El Caballito Tequila Bar

3.9
257 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Fun
  • Tapas
El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International, Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
DINNER
Sunday & Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - Late

LUNCH:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


SEASONAL
*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 628-9838
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Elia Herrera
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
West of Simcoe Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
St. Andrew Subway station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Tuesday!
Brunch every Saturday starting at 11:00am!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine
What 257 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.7
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
65% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We were told that there would be a free birthday dinner for our friend celebrating. When we got there we they told us that is no longer true. We were constantly having get get up to find our server if we wanted to order more drinks or food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

His place was amazing. Patio gets packed pretty quickly. Music was pretty could and could not carry conversation easily, but the food was amazing and the service was fast! Definitely would go back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 7 days ago

Having seen El Caballito on numerous food blogs and seen great pictures of the patio and the food, I was really disappointed when I finally went there myself.
I don’t want to come across as being rude, but I felt that even though it didn’t seem like there were many people (I sat inside, so maybe the patio was full) the service was extremely slow and frankly very half assed. We began with the guacamole and chips. I must say that the guacamole was delicious! Super fresh and delicious. Unfortunately we had ordered our drinks at the same time, but only got our drinks once the guacamole was basically finished.
The sangrias we ordered were the worst sangrias I’ve ever had. It clearly wasn’t made fresh, because by the time we recieved our drinks there was already a layer of melted ice in the cups. The sangrias tasted like watered down cheap wine. (I know that every place does their sangrias differently, but I only had 1/4 of a mushed strawberry in my drink, whilst my friend felt like her berry bits tasted very old).
By the time a server got back to us, we were so put off by the experience we opted not to order dinner and headed else where for dinner, which was so unfortunate because I was really looking forward to trying the food.
I’m not sure if that was an off night- but I had a really bad time here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere for a fun night out with friends! Great service. Pitchers were really expensive though

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Decided to try before going to a concert. Was the worst decision I made. The only good thing about this restaurant was the waitress who took good care of is and the fish tacos everything else was a disappointment

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great option for a Saturday afternoon with friends. The patio is right off of the street, but it gives off a private vibe that makes it feel more cozy.
The order as you go style menu at the food trucks make for easy purchases and not worrying about splitting bills at the end.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Small and comfortable, the ambiance was that of a little taqueria in Mexico - Mariachi band and all! All the tacos were amazing, only made better by the margarita.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Very packed crowded patio. Good for groups that want to stop in after work. If you can get a seat!
Super loud techno music so not good for a date. Natchos were good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a good time, but our waiter got a bit distracted and wasn’t as attentive as we would have liked. We would have continued to order food/drinks had her been more prompt in checking on us.

The food was good, our fondido was a bit burnt so it was crispier than it should have been but still delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good tacos but very poor service. Drinks were small and overpriced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great Mexican food. Quick Service. Loved the tacos

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Everything was great! The music was a little loud so it's hard to have a conversation. I totally get having music and high energy but lowering the music a few decibels would have been good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Went last weekend on Saturday night, had a reservation for 8:00pm. Got there on time and when we got there the "bouncer" told us regardless of reservation we had to wait in line (he was very rude and aggressive). We were very confused but waited anyways. At 8:45pm the manager came out and was wondering why people who had reservations were waiting in line and took us in right away. We got in and the restaurant was not clean at all, the waitress forgot to place our order, and there was a hair in our food. Overall terrible experience would not go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Honestly not much good to say. Super disorganized hostess, literally before we had even sat down (after making a reso) we were told we had to leave by a certain time, and then the waiter was rushing us out as soon as we had literally swallowed our last bites. Music WAY too loud. Just overall bad experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Food was delicious and well received by our group of 14 people ages 14-80. Margaritas delicious, location to theatre fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The food and drinks here are amazing! The servers are all helpful and friendly and attentive. Love the ambience. Will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Andy McQueen was our server, he was very helpful and friendly. We gave him the reigns to order everything for our table. The food was awesome, the service was fantastic and the atmosphere was fun. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Nice casual bar/restaurant. Small menu and the food was decent. Excellent margaritas. Unfortunately three tables of after work coworkers extremely drunk and loud which made it impossible to hear anyone else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Our server was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The staff were great, the flavours were great but the food was all cold.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Went for coworker's goodbye party and server was getting automatic 18% gratuity but started giving attitude when she was not able to keep track of our group size. She got annoyed when a few additional coworkers attended and even grabbed a plate under me while eating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Tacos were great. Service was ok, not great. Music was way too loud, making it hard to talk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The food and margaritas were so bad and poorly made that all of us, which we were a group of 6, decided to stop ordering .

This a Mexican tequila bar which margaritas and tacos should be there speciality. A complete rip off !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The service was very poor. Wait person could not describe the very few items on the food list Did not know what the special of the day was. We were brought beer ..no glasses; food on a tray but no napkins, plates or cutlery. We got ourselves from the bar and other tables. Prices high, especially when service is so poor

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Food was amazing, fresh and served quickly. The vibes are always great and Zayne our server was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Good selection of tequila! Small menu but really tasty and flavourful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great food, great service. Subpar margaritas. Oddly chilly inside the restaurant which was a bit of a buzzkill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

If you're in the mood for Mexican (especially in the middle of a dreary Toronto winter), look no further than this cozy bar/resto for authentic Mexican cuisine and great service! A great place to go either before or after the theatre or concert, El Cabalitto never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

I find it incredibly weird that it's a Spanish restaurant but I didn't hear one Spanish song throughout the whole evening. Catering to a bunch of King st west people and the restaurant lacks an authentic feel. Servers should know how to pronounce the menu items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Reasonable food prices (expensive drinks though), great location, great service, yummy! I'll go again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 2, 2018

There was nothing particularly noteworthy about the tacos. We ordered 5 tacos, 2 appetizers, and 2 drinks and our bill came to $94. $94. If the food was great, then maybe this would be ok? Either way, we are never going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

We went for taco Tuesday and tacos were $3.5 each. We tried everything on the menu and they were all fairly mediocre. The ingredients quality was decent but the amount of ingredients were just way too much for the small tortilla that a taco sits on. It didn't feel balanced.

Service was good, we got seated quickly but definitely make reservation for Tuesday as it was a full house!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Enjoyed our dinner prior to seeing a show at the Royal Alex. Servers made sure they knew what time our show was at to keep service in line, theatre was a 2 minute walk also. Overall was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Went to celebrate birthday and engagement. Great experience and food as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Everything was great and I would for sure come back, we were very happy with the food, service and live music. The only thing I was not happy with was paying $8.00 for an average bottle of beer. I thought for the price I was getting a pint of something of quality. Not that big of a deal though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Great tacos! Drinks were overpriced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2018

Overall we had a good experience and I've been back many times. The food is always tasty though I wish the menu could have more fish and seafood options for tacos. From time to time you have other fish available such as trout or salmon etc.

The Mexican singing is nice but when they are right beside your head it's a little much. It would be much better if they were in one area a little away from the dinners and the tables.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

So I’d say the only disappointment started straight from the reservations. It was discussed that we’d have the back area to ourselves but they later called to tell me that there was a miscommunication between colleagues and the backarea was bought out. We were then given two seperate areas which was inconvienient and awkward for socializing and, at this point too late to find another venue. Food was delicious, music was fun, atmosphere was awesome, waitress was exceptional, bar staff was great but seemed short handed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Good food! Churro ice cream sandwich is a must!! Drinks are pricey but good!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by El Caballito Tequila Bar