About El Asador

350 San Francisco St.
San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

El Asador, where you can find the best seafood and meat cuts, as well as some Puerto Rican cuisine, has a prime location near Old San Juan"s entrance, and right in the heart of the Old City's nightlife. The stylish and exclusive décor of this Bar & Restaurant, accentuated by a magnificent interior patio, provides the perfect environment for a delightful, cozy and sophisticated experience. Whether you are looking for an early lunch, a romantic dinner, or even if you are looking to have a couple of drinks with friends, El Asador is your ultimate destination.
Free WI-FI

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Puerto Rican

Hours of Operation:
Open seven days a week from 8:00am - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Callejon de la Capilla

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 289-9966

Website:
http://elasadorpr.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

El Asador Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (1)
See All
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
fit for foodies (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service.

Dined on March 29, 2016

We went for lunch on a weekday and had the place almost to ourselves. I don't know why because the food was absolutely phenomenal. It was the best and freshest food I have had over three different trips to the island. We spent about 200 dollars, including tip for 2 appetizers, a salad, and three entrees. Complimentary mushroom risotto before the meal was amazing. Service was notably good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

So disappointed with the service!

Dined on December 29, 2015

We made a reservation, showed up on time and were immediately seated. Unfortunately this was the best part of our experience. The hallway we were seated in had way too much volume on the speaker above our table so we were near yelling to talk to one another. After 30 minutes a waitress came by to take our order. We were informed that several dishes contained items they were out of so we scrambled for replacements. We put our entire order in (ie drinks and food) at one time. We then noticed not one on person was eating. A table near us walked out, a table of six people seemed to be considering leaving and from our vantage point we could see the kitchen. Nothing was coming out in the way of food. After another 15 minutes of waiting without so much as a glass of water we left as well. I understand restaurants working on "island time" but this was way beyond simply moving slower than mainland Americans are comfortable with in service. It was unorganized and no one seemed to be able to prioritize their work. The restaurant is beautiful and in such a great location. Some basic support of wait staff and kitchen help could make this a great place. Instead a half empty restaurant had people walking out. Ouch!

food2
ambience3
service1

Horrible service. Took an hour to get d ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Horrible service. Took an hour to get drinks, and a hour and a half for food. By the time we got our drinks, the ice had melted and they were watered down. The side salads did not have dressing even after it was requested. Three different groups walked out during our span there. Will never go back.

food4
ambience2
service1

1. I set reservation for 7:00 pm on the ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

1. I set reservation for 7:00 pm on the Open Table app. They had no table for 7pm, so they leave us in the bar until 8:15. 2. Every drink arrive with 15 mins difference. 3. Appetizers arrive after 9pm. 4. Food have many inconvenients. The waitress came back several times to gives us the news they don't have the food we ordered. She last more than 20 minutes between every notice. 5. Food was good and at the end, they apologize and didn't charge for drinks.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Restaurant cancelled our reservation.

Dined on December 24, 2015

We are giving one star in all required categories only because we never got to actually experience the restaurant other than passing it several times during our visit to Old San Juan. We received a call from the restaurant manager a few days prior to our confirmed reservation advising that the restaurant would not be open on the night we chose and they were therefore cancelling our reservation. We were disappointed and had to scramble to get another dinner reservation for that night. We passed the restaurant several times the night of our reservation and it was open so not sure why we were cancelled. It looks great from the outside and the posted menu looked very good as well. Would love to have experienced the food. Great location.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

It is true that this restaurant only has ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

It is true that this restaurant only has 2 people on the floor, one waitress and one bartender that divides her time as bartender and waitress. However, we had no complains of the service. They were both attentive and we felt the service was very good. The food on the other hand was disappointing... The only dish worth trying again was the mushroom risotto they brought on the house. The seafood we ordered was tasteless and rubbery and expensive for what it was... The drinks were good. Perhaps this is the reason why the bar was full and the tables were empty... It's sad to see they have such a great spot in Old San Juan and they are not making the most of it.

food1
ambience1
service1

Absolutely one of the worst restaurant e ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Absolutely one of the worst restaurant experiences I've ever had. The food is tasteless, rubbery, and served in inconsistent portions. The staff is unreliable. They do not check-in with the table and serve the food and drinks without a server's tray. Do not be deceived by the pictures and high rating. El Asador was a disastrous Saturday night dinner. No wonder the restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. AVOID!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and location A+

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

The food was very good and the open-air building was a delight. Nestled in Old San Juan, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on the earlier side around 6:15 ...

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

We went on the earlier side around 6:15 pm. Had the Mahi- Mahi with Garlic sauce and my frith had seafood risotto. Service was great- very cool decor- thoroughly enjoyed!!

food5
ambience4
service5

worth the trip

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

In old san juan this place is a gem with great friendly service Awesome fish and a wonderful staff (Karin and Johendy) made for a great afternoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoy El Asador when walking the streets of OSJ

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

Found this place on Open Table and really enjoyed it. A very nice find after a great afternoon roaming the streets of OSJ and the fort Friendly service and good apps, we shared some items and have some drinks in the open air of a very nicely done space. See photo's of dishes here: http://www.foodspotting.com/reviews/5586775 Sent from my Huckleberry™ It's a Southern thing®

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great location , service, drinks

vip
Dined on June 23, 2015

The restaurant is not air conditioned, so we were trepidatious; however, there were ceiling fans and nice breezes. The drinks were delicicious--try the passion fruit punch-- and our shrimp mofungos were quite good, but enough for two people to share. Would recommend this as a good lunch spot in Old San Juan.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

The food was great. The service was too slow.

