About Elixir

188 South Main Street
White River Junction, VT 05001
View Larger Map

Elixir Restaurant is located in the old Freight House in Downtown Historic White River Junction, Vermont.

Our menu features creative, approachable food, freshly prepared using local ingredients. Our wine list complements the food and will satisfy a variety of tastes.

Whether you simply want to relax with a glass of wine or enjoy dinner from our ever-changing menu, we offer a warm, inviting atmosphere with friendly service.

Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Bar open at 4:30pm, last call at 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 281-7009

Website:
http://www.elixirrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Amtrak station nearby.

Executive Chef:
Chad Lumbra

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Elixir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (11)
Fun (10)
Authentic (10)
Healthy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Historic (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great Beer (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Elixir is a special place for food and d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Elixir is a special place for food and drink quality and variety. And we have always valued the friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Elixir for years a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been going to Elixir for years and was glad to see that they'd "joined" OpenTable as it makes it easier to get a reservation. The menu is varied and there are always a couple of interesting specials. Cocoa-dusted petit filet mignons are a perennial favorite and they never disappoint. Serving sizes are perfect and the food and wine are very reasonably priced. It's a big draw for the Dartmouth College community so if you're planning to try it during a college event be sure to get your reservations early. Overall a fantastic casual culinary experience.

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was a bit slow coming out of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Our dinner was a bit slow coming out of the kitchen but we really weren't concerned because we were enjoying the evening. When our bill came, our waitress explained that our 2 desserts and expressions were comped because we had to wait for our entrees. To top it off, the owner/ manager came over after to apologize. Elixir is one class act restaurant and our meals were delicious !!!!! Highly recommend !

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good. We were pleasantly surprised. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good. We were pleasantly surprised. Drinks were a bit weak but good

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Whenever we travel to Vermont, we begin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Whenever we travel to Vermont, we begin with reservations at Elixir. There's always a warm welcome, elegant, professional service, in an attractive, cozy historic setting. We have dined in many "fine" restaurants over our 66 years together and have never, ever had fillet mignon as tender, tasteful and perfectly prepared as that which we enjoy at Elixir.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If a restaurant can't cook better than m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If a restaurant can't cook better than me, it automatically receives a bad mark from me. I'm a gourmet cook and have worked in restaurants as well as catering on my own. I know what's good as well as how things on the menu are to be cooked. Elixir was for me - average. I found the menu to be disappointingly uncreative and ridiculously overpriced. I had the Vegetable Risotto, which was bland and runny and I suspect the vegetables were frozen. The cost? $17.50! The menu had dishes that I have already made myself - and made them cheaper.

I realize that most people aren't cooks and don't have my taste palate - my husband got the Duck and enjoyed it - so I won't say, "don't go". But if you are a foodie, you may be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Elixir is consistently good, both in foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Elixir is consistently good, both in food and service. In our case, the cauliflower soup was excellent and the eggplant tomato soup was good (though the tomato was so strong we couldn't taste the eggplant). The scallops were very good and the filet mignon was tasty (though we ordered medium-well and got well done). The homemade ice cream was very good (though too sweet). Wine selections were reasonable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always fun to catch up with friends and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always fun to catch up with friends and have a delicious meal.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Manager was very welcoming, as we had ar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Manager was very welcoming, as we had arrived early for our reservation. Sat at bar which had just experienced a major Friday night rush, but BT and patron were friendly. Was sat at table just as drinks from BT were served, so not a very long wait at all. Our server Shane was friendly and knowledgable. He was originally from Syracuse, which was not far from were we originally are from. Food was excellently prepared, and wine and beer selection were very good as well. Reasonable prices for this restored freight depot. Manager came over at the end and chatted us up in a friendly and informative manner, as I am a history buff and wanted to know more about this old freight station. Quite a variety of patrons, and all meals that passed by our table looked delicious.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the food and service were excellent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Both the food and service were excellent, it was a wonderful experience! We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first visit to Elixir with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was our first visit to Elixir with friends. Elixir had been recommended by another couple we know but we didn't know what to expect. The wait staff, the food, the atmosphere was an absolute delight. We will definitely be dining at Elixir again.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent pre-theatre spot, attentive se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

excellent pre-theatre spot, attentive service, friendly atmosphere, manageable menu choice and reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great meal at Elixir, as always ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We had a great meal at Elixir, as always. They boast an interesting wine menu (with helpful samples if you want to try in advance!) and tasty food. Our group enjoyed the filet mignon, salmon, and scallops. A great restaurant for meat-eaters, but with only one vegetarian option on the menu, it would be tough for vegetarians. Our only complaint is the rationing of bread. The server places a single piece of bread on each plate - and that's all you get. A nice basket of bread with several pieces per person would be a nice improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very reliably delicious with clever dish ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very reliably delicious with clever dishes that have great flavor and presentation. Friendly attentive service was just perfect. Noise level is low. Cocktails interesting and very tasty

