Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Elaia

Elaia showcases original and global cuisine with a nuanced approach to fine dining: the cooking is both inspired and modernist; the service is both manicured and relaxed; the experience is a rare and delicate combination of elegance and rustic charm. Elaia's unique and extensive wine program has earned it a place in Wine Enthusiast's America's 100 Best Wine Restaurants, in 2014 and 2015.
Our menu changes nightly. We offer a four-course prix-fixe or a ten-course tasting menu. The entire menu is available a la carte as well.
Executive Chef Ben Grupe is the captain of the American Culinary Olympic Team.
Chef/Proprietor Ben Poremba is a 3 times James Beard Award Semi Finalist in the category Best Chef - Midwest.

1634 Tower Grove Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Global, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Please contact the restaurant if you are reserving for parties of 5 or more.
Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
McRee Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 932-1088

Website:
http://www.elaiastl.com/

Catering:
Both Olio and Elaia catering available. Buffet-style or passed hor d'oeuvres.

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary to Elaia diners and $3 for Olio diners. Small parking lot and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Ben Grupe

Private Party Facilities:
Private room attached to our wine cellar that seats 10-12. Elaia or Olio menu available.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Hassett: (314) 932-1088

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Elaia is open for Mother's Day brunch! Prix fixe and a la carte options available.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elaia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fireplace (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Located in an out of the way neighborhood and very unassuming from the street. The room was quiet and well appointed. The wait staff was attentive and helpful, but pointing out every ingredient on the plate was unnecessary, overbearing and pretentious. This is an expensive restaurant by St. Louis standards and approaches New York and high end Chicago prices. The food is carefully prepared and one can tell a great deal of time and effort is taken in the preparation and presentation. However, the portions are exceedingly small especially considering the price. The fix price menu is either $70 or $110. There is no ala cart on the menu but the server said that could be done. My vegetarian partner went away hungry. A delicious starter of pea agnolotti converted to an entree size still contained only 4 agnolotti. I had a white asparagus starter with a $10 supplement charge. While the dish was beautiful and asparagus was excellent I was underwhelmed by the TWO asparagus spears and the minuscule portion of salmon roe on the plate. The pork tenderloin was outstanding but two medallions were rather lonely on the plate. A foie gra mousse starter was about the size of a egg shaped melon baller scoop--again disappointing. However, my desert of carrot cake and walnut ice cream was very good and satisfying. The wine list is very inclusive (and pricey). In summary, this high end restaurant pleases the eye and palate but neither the stomach nor the wallet.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The service and ambience was fantastic. The food was very interesting and creative. The price was outrageously high, which is probably why we may never go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Lacked balance and refinement, but we appreciated the overall creative attempt as well as the presentation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This meal for our anniversary was probably the best meal I've ever had in my life, and I don't say that lightly because both my husband and I are foodies. Our favorite restaurant in St Louis prior to this was Stone Soup Cottage. We did the chef's tasting menu, and it's pricey, but well worth the price. Each dish was immaculately and beautifully plated, and the taste of each dish was so different and bursting with flavors. Standouts were honestly most of the dishes: the amazing goat cheese rolled in cappuccino, the octopus which was tender and not chewy, the foie gras was buttery and melted in your mouth, the pate dish was an assortment of different tastes, the steak and the bass was perfectly cooked, and the panna cotta was creamy and bursting with citrus flavors. We've already decided to go for the entire thing- wine pairings and all for our 10th anniversary! I highly recommend this place for a special occasion for foodies who are adventurous and love good food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

the best meal of the year in STL---the dishes are so imaginative--the flavors spectacular--the wine superb---and atmosphere pleasing and the service impeccable----a terrific dining experience----and Ben was there charming as ever

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was an incredible experience, and every bite was perfection! Thank you to the chef, the owner, and our charming server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The tasting menu with wine pairing is Amazing. It really is an experience. It's expensive but totally worth every Penny

