About El Barzon

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Good for Groups (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (27)
Kid-friendly (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mexican/Italian fusion is definitely a w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Mexican/Italian fusion is definitely a weird concept, but the food is awesome and the place itself cool, especially the outdoor seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved this place. Goat chops wer ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really loved this place. Goat chops were delicious. Cactus soup and an Italian/Mexican Fusion pasta dish were outstanding. We ordered from the special of the day selections. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come for the three pasta dish, excelle ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I come for the three pasta dish, excellent every time.

Thank you for the special dessert served to my daughter for her birthday too!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was really great, despite th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was really great, despite the fact that we asked to switch tables twice (once because someone was cold, once because it was starting to rain).

The food is honestly just ok - maybe I didn't order the right thing, but I felt like the food was not that impressive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Very friendly staff, great entree select ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very friendly staff, great entree selection! One of the nicest patio restaurants that we have been to in the Detroit area. Great for dining with friends or for a romantic night out. Waitstaff a bit slow on getting our check but overall get place to dine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant! Service is alwa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant! Service is alway excellent, and we've never had a bad meal there. We love the covered outdoor patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a pleasure it was to be with our da ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a pleasure it was to be with our daughter and son-in-law at El Barzon! They live in another city and are always anxious to eat a unique restaurant with excellent food, so they were very pleased. Because I had reserved a table in the front (quiet) room, and because we ate early, the room was quiet and we could actually hear one another without leaning over the table! OUr waitress had a huge smile on her face each tome she approached us - how welcoming!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate a birthday. It ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We came here to celebrate a birthday. It was a Wednesday night and still fairly busy. There was one larger party but the rest were couples. However, I think its a great place for any group to gather although I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a hip scene.

The service was top notch. The staff was friendly and attentive but not overbearing and didn't rush you through your meal (which is something we had just recently experienced so I was sensitive to this). We took our time drinking, ordering and eating. The food was excellent. Everything we ordered, from the salsa to the main entrees, tasted fresh and authentic.

My only minor complaints were that the outside could be slightly more decorated and inviting, although the waterfall and the partial open roof were very relaxing, and the prices were slightly on the high end considering the location.

Other than that, I would still highly recommend this restaurant to anyone for an authentic meal with great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always amazing!! We love to turn new peo ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always amazing!! We love to turn new people on to one of our favorite spots. Great pastas, seafood, veal dishes, sausage and peppers, Pozole, tamales etc. Wether you like Italian or Mexican or both you can't beat El Barzon!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good, nice atmosphere, g ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was good, nice atmosphere, good food, but the only complaint was the chairs were too tall for the tables making it uncomfortable to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed on the restaurant not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointed on the restaurant not acknowledging my son's birthday even though we noticed that it was mentioned in the reservation. We ordered a cake and paid for it. A free desert or at least a candle on the cake would have been nice, especially after we had paid a lot for the drinks and dinner. Host was not very friendly either when we asked to switch our table because it was raining and the water was sprinkling on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a small group outside in the rain ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a small group outside in the rain. It didn't matter , food was amazing and they made our family members anniversary special. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for dinner Big menu with man ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great spot for dinner Big menu with many choices We ate on the patio which is great in the summer. Food was outstanding. Would recommend El Barzon highly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter was attentive until the resta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter was attentive until the restaurant got extremely busy. He then failed to visit our table to take our food or drink order for 35 minutes. There may have been some sort of miscommunication, but needless to say, that is far too long to wait. We left before we were even able to place our entree orders. We have had the same waiter in the past and he was excellent. Hopefully this experience was an anomaly.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Second time here and we really enjoyed i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Second time here and we really enjoyed it again. The menu is so interesting that you wish you could order everything. We went with a Mexican appetizer and an Italian entrée. The entrée was very good but we wished that we had ordered something else - something more adventurous. The seafood appetizer, shrimp and squid in a Mexican sauce, was outstanding. Service was excellent , we dined at a leisurely pace and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu and a good variety of items. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great menu and a good variety of items. Nice atmosphere. Fun place to dine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great food, fun atmosphere on patio, a l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere on patio, a little loud

