About El Barzon

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Spicy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined in for a friends 42nd birthday. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We dined in for a friends 42nd birthday. All of us are in the hospitality industry and rarely have a wonderful time out. Alex was our server and he took amazing care of us! I have never had a better dining experience. The food was to die for and he made us all feel like we were at home. We Will definitely be telling everyone and dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & creative menu. Want ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service & creative menu. Want Mexican or Italian but can't decide?? Don't. El Barzon has both & it's very authentic & you can taste the love in the food. Neighborhood isn't the greatest but we had no issues. Can't wait to go again (the Barbacoa is a must!)

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We have dined at El Barzon many times bu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have dined at El Barzon many times but were very disappointed with this visit. Service was slow (except the young lady refreshing water and bussing tables), but more important was that the food was not prepared well. All dishes were lukewarm at best, and two (out of 4) had to be returned. The daily special was especially bad (Chiles Rellenos).

I will wait until next summer when the patio reopens to give it one more try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We love it here great food service

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love it here great food service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience was a mixed bag. Luis, our w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Experience was a mixed bag. Luis, our waiter was very good, informative, and attentive. We all elected to stay on the Mexican side of the menu so I can't speak to the Italian fare. Positives. . .chips and salsa were fresh and the flavor of the green and red salsas was excellent. Restaurant was clean, people friendly, and service was very good. Mole sauce, was highly recommended by Luis, and my two friends who ordered it loved it! Luis also brought us a side of the Mole sauce to sample before ordering - which was nice. All the entree's were flavorful and the sauce on the Enchilada Suiza was fantastic. Room for improvement. . . 3 of the entrees were cool, not cold, but nowhere near where the temperature should have been. I believe Mexican food should be hot (temperature, not spice) to be enjoyed. All of the sauces and cheeses mix better at the proper temperature. The calamari, which was also highly recommended, was slightly overcooked and rubbery - but that is a risk of calamari, I guess. The margaritas, a Mexican staple, were underwhelming and served in large water glasses (very uninspiring). The $19.50 price tag on the top shelf margarita seemed significantly overpriced so we didn't bother trying. All-in-all it was a fine Mexican meal but nothing that set it apart from any other place in the area. Finally, we visited in November and the outdoor patio was closed for the season. I bet the atmosphere on the patio in the summer would make it a much more enjoyable experience. I plan on giving El Barzon another try in the summer - but will probably sample the Italian side of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The men loved their meals. The women wou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The men loved their meals. The women would have picked something different, next time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first dining experience at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was my first dining experience at El Barzon and it was wonderful. I chose this venue to celebrate my birthday with my family. I had heard about this restaurant but hadn't been there. The wait staff was incredibly friendly and informative about the menu and their specials. I had a great time and will be returning. The food was exquisite and reasonable. Thank you El Barzon for a memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found a hair in my butter and a mosquito ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Found a hair in my butter and a mosquito in my wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We drove 50 minutes to get there. We wer ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We drove 50 minutes to get there. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The food and service was excellent. Nice jem in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here numerous times. We br ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have dined here numerous times. We brought dear friends this time. Overall a four star. However, in main dining room noise level is quite high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time dining at El Barz ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was my first time dining at El Barzon. I took a friend for dinner who had been there, and we both enjoyed it very much. The food was delicious and very nice service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great combined menu of Mexican and Itali ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great combined menu of Mexican and Italian cuisine. A surprisingly good wine list which is reasonably priced. Quite busy on a Friday or Saturday night; our Sunday afternoon experience was personal and exemplary!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly service. everything seem ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great friendly service. everything seemed authentic and homemade.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit at El Barzon, o ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit at El Barzon, our server and meals were excellent. Definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good creativity and taste was exceptiona ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good creativity and taste was exceptionally great!!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was great! We will be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've eaten at El Barzón several times a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We've eaten at El Barzón several times and will continue to do so. It was the first visit for our out-of-town guests, and they were duly impressed. The food, of course, was terrific; and the ambiance on the enclosed patio was, as expected, relaxed and very pleasant. The serving staff was professional, attentive and unobtrusive - none of the over-friendliness that infects so many U.S. restaurants, even some fine-dining establishments - with no hint at all of rushing us. We noted that the owner is finishing up construction on a smaller, less formal restaurant next door, at the corner of Michigan and Junction. Can't wait to check it out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience at El Barzon has been mos ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My experience at El Barzon has been mostly positive. The most recent meal there was less than stellar unfortunately. The halibut was not as fresh as it was when I had it for lunch and was so thrilled with it as an entree 10 days earlier. Despite, this hiccup I'll go back to eat there because meals are usually delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! It was a first time for my family and we all enjoyed it very much. Nothing was wrong at all!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Absolutely LOVED the whole experience, b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Absolutely LOVED the whole experience, beautiful patio, very clean! Friendly staff, interesting menu, but VERY disappointed in the $19.00 margarita! Really?? It was made with Don Julio, OJ, mix & grand marnier; served in a wine glass & full of ice. way way over priced. It was the only item that was disappointing. Was shocked to see $38.00 for 2 mediocre margaritas. Otherwise reasonable prices. Very good food. Just don't order the " top shelf" Margarita. Great birthday desert presentation. 😃

