Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Edwins Restaurant

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Romantic (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Business Meals (13)
Fireplace (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Vegan (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing. My salmon cooked perfectly and my vegetarian wife was very impressed with her options. My bread plate or glass was never empty and the servers were extremely polite and efficient. I love the mission as well. The only complaint I had was it was very warm inside but it was a hot day.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

We go to Edwin's for special occasions. Great food, wonderful service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first occasion at Edwin' s and it's lovely. The food was delicious, the atmosphere very tasteful, and the service was great. We love the mission of Edwin's and were proud of the young people working there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The lamb chops and duck were the hits at our table; as well as, the lemon souffle and sorbet. We never had to want for anything as someone was always there to serve without being in the way. Bill our server was awesome. Very personable and happy to help us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Superb French-influenced menu blended with out-of-this world service make for a fine fine dining experience. Bring your wallet, though; their Le Burger is $32. That includes a wonderful, flaming sauce Diane.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, food and service were exceptional. Michael, our server, was especially friendly and efficient. Everyone should experience Edwin's at least once. I always feel like I'm contributing to something worthwhile just by dining at Edwin's.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband "loved" his table side presentation. Bananas Foster is his favorite!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a very nice surprise! I had heard about the place and it lived up to all expectations. Friendly servers and a great menu! Very cool place and I will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Edwins is our favorite special occasion place. The food is unfailingly delicious and generous, and the service is nothing less than extraordinary. I would not suggest it for a quickie
"before theater" meal because Edwins is a place where one should take the time to savor the wonderful food with just one person or a group of friends. It is, indeed, a "gem."

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Placed our reservation on the open table, got seated on arrival promptly, were given an endless supply of french bread and water refills, including changing the sparkling water just because it became "too still" while we talked!
We went there with our teenagers - and they were in for a shock of how above and beyond the service was!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Edwins to celebrate our anniversary. I had the warmed goat cheese salad and potato crusted walleye with a wonderful sauce and crisp green beans. Both were delicious! The pinot noir was very nice and moderately priced. Our server did an excellent job - she was attentive without being an overbearing presence. Best of all, Edwins helps employ and teach restaurant skills to those in need of reentering society and the workforce. Kudos to this program!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Edwin's offers a unique opportunity to do good while being totally indulgent. The food is perfectly prepared classical French with some fresh twists and is absolutely delicious. Service is very attentive, and these students are very serious about their work; our server, Chantrell, was delightfully upbeat & friendly. We'll definitely be back-we have a new favorite!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first experience at Edwin's. We had heard positive feedback from friends and the reviews were positive. We were not disappointed.

We decided to dine there to celebrate our sons birthday. Everyone ordered something different from the bouillabaisse to duck. Everyone's meal was served hot and excellently prepared. We requested a birthday cake for dessert. It was prepared by an outside bakery and was excellent. The salads and apps were fresh and flavorful.

The service while timely was disjointed. We had no less than four to five people approach our table after we first arrived but no one identified themselves as our wait person and it was confusing. Once we finally figured it out, we were able to order drinks and ask for a some'. When ordering we asked for recommendations or signature dishes. Our waiter indicated he does not like French food and has only tried the burger. We understand the premise of Edwin's is to help mainstream the previously incarcerated, but not what we expected.

If not for the service experience, it would have been a five star rating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Overall experience was good. We found the food to be over salted. The staff was very attentive and we loved the whole premise of giving folks a second chance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic evening and dining experience. The atmosphere and varied menu options made it was a perfect find

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The menu was interesting and very tasty.truly enjoyed the meal and we will be back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Loved it!! Good food, good times and good mission. Wait staff was excellent and the cheese cart was really fun.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

One of the best french rabbit dinners that I have had in a long time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our server Brian was very personable and sweet. He really wanted to do well for us. Lisa is extremely knowledgeable with the incredible amount of cheeses on the cheese cart. Enjoyed the decadent cherries jubilee and sweet bday surprise! Love absolutely everything about this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Absolutely superb!!! Service was magnificent and the food divine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful anniversary dinner with my wife. We ate outside. We even chatted with some friends as the walked past the patio. The staff is very attentive. Drinks, dinner, wine and dessert were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our waiter was very nervous, sweeting has no idea about what's on the menus
So for French resturent with expensive pricing I would expect much better service
The food was below average

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

What a beautiful night! First time there after hearing such wonderful reviews. From the minute we arrived, nothing but the best service, conversation & food! Everyone was knowledgeable from preparation to pairing Definitely going back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We came in for my girlfriends birthday and had never been to Edwin's before. Christina was our server and she was phenomenal! We asked her a million questions about the menu and she knew it all and had excellent recommendations. All four courses came out at the perfect time, and they even added a candle on our dessert for the occasion! We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderfully varied menus. Great decor, spot on assistance from wait staff in choosing wine parings. Attentive but not intrusive service. Food was well presented and delicious. Will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My 8 months pregnant wife and I went for our tenth anniversary. The meal was outstanding, and the service was great. The staff congratulated us several times on our upcoming child and wished us a happy anniversary. Some of the staff had questionable personal fashion choices, but nothing so outrageous that negatively impacted the full experience, and the staff was so courteous that it was easy to overlook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service are outstanding., but the portion size of the delicious scallop dish (3 scallops) was a disappointment.The noise level of the discordant music was very bad: I had to ask twice to lower the noise level. Given the small size of the restaurant and the number of tables, there should be no music.
We are looking forward to return to Edwin's to try the canard presse.
Edwin's rehabilitation program is admirable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Celebrating multiple birthdays

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I was really impressed by the service. The people that work there make sure that you are taken care of and you do not have to wait for any service. The food was interesting and creative mixed with some tradition dishes.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service is very good even considering this is a training environment. The food is fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Lisa was the best presenter for the Cheese cart. Knew the cheeses ver well. Our server was outstanding. Managers were great and knew wines well. Just a great evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

A wonderful dining experience! All courses of the meal were fantastic, exceptionally delicious. One of the best meals that I have had dining out!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food and service were very good. Unfortunately, we were seated in a dark corridor with many other guests requiring a small pocket flashlight from a waiter to read the menu. I noted that the portion of the restaurant where we entered was brighter and less noisy. I would return to Edwins if I could insist on seating in the entry portion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great concept. Great food. The atmosphere is great!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food. Servers and staff who try very hard and go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant dining experience. Only negative is the cheese course. The cheese cart is AMAZING, however, for $4, you get the tiniest portion of cheese. Definitely overpriced. Love everything else about Edwins.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was impeccable, attentive but not invasive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As always the food and service was excellent. The menu is always different and broad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love this place for the dining experience AND the cause! What an amazing program.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Edwin's is always a treat and this was no exception. The food was excellent, as we've come to expect. Service was what you would expect from a restaurant of Edwin's calibre. The edwin's mission is something that I believe in, but it'd be great place even without that. Couldn't have asked for more.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.