Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

About El Barzon

Coming Soon!

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Authentic (38)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Worth the Drive (30)
Fun (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Romantic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Spicy (13)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Live Music (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointed in the service. Mentioned on my reservation that this was for a birthday and it was not acknowledged. Food was good but nothing spectacular. Seated outside patio which has a great atmosphere and highly recommend over indoor. Waiter didn't offer any recommendations and was slow and not friendly. I've been waiting to go here for so long and am extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful selection of Mexican and Italian dishes prepared with care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Have loved this restaurant since it opened, and the patio is amazing. Service was attentive; food is great. The dinners are alacarte; my dinner consisted of 5 cheese raviolis for $20. Wine is a small pour for a minimum of $10 per glass. Overall, a beautiful place with a terrific atmosphere (if you eat outside) and good food, just be ready for a big bill!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

El Barzon has been one of our favorites since they opened several years ago. The outdoor seating on the patio has really enhanced the summer dining experience. The wait staff is friendly, endearing and accommodating. The Chef is a master, with his interesting combo of Italian and Mexican specialties, crafted with care and flavor. A great place to meet friends or take the family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Did not enjoy anything about my experience. Food was sub par - even the chips were not good. The chorizo gnocchi was overcooked, gloopy mess and the mole was too sweet. Stop using an iPad for your dessert menu. It's really silly and even those photos were poor quality. There are better restaurants choices in Detroit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Second time eating here with a diverse group of friends from around the world. No one was disappointed as the food was outstanding. Service is also above average. We drive 40 minutes and well worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was excellent as always! I recommend ordering the Cavatelli dinner portion and split it with the table as one of your appetizers! It is fantastic. First time we sat outside which was nice.... have to say the service, while polite and accurate.... was almost non existent... I'm so glad we were not in any hurry because it was painfully slow.... overall still one of my favorite in the city!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here and the service is quite attentive. Sometimes a little slow but worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I booked this restaurant for a friend's birthday dinner. We went on Saturday evening and 7:30. Even though it was packed, the restaurant sat us within three minutes, which was great. It went downhill from there. It took the waitress about 15 minutes to show up to place our drink order. It then took another forever to get our drinks and place our food order. The food took about 45 minutes to arrive. My friend's sides were cold and her branzino was absolutely gross, fish and drenched in a flavorless sauce. She ate two bites and couldn't stomach anymore. The rest of us ordered sage and butter procini mushroom and ricotta ravioli. The sauce was a horribly salty combination of chicken broth and butter. It was so salty we couldn't power through it. The manager came by and apologized and asked if we wanted new meals, which was very nice. But at that point we were about an hour and twenty minutes in and starving and had no clue how long it would even take to fix the meals so we decided not to chance it and declined. To add insult to injury, it took another 20 minutes for the waitress to collect and return our bill. Two stars for the lovely manager, the good cocktails and great ambiance, but this place clearly can't keep up with their large crowd and the food is borderline inedible. I was completely embarrassed and sad to ruin my friend's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I am not sure why it's rated so high. Over greasy, over hyped food with sloppy presentation. The ambience was good inside, of course, when you step out you land smack center in Mexican town and can enjoy its rustic (ramshackle) structures.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always outstanding food and service. Hand-made pastas and slow simmered moles are the bests of the Italian and Mexican menus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We celebrated my birthday there. The food was great and the service was good. We will go there again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was seasoned. The steak was cold and a little too oily for grilled meat. Almost like a fried meat. The chivo was a little fatty but well seasoned. The lasagna was delicious Service was excellent. The outdoor patio was lovely. We will give it another attempt. It was pricey for what was received.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Coming here for years. This place is reliably great. The Mexican food is great and the Italian food is even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was not as good as it has been in the past, server was overwhelmed and didn't tell us the specials-overheard another server telling another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a reservation. When we arrived, we waited to be seated, per the restaurant's instructions. As ten minutes passed, SEVERAL staff members stared at us and looked away many times. I finally asked someone if we would be seated. The person said she wasn't sure and then called another person to seat us. We had the grilled calamari, which was delicious. We also had the pasta n eggplant dish and enchiladas; both lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great restaurant . Slow service at first but as soon as I mentioned this they could not have been more responsive. Many restaurants have server assistants. Instead of taking requests back to the server who is swamped they should be able to get refills, check on orders, etc. otherwise they look like they're just standing around unresponsive to customers. Food is consistently excellent and the courtyard is awesome on summer nights. Great evening overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've heard good things but strike 2 for this place, we tried to come once before on a whim and were told reservations were absolutely necessary. So we got reservations, arrived on time and were seated... and waited 30 minutes to be served before leaving. We couldn't understand it, as it didn't look THAT busy on a Sunday evening. We did get water and chips/salsa, and were told a couple of times that we would be served "in a minute". We watched 2 other tables come in after us and be served, so...
Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

A little gem, with a beautiful courtyard - you'd never realize El Barzon is tucked away off the beaten path of the more gentrified Detroit neighborhoods. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious! We started with the calamari El Barzon. Spicy, but well seasoned and perfectly flash fried! The sangria was fantastic, as well as the housemade salsas and chips. The entree was so-so... I had the pappardelle. A pasta that is supposed to be ribbon thin and light, the pasta served was thick and hard (undercooked). The sauce tasted great, but the amount was overwhelming for the dish. Overall, we'd definitely return - for the courtyard alone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service has gone down..just not spot on to fit the environment that is just lovely. 3 Rd visit was expecting more on the service end.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful mole sauce on enchiladas. Others in our party enjoyed marquaritas and several speciality drinks. The atmosphere is friendly and vibrant. A very popular Italian Mexican restaurant off the beaten path but well worth the travel time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

