Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

About El Barzon

Coming Soon!

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fun (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Romantic (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (11)
Spicy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went to El Barzón to celebrate my birthday. I ordered a strawberry jalapeño margarita and it was both sweet and spicy. The calamari were OK, could have been cooked just a bit more so that they would have been a bit more hot and crispy. I loved my halibut and my husband enjoyed his veal in Barolo sauce. I had pinot grigio rosé wine and my husband, of course had Barolo. The restaurant even surprised me with a Happy Birthday flan! We will definitely return to the restaurant and recommend it to our friends!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Party of seven of us and we sat outside. It was beautiful. Host was gracious and sat us quickly. The patio is very pleasant with flowers and waterfall sounds. food was delicious. Many options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing Mexican and Italian cuisine. Patio was a must. Best variety of margaritas I have seen in a long time. Service was slow due to being very busy but owner baught us two drinks. Great guy!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a reservation & were looking forward to sitting in the beautiful garden brick atmosphere. However it was incredibly hot & there was no air. the service was very very slow. Although the food was good, it took twenty minutes for our server to come over for our drink orders. Never even got a second drink as dinner came before I could get a second one. They were slammed. We wanted dessert & just flagged someone down because our server was not around. They comped the dessert as they recognized the service was bad. I would only go back when the weather was cool & probably not on a Saturday night

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were having a nice family dinner and sat down to wait 20 minutes for our waitress who never brought us menus. Drinks took forever. Food was ordered and 2/4 meals came cold. When sent back they were reheated and over cooked and tough.
Disappointed for tonight's meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great meal and outstanding service! Would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Even though made reservations not seated for 30min after, I would usually leave. Glad I stayed, food was very interesting. Wide variety, tasty creative. LOUD environment in the outdoor area.
Go explore and enjoy

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Ambience very nice on patio. Restaurant not so...
food very subpar. Tough veal. Pasta rather tasteless. Cold food ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Love this place! The patio is beautiful! A small water feature and tons of flowers make this a fabulous covered patio. Our server Cathy was stellar. Friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and attentive. All of the staff was great! Food was fantastic! Glad we finally made the trip there. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I'm never disappointed when dining here at El Barzon! The Patio adds to the Ambience in the warmer months! 😉👍🇨🇦

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

drinks were amazing, food was okay, dessert was excellent. our server was great, but the manager is a piece of work. not very accommodating. we had called earlier in the day to add two additional people to our party, were told if we wanted to we'd have to push the reservation back 45 minutes, no big deal we didn't mind at all. when we get there they were totally un prepared and acted like we had caused them a huge inconvenience. excuse me?? I CALLED AHEAD (waited on hold for 20 minutes) and PUSHED BACK MY RESERVATION. the issue? he incorrectly sat a four-top at our six-top and instead of apologizing for their error, tried to make my guests and I feel uncomfortable. I might go back in the future for the drinks (food was okay) but would have to seriously consider it after our terrible experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food, service, and the rest of the staff was terrific. Wish I knew ahead of time they put in a new outdoor seating area, I would have requested sitting there. Oh well, next time. Other than that it was awesome.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

a very disappointing evening - we had reservations and we arrived at 8: 15 pm - there was a very long line outside of the restaurant and they took care of seating as quickly as possible. they were so busy that we were ask to order about 30 minutes later, we hadn't received a menu and no one came by to order a drink, we order a drink and that took another 20 minutes to get, very noisy and totally understand being busy but obviously way under staff - waitress came back to take our orders another 20 minutes later - food was not up to par - i advised that the fish wasn't good (very fishy) and the reply was "oh well", the rest of the guest food wasn't good as well- been to this restaurant a few times prior and that night it was just terrible - we had to get their attention to order another drink which took another awhile to get - bathrooms were a mess and what attendant came in and handed toilet paper to a girl in line and said "here" - men's washroom was dirty as well - very disappointing evening overall so its difficult to recommend this restaurant any more

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Really enjoyed it. I like it more now that you can park in the back. Food was great. Service was great. We hope to come back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Server was knowledgeable and the drinks and food were amazing. Sat outside and the ambiance was very romantic and relaxing. I will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was really good. You need to pick Mexican or Italian. It is not a combination of the cuisine. Not too busy in the middle of the week. Service a tad bit slow. Had to ask for water to refilled a couple of times. Same thing for chips

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The customer service was absolutely amazing and the food was really good!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I come here often. We have never been disappointed. One of our favorite places in Detroit.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food and selection. Desserts were ok but appetizers and main course were great

