About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: 2169213333x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
5 More
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Notable Wine List (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Authentic (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Cozy (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fireplace (17)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (7)
Historic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining at Edwin's is a delight. Their st ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Dining at Edwin's is a delight. Their staff is sincerely eager to please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding. Wine service was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding. Wine service was very good. Prices were high but expected. Service was attentive and detail oriented. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a great time and please to support s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time and please to support such a business!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went out with our neighbors for our h ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We went out with our neighbors for our holiday dinner. As soon as we came in, we were very much impressed by the looks of the place as well as the prompt service starting with getting our coats checked. The service was impeccable and being the bread lover that I am, I was never in want as my plate kept getting replenished. I can't say enough about the tremendous service and the courteousness of the entire staff. It was truly a wonderful way to spend our evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Late-night Find, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Entrees were spectacular. Sa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it. Entrees were spectacular. Salad greens were not the high point. The cheese experience is so much fun and a great thing to do with another couple. They kept their promise about keeping our water glasses filled and our bread plate always stocked. We all ate a lot of bread, which thankfully was great. Our primary waitstaff was new and inexperienced...and had a couple oops (broke the cork on the wine and said they didn't do the cheese thing anymore) -- but others stepped in to help and she recovered quickly. We had a delightful time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an important restaurant on many ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

This is an important restaurant on many levels. The food is refined and is prepared is manner that shows technical skill. It also provides a hand up to those who are recently released from prison and need skills to move forward with their lives.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - Edwin's inspires with its mi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always - Edwin's inspires with its mission and delights with its fantastic service, beautiful dining space and delicious food. Get the cheese selection to appreciate the deep knowledge of the presenter - it's worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 7 friends & everyone ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were a group of 7 friends & everyone really liked what they ordered, from the wine, appetizers to main courses and dessert. Lobster bisque and potato-leek soup were hits as were scallops, potato-wrapped grouper, salmon with horseradish. Beignets, bananas foster and chocolate pyramid were delicious. We had a small booth-type table which was set off & just right for the group. Service was superb.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First of all, the service was outstandin ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

First of all, the service was outstanding. We were met warmly at the door, and it continued from there. Each person that passed by inquired about our order, or asked if we needed anything. Everyone was friendly, polite, and attentive, without being annoying (as sometimes can happen with overzealous wait staff).

I ordered the soup du jour of potato leek - one of my favorites - as well as the frog legs. The soup was outstanding, if a bit on the salty side. Very complex flavors, and finished off with frizzled leeks. I wanted to lick the bowl clean. The frog legs had crispy skin, tender meat, and were perfectly seasoned, and accompanied by crispy garlic which was delicious. When Brandon stopped by to ask how it was, I told him my only complaint was that I wished I was at home, because I just wanted to gnaw all the meat off the bones! He replied "Go right ahead, everyone else does."

My friend ordered a salad and the seafood sausage. I've had seafood sausage before, but with this one, you could actually taste the individual components. Everything tasted very fresh and had great flavor. We split the Grand Marnier souffle for dessert - it was a cloud of delightful deliciousness. Overall, I would order again any one of the dishes we had. Looking forward to going back & trying some of the entrees.

We also had the treat of seeing the duck prepared tableside for the guests next to us. It was quite a show, and Brandon's expert carving was something to see.

Of course, what makes this restaurant truly special is the Second Chance program. It's an example of turning a bad experience into something worthwhile, and passing your own opportunity on to others. I spoke to one of the students, who had just completed the program and was starting his new job shortly. He was beaming with pride and enthusiasm at starting this new endeavor. It's so heartwarming to see these kinds of successes, and I'm happy to be able to support this program.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service and food was well worth ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing service and food was well worth the price. Our waiter was great

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely anniversary dinner. Attentive ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A lovely anniversary dinner. Attentive staff. Wonderful cheese cart. Delicious dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible!!! The selection ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was incredible!!! The selection was so wide and I really appreciated the largely unused protein selection. Duck, venison, rabbit and pheasant?? You had me at hello!! My pheasant was truest delicious and my mom loved her grouper. The cheese selection is a MUST to end the meal! Our server was so sweet and attentive...you could tell he loved working with people. Even if you aren't a fan of French food, go have a drink or salad or SOMETHING! The program they run deserves to be supported because of the positive impact they're making on the community!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Edwins comes through again with fine foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Edwins comes through again with fine food, a positive atmosphere, and eager service. They could back off a bit on the bread service I think--sometimes there are too many people hovering too often. But that is a minor quibble about my favorite restaurant in Cleveland. A good cause, with good food and wine. How can you lose with that combination?

