About El Barzon

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Authentic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Romantic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Spicy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place, the food was amazing and gr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place, the food was amazing and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great craft cocktails. Menu is a differe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great craft cocktails. Menu is a different with Mexican and Italian foods. We all ordered Mexican food which was okay but overpriced.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food. Fun craft drink menu. Great s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food. Fun craft drink menu. Great service. Perfect for girl's night out before the theater. Would go back with my husband. Looking forward to enjoying the patio in warmer weather.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is overwhelming , and the Mexic ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The menu is overwhelming , and the Mexican options are overpriced all in all I would go again after studying the menu the day before .

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

El Barzon is totally unexpected. When y ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 5, 2017

El Barzon is totally unexpected. When you walk in, you're transported to a comfortable and upscale dining room. The food is delicious! Who would've thought Mexican and Italian could be made so well under one roof? I don't know how, but they've done it! Really well!! I can't wait to go again and try something else... There's a large menu, so I'll be back often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was pleasantly surprised that we were ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised that we were seated for our 7 pm reservation precisely at 7!! Wow!! We started with a caprese salad and poblanos rellenos. The caprese salad was made with salad tomatoes rather than Campari tomatoes but it was still tasty! The poblano pepper was decent not terrific!

We found the drinks to be over priced but our service was impeccable. My wife ordered a pasta with Italian sausage recommended by the waitress and I ordered a chicken dish with artichoke hearts, capers, and olives. My wife LOVED her pasta. My chicken was ok but the sauce was very bland. We did order tres leches, one of my favorite Mexican desserts, it was terrific.

We will return but will do so in the summer and sit in their outside patio. This is the gem of the restaurant.

They had a bunch of awards on the wall for some of their food, but the few I looked at weren't even on the menu.

They say you can get Mexican or Italian but it is way more Italian with very little Mexican.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

my wife and i went here for the first ti ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

my wife and i went here for the first time, after hearing rave reviews. don't let the sketchy neighborhood turn you away - they have a well lit parking lot (and entrance) in the back. the food and service were amazing - you get to pick either Mexican or Italian, or both. they also had a fusion of both on their specials that day. chips and amazing salsa and a great Italian meal - can't beat it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was terrible. We sat for almost ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was terrible. We sat for almost 20 minutes with no service. Then we asked not one, not two, not three but FOUR different people who was our server and can we order drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Excellent food great wine list. Excell ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food great wine list. Excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready right when we arrive ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our table was ready right when we arrived, the host was very nice. The restaurant was very nice, we were greeted and served very quickly. We didn't really see anything on the mexican side of the menu that excited anyone as we dont really care for Mole sauces so, we all went with Italian.. it was good. The bread came out at the end of the meal and we requested 3 different wines on the wine list that they no longer had in stock. We finally settled on our third request. That was a bit of a bummer. The only thing we didnt really care for was the Calamari.. undercooked and some of the pastas seemed a bit salty. I would go back though, over all very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our first time. We really enjo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our first time. We really enjoyed the eclectic menu. I had the goat, and it was very tender. The calamari was a good way to start. We'll come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderfully diverse menu, authentic cuis ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderfully diverse menu, authentic cuisine, pleasing options to a diverse group of diners and not too loud

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very well executed classic Italian and M ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very well executed classic Italian and Mexican dishes .

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, , Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at this restaura ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant, but it will surely not be our last. We had a delightful dinner and sampled items from both "sides" of the menu. I would highly recommend the goat. I haven't had anything like it since I dined at the Girl and the Goat in Chicago.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

El Barzon is one of our favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

El Barzon is one of our favorite restaurants! Our daughter came home to surprise us for the holidays and the staff at El Barzon (especially Ari and the manager whom our daughters worked with directly) helped them pull off the surprise! They helped make our holiday so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing, and the service is ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food is amazing, and the service is excellent!!! Alex was cheerful, very attentive, knowledgable regarding the food and spirits and always a pleasure to see!!!

Tags: Authentic, , Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food, the server was knowled ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Enjoyed the food, the server was knowledgeable, but it was very difficult to have a conversation. Our Tuesday evening meal was early, and the restaurant was not full yet we still had difficulty hearing.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Everything was excellent! We had a great ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was excellent! We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Best food EVER!!!! Wish they ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing. Best food EVER!!!! Wish they served frozen drinks, but everything was fabulous. My favorite restaurant by a mile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had heard a lot of good things about E ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I had heard a lot of good things about El Barzon so my expectations were high. We enjoyed the food. Our waiter was not around much but he is lucky to have his two bussers to assist. Food was very good. We had the veal chop cooked two different ways Grilled Calamari was also excellent.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Every single appetizer and entree that w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Every single appetizer and entree that was served to our party of five was absolutely incredible. There literally wasn't a single thing wrong with any dish and I would have gladly ordered any of the entrees at the table.

