Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Elaia

Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Grupe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
See All
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Sort by
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

Great experience from beginning to end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lauren (our server) was exceptional. Wine pairings (do not remember the sommelier’s name) was outstanding. My steak was a bit dry, but considering that all other courses were truly outstanding it didn’t bother me too much. We had tried to Elia many times and it was booked each time. Well worth the wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We did the Prix Fixe menu with the wine pairing. The menu is constantly changing so I don't have a specific recommendation. Everything was very nice. I had a salmon dish, a yellowfin tuna dish and fluke, with a coconut mango panacata. My wife had foie gras, soft polenta and a strip steak with a banana peanut butter financier for dessert. Everything was quite nice. I particularly liked the explanations provided for the wine pairings. The background music was a style I was not familiar with, but it only minimally detracted from the overall experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Such a nice date spot! Delicious food and wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Awesome food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Amazing food, service and wine pairings. Will definitely visit again when in Saint Louis. Unusual dishes, great flavors and textures with great individual service and care.
Really enjoyed the food and music. Will for sure return.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I did not feel this dining experience was worth $400.00
I’ve been to similar types of restaurants around the same price point in different cities and never had one fail to wow me like this one did.
The restaurant ambiance was upscale and artistic which is the initial draw but white linen table covers should really be a staple. The food was very forgettable; nothing uniquely infused, no flavor layering and no excitement in the presentation. Just cause it’s a small portion doesn’t make it a dining experience. The good wine selection carried the night. Service was good although I did fill my own water glass a couple times. All around Elaia needs to deliver more than eating at a cool rehabbed building for what they are charging.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Old Home converted into a very quaint little specialty restaurant with wonderful ambiance and great service. Tasting menu with perfect wine pairings. Service was impeccable and each course better than the last. Great locale for anniversary or other romantic occasion. Will be back for the 10 course tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Outstanding food, solid cocktails, and attentive, unpretentious service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Exquisite. The perfect place for an anniversary dinner. Loved the entire menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We had the 10 course tasting with wine pairing and it was fantastic! Each dish had its own unique flavors that I crave instead of the bland food made for the masses that most restaurants serve. I have a big appetite and at first thought I wasn’t going to be full based on the portion size of the first couple dishes but by the end it was hard to finish but did so because it was so delicious. Will go again for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Food was very good but so unbelievably expensive. Upstairs was cold and drafty and had no ambiance.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2017

For the price we paid every bite should have been amazing, but it wasn't. My first two courses were great, but it went down hill from there. We were a party of four, it seems everyone only enjoyed half of their plates. The short ribs came with the smallest serving of potatoes I had ever seen. The vegetarian main plate was not good at all. The chocolate dessert wasn't even eaten by either of us who ordered it. The waiter was no help in ordering. Had we paid less I wouldn't have bothered writing a review, we had a nice time together, but for that price the food should have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was excellent, but it would be great if they had more vegetarian options. They didn't have a vegetarian third course, and we left a bit hungry with only the first, second, and fourth courses.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our first time here. Portions were perfect, food was outstanding and the ambience was perfect for our date night. We'll be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Thanks! A great dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 15, 2017

We both chose the prix fixe option, and every course was sensational! And our server was so nice and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. I will definitely recommend Elaia to friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We have regrets... that we didn’t go all in with the 10-course tasting menu. The experience, the food! was amazing. For once, a sommelier that knew how to speak to normal people. We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great place for foodies and wine lovers. They offered super service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2017

My husband and I went here for the first time. We always are in the lookout for good food options as we frequently eat out. Elaia came heavily recommended to us from friends and colleagues. Unfortunately the food didn’t meet our expectations. We had a 4 course with wine pairing options.
The first two courses were disappointing. I had a goat cheese and beet appetizer which definitely sounded better than it tasted. The wine was good.

My desert was a panacotta which I didn’t like much either.

