Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (20)
Authentic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Healthy (11)
Romantic (10)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We were warmly greeted and offered several table locations in claiming our reservation. The restaurant was very busy with pre-theatre diners, but the waitstaff was able to bring us our drinks and bread/olive oil while we settled in with the menu. The wine list was both very interesting and affordable, by glass or bottle. We ordered "antipasto for two" which was tasty, but skimpy to share. Another starter was duck confit which was very good. The petit filet steak was ordered rare, but tended almost to medium which detracted from the experience. Food was of good quality, well-presented, and with good, pleasant service. It was a birthday celebration and a surprise ice cream with candle was a very nice ending, along with attentive goodbyes from staff and owner. We'll certainly visit again, but may consider a less-busy evening or time without theatre crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service. A wonderful find. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Best filet EVER--We visit annualky while on vacation and drive 40 minutes each way--well worth it!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Elixir consistently serves excellent, appropriately sized meals. The waitstaff is attentive without being intrusive and the atmosphere is very nice. I highly recommend Elixir!

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2017

From the owner greting you at the door and sitting us to the outstanding service , everything was perfect . The antipasto for two fed three with everyone satisfied . The onion soup with carmalized onions was delicious as was the perfectly prepared steak . We will definitely return soon .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great restaurant, a little out of the way, but worth finding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This place never disappoints. Always a well-prepared good meal. In a region with not a lot of good restaurants, this is a gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Traveling through again for Fall Foliage tour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2017

My wife and I go here every time we are in the area. Food is always very good. Prices are good for the quality of the dishes. Our server was just ok but others seem much better. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent menu cooked from scratch. Elixir is ideal for a special occasion, the service was second to non, our waitress Lyn was excellent, providing advice regarding where we should visit while we are in the area. The best meal I have had in a long long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Their filet is always terrific. Wine special was special, and great value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This is a gem hidden off the main street of White River Junction. My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised not only by the quality of the food (and drink) but the very interesting and different menu items.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great meal in a fun atmosphere. We split pumpkin risotto special , petit filet mignon, salad with bacon dressing. Steak was perfectly cooked and a good value for the price, pumpkin risotto was delicious. Service was friendly and professional. We would be regulars if not a 6 hour drive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service was great, bartender and our waitress were wonderful and patient with my parents especially. That was a plus and kept our family dinner less stressful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Cosmopolitan, lively but not noisy, atmospheric (dark wood, soft lights, good art), terrific food, comprehensive wine list, excellent service, and hosts who are welcoming. Great for a special occasion or an evening out. A New York buzz in an up and coming Vermont town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with friends who were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding. The Elixir salad was unusual and delectable. Also unique was the onion soup served with a small ball of cheese rather than the normal provolone on top of the bowl. The best part of the evening was our wonderful server. We told jokes at the table and she joined in with her own. Absolute "hoot".

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food with local ingredients and brick-walled ambience in an authentic “freight house” setting. Worth the trip!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Delicious food and cocktails. Veal saltimboca was awesome

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always worth the trip no matter what occasion. Nice wine list. The waitstaff are fantastic and food delicious! Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The cocktails were wonderful, the entrees were a dream, and desert was heavenly!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We stopped by Elixer for a late dinner while in town for a work conference. The location made us a bit skeptical but our experience once we got inside was outstanding. The service was excellent and the food was even better. Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone considering it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great service, great food, a memorable night. Will return! A feast!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Simply excellent in every respect, my fourth visit

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a most excellent dinner! Of course it's always wonderful to see Sean, and his creative cocktails.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A delight! Skip so welcoming. Well-prepared food and excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Absolute surprise with great food and great wines. The veal was perfect and the owner has an excellent wine selection

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service. Homemade food at its best

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Elixir has become our favorite restaurant in the Upper Valley. We can always count on well-prepared food and excellent service. Jane and Skip, the owner/operators, are both very friendly and accommodating. While they generally have six or seven entrees, some of their appetizers can serve as "small-plate" meals. Wine choices are excellent and the prices for both individual glasses and full bottles are extremely fair. Very simply, a great place to dine !

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food is just amazing! From the starters throughout the desserts, an outstanding experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices. Wonderful, personable service. I'll be back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Really outstanding food, service and value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service and excellent attention to detail. Owners both visited our table for a chat and Skip surprised us with a nice gift for our anniversary! Our server was top notch, very friendly. Go to Elixir at every opportunity for a great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very clean and fresh ingredients put together with interesting taste and textures. Friendly service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Elixir has a short but imaginative menu. Presentations of all courses were exceptional. The dining room itself is not particularly prepossessing, and a window seat offers a rather depressing view of a dirt parking lot and abandoned railway tanker cars. Nonetheless, the service was very good overall, and quality of the dishes (duck confit/goat cheese spread, shrimp scampi, risotto, ice cream) was uniformly excellent. With a couple of glasses of good wine the bill came in way under $100 which, in our experience, is a very good value nowadays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Really great food but the menu was rather small. Really good appetizers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Recommended by a friend as an alternative to Hanover choices. A really great find!! Excellent food, nice service and very good and moderately priced wine list. We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Awesome food, friendly staff and great ambience. Very nice selection of wine too! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food is consistently excellent. The waitstaff polished, professional and attentive. We love it here!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We loved our dinner here! The service was phenomenal, the drinks were delicious, the food was lovely. When you first drive in you may wonder if you're in the right place but once you're inside you know it's the place you were looking for! The next time we are in the area, we will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was great. Loved my salmon dish; although this time of year, it was a tempura scallion not a ramp. (Still delicious though!) Our server was super attentive and very friendly.
Thanks so much for a lovely date night while we were on vacation!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.