Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About El Caballito Tequila Bar

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH (Saturday Only)
11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Friday: 4:30pm - 1am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting, seasonal)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!
Brunch every Saturday starting at 11:00am!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (17)
See All
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Spicy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Tapas (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

It was fun, great atmosphere! But so so so loud. Went to catch up with a friend. We were horse, steaming at each other by the end of the night. Definitely recommend checking it out, but don't go if you're looking for a more chill evening.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Really expected the food to be better. Service wasn't great either. They brought the wrong order and gave us 3 extra tacos - we were nice and returned them instead of eating 3 free tacos. But they took sooo long to give us the right order and weren't even apologetic for messing up. Such a disappointment. Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant but unfortunately won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Met friends prior to a Tiff event, super casual and we ate on the back patio. It was fun with good tacos, pitcher of Margaritas was awesome, pitcher of red Sangria was only so so. Tip: by a pitcher as the regular drinks are VERY small :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Feel like their service is declining. Tables were sticky and the server showed up when we waved at her or needed something - rarely did she ask if we needed anything. The team in the back would bring out the food all disorganized - our table of 8 was trying to figure out what tacos we had and whose it was. I was expecting all my tacos to be on my plate not mixed up with other plates. Service was so slow we had to cancel our other plans. Not happy as I am a regular customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Simple menu but tasty offerings. Some of the tacos were a bit overfilled throwing off the balance of the fillings to the tortillas, but overall it was all delicious. The Relleño Tacos were out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ever been to a place that's known for their tacos at 11:30am on a Saturday and told they don't serve tacos because those are for dinner? I was. Walked in the front door and out the back... joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Poor, unprofessional service. Made this reservation for 12 people a week in advance but received a call at 9:30 the night before indicating that 1) there would be a flat 18% service charge (no big deal, to be expected) and 2) there would be a $60 minimum spend per person.

After pushing back I was able to negotiate this down to a $50 per person charge. With less than 24 hours notice I didn't have much choice to find a new venue.

Dinner itself was fine - good tacos and good drinks, nice corner table for our group. However, once we put in our order it was like our waiter forgot about us and despite trying to hail down a few waiters from our quite corner spot it took a long time to get a second round of drinks and food. Not to mention that on our first round of orders we didn't get all of the food or drink we ordered. Seemed like once they knew they had us in for a minimum spend and flat tip we didn't matter to the waiter or manager anymore.

On top of all of this, they snuck in a little extra tip for themselves on the bill. The flat service charge was now 20%! Half our group had already paid for their bills once we caught the 2% bump for what was very poor service and it wasn't worth the effort to trying to flag down the manager to scrape back a few dollars, but just goes back to the takeaway from the experience of unprofessional service. Wouldn't recommend this place for that reason alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I was searching for a place to take my coworkers for a good-bye get-together. My goals were to find a place that was not too expensive, casual enough to just sit and chill or leave if need be, and which would cater to the needs of vegetarians, pescatarians and non-pork eaters. I know it's hard to find such a place in that area, as most are geared toward expensive, all-out professional business parties (which our team definitely would pass on). I am happy to have found out that El Caballito met my expectations and even exceeded them when we tried their margarita pitchers and taco dishes. Simply amazing! El Caballito is an eccentric little hole which may seem out of place on King street amidst tall buildings and theatres. But once you enter, you find yourself in a dimly lit room where every last detail is thought through to create an enchantingly cozy atmosphere. I especially loved the DJ and how his music taste added a nice edge to the place. Prices were well worth the visit. I definitely recommend this for casual dining and drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great spot, live music, cheery staff, fun vibe. Great tasting food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Tapas, Authentic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

First time at El Caballito. Awesome place, great food and atmosphere! Our server Chad was fantastic and his recommendations were fabulous!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had my birthday dinner here and enjoyed the food, drinks and ambiance. With the DJ, the place is quite loud if you were looking to have more intimate conversations, but for our group it was fine. It was also late in the evening. Our server was great. He brought me a churro ice cream sandwich and a shot for my birthday. Overall a nice time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was really disappointing. If I hadn't known that I ordered ceviche, I wouldn't have guessed that is what I was serviced. The food was incredibly bland and pretty greasy. We had ordered the beef brisket chilaquiles and got pulled pork instead.

