About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday and Saturday evening from 7:00pm-11:00pm for live entertainment in our Jade bar.

Join us every Sunday afternoon from 2:30pm-6:00pm for live music in our Jade bar, as well as 1/2 off bottles of wine.

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us on December 13th at 6:30pm for a 3-course dinner paired with Woodford Reserve Bourbon in our beautiful Jade bar.

Restaurant Photos

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
Pork Chop - elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ
Rolled Chocolate Cake - elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

In addition to our New Year’s Eve Prixe Fix Menu in elements, we will also be selling tables in our Jade bar for up to 6 guests. If you choose this package, the table will be yours all night, and comes with the prixe fix menu for each of your guests, a bottle of champagne, and New Year’s Eve party

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Scenic View
Phoenix / Arizona
7 More
American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
Best Food
Scottsdale
Best Service
Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Special Occasion
Scottsdale
American
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Scenic View (77)
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (64)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Modern Decor (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (12)
Live Music (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fireplace (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Romantic setting, great views

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Romantic setting, great views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have lived our experience both times ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We have lived our experience both times we have dined here. Excellent food!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, we enjoyed food, cockt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great experience, we enjoyed food, cocktails and music

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely restaurant located in elegant set ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lovely restaurant located in elegant setting. It was dark when we arrived so we didn't get to enjoy what we heard was a spectacular view, but indoors was warm and cozy. The staff that greeted us immediately wished our birthday guy a happy birthday, and with that I was confident they would recognize this event with an appropriate dessert, which they did, candle and all.

The cocktails were fantastic, the two appetizers the 4 of us shared were delicious (calamari and mussels) and quite unusual.

The main courses were good, we had duck, which was very nice, the double cut pork chop which was enormous, tender, a bit sweet for our taste but quite nice, and the short ribs which I did not taste but heard they were wondeful. Portions were larger than we're used to (no complaints!!).

Our servers were prompt, but not particularly warm or friendly, we all agreed the specials were described mechanically, our main waiter seemed humerlous and not terribly helpful, and in a hurry.

Still, it was a great meal, we will return soon to enjoy a brunch or lunch, and we've heard the bar is fantastic so we may need to spend some time there too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We came to Sanctuary for my fiance's bir ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We came to Sanctuary for my fiance's birthday for dinner and to stay, we absolutely LOVE Sanctuary & Elements restaurant! Amazing service, great great food & we love the mixology bar & drinks! Get the fiery mandrin :)

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere, great food....a li ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere, great food....a little pricey best for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place. Took my girlfriend for her ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great place. Took my girlfriend for her 46th birthday. Very enjoyable. Fantastic service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Chief maybe best in the world!! ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fabulous Chief maybe best in the world!!' Amazing waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The thanksgiving menu and service was ou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The thanksgiving menu and service was outstanding!!!Even my husband that is not a foodie enjoyed the dinner very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I found ourselves without ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My husband and I found ourselves without family this Thanksgiving so we took advantage of Elements' prix fixe Thanksgiving dinner. Every aspect, from a creative menu and beautifully prepared food to appropriately attentive service, was thoughtful and well done. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service, but was quite ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good food, great service, but was quite pricey for the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We went here for a romantic birthday din ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here for a romantic birthday dinner. The restaurant is seated at the dazzling Sanctuary Resort. The rarefied atmosphere sweeps you into another world that is elegant but comfortable. From beginning to end, each dish was a wow every time. The staff was exemplary. For a 'dream come true' meal - this is as good as it gets.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant. The dumplings were t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Lovely restaurant. The dumplings were the best I ever had. However, there needs to be more vegetarian options. Just one vegetarian main course, a so so pumpkin curry was a disappointment.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We had an amazing view to go with our fa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had an amazing view to go with our fantastic meal! The Japanese flair was wonderful and I could go back tomorrow. It is well worth the trip to this restaurant, even if you're not staying at the hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner with excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with excellent professional service. The menu is small but diverse and the food was amazing with a beautiful presentation in a spectacular setting.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Beautiful food.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great service. Beautiful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The view is amazing!!! The food was deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The view is amazing!!! The food was delicious and they were accommodating to allowing breakfast items off their website that weren't included on the Sunday brunch menu. Absolute must visit when In Scottsdale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place never disappoints. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place never disappoints. The food is delicious. We love the ambiance. They tried to rush us a bit but when we asked the waiter to slow down, he did so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Every dish we tried was imaginative and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Every dish we tried was imaginative and delicious. Ambiance was wonderful - beautiful restaurant and views -- modern yet warm -- and no blasting music.

