About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: (216) 921-3333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Romantic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fireplace (23)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (20)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vegan (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had read about this restaurant and it ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

We had read about this restaurant and it's unique mission. Our waiter who is completing his training period was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. He had worked preparing the meals in the first part of his program, so he had good knowledge about the food and its preparation. The drinks and food was well prepared. My wife had the duck confit with risotto, and I had a beouf pappardelle. Both were delicious. We had the dessert souffle which was the lightest I have ever had. Delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Wine list of ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and service. Wine list offered both value and uniqueness.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious meal. Wonderful service. Lovel ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious meal. Wonderful service. Lovely evening except that the noticeable noise level grew unexpectedly loud and louder from drastically changed volume of "background music" during our 3 hour dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time (2014 and recent ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was my second time (2014 and recently)to this establishment and it was absolutely wonderful this time around. There is nothing that I can even critic at this time. Truest perfect!!! I am glad I gave it another try and cannot wait for my next visit very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French food in a classic setti ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent French food in a classic setting. Very friendly. Try the cheese board for and adventure in interesting cheeses

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was fabulous! And the funk on t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fabulous! And the funk on the sound system was perfect for New Years Eve.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwin's never disappoints. The meal was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Edwin's never disappoints. The meal was wonderful and the restaurant has a great mission!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wow. This was a fabulous place and the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wow. This was a fabulous place and the food was beyond exceptional. We enjoyed everything about the place.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Edwin's is a special French restaurant w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Edwin's is a special French restaurant with excellent food. It is also a non-profit that provides restaurant job skills to individuals who have been in prison. By dining at Edwin's we helped the employees practice and refine their skills. And instead of leaving just a tip, it's a contribution to the 401(c3) non-profit. Highly Recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Edwins was absolutely spectacular. The f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Edwins was absolutely spectacular. The food, ambiance and the service were amazing. We will positively return and tell our friends to enjoy this incredible restaurant. They were able to provide a full menu as well as a New Year's Eve specialty menu, WOW. That is unusual on a holiday like New Year's Eve. It was beyond our expectations. Go and enjoy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful date there on a Frida ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful date there on a Friday night. Everything was perfect. The people were extremely nice and attentive. Truly a wonderful evening of culinary adventures!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great mission ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, great service, great mission! Really enjoyed our dinner here with friends. The staff was amazing...very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The Le Burger was awesome, as was the rabbit and the bananas foster too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our 1st time to EDWINS but surely not ou ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our 1st time to EDWINS but surely not our last! We enjoyed every aspect of our evening!

The gluten-free availability was fantastic - and the menu & wine list were awesome 👍🎉

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of six went to Edwin's during ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our party of six went to Edwin's during Christmastime for a holiday get-together of old friends . We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The beautiful dining room, attentive service and delicious food was very good. The artichoke small plate was disappointing though- low flavor and the three halves were a bit spartan and almost seemed canned. We had the cheese cart - a huge assortment of cheeses brought to our table and explained by a very knowledgeable server. Some at our table thought it was a little much- taking too long because of too many choices. I was a little disappointed in that our selections were one-ounce cuts at $4 each. That's $64 per pound- a little overboard even for a fine French restaurant. Entrees were done very well. My companion had the scallop dish. Beautifully done but she was disappointed in

that this $33 entree consisted of three scallops and some beautifully presented potato purée. I think you see a pattern in this review- great place but slightly pretentious in its serving size and price decisions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent in all aspects. Only negative ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent in all aspects. Only negative would be the choice of music and the high volume. Makes conversation difficult.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent adventure just like our other ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent adventure just like our other times. Wonderful meal, great service

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Romantic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always attentive service, delicious f ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always attentive service, delicious food, excellent cocktails and wine and a warm ambience.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every visit has been a pleasure. The st ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Every visit has been a pleasure. The staff make you feel really welcome and the food and service are superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average quality food. Service a bit rush ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Average quality food. Service a bit rushed. Too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I loved how many vegan and vegetarian op ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I loved how many vegan and vegetarian options there were on the menu, which is unusual for a French restaurant. I love the mission of the restaurant, but the servers were definitely inexperienced when it came to answering questions about how dishes were prepared. (And when they came back with an answer, they weren't actually answers.) That said, I'd highly recommend this place for someone looking for an upscale dining experience in Cleveland.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Repeat dining experience at this fantast ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Repeat dining experience at this fantastic restaurant. Classical French cuisine executed in a very competent fashion by earnest, hard-working, friendly staff.

