About Edwins Restaurant

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Notable Wine List (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fireplace (29)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Vegan (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (10)
People Watching (9)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The overall experience was good. I would ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

The overall experience was good. I would recommend for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals in Cleveland

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals in Cleveland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our meals were delicious. Our service wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meals were delicious. Our service was a little difficult. The waiter had to be asked multiple times to bring us a fork for the main course after our main course had been delivered. Then we decided to have a plate of oysters after our main course and the waiter forgot it twice. I know it was unusual, but should not have been so difficult and then when it came, (we were splitting it) so we asked for another little fork and had to do that several times. Then when we signed the charge slips, the waiter claimed I took the wrong one, and I said I had left it on the plate and he had taken the plate away. I said he had it and was sure I had put it on the plate. He came back several times to tell me he did not have it, until finally - he found it. A bit annoying.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We enjoyed the bananas foster most of al ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the bananas foster most of all, as it was made at tableside. Everyone was very friendly and food was delicious. My husband really enjoyed his fish entrée. It was a grouper with a very thinly sliced potato crust.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Excellent food! Wil ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service! Excellent food! Will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, as always. Fantast ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience, as always. Fantastic food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal, and the service ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was phenomenal, and the service was on point from start to finish. We loved everything about Edwin's especially the mission it's set out to accomplish. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers and drinks were amazing as al ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Appetizers and drinks were amazing as always. Cheese is to die for. My main was the daily special and was a little under seasoned, but everything else was spot on. Bananas foster were perfect and the chef was a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentine's D ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentine's Day by dining at Edwin's. The ambiance is warm, cozy, and romantic. The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely delicious. We had such a great time and we would recommend this place to all of our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Edwin's for h ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Edwin's for his birthday after discovering them through a Reddit AMA. Everything about the experience was extraordinary. They had a complimentary valet that didn't even blink at my boyfriend's manual transmission (there have been issues in the past). We were seated immediately with our reservation and were attended to within seconds. Our waiter, Zach, was outstanding and helped explain everything on the menu and offered suggestions.

The food was incredible and beautifully plated. We had the seafood sausage to start and I would definitely recommend it! I ordered the grouper, which was prepared perfectly and flaked apart without feeling dry, no fishy taste at all, and the wine butter sauce was delicious with it. He got the rabbit leg and lemon potatoes. The meat fell off the bone when he tried to cut into it. It was tender and flavorful, but he kept saying that the potatoes were the highlight of his meal because the lemon flavor really shine through, even with the gravy it was served with. Throughout the meal, attentive wait staff would make sure our water glasses and bread plates were always full so that we never had to ask for anything.

For dessert, we were offered their signature souffle, which Zach described as "like eating a cloud". Having never been treated to something so decadent before, I have to agree! It was fluffy and delicious. The sauce (which Zach artfully added for us) was just enough to bring the entire thing together.

All that being said, you will be paying about $50/person for a three course experience, more for any drinks imbibed. Plan ahead, because each course is worth it!

We will be returning again to Edwin's soon. It has quickly become top of my list for special occasions!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service. Drove 40 min ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Drove 40 minutes to get here and it was well worth it. Will definitely make the trip again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beside outstanding food, it was a lot of ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beside outstanding food, it was a lot of fun! Half our party ordered the hamburger despite the sticker shock. A great show, absolutely delicious! Well worth the sticker shock.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful French meal at Edwin' ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a wonderful French meal at Edwin's cozy and friendly. Excellent cheese cart and Bananas Foster prepared tableside.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go some place once a month with frien ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We go some place once a month with friends who live just a few miles from Edwin's. This was their first visit, not mine. Edwin's was superb when I needed a good venue on very short notice for another occasion. This time I ordered the burger, and it was done tableside. And the Bananas Foster was set afire within reach, too. Both floor shows were spectacular and the food was as good as the preparation. Edwin's is not just a great story. It is an event waiting to happen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food along with wonderful serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food along with wonderful service. When you also learn about the unique community oriented service that Edwins provides and operates with it is even more impressive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service was great unt ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service was great until the end. Our waiter forgot our dessert and we waited 15 mins for our check. Fortunately we weren't charged for it. Minor inconvenience in an otherwise wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dinner Love concept

