About El Meze Restaurant

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: 5757513337x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
10 More
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Taos ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Scenic View (32)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner started with a refreshing Summer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner started with a refreshing Summer drink and a great appetizer with flavorful nectarines.

The trout with mint was very tasty as was the homemade pasta. Second visit and hope to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice. gorgeous view of the Taos Mou ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

very nice. gorgeous view of the Taos Mountains from the outdoor patio. space heaters made it very comfortable even for a cool evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited while in Taos on our honeymoo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We visited while in Taos on our honeymoon, and it was great! The staff was very knowledgable, friendly, and prompt. The food was really tasty, however some things were a tad bit too oily. The green beans were a special appetizer the day we went, and they were delicious! However, they were a little heavy on the oil. It's just my personal preference to not have so much oil. Other than that, we had a great meal and would be back if we lived in Taos!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have gone to El Meze several times -- ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have gone to El Meze several times -- always good food and excellent service. Their outdoor dining in the summer is nice unless, as in our last visit, the weather is not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Limited menu, but everything prepared in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Limited menu, but everything prepared in an exquisite and thoughtful way. Memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine on a summer evening ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to dine on a summer evening in Taos. We celebrated our anniversary here and really enjoyed the food, the ambiance, and the service. A family was seated next to us with two very well behaved young girls, so it was a very pleasant experience for us. Outdoor dining with a view of the mountains during the sunset - lovely. The menu is 'different' - unusual, gourmet items that are delightful. Best part is the donuts for dessert, they have a 'wow' factor. We had outstanding service that evening. Recommend reservations at all times.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time! The view was sp ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The view was spectacular, the food was wonderful! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had this year ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of the best meals I've had this year, including Michelin-starred places in NYC. Fresh, local sophisticated New Mexico cuisine in a beautiful setting. The bolita beans, tamales, and trout were standouts. Good wine list with excellent selections by the glass and bottle from around the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved sitting on the patio; the weath ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We loved sitting on the patio; the weather was a perfect August evening. The food is super unique, which was fun. Wish the menu were a little bit bigger and had a couple of options without spice other than pasta. We love coming to El Meze any time we visit Taos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food excellent, superb service by John, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food excellent, superb service by John, wonderful view, and...a blanket as the evening cooled was a nice touch. Recommend both the trout l and pasta. We were surprised they weren't that busy, although it was a Tuesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved this restaurant! As first time ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved this restaurant! As first time visitors to Taos, a friend recommended this to me. At dusk, the light playing off the mountains is spectacular! The food, cocktails, service and overall vibe were just what we were looking for. If I return to Taos, I'll be back to el Meze.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had in a lon ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

One of the best meals we've had in a long time. Outstanding "farm to table" experience, on a covered patio, with a very nice view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizer special was exceptional. W ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The appetizer special was exceptional. We ordered two of the four entrees on the menu, and both were the best of their respective genres, one pasta and one a tamale dish.

I would like a bit more choice but not if the quality suffers.

Definitely one of the best dining experiences in Taos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The patio view of Taos Mountain simply m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The patio view of Taos Mountain simply makes an excellent evening dining experience at El Meze an outstanding one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great appetizers with a range of choices ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great appetizers with a range of choices. We had the tamale and a pasta salad entres. These were creative variations on New Mexico fare. Service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Only one night in Taos - which restauran ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Only one night in Taos - which restaurant to choose? We picked El Meze and were delighted with the find. Our waitress was delightful and very attentive, with good understanding of the menu and preparation. Food was very very good (4.5) and the chef offered an interesting selection of items with an emphasis on local flavors and ingredients. We enjoyed the patio dining with a view of the mountains in the distance. We would dine here again next time in Taos

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

El Mez is a MUST in Taos! The menu is s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

El Mez is a MUST in Taos! The menu is seasonal and varied enough to suit most tastes. The dishes we tried were excellent and very fresh! The food, however takes second place to the view. We ate dinner outside on a patio that adjoins a very nice garden area. The patio has a spectacular view of the mountains! Most restaurants "in town" do not have a mountain view, so El Mez is unique Taos experience.

