About El Chorro

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.



El Chorro’s culinary vision features classic cuisine favorites with a Southwestern-inspired influence. The menu offerings center on fresh, organic and locally grown ingredients – including herbs and produce from the El Chorro garden located right outside the kitchen.



The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Seasonal Summer Hours
Dinner: Tues. - Sat., 5 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Tues. - Sat., 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Closed Sunday Evenings & Monday Evenings

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Charles Kassels

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

El Chorro
El Chorro
El Chorro
Creme Brulee French Toast
Pan Seared Rainbow Trout
El Chorro Margarita
Sticky bun
Meat & Cheese Plate
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken & Egg
Cheeseburger With Truffle Fries
Two Eggs

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Great for Brunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
2 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

great for outdoor dining (272)
special occasion (225)
scenic view (206)
See All
romantic (170)
great for brunch (126)
neighborhood gem (119)
fit for foodies (111)
good for groups (105)
notable wine list (61)
great for lunch (56)
hot spot (45)
vibrant bar scene (37)
kid-friendly (31)
late-night find (13)
Sort By:
Newest
2238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful surroundings and lovely outdoo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful surroundings and lovely outdoors. Food was just ok, nothing to go back for. Sticky buns were not the original but still very good. May try again in the evening as I have heard they have a good happy hour.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was all OK but it was not at all spec ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was all OK but it was not at all special this time

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We came to experience the Sunday Brunch. ...

Dined 5 days ago

We came to experience the Sunday Brunch. The hosts were great, the server did not want to serve. We were told we could receive sticky buns at our request and he left us with the impression don't ask. So we just forced ourselves to ask. Very awkward. If they are free sticky buns then give us the buns without an attitude.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! We loved it. Good was great. Dr ...

Dined 6 days ago

Awesome! We loved it. Good was great. Drinks were great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second trip to El Chorro was as aweso ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

My second trip to El Chorro was as awesome as the first! The space and view are beautiful and unparalleled. The menu, and our various selections were top notch. The wine list is sure to please with a wide variety of bottles in every price range. The best part of both experiences is the top notch service offered at El Chorro!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG! What a great Father's Day Dinner I ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

OMG! What a great Father's Day Dinner I had with my darling wife and step-son. Starting with the ladies who greeted us as we came in, the atmosphere was friendly and inviting. Our waiter, Ron, was superb; always attentive, very knowledgable about the menu, very helpful with the dining experience. I had the Strofanoff and it was out if this world good. The price was very reasonable for the meal we had and the wonderful restaurant and atmosphere. This was our first visit but you can be assured, it will not be our last. Thank you very, very much! Bob & Glenda Bell Scottsdale, AZ

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place had it all! Ambiance romance ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This place had it all! Ambiance romance incredible food wine and service. It is a great place for a group dinner or an intimate meal for two! Great views too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Jeff, was great! But, the y ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter, Jeff, was great! But, the young man who delivered the food to our table had the orders out of order and expected us to hold onto the wrong plate and hand it to the person ourselves instead of correcting it! The chef was a little stubborn about leaving an ingredient out of my daughter's entree and our waiter had to talk him into it even though she had a food allergy! It was cheese! Not that hard to leave out of an omelet!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Breakfast was great- we had the green ch ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Breakfast was great- we had the green chili omelette of the day and i would recommend it! Service was great as well and great views of camelback!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was excellent and he service fantastic!The ambiance was terrific.I was especially impressed that the hostess was able to accommodate us with inside sesting even though we asked for outside.It helped us avoid a particularly hot dusty evening .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to see and be seen and espec ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great place to see and be seen and especially on a weekend night . Food is great and we have filet and I had salmon and both were great . Always a wonderful meal , good service in a vibrant atmosphere .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks!

