About Elaia

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Grupe

Private Party Facilities:
Private room attached to our wine cellar that seats 10-12. Elaia or Olio menu available.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Hassett: 3149321088x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Elaia, St. Louis, MO
  • Elaia, St. Louis, MO
Elaia, St. Louis, MO
Elaia, St. Louis, MO

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
St. Louis
Best Service
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
8 More
Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We like modern American cuisine and were ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We like modern American cuisine and were excited to go here for a special birthday dinner. The menu was limited but interesting. My country pate appetizer was nice as was my butternut squash tortellini. Nice combinations of flavors. I had the lamb loin for my main course. While it was beautifully cooked --the meat was tender-- the meat itself tended more towards mutton than lamb. Just had that off taste. So this was a problem with ingredients that the chef should have known abou. Had the salted caramel chouquette for dessert which was OK except the salted caramel sauce that came underneath the puff pastry had been burnt and it tasted like it. Couldn't eat it. Had the wine pairings with our meal. They were pretty ordinary. Some were actually pretty bad--tasting more like apple cider than wine. Overall, a very mixed experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We had no idea what we were getting ours ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had no idea what we were getting ourselves into, when we made reservations at Elaia! It was a pre fixe menu and quite expensive, so expect to spend over $100 per person ... however ... it was the best food I have ever had in my life! Usually I avoid these kinds of restaurants, but the flavors, service, quality of ingredients and atmosphere were second to none. The chef is award winning and if you want to try an amazing variety of flavors - go to Elaia. You can get meat, fish, vegetarian and they will accommodate any special requests you made. They even surprised me by putting a few tortellini's in my veggies, because I mentioned they looked good. Amazing, surprising and excellent service ... check it out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and di ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and dinner. Excellent food for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was amazing. It's a must for an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was amazing. It's a must for any celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I came in from NYC, and m ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I came in from NYC, and must say that Elaia was a treat! We tried the 10-course tasting menu with the wine pairing. Wow. The food was fantastic and the wine pairing was inspired. This is a restaurant that can compete with the best in the world. Of special note was the Butternut Tortellini and the Salmon gnocchi. A really spectacular evening!

One star down on the ambiance because the table we were seated at had a draft from the air vent - waiter "fixed" it by covering it with a clipboard.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

High praise to our server Lauren as she ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

High praise to our server Lauren as she softened the disappointment of an ambiance set with dull lighting, meh decor, wooden seating that encourages standing, and a boisterous table of 4 men - 2 in suits and 2 in ball caps- competing with each other for attention with old tales and witless banter.

Lauren's presence and demeanor was attentive, calming and professional. She adjusted wine pairings to satisfy a disagreement with the chef's planned pairing.

Food, rated 4 stars, would have scored 5 stars but for a bland, creamy, overly whipped Foie gras. Presentation may have been great, but only a black ops specialist with night gear could tell for sure. The food, hidden in shadow, had tremendous taste, texture and geometry but no color.

Yes, I'd go again. I hope we won't need the flashlight app on the I-phone to view the food. Elaia needs some seating that comforts and to redo the minimalist struggling student decor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent inventive food with fun wine p ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent inventive food with fun wine pairings. It is expensive so be prepared.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Each of my three friends and I did the 4 ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Each of my three friends and I did the 4 course prix fixe with wine pairings. We each thoroughly enjoyed the inventive food combinations and beautiful presentation. We even commented that if we the type that took photographed their food, these dishes would have been worthy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walked up to Elaia on the second floor a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Walked up to Elaia on the second floor above its sister restaurant Olio, a more casual option for sandwiches and drinks with a Middle Eastern flair. It was dim and quiet, with excellent service. Had the 10-course tasting menu, a mixture of standards (goat cheese, tomato & cucumber salad, halibut, lamb, corn cake) and the unusual (sunchoke soup, smoked ice cream). All dishes were beautifully presented and had thoughtful twists on them. For instance, the simplicity of the tomato & cucumber salad was augmented with a sweet pickling, chopped nuts added texture, and a mozzarella espuma on both ends which served as an homage to that traditional flavor pairing.

