About El Caballito Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Traditional Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • El Caballito Tequila Bar
  • El Caballito Tequila Bar
  • El Caballito Tequila Bar
  • El Caballito Tequila Bar
  • El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar

Private Dining

Regardless of the size of your party, El Caballito is the perfect place to host an event. The atmosphere is fun, the food and drinks are fresh and delicious and we have an experienced team of hosts to make sure you and your guests leave satisfied.

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Energetic

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Toronto / Ontario
Late Night Find
Toronto / Ontario
Vibrant Bar Scene
Toronto / Ontario
2 More
Hot Spot
Toronto
Vibrant Bar Scene
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

vibrant bar scene (43)
good for groups (43)
hot spot (36)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
late-night find (21)
special occasion (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
romantic (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very limited drink and food menu - tacos ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Very limited drink and food menu - tacos only. Was kind of disappointing for a Mexican restaurant.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere! Delicious shrimp tacos!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Fabulous restaurant to eat chips and freshly made guacamole, and drink yummy margaritas with friends and/or family. Friendly bartenders and servers, as well as a great place to meet new people. Perfect place to go for a drink after work, and dance if you're feeling frisky for a Thursday or Friday evening!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Could have been better

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was a bit disappointing and the plating was especially sloppy. They called it 'family style' but I call it lazy. All the tacos come out on a big platter and you have to remember which flavours you ordered and grab yours from the main platter. Not fun when you're already very hungry and it's hard to distinguish the different flavours because it looks like one big mess.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We attended for a bachelor party, Not ev ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We attended for a bachelor party, Not everyone wanted to stay inside, so we went outside. The patio was great, but we had two groups divided and a minumium inside which wasn't considered with the outside party. I would recommend for groups of 10 or less to attend.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The young man who delivered our food on ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The young man who delivered our food on the patio was exceptional. I believe his name was Alex but I am not certain. My wife and I were able to find a nice table for two

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the absolute best service at El C ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had the absolute best service at El Caballito and that really made the experience. My friend really enjoyed her margarita and the food was a little too spicy for me, but I am not the biggest fan of spice. The atmosphere was great and it was the perfect spot for the two of us to catch up. Again, our server really made the experience. He was so kind, made us laugh and checked in frequently (but not too frequently) to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoying our food and drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food and ambiance. We went on a T ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great food and ambiance. We went on a Tuesday so there were food specials so we ordered a ton for the table. Service requires some attention - we had to track our server down 2 or 3 times to order more drinks. The live mariache band was great for 5 minutes but then got old - a totally conversation killer as they were playing right next to our table we couldn't hear ourselves talk.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was good, but restaurant was too no ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was good, but restaurant was too noisy. Server was friendly and helpful.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 6, 2016

The service & ambiance was great. Lively spot with friendly staff but the food is most definitely overpriced. Tacos are very small and as well as that there was nothing special about them, I have eaten nicer in the food court in Eaton centre. The fish taco we ordered was also cold. $60 (inc tax & tip) for one plate of a average tacos and 2 drinks (1 beer & 1 cocktail).

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service

Dined on April 28, 2016

Amazing service

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been to this resto before - only in ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

I've been to this resto before - only in the summer on the patio. The resto menu is quite different than the food truck and I was a little disappointed that when I ordered the Mezcal Mule it wasn't the slushy version (it was still tasty but not the same). I also ordered an original Margarita but I wasn't too happy with the selection - it was a bit flat and didn't have the punch I was hoping for. I ordered the triple spicy shrimp but I was expected a bit more kick but since I love seafood it was still a great choice. The atmosphere is dark but a definite hit for an after work gathering because the music in the background is high energy and you can't help bopping your head to the beats. They have daily specials every day but since I don't like beer I couldn't partake in the $1 tacos.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great music, great vibes and great staff! Food was awesome, fair privies and great sangria! Will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was okay, the churro ice cream ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was okay, the churro ice cream sandwich was amazing. But the tacos were just okay. The fillings for the size were good but the for 5 bucks per taco was pretty high considering the size of the tacos. When we first got to the restaurant they told us that the table was only free for a specific time (like 75 minutes) and asked if that was enough time. This was tacky! And also kinda rude. It is so inappropriate to limit people and to tell them. Our waitress seemed out of it and was wearing a see through top so that was strange and uncomfortable.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great drinks and delicious tacos

