About elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

5700 East McDonald Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus.

With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef’s table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand…and Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Saturday 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 7:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:30pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tatum

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 245-2051

Website:
http://www.elementsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday from 8:30pm-11:30pm for dinner and dancing under the stars. Reservations suggested.

Executive Chef:
Beau MacMillan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hosted by Chef Beau MacMillan, Sanctuary's eleventh annual Lunch & Learn introduces guests and locals to star chefs, wine makers and culinary experts. These Saturday events during July and August include a three-course lunch (or dinner) paired with wine or cocktails, along with lessons on how to prepare the culinary specialties, and recipes to take home.

http://www.sanctuaryoncamelback.com/food/events/lunchlearn.php

Restaurant Photos

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Pork Chop
Rolled Chocolate Cake

Private Dining

elements offers several unique options for private dining, offering stunning views of the valley and the signature restaurant cuisine for an unforgettable wedding, meeting, event or dining experience.

elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
2 More
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
American
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

scenic view (136)
special occasion (117)
romantic (105)
See All
fit for foodies (92)
great for outdoor dining (57)
notable wine list (55)
vibrant bar scene (33)
hot spot (27)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for brunch (23)
great for lunch (17)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (2)
business meals (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a very beautiful restaurant that ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a very beautiful restaurant that always has outstanding food and excellent service however, that was not the case this time. The was amazing as usual but it took about 7-10 minutes for the busboy to bring us water but after that he was great about keeping our water glasses full. It was a good 20 minutes before the waiter even acknowledged us. We were there for at least 30 minutes before our 1st drink arrived. We had to refill our own champagne glasses because the waiter seemed to be avoiding our table and we didn't know when or if he would even stop by. He seemed perfectly attentive to his other tables but we were the only table that didn't have a man at it. We were very hurt and disappointed by this lack of service at such a fine establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Typically overpriced high end dining. Se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Typically overpriced high end dining. Server was good and food was good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed in the Sunday Brunch. I ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Disappointed in the Sunday Brunch. I had read excellent reviews about a buffet with an add on signature entrée that included mimosas. Not sure when the brunch menu changed but the only option was to order from the menu. While the food was good, I have definitely had better. The view was gorgeous. We were there for a special occasion and I had talked it up based on reviews and was overall disappointed. I would not go back for the food and cocktails alone. Service was mostly prompt and always friendly. However, I ordered a fruit platter that was never brought to the table. Not overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

What a beautiful place and dining experi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What a beautiful place and dining experience. Outstanding food and service. From start to finish, this goes down in our favorite list. If you are traveling to the Scottsdale area this is a must. Unfortunately we are from the east coast, but will definitely be back on our next trip to Scottsdale.

This night we had the pleasure to have Anthony as our server and he is a very special person. He made the night perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent, some of the best. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Dinner was excellent, some of the best. A bit overpriced but excellent service from all staff who were friendly, pleasant, and initiated conversation. Parking valets included. This was a special occasion dinner and the staff reacted accordingly. Excellent, enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, wonderful views and overal ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Amazing food, wonderful views and overall excellent atmosphere. Our favorite place to dine when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here many times I the last s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We've eaten here many times I the last several years. About a year ago I wrote a lukewarm review of our experience here, but that was out of the norm from our other visits. Our visit this July 4th, mat have been our best ever. I rarely give 5 stars across the board, but this dinner was outstanding in every respect. I had a meticulously prepared sea bass, cooked perfectly and accompanied with other interesting flavors. My wife had swordfish, which she equally loved. Our server (sorry, I can't recall her name) was attentive but not overbearing. I'm back on board with Elements.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food, drinks and view! Will co ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Loved the food, drinks and view! Will come back next time to spend a day at the spa with brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This place was awesome. The coffee rubbe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This place was awesome. The coffee rubbed duck was amazing. Will definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Oysters Rockefeller, ravioli and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing Oysters Rockefeller, ravioli and swordfish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the place except, (and we may have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the place except, (and we may have been able to change this had we asked but it was our first time there), we were seated in a booth below main room eye level and could not see anything except for the outside view, which was nice, but was definately not the best view in the restaurant. A main level seat with Camelback mountain view would have been better

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was great. Can't remember h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our waitress was great. Can't remember her name but she had blonde hair, probably in 40's

