About El Moro Spirits & Tavern

945 Main Ave.
Durango, CO 81301
View Larger Map

Capitalizing on Durango, Colorado’s “old West” and Victorian heritage, as well as contemporary culinary trends and techniques, El Moro Spirits and Tavern joined Durango’s family of unique and independently-owned restaurants in mid-July 2013. Dining in Durango Colorado just got more exciting. With no known comparison, El Moro is capitalizing on the region’s growth of entrepreneurial ranches and farms, many of which are organic. We utilize a majority of locally grown and raised ingredients in our menu items. Our menu changes seasonally, and includes specials based on available fresh ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 259-5555

Website:
http://www.elmorotavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Moro Spirits & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Special Occasion (2)
See All
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Romantic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

my wife and I got finally got to go out ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

my wife and I got finally got to go out on a date night without our kids and my boss suggested i take her to El Moro. had no problem getting the

reservations the staff was very friendly and we were seated imediatly opon getting there even tho they were very busy. The place is great. Wife loved it. Thanks for helping me make it a fantastic night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was just below OK and the food w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was just below OK and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

What a pleasant surprise! The decor was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! The decor was eclectic but tastefully done. My pasta with bacon and chard was superb and my husband's shrimp and grits was unique but also quite good. S'mores for dessert made a top notch experience. Wait staff were perfectly attentive without hovering. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our son and his girlfriend to th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We took our son and his girlfriend to this restaurant for our last night in Durango. They live in Durango, and his girlfriend had been there for lunch, but our son had never been there. We were all happy with our dinners. They had a fairly good selection of vegetarian and vegan choices, as well. The next time we are in Durango to visit our son, we will return to El Moro. The burger looked delicious, made with local beef, and I will definitely try that next time. Our son said it was better than the burgers at another favorite spot of theirs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love this restaurant BUT on this night ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this restaurant BUT on this night I had out of town guest and wanted to impress....no chance ...lousy table with staff going back and forth between table and pony wall, 2 feet, the person sitting there had to move her seat, no room at all view of kitchen, just terrible. The waiter was completely over seated and unable to pay attention to detail..I was embarrassed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Meals on the Sausages, Sandwiches and Sa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Meals on the Sausages, Sandwiches and Salads portion of the menu are a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never been disappointed by the food, which has always been great, and the atmosphere is the best. Very high attention to detail, even in the bathrooms. Great food, great atmosphere, and great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were good. Good for spe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service and food were good. Good for special occasions. Very cute atmosphere. Friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten at El Morro about 4 or 5 t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have eaten at El Morro about 4 or 5 times now. Every time we discover something new and delicious! I had a wonderful beet and apple salad, and my husband had the lamb in a falafel type dish We enjoyed both! Will return soon for new discoveries! The summer cocktail menu has lots of wonderful choices. Great place for dinner in town!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently excellent - 4th time eating ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Consistently excellent - 4th time eating at El Moro, never had a bad drink, bad meal or bad service. Our waiter was excellent - restaurant was a little slow and he was a fountain of information on the area and knew when to be there and when to leave us alone. Made excellent

suggestions for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great drinks with beautiful scenery. Def ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great drinks with beautiful scenery. Definitely a must try again. Service was awesome. Waitress was very helpful and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The waiters really c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was excellent. The waiters really care about the ingredients. We got the bacon and Swiss chard pasta and flank steak and it was delicious. Bursting with flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love El Moro, but was disappointed tod ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love El Moro, but was disappointed today in what I ordered for brunch. The Goonie (crab cake benedict) was such a tiny portion, it was sad. Yes, it came with a side of hash browns, but they were tasteless and not worth eating alone. The problem was, the crab cake was so small and tiny, it's not even worth calling a crab cake. I'll be back, but I'll never order that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice environment, great food and service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice environment, great food and service. Can't ask for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and drinks with unique tw ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks with unique twists. Fun ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Other better places in town

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Other better places in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had a family dinner there as I didn't wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a family dinner there as I didn't want to cook. 8 of us total. Two three years old. Was just

perfect as the ambience is lively.

