About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (112)
romantic (82)
notable wine list (65)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (33)
vibrant bar scene (21)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food fabulous as always- service out ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food fabulous as always- service outstanding as usual- we love coming to El Gaucho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent. Service, food was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always, excellent. Service, food was great. My out of town guest was very impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, wonderful service and food. Be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, wonderful service and food. Best steaks in Portland.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and table service. Overall ex ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and table service. Overall experience was great. Not great for frequent dining unless you have either a benefactor or are wealthy.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I went to El Gaucho to celeb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I went to El Gaucho to celebrate are third year anniversary. We were very please overall with the experience. We were a little early for are reservation and they sat us right away. They had a personalized card waiting on the table to wish us a happy anniversary. Are server answered all the questions we had and gave great recommendations on items to order. I'm more of a beer guy so I can't comment on the wine. Food was well prepared and both of us left full and satisfied. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Such a great place to dine. Exceptional ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Such a great place to dine. Exceptional all around. Took a friend who was visiting from Texas and she was overwhelmed by everything. Keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place, I will be sure to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We loved this place, I will be sure to tell everyone about it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yowza. So good! Excellent food, excellen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Yowza. So good! Excellent food, excellent service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in a wonderful setting. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious food in a wonderful setting. Our waitress Kate was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always good at El Gaucho! Great di ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It's always good at El Gaucho! Great dining and fantastic service by Doug!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spend but a nice experience for a specia ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spend but a nice experience for a special night out. The table side caesar was a bit overdressed. All the sides were excellent. The filet was actually ordinary, which was a disappointment. The wine list was extensive and we were very happy with our selections.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food bordering on great, but way ov ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food bordering on great, but way overpriced. Slow service as well considering how few tables were occupied.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

El Guacho did a fantastic job. Tablesid ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

El Guacho did a fantastic job. Tableside was fantastic. Food was to die for.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor service experience. Lackluster ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very poor service experience. Lackluster for a fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great time and dinner . Pete did a great ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great time and dinner . Pete did a great Job! I recommend this place to anyone looking for a great steak and ceasar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited El Gaucho after a 1.5 year hi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We visited El Gaucho after a 1.5 year hiatus. The food was still as fantastic as we remembered. Unfortunately, however, the service was not. While our server was wonderful and did the best she could, it literally felt like a "layer" of the experience was missing. We waited several times for what felt like an extended period (for bread at the beginning, for our drinks to arrive, to get a dessert menu, to get the bill and pay at the end, etc.), which we had never experienced at El Gaucho before. Usually you barely set your fork down and someone is there to assist you!

While someone cleared our plates, no one tidied up the table (sweeping away bread crumbs). Yes it's a pretty minor thing, but again, it goes back to the entire experience that one comes to expect at El Gaucho. I don't know about others, but when we are paying ~$300 for a dinner for two, we look forward to phenomenal service along with phenomenal food.

My husband and I both agreed afterwards that while we love the food here, we simply can't justify spending that much money for a dinner out if the service isn't A+++. We'll be visiting some of the other fantastic restaurants Portland has to offer on our future special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

This is the best steak house in Portland ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This is the best steak house in Portland! The quality of the food combined with the service makes this a best bet in town! Our server, Kyle was outstanding!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Gaucho is always a favorite of mine! Pr ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Gaucho is always a favorite of mine! Price is still killing pockets to death, but overall a nice spot! Service is always prime-time!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was wonderful, our server Dou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was wonderful, our server Doug was so nice, thoughtful and kind. He really made our anniversary really special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent beef selection! Not very quie ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent beef selection! Not very quiet so it's good for groups and business meals, but not for a romantic night out. And beware of how expensive this is!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Best Steak house in Portland Oregon area ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best Steak house in Portland Oregon area we have been to.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was slow and the food was po ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The service was slow and the food was poorly prepared and presented. When I consider the the price this was one of the worst dining experiences I've ever had. I will not return. There are too many delicious options in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Pricey, be prepared to spend a few bucks ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Pricey, be prepared to spend a few bucks. Restaurant seemed a bit too dark. Water steward could have been a bit less efficient, hardly had time to drink a sip or two before the glass was filled again. Food was good though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food quality and preparation was imm ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food quality and preparation was immaculate. The Certifed Angus Beef tenderloin is some of the best I ever had and was cooked perfectly. Kelly, our server, was very sweet and knowledgeable of the menu and the wines and provided some wonderful recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful. Be sure to try ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Be sure to try the tableside fluffed baked potato with the cheese sauce and the Mississippi mud cake. Had the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly even with me having it well done. Amazing night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meat was tasteless and the wine list ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meat was tasteless and the wine list was mostly swill. They say fine dining with a dress code but happily seated people in baseball hats and shorts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amy, our server was very attentive. I li ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amy, our server was very attentive. I like the team approach in meeting the needs of the diners at the table. We were seated in the lounge and yet it felt as relaxed and intimate as a table in the dining room. The steak... melt in your mouth fabulous... does it get any better than that?

