About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (96)
romantic (67)
notable wine list (50)
See All
fit for foodies (39)
good for groups (21)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food quality and preparation was imm ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food quality and preparation was immaculate. The Certifed Angus Beef tenderloin is some of the best I ever had and was cooked perfectly. Kelly, our server, was very sweet and knowledgeable of the menu and the wines and provided some wonderful recommendations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful. Be sure to try ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Be sure to try the tableside fluffed baked potato with the cheese sauce and the Mississippi mud cake. Had the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly even with me having it well done. Amazing night!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The meat was tasteless and the wine list ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The meat was tasteless and the wine list was mostly swill. They say fine dining with a dress code but happily seated people in baseball hats and shorts.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amy, our server was very attentive. I li ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amy, our server was very attentive. I like the team approach in meeting the needs of the diners at the table. We were seated in the lounge and yet it felt as relaxed and intimate as a table in the dining room. The steak... melt in your mouth fabulous... does it get any better than that?

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked last minute for an anniversary an ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Booked last minute for an anniversary and arrived minutes later. Not only did the staff recognize my fiancé and myself but they already had a private booth prepared for us with a beautiful card and roses recognizing our special occasion. Throughout the meal service was impeccable and the entire team of the restaurant continued to wow us by remembering our names and giving us best wishes on our special day. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this restaurant on many lists as o ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Found this restaurant on many lists as one of the top romantic places to eat and indeed it was! I made reservations for my boyfriends birthday dinner and we both loved the place from the minute we set foot. The customer service was outstanding as we were seated right away and welcomed with a table decorated for the occasion. If we ever travel back to Portland, we will definitely be coming back to El Gaucho!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food And Service!

Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food And Service!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our event and experience (our first time ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our event and experience (our first time) was fantastic. Service and food was the best, especially our steaks. Loved our appetizers and garlic bread. Our deserts was superb. A place to come back to for special occasions. Thank you for making the night special for us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Stellar wine list. I had the Spicy Oreg ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Stellar wine list. I had the Spicy Oregon Bisque for starters, easily the best soup I've ever eaten. Steak was cooked to perfection. All around first class meal. Service was decent. Atmosphere was perfect for the occaision of my girlfriends bday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely wonderful. Some ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. Some of nthe best I HAVE EVER HAD!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

El Gaucho is one of our favorite places in Portland for special occasions. We are never disappointed and the food is always excellent. For starters we chose the El Gaucho salad and the crab bisque. The salad is prepared table side. My husband ordered steak and shrimp, I ordered the halibut. As always the food is hot and perfectly cooked. Since it was just the two of us we did not order any of the sides with our dinner. When we come with a larger group we will order sides but for two it can be too much food. There is a great selection of wine, by the glass or bottle. We especially appreciate the selection of dessert wines. I cannot say enough about the service at El Gaucho. Our server, Jen, is terrific. After dinner we went into the cigar lounge for after dinner drinks and a cigar. El Gaucho has valet parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome server, Kyle. Great cigar bar.

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome server, Kyle. Great cigar bar.

food5
ambience5
service5

A++ in every way, as always

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

A++ in every way, as always

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Had higher expectations

Dined on May 29, 2016

I was so excited to visit El Gauchos, however was disappointed with my experience. I am a steak lover and was not pleased with my meal. It was an alright steak, but for the price....I expected phenomenal. I won't be back unfortunately!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My wife and I have visited El Gaucho fou ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I have visited El Gaucho four times over the past couple years, and I think we're going to move on to other fine steak houses at this point, rather than return to El Gaucho in the near future. The service is quite uneven--wonderful twice, indifferent twice--and most importantly, the steak quality simply doesn't match the premium pricing. And when you request a medium rare steak and receive one that is only barely pink in the middle (mostly brown), at a fine steakhouse, you know that the kitchen is carelessly committing the cardinal sin--overcooking the steak.

food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Food was WAY TOO overpriced but not up t ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was WAY TOO overpriced but not up to par. Filet Mignon was not a great cut which for around $60 it should be fantastic.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious meat and appetizers, pleasant ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious meat and appetizers, pleasant service and presentation, burnt and grainy creme brule, and noisier than some sports bars I've experienced. Overall if you're looking for mostly delicious food and can afford the price tag El Gaucho is a worthwhile restaurant. If you want a quieter ambiance where the business deals and bragging of the half dozen tables around you can't be easily followed, find somewhere else.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value5

There is a cigar room separated only by ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

There is a cigar room separated only by a glass door in the restaurant. The room was well populated and every time the door opened for a patron to enter or exit, or a server to go in and out smoke made it to our table, tainting our experience. We were not able to enjoy the food and had to leave.

