About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: 2169213333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
6 More
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

fit for foodies (114)
special occasion (114)
neighborhood gem (91)
See All
romantic (75)
notable wine list (63)
great for outdoor dining (50)
hot spot (30)
good for groups (25)
late-night find (12)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

food was excellent. waitress was fun. h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

food was excellent. waitress was fun. had scallop dish, sauce was very good and scallops done to a tee and sweet. presentation was very nice and appetizing . will be back. someone at the table needs to order the burger - what a show.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Burger prepared at table, wow!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Burger prepared at table, wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a lovely evening for my husba ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely evening for my husband's birthday recently. All staff members went above and beyond. The food was very good, traditional French cuisine. They have a very extensive wine list accommodating all palates and budgets and the tableside cheese presentation was the best one we've experienced yet. We will definitely be back. Thanks Edwins :-)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was easy to make a reservation and it ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was easy to make a reservation and it was nice to receive a reminder call. The staff was always courteous and helpful, making sure that your every need was met. From the salad to the dessert, the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this establishment to my friends and family.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wifes birthday. outstanding food, and so ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

wifes birthday. outstanding food, and some unusual food choices. i had rabbit leg that was superb. best snails i ever had. my wife fell in love with the seafood sausage. very good waitress who was both attentive and worked hard and very watchful managers. every need met. Owner was always large and about and stopped at every table several times. good wine list that was not pricey. no tipping prompted me to leave a very large donation. what a great program for the wait and kitchen staff to find a new career path and learn to succeed. we will be back with family and friends. strongly recommend just for the food alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular patron at Edwin's and had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I am a regular patron at Edwin's and had several great meals there. However, on July 13 I came with my husband and 6 other guests for a business + friendly dinner. My husband and I share the fish "paupiette" which we had ordered several times before and enjoyed. My fish was not fresh. It looked grey and the taste was not good, The sauce was wonderful as usual but I was concerned that this fish might make me sick. We also had the special salad with some greens and strawberry slices and a little goat cheese. The salad was very blend and some of the leaves were not fresh and should have been taken out. My husband ordered a vegetarian dish of lima beans and vegetables to share with the group. This dish was disappointed and just not very good and we left most of it despite the fact that most of us were intrigued and tasted a spoonful.

This was my first bad meal at Edwin's. I realized that others did not get spoiled fish. Theirs had white and healthy looking fish so I kept quiet. I also want to support Edwin's so did not want to share my disappointments but if I had been alone with my husband that night I would have returned my dish. I suggest you pay closer attention to fish freshness.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Edwin's is unique, to say the least. G ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Edwin's is unique, to say the least. Great food and service. Moreover, it is an organization with a mission to improve the lives of its staff. Everyone should support and patronize this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Edwin's to celebra ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Edwin's to celebrate living in Cleveland for one year. I have often spoke about Edwin's at work, as I lived near it and new about its mission, and how much I wanted to try it. It exceeded my expectations in every way. My wife has Celiac disease, and didn't have any issues with the food. I made sure to let the restaurant know in advance that we would be dining gluten free, and we were greeted with freshly fired gluten free bread. That alone would have been great. Our server seemed quite nervous, and had no idea about which menu items would be/could be gluten free. However, he answered every question perfectly with a "Let me go check on that." I prefer a server that is willing to ask the kitchen the questions we need asked over a server who is trying to be a know it all. It was great.

