Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - El Meze Restaurant

4.6
651 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southwest
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(575) 751-3337
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Frederick Muller
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Annette Kratka: (575) 751-3337
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hail Creek
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building
Additional
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 651 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

I'm going to miss this restaurant but Fred, the proprietor deserves a good retirement. Hopefully someone will be passed the torch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

so sorry El Mez has closed - Taos will miss the fantastic food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 19, 2017

We had the very good fortune to enjoy a delicious meal at El Meze shortly before the owner retired. My wife ordered their heirloom tomato and cheese salad, drizzled with a bit of Olive oil. I had homemade pasta that was sautéed with fresh assorted mushrooms, greens, asparagus and shaved Parmesan cheese-exquisite!
Sad to see this wonderful restaurant close.......

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

So very sad to see El Meze close on October 21st. Many good meals and glasses of wine to remember. Best of luck to Annette and Fred in their new adventure. Anne & Terry Conner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Simply the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Hurry to have a chance to dine before they close! This is an exceptional place in food, service and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

We dined in a small room of the "house" (only 6 tables if memory serves) which contributed to the intimate and quiet dining experience. Our server was excellent, making good recommendations and interacting with us to make it a very pleasant experience. The food was excellent. It was my first posole and a bit spicy for me, but I asked my friend who grew up with the local food; she said it was good. My fellow diners had the truchas (trout) and ate the skin - something they don't usually do. The sad part of the story is that the restaurant will be closing soon since the owner is retiring. I'm happy for the owner's retiring - it's a good gig - but I'm sad for the diners who will not be able to enjoy this excellent restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2017

El Mez offers excellent food and atmospere. I am so sorry they are closing on Oct. 22.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Another return to El Meze. I was motivated to travel from Albuquerque to enjoy dinner at El Meze with friends. We all ordered the tamale swimming in green chile, the chef's signature dish. Chicharones and the fried green olives started us off. Bold flavors and so delicious. I was grateful for another dinner outside while facing the mountain and Fred and Annette's garden. A very special spot in El Prado (Taos).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Sad to say that this restaurant will be closing at the end of Oct. it was such a great atmosphere , staff was excellent , food (pasta dish) was so good I have to go back again! Sorry the owners are moving out of Taos- a big loss.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

great food and excellent service. small wine selection, but all excellent choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Always delicious food and spectacular vista with the outside seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

One of the best restaurants anywhere. Always excellent. Closing in late October, to re-open at some future date under new ownership.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Our waiter gave excellent guidance. Green beans were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant, sorry it's closing. We loved the outdoor dining!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2017

We were quite pleased with El Meze all around. Service was great, atmosphere was very romantic and the food was amazing. We had their signature dish which was the trout. Best trout I have had in my life. Will drive the 5 hours to Taos to have it again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 12, 2017

too bad they're closing down at the end of October. I guess after 10 years they deserve a break.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic dinner on the patio with a view of the mountains. Food was so delicious we ordered extra just so we would have leftovers for the next day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

My husband and I were staying in Taos during the Big Barn Dance weekend. We had heard about El Meze from friends, and I am so glad we had the opportunity to experience this wonderful restaurant. Don't judge this gem by the entrance which is very underwhelming. Walking from the inside to outdoor patio you have a fabulous view of the mountains as you sit under a canopy with party lights and stand-heaters (the evening bring a pleasant chill). We started our meal with the heirloom tomato salad - beautiful and so fresh, with basil and goat cheese, and a crock of Benito beans which were perfectly spiced and topped with cheese and green onions. My husband had the whole trout; I ordered the homemade pasta (more like dumplings) ~ both were perfect! Great evening ~ great food ~ great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Nice views and amazing food ... all with good friendly service.... one of my favorite in Taos

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Ambiance, service, food quality and recipes were outstanding as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2017