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We went for birthday celebration and were not disappointed, although quite pricey to us for regular dining. The prix fixe menu was nice to be able to sample a range with paired wine. We did not find the wine to be as good as expected and maybe a level below the food. Quality, presentation and inventiveness of the food wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent fine-dining restaurant! Great food, wonderful service. Will be going back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner with a cherished friend. The experience did not disappoint. The food was amazing and beautiful. Perfect special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was outstanding and personable with every dish discussed in detail - and every detail happened to be delicious. Note, the full tasting menu is 10 courses and a LOT of food... be prepared for that much wine if you get the pairing. Well thought out dishes, attention to detail, and brilliant combinations keep you on your toes. Excellent dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Spectacular food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

If Michelin rated restaurants in St. Louis, Elaia would certainly be a contender for serious recognition. The experience begins with entry into the urban, chique atmosphere of a repurposed neighborhood brick and continues when diners walk upstairs to the dining area. The ambiance is an interesting fusion of rustic and modern; the brick fireplace and glass-seated candles marry perfectly with the avant-garde decorations, including an amalgam of old kitchen equipment molded into a chandelier.

You're greeted by confident, knowledgeable staff members at every stage of your stay. From the hostess' charm, to the serving staff's precision and etiquette, to the interactions with the food preparation team, each member seems to be hand-selected for his or her position through merit and superior performance. Our server, Jamie, had flawless knowledge of the establishment, from the restaurant history, to the personality of the chef, even to the supplier of the hand-crafted dishware. He was able to outline in great detail both the structure & design intent for each dish presented to us, as well as the origin and style of each wine paring provided.

The ten course meal and accompanying wine parings were some of the finest dining samples I've ever had the pleasure of enjoying. While some are intimidated by a variable menu, the chef is a master at creating a culinary experience that is both delicious and artistic, regularly rotating with the seasonal fare. Our meal included three appetizers, two salads, a soup, two entrees, and two deserts, each of which varied drastically across the spectrum of flavor and style. Of note, the lamb was prepared by souvee to perfection, and the crab-and-granny-smith-apple salad was a dynamic and unexpected paring of flavors. The pairing of port and coconut panacotta was one of most delicious deserts I've ever had.

I can't say enough wonderful things about Elaia. Connoisseurs and casual diners alike will all find this restaurant to be phenomenal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came for Valentines with my wife. We have travelled the world and feel we have become spoiled on some incredible places the world has to offer. I would say that the food was very well prepared and portions were perfect for a four course meal. Each dish was unique and excellent. The only exception was one element of the offered veloute. The dish itself was incredible and stated that it was garnished with black truffle. Some of my favorite flavors are both black and white truffles, so expectations were high. It was suggested that this was indeed French truffle but for me each bite of truffle had absolutely no flavor. The only time I experienced this was in China, where the dish advertised local black truffle. Didn't know China had truffles, but due to the absolute lack of flavor of their truffle wouldn't bother again.

I have heard that the flavor of the truffle at room temperature can be quite bland and heating greatly increases the flavor, so perhaps this was the case. It was the only disappointing small part of the entire meal.

Service was excellent and overall wonderful evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'd pit Elaia against any restaurant anywhere. Every bite was better than the next.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food with wine pairings was excellent. We sat in a bench for 2. After almost 3 hours of sitting, it got to be quite uncomfortable. Padding would really help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful. The lamb was fantastic. A great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and service, great food but not earth-shattering for the price. The Panna Cotta was excellent. Go for the service, experience, and adventure of it all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Elaia was an amazing dining experience. If you enjoy exceptional food you will enjoy a meal here!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing... Best place to eat I. Saint Louis hands down. Expensive but worth every dollar. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food and service was incredible. I highly recommend this place for any celebration or if you just feel like having a damn good meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went to celebrate with friends and had a wonderful evening. The food was finely crafted, creative and with subtle flavors. The chef was also very accommodating to the gluten free and vegetarian requests made by some in our party. It was a memorable dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing experience for a first date. We were the only ones in the restaurant and the staff was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We like modern American cuisine and were excited to go here for a special birthday dinner. The menu was limited but interesting. My country pate appetizer was nice as was my butternut squash tortellini. Nice combinations of flavors. I had the lamb loin for my main course. While it was beautifully cooked --the meat was tender-- the meat itself tended more towards mutton than lamb. Just had that off taste. So this was a problem with ingredients that the chef should have known abou. Had the salted caramel chouquette for dessert which was OK except the salted caramel sauce that came underneath the puff pastry had been burnt and it tasted like it. Couldn't eat it. Had the wine pairings with our meal. They were pretty ordinary. Some were actually pretty bad--tasting more like apple cider than wine. Overall, a very mixed experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had no idea what we were getting ourselves into, when we made reservations at Elaia! It was a pre fixe menu and quite expensive, so expect to spend over $100 per person ... however ... it was the best food I have ever had in my life! Usually I avoid these kinds of restaurants, but the flavors, service, quality of ingredients and atmosphere were second to none. The chef is award winning and if you want to try an amazing variety of flavors - go to Elaia. You can get meat, fish, vegetarian and they will accommodate any special requests you made. They even surprised me by putting a few tortellini's in my veggies, because I mentioned they looked good. Amazing, surprising and excellent service ... check it out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and dinner. Excellent food for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was amazing. It's a must for any celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I came in from NYC, and must say that Elaia was a treat! We tried the 10-course tasting menu with the wine pairing. Wow. The food was fantastic and the wine pairing was inspired. This is a restaurant that can compete with the best in the world. Of special note was the Butternut Tortellini and the Salmon gnocchi. A really spectacular evening!