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dinner, beautiful view, great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious dinner, beautiful view, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, creative menu all prepared pe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious, creative menu all prepared perfectly. But very expensive. Entrées between $30-60. But great for a special occasion. Gorgeous mountain views. Go in the summer for half off wine bottles! Everything we ordered was tasty and the presentation was beautiful as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak I ever had! Food was spectacu ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Best steak I ever had! Food was spectacular ! Kudos to the chef!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I recently enjoyed our fi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I recently enjoyed our first dinner at Elements with another couple. The restaurant is located at the Sanctuary Resort and the views from the dining room are stunning. The menu offers a nice variety and the quality and presentation of all of the items we ordered was excellent. My salad was exceptionally fresh tasting and the short ribs had amazing flavor. In the summer they offer all of their bottles of wine at half price on Sunday through Wednesday evenings. It is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion as you enjoy outstanding food while watching the sun set.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has stunning views, amazi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The restaurant has stunning views, amazing cuisine and excellent service! A REAL winner!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstading food and service for an anniv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Outstading food and service for an anniversary dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a treat anytime & one of our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Definitely a treat anytime & one of our favorite places to enjoy alone, dine with friends or show off the beauty of the desert when we have out-of-town guests. You really can't go wrong at Elements!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience.The best view in Ph ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent experience.The best view in Phoenix matched by the best food. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to elements several times. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been to elements several times. Our waiter was Sean and he was, by far, the best waiter I have had there. He was patient, articulate, and very service oriented. It was clear he was going to do everything he could to ensure our experience was top notch. His suggestions for appetizers were perfect. Meal was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view and the food was great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful view and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great.....the breakfast f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was great.....the breakfast food, fresh orange juice, beverages, the waiter, Ron, and the awesome scenery!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed by our recent ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were very disappointed by our recent evening at Elements. This was not our first trip to Elements, which is rightly regarded as one of the top restaurants in the Phoenix area. It has a stunning location, looking out over Paradise Valley, and a terrific chef. However, they really dropped the ball this time. WE were celebrating a special birthday. We notified the restaurant in advance (through Open Table) about the birthday, and the hostess acknowledged this when we arrived.But the wait staff never said anything -- nor did they do anything to help us celebrate. Their neglect marred the evening. Most restaurants -- including many that are far less expensive -- go out of their way to make the birthday person feel special. Elements did absolutely nothing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was fantastic. Service was awe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was fantastic. Service was awesome. Anthony made it a pleasurable experience. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for my wife's birthday. Wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We were there for my wife's birthday. Was great, they look at a nice table for the special event. Food was great, well balanced. We just had a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service and the view real ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service and the view really sets it apart from everywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been to in Phoenix. The filet was tender and flavorful, and the smores dish was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful venue,superb service food needs improvet

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A beautiful space, food elegantly served but food needs refinement. The most egregious was the excess sugar used. So unnecessary! No subtlety in the combination of flavors.

had duck and fish. Duck was cooked to perfection but over sugared.

The foie the same. Served over pineapple upside down cake, with ...added sugar sprinkled on top. Even the fish didn't escape the chef's penchant for sugar.

Desert was gelato, coconut and lemon. Nice but not fantastic.

Will return, in the hope that sugar will be more scarce. We were celebrating 53 years of marriage!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is unique, but not worth price

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I've dined at restaurants all over the world -- and can confidently say that though this place has a unique take on many dishes, it is simply not worth the price. If I had paid half of what I did for my entrees and apps, I would have been satisfied -- but at those prices, I was expecting perfection and was left wanting more. The view is really pretty though, so it may be worth a trip for a drink at sunset.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We heard a lot of buzz about this restaurant. We decided to do lunch and beat the crowds, which we did. Disappointed in the fact we weren't given a window seat and food was so so. Pretty pricey. Loved our server!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The view alone was fabulous! Food presen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The view alone was fabulous! Food presentation was grand as was the ambiance. I had a seafood dish and my dinner companion had the short ribs. We were not disappointed! I enjoyed each and every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was superb and the customer ser ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was superb and the customer service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Asian Flavorful

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Very creative menu with Asian infused flavors in almost every dish. Really fresh fish selections not usually available in the desert. Sunset dinner starts out with glaring light in your eyes (thankfully there are shades) but ends with soft shadows. Makes for a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The absolute best view in the valley. Am ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The absolute best view in the valley. Amazing sites and outstanding food. Surprisingly big portions and subtle flavors. We had an excellent time. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful if you are seated in the booth ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful if you are seated in the booths in front of the panorama of camelback. Get there as the sunset begins. Bar drinks are great as is Jade bar scene. Friday night band and singer performing. Went on Memorial Day Friday so place was packed and service slow. Staff apologized. Food is good. 3 1/2 out of 5. Still we return when in the area. The overall zen is wonderful the experience worth the detour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always awesome. Great view, great food, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always awesome. Great view, great food, great service. Pork chop dish was excellent, plenty to share with wife. Lobster bisque exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious! Lovely view.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Lovely view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic night out with my wife.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic night out with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent view, great wine list, fantast ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent view, great wine list, fantastic food. Cant complain about anything. Need to go at night as the view of the mountains is spectacular. If its not too hot or windy, sit outside. If not, ask for a booth with a window view. You should love this place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.