About Elaine's

3503 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Elaine’s is an American Bistro featuring American contemporary food prepared in house using time honored methods. We only feature fresh foods, as close to locally grown as we can make happen. We have an eclectic wine menu featuring the wines of California, Washington State, Oregon, along with some fine French wines, along with a smattering of Italian classics. Our Chefs have been sourced from the finest restaurants in America, both executive chefs have degrees from the famed Culinary Institute of America, they both went on to hone their skills with the finest chefs in America, before returning to Albuquerque to become partners in this venture.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly

Cross Street:
Amherst

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 433-4782

Website:
http://www.elainesnobhill.com/

Parking Details:
All around the restaurant

Public Transit:
Very central, same block

Executive Chef:
Garrick Mendoza/

Private Party Contact:
Elaine Blanco: 5053288225x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sea bass - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
  • Beet Salad, Goat Cheese Mousse, Blonde Frisee - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
  • Grilled Fresh Sardine Blonde Frisée Salad, Tonight's Appetizer - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
  • Sweet Breads - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
Sea bass - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese Mousse, Blonde Frisee - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
Grilled Fresh Sardine Blonde Frisée Salad, Tonight's Appetizer - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM
Sweet Breads - Elaine's, Albuquerque, NM

Elaine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
11 More
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time going to Elaine's. Very impre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time going to Elaine's. Very impressed with food, service, atmosphere, presentation. Everything was top notch, I believe are salads and desserts were prepared and delivered by the owner, but not sure. Our waiter was new and not real knowledgeable about the wine list, so someone else helped out, and the wine we wanted wasn't available; however the wine we ended up with was fantastic, so no complaints. Great dinner! Would definitely return. Parking was a trick, but always is in Nob Hill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Considering all of the various appetizer ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Considering all of the various appetizers and entrees and dessert we ordered I would say that Elaine's is a good place to eat, but there are better options in Albuquerque. The room is one of the nicer ones in Albuquerque for sure. It's fairly small and the decor is not only cozy but keeps the noise down. We had no trouble conversing even though the place was full. Two of the three appetizers we ordered were excellent, with the other being not so good. Entrees ranged from very good to so-so. All in all, I wouldn't say no to a friend who wanted to eat at Elaine's but I would try to talk them into The Artichoke or The Rancher's Club or even Scalo instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything my spouse, GUS and I ordered ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Everything my spouse, GUS and I ordered was absolutely delicious. Gus ordered Tinto vino and I ordered the English Cider. He ordered Filet Mignon and Spinach salad. I have never seen him eat a salad in entirety, like he did this one! I had the Sweet Onion soup w/ Crab. Fantastic. I ordered the Pork Chops. The Chops were delicious and the most tender I ever tasted. We did not have dessert, GUS had Espresso and I a Latte.

Unfortunately, I awoke in the middle of night with an MSG-like headache. I am very sensitive to autolyzed hydrolyzed yeast, MSG, nitrites etc. Must have been added to something I ate in the restaurant. I was very surprised that this additive would be used at Elaine's, so that is why I did not bother to ask the waiter, like I do at Chinese places.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exquisite food, outstanding service, bea ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Exquisite food, outstanding service, beautiful decor, and a fabulous playlist. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went early and were able to get table ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went early and were able to get table next to the window. Only a few other diners which meant restaurant was quiet and service was excellent. Onion soup with crab outstanding. We had lobster special which was exceptionally good and porkchop. We find Elaine's has innovative meals at good value and going early works well for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a very special holiday meal. O ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was a very special holiday meal. Our reservation was immediately honored with no wait. The food was wonderful, well seasoned and prepared. The wine selection was far-ranging, and our after dinner coffees were very good. The service was friendly and very efficient. Well done.

