About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Romantic
Portland
1 More
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (102)
Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Music (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Private Room (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We like to go to El Gaucho every other y ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We like to go to El Gaucho every other year for my husband's birthday. Always a fabulous experience and never disappoints. Fantastic service and food and I love the old fashioned nature of El Gaucho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were actually most impressed with the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We were actually most impressed with the staff - from host to bartender to wait staff, everyone was very sincere, friendly, made excellent recommendations, gave personal high-quality, professional service.

The Oysters Rockefeller (at the bar) were delicious - beautifully presented and a rare treat. Our steaks were grilled to perfection. The bread pudding was perfect. We were given wonderful recommendations by our server resulting in a lovely date-night. It was extravagant, but we left feeling that it was more than a meal....it was an experience. We will definitely recommend El Gaucho to our friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleased with everything except scalloped ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Pleased with everything except scalloped potatoes. Brought us a 2nd dish and nonsatisfactory. Runny!!! Yuck!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first visit to El Gaucho an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first visit to El Gaucho and we both thoroughly loved it. The service was impeccable and the food was worth every bite. Our steaks were delivered with perfection and melted in our mouths. The sides were very tasty, not overly heavy and were enough to share. If there was one thing I would change about this place, it would be the loud factor. We had dinner early, so we had great conversation, however, after 6:30pm the place was bustling with energy and noise. We will definitely be back to El Gaucho again- one of the best restaurants we have been too in PDX by far.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were wonderful, unfortunatel ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The servers were wonderful, unfortunately my boyfriend got the halibut and it was over cooked, we didn't like the lobster, and our side dish (spinach) was bland. But everyone took good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful time! My sweets and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time! My sweets and I celebrating our Birthdays! Service was amazing! Music was perfect, bar drinks were awesome and the meal was perfect! Thanks we will be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steaks in town. Also most expensi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best steaks in town. Also most expensive in town. $300 with tip for two steaks, 2 x sides and 2 x drinks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

AS always, outstanding food and even bet ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

AS always, outstanding food and even better service. Usually dine at the Tacoma location, but found ourselves in Portland and decided to try it. Could not have been more pleased. The cigar lounge after dinner was a great experience as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks and the service staff was r ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great steaks and the service staff was really polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was awesom,as usual.A nig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The experience was awesom,as usual.A night at El Gaucho is always special. The entire staff is extremely nice and so attentive.i will say that this last dinning experience had the very first hiccup we have ever had at El Gaucho.I am not sure,but our waiter may have been new or was overloaded.Our service was very drawn out .A little over 2 1/2 hours start to finish.About an hour too long.He was outstanding when he was at our table but the duration of time between visits was way too long.It won't deter us from a great dining experience,I know that,but we may need to be a bit more forward in attaining quicker service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I went for our one year anni ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I went for our one year anniversary. The host, wait staff, and manager all made sure to wish us a happy anniversary and even wrote a card that we found on the table when we arrived, which was incredibly thoughtful! The food was very good overall. The crab cakes and roasted corn where phenomenal, steak was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Stellar service, perfectly prepared star ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Stellar service, perfectly prepared starters and French onion soup. Caeser Salad prepared tableside, and steaks grilled exactly as ordered. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought that Megan was fabulous! Thanks ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Thought that Megan was fabulous! Thanks for the hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Eli our server recognized us from our la ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Eli our server recognized us from our last visit. She is amazing! Food has always been delicious!!! My only issue was the (spiderman) drink ordered several times before wasn't made the same. When it was mentioned & even pictures shown bartender still made it his way. Still good but not what we wanted & still paid full price for the drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THE greatest steaks ever!!! Service is p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

THE greatest steaks ever!!! Service is phenomenal and the food and drinks are sooooo delicious!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not remarkable. I won't re ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was not remarkable. I won't return and would not recommend but would not avoid going along with people.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Friday night a friend and I went to El G ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Friday night a friend and I went to El Gaucho to celebrate my birthday. I made the reservation through open table online. I was disappointed that they sat us in the bar. I have been to El Gaucho several times and the atmosphere is much more relaxing in the main dining room. We found the staff to be a slight bit arrogant. The food was exceptional as always. But the room was hot. I thought it was me, because I wore a coat and tie, but my friend who was in a Hawaiian shirt said it was surprisingly hot and stuffy in there. (It was a hot day.) If I ever go back to El Gaucho I will require being seated in the main dining room or I will not go.

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

My steak was tough for the second time i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My steak was tough for the second time in as many visits. The service was friendly enough but very slow. Overall, not what I would expect for a $100 meal without of town guests. Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Up scale, and excellent food. Outstandin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Up scale, and excellent food. Outstanding service. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not my first time to El Gaucho. This ev ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Not my first time to El Gaucho. This event to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary fell a bit flat. We shared the iconic menu and the Chateaubriand was over cooked and I felt lacking taste. I am confident had I ordered my usual, a NY strip, it would have been fabulous. But my wife wanted the iconic menu and wanted to split the Chateaubriand, so there you go.

