Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

El Barzon

4.5
618 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
  • Neighborhood Gem
Coming Soon!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Monday - closed


Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(313) 894-2070
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Norberto Garita
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Michigan Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking Also Available
What 618 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food and ambiance. Never disappointed...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Food and service very good. There are a wide range of food options for everyone's taste.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

My first time stopping in, the staff was friendly and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Simply the best dining experience I can remember in a long time!!! Service was exceptional, Food was EXCELLENT and atmosphere was fun and energetic! First time but will not be the last! Our new family favorite! Who knew Cactus soup was so fabulous!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My first visit. It was a beautiful day so we were able to sit outside. Great margaritas, great food, great atmosphere. I will be going back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The first time I went to El Barzone we sat outside on the patio and it was not a busy holiday. We loved it! This time,we went for Mother’s Day and sat inside which is kinda ho-hum, not so nicely decorated.....sorry El Barzone. We had fish and seafood ravioli and all thought is was just mediocre. However, the guacamole was OUTSTANDING! So, my recommendation is and what I will do in the future is sit outside on the patio and stick to the Mexican cuisine!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

excelent food and service, the only complain is to long of a wait for our food to be serve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I tasted one of the best things I've ever tasted at El Barzon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Nice celebration dinner for Cinco de Mayo.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This is the second time I visited El Barzon. Last year was also on Cinco de Mayo :)
The service staff was super friendly and the food was incredible (my mom got the goat stew and i had the chicken with Mole sauce. 100% delicious! as was the tres leches cake!!!)
My only 'complaint' was that the food took quite some time to arrive. It didn't really bother me, as I was enjoying the conversation, but it sort of forces you to keep eating chips. ha!
Cant wait to go back and tell them no to the chips! :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Hubby and I went out for a date night. Drinks were perfect, loved all the options and the Mexican Mule was different and delicious. Fried calamari for an appetizer, slightly over cooked and too salty in my opinion. Dinner my husband got the goat which was incredible, fell off the bone tender and I got the fish ravioli which left a little to be desired. All in all a fun place to eat and we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

A birthday celebration was very special thanks to an unexpected serenade and personalized dessert. Our party of 6 tried several dishes, and we loved everything. Can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

After hearing many good things I was excited to finally try El Barzon. I should've listened to the reviews that called it overrated. It's ok. And just ok. Not worth the price of the entree in the least. I'll gladly pay $20-30 for an entree but can't help but feel ripped off when it's mediocre. The only positives are the guacamole and the staff who refilled our water was very friendly. I wish I would have gone to Taco Bell (gross) instead and saved $80.

They also serve Italian and I noticed the tables around us had ordered pasta. Missed that warning. Live and learn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Special evening with accommodating staff that made evening more special. Busboy who sings happy birthday in Spanish the highlight (after the food of course!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We were underwhelmed. The hype in this place was high hit it didn’t live up to it. Was fine but would lot go back. Can go to Mexican village and get as good of food and cheaper.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Another great dinner here. Everything was tasty, our food came up quickly, and the waitstaff were friendly and attentive. Will keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food was fair at best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had a great time! The food was amazing and our server was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great service and food. Friendly staff, love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The menu allows for either Mexican or Italian choices and you won't be disappointed either way. Our waiter was Alex and he provided excellent service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food was very good. They had a lot of choices and they made an item for us that wasn't on the menu anymore. Everyone was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Awesome food choices. Great service!! Great place for a date !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had dinner there on a Sunday evening. We were early so not crowded - it was getting full when we were leaving. The Bronzino was very good, We also had Chile Releanos, and the El Barzon thin steak with onions and jalapeños. Affordable very good authentic meals...both Italian and Mexican.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Loved this restaurant! Our food was delicious. The pasta is fresh and homemade. The chips and salsa were delicious. Our waiter was so kind and very informative on what we should eat. Will be going back to this place!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Had a lovely evening dining at El Barzon and felt like the waitstaff was overly courteous and accommodating. They provided us with a dessert free of charge for my birthday and were very quick to refill our waters, remove any empty plates, and ask if we needed anything additional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

El Barzon has great food and fun cocktails. Great for a special occasion or dinner out with the hubs!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We arrived and there were only a few tables filled. We ordered the calamari, shrimp and scallop appetizer. The scallops were non existent, the shrimp were barely there and the dish was mainly over cooked with very tough calamari. The beer list is non-existent with no craft beers nor any draught beer. The dinners took very long to arrive and the two that came first were cold. The third dinner took ten additional minutes to arrive which was hot like they forgot to make it and only did so when we inquired where it was. Meanwhile, we waited for it to arrive out or courtesy letting our dinners get even cooler. The waiter asked if we would like them "heated up" but could not bear the dinner going into a microwave. The chicken in the dishes was already overcooked. The entrees were so-so, nothing to go out of the way for. Bright side, the dinners came with scalloped potatoes which were the best part of the dinner. Winter brought a complimentary flan desert before bringing the bill. I think he was trying to rehabilitate the tip. I'm not going back. Out of courtesy to the waiter we did not complain on the spot, he did inquire about our meals, but felt uncomfortable complaining. It would have been heaping on as almost every element of the meal was a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Love it (again) second visit in less than 3 weeks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The service, food and cocktails are always excellent. I ordered the Whole grilled Sea Bass . It was delicious. Save room for dessert, the flan is fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

delicious food and the sweet singing waiter was very generous with his time and patient with a group of mischievous ladies! beautiful cocktails! will be back as soon as I can!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The service was exceptional at El Barzon. We ordered the calamari for an appetizer which was amazing! The homemade paparelle pasta with meatballs was a little unique. The red sauce was very different from the usual Italian red sauces...not sure how I felt anout that.
I would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The dining experience was exquisite. I had the grilled sea bass & my spouse had salmon. We had grilled calamari as an appetizer. The meals were mouth-watering & the calamari
was tender & tasty. The wait staff was friendly & professional. The restaurant was elegant but not stuffy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

It is a great place my wife and I along with friends enjoy the evenings at ElBarzon. My favorite the other day was the pasta trio appetizer, (great as an entree as well), whole bronzino, and eggplant soufflé. Spectacular!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Service was just terrible. Food was mediocre. I ordered the lasagna and it had about half a bottle of graded Parmesan dumped on top. The cocktail was good. I would never go back again though because of the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great service, excellent fresh food and hand crafted drinks. Good variety of menu items--both Mexican and Italian fare. It's a neighborhood treasure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We had a great dining experience. The service was friendly, the atmosphere was casual, yet had the feel of an intimate bistro. The drinks were fun and modern with an extensive wine list, craft beers and inventive cocktails. My friend partook in the house-made mole sauce on the recommendation of our server and it was rich and fabulous! I went Italian and had prosciutto and cheese stuffed baci with a chorizo cream sauce and grilled shrimp and I couldn’t have been more pleased. If we weren’t already so full, I would’ve loved to try any one of their tempting dessert offerings! I can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This was our 4th trip to El Barzon and probably our last. The restaurant food, service have been steadily declining but the rates have been increasing.
This trip, the drinks were terrible - we had 3 of them at $11 each.
The food was ok but very very expensive for what was given. The place was so loud that we just could not hear ourselves talk.

Too bad...we were entertaining guests from Washington DC and wanted to give them a good time but we could not.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Nice atmosphere! There are many good items to choose from on the menu!
We ordered fajita. They were not listed on the menu. We saw another table order them, so we asked our water if we could also order them.
I would like to try an Italian option next time!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by El Barzon