About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
McDonald and Superstition

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.sanctuaryoncamelback.com/dining/elements/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday and Saturday evening from 7:00pm-11:00pm for live entertainment in our Jade bar.

Join us every Sunday afternoon from 2:30pm-6:00pm for live music in our Jade bar, as well as 1/2 off bottles of wine.

Catering:
For more information on private dining, please call 480.624.0174 .

Parking Details:
Our valet is complimentary

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining. Indulge in stunning views of the valley and elements' signature farm-fresh American cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (72)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Romantic (55)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Modern Decor (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Fun (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fireplace (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Seasonal (12)
People Watching (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (9)
Private Room (9)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Live Music (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Waterfront (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my wife's birthday, service and f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

It was my wife's birthday, service and food was great. They gave wonderful dessert with 'happy birthday' with no charge and even cupcake. Atmosphere was top notch and view was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Elements for our Valentine's dat ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Went to Elements for our Valentine's date last Friday. Food was amazing. A bit overpriced but really very good. Our server forgot one of our dishes and also put in a wrong dish. I was a server for many years- I might recommend writing down orders! We were in a good mood so we never said anything... probably wouldn't go back just because it is very pricy. A fun experience nonetheless.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Recommended by the realtor we are workin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Recommended by the realtor we are working with, we got a last minute reservation right at sunset. Beautiful views, good food, excellent service and an interesting menu made this a wonderful evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at elements was for my annive ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

First time at elements was for my anniversary and eventual engagement later that night. It was nice and quiet in our little booth and very private. Tonight was for Valentines day celebration as well as the first day of a new job. It is about a 40 minute drive from home but well worth it. The bill can add up quickly and become quite expensive but the quality of the food matches the pricing. Everything tastes amazing; something you never thought you'd order or pair together are given to you and taste absolutely amazing. We will definitely be coming back her for special occasions time and time again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After a subpar experience on Valentine's ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

After a subpar experience on Valentine's Day, we returned last night at the invitation of Justin Wilson, Food and Beverage Director. He, Beau (executive chef), and Greg (Sommelier and host) went above and beyond to create a very special evening. The food, wine, and service were truly amazing!!! Elements will continue to be one of our favorites in the Scottsdale area and we can highly recommend this restaurant for a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was outstanding. The food wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Our service was outstanding. The food was delicious. The manager did visit our table. I was blown away by some aspects but unimpressed with other aspects. I think the restaurant portion could use an upgrade visually. They could focus a little more on cleanliness. The floor was pretty dirty in the lounge like did scattered in the floor. Although the scenic view is impeccable the restaurant isn't very modern. I love a good atmosphere. The staff is delightful and I did enjoy my experience and will likely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Early Valentine's Day dinner with my fia ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Early Valentine's Day dinner with my fiancé, was an absolutely amazing experience. Excellent food, excellent service, and an amazing ambiance for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious and the service ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service. The staff m ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent customer service. The staff made it their priority to see that our dinning experience was pleasurable one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Elements is by far the best in the valle ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Elements is by far the best in the valley. Great view of the lights. Beau and his crew make the nights food fit food the most discriminate foodie.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, , Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing views, cuisine, and ambiance! M ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing views, cuisine, and ambiance! My wife had the tuna and I had the filet. Delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at Elements and ou ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was our first time at Elements and our experience was outstanding from start to finish. The view from the side of the mountain was spectacular. All of the staff were very professional and the service (our server was Riley) was impeccable. Were able to have conversation without shouting (as is the case in too many restaurants). The Hamachi sashimi was the best ever as was the lobster mac and cheese. The pork chop was superb and the Salmon was tender, not dry, and delicious. The desserts, 2 gelatos and some mores were also wonderful. We will definitely be back and soon!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent diners at Elements. We ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We are frequent diners at Elements. We love the food and service.

Our only complaint was the fact that you were having two private parties at the restaurant while we were dining. The problem is that the nose level coming from the private parties was unacceptably loud, particularly since one of the parties was right next to where we were sitting and was separated from us by only a curtain.

Incidentally, Riley and his team gave us exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic menu, a couple of vegetarian o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic menu, a couple of vegetarian options. Attentive service. Creative cocktails. Nice happy hour menu, good value. One of the top restaurants in the Phoenix area.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food courtesy of the sous chef!!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing food courtesy of the sous chef!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What was Great: The food was DELICIOUS! ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

What was Great: The food was DELICIOUS! We had the salmon and the ribs . I liked that they didn't overcook the salmon, we got the full benefit of a fine fillet. Everything including the drinks and desserts was very well prepared. Our server was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

The ambiance is calm and relaxing. We never felt rushed, and the view of the valley is stunning.

What was not great: We were kept waiting 20 minutes after our reservation time. We had to get up and ask about our table. She seemed surprised, and seated us right away. We were right in front of her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overpriced. $83 for two medicore salads, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overpriced. $83 for two medicore salads, two glasses of wine, and one cup of coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our meal at Elements was excellent and t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our meal at Elements was excellent and the weight staff and manager were superb. I would highly recommend the restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought out of town guests for Sunday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We brought out of town guests for Sunday brunch - most enjoyable! They wanted to sit outside (from chicago) and enjoy the view. Food was excellent. Wonderful morning. Goal accomplished!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We absolutely love this place! The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We absolutely love this place! The food hands down has to be the best we have had in all of Phoenix. The chef is absolutely amazing and his food choices are just great! Everything was extremely tasty and just so good. This is definitely our favorite place to go to for special occasions. You cannot compare the view, food and the service to anywhere else in Phoenix. We LOVE it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding all across the board. My hu ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding all across the board.

