About El Chorro

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.



El Chorro’s culinary vision features classic cuisine favorites with a Southwestern-inspired influence. The menu offerings center on fresh, organic and locally grown ingredients – including herbs and produce from the El Chorro garden located right outside the kitchen.



The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Seasonal Summer Hours
Dinner: Tues. - Sat., 5 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Tues. - Sat., 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Closed Sunday Evenings & Monday Evenings

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Charles Kassels

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Great for Brunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
2 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

great for outdoor dining (342)
special occasion (281)
scenic view (268)
See All
romantic (220)
great for brunch (169)
fit for foodies (146)
neighborhood gem (136)
good for groups (134)
great for lunch (73)
notable wine list (65)
hot spot (62)
vibrant bar scene (49)
kid-friendly (40)
late-night find (21)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

ATTENDED RESTAURANT WEEK....EXCELLENT SE ...

Dined 3 days ago

ATTENDED RESTAURANT WEEK....EXCELLENT SERVICE....A TAD LOUD BUT OVERALL, IT WAS OUTSTANDING

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food in a great location tha ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Really good food in a great location that's convenient to us.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely and Local

Dined 4 days ago

I have lived in the valley for decades and this was my first time. We went for restaurant week. The meal was okay. Service appeared to be short staffed or configured strangely. My husband had the wine pairing but for two courses didn't get his wine until he had finished his course. It wasn't busy when we arrived. We had an early dinner. Dessert wasn't good. We thought for restaurant week that it should be their best. Of course the notorious sticky buns were delicious! We will go back. It is lovely there. Just missed out expectations.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always try to visit this restaurant when in town.

Dined 4 days ago

Good food and generally nice staff. Only disappointment this time was weak Margarita drink. Food and ambiance was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during Spring 2016 Restaurant We ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went during Spring 2016 Restaurant Week so it was very busy, and that is the reason for the noisy rating. Our server was attentive, even though it was busy. The food was outstanding- the filet was extremely tender at medium well temperature. We had patio seating, and were able to sit and enjoy the view of Camelback Mountain. We were not the last to leave the restaurant ; however did stay and visited. The staff was gracious in not hurrying us to leave.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance, food, and service was outstanding.

Dined 5 days ago

A true gem, nestled in Paradise Valley with outdoor seating facing Camelback mountain. Fire places, decor, and the setting give it a relaxed Arizona feel that spotlights the desert beauty. If you are there for brunch (or even dinner) save room for the famous sticky buns. For evening fare starters, the mussels and shrimp options were generous and tasty. For the main course, the Center Cut was an excellent choice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and friendly service from the ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent and friendly service from the hostess stand and Joseph the server. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice spot for a special dinner

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The location is beautiful, the food was excellent, and the service was fantastic. I couldn't have asked for anything more for a nice family dinner out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

We were hoping for a romantic place with ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were hoping for a romantic place with a focus on creative high-quality food and some level of service refinement. First impression was that the place is far too enormous for any of that. There is an outdoor seating area that looked like it could hold 1,000 people and were nearly that many seated. There was loud raucous music coming from one end of the patio and we nearly turned around right there as none of it was making a good first impression. Luckily we were seated indoors in a 'normal-sized' nicely appointed dining room with nice ambience. Room was about half full (Saturday, 8:15pm). The next thing we noticed is that the waiters are wearing uniforms that are along the lines of Applebee's and Chili's: khaki button-down shirts with huge "El Chorro" logo's, (um, we know where we are) and big brass name tags. Tacky and silly. I thought the next thing that was going to happen would be the waiter writing his name in crayon on the table and announcing "My name ___, and I'll be taking care of you tonight." The menu looked pretty basic and not entirely exciting. It all felt like we were a number in a restaurant factory and added up to red flags and decided to go elsewhere. We did stay to have a drink out of respect. The waiter was attentive and courteous, and understanding that we needed to be elsewhere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful evening, sat out doors. Food ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Delightful evening, sat out doors. Food well prepared and well served.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

5 of us went to El Chorro for restaurant ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

5 of us went to El Chorro for restaurant week. We sat on their patio which is very nice but two weddings made it very busy and quite loud. Several of us ordered filets and when mine was served it looked like it was the tail end of a piece half the size of the others. When I questioned this, the person who brought it (not our server) looked at me like I was an alien. Our general consensus was the food was good but we could do as well at home. All in all, it was a pleasant evening with friends.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

