About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Portland / Oregon
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (118)
romantic (83)
notable wine list (65)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
good for groups (27)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
 (4)
 (2)
 (2)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Food was WAY TOO overpriced but not up t ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was WAY TOO overpriced but not up to par. Filet Mignon was not a great cut which for around $60 it should be fantastic.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious meat and appetizers, pleasant ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious meat and appetizers, pleasant service and presentation, burnt and grainy creme brule, and noisier than some sports bars I've experienced. Overall if you're looking for mostly delicious food and can afford the price tag El Gaucho is a worthwhile restaurant. If you want a quieter ambiance where the business deals and bragging of the half dozen tables around you can't be easily followed, find somewhere else.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We like to celebrate our anniversary her ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We like to celebrate our anniversary here. Even though their prices are high, as members of their Revelers Club, we get a generous $50 credit toward our bill. We love their chateaubriand for two, which comes with asparagus, grilled mushrooms, baked or mashed potatoes and half a grilled tomato. This is seasoned, cut and plated tableside. We love their bananas foster but decided to try their cherries jubilee this time. Both are flambéed tableside in dramatic presentation. The service here is top notch. We were lucky to have Amy as our waitress. She's phenomenal.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great night, amazingly delicious dinner ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great night, amazingly delicious dinner. We Was very disappointed with our table. I had called ahead to let the restaurant know we were celebrating 2 birthdays... Only one birthday was mentioned and they sat us at an end table away from the ambiance next to the cigar lounge but overall the dinner and service was off the charts tasteful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak, steak

Dined on May 21, 2016

Busy, bustling restaurant. Despite the crowd very good service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant for that very special o ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great restaurant for that very special occasion celebration. Not many restaurants in this elite catagory in Portland.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday dinner!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful service and food! We came in Friday night for a birthday and everything was just perfect! We had the steak el gaucho and the copper river salmon! Both were cooked perfectly and tasted delicious! Our server was attentive without hovering and we never had an empty water glass (or cocktail glass) El Gaucho lived up to its reputation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This spot has the best steak and trimmin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This spot has the best steak and trimmings in Portland. The service is always impeccable and friendly. Go for a full 4-5 course experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for our 1st wedding anniversary! Th ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went for our 1st wedding anniversary! The restaurant was almost empty (8:00) upon arrival, yet we unfortunately waited 10 minutes at the host stand before anybody stopped by to greet us. Eventually a server with her hands full of wine glasses who apologized -- came over and flagged down the host who eventually sat us. We were seated and the same thing happened again!! We sat there for 20 minutes waiting for a server to greet us. Several servers walked by and kept looking at our table yet said or did nothing. Is team greet just not a thing there? We almost left. Food was awesome as usual, just a bummer about the slow greeting. When you go somewhere and drop $200+ for 2 people, you expect that to be reflected in the service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Cigar Lounge

Dined on May 17, 2016

El Gaucho has great steaks and nice dining area but an even better Cigar Lounge with very friendly staff and a decent cigar selection. They do not have cutting fee if you bring in your own cigars. The drink list is extensive and the locals who frequent the lounge are very friendly. Not many places like this left so if you have the opportunity to try it out don't hesitate.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

El Gaucho is simply hands down the best ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

El Gaucho is simply hands down the best dining experience in Portland. It has never disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great steak!

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food is always great, service impeccable. It's our "go to" for celebrating special events

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Longtime customer. Gaucho always delive ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Longtime customer. Gaucho always delivers superior service and food. My go to steakhouse in Portland.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great as always.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waiter not sensitive to food allergies

Dined on May 1, 2016

While the food was enjoyable but not outstanding, our rude and insensitive waiter really overshadowed what could have been a great experience. When we informed the waiter that we had a person in our party with food allergies and could there be extra precautions taken, we were met with an unhelpful and flippant attitude from our waiter. He said to the something very similar to "I'm sure you can pick out the items on the menu that you can't have. I mean there's only like 5 items that contain your allergy and you can probably already know." He was loud, obnoxious and very insensitive. The food was ok, but in not sure it was worth the price tag.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great birthday dinner for my wife. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a great birthday dinner for my wife. Food was great and service was very good. Loved the live music.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the food was superb and the service ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

All the food was superb and the service was excellent. This was my first time dining at El Gaucho and I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent high quality food and service ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Consistent high quality food and service. They still make their Caesar salads at your table and they are beyond special. This is not an inexpensive place but the portions are generous and they do not give you a hard time about plate sharing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First class AS ALWAYS

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great service and the food is AMAZING every time we visit. Scallops appetizer - Perfect Rib eye (medium) - Perfect Australian lobster tail - Perfect Corn side - Perfect Scalloped potatoes - Perfect

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing and service was wonderful ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

It was amazing and service was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We enjoy celebrating at El Gaucho's several times a year! The food is outstanding , the service is impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfection

Dined on April 24, 2016

We come here for our anniversary every year, and it is always perfect. Service is marvelous and thoughtful without being stuffy, and the steak is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite restaurant

