Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About El Caballito Tequila Bar

El Caballito is downtown Toronto's only Tequila Bar

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH (Saturday Only)
11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER
Monday: 4:30pm to 11pm (PATIO ONLY)
Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 12am
Thursday - Friday: 4:30pm - 1am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1am

LUNCH (Patio only, weather permitting, seasonal)
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - late

*Patio is first come, first serve only. No reservations available for the patio*

Cross Street:
West of Simcoe Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 628-9838

Website:
http://www.elcaballito.ca/

Entertainment:
Live music every Tuesday!
Brunch every Saturday starting at 11:00am!

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

What better way to countdown to the New Year than with your favourite tacos and tequila? Come celebrate with the team at El Cab because, hey, resolutions don't start until tomorrow, right?

El Caballito Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Fun (19)
Hot Spot (14)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Spicy (8)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 13 hours ago

The service was extremely slow so we ended up ordering two beers at a time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Amazing service, and outstanding tacos! The perfect restaurant before going to the theatre. Food comes out in under 10 minutes 😊

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food is delicious. However the noise level is like being at a rock concert, right next to the speakers. We almost left without ordering but it was Saturday night and we didn't think we could get in anywhere else at that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Went to grab a bite before a comedy show. Great service and some of the most delicious tacos!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The ambiance and service at this spot is great. The food- not so much. Taco's were soggy and bland, queso fundido was hard and lacking any meat(also only came with three tortillas). The guacamole was probably the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Probably the best tacos I've had in Ontario. Authentic, fresh, fun. Margaritas are amazing and are not cheap on the alcohol content. Good times.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Terrible service

Waiter walked away before finishing taking our order

Forgot to give us our food

Waiter takes our food away without asking when we clearly are still eating and plate is not empty

Waiter also gets my debit price dirty while putting it in the machine

Would not come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Had a good time! Sons b- day. All enjoyed. Liked live band.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

I had heard a lot about El Caballito, so I wanted to try it. The food and service was really good. I always appreciate that since I work in the industry myself. My only complaint would be I had asked for a booth in my reservation and the host bought us to a table with no booth. So, I don't know if people had reserved it or the host didn't read my note. But either way, it would have been nice if someone had acknowledged my request. Other than that, it was really good, I would go again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We go here a lot. Great vibe and authentic Mexican tacos served with a smile.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Food was great. Drinks were great. Service was good but very rushed. Place wasn’t overly crowded yet they whipped all the food on the table so fast it seemed like we had pre-ordered it from the car on the way over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Absolutely love the food here! The most authentic Mexican restaurant I’ve been to in downtown Toronto.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We arrived for our reservation for 9 people and they took us to a four person table and tried to give us a hard time when we wanted a bigger table.. will never go back after that experience. Then they kept offering a table to us and saying but there’s a reservation so you’ll need to be out by x time.
Really makes the customer feel like under appreciated and worthless !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Best brunch in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very good food, good staff but very too noisy for a dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2017

They did not advise of 2hr maximum until 10min before the 2hrs were up.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

I came here to catch up with a friend and the service, vibe, and beef tacos were excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Went here after work one day. Made a reservation but probably didn't need it (6:30 on a Tuesday). The patio was full and inside is pretty dark because it's a basement. The food was great - Tuesday's = cheap tacos! Service was good, maybe a little slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food but the back patio is very noisy and not a lot of service available as you have to get up and place your order yourself.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Restaurant was amazing and highly recommended the service was great music was fantastic and it’s a good Mexican vibe will be coming back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great place, been at El Caballito several times already, highly recommend the place for Mexican food.
Regrettably in this occasion I was surprised with the Host’s lack of service; kind of it was in a bad mood with no patience whatsoever...definitively can scare people away from such a fabulous place.
Careful there...the rest, 99 out 100

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a really great time, but we missed your pitcher of Margarita de casa. It's still listed on your website menu, but when we got to the restaurant the waiter said it was no linger available . We ended up paying a lot more for another pitcher which was only a little better tasting. Fun place!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

