Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About El Gaucho - Portland

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (58)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Notable Wine List (37)
Live Music (34)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food, service was top notch, live music and always the best dining experience in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Pros: great ambiance, lovely steaks, nice wine list, fantastic service.
Cons: terrible serrated steak knives that tear the meat vs. Cutting it.
Way too much garlic in the Caesar salad. Garlic bread was chewy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Seems like the price got a little steeper. We were happy to pay because everything is so goos, but what usually runs us $275 came to $325.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Seriously, where do I begin? Okay, maybe I don't get out much, but this place... SUPERB! From the second we pulled up along the curb, to the moment we got home and realized the valet placed a bag of cookies in the car, we were pampered! The service was top notch! Our water and wine glasses were never empty as the staff was very alert, aware, and ready to serve. The servers were extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. The table-side flambe services was a blast to watch, and delicious. So, speaking of delicious, the food. OH MY GOD... seriously though, my mouth literally is watering RIGHT NOW as I'm writing this and remembering how superb EVERYTHING was. From the best crab cakes I've ever had to the sensational wedge salad... yes, wedge salad. How could a wedge salad ever be sensational? I DON'T KNOW, but it WAS! Then the main course: Flaming Sword flambe, roasted tomato (I don't even like tomatoes, but I ate this and wouldn't you know, it was freaking delicious!) with Cremini mushrooms. The risotto... oh the risotto. Okay, well, I've never had it before, but as I was telling the chef when he came to our table to ask how the food was, I told him it was my first time having it and he apologized for ruining me from all other risottos, and I'm certain he was right. It was perfection. I almost felt gluttonous, but it was all so good, I JUST DIDN'T CARE! But wait, there's more. A complimentary fruit plate with fruits and cheese all before the magnificent dessert of table-side prepared Banana's Foster was a perfect ending to a perfect night. We spent, with tip and valet service, just over $200 and we don't regret a single penny. The food, the service, the table side prep, the convo with the chef, the ambiance, the live music, the valet and to end the night finding the special treat in our dash of those wonderful cookies, made this the ABSOLUTE BEST DINING EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE! Oh yeah and we brought our own special bottle of Monte De Oro wine from our wedding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Best steak in Portland. Also seafood and side entrées are prepared to perfection. When you valet park they give you cookies in your car it's pretty sweet.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

It's expensive but an ocation you will never forget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and ambiance great staff one of the best steaks top class seafood as well!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Me and my wife were there for our anniversarie. Dimmed lights and live music created a romantic feeling. Food and service was very good. Will come back here again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

A classy and classic steakhouse. A top 5 restaurant in a very foody town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a very nice meal with at least many ambience. The restaurant was exploding from energy! The food was fantastic. Also the whaiters were very good in their job!
We had a table next on front off the kitchen. Very nice!
It was not chape but once in your life you have to do it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The best in Portland! We have eaten here several times in the last few years and every time has been outstanding. A beef lovers paradise. Service is superb. We would recommend El Gaucho to anyone who loves good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We came to spend the birthday revelers gift and as usual excellent service fantastic food and a really nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My girlfriend abd I were in Portland from Tampa Fl for a conference. I was looking for a nice steakhouse and chose El Gaucho based on recommendations. We wanted to compare to our local renouned steakhouse Berns.
They were on point from the beginning. Our server Jenn was fabulous! She guided us through the menu effortlessly and her recomendations spot on. Our chateaubriand was cooked perfectly and the baked potatoes were divine! Their cheese sauce put it over the top! Wow!
It is not inexpensive but worth every penny gor such a high quality meal with superb service! Fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

my top sirloin steak was perhaps the worse i have had at any restaurant not to mention a restaurant that prides itself on its meat preparation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

El Gaucho is consistently excellent in food, service, atmosphere, the three big factors in a great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our favorite in Portland...Food was amazing. Excellent service.. Filet was outstanding...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything about it was amazing ! Food, staff, atmosphere....... Had a first date there and we will go back for sure

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We enjoy going to El Gaucho the food is very good as is the service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The service was outstanding!!! We enjoyed everything about it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was a 10+ OUTSTANDING! We loved the note & rose petals at our table when we arrived for you 20 year wedding anniversary. Food was impeccable!!! Perfect night for our celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Service impeccable but the food was mediocre. The rib eye ordered medium at the suggestion of the waiter was charcoal on the outside and very overcooked. The wine we ordered off the menu "could not be found" although they suggested a decent alternative. Go for the ambiance and the service but be prepared to pay outrageously high prices for poorly prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food and service was excellent!! Highly recommend it and getting a reservation early.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2017

As always, El Gaucho never let us down! Great service and excellent (one of best steaks in US) plus table side Ceasar Salad best we have ever tasted (comparing to Hong Kong, Singapore, Bangkok, Malyasia and hometown of San Francisco so quite an achievement!). RL

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Celebrating 37 years in Oregon. Service exemplary. Attention to small details even in the formal suits of the wait staff. The dining experience starts with great drinks and continues through the main course finishing with artfully presented dessert. Front to back is an Olympic TEN! They run a well oiled machine. The staff is long term as I am able to recognize many of them each time I visit. Just no turnover in their waitstaff which is a positive for me.

