About El Moro Spirits & Tavern

945 Main Ave.
Durango, CO 81301
View Larger Map

Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 259-5555

Website:
http://www.elmorotavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Moro Spirits & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
See All
Creative Cuisine (4)
Historic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tapas (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We we were told upon arrival that our ta ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

We we were told upon arrival that our table wasn't ready . Waited at a bar like table. A lady came over, apologized for having given our table to someone else. Husband had both knees replaced and had requested a regular table rather than high-top Dave, our server did a good job. Had to wait far too long for our drinks. Food was good but much too stingy with the scallops. Only four medium served. Not Zen!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We chose this restaurant for valentines ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We chose this restaurant for valentines day dinner because of the flank stake with sweet potato mash and Verde sauce. It was our favorite meal in town. We went there often just for that dish. It was very sad that they took it off the menu. The other two dishes we ordered were small and were not as good. Chances are, we will not return unless they better their menu. The server was bad. she was very snobby and was not very attentive. When we sat down, it took her around ten minutes to get us water. At one point I had to holler at her in order to get her attention.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was pretty good, have the Tenne ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was pretty good, have the Tennessee hit chicken. Only down fall was severely over cooked and something on the plate ended up giving me food poisoning as I have been sick for the last 48 hours. This was the last place I ate. But overall pretty good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was fantastic!! This is one of my f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was fantastic!! This is one

of my favorite restaurants in Durango.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, good vibe, excellent servic ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great place, good vibe, excellent service ! Historic building with a real feel of the old west.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

El Moro was fantastic. Our server was at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

El Moro was fantastic. Our server was attentive, the drinks from the bar were excellent. Recent changes to their menu gave us a chance to try new foods. All of our dinners were delicious and well prepared. The Korean waygu skirt steak with ginger lime risotto and kimchi on the side was great. I would highly recommend El Moro.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super busy for Brunch on Snowdown weeken ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super busy for Brunch on Snowdown weekend. (Local festival) We came in for a friends birthday a party of 8 so super thankful for my OpenTable reservation we were seated right away because the table was ready! Sadly our food took at least an hour to get to our table from the time of ordering- not when we sat down. Food tasted great when we got it but we were also starving by that point. Ryan did a great job serving us and found another bottle of champagne after we were told they were sold out!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Really unique and impressive decor and d ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really unique and impressive decor and drinks. Friendly staff. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love it at El Moro. We always bring ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love it at El Moro. We always bring our out of town guests here their first night in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So glad El Moro is back mixing up their ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

So glad El Moro is back mixing up their amazing cocktails, creating their yummy Charcuterie boards.

Love this place, so did my new friend - great place to share a cocktail and enjoy small plates

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our regular spot!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our regular spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my wife and I got finally got to go out ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

my wife and I got finally got to go out on a date night without our kids and my boss suggested i take her to El Moro. had no problem getting the

reservations the staff was very friendly and we were seated imediatly opon getting there even tho they were very busy. The place is great. Wife loved it. Thanks for helping me make it a fantastic night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was just below OK and the food w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was just below OK and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

What a pleasant surprise! The decor was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! The decor was eclectic but tastefully done. My pasta with bacon and chard was superb and my husband's shrimp and grits was unique but also quite good. S'mores for dessert made a top notch experience. Wait staff were perfectly attentive without hovering. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our son and his girlfriend to th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We took our son and his girlfriend to this restaurant for our last night in Durango. They live in Durango, and his girlfriend had been there for lunch, but our son had never been there. We were all happy with our dinners. They had a fairly good selection of vegetarian and vegan choices, as well. The next time we are in Durango to visit our son, we will return to El Moro. The burger looked delicious, made with local beef, and I will definitely try that next time. Our son said it was better than the burgers at another favorite spot of theirs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love this restaurant BUT on this night ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this restaurant BUT on this night I had out of town guest and wanted to impress....no chance ...lousy table with staff going back and forth between table and pony wall, 2 feet, the person sitting there had to move her seat, no room at all view of kitchen, just terrible. The waiter was completely over seated and unable to pay attention to detail..I was embarrassed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Meals on the Sausages, Sandwiches and Sa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Meals on the Sausages, Sandwiches and Salads portion of the menu are a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never been disappointed by the food, which has always been great, and the atmosphere is the best. Very high attention to detail, even in the bathrooms. Great food, great atmosphere, and great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were good. Good for spe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service and food were good. Good for special occasions. Very cute atmosphere. Friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten at El Morro about 4 or 5 t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have eaten at El Morro about 4 or 5 times now. Every time we discover something new and delicious! I had a wonderful beet and apple salad, and my husband had the lamb in a falafel type dish We enjoyed both! Will return soon for new discoveries! The summer cocktail menu has lots of wonderful choices. Great place for dinner in town!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently excellent - 4th time eating ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Consistently excellent - 4th time eating at El Moro, never had a bad drink, bad meal or bad service. Our waiter was excellent - restaurant was a little slow and he was a fountain of information on the area and knew when to be there and when to leave us alone. Made excellent

