About Elaia

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Chef/Owner Ben Poremba is a two times semi-finalist of the James Beard Best Chef - Mid-West Award, as well as Food & Wine Magazine's People's Best Chef.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Tower Grove Ave and McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Poremba

Private Party Facilities:
Private room attached to our wine cellar that seats 10-12. Elaia or Olio menu available.

Private Party Contact:
Kara Flaherty: 3149321088x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
3 More
Best Service
Downtown
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

fit for foodies (25)
special occasion (24)
romantic (19)
See All
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Losing Ground

Dined 4 days ago

With Ben out focused on his new restaurant, the quality and flavors seem a thing of the past. Bring back Elaia or something as amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe my best dining experience in St Lo ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Maybe my best dining experience in St Louis in 65 years. Wonderful food and great space provide an intimate but casual fine dining experience. Put Elaia at the top of your list!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great choice! Food was truly exceptiona ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great choice! Food was truly exceptional as was the service (Patrick). We had a great time...excellent experience and recommend without any hesitation or reservation! Though I would recommend reservations!! : )

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real treat

Dined on April 22, 2016

My friend and I treated ourselves to a "fancy dinner" If you are in the mood for fancy food with yummy wine pairings this is an excellent spot.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic, and I really lik ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was fantastic, and I really liked how our server explained the ingredients and preparation that went into each dish. It really enhanced our appreciation of the effort and thought that went into preparing our food. The food was delicious as well as presented beautifully. I would heartily recommend Elaia to any of my friends or family for a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Strange decor. Over processed food. Overpriced. Uncomfortable seating. $70 fixed price 4 coarse meal very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time and we brought friends. All four of us enjoyed our meals. We got a shared app for 4 and each got 3 courses! Yum. Once again, Elaia proved to be a winner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on March 31, 2016

I was fortunate to get reservations at Elaia while in town with a friend for two days during a photography conference. St. Louis is lucky to have Ben Poremba, and we were lucky to eat his and his staff's handiwork. We were also very lucky to have our waiter Tom; he was incredibly friendly, professional, and knowledgable. He encouraged us to take our time, enjoy each plate fully, and ask any and all questions we may have had (we had many). We each ordered a prix fixe four course meal and it was perfect. Speaking of perfect, Wes Montgomery with Strings played while we were there and it's one of my favorite records. While I can't promise you'll get Tom or Wes Montgomery, I can say that it's very likely you'll have an unforgettable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

. Wonderful service... each course was f ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

. Wonderful service... each course was fabulous and attention to detail appreciated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant (I've been to) in St Louis

Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Some dishes taught me how ingredients ought to be prepared and served. On the more formal side but still quite casual. Great for a special occasion and well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu is a hit!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I did the 10 course tasting dinner for $120 each. All but one dish was a perfect combination of surprise heat, texture and complimentary flavors. For the portions sizes we saw for the four course prix fixe, we were happy with our choice with the extra food. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the service and the food. It is small, about 30-40 seats, so if you want to dine for a special occasion, make reservations! The tasting menu was mainly from the menu that day with some pleasant off-menu treats as well! The Pastrami Sturgeon is a must if it is available on their daily menu. The Sturgeon with braised cabbage, the "sauerbraten", and the escolar with tortellini were my favorite, respectively. We have the olive oil cake for dessert which was a pleasant treat after 9 courses, light with a fruit forward flavor without being too sweet. They also have complimentary valet available.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu was interesting and incredible. Fla ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Menu was interesting and incredible. Flavors a mixed perfectly. Recommend wine pairing dinner. Amazing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday. ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday. Great restaurant with great service. Would recommend to anyone especially for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

2/27/16 Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

Elaia was the perfect place to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. The service was impeccable and the food was definitely memorable. We had such a lovely time! Our server, Tom, was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable about every aspect of our meal. We will be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

As typical of earlier visits, the service and food were outstanding at our recent dinner. Looking forward to our next opportunity to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was very good, but expensive

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I did the pre fixe menu and noticed that the offerings were very close to the sample menu that supposedly changes all the time. It was almost identical to a menu from November listed on the website. The portions are small think 1-2 bites. The highlight of the dinner for us was the entree that we shared and the signature dessert. Overall we enjoyed the ambiance and food, however thought the $70 price tag per person was a bit high for what we got.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Birthday

Dined on February 15, 2016

My children took me to Elaia for my birthday. Since it is on Feb. 14, I usually don't brave the crowds, but we were able to reserve a 4-top (the only one in use that evening). I enjoyed each of the 4 course prix fixe menu items, as well as the wine pairing. Great thought and skill went into each service. (Who thinks of sturgeon pastrami anyway?) We all felt welcome. I'm glad they decided to open on this Sunday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall good but....

Dined on January 24, 2016

I prefer restaurants that offer multiple courses with wine pairings. They should work on the little details. For example: The table near the entrance is blasted by kitchen light, overwhelmed by the bar noise, and seems to be the only spot where they can return people's coats. A velvety curtain in the doorway and returning coats down at the entrance would secure the ambiance. Pair entrees with a wider range of wines; people want to experience new wines and varietals. They were all presented with very similar descriptions. It is always nice walking away from dinner with a new vineyard name in my pocket. Once dinner was paid, we were forgotten and I actually had to find somebody to get our coats. Bring the service experience right up to the finish line. Example: Ask, "did you valet your car? Would you like me to have it brought up?" Vs having them stand out in the cold waiting. Details! A $300 dinner for two should cover attention to detail. Overall the place was good and I will give it another chance.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best tasting menu in St Louis

Dined on January 21, 2016

We were the only patrons bc we arrived late Wed night, the staff super accommodating bc my daughter wanted 10 course tasting menu! I had the wine paring as well! The food was excellent and the wind choices were on point! Highly recommend this place for a unique ecclectic experience that surely will dazzle your taste buds!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Too cold

