Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Elaine's

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: (505) 328-8225

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food excellent. Inordinate wait between courses. 30- 45 min betwwen salad and entree.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very slow. Waiter forgot out appetizer. Food: so so, below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely splendid service and an excellent meal. Pleasant environment. We will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dinner service took twice as long as it should have, even considering this is a place you want to stay longer and enjoy your meal/conversation. I don't know if the kitchen was short on help. The waiters were very polite but seemed to be spread thin. Otherwise great ambiance, unique menu, food was pretty good (halibut was a bit dry) but with the expense I expected more attentive service and better timing with meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Was very sad to hear that Elaine was no longer involved with the restaurant she had created-although it was a pleasant dining experience-was not the same without the owner/hostess with the mostess!!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We loved our evening. Our waiter was friendly and helpful in wine decisions as well as food. We had a lovely time.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Overall, my favorite restaurant anywhere - great food, short but superb wine list, excellent service, quiet - nearly perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was a busness dinner. Enjoyed meal. Service was excellent. Everyone thanked me for suggestion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was excellent. We came in at 8:30 PM on a Wednesday night with 11 people for a business dinner. Started a bit slow as there was only one waiter for the entire restaurant but as the other 2 tables slowed down we got his full attention. Food was creative and outstanding. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely delicious food! Prices aren't bad for the quality off the meal too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and service. The ambiance was perfect for our Anniversary celebration. This was our first time to try this restaurant and we were impressed and will plan to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Hard to beat delicious food, enjoyable service and parking in the back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was delicious - my salmon was cooked perfectly - but it took over 70 minutes to get our entrees and the restaurant was half full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The short ribs were very good, however, the mussels needed more sauce. The fois gras should have been a dessert. The service was pretty disappointing. She didn't recognize the birthday at our table and didn't seem to realize that the wine glasses should be changed with new wine. Overall, not what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was excellent. I had the Farm Salad and a crab cake for my meal. It really was not quite enough food. My preference would be to have crab cake offered as a main course. It was the best crab cake I can remember eating - East coast or anywhere.
I especially appreciated the fact that despite a full house it was quiet and conversation was comfortable. I never return to noisy restaurants no matter how much I like the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good food and wine! All 5 of us greatly enjoyed our meals: Gnocchi, Salmon, Chicken, and Filet. Our waiter was personable and attentive. BUT our meal began at 5:30 and ended at 8:30. We didn't mind the slow pace, it was great for our group. I had a feeling that those that came in later, when the restaurant was more full, were in for an even longer wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was our first visit. We were not disappointed. There are outside seating options. The ambiance was pleasant. Appetizers, salads and entrees and desserts were all excellent. Our waiter was great. He made excellent recommendations. We enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 29, 2017

An exceptional experience! Elaine's compares favorably to the highest quality restaurants we've experienced in many larger cities. How lucky we to have this gem in Nob Hill! Attentive and professional service, a very good (but still affordable) wine list, and an excellent menu with beautifully prepared dishes. Easily at the top of our list for our fave restaurants in ABQ.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A truly unique dining experience. We will return when we visit Albuquerque again ... soon, we hope!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was delicious.. Perfect for a Wednesday night as the restaurant was crowded or noisy. Perfect place to re-connect with an old friend

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was a totally pleasant occasion. Good basic food--outstanding pork and exellennt service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

excellent meal with fine service. Lived up to excellent meal we had a year ago at Elaine's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 10, 2017

very sad to have Elaine leaving and probably restaurant will change its theme. Still one of the best in ABQ

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Once again Opentable members did not disappoint me. Ranked very highly, I decided to end my NM trip with a visit to Elaine's. Very nice menu, great wine and after dinner drink selction as well. The Foie Gras was beyond delicious. A huge serving of seared Foie Gras, rhubarb & mango chutney, pistachio butter, toasted brioche. I could have had iit for appetizer, dinner and dessert! Sorry I didn't order a sauterne with it.