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent with sampling of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was excellent with sampling of three different entrees. The wine selection was good with some great choices to go along with the meal. Service was excellent. A great place for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible meals and service. Really un ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Incredible meals and service. Really unique venue. The salmon and scallops are my personal favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fabulous meal. Cannot recommen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always a fabulous meal. Cannot recommend them more highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could not ask for more ...the setting ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We could not ask for more ...the setting in a repurposed warehouse, gracious and competent service and every dish prepared with skillful intention.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this place and go here often. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We love this place and go here often. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elixir is always good. We've never had a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Elixir is always good. We've never had a bad meal here. Service is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Tina Marie provided great ser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Tina Marie provided great service by suggesting food and wine that paired well with our evening. We return year after year for the pan fried chicken, scallops, and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come often and let be this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We come often and let be this restaurant. One of the best in the area

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to Elixir we seem to ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Every time we go to Elixir we seem to have a great experience and it keeps improving. We met friends who were going for their first visit to Elixir. We ordered drinks and an order of delicious frites to share. Our server, Brenna, was very attentive and offered the specials, and we all chose the dinner special. Veal Saltimbocca. It was served with a potato gratin and asparagus.......in a word, the dinner was superb ! We had a bottle of nicely priced zinfandel

and topped it all off with two desserts for the table which we shared. It was a busy Friday night, and there were several tables that turned, but it was never distracting. Great service with great food......it explains why Elixir is so popular and why you should always make a reservation or else you will be waiting to be seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at Elixir. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at Elixir. The service was excellent Abby did a great job.

The food and drinks were outstanding. I recommend Elixir enthusiastically.

Tags: , Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is just a wonderful eating place with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It is just a wonderful eating place with always a warm welcome from the Owner.He has taken an old railroad warehouse an made it a place for dining, excellent food, fun atmosphere, with bar and comfortable table settings . The waitstaff are there with great service and all the service you need. You must go there to see for your self.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, , People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent spot.. very cozy inside.. Wish ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

excellent spot.. very cozy inside.. Wish they didn't ran out of muscles...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a lovely evening. Food is always ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a lovely evening. Food is always fabulous and our waitress was wonderful. One recommendation: it was cold by the windows. You may want to consider window treatments especially for winter. I did notice another couple close by had to wear their coats too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Elixir is great! From the minute we wal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Elixir is great! From the minute we walked through the door and were seated we were treated like special guests. Wine list was very affordable, service was timely and allowed for an intimate dinner. (We are locals and I highly recommend the mussels...and the French fries with aioli.) But tonight we came in pre-performance for the theater and I had the salmon. Perfectly cooked and wonderfully plated. My date had the scallops. Many oohs and aahs. I highly recommend reservations as it is usually very crowded. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love this place. They did make a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I just love this place. They did make a mistake on our order, but quickly brought out the right dish within a few minutes. The waitstaff are great and you can tell the owner really loves the business. He is courteous and available. I wish I could go there everyday!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. One of my fa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service and food. One of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could not have been more pleased. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We could not have been more pleased. I have difficulty hearing in most restaurants, but my wife and I were able to carry on a conversation even though the restaurant was nearly full. Food was excellent, I especially liked the chicken, and my wife loved the risotto, including the leftovers we took home and ate for lunch the following day. We shared a delicious appetizer of prosciutto, pears, and cheese. Wine list is extensive and fairly priced.....several wines I enjoy at under $7.50 a glass. We loved the decor and mentioned that to Skip when we left. He proceeded to give us an interesting short tour of his part of the restored freight house. We have been there twice in the past few months and will be going more frequently in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were heading to a show after dinner. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were heading to a show after dinner. The owner greeted us, hung up our coats and asked if we were heading to the show. He said he'd let our server know so we'd make it in time. The meal was delicious and we made it to the show with time to spare!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is amazing! We travel fr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! We travel from the other side of the state to visit - it's worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another nice meal at Elixir. One of sev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Another nice meal at Elixir. One of several enjoyable restaurants in downtown White River Junction. This one is right by the tracks so summer time evenings, you might see a train enter and leave the station!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoy our meal a birthday dinner. Food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoy our meal a birthday dinner. Food was atmosphere was good drinks for good service was okay we will come back again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Elixir has consistently good food and wi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Elixir has consistently good food and wine at reasonable prices. This time had a two specials, pork belly appetizer and short rib entree, which were both comfort food but delicious. Service was excellent and friendly even though it was a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and location Although parkin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and location

Although parking is a bit limited,don't let that stop you.

They have a wide variety of food for all tastes and a pretty good wine and beverage list to choose from.

If I'm ever back in WRJ Elixir is the place go be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious. Awesome menu and g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Awesome menu and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was very good, just a bit loud! T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Dinner was very good, just a bit loud! The service was outstanding. We were seated quickly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised to find suc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful restaurant in White River Jct! We were immediately asked whether we were attending a show (which we were), and the food service was timed appropriately. Drink selections are extensive and inexpensive. The menu features a variety of dishes. We tried the salmon and the steak, and both were excellent. I highly recommend Elixir! Great atmosphere and good service in addition to excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.