About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: 2169213333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
11 More
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

fit for foodies (120)
special occasion (119)
neighborhood gem (89)
See All
romantic (84)
notable wine list (61)
hot spot (38)
great for outdoor dining (23)
good for groups (23)
late-night find (14)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brandon has done a fabulous job with Edw ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Brandon has done a fabulous job with Edwins. The menu is much more innovative than any other restaurant in Cleveland. Our dinner consisted of escargots, the grilled seafood sausage, foie gras, the grouper, and the duck l'orange. For dessert the bananas foster and the beignets. Everything was outstanding with the exception of the escargots. Unlike the rest of the meal they were tasty but nothing special. The duck was a half a duck and could easily feed two. Although not inexpensive I consider this restaurant to be a great value. There are very few restaurants that put out the kind of quality that Edwins does.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant that serves delicious ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A great restaurant that serves delicious food and has a worthy cause.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed it, with the exception ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We really enjoyed it, with the exception of the horrible 80's music. Good time, good food!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tables are extremely close!!!! Entertai ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Tables are extremely close!!!! Entertainment was watching the servers dance around one another!!!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the food, felt like there were man ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Loved the food, felt like there were many people waiting on us. A little much.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Besides the excellent food and service, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Besides the excellent food and service, eating at EDWINS is a feel-good experience because of the wonderful mission behind the restaurant. We especially enjoyed the obvious pride displayed by our young server who was clearly learning the restaurant trade and anxious to demonstrate his new skills. The delicious food was classic French cuisine. The entire staff was attentive and focused and checked in with us often. Kudos to EDWINS for the opportunities they are providing for these hard-working men and women.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my mom here for Mother's Day and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for Mother's Day and we had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, our waiter was great, and the valet parking made it very easy to get in and out of the square. My mom wanted to try the frog legs, which was the best I ever had, anywhere else they are so greasy, but Edwin's must know the secret. The oysters were perfect and I got a meal with seasonal ramps and morels which I thought was awesome to be able to enjoy those hard to find foods.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and a neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was outstanding, and our waiter was a very sweet young man who tried very hard to make sure our evening was special. We loved it, and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exciting

Dined on May 4, 2016

Edwin's never ceases to impress. Brandon has created a gem which creates world class dishes. Most notably however is his mission behind Edwin's. He is creating excellent opportunities for those to whom most would nit give a second thought to. Thanks again to the establishment and staff for a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So glad Edwin's was part of the Clevelan ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

So glad Edwin's was part of the Cleveland Magazine Top 25 restaurants or we never would have heard of it or gone back to Shaker Square

food4
ambience5
service4

Please read the concept of Edwin's befor ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Please read the concept of Edwin's before dining, it will give you a better sense of what your experiencing. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner and he was so gracious. I definitely can see why he has become a cnn hero!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

great flavors

Dined on April 30, 2016

I ordered the flounder wrapped in crispy potato. I liked the sauce that came with it. Then, I tried the bananas foster prepared tableside. The rhum-butter-sugar sauce was excellent as well. Next time I would like to try the pressed duck and le burger which are prepared tableside. There's something so special about prep tableside.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food in a good cause

Dined on April 28, 2016

We always enjoy Edwins and particularly appreciate the restaurant's mission. We support it as often as the budget will allow. The prices for main dishes are a bit high but overall it is worth it. A great place to bring an out of town guest.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

So glad Edwins is successful!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Edwins deserves several look-see visits. You will like what it represents and what it offers. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food!!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Unbelievable food! Had the lobster bisque, scallops, frog legs, escargot, and Crème Brulee. Service is phenomenal. Bartender made a special drink for my friend. Dining at Edwin's is heavenly!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely all around!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Enthusiastic service, great food, very vibrant ambience. Not fussy. Also, the music was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, Excellent service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We are a group of 5 picky ladies. All of us were impressed by the service and food we had. Two had the potato wrapped Grouper, two had the Steak and one the Scallops. All meals were hot and delicious! Our server, Maria, couldn't have been more attentive and fun. It was a very fun evening and we definitely look forward to going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and marvelous service - a ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent food and marvelous service - a 5 star experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very expensive meal, but the food qualit ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very expensive meal, but the food quality was exceptional. The large amount of staff was a bit too much for the number of tables in the dining room. Overall it was a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our party of four enjoyed a family birthday dinner at Edwin's. Food, atmosphere and services were top notch. We enjoyed a variety of house cocktails prior to dinner. The escargot and frog leg appetizers were a great start to our duck, rabbit and scallop entrees. Brandon (CEO) was busy in the dining room, working tables, talking to patrons to ensure a memorable evening. He even helped finish off the Grand Marnier Soufflé for our table. Great dining experience. Will definitely return for dinner in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Two of the entrees were excellent and bo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Two of the entrees were excellent and both appetizers were excellent. However, two entrees, including the duck, were rather mediocre. Otherwise, very, very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My New Favorite Spot

