Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Casual (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Romantic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food and great service. We’re dining there with a family and it exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

ELIXIR is truly a very fine restaurant. Skip and Jane work very hard to assure that everyone is very satisfied with service and food. They are committed to a high level of excellence. I strongly recommend this restaurant if you are in the VT/NH vicinity Routes 89/91.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious from beginning to end. Portions just right and every taste a delight. Pleasant, caring staff. It was quiet due to a snow storm.. so can't speak to noise level etc if when crowded, which, I believe, it often is!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Great food (and drinks) and great service. The tiramisu was amazing - and so are the fries. I got the salmon and my boyfriend got veal and both were delicious. Really personal service, which is great. When my boyfriend and I go here, we go all out, so it's a more occasional visit. However, prices are fair for the food and experience. We are discussing going back just for a round of drinks, fries, and tiramisu =).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2018

I have been here many times, am always very satisfied. The owner is great, the bartender very personable, and our server Teena is just wonderful. We live 40 minutes away, we come here generally as a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and wonderful service in a quaint atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Another’s fantastic dinner - this is easily one of the top 5 restaurants in our book!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Went for dinner with my husband and daughters (5&8) while staying in Quechee over the Christmas holiday week. Food was fantastic! Best meal of the week, and fairly reasonably priced given that we’d had dinner the previous night closer to Quechee the night before and it was awful (and the same price). So- not cheap, but worth every penny. No kids menu but very accommodating- made one DD homemade chicken tenders, the other had a mussels app with side of pasta. Monkfish special & veal were delicious as was calamari app. Waitress was attentive, accommodating, and just great all around! Would absolutely recommend and revisit if in the area again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2017

From being greeted at the door upon arrival to checking in with us as we were leaving, the experience exceeded all expectations. The food could not have been better prepared, and the special touches (e.g. the mussels in curry sauce) were both simple and elegant. The entire dining experience was just wonderful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

It was a very pleasant find. The team there is amazing. The food very good. In general, the restaurant was very welcoming and had a good positive vibe. We will be regulars. Cheers.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2017

What a find! Best meal we’ve had in a long time - great food great price value great service - we can’t wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2017

One of the best in the area. Extensive wine list, great cuisine, welcoming atmosphere. And the owners are charming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2017

I have traveled the world, italy too. The Risotto i had on Thursday was the BEST, ever. Elixir always exceeds my expectations. KUDOS to the chef!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2017

We have been here several times, as it has become our local favorite. The signature salad is amazing, the wait staff attentive, and the owner is very personable. Everything meal we have had here has been excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The owners, Skip and Jane, go out of their way to make every guest welcomed. Their bartender is second to none and the food is consistently delicious . . .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Owner operated with delicious food and very attentive service, but the noise level is very high. My husband has diminished hearing so it was very difficult for him to engage in conversation with me even though I was just across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

excellent, inventive and tasty creations. menu is full of great options. very responsive to dietary needs/allergies.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Awesome food. Great ambiance. The red curry , coconut milk mussels are worth the drive.
Parking is a bit of a challenge. I’d gladly search for a place to park for another serving of mussels!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2017

As has been our experience at Elixir, it was a very enjoyable dinner once again. Service is excellent and the prices are very reasonable for our area. Wine prices are very fair and they offer great choices. Food is fresh and prepared to order. I checked the "anniversary" notation on the reservation and it was noted by Skip, the owner/host, as well as our server, who both offered their congratulations to us. I have hearing issues and do find that Elixir is noisy as there are no surfaces to absorb any of the sound. But we know that when we go there and just deal with it and enjoy everything about the restaurant. We are fairly regular customers and intent to keep patronizing the restaurant, which has become my favorite in the Upper Valley.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 30, 2017

This was my first visit to Elixer,I wanted to entertain some business acquaintences and found everything from my bartender....the server and the food and great dessert to beat any expectation that I had in mind.I'll be back sooner than later. Greg K.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Pleasantly surprised! Food was great, service was excellent, and reasonably priced. We had the ice cream sandwich for dessert- simple yet creative. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 21, 2017

Awesome meal- mussels are fantastic. Friendly service. Love this spot!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2017

First-rate food, great service and nice ambiance. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was excellent and the service superior. We really enjoyed our dinner, we will return! Jim was an excellent waiter!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We have been to Elixir many times. We are always so pleased with the delicious food. It is always high quality, beautiful, and they support local food for many dishes. The staff is very welcoming and accommodating. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Elixir is always delicious. Best place to eat in the Upper Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Excellent food, nice ambiance, and great service by Elena.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great service and atmosphere. The food is interesting and tasty. My husband ordered the filet, while I ordered the shrimp scampi. Both were delicious. My favorite thing about the restaurant, however, is the service - attentive yet not obtrusive. Elixir is a favorite place to linger over a mean and enjoy conversation. Very private.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. A lovely evening was had by all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

The yummiest, tasty and flavourful meal i've eaten on our holiday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2017

We were in the area for a meeting, and searched for the most highly-rated restaurant serving "New American" cuisine. The setting is nice enough considering the conversion of previous industrial space, the service was terrific, and the food was the star. We had the vegetarian risotto and the shrimp scampi. Both were excellent and contained creative and unusual ingredients that harmonized well. Clearly a lot of thought goes into the recipes and preparation. We don't visit the area often, but when we are anywhere nearby we will make a detour to eat at this excellent restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

You can depend on always having good choices to pick from; good service; great martinis; and reasonable prices. All of that is because the owner of the restaurant is always there and taking care of customers.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I love this place and should go more often. Its very cozy and I like the food a lot. The waitress was really excellent, getting in our little order before the huge tables going to the theater, keeping us on schedule. Very pleasant. The Upper Valley can be pretty bad for professional wait service, but this place is an exception (they CRUMB the tables!). Also very inexpensive and good wines, which is so nice to find. Jane and Skip really kick it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2017

One of my go-to places in the Upper Valley. The wine list is interesting and fairly priced, the kitchen knows what it is doing. Don't miss the petit fillet mignons!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We go to Elixor frequently, and have never had a less than stellar meal. The owner welcomes every customer, he's charming, as is the wait staff. One of my favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Perfect combination of lively, relaxed atmosphere and creative food. Specialty cocktails were weak, but interesting wine and beer selections made up for this miss. The special roasted sugar pumpkin risotto was a huge hit, as were the salads, mussels and fries and desserts. Duck confit appetizer lacked flavor. Server was busy, but knowledgeable and attentive. All in all an enjoyable meal; we will surely return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

We were warmly greeted and offered several table locations in claiming our reservation. The restaurant was very busy with pre-theatre diners, but the waitstaff was able to bring us our drinks and bread/olive oil while we settled in with the menu. The wine list was both very interesting and affordable, by glass or bottle. We ordered "antipasto for two" which was tasty, but skimpy to share. Another starter was duck confit which was very good. The petit filet steak was ordered rare, but tended almost to medium which detracted from the experience. Food was of good quality, well-presented, and with good, pleasant service. It was a birthday celebration and a surprise ice cream with candle was a very nice ending, along with attentive goodbyes from staff and owner. We'll certainly visit again, but may consider a less-busy evening or time without theatre crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service. A wonderful find. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Best filet EVER--We visit annualky while on vacation and drive 40 minutes each way--well worth it!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Elixir consistently serves excellent, appropriately sized meals. The waitstaff is attentive without being intrusive and the atmosphere is very nice. I highly recommend Elixir!

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.