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Booked last minute for an anniversary an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Booked last minute for an anniversary and arrived minutes later. Not only did the staff recognize my fiancé and myself but they already had a private booth prepared for us with a beautiful card and roses recognizing our special occasion. Throughout the meal service was impeccable and the entire team of the restaurant continued to wow us by remembering our names and giving us best wishes on our special day. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this restaurant on many lists as o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Found this restaurant on many lists as one of the top romantic places to eat and indeed it

was! I made reservations for my boyfriends birthday dinner and we both loved the place from the minute we set foot. The customer service was outstanding as we were seated right away and welcomed with a table decorated for the occasion. If we ever travel back to Portland, we will definitely be coming back to El Gaucho!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food And Service!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food And Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our event and experience (our first time ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our event and experience (our first time) was fantastic. Service and food was the best, especially our steaks. Loved our appetizers and garlic bread. Our deserts was superb. A place to come back to for special occasions. Thank you for making the night special for us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stellar wine list. I had the Spicy Oreg ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Stellar wine list. I had the Spicy Oregon Bisque for starters, easily the best soup I've ever eaten. Steak was cooked to perfection. All around first class meal. Service was decent. Atmosphere was perfect for the occaision of my girlfriends bday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was absolutely wonderful. Some ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. Some of nthe best I HAVE EVER HAD!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Birthday Dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

El Gaucho is one of our favorite places in Portland for special occasions.

We are never disappointed and the food is always excellent.

For starters we chose the El Gaucho salad and the crab bisque. The salad is prepared table side.

My husband ordered steak and shrimp, I ordered the halibut. As always the food is hot and perfectly cooked.

Since it was just the two of us we did not order any of the sides with our dinner. When we come with a larger group we will order sides but for two it can be too much food.

There is a great selection of wine, by the glass or bottle. We especially appreciate the selection of dessert wines.

I cannot say enough about the service at El Gaucho. Our server, Jen, is terrific.

After dinner we went into the cigar lounge for after dinner drinks and a cigar.

El Gaucho has valet parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome server, Kyle. Great cigar bar.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome server, Kyle. Great cigar bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A++ in every way, as always

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

A++ in every way, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had higher expectations

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I was so excited to visit El Gauchos, however was disappointed with my experience. I am a steak lover and was not pleased with my meal. It was an alright steak, but for the price....I expected phenomenal. I won't be back unfortunately!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My wife and I have visited El Gaucho fou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I have visited El Gaucho four times over the past couple years, and I think we're going to move on to other fine steak houses at this point, rather than return to El Gaucho in the near future. The service is quite uneven--wonderful twice, indifferent twice--and most importantly, the steak quality simply doesn't match the premium pricing. And when you request a medium rare steak and receive one that is only barely pink in the middle (mostly brown), at a fine steakhouse, you know that the kitchen is carelessly committing the cardinal sin--overcooking the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was WAY TOO overpriced but not up t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was WAY TOO overpriced but not up to par. Filet Mignon was not a great cut which for around $60 it should be fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Delicious meat and appetizers, pleasant ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious meat and appetizers, pleasant service and presentation, burnt and grainy creme brule, and noisier than some sports bars I've experienced. Overall if you're looking for mostly delicious food and can afford the price tag El Gaucho is a worthwhile restaurant. If you want a quieter ambiance where the business deals and bragging of the half dozen tables around you can't be easily followed, find somewhere else.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.