Our server was great though. Friendly and sweet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Absolutely marvelous meal (again!). Perfect portion sizes, marvelous food. Great space for a special meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing tasting menu. Probably the best in St. Louis. Exceptional meal all around.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Birthday. Loved dinner tonight. Celebrated a special co-worker's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Chefs tasting was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was superb, very original and excellently presented

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Over priced but oh so good - we did the pre fix meal with wine parings for two - left paying right under $300 (that was with the 20+% gratuity) the food was so good, the service was so good., the wine paring was so good - I just wish the price was a little better - would love to go back if I could afford it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We are glad we went but won't be running back to Elaia. We ordered the 4 course with wine pairings and it was very good but not worth $300. For $300 I want to be blown away by the whole experience - food, service, decor etc. The atmosphere is lacking and decor non-existant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Annuversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Definitely one of the top restaurants in St. Louis, arguably #1. Exceptional from top to bottom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our reservation was early, 6:15 and they were already out of one of only 3 entrees offered.
food was delicious and service very good but also VERY expensive.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

What a great meal we had. We did the prix fixed and enjoyed each course. The flavors were all so distinct and unusual. The service was excellent and we hardly waited for our meals. Overall we had a great time and will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Outstanding dining experience with wonderful ambiance and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The portions were super tiny, the glasses of wine were small and very expensive, and the food was was also extremely expensive .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had the 10 course tasting menu with wine flight (pass on this if you're driving!). The food was amazing, each dish a new delight of creative flavor and texture combinations, all artfully presented. The service was very polished, efficient and friendly without fussing. Particular compliments go to our waiter, who overheard it was my husband's 60th birthday, but correctly surmised that he didn't want a fuss over it. The sommelier presented each new wine, describing it's attributes and why it was paired to each particular course in a manner that was entertaining, informative, and unpretentious. An altogether delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I took my wife and in laws to dinner for my mother in laws birthday. They are from France and not snobby, but know good food. I have been fortunate to travel a lot for work and eat any some amazing places. This food was prepared by someone with exceptional skill. Every dish was thought out and every morsel on the plate had a specific purpose. The wine pairings were nice, but the unique combinations of flavors had all of us describing each bite. When you eat slowly and intentionally inhale to taste the bite, you know it's good. Can't say enough good things.

I love Stone Soup Cottage, but this is on par with what Carl McConnell can produce. I can't wait to take my foodie friends here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Outstanding! One of my favorite places in St Louis!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Pros:
- the prix fixe menu (4 course) is arranged such that, with any course combination, your overall dining experience will be a balanced one.
- the flavor and texture combinations ranged from pretty good to orgasmic, nothing less
- food presentation is good
- wine nerd's delight
- the service here is pleasant and highly efficient. They make you feel as if they're almost never there but they almost always are (filling waters, clearing empties, bringing clean and course-appropriate flatware between courses)

Cons:
- it was so. Damn. Hot in there. I'm not talking 73-74. I'm talking 77-78. To make matters worse the air in there is completely still, and thick. It killed my appetite. (Appetite, you know, that prerequisatory condition for enjoying food?)
- seating: many of the tables were so close together that we didn't feel like our conversation could be private if we wanted it to be.
-Elaia's dim, restaurant-wide incandescent lighting sets a romantic-ish hue. Which is an odd choice because not much else about this place is conducive to an intimate date (tables close together, remember?). Not to mention, the incandescent lighting does little to accentuate the colorful food.

Go if:
you and a friend want to nerd-out about food and wine. Also, probably good for girls night for the classy 30-40 crowd

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was good, but small portions of food and wine pairings for the price. Focus was less on having an enjoyable evening than demonstrating the technical skills of the chef. Nixta is a better experience, and more enjoyable meals of similar quality can be had in St. Louis for far less expense.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Definitely the best fine dining meal we have had in STL. Perfect drying for our birthdays three days apart

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our group of four immensely enjoyed the quality, creativity and presentation of the cuisine. We went to celebrate a birthday. It was our first time. It won't be our last. Our selections included gazpacho, tortellini, lobster, duck, chicken, halibut and three different creative desserts. Those sound like pretty run-of-the-mill dishes. In the hands of the chef they became masterpieces with ingredients and sauces that complemented and enhanced the flavors, without overwhelming the base. Courses brilliantly built on each other. Most of the remarkable wine list were not in our budget, but we found a really good one, Jorche Primitivo, that complemented the cuisine very well. An unexpected treat -- our skilled server chatted with us in Portuguese!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.