About El Meze Restaurant

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: 5757513337x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
11 More
Best Value
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Taos ›

Fit for Foodies (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Scenic View (38)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Historic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

good service and excellent innovative So ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

good service and excellent innovative Southwestern cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the view framed by the patio, t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the view framed by the patio, truly New Mexico with torchieres flaming, garden flowers and greenery a treat for the eye. The food and service were wonderful, and El Meze will be on our "destination" list now. We'll just drink the beer, since wine prices are over the top.

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had eaten at El Meze last year when w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had eaten at El Meze last year when we were in Taos and have been talking about it for the past year. Last year we ate out on the patio which is warm and cozy and has a lovely view. This year it was cold and rainy so we opted for indoors while many people were seated outdoors under warmers. We were seated in a small cozy dining area off the kitchen. We had a very attentive waiter and the food was absolutely memorable. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third time here and the foo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our third time here and the food is consistently top notch. We particularly like the chefs use of lavender in the appetizers. Great Muscles and very good Tamale. Wine selection excellent and view of sunset on the mountains from the patio outstanding. Relaxed dress and high quality food excellent combo.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great- service, food, amb ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great- service, food, ambiance, except outrageous wine prices!

We had a beer to go with the trout!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was delicious, fresh, fantast ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was delicious, fresh, fantastic. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our son's 28th birthday and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went for our son's 28th birthday and had a very nice meal. Good use of local food without being purely New Mexico type cuisine. Only complaint is that the menu is relatively small, but everything was done really well. Particularly good was the creme brule. Light and delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic dining experience. The view w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. The view was second only to the food.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, the service was as w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was great, the service was as well. The thing above all others is the outdoor view that you overlook as you dine. One of the most spectacular views you will ever witness while dining. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Taos.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible. Each plate was c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was terrible. Each plate was cooked in a cup of oil which was at the bottom of each dish we ordered. I.e.: whole trout, pasta, appetizer special of green beans. The pasta was made so thick that the inside was still raw and it was served with raw green salad mixed in to the pasta. I don't understand this concept of plan salad mixed with fresh cooked pasta with oil. The trout said it came with a watercress salad which there was not one leaf of watercress on the dish and there were two of those dishes served at our table. It came with the same salad that was in my pasta.

Extremely disgusted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The inside dining room, which had a gold ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The inside dining room, which had a gold-painted, Adobe fireplace in the corner, was intimate and peaceful. The food was outstanding and bountiful. Had the kale salad and then the pork appetizer as an entree. Mini cardamom donuts draped in chocolate sauce were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined at many restaurants during our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We dined at many restaurants during our 12-day New Mexico vacation. This was our favorite restaurant. The food was just wonderful! We had their specialty trout entree, kale salad, and green beans. It was lovely to sit outside and see the mountains in the distance. Tell them to putt out a cookbook!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical as ever!! A fine way to celebra ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Magical as ever!! A fine way to celebrate an anniversary !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and excellent service...need ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food and excellent service...need work on the hostess attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with friend at El Meze. Nice plac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Dinner with friend at El Meze. Nice place with a good selection of wines—the Garnache was fine.

The green bean appetizer was very good as were the frijoles. Entrees were the usual which is perhaps a problem. The minimal menu seems stuck in a rut.

Still good, but not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way! Superb and fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Superb and friendly staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner started with a refreshing Summer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner started with a refreshing Summer drink and a great appetizer with flavorful nectarines.

The trout with mint was very tasty as was the homemade pasta. Second visit and hope to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice. gorgeous view of the Taos Mou ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

