Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Edwins Restaurant

Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort by
S
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

this is a great restaurant with providing very good food and helping those with a past. Three out of the 4 dishes were excellent, the eggplant was tough and sent back but still tough

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Food excellent. Service good, tried to please. Very crowded and tables on top of each other. Very New York.

Delicious meal, Higher priced menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vegan, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were outstanding, the ambiance enjoyable, the valet parking delightful (compared to most other valet services.) The fact that this institution is giving back to society makes this restaurant even more impressive. This restaurant deserves the patronage of all Clevelanders. Hats off to Brandon, the staff, and all of the men and women in training for this Cleveland Gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2017

This was our first trip to Edwins and it will not be our last. The atmosphere is vibrant and the French inspired menu was well done. The table for 8 we had was near the back and the temperature was quite warm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Our first time and we really enjoyed the food and the service. A great deal of options on both the dinner menu and the dessert menu (note that the souffle take 25 minutes so order ahead of time).

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 21, 2017

I will never not be impressed by my experience at Edwin!! The food is perfect, the service is absolutely on point and wonderful, it’s a beautiful restaurant, and it all goes to the fantastic cause. It is my favorite turkey pickup day tradition!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Very attentive staff. Great food choices! We loved our choices! Good wine!! Will go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Incredible dinning experience. Certainly one of the best Cleveland has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Good food in a great ambiance. Limited vegetarian menu but yummy, nonetheless.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Both the food and service were excellent! The waitstaff was consistently on top of it. If you're looking for a place to go for a special occasion or date night, look no further!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Healthy, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We went to support a good cause, but discovered that Edwins is a great restaurant, with an interesting menu, wonderfully prepared and it could compete with the best in New York on its own merits. We will definitely be revisiting Edwins

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Incredible food and service. The Somm/Host was so Inviting and knowledgeable. Great servers and dessert. I highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2017

It was my first time there, but it will not be my last. When I viewed the menu online I thought it was a little pricey, but I was meeting a friend so I went. We had an marvelous time. I had the grouper and it was delicious. The servers were outstanding and their service was top notch. The only issue was when I ordered the lobster bisque, I didn't like it, but they took it back immediately and brought the soup of the day (complementary) I loved it. The bread tasted freshly baked and the butter was soft (that's a rarity) I highly recommend
this restaurant as someplace to eat when you have a special occasion. Keep up the good work Edwins.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 24, 2017

a first rate experience all around. The bread dish and water glass was always filled , The waiter was attentive. The food was excellent especially the stewed rabbit, frogs legs and the snails. The main courses were excellent except the French style sea food soup which was very tasty but not authentic

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Edwins is a Cleveland treasure. The food is always excellently prepared with a good variety offered on the menu. Le Burger is the most amazing, extravagant burger you'll ever experience. It's well worth trying on at least one visit. Our other favorites are the fish wrapped in crispy potatoes and the horseradish encrusted salmon. I recommend the poached pear tart for a delightful finish to your meal. We're so lucky to have such a high calibre restaurant in Cleveland with leaders that believe in the future of everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We went for our anniversary- food was spectacular but it did take a VERY long time for our entree (beef tenderloin for 2) to come out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was outstanding, as usual. Had the rabbit pie and lamb appetizers. Shared the chateaubriand with my date and it was exceptional. Dessert was creme brûlée and perfect! The service from everyone who came up to us was amazing but I must say that our server, Jose, was sub par. He also happened to be the bartender but he lacked a personality and the flair and attention to detail that I have come to expect from Edwin's. I was disappointed with this because I was really hoping to impress my date. Turns out he was impressed. Just not with Jose.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Wow. Each time we've gone to Edwin's, the experience only seems to get better! We've felt a strong need to support the mission of this non-profit, which educates formerly incarcerated individuals regarding all aspects of the restaurant industry, preparing them for a career in the restaurant business. To that end, all aspects of restaurant operations are included in the training. That was clearly evident during our meal - attentive, knowledgeable and exceedingly helpful staff willing to share their restaurant-related passions. Our meals were wonderfully prepared, including a unique artichoke preparation (appetizer), cold summer soups, and excellently prepared lamb chops, bronzino, and boudin, each accompanied by tasty vegetable preparations. For dessert, we ordered the chocolate pyramid (so decadent!), and the cherries jubilee (prepared table-side). The wine list was wonderful, with ample choices, including some unusual ones.
In all, we had a simply wonderful and perfectly paced dinner. We'll certainly be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The concept is great; food fantastic; service is the best in Cleveland

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent French cooking, wine list, service. One of Cleveland's very best restaurants.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Read about this place on Reddit. Absolutely wonderful dining experience. Food was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent service with attention to detail and equally delicious food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Delicious and excellent service. Great mission. Thank you!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great experience as usual. Probably the best place to enjoy French cuisine in the area... with my home (ftr, I'm French).

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We took out-of-town guests who were very impressed with the high quality of this restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the preparation of bananas foster and cherries jubilee at the table. Both were very tasty and a big show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our first time - and we had a wonderful dinner. We wanted to try everything - my husband had the seafood sausage and it was wonderful (I'm not a sausage fan generally). I had the fois gras and it was very yummy! We split the salad nicoise which while good was a little smaller than we anticipated. That left room for dessert and cheese. The wine steward also made a wonderful selection for us. We asked for something new and he suggested a great Spanish wine. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We live in Shaker Heights and believe strongly in the mission of Edwins in addition to the food and service. We go there for all our special occassions.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was absolutely amazing. No better French cuisine and service outside Paris. BUT, their mission makes the meal worth a 1,000 mile trip to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We took some people from the Red Cloud Indian School at the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota, and they really enjoyed the experience -- food, ambiance and learning about the unique aspects of Edwins.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Dining at Edwin's was a delight! The food was impeccable and the service was outstanding! Cannot wait to return for the grouper and cherries jubilee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Lovely group of servers and managers. Need to sample more on the menus to evaluate the food. Everything prepared beautifully

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We have eaten here several times. Each time has been very enjoyable. The service is wonderful... sometimes almost too much attention 😏 The food is a delight, both in taste and in presentation. I highly recommend this restaurant for a great dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was amazing. My salmon cooked perfectly and my vegetarian wife was very impressed with her options. My bread plate or glass was never empty and the servers were extremely polite and efficient. I love the mission as well. The only complaint I had was it was very warm inside but it was a hot day.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We go to Edwin's for special occasions. Great food, wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first occasion at Edwin' s and it's lovely. The food was delicious, the atmosphere very tasteful, and the service was great. We love the mission of Edwin's and were proud of the young people working there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The lamb chops and duck were the hits at our table; as well as, the lemon souffle and sorbet. We never had to want for anything as someone was always there to serve without being in the way. Bill our server was awesome. Very personable and happy to help us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Superb French-influenced menu blended with out-of-this world service make for a fine fine dining experience. Bring your wallet, though; their Le Burger is $32. That includes a wonderful, flaming sauce Diane.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.