About El Barzon

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (29)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was not the best dining experience we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was not the best dining experience we've had there. Food was ok, service ok, ambience fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Everything about the patio ambiance was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything about the patio ambiance was wonderful. My wife and I kicked off our five year wedding anniversary here and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was exceptional! Our waiter w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was exceptional! Our waiter was fabulous. I would highly recommend this restaurant...the food was fresh and authentic with a different flair. Their margaritas were fantasti; made with fresh squeezed organic lemons and limes. We can't wait to go back:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great time. We also enjoyed ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

great food, great time. We also enjoyed the birthday treat for my husband. Very yummy

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to celebrate anniversary. Been to E ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went to celebrate anniversary. Been to El Barzon 3-4 time prior, but not in over a year. Parking was gated and improved. Back entrance and patio for casual dining was new and nice, but we chose to dine inside where it was quieter.

Wife's Tris Di Pasta was good but not as good as previously.

My daily special of a variety of seafood was plentiful but mostly overcooked and underseasoned. Half lobster tail was particularly rubbery. Salmon and Sea Bass just average.

Calamari appetizer was mediocre for $10.

Waitress forgot to bring bread, as well as my salad and my wife's soup.

Waitress offered coffee/tea at end of meal but no dessert. Also did not offer to make up for forgetting soup and salad - No price adjustment, no free dessert, etc.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The host was a little frazzled as it was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The host was a little frazzled as it was very busy, but overall everything was great. Our server never rushed us and the food was outstanding

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful patio setting on a late summer ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Beautiful patio setting on a late summer evening; lasagna, so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good food but not outstanding. Pricey f ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food but not outstanding. Pricey for Mexican and Italian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been here twice and both times I've ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been here twice and both times I've been blown away by the food. The ambience is nice and the outside patio is a nice touch when its warm. This is a real diamond in the rough and you could easily drive right past it, but don't!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I visited El Barzon this ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I visited El Barzon this past weekend for our anniversary dinner. We never would have decided on this place based on its street appeal-- a very generic-looking storefront, set off a major road, not a particularly busy stretch of town, etc. But we were recommended to visit by family members, so gave it a shot-- and so glad we did. The back entrance is BEAUTIFUL. Semi-outdoor seating in a covered patio structure with so much ambiance.

We were not greeted promptly, and had to remind the hostess to notify our server after waiting for about 15 minutes or so. However, once greeted, our server was very attentive and pleasant, and seemed knowledgeable and excited about the offerings. The food was delicious, and the drinks were great as well.

The dessert menu was presented on an electronic tablet, and there were plenty of options. We selected the chocolate cake, which was delicious. My espresso was not great, but may have just been a one-off experience (a poorly pulled shot, perhaps).

We'll definitely be back for future special occasions.

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

First time, and I'll be back. Louis was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time, and I'll be back.

Louis was our wonderful waiter!

Yum!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mexican/Italian fusion is definitely a w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Mexican/Italian fusion is definitely a weird concept, but the food is awesome and the place itself cool, especially the outdoor seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved this place. Goat chops wer ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Really loved this place. Goat chops were delicious. Cactus soup and an Italian/Mexican Fusion pasta dish were outstanding. We ordered from the special of the day selections. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come for the three pasta dish, excelle ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I come for the three pasta dish, excellent every time.

Thank you for the special dessert served to my daughter for her birthday too!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was really great, despite th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was really great, despite the fact that we asked to switch tables twice (once because someone was cold, once because it was starting to rain).

The food is honestly just ok - maybe I didn't order the right thing, but I felt like the food was not that impressive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Very friendly staff, great entree select ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very friendly staff, great entree selection! One of the nicest patio restaurants that we have been to in the Detroit area. Great for dining with friends or for a romantic night out. Waitstaff a bit slow on getting our check but overall get place to dine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant! Service is alwa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant! Service is alway excellent, and we've never had a bad meal there. We love the covered outdoor patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a pleasure it was to be with our da ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a pleasure it was to be with our daughter and son-in-law at El Barzon! They live in another city and are always anxious to eat a unique restaurant with excellent food, so they were very pleased. Because I had reserved a table in the front (quiet) room, and because we ate early, the room was quiet and we could actually hear one another without leaning over the table! OUr waitress had a huge smile on her face each tome she approached us - how welcoming!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate a birthday. It ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We came here to celebrate a birthday. It was a Wednesday night and still fairly busy. There was one larger party but the rest were couples. However, I think its a great place for any group to gather although I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a hip scene.

