About El Torito Grill - Irvine

1910 Main St
Irvine, CA 92614
View Larger Map

El Torito Grill features specialty menu items created by the Company's executive chef, Pepe Lopez, including mesquite broiled fish and steaks, as well as Mexican combination platters. Salads and soups are also available for both lunch and dinner. To compliment the range of specialty items, El Torito Grill offers a wide selection of upscale margaritas, in addition to a complete list of Mexican beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm;

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(949) 975-1220

Website:
http://www.etgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Pepe lopez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

El Torito Grill - Irvine
El Torito Grill - Irvine
Scallop Ceviche
Salsas
Filet Mignon And Shrimp Enchilada
fish tacos
Flan
Especial De La Casa
Chipotle Bbq Shrimp
Carnitas Yucatan
Chips & Guacamole Dip
Duck Confit Chile Relleno
Steak Fajitas
Chipoltle Bbq Shrimp In Jalapeno Butter
NY Steak
BBQ ribs
Deep Fried Ice Cream Ball

Private Dining

Treat your guests to an FLAVOR EVOLUTION experience!

El Torito Grill - Irvine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (23)
good for groups (23)
great for brunch (13)
See All
special occasion (8)
kid-friendly (8)
fit for foodies (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (2)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We wanted to have Mexican food for a gro ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

We wanted to have Mexican food for a group where kids would be dining. The restaurant had many large groups dining. Our waiter was good but he had too many tables so he ran around the entire meal trying to help everyone else. The food was okay- the green rice threw everyone at the table off though I have to say. Also, please offer refried beans in addition to black beans. No one at our table liked black beans. Price was reasonable.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Outside of their delicious homemade tort ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outside of their delicious homemade tortillas and orange butter...the food is uninspired. Used to be better. We were all disappointed. :(

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Honestly it is all about the tortillas. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Honestly it is all about the tortillas. They are great. Service is often so-so; this time no different. Food was good. Not great but that is okay.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This particulate El Torito Grill has bec ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This particulate El Torito Grill has become a favorite dining spot for us. This restaurant has fantastic food and great service. They are also a good place to get a last minute reservation on a Friday or Saturday night. They primarily serve a business crowd because of their location - often very busy for weekday lunches and dinners, but weekends, not so crowded. They do have a Sunday brunch, which I have not yet tried, but it does draw a big crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The chips tasted terrible. They needed t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The chips tasted terrible. They needed to change the oil or something and we almost could not eat them and we got guacamole. Then 2 of us got the romaine salad they prepare at the table - why do you prepare it at the table. The waitress kept getting interrupted and I got a huge amount of salad and chicken and my friend got 1/2 of what I got. Just not consistent. The food was good but the chips. We did like the tortillas. They put 10 of us at 2 tables and we had to ask for another table, we just did not have enough room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I gave the waiter a gift card and he che ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I gave the waiter a gift card and he cheated me out of $30.00. I will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Overpriced, not special. We did the Brun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overpriced, not special. We did the Brunch Buffet - much of the food was cold, meat not done properly. things were either under cooked or over cooked. Long lines, long waits. Kind of an all around bad dining experience of a $30 per person breakfast. Felt ripped off. We will not be going there again. the fresh tortillas were nice, though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

It was Father's Day and we were seated i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was Father's Day and we were seated in the bar. Our server couldn't have done more to make our visit memorable - got us coffee right away, brought an appetizer to our table and anything else we asked.

The brunch was delightful; the ambiance couldn't have been better. It was a very hot day, but the temperature in the restaurant was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good for lunch with staff. Hot t ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always good for lunch with staff. Hot tortillas always a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great lunch

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I understand it was Mother's Day and a b ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I understand it was Mother's Day and a busy weekend. We made a reservation to avoid the long wait. When we arrived we were told it's a 10 minute wait. 30 minutes later we asked again how much longer they said 15minutes. 10 minutes later I asked she said 10 more minutes. I said its already been 40 minutes and now I'm waiting another 10 minutes. Not acceptable. When others who arrived after us who also had a reservation were taken before my family. Hopefully this was only because of the busy holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Mothers Day

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. Great service and good selection of food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite local spots, for really good Mexican food. The fresh tortillas with butter and salsa beats a basket of chips any day. Today we celebrated Mothers Day (a day early). Although they were very busy, the service and attention to deal was superb, and the food and drinks were wonderful. We'll be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating Employee's 25th Anniversary

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My employee chose this restaurant for her 25th anniversary dinner and invited 25 of her coworkers to help her celebrate.

The restaurant was very accommodating and had everything set up as I requested. My employees felt right at home once they arrived and had a very good experience.

The restaurant was very well kept with a very comfortable atmosphere. The waitresses/waiters were very helpful and took very good care of my Team. The food was delicious and it came very fast after we completed ordering.

Thank you for an outstanding experience!

Anthony

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual Lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Been going to this location for about 10 years now. Always good food, atmosphere, service and the best handmade tortillas. My go to lunch spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food and quick seating . The ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Decent food and quick seating . The service was a bit spotty. Our food arrived fast and was good.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The New El Torito Grill

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We have eaten at the El Torito Grill for Years now - Always enjoyable. They have a "New" look for 2016 - Nice, Clean, and Fresh. The Total Package for Bruch. The Food was Excellent and the service for Bunch "Deserves" a Tip.... Very Well Done El Torito!!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food!! Beautiful location!! Few mon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food!! Beautiful location!! Few monents away from the airport

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hadn't been back in years

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had to pick up a family member at SNA, did a quick check of what was available in the area and picked the Grill. Food was quite good, however the waiter told us the special was salmon (I questioned him twice why salmon on the menu and a salmon special--Salmon, he says)...well it turns out the special was Sea Bass, which would have definitely been our preference.

