About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday and Saturday evening from 7:00pm-11:00pm for live entertainment in our Jade bar.

Join us every Sunday afternoon from 2:30pm-6:00pm for live music in our Jade bar, as well as 1/2 off bottles of wine.

Parking Details:
Our valet is complimentary

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pork Chop - elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
Rolled Chocolate Cake - elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Elements will be offering a 4-course prixe fix menu for Valentines Day, at $125 per person. It includes 1 glass of sparkling rose for each guest.

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (69)
Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (53)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Modern Decor (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (14)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Live Music (10)
Fireplace (10)
Seasonal (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Waterfront (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had asked if food was sesame oil free ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

I had asked if food was sesame oil free and it was not. I became ill as a result. Not good to say the least.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I proposed to my girlfriend here and the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

I proposed to my girlfriend here and the wait staff was magnificent. I went in three days prior to see if it was ok to propose there and let them know I was just going to be doing drinks and dessert. I was worried when I received a call from a different manager Saturday at 4 pm which was 5 hours prior to my reservation that they do not do this for drinks and dessert only so I was worried that they were going to cancel. It worked out at the end and our server made the night very special and a night to remember.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, one of my favorite in the Phoe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, one of my favorite in the Phoenix Metro Area

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was shady. Would have appreciated ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Server was shady. Would have appreciated him being honest about size of meat servings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server, Cooper, was phenomenal! He ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server, Cooper, was phenomenal! He knew the menu like the back of hi hand and was able to recommend some amazing dining options for us (I have severe food allergies that can make eating out challenging and he he didn't bat an eye when I explained my complications).

From drinks, to starters, to dinner, to dessert, the whole experience was wonderful!!

Go see Cooper.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing! The food (best po ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This place is amazing! The food (best pork chop EVER), service (Denise and her group were great) and the atmosphere/view are 2nd to none! Fanstistic place for special anniversary dinner. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had the chicken and loved all ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Two of us had the chicken and loved all the yummy flavors. One had the short ribs and said they were delicious. One had the filet mignon and didn't think the taste was as good as ours at home with a rub we got from a butcher years ago and have used since.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

stunning views of the surrounding mounta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

stunning views of the surrounding mountains, very upscale clientele, some with pvt jets arriving at local airport food is good, not great service is good wine list is well structured and fairly priced word of advice: we went twice once for everyday dining where we chose well and the food and service was great second was new year's eve where the meal was poor and the wine pairings sometimes inappropriate bar drinks wonderful (grapefruit basil was great)

when in the area you should def give it a try ask for a booth

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food at an expensive price, look t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food at an expensive price, look to spend close to 250 per person

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Amazing! Came here on our 1 year anniver ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing! Came here on our 1 year anniversary after coming here on our first date. Everything was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, fresh, tasty food. We had an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful, fresh, tasty food.

We had an early lunch so the ambience was quiet and casual. Our waiter Jose was professional, helpful and attentive. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful service, very attentive, food ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful service, very attentive, food was as expected exceptional except the duck. It felt a little too crowded for the space available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It was extremely noisy..kids yelling, cr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was extremely noisy..kids yelling, crying also. I was surprised by the noise

I was expecting a more serene atmosphere. Service was very good. Food was good but not as outstanding as sometimes.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Waiter had a problem comprehending order ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Waiter had a problem comprehending order and the wait was outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great food and service. Spectacular vie ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food and service. Spectacular views. A very special dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FABulous everytime! Wonderful food, drin ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

FABulous everytime! Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We experienced beautifully prepared food ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We experienced beautifully prepared food in a gorgeous setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flawless experience with amazing coctail ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Flawless experience with amazing coctails. Every staff member was friendly and the view of the mountains was the icing on the cake

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the view for the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was delicious, the view for the sunset was beautiful. I wish I could remember our waitresses name because she was awesome. Without us asking, she took us out on the balcony, pointed out all the different peaks and mountains and their names, then took several pictures for us. It is pricey but for a special Christmas Eve dinner for two, it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salads were unique and delicious! Th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The salads were unique and delicious! The two different steaks we enjoyed were some of the best we've ever tasted.

