Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About El Gaucho - Portland

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Romantic (52)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Notable Wine List (32)
Business Meals (29)
Live Music (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The shrimp appetizer was delicious. The steak was ok and the Gaucho salad did not taste very good. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Very enjoyable meal. Staff was attentive and responsive. Food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Everything about El Gaucho is first-class, from the food, to the ambiance, and to the service. We're never disappointed, and it's always at the top of our list for special occasions. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a great dinner and enjoyed quality food and service...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Steaks were very basic and not anywhere close to "top notch". Dry and chewy and quite underwhelming, especially given the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2017

El Gaucho is our go to special occasion dinner place. The staff were all aware of anniversary and wished us a Happy Anniversary. From the moment we pulled up the valet was attentive and greeted us immediately. Front door was opened by another valet and we were immediately greeted at the hostess podium. We were lead to our favorite table and the great service began. From our server Pete to the entire staff we were waited on expertly. Pancetta wrapped prawns appetizer was and always is fantastic. We split a tableside Caesar and had the steak trio special for our entree. We couldn't decide on which wine to have so Pete brought us a sample of both. The complimentary desert tray which includes fresh fruit, grapes, nuts, and figs and cheese was a nice touch. I forgot. The bread they serve was also fantastic. I highly recommend El Gaucho to anyone looking to dine in class

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We love coming here! Service and food are always top notch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

food was average at best.
way overpriced for quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We came here for my boyfriend's birthday and it was both of our first times ever here and it was so good! They had a card and rose petals on the table for us which we thought was really nice, the who we think was the floor manager gave great selections on wine so we got a bottle of wine. The waiter was really nice and took good care of us, the waiter helper? Was awesome and on top of taking our dishes when not needed and making sure we always had a glass filled with water and was really nice as well.. both the waiter and waiter helper and floor manager lady where always checking up on us making sure we had everything and where doing ok.. the food was AMAZING..sooo good and very fulfilling.. we would totally come back again and would definitely recommend to anyone to try it..

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 27, 2017

This was the third year in a row that I have taken my wife to El Gaucho. It has always been one of our favorite Portland Oregon Steak House locations. They are not the same anymore. They have sold out. They automatically charge 20% gratuity on to your check at the end whether you liked the service or not. When I asked why, I was told it was because of the minimum wage hike in Seattle. We were also seated in the bar and my wife was not offered desert. No more El Gaucho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Anniversary dinner, which they recognized and honored us. Service was mediocre though, they messed up our steaks, and delivered the wrong food the first time. The food did taste amazing though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food was amazing! Had a drink before hand and it was very easy to move to our table when we were ready.
Amy (our server) was great. Very personable.
I was surprised at the end that 20% was added to the bill regardless. When did this get taken out of the consumers hands? It's not a tip. It's a tax when it is added involuntarily. I would have actually given more but was so put off by presuming that we needed to be told to give at least 20% without question. I see that it's on the website but I didn't know I needed to fully research my choice of dining before walking in these days.
I was also over charged which was frustrating. When ordering were asked if we wanted the potatoes that came with our meal or we had a choice of other potato options. We went with the lobster mashed which sounded great but then realized on the check we were charged full price for the choice even though it was made to seem like it was nothing more than an option we had.
I get that the restaurant is high end and there is a ton of profit in wine. But $30 for a corkage fee? Come on.
We ended up with a bill at $600 and didn't order any wine!
Again, the food was great but there are a TON of other great places in Portland where we can get just as good without feeling gouged in the end. It actually kind of left a bruise on the evening after what a really nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A classic, businessman dinner. Cigars afterward! Live music too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Visiting from AZ. Had high expectations for this place, left mightily dissappointed. The 80 dollar steak was tough and felt rubbery. It was a bone in NY, which is typically one of the better cuts of meat. It had no flavor, left a quarter of my meat on the plate. The wife had an 8oz filet mignon, and she also wasnt impressed. For the cost, I'd look elsewhere. Surely there are local places who offer better quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent food as usual. Go for steak...any steak will do. Ordering seafood here save as a surf and turf combo is just wrong!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food is good, but extremely over priced. Coming from Texas, I could have a better steak for half the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 21, 2017

