About El Barzon

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

great for outdoor dining (61)
fit for foodies (46)
good for groups (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
special occasion (36)
romantic (24)
great for lunch (13)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was attentive until the resta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was attentive until the restaurant got extremely busy. He then failed to visit our table to take our food or drink order for 35 minutes. There may have been some sort of miscommunication, but needless to say, that is far too long to wait. We left before we were even able to place our entree orders. We have had the same waiter in the past and he was excellent. Hopefully this experience was an anomaly.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Second time here and we really enjoyed i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Second time here and we really enjoyed it again. The menu is so interesting that you wish you could order everything. We went with a Mexican appetizer and an Italian entrée. The entrée was very good but we wished that we had ordered something else - something more adventurous. The seafood appetizer, shrimp and squid in a Mexican sauce, was outstanding. Service was excellent , we dined at a leisurely pace and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu and a good variety of items. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great menu and a good variety of items. Nice atmosphere. Fun place to dine

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great food, fun atmosphere on patio, a l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere on patio, a little loud

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went to El Barzon for the first time w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went to El Barzon for the first time with a group on a Tues night as part of a 'pub crawl'. I was amazed that this little gem existed in the neighbourhood. That Sat we were celebrating a friend's birthday so we went back as I knew she would love the patio. All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was not what we were expectin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Atmosphere was not what we were expecting. We were all blown away. Surrounding neighborhood isn't great, but this place is a GEM. Food is great, drink list is awesome and the atmosphere was very cool. I prefer this place over any place in Mexican Town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is always good ... Not amazing ... ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always good ... Not amazing ... But good. Balanced entrees ... Great menu options. Service is painfully slow. We were a large table of 10 and our server was handling tables inside and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We all LOVED this place. We went for my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all LOVED this place. We went for my birthday. Atosphere is wonderful. Waitstaff was very good. They brought me a cheese cake with a very nice message written on the plate. My friends husband asked that they not sing happy birthday to me (I don't like that) and they listened! All of us were delighted by our entree's and the price was even better. The patio is one of the best. We will most definately be going to El Barzon again. A wonderful hidden gem in Detroit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time there .. definately will be b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

first time there .. definately will be back .. definately

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem . Quality food and a great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A hidden gem . Quality food and a great service. We will go back again for sure .

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY CURB APPEAL!!! PARK ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY CURB APPEAL!!! PARK AROUND BACK AND FOLLOW SIGNS. The food was terrific and the scratch cocktails well thought out. The service at times was a bit slow and the coffee poor but otherwise I can't complain about this gem. Had both Italian and Mexican dishes and desserts, all wonderful. The veal and goat on the Mexican side had lots of flavor depth. The pastas with chorizo and fresh tomatoes on the Italian side were equally as good. Definitely stop by and sit outside if the weather is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

One of the best patios around, but crowd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of the best patios around, but crowded and very loud. Food is great unless you are a vegetarian, few/if any choices. Service is outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. The food was not appetizing and the presentation of the food was not very pleasing. I informed my waitress that I was not please with my food, but she didn't offer any type of resolution. She didn't apologize nor did she offer me anything else. Very poor service!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I'll start with the positives - the pati ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'll start with the positives - the patio is gorgeous, and the drinks were great.

It ends there, though. I chose El Barzon for my birthday dinner, and was absolutely disappointed with the food and will not be returning there. I carefully read reviews and after seeing 4 stars on yelp and google, I thought I couldn't go wrong with El Barzon for my choice. The food had no flavor, at all. There were three of us in our dinner party, and we each chose various dishes which were all equally bad. Lack of flavor is really the biggest complaint, it wasn't appetizing to eat and two of us did not finish our meals. I had high hopes for the restaurant, but it looks like it's a drink on the patio kind of place. I really do not understand these reviews that day it's some of the best food they've had, I question if they know real Mexican or Italian. Our waiter wasn't very attentive, either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We had a table reserved on the beautiful ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a table reserved on the beautiful patio area. Our waiter recommended excellent drinks, we had our favorite meal special made for us and a surprise dessert for a birthday that we were celebrating. El Barzon never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alex was a great waiter!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Alex was a great waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For an 8:15 Saturday reservation it was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

For an 8:15 Saturday reservation it was hardly upscale, people were mostly in shorts and a polo shirt at best. I was the only one in the place wearing a sport coat. That said the food was delicious the drinks were about average for the price. Timing of food and drinks was not perfect, but at this price point it's not a complaint.