El Chorro is classic! What a great way ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

El Chorro is classic! What a great way to spend an evening inside or out in Paradise Valley. The food was excellent, it was just a tad too busy for our waiter. We go often and I would highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Noise was too loud . Entree 's were aver ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Noise was too loud . Entree 's were average . We enjoyed ourselves because of the company we were with , not for the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very friendly and helpful ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was very friendly and helpful and educated on the menu and wine list. We didn't feel rushed and could have stayed there all night! Overall service and quality of food was great! We left with full and happy bellies!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful evening at El Chorro! ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at El Chorro! Our server, who's name is lost to me now, was fantastic! He made suggestions on the menu and made sure we were happy, well fed, and that our glasses were always full (with water or otherwise)! I loved the patio, lively enough to have a great time but still quiet enough to carry on a conversation unimpeded. And the food. Well, it was just down right delicious. We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arizona Restaurant Week

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I love this restaurant so it was a no brainer to go there duringArizona Restaurant week. The find choices were wonderful and the wine flight offered as a extra was outstanding. I do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening. It was our anniversary an ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great evening. It was our anniversary and have been wanting to go here. We were greeted immediately and sat. Phillip our server was attentive and knowledgeable. El Chorro provided a beauty white chocolate mousse with their compliments for our Anniversary. Will definitely return!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Two of our 6 meals were a bit disappoint ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Two of our 6 meals were a bit disappointing. Stroganoff was not flavorsome, mostly noodles. The side of steamed spinach came cold. The lamb chops were also unflavored and although generous in portion size, not appealing in taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, nice waiter and a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, nice waiter and a good brunch.

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Fine for tourists. Food mediocre. They ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fine for tourists. Food mediocre. They share their rules from the start (yes rules!) which sets the tune: no switching seats, don't stay too long, limited separate checks , really? I will only go back if I have out of town guests who request it.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect! Great service! A great way to s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect! Great service! A great way to spend a Sunday Morning!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A excellent "go-to" semi-historic local ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A excellent "go-to" semi-historic local establishment. The ambiance is perfect "Paradise Valley upscale laid back". Dinner has not always been consistent but their Sunday Brunch is my favorite in town (sticky buns!). A bit high priced for the food you get but very well priced considering the great atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

this normally charming and tasteful dini ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

this normally charming and tasteful dining experience FAILED on every aspect of a good dining experience except for the 1 item that they could not change...the view. The waitress was in attentive and her heavily tattooed left arm did not add to the appeal of her lackadaisal attitude. After taking our order she returned to our table twice more, 1 of which was to ask me to repeat my wine order she couldn't remember and had not written down, never did she return to present our meal or check on our satisfaction. The entrees, trout almandine and braised short ribs were flavorful, thus the 2 star rating, but the side dish vegetables were undercooked and barely tepid. When the busier appeared at our table and asked, "You done?" and started to clear our uneaten vegetables we knew our reprieve from this experience was at hand. I've dined here before and enjoyed it enough to return this time. I will not make the mistake again when so many other fine dining options exist with restaurants that actively cultivate a great dining experience for their guests.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's always a pleasure to visit El Chorr ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

It's always a pleasure to visit El Chorro. They help make special occasions special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buffet Fit for a Queen

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to El Chorro for Mother's Day dinner. We were 30 minutes late for our reservation. I was worried they would not be able to seat us. They were completely understanding and accommodated us right away. They seated us outside on the patio. The dining area, outside on the patio, is beautiful. It is the perfect atmosphere, weather permitting. Our server greeted us right away and took our drink order. He explained the set up of the buffet to us. The first station was the Grill station. Here we found, hot off the grill, New York Strip Steaks, Grilled Chicken Breasts, and Grilled Salmon with various sauces. The next station we encountered had various brunch items; Scrambled Eggs, Eggs Benedict, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Sausage, Blueberry Cream Cheese filled Crepes, and French Toast. The third station included various salads, breads, Seafood Paella, Green Beans and Carrots, Scalloped Potatoes, various cheeses, and Antipasto. The fourth and final station is the Dessert station. Here we found various tarts, cookies, cupcakes, Chocolate Cake, Carrot Cake, Cheesecake, and Chocolate Covered Strawberries. After we filled our first plate and returned to our table, a basket of hot, gooey, Sticky Buns were delivered. Needless to say, you could take your fork and enjoy the entire basket. So yummy!! Our food was prepared to perfection. Everything was delicious and seasoned well. The temperature of our food was great. We went back for a second plate, then returned for dessert. Our server stayed on top of everything. He made sure our glasses were filled and any empty dishes were promptly removed. I would highly recommend El Chorro to anyone looking for a restaurant for a special occasion, a romantic date, or family gathering.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SPECTACULAR BRUNCH!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great experience, service was superior and the food was sooo....delicious!!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The brunch setup was..