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

El barzon never disappoints. Best saltim ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2016

El barzon never disappoints. Best saltimbucca I have ever had. Great menu. Great service. My go to to impress people!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was not the best dining experience we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was not the best dining experience we've had there. Food was ok, service ok, ambience fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Everything about the patio ambiance was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything about the patio ambiance was wonderful. My wife and I kicked off our five year wedding anniversary here and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was exceptional! Our waiter w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food was exceptional! Our waiter was fabulous. I would highly recommend this restaurant...the food was fresh and authentic with a different flair. Their margaritas were fantasti; made with fresh squeezed organic lemons and limes. We can't wait to go back:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great time. We also enjoyed ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 21, 2016

great food, great time. We also enjoyed the birthday treat for my husband. Very yummy

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to celebrate anniversary. Been to E ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went to celebrate anniversary. Been to El Barzon 3-4 time prior, but not in over a year. Parking was gated and improved. Back entrance and patio for casual dining was new and nice, but we chose to dine inside where it was quieter.

Wife's Tris Di Pasta was good but not as good as previously.

My daily special of a variety of seafood was plentiful but mostly overcooked and underseasoned. Half lobster tail was particularly rubbery. Salmon and Sea Bass just average.

Calamari appetizer was mediocre for $10.

Waitress forgot to bring bread, as well as my salad and my wife's soup.

Waitress offered coffee/tea at end of meal but no dessert. Also did not offer to make up for forgetting soup and salad - No price adjustment, no free dessert, etc.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The host was a little frazzled as it was ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The host was a little frazzled as it was very busy, but overall everything was great. Our server never rushed us and the food was outstanding

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful patio setting on a late summer ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Beautiful patio setting on a late summer evening; lasagna, so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good food but not outstanding. Pricey f ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food but not outstanding. Pricey for Mexican and Italian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been here twice and both times I've ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been here twice and both times I've been blown away by the food. The ambience is nice and the outside patio is a nice touch when its warm. This is a real diamond in the rough and you could easily drive right past it, but don't!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I visited El Barzon this ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I visited El Barzon this past weekend for our anniversary dinner. We never would have decided on this place based on its street appeal-- a very generic-looking storefront, set off a major road, not a particularly busy stretch of town, etc. But we were recommended to visit by family members, so gave it a shot-- and so glad we did. The back entrance is BEAUTIFUL. Semi-outdoor seating in a covered patio structure with so much ambiance.

We were not greeted promptly, and had to remind the hostess to notify our server after waiting for about 15 minutes or so. However, once greeted, our server was very attentive and pleasant, and seemed knowledgeable and excited about the offerings. The food was delicious, and the drinks were great as well.

The dessert menu was presented on an electronic tablet, and there were plenty of options. We selected the chocolate cake, which was delicious. My espresso was not great, but may have just been a one-off experience (a poorly pulled shot, perhaps).

We'll definitely be back for future special occasions.

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

First time, and I'll be back. Louis was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time, and I'll be back.

Louis was our wonderful waiter!

Yum!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mexican/Italian fusion is definitely a w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Mexican/Italian fusion is definitely a weird concept, but the food is awesome and the place itself cool, especially the outdoor seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved this place. Goat chops wer ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Really loved this place. Goat chops were delicious. Cactus soup and an Italian/Mexican Fusion pasta dish were outstanding. We ordered from the special of the day selections. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come for the three pasta dish, excelle ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I come for the three pasta dish, excellent every time.

Thank you for the special dessert served to my daughter for her birthday too!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was really great, despite th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was really great, despite the fact that we asked to switch tables twice (once because someone was cold, once because it was starting to rain).

The food is honestly just ok - maybe I didn't order the right thing, but I felt like the food was not that impressive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Very friendly staff, great entree select ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very friendly staff, great entree selection! One of the nicest patio restaurants that we have been to in the Detroit area. Great for dining with friends or for a romantic night out. Waitstaff a bit slow on getting our check but overall get place to dine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant! Service is alwa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant! Service is alway excellent, and we've never had a bad meal there. We love the covered outdoor patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a pleasure it was to be with our da ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a pleasure it was to be with our daughter and son-in-law at El Barzon! They live in another city and are always anxious to eat a unique restaurant with excellent food, so they were very pleased. Because I had reserved a table in the front (quiet) room, and because we ate early, the room was quiet and we could actually hear one another without leaning over the table! OUr waitress had a huge smile on her face each tome she approached us - how welcoming!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.