Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About El Gaucho - Portland

Named as “the definitive steakhouse in the country,” El Gaucho’s award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Portland's best. Live music is offered nightly.
El Gaucho is the Northwest’s steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.

319 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm – 11:00pm
Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm – 12:00am
Sunday: 4:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between SW Oak & SW Stark Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-8794

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/

Entertainment:
NIGHTLY LIVE LATIN GUITAR DUO - featuring the talents of Mariano, Toshi, Masud, Bobak & Tom. Every night 6-10.

Parking Details:
Valet is located on SW Broadway at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Steve Cain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Kate Arvidson at 971.544.2700 or karvidson@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

Private dining at El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our guests are truly pampered, treated to the pinnacle of experienced, knowledgeable and gracious service.

El Gaucho - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (63)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Business Meals (39)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Live Music (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Cozy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Historic (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (4)
Spicy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

El Gaucho was everything and more that you would expect from a steakhouse. They have some special dishes that are seared at your table, amazing flavors in all of their food, salad dressing made at your table in the salad bowl, a gorgeous fruit, nut and cheese plate that I wish was served after dinner and replaced dessert for me, and excellent service. Classic and classy steakhouse... Kind of has that dark, boisterous, mafia family feel to it with lovely jazz musicians playing almost too loudly, but your ears adjust and it was very good music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food, perfectly done and much completed tableside. Excellent service. They will typically do a little extra for a special occasion, which adds a lot of value to me. (I.e. rose petals and a card on our table for our anniversary). Doug was kind and attentive, helpful with the menu and made a great suggestion for after dinner live jazz in the same building. Great overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Came here to celebrate my Mom's and my Son's birthday.
Servers were friendly and knowledgable on whats on the menu.
Steaks were fantastic
Great experience
Overall was great.
Definitely will come back again.
Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was fantastic, steak was incredible. The garlic bread to start with and the fruit plate to end with were just icing on an amazing cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was the best food I ever had. A little over priced. The service was amazing and I will recommend it to everyone. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

There are not enough words to say how FABULOUS our experience was! Besides having which is probably the best meal we have had thus far since moving to Portland from Florida, the atmosphere was perfect for holding a private conversation even though some tables are only an arms length apart. We ordered the Chateaubriand for two, scalloped potatoes and spinach for additional sides and a lovely bottle of Cab from Figgins Winery to compliment the meal. The table side preparation and presentation on the plate was very well done. Served with the steak was a broiled, lightly browned tomato half with 4 spears of perfectly cooked asparagus on top as well as 2 large sauteed and seasoned mushrooms. Being true foodies, I took pictures of the meal before we started and after when our plates were nearly empty. There are ample servings of each item and I promise you will not leave hungry!
Taste - A++ Service - A++ Atmosphere - A++ Wait time - about 1 minute for a table
Quite expensive with the bottle of wine my husband chose ($350.00+) but we are definitely returning as the entire experience was well worth the cost!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Live Music, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were there on a Tuesday night around 5:30. The server neglected to inform us of any specials or give us any more than the basic minimum of attention. He seemed more preoccupied with the table next to us for some reason. It wasn't very busy, so I'm not sure what warranted the neglect. When the food did come out, mine was great but the other person I was with got a cold steak. It took us about 5 minutes to get the server's attention so I was finished with mine before his came back out. Rather disappointing for a $220 meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Have been coming to El Gaucho for 15 years and is one of my favorite special occasion dinner locations. The food is always perfect and the service second to none.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We always make a pint of dining at El Gaucho when we come to town.
They never diasapoint when it comes to service find food and drink.
If you are looking for a place that reminds you of stepping into the past when dining was an experience then El Gaucho checks all of the boxes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Recently dined for my 31st birthday on Saturday 4/15. Service was great, Bre was an excellent server. Outside of that, the food was average at best. I think my expectations were way too high after reading the reviews and seeing the prices. My filet mignon was grainy and pretty tough for a filet, I've had better all over the country. I am not sure if it's because it was late or what (10:30) because my mashed potatoes were warm, lacked any butter and salt. They had flavor but weren't flavorful. Again, great service and don't want to put down the establishment but I was disappointed with the food. I didn't want to say anything to my server because she truly did everything she could to make my birthday special. The yellow rose petals and the card was such a special touch but I did not enjoy my $93+ meal for one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, AMAZING food and did I mention, AMAZING food?!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

always among the most dependable and consistent places in town.....excellent food and service, wonderful staff, and intimate enough to you don't feel 'lost' in some huge space.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Every time I've eaten at El guacho they have gone above and beyond. The food, service, ambiance, and overall experience are exceptional. Thank you to the entire team. Cheers!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service like always was awesome!
Ceased salad was soggy
Bananas Foster was soupy

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Evening in Portland preparing for a week of meetings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Outstanding service and accommodation. Thank you for the booth I requested

