About El Meze Restaurant

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: 5757513337x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
7 More
Romantic
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Taos ›

Fit for Foodies (22)
Scenic View (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall excellent everything. Special me ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall excellent everything. Special mention for recognizing our anniversary and helping my wife's coughing spell. Great service, great ambience, and very good to excellent menu. I had the trout, which was very good. Have to agree with other reviews that a little less seasoning would be to my taste - it would allow the wonderful trout flavor to shine. The appetizers were awesome (the beans & collard greens). The salads/greens were incredibly fresh & tasty. Flatbread was amazing. Agree about the wines are a tad expensive, but understand the pricing breakpoint there. Service was impeccable from all. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

El Meze is the best restaurant in Taos. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

El Meze is the best restaurant in Taos. It is something special and unique. It is run by a couple with a passion for both food and service. We have had the good fortune to dine there on dozens of occasions, and look forward to every return visit. This is truly a special restaurant that is worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Loved the roast ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was excellent. Loved the roasted brussel sprouts with bleu cheese and bacon but all of our selections were outstanding. The place was packed but the service was still excellent. We would highly recommend El Meze!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our 1st visit to El Meze. Serve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Loved our 1st visit to El Meze. Server was attentive, but I think another server was needed the night before Thanksgivng. Brussels sprouts , chicarrones appetizers were wonderful. Herb fries were only ok. Main courses- trout, duck confit, & the southwestern dish were all loved. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Based on reviews we tried El Meze and we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Based on reviews we tried El Meze and were very happy. We shared the fried calamari with garlic. The trout was excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful selection of dishes that highl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful selection of dishes that highlight quality ingredients and excellent presentation. The menu has something for everyone, and they are attentive to dietary requests. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Tried the new pasta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent as always. Tried the new pasta dish and it was delicious. Always have to have the chicharon and the frites - soooooo good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another excellent dinner here and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had another excellent dinner here and will definitely return again. We loved all our courses and the friendly and helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu was inventive and all meals wer ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The menu was inventive and all meals were farm-to-table. Ingredients were fresh and local and the chef cooked the main dishes to our tasted. The wine selection was good and the waiter allowed us to taste a bit before we ordered a bottle. The waiter was very helpful and made good suggestions to us.

Also, I have hearing problems, and we were moved to a more quiet table from our first seating.

We appreciated this and the owner was very pleasant about the request.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary on a trip to Taos. Based on reviews, we decided on a special dinner at El Meze and we were not disappointed! We lucked out since it was the last week for back patio dining prior to winter season. The view of the sunset on the mountains was outstanding; so was the food and service. We started with some lavender frites and a tomato wedge salad; both were very good. For the main course, we had the green chile tamales and the grilled whole trout; again, both were excellent. My wife declared the trout the best she's ever had. For dessert we had the Almond Semifreddo; light, yet rich flavor, and the Lemon & Rasberry Napoleon, also delicious. We hope to return someday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was not our first time there. It wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was not our first time there. It was a return visit for our Anniversary. It was perfect as always. Great food. Great staff. Great wine list. Small list but packed with great wines. We will always go there when in Taos.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, what a great surprise! 5 amigos in ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wow, what a great surprise! 5 amigos in Santa Fe and a side trip to Taos, dinner questions answered by open Table! Fantastic setting and food--we couldn't have been happier. We sat in a heated, covered patio with a beautiful view of desert, mountains and the sunset! So grateful for the culinary and visual experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Currently, my favorite place in Taos. Ev ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Currently, my favorite place in Taos. Every dish we ate was outstanding. I recommend having the specials, always delicious and truly "special".

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, ambiance - and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent food, service, ambiance - and a patio with a million dollar view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and yummy with great service a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious and yummy with great service and ambience. My only complaint is that I live in the Los Angeles area and can only eat there when visiting Taos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good service and excellent innovative So ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

good service and excellent innovative Southwestern cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the view framed by the patio, t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We loved the view framed by the patio, truly New Mexico with torchieres flaming, garden flowers and greenery a treat for the eye. The food and service were wonderful, and El Meze will be on our "destination" list now. We'll just drink the beer, since wine prices are over the top.

