About El Torito Grill - Irvine

El Torito Grill features specialty menu items created by the Company's executive chef, Pepe Lopez, including mesquite broiled fish and steaks, as well as Mexican combination platters. Salads and soups are also available for both lunch and dinner. To compliment the range of specialty items, El Torito Grill offers a wide selection of upscale margaritas, in addition to a complete list of Mexican beers and cocktails.

1910 Main St
Irvine, CA 92614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 2pm- 10pm

Sunday Brunch:
9:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(949) 975-1220

Website:
http://www.etgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Pepe lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Treat your guests to an FLAVOR EVOLUTION experience!

El Torito Grill - Irvine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

arrived and my reservation was on the list. Once all parties arrived we were sat down at a table . Food was great. Also, The El Torito Grills are the only ones that serve home made totillas.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was delicious and would recommend it to everyone !

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The early dinner and happy hour drinks were nice. But upon seating I had notified the hostess that it was my mother's birthday. She assured me that she would notify the waiter. But no happy birthday for my mom. I was highly disappointed and will not come back because of this. Even the manager came to greet us and asked us what we are celebrating. We told him, mom's birthday. And still no birthday surprise or singing. They lost two customers

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great place for a quick quiet business lunch with excellent food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. Sizzling fajitas were lit at table and wonderful tasting.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a very nice restaurant with plenty of seating. We sat in the bar area and the service and food was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Overall great Waiter had to be asked at least 3 times for water he kept forgetting to bring it And a little slow on picking up dirty plates for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best tortillas and honey butter! Server was super nice. I feel happy hour prices could be a little better

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Noisy, stuffy until large parties departed.
Ordered carnitas and cheese quesadilla - was too spicy. Couldn't eat much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This establishment has really become run down...expected in other areas like Santa Ana...but not Irvine. Table was dirty, lunch was 30 minutes late after asking 3 times where the salads were?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Service was okay, but food is overpriced for the substandard quality provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Quick, no chips n salsa? Good warm tortillas tho

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I had an stomach upset that last the next day after eating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Small family gathering of 3 people for lunch on a slow Saturday. The drinks, food, and service were excellent. We will return again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Hadn't been to this restaurant in years, but it's still a pleasant experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day. It was crazy outside! Had a 30 minute wait with our reservation. Once we got seated you didn't feel like it was so crowded and there was no wait for food. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at this el torito grill. They were extremely under staffed and unprepared. It was a nightmare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

So I decided to take my family for my birthday and early Mother's Day for myself and mother-in-law. Boy, was I disappointed. First off, we were moved three times right away due to seating us at already taken booths. We should have taken this as a sign to run from there! We sat down and ordered drinks (pretty painless), but when we went to get food, we found that the options were NOT the same as the website (my little one was looking forward to pancakes, bacon and chocolate covered strawberries) and didn't have anything she liked. That was fun. :( The other and most notable problem was that the food was lackluster, not replenished when needed and cold when ready to be eaten (had to ask for and then waited for clean plates over 10 minutes). Plates were brought out dirty, accidents were occurring left and right, and overall, it was super unpleasant and we did not enjoy our meal. Our server was delightful (thank gosh for one thing going well there) and had the manager remove my kiddo's meal from the bill as she only ate a waffle. The restaurant seemed dirty overall, and the management did not appear able to handle a large crowd. Needless to say, this isn't a restaurant I would recommend (especially on a weekend for brunch) or ever return to.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We drove two hours away to meet up with friends and before I made reservations they said for cinco DeMayo they where going to have specials I have made reservations 8 pm didn't get my table 20 minutes later and the restrooms very dirty it was a very awful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The family I dined with had been to El Torito before, so we went there on their asking. The service was STAGGERINGLY slow, with only one or two waitresses working. Our waitress walked past our table several times, stating that she'd "be right back," and then went to other tables to take their order, chat, box up their left overs, etc. There were plenty of runners and bussers that could have helped her with some of the tasks, including cleaning the tables that sat dirty, but it didn't happen. The food was mediocre at best. We ordered the table side guacamole spicy and it was extremely bland and expensive. The 6 year old just wanted plain rice and we asked the waitress specifically for that. They brought out green-colored cilantro rice and then told us, at that point, that was the best they could do. The food was over-priced for the quality and experience. The only part of the meal I enjoyed was the Mesquite-grilled pineapple margarita. I would sit at the bar for drinks, but I won't return for a meal in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sunday Brunch is between 11:00 - 2:00. We went to the buffet at 12:30, and practicality all the dishes were empty. I ended up with an omelette and a few sides left at the buffet.
An ayce should never have empty dishes. All dishes should be monitored and filled when necessary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a reservation and had a wait of 20-30 minutes with no apology . For business lunches not acceptable.

