About El Pinto

10500 4th St NW
Albuquerque, NM 87114
View Larger Map

Nestled in the ancient cottonwoods in the North Valley of Abq, El Pinto was founded with eight tables in 1962. Twin brothers John and Jim Thomas carry on the family tradition and have expanded El Pinto into the quintessential "Spot" for healthy and fresh made New Mexican cuisine. Come experience an authentic Taste of New Mexico.

Freshness is throughout El Pinto with the cuisine made from scratch each morning. El Pinto uses chile from Hatch, NM that is fire-roasted and hand-peeled, new beans from southern CO, healthy sunflower oil when making chips and frying, Celtic sea salt for seasoning, and numerous local organic ingredients when in season.

A vermiculture project on site processes food scraps creating a nutrient rich "tea." The bokashi composting project processes 600 lbs of food waste weekly. The “tea” and compost are combined with effective microorganisms for a herbicide and pesticide free fertilizer for El Pinto chile fields and organic growing.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm.

Cross Street:
Alameda Blvd NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 898-1771

Website:
http://www.elpinto.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site for individuals and tour buses.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Hancock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

El Pinto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New Mexico
Outdoor Dining
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
3 More
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (175)
Good for Groups (145)
Special Occasion (127)
See All
Great for Lunch (81)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Kid-friendly (68)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Romantic (57)
Scenic View (55)
Great for Brunch (43)
Hot Spot (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food wasn't as good as it has been i ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our food wasn't as good as it has been in the past. I ordered the same combo plate I have in the past and when it came out, it appeared it had been sitting for a while. Plus the waiter brought both green and red sauce for my enchilada, which means there was none on it. It had been prepared without any, which wasn't anything I requested. One of my sons had stuffed sopaipillas and the top of one of his was burnt. My daughter's rice on her green chicken enchilada plate was not edible. We had to wait too long for our food, approximately thirty minutes. Probably what made this visit most unsatisfactory were the four to five kids running throughout the entire outdoor patio area where we were eating. Their parents were at the other far end of the patio and it seemed as if they sent them to play elsewhere. I stopped them when they were running behind my side of the table on one of the many times, and asked them to go play somewhere else but it accomplished nothing. I then went and asked a woman in charge of seating inside the restaurant to do something about them. She pointed directly at the kids I was referring to and asked if it was them and I said yes. She said she'd go talk to them. I don't know how the wait staff was able to do their jobs due to these kids..they should've been made to stop running around when they started not when I finally went and asked someone to address the issue. Ours was a large party of nine people, celebrating my son's college graduation, so our bill was well over $200! I don't expect to have to deal with kids running around In a restaurant like this..would've been different if it was McDonald's but I've never even had that experience there. Food was not what we've experienced in the past but didn't want to have to wait another thirty minutes for them to remake it. Will think twice before returning to el pinto again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

El Pinto has a reliable menu and the set ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

El Pinto has a reliable menu and the setting is so gorgeous. We asked to be seated on an outdoor patio and we very pleased with our evening. Our margaritas and chicken enchiladas were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was the best meal we've ever had at ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was the best meal we've ever had at El Pinto-something seemed different, in a good way! Made me want to come back 2 days later!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were taking friends out for dinner an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were taking friends out for dinner and we enjoyed El Pinto. The service was great, my friends wanted to sample the green chili and the server was sweet.The food was excellent and our server brougfht extra green chi.li for my burrito. My husband was the only one to finish his dinner, the rest of us needed carry home boxes! i want to return soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love El Pinto for its relaxed outdoor di ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Love El Pinto for its relaxed outdoor dining. Delicious chile ribs and margaritas!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress was absolutely awful but the fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Waitress was absolutely awful but the food and atmosphere were great. Took three times to get the check right and actually sampled the bottled water off of the table next to us to "see what the fuss was all about".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was good as it has always been. But ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good as it has always been. But, the service was ridiculously slow. The prices had increased from our previous visit but were not reflected on the restaurant's webpage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was excellent! nline reservation ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was excellent! nline reservation was easy and we were promptly seated. Overall great atmosphere and our food arrived within 20 minutes.O

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible - we had to get ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was terrible - we had to get up and find our waiter repeatedly in order to request refills and to get water.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Wonderful setting and excellent food. Go ...

vip
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful setting and excellent food. Go again and often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service and great atmo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food, great service and great atmosphere! More on the expensive side for New Mexican food, but the ambiance is worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant. Large indoor and out ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Awesome restaurant. Large indoor and outdoor seating area. Delicious food with great spice and good margaritas.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So the sitting was fast and so was the s ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

So the sitting was fast and so was the service but the food was over priced and the chips tasted and felt old and the rice was nasty. The amount of food was small , actually very small for 18.99. Down to a rootbeer was over priced. For being spanish food is was not what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

The food, service, and ambience were all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great company. Great food. Can't get m ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great company. Great food. Can't get much better than that.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service. Great customer servi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Attentive service. Great customer service/management very responsive. Good food.

