About Elaine's

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: 5053288225x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sea bass
  • Beet Salad, Goat Cheese Mousse, Blonde Frisee
  • Grilled Fresh Sardine Blonde Frisée Salad, Tonight's Appetizer
  • Sweet Breads
Sea bass
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese Mousse, Blonde Frisee
Grilled Fresh Sardine Blonde Frisée Salad, Tonight's Appetizer
Sweet Breads

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
11 More
Special Occasion
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Fit for Foodies
Albuquerque
Neighborhood Gem
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Special Occasion (48)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
See All
Romantic (37)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fabulous. Reservations onli ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous. Reservations online were a breeze. We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my Sweet Heart to Elaine's for he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

I took my Sweet Heart to Elaine's for her birthday last Friday evening and it was the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion such as that. The atmosphere is quaint and personal which was great for one-on-one romantic conversation. The staff was cordial and attentive. They were friendly and catered to our every need. The food -OMG! -- The food is SUPERB! That was theeeeee best Filet Mignon I have ever experienced in the Duke City.

Excellent establishment . Well worth the drive from Santa Fe!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish was beautifully plated and ta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Every dish was beautifully plated and tasted delicious! Definitely one of the best meals I've had in New Mexico. Definitely go!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Excellent food. Service fanta ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent. Excellent food. Service fantastic. We were there to celebrate bdays with friends. I left chocolate truffles in my car and they put them in the fridge for me. Will DEFINATELY go back. Wonderful place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening with a couple whose compa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lovely evening with a couple whose company we enjoy. Elaine was gracious with her greeting and remembered us from an earlier visit. Our waiter was knowledgeable and offered good suggestions for both food and drink. Our meals were beautifully presented, stove hot and delicious. There were several other diners but the noise level was only moderate. All in all a very nice evening. We will dine with Elaine again in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just perfect as always. Some of the most ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Just perfect as always. Some of the most delicious duck I've ever eaten.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal, food was excellent as ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed the meal, food was excellent as was the service. Will definitely be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Cannot compl ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Cannot complain about a thing. Good to have a great place to have interesting and delicious food. This place is a keeper.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Elaine's is our first pick in Albuquerqu ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Elaine's is our first pick in Albuquerque for a celebration dinner - always great delicious interesting menu choices!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband took me for my birthday after ...

 
 (Beijing)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My husband took me for my birthday after a year of wanting to go to Elaine's. I could not have been more pleased with the entire experience! Food - fantastic. Waitress and staff were perfectly attentive and knowledgeable. Great wine recommendations. My meal was superb, as was my husbands. Atmosphere was calm and relaxing. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you haven't dined at Elaine's yet, yo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you haven't dined at Elaine's yet, you are missing an Albuquerque STAR!! The food is absolutely delish. I had the Short Rib. It melted in my mouth and the Beet Puree added that little tang that tells you this Chef definitely knows how to mix the different food flavors for best effect. My wife had the Pork Chop with a chutney garnish that was sweet yet not sweet. The roasted beets were done to perfection, not too soft nor too hard and the grilled flavor was wonderful. We topped this delicious meal off with a Panna Cotta with Butterscotch Crumbles. The dish was very flavorful without being sugary like some we've had. The service is quite attentive while being very discreet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine was good, waiter was excellent, amb ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wine was good, waiter was excellent, ambiance was fantastic. Had a great experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food & waitstaff; first time d ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food & waitstaff; first time diner, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Highly recommend; fit for foodies! One o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Highly recommend; fit for foodies! One of my top favorite places in Albuquerque to eat. If you like Jennifer James, don't miss this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great dining experience. innovative dish ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

great dining experience. innovative dishes;beautiful presentation; tasty execution. luved the grilled watermelon appetizer. how do they make the feta cream so pungent and the kalamata is a better foil than basil! halibut, lamb and panna cotta were all home runs! look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my first visit to Elaine's and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was my first visit to Elaine's and I was greatly pleased in every way. It was relatively quiet which was important because my companion and I had much to talk about. We ordered small dishes rather than larger meals and the amount was just right for our needs. The presentation was excellent. The waiters were very good, there when needed, but without hovering. I forget the names of the dishes that I had, but they were first rate, well above average. I will be glad to return to Elaine's whenever opportunity presents itself. I hope I am conveying a strong recommendation for this excellent restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was good. Expected a little more ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dinner was good. Expected a little more on presentation after seeing pics on their website. Picked $9/glass of wine but got charged $13. Not sure what happened there. But overall it was a nice dinner for my birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard that Elaine's was good, and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had heard that Elaine's was good, and we were excited to try somewhere new to celebrate a birthday. We had no idea how great it would be. The waiter and the owner were amazing hosts. They went above and beyond. Gorgeous wine list. We had two bottles from the Spanish selection, and both were outstanding. I highly recommend both the halibut and the filet mignon. And the food tastes as good as it looks A great evening was had by all.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both creative and eclectic, Elaine's is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Both creative and eclectic, Elaine's is worth not one visit but many returns.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elaine's was a treat. We had made plans ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Elaine's was a treat. We had made plans based on a friend's recommendation, and we were not disappointed. It was marvelous - the miniature sopapillas different and delicious, the entrees amazing and the desserts were fabulous. It was a perfect place to visit, enjoy great (and friendly) service and enjoy a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The tuna appeti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was delicious. The tuna appetizer and mussels were delicious! I had the halibut. It was perfectly done and a good size portion. The only downside was the service. The waiter tried to swiftly get us to order a $70 bottle of chardonnay. We looked at the wine list and ordered a $34 bottle and he charged $40 on our bill. Not cool.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

