Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About El Caballito Tequila Bar

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH (Saturday Only)
11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Friday: 4:30pm - 1am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting, seasonal)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!
Brunch every Saturday starting at 11:00am!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Regardless of the size of your party, El Caballito is the perfect place to host an event. The atmosphere is fun, the food and drinks are fresh and delicious and we have an experienced team of hosts to make sure you and your guests leave satisfied.

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Spicy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Went for brunch. Woman taking orders at the bar was very moody. Pancakes were supposed to have chocolate chips in them but they didn't. They didn't have any milk for coffee because all the milk packets were spoiled. My boyfriend whacked his head extremely hard on the ceiling in the stairwell because the ceiling is low but there's no markers to warn you of low ceiling. Food was very underwhelming! Seems like they're just trying to hop onto the food fad bandwagons. Definately trying to be like El Furniture and La Carnita but without any of the quality or atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our group enjoyed themselves. The food was very tasty as were the margaritas. Fun atmosphere, good service.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal, good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and drinks are always great! One of my favourite places. Great for sharing!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were very pleased with the food and service. We arrived without any foreknowledge and were really very impressed with the food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food as always. Repeated my order a couple of times but it was still incorrectly made. One member of the patio staff is incredibly unprofessional. Prefer the atmosphere inside the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was delicious with a twist on a typical brunch meal - we got the benedict and churro pancakes. Servers were nice and attentive without being overbearing. Went on a day where the indoor portion of the restaurant was closed so we were seated to the patio. Would have been better if a portion of the patio was covered to minimize some of the wind, as we went on a very windy day. The wind picked up pieces of dirt and dust that blew onto our food, which was disappointing considering the food was really tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Starting to become a regular Tuesday thing for the delicious fish tacos! It can get a bit too noisy after 630-7 as the Mariachi band starts playing...but it's a fun vibe. The only comment on improvement is that there are a few too many different servers and as such, they tend to forget things or mix up orders often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I was a frequent diner up until the new menu. I ordered 3 different kinds and I thought all tasted awful. No variety as the menu had two tacos with re fried beans and 3 with adobo. Mostly all tacos have a dairy component. My table ordered 5 different tacos and each were a disappointment. They were all bland and tasteless. The one positive we're the size, the tacos were overly stuffed which we appreciated.

I miss many of my favourites like the pork belly and rainbow trout. I probably will not be returning until a new menu is unveiled. I'm very sad. I loved this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent experience! Baja tacos were amazing!!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was my second time there with a bunch of friends and I simply think believe it's perfect. Nothing else to add.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Live Music, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great service and amazing food, the atmosphere is a bit loud because of the music and many groups of people having conversations but it is well worth it to go and get food and drinks and have amazing service and even better food

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great patio (although it was super windy when we went) - would definitely go again. Tacos were delicious. Tequila was amazing. If you love tacos and tequila, this is the place to be. Everyone had a great time. The Margaritas were perfect!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great place, had a great time . Food was really good, everybody in my party was happy

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The ceviche, queso fundido and tacos are outstanding! We were there before seeing a play. Great service with plenty of time to go for a short walk before the theatre. We did find the music extremely loud, which made the noise level that much higher with everyone trying to talk over it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Kinda loud and over priced for tacos in the city. Even for their Tuesday taco deal (3.50 for a taco), Id suggest trying other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I came here for my birthday and my reservation was for 8 PM, but they were able to seat us three sooner. It was our first time, but we had heard good things about this place. Our server was bubbly and attentive, and the food was really tasty! I had several amazing-sounding options, but the mushroom taco and octopus taco were my (our) favourite! The booze list is impressive and the Margarita Rose and Mezcal Mule are recommended ;) To start, we had the taro chips and fresh guacamole...we'll be back for more of those! And the churro ice cream sandwich was everything we had hoped it would be! No doubt, we will be back.
The only downside was the music was pretty loud, and we were yelling our words to each other.
All in all, great overall experience. We will be back to check out the patio, and stuff ourselves full of more tacos y tequila!