Best margarita.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was 5 star! They have a gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The ambiance was 5 star! They have a great local and GMO free business view! Fresh eggs and incredible landscape make this very unique and very fantastic place to dine. The service was mediocre at best. The salsa was beyond amazing but the rest of the food was like the service. Kids food was disgusting which was the biggest disappointment to be honest certainly far from organic or GMO free. Once the server got our order right my food was tasty but had just drops of chile in it and not the HOT I asked for. Considering the hype and price it did not meet its own reputation or standards. Not sure we will go back but maybe because the atmosphere outside is that great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Unbelievably wonderful ambiance. On a h ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unbelievably wonderful ambiance. On a hot summer day, the outdoor dining area was wonderfully cool and shady. Loved the whole experience. Salsa is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great ambience. One of my ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food. Great ambience. One of my favorite restaurants in Albuquerque. The service is outstanding. Good menu selection. Patio seating is always enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a great restaurant but when you bo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It is a great restaurant but when you book through OpenTable, after you check in they cancel your reservation. It is a great way for them to save money by not paying OpenTable, and as a patron you don’t get the points. At first I thought this was a mistake. However, this has happened almost every time I book through OpenTable and go there. It’s probably a violation of their terms and conditions with OpenTable. Dominic

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We are from Amarillo and always make sur ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We are from Amarillo and always make sure we eat at El Pinto. My daughter, granddaughter and I were in Albuquerque for a girl trip last week. We had dinner at 8:00 on the patio with a live musician. The party behind us had the most beautiful dog named Neptune with them. The dogs owner was so gracious to my granddaughter and daughter. He let them pet the dog and even showed them a video of him. On the way out, we were looking at the pictures on the wall and my daughter noticed that the men in the picture with Katy Perry were 2 of the people that sat behind us and one of them was the owner of Neptune!! Needless to say, that made our evening complete!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fine. We took friends fr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was fine. We took friends from California to dinner as it is a special place.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to El Pinto since the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have been going to El Pinto since the mid 60's. When I lived in ABQ it was at least every other

week end. Now that I live in Tucson I stop at El Pinto on every trip through ABQ. My father and I knew the Twin's parents and were there when they started El Pinto. The Twins have done a remarkable job of building an outstanding restaurant.

Please keep it up, I plan to be back.

Tom Cochran

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To start with he restaurant is very clea ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

To start with he restaurant is very clean. Staff is friendly, professional and prompt. The food is always good there but I think they do some things better than others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Resturant. Beautiful ambiance. We ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great Resturant. Beautiful ambiance. We will be back on our return trips to Albuquerque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Flying ants became very problematic caus ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Flying ants became very problematic causing us to move tables in the middle of eating. The huge swarm was unbearable

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

El Pinto was better than ever. I have b ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

El Pinto was better than ever. I have been going to El Pinto for years, and this last visit was probably the best. Our server, Emily, was lovely and prompt and thoughtful. We were given, as requested, a table outside that was fairly quiet (so my mother, who has hearing difficulties, was able to hear). Lovely setting. A perfect lunch for my friends, family and me. Thanks!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding...per usual. Foo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was outstanding...per usual. Food was delicious. Combination of both made my birthday dinner extra special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Watch out for that mild red chili. Cover ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Watch out for that mild red chili. Cover it with the guacamole, which is really good, to mask the bite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great ambiance. I see why so many people ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great ambiance. I see why so many people recommended El Pinto. Definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

El Pinto is one of our favorites in the ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

El Pinto is one of our favorites in the entire country. Having lived in Albuquerque years ago...we make El Pinto a 'must stop' whenever we're back in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The patio ambience was gorgeous with gre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The patio ambience was gorgeous with great music at an appropriate but energetic volume. Our server was wonderful and gracious. He even offered us bug spray which worked well to ward off mosquitoes. I had the chile con carne enchiladas and a fresh margarita which were delicious and quelled my craving New Mexican food while I was visiting my family from out of state. My dining companions also enjoyed their food very much, including one of the healthy eating options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic new mexican cuisine. Great fla ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Authentic new mexican cuisine. Great flavors and portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasteless, burnt food! Not a accurate re ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Tasteless, burnt food! Not a accurate representation of Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Lovely setting and our table was ready a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Lovely setting and our table was ready at our appointed time. The menu is large, although not a lot of choices for children. The food was too spicy for two of the four adults and the chili rellenos had obviously been under the warmer for awhile. The most disappointing thing about the entire meal was that sopapillas were brought to the table with the rest of the food. Needless to say, they were cold and tough by the time we were finished eating the meal. Mainly went back to this restaurant because it is a tradition. Not sure I would suggest it to others.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Attended El Pinto for my mother's birthd ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Attended El Pinto for my mother's birthday. We had a party of 13 and we were seated outside on the patio. The weather was great, it's not loud out there, the lighting is great, and more. We all had an absolutely wonderful time and the food was all delicious! We will definitely be returning and will recommend El Pinto to others.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group and there was a delay ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went with a group and there was a delay getting seated. After that, however, the wait staff was terrific, the complimentary chips and salsa were quite tasty, the food was good, and margaritas by the pitcher, perfect for a hot summer day. Generally, I found the prices for Mexican entrees about $5 higher than comparable restaurants in the area. The green chili cheeseburger will never win best in New Mexico, but was acceptable. The ribs received a great review by a fellow diner.

One of the best reasons to dine at El Pinto is the setting. Set on acres of large trees, shady vines and semi tropical flowers, El Pinto is reminiscent of an old Spanish hacienda. Spacious open rooms opening to patios with large potted plants feels both romantic and authentically New Mexican.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was mediocre, the ambience was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was mediocre, the ambience was pretty good, service was not so good. There are several restaurants that are more appealing and I don't plan to go back to El Pinto. That is a shame because they have great potential, they are just missing the mark.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Unique atmosphere, knowledgeable friendl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Unique atmosphere, knowledgeable friendly wait staff and hostess. Outstanding all the way around. Food was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The salsa is great. In general its over ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The salsa is great. In general its over priced and pretty mediocre. You're really paying for the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.