The service was top notch. The staff was friendly and attentive but not overbearing and didn't rush you through your meal (which is something we had just recently experienced so I was sensitive to this). We took our time drinking, ordering and eating. The food was excellent. Everything we ordered, from the salsa to the main entrees, tasted fresh and authentic.

My only minor complaints were that the outside could be slightly more decorated and inviting, although the waterfall and the partial open roof were very relaxing, and the prices were slightly on the high end considering the location.

Other than that, I would still highly recommend this restaurant to anyone for an authentic meal with great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always amazing!! We love to turn new peo ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always amazing!! We love to turn new people on to one of our favorite spots. Great pastas, seafood, veal dishes, sausage and peppers, Pozole, tamales etc. Wether you like Italian or Mexican or both you can't beat El Barzon!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good, nice atmosphere, g ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was good, nice atmosphere, good food, but the only complaint was the chairs were too tall for the tables making it uncomfortable to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed on the restaurant not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointed on the restaurant not acknowledging my son's birthday even though we noticed that it was mentioned in the reservation. We ordered a cake and paid for it. A free desert or at least a candle on the cake would have been nice, especially after we had paid a lot for the drinks and dinner. Host was not very friendly either when we asked to switch our table because it was raining and the water was sprinkling on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a small group outside in the rain ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a small group outside in the rain. It didn't matter , food was amazing and they made our family members anniversary special. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for dinner Big menu with man ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great spot for dinner Big menu with many choices We ate on the patio which is great in the summer. Food was outstanding. Would recommend El Barzon highly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter was attentive until the resta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter was attentive until the restaurant got extremely busy. He then failed to visit our table to take our food or drink order for 35 minutes. There may have been some sort of miscommunication, but needless to say, that is far too long to wait. We left before we were even able to place our entree orders. We have had the same waiter in the past and he was excellent. Hopefully this experience was an anomaly.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Second time here and we really enjoyed i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Second time here and we really enjoyed it again. The menu is so interesting that you wish you could order everything. We went with a Mexican appetizer and an Italian entrée. The entrée was very good but we wished that we had ordered something else - something more adventurous. The seafood appetizer, shrimp and squid in a Mexican sauce, was outstanding. Service was excellent , we dined at a leisurely pace and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu and a good variety of items. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great menu and a good variety of items. Nice atmosphere. Fun place to dine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great food, fun atmosphere on patio, a l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere on patio, a little loud

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went to El Barzon for the first time w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went to El Barzon for the first time with a group on a Tues night as part of a 'pub crawl'. I was amazed that this little gem existed in the neighbourhood. That Sat we were celebrating a friend's birthday so we went back as I knew she would love the patio. All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Good for da ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Good for dates and for families. The neighborhood is a bit dodgy, but once you get into their compound, it is fine. The restaurant itself is very pleasant and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great dinner. Sitting outside ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always a great dinner. Sitting outside on a summer night is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was not what we were expectin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Atmosphere was not what we were expecting. We were all blown away. Surrounding neighborhood isn't great, but this place is a GEM. Food is great, drink list is awesome and the atmosphere was very cool. I prefer this place over any place in Mexican Town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is always good ... Not amazing ... ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always good ... Not amazing ... But good. Balanced entrees ... Great menu options. Service is painfully slow. We were a large table of 10 and our server was handling tables inside and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We all LOVED this place. We went for my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all LOVED this place. We went for my birthday. Atosphere is wonderful. Waitstaff was very good. They brought me a cheese cake with a very nice message written on the plate. My friends husband asked that they not sing happy birthday to me (I don't like that) and they listened! All of us were delighted by our entree's and the price was even better. The patio is one of the best. We will most definately be going to El Barzon again. A wonderful hidden gem in Detroit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time there .. definately will be b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

first time there .. definately will be back .. definately

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem . Quality food and a great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A hidden gem . Quality food and a great service. We will go back again for sure .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY CURB APPEAL!!! PARK ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY CURB APPEAL!!! PARK AROUND BACK AND FOLLOW SIGNS. The food was terrific and the scratch cocktails well thought out. The service at times was a bit slow and the coffee poor but otherwise I can't complain about this gem. Had both Italian and Mexican dishes and desserts, all wonderful. The veal and goat on the Mexican side had lots of flavor depth. The pastas with chorizo and fresh tomatoes on the Italian side were equally as good. Definitely stop by and sit outside if the weather is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

One of the best patios around, but crowd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of the best patios around, but crowded and very loud. Food is great unless you are a vegetarian, few/if any choices. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. The food was not appetizing and the presentation of the food was not very pleasing. I informed my waitress that I was not please with my food, but she didn't offer any type of resolution. She didn't apologize nor did she offer me anything else. Very poor service!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.