very nice. gorgeous view of the Taos Mountains from the outdoor patio. space heaters made it very comfortable even for a cool evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited while in Taos on our honeymoo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We visited while in Taos on our honeymoon, and it was great! The staff was very knowledgable, friendly, and prompt. The food was really tasty, however some things were a tad bit too oily. The green beans were a special appetizer the day we went, and they were delicious! However, they were a little heavy on the oil. It's just my personal preference to not have so much oil. Other than that, we had a great meal and would be back if we lived in Taos!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have gone to El Meze several times -- ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have gone to El Meze several times -- always good food and excellent service. Their outdoor dining in the summer is nice unless, as in our last visit, the weather is not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Limited menu, but everything prepared in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Limited menu, but everything prepared in an exquisite and thoughtful way. Memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine on a summer evening ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to dine on a summer evening in Taos. We celebrated our anniversary here and really enjoyed the food, the ambiance, and the service. A family was seated next to us with two very well behaved young girls, so it was a very pleasant experience for us. Outdoor dining with a view of the mountains during the sunset - lovely. The menu is 'different' - unusual, gourmet items that are delightful. Best part is the donuts for dessert, they have a 'wow' factor. We had outstanding service that evening. Recommend reservations at all times.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time! The view was sp ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The view was spectacular, the food was wonderful! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had this year ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of the best meals I've had this year, including Michelin-starred places in NYC. Fresh, local sophisticated New Mexico cuisine in a beautiful setting. The bolita beans, tamales, and trout were standouts. Good wine list with excellent selections by the glass and bottle from around the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved sitting on the patio; the weath ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We loved sitting on the patio; the weather was a perfect August evening. The food is super unique, which was fun. Wish the menu were a little bit bigger and had a couple of options without spice other than pasta. We love coming to El Meze any time we visit Taos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food excellent, superb service by John, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food excellent, superb service by John, wonderful view, and...a blanket as the evening cooled was a nice touch. Recommend both the trout l and pasta. We were surprised they weren't that busy, although it was a Tuesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved this restaurant! As first time ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved this restaurant! As first time visitors to Taos, a friend recommended this to me. At dusk, the light playing off the mountains is spectacular! The food, cocktails, service and overall vibe were just what we were looking for. If I return to Taos, I'll be back to el Meze.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had in a lon ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

One of the best meals we've had in a long time. Outstanding "farm to table" experience, on a covered patio, with a very nice view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizer special was exceptional. W ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The appetizer special was exceptional. We ordered two of the four entrees on the menu, and both were the best of their respective genres, one pasta and one a tamale dish.

I would like a bit more choice but not if the quality suffers.

Definitely one of the best dining experiences in Taos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The patio view of Taos Mountain simply m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The patio view of Taos Mountain simply makes an excellent evening dining experience at El Meze an outstanding one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great appetizers with a range of choices ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great appetizers with a range of choices. We had the tamale and a pasta salad entres. These were creative variations on New Mexico fare. Service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Only one night in Taos - which restauran ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Only one night in Taos - which restaurant to choose? We picked El Meze and were delighted with the find. Our waitress was delightful and very attentive, with good understanding of the menu and preparation. Food was very very good (4.5) and the chef offered an interesting selection of items with an emphasis on local flavors and ingredients. We enjoyed the patio dining with a view of the mountains in the distance. We would dine here again next time in Taos

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

El Mez is a MUST in Taos! The menu is s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

El Mez is a MUST in Taos! The menu is seasonal and varied enough to suit most tastes. The dishes we tried were excellent and very fresh! The food, however takes second place to the view. We ate dinner outside on a patio that adjoins a very nice garden area. The patio has a spectacular view of the mountains! Most restaurants "in town" do not have a mountain view, so El Mez is unique Taos experience.

If you only have one dinner meal in Taos, go to El Mez!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

incredible view of the mountains! Servic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

incredible view of the mountains! Service was excellent and the food was outstanding! Can't wait for my next visit to Taos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The scene is beautiful and the food was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The scene is beautiful and the food was inventive and fresh

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about El Meze is perfect. Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about El Meze is perfect. The service, ambiance and food was all amazing. Will definitely be back when we're in Taos again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine and service are excellent ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food, wine and service are excellent. The patio offers spectacular views. It is a memorable place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant. We sat in the patio ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. We sat in the patio with a beautiful view of the mountains and gardens. Food was wonderful and service was the best. This is one to not miss when you are in Taos. The trout was so delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot north of the Plaza in Taos, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely spot north of the Plaza in Taos, with a lovely courtyard, a good wine list, and inventive takes on New Mexico favorites like carne adovada. We had an excellent and reasonably priced Tempranillo, a chopped kale salad that almost made me like kale, and attentive service. Very enjoyable indeed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible patio, highly attentive servi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Incredible patio, highly attentive service, and high quality food. Best of Taos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.