Our waiter was knowledgeable and on top of everything. Great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elements remains my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Elements remains my favorite restaurant in Phoenix. I hadn't been in over a year and took some out of town guests that are total foodies form the Bay area. We had an amazing meal, the best view of the Praying Monk at sunset. Couldn't have been better. Thanks so much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal I've had in a l ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Absolutely the best meal I've had in a long time! Swordfish....unbelievable. we had good service, but I expected GREAT service. Overall, perfect place for a quiet, intimate birthday meal. The birthday cupcake they gave my husband was delicious. Such a perfect evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Elements is a beautiful restaurant at th ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Elements is a beautiful restaurant at the Sanctuary Camelback Mountain. From the moment you drive up to the valet you feel like you are in a nicer world. We arrived early and went to their bar (Jade). It was very busy and loud, but everyone was having fun. At the exact time the hostess arrived to tell us that our table was waiting. We had a nice view before and after sunset. The service was good, but our server seemed to be handling the entire room since there was a private party next door. Everything was well prepared and we had a great time. A place to bring friends that need a nice break.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my second visit and I thoroughl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was my second visit and I thoroughly enjoyed it AGAIN. The service and food were exceptional and the facility, although a little pricey, is well worth the visit. On my first visit I was staying at Sanctuary. This visit however was specifically to return to elements. Tip: try the edamame.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and fantastic service! 5 ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fantastic food and fantastic service! 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It could have been a lot better the serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It could have been a lot better the service that is. The food was good not the best being from NYC, but very good for being in Arizona. The problem was the waiter pushing every expensive item on the menu and pushing the most expensive bottle of wine. Lol being from NYC it was laughable to listen to this guy. IF I ask you what you recommend and it just happens to be the 4 most expensive items on the menu for appetizers and the 3 most expensive for entrees , I'd rather not recommend this place, go someplace that they care to have you come back and recommend friend and family to go to, clearly they only wanted your money here. we left with a bitter taste in our mouth with the lack of experience our waiter had and the lack of attendance he had to our table. The Chilean Sea Bass special could not be finished, way too much Salt and the filet mignon entree had mushrooms that you could not chew through and the waiter had no clue what they were. My girlfriend thought it was a fatty piece of stake, I thought after the waiter stared at the mushroom with a flash light for ten minutes he would have the answer, but nope no idea he had to go to the chef and come back later after it was gone to tell us what it was.

Overall great ambiance some great appetizers but service and entrees a Big Bust!! We have had way better meals for $100 bucks. And have also dined together having a single dinner cost $500 in New York City. This was nothing special and not worth the headache when you want to relax

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful in every aspect. Gr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Absolutely wonderful in every aspect. Great food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All was good I like the view and the peo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

All was good I like the view and the people watching. Expensive on the drinks but the meal was tasty.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only down side to our luncheon exper ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The only down side to our luncheon experience was the surprise on the bill for the champagne. $60.00 per glass regardless of brand is ourageouss.since I was running late and joined my friends I really only glanced at pricing and in the future I will ask to be quoted.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

What a wonderful way to celebrate our an ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What a wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary. Our sever helped set the stage. She guided us through the menu and joked with our son. The food was fantastic and the views were amazing. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOTALLY AWESOME -- ONE OF OUR VERY FAVOR ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

TOTALLY AWESOME -- ONE OF OUR VERY FAVORITE PLACES TO EAT IN THE WORLD. YES, THE WHOLE WORLD. :-)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Food Waiter was one of the best I ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our Food Waiter was one of the best I have ever experienced. Professional and knowledgeable all wrapped in a great sense of humor. A lovely evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic setting, great views

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Romantic setting, great views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have lived our experience both times ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We have lived our experience both times we have dined here. Excellent food!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, we enjoyed food, cockt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great experience, we enjoyed food, cocktails and music

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely restaurant located in elegant set ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lovely restaurant located in elegant setting. It was dark when we arrived so we didn't get to enjoy what we heard was a spectacular view, but indoors was warm and cozy. The staff that greeted us immediately wished our birthday guy a happy birthday, and with that I was confident they would recognize this event with an appropriate dessert, which they did, candle and all.

The cocktails were fantastic, the two appetizers the 4 of us shared were delicious (calamari and mussels) and quite unusual.

The main courses were good, we had duck, which was very nice, the double cut pork chop which was enormous, tender, a bit sweet for our taste but quite nice, and the short ribs which I did not taste but heard they were wondeful. Portions were larger than we're used to (no complaints!!).

Our servers were prompt, but not particularly warm or friendly, we all agreed the specials were described mechanically, our main waiter seemed humerlous and not terribly helpful, and in a hurry.

Still, it was a great meal, we will return soon to enjoy a brunch or lunch, and we've heard the bar is fantastic so we may need to spend some time there too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We came to Sanctuary for my fiance's bir ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We came to Sanctuary for my fiance's birthday for dinner and to stay, we absolutely LOVE Sanctuary & Elements restaurant! Amazing service, great great food & we love the mixology bar & drinks! Get the fiery mandrin :)

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere, great food....a li ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere, great food....a little pricey best for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place. Took my girlfriend for her ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great place. Took my girlfriend for her 46th birthday. Very enjoyable. Fantastic service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Chief maybe best in the world!! ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fabulous Chief maybe best in the world!!' Amazing waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.