About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Specials

An Etiquette Revolution

Saturday Feb 4, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Specials

An Etiquette Revolution

Saturday Feb 4, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

While some social norms may change over time, the basic rules of etiquette stay the same. Join Cortney Anderson-Sanford for a 5-course interactive fine-dining class where she provides inspiration and techniques for today's fast-paced lives. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Saturday Feb 4, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (21)
Live Music (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Historic (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our second time going here and th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our second time going here and the food was once again delicious. We tried completely new items on the menu and were quite satisfied. For first time goers I recommend the table side Cesare Salad or the tomato and crab bisque soup, along with the mashed potatoes and your favorite cut of steak. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both of our steaks were cooked improperl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Both of our steaks were cooked improperly. One way over-done and the other very rare (ice cold in the center) when we both ordered medium rare. I sent it back to be cooked to the proper temperature. The tableside potato was so scalding hot at that point that I burnt my mouth, so I had nothing to eat but bread. Then they brought out some mashed potatoes with gravy to tide me over I guess. Finally my steak came at the end of the meal for my husband.

Cocktails are overly sweet, to the point where one was undrinkable. To her credit, our server Meg noticed and offered to bring my husband something else. But you only have four or five beers, and they are all very ordinary. This is a crime in Beervana! Widmer Hefe, Stella Artois? Dumpy Chinese restaurants have better selection.

I have lived in Portland for over 20 years and have had the good fortune to dine at a lot of the best restaurants in the city, but never the vaunted El Gaucho until this meal. What a colossal disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This was a FABULOUS restaurant and appar ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was a FABULOUS restaurant and apparently, very popular! My meal could not have been any better - had a wonderful, fresh salad with a great Rombauer Chardonnay, followed by one of the best filets I have ever eaten, cooked perfectly! I had the side order of asparagus beurre blanc which was done exactly right. My Robert Biale Zinfandel complimented that part of the meal. THEN, was served a fruit, nut and cheese plate for dessert with an excellent 30-year-old port - just heaven! The atmosphere is great - wonderful live music, kind of a Spanish jazz, and the decor is dark, cozy and elegant. Add to this an excellent wait staff and a management attitude that a solo diner need not be hidden in a corner - had a great banquette - and I had a SPLENDID evening here. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal . All the food and servi ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful meal . All the food and service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible and definately w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was incredible and definately worth the sticker. The service seemed a little slower though that may have been part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our first seating was right in front of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our first seating was right in front of the kitchen in a semi-private l-shaped booth. I was faacing a large table of 10 which was quite noisy and with the kitchen behind me, it was the ideal spot. I asked for a more private booth and was seated in the lounge area near the bar. It was so much better - and a couple of live musicians were playing jazz music.

Started off with an amazing Spicey Crab Bisque Soup. Oh, it was so magnificent. Service was excellent. Enjoyed an 8oz 28-day dry-ages Filet mignon that was cooked to perfection. One of the best I've had and I have been to serveral premium steakhouses in the Bay Area. Accompanied with a 2008 Phelps Creek Columbia Gorge Pinot Noir.

Our server was very accommodating and allowed us to take our time and understood we didn't want to be visited every 15 min to clear a plate. My date and I enjoy taking our time and especially do not like having someone interrupting us and asking us "is everything ok?".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but never disappoints. Great f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Expensive but never disappoints. Great for a special occasion. Service has always been excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Steaks and food just ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service. Steaks and food just ok for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I am so glad we came. This was a wonderf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I am so glad we came. This was a wonderful place with amazing food and great service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We heard so many good things about this ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We heard so many good things about this restaurant so we were looking forward to eating there. I have to say the service was excellent, the atmosphere was very romantic and it was nice that we didn't have to dress up formal. The food was very good but the prices seemed a little steep, that was the only downside. I do hope we can go again, but only with coupons!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My boyfriend & I went there for our anni ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My boyfriend & I went there for our anniversary. We are big seafood lovers so we had crab cakes, linguine, scallops & one of their wedge salads. Food was fabulous but it was very busy and so we were at tiny table & wasn't as romantic as would have liked because sound level etc. They are known for their excellent service & lived up to their reputation. We look forward to going back there for Birthdays or maybe anniversary again but maybe ask to reserve booth.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was just ok. Not great. For a $380 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was just ok. Not great. For a $380 dinner for two,being sat in the bar was not a great experience. No where near the same ambience as the main dining room. Way too crowded. We love this place but it seems to be going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Requested nice table for birthday dinner ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Requested nice table for birthday dinner but they seated us under bright lights in the bar, had to ask to move to dining room. Our waiter was indignant and did not inform us of the special. We ordered the crab and got one crab leg for $90 very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Our server was outstanding everyone went ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our server was outstanding everyone went above and beyond to wish us a Happy Anniversary.