My husband and I are major foodies and we've tried every five star restaurant within a 50 mile radius of Phoenix. When we rate a restaurant, we base it on all points including food, service, ambiance, the drive up to the establishment and valet, the greeting by the hostess, the willingness of staff to make you comfortable and even the butter and bread.

We ordered calamari and tuna tartare, both were fresh and delectable. We ordered fillet mignon and the short ribs which were completely full of flavor and love. We had green beans and the brussels sprouts which were to LIVE for and my husband doesn't even like Brussels sprouts!

Then I had the most delicious cup of hot cocoa I've ever had in my life and I'm 45 years old! We had the pumpkin cheesecake and a gingersnap tart which we're just as amazing as the entrées. (Typically we find that if the entrées are strong, the desserts are weak but that was not the case here.)

This is a place to take someone if you really want to impress them, or if you are having friends from out of town and want to show them a little slice of the valley or if you just want to reward yourself for all your hard work. Bravo!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time experiencing Elements, wh ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our first time experiencing Elements, which had been on my personal wish list to try for several year, and all four of us had a fantastic meal. Very creative menu with interesting flavor combinations and infusions of numerous cultures. Service was impeccable, yet uninstrusive. Very pleased. Definitely a special-occasion destination and we'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at this restaurant is always an e ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dinner at this restaurant is always an extra special treat; from cocktails while viewing a sunset to dinner in a cozy booth overlooking the city lights, the evening is always perfect. The food is spectacular, and there isn't a thing on the menu not to love. The service is impeccable, there when you need them and invisible when you don't. The gentleman who took care of us was happy to make suggestions and explanations; thank you C.J.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elements was gorgeous! The whole experie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Elements was gorgeous! The whole experience was wonderful. CJ, our waiter, was very patient and thorough in explaining the menu. Our food tasted great but the ambiance and service was better. Overall, it was a fantastic experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went Sunday Brunch to celebrate our b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went Sunday Brunch to celebrate our birthdays. The brunch menu was a selection of dishes from the breakfast and lunch menus, not a buffet. So, one of us had what is usually considered a breakfast dish and the other had a lunch menu dish. We were both very happy with our selections. Well prepared and attractively presented we thoroughly enjoyed our meals while having a lovely view from the terraced restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place breathtaking views and a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place breathtaking views and amazing food

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific and inventive food...inconsiste ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Terrific and inventive food...inconsistent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We loved KC!!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We loved KC!!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous view. Food was good, and the ta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Gorgeous view. Food was good, and the table and bar service was excellent. Hostess forgot about us at the bar, but we were there early.

Looked like there were a lot of first dates there. Go for the sunset and order from the bar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here this past weekend, and we walked out amazed! Amazed by the service, the ambiance and the Food! This is going to be our spot every year now to celebrate our anniversary.

Thank elements for making it a special night for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect 44th Wedding Anniversary Dinner, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Perfect 44th Wedding Anniversary Dinner, the view was incredible and staff were very attentive and the food was great especially the Oysters and a nice treat at the end a cupcake for our anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Staff was very mindful of fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food. Staff was very mindful of food allergies.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive for what you get. I had the f ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Expensive for what you get. I had the filet - presentation was great but I've had better steak on my grill. Beautiful views of city.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We've been here many times and always en ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've been here many times and always enjoy it. We ate inside and it was a little noisy. We had a romantic table just for two facing the scenic view.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great view

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great view

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here several times, and ha ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have eaten here several times, and have never had a bad experience. Last night was the exception. We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and just about everything that could have gone wrong did. Our entrees came on top of our appetizer even though we asked our waiter to hold until we let him know we were ready for the next course. My filet was so tough I sent it back. How does one prepare a "tough" filet unless they are buying poor quality meat? I got the salmon instead, which was good but not outstanding. We ordered a bottle of Veuve to celebrate and it was warm when brought to us. The sommelier apologized for it being warm. This was ridiculous, as Veuve is not a reserve champagne and commonly ordered. A restaurant of this caliber should have cool champagne by the bottle readily available. My husband's dessert was dry (banana miso) and fortunately was complimentary. I could have given this place a bit of a better review, but to top things off, the valet guy brought us the wrong car. He could not find it!!! Who does that? We had to help him go through keys to find ours. Completely unacceptable! Done with elements

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

It was a most enjoyable evening. Denise ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was a most enjoyable evening. Denise made the dining special. We shall return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I couldn't have asked for a more magical ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I couldn't have asked for a more magical experience to spend my wedding anniversary with my beautiful wife of 22 years. The professionalism and quality of food was better than anything I experienced in my life. Beau MacMillan, KC and Gary made my night and made my wife feel like a million bucks. Thanks team!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG. Excellent food and great service. A ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

OMG. Excellent food and great service. Ask for a lower booth. The views are amazing. We highly recommend!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.