About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Cozy (22)
Live Music (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I went with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday. I had requested a booth. I received a call that day to confirm my reservations and that they would do everything they could to accommodate my request. We did get a booth in the bar which was fine. I brought two amazing bottles of wine to share with my friends. We were a bit noisy but no one scolded us. 😊 The food was amazing as always. It was a great way to start our evening celebrating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Wonderful service. We will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Let me start by saying that the service was outstanding! Unfortunately, the meal was at best okay, and at the price we paid ($500+ including tip), I was disappointed. We ordered the spicy crab bisque which was really good. We ordered 3 filets; 2 large and 1 small. The 2 large ones seemed to be cooked correctly, but neither was tender. The small one was for my son, and it was under cooked and had to be returned to be completed. The Mac-n-cheese was good. For desert, we got the bananas foster... outstanding!

It would have been great to write a fantastic review on this place because we really enjoyed the experience, but I can't justify spending that much money on a meal and to have my main course fail so badly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambience and delicious food! Great for special occasions!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

El Gaucho is well worth the price. Best service I've had by far in the restaurant industry. Food consistently cooked to perfection. This is the place to take someone you want to impress. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

OH MY! We got a wedding gift for this place and we decided to go all out and spent over $200 with tip. We loved the service, meat and experience.

They have some old school tomatoes that seem like garnishes to us. Gigantic baked potatoes with our meal and the cheese sauce, yum!! Next time I'll need to remember to ask for the asparagus to not be al dente, too crunchy for me, I like the heck grilled out of them. BUT the steak....28 days aged and perfectly medium-rare like we love. LOTS of veggies and would've liked more meat...looked funny on our plates. Alas, a treat for sure.

Save room for the banana foster...the caramel sauce made table side was incredible.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent steak! And the bananas foster should not be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I loved the exquisite dinner experience and professional service by the restaurant staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious and fantastic service!! The music was excellent!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Just a great atmosphere. Just a date night with the wife.

Thanks for a great evening

Rob Mc

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

El Gaucho is one of our favorite locations to go for an amazing meal. While the prices can be high, the quality and service we receive is worth every penny! The servers are fantastic! They are full of knowledge and always eager to make your meal a special one. The only issue we had (and this was a first at this location) was the hostesses (2 out of 3 of them) were somewhat rude. I realize that it was a busy night, being Valentine's Day, but they were somewhat snobby and condescending. Besides that, the meal, ambiance, servers, everything were top notch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Looking for great steak restaurant here is your gem! Great food great steaks great additions!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

El gaucho is a very delicious restaurant. The prices are high but you get what you pay for. The food is amazing, the staff is just as fantastic too. Very friendly and helpful with selecting options. I made reservations for early Valentine's Day, we got to the restaurant a little early and was still seated immediately.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Disabled Access, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The whole staff did a really good job of taking care of us for the evening. The main dish of Chateaubriand had a really nice flavor. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We waited 30 minutes after our reservation to be seated and there was absolutely no apology. An expensive place to have that poor of service is very disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing, service was impeccable and Ambiance is off the charts.

Love this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent as usual - always enjoy ! We love to spend special occasions there.

