About El Chorro

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.



El Chorro’s culinary vision features classic cuisine favorites with a Southwestern-inspired influence. The menu offerings center on fresh, organic and locally grown ingredients – including herbs and produce from the El Chorro garden located right outside the kitchen.



The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Sun., 5 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Mon. - Sat., 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Charles Kassels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Courtyard  - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
French Toast - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Sticky buns - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Creme Brulee French Toast - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pan Seared Rainbow Trout - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
El Chorro Margarita - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Sticky bun - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Meat & Cheese Plate - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Braised Short Ribs - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Chicken & Egg - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Cheeseburger With Truffle Fries - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ
Two Eggs - El Chorro, Paradise Valley, AZ

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
American
Scottsdale
1 More
Most Booked
Scottsdale

Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (61)
See All
Scenic View (56)
Good for a Date (46)
Historic (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fireplace (39)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Great for Brunch (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Authentic (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Cozy (19)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Family Style (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great, traditional location up against ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

A great, traditional location up against the mountains in Paradise Valley. Generous portions, extensive wine list and sticky buns instead of dinner rolls!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari is rubbery and overpriced. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The calamari is rubbery and overpriced. Deviled eggs were horrible. So, happy hour is a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The perfect spot for a date night or to ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

The perfect spot for a date night or to celebrate someone's birthday. Get dressed up fancy and enjoy the patio next to the warm fire in November. You can't go wrong with the sticky buns to great food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location for Thanksgiving Dinn ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful location for Thanksgiving Dinner. The food was traditional - we would have liked real sliced turkey rather than sliced molded turkey but everything else was very good. The service was excellent - we were not rushed at all.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely Thanksgiving meal here a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely Thanksgiving meal here a few years ago, but this year was a big disappointment. The turkey was tough and dry and the gravy didn't help it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Thanksgiving dinner at 2:30. We seemed t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner at 2:30. We seemed to be in between the early and late diners as the place was not crowded on inside seating. The patio was almost full. Being a party of two we were seated in what I would call a hotel table with a bench on one side and chair on the other. The table was too long for comfortable conversation. I expect better from this restaurant. The meal was OK but frankly the white meat turkey was tough. A table knife would not cut it - you needed a steak knife.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our Thanksgiving meal was Epic!!! Tremen ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Thanksgiving meal was Epic!!! Tremendous food!!! Beautiful setting!! Great waiter Brandon was awesome!!! Perfect meal!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taking into consideration our latest vis ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Taking into consideration our latest visit was for Thanksgiving 2016, and thus a busy time for E-C, we were still very underwhelmed by the experience, as were our guests, who we had invited especially for the experience of which we had three memorable prior holiday, and several dinner, seatings.

The potential of the great ambience, capped by an exceptional Arizona November afternoon, was cut short by sub-par cuisine and service. Had it been otherwise, the value of the experience would have been outstanding. This one was overvalued.

One should still try E-C on your own terms, perhaps not for a holiday, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

My husband and I had Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I had Thanksgiving dinner there and my turkey was so tough, I could not cut it with a knife - so I did not eat it. The side dishes were less than fair. To the restaurant's credit, they did not charge for the meal. This was the second time we went there for Thanksgiving dinner and the first time wasn't that much better. Apparently El Chorro does not do well when preparing meals for large amounts of diners. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a lovely Thanksgiving on the pati ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely Thanksgiving on the patio. Staff was great. They didn't rush service so we were able to enjoy the day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving luncheon. Got the turkey, b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving luncheon. Got the turkey, but the breast was very dry. Dark meat was good however. Cannot recommend the apple cobbler. Always go with the pumpkin pie! Beautiful location and wonderfully attentive service.

Tags: Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Service was terrific and everyone was ve ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was terrific and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our 25 ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at El Chorro. The server acknowledged right away that it was a special occasion and brought us a complementary dessert that was wonderful. We shared a chateaubriand dinner and every course was superb, including the famous El Chorro sticky buns. We highly recommend this restaurant and hope to return there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT, as always! The food is excel ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

EXCELLENT, as always! The food is excellent, ambiance is lovely - overlooking the mountains, and the service was superior! There were 3 of us. One had Eggs Benedict - always delicious! Two of s had the special omelette (spinach & mozzarella cheese), which was also wonderful! And, the sticky buns were superb, as always! Vicki was our server and she was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening dining out on ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a wonderful evening dining out on the patio.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For my annual visit, I visited El Chorro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

For my annual visit, I visited El Chorro twice. It feels like home to me. I've been visiting this restaurant since 1979. The new owners have outdone themselves with decor and cuisine. The menu is up-to-date but El Chorro still feels like old Scottsdale. And the view of Camelback Mountain is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Historic, Happy Hour, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very disappointing! Salmon was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very disappointing! Salmon was overlooked. Steaks were not high quality. Beef stroganoff was so full of garlic and spices we did not eat it. Wine was great, service was impeccable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Worst server I've ever encountered. Extr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Worst server I've ever encountered. Extremely condescending to all four of us. Our out of town friends were excited to come to the restaurant, and definitely loved the setting. Waiter appeared to not want to do his job. He couldn't pronounce seafood of the day (Ono - said he didn't care and pronounced it Uno), was very unfriendly when it came to recommendations or answering basic questions. If I ever return, I'd demand another server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

