About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Portland / Oregon
Best Ambiance
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Business Meals (26)
Cozy (22)
Live Music (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Open Kitchen (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (7)
Private Room (7)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as always! Great service and wond ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Great as always! Great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jen didn't tell us the specia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Jen didn't tell us the special and everytime she came over to put down silverware she wouldn't say a word. And when we got our check, she gave us back to sign and didn't even say thank you.

The overall vibe from her was not good as we can see the table next to us got better service from another waiter.

Food was good, but I will not come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were seated around bar and the noise ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We were seated around bar and the noise make me and my wife go nut. I personel feel that the services is not as good as two years ago when we first time dining over there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

They took such good care of us! We were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

They took such good care of us! We were Celebrating a big anniversary and they treated us so right. Best steak, mushroom risotto and the only Caesar salad I like as much as my own. Thank you el gaucho!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chateaubriand was amazing. Service and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Chateaubriand was amazing. Service and food were outstanding. Highly recommended for special evening out.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

El Gaucho never disappoints with great s ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 24, 2016

El Gaucho never disappoints with great steaks. This was our first time at the Portland location. We prefer the elegance of the Seattle location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here several times and had g ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I have been here several times and had great dining experiences. This one missed the mark.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Amazing service!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dining at El Gaucho is an event! Its no ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dining at El Gaucho is an event! Its not just eating, its being pampered by your waiter and chef!! The chef came to our table to give us our appetizer, Doug our waiter was amazing!! So attentive, but never intrusive! And the food is fabulous!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steakhouse. Wagyu beef would be a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great steakhouse. Wagyu beef would be a good addition to the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love El Gaucho, yet the restaurant wa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We love El Gaucho, yet the restaurant was a little colder than normal. Not sure if less people yet was a it cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

One of our favorites! Can't go wrong wit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

One of our favorites! Can't go wrong with El Gaucho.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a great night out that starte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed a great night out that started with a stop at El Gaucho. Very enjoyable meal. The service was great. Would have been a five star experience had the lamb not been a bit off temp. Ordered it medium rare and it was closer to medium well. It still had good flavor though. The lobster, filet, crab bisque, pancetta prawns and salads were wonderful. Super rad night in Portland.

Tags: Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There are 2 ultra high end restaurants i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

There are 2 ultra high end restaurants in Portland for each seafood and meat. They are Jake's Crawfish (for seafood) and El Gaucho (for steak and game). If you want food, service and an evening that you wish could be a regular thing, but can only enjoy such a treat once in a while, you need to consider either restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Been to the restaurant 3 times now. I wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Been to the restaurant 3 times now. I was surprised at how much the steaks went up in price. $72.00 for a Rib Eye........I've been to many of the best steakhouses in the US. El Gaucho is among them. However, the price has exceeded the quality. $72.00 for a steak...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food is excellent, yet tables are except ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food is excellent, yet tables are exceptionally close together. Servers brushing up against you as you dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Really Enjoyed the Steak and Ambiance. ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Really Enjoyed the Steak and Ambiance. My dinner party arrived in an earlier time slot, and as the evening progressed, you could see that this was a popular restaurant, as all the tables started filling up. Definitely worth a visit and I'll come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resurant!!! Fist time here, well w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great resurant!!! Fist time here, well worth the trip.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Gaucho has always been our favorite r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

El Gaucho has always been our favorite restaurant for special occasions. We were highly disappointed the last couple times that we have came.

The meat was not the same quality that we have had the last couple times that we have dined with El Gaucho. It was tough and grainie very poor quality of meat for what we pay for. It was lacking favor.

Unfortunately, we will not be dining at El Gaucho again. We have had two bad experiences in the last 6 months and don't feel as though we need anymore.

I will say the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We never leave unsatified and love the w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We never leave unsatified and love the whole experience! The servers always go above and beyond and the food is amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love El Gaucho, it's one of ou ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always love El Gaucho, it's one of our favorite places.

A couple areas of opportunity this last visit that we hadn't experienced before:

  1. The service was slower or maybe less attentive than previous experiences. To the point where we were looking around to see where our server was so we could flag her down. Have never had to do that before.

