About El Meze Restaurant

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: 5757513337x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
13 More
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Taos ›

fit for foodies (28)
special occasion (25)
great for outdoor dining (22)
See All
romantic (19)
scenic view (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible patio, highly attentive servi ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Incredible patio, highly attentive service, and high quality food. Best of Taos!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We live in Santa Fe and eat out frequent ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We live in Santa Fe and eat out frequently. My Bone-in Rib-eye steak was outstanding. My partner's whole trout was dried out and should have been returned. Our friends's Tamale de Cardenas was excellent

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must try the grilled caesar salad, delis ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Must try the grilled caesar salad, delish! Sit outside, great view.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, good restaurant. We were sur ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, good restaurant. We were surprised no bar?

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Very tasty meal!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very tasty meal!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Meze

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

A very scenic and nice restaurant north of Taos. Good value.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

So glad we found this gem in Taos! Star ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

So glad we found this gem in Taos! Start with the view of the mountain behind the outdoor cafe setting - spectacular, great photo spot. Then the Salad with preserved lemon in the dressing was perfection - so tasty and light. The whole grilled trout was awesome as well, although the salad on the side was not as appreciated after we'd eaten the appetizer salad. The highlight of our Taos visit - thank you!

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Vacation treat

Dined on June 1, 2016

We dined at El Meze on vacation. Our server, John, was really wonderful. He was helpful but unobtrusive. We had three of the shared plates (tapas in other areas) . Two of them were so-so but the stuffed olives were stellar. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of wine--they are heavy on the Spanish wines. For the size of Taos, this is a good restaurant. My only criticism is that the staff seemed to be fawning over a single male guest in the dining room which was a little weird and disconcerting. Otherwise, it was a nice quiet dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely dinner at El Meze while vis ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Had a lovely dinner at El Meze while visiting Taos. Staff were super friendly and nice and the meal was well prepared and very enjoyable. Desert was also wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, creative food. Friendly waite ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful, creative food. Friendly waiters. The trout was the clear favorite at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful, little, area gem t ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a wonderful, little, area gem to discover. So happy to have Open Table help finding places like this. The food was excellent...fresh, local produce.; creative presentation; & plenty to eat. Desserts were even more fun &, of course, yummy. Excellent wine list, also.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food and service!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Loved the fact that the chef does his thing using local grown items in his dishes. Everything tastes wonderful, the ambience is cozy and warm and the service spot on! Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Everything was perfect. ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent meal. Everything was perfect. Creative and wonderful food in a perfect setting. We'll be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

New Mexican with a Twist

Dined on March 22, 2016

Went here on a quiet Monday night. The menu is limited with a lot of thought and care put in to the dishes. Everything was very fresh, the dishes were wonderfully balanced, not overdone or pretentious. Service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Taos!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

When in Taos, definitely try this wonderful restaurant with a fresh and inventive menu. We live in Santa Fe and will make special trips up to Taos just to dine here. Bravo to the Chef and staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

21st Anniversary Celebration

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent food celebrating our anniversary. Chef creates delicious food and has creative ideas and serves lovely presentations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had the best meal for my birthday celebration as noted by the stars I'm giving this review. We had a cozy table by the fireplace and every course we ordered was as stunning as the won we finished. Having ordered a bottle of wine that we failed to finished, they sealed it up and we took it back to the hotel and finished it the following day. We have eaten here several times, for sure each time we travel to Taos. They are so friendly and accommodating, the service was just a delight, that I'm surprised that food preparation such as El Meze, hasn't resumed what should be it's place, # 1 in Taos on Tripadvisor. It certainly is #1 with this reviewer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place in Taos

Dined on March 8, 2016

Wonderful and well prepared food. Great service. Beautiful ambiance. Had dinner there 2 of our 3 nights during this past trip to Taos.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A winner!

Dined on March 5, 2016

El Meze is special in Taos. The food is very good as is the service. However, it's difficult to go often as at the menu doesn't change.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Buffalo Short ribs were delicious. Oyste ...

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Buffalo Short ribs were delicious. Oyster Soup was outstanding. Trout with mint was excellent. Wine list very nice. This is pretty much a don't miss for people who enjoy fine dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good and our go to restaur ...

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Consistently good and our go to restaurant for out of town guests.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always wonderful. had a great time.

