Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Elaia

Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Grupe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort by
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Thanks! A great dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

We both chose the prix fixe option, and every course was sensational! And our server was so nice and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. I will definitely recommend Elaia to friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We have regrets... that we didn’t go all in with the 10-course tasting menu. The experience, the food! was amazing. For once, a sommelier that knew how to speak to normal people. We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great place for foodies and wine lovers. They offered super service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

My husband and I went here for the first time. We always are in the lookout for good food options as we frequently eat out. Elaia came heavily recommended to us from friends and colleagues. Unfortunately the food didn’t meet our expectations. We had a 4 course with wine pairing options.
The first two courses were disappointing. I had a goat cheese and beet appetizer which definitely sounded better than it tasted. The wine was good.

My desert was a panacotta which I didn’t like much either.

Our server was great though. Friendly and sweet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Absolutely marvelous meal (again!). Perfect portion sizes, marvelous food. Great space for a special meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing tasting menu. Probably the best in St. Louis. Exceptional meal all around.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Birthday. Loved dinner tonight. Celebrated a special co-worker's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Chefs tasting was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was superb, very original and excellently presented

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Over priced but oh so good - we did the pre fix meal with wine parings for two - left paying right under $300 (that was with the 20+% gratuity) the food was so good, the service was so good., the wine paring was so good - I just wish the price was a little better - would love to go back if I could afford it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We are glad we went but won't be running back to Elaia. We ordered the 4 course with wine pairings and it was very good but not worth $300. For $300 I want to be blown away by the whole experience - food, service, decor etc. The atmosphere is lacking and decor non-existant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Annuversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Definitely one of the top restaurants in St. Louis, arguably #1. Exceptional from top to bottom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our reservation was early, 6:15 and they were already out of one of only 3 entrees offered.
food was delicious and service very good but also VERY expensive.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

What a great meal we had. We did the prix fixed and enjoyed each course. The flavors were all so distinct and unusual. The service was excellent and we hardly waited for our meals. Overall we had a great time and will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Outstanding dining experience with wonderful ambiance and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The portions were super tiny, the glasses of wine were small and very expensive, and the food was was also extremely expensive .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had the 10 course tasting menu with wine flight (pass on this if you're driving!). The food was amazing, each dish a new delight of creative flavor and texture combinations, all artfully presented. The service was very polished, efficient and friendly without fussing. Particular compliments go to our waiter, who overheard it was my husband's 60th birthday, but correctly surmised that he didn't want a fuss over it. The sommelier presented each new wine, describing it's attributes and why it was paired to each particular course in a manner that was entertaining, informative, and unpretentious. An altogether delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I took my wife and in laws to dinner for my mother in laws birthday. They are from France and not snobby, but know good food. I have been fortunate to travel a lot for work and eat any some amazing places. This food was prepared by someone with exceptional skill. Every dish was thought out and every morsel on the plate had a specific purpose. The wine pairings were nice, but the unique combinations of flavors had all of us describing each bite. When you eat slowly and intentionally inhale to taste the bite, you know it's good. Can't say enough good things.

I love Stone Soup Cottage, but this is on par with what Carl McConnell can produce. I can't wait to take my foodie friends here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding! One of my favorite places in St Louis!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Pros:
- the prix fixe menu (4 course) is arranged such that, with any course combination, your overall dining experience will be a balanced one.
- the flavor and texture combinations ranged from pretty good to orgasmic, nothing less
- food presentation is good
- wine nerd's delight
- the service here is pleasant and highly efficient. They make you feel as if they're almost never there but they almost always are (filling waters, clearing empties, bringing clean and course-appropriate flatware between courses)

Cons:
- it was so. Damn. Hot in there. I'm not talking 73-74. I'm talking 77-78. To make matters worse the air in there is completely still, and thick. It killed my appetite. (Appetite, you know, that prerequisatory condition for enjoying food?)
- seating: many of the tables were so close together that we didn't feel like our conversation could be private if we wanted it to be.
-Elaia's dim, restaurant-wide incandescent lighting sets a romantic-ish hue. Which is an odd choice because not much else about this place is conducive to an intimate date (tables close together, remember?). Not to mention, the incandescent lighting does little to accentuate the colorful food.