I had the Braised Rabbit, and my wife had the lamb chops; both were amazing. I suppose it could be said that my fingerling potatoes were a little under cooked, but I am not a chef or a food critic. I do not know what excellent rabbit tastes like, and I do not know what a perfectly cooked potato tastes like. What I do know is that good food is food that makes you happy. Every bite of my food, and my wife's food made both of us extremely happy. Plain and simple.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Given Edwins' mission we were extremely ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Given Edwins' mission we were extremely pleased with the service and the quality of the meal. Keep doing what you're doing!!!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic experience in all ways. Wonder ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic experience in all ways. Wonderful food and great people. Really special !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edwin's is a bit on the pricey side but ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Edwin's is a bit on the pricey side but worth every penny. The food is both creative and absolutely delicious; servings are ample but not excessive (as is the case in some restaurants). The service is top-notch and easily surpasses that of many restaurants at any price. What makes this even more amazing and wonderful is the ethical aspect of Edwin's. The focus on providing culinary training for previous offenders is marvelous and noteworthy. Edwin's is a classic example of "doing well while doing good" and they definitely succeed on every level. I am delighted to be able to give Edwin's a huge vote of confidence and my thanks for a superb dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Food was exceptional and the service could not be better.!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff works hard to go over and above on ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Staff works hard to go over and above on making our evening a wonderful experience!

Food was delicious too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu appears to be very full and inv ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The menu appears to be very full and inviting. There were three of us: the pasta had wonderful ingredients, but the taste was very bland, my lamb chops were just OK, the vegetables had a great flavor but the veggies were non-identifiable, my wife's fish was the best overall. The cocktails were just so-so, the wine by the glass was very good but served in small doses (4 oz), I think. However, our biggest complaint was that the prices were way too high and not commensurate w/ the food. I understand that its a 501 (C) 3, however, that does not justify the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

An excellent dining experience with atte ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

An excellent dining experience with attentive staff, an interesting French menu, and a good wine list. You would never know the staff is in training. We received much better service than in other established restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time. Not only was th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first time. Not only was the food and service great. The owner is giving back to the community by giving those a second change that would not get one. It was a pleasure to talk with the owner and staff. The Lamb Chops and scallops was delish.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The food was exquisite, as were the wine and cocktails, and we've honestly never had better service in our lives. I couldn't recommend this place more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by newly-trained staff was poor. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service by newly-trained staff was poor. They did not know the menu or how to describe or pronounce the French items (all of them are French). They did not know how to uncork or pour a bottle of wine. More experienced staff were excellent, however. Chef was eager to accommodate special requests. Disappointed in desserts: souffles were too sugary and egg-whitey, no substance; bananas Foster similarly disappointing, although preparation was a delight to watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

First time to Edwin's and we were not di ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time to Edwin's and we were not disappointed. Ordered escargot and frog legs for a starter, and both were perfectly prepared. I ordered the rabbit leg and enjoyed it and the vegetables that accompanied it. I felt it was a bit heavy in gravy, but perhaps that's just to my taste. My husband ordered the scallops and enjoyed them. We saw plates of lamb chops go by to the next table, and decided we would try that entree next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

What an incredible experience! I had se ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

What an incredible experience! I had seen an article about Edwin's in Huffington Post and had to visit. I was not disappointed. Food was wonderful. Especially the seafood sausage appetizer. Service could not have been better. Our server Jemil was a few days from graduating and shared his appreciation for the program. Founder Brandon stopped by the table to check on us and we could not have been more impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic. Authentic French g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Authentic French good served by people trying to make a better life for themselves: If that's not a great concept, I don't know what is. But in restaurant, if a concept is great and the food is bad, then you have nothing. But at Edwins, the food and the service are just great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were a party of 3 visiting from CA an ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were a party of 3 visiting from CA and PA as part of a family reunion and the restaurant was recommended by friends who live in Cleveland. The restaurant was charming, reasonable size , with outdoor seating, bright and airy inside with good access to parking convenient to the restaurant. Edwins has a full bar service and a noteworthy wine list both by the glass and bottle. While the wine list had a number of high end wines there were also a number of great wines at reasonable values, something for everyone. For food we covered a few options - 1st up - Grilled Froie Gras and it was generously portioned and beautifully prepared and perhaps one of the best dishes of this type that I've ever consumed, and as a bonus one of the Bar attendants provided a glass of Sauterne to accompany the dish capping off an already wonderful dish - 2nd up were Seasonal Salads with Strawberries and while delightful the portions were somewhat small - next up - Lobster Bisque soup which was terrific - next up were a couple of entree dishes - up 1st was the duck dish which wasn't memorable as it had been slightly overcooked for my liking - next came the big hit which was a gourmet burger prepared at the table, yes you heard me, prepared at the table and even more impressive was that the beef was ground at the table, big thumbs up for both presentation and taste. Lastly dessert, we shared a Souffle which was disappointing especially after having checked off a number of fit for foodie criteria I use for assessing a restaurant of this caliber. On balance a good dinning experience with areas for improvement but no shortage of effort and commitment to getting it right from every level from the wait staff, kitchen to the owner. We would certainly come back during our next visit to Cleveland.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

