About El Barzon

3710 Junction St
Detroit, MI 48210
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican

Hours of Operation:


Monday - closed

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Michigan Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 894-2070

Website:
http://upbizbiz.wix.com/el-barzon#!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Also Available

Executive Chef:
Norberto Garita

El Barzon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (39)
great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (33)
See All
special occasion (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
romantic (21)
great for lunch (13)
hot spot (9)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food as always, service was below par.

Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter/waitress kept changing. No one ever asked us if we wanted more wine. It was crowded so my husband's head got bumped twice by service trays. I'd still go back for the food. Service staff is very friendly but disorganized.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time here and we fell ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time here and we fell in love with the place immediately. The atmosphere was great, the food delicious and the prices reasonable. There was a large rehearsal dinner going on and so it was a little noisier in the outside area than it probably usually is, but still reasonable. We will be back!

food3
ambience3
service3

It was good but nothing spectacular.

Dined 4 days ago

It was good but nothing spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food, best service. In my opinion, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best food, best service. In my opinion, the best restaurant in Detroit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Try It!

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was a new experience for myself and my five companions. We were very curious to try this restaurant that combined Mexican and Italian dishes on the menu. Our waitress was very attentive and explained the specials and the features available. The food was very good and I would definitely plan on a repeat visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

I had softshell crab in the breading was ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I had softshell crab in the breading was way too heavy.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner Great. Brunch Blah!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to El Barzon on four occasions. My last visit was for Mother's Day 2016, where my husband and I took our mothers to El Barzon because we knew it was going to be awesome. The brunch menu was okay but the food was awful. Lacking flavor and the overall quality that we had experienced previously. We were sad to state this as our truth. We really are rethinking if this is one of our go-to restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Vibes and Excellent Food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I came in from Chicago with my girlfriend to visit friends and we absolutely loved the place. Coming from a city like Chicago where there are numerous restaurants, I was excited to check out the Detroit food scene and El Barzon came highly recommended. Needless to say, the food and ambiance surpassed our expectations and we had a great time sitting on the beautiful back patio. The restaurant is a little bit off the beaten path, but I believe it added to the experiences in doing something different and outside the downtown area where so many new restaurants are starting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time to El Barzon this past we ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

My first time to El Barzon this past weekend and it was fantastic! The food was delicious and as amazing as I've heard!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food

Dined on April 30, 2016

The Mexican food we ordered was exceptional, everything obviously made from scratch, and the service was cheerful and efficient. An extremely pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around good experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

Waiter was outstanding. Managers sincere attention to our needs was nice to see. Best of all the food was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Detroit Favorite

Dined on April 29, 2016

El Barzon never disappoints. Great food, fun atmosphere and incredible service. Case in point: when my husband couldn't decide on a margarita, they made him three small samplers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sweet little gem in Southwest Detroit.

Dined on April 24, 2016

This wonderful restaurant is a great little restaurant for outstanding Mexican and Italian food. Fresh, inventive, beautifully displayed and served with the utmost in professionalism. Make your reservation today!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Due to previous customers our table was ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Due to previous customers our table was not ready at the reservation time. Though it's technically the previous customers' fault, the restaurant should've had a table ready for us. We had to wait 15 mins past our reservation time. Our experience once seated was great though. Great food and drinks.

food1
ambience2
service2
value3

Minuscule clams

Dined on April 17, 2016

Minuscule clams in a very bland linguini Vongole. Gluten free linguini grainy . That was AFTER sending it back for being hard and gummy at the same time! Sauce had no clam flavor and was oily not creamy in texture. Make this at home and live it at LaZingara on Erie St in Windsor.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! I was very impre ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I love this restaurant! I was very impressed by the Mexican food. I found it to be very authentic. If I could change anything, I would like to see vegetarian tacos.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 8, 2016

