About Elixir

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Boston / New England
American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Vermont
6 More
Best Food
Vermont
Best Service
Vermont
Best Value
Vermont
Fit for Foodies
Vermont
Neighborhood Gem
Vermont
American
Vermont
Best Restaurants in White River Junction ›

Fit for Foodies (58)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (14)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

2nd time we went to Elixir this summer. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

2nd time we went to Elixir this summer. It is a 20-25 minute drive from our summer condo. Both times, servers were appropriately friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Limited menu (1 meat, 1 chicken, 1 fish, 1 veggie entree) but everyone enjoyed what they ordered. Nice food presentation, reasonable wine/beer/cocktail selection. Not cheap, not expensive. Elixir is not overly ambitious. They know what they are and execute it well. Overall, a pleasant, tasty dinner out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in the Upper Valley. Goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant in the Upper Valley. Good, interesting dishes along with a good wine list at excellent prices. Starters and desserts were the best, but the entrees were also very solid. I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a really good meal in WRJ or the Upper Valley.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a great find in White River Jct ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a great find in White River Jct. We tend to eat in Quechee and Woodstock and were getting tired of the same old same old and looked for something new. The area Elixir is in is a little worn down outside. It is in an old Freight House. But once you get inside it is very warm and the owners and wait staff are at the top of their game. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not fancy, but very god food. Too noisy ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 7 days ago

Not fancy, but very god food. Too noisy for easy conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

On the many times I have been to Elixir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

On the many times I have been to Elixir there has never been a time when the experience has ever been less than outstanding

Best place in the Upper Valley

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in New York and ate here on a rec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I live in New York and ate here on a recent trip. The food here would do credit to a typical, well-reviewed high-end restaurant in New York (not a famous-chef headliner, but an ordinary restaurant where people have very nice meals)--at about half the price. Ingredients are extremely fresh, and the preparations creative. The service is very friendly and small-towny (without being obtrusive). When I asked him, (rightly) worried, about local taxi service, the owner offered to drive me back to my hotel himself after closing time if the taxi didn't show up (!). Overall, an extremely pleasant meal--not only much better than I expected in such a small town, but worth the trip to White River Junction from other local towns.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The scallops were great and the bartende ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The scallops were great and the bartender made a great Manhattan .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We found this wonderful restaurant by st ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found this wonderful restaurant by stopping on our way to Canada. It was a wonderful surprise. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling in the area and we will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This is one of our two favorites in the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is one of our two favorites in the Upper Valley area of Hanover, White River. We have never been disappointed here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixir is my go-to destination when I'm ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Elixir is my go-to destination when I'm in the area. Extremely high quality food and drinks at a reasonable price. The wait staff is fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a restaurant we go back to time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a restaurant we go back to time after time. Reservations are honored, the service is always friendly and professional, and the food consistently good. Food is sourced locally when available and the costs are reasonable. Cocktails are generous and frosty. Good selection of wines that are not over the top. The locale is a bit off of Main Street but easy to find with ample parking as is usually the case in central Vermont.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, a pleasure to return to the U ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As always, a pleasure to return to the Upper Valley knowing that Elixir is within sight. Terrific food (and presentation). Though exceptionally pleasant, waitstaff was a bit harried, partly owing, perhaps, to the large number of discriminating clientele (including us, of course).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Food and drink well prepared from a menu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food and drink well prepared from a menu that covers 10 or so main entrees. Drinks and wine list are also well done. Pricing is reasonable and the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A favorite of ours when going to the the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A favorite of ours when going to the theater -- or simply for a night out, Elixir never disappoints. Skip and Jane are gracious hosts and their waitstaff is appropriately personal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations online which work w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made reservations online which work well. We arrived and were warmly welcomed by a kind gentlemen. We sat at the bar while they finished preparing our table the bartender and wait staff were all very kind. Our meal was was wonderful and we plan to visit more often when time alows.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a wonderful evening! As al ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful evening! As always thank you for the wonderful service and a delicious meal. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixir has a great vibe, small but diver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Elixir has a great vibe, small but diverse menu, friendly staff. The mussels were awesome- asked for a spoon to eat the rest of the broth like soup! Mmmmmm. My husband had the pork tenderloin- he is hard to impress, but was thrilled with the dish- so very flavorful and moist which is often hard to achieve with pork. The truffle fries as a starter are a constant pleaser! This restaurant pays attention to quality and the staff seems genuinely interested in serving and promoting the excellent food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were staying locally in White River a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were staying locally in White River and rather than driving 20 minutes to our favorite restaurant in the area, we decided to eat in town.

