About El Torito Grill - Irvine

1910 Main St
Irvine, CA 92614
View Larger Map

El Torito Grill features specialty menu items created by the Company's executive chef, Pepe Lopez, including mesquite broiled fish and steaks, as well as Mexican combination platters. Salads and soups are also available for both lunch and dinner. To compliment the range of specialty items, El Torito Grill offers a wide selection of upscale margaritas, in addition to a complete list of Mexican beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm;

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(949) 975-1220

Website:
http://www.etgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Pepe lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Scallop Ceviche - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Salsas - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
fish tacos - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Filet Mignon And Shrimp Enchilada - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Flan - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Especial De La Casa - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Chipotle Bbq Shrimp - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Carnitas Yucatan - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Chips & Guacamole Dip - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Duck Confit Chile Relleno  - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Chipoltle Bbq Shrimp In Jalapeno Butter - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
BBQ ribs - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
NY Steak - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Steak Fajitas - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA
Deep Fried Ice Cream Ball - El Torito Grill - Irvine, Irvine, CA

Private Dining

Treat your guests to an FLAVOR EVOLUTION experience!

El Torito Grill - Irvine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We never go wrong with el torito grill. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

We never go wrong with el torito grill. Fresh made tortillas and home made churros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I realize that this is a self service b ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I realize that this is a self service buffet. However, we did have a server, Carlos, who was very inattentive as far as refills for mimosas and clearing the table of used plates. Restaurant itself needs sprucing up. Leather on seats in booths worn away; restrooms for women not maintained. Food was okay. Would not go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

This El Torito Grilll use to have excell ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This El Torito Grilll use to have excellent food. No more. I don't know what has changed, but the quality and taste of the food for my last two visits is was poor. (The hot tortillas were excellent as always. ). I hope the management can fix the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

We were a little surprised to be seated ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were a little surprised to be seated close to bar area, but found out there was a 40 person party in dining room, so we understood. Food more than made up for it!!!!! Thank you for a very nice night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, excellent service.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, nice ambiance; terrible host ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, nice ambiance; terrible hostesses too busy chatting to offer anything like customer service or warm welcomes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

You can't beat the carne asada here. Alw ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

You can't beat the carne asada here. Always good. We had a great lunch and we were able to comfortably discuss business without it being too loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Noisy!!!! Couldn't carry on a conversati ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Noisy!!!! Couldn't carry on a conversation. We sat in the bar area which was a mistake. Food is inexpensive, and fair. Fun place if you like noisy sports bars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We found the food to be mediocre and the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We found the food to be mediocre and the service below average. There was only one set-up for our party of four, and when brought to the server's attention, he returned with two more (one short). Entrees delivered with no tortillas, and when we requested them, it took at least five minutes to get them, at which time food was getting cold. All in all, not a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I had been to this location several time ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had been to this location several times in the past and last Friday was not a good experience.

From the table not being clean and the waiter seeming to be put out when I asked it to be cleaned to the dirty bathroom and even one stall was broken.

I'm not going back. It was a very slow night and seemed to be an off night for the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Awesome. Really great.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Awesome. Really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've dined here a number of times but se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've dined here a number of times but service was very poor this time, possibly due to lack of staff during the long holiday weekend. My sister's enchilada was burnt on the grill platter and the server hesitated to notice or even replace it. This was a birthday for my husband and my dad, but there was no special birthday treatment. It just turned out to be a regular, not so enjoyable lunch. Thought the server had a bit of an attitude not towards us, but possibly because she did not want to work the long holiday weekend. Although, I do have to say that the table was all set up for us when we arrived to allow us room to place an infant carrier. Coming to Sunday Brunch is typically much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very good food and service at very good ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very good food and service at very good prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Busier than usual, but service and food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Busier than usual, but service and food made up for the late serving

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was not so good tast.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was not so good tast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Alberto is an outstanding, attentive wai ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Alberto is an outstanding, attentive waiter. We always as for him.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to go for a birthday celebrat ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good place to go for a birthday celebration. Food was served promptly and hot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was terrible. Our waiter dis ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was terrible. Our waiter disappeared after taking our order. We were never asked how our food was or if we wanted more water or drinks. We had to get up from the table to find the manager to get our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We wanted to have Mexican food for a gro ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We wanted to have Mexican food for a group where kids would be dining. The restaurant had many large groups dining. Our waiter was good but he had too many tables so he ran around the entire meal trying to help everyone else. The food was okay- the green rice threw everyone at the table off though I have to say. Also, please offer refried beans in addition to black beans. No one at our table liked black beans. Price was reasonable.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Outside of their delicious homemade tort ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outside of their delicious homemade tortillas and orange butter...the food is uninspired. Used to be better. We were all disappointed. :(

