About El Caballito Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Traditional Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar
El Caballito Tequila Bar

Private Dining

Regardless of the size of your party, El Caballito is the perfect place to host an event. The atmosphere is fun, the food and drinks are fresh and delicious and we have an experienced team of hosts to make sure you and your guests leave satisfied.

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Energetic

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Toronto / Ontario
Late Night Find
Toronto / Ontario
Vibrant Bar Scene
Toronto / Ontario
2 More
Hot Spot
Toronto
Vibrant Bar Scene
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

good for groups (41)
vibrant bar scene (41)
hot spot (30)
See All
late-night find (23)
fit for foodies (19)
neighborhood gem (15)
special occasion (15)
great for outdoor dining (15)
great for lunch (9)
romantic (7)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

El Caballito seems to have strongly decl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

El Caballito seems to have strongly declined compared the memories I have of it from 2 and 3 years ago. The service was poor (it was extremely hard to find or flag down a waitress, meaning we would have to wait extra long to get additional drinks and that really killed the vibe).

The music was also not Latin AT ALL and the DJ played Justin Bieber songs 4 times (this is NOT what I go to a Tequila bar for)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Great patio, margaritas and staff is gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great patio, margaritas and staff is great! Always super friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tacos was great. It was a bit chilly out ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Tacos was great. It was a bit chilly outside and didn’t know that it was self serve although I made reservations ahead of time with a pretty big group (it ended up being quite convenient because it was a big group after all)

This place needs to fix their phone situation. I had multiple call backs from the voicemail I left weeks ago and when I called for modification their voice mail was full and kept calling during work hours but no one answered. Someone should be always available to answer calls.

Inside is way to dark. Was hoping for a fun colourful atmosphere. Patio was nice but not much sunlight and is like a wind tunnel.

Highly suggest coming here for birthday for free tacos and yummy dessert!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The service and the drinks were great. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The service and the drinks were great. The music was good, would have liked to have heard some Spanish music. Overall a great time!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The back patio does not take reservation ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The back patio does not take reservations, but we managed to find a spot nonetheless. Great atmosphere and very energetic. You feel like you're a part of something exciting. My only complaint is that the margaritas were somewhat overpriced. I am not sure what sorts of ingredients were being used, so excuse my ignorance, but $11 for half a wine glass of margarita topped with ice is pretty steep. Besides that we had a great time.

If the drinks were cheaper, I'd be a regular here. But then again it is King West so what do you expect.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Very limited drink and food menu - tacos ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Very limited drink and food menu - tacos only. Was kind of disappointing for a Mexican restaurant.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun atmosphere! Delicious shrimp tacos!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fabulous restaurant to eat chips and freshly made guacamole, and drink yummy margaritas with friends and/or family. Friendly bartenders and servers, as well as a great place to meet new people. Perfect place to go for a drink after work, and dance if you're feeling frisky for a Thursday or Friday evening!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could have been better

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was a bit disappointing and the plating was especially sloppy. They called it 'family style' but I call it lazy. All the tacos come out on a big platter and you have to remember which flavours you ordered and grab yours from the main platter. Not fun when you're already very hungry and it's hard to distinguish the different flavours because it looks like one big mess.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We attended for a bachelor party, Not ev ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We attended for a bachelor party, Not everyone wanted to stay inside, so we went outside. The patio was great, but we had two groups divided and a minumium inside which wasn't considered with the outside party. I would recommend for groups of 10 or less to attend.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The young man who delivered our food on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The young man who delivered our food on the patio was exceptional. I believe his name was Alex but I am not certain. My wife and I were able to find a nice table for two

