Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Elaine's

4.4
550 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Nightly
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 433-4782
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Garrick Mendoza/
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Elaine Blanco: (505) 328-8225
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Amherst
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
All around the restaurant
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Very central, same block
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 550 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Everything was good, however they did not ask how old my daughter was and charged her as an adult.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother's Day brunch, which was a fixed menu with limited choices. Knowing that, I thought we'd be in and out in a reasonable amount of time - like two hours or less. (I actually got a parking ticket because my parking ran out while we were waiting for the check). While the salad course came out quickly, the entrees took FOREVER and three of them had to be sent back because they weren't right. In addition, somehow glass shards ended up on the table after they put the plates down and then took them back to the kitchen to get corrected, and one of our guests cut their hand. Dessert was strawberry shortcake, which consisted of two dry scones with some strawberry drizzle and a small dollop of whipped cream. We opted to go for gelato down the street instead. I've been there many times for dinner and have always had a good experience. I don't think I will be back for a special menu event. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great birthday celebration for my husband! He loved the choice of draught beer made by our waiter, and we both enjoyed our meals.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I really wanted to like it. The restaurant was about half full but our food took so long to come out and when it did, the entrees were undercooked. It just seemed rushed. Other patrons were seated after us were served before us. I didn't want to take it personal but at some point your have to haul it got what it is. Either this or our table was forgotten, but I can't imagine this in a place so small.

Like I said, I really wanted to like Elaine's, however, I can't give it a good review. Our server was great, however, the quality and timeliness of the entrees spoiled the evening. I've been to bistros all over the world and this didn't live up to any of them. Prices were one par, however, quality was not.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

What a gem to find in Nob Hill. Everything about this place was perfect. Excellent restaurants like this deserve to be supported and celebrated!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Consistently fabulous with a warm, friendly environment

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Everything was fine except for the salad that I ordered. The farm salad was disappointing heavy on lettuce and light on other farm vegetables. I expected something different from the menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This is the third or fourth time I've visited Elaine's during my temporary stay in Albuquerque. The food and wine is uniformly very good to excellent. The service, on the other hand, has never been outstanding, but always at least adequate. This time is was poor. Our waitperson forgot the glass of wine I ordered when our dinners arrived and never checked back during the meal. She also has an annoying affectation which is somewhat off-putting. This experience wouldn't necessarily prevent me from returning but, since I will be leaving Albuquerque relatively soon, for this reason I will take my business elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I used to love this restaurant...it was my date night favorite. I was so excited to share this place with my husband’s family and was very disappointed with the quality of food. The meat was over cooked, we waited 45 minutes for our dinner, and we were a bit neglected by our server. I am sad to say that this will no longer be a date night spot for my husband and I :(.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Service from the kitchen was terrible. We arrived in a timely fashion due to our desire to attend a play. we had to shovel our food down and we literally had to run to the car to make the play. In my opinion, no reflection on the wait staff. I think other customers suffered the same problem.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Slow and forgetful server. Didn’t receive our appetizers. Was told that they were out of numerous entrees and then received something I didn’t order as a back up. Our waitress kept running across the street to get items from another restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was quite good but in no way is it worth the tediously long drawn-out wait. We were seated immediately at 7:30 on a Friday night with many tables to spare. Did not experience the crowd others mention yet we were seated a table between two parties -- why not use a more private table as they were available (and we did have a reservation). Between sitting and bread arriving 15 minutes, sitting to entree (no appetizers ordered) a full 50 minutes. The mini sopapilla bread is outstanding but they are literally 3-bites, not enough to hold you on that long a wait. This was not unique to our order as we saw every table waiting this long. Staff is very kind but no comments about the wait which makes me think it's common. We'll never go back - the food is good but not so amazing as to warrant the prices or the wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Outstanding experience all around. The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you're inside, you'll be welcomed enthusiastically, served graciously, and fed expertly. This was a real find. Get your kicks at this restaurant on Route 66.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter repass

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Staff was amazing....answered all our “foodie” questions!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We split the 8 oz filet, which unfortunately fad some gristle.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food and service was excellent. The space is a little small, therefore tables a little too close to each other for my liking. But would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