Go if:
you and a friend want to nerd-out about food and wine. Also, probably good for girls night for the classy 30-40 crowd

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was good, but small portions of food and wine pairings for the price. Focus was less on having an enjoyable evening than demonstrating the technical skills of the chef. Nixta is a better experience, and more enjoyable meals of similar quality can be had in St. Louis for far less expense.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Definitely the best fine dining meal we have had in STL. Perfect drying for our birthdays three days apart

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our group of four immensely enjoyed the quality, creativity and presentation of the cuisine. We went to celebrate a birthday. It was our first time. It won't be our last. Our selections included gazpacho, tortellini, lobster, duck, chicken, halibut and three different creative desserts. Those sound like pretty run-of-the-mill dishes. In the hands of the chef they became masterpieces with ingredients and sauces that complemented and enhanced the flavors, without overwhelming the base. Courses brilliantly built on each other. Most of the remarkable wine list were not in our budget, but we found a really good one, Jorche Primitivo, that complemented the cuisine very well. An unexpected treat -- our skilled server chatted with us in Portuguese!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

If you want a meal that will be memorable, to compare against any other memorable meal you've ever eaten, then this is the restaurant for you. Service and preparation were impeccable. You will not be disappointed, as food is fresh, and there is no lack of attention to the types of detail that clearly set this restaurant apart from others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

This restaurant has gone downhill significantly. In past, have had superb meals and wine. This time, both were mediocre at best. Food was bland and wines were not quality for a $110 per person tasting. The waiter obviously did not have high end dining experience and added exasperation on top of the experience. And, in a move I find extremely tacky and inappropriate, when we arrived 10 min prior to our time, we were told we would need to wait in the bar. We were escorted to an extremely noisy bar and waited about 10 min for someone to even notice us. We ordered a glass of wine each. Soon after, we were taken to the dining room - it was empty save for two other tables. We could have easily been seated on our arrival. My take is that waiting in the bar is a ploy to have one buy a drink. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife and I went to Elaia's for her birthday. The atmosphere is very nice and modern. The food and mixed drinks were great. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We had a great time and would definitely go back. Oh, and the wine pairing with your meal is a must, they put a lot of thought in to the wine pairing and it it made the meal even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

For $200, the 2 salads, 2 entrees, and 3 drinks between us seemed absurdly overpriced. And we left hungry! I will never return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

way overpriced for tiny portions--not good to spend $150 per couple and go home hungry!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing food and amazing experience!
We will be back again 100%!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very over priced. One item was advertised as foie gras, but turned out to be mousse. When brought to their attention, they just shrugged it off, even thought both my wife and I did not like it and had them take it away. They didn't even ask about choosing a replacement or not charging for it.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was as we expected and more. Professional and friendly service without an attitude.
We will come back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very unique restaurant in Tower Grove!
Elaia is small so make your reservation early. The food, the service and the ambiance are all exceptional and is perfect for a special date or special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Superb, fresh dining in St. Louis. Only issue was that although the music selection was nice, it could have been turned down a bit, as it was borderline intrusive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Over priced "fancy" food. I would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Outstanding food the appetizer called "the egg" which is on the starter share plate was amazing...as were the others tasty items...homemade chutney with citrus, pork belly bacon, pate. Every dish we had was excellent...halibut, chicken, gazpacho, ceviche.....

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was AWESOME! Fun 2 1/2 hour tasting menu dinner with wine paring. Food and wine selections were amazing! Loved the experience!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Great selection of wines. A little on the pricey side ... be prepared to spend $100 or more per person.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very exotic food which I unfortunately did not enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.