Elaia

4.8
323 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Tasting Menu
  • Good for Anniversaries
Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 932-1088
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ben Grupe
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McRee Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

What 323 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.9
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Absolutely delicious! Picked this place for my wife and me to celebrate our anniversary and it did not disappoint. Food was phenomenal, well paired with delicious wine, and left us stuffed with the 4 course Prix Fixe and wine pairing. The staff were quick, friendly, and informative about the wines and what we were eating. They helped us celebrate a special night and we will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great staff, great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a lovely Mother’s Day Brunch! Fresh and superbly prepared meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Outstanding food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

It was acceptable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Very interesting and tasty food. Great service. Very pricey. Small expensive drinks. Great place to splurge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The serving of our meal (four-course prix fixe) was well-paced, with space between each course to encourage savoring your drink, conversation and the atmosphere. Our server did a great job assisting with dietary restrictions and explaining the ingredients in each dish. I really like the feel of this place, and the food is a cut above what you'll find in all but a few other restaurants in the St. Louis area. Expect to pay accordingly. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent evening. The dinner is as much about art and the visual and tactile experiences as it is about the food. All were thoroughly enjoyed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great experience for birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food is EXCELLENT. Service fine. Very slow at first. Got the amouse Bouche and explanation twice. Had written ahead our dietary restrictions but then they said they couldn’t do the 10 course for us. They did to a 6 course in between so that was nice. Overall didn’t really matter because food was SOOOOO GOOODDDD

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My husband and I went for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was one of the best meals we had. It was definitely worth every dollar to celebrate a special occasion. Thinking of all the tasting menus we had before, this one is offered at a great value. The steak, duck ribblets, halibut and coconut & mango dessert were to die for. It is an upscale place but the environment was also cozy which makes you feel very comfortable. I can’t wait to come back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The food was extraordinary with excellent wine pairings. This is a dining experience not to be missed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Best meal I’ve ever had.... would recommend highly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Always perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We enjoyed our experience at Elaia very much. The dishes were creatively and thoughtfully prepared, and the service was impecable. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Elaia was very quiet, romantic, and ideal for an intimate dinner. Everyone was very knowledgeable and attentive. You can see the staff work as a team and everything was stunning and seamless. The food looked like art and tasted magical. The chefs tasting menu is the way to go!

Excellent place to dine out. High prices but well worth it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent food and flavors. Small portions, but a lot of work goes into food prep and high quality ingredients.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Excellent evening of outstanding food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Always delightful and worth the experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Outstanding food and wine. Great creativity with all courses. Loved our sommelier.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Everything was phenomenal. It was the best meal I’ve had in St. Louis!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Was visiting St Louis for the weekend and couldn’t believe what a great place this was. Food and service were fantastic. Great for a date night, small group dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Exquisitely prepared cuisine. Imaginative. Extremely interesting wine list with very knowledgeable sommelier.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Came for the girl’s birthday dinner. Service was impeccable. Food was delicious. We had the 4 course meal with the wine pairings; which were superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

My wife and I had the 10 course meal with wine pairing. It was amazing. The wine was paired very well and the food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great experience from beginning to end!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

It was nice that Happy Anniversary was noted on the menu, but I thought there might have been a little more recognition

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Lauren (our server) was exceptional. Wine pairings (do not remember the sommelier’s name) was outstanding. My steak was a bit dry, but considering that all other courses were truly outstanding it didn’t bother me too much. We had tried to Elia many times and it was booked each time. Well worth the wait!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We did the Prix Fixe menu with the wine pairing. The menu is constantly changing so I don't have a specific recommendation. Everything was very nice. I had a salmon dish, a yellowfin tuna dish and fluke, with a coconut mango panacata. My wife had foie gras, soft polenta and a strip steak with a banana peanut butter financier for dessert. Everything was quite nice. I particularly liked the explanations provided for the wine pairings. The background music was a style I was not familiar with, but it only minimally detracted from the overall experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Such a nice date spot! Delicious food and wine pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Awesome food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Amazing food, service and wine pairings. Will definitely visit again when in Saint Louis. Unusual dishes, great flavors and textures with great individual service and care.
Really enjoyed the food and music. Will for sure return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I did not feel this dining experience was worth $400.00
I’ve been to similar types of restaurants around the same price point in different cities and never had one fail to wow me like this one did.
The restaurant ambiance was upscale and artistic which is the initial draw but white linen table covers should really be a staple. The food was very forgettable; nothing uniquely infused, no flavor layering and no excitement in the presentation. Just cause it’s a small portion doesn’t make it a dining experience. The good wine selection carried the night. Service was good although I did fill my own water glass a couple times. All around Elaia needs to deliver more than eating at a cool rehabbed building for what they are charging.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Old Home converted into a very quaint little specialty restaurant with wonderful ambiance and great service. Tasting menu with perfect wine pairings. Service was impeccable and each course better than the last. Great locale for anniversary or other romantic occasion. Will be back for the 10 course tasting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Outstanding food, solid cocktails, and attentive, unpretentious service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Exquisite. The perfect place for an anniversary dinner. Loved the entire menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We had the 10 course tasting with wine pairing and it was fantastic! Each dish had its own unique flavors that I crave instead of the bland food made for the masses that most restaurants serve. I have a big appetite and at first thought I wasn’t going to be full based on the portion size of the first couple dishes but by the end it was hard to finish but did so because it was so delicious. Will go again for sure!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Food was very good but so unbelievably expensive. Upstairs was cold and drafty and had no ambiance.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

For the price we paid every bite should have been amazing, but it wasn't. My first two courses were great, but it went down hill from there. We were a party of four, it seems everyone only enjoyed half of their plates. The short ribs came with the smallest serving of potatoes I had ever seen. The vegetarian main plate was not good at all. The chocolate dessert wasn't even eaten by either of us who ordered it. The waiter was no help in ordering. Had we paid less I wouldn't have bothered writing a review, we had a nice time together, but for that price the food should have been better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was excellent, but it would be great if they had more vegetarian options. They didn't have a vegetarian third course, and we left a bit hungry with only the first, second, and fourth courses.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9