About El Chorro

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.



El Chorro’s culinary vision features classic cuisine favorites with a Southwestern-inspired influence. The menu offerings center on fresh, organic and locally grown ingredients – including herbs and produce from the El Chorro garden located right outside the kitchen.



The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Sun., 5 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Mon. - Sat., 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Charles Kassels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

El Chorro
El Chorro
El Chorro
Creme Brulee French Toast
Pan Seared Rainbow Trout
El Chorro Margarita
Sticky bun
Meat & Cheese Plate
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken & Egg
Cheeseburger With Truffle Fries
Two Eggs

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix
2 More
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix
American
Phoenix
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
Special Occasion (59)
Scenic View (55)
See All
Romantic (46)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Brunch (32)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Historic (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fireplace (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the one thing that bothered us was that ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

the one thing that bothered us was that the kitchen ran out of blueberry pie and they brought us apple with no explanation..............

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Visiting from the east coast we picked E ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting from the east coast we picked El Choro from the internet reviews and we were not disappointed. The setting is very lovely, the food and wine were first rate, and aside from being just a bit noisy (lots of people talking) the evening was delightful. We dined with some friends who live in the Phoenix area but who had never been to the restaurant before and they were also very pleased.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. All was top notch. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful restaurant. All was top notch. Service. Staff friendliness. Food. Everything.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent. The service was very efficient & very pleasant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Restaurant Week and had a fa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We came for Restaurant Week and had a fabulous experience. The staff went out of their way to welcome my son and give him an enjoyable experience. Was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We traveled from Naples, Florida to Scot ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We traveled from Naples, Florida to Scottsdale, Arizona for a nice weeklong vacation. This was one of the best experiences we had during the entire week for dinner. The staff was very good, the food was great, and we really enjoyed the setting looking at Camelback Mountain. It's easy to see why this 50-year-old restaurant tradition continues to do well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my Husbands Birthday and I wanted ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

It was my Husbands Birthday and I wanted that it would special. We had been to the Restaurant before and always had thought it was very good and a fun Place to go. But this time it was outstanding! Our Waitress Christine gave us the best service we have ever had anywhere,

including serving our coffee on the back patio so we could enjoy smocking a very nice Cigar.

The Food was outstanding, do to the new Chef in the Kitchen and we can't wait to go back.

It is worth the 30 minutes drive we have to get to Ell CHorro!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Historic, Organic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would like to see the half order of eggs ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Would like to see the half order of eggs Benedict back on the menu. Our waiter, Chris, was very attentive and accommodating

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed trying El Chorro for the firs ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed trying El Chorro for the first time and went there because of Restaurant Week. The ambiance was beautiful and the food was delicious. We can't wait to go another time--not on restaurant week!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

ElChorro is a great place to dine with f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

ElChorro is a great place to dine with friends. My only problem you do not have Absolute vodka in the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try restaurant week at El ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We decided to try restaurant week at El Chorro and it was wonderful. Our waiter Trent, was so attentive and did a perfect job. The food was perfectly done. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our best's. Price's are certainly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of our best's. Price's are certainly within range. Great patio's for outside dining.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

El Chorro is set in beautiful surroundin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

El Chorro is set in beautiful surroundings with a great view of Camelback Mountain. The terrace overlooks a beautiful garden, away from cars and parking lots. We ordered toff he price fixe menu for $44 (3 courses). The lobster bisque was as good as you can get, the filet steak hardly needed a steak knife. Only the apple pie was a little disappointing (much too sweet). Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant Wonderful food Def ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant

Wonderful food

Definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

El Charro is one of the finest restauran ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

El Charro is one of the finest restaurants in the Phoenix metro area, and I have dined there several times. Once again, I made a dinner reservation for a special occasion on Thursday, September 17. When we arrived, the manager informed us that the dining room was shut down due to a power failure. I can certainly understand that these things happen, and it is not the fault of El Charro. However, what I cannot understand is why, knowing that we did have reservations for a special occasion, we were not offered some sort of coupon for a complimentary drink or appetizer upon our next visit. As posh as El Charro is, an accommodation, and I'm not suggesting a complimentary dinner, should be automatically presented to patrons with reservations. I was extremely disappointed in the manner in which this situation was handled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the best Margaritas ever (happy h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

One of the best Margaritas ever (happy hour price even better)

With the full moon, the dining patio was great.

