About El Torito Grill - Irvine

El Torito Grill features specialty menu items created by the Company's executive chef, Pepe Lopez, including mesquite broiled fish and steaks, as well as Mexican combination platters. Salads and soups are also available for both lunch and dinner. To compliment the range of specialty items, El Torito Grill offers a wide selection of upscale margaritas, in addition to a complete list of Mexican beers and cocktails.

1910 Main St
Irvine, CA 92614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm;

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(949) 975-1220

Website:
http://www.etgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Pepe lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Treat your guests to an FLAVOR EVOLUTION experience!

El Torito Grill - Irvine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

The staff did a wonderful job and food was outstanding

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a table for 8 - fit all perfectly, very accommodating and in a great location of the restaurant. It was for a new hire and we wanted to make him feel at home his first day at our company. El Torito Grill was a perfect choice as we're in the same business complex and he will know where to go for a nice sit down lunch or for Happy Hour after work. A very nice "dining choice" introduction for a new employee indeed. Also, our waiter was wonderful - very helpful and prompt service.

Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Cannot recommend this restaurant. Very poor service and the food was not as good as when we had previously visited. Meats and other buffet items were dried out, and didn't have much flavor. Had to ask many times for our server to get or refill drinks and clear off plates. Would likely not go again, even though price was reasonable for buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

our waiter was too busy to check on us, we never got refills on our drinks! We were celebrating a birthday and were never acknowledged or asked if we would want dessert or to celebrate the occassion we had a big present at the table!! kind of obvious!! the waiter just brought the check! :) BOOOOOO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place to bring a date or your wife. The tortillas are fabulous and keep on coming. Don't forget to prefer the table side guacamole.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice place ! I love Joel !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ran out of tortillas right away. Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

El Torito was outstanding for a birthday celebration for a large group. If you're looking for a room to celebrate go to el torito. The staff was wonderful and helpful

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

showed up 15 minutes early, had no reservation under my name or anyones name or email. somewhat polite, had to wait for a table, service ok at best, food cold at best, daughter wanted a burrito with beans, had to walk to another area to get beans for a burrito at the burrito station, same thing with making a taco. crab legs, why even bother, all soups cold. total disappointment and waste of time and money. sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful time during our recent visit to El Torito Grill. The food was excellent as always, and the service was wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food. Taco Tuesday was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I've been coming to this El Torito Grill for the last 9 years, and it's usually a great place to go since it's close to my office. I had lunch here today with two of my colleagues and I must say, I was disappointed. Two of us ordered the chicken tortilla soup, it should have been named vegetable soup instead. There wasn't one piece of chicken in either of our soups, and maybe a couple strips of what might pass for tortilla chips. It wasn't very busy but our server was not very attentive to our table. We had to remind him several times for things (i.e., drink refill, etc.). By the time he came to our table and we told him about our soup, he offered to add a side of chicken which was nice but we declined the offer. I gave this visit 2 stars but that's only because my carnitas taco was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Really awful experience especially considering it was Christmas Day. We had to ask three times for napkins and silverware, even after we had food, and then no steak knives. Had to ask twice for salad dressing, twice for cocktail sauce for the shrimp, and then it was served partially frozen. Food that supposed to hot was served cool. Health laws anyone? Never ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food and service were great. Enjoyed the tableside guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Mesquite grilled steak and salmon were great! As always, the warm tortillas and salsa are delicious! Roomy and the restaurant has awesome character with the fresh made tortillas being made in view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Alberto's customer service orientation is unsurpassed. He always makes sure we have an excellent meal and experience at ETG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I met a friend for our annual Xmas luncheon. We both ordered the Caesar salad and it was delicious, fresh romaine cut at our table and the chicken was grilled perfectly. The service was excellent and he always had a smile on his face. We definitely will be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Paid 10.5 to park...would be nice if they would have asked us we parked and needed validation.....probably best reason we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We never go wrong with el torito grill. Fresh made tortillas and home made churros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I realize that this is a self service buffet. However, we did have a server, Carlos, who was very inattentive as far as refills for mimosas and clearing the table of used plates. Restaurant itself needs sprucing up. Leather on seats in booths worn away; restrooms for women not maintained. Food was okay. Would not go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This El Torito Grilll use to have excellent food. No more. I don't know what has changed, but the quality and taste of the food for my last two visits is was poor. (The hot tortillas were excellent as always. ). I hope the management can fix the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were a little surprised to be seated close to bar area, but found out there was a 40 person party in dining room, so we understood. Food more than made up for it!!!!! Thank you for a very nice night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, nice ambiance; terrible hostesses too busy chatting to offer anything like customer service or warm welcomes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

