Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About El Moro Spirits & Tavern

Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.

945 Main Ave.
Durango, CO 81301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 259-5555

Website:
http://www.elmorotavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Moro Spirits & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fun (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2018

El Moro is becoming a favorite for a business lunch in Durango. Prompt and friendly service. Enough seating options to get a table easily. Variety of menu choices, including a daily lunch special. And good food value.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

The mahi-mahi was cooked superbly and the piccata sauce was delicious! Out waitress Brittany was attentive and knowledgable. Superb service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great food, drinks, and service. We ended up at El Moro a total of 3 nights in a row during our trip to Durango. Our favorite spot!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Delicious food and drinks. Lovely birthday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Durango)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Absolutely awesome food, drinks & fun. Kinda noisy & hard to talk but worth it. Not a ton of healthy options or vegetarian options. Biggest disappointment was The Goonie, crab cakes, was taken off the menu. My friend & I have ordered it many times previously so we were both sad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2017

I enjoy dining at the El Moro. It was a busy night, and short-staffed, I think. The food was good, as always, but being right by the kitchen, and the holiday celebrations, it was particulary loud and service was slower than we're used to. All in all, we enjoy going to the El Moro, and will continue to go!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Delicious surprise on our holiday trip to Durango! Cocktails were yummy and reasonable priced. We ordered the KFC (korean fried cauliflower) appetizer and have talked about it multiple times today as we relived last night's meal. The hanger steak special was great and the duck confit was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2017

1st time but recommended. Had reservations - seated right away. Went on a busy Thursday night. Had groups of all sizes. Great vibe + Great food + Great service = GREAT TIME

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2017

My favorite place in durango.
Different fun and funky menu. Love the pate !!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Tom, my server was impeccable!! The ambiance was gratifying. Thank you for the great experience. My friends and I will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We had an impromptu breakfast gathering of 3 cousins. One of them was in town for the morning only. It worked out really perfectly!!!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The atmosphere was far too noisy and food was mediocre. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Great food, drinks and ambiance. We had a great meal after riding the train. Take something for your children to do as they don't generally cater to children, but they have a decent kids menu. We had brought a puzzle and chose a cranberry spritzer and mac n cheese for the boy. It was a very nice experience for everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Excellent and interesting apps like BONE MARROW lamb burgers n charcuterie. Needed more condiment choices. Like pickled onions.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 10, 2017

El Moro (under same ownership as Steamworks in Durango) in a higher end "bar & grill" restaurant. Complete bar, good food collection. Located in the 900 block of Main, it's convenient, walkable. If parking is tight, just walk an extra block or two.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

the ambiance was great. Our waiter was wonderful. Food was the best we had in a very long time. Inventive offerings of both the food & cocktails. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Go to place in Durango...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Multiple visits to El Moro. Really great atmosphere, good variety on the menu, and great service. Don’t miss the Scotch Egg or the Duck Confit!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great service and creative food choices. The fried cheese curd and cauliflower appetizers were fantastic. Party of 6 and everyone liked their food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This was my best experience with El Moro to date. I went with my husband for dinner. The servers were very friendly, and the food was very good (toast appetizer, lamb burger, hamburger). The cocktails were well made and not too sweet. The ambiance is very cool and unique as it's always been. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I had the special of the night! It was amazing!! The Brussels sprouts in duck fat were awesome. The orzo with the Durango local mushroom was to die for! I will be coming back for sure ☺️

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Very nice place: great decoration, creative menu, well prepared dishes and friendly service; one of the best choice in Durango!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent service and tasty food. Great place to have a brunch celebrating a friend. Would eat here again!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent brunch. Extensive Benedict options, including gluten-free. I requested the hash brown cake in place of the English muffin, but they also offer one with a masa cake. Delicious food. Extensive brunch drink menu. Very delicious. Knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyable; excellent attentive service. My wife thinks it's the best restaurant in Durango!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was very good, lots of dining options. Great drinks selections with cocktails, beer and wine. was pretty loud. not a good place if you want a more quite dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great if just coming through town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience. The food, drinks and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Walter the waiter was great! He was sensitive to our tables need to have time to talk and visit before we ordered

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Creative menu; volume level was uncomfortably loud, especially considering that it wasn't completely full. Sandwiches are big enough to share with a friend. Loved the hanging lights. Great ambiance.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Delicious food and fantastic, friendly service. Please consider bringing back the mussels in green curry sauce. As our waiter said, I would eat shoelaces with that sauce. I appreciate changing up the menu, but that sauce needs to be a permanent fixture.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very lovely restaurant, great food snd great service. Really enjoyed the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We really enjoyed the fried Wisconsin cheese curds on the caprese salad with the wonderful heirloom tomatoes 🍅! The mint sauce with the perfectly cooked salmon atop the couscous was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terrific place with great, creative, and interesting food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Server and chef's were willing to accommodate 2 individuals dietary restrictions; adjustments to our meals were made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very creative cocktails, small plates, and bar food. Excellent selection of cheeses and charcuterie. Some very exotic beer selects. Service is good, but servers aren't always familiar with the menu. With the larger plates, the aspirations seem to exceed the kitchen's ability to execute.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We always enjoy El Moro, whether it's a family gathering, girls get-together for drinks and appetizers. We wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer friends, new-comers to Durango, tourists or anyone at all! It's always a special time and experience!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our favorite go to place for luch dinner or just an afternoon cocktail and snacks. Good for locals and tourists alike. Good kids menu. . Excellent bartender, Kurt makes great seasonal cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Killer meal and service as always, and a special thank you for reserving the specific table requested! Love you guys!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tapas, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The best bar and cocktails in town, as well as a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.