we enjoyed an evening of excellent food ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

we enjoyed an evening of excellent food, great choice on menu. Most of all we appreciated the staff and service which was friendly, knowledgeable, engaging and professional. Great ambience

Highly recommend dining experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awesome. One of the best ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place was awesome. One of the best places in Cleveland. Food was delicious and will go back again .

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lobster bisque was superb. Filet and ch ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Lobster bisque was superb. Filet and chicken delicious. Waiter needs additional training. Overall the experience was pleasant and we will return. Inspiring concept (the non-profit status) and wishful success to the business owner and those he/they employ.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Did not know about Edwin's. Is was liste ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Did not know about Edwin's. Is was listed on Open Table as a top ten in Cleveland. I agree it is. We go out every weekend looking for unique places to eat. Everything was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meals every time. Delightful, har ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great meals every time. Delightful, hard working wait staff. One of my Cleveland favorite places to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Edwin's is a very pleasant place to have ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Edwin's is a very pleasant place to have a lovely meal. We dined on the lovely patio. The servers

were very attentive and helpful. We loved the mojitos.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very friendly and attentive wait staff. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very friendly and attentive wait staff. Food was excellent. Great evening on the patio. Only issue was waiting for them to brew coffee, which came after we finished our desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful dining experience - great food ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful dining experience - great food, attentive, friendly service from all, and pleasant patio dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dining space; rich cuisine; excel ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely dining space; rich cuisine; excellent service from dedicated, earnest staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very hard working and friendly wait staf ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Very hard working and friendly wait staff. Enjoyed talking with the manager about Edwin's history and goals.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Everything was DELICIOUS! Ca ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great meal. Everything was DELICIOUS!

Can't go wrong at Edwin's. After many times. we surely will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The burger prepped at table side was gre ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The burger prepped at table side was great fun and delicious and fun .Food was very good and the original cocktails were cool. The wine selections were pretty broad for the size of the eatery. On a warm breezy night, the outdoor dining was awesome! You can appreciate the various levels of training in the wait staff and that was kind of fun to think you are helping them educate their students! Overall will look for an excuse to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been here several times and have ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been here several times and have always had a wonderful meal. We will return often. Edwin's has become special to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I moved to CLE from NYC a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I moved to CLE from NYC a couple of years ago and until now we have not been impressed with restaurants until visiting your establishment. The food was delicious, the presentation was appealing, and the service was top notch. We both loved the idea of helping young people that made a mistake in life get back on track. I wish more businesses would take a chance like you did. By doing so, it helps them regain their self-esteem and self-respect and turn their lives around. We will definitely return to Edwins Restaurant and bring our family and friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Edwin's never fails to provide excellent ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Edwin's never fails to provide excellent food in a beautiful environment. The service is wonderful and again, the food is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with a friend

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Edwin's. We had received a gift card for a birthday gift, and decided to use it and to take a friend along to celebrate her milestone birthday. Our only concern was we thought the prices were a little too high - at least higher that what we usually spend when we go out to eat. I wonder if the restaurant would do better if the prices were a little lower.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Brandon's successful endeavor deserves a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Brandon's successful endeavor deserves all the praise he can garner. Go to this restaurant - but be sure to know its mission before you do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. The rabbit was unbelievable. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food. The rabbit was unbelievable. We also had a grouper. Everything was delicious.

Awesome cheese selection to cap the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.