Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Elaia

Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Grupe

Private Party Facilities:
Private room attached to our wine cellar that seats 10-12. Elaia or Olio menu available.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Hassett: (314) 932-1088

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife and I went to Elaia's for her birthday. The atmosphere is very nice and modern. The food and mixed drinks were great. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We had a great time and would definitely go back. Oh, and the wine pairing with your meal is a must, they put a lot of thought in to the wine pairing and it it made the meal even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

For $200, the 2 salads, 2 entrees, and 3 drinks between us seemed absurdly overpriced. And we left hungry! I will never return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

way overpriced for tiny portions--not good to spend $150 per couple and go home hungry!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing food and amazing experience!
We will be back again 100%!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very over priced. One item was advertised as foie gras, but turned out to be mousse. When brought to their attention, they just shrugged it off, even thought both my wife and I did not like it and had them take it away. They didn't even ask about choosing a replacement or not charging for it.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very unique restaurant in Tower Grove!
Elaia is small so make your reservation early. The food, the service and the ambiance are all exceptional and is perfect for a special date or special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was as we expected and more. Professional and friendly service without an attitude.
We will come back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Superb, fresh dining in St. Louis. Only issue was that although the music selection was nice, it could have been turned down a bit, as it was borderline intrusive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Over priced "fancy" food. I would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Outstanding food the appetizer called "the egg" which is on the starter share plate was amazing...as were the others tasty items...homemade chutney with citrus, pork belly bacon, pate. Every dish we had was excellent...halibut, chicken, gazpacho, ceviche.....

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was AWESOME! Fun 2 1/2 hour tasting menu dinner with wine paring. Food and wine selections were amazing! Loved the experience!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Great selection of wines. A little on the pricey side ... be prepared to spend $100 or more per person.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very exotic food which I unfortunately did not enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Intimate setting with delightful presentation and delicious food. The tortillini with English peas and morel mushrooms was a our favorite course of the outstanding 4 course pre-fixe menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful food, outstanding service and all-around amazing experience for wedding anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Truly incredible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was good, but the composition was odd, most plates dominated by cumin. Dashi was very good as was bass but all courses were either one note and/or incomprehensible as a compositon. Carrot cake too sweet. Interesting concept, but food not worth price - four small plates for 70-75, plus 28 for a starter in St. Louis is crazy. Maybe some less expensive bottles of wine might temper the problem of price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Located in an out of the way neighborhood and very unassuming from the street. The room was quiet and well appointed. The wait staff was attentive and helpful, but pointing out every ingredient on the plate was unnecessary, overbearing and pretentious. This is an expensive restaurant by St. Louis standards and approaches New York and high end Chicago prices. The food is carefully prepared and one can tell a great deal of time and effort is taken in the preparation and presentation. However, the portions are exceedingly small especially considering the price. The fix price menu is either $70 or $110. There is no ala cart on the menu but the server said that could be done. My vegetarian partner went away hungry. A delicious starter of pea agnolotti converted to an entree size still contained only 4 agnolotti. I had a white asparagus starter with a $10 supplement charge. While the dish was beautiful and asparagus was excellent I was underwhelmed by the TWO asparagus spears and the minuscule portion of salmon roe on the plate. The pork tenderloin was outstanding but two medallions were rather lonely on the plate. A foie gra mousse starter was about the size of a egg shaped melon baller scoop--again disappointing. However, my desert of carrot cake and walnut ice cream was very good and satisfying. The wine list is very inclusive (and pricey). In summary, this high end restaurant pleases the eye and palate but neither the stomach nor the wallet.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The service and ambience was fantastic. The food was very interesting and creative. The price was outrageously high, which is probably why we may never go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lacked balance and refinement, but we appreciated the overall creative attempt as well as the presentation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This meal for our anniversary was probably the best meal I've ever had in my life, and I don't say that lightly because both my husband and I are foodies. Our favorite restaurant in St Louis prior to this was Stone Soup Cottage. We did the chef's tasting menu, and it's pricey, but well worth the price. Each dish was immaculately and beautifully plated, and the taste of each dish was so different and bursting with flavors. Standouts were honestly most of the dishes: the amazing goat cheese rolled in cappuccino, the octopus which was tender and not chewy, the foie gras was buttery and melted in your mouth, the pate dish was an assortment of different tastes, the steak and the bass was perfectly cooked, and the panna cotta was creamy and bursting with citrus flavors. We've already decided to go for the entire thing- wine pairings and all for our 10th anniversary! I highly recommend this place for a special occasion for foodies who are adventurous and love good food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

the best meal of the year in STL---the dishes are so imaginative--the flavors spectacular--the wine superb---and atmosphere pleasing and the service impeccable----a terrific dining experience----and Ben was there charming as ever

