About El Gaucho - Portland

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Romantic
Portland
1 More
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (116)
Romantic (83)
Notable Wine List (70)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Groups (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Late-night Find (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best Filet Mignon ever!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best Filet Mignon ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time we've been for an anniversar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Second time we've been for an anniversary/ celebration. Food is wonderful - though the Cesar salad was too creamy this time. I was disappointed with the slower service and lack of attentiveness. Other than that it's a good place. I'm not sure we will be back for awhile though. It's pretty expensive and not sure it's worth the value given all of the PDX restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I kept hearing about El Gaucho but never ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

I kept hearing about El Gaucho but never had an occasion to go. I finally chose it for a business meal and am I glad I did. From the very first encounter with the valet, I got 1st class treatment and a wonderful experience. Food and service were A++++

It will now be my "go to" restaurant in Portland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new find! Was upset with the Rings ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great new find! Was upset with the Ringside new remodel/menu that we were on the hunt again for a great steakhouse and this has won! Saturday at 6pm. Valet available $8, staff in fine dining attire and super friendly/attentive, water replenished constantly, napkin refolded if you leave for a moment, romantic dim lighting w/live music, steak melts in your mouth, garlic bread to die for, sides are 'a la carte' but sharable between 2 people, wedge blue cheese salad was large but would recommend less dressing or on the side next time, dress nice but no need for fancy, saw people in maxi dress and flip flops/golf shirts/shorts, kids were present but on good behavior, menu pricey but not bad for special occasion, free fruit/nut basket after dinner. Would only sit in booth next time because center tables crammed in and chairs not the most comfortable. Had servers making Caesar salad and flamed bananas foster directly behind me which made me uncomfortable and hard for people passing by. We each had 8oz steak, wedge salads, shareable baked potato, shareable spinach and 4-5 drinks ('Ruby' is YUMMY!) which brought our total to around $200.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Service was a littl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Service was a little lackluster considering that the it was early and the restaurant was not to capacity yet. All-in all a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and service were like a taste o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were like a taste of Heaven on earth!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal. The wait staff were wonderful. The only downside was that it was 100° outside that day and their air conditioning wasn't working. It was pretty uncomfortable. Obviously, that's not something that will happen often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to hear the live music.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice to hear the live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dry-aged steaks, rich red wines, live Sp ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Dry-aged steaks, rich red wines, live Spanish Guitar? Sounds like a great place for an Anniversary or Birthday Dinner and it was! The steak was delicious, the music was great and the Merlot was one of the best I ever had. Problem was, we ordered a Cab. Did not notice it until after we enjoyed the first glass. Probably an honest mistake and it saved us $40. Next time, we will check the label more carefully upon presentation. Complimentary fruit and cheese plate at the end of the meal was a super nice touch, too.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorites. Incredible service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorites. Incredible service, great food, fun yet romantic ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My halibut dinner with the grapefruit an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My halibut dinner with the grapefruit and mandarin orange topping was to die for - absolutely delicious and moist, mashed potatoes were a huge helping and very tasteful also!

My hubby ordered the fillet and he said it was not as tender as he would like to have had it and was not a superior cut. also was not hot when served to him.

Our waitress appeared to may have been new on the staffing. We over-heard the male waiter addressing his table with the various specials for the evening, nothing was mentioned to us about the evening specials by our waitress.

Over-all experience was good though!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. As always

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. As always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The air conditioner does not work there ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The air conditioner does not work there because its an old building. I was extremely hot!! On top of that they sat us at a small table by the grill. I could see all the people trying to fan themselves because it was so unbearably hot. We almost walked out but it was my wife's birthday and we flew in from another state to have dinner and a broadway show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

One of the very best restaurants for gre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

One of the very best restaurants for great food and top notch service making the customer feel like the restaurant is there to do whatever it takes to make your meal one to remember for a lifetime.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

El Goucho is one of the best dining expe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

El Goucho is one of the best dining experiences in Portland. The ambiance is beautiful, food is consistently delicious, service excellent and tableside options are wonderful. Also, join their loyalty club for $50 off on your birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad night for them. Understaffed. Long w ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bad night for them. Understaffed. Long waits between courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

A totally great experience. Cocktails i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A totally great experience. Cocktails in the bar and dinner in the dining room were exceptional. Live music we enjoyed and service was top-notch. Highly recommend El Gaucho, especially for beef lovers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Part of the El Gaucho experience is the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Part of the El Gaucho experience is the very attentive service- from the table side prep of salads and deserts to the water and drink service and part of it the food. Both are outstanding. The steak is the best I can recall and I've had steak at a lot of top steak places. All courses were top notch. The only thing that didn't wow were the mashed potatoes (which were fine). Everything else was remarkable from the side-dish of corn to the Caesar salad to the desert.

