About El Camino - Priority Seating

1314 Bardstown Rd
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

El Camino is a monument to the beach towns of Southern California, and SoCal surf culture in particular.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

The kitchen prepares truly authentic Mexican street food from scratch. The bar does artisanal tiki drinks. And, our large vinyl collection of surf music from across the eras, spins on the turntable around the clock.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Hawaiian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
See Restaurant

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 454-5417

Website:
http://elfreakingcamino.com/

El Camino - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
vibrant bar scene (17)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (6)
special occasion (6)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

8 Michiganders dined at El Camino and we ...

Dined 3 days ago

8 Michiganders dined at El Camino and we all thought the food was outstanding!! Fun place, lively atmosphere, cool décor! We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great creative food experience!

Dined 3 days ago

Great creative food experience!

food2
ambience3
service5

Just way to expensive for drinks and not ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Just way to expensive for drinks and not enough food choices!!! Doubtful we will go back due to that!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommend using open table for this hot ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Recommend using open table for this hot spot! Need to reserve a few days ahead for a busy Friday night. Food was great and red sangria delicious- not your run of the mill sweet stuff. Music selection got a little strange and loud during dinner but that wouldn't deter me from future visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Mother's Day Service Lacking

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to El Camino many times, and on occasion I experience less than stellar service, but otherwise am generally satisfied. However, on Mothers Day I was really disappointed in what seemed to be a lack of preparation on the restaurants part. The service was really slow and very unreliable. We had maybe 3-4 different people wait on us over the course of our meal. It took quite a while to even be greeted, took extra time to get our drinks and general table service was really lacking. The guy who initially said he was our server and that he would "be right back" ended up not taking our order and only really showing up towards the end of the meal. I didn't really know whose service I was tipping, as there were so many different visitors and the service was so poor. I'll let this one slide, but there is no excuse for that kind of situation, especially on a known high holy day in restaurant culture.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Robin was outstanding, funny ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our server Robin was outstanding, funny and personable. Food and drinks were great. We had the queso, guac, and a variety of tacos. Could not have had a better Cinco de Mayo experience!

food5
ambience3
service5

The music was way too loud.

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The music was way too loud.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

I wanted to love it

Dined on May 3, 2016

I've been to this establishment about 3 or 4 times and I've never been overly impressed. The service on my last visit wasn't good at all. I asked for a Maker's and Diet. I'm born and raised in Louisville and I'm not tourist dummy. When I got my bill the drink cost me $16.00 that's outrageous for even markets like New York. I couldn't find the server so I asked the bartender what the deal was. He informed me that it was a special Makers the bar ordered and it has a premium price. I had never heard of such a Maker's besides the 46 and Cast strength versions. I would have never added diet coke to a premium bourbon. I think it would have been nice to know this as I was ordering. I'm not sure I will go back. There are much better places with similar fair and better service and prices.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food and service at El Camino was excellent!! We had a wonderful evening on the patio and enjoyed trying at least one bite of just about every taco on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

El camino is awesome! I think they have ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

El camino is awesome! I think they have one of the best wait staff in Louisville.

food4
ambience4
service5

Tacos are exceptional. Just keep in mind ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Tacos are exceptional. Just keep in mind they are small. The pork was a little too fatty for me as an entree, but it had a nice flavor. Guacamole and sauces with chips were great. Waitress was helpful. Not overly friendly but very efficient. No complaints. Love this find for a causal and great place to eat.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great birthday experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

I brought 8 of my friends from out of town here for my birthday. We had priority seating but still waited about 30 minutes to get a table. Not a big deal for me since I was drinking alcohol out of a tiki cup! The service was great. Our server was incredible and even got me a birthday shot. We ordered one of those giant alcohol bowls to share (recommend 3-4 people if you're actually trying to drink). Food was delicious! Really fun place to bring guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Extremely slow

Dined on March 4, 2016

Extremely slow on a Thursday night. While food and service was good, only 5 tables at 730pm. Never picked up. Hopefully this restaurant survives.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4

Very cool place. I was immediately seate ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Very cool place. I was immediately seated while waiting for a friend. Hostess kept her eye out for him and sent him my way. The staff was very friendly and the food was good. The tacos are priced right. The rest of the menu seemed overpriced to me.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So. Much. Fun.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Went in for a pre-bachelorette party dinner. The food was amazing. Robin was super attentive and made our visit memorable. The drinks were great, and came out quick. Can't wait to go back and try other tacos!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

We always have a good experience here, t ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

We always have a good experience here, the tacos are delicious and the wait time for food is unbelievably short; definitely a place to go when you're super hungry.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a fiesta

Dined on February 14, 2016

This lively Mexican restaurant serves up delicious cocktails, memorable meals wrapped in a Californian vibe that shouldn't be missed ... especially if you're trying to escape the winter blues. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

MexiCali Yummy

Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food. Good value for the a la carte tacos! Nice drinks list but pricey. Interesting atmosphere. Overall highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service5

Great service with an engaging and atten ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Great service with an engaging and attentive server.

food5
ambience5
service5

Will be back!