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The restaurant was a recommendation from a friend when i said I was looking for a "new" Mexican restaurant. As soon as I saw mole on the menu I was in - and I was not disappointed. The mole was good as I've had in San Antonio - and that was GOOD! The menu is pretty large - it seems a bit bigger on the Italian side - which is good because the friends we were dining with preferred Italian. They also have a nice selection of Margaritas. Once I spied the large bunch of fresh mint prominently displayed however - I opted for a Mojito - which was almost as good as mine. :) The patio is nice and I wish we would have stayed outside to eat. My only complaint is the noise level in the dining room. It was busy (obviously due to the good food) and hard to carry on a conversation. We will definitely be back - but will request patio seating.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful spot for Mother's Day brunch

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, the food was amazing! The staff are especially friendly and always willing to accommodate our two young children. Highly recommend this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food and very good service during a busy Sat night at 8:30 pm. We had a reservation luckily as place was hopping. Apps and meal were great. The whiskey craft cocktail has some uumph behind it. Great dessert too. Just a fantastic experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We wanted to thank you so much for helping us celebrate my daughters birthday. Everyone went out of their way to make sure my daughter's wheel chair was accomodated and out of the way on the beautiful patio so she wouldnt get bumped. And when we had to suddenly leave because my other daughter wasn't feeling good, the personalized dessert you brought the birthday girl even though we hadn't eaten yet and the quick boxing up of our order was so thoughtful. Best take out dinner ever! Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

1. Busy Friday night = no drinks menu for 15 minutes and another while longer for the menu. Thankfully they plied me with chips. Friday nights are stupid busy and I appreciate that, but maybe you should let your table know you didn't flat out forget about them.

2. Good outdoor seating with space heaters. You can't tell you're sitting in the middle of a bad neighborhood. Suburbanites would be comfortable here.

3. Ordered spaghetti scoglio $20 - two of three mussels were unopened (shouldn't eat that), one shrimp (seriously), and the rest of the sauce and dish was fishy. And the sauce? Prego, where you at?!

Thankfully the chips were enough to fill me and the green salsa was just bland enough that I could eat a ton without burning my mouth off. Expensive dinner of chips. This place is off my list for good.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food. Great service. Would return definitely

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We celebrated our son's Confirmation at El BArzon. We had a party of 10 including 3 children. The wait staff was excellent. They were very accommodating to our children and even brought our son, who made his Confirmation, a special dessert on the house. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I brought my girlfriend to El Barzon on Saturday evening and it was a WONDERFUL experience. The food was delicious and the service was phenomenal. Our waitress, Analyssia, was excellent and made it a very enjoyable experience. We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

El Barzone was awesome in accommodating our party of 7 since Open Table had us down for a party of 2! We will call the restaurant directly next time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Cinco de Mayo celebration was great. Everyone was very happy. The wait staff was very attentive to our needs. We will be back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was an awesome place to celebrate Cinco de Mayo!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This place is a gem! We had a wonderful experience and will be going back ASAP. The food was great and the ambiance was fantastic! Would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Awful! Chil rellenos inedible, tacos flavorless, margaritas weak and sugary.
Still baffled about rave reviews. Did we go to the wrong restaurant? NOT! Don't waste you time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Picked this at a friend recommendation. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent as was the service. I would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

food and service was excellent.....noise was a little much. it was hard to talk to our party

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 26, 2017

El Barzon is still listed as one of the better Mexican restaurants in Detroit. I have had better meals these in the past. This time it was very disappointing. It took 10-15 minutes for anyone to take our orders although the inside room was practically empty. The appetizers (fried calamari, guacamole, spicy pork and fish tacos) were ok. But the main courses were just average. The mole sauce on the enchiladas was too sweet. The chocolate flavor should not be so pronounced. My wife had sea bass. It came swimming in some sauce and next to 2 piles of what looked like potato salad and the spinach. The spinch had a weird flavor. The arrangement on the plate was not very attractive. Our waitress Merced tried hard but didn't even make a comment when the 2 fish dishes were left half eaten.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Second time I've eaten here. Great food and service. Great upscale Mexican .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

excellent food and great value. mexican/italian menu was unique and the table enjoyed entrees from both sides and no one was disappointed. the wine list seemed adequate given the menu price points and the margarita menu had nice variety for those at our table that had the mexican entrees. we will be back and look forward to returning

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Drinks were good, but way over priced , half of my group enjoyed their food, two same their meals back , and the remainder said the food was just ok.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were looking for some new restaurants for Sunday dining. We had already been to El Barzon within a year and decided to repeat for the third time. It is a mixture of Mexican and Italian foods. They have good wine and fun handcrafted cocktails. I would recommend this reastaurant especilly in the warm months since the outdoor patio seating area is spectacular!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.