El Torito Grill - Irvine

4.3
291 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin / Spanish
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Good for Groups
  • Business Meals
El Torito Grill features specialty menu items created by the Company's executive chef, Pepe Lopez, including mesquite broiled fish and steaks, as well as Mexican combination platters. Salads and soups are also available for both lunch and dinner. To compliment the range of specialty items, El Torito Grill offers a wide selection of upscale margaritas, in addition to a complete list of Mexican beers and cocktails.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin / Spanish, Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 2pm- 10pm

Sunday Brunch:
9:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(949) 975-1220
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pepe lopez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Treat your guests to an FLAVOR EVOLUTION experience!

View Private Dining Details
What 291 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great Brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I don’t know what they put in their table tortillas but they are ridiculously delicious and one of the reasons my wife picked here to have our anniversary dinner. Add the table side guacamole and it’s darn near heaven.

Each of us had fabulous entrees and the service, the great Norma, was marvelous. We had a beautiful dinner and a marvelous experience. Highly, highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The manager and staff did everything imaginable to make our son’s birthday a blast! Happy, upbeat mood and service. Great homemade tortillas as free starter!😋

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great brunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

we were at the restaurant 10 min before the reservation time,
but we needed to wait for 35 min to be seated.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We had a waiter that seemed like he was very new. He could not seem to manage his workload. The restaurant was very busy, but it took over an hour to get our appetizer and about 1.5 hours to get our food--after we complained. 2 tables around us came and went in the time we were there. We called the manager over. He apologized and said he'd "make things right". He sent the chef out. Two of the 4 people at our table still hadn't received their food when he came. We were all sitting and waiting, and he kept asking how we like the food. We had to tell him several times that we were still waiting on the food--like they didn't notice 2 people didn't have food in front of them. He eventually did manage to scare up the 2 entree salads we were waiting on. It was crazy. My food was cold by the time we got to eat. When they brought the bill, it was full price even though the manager said he'd "make things right". We asked about it, and eventually (after another long wait) they knocked 30% off, which was nice after a 2 hour wait for cold food. I got home to find that the restaurant had reported as as "no shows" to Open Table even though we told them 2 times that we had reservations, they took our names and a special hostess sat us. No, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, and I won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Haven't been to ET in a long time. Went with fellow workers and it was great, especially the service. Ordered the guacamole which is made table side - wish we had ordered two!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Had to ask for the warm tortillas, which are a big reason for going here. Food was pretty good, and not too noisy on a Monday night

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Terrible place.
Dirty plates, bowls, utensils.
Warm water no ice, paid $70 for two people for the brunch ate two tacos and a salad.
Everything was empty.

Management and service was terrible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We always love having our brunches at el toritos. The employees treat us like we are all family and brunch lots of fun. Food is excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

One of favorite places to eat when we visit this area. Love the homemade tortillas and the salmon.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I met a friend who I hadn't seen in a long time. I had only an hour since I was on my lunchtime and I asked our server at least 3 times for an item, which he NEVER brought. He never refilled our water glasses, and it was a hot day, he never checked on us, or refilled our tortillas or condiments ... we had to track him down to get our bill. It was a very unpleasant experience and the restaurant was not that busy. I don't know why our server was so unpleasant with us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The server didn’t come to take the empty dishes, the chips were stale, and the it felt like we were bothering him every time we needed his attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

El Torito Grill changed their menu so many of my favorite choices were not available. I tried something new and it was good. I guess it just means I have to try the new items.

I did ask if I could have them make my favorite carne asada plate, but they said no. I was disappointed in that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

In addition to great food....the service was terrific....and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Awesome happy hour, great customer service and great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

El Torito Grill has top notch food. The staff is excellent and the food superb! My only complaint is that there are not more El Torito Grills. I drive about 45 miles to visit the El Totito Grill in Irvine nor that the one near my home closed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This restaurant was fantastic as always. Its hard not to fill up on the fresh tortillas. The shrimp diabla is amazing. I get it everytime.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Seated in the bar area for happy hour and had lots of fun and the server and bar tender was very nice to me and my family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Took a few out of town guests. Everyone was happy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Always a solid experience, gracias huevones.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Service was just ok, seemed like everything was rushed but yet got little service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Love their brunch and the food is always delicious. Very friendly staff and Wences is our favorite waiter!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

My favorite thing is the Sunday brunch buffet. They have burrito, quesadilla, waffle and omelette stations. So many delicious dishes like carnitas, red snapper, enchiladas, ceviche, flan, and the delicious corn cake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Better than regular El Torito. I thought the handmade tortilla was awesome. As for the food the rice, shrimp dishes all had lot of butter to it.....excessive amount used. Entré shirmp dish was super salty and again heavily cooked with butter. I ordered shrimp soft tacos and it was good....but again cooked with lot of butter. WHAT's with all this butter????

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

I had a salad and found a marble in it. Fortunately I did not bite down on the glass marble. We reported it to the waiter who brought the manager over. They removed the salad from our check.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our whole table thought the food was bland. No flavor whatsoever. Would I dine here again. No I wouldn't.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

The food was great. I ordered the romaine salad with grilled chicken and the habanero vinigarette. It was not spicy. The service was slow, but they were busy for lunch. I would go back again. It has been awhile since I was there, but I do highly recommend it. The home made tortillas are handmade fresh daily.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

One of our favorites

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 11, 2018

We went for an employee anniversary lunch - great food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 10, 2018

The carne Asada was a little too salty. FYI.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Very good food. Although you pay $30 per person which is kind of a lot for what it is. They have the tortillas section (taco, burrito...), drinks, dessert, a small buffet and meat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Excellent service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Always a treat coming here. The fresh tortillas are the best thing in the world. Service is always very good. I wish there were more of these still around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Everything was fine until we were asked to pay the bill in the midst of our meal (I was already done but my colleague wasn’t for another 15-20 mins) because the server had to go on break. Server indicated she can’t go on break while there’s an open bill. If this is a company policy, consider changing it or have alternative process in place so as to not inconvenience your guests. We had to Uber elsewhere to have desert.

I want it noted that the server was great and attentive. The food were tasty. Just that one interruption to pay the bill before everyone we were done eating ruined the mood for the rest of our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Very disappointing that they decided to unstaff or not care about maintaining the buffet on Xmas day. I love El Torito but this place needs help, no wonder it was like a graveyard there that day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Service was really good and stick with taco Tuesday- the tacos have homemade tortillas and try the pickled beets

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Love this place! One of our family favorites! Will definitely keep coming back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

I reluctantly add this information to my review, but after having frequented El Torito Grill restaurants over the last 20 years or so, I have noticed that the Irvine location seems to be slipping backwards in terms of service levels and food quality. It appears that they may be understaffed and thus left searching or calling-out for assistance during our meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Serves large groups which make way too much noise, spoils dinner for smaller parties.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8