Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

About El Barzon

Coming Soon!

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://elbarzonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fun (17)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We went here for a birthday. Was a great mix of foods. Was amazed at the selection of Italian and Mexican dishes. Both our meals were amazing. Would recommend to anyone and we return for many more visits.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Loved the authentic Italian and authentic Mexican food! So many delicious choices. Food was served hot and at a perfect pace for our corporate holiday dinner. He halibut was a hit with 4 of our guests and the veal chop was huge and tasty. I would recommend El Barzon for any event lunch or dinner.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2017

My mom & I were seated right away & had our orders placed promptly. I ordered the pasta trio and she ordered the lemon chicken dish. We waited well over 45 minutes before our meal arrived. The restaurant became full after our order was placed. I’m not sure if our waitress forgot to enter it in, as tables seated after us received their meals before us. Frustrating but what can we do? We both ask for boxes, which she brought back promptly but minus our bill. We waited another 10-15 minutes and only received after we flagged another server down. I kept looking around for her but she never seemed to be available. The food was tasty but our overall experience was definitely soured by the poor service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We took our grandson and his date before the concert. The restaurant was attentive and made sure we were served in a timely manner so we would not be late for the show.
The food was hot and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Eddie and the staff of El Barzon know how to treat their guest. Amazing food and top notch service. I will always recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Wonderful service, food and drinks! Glad to have gated parking

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Food was wonderful, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

El Barzon is personally my favorite restaurant in Detroit. I just love the menu (food and drink) and the atmosphere. Alex is literally the best waiter I've ever had wait on me. This place never disappoints.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2017

El Barzon was excellent. I highly recommend their specials and also their margaritas. I would send anyone here to eat!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

This was my second time, first with my wife this time for a business meeting. Regardless of the occasion this is an exceptional eatery. will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Loud and disappointing but the server was fun and I’m glad we went but wouldn’t return
Food was very wverage

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was great enjoyed the goat dinner. Very noisy and appears not enough servers to accommodate the crowd.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Food was cold when it was served. Only thing that disappointed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Goat tacos were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fantastic food and service. All but one of us decided on Mexican and it was fantastic all around.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Interesting menu of Italian and Mexican dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Consistently excellent. I especially like the Italian side of the menu

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great food, great wine and great service. Our waitress, Kathy, was phenomenal with her suggestions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

We've been to El Barzon several times now. Each dining experience has been fabulous. The service from the staff is top notch. The menu and specials are so interesting and well prepared. Great food at a reasonable price; what's not to like? We recommend El Barzon to all our friends!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2017

El Barzon is consitant - good food, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. Never dissapointed here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The place is nice. Outside is better than inside. Food is good. The service is just ok. It was a great experience. Nice pasta and chips.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I felt it was very average. Nothing special for food at all. Certainly not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Love this place! Food, ambience, service..all great. I highly recommend sitting outside if the weather permits. Definitely a hidden gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of the most unique menus available with delicious options, amazing outdoor vibe, excellent tequila drink options and wine selection. The service is always attentive, timely and friendly. Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Consistently great place for both Mexican and Italian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of my Top 5 Restaurants in the US!!.....Like a Great Wine.....It keeps getting Better and Better.....Cocktails are very Creative.....Food is over the Top

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a wonderful meal! Can't wait to go back with our family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service was perfect. We had been to this restAurant many years ago and were pleasantly surprised by the newly added addition which made our dining experience leaving us likx s were on a vacation. An added bonus was the quality of the food. Fun and interesting menu. We were sorry we were so full that dessert was not an option. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very good food and a Wonderfull selection of both Mexican and Italian, yes I said Mexican and Italian, food. Great beer and wine selection as well as full bar options and of course creative margaritas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was great as usual. We ate outside and the service was just as good. Food was hot,. I have never had a bad meal there. Just love the place and the owner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Enjoyed a beautiful evening with family and friends. Tried the goat and thought it was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

SERVICE WAS GRACIOUS AND WITH A SMILE.
FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. ASKED FOR EXTRAS
DELIVERED PROMPTLY. ALCOHOLIC DRINKS
ARE BIT ON THE EXPENSIVE SIDE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, and food. The fresh pasta and deserts are delicious. 👍👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a great meal here on the patio, choosing the Mexican side of the menu. The patio is such a great place to have a meal and enjoy the beautiful space. Our waiter, Gustavo, was excellent and we enjoyed talking to him about Mexico City. The food was spot on and the service was excellent. Overall, we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Loved it. Say on the patio, perfect day, great food. (Get the goat) great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I officially have a new favorite restaurant! El Barzon was better than I could have imagined! Took my fiancé for his birthday, and while they did not do anything special for the celebration---the food was outstanding and ambiance was top-notch! We LOVED the patio and we will be considering it for our rehearsal dinner. The asiago gnocchi with chorizo sauce was to die for, we just wish it wasn't a special and it could be on the menu all the time!! We will most certainty be back in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing food. A blend of Mexican and Italian with exquisite flavors. A definite gem!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The hostess was incredibly rude. She avoided the hostess stand as people waited. We had reservations and it took 10 minutes just to find someone and let them know we were there. She very rudely said it would be a couple minutes which turned into a half an hour. When confronted about the wait she stated "I told you we're working on it". Finally we just seated ourselves. Many patrons left because there was no one to seat them. They had at least 20 tables that were not bused and the manager could have cared less about any of it. Our waiter was terrific and the food was very good. However I will not be returning due to the horrible, incredibly rude hostess, and lack of management. You should not treat paying customers that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was pretty good, but service was abysmal. It took over 15 minutes after being seated to be acknowledged, another 20 minutes to receive our initial drink order, and 30 minutes after we finished our appetizers before our main course arrived. MANY other guests were also overheard complaining about the service and food time, with one patron even angrily yelling at a manager near our table. We will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.