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We had the absolute best service at El C ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We had the absolute best service at El Caballito and that really made the experience. My friend really enjoyed her margarita and the food was a little too spicy for me, but I am not the biggest fan of spice. The atmosphere was great and it was the perfect spot for the two of us to catch up. Again, our server really made the experience. He was so kind, made us laugh and checked in frequently (but not too frequently) to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoying our food and drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. We went on a T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Great food and ambiance. We went on a Tuesday so there were food specials so we ordered a ton for the table. Service requires some attention - we had to track our server down 2 or 3 times to order more drinks. The live mariache band was great for 5 minutes but then got old - a totally conversation killer as they were playing right next to our table we couldn't hear ourselves talk.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was good, but restaurant was too no ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was good, but restaurant was too noisy. Server was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Overpriced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The service & ambiance was great. Lively spot with friendly staff but the food is most definitely overpriced. Tacos are very small and as well as that there was nothing special about them, I have eaten nicer in the food court in Eaton centre. The fish taco we ordered was also cold. $60 (inc tax & tip) for one plate of a average tacos and 2 drinks (1 beer & 1 cocktail).

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Amazing service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to this resto before - only in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I've been to this resto before - only in the summer on the patio. The resto menu is quite different than the food truck and I was a little disappointed that when I ordered the Mezcal Mule it wasn't the slushy version (it was still tasty but not the same). I also ordered an original Margarita but I wasn't too happy with the selection - it was a bit flat and didn't have the punch I was hoping for. I ordered the triple spicy shrimp but I was expected a bit more kick but since I love seafood it was still a great choice. The atmosphere is dark but a definite hit for an after work gathering because the music in the background is high energy and you can't help bopping your head to the beats. They have daily specials every day but since I don't like beer I couldn't partake in the $1 tacos.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great music, great vibes and great staff! Food was awesome, fair privies and great sangria! Will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay, the churro ice cream ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was okay, the churro ice cream sandwich was amazing. But the tacos were just okay. The fillings for the size were good but the for 5 bucks per taco was pretty high considering the size of the tacos.

When we first got to the restaurant they told us that the table was only free for a specific time (like 75 minutes) and asked if that was enough time. This was tacky! And also kinda rude. It is so inappropriate to limit people and to tell them. Our waitress seemed out of it and was wearing a see through top so that was strange and uncomfortable.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

great drinks and delicious tacos

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed the drinks but it was a tad bit on the pricey end. Tacos were delicious but kinda too small. The whole bar scene was live and fun with great music. Our server was wonderful until he decided to give us the bill without us asking and said "No rush"...we weren't planning to leave anytime soon and did eventually want to order more drinks later on but didn't want to pay the bill twice since we already had paid the first bill. He kinda stopped checking on us too so we decided to go somewhere else for drinks. Overall, I'd recommend this place as I did have wonderful past experiences too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good, disappointed they did ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was good, disappointed they did not play spanish music on Saturday night...especially since it's a Mexican resto/bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Margaritas & Tacos...oh ya!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Met up with another couple before a show. Waiter was great and set the mood for a fun night. After a couple pitchers of Margaritas the mariachi singers sang well and the tacos tasted great... Very limited menu. Pitchers seemed pricy...tons of ice. It was noisy, but we could talk. Guacomoli was excellent. Good little place to pop into.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

tacos were small and expensive, but they ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

tacos were small and expensive, but they did taste good. I understand that a spot on king will be pricey, so I was not surprised by the price of the food.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great sectioned off area for a birthday!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

When you walk down the stairs and turn left immediately , there(around the hostess booth), there is a great spot for 12-15 people. We had a great birthday celebration. Good food, not huge portions but drinks were reasonable too so it balanced out well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A pretty good spot for a quick bite in t ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

A pretty good spot for a quick bite in the theatre district. Food was reasonably priced and quite delicious. The shrimp and pulled pork tacos were good. The trout tacos was just Ok. The guacamole wasn't the best in town, but it was good for the price. The chips were really good. There was a great selection of drinks too. The sangria we ordered was good. It would be better if there were fruits in it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

I had high hopes for El Caballito, however, I was quite disappointed with the place. We had an early reservation (one of the first tables seated). We were put at a table next to a leak in the ceiling with water coming down in a bucket.

