Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Silver Dollar - Priority SeatingThe Silver Dollar - Priority Seating
(545)
$$$$
Southern | Frankfort Ave - Crescent Hill, Louisville
Booked 8 times today
The Eagle - LouisvilleThe Eagle - Louisville
(136)
$$$$
American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 5 times today
Bristol Bar & Grille - HighlandsBristol Bar & Grille - Highlands
(68)
$$$$
American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 5 times today
La ChasseLa Chasse
(373)
$$$$
French | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 7 times today
Seviche A Latin Restaurant - HighlandsSeviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands
(1314)
$$$$
Latin American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 13 times today
Le MooLe Moo
(1087)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 54 times today
The Fat LambThe Fat Lamb
(103)
$$$$
American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 3 times today
Lilly's BistroLilly's Bistro
(762)
$$$$
American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 6 times today
Uptown CafeUptown Cafe
(419)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 5 times today
Somewhere Restaurant and BarSomewhere Restaurant and Bar
(58)
$$$$
American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 1 time today
Asiatique RestaurantAsiatique Restaurant
(463)
$$$$
Asian | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
The Bard's TownThe Bard's Town
(1)
$$$$
American | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Holy GraleHoly Grale
(1)
$$$$
Farm-to-table | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Butchertown GroceryButchertown Grocery
(657)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Butchertown, Louisville
Booked 33 times today
PorciniPorcini
(852)
$$$$
Italian | Frankfort Ave - Crescent Hill, Louisville
Booked 13 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

About El Camino - Priority Seating

El Camino is an authentic Mexican restaurant located in the heart of Louisville, Kentucky. The ambiance of the restaurant is fitting for a Latin environment, setting the mood for a great meal to come. The chicken enchiladas are a house specialty, as is the taco salad with all the fixings. Each meal at El Camino is served with chips and salsa to further enhance your taste buds.

With tiki cocktails forming the basis for happy hour, El Camino is a great place to gather with friends and colleagues after a long day at the office. It has plenty of appetizers to fill up even the most ravenous of eaters, with a range of beers and wines also available for order.

1314 Bardstown Rd
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Hawaiian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
See Restaurant

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 454-5417

Website:
http://elfreakingcamino.com/

El Camino - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (327)
Fit for Foodies (268)
Hot Spot (267)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (243)
Good for Groups (227)
Neighborhood Gem (218)
Late-night Find (94)
Special Occasion (65)
Great for Brunch (64)
Great for Lunch (59)
Kid-friendly (49)
Romantic (19)
Scenic View (18)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our favorite !
A long time favorite and wonderfully exciting neighborhood spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and cocktails were great as usual however our server was very sarcastic and mocked my husband several times. He took away from our dining experience a little bit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Normally a very good experience, something was off with the a/c unit and it made the experience a little miserable because most of us were sweating. Also, the bill did not match up with prices on menu, was a bit confused about that. The drinks were good, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Didn't require the priority seating for brunch on Father's Day, but nice to have the option just in case. Service and food are always great. Love the laid back atmosphere outdoors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Street tacos, tiki drinks, local beers, all well executed and well chosen. We arrived a little earlier than our reservation, no problem. Asked for a different table, no problem. Our server was really friendly, drinks were well made and the food was terrific. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This restaurant offers plenty of outdoor seating and if you're not up for that, you can sit by the open garage door and get the feeling of being outdoors, while staying under cover.

Now, onto the food, which was amazing from the chips and mucho guac, grilled shrimp dish, and the kitchen sink burrito. As a vegetarian, I was grateful and very satisfied with the kale and black bean taco with the side sweet potatoes.

The server was helpful, friendly, yet unobtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We dined on a Friday evening. The restaurant was busy. The priority seating worked very well and provided us with an excellent outdoor table. Our food was prepared very well and we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2016

8 Michiganders dined at El Camino and we all thought the food was outstanding!! Fun place, lively atmosphere, cool décor! We loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great creative food experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Enjoyed the unique menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Just way to expensive for drinks and not enough food choices!!! Doubtful we will go back due to that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Recommend using open table for this hot spot! Need to reserve a few days ahead for a busy Friday night. Food was great and red sangria delicious- not your run of the mill sweet stuff. Music selection got a little strange and loud during dinner but that wouldn't deter me from future visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to El Camino many times, and on occasion I experience less than stellar service, but otherwise am generally satisfied. However, on Mothers Day I was really disappointed in what seemed to be a lack of preparation on the restaurants part. The service was really slow and very unreliable. We had maybe 3-4 different people wait on us over the course of our meal. It took quite a while to even be greeted, took extra time to get our drinks and general table service was really lacking. The guy who initially said he was our server and that he would "be right back" ended up not taking our order and only really showing up towards the end of the meal. I didn't really know whose service I was tipping, as there were so many different visitors and the service was so poor. I'll let this one slide, but there is no excuse for that kind of situation, especially on a known high holy day in restaurant culture.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Our server Robin was outstanding, funny and personable. Food and drinks were great. We had the queso, guac, and a variety of tacos. Could not have had a better Cinco de Mayo experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The music was way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 3, 2016

