Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Elixir

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (13)
Healthy (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Great Beer (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of the better and more unique experiences in the Upper Valley. Skip is a great host and the food and drink are always wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was great and the portions ample. The service was very attentive and helpful. I have eaten at Elixir before and will continue to do so - I feel that I can count on excellent food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Exceptional food and very nice ambiance although a bit noisy for tables in the middle of the room. Service very friendly but a little bit slow. However, others who have time limitations noted that servers have been very accommodating. We will definitely recommend Elixir to others and will return again!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

From first entering Elixir, to the wonderful service and outstanding food, presentation, hand-crafted cocktails and wine list, it was superb. Don't know why we waited so long to try it, but now I'm hooked. Return visits are going to happen. A gem, hidden away but great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and cocktails. Service was excellent. Manager was very accommodating.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was great as was the service. Definitely will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous meal, everything was scrumptious! Excellent service, creative drinks and lots of smiles all around. Don't miss this one!

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This restaurant is perfection. We have been delighted with our dining experience each and every time. The owner, Skip, has great spirit and he is passionate about the food, the service and the clients. We love going to Elixir and always make it a part of our Vermont experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Awesome staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Elixir was a fabulous find! A tiny restaurant in White River Junction, VT near the train station has the food of a five star restaurant anywhere. The drinks and meals were delicious. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The waitress was very attentive. This will be our go-to restaurant now when visiting our son at college.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Healthy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We knew going in that the food would be good, the staff was great and gave honest, helpful suggestions. The owner gave us a tour of the restaurant and its history after our meal, which was completely above and beyond. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Waiter confirmed we were pre theater so ensured we were served with plenty of time to make the curtain. Delectable fresh pea soup followed by pan-roasted cod did not disappoint. Another successful dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Elixir is a special place for food and drink quality and variety. And we have always valued the friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been going to Elixir for years and was glad to see that they'd "joined" OpenTable as it makes it easier to get a reservation. The menu is varied and there are always a couple of interesting specials. Cocoa-dusted petit filet mignons are a perennial favorite and they never disappoint. Serving sizes are perfect and the food and wine are very reasonably priced. It's a big draw for the Dartmouth College community so if you're planning to try it during a college event be sure to get your reservations early. Overall a fantastic casual culinary experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner was a bit slow coming out of the kitchen but we really weren't concerned because we were enjoying the evening. When our bill came, our waitress explained that our 2 desserts and expressions were comped because we had to wait for our entrees. To top it off, the owner/ manager came over after to apologize. Elixir is one class act restaurant and our meals were delicious !!!!! Highly recommend !

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good. We were pleasantly surprised. Drinks were a bit weak but good

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Whenever we travel to Vermont, we begin with reservations at Elixir. There's always a warm welcome, elegant, professional service, in an attractive, cozy historic setting. We have dined in many "fine" restaurants over our 66 years together and have never, ever had fillet mignon as tender, tasteful and perfectly prepared as that which we enjoy at Elixir.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If a restaurant can't cook better than me, it automatically receives a bad mark from me. I'm a gourmet cook and have worked in restaurants as well as catering on my own. I know what's good as well as how things on the menu are to be cooked. Elixir was for me - average. I found the menu to be disappointingly uncreative and ridiculously overpriced. I had the Vegetable Risotto, which was bland and runny and I suspect the vegetables were frozen. The cost? $17.50! The menu had dishes that I have already made myself - and made them cheaper.
I realize that most people aren't cooks and don't have my taste palate - my husband got the Duck and enjoyed it - so I won't say, "don't go". But if you are a foodie, you may be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Elixir is consistently good, both in food and service. In our case, the cauliflower soup was excellent and the eggplant tomato soup was good (though the tomato was so strong we couldn't taste the eggplant). The scallops were very good and the filet mignon was tasty (though we ordered medium-well and got well done). The homemade ice cream was very good (though too sweet). Wine selections were reasonable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always fun to catch up with friends and have a delicious meal.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Manager was very welcoming, as we had arrived early for our reservation. Sat at bar which had just experienced a major Friday night rush, but BT and patron were friendly. Was sat at table just as drinks from BT were served, so not a very long wait at all. Our server Shane was friendly and knowledgable. He was originally from Syracuse, which was not far from were we originally are from. Food was excellently prepared, and wine and beer selection were very good as well. Reasonable prices for this restored freight depot. Manager came over at the end and chatted us up in a friendly and informative manner, as I am a history buff and wanted to know more about this old freight station. Quite a variety of patrons, and all meals that passed by our table looked delicious.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Both the food and service were excellent, it was a wonderful experience! We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was our first visit to Elixir with friends. Elixir had been recommended by another couple we know but we didn't know what to expect. The wait staff, the food, the atmosphere was an absolute delight. We will definitely be dining at Elixir again.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