Had their guacamole and topitos to start. Very fresh and tasty. Had their 2 oz. margaritas on the rocks. Barely 1 oz of tequila in it, salted with one little spot salted.

Tacos were decent, have had better in the city for same/lower price.

Service was all over the map with 3 different people trying to serve the table.

In all I would rate this visit as poor.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Hope I am remembering his name correctly but Alex served us and was fantastic. He was high energy, funny, honest and very attentive. The food was great (trout taco is a winner!) but the service was our highlight. Would definitely come back - hopefully when he is working!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best shrimp tacos ever (and I've eaten a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Best shrimp tacos ever (and I've eaten a LOT of shrimp tacos).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fresh salsa!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The experience was good, the food a little dry, I wish they would serve fresh salsa or hot sauce on the side for the tacos!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The tacos and margaritas were amazing and our waiter was five star

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the target demographic

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Yep, I'm too old --waaay too old -- for the bar scene. I went to El Caballito because the recent online reviews said the food was good, and I wanted to eat good food. By which I mean, something I could not make myself at home (I cook a lot, from fresh ingredients). It's true that the menu is limited, but who cares when the food is this good? If you want tacos, you will get tacos to remember! The guacamole was fabulous and the chips it came with, divine. When the server suggested the house dessert involving ice cream paired with some kind of cinnamon-infused hot pastry -- we jumped on it, even though we were pretty full. And we were not disappointed. Wow! I don't eat out very often, so I want it to be memorable. This meal was.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good drinks, average service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The guacamole was amazing! However, it took a lot of time to get the attention of the wait staff.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great restaurant all around! Great food ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Great restaurant all around! Great food, so many flavours in every bite. Service was fun, engaging and energetic! Highly recommended if you like good Mexican tacos in a fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly, energetic, attentive

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I made a reservation for two at 4:30pm on a Saturday, which is right when the restaurant opened. We were of course seated right away and I was surprised to see that it filled up pretty quickly at that time due to the pre-theatre rush. The staff were all very friendly, energetic, and attentive throughout the entire service. I split the chips and guacamole and had the pork cheek barbacoa taco and a margarita picante. Everything came to the table in a timely manner and tasted great! We also thought the DJ was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place, great food, great tequila ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Amazing place, great food, great tequila, would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Possibly the best taco's i have ever had. We were pleasantly surprised. It was fairly expensive but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great birthday experience.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Helena was the highlight! She killed it. I was there with friends for my birthday. We were wel taken care of by Helena. I ate way too much of the fantastic food and may have had too much tequila. But probably not ;)

I'll be back for sure. As will my friends.

Cheers

Jex.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken in the Chicken taco was dry. ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The chicken in the Chicken taco was dry. Expected better tacos from a Mexican restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great Taco Place

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

I've only been here on Tuesday's, where tacos are only $3.50 but I love each visit. Order the pork belly taco if you can, and/or the spicy shrimp taco (avoid the chicken, it's kind of an odd taste). Fun drinks, and lively atmosphere. Great for a girls night or birthday party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good place - great for the neighborhood

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

I came here with a group of eight and had the front communal table/room behind the hostess stand. Great privacy; solid waiter; good (not great drinks); solid taco's, and good guac. I don't have anything negative to say about the place at all. It was above average, and on the verge of really good Mexican food. If in the area I would absolutely recommend coming here for dinner. I'm not sure it's worth venturing out of your way to get here, but that is in no way an insult to them. It's just, as I said above, good Mexican food - not amazing.

All that said; I'd come back for sure.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Terrific Taco Tuesday with my Team

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

I'm always looking for new places to go out in the downtown core, especially for work-related social outings. I had heard of El Cabillito a while ago but hadn't had the chance to try it until now. Took my team out for our annual year end celebration and was really impressed. Alex provided great service, recommending a tequila for the table to try. The DJ kept things lively until the live Mariachi band really spiced things up. And the $3.50 for any taco deal allowed us to sample all the options on the menu. Relaxed and fun atmosphere. We will definitely be back to try the patio in the summer.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.