About Elaine's

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: 5053288225x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
5 More
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Fit for Foodies
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

fit for foodies (64)
special occasion (61)
neighborhood gem (44)
See All
romantic (40)
notable wine list (38)
hot spot (12)
good for groups (12)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elaine's was terrific. The food and the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Elaine's was terrific. The food and the service were outstanding. The waiter even insisted on replacing my wine, which I thought tasted great, as he felt the bottle wasn't up to par. An excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went Elaine's for our anni ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went Elaine's for our anniversary dinner last week and had a great visit. I had been there on several occasions previously (work related) and, likewise, had great experiences. My wife decided we had to go because of my strong praise for the food and ambiance. We started off with morels sauteed in a champagne-butter sauce which were amazing. We then had our entrees (short rib and chicken) that were expertly prepared and well conceived as evidenced by our clean plates. We were not feeling like dessert but were persuaded to try the blood orange panna cotta which was superb but not on the permanent menu. Elaine saw us out and my wife thinks she convinced her to keep the panna cotta! Overall, Elaine's is the perfect size restaurant and they do a super job with their food. The staff are also friendly and well informed. Definitely our go-to place when we want great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always dependable for special events...

Dined on May 8, 2016

...and the special menu events are interesting and intriguing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elaine's was overall an outstanding experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and great service. Food was even better with a very helpful and knowledgable server and a very friendly owner. Also a very big thanks for taking our picture at the end of the night.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was phenomenal. The biggest c ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was phenomenal. The biggest complaint I can come up with was that the description of the wines could have added whether the wine we were selecting was dry/sweet, though the server did correctly describe the mouthfeel, flavors and aromas perfectly. With this being my biggest complaint, the service was still five-star. The food was exquisite, both in recipe design and presentation execution. I don't think the kitchen could have done anything to improve, from my point of view.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Heavy, sweet sauces

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is an upscale restaurant with a small, interesting menu. The salads were great. But my braised beef was ruined by a heavy, sweet sauce and my wife's chicken had a sauce on the sweet side. In this respect most restaurants of this type overemphasize sauces that detract from the flavor of the good ingredients underneath. For that reason, I hesitate to go out to restaurants (except for Japanese and Vietnamese) because their is no control over what goes on the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful Presentation

Dined on May 1, 2016

Each plate was colorful and unique - and delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great new find

Dined on April 24, 2016

I took my husband to Elaine's for his birthday dinner. I wanted take him somewhere new that had wonderful food and service. Elaine's was the right choice. We both had a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is now one of our absolute favorites. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the service is excellent. The food is freshly prepared and delectable. We have thoroughly enjoyed everything we have ordered and have always felt warmly welcomed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Elaines, a great place for people and dogs

Dined on April 23, 2016

I went there on my birthday, 22 April at 7 pm. There was a dog at one of the tables and it was not a service dog. I love animals, I ran a pet boarding facility. This dog was very quiet, still, and stayed under the table. However, a restaurant is no place for a non service dog. I looked at it this way: I spent a lot of money to eat with a dog? Also, it's against health codes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Albuquerque

Dined on April 23, 2016

Elaine's has a wonderful atmosphere without being too stuffy. The waitstaff is knowledgable and friendly, and the service is spot on. The owner Elaine is usually there and is friendly and attentive to all. The food is creative, fresh, and consistently outstanding. The one thing I would eliminate are the complimentary sopapillas- not my favorite. I also like that they serve half glasses of wine, if one wants just a little bit more. It will be an ongoing favorite of ours and a place we will bring out of town family and guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on April 20, 2016

This was an absolute home run! This a very special place for me and for Albuquerque. If you have any special occasion or just want to treat yourself to a great dining experience give this a try!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food

Dined on April 9, 2016

I had the pork loin which was very moist and flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT MEAL

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We'd enjoyed dinner at Elaine's but had not been back for several months. We introduced friends to the restaurant and everyone seemed to enjoy their appetizers/salads, entrees and desserts. The meal appeared slowly, which we always enjoy, so we can savor each course and enjoy conversation with our food, wines and beers. Elaine's had an interesting selection of beers which the guys enjoyed. The entrees had interesting accompaniments and presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Slipping?

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We have had some memorable meals at Elaine's, but our most recent was not among them. Although the food was generally good, the short ribs were a bit dry and the vegetables were seriously over salted. Starters and desserts still shined, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is excellent!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Elaine's is a wonderful restaurant with a cool modern classic vibe and great menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Glad I finally tried this spot

Dined on March 16, 2016

An eclectic type menu with a lot of good choices. The server helped me decide. I started with the sweet onion soup with delicious crab, followed by scallops which were a bit salty. Overall, a good find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant week meal at Elaine's

Dined on March 13, 2016

The Cornish hen was delicious. The Caesar salad that my husband had was amazing with a nice amount of anchovies. Our waiter was great and very unobtrusive. We had a nice table for 8. I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience at Elaine's!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent scallops with just the right amount of searing. Tasty trifle dessert. Nicely paired wines. Look forward to returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love coming to Elaine's

Dined on March 12, 2016

We dine regularly at Elaine's. Our server always recognizes us, and the food is always good. Great service, and we love the foie gras. We enjoyed the restaurant week menu this last week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Elaines blew it for Restuarant Week.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our meals were delivered at different times. Our group of four ate a four separate times. The food was good. The specials for restaurant week reflected the lower price with pigeon portions. I was looking forward to the Cornish Hen until I saw the tiny portion. We ordered off the regular menu. The deducted one meal off our bill - but it was not about the money.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and service

Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband and I just went here for the first time and loved it. All of the food was fresh and prepared exceptionally well. We also had great wine pairings and a reasonable wine list with sufficient choices for pairing and reasonable prices. It can get a bit expensive, but from my experience, this is one of the best restaurants in Albuquerque. I plan to return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best meal I've ever eaten.

