Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Elaine's

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: (505) 328-8225

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Romantic (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food and service-
Willing to work with kids' options.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our second visit to Elaine's. We couldn't be more pleased! Elaine has created a truly special experience--loyal to New Mexico's and Albuquerque's taste, but also offering a fusion of international and exotic flair! Elaine's provides something most "cookie cutter," downtown districts cannot dream of achieving--exceptional cuisine in a cozy and vibrant atmosphere. The staff is first class; the portions are right; the timing and presentation are flawless.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food, great prices. Would go again. I loved the sopapillas.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very tasty meal. Well prepared and presented. Service was very good. Had a great wine selection but would have preferred a better local beer selection. All in all, great for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The music was a little loud at times which made it difficult to have a conversation on occasion. We visited late Sunday afternoon shortly after they opened, so we were some of their first customers. It seemed to take a little while to receive our meal and even longer for dessert. The food was exquisite. Our waiter went out of his way to make sure my wife had a wine that she was satisfied with.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Elaine's was just as good as it was on our last visit, Valentine's Day. The food was excellent as well as the service. I highly recommend it for a romantic evening with someone special or gathering with good friends.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I went to Elaine's last Thrusday Supper Club, as we try to do whenever we can. The Supper Club is a prix fixe menu with wine pairings. All seating is at 6:30. This one was a tapas menu with Spanish wines. Can't recommend the Supper Club enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for our first time and the service was amazing! Food was very good and creative! Loved the wine, Elaine suggested. For any city this is a great romantic dinner or foodie stop in.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our new favorite restaurant in ABQ! Excellent food and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic!! Was so impressed with the squid ink pasta lobster ravioli and everything else we ordered. Unique and delicious. And we are spoiled Chicago foodies!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The staff is very attentive without being intrusive. The ambience is unobtrusive as well. The music isn't loud! One can carry on an intimate conversation that won't be drowned out by the music. Speaking of music, depending g on your tastes, you will enjoy everything from Van Morrison to early Bob Dylan to Louis Armstrong to every other smooth jazz singer you can think of. The art that adorns the walls is quite eclectic and soothing to the soul. I recommended Munche to Elaine as an addition to her collection, which I explained as an addition to her already eclectic collection.
Her chefs are artists. They combine flavors that you would never think of, but their combinations are truly like a gallery of culinary art.
I cannot recommend Elaine's strongly enough. Ambience, service, culinary delight, are not to be surpassed anywhere in Albuquerque or, indeed, anywhere else in New Mexico. I have dined all over the world, literally, and I have never enjoyed a dining experience more than Elaine's.
If you would like more detail, please contact me at: northernskywoodworks@comcast.net.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The steak was WAY too salty...almost inedible, the crab cake was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food ---- great! Service ---- pretty good. Too crowded. Sat closer to strangers next to me than my wife across from me. Limits conversation when you have to share all with strangers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lovely evening! Nice choice for special occasions

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

elaine's had been on the top my list for a while. i heard the menu is quirky. i was so looking forward to it.

The food. very good (especially for ABQ). the meal starts with small sopapillas and honey butter. Bite size. Warm. Very good. For an app, we had the mussels. they were delicious and meaty. the sauce was a little too salty. i had the salmon. good, but the taste was flat. for the price, it should have been better. my wife's fillet was delicious.

Service. we had reservations but still waited for about 10 minutes. a couple that came in after us was seated immediately. our waitress was attentive. however, we waited 20 minutes for the sopapillas. the waitress kept telling us she did not know what was taking them so long. the mussels came out quickly. the dinner was slow. my wife ordered the braised short ribs. got the fillet instead. they offered to get the short-ribs, but it would have taken 20 minutes. we took the filet.

you can hear your partner across the table. Nice! the menu is limited - not saying it is good or bad. the decor is quirky. must be a play on elaine's in new york.