All in all, creative and delicious. Certainly an excellent choice for a special occasion or romantic dinner. 93/100.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect food and exceptional service, gr ...

vip
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Perfect food and exceptional service, great wine list. Do their four course tasting menu then go back and treat yourself to the ten course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING! best overall experience anywher ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

AMAZING! best overall experience anywhere in St Louis, hands down!! 10 course tasting menu with wine pairings was expensive but worth every penny. Memorable experience always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service! We loved ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding food and service! We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything is carefully prepared with th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything is carefully prepared with the finest ingredients. The presentation is beautiful. Overall it is an experience well worth having. The four course Prix Fixe menu at $70 a person, while not cheap, is well worth it. My one complaint would be that wine is priced a bit higher than it seems it should be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went for a date night on o ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife and I went for a date night on our vacation. We decided to get the Prixe Fixe with the wine pairings. So, we basically got to try 8 courses together. EVERY COURSE WAS FANTASTIC. We had some of the best flavors we have ever tasted. Don't listen to people about proportions, this place is about quality and flavor, not value and bloated bellies. I in no way felt the food was overpriced, because the quality was superb. Great wine pairings. Wonderful service. This is a must try!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere but very pricey. I woul ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere but very pricey. I would recommend visiting the sister restaurant Olio instead.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Innovative menu; enjoyed each of the fou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Innovative menu; enjoyed each of the four courses. Have already recommended Elaia to several of our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was above average, very quiet with ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was above average, very quiet with little ambiance. Portions are extremely small; you will need 6-10 courses each to satiate. After 4 courses, my wife and I left unsatiated. Quality of food and portions do not justify the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Elaia's food was fantastic. Would recomm ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Elaia's food was fantastic. Would recommend planning to go for a leisurely dinner and enjoy the prix fixe option. We stopped by on way to theater and the value was not there for a quick bite...our fault, not theirs. Olio is attached, and it is better option for a shorter meal. That said, the food is some of the most creative in StL and a must for foodies. And the wine list is very thoughtfully prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

This was a very disapointing dining expe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a very disapointing dining experience. Waitress seemed very green. The chococlate ganache dessert was tiny, which was fortunate because it tasted rubbery. Like in the fridge too long rubbery. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Service was so slow even tho only 4 tabl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was so slow even tho only 4 tables were seated the entire time we were there. (10 guests total)

Food was underwhelming and small portions even for "fine dining".

The wine pairings were pretty spot on

The bill was outrageous.

Regret this decision and probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food and beautifully presented ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food and beautifully presented. We wish there had been more patrons. It might be well for them to step up their marketing. They certainly deserve a larger audience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food as exceptional and the ambiance ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food as exceptional and the ambiance is perfect for the type of place and food they offer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding-superb taste. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was outstanding-superb taste. Best food in St Louis. Our server was pleasant and knowledgeable. Only 4 stars instead of 5 because ancillary service was average (we had to ask for more bread and to have more wine poured and the portions were small (what you might expect from a 7 course tasting menu not a 4 course prix fixe).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We decided the next day that the best wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We decided the next day that the best way to describe the food was "bursting with different flavors in every bite and in every dish". Each course was nicely presented and seemed to be a smooth transition from one to the other. We all had different choices for our courses but agreed that each incorporated seasonal fruit and vegetables with some unique items. The only recommendation that I would give would be to add a little more light. Even the younger members at our table could't read the menu and it would have been nice to see the food we were eating because I'm sure the colors would have made the food even more inviting. The noise level was great though - one of the few restaurants we could talk without raising our voices or listen without straining. Overall it was an excellent dining experience and would go back. We started at the wine bar next door for a drink which was also a great experience. We love sitting and watching out the window while we drink our unique cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole thing was a great experience. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The whole thing was a great experience. We had an 8:30 reservation. The table was not cleared by then so we had to wait a few minutes. They out us at the bar at Olio and showed us a great time and made some amazing cocktails. The table being late actually made the experience better. We were then taken upstairs to our table at Elaia. The service and food were excellent. Great price too. We had the Prix Fixe and were blown away by the selections. I can't wait to go back next time we're in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and had to sit at the bar for the appointed time. We had some sparkling wine and assortment of nuts, olives and pickled vegetables while we waited. Thank goodness we did, because the portions on the menu were extremely small. We chose from options on each of the four courses on the menu. Although Elaia is billed as top food in St. Louis, we simply were not that impressed. The causa peruana, a potato roll with fish, had little flavor and the lacquered chicken was too lacquered. Our waitress was a little strange but the service was fine. We chose a nice Riesling from the wine list. We’re not quite sure why the restaurant is considered one of the top ones in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