Dined on June 2, 2016

ONce again lovely evening…good food…server Jennifer was terrific….great to be outside…our go to place…thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent as us ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The food and service was excellent as usual!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we should come here more often

Dined on May 30, 2016

It is one of those places, everyone says, "we should come back more often" . It is such a local gem. We had a lovely dinner, food was great, amazing views, surprisingly cool outside for May, and great service. It just happened to be restaurant week and we all ordered off the pre-fix menu. Lovely evening. Can't wait to go back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Pretty surroundings and good food. The ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Pretty surroundings and good food. The photo I saw online showed a patio with open space in front of it with a clear view to the mountain. That was the main reason I selected this restaurant. Sadly, that was not my experience. There was absolutely no view of the mountain from my patio, due to the patio wall and (patio) trees. I read about the famous sticky buns and was pleased to see them come free in a bread basket so I wouldn't have to decide between them and something else I might normally eat. After tasting them, I was glad I didn't pay for them as my meal as I didn't think they were anything to make a fuss about. The food was good and arrived fairly quickly, but was not spectacular. In addition, The umbrellas didn't tilt or provide complete coverage so we ended up sitting in the sun. Finally, the check took some time to be presented. All in all it was good food in a nice setting but out in the sun with no mountain view. I didn't think it was as good as it was hyped up to be and with that in mind found it overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch with a view!

Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my daughter and granddaughter who were visiting from out of town. We had a memorable brunch - great food! - and the service was superb. I wish they had an option for a vegetarian omelet, but unfortunately the meat had been mixed with the veggies so that wasn't possible. If you're a picky eater or a restricted eater, the menu is not very extensive. Otherwise you can sit outside on the patio and enjoy a lovely view of Camelback Mountain while sipping on your $8 mimosa and enjoying your brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing and is now one of our top 3!

Dined on May 29, 2016

El Chorro is fantastic, I was completely amazed by the sticky buns they bring to your table which are great! The patio and indoor dining are equally as nice. We will definitely come back to El Chorro!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Our server would not take the center par ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server would not take the center part of my salmon back to cook it more (said it might contaminate the grill, so I could not eat it). Very disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

El Chorro

Dined on May 29, 2016

Dined here for a special wedding anniversary. The food was excellent, except the strawberries in the strawberry shortcake tasted like they had been frozen and the "cake" was a hard biscuit, not to my liking. But the chocolate cake was delicious. I would definitely return. We sat inside because the temperature was about 98 degrees outside, but I would definitely return in better temperatures to enjoy the most lovely patio dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great al fresco dining in Scottsdale

Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall, we loved the meal and service we received at El Chorro. Jeff provided outstanding service and made a point of checking with the kitchen to correctly identify the contents of our cheese plates. The petite filet and grouper were wonderful. Cherry pie a la mode was excellent, though the strawberry shortcake did seem a bit short of strawberries and juice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

ATTENDED RESTAURANT WEEK....EXCELLENT SE ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

ATTENDED RESTAURANT WEEK....EXCELLENT SERVICE....A TAD LOUD BUT OVERALL, IT WAS OUTSTANDING

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food in a great location tha ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Really good food in a great location that's convenient to us.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely and Local

Dined on May 25, 2016

I have lived in the valley for decades and this was my first time. We went for restaurant week. The meal was okay. Service appeared to be short staffed or configured strangely. My husband had the wine pairing but for two courses didn't get his wine until he had finished his course. It wasn't busy when we arrived. We had an early dinner. Dessert wasn't good. We thought for restaurant week that it should be their best. Of course the notorious sticky buns were delicious! We will go back. It is lovely there. Just missed out expectations.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always try to visit this restaurant when in town.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Good food and generally nice staff. Only disappointment this time was weak Margarita drink. Food and ambiance was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during Spring 2016 Restaurant We ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We went during Spring 2016 Restaurant Week so it was very busy, and that is the reason for the noisy rating. Our server was attentive, even though it was busy. The food was outstanding- the filet was extremely tender at medium well temperature. We had patio seating, and were able to sit and enjoy the view of Camelback Mountain. We were not the last to leave the restaurant ; however did stay and visited. The staff was gracious in not hurrying us to leave.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance, food, and service was outstanding.

