About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Saturday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday from 8:30pm-11:30pm for dinner and dancing under the stars. Reservations suggested.

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hosted by Chef Beau MacMillan, Sanctuary's eleventh annual Lunch & Learn introduces guests and locals to star chefs, wine makers and culinary experts. These Saturday events during July and August include a three-course lunch (or dinner) paired with wine or cocktails, along with lessons on how to prepare the culinary specialties, and recipes to take home.

http://www.sanctuaryoncamelback.com/food/events/lunchlearn.php

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
American
Phoenix / Arizona
5 More
Best Overall
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Food
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
American
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

scenic view (178)
special occasion (159)
romantic (142)
See All
fit for foodies (120)
great for outdoor dining (92)
notable wine list (80)
vibrant bar scene (49)
good for groups (40)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for brunch (34)
hot spot (34)
great for lunch (31)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent view, great wine list, fantast ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent view, great wine list, fantastic food. Cant complain about anything. Need to go at night as the view of the mountains is spectacular. If its not too hot or windy, sit outside. If not, ask for a booth with a window view. You should love this place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely stunning views paired with so ...

Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely stunning views paired with some of the most amazing dishes my palate has ever been exposed to. The service was impeccable and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Will absolutely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The property is outstanding. Elements wa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The property is outstanding. Elements was all that we thought that it would be. We were there for brunch. Next visit will be for Happy Hour in the bar area, which had a fantastic view. Service was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Exquisite food and fabulous view. Diffic ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Exquisite food and fabulous view. Difficult to converse due to noise level, but that would not keep me from coming back. The service was very good but slow. Too long waiting after dishes cleared before offer of dessert and coffee. Too long waiting for check. I love long languid meals so when I get antsy you know it is too long! Everyone at the table loved their food! From the gnocchi to the short ribs to the salmon to the opah to the filet, preparation was perfect and flavors interesting!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for Anthony for your waiter ! When y ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Ask for Anthony for your waiter ! When you look at the menu it leaves you indecisive to what to order and then Anthony tells you the specials and helps make your mind up ! I had the fresh peaches ( Anthony said they are only available 3 weeks out of the year !) with marscopone and delicate salami - the combination was mind blowing ! My sister said she had the swordfish that was the freshest she's ever had ! My husband had strip steak to die for ! Only drawback is forget about leaving the place !! It is so dark you can hardly see where you are going and never mind the few drinks under your belt !! Otherwise an extreme culinary experience that takes you to Heaven !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elements ROCKS

Dined on May 14, 2016

Greatplace...food was excellent...views at sunset really helped set the mood for our ananniversary dinner and date night. Our server was exceptional and very attentive to us. Beau even came out to congratulate my wife and I on our special night. KUDOS to ELEMENTS!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was breathtaking, the staff ver ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The view was breathtaking, the staff very attentive, the chef, once of the best. It was an amazing experience, and I am very grateful to have found such a beautiful place to see while in Arizona for a short period of time. I highly recommend this place and they have lovely rooms to stay in as well as a great spa and infinity pool!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son treated me to a great Mother's Day Brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My son treated me to a great Mother's Day Brunch. The food and service was amazing! The ambiance was perfect. I'm sure I've found our special occasion spot.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent table with views of the North ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent table with views of the North Valley. Great experience overall.

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

terrible service and salty food

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The only good thing about this restaurant is the view. The server was snotty and not attentive. Three of the five dishes we had you're so salty I could have gagged. I only sent one back and it was replaced but there was no apology from the kitchen or no comp on the drink or anything like it. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service in a breathtaking set ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Impeccable service in a breathtaking setting with delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still has it!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Love the vibe, the cocktails, wine and food. The view at sunset is amazing!! Have been here before and will dine here again! Sanctuary is trendy and sophisticated with a great ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everyone took fabulous care of us and made sure we were treated with extra care just because they wanted to make our evening special. Not only was our food marvelous, but the service from everyone was top notch. They made us feel special but I noticed that this was they way all guests were treated. Wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Recommend early seating, gts noisy after 7pm. Ask for window booth, away from crowd. Service ery good ambiance outstanding, food above average, presentation excellent!!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views! ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views! The service and food were incredible. We missed our reservation by an hour, but they still fit us in even though the restaurant was packed. This place came highly recommended, and we were not disappointed! They even invited us outside at sunset to enjoy champagne on the deck. Ask for Gary; he was the best server ever!

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Overbearing server spoils perfect evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server was completely overbearing and wouldn't lets us just enjoy our meal in peace and quiet.

Tags: outdoor eating
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Trendy

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was delicious and the service great once things slowed down a bit. We had quite a long wait in the bar because the hostess told us to go get a drink and "she would find us" but she never did. After 30 minutes I checked with her to see if we were missed and she quipped that she had "sent us a text" This would have been just fine if we were informed to check our phone for a text, but she told us she would get us so the phone stayed in the purse where it should be on a date. Anyway, this mis-communication then led to us being seated at the same time our server was just getting drink orders from 2 other large tables. It took an hour for us to finally get our food ordered but then everything started going very well afterwards. I would still give it another try maybe at an earlier time.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We are so impressed with dinner that we had here! Absolutely everything tasted amazing. From the starters to incredible main courses and then the most unusual but fantastic desert (salted caramel cheese cake with bacon ice cream!!!!). We managed to get on time for sunrise and the view from the restaurant was magnificent! Did not expect to have such an amazing time here, but hey! we where so impressed and amazed with the whole experiance, that next time we travel to Arizona we will stay here for sure and enjoy not only the bar and restaurant, but everything else that this place has to offer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

See vice was confused, and just so-so. ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

See vice was confused, and just so-so. Food was yum!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We sat outside for lunch. The views are spectacular and the food was excellent. Desert and coffee to finish

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Robyn's Graduation Celebration

Dined on April 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the evening and overall dining experience. I will definitely be back. Servers reco's were right on target. Thanks again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view can't be beat!

