About El Pinto

10500 4th St NW
Albuquerque, NM 87114
View Larger Map

Nestled in the ancient cottonwoods in the North Valley of Abq, El Pinto was founded with eight tables in 1962. Twin brothers John and Jim Thomas carry on the family tradition and have expanded El Pinto into the quintessential "Spot" for healthy and fresh made New Mexican cuisine. Come experience an authentic Taste of New Mexico.

Freshness is throughout El Pinto with the cuisine made from scratch each morning. El Pinto uses chile from Hatch, NM that is fire-roasted and hand-peeled, new beans from southern CO, healthy sunflower oil when making chips and frying, Celtic sea salt for seasoning, and numerous local organic ingredients when in season.

A vermiculture project on site processes food scraps creating a nutrient rich "tea." The bokashi composting project processes 600 lbs of food waste weekly. The “tea” and compost are combined with effective microorganisms for a herbicide and pesticide free fertilizer for El Pinto chile fields and organic growing.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm.

Cross Street:
Alameda Blvd NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 898-1771

Website:
http://www.elpinto.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available on site for individuals and tour buses.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Hancock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

El Pinto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New Mexico
Outdoor Dining
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
3 More
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

great for outdoor dining (124)
good for groups (105)
special occasion (90)
See All
great for lunch (70)
neighborhood gem (58)
kid-friendly (50)
fit for foodies (46)
scenic view (40)
great for brunch (39)
romantic (37)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The grounds and atmosphere were wonderfu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The grounds and atmosphere were wonderful. The Margaritas were great. The food was overpriced and the portions small. The kids meals had more food than the $19.00 combo. The Chili Rellanos were the worse I ever ate. Sorry. I think you need to rethink your prices vs portions. Our waiter was very pleasant. My son did complain about the size of his plate, but nothing become of it.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It was very nice. The food was, honestly ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was very nice. The food was, honestly, ok. Not outstanding by any means but not offensive. Just good. But the place is, I think, beautiful. Old Mexican charm. Big covered outdoor spaces, nice background bands, just really comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is good but the prices are high ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is good but the prices are high. You can't beat the outdoor atmosphere though so that keeps us going back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Sunday brunch was amazing! I am a huge e ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sunday brunch was amazing! I am a huge eggs Benedict fan and to have one with green chili biscuits and a red chili hollandaise was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was very good--as usual. Howev ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good--as usual. However, we were seated on the West-side patio - next to a vibrant kids birthday party which was quite frankly annoying after more than an hour of noise. Then the mosquitoes came out and completely ate us up which cut our evening and dinner short. Mosquitoes are a fact of life in the valley areas this time of year--but some simple prevention like bug maps or citronella candles would help.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

MY customers were here from out of town ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

MY customers were here from out of town and they really enjoyed the food and the restaurant. The service was excellent. It shows off NM. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good, ate on one of the p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was good, ate on one of the patios. Mosquitos were bad this particular evening for some reason. Prices are a little higher than they should be as compared to the quality of the food. Certainly would take visitors from out of state for dinner as long as they were buying! Nice place!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

What a phenomenal restaurant! Service, d ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

What a phenomenal restaurant! Service, drinks and food were exceptional. Everytime I go, I find more things I like about it! I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone! A gem of Albuquerque.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Charming as always; however, the food v ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Charming as always; however, the food very poor in presentation and taste. Rellenos looked as if a truck had run over them; tamales had very little filling and the masa wrapping was so dry it was almost like eating pure corn meal - even the outer corn husks were dry! Not a good introduction of a European visitor to NM food. Most disappointing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Fucking gem! Couldn't be any better!!!!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fucking gem! Couldn't be any better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have tried to reach someone regarding ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have tried to reach someone regarding a billing issue. My wife's credit card was billed twice. The first card was declined but it seems that it was actually billed so when the second card was charged she was actually charged twice. Please contact me at (480) 528-5462 to get this resolved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Didn't get requested table. We asked fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Didn't get requested table. We asked for indoor, quiet table and were first led to outside table, then to a room with two large, loud parties. We were eventually given a quiet table, however.

The Chile Relleno was mediocre, mostly batter and dry. Flat cheese enchiladas were were meager for the high price. Food wasn't hot. Overall, a beautiful setting, but the food was disappointing, especially given the high prices.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

You can't go wrong by choosing to dine h ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

You can't go wrong by choosing to dine here. We spent almost 2 hours on our dining experience which included delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sincerely friendly and attentive service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Sincerely friendly and attentive service, fabulous ambience, great food. Dined at El Pinto 2 nites in a row during a 4-nite mini-vacay.

