About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Saturday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday from 8:30pm-11:30pm for dinner and dancing under the stars. Reservations suggested.

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hosted by Chef Beau MacMillan, Sanctuary's eleventh annual Lunch & Learn introduces guests and locals to star chefs, wine makers and culinary experts. These Saturday events during July and August include a three-course lunch (or dinner) paired with wine or cocktails, along with lessons on how to prepare the culinary specialties, and recipes to take home.

http://www.sanctuaryoncamelback.com/food/events/lunchlearn.php

Restaurant Photos

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Pork Chop
Rolled Chocolate Cake

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
2 More
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
American
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

scenic view (157)
special occasion (134)
romantic (120)
See All
fit for foodies (115)
great for outdoor dining (86)
notable wine list (65)
vibrant bar scene (37)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (29)
neighborhood gem (25)
hot spot (25)
great for lunch (24)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (3)
business meals (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a treat anytime & one of our ...

Dined 3 days ago

Definitely a treat anytime & one of our favorite places to enjoy alone, dine with friends or show off the beauty of the desert when we have out-of-town guests. You really can't go wrong at Elements!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience.The best view in Ph ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience.The best view in Phoenix matched by the best food. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to elements several times. ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have been to elements several times. Our waiter was Sean and he was, by far, the best waiter I have had there. He was patient, articulate, and very service oriented. It was clear he was going to do everything he could to ensure our experience was top notch. His suggestions for appetizers were perfect. Meal was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful view and the food was great!

Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful view and the food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great.....the breakfast f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was great.....the breakfast food, fresh orange juice, beverages, the waiter, Ron, and the awesome scenery!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We were very disappointed by our recent ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We were very disappointed by our recent evening at Elements. This was not our first trip to Elements, which is rightly regarded as one of the top restaurants in the Phoenix area. It has a stunning location, looking out over Paradise Valley, and a terrific chef. However, they really dropped the ball this time. WE were celebrating a special birthday. We notified the restaurant in advance (through Open Table) about the birthday, and the hostess acknowledged this when we arrived.But the wait staff never said anything -- nor did they do anything to help us celebrate. Their neglect marred the evening. Most restaurants -- including many that are far less expensive -- go out of their way to make the birthday person feel special. Elements did absolutely nothing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. Service was awe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was fantastic. Service was awesome. Anthony made it a pleasurable experience. Can't wait to return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were there for my wife's birthday. Wa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We were there for my wife's birthday. Was great, they look at a nice table for the special event. Food was great, well balanced. We just had a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service and the view real ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service and the view really sets it apart from everywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been to in Phoenix. The filet was tender and flavorful, and the smores dish was excellent.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

beautiful venue,superb service food needs improvet

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

A beautiful space, food elegantly served but food needs refinement. The most egregious was the excess sugar used. So unnecessary! No subtlety in the combination of flavors. had duck and fish. Duck was cooked to perfection but over sugared. The foie the same. Served over pineapple upside down cake, with ...added sugar sprinkled on top. Even the fish didn't escape the chef's penchant for sugar. Desert was gelato, coconut and lemon. Nice but not fantastic. Will return, in the hope that sugar will be more scarce. We were celebrating 53 years of marriage!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food is unique, but not worth price

Dined on June 7, 2016

I've dined at restaurants all over the world -- and can confidently say that though this place has a unique take on many dishes, it is simply not worth the price. If I had paid half of what I did for my entrees and apps, I would have been satisfied -- but at those prices, I was expecting perfection and was left wanting more. The view is really pretty though, so it may be worth a trip for a drink at sunset.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on June 6, 2016

We heard a lot of buzz about this restaurant. We decided to do lunch and beat the crowds, which we did. Disappointed in the fact we weren't given a window seat and food was so so. Pretty pricey. Loved our server!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The view alone was fabulous! Food presen ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The view alone was fabulous! Food presentation was grand as was the ambiance. I had a seafood dish and my dinner companion had the short ribs. We were not disappointed! I enjoyed each and every bite!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was superb and the customer ser ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was superb and the customer service was top notch!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Asian Flavorful

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very creative menu with Asian infused flavors in almost every dish. Really fresh fish selections not usually available in the desert. Sunset dinner starts out with glaring light in your eyes (thankfully there are shades) but ends with soft shadows. Makes for a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best view in the valley. Am ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The absolute best view in the valley. Amazing sites and outstanding food. Surprisingly big portions and subtle flavors. We had an excellent time. Thank you!

food3
ambience4
service3

Wonderful if you are seated in the booth ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful if you are seated in the booths in front of the panorama of camelback. Get there as the sunset begins. Bar drinks are great as is Jade bar scene. Friday night band and singer performing. Went on Memorial Day Friday so place was packed and service slow. Staff apologized. Food is good. 3 1/2 out of 5. Still we return when in the area. The overall zen is wonderful the experience worth the detour

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome. Great view, great food, ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Always awesome. Great view, great food, great service. Pork chop dish was excellent, plenty to share with wife. Lobster bisque exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious! Lovely view.