food5
ambience5
service5

We like to celebrate our anniversary her ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We like to celebrate our anniversary here. Even though their prices are high, as members of their Revelers Club, we get a generous $50 credit toward our bill. We love their chateaubriand for two, which comes with asparagus, grilled mushrooms, baked or mashed potatoes and half a grilled tomato. This is seasoned, cut and plated tableside. We love their bananas foster but decided to try their cherries jubilee this time. Both are flambéed tableside in dramatic presentation. The service here is top notch. We were lucky to have Amy as our waitress. She's phenomenal.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great night, amazingly delicious dinner ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great night, amazingly delicious dinner. We Was very disappointed with our table. I had called ahead to let the restaurant know we were celebrating 2 birthdays... Only one birthday was mentioned and they sat us at an end table away from the ambiance next to the cigar lounge but overall the dinner and service was off the charts tasteful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak, steak

Dined on May 21, 2016

Busy, bustling restaurant. Despite the crowd very good service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant for that very special o ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great restaurant for that very special occasion celebration. Not many restaurants in this elite catagory in Portland.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday dinner!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful service and food! We came in Friday night for a birthday and everything was just perfect! We had the steak el gaucho and the copper river salmon! Both were cooked perfectly and tasted delicious! Our server was attentive without hovering and we never had an empty water glass (or cocktail glass) El Gaucho lived up to its reputation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This spot has the best steak and trimmin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This spot has the best steak and trimmings in Portland. The service is always impeccable and friendly. Go for a full 4-5 course experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for our 1st wedding anniversary! Th ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went for our 1st wedding anniversary! The restaurant was almost empty (8:00) upon arrival, yet we unfortunately waited 10 minutes at the host stand before anybody stopped by to greet us. Eventually a server with her hands full of wine glasses who apologized -- came over and flagged down the host who eventually sat us. We were seated and the same thing happened again!! We sat there for 20 minutes waiting for a server to greet us. Several servers walked by and kept looking at our table yet said or did nothing. Is team greet just not a thing there? We almost left. Food was awesome as usual, just a bummer about the slow greeting. When you go somewhere and drop $200+ for 2 people, you expect that to be reflected in the service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Cigar Lounge

Dined on May 17, 2016

El Gaucho has great steaks and nice dining area but an even better Cigar Lounge with very friendly staff and a decent cigar selection. They do not have cutting fee if you bring in your own cigars. The drink list is extensive and the locals who frequent the lounge are very friendly. Not many places like this left so if you have the opportunity to try it out don't hesitate.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

El Gaucho is simply hands down the best ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

El Gaucho is simply hands down the best dining experience in Portland. It has never disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great steak!

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food is always great, service impeccable. It's our "go to" for celebrating special events

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Longtime customer. Gaucho always delive ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Longtime customer. Gaucho always delivers superior service and food. My go to steakhouse in Portland.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great as always.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waiter not sensitive to food allergies

Dined on May 1, 2016

While the food was enjoyable but not outstanding, our rude and insensitive waiter really overshadowed what could have been a great experience. When we informed the waiter that we had a person in our party with food allergies and could there be extra precautions taken, we were met with an unhelpful and flippant attitude from our waiter. He said to the something very similar to "I'm sure you can pick out the items on the menu that you can't have. I mean there's only like 5 items that contain your allergy and you can probably already know." He was loud, obnoxious and very insensitive. The food was ok, but in not sure it was worth the price tag.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

You just can't beat El Gaucho for a good ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

You just can't beat El Gaucho for a good dinner out. Excellent drinks, food, service, music. Always my go to first night in the city that has so much good food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great birthday dinner for my wife. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a great birthday dinner for my wife. Food was great and service was very good. Loved the live music.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the food was superb and the service ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

All the food was superb and the service was excellent. This was my first time dining at El Gaucho and I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent high quality food and service ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Consistent high quality food and service. They still make their Caesar salads at your table and they are beyond special. This is not an inexpensive place but the portions are generous and they do not give you a hard time about plate sharing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First class AS ALWAYS

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great service and the food is AMAZING every time we visit. Scallops appetizer - Perfect Rib eye (medium) - Perfect Australian lobster tail - Perfect Corn side - Perfect Scalloped potatoes - Perfect

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing and service was wonderful ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

It was amazing and service was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We enjoy celebrating at El Gaucho's several times a year! The food is outstanding , the service is impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfection

Dined on April 24, 2016

We come here for our anniversary every year, and it is always perfect. Service is marvelous and thoughtful without being stuffy, and the steak is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite restaurant

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have never been disappointed, this absolutely is the number one restaurant in Portland. The steaks are out of this world, the wicked shrimp and the crab bisque is amazing. The service is good and the atmosphere is intimate in the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.