Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Local Ingredients (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (19)
Romantic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (10)
Great Beer (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Organic (5)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, everything at Elixir was perfect....we'll be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Skip and his team always put together an amazing experience at Elixir. Whether it is an anniversary, birthday or just meeting friends for dinner, Elixir delivers the right experience. The food is great, the ambiance and environment is inviting and fun, and they even have a separate back table if you have a larger party wanting some seclusion. It is a great place and I cannot recommend it enough!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Our server Teena was absolutely awesome.... incredibly nice and made great recommendations for dinner and dessert. The owner was extremely generous and welcoming as well. HIGHLY recommend the filet dish and bananas foster dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Never disappointed! I just love the simple elegance, great food, laid back atmosphere… That's classy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We have dined at Elixir several times and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. When it's busy, which is often, it can at times get noisy but don't let that discourage you; the food is worth it.

The noise is the only negative I can think of and sometimes wish they would spoil the "old freight house" ambiance for some sound deadening features.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had an outstanding experience at Elixir. Exceptional food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

So glad we learned about Elixir. What a great meal in a restaurant with a great atmosphere. What an amazing hidden gem in downtown White River Junction.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Culinary standards remain high at Elixir. Great cocktail. Terrific antipasto. Delicious entrees. Sumptuous dessert. Bravo!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We have been here several times and have enjoyed each the me. Very good food and excellent service. We had the foraged morels as an appetizer - what a treat! They also have a good wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent choice of cocktails and our server was very good. They accommodated my food allergies. The salmon and lentils is my favorite. Nice place for dinner and not too loud. One of the few great food places in the upper valley. Definitely make a reservation!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

LOok no further...this place is wonderful!! We were passing thru from Maine & found this on Yelp & TripAdvisor. It is outstanding, very creative menu, warm friendly service, good healthy choices, very reasonable. Even had wine specials by the glass!! ELixir salad was superb, filets done perfectly, tiramisu was small but Divine.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Just an altogether delightful experience. Food, server, wine recommendation all great way to begin the evening that was followed by a Judy Collins concert right down the street. Elixir was an early and continues as an important part of the burgeoning White River Junction "scene".

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

As usual we were very happy with our dining experience at Elixir. The waitstaff is friendly and professional and the food is alway delicious! We are always happy to return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best in the Valley!! Great food.. Elixar truly is a local gem. You need to experience it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Skip does a great job and the meals we've had there are consistently good, as is the service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place! I'm not big on ambiance but it's got a cool vibe. The back room is quieter than the main dining room. My wife and I were there for the food. I was a professional chef for 10 years, in the nearby area. You will have a hard time finding a comparable restaurant anywhere close. Creative food, without crazy foo-foo menus and just plain delicious execution! Clean, bold flavors in every dish!
Waitstaff was totally professional. Everything was spot on. Highly recommended a visit.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Historic, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place, food and service. A must go to place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding meal and service especially from our server Teena. We'll be back for more😊😊

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They are always welcoming. This time we had a baby for the first time and they accommodated her with no fuss and were charmed by her. The food was even better than usual. The cocktails were also very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was our second time at Elixir and as before the service and food were both exceptional. We were once again very pleased and have already recommended Elixir to friends and family. Will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food here is as good as you'll find anywhere in the Upper valley. The menu is small, but each choice is a preparation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The had our reservation, no problem. They accommodated my friend's grain allergy -no problem. And they have my favorite single malt whiskey Balvenie.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food. Small but well prepared menu. Very personable staff. Definitely recommended

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had dinner here with my daughter while visiting Dartmouth. Food was delicious, I had the Fig appetizer and the short rib special; the service was just right; and the expense was very reasonable. Would definitely recommend and return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice, employees could not have been any nicer and very accomodating. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Elixir was one of the best all-around dining experiences I've had in many years. The bar opens at 4:30 and dinner begins at 5. We arrived at 4:45 after a great performance at nearby Northern Stage. Bartender Sean welcomed us warmly. We chatted with him and had a couple of very good drinks at the comfortable bar. Then owner Skip Symanski escorted us to our table. Our server, Brenna, appeared a minute later. Brenna was wonderful... knowledgeable about the wine and food and absolutely charming. Everything was cooked perfectly and was delicious, but I have to highlight the mussels... absolutely the best I have ever had. You'd think they'd all be the same, and in my experience they have been, with the only difference among them being the broth or sauce. Here, the mussels were the fattest, juiciest most tender I have ever had. Over the years, I had come to expect a few chewy "rubber bands" among them, but not in this case. Everyone of them were perfect, and they came with a sauce instead of the usual broth... delicious on its own with the accompanied toasted bread.

Elixir is an hour drive from me, but definitely worth it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Didn't think an off the beaten track location could yield such a spectacular menu in an old railway brick building. I went twice as I was in business and cant recommend this enough. Everything is fabulous, the cocoa coated filet, delectable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were there before a Northern Stage play and staff was excellent about getting us out in time. Food was excellent. Older members of our group had a bit of a hard time with the noise. The road out in front of restaurant is in desperate need of filling and smoothing out! We'll return for sure!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent dinner and fast, friendly service -- thanks for getting us to the show on time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Although their menu is somewhat small, we have eaten here 8 times and always found something delicious to suit our appetites. Servers are friendly and professional. We always feel welcome and leave satisfied.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food. Owner can't be more pleasant or accommodating. I will go again and again

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Friendly & welcoming as you enter. Food was very good & waitstaff friendly & efficient. Highly recommend & will definitely go back again real soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Skip is the perfect host, and so is wife, Jane, when there; servers knowledgeable, friendly, responsive, limited but always delicious specials, especially well-price wine specials, reasonable markup on all wines. Really good food beautifully presented.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time ever dining at Elixir and we are huge fans and will dine there often. Great food, great value. Excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The meal were delicious, the service professional and friendly, the atmosphere welcoming. I have dined here many times and I have never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Elixir never disappoints. Just a great experience in WRJ as it continues to develop and reinvent itself. Skip is a wonderful host, food is creative, drinks are great and everything is reasonably priced.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderfully attentive service from our waitress ... and the food preparation and presentation were excellent. Ambiance was casual, friendly and personal ... I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates wonderful food for a special night out or who is treating a friend or business acquaintance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had heard about Elixir and decided to check it out. We walked in the door and were greeted by Skip, the owner. His staff, especially our waitress, Gretchen, was very professional, friendly, helpful and accommodating. The menu was eclectic and had something for everyone. The calamari appetizer was superb (stuffed with crabmeat). Both entrees were delicious and presentation was perfect. Everything exceeded our expectations. Definitely THE place in White River Junction and worth the drive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent but I thought the portions were small for the price. I had the shrimp scampi and it literally had only six small shrimp. While I'd recommend the restaurant, you'll want an app, entree, and dessert to avoid leaving hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent choice for fresh, creative food and in a vibrant, urban-chic-meets-Vermont-un-self-conscious setting.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.