Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

About El Barzon

Coming Soon!

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Authentic (26)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Spicy (9)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

El Barzon is still listed as one of the better Mexican restaurants in Detroit. I have had better meals these in the past. This time it was very disappointing. It took 10-15 minutes for anyone to take our orders although the inside room was practically empty. The appetizers (fried calamari, guacamole, spicy pork and fish tacos) were ok. But the main courses were just average. The mole sauce on the enchiladas was too sweet. The chocolate flavor should not be so pronounced. My wife had sea bass. It came swimming in some sauce and next to 2 piles of what looked like potato salad and the spinach. The spinch had a weird flavor. The arrangement on the plate was not very attractive. Our waitress Merced tried hard but didn't even make a comment when the 2 fish dishes were left half eaten.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Second time I've eaten here. Great food and service. Great upscale Mexican .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

excellent food and great value. mexican/italian menu was unique and the table enjoyed entrees from both sides and no one was disappointed. the wine list seemed adequate given the menu price points and the margarita menu had nice variety for those at our table that had the mexican entrees. we will be back and look forward to returning

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Drinks were good, but way over priced , half of my group enjoyed their food, two same their meals back , and the remainder said the food was just ok.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were looking for some new restaurants for Sunday dining. We had already been to El Barzon within a year and decided to repeat for the third time. It is a mixture of Mexican and Italian foods. They have good wine and fun handcrafted cocktails. I would recommend this reastaurant especilly in the warm months since the outdoor patio seating area is spectacular!!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Took 45 minutes to be seated and I had a reservation BUT the manager did the right thing at the end and gave us choice of free drink or desert; good bang for buck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food and service were great. We had to wait some extra time to be seated, but in the end it was well worth it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lovely experience for a birthday. The drinks, appetizers and our meal was fantastic. The birthday presentation was lovely. Highly recommend this fusion restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was impressed by the service and the food was amazing from the appetizers to the main courses. There was not one water glass that remained empty or an Arnold-Palmer for more than 10 seconds at the most; which was truly amazing and an indicator of just how awesome the service was here. Alex and Cesar were our two key waiters and they were both excellent. We were celebrating a co-worker's last day with the department and the restaurant had been mentioned by another co-worker and proved to be the right choice. Everyone had a wonderful meal and mentioned that they would be returning soon. Our compliments to Alex, Cesar, the staff, and the chef/s.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was fabulous, service was impeccable. We all tasted several entrees - made from scratch mole poblano, they roast and grind their own spices, it was delicious. Pasta is homemade, sauces are amazing, especially the cavatelli alla boscaiola, goat shanks were very tasty and cooked to perfection. Cappuccino and flan for desert, both amazingly wonderful. The staff was very friendly and looked happy to be there, we noticed how much they helped each other out. Everyone smiled which doesn't happen in all restaurants :-/ The atmosphere was really pleasant which added to the tastiness of the food. Definitely recommend this place!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

El Barzon is worth the drive. It is a hidden gem in the city. I prefer the Italian dishes on the menu but always enjoy the chips and guacamole as a warm up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My favorite patio in Detroit for everything after brunch. I love this place. Taste one chili relleno and you'll know. Such an odd menu, but never had anything I haven't liked.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This place has a mexican menu and an italian menu - don't mistake it for fusion. Chips, salsa and guac were good. So were the margaritas. I had the goat taco - different but not something I'd have to get again. I had the porcini mushroom and meat ravioli with a butter truffle sauce - Delicious!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I had a great time. My experience was wonderful from start to finish. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I have never had better service any where in the world- everyone was so
tentative and so nice and helpful,It was so great- our waiter was amazing.
Cant wait to come back- I can see why it is always crowded!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The food was delicious and presented well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day
Bad service, exceptional food!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went with much anticipation. The food and service were very good, very traditional. However, the price point seemed very high for the meal.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went during restaurant week. There was a special menu for the night. We all enjoyed the food and plan to go back and sample more off of their regular menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I went to El Barton for the last night of restaurant week with my mom and sisters. All four of us enjoyed it. Amongst us we had the chicken Marsala, chicken limone, and the skirt steak. All the dishes were perfectly prepared and delicious. Also, Our waiter Luis was very attentive. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a date night here last weekend, and it did not go as planned. First they seated us under the heat vent, so we were sweating half the night, then my ravioli's ended up have some sort of rubber pieces in them. Not sure what happened, but I will never be back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent time at El Barzon! A work colleague had recommended it...I'm so very glad we went. Amazing service!! The food was also very, very good... the Arrachera (especially that!) and Pollo Marsala were outstanding; as was the Tres Leches cake. The staff made our anniversary dinner and experience truly special. This place outshines for service and hospitality - and has the best Arrachera I've found in the US - really. We are already talking about when we can go back. Can't wait to try out the patio this summer (which looks amazing!!).

