Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Edwins Restaurant

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Fit for Foodies (45)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (25)
Fireplace (23)
Authentic (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Vegan (12)
Fun (11)
Business Meals (10)
People Watching (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (6)
Historic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful dining experience! All courses of the meal were fantastic, exceptionally delicious. One of the best meals that I have had dining out!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great concept. Great food. The atmosphere is great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Servers and staff who try very hard and go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant dining experience. Only negative is the cheese course. The cheese cart is AMAZING, however, for $4, you get the tiniest portion of cheese. Definitely overpriced. Love everything else about Edwins.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fantastic. Service was impeccable, attentive but not invasive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As always the food and service was excellent. The menu is always different and broad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love this place for the dining experience AND the cause! What an amazing program.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Edwin's is always a treat and this was no exception. The food was excellent, as we've come to expect. Service was what you would expect from a restaurant of Edwin's calibre. The edwin's mission is something that I believe in, but it'd be great place even without that. Couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Edwins is the most fun restaurant in Cleveland. Yes, of course the food is exquisite, but I'm always knocked out by what a great time we have. Thank you to all of the chefs, cooks, servers, the friendly folks at the front desk and the managers. I love it. Proud to be a supporter of the Edwins mission.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great pressed duck and cheese selection, French food heaven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food and service were fantastic, such a great program! We went on a quiet night too, so it was low key. Nice environment and interesting menu, several vegan choices too. Looking forward to going again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing burger prepared table side with mediocre potatoes; grouper very good, but overall unbalanced food quality/ value. However, service was first rate-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Superb food, beautiful room. We were there on a Monday and it was relatively quiet. Our server was still in his "training" period, but worked very hard to do a good job. His supervisor was present throughout the serving process -- for some that might be a factor, but we took it in stride given the great mission of the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service is excellent. And I want to lead with that because if the mission of the place. The food was even better. We did not have any of the table side dishes, but we observed others having the pressed duck and the bananas foster, so perhaps next time. If you aren't having a table side dish, that can be a little distracting, though I thoroughly enjoyed watching the show for the neighboring tables.

The venison was wonderful, as was the pappardelle pasta with braised beef. Can recommend both. The artichoke app is delicious. We shared it, but it wasn't a lot to share. But no worries. The tarte takes a little extra time for dessert and was well worth the wait.

Overall, fine dining, they make you feel special. Lots of staff tended to us. Go with confidence.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I ordered the Portobello Napolean. Beautiful presentation, very generous portion, but did not appeared to be seasoned. I used a generous amount of salt & pepper from the table to season it myself. My husband ordered the grouper, and it was prepared perfectly and was delicious. Our server was so soft spoken we had a difficult time hearing what he was saying. We asked him what the soup of the day was and he said it was tomato with something we could not make out. My husband asked him if it was good, and he replied, "I don't know, I don't like soup." We asked about the salads, and he didn't seem to know what we were asking. I don't remember was the feature special was, again he didn't seem very enthusiastic about whatever it was. We ordered the lobster bisque as an appetizer, and it was delicious. The lighting was a little too dark. I think the lights should have been turned up a little, as it was so dark it was difficult to read the menu. The hostess that greeted us at the door was very friendly. The restaurant is beautiful. I would say this is a wonderful restaurant and we love the concept of employing people who may find it difficult to find a job or learn a trade. On the other hand, considering the cost of the meal, (We spent $130, two glasses of wine and a beer where $30 of that cost), there needs to be more training for the staff. Maybe it was his first day? We will probably consider coming back, but it's an hour from where we live.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and service were excellent. A nice restaurant for a relaxed evening out. We did not feel at all rushed. Loved the table side preparation of the Bananas Foster.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

You have to love Edwin's. Outside of having fresh, well-prepared French cuisine, the owner uses the venue to train hard-to-employ workers for jobs in the food service industry. From the hamburger that is ground and prepared table side, to the potato-crusted grouper, to the escargot, the offerings are elegant but simple. The food is complemented by a good selection of wines and the standard selection of spirits. This is a cozy neighborhood spot that feels more like someone's home than a restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

From the parking to the food and the service was great. Excellent food, impecable all over. Hope it stays that way. Will be back soon with another group of friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I really enjoy French food and the meal we just enjoyed ranks with the best! Foie gras, escargot, pâté all done to perfection. And the duck confit is as good as another restaurant very close to Edwin's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Restaurant is well designed and appointed. Service is attentive and friendly -- excellent. Food very good and creative. Had scallops which tasted as though out of water too long. Did not finish the dinner. everything else was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was perfect! Loved everything about it! Will definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Edwins outdid itself starting from their assurance that valet parking would be available for our very early reservation. We were greeted immediately upon entering and the staff stood up when we came in so they could greet us properly. Nice touch! Matt was our server (I asked for his name) and he was knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing. We had the salmon - OUTSTANDING!. And the tofu in red wine. AMAZING! Bananas Foster for dessert was perfect as well. What a great find. We will be back for sure and hope to see Matt again as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

awesome experience
my only thing is my food was not HOT. even with that its somewhere everyone in the city should visit

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Service and food was outstanding. Will definitely return

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Authentic, Great Beer, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Salmon and grouper were superb! A memorable birthday dinner. Zoltan is a professional. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was our 36 year wedding anniversary and we could not have been happier. They mad us feel very special. The service was amazing and the food was fantastic. Thanks for making us feel so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing cheese cart! The food and service was great and my wife and I will return.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another good visit to EDWINS.

We typical get to EDWINS at least once a quarter. This time was in celebration for my sister's visit and birthday. The food was very good.

I continue to recommend the Cheese Cart to anyone who has a mild interest in enjoying cheese. They have selections anywhere on the spectrum of cheese for you to enjoy, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable, and will get you something that you will definitely enjoy.

The service continues to be a highlight. We occasionally get the opportunity to enjoy meals at the Dusquesne Club in Pittsburgh, and this is the only restaurant where the service is comparable (and sometimes better).

I continue to recommend it to all of my friends not only for special occasions, but in general to have a good meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I really enjoyed dinner. The grouper with peeled potatoes skin was very delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had the Cleveland restaurant meal, what a deal and as regular customers we tried some new entrees... delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Selected from the Restaurant Week menu. The asparagus soap was very good; just the right intensity of asparagus. The guinea fowl was very tasty with a nice sauce and good presentation. The chocolate pyramid was excellent. Would return for that alone. The wine pairings were well thought out and nicely complemented each dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

wait staff very attentive

food was not as spectacular as I remembered from my previous trips there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food menu selection, good customer service, provides excellent French cuisine and a wonderful service to the community.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Vegan, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We recently went as a family (4) yo celebrate my wife's birthday. Every aspect of this experience was fantastic. The food was breathtaking, the service impeccable but not overreaching, the preparation exquisite. One of the best meals I have had in the greater Cleveland area, bar none. We will definitely be back multiple times. Thanks and congrats Brandon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of the finest restaurants in Cleveland. Service is excellent and The staff couldn't be more attentive, and pleasant. Food and drinks are great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Phenomenal! I've been to this restaurant many times and it's always exceptional. I had salmon this time and it might be the best I've had. Chocolate pyramid is a +10. Waitstaff always attentive. Plus, his mission demands kudos. I love the place!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The staff waiting our table really made this a super evening. Exceptional food, lovely ambience and super staff. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful food and place with an amazing cheese cart! Can just eat bread, cheese and wine all day!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First time there, staff was super attentive, wonderful evening!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Delicious salad, tender scallops, mouthwatering bananas foster. They also did a great job with our drink request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.