priced about right and the service was superior.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

limited menu but delicious food and exce ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

limited menu but delicious food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding menu selections, delicious v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding menu selections, delicious variety, impeccable service, reasonably priced. You'll never go wrong eating at Elixir for any occasion!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixer is a wonderful place for both con ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Elixer is a wonderful place for both consistent old favorites and surprising new herbs. Nothing ever seems "salted".

The caesar salad is the best anywhere and is how I characterize a restaurants' true authenticity. The dressing does have anchovies (but not heavy) and is made w the real hearts of romaine lettuce - no dark edges.

I love the mussels which come in half portions too, w a slight coconut and curry is actually a delicious soup.

Jane & Skip treat everyone so sincerely well - the staff, guest and chefs included - you can just tell. That is the basis on which we return again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not many good options in the area but cl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Not many good options in the area but clearly our go to choice for a nice evening out. Always consistent cooking and a nice atmosphere....

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

While traveling near White River Junctio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

While traveling near White River Junction the Elixir was recommended to us by our hotel hosts for a nice dinner. We were NOT disappointed. Our server was bubbly and efficient and added greatly to the experience. The food was excellent (may we recommend the petit filets..) and reasonable for what was served. Should we revisit the area we will be sure to dine at Elixir for dinner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a late dinner, and fortunately ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a late dinner, and fortunately had made a reservation. Elixir was jumping when we arrived. Cocktails, and good food. The ladies had mussels, Chris had salmon, and I had a wonderful pork tenderloin with gravy and a blue cheese sauce.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is a find, off the beaten pat ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This place is a find, off the beaten path in an old railway freight loading/warehouse building with exposed brick walls. The food is inventive and delicious, melding fresh herbs, spices and ingredients to create palate-pleasing tastes. For the quality, the food is fairly reasonably priced, although the prices are a bit higher than shown on the restaurant's website. The two wines we had were quite good, priced lower that most other restaurants of this quality, although poured by the glass in smaller quantities than those others. (I'd rather pay a dollar or two more and have a fuller glass of wine.)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

2nd time we went to Elixir this summer. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

2nd time we went to Elixir this summer. It is a 20-25 minute drive from our summer condo. Both times, servers were appropriately friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Limited menu (1 meat, 1 chicken, 1 fish, 1 veggie entree) but everyone enjoyed what they ordered. Nice food presentation, reasonable wine/beer/cocktail selection. Not cheap, not expensive. Elixir is not overly ambitious. They know what they are and execute it well. Overall, a pleasant, tasty dinner out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in the Upper Valley. Goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best restaurant in the Upper Valley. Good, interesting dishes along with a good wine list at excellent prices. Starters and desserts were the best, but the entrees were also very solid. I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a really good meal in WRJ or the Upper Valley.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a great find in White River Jct ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a great find in White River Jct. We tend to eat in Quechee and Woodstock and were getting tired of the same old same old and looked for something new. The area Elixir is in is a little worn down outside. It is in an old Freight House. But once you get inside it is very warm and the owners and wait staff are at the top of their game. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not fancy, but very god food. Too noisy ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not fancy, but very god food. Too noisy for easy conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

On the many times I have been to Elixir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

On the many times I have been to Elixir there has never been a time when the experience has ever been less than outstanding

Best place in the Upper Valley

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in New York and ate here on a rec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I live in New York and ate here on a recent trip. The food here would do credit to a typical, well-reviewed high-end restaurant in New York (not a famous-chef headliner, but an ordinary restaurant where people have very nice meals)--at about half the price. Ingredients are extremely fresh, and the preparations creative. The service is very friendly and small-towny (without being obtrusive). When I asked him, (rightly) worried, about local taxi service, the owner offered to drive me back to my hotel himself after closing time if the taxi didn't show up (!). Overall, an extremely pleasant meal--not only much better than I expected in such a small town, but worth the trip to White River Junction from other local towns.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The scallops were great and the bartende ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The scallops were great and the bartender made a great Manhattan .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We found this wonderful restaurant by st ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found this wonderful restaurant by stopping on our way to Canada. It was a wonderful surprise. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling in the area and we will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This is one of our two favorites in the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is one of our two favorites in the Upper Valley area of Hanover, White River. We have never been disappointed here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixir is my go-to destination when I'm ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Elixir is my go-to destination when I'm in the area. Extremely high quality food and drinks at a reasonable price. The wait staff is fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a restaurant we go back to time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a restaurant we go back to time after time. Reservations are honored, the service is always friendly and professional, and the food consistently good. Food is sourced locally when available and the costs are reasonable. Cocktails are generous and frosty. Good selection of wines that are not over the top. The locale is a bit off of Main Street but easy to find with ample parking as is usually the case in central Vermont.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, a pleasure to return to the U ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As always, a pleasure to return to the Upper Valley knowing that Elixir is within sight. Terrific food (and presentation). Though exceptionally pleasant, waitstaff was a bit harried, partly owing, perhaps, to the large number of discriminating clientele (including us, of course).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Food and drink well prepared from a menu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food and drink well prepared from a menu that covers 10 or so main entrees. Drinks and wine list are also well done. Pricing is reasonable and the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A favorite of ours when going to the the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A favorite of ours when going to the theater -- or simply for a night out, Elixir never disappoints. Skip and Jane are gracious hosts and their waitstaff is appropriately personal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations online which work w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made reservations online which work well. We arrived and were warmly welcomed by a kind gentlemen. We sat at the bar while they finished preparing our table the bartender and wait staff were all very kind. Our meal was was wonderful and we plan to visit more often when time alows.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a wonderful evening! As al ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful evening! As always thank you for the wonderful service and a delicious meal. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixir has a great vibe, small but diver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Elixir has a great vibe, small but diverse menu, friendly staff. The mussels were awesome- asked for a spoon to eat the rest of the broth like soup! Mmmmmm. My husband had the pork tenderloin- he is hard to impress, but was thrilled with the dish- so very flavorful and moist which is often hard to achieve with pork. The truffle fries as a starter are a constant pleaser! This restaurant pays attention to quality and the staff seems genuinely interested in serving and promoting the excellent food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were staying locally in White River a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were staying locally in White River and rather than driving 20 minutes to our favorite restaurant in the area, we decided to eat in town.

We arrived at 6pm with a reservation and were quickly seated. Menus were proffered and we selected a glass of wine and a local beer from the extremely reasonably priced drinks and wine menus.

For a starter we shared a n order of prosciutto, while for entrees my wife chose the salmon, while I ordered the filet mignon. I could not help but noticing that most mains were priced under $20, unheard of for a restaurant pf this quality. Our food was excellent. We rounded off our meal with some tea and an excellent creme brulee.

The restaurant is very bright and airy and much of those dining seemed to be regulars. A gentleman who appeared to be an owner engaged almost every table in at least a brief conversation. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing and not the slightest bit pretentious.

It is likely we will dine here again when we return to Vermont.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was amazing. The service was a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

the food was amazing. The service was awesome. the only downfall if your celebrating an anniversary ( we were our 21st) not a place were you can talk without almost shouting. Overall, one of our best experiences at a restaurant. We can always talk on the way home

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dinner at Elixir. Love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Elixir. Love the setting and ambiance. Wait staff and chef were very accommodating of our request to split an appetizer, entree and dessert. Cocktails were fun and on the less expensive side. I've already recommended Elixir to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixer offers a small but varied menu--a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Elixer offers a small but varied menu--and the food is always well prepared. I dine here regularly. I just wish they were open every day of the week and for lunch. Fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.