A friend described this as his favorite restaurant in Albuquerque, and now I see why. Outstanding, knowledgeable service. Great, creative food. This is a fine dining restaurant with a friendly atmosphere. We look forward to dining there again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Service was outstanding. Server was very knowledgeable about all the food and recommended a perfect wine for our taste. Brussel sprouts were really good. Fried sopapillas were really good (and free!). The rest of the food was good but nothing special (we ordered the gnocchi, and the filet). For the price I would have expected something a little better. Still had a great night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Wonderful food, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Will be back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Fantastic food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

As I have said many times (and truthfully), anybody can cook a murdered animal. While Elaine's is like most other restaurants and offers just one vegetarian entree, the meal was one of the best I have ever had. I urge the Chef to quit offering animals and focus on vegetarian food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Elaine’s is always great! Good food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Outstanding! Every meal ordered beat expectations. Bravo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Elaine's was wonderful. We arrived early, unknowingly 15 minutes before their official opening time, but they sat us anyway and took our drink orders early. The menu was a very manageable size. I had the onion soup with crab cake, a beautiful and delicious dish. I also had the short ribs with beet reduction and mashed potato, which was also delicious and beautiful to look at. My wife had the gnocchi, which she loved. One of the nicest meals I've had in a while.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great food. Very knowledgeable and friendly service. The wait time between ordering, getting our salads and then our entrees was entirely too long. We finished our bottle of wine before we got our entrees. Not sure what the problem was. Food however was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Seating is kind of weird but overall great experience, excellent food, and good wine

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Fixed price menu on Valentine's Day. Below average salad first course. Fabulous filet mignon and scallops main courses. OK desserts. Nothing special. Very over-priced. Crowded tables. Hard to hear yourself think sitting so close to neighbors. Why don't restaurants think about seating? Ugh. Don't think we will do Elaine's again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service never fails to delight at Elaine's. Always exceeds my expectation. Love the staff as well. Friendly, funny and all around wonderful. The seafood dishes are exquisite and the Chocolate Tort dessert unmatched.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Fantastic food! Nice ambiance. Service was slow, but the food was worth the wait!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Elaine's was wonderful as always. Service is very good & the food was great -- as was the presentation. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Went here for Valentine's. For starters I had Prince Edward Island mussels which were fresh & meaty with toasts to soak up the beautiful sauce. For main course had the filet mignon with fantastic bearnaise sauce over potato pancake and topped with a bit of asparagus. Just delicious. For desert I had a port from the ample after dinner menu, with a chocolate + fruit tart, which was also delicious. Professional & friendly waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

A wonderful pre-Popejoy dinner... delicious! A true gem in a lively neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Outstanding service, great food and wine. Waiter was attentive without hovering, knowledgeable. Nice ambiance. We both had the short rib, which was amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Elaine's is somewhere to go for a decent meal, but every time I try the place again I come in expecting to find something a little more unique or inspiring on the menu. During our most recent dine, I was hopeful that the server would have an interesting special to read off to us, but no specials that night. I picked the chicken as it sounded like a dish that would be hard to go wrong with. It was fine. But for $24, I just want to be a little more excited about my meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Everything was delicious (we had crab cakes, salmon, gnocci and champagne cocktails)! Service was spot on, friendly, knowledgeable, on top of it, but not overbearing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Quite pleasantly surprised! Imaginative menu, well-executed. Very large entree portions,
One best fine dining experiences I've ever had in Albuquerque,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Elaine's never disappoints! Absolutely amazing, creative food and wine pairing. Perfect for a date night, or your posse. Elegant, classy and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

A remarkably un-busy restaurant, given the excellent quality of the food. The appetizers, salad, soup, and entrees were all delicious. I got the feeling that food-wise, you really couldn't go wrong here. The service was NM-good: attentive and friendly, if a bit lacking in the finer points. The wine list was a bit over-priced, but offered some good selections. I'll definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

This restaurant was recommended to me by my niece, who is a real "foodie." It certainly lived up to her recommendation - everything about this restaurant is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14