Tags: Vegan, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family arranged to meet in Albuquerq ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family arranged to meet in Albuquerque for Thanksgiving, and we reserved a table at Elaine's weeks in advance, based on reviews. We were not disappointed. Elaine gave us a warm welcome and seated us at the chef's table. Menu selection was superb, ranging from traditional turkey to filet mignon and lobster, with great wine selection. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High quality food, drinks, and service. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

High quality food, drinks, and service. The entire staff is very personable and each of them knows all about the dishes and wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my dinner at Elaine's, great wai ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I loved my dinner at Elaine's, great waitstaff. Wouldn't mind if it was a little less expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for our 6th anniversary. The b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Came here for our 6th anniversary. The bread they brought out was interesting, because it was mini sopapillas instead of bread! It came with honey butter topped with prosciutto. I ordered the beet salad and pork chop, while my girlfriend ordered the mussels and short ribs. All 4 dishes were delicious and came out in a timely order. The only downside was the dessert we ordered, which was the beignets. They were still a little raw in the middle, so it was the only bad thing. When we come back we will try one of the desserts.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never fails to please. W ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This restaurant never fails to please. We had the salmon entre and the half chicken entre. Both were done to perfection. The salmon eater remarked it was the best salmon preparation she had ever had. And she orders a lot of salmon. The chicken was incredibly moist and came with only a single small bone to work around. More diners should find this place. It is one of the very best in all of Albuquerque and easily the tops on Nob Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Host/ primary waiter was rude. Tables we ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Host/ primary waiter was rude. Tables were unusually small and uncomfortable. We askef for a 4 top but the host told us they were all reserved. When we left, they (and all bu two of the other tables) were still empty. Service was slow even though, until we were over half way through, we were the only ones there. Appetizer and salads were not good--too much creativity, not enough competent food prep. Entrees were very good. Overall, unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We had dinner at Elaine's in Nob Hill on ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had dinner at Elaine's in Nob Hill on Saturday night. We were greeted warmly by Elaine at the door and properly seated. Our service was terrific and the food was simply AWESOME. She has put together a top notch culinary team and it show with each course we had. One was better than the next. We have been there probably 6 times over the past couple of years since she opened up across the street from Nob Hill. It is truly a culinary gem. We need to support Nob Hill while during the ART construction.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great surprise in Albuquerque! Super fre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great surprise in Albuquerque! Super fresh, high quality food prepared and presented perfectly!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dinner prior to attending Popejoy ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had dinner prior to attending Popejoy, so we had an early dinner with few other dinners. We had their special menu, everything was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Elaine's to celebrate out 18t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to Elaine's to celebrate out 18th wedding anniversary and it was a smart choice. I had the filet, which was excellent and my husband had the New York Strip, which he totally loved. We would go back again in a heartbeat. As a matter of fact, we plan to buy a gift certificate to give to our friends so that they can have a great time too!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you all! Kudos to our server Laure ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Thank you all! Kudos to our server Lauren, who helped to cultivate a wonderful experience.

Best Filet Mignon I've had. Ever.

I will certainly be returning and recommending this lovely restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The wait staff was wonderful. The food ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The wait staff was wonderful. The food was prepared perfectly and was delicious. There were 4 of us and we could actually talk and not shout at each other.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant a few tim ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have been to this restaurant a few times but this is the first time my food wasn't very good and my friend sent her food back. The waiter was all about making things right, but either it was an off night or the food quality has gone down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible, as always. Hands down best r ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Incredible, as always. Hands down best restaurant in Albuquerque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely terrific small restaurant ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely terrific small restaurant serving nuanced riffs on classic American/French dishes. Is this the best food in Albuquerque? It gets my vote. Space is well designed, clean and modern...but still comfortable and warm. Service is off the charts good. Attentive and welcoming without being suffocating or intrusive. Wine list is small but very good -- which is rare in these parts. The place has buzz and energy while not being eye-rollingly hipster.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service, 5 star ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great food and wonderful service, 5 stars! The food was prepared and presented very well and very timely. Our wait person was so friendly and accommodating that it made the evening a real treat. Next time, we'll sit outside and enjoy the patio. Highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service, pl ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service, plus a special treat: conversation with Elaine herself, who is a fantastic host.