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Always wonderful. Had a great time. Food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Tempernillo to start, along wi ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Beautiful Tempernillo to start, along with the pork belly. Buffalo tamale & fruits de mer for dinner. Perfect! Excellent service & ambiance. Best meal of our Taos trip, by far!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great place

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a favorite

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

We eat at El Meze every year when we visit Taos Ski Valley. We are never disappointed. The food is always excellent, and the wait staff knowledgeable, friendly and professional. If the tamale is on the menu I would highly recommend it, along with the brussel sprout appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious and cooked perf ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Everything was delicious and cooked perfectly. Started with the Brussels sprouts moved to fruits de mer then on to the chiccarones. All great share plates! Had the trout for an entree and it was the best part of the meal! Our server Johnathan was very attentive and graceful. Highly recommend this place for a nice date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

Dined on January 10, 2016

We have eaten at El Meze the last three visits we have made to Taos. Each time has been an enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Another new favorite in Taos

Dined on December 11, 2015

We visit Taos every year. We just discovered this restaurant and it will become a regular for us. Great food and service. It is a nice quiet place so it was easy to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

good food in a great atmosphere

Dined on November 27, 2015

We ate the special fixed price Thanksgiving dinner at El Meze and as usual the food and service was great. Too bad that the cold weather has closed the outdoor dining until next spring. View was spectacular. Chef Fred's use of New Mexico spices lent a new taste for turkey. wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Thanksgiving dinner

Dined on November 27, 2015

Having eaten here in the past, we expected a five star meal for Thanksgiving dinner. It lived up to it's reputation. The service was friendly and prompt. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable

Dined on November 24, 2015

One of the most lovely meals that we have experienced and we have traveled the world. The choices of restaurants were somewhat limited as we planned out trip to Taos so we held our breath and took our chances. We were not disappointed. The description of comfort food was so appropriate. We started our meal with a pot of local New Mexico grown beans that were delicious, followed by the seafood salad with tender greens and a delicate champagne dressing that was so memorable. Main dish was trout covered with a flavorful herb pesto with a crunchy skin that needed to be eaten. We didn't push ourselves for dessert however there is no doubt that we would have been pleased. Ambiance of the old hacienda home and excellent service topped off an evening to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Polite, informed, convivial and truly de ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

Polite, informed, convivial and truly delightful. From our waiter to the owner/hostess everyone in the hose made us feel truly welcomed and appreciated. Our best dining in Taos.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all the way around.

Dined on October 29, 2015

We had a group of 8 for my husband's birthday. Kelly, our waitperson, is always excellent, professional, knowledgeable, helpful with wine suggestions. The overall experience was perfect down to the lighting of the candles for the cake we brought. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Taos, NM. Food is great. Views of mountains in summer from the back patio are superb. In winter it's cozy and romantic with kiva fireplaces and loads of ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

small menu executed beautifully

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

we dined on appetizers- a ham special of N Italy, heirloom tomatoes, buffalo short ribs (superb) and calamari. We would have had dessert but were full. Friendly and informed service, once wine fairly priced.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible meal

Dined on October 22, 2015

Weather was gloomy, but everything improved once we went into the restaurant. Both service and food were incredible. Best restaurant we hit in either Santa Fe or Taos.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect evening in Taos

Dined on October 20, 2015

My boyfriend and I recently traveled through New Mexico and Colorado. We read some reviews online for El Meze and made a reservation right away. We were not disappointed. The food was absolutely incredible and very moderately priced. I appreciated the local ingredients they used to create an elevated take on Southwestern cuisine. For my main dish, I ordered the grilled trout. I have never had fish so crispy, blackened, and delicious on the outside yet so tender on the inside. If I ever am in the Taos area again (which I really hope I will be!), El Meze will definitely be on my itinerary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Food in Town

Dined on October 14, 2015

Excellent chef. Locally sourced food beautifully prepared and plated. Vegetarian, fish and meat options, some strongly spiced, some mildly. Our favorite in Taos.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Not Impressed. Chef now refuses to make ...

vip
Dined on October 7, 2015

Not Impressed. Chef now refuses to make items he was previously known fo. Patronizing service and run down atmosphere. Will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service4

great place for dining

Dined on October 6, 2015

We have been going to Taos once or twice a year for so many years we don't want to say. For evening dining at one time Doc Martin's was the top. Then it was Joseph's Table. Then Lambert's ... then Love Apple. I can honestly say if only had one night in Taos next week, I would reserve a table at El Meze.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Great service, delicious foo ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Excellent! Great service, delicious food and beautiful view. Definitely would recommend.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.