Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

About El Meze Restaurant

Regionally inspired rustic New Mexican, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine from Chef and Food Historian Frederick Muller.

1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87529
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 9:30PM
We are 1-12/ hours from Santa Fe and 3 hours from Albuquerque

Cross Street:
Hail Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(575) 751-3337

Website:
http://www.elmeze.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the front and on both sides of the hacienda. Handicap parking on the south side of the building

Executive Chef:
Frederick Muller

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant is in an old hacienda so there are two dining areas. The "green" room can hold to 24 for a private function. The whole restaurant can be also booked for a private event which will hold 48-50.

Private Party Contact:
Annette Kratka: (575) 751-3337

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

El Meze Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Scenic View (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food with a spectacular view of the mountains. This is a great place for an anniversary dinner or romantic date.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

El Meze is not for everyone. The menu is very specialized and very special. Best trout in Taos. The tamale is hot - be warned - but spectacular. We are New Mexicans so hot is good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Delightful evening overlooking the mountains, enjoying a glass of wine, and then dining on superb food. Don't miss the trout with the moroccan seasoning....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Fabulous meal!
It isn't fancy and actually rather casual but we had a fabulous time from start to finish. The hostess was lovely, our wine was great and our food amazing....I can't say enough about the setting. Ask for a table at the edge so your view the mountains. We shared the grilled romaine salad, and the chicharonnes (don't miss these) My husband had the pork tamale, (still says it is his favorite meal this trip) I had the whole trout....both fabulous. But the view....unforgettable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Ambiance was adversely affected only by our choice to dine early &, in consequence, alone. As time went on & the restaurant filled, it got better. Everything else was just perfect!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

When you drive into this non descriptive driveway you really aren't sure where to park. The building is square and there are other businesses in this building. Once inside, it's cozy. The fireplace was burning with real wood. We were happy to have that table next to the crackling wood and heat. The waitress service was attentive. The food was divine. Lots of locals and the staff knew their name. I highly recommend this treasure.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We dined at El Meze while traveling and spending a night in Taos. What a find! I had looked at several Taos restaurants online and chose El Meze from the menu. We loved the beautiful setting and the cozy dining room. If there is outdoor seating on the east patio during warm weather, the view is spectacular. Our food was innovative and delicious! We would certainly return when we visit Taos again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Although the restaurant had been recommended by several locals, we were not impressed. The trout was highly seasoned to the degree that it was difficult to taste the fish. The menu did not include many options. Outdoor seating had not opened yet but the space for it looked inviting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Exceptional! It never disappoints. Great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A recurring pleasant experience! Totally helpful in providing excellent dairy-free menu items. And, excellent help with wine tastings to get that part right!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a great choice. The food is different and the service is good. Try the tamales they are really special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is addendum to my first review last month: On our second visit to El Meze, the weather was horrible but the team at El Meze were warm and gracious. John, our server a few days before, greeted us and the gastronomic experience began again. I look for restaurants that don't have a dozens of offerings, but focus on what is fresh local and original in crafting delicious, multi-sensory meals.

Chef Fred Muller, has spent his time learning the spices of the northern New Mexico, artfully blending the local foods with Spanish, New Mexican and North African spices. His trout is a regular item and absolutely NOT TO BE MISSED! We had another memorable meal and Fred came out to talk with us. He is charming and happy to share his culinary explorations in creating his menu. Don't let his slender profile fool you - he is a great chef and the team he has assembled is terrific. I wish we had more time to eat our way through the menu because the meals we had were the best in Taos and in Santa Fe.

I ordered his first cookbook before we left Taos and he told us that he is finishing his second cookbook. I hope to be able to come close to execute his recipes and learn more of the lore he told us about. Eat at El Meze!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Locally sourced food, prepared with creativity and attention to detail. Superb wait staff. One of our favorite places in Taos.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Highly recommend the rajas and the grilled romaine salad. Good for date night or dinner with a friend. Charming, inside and out- patio dining option with stunning view of Taos Mountain, locally owned and operated, owners long a part of Taos' vibrant restaurant scene. Check it out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Took my mom here for dinner. Great ambiance with great food and great service. They were wonderful about accommodating dietary needs. Also has A marvelous view of the mountains behind building! All around A in my book.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We come here once a year. This time our waitress was condescending and rushed us. I'm not sure what the rush was--there were lots of empty tables for a Friday night. The food is always good, but we will definitely be trying a new venue next time we are in town.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely, imaginative menu featuring local ingredients and unexpected Moroccan flavours. A bit of Spain blended with fresh, seasonal foods.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic - concise menu but executed near perfectly. Would compare favorably to anything in the genre in Manhattan.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A hidden gem in Taos! El Meze has been a favorite restaurant of mine for a very long time. The location is out and away from the hustle of the plaza area and is in a nice quiet setting (an old hacienda). In the summertime, the outside patio has amazing views of the mountains where the inside atmosphere is cozy and warm. Fred and Annette do a fantastic job with El Meze. His food is always on point and delicious. My only complaint is that I missed his collard greens (off the menu for spring), they are some of the best I have ever had. Kelly and Carlos are friendly caring staff who truly love what they do, make you feel welcome, and never skip any detail regarding the evenings fare. Annette runs the front of house and always makes you feel welcome. She always has time to chat a bit, catch up on life (especially with locals) and creates the perfect environment to accompany Fred's amazing dishes. I highly recommend El Meze to not only locals but those passing through who want a culinary delight!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best meals I had during my vacation in New Mexico.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Visiting from out of town, El Meze was recommended by a friend. We shared several of the small plates, and each one was delicious. Our server recommended combining the chicharonnes with the romaine salad, and that turned out to be a great combination. Service was very attentive, the place was tastefully decorated. All in all, a great find!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went for a quiet dinner. All four of the adults are serious foodies and we were not disappointed. We simply ordered ALL of the share plates - chicharrones - wonderful, adovado, wonderful, fried olives - great, tuna carpaccio sensational, salads wonderful. Great wine list - I will be going back many times.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food, good value, one of the best in Taos.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing Meal! Friendly and Knowledgable Staff! Cannot say enough about the experience they provided for my group of girls on our spring trip to Taos. Will be back everytime we visit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I loved my trout entree. It had a delicious non-chile sauce for me. I am allergic to chile. Also loved my brussel sprouts with bacon and blue cheese. Taos was unusually warm on that weekend. My husband was very warm in the restaurant --to the point where he had to go out for air about 5 times because he was feeling claustrophobic and anxious. They refused to open the window. They seemed very unconcerned. His steak was too rare and too spicy. He didn't expect it to be so spicy. They cooked it more but it was still too rare. Our friend ordered a tamale entree which was supposed to be a spicy dish-a 7 out of 10 per the server. Our friend loved spicy and said it wasn't spicy enough. Our lavender creme brûlée did not taste lavender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The 3 course Restaurant Week menu was a wonderful reflection of the consistently delicious food at El Meze. A Taos gem!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Love the food, service and ambiance. El Mez is a top noch restaurant serving great food and wine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was way below the usual standard. This was a restaurant week visit. The entree (steak) was tough and poorly prepared. We were very disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Do not accept the table between the hostess stand and the kitchen door. You pay full price but the constant revolving kitchen door is truly obnoxious. Virtually ruined what otherwise was a lovely experience. That table needs to go away.