Will have to save room for Bananas Foster next time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My favorite place to eat in Portland! I take all of our friends here and schedule every business dinner here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Whenever we visit Portland we make sure to have at least one meal at El Gaucho. It is a great steakhouse with all the trimmings. The tableside Casear salad is about the best I have ever had. They have an extensive wine list and the bartenders whip up some great drinks. They also have a cigar room. It has comfy chairs, a fireplace and a good selection of cigars. We always have our dessert and after dinner drinks in there. El Gaucho harkens back to a time of excellent food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our Anniversary, my wife had the lobster and I had the Frenched Rib Chop. As always they both were excellent. Our server Kelly did a wonderful job.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had read reviews about seating in the bar. I should have gone with my gut and asked to be seated elsewhere. We've dined at El Gaucho many times and ALWAYS enjoy the food. This is the first time that we were seated in the bar. At first, I thought ok, we're getting an 8 person table (meaning 6 comfortably) for 5 people, maybe the extra room will be nice. Yes, the table and seating was spacious but the very loud noise in that area was not worth the extra space. We couldn't have a conversation beyond the person next to you so were constantly relaying what was said. The food was amazing. It always is. The service was slower that usual. We expected a leisurely dinner. It's an event at El Gaucho. That's part of what we come for. This was ridiculously slow. Our server was very nice. I'm not sure if she had too many tables or what. We were a little disappointed but we definitely will be back. We just won't sit in the bar again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Its always great at El Gaucho. We love everything. You really can't go wrong but its always very expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The best steaks I've ever had. Dining experience was great from beginning to end.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved the atmosphere and both the food and service were phenomenal. Definitely going back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

El Gaucho definitely became top 3 of my favorite steak houses. The fillet with medium was awsome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful. We had the corner booth with the fur. The music duo was very enjoyable and did a great job. We have visited many times before, but this was our friends we brought for the first time. We brought them in celebration of both his birthday and mine two days earlier. It was a very relaxing evening and the cookies in the car from the valet topped it off!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Usually food is excellent. This time my guest had to send their plate back 3 times to get it right. Slight pink or none in meat was request. They compted the dinner so nice gesture. My steak was on tough side and had too much gristle. Not worth the $74 I paid. Didnt complain after go around my guest had. Havent given up on restaurant but this experience was not at same level Ive experienced in past. Service was ok but borderline unattentive.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Consistently incomparable, always excellent. I highly recommend El Gaucho!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My husband and I have been to El Gaucho's twice. The first time was the day we got engaged (also my birthday), and the second was his birthday. Both times we have had PHENOMENAL service and the food is as good as it gets. Gabriel was our waiter the last time we went and he was a wonderful server. Also, their Ruby cocktail is absolutely delicious! You won't find a more romantic and memorable place to enjoy dinner! We will definitely be back multiple times a year on our special occasion days. As far as cuisine goes, the table side Caesar salad, filet mignon Oscar style, mashed potatoes with lobster, and tableside bananas Foster are our favorites. Overall, the experience, atmosphere, and staff are as wonderful as it comes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is simply the best restaurant in downtown. The staff and food are top-notch. I'm the type of person that likes to be comfortable when I eat (I don't like to dress up). The level of respect and care that is received by every person who dines here is exceptional and exactly the same level that celebrities and athletes receive when they eat here. The staff remembers your name after just a couple of visits.

I could write pages about the quality of the food and wine but it's best if you just try it yourself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The ambiance is very nice. Service was good. We ordered steaks and they were all cooked as ordered, tender and well seasoned. The sides were underwhelming. We had mac & cheese, squash and risotto. Dessert was bananas foster prepared tableside highly recommended by the server. Also underwhelming. The whole experience can be had for less at places that are just as nice. It seemed overpriced at 500.00 for 4 people. For that price I feel I should come away feeling I had a great time not just meh, it was fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fun and lively! Always a favorite. Delicious steaks... best in Portland really! Bananas foster is a MUST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

By far the best restaurant in Portland. I have never been disappointed. Highly recommend the 410 salad table side. Steaks are always great. I had the Mahi Mahi and it was fabulous. The best bananas foster for dessert. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Incredible wedding dinner. Our server, Genesis was fantastic. We had such a good experience no left happy. Bring your family and friends and share some memorable moments.