Beautiful vine covered pergolas outdoors, with blooming trees and plants around the various patio areas. Very relaxed, very romantic, very convivial.

Food is wonderful. Some favorites:

Red Chile Ribs, marinated overnight and then 'breaded' with chopped red chiles. Truly fall-off the bone tender, and spicy without being hot.

Carne Adovado, shredded pork mainates in Adovado sauce and slow cooked. Reminded me of Carne Guisado, bot mutch thicker sauce, more red chile, spicy, with some hotness. Mix with the potatos, rice, or beans to adjust heat to taste.

Calabcitas - various squash, sliced steamed and lightly grilled. Great side dish.

Levante dessert - very similar to Italian Tiramisu, with El Pinto's special touch, very divine. Large servings - plan to split it 3 ways (said the the man who regularly devours large servings - lol).

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was the most basic version of N ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was the most basic version of New Mexican cuisine imaginable. Cheap corn taco shells, barely seasoned meat and every dish drowning in lettuce. Very disappointing especially when you consider the ludicrous prices. Margaritas are sugary and watered down. Overall huge ripoff. Will not be returning or recommending El Pinto to anyone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

After attending a wedding at El Pinto I ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

After attending a wedding at El Pinto I tried twice to make reservation with no spots available. I was tickled when it worked this time as I hosted dear friend. It was grrrrrreat! Thank you for a great place, food and ambiance. I will be back with other friends 😍😍😍😍😍

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was great but only saw my waitress ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was great but only saw my waitress at ordering, delivery of food and for the check. My drink ran dry half way through the meal. Also, for the price of the meal I shouldn't half left still feeling hungry. It's not that I eat a lot but I thought that the portions were quite small for an $18 plate. More in line with what I would expect at $8-$10.

Indoor seating was extremely loud due to one table of 10 that thought the entire restaurant was impressed with their conversation. Alcohol involved.

Beautiful setting but overpriced!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We loved so many things about our experi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We loved so many things about our experience!! We especially loved our server, Armando. What wasn't great was the patio - although beautiful - there was no light to see our menus or each other and the mosquito bugs were biting badly. So we had to move inside - but the food was great! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

How 10 Best rates this spot #1 restauran ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

How 10 Best rates this spot #1 restaurant by the Ballon Fiest is beyond me. The food is mediocre, service horrible and the mosquitos were terrible. Pretty destination spot to eat chips and hot sauce and drink margaritas but that is it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

As expected - I had a great time and enj ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As expected - I had a great time and enjoyed the dining experience greatly! They even brought me a dessert with a birthday candle on it! The best restaurant in town!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was so that a couple of ser ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The occasion was so that a couple of serious dieters could forget about the fats and carbs for a few precious moments. We all loved it - including our service dog who was treated like royalty in the exclusive patio area complete with dog walk. We always love our time at El Pinto.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservation week in advance arriv ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I made reservation week in advance arrived on time asked to be seatedon patio waited tobeseated aprox 10min sat us inside asked to be seated patio told it would be another 30 min totally bummed area where we were seated way in the back not even a room really more like storage my party of 8 were all disappointed .

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

El Pinto has great environment. The foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

El Pinto has great environment. The food is excellent. The Posole is the best I have had anywhere. The service is excellent, especially on this occasion (1:00 lunch on 1 July).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last two times I have been to this r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The last two times I have been to this restaurant the service at the front desk has been horrible. Everything else was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

What a beautiful place to visit! The ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

What a beautiful place to visit! The service was wonderful, she seated us at a table indoors at our request, and when the boys change their mind we were seated outside promptly. The food was over-the-top; we have dined at a few other places since on our vacation in Albuquerque, and nothing else compares. We plan on going back before we leave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at the "Doggie patio" because one ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We ate at the "Doggie patio" because one of our party had a dog. It was truly nice for them to accommodate us. Our waitress was really responsive which overcame her and the kitchen's deficiencies. I had probably some of the best ribs of my life - marinated in red chili. My wife had probably the worst Chili Releno of her life - tasted like a pancake. It was obviously a "mill" restaurant but if you ordered the right things, had great food. All and all a pleasant experience except for the mosquitos.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful time! Waitress orchestrated pr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful time! Waitress orchestrated preparation of special margaritas after listening to our specific tastes. Service was prompt and food was delicious. Our 18 month old grandson was able to walk around the outside dining venue with his mother without disturbing other diners. We would recommend the restaurant to anyone!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Made our vacation ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Fantastic experience. Made our vacation complete.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El pinto is one of our favorite spots wi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