Dined on November 14, 2015

Got the salmon & the guacamole. They were both amazing!! Highly recommend this restaurant. The margaritas are delish too! Can't go wrong here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid choice

Dined on November 7, 2015

Interesting and unique drinks, food was good and atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect brunch

Dined on October 25, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday brunch. The server was very knowledgable about all of the dishes. Everything was fresh and the flavors were outstanding. We tried the chips and 4 salsas for an appetizer with our bloody Mary's. My friend enjoyed the Rancheros and I had the Chilaquiles. Both dishes came out hot and delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Service was quick and the staff was extr ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Service was quick and the staff was extremely accommodating, the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Scores high marks in all categories

Dined on October 3, 2015

Many Mexican restaurant choices in town. This one great one. Good: Menu offers up a great variety of unique flavors. Service for me has been friendly to very friendly. Interior atmosphere is almost impossible to beat and the decor is uber-groovy! Caution: Like many popular restaurants, it gets crowded and there can be a hefty wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food & vibrant, unique ambiance

Dined on September 21, 2015

The moment we arrived, the scene was set for a relaxed and upbeat dinner. Cool SoCal vibe makes you feel instantly in-the-know on the local food scene. Extensive rum, mescal, and tequila cocktail list, good beer selection. Mucho guac a must. Awesome tacos, salmon, half chicken, and salads. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the pig roast. Thank you!!!

Dined on September 21, 2015

Loved the pig roast. Thank you!!!

food4
ambience3
service2

Friday night 9/18/15

Dined on September 18, 2015

The food - tacos were good, the salmon was very distinctive and savory. The drinks - daiquiris an run and soda were also noteworthy. Service - waitstaff, bar and kitchen were surprisingly slow given indoor seating was not full.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Brunch

Dined on September 12, 2015

The brunch menu is indicative of the unique style that El Camino has. Food is very good and portions are generous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & ambiance!

Dined on September 4, 2015

First time @ El Camino; invited by another couple. Phenomenal food and ambiance...arrived @ 7pm & left @ 11:30pm. Staff was superb and all worked as a team; very courteous & friendly. Recommend as the place to go (and stay) on a Friday or Saturday evening with friends and / or family!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

Enjoyed brunch, have a smaller menu but several good options. Flexible with special requests.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

Portions are very small

Dined on August 30, 2015

Portions are very small and flavor inconsistent from each visit. Nice atmosphere but not a value.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun Place

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

It was our first visit to El Camino, but we love the Silver Dollar. We got a great table inside looking out to bardstown. We told our server we were not in a hurry and we were not rushed at all - very nice! The guacamole was the best in Louisville, in my opionion. The chips were freshly made and our tacos were great. We will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience1
service3

great food, bad table

Dined on August 15, 2015

The food was wonderful. We booked the priority seating on Open Table. We were seated promptly however we were sat at a high - back and my date was wearing a dress. Also, the AC dripped onto our table. Everything else was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service1

Great Food

Dined on August 15, 2015

We love going to El Camino but the waiters there always seem put out when you ask for something. It's like I am dealing with the high school version of myself, except the servers are not in high school, and I am paying to deal with them. Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere, snooty servers. A real deterrent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3

Meh

Dined on August 8, 2015

We made reservations, we asked for a quieter table as it was our anniversary. When we arrived we were told our table was not ready yet, no problem, we were OK waiting for a nice table. After a 20 minute wait (during which 5 others were seated)we were seated at a booth up front at the entrance right in front of bar...loudest spot. FOOD/DRINK was AMAZING. Service was erratic and slow. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner but, we're underwhelmed by rest of experience. Definitely make a reservation on weekends, place was packed. Just don't expect your table right when you get there because you had a "reservation"...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was great, the service was grea ...

Dined on July 22, 2015

The food was great, the service was great, and the drinks were great. The Brussels Spouts salad was delicious. My only complaint is that the large table they chose for our group had a large outdoor fire pit in the middle, which made it very hard to carry on a conversation across it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Pig roast in louisville

Dined on July 20, 2015

Soon as we walked thru the doors and told them my name they took us outside and seated us!!! First time to come here and they were having a pig roast, for free!!! And a free movie and this occurs every sunday!!! They're drinks aren't for my taste cuz I'm a girly girl and they didn't have any sweet drinks. But my husband liked his drink!! Waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The plaintain pancakes and the chilled h ...

Dined on July 5, 2015

The plaintain pancakes and the chilled hibiscus tea were delicious! Great service, bright colors, unique place for brunch as the choices are a little more adventurous than your standard breakfast options. Portions huge as well. Delicious experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3

Fit for Foodies

vip
Dined on June 22, 2015

This is an excellent foodie find in the Highlands area with its Mexican inspired decorations and laid back atmosphere. They serve up some mean tacos that I can personally attest to. Last night, we went for for the weekly pig roast followed by a full buffet of ready-made items to make excellent tacos. Along with the roast pig, there was a mixture of onions and cilantro, black beans, and multiple sauces. Fun and delicious! I'll definitely be back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

Dined on June 21, 2015

There was a great variety of food and it was all delicious. Our server was very attentive and great with our toddler. Good for a date or a family brunch with kids.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.