We always eat at El Meze when vacationing in Taos. The food and service are always great and the view of the mountains when siting outside is spectacular. This time, my husband ate the trout, and he said it was moist, not oily and the herbs used in cooking it gave it a wonderfil flavor. I had the tamale, and it had enough Hatch green chilis to make it spicy, but not hot. We also love the chichurrones and always get th for an apprtizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent service and an outstanding appetizer and main course menu. Also had a very nice bottle of voignier wine at a reasonable price. The mountain views are excellent from the patio. This is an excellent Taos restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

The real star of this show is the view! Gorgeous! The food and service were also very good. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the Taos area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Cannot say enough good things about the service. We were so well taken care of by the knowledgeable, warm, and enthusiastic staff. And the cardamom donuts were not to be missed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

El Meze has an incredible view, great service, inventive menu. We come to Santa Fe every summer and always make a point to dine at El Meze when we come to Taos for the day. Smallish but good wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Delicious, creative food with an incredible view of the Taos mountains.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We arrived on time for our booking. We were shown to our table almost 20 minutes later. First drinks arrived 35 minutes after our booked table time. Not a great start. However from that time the meals and service were very good. We would go back as we enjoyed the carefully cooked and presented food along with gracious and helpful service. Just be warned, as with most places that have two sittings, you may be asked to wait and stand around as there is no bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Epic meal! I can't wait to go back. We ate as much as we possibly could and every single dish was excellent! The uninterrupted view of the Taos mountain was breathtaking. I felt like I was in a foreign country...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

What a find! From the road you aren't sure but go in... it's magical! Sit outside amidst the twinkling lights & watch the mountains in the background. The service was fantastic the food even better. Such a treat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Many reviews claimed El Meze is the best restaurant in Taos. Consequently, we wanted to eat at El Meze. We booked a table and were seated at 6:00. The restaurant patio was fairly empty but quite full by 06:45. In contrast when we left there was a single couple eating inside. The menu was interesting with a limited variety of starters, salads and main dishes. We tried one of each and shared them. The food was well prepared and very tasty, especially the Romaine Heart Salad and the Trout. They had a good selection of wines and beers. The beers were quite reasonable but the wines were rather dear for the selection. They also had a separate desert menu with a special of lemon ice cream. All in all we enjoyed the meal and would return but am uncertain if El Meze deserves to be rated as the best restaurant in Taos as there are many excellent restaurants in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Loved our meal at El Meze. The welcome was warm and when I realized that I was wearing a sleeveless dress and could get chilly they provided a light blanket! We had the Chili Rajas for an appetizer and it was so yummy! One entree was the Posole, which is really fresh and delicious. The other was the pork tamale in green sauce. Also outstanding. We had the lavender Creme Brûlée for dessert and just soaked in the amazing views of the mountains and enchanting courtyard. One of the best, romantic spots in Taos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2017

El Meze was wonderful. The view on the patio was beautiful with the lovely garden and the spiritual mountain as the backdrop. Very serene and romantic. The food was delicious. The appetizer of Serrano ham with white nectarines and shaved Manchego cheese was beautifully presented and just as delicious. The signature trout with mint sauce was amazing and the Lavender Creme Brulee was creamy and delectable. I highly recommend El Meze. We very much enjoyed the ambience and food. Top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had. Incredible trout and lemon curd ice cream was fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

This restaurant is perfect in every way. I've been coming for several years and I love it!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2017

We loved El Meze. Great service, outstanding appetizer, salad and dessert. Gave it 4 of 5 for food because our entrees were a step below spectacular, which was disappointing after our starters. Beautiful location; friendly , professional, and knowledgeable waitress. Reasonably priced for the quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

A great restaurant featuring local, seasonal fare. Trout was best ever and not to be missed. Chicharones were unctuous and the lavender creme brulet made perfect ending. Would definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 25, 2017

We have dined at El Meze several times. Each occasion has been wonderful. This week we sat on the patio and gazed at the mountains and their herb garden. Very pleasant. Excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2017

I had a terrific experience at El Meze. I sat on the patio and when a rain storm popped up the staff quickly dropped the screen on the porch so we didn't get blasted by the wind. The food was incredible. My son had the grilled hearts of romaine and the anchovy dressing/w manchego cheese was so good I emailed the chef for the recipe. The dressing has since become a regular at my house.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17