Dined on May 24, 2016

A true gem, nestled in Paradise Valley with outdoor seating facing Camelback mountain. Fire places, decor, and the setting give it a relaxed Arizona feel that spotlights the desert beauty. If you are there for brunch (or even dinner) save room for the famous sticky buns. For evening fare starters, the mussels and shrimp options were generous and tasty. For the main course, the Center Cut was an excellent choice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and friendly service from the ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent and friendly service from the hostess stand and Joseph the server. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice spot for a special dinner

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

The location is beautiful, the food was excellent, and the service was fantastic. I couldn't have asked for anything more for a nice family dinner out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

We were hoping for a romantic place with ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were hoping for a romantic place with a focus on creative high-quality food and some level of service refinement. First impression was that the place is far too enormous for any of that. There is an outdoor seating area that looked like it could hold 1,000 people and were nearly that many seated. There was loud raucous music coming from one end of the patio and we nearly turned around right there as none of it was making a good first impression. Luckily we were seated indoors in a 'normal-sized' nicely appointed dining room with nice ambience. Room was about half full (Saturday, 8:15pm). The next thing we noticed is that the waiters are wearing uniforms that are along the lines of Applebee's and Chili's: khaki button-down shirts with huge "El Chorro" logo's, (um, we know where we are) and big brass name tags. Tacky and silly. I thought the next thing that was going to happen would be the waiter writing his name in crayon on the table and announcing "My name ___, and I'll be taking care of you tonight." The menu looked pretty basic and not entirely exciting. It all felt like we were a number in a restaurant factory and added up to red flags and decided to go elsewhere. We did stay to have a drink out of respect. The waiter was attentive and courteous, and understanding that we needed to be elsewhere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful evening, sat out doors. Food ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Delightful evening, sat out doors. Food well prepared and well served.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Brought down by the stroganoff.

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went because my daughter is getting married at El Chorro in autumn. I wanted to see the layout, and try the menu. Our waitress was lovely and attentive. I ordered lamb chops and they were quite good, although the accompanying starch or veg was a relatively small amount. My husband ordered stroganoff which was very disappointing--not tasty, no eye appeal: everything was the same color and no fresh greenery or herb garnish on top to make it attractive, served with a teeny tiny dish of sour cream on the side. We ordered pepper pot shrimp as an appetizer, which was excellent. Wine recommended with my lamp chops was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

5 of us went to El Chorro for restaurant ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

5 of us went to El Chorro for restaurant week. We sat on their patio which is very nice but two weddings made it very busy and quite loud. Several of us ordered filets and when mine was served it looked like it was the tail end of a piece half the size of the others. When I questioned this, the person who brought it (not our server) looked at me like I was an alien. Our general consensus was the food was good but we could do as well at home. All in all, it was a pleasant evening with friends.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

El Chorro is classic! What a great way ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

El Chorro is classic! What a great way to spend an evening inside or out in Paradise Valley. The food was excellent, it was just a tad too busy for our waiter. We go often and I would highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Noise was too loud . Entree 's were aver ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Noise was too loud . Entree 's were average . We enjoyed ourselves because of the company we were with , not for the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

exceptional service and outdoor dining

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to El Chorro on a recommendation and had a great dinner with good friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very friendly and helpful ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server was very friendly and helpful and educated on the menu and wine list. We didn't feel rushed and could have stayed there all night! Overall service and quality of food was great! We left with full and happy bellies!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful evening at El Chorro! ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at El Chorro! Our server, who's name is lost to me now, was fantastic! He made suggestions on the menu and made sure we were happy, well fed, and that our glasses were always full (with water or otherwise)! I loved the patio, lively enough to have a great time but still quiet enough to carry on a conversation unimpeded. And the food. Well, it was just down right delicious. We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arizona Restaurant Week

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I love this restaurant so it was a no brainer to go there duringArizona Restaurant week. The find choices were wonderful and the wine flight offered as a extra was outstanding. I do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening. It was our anniversary an ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great evening. It was our anniversary and have been wanting to go here. We were greeted immediately and sat. Phillip our server was attentive and knowledgeable. El Chorro provided a beauty white chocolate mousse with their compliments for our Anniversary. Will definitely return!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Two of our 6 meals were a bit disappoint ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Two of our 6 meals were a bit disappointing. Stroganoff was not flavorsome, mostly noodles. The side of steamed spinach came cold. The lamb chops were also unflavored and although generous in portion size, not appealing in taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.