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dinner

Love concept

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was amazing and the food inc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was amazing and the food incredible. The table side food preparation was fun and it made our dining experience exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always, both food and servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always, both food and service. Pinot noir from burgundy was a little disappointing. Not earthy as was described and I would have preferred cooler than room temperature.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent cuisine and menu options very ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent cuisine and menu options very attentive staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, and the personne ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was excellent, and the personnel were all very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience esp ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience especially if you choose to order one of the entrees or desserts prepared tableside. Attentive staff ; eager to please.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Edwins after seeing the owner (B ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to Edwins after seeing the owner (Brendon) on the Steve Harvey show. Wow and incredible are my two word description. We will be back and it will be soon! Love the place, new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French cuisine in a restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent French cuisine in a restaurant with a laudable social mission.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is amazing!! We enjoyed the d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This place is amazing!! We enjoyed the delicious and generous portions, service, ambiance, and overall wonderful experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, , Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwins serves the best French food I've ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Edwins serves the best French food I've ever had in the U.S. The quality is always excellent, service is polite but not intrusive and the ambiance is elegant. We went on a Monday night.

The noise level was less than on a packed weekend night. Make reservations in advance.

This is the best restaurant in Cleveland. It's pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent,attentive staff and owner who ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent,attentive staff and owner who took the time to stop at our table a few times during the evening. Appealing ambiance. Salad, bread, appetizers were excellent. Well mixed cocktails. Main courses somewhat less exciting but adequate. Venison and duck confit dishes were especially good. Beignets for dessert were fun to share. Overall a nice dining experience with a great feeling of being somewhere where good is happening for both the guests and the staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food, lovely, tho, slightly cr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food, lovely, tho, slightly crowded and warm Dining room. Excellent service. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and service as well as ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great atmosphere and service as well as excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was not outstanding and they po ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was not outstanding and they pop music playing at an annoying level. Service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

I have had the pleasure of dining at Edw ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I have had the pleasure of dining at Edwin's a handful of time. The experience is always unique and yet the service and quality of the meal is always exemplary. On this occasion a friend was visiting for the first time in a decade and Edwin's was my first thought of venues that are spectacular in showing off not only what Cleveland has become since he last visited but also what we can all be in the world if we choose.

We meandered through courses of wine, cocktails, cheeses, appetizers, entrees and found we were far beyond sated by the time dessert options were presented.

I was surprised to have a delightful digestive appear at the table at the close of the meal. Brandon was kind enough to recall a prior interaction and took the opportunity to cement himself and Edwin's at the very peak of fine dining with this small remembrance and kindness on his part.

If you forego Edwin's shame on you as you are missing a brilliant dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had read about this restaurant and it ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had read about this restaurant and it's unique mission. Our waiter who is completing his training period was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. He had worked preparing the meals in the first part of his program, so he had good knowledge about the food and its preparation. The drinks and food was well prepared. My wife had the duck confit with risotto, and I had a beouf pappardelle. Both were delicious. We had the dessert souffle which was the lightest I have ever had. Delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Wine list of ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Wine list offered both value and uniqueness.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious meal. Wonderful service. Lovel ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Delicious meal. Wonderful service. Lovely evening except that the noticeable noise level grew unexpectedly loud and louder from drastically changed volume of "background music" during our 3 hour dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time (2014 and recent ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was my second time (2014 and recently)to this establishment and it was absolutely wonderful this time around. There is nothing that I can even critic at this time. Truest perfect!!! I am glad I gave it another try and cannot wait for my next visit very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French food in a classic setti ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent French food in a classic setting. Very friendly. Try the cheese board for and adventure in interesting cheeses

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was fabulous! And the funk on t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fabulous! And the funk on the sound system was perfect for New Years Eve.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwin's never disappoints. The meal was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Edwin's never disappoints. The meal was wonderful and the restaurant has a great mission!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wow. This was a fabulous place and the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wow. This was a fabulous place and the food was beyond exceptional. We enjoyed everything about the place.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Edwin's is a special French restaurant w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Edwin's is a special French restaurant with excellent food. It is also a non-profit that provides restaurant job skills to individuals who have been in prison. By dining at Edwin's we helped the employees practice and refine their skills. And instead of leaving just a tip, it's a contribution to the 401(c3) non-profit. Highly Recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.