About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Saturday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday from 8:30pm-11:30pm for dinner and dancing under the stars. Reservations suggested.

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hosted by Chef Beau MacMillan, Sanctuary's eleventh annual Lunch & Learn introduces guests and locals to star chefs, wine makers and culinary experts. These Saturday events during July and August include a three-course lunch (or dinner) paired with wine or cocktails, along with lessons on how to prepare the culinary specialties, and recipes to take home.

http://www.sanctuaryoncamelback.com/food/events/lunchlearn.php

Restaurant Photos

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Pork Chop
Rolled Chocolate Cake

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Scenic View
Scottsdale
1 More
American
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Scenic View (116)
Special Occasion (103)
Romantic (97)
See All
Fit for Foodies (77)
Notable Wine List (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was first class. Service was al ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was first class. Service was always attentive and many delicious options available. Customizable for dietary restrictions. The chocolate/peanut butter bomb was amazing for dessert.

We also had breakfast here and it was top notch with fresh fruit and cinnamon roll pastries on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sanctuary is an excellent place with and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Sanctuary is an excellent place with and excellent reputation. Unfortunately we had a wait staff that thought more highly of himself than the service he was there to provide. He forgot to put our appetizer order in and then came back with the excuse that he is just extremely busy this evening and then never came back to the table again. Not even to put the $150 dollar bottle of wine we had ordered. We did finally get the appetizers after I sent back the entree and said we wanted the starters first not after our entree. The manager did comp the appetizers which was appreciated but when you go to a restaurant of this caliber paying the prices they charge the bar is set at a much higher standard. The food was excellent but the service and experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Just to say we have been twice and the s ...

 
 (Hertfordshire)
·Dined 6 days ago

Just to say we have been twice and the second time was just as good as the first . Ryhley our waiter was such a nice guy and so attentive .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Romance, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Riley was Fantastic, food was phenomenal ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Riley was Fantastic, food was phenomenal, view was incredible. Neverdisappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was pretty expensive, but everything ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was pretty expensive, but everything was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I took my girlfriend here for her birthd ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday. I was able to make special arrangements prior to our arrival and the staff was very accommodating. They gave us a lower booth with a great view, the concierge was able to arrange for a bouquet of flowers to be placed on the table, they also made a dessert extra special by writing a creative message on the plate with chocolate syrup and we also left with a delicious cupcake made special for her birthday. The entire staff went above and beyond to her wish her happy birthday throughout the evening and not a single detail was overlooked during our dining experience. My hat is off to the Riley & Kasey our waiters, the chef and the entire staff at the restaurant. It was an experience to not be forgotten.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bo did a tasting menu for us that was ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bo did a tasting menu for us that was outstanding. Our server Riley was attentive and helpful and very pleasant overall. He's an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, food was a 4 out of 5. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great restaurant, food was a 4 out of 5...Service was a 5 out of 5...

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

For the middle class budget, this is a s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

For the middle class budget, this is a special occasion restaurant. Very pricey, but oh so delicious. This place oozes fine dining, ultra attentive servers, and rich food. I had the salmon, and although salmon is commonplace, the salmon you eat here will trump any you've had at any other restaurant. Soft, flaky, slightly charred on the outside...and moist. My wife had the swordfish....like a fish steak, but so soft, she didn't even need a knife to cut it. With all the accouterments on the plate, the visual aspect on both plates is just stunning.

We also had the brusel sprouts without bacon. Slightly charred, no metallic after taste, soft and texturally wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food, one of the best meals w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Incredible food, one of the best meals we have had and now our go to place in Phoenix.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was attentive. The view was splendid. There was good value for the dollars spent. Well done!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best all around restaurant ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Simply the best all around restaurant experience in the area. We make it a point to always bring our new AZ guests to this location.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of the best do it experiences ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Easily one of the best do it experiences in Arizona.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the earlier reviews I read (and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Some of the earlier reviews I read (and my earlier experience...I had been at the restaurant for lunch or dinner four or five times before) led me to believe it might have been an experience I would value for the view only, not for the food or service. In fact, the food and service were both extraordinary this time, and the view was wonderful as usual. I will be going there many times in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visiting Element ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our first time visiting Elements and it was a fantastic experience. Service was great and food was amazing. My Wife and I went for our anniversary dinner and we could not have been happier. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything on the menu was excellent Ev ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything on the menu was excellent

Everytime we are in Phoenix this is a reservation we are sure to make! !

Great staff and a very memorable experience

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience. Exceptional appetize ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A great experience. Exceptional appetizer and starter cuisine. A little disappointed with the portion size of the entrée (very small). Deserts were mind-blowinginly delicious!!! I want the recipes for the hot chocolate as well as the honey marmalade from the mango semifreddo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was a guest at the Sanctuary Spa and t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was a guest at the Sanctuary Spa and thoroughly enjoyed ALL of my meals at "elements". However, the Friday night dinner with local friends was spectacular! We agreed that the kurobuta pork chops were cooked to perfection and the Atlantic Salmon was better than any other. The kung pao cauliflower was a hit (even for someone who doesn't like cauliflower) and my personal favorite appetizer was the fiery calamari. However, the shishito peppers were lacking any spiciness and were definitely the weak link in an otherwise perfect meal. Save room for dessert because the pb bombe and toasted marshmallow s’mores are BOTH extraordinary.

The Friday night live music in the bar was a little too loud for pre-dinner drinks, but the restaurant allowed us to be seated at our table earlier so we could enjoy the bartender's fabulous mixology. Noise levels on other evenings were more comfortable.

