Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

About El Meze Restaurant

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: (575) 751-3337

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (8)
Fireplace (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Historic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

We come here once a year. This time our waitress was condescending and rushed us. I'm not sure what the rush was--there were lots of empty tables for a Friday night. The food is always good, but we will definitely be trying a new venue next time we are in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely, imaginative menu featuring local ingredients and unexpected Moroccan flavours. A bit of Spain blended with fresh, seasonal foods.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic - concise menu but executed near perfectly. Would compare favorably to anything in the genre in Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A hidden gem in Taos! El Meze has been a favorite restaurant of mine for a very long time. The location is out and away from the hustle of the plaza area and is in a nice quiet setting (an old hacienda). In the summertime, the outside patio has amazing views of the mountains where the inside atmosphere is cozy and warm. Fred and Annette do a fantastic job with El Meze. His food is always on point and delicious. My only complaint is that I missed his collard greens (off the menu for spring), they are some of the best I have ever had. Kelly and Carlos are friendly caring staff who truly love what they do, make you feel welcome, and never skip any detail regarding the evenings fare. Annette runs the front of house and always makes you feel welcome. She always has time to chat a bit, catch up on life (especially with locals) and creates the perfect environment to accompany Fred's amazing dishes. I highly recommend El Meze to not only locals but those passing through who want a culinary delight!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best meals I had during my vacation in New Mexico.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Visiting from out of town, El Meze was recommended by a friend. We shared several of the small plates, and each one was delicious. Our server recommended combining the chicharonnes with the romaine salad, and that turned out to be a great combination. Service was very attentive, the place was tastefully decorated. All in all, a great find!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went for a quiet dinner. All four of the adults are serious foodies and we were not disappointed. We simply ordered ALL of the share plates - chicharrones - wonderful, adovado, wonderful, fried olives - great, tuna carpaccio sensational, salads wonderful. Great wine list - I will be going back many times.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food, good value, one of the best in Taos.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing Meal! Friendly and Knowledgable Staff! Cannot say enough about the experience they provided for my group of girls on our spring trip to Taos. Will be back everytime we visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I loved my trout entree. It had a delicious non-chile sauce for me. I am allergic to chile. Also loved my brussel sprouts with bacon and blue cheese. Taos was unusually warm on that weekend. My husband was very warm in the restaurant --to the point where he had to go out for air about 5 times because he was feeling claustrophobic and anxious. They refused to open the window. They seemed very unconcerned. His steak was too rare and too spicy. He didn't expect it to be so spicy. They cooked it more but it was still too rare. Our friend ordered a tamale entree which was supposed to be a spicy dish-a 7 out of 10 per the server. Our friend loved spicy and said it wasn't spicy enough. Our lavender creme brûlée did not taste lavender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The 3 course Restaurant Week menu was a wonderful reflection of the consistently delicious food at El Meze. A Taos gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love the food, service and ambiance. El Mez is a top noch restaurant serving great food and wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was way below the usual standard. This was a restaurant week visit. The entree (steak) was tough and poorly prepared. We were very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Do not accept the table between the hostess stand and the kitchen door. You pay full price but the constant revolving kitchen door is truly obnoxious. Virtually ruined what otherwise was a lovely experience. That table needs to go away.

That said, our server Kelly was knowledgable and charming. Chile rajas with chèvre was a light, clean and delicious appetizer. Grilled romaine was excellent. Light dressing of anchovy paste, lemon juice, olive oil & black pepper topped with Manchego. Grilled trout = truly superb entree, and I don't like trout. Semifreddo good.

Service and food are excellent. Front of the house management absent.