Would appreciate a call if reservation cannot be fulfilled.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Took over a half hour for someone to take our order. This only happened after I asked to either be moved to a different section or have another server assigned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service has declined. This was our go to place for years. Tortilla was not offered as in the past. Honey for hot tea was provided in a salsa pot. The list goes on. I hope they fix this because I would hate for the location to close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our regular, fantastic waiter, Alberto, was not working. After waiting nearly five minutes without a hostess, a waiter gave us a table. Although our waiter was excellent, the romaine salad and chicken barbecue salad, our favorites, did not have the usual distinctive respective dressings, and the chicken was tough. The kid that tossed the tableside romaine chicken salad was a careless amateur. Our waiter empathathized when we commented on the removal of the honey butter for the tortillas . He says he hears the same from more than half of his customers. A disappointing meal at one of our favorite lunch spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was quality and worth the wait. Came with a party of 8 and Everyone enjoyed their meal. I took a star off for the wait. Server was slammed and it took 30 minutes to get our meal. But with a pile of fresh made tortillas and baskets of chips and drinks kept filled until lunch arrived kept us happy. Not El Torito's pronto lunch but the food is so much better and if you are not in a rush it's a gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We were early; hardly anyone there. Our food took a long time; two of the dishes were served room temperature. The sauce had formed a film and the beans looked like they had sat out for several minutes. They should have been served as soon as they were ready. The two dishes that were grilled entrees came hot. Pretty disappointed. The service was good, refilled beverages promptly, and guacamole was tasty.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I especially loved dining at El Torrito because the waiter was perfect. I told him that we were going to the theater & needed to leave by a certain time & he truly heard it & we had a wonderful inner & got to the Performing Arts theater on time? The food was great!
Thank you!
Natalia Romana

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have been here for brunch a few times. They do not come by much to bring drinks, or ask if you need anything. Also many of the areas, such as carving station and taco station has no staff at it for most of the time I was there.
The waiter visited with friends nearby instead of coming by.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Always a "Win Win" experience! Everyone in our group enjoyed the food, drinks and the ambiance. Service was attentive and timely.
El Torito Grill is always a good Choice!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

El Torito Grill - never disappoints with homemade tortilla's and salsa's (and honey butter!). I've never ordered anything I didn't love. Yummy ❤

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was cold, tortillas didn't seem like they were fully cooked. Carne Asada was over cooked, dry. The manager stopped by and asked how everything was, we told him about the cold food and he did offer to fix it but at that point, meal was half eaten. This used to be a favorite spot, food used to stand out and now, it just seems like they have given up. Server and staff were very friendly but not enough to overcome the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The staff did a wonderful job and food was outstanding

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a table for 8 - fit all perfectly, very accommodating and in a great location of the restaurant. It was for a new hire and we wanted to make him feel at home his first day at our company. El Torito Grill was a perfect choice as we're in the same business complex and he will know where to go for a nice sit down lunch or for Happy Hour after work. A very nice "dining choice" introduction for a new employee indeed. Also, our waiter was wonderful - very helpful and prompt service.

Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Cannot recommend this restaurant. Very poor service and the food was not as good as when we had previously visited. Meats and other buffet items were dried out, and didn't have much flavor. Had to ask many times for our server to get or refill drinks and clear off plates. Would likely not go again, even though price was reasonable for buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

our waiter was too busy to check on us, we never got refills on our drinks! We were celebrating a birthday and were never acknowledged or asked if we would want dessert or to celebrate the occassion we had a big present at the table!! kind of obvious!! the waiter just brought the check! :) BOOOOOO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great place to bring a date or your wife. The tortillas are fabulous and keep on coming. Don't forget to prefer the table side guacamole.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very nice place ! I love Joel !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Ran out of tortillas right away. Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

El Torito was outstanding for a birthday celebration for a large group. If you're looking for a room to celebrate go to el torito. The staff was wonderful and helpful

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.