About El Torito Grill - Irvine

El Torito Grill features specialty menu items created by the Company's executive chef, Pepe Lopez, including mesquite broiled fish and steaks, as well as Mexican combination platters. Salads and soups are also available for both lunch and dinner. To compliment the range of specialty items, El Torito Grill offers a wide selection of upscale margaritas, in addition to a complete list of Mexican beers and cocktails.

1910 Main St
Irvine, CA 92614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 9:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm;

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(949) 975-1220

Website:
http://www.etgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Pepe lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Treat your guests to an FLAVOR EVOLUTION experience!

El Torito Grill - Irvine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Business Meals (4)
See All
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I especially loved dining at El Torrito because the waiter was perfect. I told him that we were going to the theater & needed to leave by a certain time & he truly heard it & we had a wonderful inner & got to the Performing Arts theater on time? The food was great!
Thank you!
Natalia Romana

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have been here for brunch a few times. They do not come by much to bring drinks, or ask if you need anything. Also many of the areas, such as carving station and taco station has no staff at it for most of the time I was there.
The waiter visited with friends nearby instead of coming by.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Always a "Win Win" experience! Everyone in our group enjoyed the food, drinks and the ambiance. Service was attentive and timely.
El Torito Grill is always a good Choice!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

El Torito Grill - never disappoints with homemade tortilla's and salsa's (and honey butter!). I've never ordered anything I didn't love. Yummy ❤

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was cold, tortillas didn't seem like they were fully cooked. Carne Asada was over cooked, dry. The manager stopped by and asked how everything was, we told him about the cold food and he did offer to fix it but at that point, meal was half eaten. This used to be a favorite spot, food used to stand out and now, it just seems like they have given up. Server and staff were very friendly but not enough to overcome the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The staff did a wonderful job and food was outstanding

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a table for 8 - fit all perfectly, very accommodating and in a great location of the restaurant. It was for a new hire and we wanted to make him feel at home his first day at our company. El Torito Grill was a perfect choice as we're in the same business complex and he will know where to go for a nice sit down lunch or for Happy Hour after work. A very nice "dining choice" introduction for a new employee indeed. Also, our waiter was wonderful - very helpful and prompt service.

Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Cannot recommend this restaurant. Very poor service and the food was not as good as when we had previously visited. Meats and other buffet items were dried out, and didn't have much flavor. Had to ask many times for our server to get or refill drinks and clear off plates. Would likely not go again, even though price was reasonable for buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

our waiter was too busy to check on us, we never got refills on our drinks! We were celebrating a birthday and were never acknowledged or asked if we would want dessert or to celebrate the occassion we had a big present at the table!! kind of obvious!! the waiter just brought the check! :) BOOOOOO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place to bring a date or your wife. The tortillas are fabulous and keep on coming. Don't forget to prefer the table side guacamole.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice place ! I love Joel !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ran out of tortillas right away. Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

El Torito was outstanding for a birthday celebration for a large group. If you're looking for a room to celebrate go to el torito. The staff was wonderful and helpful

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

showed up 15 minutes early, had no reservation under my name or anyones name or email. somewhat polite, had to wait for a table, service ok at best, food cold at best, daughter wanted a burrito with beans, had to walk to another area to get beans for a burrito at the burrito station, same thing with making a taco. crab legs, why even bother, all soups cold. total disappointment and waste of time and money. sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful time during our recent visit to El Torito Grill. The food was excellent as always, and the service was wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food. Taco Tuesday was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I've been coming to this El Torito Grill for the last 9 years, and it's usually a great place to go since it's close to my office. I had lunch here today with two of my colleagues and I must say, I was disappointed. Two of us ordered the chicken tortilla soup, it should have been named vegetable soup instead. There wasn't one piece of chicken in either of our soups, and maybe a couple strips of what might pass for tortilla chips. It wasn't very busy but our server was not very attentive to our table. We had to remind him several times for things (i.e., drink refill, etc.). By the time he came to our table and we told him about our soup, he offered to add a side of chicken which was nice but we declined the offer. I gave this visit 2 stars but that's only because my carnitas taco was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Really awful experience especially considering it was Christmas Day. We had to ask three times for napkins and silverware, even after we had food, and then no steak knives. Had to ask twice for salad dressing, twice for cocktail sauce for the shrimp, and then it was served partially frozen. Food that supposed to hot was served cool. Health laws anyone? Never ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food and service were great. Enjoyed the tableside guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Mesquite grilled steak and salmon were great! As always, the warm tortillas and salsa are delicious! Roomy and the restaurant has awesome character with the fresh made tortillas being made in view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Alberto's customer service orientation is unsurpassed. He always makes sure we have an excellent meal and experience at ETG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I met a friend for our annual Xmas luncheon. We both ordered the Caesar salad and it was delicious, fresh romaine cut at our table and the chicken was grilled perfectly. The service was excellent and he always had a smile on his face. We definitely will be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Paid 10.5 to park...would be nice if they would have asked us we parked and needed validation.....probably best reason we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We never go wrong with el torito grill. Fresh made tortillas and home made churros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I realize that this is a self service buffet. However, we did have a server, Carlos, who was very inattentive as far as refills for mimosas and clearing the table of used plates. Restaurant itself needs sprucing up. Leather on seats in booths worn away; restrooms for women not maintained. Food was okay. Would not go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This El Torito Grilll use to have excellent food. No more. I don't know what has changed, but the quality and taste of the food for my last two visits is was poor. (The hot tortillas were excellent as always. ). I hope the management can fix the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were a little surprised to be seated close to bar area, but found out there was a 40 person party in dining room, so we understood. Food more than made up for it!!!!! Thank you for a very nice night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, nice ambiance; terrible hostesses too busy chatting to offer anything like customer service or warm welcomes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

You can't beat the carne asada here. Always good. We had a great lunch and we were able to comfortably discuss business without it being too loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Noisy!!!! Couldn't carry on a conversation. We sat in the bar area which was a mistake. Food is inexpensive, and fair. Fun place if you like noisy sports bars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We found the food to be mediocre and the service below average. There was only one set-up for our party of four, and when brought to the server's attention, he returned with two more (one short). Entrees delivered with no tortillas, and when we requested them, it took at least five minutes to get them, at which time food was getting cold. All in all, not a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had been to this location several times in the past and last Friday was not a good experience.
From the table not being clean and the waiter seeming to be put out when I asked it to be cleaned to the dirty bathroom and even one stall was broken.
I'm not going back. It was a very slow night and seemed to be an off night for the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Awesome. Really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've dined here a number of times but service was very poor this time, possibly due to lack of staff during the long holiday weekend. My sister's enchilada was burnt on the grill platter and the server hesitated to notice or even replace it. This was a birthday for my husband and my dad, but there was no special birthday treatment. It just turned out to be a regular, not so enjoyable lunch. Thought the server had a bit of an attitude not towards us, but possibly because she did not want to work the long holiday weekend. Although, I do have to say that the table was all set up for us when we arrived to allow us room to place an infant carrier. Coming to Sunday Brunch is typically much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very good food and service at very good prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Busier than usual, but service and food made up for the late serving

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was not so good tast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.