I've been to this establishment about 3 or 4 times and I've never been overly impressed. The service on my last visit wasn't good at all. I asked for a Maker's and Diet. I'm born and raised in Louisville and I'm not tourist dummy. When I got my bill the drink cost me $16.00 that's outrageous for even markets like New York. I couldn't find the server so I asked the bartender what the deal was. He informed me that it was a special Makers the bar ordered and it has a premium price. I had never heard of such a Maker's besides the 46 and Cast strength versions. I would have never added diet coke to a premium bourbon. I think it would have been nice to know this as I was ordering. I'm not sure I will go back. There are much better places with similar fair and better service and prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food and service at El Camino was excellent!! We had a wonderful evening on the patio and enjoyed trying at least one bite of just about every taco on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great as always , great breakfast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Amazing food, both for brunch and lunch/dinner. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 25, 2016

El camino is awesome! I think they have one of the best wait staff in Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Tacos are exceptional. Just keep in mind they are small. The pork was a little too fatty for me as an entree, but it had a nice flavor. Guacamole and sauces with chips were great. Waitress was helpful. Not overly friendly but very efficient. No complaints.
Love this find for a causal and great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I brought 8 of my friends from out of town here for my birthday. We had priority seating but still waited about 30 minutes to get a table. Not a big deal for me since I was drinking alcohol out of a tiki cup! The service was great. Our server was incredible and even got me a birthday shot. We ordered one of those giant alcohol bowls to share (recommend 3-4 people if you're actually trying to drink). Food was delicious! Really fun place to bring guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Extremely slow on a Thursday night. While food and service was good, only 5 tables at 730pm. Never picked up. Hopefully this restaurant survives.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 1, 2016

Very cool place. I was immediately seated while waiting for a friend. Hostess kept her eye out for him and sent him my way. The staff was very friendly and the food was good. The tacos are priced right. The rest of the menu seemed overpriced to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Went in for a pre-bachelorette party dinner. The food was amazing. Robin was super attentive and made our visit memorable. The drinks were great, and came out quick. Can't wait to go back and try other tacos!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We always have a good experience here, the tacos are delicious and the wait time for food is unbelievably short; definitely a place to go when you're super hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

This lively Mexican restaurant serves up delicious cocktails, memorable meals wrapped in a Californian vibe that shouldn't be missed ... especially if you're trying to escape the winter blues. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious food. Good value for the a la carte tacos! Nice drinks list but pricey. Interesting atmosphere. Overall highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Great service with an engaging and attentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Got the salmon & the guacamole. They were both amazing!! Highly recommend this restaurant. The margaritas are delish too! Can't go wrong here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Interesting and unique drinks, food was good and atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday brunch. The server was very knowledgable about all of the dishes. Everything was fresh and the flavors were outstanding. We tried the chips and 4 salsas for an appetizer with our bloody Mary's. My friend enjoyed the Rancheros and I had the Chilaquiles. Both dishes came out hot and delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Service was quick and the staff was extremely accommodating, the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Many Mexican restaurant choices in town. This one great one. Good: Menu offers up a great variety of unique flavors. Service for me has been friendly to very friendly. Interior atmosphere is almost impossible to beat and the decor is uber-groovy! Caution: Like many popular restaurants, it gets crowded and there can be a hefty wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2015

The moment we arrived, the scene was set for a relaxed and upbeat dinner. Cool SoCal vibe makes you feel instantly in-the-know on the local food scene. Extensive rum, mescal, and tequila cocktail list, good beer selection. Mucho guac a must. Awesome tacos, salmon, half chicken, and salads. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Loved the pig roast. Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2015

The food - tacos were good, the salmon was very distinctive and savory. The drinks - daiquiris an run and soda were also noteworthy.

Service - waitstaff, bar and kitchen were surprisingly slow given indoor seating was not full.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 12, 2015

The brunch menu is indicative of the unique style that El Camino has. Food is very good and portions are generous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 4, 2015

First time @ El Camino; invited by another couple. Phenomenal food and ambiance...arrived @ 7pm & left @ 11:30pm. Staff was superb and all worked as a team; very courteous & friendly. Recommend as the place to go (and stay) on a Friday or Saturday evening with friends and / or family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Enjoyed brunch, have a smaller menu but several good options. Flexible with special requests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.