Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

About El Meze Restaurant

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: (575) 751-3337

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Scenic View (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Authentic (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (10)
Spicy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Organic (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Tapas (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

El Meze has an incredible view, great service, inventive menu. We come to Santa Fe every summer and always make a point to dine at El Meze when we come to Taos for the day. Smallish but good wine list.

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious, creative food with an incredible view of the Taos mountains.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We arrived on time for our booking. We were shown to our table almost 20 minutes later. First drinks arrived 35 minutes after our booked table time. Not a great start. However from that time the meals and service were very good. We would go back as we enjoyed the carefully cooked and presented food along with gracious and helpful service. Just be warned, as with most places that have two sittings, you may be asked to wait and stand around as there is no bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Epic meal! I can't wait to go back. We ate as much as we possibly could and every single dish was excellent! The uninterrupted view of the Taos mountain was breathtaking. I felt like I was in a foreign country...

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

What a find! From the road you aren't sure but go in... it's magical! Sit outside amidst the twinkling lights & watch the mountains in the background. The service was fantastic the food even better. Such a treat

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Many reviews claimed El Meze is the best restaurant in Taos. Consequently, we wanted to eat at El Meze. We booked a table and were seated at 6:00. The restaurant patio was fairly empty but quite full by 06:45. In contrast when we left there was a single couple eating inside. The menu was interesting with a limited variety of starters, salads and main dishes. We tried one of each and shared them. The food was well prepared and very tasty, especially the Romaine Heart Salad and the Trout. They had a good selection of wines and beers. The beers were quite reasonable but the wines were rather dear for the selection. They also had a separate desert menu with a special of lemon ice cream. All in all we enjoyed the meal and would return but am uncertain if El Meze deserves to be rated as the best restaurant in Taos as there are many excellent restaurants in the city.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Loved our meal at El Meze. The welcome was warm and when I realized that I was wearing a sleeveless dress and could get chilly they provided a light blanket! We had the Chili Rajas for an appetizer and it was so yummy! One entree was the Posole, which is really fresh and delicious. The other was the pork tamale in green sauce. Also outstanding. We had the lavender Creme Brûlée for dessert and just soaked in the amazing views of the mountains and enchanting courtyard. One of the best, romantic spots in Taos.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

El Meze was wonderful. The view on the patio was beautiful with the lovely garden and the spiritual mountain as the backdrop. Very serene and romantic. The food was delicious. The appetizer of Serrano ham with white nectarines and shaved Manchego cheese was beautifully presented and just as delicious. The signature trout with mint sauce was amazing and the Lavender Creme Brulee was creamy and delectable. I highly recommend El Meze. We very much enjoyed the ambience and food. Top notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had. Incredible trout and lemon curd ice cream was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This restaurant is perfect in every way. I've been coming for several years and I love it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We loved El Meze. Great service, outstanding appetizer, salad and dessert. Gave it 4 of 5 for food because our entrees were a step below spectacular, which was disappointing after our starters. Beautiful location; friendly , professional, and knowledgeable waitress. Reasonably priced for the quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A great restaurant featuring local, seasonal fare. Trout was best ever and not to be missed. Chicharones were unctuous and the lavender creme brulet made perfect ending. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We have dined at El Meze several times. Each occasion has been wonderful. This week we sat on the patio and gazed at the mountains and their herb garden. Very pleasant. Excellent food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I had a terrific experience at El Meze. I sat on the patio and when a rain storm popped up the staff quickly dropped the screen on the porch so we didn't get blasted by the wind. The food was incredible. My son had the grilled hearts of romaine and the anchovy dressing/w manchego cheese was so good I emailed the chef for the recipe. The dressing has since become a regular at my house.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Best restaurant in Taos by far, for those who can distinguish fine food from fast food.
Also beats most of the restaurants in its 'southern' neighbor, Santa Fe --- this version of tapas and Spanish main courses makes La Boca look like an amateur production.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is a very special place! My friend and I chose to eat here the first night of our stay in Taos and enjoyed ourselves so much that we made a reservation for the next evening as well. We were not disappointed! The food was excellent, the staff fantastic and the view can't be beat. Overall it was one of our best dinning experiences ever! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

