About El Caballito Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH (Saturday Only)
11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Friday: 4:30pm - 1am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting, seasonal)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!
Brunch every Saturday starting at 11:00am!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Regardless of the size of your party, El Caballito is the perfect place to host an event. The atmosphere is fun, the food and drinks are fresh and delicious and we have an experienced team of hosts to make sure you and your guests leave satisfied.

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Spicy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tapas (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great, would definitely recommend coming on a Tuesday for Tacos. Mariachi band was a little annoying and music was too loud and could not conversation at times as they would come table side, but good place for food and drinks, would still go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great spot for a quick bite, in addition taco tuesdays a great way to enjoy all the different tacos at a great low price. The live band was great too

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

El Caballito seems un poco loco, or maybe I should say schizophrenic. Does it want to be a dive bar? Does it want to be a high end tequila bar? Does it want to be a casual, but high end restaurant?

I don't know. I did have a good meal and drinks at El Caballito, and may have even given it 4 stars if the menus were not disturbingly greasy/dirty along with greasy silverware....

And if you are going to brag about your extensive list of Tequila's and Mezcal then maybe you should actually have the ones on your menu in stock. Or if not in stock then the wait staff should know that in advance.

All in all El Caballito was just a little short on being a well run establishment.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Me and a couple of friends went for brunch. Ordered the egg bennys and the braised beef, with the churros pancake to share.

Entrees were great. We had the hot chocolates.

General impression is that it's a great place to grab a casual and fun drink with friends, go for some tapas, however the dishes are packed with lots of calories. So one experience for me was enough.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service, delicious food and excellent margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The place was very popular, and therefore noisy. We found the food cold, and couldnt really distinquish the tastes between tacos. The guacamole was fabulous.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Taco Tuesdays are a must at this joint. Cheap, super tasty tacos. Be sure to make a reservation as the place fills up quick on Tuesday nights after around 6pm.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really bad service. We wanted to have drinks and only 1 round made it to our table.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great! Will come back. Just wished the guacamole plate was bigger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good choice of tequila, okay food. Not much choice for the latter. I'd recommend the place for pre or post theatre for cocktails and snacks.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was authentic and delicious. The service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was great - inky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had the most amazing time at El Cabilito this past weekend. Very friendly staff who were all very attentive to the needs of our big group. We had a problem with our table as it had a pole in the middle dividing our party of 8 in half and the manger was very great dealing with the issue. Food is great and the atmosphere is so fun. The guac is a must get and the tacos were great too. Thanks for a great evening and we can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service and soft tacos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

amazing food and service...as always! we keep coming back and you cant beat $3.50 tacos on taco tuesday!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We went on a Tuesday not realizing it was Taco Tuesday's. Any taco on the menu for $3.50. They're small, but are they ever tasty. We started with guac and chips, had 10 tacos between the two of us, a beer and a margarita and the bill was approx $70. Not bad, but the margarita was nothing special and full of ice - next time I'll skip it and spend the same amount of money on a few more tacos!

Tags: Casual, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing place to spend a Saturday night out. Great music, great atmosphere and great servers!

Food and drinks were also very amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We went on a Tuesday, which is Taco Tuesday. All the tacos on menu were only $3.50!!! It was the first time for 3 of my guests. They really enjoyed themselves. There was also a mariachi band playing at around 6/7pm. I love this place. I always recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good Atmosphere. Taco's were okay. The Chicken Taco tasted a bit off. The waiter was friendly but forgot about us at times. Dj was really good though (great music selection).

Not sure if I'll go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Over 80 tequilas behind the bar the bartender was awesome patient Stepek us through all the different forms and flavors a great night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I was not expecting the food to be this fantastic - it was great. The tacos and margharitas were excellent. The service was terrific too. I'd go back in a heartbeat for the food but not if "talking" were important :) It was really loud but still a great vibe for after work drinks and food.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Recommended by a friend. Went for a get together with my girlfriends. Shared a pitcher or margarita and ordered a bunch of tacos and dessert. Loved the food. Super delicious and a good variety of tacos. Reasonably priced. The vibe was wonderful. Music wasn't too loud and the type we like. Definitely will be back and recommend to family and friends!! Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Atmosphere was great. Makes you want to do shots! Lol...it happened. Food is delicious and our server was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our server was very attentive until it got busy, then he was hardly ever by. The music is very loud and we all left with hoarse voices. However the food was great, have thought about the chicharrones ever night sine I was there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

So much fun! Great vibe for a fun night out. Margaritas are amazing as are the guacamole and tacos. Small menu but what they serve, they serve well!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Bday celebration - no attention to special occasion, even though confirmed on day prior to visit. Noise was terrible, TV Sportschannel was running all visit long at very high volume over sound system, including commercials. Long wait time/tough to get waiter attention. The volume of TV channel did not allow regular conversation across the table, waitress stated she could barely understand her guests. Disappoing experience. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Food was amazing, drinks were fab!.. The only downfall was the need more waitstaff on the patio... Took forever to get our Tacos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The best way to celebrate a bday, thanks to all the staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great atmosphere, loved the tunes played, good food, friendly service from the staff and a nice chill spot, I would go there again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife and I went there last week for dinner. We were going to a performance at a nearby venue so we chose El Caballito because it was recommended to us by a friend.