I have been eating at El Gaucho for many years. They are consistently the best. Food is always good. Service is always the best. Just ask any wait staff how long they have been working there...there are many that are 10-15 years. That says it all for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Another fantastic night at El Gaucho! Ryan was our server and he did a great job as usual.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2017

All good until server informed us of mandatory 20% gratuity added to bill!
Historically, I have always paid for meal with CC and tip with cash.
Server's tip would have been much greater than 20%, cash, but El Gaucho
now thinks they can do it better FOR me.
Was a nice run we had - but we are DONE.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Always a wonderful evening, great service, food and wine. We go for special occasions as well as a night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Wonderful service and attentiveness for a special evening out with my husband for his birthday. None of the extra touches went overlooked; from the birthday card, to the rose petals and the warm cookies in our car when the valet brought it back! It's incredible what special attentiveness does for your mood, being greeted by name and thanking my husband for his service (re: personal note on our reservation) it all goes such a long way and made us feel special. When I've had it with crummy service elsewhere, El Gaucho reminds me why it is worth the money not only for excellent food, but excellent service, which is definitely a dying element of dining out. Thank you again for the memories El Gaucho, and a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As always everything was excellent. The steaks are incredible and cooked perfectly. We were there for our 28th anniversary and once again they didn't let us down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was our anniversary and we had the Chateaubriand for two, which comes with potatoes of your choice, asparagus, a grilled tomato, mushrooms and two sauces. It was amazing and the best deal on the menu by far. Afterward they brought cheese, fruit and nuts to the table, European style. I would go back over and over again. Excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We love El Goucho! The food is amazing and we love the quiet atmosphere! We also always enjoy the cigar room. We never have a bad meal or experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a lovely evening from start to finish. The service was impeccable, the food was perfectly prepared, and the ambiance was delightful.
Having tried all the other steak houses in Portland, I can honestly say that El Gaucho blows them all out of the water. You might pay a bit more, but it is definitely worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I just love this place. The food and service are always superb! The wicked shrimp were wicked good and I loved them so much that I purchased the spice run used to make them. The chef has packaged it and is selling it. Yum!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Loved my meal! Had a wonderful time, it started getting loud towards the end

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very overpriced and not worth the money. The type of steak cut we wanted they were out of. We ordered a different type of steak cooked medium and the middle of the steak was medium rare. This was a $78 steak and it was not even cooked correctly. We pointed it out and the manager took it off of our bill, which was nice. But this is a really expensive place to eat that was out of what we wanted, and the replacement wasn't even cooked correctly.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service, and live music. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great classic steak house. Unfortunately, service was severely lacking. Apps, sides, and dinner were all brought out at the same time. Even though apps were ordered at least 15 minutes earlier. Had to track down server assistant to pay bill. Then server chased me out the door because she didn't realize I had already paid. Didn't get to order desert of have after dinner drinks because couldn't get wait staffs attention. Everyone is entitled to an off day I suppose. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

They now add a 20% service charge on the bill, feels really weird. I don't appreciate the forced tip, just increase your prices if you need to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Had a great anniversary with my husband. Food was great but a little expensive but we expected that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We started with a great bottle of Rose and did the table side casear salad. I had the perfectly cooked 8 oz filet El Gaucho style. Scalloped potatoes, crispy brussels sprouts and roasted corn were great sides. We followed up with table side bananas foster. Simply amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing! Food, service.... EVERYTHING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was great! Loved the live music!
But the waitress was way far off from our expectations. No recommendation, explanation, nor understandings what we needed. They charge 20% tip no matter what service they offer. Hope I had a different waitress. It was my birthday, but little bit of disappointment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My favorite! I can't go to Portland without eating there!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was wonderful. The service was excellent. The only negative review was that I ordered a Mojito and it didn't have mint leaves in it. Everything else was wonderful including the cross petals and card recognIzing our anniversary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were there for birthday dinner. it was a special birthday because my daughter in law was celebrating her 30th birthday. We had my granddaughters both eleven and my granddaughter who is seven months. Dad and Mom had a special time and Grandpa was having a ball watching the little girls marvel at the special evening and the Banana's Flamb'e and the cherries jubilee. It was a fun evening with great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Service is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.