One star down on the ambiance because the table we were seated at had a draft from the air vent - waiter "fixed" it by covering it with a clipboard.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

High praise to our server Lauren as she softened the disappointment of an ambiance set with dull lighting, meh decor, wooden seating that encourages standing, and a boisterous table of 4 men - 2 in suits and 2 in ball caps- competing with each other for attention with old tales and witless banter.

Lauren's presence and demeanor was attentive, calming and professional. She adjusted wine pairings to satisfy a disagreement with the chef's planned pairing.

Food, rated 4 stars, would have scored 5 stars but for a bland, creamy, overly whipped Foie gras. Presentation may have been great, but only a black ops specialist with night gear could tell for sure. The food, hidden in shadow, had tremendous taste, texture and geometry but no color.

Yes, I'd go again. I hope we won't need the flashlight app on the I-phone to view the food. Elaia needs some seating that comforts and to redo the minimalist struggling student decor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent inventive food with fun wine pairings. It is expensive so be prepared.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Each of my three friends and I did the 4 course prix fixe with wine pairings. We each thoroughly enjoyed the inventive food combinations and beautiful presentation. We even commented that if we the type that took photographed their food, these dishes would have been worthy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Walked up to Elaia on the second floor above its sister restaurant Olio, a more casual option for sandwiches and drinks with a Middle Eastern flair. It was dim and quiet, with excellent service. Had the 10-course tasting menu, a mixture of standards (goat cheese, tomato & cucumber salad, halibut, lamb, corn cake) and the unusual (sunchoke soup, smoked ice cream). All dishes were beautifully presented and had thoughtful twists on them. For instance, the simplicity of the tomato & cucumber salad was augmented with a sweet pickling, chopped nuts added texture, and a mozzarella espuma on both ends which served as an homage to that traditional flavor pairing.

All in all, creative and delicious. Certainly an excellent choice for a special occasion or romantic dinner. 93/100.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Perfect food and exceptional service, great wine list. Do their four course tasting menu then go back and treat yourself to the ten course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

AMAZING! best overall experience anywhere in St Louis, hands down!! 10 course tasting menu with wine pairings was expensive but worth every penny. Memorable experience always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding food and service! We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything is carefully prepared with the finest ingredients. The presentation is beautiful. Overall it is an experience well worth having. The four course Prix Fixe menu at $70 a person, while not cheap, is well worth it. My one complaint would be that wine is priced a bit higher than it seems it should be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife and I went for a date night on our vacation. We decided to get the Prixe Fixe with the wine pairings. So, we basically got to try 8 courses together. EVERY COURSE WAS FANTASTIC. We had some of the best flavors we have ever tasted. Don't listen to people about proportions, this place is about quality and flavor, not value and bloated bellies. I in no way felt the food was overpriced, because the quality was superb. Great wine pairings. Wonderful service. This is a must try!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere but very pricey. I would recommend visiting the sister restaurant Olio instead.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Innovative menu; enjoyed each of the four courses. Have already recommended Elaia to several of our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.