When we arrived and went to be seated we were told that they would be very busy outdoors and it would be noisy. Would we rather have a table in the bar room or "front room"? Yes, we would. It would take a few minutes. The hostess never apologized or even smile while we were waiting for our table "to be made ready". We approached her several times to ask what was taking so long. Once she had someone go check, the other times she more or less walked away from us to tend to seating others. Finally we saw the manager and asked what was going on. We were about to leave. At about that time the hostess told us our table was ready and we followed her in. We were led to our table and noticed that it was very wide. Turns out it was so wide we had to lean far forward to communicate with one another. It had likely been moved into the bar from the main dining room inside. Then we patiently waited to order drinks. After about 10 minutes we signaled someone to get us a waiter, which she said she'd do. No one appeared. So we asked again. Finally we were approached by a young man who we suspect wasn't a regular waiter, but he was pleasant and took good care of us. The food was good, as usual, but the evening sure started out badly and left us a bit down. The hostess knew we wanted a quiet table, as we had specified it in the reservation. But she should have warned us that it might take a long while, which it did, and should have replied, every time we asked, she was sorry that it was taking so long but our table just wasn't ready as yet. She shouldn't have a job there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food is excellent which is why I keep going. The first time service was pretty bad, but the food was fantastic. We went a second time (Saturday night) and the service was the worst I've had in a very long time. Dinner was 2+ hours, waiter forgot some of the drinks the first round and took another half hour to get those. Our finished salad plates sat on our table for over a half hour until our entree's came. Like I said, the food is great, but the service is really really bad.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I've dined at El Barzon many times and have thoroughly enjoyed it. On this particular Sat. night the patio was packed as expected. I'm sorry to say that this visit did not live up to expectations. The service was very slow and simple things like refilling water glasses didn't happen. Usually the food is outstanding, but my hubby's pasta had way over-cooked lobster; my halibut was way over-sauced with an orange sauce; the stems of the broccoli rabe were very tough, and the food was not hot. Our friend's skirt skate was not very tender. We were looking forward to our favorite dessert Tres Leche cake but it was not on the menu as usual. I was quite disappointed as we recommended this restaurant to our friends and it was their first visit. I hope that this was a rare exception to the usual excellent food and friendly, prompt service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Could have been that night --- but I think they have way to many tables now to have good service and great food as it use to be a few years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My mother and boyfriend had never been to your restaurant and I wanted them to enjoy the food! They both ordered a different veal and both were very disappointed because the veal was tough and grissly and chewy! My pasta though was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food came out cold, rather than remaking it they just microwaved it. No apology, no discount off the bill, no offer of a complementary dessert or drink. After the waiter said he would bring the bill it took 15 minutes for him to bring it and the another 15 to take the card payment, half an hour wait all up just to pay really took the cake. The food itself was heavy and really nothing special. Not worth the $100 plus tip for 2 Mojitos, 1 starter and 2 entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was very good. If you are looking for the typical super quick Mexican restaurant experience you won’t find it here. Be prepared to relax and be patient. It’s worth the wait. The staff is very friendly.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

One of the best patios in the city, and white linen service. Great food, great cocktails and very nice ambiance. Bring a date or your friends, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I've been to many excellent Detroit restaurants. El Barzon ranks with the top three.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was great as usual but service was a tad off. Took a long time to get cocktails kitchen cadence between app and entrees was rushed and took almost 30 minutes to cash out. Minor stuff and will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A colleague recommended this place and it was spot on. We ended with an additional diner and they were more than happy to accommodate us. Great Mexican/Italian menu with plenty of choices. Great margaritas too!

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Staff was amazing! I would make a party here anytime! Thank you Eddie and staff!!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice restaurant with beautiful outdoor seating. Food was decent... while it doesn't make it into my top favorites, I would dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We dined there on 7/14/17. Ordered the Insalate De Mare--do not recommend, calarmi was way over cooked and was like chewing a piece of rubber, the clams and mussels were also way over cooked and inedible (the shrimp was blah). My fiancé ordered the enchilada with mole sauce and she took one bite and couldn't eat anymore. I ordered the halibut which was cooked fine but simply tasted like I was eating an orange, the potatoes that came with it were very good and vegetable tasted like salted butter. I also ordered a mojito that for $10 had no alcohol. The server never went over any of daily specials or checked in on us if we wanted another drink or anything else. The only nice factor is they have a very nice outdoor seating area but for $80 for dinner there are a hundred other places worth eating at

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Festive ambience, great service, very good food, interesting variety of cocktails. Great place to go with friends or family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great outdoor seating and ambiance. Shady area but otherwise a hidden gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was amazing and the outside seating was quaint. We loved everything about it and we will definitely go again.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very Good food, hybrid Mexican and Italian dishes. Great outdoor seating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The hostess was very disorganized and needed some supervision. The service was very slow even though it was not that busy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.