Dined on April 15, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed the drinks but it was a tad bit on the pricey end. Tacos were delicious but kinda too small. The whole bar scene was live and fun with great music. Our server was wonderful until he decided to give us the bill without us asking and said "No rush"...we weren't planning to leave anytime soon and did eventually want to order more drinks later on but didn't want to pay the bill twice since we already had paid the first bill. He kinda stopped checking on us too so we decided to go somewhere else for drinks. Overall, I'd recommend this place as I did have wonderful past experiences too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was good, disappointed they did ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was good, disappointed they did not play spanish music on Saturday night...especially since it's a Mexican resto/bar.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Margaritas & Tacos...oh ya!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Met up with another couple before a show. Waiter was great and set the mood for a fun night. After a couple pitchers of Margaritas the mariachi singers sang well and the tacos tasted great... Very limited menu. Pitchers seemed pricy...tons of ice. It was noisy, but we could talk. Guacomoli was excellent. Good little place to pop into.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

tacos were small and expensive, but they ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

tacos were small and expensive, but they did taste good. I understand that a spot on king will be pricey, so I was not surprised by the price of the food.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great sectioned off area for a birthday!

Dined on March 19, 2016

When you walk down the stairs and turn left immediately , there(around the hostess booth), there is a great spot for 12-15 people. We had a great birthday celebration. Good food, not huge portions but drinks were reasonable too so it balanced out well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

A pretty good spot for a quick bite in t ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

A pretty good spot for a quick bite in the theatre district. Food was reasonably priced and quite delicious. The shrimp and pulled pork tacos were good. The trout tacos was just Ok. The guacamole wasn't the best in town, but it was good for the price. The chips were really good. There was a great selection of drinks too. The sangria we ordered was good. It would be better if there were fruits in it though.

food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Disappointing

Dined on March 10, 2016

I had high hopes for El Caballito, however, I was quite disappointed with the place. We had an early reservation (one of the first tables seated). We were put at a table next to a leak in the ceiling with water coming down in a bucket. Had their guacamole and topitos to start. Very fresh and tasty. Had their 2 oz. margaritas on the rocks. Barely 1 oz of tequila in it, salted with one little spot salted. Tacos were decent, have had better in the city for same/lower price. Service was all over the map with 3 different people trying to serve the table. In all I would rate this visit as poor.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on March 4, 2016

Hope I am remembering his name correctly but Alex served us and was fantastic. He was high energy, funny, honest and very attentive. The food was great (trout taco is a winner!) but the service was our highlight. Would definitely come back - hopefully when he is working!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Best shrimp tacos ever (and I've eaten a ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Best shrimp tacos ever (and I've eaten a LOT of shrimp tacos).

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fresh salsa!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The experience was good, the food a little dry, I wish they would serve fresh salsa or hot sauce on the side for the tacos!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The tacos and margaritas were amazing and our waiter was five star

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not the target demographic

Dined on January 29, 2016

Yep, I'm too old --waaay too old -- for the bar scene. I went to El Caballito because the recent online reviews said the food was good, and I wanted to eat good food. By which I mean, something I could not make myself at home (I cook a lot, from fresh ingredients). It's true that the menu is limited, but who cares when the food is this good? If you want tacos, you will get tacos to remember! The guacamole was fabulous and the chips it came with, divine. When the server suggested the house dessert involving ice cream paired with some kind of cinnamon-infused hot pastry -- we jumped on it, even though we were pretty full. And we were not disappointed. Wow! I don't eat out very often, so I want it to be memorable. This meal was.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good drinks, average service

Dined on January 23, 2016

The guacamole was amazing! However, it took a lot of time to get the attention of the wait staff.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant all around! Great food ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Great restaurant all around! Great food, so many flavours in every bite. Service was fun, engaging and energetic! Highly recommended if you like good Mexican tacos in a fun environment.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly, energetic, attentive

Dined on January 9, 2016

I made a reservation for two at 4:30pm on a Saturday, which is right when the restaurant opened. We were of course seated right away and I was surprised to see that it filled up pretty quickly at that time due to the pre-theatre rush. The staff were all very friendly, energetic, and attentive throughout the entire service. I split the chips and guacamole and had the pork cheek barbacoa taco and a margarita picante. Everything came to the table in a timely manner and tasted great! We also thought the DJ was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing place, great food, great tequila ...