Dined on April 18, 2016

My dad and I went to this restaurant after it was recommended to us by a Phoenix local. She said it had the best view of the sunset in town, and she was correct! The view is absolutely spectacular. We both had seared hudson valley foie gras (foie gras on top of a pineapple upside down cake!)--sweet, salty, savory and delicious. The truffle mac n' cheese was not to be missed either! He enjoyed a gigantic kurobuta pork chop and I had the fallon ranch petaluma chicken, both of which were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. We each had dessert, but the lovely libations have prohibited me from remembering all the details (but as I recall, it was very tasty!). The service by Denise was friendly, entertaining, and perfectly paced. I hope this isn't our last time at Elements!

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

complicasted

Dined on April 16, 2016

the food was overly complicated and ingredients did not blend well. the price is probably in proportion to the view. simplification and focus would improve the food a great deal.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elements does not disappoint !

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Elements is our go-to restaurant for special occasion meals, and they never disappoint. The view over the negative edge pool is so beautiful, and it's great if you can catch a sunset. The service is absolutely outstanding, and the food always changes and never disappoints. The portions are perfect and the presentation is just lovely. Lunch, dinner or special occasion, Elements is a perfect venue. The Jade Bar is lively and one not to miss!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful hotel with an amazing brunch o ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Beautiful hotel with an amazing brunch on Sunday. Everything on the menu sounded wonderful. They had sweet , savory, and classic items on the menu- first the Bellini cocktail was perfect, their cinnamon fresh rolls to die for, and then lobster Benedict, frittata and chili all were cooked perfectly and fresh with a creative twist. Even with much needed rain the view was ever changing with the clouds. Great start to our visit to Scottsdale.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem

Dined on April 10, 2016

Elements just hit it out of the ballpark. From the moment we walked in until we left it was perfect. The service was wonderful, the waiter attentive. The recommendations perfect. I don't know how it could have been better except if the people sitting next to us had offered to pick up our tab. Will we go back, absolutely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Contemporary without being "over the top ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Contemporary without being "over the top." Excellent experience from all aspects.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Slow but attentive

Dined on April 9, 2016

Service was very slow, but attentive. We were seated in the overflow dining room, which lacked the ambience of the main dining room. The food was very good (calamari appetizer, pork chop - amazing! and miso-glazed salmon). Desert (apple tart) was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere and food were awesome!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Atmosphere and food were awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our first visit to Elements and there will be many more. Although we can be very critical customers, there is nothing but excellent to report from our dinner. Our waiter was top notch and managed to match the pacing of our meal exactly as we had hoped. The food was excellent. Although all dishes were outstanding, the miso-glazed sea bass was the finest restaurant prepared seafood item I have had - and I have enjoyed a lot of sea bass. Well done Elements. You gave a us a wonderful night to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jim

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food, service, view and ambience. We would recommend this venue to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Never disappoints

Dined on March 28, 2016

We have been to Elements a few times and always love it - it is our go to special occasion place. We also love it for lunch... Only issue this night was our waiter was a tad "snarky", but his "assistant" (a kid really) was delightful. Our waiter was knowledgeable just a lot of attitude mixed with some sarcasm...unappealing on a special night. Food was fantastic...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Easter Brunch.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food and service at our Easter brunch. Riley our server was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view and food that is excellent!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went on a Saturday night early enough to see the view and watch the sunset behind the mountains. The whole setting is spectacular, inside looking out as well as inside. Fun bar scene that got livelier as the night progressed. We took the waiters advice and ordered his recommendations and were not disappointed! We started with a pork and crab bun app and roasted cauliflower with sweetbreads. One entree was short ribs (best ever!) the other miso glazed salmon. Everything was delicious and creatively prepared with surprises in every bite. Large portions so we skipped desert but the coffee and cookies were great! Wait staff was attentive and professional. A great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elements will not disappoint!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been coming to Elements since 2012 when we got engaged there! For all of the foodies out there, this is Beau MacMillan's restaurant and trust me, he's amazing. At our most recent visit, my husband had the special for the evening, the NY strip, and I had the Petaluma chicken. Wow! We simply could not have found a better place to eat. The wine list is crazy long and there's always something to pair nicely with your meal. The view is spectacular, overlooking Paradise Valley. Go a half hour before sunset for the best view. We will be back next year!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elemental

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our second visit to Elements. We were impressed and more than pleased. It would not be wrong to say this was the highlight of our long weekend in Scottsdale - and was a perfectly memorable evening from the venue to outstanding service and an excellent meal. It was an anniversary celebration for us (45th), and we were able to enjoy the evening in a splendid setting that was truly a unique dining experience from every perspective. We'll not return to the Phoenix area without including Elements on our agenda.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous breakfast at Elements!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our food was delicious (lobster benedict!) and the staff couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. I think Elements is a "must do" if you are in the Scottsdale area. Fabulous food, terrific views, and a wonderful staff---who could ask for more???

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

You cannot lose at Elements. Breakfast, ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

You cannot lose at Elements. Breakfast, lunch or dinner -- it is terrific! Meaning, near perfect. Really. I eat there once a week. :-)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special treat!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

This restaurant is by far one of the best in the valley. The location is superb, vistas are spectacular, and the cocktails and food selections are fabulous. Whether dining in the main dining room, or on very special occasions the private dining room, this is always a very special dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top 3 meals of my life. The s ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

One of the top 3 meals of my life. The setting is amazing and so relaxing and beautiful. If you are considering eating here stop, book a reservation now. I was on a work trip and brought a coworker, he must of said thank you 5 times for booking it. It was easily the highlife of my trip to Phoenix.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.