Dined on April 14, 2016

My friends and I left Edwins saying "we should go there once a week!" Everything about the experience was impressive! From the warm welcome when we arrived, to the knowledgeable, attentive wait staff, the impressive, innovative food, and the warm ambiance. We had a table-side Bananas Foster that was delicious and perfectly executed. I was sad to realize that I left a favorite scarf in the restaurant, yet, before I arrived home the Edwins staff called me to let me know they had "a lovely scarf in safe keeping and waiting for me." That level of thoughtfulness and professionalism is Edwins through and through.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and purpose of restaurants

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food, service and purpose of restaurants

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 10, 2016

Salmon was delicious, bananas foster was a treat to watch and to eat! It was my second time there and I hope to make it again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the seafood sausage!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Try the seafood sausage!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and Delicious

Dined on April 8, 2016

Really wonderful warmth in atmosphere and staff. The food is incredible. We didn't get, but are curious about, the tableside-prepped ground sirloin burger.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, service, and overall experie ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great meal, service, and overall experience. Looking forward to going back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

An excellent unique dining experience

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Very good classic French food in a beautiful surrounding. Classic service from trainees.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasant enough but not as good as "adve ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Pleasant enough but not as good as "advertised". needs lots of work! great concept for the entire enterprise, staff fine, congenial, couldn't be better. The menu and food tries too hard to be pretentious without measuring up. It will get better, we think. Good luck!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining at Edwins

Dined on April 2, 2016

My grandmother and I had an abosultuely fantastic time at Edwins. We ordered the pressed duck. Personally prepared by Brandon Chrostowski, it was most excellent. We will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Mismatch

Dined on April 1, 2016

The menu, wine list, comfortable seating, and attentive staff say this restaurant should be for diners who want to concentrate on food, wine, and conversation. The volume of the music prevented us from doing so. When I disliked the music, I was annoyed. When I did like the music, I was distracted from what I wanted to be doing. At no time could I ignore the music. The quality of the ingredients in the dishes was excellent. Sometimes I found the flavors unbalanced, especially the level of orange flavor in the lamb chops.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent work on more than one level

Dined on March 30, 2016

Edwin's program for training folks needing a second chance gives one joy to participate by eating at this fine restaurant, but let's not overlook the fantastic food! The fish with beurre rouge was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding. We had the che ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was outstanding. We had the cheese plate for an appetizer and the knowledge from the server was expertise level when he brought out the cheesy cart with over 30+ different choices. Our entrees were all delicious. The soufflé for dessert was just ok but I would still say it was an outstanding experience. The staff was amazing, kind and consciences.

food5
ambience4
service5

Edwin's space shows off its building's g ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Edwin's space shows off its building's good bones and presents the bar space, but we were struck by the white tablecloths and understated China pattern. It leads you to expect the fine service that follows. We were also pleased by the scallops, cassoulet and interesting wines.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

One of Cleveland's Best

Dined on March 11, 2016

Finally! I thought I had to drive to Vermilion (Chez Francois) for an excellent meal in Northeast Ohio. Another option has entered the scene. I am ultra-critical but I honestly cannot find anything negative to say about our experience at Edwins. The Fromage offering was outstanding. My wife and I chose 5 varieties and upon request, the Sommelier paired wines that were spot on. My wife chose the pasta pappardelle. It was perfectly balanced and quite savory. I chose the Grouper special wrapped in crispy potatoes with haricot verts & beurre rouge. Kudos to the chef for not over-salting the fish, which many restaurants tend to do. We ended our evening with the bananas foster prepared table side. Delicious! The staff was attentive and very pleasant, from the valet to the Founder; Brandon Edwin Chrostowski (we remembered him from La Albatross). The only challenge I have is to resist dining here weekly! A truly unique experience enhanced by Brandon's vision and philosophy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

First Visit

Dined on March 10, 2016

I've been wanting to eat here for about 2 months now. I finally went with my dad and stepmom from out of town. We enjoyed the ambiance. At first the table we were at was dark and my father turned on his phone light to see the menu--without us asking and due to attentive service, they increase the lighting for us which was very nice. We were seated next to a fire place which was beautiful and cozy. It was great to see the education going on every so often in the background (if you paid close attention). The food was pretty good but I was expecting something more exceptional. I still think it was great and I look forward to going again. The dessert was the best! Combine the beignets with the raspberry/pomegranate sorbet!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French cuisine!

Dined on March 9, 2016

The location is lively - Shaker Square is a nice place to walk around. My wife had the rack of lamb and I had the oxtail pasta - both were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bravo!

Dined on March 6, 2016

EDWINS was great! From the moment we called and reserved, to the valet closing our car door when we left, our experience was memorable. We arrived late and had a classic French meal that did not disappoint. Escargot, rabbit and souffle!! And don't pass on the cheese (Fromage) as it is a selection reminiscent of Androuet's in Paris. Great vibe!! We will definitely return sooner than later!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Amazing experience! One of ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing experience! One of the best meals I have ever had. Great job!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, French-inspired food ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service, French-inspired food with creative options, cozy setting for 5 people. Wait staff readily returned my wife's lamb chops to be cooked longer (well done was the initial request) and a cup of the potato/leek soup was provided during the wait. My entree was covered when I had to leave the table for a few minutes. Our group had Coquille St. Jacques, lamb chops, sea bass, rabbit and a vegetarian entree. All excellent as were initial salads and later desserts. I will happily return for another great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.