suggestions for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great drinks with beautiful scenery. Def ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great drinks with beautiful scenery. Definitely a must try again. Service was awesome. Waitress was very helpful and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The waiters really c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was excellent. The waiters really care about the ingredients. We got the bacon and Swiss chard pasta and flank steak and it was delicious. Bursting with flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love El Moro, but was disappointed tod ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love El Moro, but was disappointed today in what I ordered for brunch. The Goonie (crab cake benedict) was such a tiny portion, it was sad. Yes, it came with a side of hash browns, but they were tasteless and not worth eating alone. The problem was, the crab cake was so small and tiny, it's not even worth calling a crab cake. I'll be back, but I'll never order that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice environment, great food and service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice environment, great food and service. Can't ask for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and drinks with unique tw ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks with unique twists. Fun ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Other better places in town

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Other better places in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had a family dinner there as I didn't wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a family dinner there as I didn't want to cook. 8 of us total. Two three years old. Was just

perfect as the ambience is lively.

Food and drink were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food. Excellent waiter named D ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious food. Excellent waiter named Dave. He guided us to all the best choices of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great atmosphere and food!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2016

My friend and I had a great time here. They got us in before our reservation and we were there talking for 4 hours. They never hurried us along and when we left at 12:40 am the bar area was still in full swing. The food was great, extensive beer and wine list, very nice staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with fun menu. Hard to use al ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food with fun menu. Hard to use all senses as it is dark and loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous dinner

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a really delicious dinner at El Moro. I look forward to a return visit for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING FOOD

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2016

El Moro was a great find. We had a large party of 9 and they accommodated with no problem. The brunch menu had a variety of dishes and the portions were very hearty. The drink menu was extensive and delicious. My only recommendation would be to have crayons for kids! I would absolutely recommend this to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picture Perfect!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Very unique atmosphere and menu. Everything was flavorful and the presentation was so nice it made me want to take a picture of it before eating (and I'm not a person who takes food pictures). They really pay attention to detail and the staff all seem invested in making your experience a good one. The prices are surprisingly affordable for the quality. This place is my new favorite in Durango!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great dinner

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We met some friends for dinner. Two ordered a seek special that was not prepared correctly, but was redone to a better degree. Still not perfect. My wife and I had lamb burgers that were very good. Service by Katherine was very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Jsut about perfect, but...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Without going into a lot of detail I'll say this- Our server was fantastic and two of the three of us greatly enjoyed our meal. I will also add that El Moro by far, makes the best cocktail in Durango and the ambience of the room is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

A+

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was kinda ridiculous how good everything was.

Don't know any other way to put it.

Killer Manhattan, creative original cocktails.

Nobody's perfect, unless you're El Moro.

Great job everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it. I ordered shrimp and grits e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I loved it. I ordered shrimp and grits expecting it to be similar to something I'd get in New Orleans. It was completely different but pretty good. The Poutine for brunch was outstanding. My husband ordered the Cuban sandwich. Normally I don't like it but this time it was something about which to write home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing special

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

There are better places to go in Durango. The service was average at best and the food was okay but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Option in downtown Durango!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This was our 2nd time to dine here.... great menu; loved the cocktails; great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.