Dined on February 15, 2015

The food was excellent but there were only two waiters attending and giving special attention to the group tables. We waited 30 minutes for a glass of wine. However the place is very nice and as I said before the food was great.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4

Best mofungo

vip
Dined on January 26, 2015

This is probably our 12th trip to PR. My wife and I have had not so good to very good mofungo. By far, we had the best mofungo to date at El Asador.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

open without supplies

Dined on December 30, 2014

Yes we arrived right on rime and an hour eight before closed however one waitress came saying rhat only had two items available out of menu which ia quite good dor eaters no doe new comers in other words we never get the chance to be surprised by a new Asador improve creation but subtly expelled from the restaurant without having a bite.

food2
ambience4
service1

Good for drinks only

Dined on December 29, 2014

El Asador is a very nice looking bar/restaurant. After that, it's all downhill. It took 1 hour for our food to arrive, and it was very underwhelming. Our group ordered Seafood Mofongo, Chicken Mofongo, 2 fish entres, and chicken Caesar salad. The salad was the only one with a positive review. And to make matters worse, there were only 2 people working the floor of the entire bar/restaurant! I heard them turn several dinner parties away (before we had received our food), saying "the kitchen is closed." This was on 12/29, one of the busiest weeks of the year! This is a nice looking place to have a drink, but there are much better restaurants in Old San Juan.

food5
ambience5
service5

An unexpected find

Dined on December 27, 2014

We were looking to get away from the rain, and saw people eating inside, in spite of a sign which said "waxing salon". The lunch turned out to be simple but perfectly cooked: grouper with mango/lemon sauce. We decided to reserve for dinner two nights later and had another wonderful meal. This is unpretentious Puerto Rican cuisine cooked perfectly; service was excellent both times.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1

By far the worst dining experience we ha ...

Dined on October 5, 2014

By far the worst dining experience we had ever encountered. The service was TERRIBLE. We were a party of 8 with a reservation. We showed up on time for our 8PM reservation - our table was not ready so we stood around while they pushed 2 tables together and put plates out (meanwhile, the place was empty). The waiter was completely unfamiliar with the menu - couldn't even get the drink order correct. We were uneasy but decided to stay through appetitzers to see if it got any better. Some of the appetizers came out, some of them came out different than what was ordered and some of them didn't come out at all. We left the restaurant an hour and half later in search of a decent place to enjoy a meal. Truly AWFUL!

food5
ambience5
service5

A Real Gem

Dined on September 10, 2014

This restaurant is on a quiet street in Old San Juan and a great find for exciting menu items. The service is outstanding and the food is even better. I had the whold Red Snapper and it was by far the best I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Vacation Find!

vip
Dined on August 14, 2014

We decided to see if OpenTable worked in Puerto Rico....surprise...it does! We found El Asador here & it was delicious. The creole grouper was great & definitely try the mushroom risotto!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

Do not be put off by appearance of resta ...

vip
Dined on July 7, 2014

Do not be put off by appearance of restaurant. Food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food

Dined on April 15, 2014

I found the authentic food to be excellent but no a/c so could be warm

food3
ambience3
service2

Most items on menu were not

Dined on March 16, 2014

Most items on menu were not available. They seem to have only three liquors available, rum, kailua, and a bottle of Jack Daniels! Very disappointing. Even chicken Caesar salad.....but no chicken, ridiculous!

food3
ambience5
service3

Out of most food

vip
Dined on December 31, 2013

I really wanted to like this place. The menu looks delicious, and the place is beautifully done. But when you are out of most of your food, including the advertised prix-fixe at $23.50 and everything else on the menu, we went elsewhere. Be sure to check that they have food before going.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Steer clear of El Asador

vip
Dined on December 27, 2013

First the good news. The waiter was very nice and hard-working. Two of the three dishes we ordered were good. And El Asador is a charming looking tavern in a historic building. Now the bad news. Waits are interminable, with several tables of clients leaving in the process. The prices are as high or higher than in some of the best restaurants in San Juan (like Casa Lola or Oceano). Water is served in plastic cups. Seating is mostly on picnic benches. There is only one, overpriced, red and one white wine by the bottle. The fried calamari were the worst I have ever tasted. In sum, It's a good place to drink --at the bar, where you don't need to wait so long for service. But as a restaurant, it's a pure tourist trap.

food1
ambience2
service1

Awful all around

Dined on December 19, 2013

This place looks attractive but please avoid it at all costs. The food is mediocre at best, especially considering the exorbitant prices, and the service takes forever. It took an hour and 15 minutes for us to get our appetizers. The fish was bland and overcooked and the pasta tasted like Chef Boyardee. The waiter spilled water on our table and never cleaned it up. Even the mojito, which they claim is the best in PR, is fine but not superlative.

food4
ambience4
service4

A cute little place

vip
Dined on November 13, 2013

A cute little place tucked out of the way in Old a Town San Juan. Not one of the tourist joints. A nice place to try.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelente

Dined on August 31, 2013

Buen ambiente, excelente comida y muy buena atención. Los Mojitos superrrrrr.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

A Let Down

Dined on July 5, 2013

I read some good reviews and was expecting some good Puerto Rican cusine. What a let down. Food was pricey, but quality was sub par. Presentation was nice, but food lacked seasoning and was very bland.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.