RobertD

Reveler's Club Member

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Best Filet Mignon ever!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Best Filet Mignon ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time we've been for an anniversar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Second time we've been for an anniversary/ celebration. Food is wonderful - though the Cesar salad was too creamy this time. I was disappointed with the slower service and lack of attentiveness. Other than that it's a good place. I'm not sure we will be back for awhile though. It's pretty expensive and not sure it's worth the value given all of the PDX restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I kept hearing about El Gaucho but never ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I kept hearing about El Gaucho but never had an occasion to go. I finally chose it for a business meal and am I glad I did. From the very first encounter with the valet, I got 1st class treatment and a wonderful experience. Food and service were A++++

It will now be my "go to" restaurant in Portland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new find! Was upset with the Rings ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great new find! Was upset with the Ringside new remodel/menu that we were on the hunt again for a great steakhouse and this has won! Saturday at 6pm. Valet available $8, staff in fine dining attire and super friendly/attentive, water replenished constantly, napkin refolded if you leave for a moment, romantic dim lighting w/live music, steak melts in your mouth, garlic bread to die for, sides are 'a la carte' but sharable between 2 people, wedge blue cheese salad was large but would recommend less dressing or on the side next time, dress nice but no need for fancy, saw people in maxi dress and flip flops/golf shirts/shorts, kids were present but on good behavior, menu pricey but not bad for special occasion, free fruit/nut basket after dinner. Would only sit in booth next time because center tables crammed in and chairs not the most comfortable. Had servers making Caesar salad and flamed bananas foster directly behind me which made me uncomfortable and hard for people passing by. We each had 8oz steak, wedge salads, shareable baked potato, shareable spinach and 4-5 drinks ('Ruby' is YUMMY!) which brought our total to around $200.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Service was a littl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was a little lackluster considering that the it was early and the restaurant was not to capacity yet. All-in all a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and service were like a taste o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were like a taste of Heaven on earth!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal. The wait staff were wonderful. The only downside was that it was 100° outside that day and their air conditioning wasn't working. It was pretty uncomfortable. Obviously, that's not something that will happen often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to hear the live music.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice to hear the live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dry-aged steaks, rich red wines, live Sp ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Dry-aged steaks, rich red wines, live Spanish Guitar? Sounds like a great place for an Anniversary or Birthday Dinner and it was! The steak was delicious, the music was great and the Merlot was one of the best I ever had. Problem was, we ordered a Cab. Did not notice it until after we enjoyed the first glass. Probably an honest mistake and it saved us $40. Next time, we will check the label more carefully upon presentation. Complimentary fruit and cheese plate at the end of the meal was a super nice touch, too.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorites. Incredible service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorites. Incredible service, great food, fun yet romantic ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My halibut dinner with the grapefruit an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My halibut dinner with the grapefruit and mandarin orange topping was to die for - absolutely delicious and moist, mashed potatoes were a huge helping and very tasteful also!

My hubby ordered the fillet and he said it was not as tender as he would like to have had it and was not a superior cut. also was not hot when served to him.

Our waitress appeared to may have been new on the staffing. We over-heard the male waiter addressing his table with the various specials for the evening, nothing was mentioned to us about the evening specials by our waitress.

Over-all experience was good though!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. As always

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. As always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The air conditioner does not work there ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The air conditioner does not work there because its an old building. I was extremely hot!! On top of that they sat us at a small table by the grill. I could see all the people trying to fan themselves because it was so unbearably hot. We almost walked out but it was my wife's birthday and we flew in from another state to have dinner and a broadway show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

One of the very best restaurants for gre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

One of the very best restaurants for great food and top notch service making the customer feel like the restaurant is there to do whatever it takes to make your meal one to remember for a lifetime.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

El Goucho is one of the best dining expe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

El Goucho is one of the best dining experiences in Portland. The ambiance is beautiful, food is consistently delicious, service excellent and tableside options are wonderful. Also, join their loyalty club for $50 off on your birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad night for them. Understaffed. Long w ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bad night for them. Understaffed. Long waits between courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

A totally great experience. Cocktails i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A totally great experience. Cocktails in the bar and dinner in the dining room were exceptional. Live music we enjoyed and service was top-notch. Highly recommend El Gaucho, especially for beef lovers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Part of the El Gaucho experience is the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Part of the El Gaucho experience is the very attentive service- from the table side prep of salads and deserts to the water and drink service and part of it the food. Both are outstanding. The steak is the best I can recall and I've had steak at a lot of top steak places. All courses were top notch. The only thing that didn't wow were the mashed potatoes (which were fine). Everything else was remarkable from the side-dish of corn to the Caesar salad to the desert.

It's certainly not cheap but can make for great date or occasion place. It is dimly lit, which can be nice for dates. Valet parking is the way to go.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food excellent.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was excellent. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was amazing food and service, other t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was amazing food and service, other than we were seated 25 mins after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.