My favorite restaurant - anywhere. I make it a point to eat at El Meze at least once whenever I am in the area. Consistently superb food, local ingredients creatively prepared, with an excellent wait-staff. Grilled Hearts of Romaine and Tamale de Cardenas especially recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food here was spectacular. The view of Taos mountain is amazing, and the service was spot on.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everyone who ordered the trout absolutely loved it. I had a very good homemade pasta and liked it very much. The salad we had was delicious, but a little hard to eat because of the stems on the greens. The creme brûlée was outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

We have celebrated three anniversaries in a row here (56,57,58). And, we have also gone with friends simply because everything about it is pleasantly unusual. One small quibble. . .your Carne Adovada sauce lacks subtlety and balance; the meat itself was quite good.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Scenic View, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A decent meal ruined by an ungracious welcome and then charmless service. A colossal disappointment, we arranged a whole day trip to Taos around this meal. Couldn't wait to leave. The was a distinct atmosphere that the the people and staff running the place just didn't want to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at El Meze - authentic, well spiced and sauced. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing ambience - Wheeler Peak made for a great view for a romantic dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were on our honeymoon and had reservations nearly a week in advance, but had to wait several minutes. No problem though because we were then given the best seats there. Food was excellent and unique. Nice wines! Spent two hours having a wonderful time at El Meze. Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was her 49th birthday and it was not recognized. We asked for a table close to the panaramic view as they have no air conditioning and charge rates like you are in a fine dining establishment. It is under a tent so if you are not in the first 2 rows of tables you are out of luck. They apparently hold tables close to the front for "locals " SAD Food was GREAT! When you eat out you typically want more than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

El Meze provided a great event for my wife and I. Excellent food, good service, and Excellent atmosphere.
If we are in the area again, we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Delicious and creative menu. Knowledgeable staff. Fresh ingredients, very tasty!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dinner at El Meze was perfect. The food was amazing, the drinks delicious, the service was friendly and efficient, and the setting was gorgeous out on the patio. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent food with a spectacular view of the mountains. This is a great place for an anniversary dinner or romantic date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 19, 2017

El Meze is not for everyone. The menu is very specialized and very special. Best trout in Taos. The tamale is hot - be warned - but spectacular. We are New Mexicans so hot is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Delightful evening overlooking the mountains, enjoying a glass of wine, and then dining on superb food. Don't miss the trout with the moroccan seasoning....

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Fabulous meal!
It isn't fancy and actually rather casual but we had a fabulous time from start to finish. The hostess was lovely, our wine was great and our food amazing....I can't say enough about the setting. Ask for a table at the edge so your view the mountains. We shared the grilled romaine salad, and the chicharonnes (don't miss these) My husband had the pork tamale, (still says it is his favorite meal this trip) I had the whole trout....both fabulous. But the view....unforgettable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ambiance was adversely affected only by our choice to dine early &, in consequence, alone. As time went on & the restaurant filled, it got better. Everything else was just perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Love this place. We go there every time we are in Taos. Patio seating view is wonderful. If it gets chilly, they'll give out blankets and use the heaters. Food prep is awesome!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

When you drive into this non descriptive driveway you really aren't sure where to park. The building is square and there are other businesses in this building. Once inside, it's cozy. The fireplace was burning with real wood. We were happy to have that table next to the crackling wood and heat. The waitress service was attentive. The food was divine. Lots of locals and the staff knew their name. I highly recommend this treasure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We dined at El Meze while traveling and spending a night in Taos. What a find! I had looked at several Taos restaurants online and chose El Meze from the menu. We loved the beautiful setting and the cozy dining room. If there is outdoor seating on the east patio during warm weather, the view is spectacular. Our food was innovative and delicious! We would certainly return when we visit Taos again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Although the restaurant had been recommended by several locals, we were not impressed. The trout was highly seasoned to the degree that it was difficult to taste the fish. The menu did not include many options. Outdoor seating had not opened yet but the space for it looked inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Exceptional! It never disappoints. Great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A recurring pleasant experience! Totally helpful in providing excellent dairy-free menu items. And, excellent help with wine tastings to get that part right!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.