It was fun, great atmosphere! But so so so loud. Went to catch up with a friend. We were horse, steaming at each other by the end of the night. Definitely recommend checking it out, but don't go if you're looking for a more chill evening.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really expected the food to be better. Service wasn't great either. They brought the wrong order and gave us 3 extra tacos - we were nice and returned them instead of eating 3 free tacos. But they took sooo long to give us the right order and weren't even apologetic for messing up. Such a disappointment. Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant but unfortunately won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Met friends prior to a Tiff event, super casual and we ate on the back patio. It was fun with good tacos, pitcher of Margaritas was awesome, pitcher of red Sangria was only so so. Tip: by a pitcher as the regular drinks are VERY small :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Feel like their service is declining. Tables were sticky and the server showed up when we waved at her or needed something - rarely did she ask if we needed anything. The team in the back would bring out the food all disorganized - our table of 8 was trying to figure out what tacos we had and whose it was. I was expecting all my tacos to be on my plate not mixed up with other plates. Service was so slow we had to cancel our other plans. Not happy as I am a regular customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Simple menu but tasty offerings. Some of the tacos were a bit overfilled throwing off the balance of the fillings to the tortillas, but overall it was all delicious. The Relleño Tacos were out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ever been to a place that's known for their tacos at 11:30am on a Saturday and told they don't serve tacos because those are for dinner? I was. Walked in the front door and out the back... joke.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Poor, unprofessional service. Made this reservation for 12 people a week in advance but received a call at 9:30 the night before indicating that 1) there would be a flat 18% service charge (no big deal, to be expected) and 2) there would be a $60 minimum spend per person.

After pushing back I was able to negotiate this down to a $50 per person charge. With less than 24 hours notice I didn't have much choice to find a new venue.

Dinner itself was fine - good tacos and good drinks, nice corner table for our group. However, once we put in our order it was like our waiter forgot about us and despite trying to hail down a few waiters from our quite corner spot it took a long time to get a second round of drinks and food. Not to mention that on our first round of orders we didn't get all of the food or drink we ordered. Seemed like once they knew they had us in for a minimum spend and flat tip we didn't matter to the waiter or manager anymore.

On top of all of this, they snuck in a little extra tip for themselves on the bill. The flat service charge was now 20%! Half our group had already paid for their bills once we caught the 2% bump for what was very poor service and it wasn't worth the effort to trying to flag down the manager to scrape back a few dollars, but just goes back to the takeaway from the experience of unprofessional service. Wouldn't recommend this place for that reason alone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I was searching for a place to take my coworkers for a good-bye get-together. My goals were to find a place that was not too expensive, casual enough to just sit and chill or leave if need be, and which would cater to the needs of vegetarians, pescatarians and non-pork eaters. I know it's hard to find such a place in that area, as most are geared toward expensive, all-out professional business parties (which our team definitely would pass on). I am happy to have found out that El Caballito met my expectations and even exceeded them when we tried their margarita pitchers and taco dishes. Simply amazing! El Caballito is an eccentric little hole which may seem out of place on King street amidst tall buildings and theatres. But once you enter, you find yourself in a dimly lit room where every last detail is thought through to create an enchantingly cozy atmosphere. I especially loved the DJ and how his music taste added a nice edge to the place. Prices were well worth the visit. I definitely recommend this for casual dining and drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great spot, live music, cheery staff, fun vibe. Great tasting food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Tapas, Authentic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

First time at El Caballito. Awesome place, great food and atmosphere! Our server Chad was fantastic and his recommendations were fabulous!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had my birthday dinner here and enjoyed the food, drinks and ambiance. With the DJ, the place is quite loud if you were looking to have more intimate conversations, but for our group it was fine. It was also late in the evening. Our server was great. He brought me a churro ice cream sandwich and a shot for my birthday. Overall a nice time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was really disappointing. If I hadn't known that I ordered ceviche, I wouldn't have guessed that is what I was serviced. The food was incredibly bland and pretty greasy. We had ordered the beef brisket chilaquiles and got pulled pork instead.

The restaurant itself is very nice but very noisy. The drinks were great. I wouldn't go back when there are much better options around.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Love their guacamole! The best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went for brunch. Woman taking orders at the bar was very moody. Pancakes were supposed to have chocolate chips in them but they didn't. They didn't have any milk for coffee because all the milk packets were spoiled. My boyfriend whacked his head extremely hard on the ceiling in the stairwell because the ceiling is low but there's no markers to warn you of low ceiling. Food was very underwhelming! Seems like they're just trying to hop onto the food fad bandwagons. Definately trying to be like El Furniture and La Carnita but without any of the quality or atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We came here for a work get-together and they accommodated our large party and the food and margaritas were yummy!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our group enjoyed themselves. The food was very tasty as were the margaritas. Fun atmosphere, good service.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great meal, good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and drinks are always great! One of my favourite places. Great for sharing!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.