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was an incredible experience, and every bite was perfection! Thank you to the chef, the owner, and our charming server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The tasting menu with wine pairing is Amazing. It really is an experience. It's expensive but totally worth every Penny

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We went for birthday celebration and were not disappointed, although quite pricey to us for regular dining. The prix fixe menu was nice to be able to sample a range with paired wine. We did not find the wine to be as good as expected and maybe a level below the food. Quality, presentation and inventiveness of the food wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent fine-dining restaurant! Great food, wonderful service. Will be going back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner with a cherished friend. The experience did not disappoint. The food was amazing and beautiful. Perfect special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was outstanding and personable with every dish discussed in detail - and every detail happened to be delicious. Note, the full tasting menu is 10 courses and a LOT of food... be prepared for that much wine if you get the pairing. Well thought out dishes, attention to detail, and brilliant combinations keep you on your toes. Excellent dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Spectacular food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

If Michelin rated restaurants in St. Louis, Elaia would certainly be a contender for serious recognition. The experience begins with entry into the urban, chique atmosphere of a repurposed neighborhood brick and continues when diners walk upstairs to the dining area. The ambiance is an interesting fusion of rustic and modern; the brick fireplace and glass-seated candles marry perfectly with the avant-garde decorations, including an amalgam of old kitchen equipment molded into a chandelier.

You're greeted by confident, knowledgeable staff members at every stage of your stay. From the hostess' charm, to the serving staff's precision and etiquette, to the interactions with the food preparation team, each member seems to be hand-selected for his or her position through merit and superior performance. Our server, Jamie, had flawless knowledge of the establishment, from the restaurant history, to the personality of the chef, even to the supplier of the hand-crafted dishware. He was able to outline in great detail both the structure & design intent for each dish presented to us, as well as the origin and style of each wine paring provided.

The ten course meal and accompanying wine parings were some of the finest dining samples I've ever had the pleasure of enjoying. While some are intimidated by a variable menu, the chef is a master at creating a culinary experience that is both delicious and artistic, regularly rotating with the seasonal fare. Our meal included three appetizers, two salads, a soup, two entrees, and two deserts, each of which varied drastically across the spectrum of flavor and style. Of note, the lamb was prepared by souvee to perfection, and the crab-and-granny-smith-apple salad was a dynamic and unexpected paring of flavors. The pairing of port and coconut panacotta was one of most delicious deserts I've ever had.

I can't say enough wonderful things about Elaia. Connoisseurs and casual diners alike will all find this restaurant to be phenomenal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Came for Valentines with my wife. We have travelled the world and feel we have become spoiled on some incredible places the world has to offer. I would say that the food was very well prepared and portions were perfect for a four course meal. Each dish was unique and excellent. The only exception was one element of the offered veloute. The dish itself was incredible and stated that it was garnished with black truffle. Some of my favorite flavors are both black and white truffles, so expectations were high. It was suggested that this was indeed French truffle but for me each bite of truffle had absolutely no flavor. The only time I experienced this was in China, where the dish advertised local black truffle. Didn't know China had truffles, but due to the absolute lack of flavor of their truffle wouldn't bother again.

I have heard that the flavor of the truffle at room temperature can be quite bland and heating greatly increases the flavor, so perhaps this was the case. It was the only disappointing small part of the entire meal.

Service was excellent and overall wonderful evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I'd pit Elaia against any restaurant anywhere. Every bite was better than the next.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food with wine pairings was excellent. We sat in a bench for 2. After almost 3 hours of sitting, it got to be quite uncomfortable. Padding would really help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful. The lamb was fantastic. A great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and service, great food but not earth-shattering for the price. The Panna Cotta was excellent. Go for the service, experience, and adventure of it all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Elaia was an amazing dining experience. If you enjoy exceptional food you will enjoy a meal here!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing... Best place to eat I. Saint Louis hands down. Expensive but worth every dollar. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food and service was incredible. I highly recommend this place for any celebration or if you just feel like having a damn good meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went to celebrate with friends and had a wonderful evening. The food was finely crafted, creative and with subtle flavors. The chef was also very accommodating to the gluten free and vegetarian requests made by some in our party. It was a memorable dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.