About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Saturday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday and Saturday evening from 7:00pm-11:00pm for live entertainment in our Jade bar.

Join us every Sunday afternoon from 2:30pm-6:00pm for live music in our Jade bar, as well as 1/2 off bottles of wine.

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us on September 20th at 6:30pm for a 3-course dinner paired with Knob Creek Bourbon cocktails in our beautiful Jade bar.

Restaurant Photos

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Pork Chop
Rolled Chocolate Cake

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
5 More
Best Food
Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Romantic
Scottsdale
Scenic View
Scottsdale
American
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Scenic View (103)
Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (87)
See All
Fit for Foodies (72)
Notable Wine List (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Live Music (4)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view is exquiste and the food and se ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The view is exquiste and the food and service rate among the best in the valley.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here to celebrate our 4 year annive ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Went here to celebrate our 4 year anniversary and was blown away. Every member of the staff we encountered was amazing, they were all extremely friendly and polite and had a smile. The food was nothing short of spectacular!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing evening! We had such a ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was an amazing evening! We had such a wonderful time for our 50th wedding anniversary celebration in January that I decided this was where I wanted to dine for my birthday. I was not disappointed and was very happy to see Denise who always joins in the fun and warm fuzzies with hugs and laughter. She is simply the best! Beautiful view and extraordinary meal in an elegant setting, what could be better? Kudos to the chef and wait staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite dining spots ...

vip
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is one of my favorite dining spots in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. No complaints -- only kudos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Stunning! Great food and service. We wer ...

vip
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Stunning! Great food and service. We were able to enjoy our food and conversation on the patio while watching the sunset. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Elements for years ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We have been going to Elements for years,

But after this dinner we no longer will.

We waited 25 minutes for service and only after we hunted down the hostess to tell her did someone appear.

This started really spoiled the entire meal.

The appetizer - calamari was horrible

Our entrees were fine

Thanks to the great wine we selected we were able to salvage something tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Excellent food and spectacular scenery. ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food and spectacular scenery. Great service

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was here 5 years ago. The food was ver ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was here 5 years ago. The food was very good, and I always wanted to go back. I was visiting my son, so we made a reservation. It was as good as I remembered. It was a bit pricey, but very tasty. The chef is amazing, and he is from Massachusetts, and so our we:)

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was outstanding. Everything we ...

vip
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was outstanding. Everything we ate was spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will be back again. Music in the lounge ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Will be back again. Music in the lounge until 6 then we had dinner with a wonderful private table and view of Paradise Valley. Service is the best we have had in Scottsdale.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Elements for our anniversary. ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went to Elements for our anniversary. The service was outstanding! The food was beyond excellent. The chef really knows what he is doing and the servers are well versed because everything they recommended was beyond delicious. We would definitely go back. We think this was the best meal we had ever had in all of Phoenix over all our years. It was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kurobuta pork chop was incredible! ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Kurobuta pork chop was incredible! Very friendly and attentive service. We'll be back...

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great table facing the mountains. Good ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great table facing the mountains. Good appetizer. Both entrees, (Pork Chop an Braised Short Ribs) were touch and/or stringy. Good, attentive service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent. The pork chop was the best I' ...

vip
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent. The pork chop was the best I've ever had in my life. The wine was delicious. The chef was completely accommodating to my allergy and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and a beautiful suns ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Outstanding service and a beautiful sunset view. The cauliflower cheddar soup special was spectacular. The main course (roasted chicken and roasted corn ravioli) were good, but a bit disappointing after the wonderful soup.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Quite amazing! One Of Our best meals to ...

vip
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Quite amazing!

One

Of

Our best meals to date in Scottsdale

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have never been disappointed dining a ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have never been disappointed dining at the Elements! Yes, the drinks are more expensive as well as the entrees but considering the ambience, the quality of the food, the service, the view and etc it is all well worth it! It is definitely our choice for Birthdays & for our out of town guests!

A special thank you to Cooper & Travis for their special attention Saturday night to the "Virgo" dining section!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time arriving at this wonderful ge ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Third time arriving at this wonderful gem - third time with my taste buds exploding over the exceptional the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The duck and brussle sprouts were fantas ...

vip
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The duck and brussle sprouts were fantastic. Waiter was extremely knowledgeable about all the dishes and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has an excellent combina ...

vip
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant has an excellent combination of view, ambiance and food. The menu is very creative and the food preparation and presentation is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again Elements was amazing! The fo ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Once again Elements was amazing! The food and service is the best you can find. Our waiter Greg did an excellent job. We even asked about an item that used to be on the menu that was removed and they came through. The views are outstanding, food is rich and unique and the service is perfection. My husband proposed to me here as well 2 yrs ago, so it will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was first class. Service was al ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was first class. Service was always attentive and many delicious options available. Customizable for dietary restrictions. The chocolate/peanut butter bomb was amazing for dessert.