A recent change was made in their operation and it is a 20% gratuity is now added in their billing. A card is presented with your bill explaining the reasoning for this as well as their making anything not to your satisfaction right! They definitely put the customer first! During our service we were asked by numerous staff how was our meal and anything they could do to help. Water and drinks were kept filled. Never felt the servers "hovered" over us. First cabin all the way. Thanks Derick for your fine service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

As always El Gaucho delivers a delicious steak, Caesar salad, oysters and baked potato.
Everyone should know by now before entering that you are paying premium prices here
that are easily on par with New York or San Francisco. The one problem I have is what I
feel are truly excessive prices charged for a premium drink and the even more ridiculous
price for a 6 oz. pour of a truly mediocre Pinot Noir. ($25.00)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We love Gauchos. My friend and I have been going there for special occasions at least once a month for the last 5 years. The wait staff remember all their repeat customers and it is always like coming home! Coming to talk is perfect because the setting is so intimate. The wait staff are also wonderful to talk to. The food is 100% superb all the time. And we really love Mariano and Toshi who play live music most nights. This really is our special place to come back to in all of Portland.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Exceptional flavor and a 10+ for tenderness. Great service. Attentive and entertaining. Awesome music!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have been going to El Gaucho for special occasions for many years because the food is outstanding and the service has always been wonderful. Food is still fabulous but the service has slipped a little.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great service and great food. We just noted that is was our 5 year anniversary and they had a nice hand written card and rose pedals waiting for us on the table when we arrived. Several servers wished us a happy anniversary and they even comped our dessert as a gift. Table side service was awesome and fun to watch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service was very good but I don't care for the automatic 20% service charge. I'd rather have the flexibility to leave an earned tip than be charged for it. The automatic charge doesn't make sense for only two people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I really expected a different vibe/ambiance. My partner and I were dressed up for date night and expecting a romantic date night. The service was excellent. The food was excellent despite my salty lobster... it didn't ruin my evening, they made it priority to correct. I was overall impressed but I expected a little more ..especially for the money and reputation. I was looking for an elegant romantic date night but the environment was a more casual and fun date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful service from Mark! He was SO helpful in helping me pick what I wanted from the menu. I hadn't had steak in 15 years and he was so great about helping me choose!
DELICIOUS food and fantastic classy waiter!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We don't go very often but when we do we never regret it. Service and food were outstanding and the atmosphere is awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent service and one of the best steakhouse experiences I have ever had. Great service and all the food was excellent. Perfectly cooked steaks and tasty bread pudding dessert. Superb service and cocktails too. Can't wait to come back to this place again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My favorite restaurant. Outstanding food, impeccable service and a great dining room. This is our number one special occasion place to go. I've been going here for special occasions for nearly two decades and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

El Gaucho has always been one of my favorites places to go in Portland. However, they just implemented a program of automatically adding a 20% gratuity to every check! I always tip 20% anyway, but to have automatically added is quite the surprise. I have NEVER been to a restaurant where a 20% gratuity is added - except for large groups of course.

Not sure why they are doing this, but if will probably affect my decision to go there in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Best steak in Portland, hands down. Every side is perfection.
The table side Caesar salad presentation is not to be missed, either.
All in all, professional, friendly staff, beautiful music, great wine selection and a cheesecake that rivals New York's best! Come hungry- most steaks are around 14oz.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at El Gaucho. We sat in a nice cozy booth in the bar, so we were able to have happy hour and also order dinner off the menu. The service was outstanding. Our server was very attentive and came by occasionally to check on us, but was never overboard. We ordered the baseball cut steak, which happens to be the cheapest steak on the menu, so we weren't sure if we were going to get decent quality. It was fabulous! And also we ordered the king salmon, which was perfectly prepared. The entrees do not come with anything so they have a nice variety of side dishes to choose from. We ordered the brussel sprouts and the mushroom risotto. Both we very good, but just a touch too much pepper on both. But still, very flavorful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.