The service was very nice and the ambience is great; however, the highlight of the evening was the rajas poblanas tacos. Don;t get me wrong, everything was delicious but the rajas poblanas tacos were out of this world.

Great place overall for casual dinning. Also, get the Pink Margarita!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Came here with a group of my friends and I had a great time! The drinks are delicious

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Came here for date night with my boyfriend on Saturday- around 10pm. We sat on the patio. The bartenders/servers were super friendly and helpful. Margaritas were awesome. Great ambiance on the patio and they were playing great throwback 2000s/90s music (think Usher) that everyone was singing to!

Would 1000% come back- I didn't know this patio existed. Think Hacienda but king west..awesome.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I found this place online by fluke. The website made the place look very intriguing. I went with my girlfriends for a long overdue girls night. The atmosphere was lively the dj was fantastic! The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was very delicious. I am a fan of tequila, I appreciate that they Cazadores to mix their drinks!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I love the tacos and the patio. Great taste, great cocktails and lively atmosphere.

One thing I'd change is the loud music. It sucks to have to yell my conversations. I tend to leave right after eating as I want to hear people speak.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! We stopped in before a Jays game and enjoyed every minute!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Taco Tuesday is the best! Service was great, he misheard my drink order but didn't do the classic "I think YOU said it wrong" move, just graciously changed the drink for me. A+!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The tacos were really tasty and the service was friendly. However, the loud music made it hard to have a conversation and it was too dark for my friend to even read the menu with his reading glasses. The washrooms were also ridiculously dark.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2016

El Caballito seems to have strongly declined compared the memories I have of it from 2 and 3 years ago. The service was poor (it was extremely hard to find or flag down a waitress, meaning we would have to wait extra long to get additional drinks and that really killed the vibe).

The music was also not Latin AT ALL and the DJ played Justin Bieber songs 4 times (this is NOT what I go to a Tequila bar for)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great time every time I dine there !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great patio, margaritas and staff is great! Always super friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Tacos was great. It was a bit chilly outside and didn’t know that it was self serve although I made reservations ahead of time with a pretty big group (it ended up being quite convenient because it was a big group after all)

This place needs to fix their phone situation. I had multiple call backs from the voicemail I left weeks ago and when I called for modification their voice mail was full and kept calling during work hours but no one answered. Someone should be always available to answer calls.

Inside is way to dark. Was hoping for a fun colourful atmosphere. Patio was nice but not much sunlight and is like a wind tunnel.

Highly suggest coming here for birthday for free tacos and yummy dessert!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The service and the drinks were great. The music was good, would have liked to have heard some Spanish music. Overall a great time!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The back patio does not take reservations, but we managed to find a spot nonetheless. Great atmosphere and very energetic. You feel like you're a part of something exciting. My only complaint is that the margaritas were somewhat overpriced. I am not sure what sorts of ingredients were being used, so excuse my ignorance, but $11 for half a wine glass of margarita topped with ice is pretty steep. Besides that we had a great time.

If the drinks were cheaper, I'd be a regular here. But then again it is King West so what do you expect.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We didn't eat anything, however the sangria was a bit disappointing. The overall atmosphere was chill and good place to hang out with a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Very limited drink and food menu - tacos only. Was kind of disappointing for a Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fabulous restaurant to eat chips and freshly made guacamole, and drink yummy margaritas with friends and/or family. Friendly bartenders and servers, as well as a great place to meet new people. Perfect place to go for a drink after work, and dance if you're feeling frisky for a Thursday or Friday evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was a bit disappointing and the plating was especially sloppy. They called it 'family style' but I call it lazy. All the tacos come out on a big platter and you have to remember which flavours you ordered and grab yours from the main platter. Not fun when you're already very hungry and it's hard to distinguish the different flavours because it looks like one big mess.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We attended for a bachelor party, Not everyone wanted to stay inside, so we went outside. The patio was great, but we had two groups divided and a minumium inside which wasn't considered with the outside party. I would recommend for groups of 10 or less to attend.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The young man who delivered our food on the patio was exceptional. I believe his name was Alex but I am not certain. My wife and I were able to find a nice table for two

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2016

We had the absolute best service at El Caballito and that really made the experience. My friend really enjoyed her margarita and the food was a little too spicy for me, but I am not the biggest fan of spice. The atmosphere was great and it was the perfect spot for the two of us to catch up. Again, our server really made the experience. He was so kind, made us laugh and checked in frequently (but not too frequently) to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoying our food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.