The restaurant itself is very nice but very noisy. The drinks were great. I wouldn't go back when there are much better options around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Love their guacamole! The best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went for brunch. Woman taking orders at the bar was very moody. Pancakes were supposed to have chocolate chips in them but they didn't. They didn't have any milk for coffee because all the milk packets were spoiled. My boyfriend whacked his head extremely hard on the ceiling in the stairwell because the ceiling is low but there's no markers to warn you of low ceiling. Food was very underwhelming! Seems like they're just trying to hop onto the food fad bandwagons. Definately trying to be like El Furniture and La Carnita but without any of the quality or atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We came here for a work get-together and they accommodated our large party and the food and margaritas were yummy!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our group enjoyed themselves. The food was very tasty as were the margaritas. Fun atmosphere, good service.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal, good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and drinks are always great! One of my favourite places. Great for sharing!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were very pleased with the food and service. We arrived without any foreknowledge and were really very impressed with the food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food as always. Repeated my order a couple of times but it was still incorrectly made. One member of the patio staff is incredibly unprofessional. Prefer the atmosphere inside the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was delicious with a twist on a typical brunch meal - we got the benedict and churro pancakes. Servers were nice and attentive without being overbearing. Went on a day where the indoor portion of the restaurant was closed so we were seated to the patio. Would have been better if a portion of the patio was covered to minimize some of the wind, as we went on a very windy day. The wind picked up pieces of dirt and dust that blew onto our food, which was disappointing considering the food was really tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Starting to become a regular Tuesday thing for the delicious fish tacos! It can get a bit too noisy after 630-7 as the Mariachi band starts playing...but it's a fun vibe. The only comment on improvement is that there are a few too many different servers and as such, they tend to forget things or mix up orders often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I was a frequent diner up until the new menu. I ordered 3 different kinds and I thought all tasted awful. No variety as the menu had two tacos with re fried beans and 3 with adobo. Mostly all tacos have a dairy component. My table ordered 5 different tacos and each were a disappointment. They were all bland and tasteless. The one positive we're the size, the tacos were overly stuffed which we appreciated.

I miss many of my favourites like the pork belly and rainbow trout. I probably will not be returning until a new menu is unveiled. I'm very sad. I loved this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent experience! Baja tacos were amazing!!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was my second time there with a bunch of friends and I simply think believe it's perfect. Nothing else to add.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Live Music, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great service and amazing food, the atmosphere is a bit loud because of the music and many groups of people having conversations but it is well worth it to go and get food and drinks and have amazing service and even better food

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great patio (although it was super windy when we went) - would definitely go again. Tacos were delicious. Tequila was amazing. If you love tacos and tequila, this is the place to be. Everyone had a great time. The Margaritas were perfect!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great place, had a great time . Food was really good, everybody in my party was happy

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The ceviche, queso fundido and tacos are outstanding! We were there before seeing a play. Great service with plenty of time to go for a short walk before the theatre. We did find the music extremely loud, which made the noise level that much higher with everyone trying to talk over it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Kinda loud and over priced for tacos in the city. Even for their Tuesday taco deal (3.50 for a taco), Id suggest trying other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I came here for my birthday and my reservation was for 8 PM, but they were able to seat us three sooner. It was our first time, but we had heard good things about this place. Our server was bubbly and attentive, and the food was really tasty! I had several amazing-sounding options, but the mushroom taco and octopus taco were my (our) favourite! The booze list is impressive and the Margarita Rose and Mezcal Mule are recommended ;) To start, we had the taro chips and fresh guacamole...we'll be back for more of those! And the churro ice cream sandwich was everything we had hoped it would be! No doubt, we will be back.
The only downside was the music was pretty loud, and we were yelling our words to each other.
All in all, great overall experience. We will be back to check out the patio, and stuff ourselves full of more tacos y tequila!

Thank you, El Cabillito, for making my birthday dinner a great way to end the day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazinglt fast service for our group of 15! Servers were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Order some tacos. Thought the guac had a bit too much lime/citrus. Taro chips were nice. Went on a Wednesday to try and snag the $1 tacos but you have to buy the signature drink in order to get $1 taco. We ordered the michelada but it wasn't authentic. Overall I'd give 3.5 if I could though. Fair price but nothing too special/different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wasn't told about the 1$ taco with beer but asked and had that. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is not Mexican food. Tacos were fairly bland. No sauce came with them. The shells on a few were not even tortillas, Im pretty sure they were roti. I know tortillas and we did not get tortillas with at least 2 of our dishes.

Quest fundido was mozzarella and cheddar with ground up greasy sausage, not chorizo.

Service was attentive and quick. Place is busy, loud and the air is stale. It's underground with no windows.

Overall would not go back. This is a bar that serves "Mexican-like food" not a restaurant for people who actually know Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The ambiance is kinda fun for late night or after work eats, but for brunch it's ok. It's dark. The brunch menu is decent, but no option for small desserts other than the full churro pancake. Had the chipotle benedict which looked plain, but tasted alright. Could use a lot more seasoning. We asked for black pepper and hot sauce, and the hot sauce made all the difference to the otherwise quite bland benedict. I bought the bottle of hot sauce, which was $15. The mimosa's good, standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was great and prices were average.
It's a small taco menu, really focused on having a drink or quick bite.
Our server was knowledgable and patient.
The first impression was not great so luckily everything else made up for it. We came in at 6 and where told our table has an 8pm reservation, who says that? Just make sure your service is speedy and you should be fine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Drinks were a little pricey but the tacos were outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

- Table was ready earlier
- Shrimp tacos was the best
- Strong mixed drinks
- Too noises, can barley hear the person across from me
- Waitress took long to bring water, hot sauce, extra napkins

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Way too noisy for a 630 reservation on a Saturday night. Music was blaring, I couldn't hear my date in front of me. The food was just okay, we had to flag our waitress down to order our meal as once she dropped off our drinks she started playing with the at the DJ booth. Margaritas were tasty, chicken tinga tacos were good, the brisket taco fine, but the pork belly taco was just disappointing. Won't come back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.