We arrived at 6pm with a reservation and were quickly seated. Menus were proffered and we selected a glass of wine and a local beer from the extremely reasonably priced drinks and wine menus.

For a starter we shared a n order of prosciutto, while for entrees my wife chose the salmon, while I ordered the filet mignon. I could not help but noticing that most mains were priced under $20, unheard of for a restaurant pf this quality. Our food was excellent. We rounded off our meal with some tea and an excellent creme brulee.

The restaurant is very bright and airy and much of those dining seemed to be regulars. A gentleman who appeared to be an owner engaged almost every table in at least a brief conversation. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing and not the slightest bit pretentious.

It is likely we will dine here again when we return to Vermont.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was amazing. The service was a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

the food was amazing. The service was awesome. the only downfall if your celebrating an anniversary ( we were our 21st) not a place were you can talk without almost shouting. Overall, one of our best experiences at a restaurant. We can always talk on the way home

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dinner at Elixir. Love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Elixir. Love the setting and ambiance. Wait staff and chef were very accommodating of our request to split an appetizer, entree and dessert. Cocktails were fun and on the less expensive side. I've already recommended Elixir to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixer offers a small but varied menu--a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Elixer offers a small but varied menu--and the food is always well prepared. I dine here regularly. I just wish they were open every day of the week and for lunch. Fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was attentive and quick, and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server was attentive and quick, and we were able to enjoy being together without constant interruptions. The food is some of the best we have eaten in the Upper Valley. Between appetizers, entree and dessert the 5 of us tried 12 different items and they were all top quality. A huge splurge for a very special occasion and a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places in th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in the Upper Valley to dine! We were regulars before we moved to Long Island and now, whenever we are back there, Elixirs is our place to go! Excellent food and beverage and the staff are all professional and courteous. Our hats off to Skip for running such an excellent establishment

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary which we celebrat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was our anniversary which we celebrated with friends. All good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! We found Elixir to have gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What a find! We found Elixir to have great food--- memorable flavor elements and careful preparation. The best restaurant we've eaten at in a 20 mile radius from Lebanon, NH. Better than many restaurants in Boston that are twice the price. Will go again (and again).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

always excellent food always seasonal an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

always excellent

food always seasonal and fresh

fun to watch trains pass by

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding friendly service. Seared Se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding friendly service. Seared Sea Scallops were perfectly prepared. The Truffled Fries were tasty and crispy. Lana was a friendly and attentive server. Absolutely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! I will definitel ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was delicious! I will definitely be back the next time I am heading up to Stowe. Will be sure to time my arrival through WRJ to coincide with dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good. Felt bad for ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very good. Felt bad for our server. She could have used help. We cancelled a round of drinks because we had finished dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service, great food, nice interior ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service, great food, nice interior - external view from inside the restaurant leaves something to be desired.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service would highly ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food and service would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I truly enjoyed my Experience from begin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I truly enjoyed my Experience from beginning to End and so did my Date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the food, service, amb ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely loved the food, service, ambiance, etc! We consider ourselves foodies and eat out at some fantastic restaurants, but this one is now on the top of our list! Food was fabulous! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! Can't say enough ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was outstanding! Can't say enough about the service. We were stuck in Boston traffic, called to say we'd be an hour or more late, and the host went out of his way to make sure we would have a table when we arrived. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Elixir 's owner provides his guests with a friendly personal greeting, happy to give lots of information about the restaurant. The menu is small, but the dishes we tried were tasty and well prepared. The service was excellent and prices very moderate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place with excellent food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

You cannot go wrong with Elixir. While the menu is small there is something for everyone, including vegetarians. The appetizers are a must with the mussels ranking at the top followed by the truffle fries. Some of their staples make it a difficult choice, but you can enjoy the options. The portions are just right and leaves room for desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband and I were traveling from Massachusetts to celebrate my sister's birthday. I saw the reviews for this restaurant online and, knowing my sister's discerning palate, thought it would be the perfect choice. It did not disappoint! The food was perfectly prepared and delicious! The wine list was extensive and the owner and staff were all so accommodating in making our meal a happy and memorable occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy drinks and apps.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The mussels in red curry broth were outstanding! Cocktails were fun and summery. The rest of the meal was good. I had delicious scallops, but my husband was underwhelemed by his roast chicken.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great meal at Elixir. Great service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ambience is nice, but service was excellent. Shane was our waiter, interesting and thoughtful. Owner or manager Skip set us up with a nice wine at a very good price point. Overall, value of the meal was extremely good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always A Pleasure

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We go for special occasions, dinner with friends or just 'date night'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.