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Lovely view.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic night out with my wife.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic night out with my wife.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent view, great wine list, fantast ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent view, great wine list, fantastic food. Cant complain about anything. Need to go at night as the view of the mountains is spectacular. If its not too hot or windy, sit outside. If not, ask for a booth with a window view. You should love this place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, including waiters ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great, including waiters and management. Everyone strived to make sure you had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely stunning views paired with so ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolutely stunning views paired with some of the most amazing dishes my palate has ever been exposed to. The service was impeccable and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Will absolutely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The property is outstanding. Elements wa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The property is outstanding. Elements was all that we thought that it would be. We were there for brunch. Next visit will be for Happy Hour in the bar area, which had a fantastic view. Service was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Exquisite food and fabulous view. Diffic ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Exquisite food and fabulous view. Difficult to converse due to noise level, but that would not keep me from coming back. The service was very good but slow. Too long waiting after dishes cleared before offer of dessert and coffee. Too long waiting for check. I love long languid meals so when I get antsy you know it is too long! Everyone at the table loved their food! From the gnocchi to the short ribs to the salmon to the opah to the filet, preparation was perfect and flavors interesting!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for Anthony for your waiter ! When y ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Ask for Anthony for your waiter ! When you look at the menu it leaves you indecisive to what to order and then Anthony tells you the specials and helps make your mind up ! I had the fresh peaches ( Anthony said they are only available 3 weeks out of the year !) with marscopone and delicate salami - the combination was mind blowing ! My sister said she had the swordfish that was the freshest she's ever had ! My husband had strip steak to die for ! Only drawback is forget about leaving the place !! It is so dark you can hardly see where you are going and never mind the few drinks under your belt !! Otherwise an extreme culinary experience that takes you to Heaven !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elements ROCKS

Dined on May 14, 2016

Greatplace...food was excellent...views at sunset really helped set the mood for our ananniversary dinner and date night. Our server was exceptional and very attentive to us. Beau even came out to congratulate my wife and I on our special night. KUDOS to ELEMENTS!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was breathtaking, the staff ver ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The view was breathtaking, the staff very attentive, the chef, once of the best. It was an amazing experience, and I am very grateful to have found such a beautiful place to see while in Arizona for a short period of time. I highly recommend this place and they have lovely rooms to stay in as well as a great spa and infinity pool!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son treated me to a great Mother's Day Brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My son treated me to a great Mother's Day Brunch. The food and service was amazing! The ambiance was perfect. I'm sure I've found our special occasion spot.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent table with views of the North ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent table with views of the North Valley. Great experience overall.

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

terrible service and salty food

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The only good thing about this restaurant is the view. The server was snotty and not attentive. Three of the five dishes we had you're so salty I could have gagged. I only sent one back and it was replaced but there was no apology from the kitchen or no comp on the drink or anything like it. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service in a breathtaking set ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Impeccable service in a breathtaking setting with delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still has it!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Love the vibe, the cocktails, wine and food. The view at sunset is amazing!! Have been here before and will dine here again! Sanctuary is trendy and sophisticated with a great ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everyone took fabulous care of us and made sure we were treated with extra care just because they wanted to make our evening special. Not only was our food marvelous, but the service from everyone was top notch. They made us feel special but I noticed that this was they way all guests were treated. Wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Recommend early seating, gts noisy after 7pm. Ask for window booth, away from crowd. Service ery good ambiance outstanding, food above average, presentation excellent!!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views! ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views! The service and food were incredible. We missed our reservation by an hour, but they still fit us in even though the restaurant was packed. This place came highly recommended, and we were not disappointed! They even invited us outside at sunset to enjoy champagne on the deck. Ask for Gary; he was the best server ever!

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Overbearing server spoils perfect evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server was completely overbearing and wouldn't lets us just enjoy our meal in peace and quiet.

Tags: outdoor eating
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Trendy

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was delicious and the service great once things slowed down a bit. We had quite a long wait in the bar because the hostess told us to go get a drink and "she would find us" but she never did. After 30 minutes I checked with her to see if we were missed and she quipped that she had "sent us a text" This would have been just fine if we were informed to check our phone for a text, but she told us she would get us so the phone stayed in the purse where it should be on a date. Anyway, this mis-communication then led to us being seated at the same time our server was just getting drink orders from 2 other large tables. It took an hour for us to finally get our food ordered but then everything started going very well afterwards. I would still give it another try maybe at an earlier time.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We are so impressed with dinner that we had here! Absolutely everything tasted amazing. From the starters to incredible main courses and then the most unusual but fantastic desert (salted caramel cheese cake with bacon ice cream!!!!). We managed to get on time for sunrise and the view from the restaurant was magnificent! Did not expect to have such an amazing time here, but hey! we where so impressed and amazed with the whole experiance, that next time we travel to Arizona we will stay here for sure and enjoy not only the bar and restaurant, but everything else that this place has to offer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.