Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Elaine's

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: (505) 328-8225

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

We've come here several times, and I've always had good food and particularly enjoyed sitting outside-one of the nicer places to do so in Albuquerque. This time, it was too hot to do so, and we were looking forward to a different experience inside. We were seated quickly, and quickly had the amuse bouche of mini sopaipilla (fabulous!). Our salad was a generous size and quite nice, and our entrées were very tasty, appropriately portioned, and not fussy. I would return again for the food but not the meal experience because of the service and how it detracted from the experience and value. Service was slow and inattentive for a not very busy time, and our waitstaff really seem disinterested. In the past he has seemed dispassionate, but now it just seemed like he didn't care about us, our meal, or the job. I hope Elaine's is able to provide corrective feedback and additional training so that we can come back - but after noting how his service has declined over our successive dinners, it will be harder to do so

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Elaines - Food was top notch and so was the service. Hidden Gem!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I travel & eat out 3 days a week, am very critical of my restaurant experiences, and rarely submit reviews. This place was outstanding and I was thoroughly impressed with the entire experience at Elaine's. Eclectic menu, GREAT food, interesting and reasonably priced wine list and attentive but not intrusive service. No liquor license so have your martini before you show up. On of my guests thinks their Brussels sprouts are the best she has ever had. I agree. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our 32nd anniversary dinner. We asked for a table "out of the main traffic flow" and they seated us behind a partition near the front door. No traffic flow whatsoever and very quiet compared to the rest of the restaurant space. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. Food was excellent and delivered quickly. We started with Elaine's Farm Salad, which was topped with a wonderful white balsamic vinaigrette. My sweetie ordered the half-chicken and I ordered the fried alaskan halibut. Both portions were quite sufficient for our appetites. We ordered the aged Balsamic Nutella Semifreddo for dessert and thoroughly enjoyed it. We've eaten at Elaine's previously and have yet to be disappointed. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, fun wait person and would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Strongly recommend Elaine's we had a wonderful diner to celebrate the end of a semester. I had the Halibut and my husband and son had pork chops. The best service I can remember ever in Albuquerque, Thomas was wonderful. The food was delicious and plated beautifully.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love trying out great food and this was one of the places we loved. It's worth it! Our server was awesome and the food were amazing. It seems like it will be one of our place for date night.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had to wait for someone to come to seat us and saw the same thing with other diners. The menu was something of a disappointment: for a restaurant that bills itself as a "special occasion" restaurant, the main courses were not very interesting. The small plates and first courses had more unusual offerings. We shared the foie gras and it was delicious. My husband had the crab cake and the sweet onion soup instead of a main course and enjoyed them both. I ordered the gnocchi and felt that the combination of ingredients wasn't successful. The gnocchi were gummy and the vegetables didn't complement each other. It was also rather bland. I feel that Albuquerque has other, better choices for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here many times. So much that we have become friends with Elaine. Service is excellent every time. So friendly and accommodating. We would recommend this as a 5🌟 restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great tasting food wonderful service amazing wine selection

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Incredible restaurant with incredible food. Another great experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very nice place. Super food and excellent waitstaff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful food! Very unique dishes. Our server was incredible! Very informative and knowledgeable about their dishes. Made suggestions based on likes and dislikes. Beautiful venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service. We even liked the music they were playing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was phenomenal. The menu included seasonal choices and the presentation was amazing. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Provided great recommendations and we even had Elaine wish us a good night.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best restaurant in Albuq! The menu is very creative.
Elaine is also very personable and welcoming.
Keep up the good work!
John P

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Crab cakes appetizer took 30 minutes, told 15 when ordered. 45 additional minutes for entrees to arrive. Crab cakes falling apart, better eaten with a spoon. Halibut overcooked and dry. Short ribs cold. Talked to another waiter about the issues because we could not find our waiter. Our waiter was then rude when he showed up asking about dessert and ignored the issues. Most importantly, no manager even came to ask about our issues. This was my last time at Elaine's after numerous prior visits. No excuse for management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food and service was outstanding! Nice wine list. This is a hidden gem!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We really enjoyed Elaine's. The menu was creative, not a lot of options, which I like, and all were creative. We shared grilled Brussels sprouts as a starter, and I hate Brussels sprouts, but loved these! The service was just about perfect and our hostess was attentive and friendly. Wines were well chosen,not over priced. Great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