If you only have one dinner meal in Taos, go to El Mez!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

incredible view of the mountains! Servic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

incredible view of the mountains! Service was excellent and the food was outstanding! Can't wait for my next visit to Taos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The scene is beautiful and the food was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The scene is beautiful and the food was inventive and fresh

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about El Meze is perfect. Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about El Meze is perfect. The service, ambiance and food was all amazing. Will definitely be back when we're in Taos again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine and service are excellent ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food, wine and service are excellent. The patio offers spectacular views. It is a memorable place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant. We sat in the patio ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. We sat in the patio with a beautiful view of the mountains and gardens. Food was wonderful and service was the best. This is one to not miss when you are in Taos. The trout was so delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot north of the Plaza in Taos, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely spot north of the Plaza in Taos, with a lovely courtyard, a good wine list, and inventive takes on New Mexico favorites like carne adovada. We had an excellent and reasonably priced Tempranillo, a chopped kale salad that almost made me like kale, and attentive service. Very enjoyable indeed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible patio, highly attentive servi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Incredible patio, highly attentive service, and high quality food. Best of Taos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live in Santa Fe and eat out frequent ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We live in Santa Fe and eat out frequently.

My Bone-in Rib-eye steak was outstanding.

My partner's whole trout was dried out and should have been returned.

Our friends's Tamale de Cardenas was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Must try the grilled caesar salad, delis ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Must try the grilled caesar salad, delish! Sit outside, great view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good restaurant. We were sur ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, good restaurant. We were surprised no bar?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very tasty meal!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very tasty meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Meze

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

A very scenic and nice restaurant north of Taos. Good value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to El Meze the last few tim ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have been to El Meze the last few times we were in Taos. I enjoy the place and the service. Beautiful views of the mountain. It's a little ways out of Taos on the road to El Prado. But sometimes I find their menu a bit limited and a bit on the exotic side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

So glad we found this gem in Taos! Star ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

So glad we found this gem in Taos! Start with the view of the mountain behind the outdoor cafe setting - spectacular, great photo spot. Then the Salad with preserved lemon in the dressing was perfection - so tasty and light. The whole grilled trout was awesome as well, although the salad on the side was not as appreciated after we'd eaten the appetizer salad. The highlight of our Taos visit - thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vacation treat

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We dined at El Meze on vacation. Our server, John, was really wonderful. He was helpful but unobtrusive. We had three of the shared plates (tapas in other areas) . Two of them were so-so but the stuffed olives were stellar. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of wine--they are heavy on the Spanish wines. For the size of Taos, this is a good restaurant. My only criticism is that the staff seemed to be fawning over a single male guest in the dining room which was a little weird and disconcerting. Otherwise, it was a nice quiet dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a lovely dinner at El Meze while vis ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Had a lovely dinner at El Meze while visiting Taos. Staff were super friendly and nice and the meal was well prepared and very enjoyable. Desert was also wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, creative food. Friendly waite ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful, creative food. Friendly waiters. The trout was the clear favorite at our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a wonderful, little, area gem t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a wonderful, little, area gem to discover. So happy to have Open Table help finding places like this. The food was excellent...fresh, local produce.; creative presentation; & plenty to eat. Desserts were even more fun &, of course, yummy. Excellent wine list, also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Food and service!

 
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Loved the fact that the chef does his thing using local grown items in his dishes. Everything tastes wonderful, the ambience is cozy and warm and the service spot on! Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Everything was perfect. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent meal. Everything was perfect. Creative and wonderful food in a perfect setting. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Mexican with a Twist

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Went here on a quiet Monday night. The menu is limited with a lot of thought and care put in to the dishes. Everything was very fresh, the dishes were wonderfully balanced, not overdone or pretentious.

Service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great find in Taos!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

When in Taos, definitely try this wonderful restaurant with a fresh and inventive menu. We live in Santa Fe and will make special trips up to Taos just to dine here. Bravo to the Chef and staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21st Anniversary Celebration

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent food celebrating our anniversary. Chef creates delicious food and has creative ideas and serves lovely presentations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.