excellent pre-theatre spot, attentive service, friendly atmosphere, manageable menu choice and reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We had a great meal at Elixir, as always. They boast an interesting wine menu (with helpful samples if you want to try in advance!) and tasty food. Our group enjoyed the filet mignon, salmon, and scallops. A great restaurant for meat-eaters, but with only one vegetarian option on the menu, it would be tough for vegetarians. Our only complaint is the rationing of bread. The server places a single piece of bread on each plate - and that's all you get. A nice basket of bread with several pieces per person would be a nice improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very reliably delicious with clever dishes that have great flavor and presentation. Friendly attentive service was just perfect. Noise level is low. Cocktails interesting and very tasty

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was excellent with sampling of three different entrees. The wine selection was good with some great choices to go along with the meal. Service was excellent. A great place for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Incredible meals and service. Really unique venue. The salmon and scallops are my personal favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always a fabulous meal. Cannot recommend them more highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We could not ask for more ...the setting in a repurposed warehouse, gracious and competent service and every dish prepared with skillful intention.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We love this place and go here often. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Elixir is always good. We've never had a bad meal here. Service is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Tina Marie provided great service by suggesting food and wine that paired well with our evening. We return year after year for the pan fried chicken, scallops, and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We come often and let be this restaurant. One of the best in the area

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Every time we go to Elixir we seem to have a great experience and it keeps improving. We met friends who were going for their first visit to Elixir. We ordered drinks and an order of delicious frites to share. Our server, Brenna, was very attentive and offered the specials, and we all chose the dinner special. Veal Saltimbocca. It was served with a potato gratin and asparagus.......in a word, the dinner was superb ! We had a bottle of nicely priced zinfandel
and topped it all off with two desserts for the table which we shared. It was a busy Friday night, and there were several tables that turned, but it was never distracting. Great service with great food......it explains why Elixir is so popular and why you should always make a reservation or else you will be waiting to be seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at Elixir. The service was excellent Abby did a great job.

The food and drinks were outstanding. I recommend Elixir enthusiastically.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It is just a wonderful eating place with always a warm welcome from the Owner.He has taken an old railroad warehouse an made it a place for dining, excellent food, fun atmosphere, with bar and comfortable table settings . The waitstaff are there with great service and all the service you need. You must go there to see for your self.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

excellent spot.. very cozy inside.. Wish they didn't ran out of muscles...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a lovely evening. Food is always fabulous and our waitress was wonderful. One recommendation: it was cold by the windows. You may want to consider window treatments especially for winter. I did notice another couple close by had to wear their coats too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Elixir is great! From the minute we walked through the door and were seated we were treated like special guests. Wine list was very affordable, service was timely and allowed for an intimate dinner. (We are locals and I highly recommend the mussels...and the French fries with aioli.) But tonight we came in pre-performance for the theater and I had the salmon. Perfectly cooked and wonderfully plated. My date had the scallops. Many oohs and aahs. I highly recommend reservations as it is usually very crowded. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.