I'll continue to recommend friends to this Detroit staple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is always fabulous and service is g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food is always fabulous and service is great. Lovely outdoor dining. Celebrated a birthday here and they brought out a special birthday surprise for the birthday girl. Always a great time here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Food, Service and Atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The patio is worth the trip! Then throw in the food, service and wine list and you have a great experience. Worth the trip and highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best food EVER! Gnocchi was perfect. Enc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best food EVER! Gnocchi was perfect. Enchiladas were authentic. Wow. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnificent Mole

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Mole Pablano was amazing. It had just the right balance of sweet and spicy. The patio dining is one of the best in Detroit and the parking lot was convenient. The birthday firework and dessert was just the right ending to a fabulous evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service here is a little slow but the great food makes up for it!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very good food and an excellent patio! F ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very good food and an excellent patio! Food just a little overpriced , I think

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outdoor seating area is amazing! Perfect ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Outdoor seating area is amazing! Perfect backdrop for a lovely evening with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food as always, service was below par.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter/waitress kept changing. No one ever asked us if we wanted more wine. It was crowded so my husband's head got bumped twice by service trays. I'd still go back for the food. Service staff is very friendly but disorganized.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This was our first time here and we fell ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was our first time here and we fell in love with the place immediately. The atmosphere was great, the food delicious and the prices reasonable. There was a large rehearsal dinner going on and so it was a little noisier in the outside area than it probably usually is, but still reasonable. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good but nothing spectacular.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was good but nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best food, best service. In my opinion, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Best food, best service. In my opinion, the best restaurant in Detroit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try It!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant was a new experience for myself and my five companions. We were very curious to try this restaurant that combined Mexican and Italian dishes on the menu. Our waitress was very attentive and explained the specials and the features available. The food was very good and I would definitely plan on a repeat visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had softshell crab in the breading was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I had softshell crab in the breading was way too heavy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Dinner Great. Brunch Blah!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to El Barzon on four occasions. My last visit was for Mother's Day 2016, where my husband and I took our mothers to El Barzon because we knew it was going to be awesome. The brunch menu was okay but the food was awful. Lacking flavor and the overall quality that we had experienced previously. We were sad to state this as our truth. We really are rethinking if this is one of our go-to restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Vibes and Excellent Food!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I came in from Chicago with my girlfriend to visit friends and we absolutely loved the place. Coming from a city like Chicago where there are numerous restaurants, I was excited to check out the Detroit food scene and El Barzon came highly recommended. Needless to say, the food and ambiance surpassed our expectations and we had a great time sitting on the beautiful back patio. The restaurant is a little bit off the beaten path, but I believe it added to the experiences in doing something different and outside the downtown area where so many new restaurants are starting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time to El Barzon this past we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My first time to El Barzon this past weekend and it was fantastic! The food was delicious and as amazing as I've heard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The Mexican food we ordered was exceptional, everything obviously made from scratch, and the service was cheerful and efficient. An extremely pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around good experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Waiter was outstanding. Managers sincere attention to our needs was nice to see. Best of all the food was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Detroit Favorite

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

El Barzon never disappoints. Great food, fun atmosphere and incredible service. Case in point: when my husband couldn't decide on a margarita, they made him three small samplers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sweet little gem in Southwest Detroit.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This wonderful restaurant is a great little restaurant for outstanding Mexican and Italian food. Fresh, inventive, beautifully displayed and served with the utmost in professionalism. Make your reservation today!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Due to previous customers our table was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Due to previous customers our table was not ready at the reservation time. Though it's technically the previous customers' fault, the restaurant should've had a table ready for us. We had to wait 15 mins past our reservation time. Our experience once seated was great though. Great food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Minuscule clams

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Minuscule clams in a very bland linguini Vongole. Gluten free linguini grainy . That was AFTER sending it back for being hard and gummy at the same time! Sauce had no clam flavor and was oily not creamy in texture. Make this at home and live it at LaZingara on Erie St in Windsor.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

I love this restaurant! I was very impre ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I love this restaurant! I was very impressed by the Mexican food. I found it to be very authentic. If I could change anything, I would like to see vegetarian tacos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.