About Elaia

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Poremba

Private Party Facilities:
Private room attached to our wine cellar that seats 10-12. Elaia or Olio menu available.

Private Party Contact:
Kara Flaherty: 3149321088x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Elaia
  • Elaia
Elaia
Elaia

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
2 More
Best Service
Downtown
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (27)
romantic (20)
See All
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food as exceptional and the ambiance ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food as exceptional and the ambiance is perfect for the type of place and food they offer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding-superb taste. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was outstanding-superb taste. Best food in St Louis. Our server was pleasant and knowledgeable. Only 4 stars instead of 5 because ancillary service was average (we had to ask for more bread and to have more wine poured and the portions were small (what you might expect from a 7 course tasting menu not a 4 course prix fixe).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We decided the next day that the best wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We decided the next day that the best way to describe the food was "bursting with different flavors in every bite and in every dish". Each course was nicely presented and seemed to be a smooth transition from one to the other. We all had different choices for our courses but agreed that each incorporated seasonal fruit and vegetables with some unique items. The only recommendation that I would give would be to add a little more light. Even the younger members at our table could't read the menu and it would have been nice to see the food we were eating because I'm sure the colors would have made the food even more inviting. The noise level was great though - one of the few restaurants we could talk without raising our voices or listen without straining. Overall it was an excellent dining experience and would go back. We started at the wine bar next door for a drink which was also a great experience. We love sitting and watching out the window while we drink our unique cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole thing was a great experience. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The whole thing was a great experience. We had an 8:30 reservation. The table was not cleared by then so we had to wait a few minutes. They out us at the bar at Olio and showed us a great time and made some amazing cocktails. The table being late actually made the experience better. We were then taken upstairs to our table at Elaia. The service and food were excellent. Great price too. We had the Prix Fixe and were blown away by the selections. I can't wait to go back next time we're in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GREAT NEW CHEF

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The new chef does not disappoint! The tasting menu is a must and helps you get a try of everything going on. The wine pairings were also thoughtful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and well executed from sta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very creative and well executed from start to finish. Service was helpful, friendly and attentive. Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Losing Ground

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

With Ben out focused on his new restaurant, the quality and flavors seem a thing of the past. Bring back Elaia or something as amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had always heard such good things. Af ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had always heard such good things. After trying it twice, I do not think it is worth the price. There are so many other restaurants in STL that I would go to before going back. Go to Olio and get the drinks and good bites for 1/2 the price (at least).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Maybe my best dining experience in St Lo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Maybe my best dining experience in St Louis in 65 years. Wonderful food and great space provide an intimate but casual fine dining experience. Put Elaia at the top of your list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great choice! Food was truly exceptiona ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great choice! Food was truly exceptional as was the service (Patrick). We had a great time...excellent experience and recommend without any hesitation or reservation! Though I would recommend reservations!! : )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A real treat

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My friend and I treated ourselves to a "fancy dinner" If you are in the mood for fancy food with yummy wine pairings this is an excellent spot.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic, and I really lik ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was fantastic, and I really liked how our server explained the ingredients and preparation that went into each dish. It really enhanced our appreciation of the effort and thought that went into preparing our food. The food was delicious as well as presented beautifully. I would heartily recommend Elaia to any of my friends or family for a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Strange decor. Over processed food. Overpriced. Uncomfortable seating. $70 fixed price 4 coarse meal very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

excellent

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time and we brought friends. All four of us enjoyed our meals. We got a shared app for 4 and each got 3 courses! Yum. Once again, Elaia proved to be a winner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

I was fortunate to get reservations at Elaia while in town with a friend for two days during a photography conference. St. Louis is lucky to have Ben Poremba, and we were lucky to eat his and his staff's handiwork. We were also very lucky to have our waiter Tom; he was incredibly friendly, professional, and knowledgable. He encouraged us to take our time, enjoy each plate fully, and ask any and all questions we may have had (we had many). We each ordered a prix fixe four course meal and it was perfect. Speaking of perfect, Wes Montgomery with Strings played while we were there and it's one of my favorite records. While I can't promise you'll get Tom or Wes Montgomery, I can say that it's very likely you'll have an unforgettable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

. Wonderful service... each course was f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

. Wonderful service... each course was fabulous and attention to detail appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant (I've been to) in St Louis

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Some dishes taught me how ingredients ought to be prepared and served. On the more formal side but still quite casual. Great for a special occasion and well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu is a hit!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I did the 10 course tasting dinner for $120 each. All but one dish was a perfect combination of surprise heat, texture and complimentary flavors. For the portions sizes we saw for the four course prix fixe, we were happy with our choice with the extra food. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the service and the food. It is small, about 30-40 seats, so if you want to dine for a special occasion, make reservations! The tasting menu was mainly from the menu that day with some pleasant off-menu treats as well! The Pastrami Sturgeon is a must if it is available on their daily menu. The Sturgeon with braised cabbage, the "sauerbraten", and the escolar with tortellini were my favorite, respectively. We have the olive oil cake for dessert which was a pleasant treat after 9 courses, light with a fruit forward flavor without being too sweet. They also have complimentary valet available.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was interesting and incredible. Fla ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Menu was interesting and incredible. Flavors a mixed perfectly. Recommend wine pairing dinner. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday. Great restaurant with great service. Would recommend to anyone especially for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

2/27/16 Birthday Dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Elaia was the perfect place to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. The service was impeccable and the food was definitely memorable. We had such a lovely time! Our server, Tom, was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable about every aspect of our meal. We will be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

always great

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

As typical of earlier visits, the service and food were outstanding at our recent dinner. Looking forward to our next opportunity to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, but expensive

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I did the pre fixe menu and noticed that the offerings were very close to the sample menu that supposedly changes all the time. It was almost identical to a menu from November listed on the website. The portions are small think 1-2 bites. The highlight of the dinner for us was the entree that we shared and the signature dessert. Overall we enjoyed the ambiance and food, however thought the $70 price tag per person was a bit high for what we got.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Valentine's Birthday

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My children took me to Elaia for my birthday. Since it is on Feb. 14, I usually don't brave the crowds, but we were able to reserve a 4-top (the only one in use that evening).