Visited the restaurant for the first time (after wanting to go for a long time) to celebrate my birthday. We were seated right away and received fun and attentive service for the whole meal. The food was delicious and unique (sometimes solidly in the Italian or Mexican camp but there were a few dishes that were inspired by both cuisines). At the end of the meal after mentioning we were celebrating my birthday I received a mini caramel flan with my name and a sparkler. It was a very unexpected but nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Strozzapretti alla Norccina and Linguini el Barzon - BOTH EXCELLENT!! And, as always, we were impressed with the service (Fernando) and the Manager, Eddie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful dining, ok food

Dined on March 25, 2016

El Barzon was a beautiful restaurant, great drinks and ambiance. I thought the food was just ok, nothing to rave about, but my husband loved the goat tacos. For the price, I probably wouldn't go back unless it was Cinco de mayo as the patio looks like it would be a blast.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

not worth the price.

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I am not a fan of bad reviews but today's experience needed it. The place seems very popular and food is good but tonight between the 3 couples we ordered 9 drinks (tequila based) and the first round seemed really watered down. We did not complain and but then the second round was even worse as if no alcohol was ever used. We then called the manager and he was nice enough to get a round free for us and this drinks did seem good but then on a Friday night in SW Detroit, we did not drive so far, spend $180 on drinks and another $100 on food to have watered down drinks. Something needs to be changed here. Will not return, why go to an isolated place in Detroit when you can go go downtown, midtown or cork town to some amazing food and bar scenes.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a good find

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I'd like to experience their outdoor as soon as they open for the season.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on February 17, 2016

Time after time, El Barzon's food and service have been perfect. Alex, our server, was spot on as usual, and Eddie, the manager, makes sure everything is just right. Two of us had our tried and true pasta dishes, Spaghetti Gamberoni and Pennette alla Vodka, both were excellent! The homemade sauce at El Barzon is amazing. Goat Chops were a special that evening as was the Gnocchi topped with a chicken breast - both also excellent. We will return soon as it is always a fabulous dinner and experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Love this place! A great date night plac ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place! A great date night place!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went there Valentine's weekend, naturally they were full. Everyone from the hostess, server, and manager were there to help, very friendly staff and accommodating. The wine list and prices are incredible. Food was great, a ton of options. Only drawback was the noise. Low ceilings and plaster walls don't help, very loud when it was full. Nevertheless, I cant wait to go back, maybe with warmer weather and sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious & Accommodating

Dined on February 13, 2016

Got to our reservation a few minutes early and at first was a tad annoyed because our name was taken but we weren't told how long it would be, etc. Because it was Valentine's weekend I believe the woman helping us wasn't the usual hostess, however we were immediately sat 1 minute after our reservation time. Looking back now, I don't think the host was sitting people early to give the wait staff some time to keep up with the demand. We were sat near the kitchen, in a high traffic zone however were offered to move to a better located table after we got our drinks, which we were very appreciative of! 2 appetizers, dinner and drinks and it was a very affordable meal. We both loved our entrees and I will definitely come back to enjoy the patio in the summer time. The wait staff was so nice and accommodating and really knew the menu to offer suggestions. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, as Always

Dined on February 7, 2016

I have been to El Barzon several times and with two birthdays in the family, I decided to take them here to celebrate. Pleasing everyone in this crowd can be tricky with many special request. The staff went above and beyond to not only accommodate but also to wow my guest. Every time I dine here, I hesitate at the prices but after the first bite, I remember why. This is one of my favorite spots in metro Detroit offering a unique fusion of Mexican and Italian. A true one-of-a-kind gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing drinks and tasty food. What more ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Amazing drinks and tasty food. What more could you ask for?! Thankful for all the great service as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant

Dined on February 5, 2016

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere, attentive staff. I had the flank steak special and my wife had the gnocci special. Both were great! We also had come creative margarita's. This was our first time here from a recommendation from a relative. We are glad we went. Definitely would go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a party of 6, and between all of ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had a party of 6, and between all of us we had a nice sampling of both Mexican and Italian dishes. Everything we tried was delicious! The service was top notch also! We loved it so much that we made our reservations for Valentine's Day right then and there!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time here and our vis ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

This was our first time here and our visit was a very pleasant surprise!! The service was great and the ambiance was nicer than expected. Our server suggested a great appetizer platter, that could have been our meal. Entrees were great - everyone was more than satisfied. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The unique menu. Friendly staff. Delicio ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

The unique menu. Friendly staff. Delicious food. The margarita was excellent. Looking forward to returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites!

