Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

El Moro Spirits & Tavern

4.6
176 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(970) 259-5555
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Clark
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
9th St.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 176 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great as always! Make us feel like family.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

H uuuhwhhhuwuahworfkryaw yyayywyawhrayaowlwollf wy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

A little noise for a romantic evening, but Love the food and the decor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Jen and staff were very accommodating with this last minute reservation with surprise visit from friends.

Great service and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Has a good vibe. Beautiful cut flowers on table. Fun, fun, fun!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We had a delicious brunch! I recommend making a reservation. We would have had a long wait without it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food and drink was exquisite, the service was less than par. We had a waiter training another up and coming waiter. The trainee was by far better and more personable than the trainer. The trainer, would clear drinks without asking if we wanted more, and also did not ask how we wanted our steaks cooked. When confronted with this the trainee was very attentive and apologetic get our preference immediately. When both of us told him we would like them cooked medium rare the trainer looked straight at us and said “well duh of course that’s how you cook a steak”. If my wife had ordered a steak she would have been appalled since she likes them well done and it is a preference thing anyway. We were also not in business dress attire and were treated as second class citizens on numerous occasions by this gentlemen even though between four of us I spent $250. We would of much preferred if the trainer had just left us alone with the trainee. All in All am glad the food made up for the disregarding service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This is one of my favorite places in Durango. The food and drink are unique and delicious. The ambiance is nice too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Met up with my cousin for brunch. It was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great food, we had a fun time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

El Moro makes the best cocktails in Durango. The food is excellent. It has a very Durango like western interior and a vibrant atmosphere. Our reservation was set up in the bar which was not acceptable to us, but the manager was very accommodating and quickly moved us to the dining area. The service was great as usual. A general observation I have had in this restaurant on the several occasions I have been there is how focused all the staff is on service all the time. A favorite of mine in Durango.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday brunch with friends at El Moro. The restaurant was recommended by a server at a nearby restaurant. Great vibe, service was terrific, the cocktails and food were delicious! Loved the industrial look of the lighting with the exposed brick walls.
Will definitely go back next time we visit Durango!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Chicken Fried Steak was delicious and love $5 mimosas. Thanks for a lovely brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Staff was as friendly and accommodating as ever. Did was exquisite and tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This was our second trip and again, we loved it. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

El Moro is my wife's and my favorite date restaurant. Love the ambiance.

This night was no exception. As always the staff was courteous, friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent, as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

El Moro has creative cuisine and cocktails with a broad selection of delicious options. Our group enjoyed, scallops, shrimp & grits, short ribs, vegan shepherd's pie, and a really beautifully seasoned kale-fennel stuffed sausage in tagliatelle. yum! and that was just the food! Cocktails ran the gamut from the coffin varnish, a deep rye (bourbon?), with an absinthe hint and lemon, to a fresh tequila spiced with a serrano shrub...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Service was great and the food was spectacular! Great ambiance, decor was beautiful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Our favorite restaurant in Durango. Never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Service and food were outstanding as were the cocktails and friendliness of the staff. It was casual, but yet nice. Great menu options and food was cooked perfectly. I would recommend this establishment highly for social, date night, friends connecting or for a nice dinner. We had a great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Really enjoyed our evening here. Excellent craft cocktails and food. We will return when back in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

El Moro has a nice menu with items normally not seen. My husband had the red beans and rice. The andouille was house made and excellent but although the red beans and rice were beautifully presented they seemed to lack a little depth and flavor. My tempera fish sandwich was pretty good. Everything was creative including the chocolate pate for dessert. Unfortunately, we were not drinking and the cocktail menu is what El Moro is known for and looked sensational. The prices were fair and the service great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful dining experience due to the friendly and welcoming staff! Food was all superb!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Overall food and service were good. Restaurant seemed to be a bit short staffed. We had to wait a while for drinks and at the end of the meal no dessert was offered and it took a while to get a check.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Our party of 5 had a great time, enjoyed tasty cocktails, apps and entrees, and felt taken care of with Dave as our server. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2018

We were here on a Tuesday night. It wasn’t too busy so that was nice. Great cocktails here and very unique. I liked both of the ones I tried. We tried several different apps and we enjoyed each. The KFC was really good- didn’t even taste like cauliflower. The Brie was good but the jam made it even better. Dinner was great as well. We had a salad and a burger and more apps. Everything was just really tasty. Would definitely go back. Service was friendly and nice. We love the hats too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 29, 2018

El Moro's is a great lunch (and dinner) place. Along with a fully stocked bar, along with good beers. An electic menu, with lots of choices on the menu. Both "high top" and regular tables for dinner, and a full bar (where you can order food as well).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Slow service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Our service was excellent. Server had good knowledge of the menu and made great recommendations. The food was excellent as well. Unique menu selections and good portions. Fair price.
El Moro wish LOUD. Tough to have a conversation, especially if you're over 60! I think it goes with the have that you are sitting between to brick walls with no sound attenuation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 8, 2018

El Moro is becoming a favorite for a business lunch in Durango. Prompt and friendly service. Enough seating options to get a table easily. Variety of menu choices, including a daily lunch special. And good food value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The mahi-mahi was cooked superbly and the piccata sauce was delicious! Out waitress Brittany was attentive and knowledgable. Superb service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food, drinks, and service. We ended up at El Moro a total of 3 nights in a row during our trip to Durango. Our favorite spot!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Delicious food and drinks. Lovely birthday brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Absolutely awesome food, drinks & fun. Kinda noisy & hard to talk but worth it. Not a ton of healthy options or vegetarian options. Biggest disappointment was The Goonie, crab cakes, was taken off the menu. My friend & I have ordered it many times previously so we were both sad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

I enjoy dining at the El Moro. It was a busy night, and short-staffed, I think. The food was good, as always, but being right by the kitchen, and the holiday celebrations, it was particulary loud and service was slower than we're used to. All in all, we enjoy going to the El Moro, and will continue to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Delicious surprise on our holiday trip to Durango! Cocktails were yummy and reasonable priced. We ordered the KFC (korean fried cauliflower) appetizer and have talked about it multiple times today as we relived last night's meal. The hanger steak special was great and the duck confit was out of this world.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

1st time but recommended. Had reservations - seated right away. Went on a busy Thursday night. Had groups of all sizes. Great vibe + Great food + Great service = GREAT TIME

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

My favorite place in durango.
Different fun and funky menu. Love the pate !!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Tom, my server was impeccable!! The ambiance was gratifying. Thank you for the great experience. My friends and I will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2017

We had an impromptu breakfast gathering of 3 cousins. One of them was in town for the morning only. It worked out really perfectly!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Tweets by El Moro Spirits & Tavern