Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About El Gaucho - Portland

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (66)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Business Meals (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Live Music (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Cozy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Historic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Spicy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and very attentive service. We really liked the totally unexpected cheese and fruit plate brought out complementary at the end of the meal which we took some port. The live guitar music was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved the tableside food preparation, the amazing food quality, and the impeccable service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding as always

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect place to celebrate Father's Day! Steaks were perfect and I'd highly recommend the peach diddy cocktail. We will be back soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Going to El Gaucho for my birthday is an annual tradition. The food, the service, the ambiance is simply fantastic. My wife and I are big foodies, but for the special occasion El Gaucho is the best destination in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Only bad spot of the evening was that my guest got his bake potato 10 minutes after his New York steak arrived, and then he declined due to principal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food and service was excellent as always. The only issue I have noticed lately is the live music seems to be a bit to loud, making it difficult to carry on a conversation with your table. Im going for a good meal and company, not to a concert, make the music more background, not front stage!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My wife took me to el goucho for my birthday. It was such a great experience we returned when our grandson came to visit. Great food, service and atmosphere. We will be back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Dinner was absolutely delicious and service was top notch! Tableside entree and dessert were a fun treat. Excellent experience, a must visit location!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Service was amazing! The atmosphere was absolutely perfect and the entire staff was very attentive to us and treated my wife, whose birthday we were celebrating, very special!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food and service. Liked that you can bring your own wine (nominal corking fee). Live music was drowned out by background noise from other diners.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at El Gaucho on Saturday, and it was wonderful. We arrived to rose petals on the table and a personalized note from the restaurant. Every staff member who saw us said "Happy Anniversary." Our meals were EXCELLENT and the service was prompt, friendly and accommodating.

We even were given a complimentary slice of cheesecake to share. Definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions, or simply a nice dinner out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was excellent, but pricey. The noise level was too high for us to have a quiet conversation. Perhaps we could have requested a better booth or table because we were between he musicians and the open restaurant, both of which raised the decibel level.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Top notch service and generally good entres although can be hit or miss on how close to the requested level of done-ness they achieve. Overall, we have had great experiences here but last time the Caesar salad was 'meh' and a medium well tenderloin was closer to rare. Still, usually a very good bet.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Celebrated our sons graduation was seriously amazing .. order ceasar, flaming sword and banana foster..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Want to send a big thank you to the whole staff. I proposed to my girlfriend on Friday the 9th and everyone was more that acomidating. Big shout out to Jen Glen, our server, who took pictures and put out flower petals for our 1 year anniversary dinner. You all made it a very special night for us that we will remember forever.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

El Gaucho is the best Steak house in Portland. It is always our go to hands down. We own a food business and expect only the highest quality food and service when we go and they never disappoint. It is worth the splurge.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The quality of the food at El Gaucho was solid but not exceptional, which makes the price point harder to swallow. The wait staff were great and our experience was not rushed. The ambiance was nice, if a bit cramped, but the talented guitarists were playing mellow versions of pop songs, making it feel too much like muzak.

If you go, don't expect the flavors to be very balanced or subtle. I ordered the 8 oz filet and it was cooked perfectly but the sauce was on the salty side, which may be to your liking. The same was generally true of the Brussels sprouts and risotto. We also had Old Fashioneds which were great, but using small ice cubes means the drink gets watered down quickly. Without taking into account the cost, I would give this place 3 1/2 stars.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. The wine list was wonderful and they were able to recommend great pairing. The wait staff was friendly and knew the menu very well. The lobster mashed potatoes were delicious!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food was fantastic and timely, beautiful live flamenco music, wait staff was attentive and courteous. I would return for another date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Service and food were outstanding! As always we enjoy dining at El Gaucho!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Father Sons dinner out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Eating here for years and always guaranteed a great meal. Oh only complaint is the LOUD music played during dinner. I almost wanted to get up from our table and offer the musicians $100 to stop playing. Music was good, just extremely loud and hard for us to hold a conversation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent service. Brilliant cigar lounge. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Good service from waitress. slow getting food out. Compd our app which was nice

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Good Anniversary Dinner experience. When we pulled up it was confusing finding a valet parking guy, so we just waited and watched a few homeless until a guy showed up. Things got much better when we entered the comfy dinner house. Good ambiance. Good crab bisque and the all-time best fried oysters I have ever had. Great appetizer! I like bone-in Rib eye steaks but none on the menu, except a giant thing for 4. Like 48 oz.! I then opted for a New York cut, which was fine but not as tender or juicy as I would have liked. Confusing system on cooking temp of steaks. Mine ended up somewhat over cooked. Dessert and coffee were very good. Others at my table ordered other things and they liked it all. Again, a very good evening of good food. We will return for special occasions. Service was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is an excellent steak place, nice ambiance, 5-star service and finished the course with healthy complimentary fruits and nuts. We love this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We normally love this place but we were seated next to a couple with a small child. Who brings a child to a high end restaurant. And as usual, the parents did not control their child and ruined the experience for us. Next time we will insist on being seated further away.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Filet El Gaucho was amazing! Great service, terrific food. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We live out of town have driven in 3 times already this year! It's our most favorite place to eat and Genesis is the best server ever!! It's elegant and delicious and feels like your dining in your own Castle with your own staff who have become a part of the family. It's a Royal treat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

There is no place in Portland. Delicious food. Great service. Tableside preparation. Very expensive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love El Gauchos. I have my bday dinner here every year. I Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was perfect!! The service was quick and somehow even continued to level up throughout the night. We loved the food, the atmosphere and the service. It was everything we hoped it would be!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, a bit pricy on individual items like the identical wines served elsewhere for a lot less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for anniversary. The food was awesome. Service is excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall, good restaurant with very good food and service. Pricey and charging $8.00 for valet seems ridiculous when you are spending approximately $100 per person for a meal. Music was WAY too loud, though, had it been reduced volume, would have been very enjoyable. We had to yell at each other across the table to be heard over the live music. We enjoyed the table-side service very much and the service was attentive. The big flaw in the evening came at the end with my top-off of coffee. The server poured and the top flew off pouring hot coffee all over the table (a LOT) and splashed on my hands and top. Now - I recognize this was accidental and the server apologized, and threw a bunch of napkins on the table over the spill. However, in a restaurant such as this, there should be some sort of compensation - desserts on the house, reduced bill, or .....however, the server picked up the $8.00 valet charge and that was that. I was not offered dry cleaning of my clothes, nor did a manager ever show up to the table to apologize. As we always tip valets regardless of them charging, this was a poor offering for pouring hot coffee on me. We left very disappointed in the professionalism of this high-end restaurant. However, food was very good, and up until that point, we felt that we were having a very good experience, despite the overly loud live music. Would we go back? Hard to say. We have better meals when we regularly visit Las Vegas where we don't mind paying $$$ for outstanding food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is always great. The steak here is better than anywhere else in Portland.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere. We'll be back! Thank you!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service great as always.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Worst caesar salad ever! Dark and noisy. Way over priced.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.