Would definitely come back when we are next in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elaine's is great for date night or a bu ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Elaine's is great for date night or a business group. Also great for friends to meet up in groups of about 6 or less. Elaine's capitalized on space as best as can be. It's like the only way to add more seating is stadium tiered seating. And that's the trouble with most Nob Hill places. It's the place to be for restaurants/bars. However, rent is high and space limited. Tough break, but some places in Nob Hill last and I think Elaine's is one of those restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, would have been even more ap ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, would have been even more appreciated if the pork chop hadn't been so huge it overwhelmed the meal. But really enjoyed the ambiance, service, and food, and appreciated that there was at least one real vegetarian option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I recently moved back to the ABQ from NY ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I recently moved back to the ABQ from NYC, and was yearning for a really great dining experience. To say the least, Elaine's delivered. Food was excellent, service, Thomas (oh, and Elaine herself) was amazing, everything fresh and to die for. Literally, this would have given anywhere a run for their money. I've eaten at Alinea, Next, Megu, Nobu, Ruth's Chris, among others, this stands out as one of my best experiences. It wasn't Alinea, but certainly better than Ruth's Chris, somewhere magical in between:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is consistently one of the best fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is consistently one of the best fine dining restaurants in New Mexico. Seasonal, creative cuisine, a thoughtful wine list, and a genuinely welcoming atmosphere. The foie in any preparation is a can't miss.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was expecting this place to be a lot b ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was expecting this place to be a lot better than it was. The gnocchi was WAY too mushy, and the meal itself didn't taste all that good. It was too expensive for how bad it was. The restaurant itself was awkwardly small, it felt somewhat smooshed together. I don't plan on returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The roasted chicken--a typically safe or ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The roasted chicken--a typically safe or even considered boring choice--was OUT OF THIS WORLD!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good. I have food allergies and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Overall good. I have food allergies and found some help with wait staff. They are not as creative with modifying dishes. I think it was the wait staff that didn't take it to the next level. Otherwise food was good. Would recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

As always Elaine's Monthly Wine dinner d ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2016

As always Elaine's Monthly Wine dinner do not disappoint! The menu was exquisite and pair extremely with amazing wine. The energy and ambiance is amazing and send such good positive vibes. My friend was more than impressed for her first time.

Thank you Elaine and Staff for allowing people to make memorable moments.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. Reservations onli ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was fabulous. Reservations online were a breeze. We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my Sweet Heart to Elaine's for he ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I took my Sweet Heart to Elaine's for her birthday last Friday evening and it was the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion such as that. The atmosphere is quaint and personal which was great for one-on-one romantic conversation. The staff was cordial and attentive. They were friendly and catered to our every need. The food -OMG! -- The food is SUPERB! That was theeeeee best Filet Mignon I have ever experienced in the Duke City.

Excellent establishment . Well worth the drive from Santa Fe!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish was beautifully plated and ta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Every dish was beautifully plated and tasted delicious! Definitely one of the best meals I've had in New Mexico. Definitely go!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Excellent food. Service fanta ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent. Excellent food. Service fantastic. We were there to celebrate bdays with friends. I left chocolate truffles in my car and they put them in the fridge for me. Will DEFINATELY go back. Wonderful place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening with a couple whose compa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lovely evening with a couple whose company we enjoy. Elaine was gracious with her greeting and remembered us from an earlier visit. Our waiter was knowledgeable and offered good suggestions for both food and drink. Our meals were beautifully presented, stove hot and delicious. There were several other diners but the noise level was only moderate. All in all a very nice evening. We will dine with Elaine again in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just perfect as always. Some of the most ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Just perfect as always. Some of the most delicious duck I've ever eaten.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal, food was excellent as ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed the meal, food was excellent as was the service. Will definitely be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Cannot compl ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Cannot complain about a thing. Good to have a great place to have interesting and delicious food. This place is a keeper.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Elaine's is our first pick in Albuquerqu ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Elaine's is our first pick in Albuquerque for a celebration dinner - always great delicious interesting menu choices!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.