Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

About El Barzon

Coming Soon!

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://elbarzonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Special Occasion (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Authentic (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fun (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Romantic (21)
Casual (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Spicy (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Live Music (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

El Barzon is consitant - good food, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. Never dissapointed here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The place is nice. Outside is better than inside. Food is good. The service is just ok. It was a great experience. Nice pasta and chips.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I felt it was very average. Nothing special for food at all. Certainly not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of the most unique menus available with delicious options, amazing outdoor vibe, excellent tequila drink options and wine selection. The service is always attentive, timely and friendly. Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Consistently great place for both Mexican and Italian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of my Top 5 Restaurants in the US!!.....Like a Great Wine.....It keeps getting Better and Better.....Cocktails are very Creative.....Food is over the Top

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a wonderful meal! Can't wait to go back with our family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service was perfect. We had been to this restAurant many years ago and were pleasantly surprised by the newly added addition which made our dining experience leaving us likx s were on a vacation. An added bonus was the quality of the food. Fun and interesting menu. We were sorry we were so full that dessert was not an option. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very good food and a Wonderfull selection of both Mexican and Italian, yes I said Mexican and Italian, food. Great beer and wine selection as well as full bar options and of course creative margaritas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was great as usual. We ate outside and the service was just as good. Food was hot,. I have never had a bad meal there. Just love the place and the owner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Enjoyed a beautiful evening with family and friends. Tried the goat and thought it was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

SERVICE WAS GRACIOUS AND WITH A SMILE.
FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. ASKED FOR EXTRAS
DELIVERED PROMPTLY. ALCOHOLIC DRINKS
ARE BIT ON THE EXPENSIVE SIDE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, and food. The fresh pasta and deserts are delicious. 👍👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a great meal here on the patio, choosing the Mexican side of the menu. The patio is such a great place to have a meal and enjoy the beautiful space. Our waiter, Gustavo, was excellent and we enjoyed talking to him about Mexico City. The food was spot on and the service was excellent. Overall, we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Loved it. Say on the patio, perfect day, great food. (Get the goat) great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I officially have a new favorite restaurant! El Barzon was better than I could have imagined! Took my fiancé for his birthday, and while they did not do anything special for the celebration---the food was outstanding and ambiance was top-notch! We LOVED the patio and we will be considering it for our rehearsal dinner. The asiago gnocchi with chorizo sauce was to die for, we just wish it wasn't a special and it could be on the menu all the time!! We will most certainty be back in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing food. A blend of Mexican and Italian with exquisite flavors. A definite gem!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The hostess was incredibly rude. She avoided the hostess stand as people waited. We had reservations and it took 10 minutes just to find someone and let them know we were there. She very rudely said it would be a couple minutes which turned into a half an hour. When confronted about the wait she stated "I told you we're working on it". Finally we just seated ourselves. Many patrons left because there was no one to seat them. They had at least 20 tables that were not bused and the manager could have cared less about any of it. Our waiter was terrific and the food was very good. However I will not be returning due to the horrible, incredibly rude hostess, and lack of management. You should not treat paying customers that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was pretty good, but service was abysmal. It took over 15 minutes after being seated to be acknowledged, another 20 minutes to receive our initial drink order, and 30 minutes after we finished our appetizers before our main course arrived. MANY other guests were also overheard complaining about the service and food time, with one patron even angrily yelling at a manager near our table. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a great meal and the wait staff was friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding! The patio was very inviting and comfortable. A wonderful evening at a reasonable price!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2017

El Barzon has been a favorite of ours since it opened. The porch seating is great, although the open flame heaters were too at times. The food is wonderful, service was attentive and responsive.

My one issue, a significant one, is that the bathroom was in need of more frequent attention and definitely needs some upgrading. It is not in keeping with the high quality of everything else.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place was recommended to us and it was incredible.
From the outside, it doesn't look anything special but once you go in there is a great outdoor and indoor place. We made reservation in advance.
Service was greatand the foot is excellent. We had one drink each and we both enjoyed it. Overall. Recommend it

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always the "right time" to visit El Barzon for dinner... or lunch. Even a better time when the patio is open for seating and enjoyment. Menu offers both Mexican and Italian. We've ordered from both menu's and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food and service in pleasant outdoor environment. Good value. Would definitely return

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration. Great experience. Great service. Entire staff was focused on making certain everything was moving along nicely. Our server, Alex could not have been more accommodating. He was ever present and eager to assist with our selection. The food was very good. I highly recommend the asparagus soup. Good, rich and creamy. It could have been a meal in itself. We tasted a number of samplings and found everything to our liking. Don't be fooled by the combination Italian and Mexican cuisine. Both are done extremely well.

