About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: 2169213333x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
11 More
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

Special Occasion (99)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
See All
Romantic (59)
Notable Wine List (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Scenic View (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

'been several times. The food is always ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

'been several times. The food is always awesome. Owing to the mission of the restaurant (rehabilitation) the caliber of the service can vary widely. Keep an open mind about your server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had an amazed not experience at Edwin ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an amazed not experience at Edwins restaurant. Food and service were outstanding!we definitely will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love supporting Edwins and what it is ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love supporting Edwins and what it is doing for the community. Great food, but a little pricey. Wish there were less expensive items on the menu.

Service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A wonderful dining experience with great ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A wonderful dining experience with great ambiance. We are thinking about our great food days later and telling many others how great Edwin's is. Shaker Square is lucky to have them!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding food service and atmosphere ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

outstanding food service and atmosphere

A gem in Cleveland

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A continental dining experience - we app ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

A continental dining experience - we appreciated the service and the knowledgeable staff. That we ate outside on a lovely evening only enhanced the food!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meals were excellent, as was the ser ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our meals were excellent, as was the service. EDWIN's goes overboard to provide excellent service. Wait staff constantly replace bread until you don't want any more. Wait staff are very cordial, as is the owner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the mission of Edwins so wanted ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the mission of Edwins so wanted to bring a group to support the cause and of course, eat good food! We were very impressed with the service and the food was tasty, albeit expensive. We were just in town visiting and made a reservation a few weeks in advance (for 6). We tried to add a 7th person but they said we were not able to do so which seemed strange. The chicken was very good and the lamb chops as well as the salmon. The rabbit pie was different but I probably wouldn't order it again. The burger is made at the table which is fun and the cheese cart also comes rolled out to the table. All in all a nice evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the pleasure of dining at Edwin's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I had the pleasure of dining at Edwin's with a colleague on Monday night. The food was excellent, the service was attentive and the ambience was so comfortable and tasteful. More importantly, is the concept behind Edwin's restaurant and that is their training leadership program for individuals looking to learn the restaurant business and to give themselves a second chance at creating a positive future. Hats off to Edwin's leadership, you are creating miracles and changing the world One person at a time! Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so glad we finally visited this ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were so glad we finally visited this restaurant. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food. Great service. Attract ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful food. Great service. Attractive decor. My only complaint was the music. It was loud rock music that didn't fit the cuisine or the ambiance, in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time I dined at Edwin's, my pa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The first time I dined at Edwin's, my partner and I discovered it by pure chance. We were in Shaker Square checking out menus of the various restaurants to grab dinner before a movie screening. The raw oyster bar, rabbit pie with prosciutto and parmesan crust and grilled seafood sausage made of shrimp, scallops and lobster sold us on the spot. We knew nothing about the place, but fell instantly in love. We were seated on the impossibly pleasant patio and enjoyed amazing craft cocktails (a perfect French 75 for me, and a sublime pisco sour for my beau) while we perused the menu. We ordered the above mentioned dishes, plus a half dozen oysters and topped it off with a pornographically delicious bread pudding and delectabe coffee drinls. The wait staff and manager could not have been more accommodating or friendly. My partner and I were impressed they had such a hip staff, too -- not the usual pretentious, stuffy types you see at some high end places and many sported some rather daring tattoos. We were surprised when the check arrived to discover the tip was tax-deductible and that the restaurant was a non-profit organization. We didn't inquire about it at the time, but checked out their website when we got home. We were blown away by what we read. Bravo for Edwin's (i.e. Education Wins)! What a brilliant idea and how perfect that the first of its kind is here in Cleveland. Now we just need more such establishments. I've since returned and had an equally wonderful experience. Come here for the excellent food and service, and leave feeling extra good for being part of the solution and not part of the problem.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Great food, great service, ex ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent! Great food, great service, excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was truly a dining experience. The ta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was truly a dining experience. The tableside burger prep was perfect. I would go back again and again, if only I lived in Cleveland. The concept is just as amazing as the food!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening celebrating ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a delightful evening celebrating the 50th anniversary of one our oldest couple friends. The service was outstanding! The food was very good and a couple of dishes excellent! I would love to be able to come more often but am from out of town.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is attractive with an int ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant is attractive with an interesting concept (training personnel who have a history of incarceration). Beyond that, the service was very slow and follow through was poor. The restaurant was quite noisy and not restful. The wine selection was good. The food was satisfactory but nothing special.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone should know the story of "Edwin ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everyone should know the story of "Edwins" by now, if not a google search is in order. To be served the best French cuisine in Cleveland, prepared and served by recently released inmates given a second chance by Brandon Chrostowski.

Brandon is on a mission to change the face of re-entry in the United States. In 2007, he founded EDWINS Leadership & Restaurant Institute. The idea for EDWINS was born “from a break” that Chrostowski received early in life. It has grown from a six-month program conducted in prison that provides training in culinary arts and hospitality to a full-service restaurant dedicated to teaching those recently released all facets of restaurant operations.