For the price, i expected more. However, my wife thought the food was terrific - once she got past the fact that she did not get what she ordered.

the bathrooms are very clean.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We tried Elaine's for Valentines dinner, having heard great things from friends. The food was very good and the service was friendly and well-executed. The main drawback is the noise level. The place is pretty loud when it's full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What a wonderful evening. The food was done to perfection. The service was attentive, on point and discreet. My Asparagus salad was light, delicious and complimented the rest of the meal. The roasted olives is one of my favorite appetizers. My wife had the braised spare rib. It literally melted in your mouth. My filet was really tender. Elaine's has the perfect technique with beef. The sauces compliment the meat and don't overpower like some other places. This is our special dinner restaurant. 5 stars for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great dining experience. Friendly, skilled staff. Good pacing to the service. Excellent food and wine list. Plan to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We booked a reservation at Elaine's to celebrate a special and romantic occasion. The ambience of the restaurant felt elegant and welcoming. I thought the appetizer menu was very limited. The main entree options covered a wide range of the main options most are looking for at this type of restaurants. The wine list was well stocked. The food was beautifully presented and was superb. Overall, it felt like one of those special restaurants you would take your loved one for romantic occasions and special celebrations which can often be a hard to find in Albuquerque. I would recommend this restaurant and come again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful find, food was amazing and we had one a very good server. The whole staff was courteous and professional, no attempts to be my new best friend. Atmosphere was low-key and relaxing, decorating was well done, not over done.

Could only get a 5p reservation (will plan better next time) but the time worked out. We had the place pretty much to ourselves for about 45 minutes, which gave us a quiet atmosphere. Once it was full, the noise was a little too much for me. Will definitely go back and have already recommended to my friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Top notch. Looking forward to my return... again and again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Elaine greeted us at the door and was incredibly friendly! She and our server were very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was outstanding and the energy was hot! If I go out to eat in Albuquerque I go to Elaine's!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Anniversary dinner. requested an out-of-the-way corner spot. All that we wished. Great evening and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Elaine's. The service was very good as was the food. The appetizer, salad, soup and main course had great flavors. We have already recommended the place to our friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding food every time we go! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Best food in Albuquerque or Santa Fe category! Layers of flavor are superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good and the staff was pleasant. We did wait more than 15 minutes for anyone to even talk to us at our table. Service was quite slow but that may be due to a small kitchen and busy dining room. We will give Elaines a second chance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Visiting my favorite Aunt, 1057 miles from our home, my wife and I were treated by a dear friend of my Aunt whom we had come to know over recent years. The meal was amazing in its execution and variety. Roasted foie gras (didn't think that was possible), seared sashimi grade yellow fin tuna (a bit too much chili paste that hid some of the subtler accompaniments, great Caeser salad among the other very good dishes ordered. Desserts were as good as the entrées! Good wine list, maybe a bit "full" priced, but a nice selection. Background "music" initially way too loud, but they finally got it reduced in volume and changed to a style more appropriate to the style of dining. Will be on our "re-visit" list the next time we're in ABQ!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was impeccable. The hostess(owner) could not have been more accommodating and gracious. Will be coming back often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Gnocchi was old school hand made and superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve had slightly limited menu. Understandable and no problem. Had a fine meal and a pleasant evening. Once again the service was stellar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful meal and evening. Tasty dishes, creative and delightful, surprising flavors, textures, seasonings. Loved chatting with Elaine, her personality enlivens the experience, her attention to detail lights up the festive ambiance. One of our most outstanding dining experiences.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a delightful time. The food was excellent, the service efficient and unobtrusive and Elaine is a hoot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Elaine's was, as always, great. We were there for our son's birthday earlier this week. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the attentive knowledgable service. Like everyone in Nob Hill, the construction is hurting their business at a crucial time of year. Support our local independent restaurants and merchants by going to Nob Hill for a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a first rate restaurant with outstandly prepared, interesting appetizers, entrees and desserts. It is among the top 2 or 3 Albuquerque restaurants in our experience. Elaine is a gracious host.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I think I have officially decided that this is my favorite restaurant in New Mexico.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Elaine's has never disappointed. The food is remarkable Elaine and her staff are topnotch. Started the meal with an olive and cheese plate - delicious. Then the sweet onion crab cake soup perfection!!! The main course tuna - with a chili sauce - out of this world; perfectly cooked and the red chili sauce gave it a NM kick. Oh, and I almost forgot the wine.....excellent!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time going to Elaine's. Very impressed with food, service, atmosphere, presentation. Everything was top notch, I believe are salads and desserts were prepared and delivered by the owner, but not sure. Our waiter was new and not real knowledgeable about the wine list, so someone else helped out, and the wine we wanted wasn't available; however the wine we ended up with was fantastic, so no complaints. Great dinner! Would definitely return. Parking was a trick, but always is in Nob Hill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.