Dined on January 26, 2016

It was my gal pal's bday and they brought out a really great flan with Happy Birthday for desert - what a wonderful surprise and nice way to end our wonderful dinner!!! Everything was outstanding and we will definitely be back there soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great time!

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We always have the best service, and the food is always tasty! Everyone who works there is so pleasant and hospitable. One of our favorite places and I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Detroit's Best

Dined on January 23, 2016

You're a fool if you don't choose El Barzon for your dinner tonight. Great menu - Italian or Mexican and a fine tequila list for those with real taste. We go year-round, but especially enjoy the patio during the warmer months.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

It was an enjoyable experience

Dined on January 17, 2016

Veal was fatty and chewey. Limone sauce was great. Chicken dish was tasty. My husband first chose the veal then switched to Saltimbocca. When his dinner came, it was the veal and not tasty. He didn't complain. The waiter did not seem attentive. The manager was. The atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another outstanding dining experience!!!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Thank you for another great dining experience at El Barzon. Twelve of us enjoyed our meals, service and surroundings in the restaurant's vibrant atmosphere. As well, the appetizers that we ordered were fantastic!! Not to mention the margaritas made from the fresh squeezed juices. Our servers were very attentive that helpful that evening. We ended the evening with our beautifully plated birthday cake singing Happy Birthday. Thank you again for a wonderful dining experience!!! We continue to recommend your restaurant to others.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great every time.

Dined on January 16, 2016

We love this place. The parking lot is guarded so don't let that keep you away. High end food, fun cocktails and amazing service. We have eaten here three times over the past six months and it just keeps getting better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time visit will bring me back

Dined on January 14, 2016

Once you know where El Barzon is located (Mapquest makes it look impossible to get to), returning again and again will be a piece of cake! Genius is the only way to describe offering both Mexican and Italian dishes - you can pretty much bet there is something for everyone to enjoy. The food was good albeit not fantastic, definitely worth a return visit. I had chicken that was slightly over cooked - but just slightly. Because I was eating Italian, I enjoyed a Margarita ... okay, two. Very good. My party of three shared desserts - again, we enjoyed them all but nothing was unforgettable. In fact I can only remember two of the three we shared. I will make it a point to return when the weather warms up - the outdoor patio area looked amazing.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve 2016

Dined on January 1, 2016

The four in our group are vegetarian. There was good selection to accommodate that. The homemade stuffed ravioli was prepared to perfection. I didn't get the names of our waiters, several had various responsibilities in serving us, but all went out of their way to provide what we needed. One even suggesting he bring us a special platter with shredded parmesan cheese and herbs for the olive oil dip for the bread they serve. Great suggestion. Though the garlic butter that comes with the bread is great as well. We got to sample all of it. The neighborhood is not what one would consider a central business district; more industrial to older residential. Don't let that deter you. Parking and the entrance is from the back of the restaurant. It is well lighted. A kind gentleman greets you as you park and walk in. You know the food has to be great by the number of couples, families, and groups who are there each time we have been there. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Totally enjoyed El Barzon!

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

How do we describe a Mexican-Italian restaurant? It's really two restaurants in one, which is so much better than melding the menus into something eclectic. This is good ethnic food. Period. The menu lures you in with wonderful-sounding Mexican entrees, then the next page takes you to Italy. There were 7 of us - large enough but our waiter, Cesar, was excellent. Appetizers: Calamari and Shrimp. Entrees: Mexican and Italian (Veal Saltimbocca and the risotto with Asparagus were favorites). Dessert: Chocolate cake (fancier name, don't remember it) and Limoncello cake - both yummy! We are anxious to return for a summer menu when we can sit outdoors, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.