I have been to El Chorro just a few time ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I have been to El Chorro just a few times and know that I will be back in the future. A definite hidden gem in the valley. Great food, great atmosphere and excellent service. My business partners who joined me said this place made their Top 10 steak places on their list, and he has eaten at some great restaurants! Keep up the great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the prettiest outside spaces and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of the prettiest outside spaces and view in Phoenix!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was fabulous . Food, ambi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our experience was fabulous . Food, ambiance , value. The best place for Sunday brunch when the weather allows outside eating. Excellent menu to go with all the rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is always a delightful time at El Cho ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It is always a delightful time at El Chorro. My family and I love dining on their patio.

Our most recent visit was to celebrate 3 anniversaries. The food was delicious, our server, Nate was excellent and very attentive, he made our visit a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a dining destination worth the dri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Truly a dining destination worth the drive. El Charro is romantic and is a one of a kind; most delicious flash fried lobster tails on the planet. Sit outside; heaters or by the fire place for the best starlit view. We go back year after year and missed when they were undergoing renovations a few years ago. a 5 star dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place We will coming back

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Place We will coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing, we had a wonder ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was amazing, we had a wonderful evening and would return again. My two teenagers both have celiac disease and they were well looked after. Food is delicious, thank you for a beautiful evening! Rennae

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined here many times for brunch, l ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Have dined here many times for brunch, lunch and dinner and am never disappointed. The food is classic comfort food, especially their famous sticky buns. The patio seating is the way to go, with desert beauty all around you. Wait staff is outstanding. Our server, Ron, was very friendly and attentive to our needs.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef Stroganoff was disappointing: oddly ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Beef Stroganoff was disappointing: oddly seasoned and very shy on meat for the price. Companions' beet salad and braised short ribs were satisfactory. Service and ambience very good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I love this restaurant! I have been goin ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I love this restaurant! I have been going to El Charro for almost 40 years. It has never disappointed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful! Cannot wait to re ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Cannot wait to return for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! Our waiter was great w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved this place! Our waiter was great wish I would have written down his name. Food was amazing. Would definitely come back

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is very lovely, the service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The setting is very lovely, the service was good and the food was so-so. Maybe it is just a question of ordering the right things. I believe the trout was a hit. My husband was very disappointed in his T-bone steak. The sticky buns are truly excellent. Kind of an odd dinner appetizer but honestly they worked well.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

I have a loved going to El Chorro for a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I have a loved going to El Chorro for a very long time, but will say the menu has gotten so small that I really only go there for the atmosphere in the winter. Incredibly beautiful setting. I quit going for the food 2 chefs ago and many menus ago.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent, as usual. Very predictabe, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent, as usual. Very predictabe, which is always welcome.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two problems with Caesar salad. Croutons ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Two problems with Caesar salad. Croutons are soft, mushy bread. Anchovies are white anchovies! Obviously the chef has never eaten any or he would know they taste like minnows. Should serve real anchovies are nothing at all. Why do chefs always want to put their stamp on a Caesar salad and screw it up?

Strognoff, over $30 for a bowl of noodles as you have to look hard for about 7 or 8 very small bites of beef. Where's the beef!

On the positive side a good pour for single malt scotch. But when the bill comes you know why...$14 for a glass of scotch. There's no effort to make this, just pour it over ice.

For the prices here, they could do a lot better.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We like El Chorro for the depth and brea ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We like El Chorro for the depth and breadth of their menu and wine list; for their outstanding patio; and for the quality of their service, including their attention to guests who are celebrating special occasions. It's not cheap (at least for dinner) but you get what you're paying for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a delicious shrimp omelette and Pa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I had a delicious shrimp omelette and Passion fruit ice tea. Everything was great .

The umbrellas should be adjusted as the sun moves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch here was a delightful as i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch here was a delightful as it gets. Our eggs were perfectly prepared (not browned or burned), the bacon was crisp and flavorful. But, it's the setting that makes it special. Sit outdoors (weather permitting) and you will find your self in an idyllic setting at a historic inn in the heart of Paradise Valley.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch is always a pleasure here. The at ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Brunch is always a pleasure here. The atmosphere is so inviting. The grounds are beautiful for picture taking. Food good and we look forward to visiting here a few times a year usually for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Let me say first that the service was ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Let me say first that the service was outstanding! There was a mix up with my reservation two years ago. Had a reservation booked but then was called that they were closed. Two years ago. So, Ryan, General Manager, had a note of this and was gracious enough to comp us some delicious sides to go with our outstanding dinner. He came over to our table and apologized about what happened two years ago. Service from Bartendar, waitress,hostess and GM was fantastic. Patio is absolutely beautiful there and the food is delicious. Will always go to El Chorro every time we are in AZ.

PS. Still dreaming of the sticky buns from there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Management and staff ar ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love this place! Management and staff are always so friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent and how can you go wrong with 'sticky buns'? The setting is awesome and the service is impeccable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.