Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Edwins Restaurant

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Romantic (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Worth the Drive (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Fireplace (30)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Vegan (14)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Salmon and grouper were superb! A memorable birthday dinner. Zoltan is a professional. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our 36 year wedding anniversary and we could not have been happier. They mad us feel very special. The service was amazing and the food was fantastic. Thanks for making us feel so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing cheese cart! The food and service was great and my wife and I will return.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Another good visit to EDWINS.

We typical get to EDWINS at least once a quarter. This time was in celebration for my sister's visit and birthday. The food was very good.

I continue to recommend the Cheese Cart to anyone who has a mild interest in enjoying cheese. They have selections anywhere on the spectrum of cheese for you to enjoy, and the staff is extremely knowledgeable, and will get you something that you will definitely enjoy.

The service continues to be a highlight. We occasionally get the opportunity to enjoy meals at the Dusquesne Club in Pittsburgh, and this is the only restaurant where the service is comparable (and sometimes better).

I continue to recommend it to all of my friends not only for special occasions, but in general to have a good meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

I really enjoyed dinner. The grouper with peeled potatoes skin was very delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had the Cleveland restaurant meal, what a deal and as regular customers we tried some new entrees... delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Selected from the Restaurant Week menu. The asparagus soap was very good; just the right intensity of asparagus. The guinea fowl was very tasty with a nice sauce and good presentation. The chocolate pyramid was excellent. Would return for that alone. The wine pairings were well thought out and nicely complemented each dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

wait staff very attentive

food was not as spectacular as I remembered from my previous trips there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food menu selection, good customer service, provides excellent French cuisine and a wonderful service to the community.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Vegan, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We recently went as a family (4) yo celebrate my wife's birthday. Every aspect of this experience was fantastic. The food was breathtaking, the service impeccable but not overreaching, the preparation exquisite. One of the best meals I have had in the greater Cleveland area, bar none. We will definitely be back multiple times. Thanks and congrats Brandon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of the finest restaurants in Cleveland. Service is excellent and The staff couldn't be more attentive, and pleasant. Food and drinks are great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Phenomenal! I've been to this restaurant many times and it's always exceptional. I had salmon this time and it might be the best I've had. Chocolate pyramid is a +10. Waitstaff always attentive. Plus, his mission demands kudos. I love the place!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The staff waiting our table really made this a super evening. Exceptional food, lovely ambience and super staff. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful food and place with an amazing cheese cart! Can just eat bread, cheese and wine all day!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First time there, staff was super attentive, wonderful evening!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Delicious salad, tender scallops, mouthwatering bananas foster. They also did a great job with our drink request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is a lovely gem of a place. Food was absolutely delicious. We had the lobster bisque, tarte lapin and the lapin moutarde, finished with a cheese selection and creme brulée. Wine was a 2015 Bourgouil, and at $45 was overpriced, but taken as a whole the dinner was worth the $200 we spent. Add a side note, the Calvados and William Pear Brandy were a pleasant end to the meal. We are definitely going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was for my 70th birthday and it was a very special evening. We had so many nice, friendly people waiting on our table. They got involved in the celebrating and were enthusiastic. The food was beyond delicious and the wine and Proseco hit the spot. Dessert was delicious too. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was very good. Presentation was top notch. Service was incredible. Staff was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always a great experience. Everyone there is courteous and kind. All around awesome.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Service was excellent. Staff was friendly and efficient. Food had excellent presentation and very tasty. Unique menu. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Best food in Cleveland and our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The overall experience was good. I would recommend for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best meals in Cleveland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our meals were delicious. Our service was a little difficult. The waiter had to be asked multiple times to bring us a fork for the main course after our main course had been delivered. Then we decided to have a plate of oysters after our main course and the waiter forgot it twice. I know it was unusual, but should not have been so difficult and then when it came, (we were splitting it) so we asked for another little fork and had to do that several times. Then when we signed the charge slips, the waiter claimed I took the wrong one, and I said I had left it on the plate and he had taken the plate away. I said he had it and was sure I had put it on the plate. He came back several times to tell me he did not have it, until finally - he found it. A bit annoying.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed the bananas foster most of all, as it was made at tableside. Everyone was very friendly and food was delicious. My husband really enjoyed his fish entrée. It was a grouper with a very thinly sliced potato crust.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent service! Excellent food! Will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful experience, as always. Fantastic food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was phenomenal, and the service was on point from start to finish. We loved everything about Edwin's especially the mission it's set out to accomplish. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Appetizers and drinks were amazing as always. Cheese is to die for. My main was the daily special and was a little under seasoned, but everything else was spot on. Bananas foster were perfect and the chef was a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentine's Day by dining at Edwin's. The ambiance is warm, cozy, and romantic. The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely delicious. We had such a great time and we would recommend this place to all of our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Edwin's for his birthday after discovering them through a Reddit AMA. Everything about the experience was extraordinary. They had a complimentary valet that didn't even blink at my boyfriend's manual transmission (there have been issues in the past). We were seated immediately with our reservation and were attended to within seconds. Our waiter, Zach, was outstanding and helped explain everything on the menu and offered suggestions.

The food was incredible and beautifully plated. We had the seafood sausage to start and I would definitely recommend it! I ordered the grouper, which was prepared perfectly and flaked apart without feeling dry, no fishy taste at all, and the wine butter sauce was delicious with it. He got the rabbit leg and lemon potatoes. The meat fell off the bone when he tried to cut into it. It was tender and flavorful, but he kept saying that the potatoes were the highlight of his meal because the lemon flavor really shine through, even with the gravy it was served with. Throughout the meal, attentive wait staff would make sure our water glasses and bread plates were always full so that we never had to ask for anything.

For dessert, we were offered their signature souffle, which Zach described as "like eating a cloud". Having never been treated to something so decadent before, I have to agree! It was fluffy and delicious. The sauce (which Zach artfully added for us) was just enough to bring the entire thing together.

All that being said, you will be paying about $50/person for a three course experience, more for any drinks imbibed. Plan ahead, because each course is worth it!

We will be returning again to Edwin's soon. It has quickly become top of my list for special occasions!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Drove 40 minutes to get here and it was well worth it. Will definitely make the trip again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beside outstanding food, it was a lot of fun! Half our party ordered the hamburger despite the sticker shock. A great show, absolutely delicious! Well worth the sticker shock.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a wonderful French meal at Edwin's cozy and friendly. Excellent cheese cart and Bananas Foster prepared tableside.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We go some place once a month with friends who live just a few miles from Edwin's. This was their first visit, not mine. Edwin's was superb when I needed a good venue on very short notice for another occasion. This time I ordered the burger, and it was done tableside. And the Bananas Foster was set afire within reach, too. Both floor shows were spectacular and the food was as good as the preparation. Edwin's is not just a great story. It is an event waiting to happen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food along with wonderful service. When you also learn about the unique community oriented service that Edwins provides and operates with it is even more impressive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service was great until the end. Our waiter forgot our dessert and we waited 15 mins for our check. Fortunately we weren't charged for it. Minor inconvenience in an otherwise wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dinner
Love concept

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.