Dined on March 9, 2016

Friendly service. Delicious scallops and dessert. THANK YOU FOR A FABULOUS DINING EXPERIENCE!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Precious little find. Great place to go ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Precious little find. Great place to go before PopeJoy! Be sure to make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in ABQ

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I was in ABQ for 4 weeks and ate at Elaine's at least 2 to 3 times a week. By far the best restaurant there. It is located on Central and easy to get to. Elaine is always there, which to me says a lot about the business, as no one cares more about your business then the owner. All the staff is awesome and became friends while dining there. Good solid people. If you found yourself in ABQ, stop by and tell em Howard sent you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed.

Dined on February 24, 2016

We had heard several good things about Elaine's and were anticipating good food. However, the beets and some of the carrots in the autumn salad I had were very hard, though the flavor was fine. Both of our entree's were luke warm. It just appeared that the chef's heart wasn't into doing a great job of cooking that night. We might consider trying again on the chance that it was just an off night. But since we don't live there, that is unlikely to happen. The waiter was very nice, and the service was fine.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Evening

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Our family enjoyed our evening at Elaine's. The service was great and the food was delicious. The sweet onion soup was terrific but under seasoned. We loved the smoked salmon appetizer and wished it would have come with toast. By the time the toast arrived, we were on our entrées. We celebrated a birthday and Elaine's sent out a scoop of vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce. I do wish it would have been a bit more creative. The ramen dish was lovely with pork belly and a poached egg. All said, we would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were passing through Albuquerque and ...

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

We were passing through Albuquerque and stopped for a late dinner. Out of foie gras? The chopped salad was actually mixed greens but quite tasty. The scallops with watermelon we're a real treat. The half chicken on squash purée was fine. Adequate selection of wines by the glass. The panna cotta was topped with something from the chef's chemistry kit, but was great. Attentive wait staff. Street parking. A large noisy table in the corner probably made the room seem louder than it normally is.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, clever wine pairings, funny ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, clever wine pairings, funny waiter, good environment.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was great and the variance of flavors was delightful. Staff was attentive and on top of things. Prior to dining we shared several emails with the staff about allergy options, in which they were very helpful and understanding. My only issue was the set menu price which was not mentioned prior to sitting down. $95/person was a bit high for the overall experience and unexpected. Even for 5 courses. Next time I will have more awareness to call ahead and ask prior to making reservations.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enchanting Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

My favorite meal out all season! Please keep the red snapper on the menu!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

Elaine's is our favorite restaurant in Albuquerque for many reasons. The food is outstanding, always fresh, great quality, and consistent. The ambiance gives a big city vibe, and it's comfortable. It's a perfect place for date night, a special occasion, and/or a casual last minute meal. And last but not least, Elaine is so nice and her smile is welcoming. I recommend Elaine's to everyone I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Very few quality places like Elaine's in ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very few quality places like Elaine's in town. Creative menu, generally attentive service, great ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated about 15 minutes prior to our reservation, which was a good thing as the bar area seem to be more for dining. I was a little surprised at the menu however what I chose was very good and the pairing of scallops to melon was delicious. I'm not sure I was too excited about our table not being dressed in linens way as the other tables were but this was apparently how it was on both sides of the restaurant when it was a table for two. The tables were very small and our large plate took up a lot of room. We went on Valentines weekend and I was surprised to find they were out several items. Some alcohol items and some food items. For a busy weekend I would've thought they would stock up.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We very much enjoyed our evening at Elaine's. The service was splendid, and the butternut quash half chicken meal was delicious! We shared a salad prior to the meal, which was excellent as well. Definitely would recommend this place to a friend. Oh, and the hostess was awesome too! We had to call to explain that we would be a few minutes late for our reservation due to traffic, and she assured us that our table would be held, and encouraged us to "be safe, and take your time."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre-valentine dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner here at Elaine's! Service was super, food was terrific - we both had the scallops as it was Friday during Lent and they were so healthy and yet filling! Loved the baby sopapillas! Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Dinner

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had an early reservation for 5pm on a Saturday. We got there a little early and they were happy to seat us and serve us drinks while we waited for the chef. Food was delicious, atmosphere was great and service wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great find

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went to Elaine's for the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday. This restaurant was highly recommended be friends and online. It more than lived up to it's reputation. The food was creative and delicious, the server was friendly and informative and the atmosphere was lively without being too noisy and chaotic. I think we have found a new favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I couldn't find but one item on the menu ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

I couldn't find but one item on the menu that didn't sound delicious. And the wine price per bottle was surprisingly agreeable.

food1
ambience1
service3

No ambiance limited menu Vibe is off w ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

No ambiance limited menu Vibe is off with small children crying not my idea of a great Friday night out! This is not a cool dining experience !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.