I enjoyed each of the 4 course prix fixe menu items, as well as the wine pairing. Great thought and skill went into each service. (Who thinks of sturgeon pastrami anyway?)

We all felt welcome. I'm glad they decided to open on this Sunday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good but....

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I prefer restaurants that offer multiple courses with wine pairings. They should work on the little details. For example: The table near the entrance is blasted by kitchen light, overwhelmed by the bar noise, and seems to be the only spot where they can return people's coats. A velvety curtain in the doorway and returning coats down at the entrance would secure the ambiance.

Pair entrees with a wider range of wines; people want to experience new wines and varietals. They were all presented with very similar descriptions. It is always nice walking away from dinner with a new vineyard name in my pocket. Once dinner was paid, we were forgotten and I actually had to find somebody to get our coats.

Bring the service experience right up to the finish line. Example: Ask, "did you valet your car? Would you like me to have it brought up?" Vs having them stand out in the cold waiting. Details! A $300 dinner for two should cover attention to detail.

Overall the place was good and I will give it another chance.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

best tasting menu in St Louis

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We were the only patrons bc we arrived late Wed night, the staff super accommodating bc my daughter wanted 10 course tasting menu! I had the wine paring as well! The food was excellent and the wind choices were on point! Highly recommend this place for a unique ecclectic experience that surely will dazzle your taste buds!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too cold

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Food was very good.

But restaurant was cold (we were there in January. to be fair), waitress spent way too much time

telling us about everything on the menu (which was printed in front of us) and the whole

experience was too precious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

A m a z i n g

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Delicious, creative, and beautiful.

Incredible value. Impeccable service. Best in st. louis

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve Menu

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Elaia featured a special New Years Eve menu and had a shorter wine list with wines specifically chosen by the chef to compliment the signature meal. It was fantastic! The Parker House Rolls were wonderful, and I really enjoyed the saddle of lamb with a chocolate sauce. Our server had great wine suggestions, and was really attentive. All in all it was nice to see menu changes for the special occasion and really enjoyed my meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

This is our go-to spot when we really want to treat ourselves to great food, fine wine an a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Compares to Guy Savoy in Paris

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

This restaurant is as good as any that I have ever eaten in. The wine pairings were brilliant as was the food. Even though it is very pricey, the experience is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal overall and definitely a gem ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Phenomenal overall and definitely a gem but don't go hungry! Portions are very small for

The price! Lovely service :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding find in St Louis

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Came to Elaia for a business dinner with a group of six including visitors from the West Coast and India. Excellent quality of food -a very well selected fixed menu with sufficient options for any foodie. The wine pairing was probably the highlight of the night, though. Most recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bar selection very disappointing given h ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Bar selection very disappointing given high end nature of this restaurant. Food and service excellent. Any lamb dish exceptional. Service and ambiance excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real treat!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

A real treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Good-then the Bad and Ugly!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

My wife and I have dined here previously and, consistent with many other reviewers, always had fine experiences. We returned for our anniversary for a meal after a cocktail at a favorite bar. It was a weeknight, and fairly quiet. Overall, the food was Excellent, the server and service were very good (especially the wine pairing with the evening's menu-thanks, Tom!). Unfortunately, the total experience of the meal was very much polluted by the ambiance that evening. While I am OK with business casual attire in fine dining establishments, the diner directly in my field of view was wearing a badly stained baseball cap on backwards and I also had a steady view of the ripped and stained armpits of his T-shirt while he leaned on his table throughout the meal. When I asked a server if this was acceptable attire, he just shrugged his head. For me, this is totally inappropriate in an environment where you're spending $300 on dinner for two and the atmosphere is supposedly consistent with a romantic/classy/upscale dining experience. Sadly, I feel we must cross Elaia off our "favorites" list as there are too many other fine local restaurants where this would not be an issue (or it would be addressed).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Great food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. I'm a definite foodie & have tried some great restaurants. This ranks up there. I just wish we would have known that you had to request the 10 course tasting menu in advance. We ended up with the 4 course with the wine pairings. Everything was wonderful & the pairings were excellent. Not a bad thing to say about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant. Great food.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Our meal was exceptional & a wonderful mix of flavors, with the exception of a beef entree - very good but not the level of other dishes we enjoyed that night. The wine pairings were excellent.

We were puzzled by the fact that everyone else seated in the dining room (after us) was asked if this was a special occasion. (It was) We were not asked. & there were other ways that we felt slightly ignored.

Only 1 of us was drinking alcohol & this seems to be the reason, at other establishments also, that we experience this treatment...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

perfectly prepared meal..timed well and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

perfectly prepared meal..timed well and paired well. we had a table for four with the 100.00 pre dinner. Was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was special- unusual preparati ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

The food was special- unusual preparations .We enjoyed the wine pairings. The service was excellent.

The portions were minuscule. We spent $260 for two and left hungry. Felt a bit ripped off. No plans to go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.