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My family and I went to El Gaucho before going to the Arlene schnitzer concert hall. We requested a private table were surprised with a a huge booth in the corner of the restaurant. We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent! My husband and I ordered oysters, filet mignon with crab and bearnaise sauce, and blackened salmon. My parents ordered a rib eye, king crab, and lobster. Everything we ordered was divine! Our waiter was exceptional. He went out of his way to take care of us. Overall, it was a very special evening. Thank you for taking care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service was excellent; food was good but over-priced for the quality; wines were expensive but interesting variety. We have been there, now no need to return. Not special enough at their prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've eaten at El Gaucho many times and it always surpasses our expectations every time. The waitstaff is very attentive and the food is a gastronomical delight. We savored every bite!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The El Gaucho was mind numbingly delicious. Almost wet myself after eating the lobster medallions. Best steak spot in Portland.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Perfect evening. Food and wine were perfect Genesis was an amazing server and Julie the perfect hostess.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

AMAZING service and Food!♡♡♡♡ It was amazing. I brought my significant other for his birthday dinner. The service and the attention to detail was fun to watch. The servers really care about the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We celebrated our 49th anniversary and were thrilled with our table and how special everyone made us feel. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Already communicated to the manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

They Couldn't find my reservations and the food was mediocre. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Amazing restaurant! El Gaucho is one of my favorites, and it never disappoints. The service is some of the best I've ever had, and the food is outstanding. Just about everything on the menu is worth ordering, but my husband's and my favorites are wicked shrimp and escargot (appetizers), lobster mashed potatoes and sweet corn (sides), steak el gaucho and ostrich (main course), and the table side bananas foster (dessert).

I would highly recommend this place! It is spendy, but the food, ambiance and service are top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Expensive but very good food! Fantastic service. A wonderful place for date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We love this place. For whatever reason it took a long time to get served and get our food. More than normal. But we've been here enough times to know that we love it and love how we're treated. It's a perfect place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

As Always El Gaucho does not disappoint. Incredible steaks excellent starter choices as well as salads, and a really excellent assortment of sides. All in all a memorable meal. An annual event at a minimum. In my opinion the top steak in Portland and I have not missed many offering.

Tags: Private Room, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food! One of the best steak houses in Portland!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I wanted to take my wife to a great restaurant for our anniversary and was disappointed with the service at El Gauchos. It took almost an hour for our food to arrive and the waitress never refilled our coffees. Other than bringing out our food we received no service at all..
.after we finished we waited a long time for our check...which never came...so we had to go to the front, wait in line, and spend several minutes sorting out our bill. For an expensive meal this was not a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was amazing - thank you Amy! - but truthfully everyone we interacted with was friendly, professional and pleasant. Food was outstanding as well. Gaucho salad 401 prepared tableside was fresh and very flavorful, scalloped potatoes were pure comfort food and the steak...tender, perfectly prepared and juicy. All in all, a great birthday celebration evening! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was a nice restaurant. We went out to dinner with family. I chose El Gaucho because I am a vegan among meat eaters and the website stated vegan and vegetarian menus available. This turned out not to be the case. The chef, however, was accommodating and knowledgeable and prepared me a special meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was decadent. Steak trio combination special was well thought out and reasonably priced.

By far, the best part of our dining experience was our server, Amy.

The food came in close second, just so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Have wanted to go here for years but until this trip, it had not worked out. We were in town from LA, met friends for dinner and had a great meal. Our waiter Gabriel was excellent and we took advantage of the food as theatre: Caesar salads and Bananas Foster made table side as well as some specialty cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great place and the service is what a good place shold be. The parking in the area is horrible but the valet is a great sercive and is very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and service. Always a good place to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was our 19th wedding anniversary and we were treated royally. Adam was our waiter and made our evening special with rose peddles and a handwritten card. The food was excellent and our overall experience was beyond compare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a nice greeting for the birthday celebration and we had a great table a booth near the bar.
Our waitress was ok not much of a personality and she forgot to go over the specials for the evening.
The food was not what we were expecting. The Caesar salad was terrible, the French onion soup was good. The steaks were tender not much flavor the asparagus was fine and the mac n cheese tasted like kraft out of the box with parmesan cheese added to it and it was watery.
Then we got this weird cheese and fruit platter complimentary. The apple was old and cold. The grapes were dirty not washed. The blue cheese was good with the fig and cracker. Honestly not sure why this restaurant does this. It almost felt like it was their way of saying yes our food is way over priced so here is your goody bag.
Then we got the mudpie dessert. I took a bite and was like wow it tastes burnt and then went for the 2nd and there was this hard piece that was completely burnt and not edible. It honesty ruined the entire meal because I left with a burnt taste in my mouth.
When we told the server about the burnt dessert she seemed annoyed and her only response was well it was on the house anyways because of the birthday celebration.
We paid our bill $185.00 plus tip we left $40... it was our first and last time as customers.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic service, great food and ambiance. A really nice experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.