The meal was one of the best we've had in Scottsdale area. We visit yearly from L.A. and like to try new restaurants when we visit. Definitely will return to El Chorro-especially for outdoor dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Vegetable Napoleon was fabulous! I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Vegetable Napoleon was fabulous! I eat a plant-based diet, so this was the only entree without meat or fish and it was 5 star! Way to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special dining experience. Food,servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

A special dining experience. Food,service and ambiance always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food in the past I remember as being exc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food in the past I remember as being exceptional, but this time the both of us found it to be less than that. Great place overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I would still recommend El Chorro based ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I would still recommend El Chorro based on our previous visit. This visit - no so much. They first tried to seat us next to the misting system that was making everything wet (they sat another group there after us, they also moved). Our waiter appeared to be stressed and the service reflected it. The food was good although they did not dress my salad and it took awhile to get the dressing as I had to hunt down the waiter to ask for it.

It was disappointing as this we took our out of town guests . . .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Awesome food, ambience, location and our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome food, ambience, location and our waitress Jerri Lynn was over the top :)

We'll be back !!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - fabulous food, service & amb ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

As always - fabulous food, service & ambiance. On our favorites list alwsys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Chorro never disappoints! Four of us ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

El Chorro never disappoints! Four of us had a great meal. The fish was flaky and flavorful. Two of us had the huge serving of Beef Stroganoff, which was so delicious, that we only stopped eating because we were so full. The lamb chops were thick cut and cooked just right. Another great dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ambiance. Wonderful, informed staff. Gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ambiance. Wonderful, informed staff. Great outdoo dining scene. Good wine list. Oh, and delicious food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent. The restaurant MUST P ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always excellent. The restaurant MUST PUT THE CHICKEN LIVERS back on the menu. Four our of five of us love them

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant electricity allegedly we ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This restaurant electricity allegedly went out on the day of the appointment. They never called even after to apologize about the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The ambiance is wonderful. We love sitti ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. We love sitting on the patio when the roses are blooming and the sun is setting on Camelback. Neither the decor or the menu is trendy, which is why we keep going back and taking our out-of-town guests for a special Arizona dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service, food, and setting are all fanta ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service, food, and setting are all fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration .. was recommended ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Birthday celebration .. was recommended to us and it did not disappoint! Wonderful place and great service. Thanks for all you provide.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food was OUTSTANDING! Servi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Quality of food was OUTSTANDING! Service by wait or and hostesses were wonderful!!!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect! Food incredible, staff great, a ...

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Perfect! Food incredible, staff great, atmosphere over the top, just amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went for my birthday dinner and was no ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I went for my birthday dinner and was not recognized for this dinner. Service was very slow although there seemed to be ample staff on hand and our appetizer was improperly prepared. Our entrees were very good. The manager was very attentive but I would return to try a happy hour or lunch. The decor was very attractive but the service needs to be improved in order to win me back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Food and service great Was a little disa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food and service great

Was a little disappointed in the famous cinnamon roll. Was stiff but my wife loved it

Historic place definitely a place to go and would return

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Historic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice job. Food came out quickly. Overa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice job. Food came out quickly. Overall a very nice Sunday Brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service is always great whe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food and service is always great when we visit El Chorro for Sunday brunch during our visits to Scottsdale.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure. Wonderful food, good ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a pleasure. Wonderful food, good service.

However, would like to see more generous portions in consideration of the cost.

Example---I had the pork tenderloin plate which was fantastic, but only 2 pork medallions on the plate was kind of stingy. 3 would have been perfect.

Desert choices have always been an afterthought at El Chorro. A bigger variety consisting of creative deserts displayed on a cart would be welcome.

Overall. it is a wonderful restaurant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here, and overall the experience was excellent. The restaurant and surrounding gardens are beautiful and scenic. The food was fantastic from the appetizer, thru the main course, and the dessert. Our filets were perfectly done to order and seasoned just right. Prices were as expected for a restaurant of this caliber, I did not feel that anything was overpriced. If there is one critique to be made... While the service was very good and our server was professional, courteous, and knowledgeable - he often disappeared for lengthy periods of time. It took an hour from the time we ordered our dessert to When we settled and left, which was too long. Still we plan to go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Nice Restaurant, Food was great and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very Nice Restaurant, Food was great and we enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly a neighborhood gem, with five star ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Truly a neighborhood gem, with five star service! The food is fabulous and their sticky buns are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.