Food and drink were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food. Excellent waiter named D ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious food. Excellent waiter named Dave. He guided us to all the best choices of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great atmosphere and food!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2016

My friend and I had a great time here. They got us in before our reservation and we were there talking for 4 hours. They never hurried us along and when we left at 12:40 am the bar area was still in full swing. The food was great, extensive beer and wine list, very nice staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with fun menu. Hard to use al ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food with fun menu. Hard to use all senses as it is dark and loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous dinner

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a really delicious dinner at El Moro. I look forward to a return visit for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING FOOD

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2016

El Moro was a great find. We had a large party of 9 and they accommodated with no problem. The brunch menu had a variety of dishes and the portions were very hearty. The drink menu was extensive and delicious. My only recommendation would be to have crayons for kids! I would absolutely recommend this to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picture Perfect!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Very unique atmosphere and menu. Everything was flavorful and the presentation was so nice it made me want to take a picture of it before eating (and I'm not a person who takes food pictures). They really pay attention to detail and the staff all seem invested in making your experience a good one. The prices are surprisingly affordable for the quality. This place is my new favorite in Durango!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great dinner

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We met some friends for dinner. Two ordered a seek special that was not prepared correctly, but was redone to a better degree. Still not perfect. My wife and I had lamb burgers that were very good. Service by Katherine was very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Jsut about perfect, but...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Without going into a lot of detail I'll say this- Our server was fantastic and two of the three of us greatly enjoyed our meal. I will also add that El Moro by far, makes the best cocktail in Durango and the ambience of the room is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

A+

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was kinda ridiculous how good everything was.

Don't know any other way to put it.

Killer Manhattan, creative original cocktails.

Nobody's perfect, unless you're El Moro.

Great job everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it. I ordered shrimp and grits e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I loved it. I ordered shrimp and grits expecting it to be similar to something I'd get in New Orleans. It was completely different but pretty good. The Poutine for brunch was outstanding. My husband ordered the Cuban sandwich. Normally I don't like it but this time it was something about which to write home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing special

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

There are better places to go in Durango. The service was average at best and the food was okay but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Option in downtown Durango!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This was our 2nd time to dine here.... great menu; loved the cocktails; great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2015

We were there on a Monday night so was quiet but the food and service was great. The pork taco's were very good. Limited vegetarian dishes. One complaint is that the wine menu is very limited and they have more selection for by the glass than they do for by the bottle. My son was happy with the beer selections (he is a craft beer nut) but the wine list needs to improve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

One of my favorite restaurants!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2015

My husband and I love this place the food is wonderful and I love the décor! The only complaint is it's pretty loud. Besides that it's amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Best bar in Durango, great food, too.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Love their drink menu, which changes. Food is different, yet tasty. Small and large plates. S'mores are my favorite dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This may be advertised as a gastropub, b ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 2, 2015

This may be advertised as a gastropub, but it's much more. Great bar, great food and great service combine for a great experience. The menu has a variety of gourmet sandwiches and entrees along with extensive beer and wine selections.

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Halloween Dinner

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Dinner in Durango on Halloween is a hit or miss, this was a hit.

Great bone marrow! The pickled onions a nice counterpoint to them.

The scallops were nicely done with an amazing sauce.

The desserts where much larger than expected (ordering three of them may have been a mistake....) but very good. The Swedish Cream was by far the favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great "upscale" gastro pub in downtown Durango

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 21, 2015

Robust menu, good variety of items, both at lunch and dinner. Good wine & beer list. Various seating options. Attentive waiters

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Victorian revisualized

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2015

El Moro is a fun place to eat; it has a a lovely hip interior, vibrant bar, and a creative menu. The restaurant is not the place to bring your vegetarian friends if they are hungry because options are limited (something that is common in many Durango restaurants). But if you eat meat, fish or fowl, then this place will satisfy you. Some dishes try too hard by bringing too many strong flavors together; try the rabbit terrine, pastrami salmon, or warm brie for new takes on old favorites.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I have eaten at El Moro several times. I ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2015

I have eaten at El Moro several times. I've never had a bad meal there. Their cocktails are wonderful. The brunch is also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu/Food

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Limited choices - menu was unusual and difficult to understand and very poor food; service was OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great local menu, food was excellent. Se ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Great local menu, food was excellent. Service was exceptional and dealt with a special need very professionally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was good and the house made ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2015

All the food was good and the house made tonic water special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.