  2. The server did not ask how we would like the bill (one or split). We did indeed want it split between two but didn't have the opportunity to request that. Then after the check was dropped it was nearly 20 minutes before we were cashed out (calculators out we figured out the split on our own since she did not come back, having to navigate 7 different meals). Again, not the level of service we have been accustomed to at El Gaucho.

Small things, but noticeable from a person who cherishes her opportunities to dine there.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Best peppercorn New York in the biz!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Best peppercorn New York in the biz!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak and lobster in the Portland a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Best steak and lobster in the Portland area. Unbelievable service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic old-school high-end steak house ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Classic old-school high-end steak house restaurant. Outstanding quality of food and service. Very experienced and knowledgeable servers. Caesar salad prepared table-side and fabulous. They bring a beautiful fruit, nut and cheese platter after dinner to every table. This is a top notch restaurant! I just wish it was a bit less noisy - low ceilings and no noise dampeners.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We came to El Gaucho for our 25th Annive ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We came to El Gaucho for our 25th Anniversary dinner. It was a magical evening, and the staff and food exceeded our expectations in every way. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was terrific , I would recommend it t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was terrific , I would recommend it to everyone, the tableside Caeser was perfection

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came here with my wife for our anniversa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Came here with my wife for our anniversary. The service was excellent, and the ambiance was nice until the live music arrived. The guitar music matched the taste and overall feel of the establishment, but was slightly too loud for our taste. The food was excellent, but overpriced. Everything was fantastic, but at the end of the meal I didn't feel like the price matched the overall level of service and quality. I would recommend, but personally won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

El Goucho was an experience. The decor w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

El Goucho was an experience. The decor was beautiful. The service was great. The food was wonderful, although way too much food. Our waiter was wonderful. It's nice to have table side prep of salads and desserts.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My teenage daughter and I were traveling ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My teenage daughter and I were traveling and El Gaucho was recommended as a beautiful steak house that could not be beat. We looked forward to our reservation. We were seated at a table right next to the open kitchen, so it was very loud. Although the food was delicious, the service was not. We were treated as an afterthought. It took a very long time to get a server to take our order. The servers would peek at us, but continue to work the kitchen line. When our food did come, we were served across the barrier from the kitchen instead of coming to our table. The service was not what we expected from a $225 bill.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Went here for an anniversary dinner. We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Went here for an anniversary dinner. We were placed at a nice table with a card personalized for us surrounded by rose petals; a nice touch. The food was OK but not great. We have now been to all of the steak houses and Portland. This was probably the most expensive. I prefer Ruth Chris.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere and excellent servi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service. Great wine selection both in bottle and by the glass. Food was just average and not up to the same caliber as the rest of the experience. Chateaubriand steak was ordered medium rare but ended up a definate medium. House "cliff" sauce was unimpressive. Broiled tomatos were rock hard. The highlight of the meal was probably the diablo prawns as an appetizer.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place to splurge and treat yoursel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place to splurge and treat yourself to "top shelf" dining. Plan to drop some serious coin but its's worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful food and nice environment. It ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful food and nice environment. It is expensive (some of the highest prices in Portland) but well worth the treat.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Possibly one of the best meals I've ever ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Possibly one of the best meals I've ever had! Service was top notch. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style, Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Great steaks drinks atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Fantastic. Great steaks drinks atmosphere and friends. Everything I hoped it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is outstanding; but ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food and service is outstanding; but not sure they are worth the very high prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and the atmosphere were amazing ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food and the atmosphere were amazing! I had a hunch when I was booking a table that the restaurant would be pricy, sure enough, when the receipt came I about near died. The price for two with no appetite not dessert was very high. If I were a millionaire I would go to this place every single weekend!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just caught in the trap of this so calle ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Just caught in the trap of this so called "KNOWN" steak house which really needs to understand how to cook. Service and sides were great but that was about it. It was my birthday and we ordered a NY steak MEDIUM-WELL and they came out with RARE steaks and asked us to cook them after we cut them? NO ONE cooks the steaks after its cut. They didn't charged for the steaks but definitely not going there again. Worst experience for $300 restaurant and hefty price paid for it. I was mistaking it for being as good as Ruth Chris or ever Fogo but I was wrong. This is just labeled premium and that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.