Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About El Moro Spirits & Tavern

Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.

945 Main Ave.
Durango, CO 81301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 259-5555

Website:
http://www.elmorotavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Moro Spirits & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
See All
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great Beer (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed the fried Wisconsin cheese curds on the caprese salad with the wonderful heirloom tomatoes 🍅! The mint sauce with the perfectly cooked salmon atop the couscous was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terrific place with great, creative, and interesting food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Server and chef's were willing to accommodate 2 individuals dietary restrictions; adjustments to our meals were made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very creative cocktails, small plates, and bar food. Excellent selection of cheeses and charcuterie. Some very exotic beer selects. Service is good, but servers aren't always familiar with the menu. With the larger plates, the aspirations seem to exceed the kitchen's ability to execute.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We always enjoy El Moro, whether it's a family gathering, girls get-together for drinks and appetizers. We wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer friends, new-comers to Durango, tourists or anyone at all! It's always a special time and experience!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our favorite go to place for luch dinner or just an afternoon cocktail and snacks. Good for locals and tourists alike. Good kids menu. . Excellent bartender, Kurt makes great seasonal cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Killer meal and service as always, and a special thank you for reserving the specific table requested! Love you guys!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tapas, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The best bar and cocktails in town, as well as a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Best food I had on my trip to Durango, wish it was closer because I would go back regularly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We have been here many times and the food is consistently good. This past time was different however. The waiter barely spoke with us and the food was not great. The salmon was not cooked all the way through, though it would have been wonderful if it was. The pasta was underflavored and unexciting. We ordered the cheese and meat sampler for appetizers, which was the saving grace of the meal. We decided not to order dessert based on the average quality of the cooking this time. We would still recommend this restaurant to others due to our spectacular experiences during previous visits. The atmosphere is nice, though it can be a bit loud at times.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was grumpy and inattentive, which was unfortunate, because other servers were great! Usually a fun place for Sunday brunch with our friends. Our reservation was for high top, which we didn't get. Usually a much better experience. Our server was talking with other employees to much and not servicing tables well. Drinks ran out, she was only pleasant at the very end, when we were done.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Server was great, went above and beyond for us. Much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had dinner to celebrate a graduation. Food was wonderful: lollipops & Caulliflower apps were delicious. Everyone enjoyed their entree...Salmon, scallops, shrimp & grits and egg roll salad. Dessert was to die for...chocolate Zinfandel pate! Cocktails were also wonderful. We look forward to eating here again

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a fine time. Food was good and our waiter Steve is excellent. We wish the little sausages were on the menu but understand they are seasonal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Every time I go to El Moro I like it a little better. It is definitely evolving and changing and I like that. I think the menu is pretty solid right now - I used to have a hard time finding something to eat in between a snack or a big ol' steak. Breakfast is fantastic but I'd like to see more sweet options. Cocktails are great. We always sit at a high top. While we love the ambiance of El Moro but there's something about the tables in back that seem like they are positioned wrong - I always feel in the way when sitting at the low tables. It is a funky hipster place i.e young. I think they are learning and growing as they go along and their young staff reflects that so have patience - the staff is good but I've never seen them even try to rush. That isn't necessarily a bad thing. I always enjoy my meal and the overall experience at El Moro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing meal...per the usual! Love, love El Moro, the service, the drinks, the food and the atmosphere. Fortunate to be a local so it's a guarantee we'll be back!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service and food are excellent. Reasonably priced menus with good selections. Don't miss the Scotch Egg!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Authentic local tavern with a fantastic range - from lollipop drumsticks (Way better than wings!) with an amazing green curry/coconut craime fraishe' dipping sauce - to house made andouille and satay style sausage. The cheese and meat platter choices are unusual and delicious. Stunning flavors, bar and service - Thank You!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

So excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A perfect place to bring out of town friends or grab a quick bite with business associates! Everything about our brunch was perfect, from the staff to the drinks to the food! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had the best Ramos Gin Fizz ever! It was truly perfection.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We truly enjoyed this restaurant. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was a great celebration. I ordered the cheese plate, which was a bit disappointing, but we loved the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We we were told upon arrival that our table wasn't ready . Waited at a bar like table. A lady came over, apologized for having given our table to someone else. Husband had both knees replaced and had requested a regular table rather than high-top Dave, our server did a good job. Had to wait far too long for our drinks. Food was good but much too stingy with the scallops. Only four medium served. Not Zen!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We chose this restaurant for valentines day dinner because of the flank stake with sweet potato mash and Verde sauce. It was our favorite meal in town. We went there often just for that dish. It was very sad that they took it off the menu. The other two dishes we ordered were small and were not as good. Chances are, we will not return unless they better their menu. The server was bad. she was very snobby and was not very attentive. When we sat down, it took her around ten minutes to get us water. At one point I had to holler at her in order to get her attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was fantastic!! This is one
of my favorite restaurants in Durango.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place, good vibe, excellent service ! Historic building with a real feel of the old west.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

El Moro was fantastic. Our server was attentive, the drinks from the bar were excellent. Recent changes to their menu gave us a chance to try new foods. All of our dinners were delicious and well prepared. The Korean waygu skirt steak with ginger lime risotto and kimchi on the side was great. I would highly recommend El Moro.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super busy for Brunch on Snowdown weekend. (Local festival) We came in for a friends birthday a party of 8 so super thankful for my OpenTable reservation we were seated right away because the table was ready! Sadly our food took at least an hour to get to our table from the time of ordering- not when we sat down. Food tasted great when we got it but we were also starving by that point. Ryan did a great job serving us and found another bottle of champagne after we were told they were sold out!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Really unique and impressive decor and drinks. Friendly staff. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love it at El Moro. We always bring our out of town guests here their first night in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

So glad El Moro is back mixing up their amazing cocktails, creating their yummy Charcuterie boards.
Love this place, so did my new friend - great place to share a cocktail and enjoy small plates

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our regular spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

my wife and I got finally got to go out on a date night without our kids and my boss suggested i take her to El Moro. had no problem getting the
reservations the staff was very friendly and we were seated imediatly opon getting there even tho they were very busy. The place is great. Wife loved it. Thanks for helping me make it a fantastic night.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was just below OK and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! The decor was eclectic but tastefully done. My pasta with bacon and chard was superb and my husband's shrimp and grits was unique but also quite good. S'mores for dessert made a top notch experience. Wait staff were perfectly attentive without hovering. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We took our son and his girlfriend to this restaurant for our last night in Durango. They live in Durango, and his girlfriend had been there for lunch, but our son had never been there. We were all happy with our dinners. They had a fairly good selection of vegetarian and vegan choices, as well. The next time we are in Durango to visit our son, we will return to El Moro. The burger looked delicious, made with local beef, and I will definitely try that next time. Our son said it was better than the burgers at another favorite spot of theirs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love this restaurant BUT on this night I had out of town guest and wanted to impress....no chance ...lousy table with staff going back and forth between table and pony wall, 2 feet, the person sitting there had to move her seat, no room at all view of kitchen, just terrible. The waiter was completely over seated and unable to pay attention to detail..I was embarrassed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Meals on the Sausages, Sandwiches and Salads portion of the menu are a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never been disappointed by the food, which has always been great, and the atmosphere is the best. Very high attention to detail, even in the bathrooms. Great food, great atmosphere, and great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Service and food were good. Good for special occasions. Very cute atmosphere. Friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.