Dined on January 8, 2016

Amazing place, great food, great tequila, would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Spot

Dined on January 2, 2016

Possibly the best taco's i have ever had. We were pleasantly surprised. It was fairly expensive but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday experience.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Helena was the highlight! She killed it. I was there with friends for my birthday. We were wel taken care of by Helena. I ate way too much of the fantastic food and may have had too much tequila. But probably not ;) I'll be back for sure. As will my friends. Cheers Jex.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

The chicken in the Chicken taco was dry. ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

The chicken in the Chicken taco was dry. Expected better tacos from a Mexican restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Taco Place

Dined on December 22, 2015

I've only been here on Tuesday's, where tacos are only $3.50 but I love each visit. Order the pork belly taco if you can, and/or the spicy shrimp taco (avoid the chicken, it's kind of an odd taste). Fun drinks, and lively atmosphere. Great for a girls night or birthday party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Really good place - great for the neighborhood

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

I came here with a group of eight and had the front communal table/room behind the hostess stand. Great privacy; solid waiter; good (not great drinks); solid taco's, and good guac. I don't have anything negative to say about the place at all. It was above average, and on the verge of really good Mexican food. If in the area I would absolutely recommend coming here for dinner. I'm not sure it's worth venturing out of your way to get here, but that is in no way an insult to them. It's just, as I said above, good Mexican food - not amazing. All that said; I'd come back for sure.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

Terrific Taco Tuesday with my Team

Dined on December 1, 2015

I'm always looking for new places to go out in the downtown core, especially for work-related social outings. I had heard of El Cabillito a while ago but hadn't had the chance to try it until now. Took my team out for our annual year end celebration and was really impressed. Alex provided great service, recommending a tequila for the table to try. The DJ kept things lively until the live Mariachi band really spiced things up. And the $3.50 for any taco deal allowed us to sample all the options on the menu. Relaxed and fun atmosphere. We will definitely be back to try the patio in the summer.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

We had several different types of tacos, ...

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

We had several different types of tacos, a jug of sangria and some guacamole and chips. Food was fresh and very tasty. Our server was attentive and on point with plate removal and ensuring we were happy. I thought it was a great casual eating experience but note that it is loud so you'll be raising your voice to be heard.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great night with an unexpected Mariachi band

Dined on October 27, 2015

We were celebrating a friend's birthday and happened to go there on a Tuesday. Which was also reduced price taco night and they offered 6 tacos, any kind, for $20 which was a good deal. The tacos were delicious - we had the fish, poblano and mushroom (this was excellent) along with margaritas and sangria. The space filled up quickly after we got there at 5pm. We were also unexpectedly treated to a Mariachi trio - they were really amazing! We got them to come over and sing for my friend (yes, she was suitably embarassed!). We did tip them separately coz they were really good. They make appearances in the restaurant on Tuesday and Friday nights. They also have an in-house DJ and the music was good. All in all, I would definitely go back with friends for a drink and a quick bite :) Too bad they are not open during lunch - I think it would be a huge hit!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5

Great service, great food

Dined on October 18, 2015

Decided to celebrate my birthday here for dinner on a Saturday night. Aside from the party room being a little too small for my 15 friends and I, the service, for, the music and overall the ambiance was perfect. Our server was so much fun and super helpful with everything including getting extra chairs for my friends and I. I regret not asking for his name because as my friend pointed out after the night ended that our server actually used to worked at Ryerson's pub. Only then did I remember him serving my friends and I at the rye pub, 2 years ago, on my birthday again! I would review the food items inin more detail but all I could remember was the tequila that night lol. I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a late night loungy restaurant with great music and great service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1

M.I.A. waiter, overpriced small plates

Dined on October 16, 2015

Not recommended, tons of better tastier options for your dollar. Place was awesome when it first opened, gone downhill now. Portions have gotten smaller, the "pork" and shrimp tacos consists of a teaspoon of pork with way too much cabbage and exactly three overcooked shrimp. The guacamole had too much lemon, burnt chips and very little portion considering the price. The waiter was nowhere to be seen, had to wait forever just to place our appetizer order, then another 10-15 mins to order second drinks and main tacos. Couldn't even get him to get us water, kept disappearing, really annoying.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very attentive and the fo ...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious I lived their shrimp tacos. Rosa margarita was also very good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.