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have never been disappointed, this absolutely is the number one restaurant in Portland. The steaks are out of this world, the wicked shrimp and the crab bisque is amazing. The service is good and the atmosphere is intimate in the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Needed a change of pace for fine dining ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Needed a change of pace for fine dining with a friend, so we headed to the heart of downtown Portland and feasted at El Gaucho. Of course they are known for steak (my 12oz filet was definitely on the blue side of "medium rare"), but their French onion soup was the best I've ever had, and the Cherries Jubilee not far behind. The artfully-presented tuna tartare was also fun. Combined with a great service team, I call it a great night out. Do note that El Gaucho is serious about its live music, so if you want more intimate noise levels, please inquire about seating farther from the bar.

food4
ambience3
service5

The dinner was very good, a bit noisy, a ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The dinner was very good, a bit noisy, and service was excellent. The tables are a bit closer than we'd expected.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was outstanding, service was great. Of course it is pricey but you truly get what you pay for. Great for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food as always.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing food as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional!

Dined on March 28, 2016

The service was exceptional - so was the food. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Go somewhere else!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were a party of 8 from out of town celebrating 2 birthdays. It took about 45 minutes for our food to come out. Food was just okay. Our server was very insulting for the simple fact that after we ordered a round of shots, he came back to "confirm" we were okay with the cost per shot. We felt as if we were discriminated against either due to our age/race and will never dine here again. "I know you ordered a round of shots but I wanted to let you know that they are $16 each, is that okay? I wanted to make sure before placing your order." Horrible and disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Mouth watering

Dined on March 26, 2016

Best lamb I've ever had! Was nervous to order it at a steakhouse but boy was it worth it! Bar tenders were VERY slow but other than that it was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service

Dined on March 22, 2016

We had two servers due to one being trained. Unbeknownst to us the trainee left her shift in the middle of our dinner and then we didn't see the trainer/server for 30-40 minutes. No one came over to ask how my meat was cooked (too well done) which should be asked within 3-5 minutes of serving it. This was a special birthday dinne that was not what we were hoping. We will not be back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent fun, romanti c evening

Dined on March 22, 2016

It as a little bit dark for our tastes. Also, very expensive

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always dependable and best steak in PDX.

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

I love the service and food at El Gaucho. I have never been disappointed or had a bad meal or service here. They are one of the best restaurants in PDX.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

solid menu items; lacking pizzazz

Dined on March 20, 2016

calamari appetizer was overcooked and bland. steaks are always amazing. side dishes are good, bananas foster is wonderful. Most everything just lacked that je-ne-sais-quois. Atmosphere is vanilla...the Tacoma, WA El Gaucho atmosphere is wonderful; wish Portland would take a hint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Wonderful Evening....

Dined on March 16, 2016

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here and everything from the moment we arrived was perfect. Friendly staff, rose petals and a nice hand written card on the table, the service and the food was wonderful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service and exceptional food

Dined on March 16, 2016

Exceptional service and exceptional food

food3
ambience5
service2
value5

Not as good as usual

Dined on March 15, 2016

We went to el gaucho for my birthday on Monday evening. This is my favorite restaurant and I love coming here as often as I possibly can. I have to say unfortunately, this experience wasn't what I had hoped for. The server was not super friendly or inviting. It reminded me more of sharis service instead of fine dining. And I am in the industry. We waited well over 5 or so minutes for him to get a drink order from us. After eating , our plates remained on the table for a long time. The only thing that was per usual was the water service. We did not receive a birthday dessert. I am just used to above par service here and this was mediocre. I really looked forward to this dinner and I wasn't exactly pleased in the end. The food was good however my filet was somewhat dry and I ordered it medium, as I always do here. A little disappointed compared to the usual outstanding service we receive at El Gaucho.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, not so great food

Dined on March 13, 2016

I was very excited to finally go to El Gaucho and was impressed with the decor, music and service. Unfortunately the food was not up to par. We started with the crab cake appetizer which turned out to be the highlight of the evening. The table-side Caesar was soggy with too much dressing and the lettuce wasn't crisp. I got the frenched rib chop and it was very disappointing, the charred outside distracted from the dry aged flavors and it had way too many globs of fat. Marbeling was very poor. We also got the lobster mashed potatoes and the mac and cheese. The potatoes were covered in a lobster bisque type of sauce which was flavorless and the lobster pieces were tiny. The mac and cheese was awful, just a small step above kraft, not cheesy at all. We finished with Bananas Foster and it was too sweet and boring. Lastly their wine list is over-priced. I settled on a Patricia Green Freedom Hill pinot noir for $90, only a 300% markup.

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Not my usual experience

Dined on March 11, 2016

El Gaucho is my favorite restaurant for special occasions. It just wasn't up to par on this visit. It took a while for our Caesar Salad to get made at our table side. The salad was so over dressed that it was dripping. We had just started to eat our salads when I noticed the wait staff bringing our entrees. They stood there for a second, relized we had just been served our salads and took them away. When they brought them again, they weren't hot. Obviously had been sitting while we were eating our salads. After dinner, we ordered dessert. I thought coffee would be offered as it always has been before. Dessert was served quickly. Finally about half way through our dessert I was able to get our waiters attention and had to ask for coffee. It was obviously an "off" night for this restaurant. I was disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 9, 2016

Outstanding food, above and beyond service, and a romantic atmosphere. Our table even had little rose petals! El Gaucho far exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.