I would recommend El Barzon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Noise level was only high because of the bar music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We dined here for a special dinner for my older son is going off to college. He chose El Barzon as the one place to go. Express heading off to U of M. The atmosphere in the patio was quite fun. The food was great as always. The service was excellent. Our waiter Caesar made the night. Although it was quite busy, he was very attentive but not hovering. If I owned a restaurant I would certainly want him on my staff. El Barzon certainly is a gem in Detroit.

David

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 24, 2017

good food - I had the italian along with my sister and niece - Whereas my husband had the mexican - Nice restaurant, but they need someone at the door where it says to Wait to be seated, we had to look for someone to help us

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Detroit. The food is always a treat and the service is very good. I would reccomend it for visitors to Detroit as well as those that call Detroit their "stomping ground".

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very disappointed in the service. Mentioned on my reservation that this was for a birthday and it was not acknowledged. Food was good but nothing spectacular. Seated outside patio which has a great atmosphere and highly recommend over indoor. Waiter didn't offer any recommendations and was slow and not friendly. I've been waiting to go here for so long and am extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wonderful selection of Mexican and Italian dishes prepared with care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Have loved this restaurant since it opened, and the patio is amazing. Service was attentive; food is great. The dinners are alacarte; my dinner consisted of 5 cheese raviolis for $20. Wine is a small pour for a minimum of $10 per glass. Overall, a beautiful place with a terrific atmosphere (if you eat outside) and good food, just be ready for a big bill!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

El Barzon has been one of our favorites since they opened several years ago. The outdoor seating on the patio has really enhanced the summer dining experience. The wait staff is friendly, endearing and accommodating. The Chef is a master, with his interesting combo of Italian and Mexican specialties, crafted with care and flavor. A great place to meet friends or take the family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Did not enjoy anything about my experience. Food was sub par - even the chips were not good. The chorizo gnocchi was overcooked, gloopy mess and the mole was too sweet. Stop using an iPad for your dessert menu. It's really silly and even those photos were poor quality. There are better restaurants choices in Detroit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Second time eating here with a diverse group of friends from around the world. No one was disappointed as the food was outstanding. Service is also above average. We drive 40 minutes and well worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was excellent as always! I recommend ordering the Cavatelli dinner portion and split it with the table as one of your appetizers! It is fantastic. First time we sat outside which was nice.... have to say the service, while polite and accurate.... was almost non existent... I'm so glad we were not in any hurry because it was painfully slow.... overall still one of my favorite in the city!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here and the service is quite attentive. Sometimes a little slow but worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I booked this restaurant for a friend's birthday dinner. We went on Saturday evening and 7:30. Even though it was packed, the restaurant sat us within three minutes, which was great. It went downhill from there. It took the waitress about 15 minutes to show up to place our drink order. It then took another forever to get our drinks and place our food order. The food took about 45 minutes to arrive. My friend's sides were cold and her branzino was absolutely gross, fish and drenched in a flavorless sauce. She ate two bites and couldn't stomach anymore. The rest of us ordered sage and butter procini mushroom and ricotta ravioli. The sauce was a horribly salty combination of chicken broth and butter. It was so salty we couldn't power through it. The manager came by and apologized and asked if we wanted new meals, which was very nice. But at that point we were about an hour and twenty minutes in and starving and had no clue how long it would even take to fix the meals so we decided not to chance it and declined. To add insult to injury, it took another 20 minutes for the waitress to collect and return our bill. Two stars for the lovely manager, the good cocktails and great ambiance, but this place clearly can't keep up with their large crowd and the food is borderline inedible. I was completely embarrassed and sad to ruin my friend's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I am not sure why it's rated so high. Over greasy, over hyped food with sloppy presentation. The ambience was good inside, of course, when you step out you land smack center in Mexican town and can enjoy its rustic (ramshackle) structures.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always outstanding food and service. Hand-made pastas and slow simmered moles are the bests of the Italian and Mexican menus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.