Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About El Caballito Tequila Bar

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH (Saturday Only)
11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Friday: 4:30pm - 1am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting, seasonal)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!
Brunch every Saturday starting at 11:00am!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (23)
Fun (23)
Authentic (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Spicy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent. We enjoyed a variety of tacos and had two pitchers of margarita. I look forward to our return

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was amazing except where we were seated. I booked online and in advance and even mentioned it was a bachelorette dinner. We were seated at a very less then desirable table that was quite uncomfortable. Food and service were very good other then that.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Good atmosphere and good for group! Great dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Good food and value for money. A little loud, but it adds to the ambiance of the restaurant. Service could have been faster but overall, good experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Great tacos, yummy marguaritas. Try a variety of both!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

I made a reservation online , only to show up and the restaurant be closed. Not happy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Andy was amazing. Loved the food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Menu was limited and food was very cold...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

I would go for the guacamole and chips alone. They were amazing. Found tacos to only be so si

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

Fantastic tuesday evenings where the tequila flows and tacos come cheap. They are all delicious. Bring your friends and have a good time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food was excellent! Sangria was good. Fun place but way too noisy with the live DJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

We went for my girlfriend’s birthday and they did a fantastic job hosting 25+ people for the event. Friendly service, great food and fun for all! Everyone was impressed with the venue! Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Always enjoy stopping by for my taco fix! Love the vibe and ambience. Service is always great! Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Perfect place for gathering with friends, having great margaritas and tacos!

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2017

This was my 4th or 5th visit. The food is fairly priced and good quality. There’s a good selection of beer and cocktails. The service is quick so it’s great before the theatre. Tuesday is Taco Tuesday’s so it’s even more reasonable. I’ll continue frequently El Caballito when downtown.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Spicy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The service was extremely slow so we ended up ordering two beers at a time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

It was great I throughly enjoyed the food but I couldn't hear my friends across from me. It was a little too loud for a friends get together. We hadn't seen each other in years.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Amazing service, and outstanding tacos! The perfect restaurant before going to the theatre. Food comes out in under 10 minutes 😊

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food is delicious. However the noise level is like being at a rock concert, right next to the speakers. We almost left without ordering but it was Saturday night and we didn't think we could get in anywhere else at that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Went to grab a bite before a comedy show. Great service and some of the most delicious tacos!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The ambiance and service at this spot is great. The food- not so much. Taco's were soggy and bland, queso fundido was hard and lacking any meat(also only came with three tortillas). The guacamole was probably the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Probably the best tacos I've had in Ontario. Authentic, fresh, fun. Margaritas are amazing and are not cheap on the alcohol content. Good times.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Terrible service

Waiter walked away before finishing taking our order

Forgot to give us our food

Waiter takes our food away without asking when we clearly are still eating and plate is not empty

Waiter also gets my debit price dirty while putting it in the machine

Would not come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Had a good time! Sons b- day. All enjoyed. Liked live band.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

I had heard a lot about El Caballito, so I wanted to try it. The food and service was really good. I always appreciate that since I work in the industry myself. My only complaint would be I had asked for a booth in my reservation and the host bought us to a table with no booth. So, I don't know if people had reserved it or the host didn't read my note. But either way, it would have been nice if someone had acknowledged my request. Other than that, it was really good, I would go again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We go here a lot. Great vibe and authentic Mexican tacos served with a smile.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Food was great. Drinks were great. Service was good but very rushed. Place wasn’t overly crowded yet they whipped all the food on the table so fast it seemed like we had pre-ordered it from the car on the way over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Absolutely love the food here! The most authentic Mexican restaurant I’ve been to in downtown Toronto.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We arrived for our reservation for 9 people and they took us to a four person table and tried to give us a hard time when we wanted a bigger table.. will never go back after that experience. Then they kept offering a table to us and saying but there’s a reservation so you’ll need to be out by x time.
Really makes the customer feel like under appreciated and worthless !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Best brunch in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very good food, good staff but very too noisy for a dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2017

They did not advise of 2hr maximum until 10min before the 2hrs were up.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

I came here to catch up with a friend and the service, vibe, and beef tacos were excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Went here after work one day. Made a reservation but probably didn't need it (6:30 on a Tuesday). The patio was full and inside is pretty dark because it's a basement. The food was great - Tuesday's = cheap tacos! Service was good, maybe a little slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food but the back patio is very noisy and not a lot of service available as you have to get up and place your order yourself.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Restaurant was amazing and highly recommended the service was great music was fantastic and it’s a good Mexican vibe will be coming back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great place, been at El Caballito several times already, highly recommend the place for Mexican food.
Regrettably in this occasion I was surprised with the Host’s lack of service; kind of it was in a bad mood with no patience whatsoever...definitively can scare people away from such a fabulous place.
Careful there...the rest, 99 out 100

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a really great time, but we missed your pitcher of Margarita de casa. It's still listed on your website menu, but when we got to the restaurant the waiter said it was no linger available . We ended up paying a lot more for another pitcher which was only a little better tasting. Fun place!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

It was fun, great atmosphere! But so so so loud. Went to catch up with a friend. We were horse, steaming at each other by the end of the night. Definitely recommend checking it out, but don't go if you're looking for a more chill evening.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really expected the food to be better. Service wasn't great either. They brought the wrong order and gave us 3 extra tacos - we were nice and returned them instead of eating 3 free tacos. But they took sooo long to give us the right order and weren't even apologetic for messing up. Such a disappointment. Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant but unfortunately won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.