We also had breakfast here and it was top notch with fresh fruit and cinnamon roll pastries on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sanctuary is an excellent place with and ...

vip
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Sanctuary is an excellent place with and excellent reputation. Unfortunately we had a wait staff that thought more highly of himself than the service he was there to provide. He forgot to put our appetizer order in and then came back with the excuse that he is just extremely busy this evening and then never came back to the table again. Not even to put the $150 dollar bottle of wine we had ordered. We did finally get the appetizers after I sent back the entree and said we wanted the starters first not after our entree. The manager did comp the appetizers which was appreciated but when you go to a restaurant of this caliber paying the prices they charge the bar is set at a much higher standard. The food was excellent but the service and experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Just to say we have been twice and the s ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Just to say we have been twice and the second time was just as good as the first . Ryhley our waiter was such a nice guy and so attentive .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Riley was Fantastic, food was phenomenal ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Riley was Fantastic, food was phenomenal, view was incredible. Neverdisappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was pretty expensive, but everything ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was pretty expensive, but everything was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I took my girlfriend here for her birthd ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday. I was able to make special arrangements prior to our arrival and the staff was very accommodating. They gave us a lower booth with a great view, the concierge was able to arrange for a bouquet of flowers to be placed on the table, they also made a dessert extra special by writing a creative message on the plate with chocolate syrup and we also left with a delicious cupcake made special for her birthday. The entire staff went above and beyond to her wish her happy birthday throughout the evening and not a single detail was overlooked during our dining experience. My hat is off to the Riley & Kasey our waiters, the chef and the entire staff at the restaurant. It was an experience to not be forgotten.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bo did a tasting menu for us that was ou ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bo did a tasting menu for us that was outstanding. Our server Riley was attentive and helpful and very pleasant overall. He's an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, food was a 4 out of 5. ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great restaurant, food was a 4 out of 5...Service was a 5 out of 5...

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

For the middle class budget, this is a s ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

For the middle class budget, this is a special occasion restaurant. Very pricey, but oh so delicious. This place oozes fine dining, ultra attentive servers, and rich food. I had the salmon, and although salmon is commonplace, the salmon you eat here will trump any you've had at any other restaurant. Soft, flaky, slightly charred on the outside...and moist. My wife had the swordfish....like a fish steak, but so soft, she didn't even need a knife to cut it. With all the accouterments on the plate, the visual aspect on both plates is just stunning.

We also had the brusel sprouts without bacon. Slightly charred, no metallic after taste, soft and texturally wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food, one of the best meals w ...

vip
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Incredible food, one of the best meals we have had and now our go to place in Phoenix.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was attentive. The view was splendid. There was good value for the dollars spent. Well done!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best all around restaurant ex ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Simply the best all around restaurant experience in the area. We make it a point to always bring our new AZ guests to this location.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of the best do it experiences ...

vip
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Easily one of the best do it experiences in Arizona.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the earlier reviews I read (and ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Some of the earlier reviews I read (and my earlier experience...I had been at the restaurant for lunch or dinner four or five times before) led me to believe it might have been an experience I would value for the view only, not for the food or service. In fact, the food and service were both extraordinary this time, and the view was wonderful as usual. I will be going there many times in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visiting Element ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our first time visiting Elements and it was a fantastic experience. Service was great and food was amazing. My Wife and I went for our anniversary dinner and we could not have been happier. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything on the menu was excellent Ev ...

vip
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything on the menu was excellent

Everytime we are in Phoenix this is a reservation we are sure to make! !

Great staff and a very memorable experience

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience. Exceptional appetize ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A great experience. Exceptional appetizer and starter cuisine. A little disappointed with the portion size of the entrée (very small). Deserts were mind-blowinginly delicious!!! I want the recipes for the hot chocolate as well as the honey marmalade from the mango semifreddo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was a guest at the Sanctuary Spa and t ...

vip
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was a guest at the Sanctuary Spa and thoroughly enjoyed ALL of my meals at "elements". However, the Friday night dinner with local friends was spectacular! We agreed that the kurobuta pork chops were cooked to perfection and the Atlantic Salmon was better than any other. The kung pao cauliflower was a hit (even for someone who doesn't like cauliflower) and my personal favorite appetizer was the fiery calamari. However, the shishito peppers were lacking any spiciness and were definitely the weak link in an otherwise perfect meal. Save room for dessert because the pb bombe and toasted marshmallow s’mores are BOTH extraordinary.

The Friday night live music in the bar was a little too loud for pre-dinner drinks, but the restaurant allowed us to be seated at our table earlier so we could enjoy the bartender's fabulous mixology. Noise levels on other evenings were more comfortable.

It was great to introduce a local couple to this great restaurant for their special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated his birthday ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at elements and everything was exceptional. The service, food, and view stood up to our expectation having dined there several times before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.