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had eaten at El Meze last year when w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had eaten at El Meze last year when we were in Taos and have been talking about it for the past year. Last year we ate out on the patio which is warm and cozy and has a lovely view. This year it was cold and rainy so we opted for indoors while many people were seated outdoors under warmers. We were seated in a small cozy dining area off the kitchen. We had a very attentive waiter and the food was absolutely memorable. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good. The restaurant was qu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service was good. The restaurant was quiet with just a few other diners. Beautiful view. Food was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our third time here and the foo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our third time here and the food is consistently top notch. We particularly like the chefs use of lavender in the appetizers. Great Muscles and very good Tamale. Wine selection excellent and view of sunset on the mountains from the patio outstanding. Relaxed dress and high quality food excellent combo.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great- service, food, amb ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great- service, food, ambiance, except outrageous wine prices!

We had a beer to go with the trout!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was delicious, fresh, fantast ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was delicious, fresh, fantastic. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our son's 28th birthday and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went for our son's 28th birthday and had a very nice meal. Good use of local food without being purely New Mexico type cuisine. Only complaint is that the menu is relatively small, but everything was done really well. Particularly good was the creme brule. Light and delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic dining experience. The view w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. The view was second only to the food.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, the service was as w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was great, the service was as well. The thing above all others is the outdoor view that you overlook as you dine. One of the most spectacular views you will ever witness while dining. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Taos.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible. Each plate was c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was terrible. Each plate was cooked in a cup of oil which was at the bottom of each dish we ordered. I.e.: whole trout, pasta, appetizer special of green beans. The pasta was made so thick that the inside was still raw and it was served with raw green salad mixed in to the pasta. I don't understand this concept of plan salad mixed with fresh cooked pasta with oil. The trout said it came with a watercress salad which there was not one leaf of watercress on the dish and there were two of those dishes served at our table. It came with the same salad that was in my pasta.

Extremely disgusted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The inside dining room, which had a gold ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The inside dining room, which had a gold-painted, Adobe fireplace in the corner, was intimate and peaceful. The food was outstanding and bountiful. Had the kale salad and then the pork appetizer as an entree. Mini cardamom donuts draped in chocolate sauce were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined at many restaurants during our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We dined at many restaurants during our 12-day New Mexico vacation. This was our favorite restaurant. The food was just wonderful! We had their specialty trout entree, kale salad, and green beans. It was lovely to sit outside and see the mountains in the distance. Tell them to putt out a cookbook!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical as ever!! A fine way to celebra ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Magical as ever!! A fine way to celebrate an anniversary !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and excellent service...need ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food and excellent service...need work on the hostess attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with friend at El Meze. Nice plac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Dinner with friend at El Meze. Nice place with a good selection of wines—the Garnache was fine.

The green bean appetizer was very good as were the frijoles. Entrees were the usual which is perhaps a problem. The minimal menu seems stuck in a rut.

Still good, but not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way! Superb and fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Superb and friendly staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner started with a refreshing Summer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner started with a refreshing Summer drink and a great appetizer with flavorful nectarines.

The trout with mint was very tasty as was the homemade pasta. Second visit and hope to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice. gorgeous view of the Taos Mou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2016

very nice. gorgeous view of the Taos Mountains from the outdoor patio. space heaters made it very comfortable even for a cool evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited while in Taos on our honeymoo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We visited while in Taos on our honeymoon, and it was great! The staff was very knowledgable, friendly, and prompt. The food was really tasty, however some things were a tad bit too oily. The green beans were a special appetizer the day we went, and they were delicious! However, they were a little heavy on the oil. It's just my personal preference to not have so much oil. Other than that, we had a great meal and would be back if we lived in Taos!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have gone to El Meze several times -- ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have gone to El Meze several times -- always good food and excellent service. Their outdoor dining in the summer is nice unless, as in our last visit, the weather is not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Limited menu, but everything prepared in ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Limited menu, but everything prepared in an exquisite and thoughtful way. Memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine on a summer evening ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to dine on a summer evening in Taos. We celebrated our anniversary here and really enjoyed the food, the ambiance, and the service. A family was seated next to us with two very well behaved young girls, so it was a very pleasant experience for us. Outdoor dining with a view of the mountains during the sunset - lovely. The menu is 'different' - unusual, gourmet items that are delightful. Best part is the donuts for dessert, they have a 'wow' factor. We had outstanding service that evening. Recommend reservations at all times.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time! The view was sp ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The view was spectacular, the food was wonderful! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had this year ...

vip
 (Spain)·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of the best meals I've had this year, including Michelin-starred places in NYC. Fresh, local sophisticated New Mexico cuisine in a beautiful setting. The bolita beans, tamales, and trout were standouts. Good wine list with excellent selections by the glass and bottle from around the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.