We don't go here to often but when we do it's always a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lil date night with my wife.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Lil date night with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annual anniversary trip to the Benson at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Annual anniversary trip to the Benson at Christmas, and dinner at El Gaucho. Food was very good. Waitress was not particularly attentive, which I hope was due to the fact they were busy with the Christmas crowd. Would have been nice if she had checked in after food was delivered. Drinks were very slow in coming. Again, they were quite busy before the holidays, but maybe a bit understaffed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were seated immediately. We ordered ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were seated immediately. We ordered a bottle of nice red wine from Woodinville and Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer. When the oysters came they were barely warm and covered with a heavy layer of cheese. My 410 salad was outstanding, prepared table side. My husband ordered a soup which was very spicy; the seasoning wasn't noted on the menu. He did enjoy it so we didn't say anything. We ordered Chateaubriand for our entree. The meat was very rare when sliced. We had ordered medium well. They sliced off several pieces, plated it, and took the remainder back to the kitchen to cook. My baked potato was full of butter with something like cheese whiz dumped over the top. The asparagus was so underdone that it was difficult to cut. This was not a $300 meal and certainly wasn't they way I had planned to celebrate my 25th anniversary. I felt like crying by the time we left. This was a special occasion for us and it was pretty much ruined. The wait staff did not go out of their way to accommodate us or make our night special other than some rose petals scattered on the table before we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Overall, a very nice experience. Our se ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overall, a very nice experience. Our server, Derick, was top notch. Very friendly when we initiated conversation and efficient in taking our order. The food runners were also efficient in delivering our plates. The food was outstanding with some of the best steaks and lobster we've had. A slight flaw was the slowness in getting the check to us. Understandable as the restaurant was clearly 'slammed' with new diners. A nice complementary cheese and fruit plate helped here. We will return and will ask for Derick.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

After being dissapointed by other steakh ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

After being dissapointed by other steakhouses in PDX we returned to El Gaucho after a very long haitus. We had an outstanding meal!! Service was fantastic as well; we will go back soon. The tableside Caesar was one of the best salads we've ever had. Three of us had filets and one bone in rib steak; all were very good. One was initially underdone but the server handled it quite nicely bringing out an extra side while that diner waited for just a few minutes. The other sides were standard steakhouse fare. A complimentary fruit and cheese plate is a nice finishing touch. We skipped dessert but the bananas foster looked impressive. Don't go here if you're on a budget. Do go if you want a special night out with great food and service.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fifth year to celebrate Christmas with f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fifth year to celebrate Christmas with friends. Great as always will be back next year.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Spicy Shrimp was not nearly as good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Spicy Shrimp was not nearly as good as we remembered. The other appetizers were mediocre. My Mahi dish was not good- it was thin, over-cooked and the spice was not good either. The mashed potatoes and asparagus were very good, thank God. We had two hours to dine before the Symphony and we were late and couldn't finish our meal or enjoy any dessert. Overall, probably won't be back unless someone else is paying haha.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I came to the restaurant to celebrate my ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I came to the restaurant to celebrate my birthday and the service was not top-quality as I would expect from a restaurant of the stature. I was very disappointed the waitress did not bring me my crab legs that I had ordered and then try to substitute her mistake by giving us a fruit and nut platter and my date is actually allergic to nuts so it went to waste It would have been nice if she would've offered to give us something that we actually would've eaten. I just really expected more and would have preferred to have my birthday at another location especially since she did not even recognize my birthday after being told about my special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

What a great treat El Gaucho is! I took ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

What a great treat El Gaucho is! I took my husband for his birthday - our first time there - and we had such a great experience. The service was top-notch, the music was just right, and the food was delicious. This is the place to be for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always! Great service and wond ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great as always! Great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jen didn't tell us the specia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our server Jen didn't tell us the special and everytime she came over to put down silverware she wouldn't say a word. And when we got our check, she gave us back to sign and didn't even say thank you.

The overall vibe from her was not good as we can see the table next to us got better service from another waiter.

Food was good, but I will not come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were seated around bar and the noise ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were seated around bar and the noise make me and my wife go nut. I personel feel that the services is not as good as two years ago when we first time dining over there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

El Gaucho is expensive, but totally wort ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

El Gaucho is expensive, but totally worth it. First class service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They took such good care of us! We were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

They took such good care of us! We were Celebrating a big anniversary and they treated us so right. Best steak, mushroom risotto and the only Caesar salad I like as much as my own. Thank you el gaucho!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chateaubriand was amazing. Service and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Chateaubriand was amazing. Service and food were outstanding. Highly recommended for special evening out.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

El Gaucho never disappoints with great s ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 24, 2016

El Gaucho never disappoints with great steaks. This was our first time at the Portland location. We prefer the elegance of the Seattle location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here several times and had g ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I have been here several times and had great dining experiences. This one missed the mark.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Amazing service!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dining at El Gaucho is an event! Its no ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dining at El Gaucho is an event! Its not just eating, its being pampered by your waiter and chef!! The chef came to our table to give us our appetizer, Doug our waiter was amazing!! So attentive, but never intrusive! And the food is fabulous!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steakhouse. Wagyu beef would be a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great steakhouse. Wagyu beef would be a good addition to the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love El Gaucho, yet the restaurant wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We love El Gaucho, yet the restaurant was a little colder than normal. Not sure if less people yet was a it cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

One of our favorites! Can't go wrong wit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

One of our favorites! Can't go wrong with El Gaucho.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a great night out that starte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed a great night out that started with a stop at El Gaucho. Very enjoyable meal. The service was great. Would have been a five star experience had the lamb not been a bit off temp. Ordered it medium rare and it was closer to medium well. It still had good flavor though. The lobster, filet, crab bisque, pancetta prawns and salads were wonderful. Super rad night in Portland.

Tags: Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There are 2 ultra high end restaurants i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

There are 2 ultra high end restaurants in Portland for each seafood and meat. They are Jake's Crawfish (for seafood) and El Gaucho (for steak and game). If you want food, service and an evening that you wish could be a regular thing, but can only enjoy such a treat once in a while, you need to consider either restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.