El pinto is one of our favorite spots with a special twist to New Mexican foods. They accommodate our family get together of 12 without a glitch!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like to take visitors or people new t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We like to take visitors or people new to the area since the ambiance and food are both so good. What I have noticed is that where "mild" food requests used to be delivered to the table as mild, recently it's much hotter, so now we have to check with guests to see if they can handle that. It would be better if they went back to offering truly mild options as that offers more flexibility to the diner.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have not been to El pinto for at least ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I have not been to El pinto for at least 20 years. The building and grounds are massive and beautiful. 6:30pm we're seated right away. I had pre-requested a patio table and they honored that. Our waiter immediately asked us if we wanted drinks & water- and we ordered guacamole. He brought them all back quickly along with some chips and delicious fresh salsa. Drinks were yummy, strong reasonably priced at 9.99 and the guacamole was delicious. Then, it took our waiter at least 20 mins. to come back to take our food order-and we were out of water, chips and salsa and the guacamole... We ordered the red chili pork ribs appetizer ($21)- the waiter said it would come out faster than the dinners. The ribs came out fast and they were good- a little dry and the portion wasn't as big as we thought it would be, but all was good. Our plates were starting to pile up on the table which were small patio style tables. It was another 15 mins. or so before anyone came to check on our water and table when a bus boy came out and took our dishes and reported to the waiter that we needed water. Shortly after that our meals came out. I got a combination plate for $18.99, the chile relleno was spongy and small, the chile con carne was delicious, and the rolled chicken taco was flat tasting and so-so. Beans were refried and OK and there was very little chile sauce on the items. My combo portion was a little more than half of what you get at other well-known new mexican restaurants in ABQ for $10-$13. My husband got the chicken Enchilada plate for the same price and he had the same comments about his food. Our friend ordered a side of a chile relleno and they brought it out without any chili sauce on it or on the side. That cost her about $4. As time went on our waiter was less and less attentive. We still tipped him 18% but we usually tip 20-25%. I really want to give this restaurant 2.5 stars I probably won't go back again. I love the jars of their green chili salsa in the store .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Plan to go to brunch in the near future. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Plan to go to brunch in the near future. We had a great dining experience and hope to bring other guests.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated in an icky back room with ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were seated in an icky back room with lots of flies. It was a graduation celebration and was not the right place to be seated. The service was ok but wasn't a great experience which was really unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

We ate outside by the fountain and it wa ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We ate outside by the fountain and it was Great. Salvatore was the BEST WAITER EVER! Very attentive, and made sure everything was perfect!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was severely disappointed on this visi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I was severely disappointed on this visit to El Pinto. I will recommend that friends NOT go there until management changes. The reception staff was uncommunicative and rude. We were allowed to cool our heals despite a reservation for 4 (it turned out to be 5, so no dice). One of the worst greetings and seatings management I have ever experienced anywhere. The service was quite mediocre, and the food, once it arrived--was worse than mediocre. This iconic

ABQ restaurant should come to life or die. I will not go back for a long, long time. They are coasting on past laurels and on their so-called reputation. The experience spoiled our evening, on a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

El Pinto is one of our go-to venues when ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

El Pinto is one of our go-to venues when entertaining folks from out of town and it did not disappoint on this occasion. The premium margaritas are worth ordering. Our waitress was very peppy and enthusiastic without being obnoxious. Our MN friends were delighted with their entrees and the ambience of the place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Will definitely visit w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Love this place! Will definitely visit when in town!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and setting are great! Done th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food and setting are great! Done the best New Mexican food to be found. Red chili is the best. Don't know what took me so long to get here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I go there every Thursday ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I go there every Thursday nite. My hubby just loves your red chili ribs. We also enjoy your green chili chips and hour combination platter. We wish there were more local wines but the wine list is ok. The ambiance in the place is just mesmerizing and quite comfortable, puts you in the mood.

We also bring our friends to El Pinto. The service is awesome, keep up the good work Nathan in the west patio and Ron in the fiesta patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience and what a sleeper. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful experience and what a sleeper. Tucked into a corner of the North Valley and beautiful environment! The food was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.