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Terrific place

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Terrific place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Honestly it is all about the tortillas. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Honestly it is all about the tortillas. They are great. Service is often so-so; this time no different. Food was good. Not great but that is okay.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This particulate El Torito Grill has bec ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2016

This particulate El Torito Grill has become a favorite dining spot for us. This restaurant has fantastic food and great service. They are also a good place to get a last minute reservation on a Friday or Saturday night. They primarily serve a business crowd because of their location - often very busy for weekday lunches and dinners, but weekends, not so crowded. They do have a Sunday brunch, which I have not yet tried, but it does draw a big crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The chips tasted terrible. They needed t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The chips tasted terrible. They needed to change the oil or something and we almost could not eat them and we got guacamole. Then 2 of us got the romaine salad they prepare at the table - why do you prepare it at the table. The waitress kept getting interrupted and I got a huge amount of salad and chicken and my friend got 1/2 of what I got. Just not consistent. The food was good but the chips. We did like the tortillas. They put 10 of us at 2 tables and we had to ask for another table, we just did not have enough room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I gave the waiter a gift card and he che ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I gave the waiter a gift card and he cheated me out of $30.00. I will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Overpriced, not special. We did the Brun ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overpriced, not special. We did the Brunch Buffet - much of the food was cold, meat not done properly. things were either under cooked or over cooked. Long lines, long waits. Kind of an all around bad dining experience of a $30 per person breakfast. Felt ripped off. We will not be going there again. the fresh tortillas were nice, though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

It was Father's Day and we were seated i ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was Father's Day and we were seated in the bar. Our server couldn't have done more to make our visit memorable - got us coffee right away, brought an appetizer to our table and anything else we asked.

The brunch was delightful; the ambiance couldn't have been better. It was a very hot day, but the temperature in the restaurant was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good for lunch with staff. Hot t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always good for lunch with staff. Hot tortillas always a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great lunch

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We can always count on great food at thi ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2016

We can always count on great food at this location. Our group was a party of 10 and they easily had room for larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I understand it was Mother's Day and a b ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I understand it was Mother's Day and a busy weekend. We made a reservation to avoid the long wait. When we arrived we were told it's a 10 minute wait. 30 minutes later we asked again how much longer they said 15minutes. 10 minutes later I asked she said 10 more minutes. I said its already been 40 minutes and now I'm waiting another 10 minutes. Not acceptable. When others who arrived after us who also had a reservation were taken before my family. Hopefully this was only because of the busy holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Mothers Day

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. Great service and good selection of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite local spots, for really good Mexican food. The fresh tortillas with butter and salsa beats a basket of chips any day. Today we celebrated Mothers Day (a day early). Although they were very busy, the service and attention to deal was superb, and the food and drinks were wonderful. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating Employee's 25th Anniversary

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2016

My employee chose this restaurant for her 25th anniversary dinner and invited 25 of her coworkers to help her celebrate.

The restaurant was very accommodating and had everything set up as I requested. My employees felt right at home once they arrived and had a very good experience.

The restaurant was very well kept with a very comfortable atmosphere. The waitresses/waiters were very helpful and took very good care of my Team. The food was delicious and it came very fast after we completed ordering.

Thank you for an outstanding experience!

Anthony

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual Lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Been going to this location for about 10 years now. Always good food, atmosphere, service and the best handmade tortillas. My go to lunch spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food and quick seating . The ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Decent food and quick seating . The service was a bit spotty. Our food arrived fast and was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The New El Torito Grill

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We have eaten at the El Torito Grill for Years now - Always enjoyable. They have a "New" look for 2016 - Nice, Clean, and Fresh. The Total Package for Bruch. The Food was Excellent and the service for Bunch "Deserves" a Tip.... Very Well Done El Torito!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food!! Beautiful location!! Few mon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food!! Beautiful location!! Few monents away from the airport

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.