For dinner I had seared Scottish, asparagus, radish, peas, tomato, lardon, cucumber & asparagus, champagne shallot cream. Again a very generous portion and perfectly prepared.

The Ruby Port to end the evening was just what the Dr ordered!

Service was also excellent. I think it was Tom (?) who provided superb, knowledgable and professional care!!!!

Elaine's is also great for people watching, seems to be the place to see visiting movie and tv people!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent meal with great service. Truly a hidden gem in ABQ

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 6, 2017

ELAINE'S IS AN UPSCALE BUT REASONABLE PRICED RESTAURANT. GOOD FOOD CHARMING AMBIANCE AND ATTENTIVE OWNER. ALWAYS GREAT

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our first time at Elaine's. Well worth the 30-minute drive and difficulty parking. Warm, professional service and a friendly atmosphere. Food was superb! Highly recommend the halibut. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Little gem in the city. Great food and service. Nice for a date night. We will be going back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Lisa took great care of us. Filet was cooked perfectly to order and the crab cake was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Unfortunately wasn't the best experience. Had business dinner with client and hair in complimentary appetizer. Servers not up to a professioanl type atmosphere. The food was really good but a bit pricey.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We dined at Elaine's for our 38th wedding anniversary. We were able to negotiate the ART construction mess and were able to find a parking spot fairly close. We were seated promptly. Noise level throughout the evening was acceptable. Service was prompt, but not overbearing. We had the cheese plate and farm salad. Both very good. We ordered Scottish Salmon and Gnocchi. Both were very good. The only slight disappointment was the lemon bundt cake dessert - pretty ordinary and a little dry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We've come here several times, and I've always had good food and particularly enjoyed sitting outside-one of the nicer places to do so in Albuquerque. This time, it was too hot to do so, and we were looking forward to a different experience inside. We were seated quickly, and quickly had the amuse bouche of mini sopaipilla (fabulous!). Our salad was a generous size and quite nice, and our entrées were very tasty, appropriately portioned, and not fussy. I would return again for the food but not the meal experience because of the service and how it detracted from the experience and value. Service was slow and inattentive for a not very busy time, and our waitstaff really seem disinterested. In the past he has seemed dispassionate, but now it just seemed like he didn't care about us, our meal, or the job. I hope Elaine's is able to provide corrective feedback and additional training so that we can come back - but after noting how his service has declined over our successive dinners, it will be harder to do so

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good but not outstanding. Brussels sprouts were good, sauce good, not great.
Mussels small, sauce salty.
chocolate tart chewy filling, not that flavorful.
Sorry-- we wanted it to be very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Elaines - Food was top notch and so was the service. Hidden Gem!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I travel & eat out 3 days a week, am very critical of my restaurant experiences, and rarely submit reviews. This place was outstanding and I was thoroughly impressed with the entire experience at Elaine's. Eclectic menu, GREAT food, interesting and reasonably priced wine list and attentive but not intrusive service. No liquor license so have your martini before you show up. On of my guests thinks their Brussels sprouts are the best she has ever had. I agree. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our 32nd anniversary dinner. We asked for a table "out of the main traffic flow" and they seated us behind a partition near the front door. No traffic flow whatsoever and very quiet compared to the rest of the restaurant space. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. Food was excellent and delivered quickly. We started with Elaine's Farm Salad, which was topped with a wonderful white balsamic vinaigrette. My sweetie ordered the half-chicken and I ordered the fried alaskan halibut. Both portions were quite sufficient for our appetites. We ordered the aged Balsamic Nutella Semifreddo for dessert and thoroughly enjoyed it. We've eaten at Elaine's previously and have yet to be disappointed. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food, fun wait person and would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Strongly recommend Elaine's we had a wonderful diner to celebrate the end of a semester. I had the Halibut and my husband and son had pork chops. The best service I can remember ever in Albuquerque, Thomas was wonderful. The food was delicious and plated beautifully.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love trying out great food and this was one of the places we loved. It's worth it! Our server was awesome and the food were amazing. It seems like it will be one of our place for date night.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.