That said, our server Kelly was knowledgable and charming. Chile rajas with chèvre was a light, clean and delicious appetizer. Grilled romaine was excellent. Light dressing of anchovy paste, lemon juice, olive oil & black pepper topped with Manchego. Grilled trout = truly superb entree, and I don't like trout. Semifreddo good.

Service and food are excellent. Front of the house management absent.

Four stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The El Meze menu is not long, but most people should be able to find something intriguing and delicious. New Mexican food is authentic, so don't expect tourist friendly levels of spice. Non-spicy options are available though. Atmosphere is casual in a historic adobe building. Would go back any time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Spicy, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A duo birthday celebration in a memorable setting with delicious food. May become the next addition to our annual birthday weekend celebration!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chef Frederick Muller is deeply immersed in the cuisine of the high desert hispanic world and turns out truly memorable dishes that reflect that tradition. The whole restaurant runs as a well-oiled machine supporting Muller's vision No one should spend time in Taos without eating at El Meze.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner at El Meze in Taos on Saturday evening! We knew we were in for a treat from the very beginning - a special appetizer of a raw scallop, sliced kiwi, yuzu/olive oil, hawaiian black sea salt and an absolutely amazing habanero spice puree. The balance, acid, salt, and taste of this dish was marvelous. Our group of 4 then shared 4 small plates. The carne adovada was just incredible with tender well cooked meat and a deep flavorful, smoky New Mexico red chili sauce; the chili rajas were a delight but could have been even spicer; we all loved the beans (including one of us who is a Puerto Rican and makes the best beans with sofrito that any of us have ever tasted); and the grilled romaine salad was terrific. Finally, we shared the trout which was amazing and the steak which was very good. The wine selections were great. Our husbands had room to chow down on dessert, which included donuts with chocolate (like beignets) and an almond panacotta. Service was excellent and the ambiance great.
What makes this place so special? On a good night like our experience, this restaurant can hold its own with the best in Santa Fe and Albuquerque, which is saying a lot. It is truly an authentic place. Our answers also include the terrific food, a chef who clearly has a great palate, and NO FEAR from spice - too many higher end restaurants in Santa Fe in particular tone it down for tourists and "too tame" locals.
We had a great evening. Thanks to the chef and our server! We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Carlos was awesome!!! Intelligent about everything on the menu! Food was great. Service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. The wine selection was very impressive as well. We will definitely be back to El Meze next time we visit Taos.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Locally sourced ingredients and a creative fusion menu as well as quiet but upbeat atmosphere make El Meze worth a stop or drive to Taos just for dinner. Featuring share plates and main entrees, as well as fresh salads and fabulous desserts, the creative fusion menu changes often, but it's all good. Highly recommend for special occasions, but probably not young children. This is fine dining and priced as such but so worth it. Good wine selection too.
Chef Fred Muller's talent for combining traditional Native American, historic southwest, and now Moorish influences, on the ingredients and flavor combinations is unique and always a gastronomic journey. We were huge fans of the original Fred's Place New Mexican restaurant before it closed, even bought a copy of La Comida. With El Meze, Chef Muller's food historian concept further with amazing results. Don't miss this.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Another amazing meal at El Meze. Amazing ingredients artfully prepared with stellar service in a quaint setting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We travel through Taos each years, specifically to enjoy dinner at El Meze. Name it: service, quality of food, atmosphere, "karma"...all perfect. GO!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Overall excellent everything. Special mention for recognizing our anniversary and helping my wife's coughing spell. Great service, great ambience, and very good to excellent menu. I had the trout, which was very good. Have to agree with other reviews that a little less seasoning would be to my taste - it would allow the wonderful trout flavor to shine. The appetizers were awesome (the beans & collard greens). The salads/greens were incredibly fresh & tasty. Flatbread was amazing. Agree about the wines are a tad expensive, but understand the pricing breakpoint there. Service was impeccable from all. Thank you for a great evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

El Meze is the best restaurant in Taos. It is something special and unique. It is run by a couple with a passion for both food and service. We have had the good fortune to dine there on dozens of occasions, and look forward to every return visit. This is truly a special restaurant that is worth the trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.