It's certainly not cheap but can make for great date or occasion place. It is dimly lit, which can be nice for dates. Valet parking is the way to go.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food excellent.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was excellent. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was amazing food and service, other t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was amazing food and service, other than we were seated 25 mins after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was expensive steakhouse good but n ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was expensive steakhouse good but nothing out of the ordinary. My husband's steak was vet under cooked the first time and a bit under cooked the second, so he just ate it. However, we had an 8:15pm reservation and were not seated until 9:00pm. The place was over crowded, tables so close together that the wait staff had trouble moving around. We were told they were just waiting for a table to open up in order to seat us, there were some just finishing and that they had paid. After a 15 minute delay, an apology was fine. After 30minutes they should have offer to buy us a cocktail. After 45 minutes it should've been a bottle of wine or dessert. Instead they offered us a glass of water and later some bread.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was great until a fruit fly w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great until a fruit fly was in my wine, you would think for the price and value of the restaurant they would have taken the wine off my bill, or given me a free glass, but all they did was replace it, and say sorry. Kind of discouraging at a place like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was great esp the steaks and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was great esp the steaks and service.

Maybe I'm just old fashioned but I go out and drop $100+ bucks each (plus wine) on dinner, I really don't care to be in a room full of people in Jeans and tee shirts.

Sign of the times I guess.

" get over it , old man"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent and Jenn was our wait ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was excellent and Jenn was our waitress and she was fabulous. Felt like you were best friends while she was taking care of us .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent food, service and wine list bu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

excellent food, service and wine list but too noisy for romantic anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

On this visit they offered a special fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

On this visit they offered a special for $95 per person which included an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. All amazing and we will look forward to our next visit here on a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great meal. We st ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal. We started with the tuna tartar appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Awesome birthday dinner! Had great servi ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome birthday dinner! Had great service and a lovely meal. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love going here! The personal tablesi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love going here! The personal tableside service is superb! The waitstaff make you feel like you are royalty. The food is amazing as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came to El Gaucho to ce ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I came to El Gaucho to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary. The hostess spread some rose petals on our table, and gave us a nice congratulations card from the restaurant. The guitarists were very enjoyable to listen to, and created a nice romantic atmosphere for our dinner. The service was excellent. The food was delicious and generous on the portions. The overall experience was very relaxing and enjoyable. We did not feel rushed through our dinner. We will definitely be back on another special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service as always...I love tha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent service as always...I love that waiters do not bus dirty plates...all restaurants should do that. The table-side Caesar salad is the best you will ever eat, our waiter (Peter) really took the time to make it right, probably took him 15 min.-- it was excellent, the perfect balance of garlic, oil, satt/pepper and anchovies. The 30 day dry-aged steaks are excellent, but be forewarned--they are old-school on cooking steaks--if you order rare, you will get a cool, red center...not like Outback! But they are excellent, the flavor of the grass-fed beef along with the aging provides one of the best steaks in Portland--Ringside--pay attention!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food fabulous as always- service out ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food fabulous as always- service outstanding as usual- we love coming to El Gaucho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent. Service, food was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

As always, excellent. Service, food was great. My out of town guest was very impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, wonderful service and food. Be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

As usual, wonderful service and food. Best steaks in Portland.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steakhouse around. Always impresse ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best steakhouse around. Always impressed by the food & service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and table service. Overall ex ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and table service. Overall experience was great. Not great for frequent dining unless you have either a benefactor or are wealthy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I went to El Gaucho to celeb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I went to El Gaucho to celebrate are third year anniversary. We were very please overall with the experience. We were a little early for are reservation and they sat us right away. They had a personalized card waiting on the table to wish us a happy anniversary. Are server answered all the questions we had and gave great recommendations on items to order. I'm more of a beer guy so I can't comment on the wine. Food was well prepared and both of us left full and satisfied. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Such a great place to dine. Exceptional ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Such a great place to dine. Exceptional all around. Took a friend who was visiting from Texas and she was overwhelmed by everything. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place, I will be sure to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We loved this place, I will be sure to tell everyone about it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yowza. So good! Excellent food, excellen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Yowza. So good! Excellent food, excellent service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.