Thank you, El Cabillito, for making my birthday dinner a great way to end the day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazinglt fast service for our group of 15! Servers were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Order some tacos. Thought the guac had a bit too much lime/citrus. Taro chips were nice. Went on a Wednesday to try and snag the $1 tacos but you have to buy the signature drink in order to get $1 taco. We ordered the michelada but it wasn't authentic. Overall I'd give 3.5 if I could though. Fair price but nothing too special/different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wasn't told about the 1$ taco with beer but asked and had that. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is not Mexican food. Tacos were fairly bland. No sauce came with them. The shells on a few were not even tortillas, Im pretty sure they were roti. I know tortillas and we did not get tortillas with at least 2 of our dishes.

Quest fundido was mozzarella and cheddar with ground up greasy sausage, not chorizo.

Service was attentive and quick. Place is busy, loud and the air is stale. It's underground with no windows.

Overall would not go back. This is a bar that serves "Mexican-like food" not a restaurant for people who actually know Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The ambiance is kinda fun for late night or after work eats, but for brunch it's ok. It's dark. The brunch menu is decent, but no option for small desserts other than the full churro pancake. Had the chipotle benedict which looked plain, but tasted alright. Could use a lot more seasoning. We asked for black pepper and hot sauce, and the hot sauce made all the difference to the otherwise quite bland benedict. I bought the bottle of hot sauce, which was $15. The mimosa's good, standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was great and prices were average.
It's a small taco menu, really focused on having a drink or quick bite.
Our server was knowledgable and patient.
The first impression was not great so luckily everything else made up for it. We came in at 6 and where told our table has an 8pm reservation, who says that? Just make sure your service is speedy and you should be fine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Drinks were a little pricey but the tacos were outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

- Table was ready earlier
- Shrimp tacos was the best
- Strong mixed drinks
- Too noises, can barley hear the person across from me
- Waitress took long to bring water, hot sauce, extra napkins

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Way too noisy for a 630 reservation on a Saturday night. Music was blaring, I couldn't hear my date in front of me. The food was just okay, we had to flag our waitress down to order our meal as once she dropped off our drinks she started playing with the at the DJ booth. Margaritas were tasty, chicken tinga tacos were good, the brisket taco fine, but the pork belly taco was just disappointing. Won't come back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best suited for a group of friends or bday party. The House margarita is amazing and staff friendly. The beet tacos was disgusting. Chicken, beef, nachos and guacamole was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The music and mariachi band were way too loud on Tuesday and it made it difficult to talk and be able to enjoy conversations with guests. Need more variety on the menu beyond just tacos on Tuesday. Should serve rice and beans as a side option with meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Yet another excellent time at El Caballito. Ever since I discovered this establishment I can't stop going back! This was our first time experiencing Saturday Brunch and it was delicious! Have been back at least a dozen times and will continue to return. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

First time here, everything was great! There menu is small, it is a Mexican taco place (keep that in mind). Fantastic place to grab tacos - they were delicious! Also try their Brisket (to die for).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We have been visiting for a lot of years now and this place has not failed to impress.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was great, would definitely recommend coming on a Tuesday for Tacos. Mariachi band was a little annoying and music was too loud and could not conversation at times as they would come table side, but good place for food and drinks, would still go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great spot for a quick bite, in addition taco tuesdays a great way to enjoy all the different tacos at a great low price. The live band was great too

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

El Caballito seems un poco loco, or maybe I should say schizophrenic. Does it want to be a dive bar? Does it want to be a high end tequila bar? Does it want to be a casual, but high end restaurant?

I don't know. I did have a good meal and drinks at El Caballito, and may have even given it 4 stars if the menus were not disturbingly greasy/dirty along with greasy silverware....

And if you are going to brag about your extensive list of Tequila's and Mezcal then maybe you should actually have the ones on your menu in stock. Or if not in stock then the wait staff should know that in advance.

All in all El Caballito was just a little short on being a well run establishment.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Me and a couple of friends went for brunch. Ordered the egg bennys and the braised beef, with the churros pancake to share.
Entrees were great. We had the hot chocolates.
General impression is that it's a great place to grab a casual and fun drink with friends, go for some tapas, however the dishes are packed with lots of calories. So one experience for me was enough.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service, delicious food and excellent margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Best Taco place in Toronto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The place was very popular, and therefore noisy. We found the food cold, and couldnt really distinquish the tastes between tacos. The guacamole was fabulous.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Taco Tuesdays are a must at this joint. Cheap, super tasty tacos. Be sure to make a reservation as the place fills up quick on Tuesday nights after around 6pm.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really bad service. We wanted to have drinks and only 1 round made it to our table.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.