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went to El Barzon for the first time w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went to El Barzon for the first time with a group on a Tues night as part of a 'pub crawl'. I was amazed that this little gem existed in the neighbourhood. That Sat we were celebrating a friend's birthday so we went back as I knew she would love the patio. All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Good for da ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Good for dates and for families. The neighborhood is a bit dodgy, but once you get into their compound, it is fine. The restaurant itself is very pleasant and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great dinner. Sitting outside ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always a great dinner. Sitting outside on a summer night is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was not what we were expectin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Atmosphere was not what we were expecting. We were all blown away. Surrounding neighborhood isn't great, but this place is a GEM. Food is great, drink list is awesome and the atmosphere was very cool. I prefer this place over any place in Mexican Town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is always good ... Not amazing ... ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always good ... Not amazing ... But good. Balanced entrees ... Great menu options. Service is painfully slow. We were a large table of 10 and our server was handling tables inside and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We all LOVED this place. We went for my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all LOVED this place. We went for my birthday. Atosphere is wonderful. Waitstaff was very good. They brought me a cheese cake with a very nice message written on the plate. My friends husband asked that they not sing happy birthday to me (I don't like that) and they listened! All of us were delighted by our entree's and the price was even better. The patio is one of the best. We will most definately be going to El Barzon again. A wonderful hidden gem in Detroit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time there .. definately will be b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

first time there .. definately will be back .. definately

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem . Quality food and a great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A hidden gem . Quality food and a great service. We will go back again for sure .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY CURB APPEAL!!! PARK ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY CURB APPEAL!!! PARK AROUND BACK AND FOLLOW SIGNS. The food was terrific and the scratch cocktails well thought out. The service at times was a bit slow and the coffee poor but otherwise I can't complain about this gem. Had both Italian and Mexican dishes and desserts, all wonderful. The veal and goat on the Mexican side had lots of flavor depth. The pastas with chorizo and fresh tomatoes on the Italian side were equally as good. Definitely stop by and sit outside if the weather is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

One of the best patios around, but crowd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of the best patios around, but crowded and very loud. Food is great unless you are a vegetarian, few/if any choices. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. The food was not appetizing and the presentation of the food was not very pleasing. I informed my waitress that I was not please with my food, but she didn't offer any type of resolution. She didn't apologize nor did she offer me anything else. Very poor service!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I'll start with the positives - the pati ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'll start with the positives - the patio is gorgeous, and the drinks were great.

It ends there, though. I chose El Barzon for my birthday dinner, and was absolutely disappointed with the food and will not be returning there. I carefully read reviews and after seeing 4 stars on yelp and google, I thought I couldn't go wrong with El Barzon for my choice. The food had no flavor, at all. There were three of us in our dinner party, and we each chose various dishes which were all equally bad. Lack of flavor is really the biggest complaint, it wasn't appetizing to eat and two of us did not finish our meals. I had high hopes for the restaurant, but it looks like it's a drink on the patio kind of place. I really do not understand these reviews that day it's some of the best food they've had, I question if they know real Mexican or Italian. Our waiter wasn't very attentive, either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We had a table reserved on the beautiful ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a table reserved on the beautiful patio area. Our waiter recommended excellent drinks, we had our favorite meal special made for us and a surprise dessert for a birthday that we were celebrating. El Barzon never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alex was a great waiter!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Alex was a great waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For an 8:15 Saturday reservation it was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

For an 8:15 Saturday reservation it was hardly upscale, people were mostly in shorts and a polo shirt at best. I was the only one in the place wearing a sport coat. That said the food was delicious the drinks were about average for the price. Timing of food and drinks was not perfect, but at this price point it's not a complaint.

I'll continue to recommend friends to this Detroit staple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is always fabulous and service is g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food is always fabulous and service is great. Lovely outdoor dining. Celebrated a birthday here and they brought out a special birthday surprise for the birthday girl. Always a great time here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Food, Service and Atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The patio is worth the trip! Then throw in the food, service and wine list and you have a great experience. Worth the trip and highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best food EVER! Gnocchi was perfect. Enc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best food EVER! Gnocchi was perfect. Enchiladas were authentic. Wow. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnificent Mole

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Mole Pablano was amazing. It had just the right balance of sweet and spicy. The patio dining is one of the best in Detroit and the parking lot was convenient. The birthday firework and dessert was just the right ending to a fabulous evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service here is a little slow but the great food makes up for it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very good food and an excellent patio! F ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very good food and an excellent patio! Food just a little overpriced , I think

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outdoor seating area is amazing! Perfect ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Outdoor seating area is amazing! Perfect backdrop for a lovely evening with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.