You can't beat the carne asada here. Always good. We had a great lunch and we were able to comfortably discuss business without it being too loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Noisy!!!! Couldn't carry on a conversation. We sat in the bar area which was a mistake. Food is inexpensive, and fair. Fun place if you like noisy sports bars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We found the food to be mediocre and the service below average. There was only one set-up for our party of four, and when brought to the server's attention, he returned with two more (one short). Entrees delivered with no tortillas, and when we requested them, it took at least five minutes to get them, at which time food was getting cold. All in all, not a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had been to this location several times in the past and last Friday was not a good experience.

From the table not being clean and the waiter seeming to be put out when I asked it to be cleaned to the dirty bathroom and even one stall was broken.

I'm not going back. It was a very slow night and seemed to be an off night for the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Awesome. Really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've dined here a number of times but service was very poor this time, possibly due to lack of staff during the long holiday weekend. My sister's enchilada was burnt on the grill platter and the server hesitated to notice or even replace it. This was a birthday for my husband and my dad, but there was no special birthday treatment. It just turned out to be a regular, not so enjoyable lunch. Thought the server had a bit of an attitude not towards us, but possibly because she did not want to work the long holiday weekend. Although, I do have to say that the table was all set up for us when we arrived to allow us room to place an infant carrier. Coming to Sunday Brunch is typically much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very good food and service at very good prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Busier than usual, but service and food made up for the late serving

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was not so good tast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Alberto is an outstanding, attentive waiter. We always as for him.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good place to go for a birthday celebration. Food was served promptly and hot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was terrible. Our waiter disappeared after taking our order. We were never asked how our food was or if we wanted more water or drinks. We had to get up from the table to find the manager to get our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We wanted to have Mexican food for a group where kids would be dining. The restaurant had many large groups dining. Our waiter was good but he had too many tables so he ran around the entire meal trying to help everyone else. The food was okay- the green rice threw everyone at the table off though I have to say. Also, please offer refried beans in addition to black beans. No one at our table liked black beans. Price was reasonable.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outside of their delicious homemade tortillas and orange butter...the food is uninspired. Used to be better. We were all disappointed. :(

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Terrific place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Honestly it is all about the tortillas. They are great. Service is often so-so; this time no different. Food was good. Not great but that is okay.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2016

This particulate El Torito Grill has become a favorite dining spot for us. This restaurant has fantastic food and great service. They are also a good place to get a last minute reservation on a Friday or Saturday night. They primarily serve a business crowd because of their location - often very busy for weekday lunches and dinners, but weekends, not so crowded. They do have a Sunday brunch, which I have not yet tried, but it does draw a big crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The chips tasted terrible. They needed to change the oil or something and we almost could not eat them and we got guacamole. Then 2 of us got the romaine salad they prepare at the table - why do you prepare it at the table. The waitress kept getting interrupted and I got a huge amount of salad and chicken and my friend got 1/2 of what I got. Just not consistent. The food was good but the chips. We did like the tortillas. They put 10 of us at 2 tables and we had to ask for another table, we just did not have enough room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I gave the waiter a gift card and he cheated me out of $30.00. I will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overpriced, not special. We did the Brunch Buffet - much of the food was cold, meat not done properly. things were either under cooked or over cooked. Long lines, long waits. Kind of an all around bad dining experience of a $30 per person breakfast. Felt ripped off. We will not be going there again. the fresh tortillas were nice, though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was Father's Day and we were seated in the bar. Our server couldn't have done more to make our visit memorable - got us coffee right away, brought an appetizer to our table and anything else we asked.

The brunch was delightful; the ambiance couldn't have been better. It was a very hot day, but the temperature in the restaurant was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always good for lunch with staff. Hot tortillas always a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2016

We can always count on great food at this location. Our group was a party of 10 and they easily had room for larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.