Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Elaine's

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: (505) 328-8225

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Another excellent meal at Elaine's. My cod was flavorful and moist. The semifreddo dessert was nothing short of amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, we had a wonderful experience at Elaine's on Saturday evening. The grilled brussels sprouts were delicious and such a treat as I never have this vegetable at home as no one else in my family likes it. I also had the filet mignon - cooked perfectly. My husband had the ceasar salad and the - always excellent - PEI mussels. Fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I had been wanting to eat at Elaine since it opened, so this was my first time and it was very enjoyable and the food and wine were delicious. The dessert was a bit of a disappointment – kind of a chocolate tart with some fruit thrown on top, but everything else – including the service – was exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Great dinner and great service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 29, 2017

I especially appreciated being offered to taste three white wines. It makes a difference being able to choose by taste!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Overall a very good meal. The foi gras was a bit off, and the waiter didn’t adjust the bill, but what the heck. Great filet mignon, halibut, and desserts.

Highly recommended... we’re going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Outstanding meal for small groups. The fare was well prepared, well presented and well priced. Could not have hoped for more... well, maybe a lighter roast coffee option, but that is such a minor issue as to almost be unworthy of mention. Many thanks to our server, Lindsey; her attentiveness and genial care made the event all the more special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Four of us had Thanksgiving dinner here. Elaine's offered their regular menu and a traditional Thanksgiving dinner with turkey or ham. Two of us had turkey dinners, and two had items from the regular menu. We all really enjoyed our dinners. The meals were beautifully presented, with--to me--ideal portion sizes. I'd hesitated to order the turkey dinner, worried that food would be overflowing the plate! But it was elegant and delicious. What impressed me the most, however, was the calmness of the ambiance and service. I've been to restaurants handling holiday dinners before, and sometimes the service has been somewhat frantic and distracted. Elaine's, which is a small-ish restaurant, seemed to handle the special day effortlessly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving giving lunch with the family. Nice experience, kids had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 18, 2017

First time visit. Better than expected as I had not hear much about it. Nice variety in menu selections and good attention to the details. Pleasant servers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Very good dining experience. Recommend reservation as the restaurant is not large.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The muscles were outstanding, which was particularly impressive in the middle of the desert. For entrees, we enjoyed the filet and short ribs which were of excellent quality, well seasoned, and appropriately portioned.

The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and attuned to our need (or lack there of ) of dialogue.