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food and service was excellent as always ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food and service was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A fine dining restaurant with great food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A fine dining restaurant with great food and supports a good cause. Worth it for the food alone. The principles behind the restaurant and the opportunities it gives are a gauge bonus.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming and attentive staff. Warm env ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Welcoming and attentive staff. Warm environment, friendly atmosphere. Excellent caring service. Great food both taste and presentation. A place where you can come all the way down, and just relax and enjoy the soft, peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. Never had an emp ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was great. Never had an empty glass and the staff was friendly and knew when to ask if we needed anything, never felt they were intrusive. The ambiance and décor was nice for a date/special occasion. The tables were close to each other so not very private. Food was good and the quality you would expect for the price. The menu had plenty of options for all tastes including vegan/vegetarian. Portions were not large but if you order appropriately (apps, entrée, principal) that was not an issue. Overall a good experience, nice restaurant and a great cause.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place. Great food, nice peo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I love this place. Great food, nice people, diverse staff who work to make you comfortable without being ostentatious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fun evening with friends celebrating a b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fun evening with friends celebrating a birthday. We enjoyed several courses and appreciated the pace of the meal and the time to linger through dessert. The pumpkin bread pudding was delicate and a perfect way to wrap up the gathering!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there because we had heard the s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We went there because we had heard the speaker talk of the special educational opportunities he provides for the staff. His good works are supplemented by outstanding French cooking, an attentive and hardworking staff, and a delicious dinner and experience that we enjoyed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drove from Akron to have dinner here las ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Drove from Akron to have dinner here last week. Enjoyed it so much we came back the next weekend. We are ued to driving to Chez Francois for French food and good wine. Happy to have a closer option. Highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

While the food and ambiance exceeded my ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

While the food and ambiance exceeded my expectations I would have to think twice before bringing someone to eat there if they had visual impairment because the room is dark and there is limited lighting

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hudson, our server, was charming.

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Hudson, our server, was charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think that Edwins has the best food in ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I think that Edwins has the best food in Cleveland. Brandon made the pressed duck which was outstanding. The staff is always most cordial and accommodating. The cuisine is French, and I think that it is the best French restaurant that I have visited in Cleveland. The dishes are authentic, and what one would expect in a French restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff especially friendly, accomadat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The staff especially friendly, accomadating and helpful. Those of us who are older I think especially appreciate their concerns - their smiles and their assistance. Will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As always he food, from soup to nuts, wa ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2016

As always he food, from soup to nuts, was excellent. I had great cream od celery soup with lamb as my entrée and a hot apple dish for dessert. All was delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very cozy, authentic atmosphere, all the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very cozy, authentic atmosphere, all the premises are of high haute taste. Food is delicious, presentation is very good also. High end dining, but worth every dollar. Only one minus and suggestion: music somewhat loud and would be much, much better if French chanson would have been used instead of rock music

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I want a stronger police patrol at Shake ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I want a stronger police patrol at Shaker Square --- especially in the parking lots.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The restaurant was excellent for our ann ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant was excellent for our anniversary. The was so knowledgeable and attentive! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we dined with friends to celebrate a bir ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 14, 2016

we dined with friends to celebrate a birthday - and it couldn't have been better! Food & service were outstanding! will definitely come back!

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The venue was for my birthday party. Th ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The venue was for my birthday party. The menu selections were great. However, a bit more training needed in the wine service. First, show the bottle before uncork. Second, offer cork to one who ordered bottle. Third, very important: pour slowly so the wine does not bubble up with air bubbles. It looked like soda pop, Brandon.

Otherthat that, delicious food, great waitstaff. Thank you.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time visiting Edwin's ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was my first time visiting Edwin's and I absolutely loved it. The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious. I highly recommend for others to experience an evening at Edwin's. I also love to support their mission. All in all, a great place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edwins is with out a doubt the best rest ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Edwins is with out a doubt the best restaurant in Cleveland. The food is terrific and the staff is wonderful. The only complaint I would have is thet the staff can be a little over zealous. Pricing is extremely fair for a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful decor cozy seating, great ser ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Beautiful decor cozy seating, great service. It's all about the experiance off fine dining looking forward to going again. Excellent layer of flavors of food

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There was not a single disappointment . ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

There was not a single disappointment . Edwin's was everything we have heard about it. Food spectacular and impeccable service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a lovely experience: delicious f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a lovely experience: delicious food presented well with very attentive service. Excellent experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and my husband is a foodi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food and my husband is a foodie and loved the food. Service was outstanding ,reminded me of the service years ago at the classics restaurant at the Intercontinental Hotel. Doesn't get any better than that !

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have you ever been to a restaurant that ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Have you ever been to a restaurant that had too much service? If you took a sip of water or ate a bite of bread they descended on you with more. That may be too much, but it was fun and my grouper was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Arguably the best mission in Cleveland a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Arguably the best mission in Cleveland and incredible food. My favorite place to eat in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, another great meal at Edwins. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

As always, another great meal at Edwins. Outstanding French food. Service is a little mixed but that is expected at a "training" restaurant. Trainers are always close by to make certain everything works out.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.