Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Edwins Restaurant

Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We went for our anniversary- food was spectacular but it did take a VERY long time for our entree (beef tenderloin for 2) to come out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was outstanding, as usual. Had the rabbit pie and lamb appetizers. Shared the chateaubriand with my date and it was exceptional. Dessert was creme brûlée and perfect! The service from everyone who came up to us was amazing but I must say that our server, Jose, was sub par. He also happened to be the bartender but he lacked a personality and the flair and attention to detail that I have come to expect from Edwin's. I was disappointed with this because I was really hoping to impress my date. Turns out he was impressed. Just not with Jose.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Wow. Each time we've gone to Edwin's, the experience only seems to get better! We've felt a strong need to support the mission of this non-profit, which educates formerly incarcerated individuals regarding all aspects of the restaurant industry, preparing them for a career in the restaurant business. To that end, all aspects of restaurant operations are included in the training. That was clearly evident during our meal - attentive, knowledgeable and exceedingly helpful staff willing to share their restaurant-related passions. Our meals were wonderfully prepared, including a unique artichoke preparation (appetizer), cold summer soups, and excellently prepared lamb chops, bronzino, and boudin, each accompanied by tasty vegetable preparations. For dessert, we ordered the chocolate pyramid (so decadent!), and the cherries jubilee (prepared table-side). The wine list was wonderful, with ample choices, including some unusual ones.
In all, we had a simply wonderful and perfectly paced dinner. We'll certainly be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The concept is great; food fantastic; service is the best in Cleveland

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent French cooking, wine list, service. One of Cleveland's very best restaurants.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Read about this place on Reddit. Absolutely wonderful dining experience. Food was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent service with attention to detail and equally delicious food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Delicious and excellent service. Great mission. Thank you!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great experience as usual. Probably the best place to enjoy French cuisine in the area... with my home (ftr, I'm French).

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We took out-of-town guests who were very impressed with the high quality of this restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the preparation of bananas foster and cherries jubilee at the table. Both were very tasty and a big show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our first time - and we had a wonderful dinner. We wanted to try everything - my husband had the seafood sausage and it was wonderful (I'm not a sausage fan generally). I had the fois gras and it was very yummy! We split the salad nicoise which while good was a little smaller than we anticipated. That left room for dessert and cheese. The wine steward also made a wonderful selection for us. We asked for something new and he suggested a great Spanish wine. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We live in Shaker Heights and believe strongly in the mission of Edwins in addition to the food and service. We go there for all our special occassions.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was absolutely amazing. No better French cuisine and service outside Paris. BUT, their mission makes the meal worth a 1,000 mile trip to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We took some people from the Red Cloud Indian School at the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota, and they really enjoyed the experience -- food, ambiance and learning about the unique aspects of Edwins.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Dining at Edwin's was a delight! The food was impeccable and the service was outstanding! Cannot wait to return for the grouper and cherries jubilee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Lovely group of servers and managers. Need to sample more on the menus to evaluate the food. Everything prepared beautifully

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We have eaten here several times. Each time has been very enjoyable. The service is wonderful... sometimes almost too much attention 😏 The food is a delight, both in taste and in presentation. I highly recommend this restaurant for a great dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was amazing. My salmon cooked perfectly and my vegetarian wife was very impressed with her options. My bread plate or glass was never empty and the servers were extremely polite and efficient. I love the mission as well. The only complaint I had was it was very warm inside but it was a hot day.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We go to Edwin's for special occasions. Great food, wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first occasion at Edwin' s and it's lovely. The food was delicious, the atmosphere very tasteful, and the service was great. We love the mission of Edwin's and were proud of the young people working there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The lamb chops and duck were the hits at our table; as well as, the lemon souffle and sorbet. We never had to want for anything as someone was always there to serve without being in the way. Bill our server was awesome. Very personable and happy to help us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Superb French-influenced menu blended with out-of-this world service make for a fine fine dining experience. Bring your wallet, though; their Le Burger is $32. That includes a wonderful, flaming sauce Diane.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

As always, food and service were exceptional. Michael, our server, was especially friendly and efficient. Everyone should experience Edwin's at least once. I always feel like I'm contributing to something worthwhile just by dining at Edwin's.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My husband "loved" his table side presentation. Bananas Foster is his favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a very nice surprise! I had heard about the place and it lived up to all expectations. Friendly servers and a great menu! Very cool place and I will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Edwins is our favorite special occasion place. The food is unfailingly delicious and generous, and the service is nothing less than extraordinary. I would not suggest it for a quickie
"before theater" meal because Edwins is a place where one should take the time to savor the wonderful food with just one person or a group of friends. It is, indeed, a "gem."

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Placed our reservation on the open table, got seated on arrival promptly, were given an endless supply of french bread and water refills, including changing the sparkling water just because it became "too still" while we talked!
We went there with our teenagers - and they were in for a shock of how above and beyond the service was!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Edwins to celebrate our anniversary. I had the warmed goat cheese salad and potato crusted walleye with a wonderful sauce and crisp green beans. Both were delicious! The pinot noir was very nice and moderately priced. Our server did an excellent job - she was attentive without being an overbearing presence. Best of all, Edwins helps employ and teach restaurant skills to those in need of reentering society and the workforce. Kudos to this program!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Edwin's offers a unique opportunity to do good while being totally indulgent. The food is perfectly prepared classical French with some fresh twists and is absolutely delicious. Service is very attentive, and these students are very serious about their work; our server, Chantrell, was delightfully upbeat & friendly. We'll definitely be back-we have a new favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food and company! The variation of dishes are abundant, and the service is personal and at your beck and call.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

An interesting menu with lots of good choices. I had a hard time deciding what to order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Souffle was quite a treat, and very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our first experience at Edwin's. We had heard positive feedback from friends and the reviews were positive. We were not disappointed.

We decided to dine there to celebrate our sons birthday. Everyone ordered something different from the bouillabaisse to duck. Everyone's meal was served hot and excellently prepared. We requested a birthday cake for dessert. It was prepared by an outside bakery and was excellent. The salads and apps were fresh and flavorful.

The service while timely was disjointed. We had no less than four to five people approach our table after we first arrived but no one identified themselves as our wait person and it was confusing. Once we finally figured it out, we were able to order drinks and ask for a some'. When ordering we asked for recommendations or signature dishes. Our waiter indicated he does not like French food and has only tried the burger. We understand the premise of Edwin's is to help mainstream the previously incarcerated, but not what we expected.

If not for the service experience, it would have been a five star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Overall experience was good. We found the food to be over salted. The staff was very attentive and we loved the whole premise of giving folks a second chance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic evening and dining experience. The atmosphere and varied menu options made it was a perfect find

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The menu was interesting and very tasty.truly enjoyed the meal and we will be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Loved it!! Good food, good times and good mission. Wait staff was excellent and the cheese cart was really fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

One of the best french rabbit dinners that I have had in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.