Tags: Wood Oven, Live Music, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I am probably not the best person to be writing this review. I am a very frugal person and this is not a place for a frugal person to go. However, the service was AWESOME!!! Three of the four of us had water and not once was a water glass less than half full. We had crab cakes and the Diablo Tender lions for appetizers. I will admit I had not really looked at the menu before going so I had no idea of the pricing or the fact all sides were priced in group pricing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I took my wife there for her birthday and she just loved the place. The food was amazing and so was the service. We had such a great time and it made her day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was our second time going here and the food was once again delicious. We tried completely new items on the menu and were quite satisfied. For first time goers I recommend the table side Cesare Salad or the tomato and crab bisque soup, along with the mashed potatoes and your favorite cut of steak. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Both of our steaks were cooked improperly. One way over-done and the other very rare (ice cold in the center) when we both ordered medium rare. I sent it back to be cooked to the proper temperature. The tableside potato was so scalding hot at that point that I burnt my mouth, so I had nothing to eat but bread. Then they brought out some mashed potatoes with gravy to tide me over I guess. Finally my steak came at the end of the meal for my husband.

Cocktails are overly sweet, to the point where one was undrinkable. To her credit, our server Meg noticed and offered to bring my husband something else. But you only have four or five beers, and they are all very ordinary. This is a crime in Beervana! Widmer Hefe, Stella Artois? Dumpy Chinese restaurants have better selection.

I have lived in Portland for over 20 years and have had the good fortune to dine at a lot of the best restaurants in the city, but never the vaunted El Gaucho until this meal. What a colossal disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was a FABULOUS restaurant and apparently, very popular! My meal could not have been any better - had a wonderful, fresh salad with a great Rombauer Chardonnay, followed by one of the best filets I have ever eaten, cooked perfectly! I had the side order of asparagus beurre blanc which was done exactly right. My Robert Biale Zinfandel complimented that part of the meal. THEN, was served a fruit, nut and cheese plate for dessert with an excellent 30-year-old port - just heaven! The atmosphere is great - wonderful live music, kind of a Spanish jazz, and the decor is dark, cozy and elegant. Add to this an excellent wait staff and a management attitude that a solo diner need not be hidden in a corner - had a great banquette - and I had a SPLENDID evening here. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful meal . All the food and service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was incredible and definately worth the sticker. The service seemed a little slower though that may have been part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our first seating was right in front of the kitchen in a semi-private l-shaped booth. I was faacing a large table of 10 which was quite noisy and with the kitchen behind me, it was the ideal spot. I asked for a more private booth and was seated in the lounge area near the bar. It was so much better - and a couple of live musicians were playing jazz music.

Started off with an amazing Spicey Crab Bisque Soup. Oh, it was so magnificent. Service was excellent. Enjoyed an 8oz 28-day dry-ages Filet mignon that was cooked to perfection. One of the best I've had and I have been to serveral premium steakhouses in the Bay Area. Accompanied with a 2008 Phelps Creek Columbia Gorge Pinot Noir.

Our server was very accommodating and allowed us to take our time and understood we didn't want to be visited every 15 min to clear a plate. My date and I enjoy taking our time and especially do not like having someone interrupting us and asking us "is everything ok?".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Expensive but never disappoints. Great for a special occasion. Service has always been excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service. Steaks and food just ok for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I am so glad we came. This was a wonderful place with amazing food and great service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We heard so many good things about this restaurant so we were looking forward to eating there. I have to say the service was excellent, the atmosphere was very romantic and it was nice that we didn't have to dress up formal. The food was very good but the prices seemed a little steep, that was the only downside. I do hope we can go again, but only with coupons!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My boyfriend & I went there for our anniversary. We are big seafood lovers so we had crab cakes, linguine, scallops & one of their wedge salads. Food was fabulous but it was very busy and so we were at tiny table & wasn't as romantic as would have liked because sound level etc. They are known for their excellent service & lived up to their reputation. We look forward to going back there for Birthdays or maybe anniversary again but maybe ask to reserve booth.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was just ok. Not great. For a $380 dinner for two,being sat in the bar was not a great experience. No where near the same ambience as the main dining room. Way too crowded. We love this place but it seems to be going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Requested nice table for birthday dinner but they seated us under bright lights in the bar, had to ask to move to dining room. Our waiter was indignant and did not inform us of the special. We ordered the crab and got one crab leg for $90 very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.