Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About El Moro Spirits & Tavern

Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.

945 Main Ave.
Durango, CO 81301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 259-5555

Website:
http://www.elmorotavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Moro Spirits & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
See All
Historic (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Romantic (1)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fine time. Food was good and our waiter Steve is excellent. We wish the little sausages were on the menu but understand they are seasonal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Every time I go to El Moro I like it a little better. It is definitely evolving and changing and I like that. I think the menu is pretty solid right now - I used to have a hard time finding something to eat in between a snack or a big ol' steak. Breakfast is fantastic but I'd like to see more sweet options. Cocktails are great. We always sit at a high top. While we love the ambiance of El Moro but there's something about the tables in back that seem like they are positioned wrong - I always feel in the way when sitting at the low tables. It is a funky hipster place i.e young. I think they are learning and growing as they go along and their young staff reflects that so have patience - the staff is good but I've never seen them even try to rush. That isn't necessarily a bad thing. I always enjoy my meal and the overall experience at El Moro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing meal...per the usual! Love, love El Moro, the service, the drinks, the food and the atmosphere. Fortunate to be a local so it's a guarantee we'll be back!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service and food are excellent. Reasonably priced menus with good selections. Don't miss the Scotch Egg!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Authentic local tavern with a fantastic range - from lollipop drumsticks (Way better than wings!) with an amazing green curry/coconut craime fraishe' dipping sauce - to house made andouille and satay style sausage. The cheese and meat platter choices are unusual and delicious. Stunning flavors, bar and service - Thank You!

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

So excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A perfect place to bring out of town friends or grab a quick bite with business associates! Everything about our brunch was perfect, from the staff to the drinks to the food! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I had the best Ramos Gin Fizz ever! It was truly perfection.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We truly enjoyed this restaurant. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was a great celebration. I ordered the cheese plate, which was a bit disappointing, but we loved the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We we were told upon arrival that our table wasn't ready . Waited at a bar like table. A lady came over, apologized for having given our table to someone else. Husband had both knees replaced and had requested a regular table rather than high-top Dave, our server did a good job. Had to wait far too long for our drinks. Food was good but much too stingy with the scallops. Only four medium served. Not Zen!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We chose this restaurant for valentines day dinner because of the flank stake with sweet potato mash and Verde sauce. It was our favorite meal in town. We went there often just for that dish. It was very sad that they took it off the menu. The other two dishes we ordered were small and were not as good. Chances are, we will not return unless they better their menu. The server was bad. she was very snobby and was not very attentive. When we sat down, it took her around ten minutes to get us water. At one point I had to holler at her in order to get her attention.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was fantastic!! This is one
of my favorite restaurants in Durango.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great place, good vibe, excellent service ! Historic building with a real feel of the old west.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

El Moro was fantastic. Our server was attentive, the drinks from the bar were excellent. Recent changes to their menu gave us a chance to try new foods. All of our dinners were delicious and well prepared. The Korean waygu skirt steak with ginger lime risotto and kimchi on the side was great. I would highly recommend El Moro.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super busy for Brunch on Snowdown weekend. (Local festival) We came in for a friends birthday a party of 8 so super thankful for my OpenTable reservation we were seated right away because the table was ready! Sadly our food took at least an hour to get to our table from the time of ordering- not when we sat down. Food tasted great when we got it but we were also starving by that point. Ryan did a great job serving us and found another bottle of champagne after we were told they were sold out!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really unique and impressive decor and drinks. Friendly staff. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love it at El Moro. We always bring our out of town guests here their first night in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

So glad El Moro is back mixing up their amazing cocktails, creating their yummy Charcuterie boards.
Love this place, so did my new friend - great place to share a cocktail and enjoy small plates

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our regular spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

my wife and I got finally got to go out on a date night without our kids and my boss suggested i take her to El Moro. had no problem getting the
reservations the staff was very friendly and we were seated imediatly opon getting there even tho they were very busy. The place is great. Wife loved it. Thanks for helping me make it a fantastic night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was just below OK and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! The decor was eclectic but tastefully done. My pasta with bacon and chard was superb and my husband's shrimp and grits was unique but also quite good. S'mores for dessert made a top notch experience. Wait staff were perfectly attentive without hovering. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We took our son and his girlfriend to this restaurant for our last night in Durango. They live in Durango, and his girlfriend had been there for lunch, but our son had never been there. We were all happy with our dinners. They had a fairly good selection of vegetarian and vegan choices, as well. The next time we are in Durango to visit our son, we will return to El Moro. The burger looked delicious, made with local beef, and I will definitely try that next time. Our son said it was better than the burgers at another favorite spot of theirs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this restaurant BUT on this night I had out of town guest and wanted to impress....no chance ...lousy table with staff going back and forth between table and pony wall, 2 feet, the person sitting there had to move her seat, no room at all view of kitchen, just terrible. The waiter was completely over seated and unable to pay attention to detail..I was embarrassed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Meals on the Sausages, Sandwiches and Salads portion of the menu are a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never been disappointed by the food, which has always been great, and the atmosphere is the best. Very high attention to detail, even in the bathrooms. Great food, great atmosphere, and great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service and food were good. Good for special occasions. Very cute atmosphere. Friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have eaten at El Morro about 4 or 5 times now. Every time we discover something new and delicious! I had a wonderful beet and apple salad, and my husband had the lamb in a falafel type dish We enjoyed both! Will return soon for new discoveries! The summer cocktail menu has lots of wonderful choices. Great place for dinner in town!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Consistently excellent - 4th time eating at El Moro, never had a bad drink, bad meal or bad service. Our waiter was excellent - restaurant was a little slow and he was a fountain of information on the area and knew when to be there and when to leave us alone. Made excellent
suggestions for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great drinks with beautiful scenery. Definitely a must try again. Service was awesome. Waitress was very helpful and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was excellent. The waiters really care about the ingredients. We got the bacon and Swiss chard pasta and flank steak and it was delicious. Bursting with flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love El Moro, but was disappointed today in what I ordered for brunch. The Goonie (crab cake benedict) was such a tiny portion, it was sad. Yes, it came with a side of hash browns, but they were tasteless and not worth eating alone. The problem was, the crab cake was so small and tiny, it's not even worth calling a crab cake. I'll be back, but I'll never order that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice environment, great food and service. Can't ask for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks with unique twists. Fun ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Other better places in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a family dinner there as I didn't want to cook. 8 of us total. Two three years old. Was just
perfect as the ambience is lively.
Food and drink were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious food. Excellent waiter named Dave. He guided us to all the best choices of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2016

My friend and I had a great time here. They got us in before our reservation and we were there talking for 4 hours. They never hurried us along and when we left at 12:40 am the bar area was still in full swing. The food was great, extensive beer and wine list, very nice staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food with fun menu. Hard to use all senses as it is dark and loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a really delicious dinner at El Moro. I look forward to a return visit for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.