What a wonderful dining surprise. My husband is a bit of a food snob so choosing restaurants can be a bust at times. But, he absolutely loved it - is still commenting 2 days later about how good everything was - from the deconstructed but lovely and deliciously presented Ceasar salad through the filet mignon to the Nutella Semifreddo w/Balsamic notes. My Scottish Salmon was creamy just like I remember as a child and the onion soup w/small crab cake had a wonderful bending of flavors. Great wine list. Our server was knowledgable, attentive and very pleasant. We will definitely return in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Absolutely fabulous. Great service. Food was wonderful. Nice atmosphere. Champagne and appetizers was a nice start. Only got better from there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Its one thing to eat exceptional food but when accompanied by sincere caring service and friendly tableside conversation by the owner Elaine and her fantastic wait staff (Thomas!!) you can be certain it will be a 5 star experience each time!! Bravo Elaine's - you are magnificient!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing Food! Amazing Service! Local business - what could be finer ?!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food and service-
Willing to work with kids' options.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our second visit to Elaine's. We couldn't be more pleased! Elaine has created a truly special experience--loyal to New Mexico's and Albuquerque's taste, but also offering a fusion of international and exotic flair! Elaine's provides something most "cookie cutter," downtown districts cannot dream of achieving--exceptional cuisine in a cozy and vibrant atmosphere. The staff is first class; the portions are right; the timing and presentation are flawless.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food, great prices. Would go again. I loved the sopapillas.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very tasty meal. Well prepared and presented. Service was very good. Had a great wine selection but would have preferred a better local beer selection. All in all, great for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The music was a little loud at times which made it difficult to have a conversation on occasion. We visited late Sunday afternoon shortly after they opened, so we were some of their first customers. It seemed to take a little while to receive our meal and even longer for dessert. The food was exquisite. Our waiter went out of his way to make sure my wife had a wine that she was satisfied with.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Elaine's was just as good as it was on our last visit, Valentine's Day. The food was excellent as well as the service. I highly recommend it for a romantic evening with someone special or gathering with good friends.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I went to Elaine's last Thrusday Supper Club, as we try to do whenever we can. The Supper Club is a prix fixe menu with wine pairings. All seating is at 6:30. This one was a tapas menu with Spanish wines. Can't recommend the Supper Club enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for our first time and the service was amazing! Food was very good and creative! Loved the wine, Elaine suggested. For any city this is a great romantic dinner or foodie stop in.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our new favorite restaurant in ABQ! Excellent food and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best meals I have had in a while. Creative dishes with great flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic!! Was so impressed with the squid ink pasta lobster ravioli and everything else we ordered. Unique and delicious. And we are spoiled Chicago foodies!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The staff is very attentive without being intrusive. The ambience is unobtrusive as well. The music isn't loud! One can carry on an intimate conversation that won't be drowned out by the music. Speaking of music, depending g on your tastes, you will enjoy everything from Van Morrison to early Bob Dylan to Louis Armstrong to every other smooth jazz singer you can think of. The art that adorns the walls is quite eclectic and soothing to the soul. I recommended Munche to Elaine as an addition to her collection, which I explained as an addition to her already eclectic collection.
Her chefs are artists. They combine flavors that you would never think of, but their combinations are truly like a gallery of culinary art.
I cannot recommend Elaine's strongly enough. Ambience, service, culinary delight, are not to be surpassed anywhere in Albuquerque or, indeed, anywhere else in New Mexico. I have dined all over the world, literally, and I have never enjoyed a dining experience more than Elaine's.
If you would like more detail, please contact me at: northernskywoodworks@comcast.net.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The steak was WAY too salty...almost inedible, the crab cake was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food ---- great! Service ---- pretty good. Too crowded. Sat closer to strangers next to me than my wife across from me. Limits conversation when you have to share all with strangers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lovely evening! Nice choice for special occasions

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.