Overall, we were pleased with the experience and look forward to returning again soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Elaine's is consistently at the top of our list of Albuquerque restaurants for a quiet cozy evening of conversation, excellent food, and excellent friendly service. We almost never spend less than two hours there, not because the service is slow - in fact the wait-staff are very attentive and pace the service to fit our style of eating - but because we feel so comfortable there. The wine list is very good and the wait-staff are able to make helpful recommendations to fit one's taste and budget.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I specifically noted this was an anniversary dinner. The staff was surprised when we showed up on time and the seating was at best ordinary in an uncrowded restaurant with a table entirely too close to the table next to the nearby diners - virtually had the move the next table to get into the wall seat without bumping into that table. Chicken entre was luke warm and one portion appeared undercooked and red/pink, very skimpy sides with the dish. Appetizer mussels and salmon entre were very good. Two other tables celebrated some event with a late course with a candle - presumed a birthday. Anniversary never mentioned by the wait staff or maître'd. Second trip to this restaurant; first recommended by Scalo's owner/mgr - impressed then when run by Elaine; not so much this trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We dined early on a Saturday evening. The staff was very efficient and attentive to our pre-theater needs. To our surprise, we even received a discount because they participate with the local theater in a promotion. The wines, even by the glass were quite good. The food arrived on time, so that we felt neither rushed nor delayed. My fish entree was especially good, and my vegetarian companion found an enjoyable entree. I think that having more than one meatless entree on the dinner menu might be something they should think about adding. It's not a complaint; just a suggestion.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food excellent. Inordinate wait between courses. 30- 45 min betwwen salad and entree.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Service was very slow. Waiter forgot out appetizer. Food: so so, below expectations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Absolutely splendid service and an excellent meal. Pleasant environment. We will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dinner service took twice as long as it should have, even considering this is a place you want to stay longer and enjoy your meal/conversation. I don't know if the kitchen was short on help. The waiters were very polite but seemed to be spread thin. Otherwise great ambiance, unique menu, food was pretty good (halibut was a bit dry) but with the expense I expected more attentive service and better timing with meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Was very sad to hear that Elaine was no longer involved with the restaurant she had created-although it was a pleasant dining experience-was not the same without the owner/hostess with the mostess!!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We loved our evening. Our waiter was friendly and helpful in wine decisions as well as food. We had a lovely time.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Overall, my favorite restaurant anywhere - great food, short but superb wine list, excellent service, quiet - nearly perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was a busness dinner. Enjoyed meal. Service was excellent. Everyone thanked me for suggestion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was excellent. We came in at 8:30 PM on a Wednesday night with 11 people for a business dinner. Started a bit slow as there was only one waiter for the entire restaurant but as the other 2 tables slowed down we got his full attention. Food was creative and outstanding. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely delicious food! Prices aren't bad for the quality off the meal too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and service. The ambiance was perfect for our Anniversary celebration. This was our first time to try this restaurant and we were impressed and will plan to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Hard to beat delicious food, enjoyable service and parking in the back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was delicious - my salmon was cooked perfectly - but it took over 70 minutes to get our entrees and the restaurant was half full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The short ribs were very good, however, the mussels needed more sauce. The fois gras should have been a dessert. The service was pretty disappointing. She didn't recognize the birthday at our table and didn't seem to realize that the wine glasses should be changed with new wine. Overall, not what we expected.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was excellent. I had the Farm Salad and a crab cake for my meal. It really was not quite enough food. My preference would be to have crab cake offered as a main course. It was the best crab cake I can remember eating - East coast or anywhere.
I especially appreciated the fact that despite a full house it was quiet and conversation was comfortable. I never return to noisy restaurants no matter how much I like the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good food and wine! All 5 of us greatly enjoyed our meals: Gnocchi, Salmon, Chicken, and Filet. Our waiter was personable and attentive. BUT our meal began at 5:30 and ended at 8:30. We didn't mind the slow pace, it was great for our group. I had a feeling that those that came in later, when the restaurant was more full, were in for an even longer wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was our first visit. We were not disappointed. There are outside seating options. The ambiance was pleasant. Appetizers, salads and entrees and desserts were all excellent. Our waiter was great. He made excellent recommendations. We enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 29, 2017

An exceptional experience! Elaine's compares favorably to the highest quality restaurants we've experienced in many larger cities. How lucky we to have this gem in Nob Hill! Attentive and professional service, a very good (but still affordable) wine list, and an excellent menu with beautifully prepared dishes. Easily at the top of our list for our fave restaurants in ABQ.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A truly unique dining experience. We will return when we visit Albuquerque again ... soon, we hope!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was delicious.. Perfect for a Wednesday night as the restaurant was crowded or noisy. Perfect place to re-connect with an old friend

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was a totally pleasant occasion. Good basic food--outstanding pork and exellennt service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

excellent meal with fine service. Lived up to excellent meal we had a year ago at Elaine's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 10, 2017

very sad to have Elaine leaving and probably restaurant will change its theme. Still one of the best in ABQ

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Once again Opentable members did not disappoint me. Ranked very highly, I decided to end my NM trip with a visit to Elaine's. Very nice menu, great wine and after dinner drink selction as well. The Foie Gras was beyond delicious. A huge serving of seared Foie Gras, rhubarb & mango chutney, pistachio butter, toasted brioche. I could have had iit for appetizer, dinner and dessert! Sorry I didn't order a sauterne with it.

For dinner I had seared Scottish, asparagus, radish, peas, tomato, lardon, cucumber & asparagus, champagne shallot cream. Again a very generous portion and perfectly prepared.

The Ruby Port to end the evening was just what the Dr ordered!

Service was also excellent. I think it was Tom (?) who provided superb, knowledgable and professional care!!!!

Elaine's is also great for people watching, seems to be the place to see visiting movie and tv people!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent meal with great service. Truly a hidden gem in ABQ

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.