Ray was an awesome waiter. Great service and personality!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really well prepared food and amazing vi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really well prepared food and amazing views. Tuna Tartar was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent and ambience is b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was excellent and ambience is beautiful .

I strongly recommend the short rib entrée.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate at Elements on our first evening ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We ate at Elements on our first evening because it was within our resort and didn't have high expectations. The food is fantastic. Everything was prepared perfectly. You will not be disappointed! Excited to be back tomorrow night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm a huge, huge fan of Elements and the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I'm a huge, huge fan of Elements and the Sanctuary. But Sunday breakfast was really a bust. Food was cold, and not prepared as requested. Wait staff were disorganized like nothing I've ever seen there before. I gave up on getting my grapefruit juice after three requests, and they still billed me for it. Come on, guys, you can do a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

The servers have a hard time . Elements ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The servers have a hard time . Elements has runners so the person that takes your order does not get it from the kitchen. Therefore your order is not checked if it is correct. We ate breakfast and dinner 4 times. Only once was the order correct the first time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Phenomenal food, service and scenery.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Phenomenal food, service and scenery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful p place ...Tony took perfect c ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful p place ...Tony took perfect care of us and the food was amazing

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions. Beaut ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great place for special occasions. Beautiful views, food was great and all of the staff was very attentive. We will always go here then we visit Scottsdale.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my bride to elements for our anni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I took my bride to elements for our anniversary. Anthony was our server and he was wonderful. The hostess mentioned to him that it was our anniversary, hearing it in our informal banter, and really made us feel special.

The menu was to DIE for. We thought we would sample a larger than normal selection and we just ate too much. The elemental soup, the sashimi, and the brussel sprouts were our favorite. We had a special Chilean Sea Bass that was delicious.

We'll go again. I've already recommended elements to friends and coworkers and my wife LOVED her surprise.

Thanks Anthony, the supporting staff, and the hostesses we met for a wonderful night!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent. The atmosphere is ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food is excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed but upscale. I don't tend to eat at restaurants with higher priced menus that often but this place is my exception.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful time! Atmosphere cann ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Always a wonderful time!

Atmosphere cannot be beat!

Go for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Historic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful views, incredible menu and exc ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

beautiful views, incredible menu and excellent wait staff. I am sensitive to gluten so I covered my bread plate when the waiter was passing out bread. He quietly whispered to me and asked if I was passing on bread due to a gluten allergy and when I confirmed that was the reason he then brought me a plate of delicious gluten free bread. I was impressed that he was paying attention and went out of his way for me. I had no idea that GF bread could taste that good. Gorgeous views from the bar and dining room. This place is a favorite for my husband and I.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, atmosphere, service and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, service and breathtaking views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is excellent with large ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This restaurant is excellent with large servings of great food!! Everything tasted so good. (Breakfast). We will return every time we come to Phoenix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food is always amazing and the waite ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2016

the food is always amazing and the waiters are charming and helpful. we love to stop on our way to LA. Kudos to chef Bo. We live in Newport, ri and he was our neighbor for a while?? Coming back to dine on the Nov. 15th. thank you. v treherne-thomas

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, thanks Beaumac. You are ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great, thanks Beaumac. You are a great chef. Food was excellent, presented beautifully, great variation of flavors. Drinks and service very mediocre, I was shocked 😲. Atmosphere just ok. Check out the Camelback Inn across the street for a landscape plan. The vibe when walking around was almost uneasy. Planting, lighting, etc. needs work. Rooms with mopbuckets and garbage fully on display. It was a disappointment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was amazing and our waiter was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter was top notch. This is quite honestly one of the best restaurants that we have been to in this area. I would return over and over again. The manager was engaging and thoughtful as well. Both the food, service and ambiance was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to come back since we had a g ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We decided to come back since we had a great time and food the first visit despite the monsoon. This time was just as good. Will return but request a seating with a special view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As expected, we were serviced with great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As expected, we were serviced with great care in celebration of our 10th anniversary. Service, atmosphere, and food were fantastic. Recommend highly for special occasions, lunch, or brunch. One of our favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary dinner. Had a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went for our anniversary dinner. Had a terrific time. The food was excellent as was the service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michael's service was wonderful! Beau's ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Michael's service was wonderful! Beau's food was fabulous! The two table west patio was great, at the time we were there the second table was not seated, so we had a private patio with a fire bowl, view of the negative edge pool, Mummy mountain, and the Praying Monk. Perfect place to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.