Our family went mostly with the Italian side but the menu is extremely extensive so I look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined in for a friends 42nd birthday. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We dined in for a friends 42nd birthday. All of us are in the hospitality industry and rarely have a wonderful time out. Alex was our server and he took amazing care of us! I have never had a better dining experience. The food was to die for and he made us all feel like we were at home. We Will definitely be telling everyone and dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at El Barzon many times bu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have dined at El Barzon many times but were very disappointed with this visit. Service was slow (except the young lady refreshing water and bussing tables), but more important was that the food was not prepared well. All dishes were lukewarm at best, and two (out of 4) had to be returned. The daily special was especially bad (Chiles Rellenos).

I will wait until next summer when the patio reopens to give it one more try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent service & creative menu. Want ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service & creative menu. Want Mexican or Italian but can't decide?? Don't. El Barzon has both & it's very authentic & you can taste the love in the food. Neighborhood isn't the greatest but we had no issues. Can't wait to go again (the Barbacoa is a must!)

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, , Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love it here great food service

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love it here great food service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience was a mixed bag. Luis, our w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Experience was a mixed bag. Luis, our waiter was very good, informative, and attentive. We all elected to stay on the Mexican side of the menu so I can't speak to the Italian fare. Positives. . .chips and salsa were fresh and the flavor of the green and red salsas was excellent. Restaurant was clean, people friendly, and service was very good. Mole sauce, was highly recommended by Luis, and my two friends who ordered it loved it! Luis also brought us a side of the Mole sauce to sample before ordering - which was nice. All the entree's were flavorful and the sauce on the Enchilada Suiza was fantastic. Room for improvement. . . 3 of the entrees were cool, not cold, but nowhere near where the temperature should have been. I believe Mexican food should be hot (temperature, not spice) to be enjoyed. All of the sauces and cheeses mix better at the proper temperature. The calamari, which was also highly recommended, was slightly overcooked and rubbery - but that is a risk of calamari, I guess. The margaritas, a Mexican staple, were underwhelming and served in large water glasses (very uninspiring). The $19.50 price tag on the top shelf margarita seemed significantly overpriced so we didn't bother trying. All-in-all it was a fine Mexican meal but nothing that set it apart from any other place in the area. Finally, we visited in November and the outdoor patio was closed for the season. I bet the atmosphere on the patio in the summer would make it a much more enjoyable experience. I plan on giving El Barzon another try in the summer - but will probably sample the Italian side of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The men loved their meals. The women wou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The men loved their meals. The women would have picked something different, next time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first dining experience at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was my first dining experience at El Barzon and it was wonderful. I chose this venue to celebrate my birthday with my family. I had heard about this restaurant but hadn't been there. The wait staff was incredibly friendly and informative about the menu and their specials. I had a great time and will be returning. The food was exquisite and reasonable. Thank you El Barzon for a memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found a hair in my butter and a mosquito ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Found a hair in my butter and a mosquito in my wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We drove 50 minutes to get there. We wer ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We drove 50 minutes to get there. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The food and service was excellent. Nice jem in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here numerous times. We br ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have dined here numerous times. We brought dear friends this time. Overall a four star. However, in main dining room noise level is quite high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time dining at El Barz ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was my first time dining at El Barzon. I took a friend for dinner who had been there, and we both enjoyed it very much. The food was delicious and very nice service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great combined menu of Mexican and Itali ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great combined menu of Mexican and Italian cuisine. A surprisingly good wine list which is reasonably priced. Quite busy on a Friday or Saturday night; our Sunday afternoon experience was personal and exemplary!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly service. everything seem ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great friendly service. everything seemed authentic and homemade.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit at El Barzon, o ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit at El Barzon, our server and meals were excellent. Definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good creativity and taste was exceptiona ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good creativity and taste was exceptionally great!!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was great! We will be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've eaten at El Barzón several times a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We've eaten at El Barzón several times and will continue to do so. It was the first visit for our out-of-town guests, and they were duly impressed. The food, of course, was terrific; and the ambiance on the enclosed patio was, as expected, relaxed and very pleasant. The serving staff was professional, attentive and unobtrusive - none of the over-friendliness that infects so many U.S. restaurants, even some fine-dining establishments - with no hint at all of rushing us. We noted that the owner is finishing up construction on a smaller, less formal restaurant next door, at the corner of Michigan and Junction. Can't wait to check it out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience at El Barzon has been mos ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My experience at El Barzon has been mostly positive. The most recent meal there was less than stellar unfortunately. The halibut was not as fresh as it was when I had it for lunch and was so thrilled with it as an entree 10 days earlier. Despite, this hiccup I'll go back to eat there because meals are usually delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! It was a first time for my family and we all enjoyed it very much. Nothing was wrong at all!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, , Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.