Also if you are looking for wine, ask for the wine list from the bar. It offers more choices than the waiter offered.

I have to say, the waiter was very attentive but not overly so. He was great, but the language barrier was a bit of an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food but nothing special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

First the price range, I wish this place could have been bettere. I had heard good things about it but I was personally uninmpressed. I've had much better Mexican food before and I was high expectations. The restaurant decor was outdated and in major need of a facelift. The one good thing about our experience was that the food came out really fast. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and noted it on our reservation. We also notified the host about it. After eating, the next thing that happened was our check getting dropped off. At that point we didn't say anything and just left.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Service and food are phenomenal!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My fiancé and I usually go to The El Torito Grill for dinner, but we decided to try the brunch. We were not disappointed. Such a large selection of food and beverages and as always, our waiter was fantastic. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was easy to book using open table.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Our waiter was extremely rude and unpleasant. He never bothered to check in on us once. He basically came to take our order and that was it. It was embarrassing to say the least because this was a celebration for my bosses birthday that I set up. Needless to say we will never be returning! Worst service ever!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

great food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. I will definitely return again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food good but a bit pricy

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Loved the tortillas and flan, and would come just for those! Entres were so-so and I thought a bit pricy

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Dissapointed

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

I was expecting food that was better than El Torito..... but everything was awful. The tortilla soup was full of cilantro that overpowered the dish. The entrees were awful and overprices for rice and cheese.

Not recommended to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Always perfect!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No so good...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

Must have been a bad day for them. It wasn't that busy but the waiter was very rushed and not very friendly. I have dined here several times and loved it but wasn't pleased this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

I expected more

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Outside and inside appearance was fabulous, server was excellent and very accommodating but food was a let down. I needed coaching on how and why to eat warm plain tortillas with honey butter or salsa (why??) and the shrimp enchiladas were disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Not the best experience

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Went here on a Friday night at 6:45 as my husband wanted nachos/Mexican. Brought along our three children ages 1, 2, and 4. Our drink order took about ten minutes post-order to come out, and they forgot one of the them. Took another five minutes for them to bring the last one out. They brought only one thing of tortillas to us the entire time, and no butter ever. They brought me a different meal than the one I ordered, which I just had to eat because I couldn't wait for a replacement. When they delivered the food, no one noticed that we didn't have silverware (and walked away before we could say something). So even when we had food, we couldn't eat it. Had to flag someone down to get utensils. Service was just not that great. Whenever we needed anything, i.e. a refill, a spoon, we had to flag someone over. Since there was plenty of waitstaff, I got the sense they just didn't want to be serving us. Perhaps due to kids (although they were extremely well-behaved)? Don't know, can't say, but won't be going back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Sunday brunch buffet was fantastic!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Sunday brunch buffet was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I ordered a salad with steak and asked f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

I ordered a salad with steak and asked for it medium rare. It was medium well done. Next Time I guess I'll order it rare.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love the Sunday brunch!! Every time we g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Love the Sunday brunch!! Every time we go to southern Cali we stop for sure! They just changed the price but so worth it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great re-vamp of the Sunday brunch. A l ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Great re-vamp of the Sunday brunch. A lot of thought went into this. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They did not have our open table reservation

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

They told us they haven't heard of Open table reservations and did not have any reservations for us but seated us anyway because they had empty tables, HOWEVER if they were busy I don't believe they would have seated us. None of the hostesses or employees knew what open table was or how it works. You guys might want to check on that

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Delicious food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Delicious food, outstanding service and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good enough

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

The food was decent and so was the service. I got shrimp enchiladas and they were pretty tasty. Cadillac margarita was alright. Waiter was really good, considering we had a large party. I tipped very well for that reason.

The problem was with the hostesses. I made this reservation on OpenTable and got the confirmation. We arrived and they claimed to have no such reservation in their system. Not only that, they had no idea what OpenTable was. I showed the confirmation email, and they said it was for the right restaurant, but the don't use OpenTable. Nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A celebration

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 24, 2015

We had a group of nine celebrating a recent graduation, and thought ET would be a great place to celebrate. Every one liked their food and the service was excellent. We stayed for 1 1/2 hours and did not feel rushed at all, although it was the lunch hour for most patrons. Thank you ET for making my day to be with my children and grandchildren!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Business meeting Lunch

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

Food was great- Service was a little slow but it was busy for the lunch crowd. Noise was a little loud but died down after the crowds left. Over all good experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had Some Issues, But Overall, it was Great!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

So... Our party of 4 was looking for a bite between matches for the Junior Olympics. We headed here and apparently got caught in some kind of brunch-isn't-quite-over-yet-but-real-lunch-hasn't-started limbo. We were told we could order off the regular menu since brunch was supposed to be over, but instead, they kept brunch going and our food just wasn't coming out. We REALLY needed to leave, and it was taking forever. The manager came over and was a bit snippy, but we were all a little frustrated, so it was all good. Ultimately, my cousin was given a couple chicken tacos to power him through his water polo match, and our food was boxed to go. They took 25% off for the inconvenience, which was very generous and appreciated. Once we were actually able to eat, the food was tasty as usual. I'd definitely come back again... Just not on a Sunday! ;-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I am a fan and eat at El Torito on a reg ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2015

I am a fan and eat at El Torito on a regular basis. I find that my enjoyment can be made or not made by the server. This visit was less than perfect. Our Tortillas were served in a plain white napkin not a dish. I asked for sour cream with my taquitos, our drinks were not refilled timely and our server was not attentive. On the upside, the food was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.