Four stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The El Meze menu is not long, but most people should be able to find something intriguing and delicious. New Mexican food is authentic, so don't expect tourist friendly levels of spice. Non-spicy options are available though. Atmosphere is casual in a historic adobe building. Would go back any time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Spicy, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A duo birthday celebration in a memorable setting with delicious food. May become the next addition to our annual birthday weekend celebration!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chef Frederick Muller is deeply immersed in the cuisine of the high desert hispanic world and turns out truly memorable dishes that reflect that tradition. The whole restaurant runs as a well-oiled machine supporting Muller's vision No one should spend time in Taos without eating at El Meze.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner at El Meze in Taos on Saturday evening! We knew we were in for a treat from the very beginning - a special appetizer of a raw scallop, sliced kiwi, yuzu/olive oil, hawaiian black sea salt and an absolutely amazing habanero spice puree. The balance, acid, salt, and taste of this dish was marvelous. Our group of 4 then shared 4 small plates. The carne adovada was just incredible with tender well cooked meat and a deep flavorful, smoky New Mexico red chili sauce; the chili rajas were a delight but could have been even spicer; we all loved the beans (including one of us who is a Puerto Rican and makes the best beans with sofrito that any of us have ever tasted); and the grilled romaine salad was terrific. Finally, we shared the trout which was amazing and the steak which was very good. The wine selections were great. Our husbands had room to chow down on dessert, which included donuts with chocolate (like beignets) and an almond panacotta. Service was excellent and the ambiance great.
What makes this place so special? On a good night like our experience, this restaurant can hold its own with the best in Santa Fe and Albuquerque, which is saying a lot. It is truly an authentic place. Our answers also include the terrific food, a chef who clearly has a great palate, and NO FEAR from spice - too many higher end restaurants in Santa Fe in particular tone it down for tourists and "too tame" locals.
We had a great evening. Thanks to the chef and our server! We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Carlos was awesome!!! Intelligent about everything on the menu! Food was great. Service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. The wine selection was very impressive as well. We will definitely be back to El Meze next time we visit Taos.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Locally sourced ingredients and a creative fusion menu as well as quiet but upbeat atmosphere make El Meze worth a stop or drive to Taos just for dinner. Featuring share plates and main entrees, as well as fresh salads and fabulous desserts, the creative fusion menu changes often, but it's all good. Highly recommend for special occasions, but probably not young children. This is fine dining and priced as such but so worth it. Good wine selection too.
Chef Fred Muller's talent for combining traditional Native American, historic southwest, and now Moorish influences, on the ingredients and flavor combinations is unique and always a gastronomic journey. We were huge fans of the original Fred's Place New Mexican restaurant before it closed, even bought a copy of La Comida. With El Meze, Chef Muller's food historian concept further with amazing results. Don't miss this.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Another amazing meal at El Meze. Amazing ingredients artfully prepared with stellar service in a quaint setting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We travel through Taos each years, specifically to enjoy dinner at El Meze. Name it: service, quality of food, atmosphere, "karma"...all perfect. GO!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Overall excellent everything. Special mention for recognizing our anniversary and helping my wife's coughing spell. Great service, great ambience, and very good to excellent menu. I had the trout, which was very good. Have to agree with other reviews that a little less seasoning would be to my taste - it would allow the wonderful trout flavor to shine. The appetizers were awesome (the beans & collard greens). The salads/greens were incredibly fresh & tasty. Flatbread was amazing. Agree about the wines are a tad expensive, but understand the pricing breakpoint there. Service was impeccable from all. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

El Meze is the best restaurant in Taos. It is something special and unique. It is run by a couple with a passion for both food and service. We have had the good fortune to dine there on dozens of occasions, and look forward to every return visit. This is truly a special restaurant that is worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was excellent. Loved the roasted brussel sprouts with bleu cheese and bacon but all of our selections were outstanding. The place was packed but the service was still excellent. We would highly recommend El Meze!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Loved our 1st visit to El Meze. Server was attentive, but I think another server was needed the night before Thanksgivng. Brussels sprouts , chicarrones appetizers were wonderful. Herb fries were only ok. Main courses- trout, duck confit, & the southwestern dish were all loved. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Based on reviews we tried El Meze and were very happy. We shared the fried calamari with garlic. The trout was excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful selection of dishes that highlight quality ingredients and excellent presentation. The menu has something for everyone, and they are attentive to dietary requests. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent as always. Tried the new pasta dish and it was delicious. Always have to have the chicharon and the frites - soooooo good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had another excellent dinner here and will definitely return again. We loved all our courses and the friendly and helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The menu was inventive and all meals were farm-to-table. Ingredients were fresh and local and the chef cooked the main dishes to our tasted. The wine selection was good and the waiter allowed us to taste a bit before we ordered a bottle. The waiter was very helpful and made good suggestions to us.
Also, I have hearing problems, and we were moved to a more quiet table from our first seating.
We appreciated this and the owner was very pleasant about the request.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary on a trip to Taos. Based on reviews, we decided on a special dinner at El Meze and we were not disappointed! We lucked out since it was the last week for back patio dining prior to winter season. The view of the sunset on the mountains was outstanding; so was the food and service. We started with some lavender frites and a tomato wedge salad; both were very good. For the main course, we had the green chile tamales and the grilled whole trout; again, both were excellent. My wife declared the trout the best she's ever had. For dessert we had the Almond Semifreddo; light, yet rich flavor, and the Lemon & Rasberry Napoleon, also delicious. We hope to return someday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was not our first time there. It was a return visit for our Anniversary. It was perfect as always. Great food. Great staff. Great wine list. Small list but packed with great wines. We will always go there when in Taos.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wow, what a great surprise! 5 amigos in Santa Fe and a side trip to Taos, dinner questions answered by open Table! Fantastic setting and food--we couldn't have been happier. We sat in a heated, covered patio with a beautiful view of desert, mountains and the sunset! So grateful for the culinary and visual experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Currently, my favorite place in Taos. Every dish we ate was outstanding. I recommend having the specials, always delicious and truly "special".

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent food, service, ambiance - and a patio with a million dollar view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious and yummy with great service and ambience. My only complaint is that I live in the Los Angeles area and can only eat there when visiting Taos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

good service and excellent innovative Southwestern cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We loved the view framed by the patio, truly New Mexico with torchieres flaming, garden flowers and greenery a treat for the eye. The food and service were wonderful, and El Meze will be on our "destination" list now. We'll just drink the beer, since wine prices are over the top.

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.