Dined on May 8, 2016

We regularly attend Sunday brunch in the valley but this was a special occasion - Mother's Day. El Chorro's is famous for the cinnamon buns and they were not a disappointment. The best surprise was the the fantastic variety of fabulous food. It was hard not to start at the desert table with all the delicious sweets, but the entrees won first course and did not disappoint. Service was quick, courteous and efficient making this a special Mother's Day brunch that will not soon be forgotten.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brought my wife for Mothers Day brunch. Although a bit pricey, the setting, food, and service were wonderful. For almost the same experience but for a lot less money, bring your honey for Sunday breakfast any other time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Chorro is a gem!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Friendly, special place. Staff is exceptional. Entrees not your standard fare with much going into making it a special meal. Gotta have the Sticky Buns! Magnificent views from the seating area outside. Always seems to be a lot of special family gatherings going on. Plenty of room in between tables to afford privacy. Love it there!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd year in a row attending ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our 3rd year in a row attending for Mother's Day. Best brunch by far in the valley. Great scenery, music, & food.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Very Disappointing Mother's Day Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps a buffet brunch just isn't El Chorro's strong suit. Our experience began a very uncomfortable seating SNAFU and didn't get much better. Our server didn't show up until I had gone looking for him and he was borderline snarky when he did show up. He summarily our request for umbrella halfway through our meal, and the service was sub par throughout our meal. Unfortunately, an 18% gratuity was automatic, despite there being only 2 of us. Despite multiple serving layouts, serving trays were often empty, and the food was average at best. I doubt we'll ever go back, and when the next special Brunch occasion comes up we'll stick to Camelback Inn, which is superb and never disappoints.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great but the Valet

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our food and service inside the restaurant was excellent. My only complaint was the Valet service. They were HORRIBLE! Checking in, they were rude and ignored myself and 3 other people that had pulled up at the same time. We waited for 10 minutes to be acknowledged. When we went to get our car, they had lost two key fobs (fortunately not mine!), but I waited again over 10 minutes for someone to go get my car. And they weren't even apologetic about it!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very imoressed!

Dined on May 8, 2016

El Chorro parking lot was packed with cars as we entered. Easily found a parking spot in the back to our surprise. We were seated immediately for our reservation. Amazing food and service. Staff was amazing. Loved everything about our experience. Ashley, our server, was the best. Excellent personality. Also, the managers, Jim and Alec were very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for Mother's Day Brunch. Very Good. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Brunch. Very Good. Restaurant Jam Packed. Right Choice for special occasion. Old School Phoenix. Ummmmm. NOT health food. but very good, very, very good, and not so terrible on the healthy scale . . . it was so busy, the staff seemed a little rattled. just an impression, usually very relaxed but attentive service. Friendly Staff, very good food -- not Gourmet . . . whatever is BETWEEN the Michelin Gourmet Bib and the very nice one-of-a-kind restaurant that is NOT Michelin Bib Quality . . . the regular menu is nice, but the sunday mother's day buffet was very, very nice . . .

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited El Chorro for Mother's Day Brunch. The food was good, the service was great, and the weather and views were beautiful. One criticism - for $59/person I expect that mimosas won't be another $8 each. Total bill for three people was $273 with tax and tip.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been there for Mother's Day brunch for several years. This was by far the worst. The food was disappointing, there were more desserts than main dishes and eggs were awful. I am thankful it is a beautiful place.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El chorro mothers day

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was great we are very thankful. We even saw a couple of friends. Food was amazing

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mothers Day Ever

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was extremely kind, not sure if there is a bad table at this venue, food was excellent and servers were outstanding. Thanks for a great Mother's Day!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was very good. Scenery was outstanding.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Definitely sit outside. The ambiance, grounds, and views are fantastic. Food is very good. Wine list was decent, but could be better. A very nice place to eat in Paradise Valley.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Even with new ownership this restaurant ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Even with new ownership this restaurant is a must for special evenings and a great Arizona experience. I've been a customer for 30 years and never disappointed!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.