GREAT NEW CHEF

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The new chef does not disappoint! The tasting menu is a must and helps you get a try of everything going on. The wine pairings were also thoughtful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and well executed from sta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very creative and well executed from start to finish. Service was helpful, friendly and attentive. Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Losing Ground

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2016

With Ben out focused on his new restaurant, the quality and flavors seem a thing of the past. Bring back Elaia or something as amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had always heard such good things. Af ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had always heard such good things. After trying it twice, I do not think it is worth the price. There are so many other restaurants in STL that I would go to before going back. Go to Olio and get the drinks and good bites for 1/2 the price (at least).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Maybe my best dining experience in St Lo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Maybe my best dining experience in St Louis in 65 years. Wonderful food and great space provide an intimate but casual fine dining experience. Put Elaia at the top of your list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great choice! Food was truly exceptiona ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great choice! Food was truly exceptional as was the service (Patrick). We had a great time...excellent experience and recommend without any hesitation or reservation! Though I would recommend reservations!! : )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A real treat

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2016

My friend and I treated ourselves to a "fancy dinner" If you are in the mood for fancy food with yummy wine pairings this is an excellent spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic, and I really lik ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was fantastic, and I really liked how our server explained the ingredients and preparation that went into each dish. It really enhanced our appreciation of the effort and thought that went into preparing our food. The food was delicious as well as presented beautifully. I would heartily recommend Elaia to any of my friends or family for a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Strange decor. Over processed food. Overpriced. Uncomfortable seating. $70 fixed price 4 coarse meal very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

excellent

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time and we brought friends. All four of us enjoyed our meals. We got a shared app for 4 and each got 3 courses! Yum. Once again, Elaia proved to be a winner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2016

I was fortunate to get reservations at Elaia while in town with a friend for two days during a photography conference. St. Louis is lucky to have Ben Poremba, and we were lucky to eat his and his staff's handiwork. We were also very lucky to have our waiter Tom; he was incredibly friendly, professional, and knowledgable. He encouraged us to take our time, enjoy each plate fully, and ask any and all questions we may have had (we had many). We each ordered a prix fixe four course meal and it was perfect. Speaking of perfect, Wes Montgomery with Strings played while we were there and it's one of my favorite records. While I can't promise you'll get Tom or Wes Montgomery, I can say that it's very likely you'll have an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

. Wonderful service... each course was f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2016

. Wonderful service... each course was fabulous and attention to detail appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant (I've been to) in St Louis

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Some dishes taught me how ingredients ought to be prepared and served. On the more formal side but still quite casual. Great for a special occasion and well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu is a hit!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I did the 10 course tasting dinner for $120 each. All but one dish was a perfect combination of surprise heat, texture and complimentary flavors. For the portions sizes we saw for the four course prix fixe, we were happy with our choice with the extra food. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the service and the food. It is small, about 30-40 seats, so if you want to dine for a special occasion, make reservations! The tasting menu was mainly from the menu that day with some pleasant off-menu treats as well! The Pastrami Sturgeon is a must if it is available on their daily menu. The Sturgeon with braised cabbage, the "sauerbraten", and the escolar with tortellini were my favorite, respectively. We have the olive oil cake for dessert which was a pleasant treat after 9 courses, light with a fruit forward flavor without being too sweet. They also have complimentary valet available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.