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time dining experience thanks to Detroit Restaurant week and we absolutely loved it! Food was amazing and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not worth the price, overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Went for restaurant week Had lobster ravioli that was over-whelmed by the tomato based sauce. The tres leches cake was very good. Probably best to stick with the Mexican/latin based dishes. The Italian fare seems like an after-thought.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Didn't pay attention to the fact that it was Detroit Restaurant week but the menu did not disapoint. And the service is 2nd to none!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Restaurant week dining. Great experience. Outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The one thing I will say I didn't like is that I felt kind of rushed and am still unsure why when the entire restaurant was empty with the exception of 4 other tables of 2 ppl each. So for like a total of 10 patrons during dinner. Our waiter kept rushing me to decide what I wanted and I was eating with a friend I hadn't seen in a long time.

I also feel like the options offered for restaurant week weren't worth the $39 ticket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

El Barzon always has an innovative menu, given its cross between Mexican - NOT Tex-Mex - and Italian. Interesting drink menu, too, featuring a variety of margaritas. Never disappointing.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service are fabulous! Best Margarita ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

i have been to El Barzon many times and i have never been disappointed. The seafood is fresh, and all the chicken dishes are exquisite. The pasta is prepared in house and is comparable to any other high end italian restaurant. As for the drinks my favorite is the cucumber cilantro margarita but their other hand crafted margaritas are also very unique and tasty. something worth noting is that the service is excellent, when you leave El Barzon you leave happy and looking forward to your next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Celebration

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food and pretty good service. Our waiter was attentive but didn't ever refill our water glasses even though they were empty for ~ 1/2 of the meal. We definitely didn't leave hungry though and we both liked our dishes (chicken carbonara and asiago gnocci special). However, the restaurant was so loud. There were several large groups, which probably increased the volume, but for part of the time we ate in "silence" because it was too hard to hear each other and we got tired of yelling.

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Reviews had been super so we made the drive into this sketchy part of town. Ambiance was much nicer on the inside than we would have guessed. Tasty Margarita but served with a straw in a wine glass - ?? Staff was great, they even sang Happy Birthday and decorated a flan for the celebration. But the food was underwhelming. We all went with the Mexican side of the menu (maybe Italian would have been better?). Flavors were heavier on salt than authentic spices. Textures of the only two desserts that night, flan or creme brûlée, were also wrong - too heavy and too thin, respectively. Maybe we will try again in warm weather because the outdoor patio looks like a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had another phenomenal meal here. Their guacamole is fantastic and they specially made me eggplant Parmesan that's not even on the menu. They have great cocktails and the service is wonderful. We absolutely love going here!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Veal was amazing.
Luis our server did an outstanding job!
Food was timely and perfect even though the place was packed with parties.
Best gem in the city!
Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Everything was amazing! Service, food, management...what an incredible gem off the beaten path...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food, great service, all around awesome! I had the gnocchi with chorizo cream sauce, which was amazing. Good wine and cocktail selection. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Jewel in Detroit! Unique full Mexican and Italian menu and it was amazing!! Love the fact off the beaten path, staff great, super fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.