After release, individuals are not only equipped with basic culinary skills, they also are assisted with finding employment, have the opportunity to utilize free housing, basic medical care, clothing, job coaching and literacy programs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Cozy, Organic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very yummy. Servers were atten ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very yummy. Servers were attentive and pleasant. I plan on going again-this time we will sit inside--the bees were bothersome-otherwise it was nice to sit outside and watch the Square-we even had live music from the Saturday evening festivities in the park

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Edwin's twice. It is very popul ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Been to Edwin's twice. It is very popular so getting reservation not always easy. Used to be a cool place called Grotto Wine Bar and was a perfect location for a wine/martini/small plates kind of place. As a popular restaurant with high end, fine food, it's a little small--bordering on too small--and that coupled with it's popularity makes it noisy as well. But the valet parking makes it an easy come and go and its reputation as a top Cleveland restaurant is well-deserved. Owner is much in view and attentive to the customers. There is a nice backstory regarding the use of the restaurant to train recent parolees in the restaurant business and they serve as the staff. Very attentive group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Edwins is staffed by former felons who h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Edwins is staffed by former felons who have gone through an extensive training period and are being helped with their return to society as full citizens who are contributors to the economy and neighborhood. The staff was friendly, went out of their way to please and were knowledgeable, too. This program is an excellent example of what one man's vision (the owner, Brandon Chrostowski) can do to give deserving folks a second chance. On top of an excellent recidivism rate for those members of society, the food is also excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was extremely attentive and gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff was extremely attentive and gracious. The food was amazing and the ambiance was inviting. Brandon, the owner, visited our table to make sure that we had a good experience.

Definitely will recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an awesome date night to celebrate ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What an awesome date night to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Great food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwin's is terrific. A real French resta ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Edwin's is terrific. A real French restaurant in Cleveland. Hard to believe. It is consistently excellent. We all know the mission of Edwin's so to help is good. However, the staff have always been fine. The greeting is friendly. Seating is prompt. Bread and water are refilled unobtrusively. A word about the wine list. It very, very well thought-out. Good selection of French and Italian wines. Plus, to see such items as Pommeau and Pineau de Charentes on the menu is unbelievable. I wager there are not 20 restaurants in the US with such available. The value for dollar ratio is excellent. For us, it is a treat to go to Edwin's. It will never occur, but we wish our French friends, world renowned vignerons, could come with us to Edwin's. They would be happy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Quality and quantity did not equal the d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Quality and quantity did not equal the dollars spent. We think the restaurant represents a good cause, but need to give the customer a good dining experience as well. Please include vegetable,and, or salad with the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Such a great place in the area - thanks ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Such a great place in the area - thanks for everything you do Brandon

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes, it is very nice to support this wor ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Yes, it is very nice to support this worthy cause, but besides that, the food and service are wonderful. And sitting out on the patio was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. We were there for ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent experience. We were there for our anniversary and we'll definitely go back. Very French. My husband had the escargot and duck a l'orange and he loved it. I had the scallops and from my first taste of the wonderful sauce, I knew it was a winner. For dessert, definitely try the flourless chocolate pyramid with Grand Marnier macerated fruit...terrific! Very attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is outstanding. Presentatio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service is outstanding. Presentation of food was beautiful. Loved the experience and will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the best French food combined ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Absolutely the best French food combined with unparalleled service! I had cold Tomato/Basil soup, oysters on the half shell, Fois Gras, Duck a la Orange and an unbelievably light Soufflé. I can't wait to go again soon :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special occasion place. Food and s ...

vip
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great special occasion place. Food and service were great and the owners need to be commended for their project.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edwin's is a real gem. The food is alwa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Edwin's is a real gem. The food is always top quality. This time I ordered the burger - The Burger. It was an amazing experience. I recommend that everyone try it at least once. The flavors are exquisite and it's so exciting to see it all come together right at your table. My dining companions had the potato wrapped fish, which was wonderful as well. Plus fantastic wine - a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent experience. Really enjoyed the food and the message.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwin's was absolutely amazing. There we ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Edwin's was absolutely amazing. There were so many selections of cheeses which were all amazing!! Dinner was delicious!! We order escargot and the seafood sausage as appetizers followed by a few seafood dishes and the pressed duck. The table side bananas foster dessert was a perfect ending to our evening. Must try this restaurants! The service, staff, and food were all exceptional!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always! Not only is the food ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fabulous as always! Not only is the food delicious the presentation is always beautiful.

Truly my favorite place. The staff makes the experience so heartwarming and meaningful. Great service, attentive but never overbearing.

Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Edwin's for the food, the atmosp ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love Edwin's for the food, the atmosphere, and the organizational culture. We were there on a summer Saturday, around 5:30pm. Turns out that patio seating allowed us to listen to the live band playing in Shaker Square. It was a dreamy dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, Brandon and his team delivere ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always, Brandon and his team delivered a first class dining experience. The food, wine,and service were all top notch. The rabbit pie and grouper were outstanding. We're coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was excellent. waitress was fun. h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

food was excellent. waitress was fun. had scallop dish, sauce was very good and scallops done to a tee and sweet. presentation was very nice and appetizing . will be back. someone at the table needs to order the burger - what a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Burger prepared at table, wow!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Burger prepared at table, wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a lovely evening for my husba ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely evening for my husband's birthday recently. All staff members went above and beyond. The food was very good, traditional French cuisine. They have a very extensive wine list accommodating all palates and budgets and the tableside cheese presentation was the best one we've experienced yet. We will definitely be back. Thanks Edwins :-)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was easy to make a reservation and it ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was easy to make a reservation and it was nice to receive a reminder call. The staff was always courteous and helpful, making sure that your every need was met. From the salad to the dessert, the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this establishment to my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.