It was great to introduce a local couple to this great restaurant for their special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated his birthday ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at elements and everything was exceptional. The service, food, and view stood up to our expectation having dined there several times before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great place nestled on the side o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a great place nestled on the side of Camelback Mountain in the Sonoran Desert Paradise Valley. The service from the waitress Denise and one of the Chef's Rene made the entire night so incredible. What a perfect place with a perfect sunset, you can't skip this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We expected everything that comes with f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We expected everything that comes with fine dining & were surprised when a family with small children relocated to the expanded table next to us, crowding us out. The server wasn't very knowledgeable about the wines listed as specials. While our server was kind & there was certainly a LOT of staff circling around, our dishes throughout our dining experience, remained on our table. Even the GM stopped by...and left our empty dishes. I specifically discussed wanting my filet cooked very pink throughout & it was served medium well instead. I would have mentioned it, but nobody ever asked me how my meal was. The dumpling appetizer was terrific, the bacon & mushroom soup was interesting, the short ribs were very good & the desserts left us a little disappointed. Overall, it was an OK experience but for the price tag - we expected a lot more all the way around. We probably won't be back, which is really too bad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This is a very beautiful restaurant that ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a very beautiful restaurant that always has outstanding food and excellent service however, that was not the case this time. The was amazing as usual but it took about 7-10 minutes for the busboy to bring us water but after that he was great about keeping our water glasses full. It was a good 20 minutes before the waiter even acknowledged us. We were there for at least 30 minutes before our 1st drink arrived. We had to refill our own champagne glasses because the waiter seemed to be avoiding our table and we didn't know when or if he would even stop by. He seemed perfectly attentive to his other tables but we were the only table that didn't have a man at it. We were very hurt and disappointed by this lack of service at such a fine establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

I had the best meal of my life at this r ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had the best meal of my life at this restaurant! A week later I'm still telling everyone I meet about it. It was THE perfect spot for celebrating my sweetheart's birthday. You MUST experience elements restaurant if you have never been. Exceptional food and service and the views are stunning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typically overpriced high end dining. Se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Typically overpriced high end dining. Server was good and food was good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed in the Sunday Brunch. I ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Disappointed in the Sunday Brunch. I had read excellent reviews about a buffet with an add on signature entrée that included mimosas. Not sure when the brunch menu changed but the only option was to order from the menu. While the food was good, I have definitely had better. The view was gorgeous. We were there for a special occasion and I had talked it up based on reviews and was overall disappointed. I would not go back for the food and cocktails alone. Service was mostly prompt and always friendly. However, I ordered a fruit platter that was never brought to the table. Not overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

What a beautiful place and dining experi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What a beautiful place and dining experience. Outstanding food and service. From start to finish, this goes down in our favorite list. If you are traveling to the Scottsdale area this is a must. Unfortunately we are from the east coast, but will definitely be back on our next trip to Scottsdale.

This night we had the pleasure to have Anthony as our server and he is a very special person. He made the night perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent, some of the best. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Dinner was excellent, some of the best. A bit overpriced but excellent service from all staff who were friendly, pleasant, and initiated conversation. Parking valets included. This was a special occasion dinner and the staff reacted accordingly. Excellent, enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, wonderful views and overal ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Amazing food, wonderful views and overall excellent atmosphere. Our favorite place to dine when in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here many times I the last s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We've eaten here many times I the last several years. About a year ago I wrote a lukewarm review of our experience here, but that was out of the norm from our other visits. Our visit this July 4th, mat have been our best ever. I rarely give 5 stars across the board, but this dinner was outstanding in every respect. I had a meticulously prepared sea bass, cooked perfectly and accompanied with other interesting flavors. My wife had swordfish, which she equally loved. Our server (sorry, I can't recall her name) was attentive but not overbearing. I'm back on board with Elements.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food, drinks and view! Will co ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Loved the food, drinks and view! Will come back next time to spend a day at the spa with brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This place was awesome. The coffee rubbe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This place was awesome. The coffee rubbed duck was amazing. Will definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Oysters Rockefeller, ravioli and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing Oysters Rockefeller, ravioli and swordfish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the place except, (and we may have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the place except, (and we may have been able to change this had we asked but it was our first time there), we were seated in a booth below main room eye level and could not see anything except for the outside view, which was nice, but was definately not the best view in the restaurant. A main level seat with Camelback mountain view would have been better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was great. Can't remember h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our waitress was great. Can't remember her name but she had blonde hair, probably in 40's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dinner, beautiful view, great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious dinner, beautiful view, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, creative menu all prepared pe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious, creative menu all prepared perfectly. But very expensive. Entrées between $30-60. But great for a special occasion. Gorgeous mountain views. Go in the summer for half off wine bottles! Everything we ordered was tasty and the presentation was beautiful as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak I ever had! Food was spectacu ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Best steak I ever had! Food was spectacular ! Kudos to the chef!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I recently enjoyed our fi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I recently enjoyed our first dinner at Elements with another couple. The restaurant is located at the Sanctuary Resort and the views from the dining room are stunning. The menu offers a nice variety and the quality and presentation of all of the items we ordered was excellent. My salad was exceptionally fresh tasting and the short ribs had amazing flavor. In the summer they offer all of their bottles of wine at half price on Sunday through Wednesday evenings. It is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion as you enjoy outstanding food while watching the sun set.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has stunning views, amazi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The restaurant has stunning views, amazing cuisine and excellent service! A REAL winner!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstading food and service for an anniv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Outstading food and service for an anniversary dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.