The food is usually much better. The foo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is usually much better. The food was average this time. It was the same menu that I have had about a month ago on June 29. The salmon was a lovely but we needed something to put it on. It stated it came with pumpernickel but there was no pumpernickel seasoning or Bread. So we asked for toast points. The onion soup with crabcake was OK but it was lukewarm. The Tuna had stated a Siracha Aoli but it was just Siracha squirted over the top. On the whole I would call it an off night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Elaine's is a restaurant that could hold ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Elaine's is a restaurant that could hold its own in any city. It's a bit more expensive than the average fare in ABQ, but worth every penny. The attention to detail makes every bite pleasurable and the service is top notch. A quality act in all ways -- how lucky to have it in the neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always love going to Elaine's. Such ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We always love going to Elaine's. Such a classy environment but don't let that fool you about the prices....really a great value. Food and drink are awesome and service is wonderful! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees were nicely presented, but u ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our entrees were nicely presented, but unfortunately, the food was only middling good. We had been led to believe that Elaine's is an extraordinary restaurant and were disappointed to discover that it is not, or at least it wasn't on the night that we dined there. I hope that they can raise the quality to equal their reputation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Food, service, ambiance all excellent, b ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food, service, ambiance all excellent, but most importantly the hospitality was superb. Elaine made feel welcome. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We got the summe ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was excellent. We got the summer early bird special which was delicious! Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. Everything from th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love this restaurant. Everything from the refreshingly delicious and different champagne spritzer to the deconstructed summer salad to the special beef entree of the night was superb. Each item presented interesting combinations of flavors and textures - a diner's delight. Thank you Elaine's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Elaine's and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first visit to Elaine's and I will be going back! My husband and I both had the halibut and it was fantastic. Our meals were the best we have had in the last year in Albuquerque. I was most impressed.

The menu is small but if everything is as good as the appetizer and meals we had - there are plenty of choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

At Elaine's they have several small plat ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

At Elaine's they have several small plates that are absolutely superb so you can taste many things. The smoke salmon was the best I've ever had. It was out of this world! everything was fabulous I will go back there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit before writing this review. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Third visit before writing this review. Consistently excellent. Small innovative menu along with some classics. Small but varied and selective wine list with a range of prices: highly affordable to more expensive. Service is equal to the food. Well informed and responsive wait staff. Elaine may come by your table, engaging but not intrusive. Due to size and restaurant popularity prefer early-mid week dining. Consider specials when available. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time going to and I had such a gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time going to and I had such a great experience! The staff was incredibly nice and helpful . The food was so delicious and the portions were substantial. I would highly recommend Elaine's!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was not memorable, and the serv ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

the food was not memorable, and the service was quite slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It was the best meal that we've had in a ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was the best meal that we've had in a long time! We especially enjoyed the tuna 'salad' and the chicken main dish was the best chicken I've ever had., so moist!

We can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We highly recommend Elaine's for all occ ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We highly recommend Elaine's for all occasions. Delicious food and gracious service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living in Albuquerque for most of my lif ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Living in Albuquerque for most of my life I have got use to having no real "foodie" type places to eat, everything is just national chains or New Mexican food. I have to say Elaine's changes that. The food is excellent! Its not your usual fare, it unique, tasty and plate well. The "Mini sopapillas" with honey butter sprinkled with prosciutto crumble was tasty to start, my salmon was divine, the fall salad was very unique and the beignet was sweet! I would recommended this place to anyone wanting a great place to eat for either a special occasion, a romantic evening or just because you are tired of the same old same here in Albuquerque! Elaine's is my new favorite restaurant in Albuquerque.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the sweet onion soup with crab cake ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Love the sweet onion soup with crab cake. Fine Dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit to Elaine's. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This was our second visit to Elaine's. I was greeted by Thomas, who was our excellent server on our first visit. He remembered us, even though it was months ago we visited. Our meal was excellent that night. Their early bird menu offers several options and was more than enough. I can't say enough about how we enjoyed the pork loin then. The pork loin was not on the menu this time, so I ordered the filet, which was cooked perfectly and had great flavor. Lisa was our server this time and she was very professional. My husband ordered the early bird and opted for the ramen noodle appetizer, half chicken, and the chocolate dessert. The portions and very generous. He even had to share with me. They do have a fine wine list and we enjoyed a bottle each visit. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, superb service, excellent ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, superb service, excellent first time visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Elaine's is an excellent place to eat! ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Elaine's is an excellent place to eat! Wonderful staff and servers. The entire place is a little small, but the ambiance was really nice! The food was very well prepared and delicious. We loved spending date night here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.