Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About El Moro Spirits & Tavern

Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.

945 Main Ave.
Durango, CO 81301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 259-5555

Website:
http://www.elmorotavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Moro Spirits & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (7)
Great Beer (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice place: great decoration, creative menu, well prepared dishes and friendly service; one of the best choice in Durango!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent service and tasty food. Great place to have a brunch celebrating a friend. Would eat here again!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent brunch. Extensive Benedict options, including gluten-free. I requested the hash brown cake in place of the English muffin, but they also offer one with a masa cake. Delicious food. Extensive brunch drink menu. Very delicious. Knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyable; excellent attentive service. My wife thinks it's the best restaurant in Durango!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was very good, lots of dining options. Great drinks selections with cocktails, beer and wine. was pretty loud. not a good place if you want a more quite dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience. The food, drinks and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Walter the waiter was great! He was sensitive to our tables need to have time to talk and visit before we ordered

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Creative menu; volume level was uncomfortably loud, especially considering that it wasn't completely full. Sandwiches are big enough to share with a friend. Loved the hanging lights. Great ambiance.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Delicious food and fantastic, friendly service. Please consider bringing back the mussels in green curry sauce. As our waiter said, I would eat shoelaces with that sauce. I appreciate changing up the menu, but that sauce needs to be a permanent fixture.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very lovely restaurant, great food snd great service. Really enjoyed the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We really enjoyed the fried Wisconsin cheese curds on the caprese salad with the wonderful heirloom tomatoes 🍅! The mint sauce with the perfectly cooked salmon atop the couscous was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terrific place with great, creative, and interesting food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Server and chef's were willing to accommodate 2 individuals dietary restrictions; adjustments to our meals were made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very creative cocktails, small plates, and bar food. Excellent selection of cheeses and charcuterie. Some very exotic beer selects. Service is good, but servers aren't always familiar with the menu. With the larger plates, the aspirations seem to exceed the kitchen's ability to execute.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We always enjoy El Moro, whether it's a family gathering, girls get-together for drinks and appetizers. We wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer friends, new-comers to Durango, tourists or anyone at all! It's always a special time and experience!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our favorite go to place for luch dinner or just an afternoon cocktail and snacks. Good for locals and tourists alike. Good kids menu. . Excellent bartender, Kurt makes great seasonal cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Killer meal and service as always, and a special thank you for reserving the specific table requested! Love you guys!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tapas, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The best bar and cocktails in town, as well as a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Best food I had on my trip to Durango, wish it was closer because I would go back regularly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We have been here many times and the food is consistently good. This past time was different however. The waiter barely spoke with us and the food was not great. The salmon was not cooked all the way through, though it would have been wonderful if it was. The pasta was underflavored and unexciting. We ordered the cheese and meat sampler for appetizers, which was the saving grace of the meal. We decided not to order dessert based on the average quality of the cooking this time. We would still recommend this restaurant to others due to our spectacular experiences during previous visits. The atmosphere is nice, though it can be a bit loud at times.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was grumpy and inattentive, which was unfortunate, because other servers were great! Usually a fun place for Sunday brunch with our friends. Our reservation was for high top, which we didn't get. Usually a much better experience. Our server was talking with other employees to much and not servicing tables well. Drinks ran out, she was only pleasant at the very end, when we were done.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Server was great, went above and beyond for us. Much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had dinner to celebrate a graduation. Food was wonderful: lollipops & Caulliflower apps were delicious. Everyone enjoyed their entree...Salmon, scallops, shrimp & grits and egg roll salad. Dessert was to die for...chocolate Zinfandel pate! Cocktails were also wonderful. We look forward to eating here again

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a fine time. Food was good and our waiter Steve is excellent. We wish the little sausages were on the menu but understand they are seasonal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Every time I go to El Moro I like it a little better. It is definitely evolving and changing and I like that. I think the menu is pretty solid right now - I used to have a hard time finding something to eat in between a snack or a big ol' steak. Breakfast is fantastic but I'd like to see more sweet options. Cocktails are great. We always sit at a high top. While we love the ambiance of El Moro but there's something about the tables in back that seem like they are positioned wrong - I always feel in the way when sitting at the low tables. It is a funky hipster place i.e young. I think they are learning and growing as they go along and their young staff reflects that so have patience - the staff is good but I've never seen them even try to rush. That isn't necessarily a bad thing. I always enjoy my meal and the overall experience at El Moro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing meal...per the usual! Love, love El Moro, the service, the drinks, the food and the atmosphere. Fortunate to be a local so it's a guarantee we'll be back!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service and food are excellent. Reasonably priced menus with good selections. Don't miss the Scotch Egg!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Authentic local tavern with a fantastic range - from lollipop drumsticks (Way better than wings!) with an amazing green curry/coconut craime fraishe' dipping sauce - to house made andouille and satay style sausage. The cheese and meat platter choices are unusual and delicious. Stunning flavors, bar and service - Thank You!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

So excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A perfect place to bring out of town friends or grab a quick bite with business associates! Everything about our brunch was perfect, from the staff to the drinks to the food! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had the best Ramos Gin Fizz ever! It was truly perfection.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We truly enjoyed this restaurant. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was a great celebration. I ordered the cheese plate, which was a bit disappointing, but we loved the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We we were told upon arrival that our table wasn't ready . Waited at a bar like table. A lady came over, apologized for having given our table to someone else. Husband had both knees replaced and had requested a regular table rather than high-top Dave, our server did a good job. Had to wait far too long for our drinks. Food was good but much too stingy with the scallops. Only four medium served. Not Zen!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We chose this restaurant for valentines day dinner because of the flank stake with sweet potato mash and Verde sauce. It was our favorite meal in town. We went there often just for that dish. It was very sad that they took it off the menu. The other two dishes we ordered were small and were not as good. Chances are, we will not return unless they better their menu. The server was bad. she was very snobby and was not very attentive. When we sat down, it took her around ten minutes to get us water. At one point I had to holler at her in order to get her attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was fantastic!! This is one
of my favorite restaurants in Durango.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place, good vibe, excellent service ! Historic building with a real feel of the old west.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

El Moro was fantastic. Our server was attentive, the drinks from the bar were excellent. Recent changes to their menu gave us a chance to try new foods. All of our dinners were delicious and well prepared. The Korean waygu skirt steak with ginger lime risotto and kimchi on the side was great. I would highly recommend El Moro.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super busy for Brunch on Snowdown weekend. (Local festival) We came in for a friends birthday a party of 8 so super thankful for my OpenTable reservation we were seated right away because the table was ready! Sadly our food took at least an hour to get to our table from the time of ordering- not when we sat down. Food tasted great when we got it but we were also starving by that point. Ryan did a great job serving us and found another bottle of champagne after we were told they were sold out!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Really unique and impressive decor and drinks. Friendly staff. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love it at El Moro. We always bring our out of town guests here their first night in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.