Dined on January 16, 2016

Food was very good. But restaurant was cold (we were there in January. to be fair), waitress spent way too much time telling us about everything on the menu (which was printed in front of us) and the whole experience was too precious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A m a z i n g

Dined on January 1, 2016

Delicious, creative, and beautiful. Incredible value. Impeccable service. Best in st. louis

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years Eve Menu

Dined on January 1, 2016

Elaia featured a special New Years Eve menu and had a shorter wine list with wines specifically chosen by the chef to compliment the signature meal. It was fantastic! The Parker House Rolls were wonderful, and I really enjoyed the saddle of lamb with a chocolate sauce. Our server had great wine suggestions, and was really attentive. All in all it was nice to see menu changes for the special occasion and really enjoyed my meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat!

Dined on December 24, 2015

This is our go-to spot when we really want to treat ourselves to great food, fine wine an a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Compares to Guy Savoy in Paris

vip
Dined on December 10, 2015

This restaurant is as good as any that I have ever eaten in. The wine pairings were brilliant as was the food. Even though it is very pricey, the experience is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal overall and definitely a gem ...

Dined on November 20, 2015

Phenomenal overall and definitely a gem but don't go hungry! Portions are very small for The price! Lovely service :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding find in St Louis

Dined on November 19, 2015

Came to Elaia for a business dinner with a group of six including visitors from the West Coast and India. Excellent quality of food -a very well selected fixed menu with sufficient options for any foodie. The wine pairing was probably the highlight of the night, though. Most recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bar selection very disappointing given h ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Bar selection very disappointing given high end nature of this restaurant. Food and service excellent. Any lamb dish exceptional. Service and ambiance excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A real treat!

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

A real treat!

food4
ambience1
service4
value1

The Good-then the Bad and Ugly!

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

My wife and I have dined here previously and, consistent with many other reviewers, always had fine experiences. We returned for our anniversary for a meal after a cocktail at a favorite bar. It was a weeknight, and fairly quiet. Overall, the food was Excellent, the server and service were very good (especially the wine pairing with the evening's menu-thanks, Tom!). Unfortunately, the total experience of the meal was very much polluted by the ambiance that evening. While I am OK with business casual attire in fine dining establishments, the diner directly in my field of view was wearing a badly stained baseball cap on backwards and I also had a steady view of the ripped and stained armpits of his T-shirt while he leaned on his table throughout the meal. When I asked a server if this was acceptable attire, he just shrugged his head. For me, this is totally inappropriate in an environment where you're spending $300 on dinner for two and the atmosphere is supposedly consistent with a romantic/classy/upscale dining experience. Sadly, I feel we must cross Elaia off our "favorites" list as there are too many other fine local restaurants where this would not be an issue (or it would be addressed).

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on October 25, 2015

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. I'm a definite foodie & have tried some great restaurants. This ranks up there. I just wish we would have known that you had to request the 10 course tasting menu in advance. We ended up with the 4 course with the wine pairings. Everything was wonderful & the pairings were excellent. Not a bad thing to say about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely restaurant. Great food.

Dined on October 2, 2015

Our meal was exceptional & a wonderful mix of flavors, with the exception of a beef entree - very good but not the level of other dishes we enjoyed that night. The wine pairings were excellent. We were puzzled by the fact that everyone else seated in the dining room (after us) was asked if this was a special occasion. (It was) We were not asked. & there were other ways that we felt slightly ignored. Only 1 of us was drinking alcohol & this seems to be the reason, at other establishments also, that we experience this treatment...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

perfectly prepared meal..timed well and ...

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

perfectly prepared meal..timed well and paired well. we had a table for four with the 100.00 pre dinner. Was amazing!!!

food4
ambience5
service5

The food was special- unusual preparati ...

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

The food was special- unusual preparations .We enjoyed the wine pairings. The service was excellent. The portions were minuscule. We spent $260 for two and left hungry. Felt a bit ripped off. No plans to go back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Always a first class meal at Elaia. We are never disappointed. We have been here a number of times and the creativity and quality of each course will wow you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gem found!

Dined on September 5, 2015

This hidden gem of St Louis was a delight to find on my recent travel. Food that was deliciously intense in flavour, beautiful and artful to look at, and paired so elegantly with just the right wine. The generous and helpful service and the gorgeous and hip surrounding made this restaurant a must return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

Dined on August 29, 2015

The food and service were excellent! We were celebrating a birthday and the staff went out of their way to make the experience special. Definitely a restaurant for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on August 22, 2015

I took my husband here for his birthday with a couple of friends. The food was fabulous and we were excited to see a couple of Greek wines on the list, as my husband is from Sparta, Greece. Also, very attentive service. I highly recommend Elaia. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A hidden gem

Dined on August 15, 2015

They are very explicit about how you enter Elaia and still we were a little confused. Trust me, go in through the courtyard and you will be well taken care of. My wife and I did the prix fixe menu with wine pairings and loved every bite and sip. Our server gave us great descriptions about why the wines were chosen for each dish and the flavors matched perfectly. Don't expect leftovers, you will leave nothing on your plate. This is the first time we have dined here, but it will not be our last; Elaia is a keeper!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Pros Extensive wine selection Originalit ...

Dined on August 14, 2015

Pros Extensive wine selection Originality of menu items Servers knowledge of menu items Cons Very limited number of menu items Tiny, tiny portions Too expensive Food was good, but nothing memorable Limited beer/bar selection

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Creativity Abounds at Elaia

Dined on August 13, 2015

If you're looking for an imaginative, creative and unusually good meal in St Louis, this is a must venue. Bravo to the chef and staff

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.