I've been here three times and each visit was special. Tableside preparations of entrees and desserts. Perfect spot for a romantic date.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place and food. Really loved it. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great place and food. Really loved it. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular meal I love it there!!!!

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Spectacular meal

I love it there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Edwins is always wonderful. My duck leg ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Edwins is always wonderful. My duck leg was crispy on the outside, tender, fall off the bone delicious and was top of mushroom rosotto that was to die for. The bananas foster was fun. The beet salad with crispy fried goat cheese was a repeat for me...sooo good! It is a very intimate atmosphere, was full but not noisy. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant not just for the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We love this restaurant not just for the beautifully prepared french cuisine, impeccable service, and elegant ambiance, but also for the mission of Edwins foundation and leadership program. You will have a beautiful and joyous dining experience here. Leave a big tip - it counts as a charitable donation!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an interesting culinary adventure ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had an interesting culinary adventure with French cuisine. Very attentive service. It was a bit crowded and noisy but we had a great meal and left very happy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have dined here on 2 occasions and bo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have dined here on 2 occasions and both times we were thrilled. The food is fantastic and the service is also wonderful. The staff are all students of a transitional program to build work experience on their resume and they are great! It is such a positive experience that we even enjoy paying the bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had heard about Edwin's, liked the conce ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had heard about Edwin's, liked the concept so decided to go there with a friend. If you want to go to a restaurant where they really want to treat you well, try Edwin's. The servers are almost too eager to please, but I haven't found that quality in any other establishment in a long time. My friend ordered salmon and did not specify that she wanted it well done. The server came over after one bite and asked it it was cooked to her satisfaction. She asked to have it cooked a bit more. He whisked it away to the kitchen with apologies (he did nothing wrong). Soon after the maitre d came over to her with a complimentary soup while she waited. The salmon came back and it was perfect. The entire staff seemed to have the same commitment to service. How nice to be valued as a customer for a change.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic night out with friends. Every ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic night out with friends. Every dish we had was excellent. Wait staff was great. We greatly enjoyed and actually learned from the table-side burger preparation. Definitely will come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May have been the best meal I have had i ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

May have been the best meal I have had in Cleveland, ever.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding!

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a treat to have dinner at Edwin's, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What a treat to have dinner at Edwin's, a favorite local restaurant that is often difficult to get into due to its popularity. We were there with friends and had a relaxed fun evening. My sauvignon blanc was terrific--recommended by our server. The fruits de mer came as a sausage, which was a surprise to us, but very yummy. We had the salmon encrusted with horseradish and our friends the scallops. Both entrees exceeded expectations and were prepared and presented perfectly. What a great concept; what a great staff. We are so glad to have Edwin's in our Shaker Square neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding experience. This is our sec ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding experience. This is our second time to dine here. It was every bit as good as the first time. The food is expertly prepared and the service is fantastic. We have had the opportunity to eat all of over the United States and throughout Europe and I can honestly say that the service at Edwin's is some of the most attentive and pleasant we have ever had. The serving team and management as well as the owner work as a team to ensure the highest quality experience for the customers. Our party of 5 had the pleasure of sampling several entrees -all of which were superb. The soup du jour was a lovely winter squash and sweet potato with perfectly seasoned flavor. The desserts are mouthwateringly good! The chocolate pyramid is like a little piece of chocolate heaven. Truly, I cannot recommend this place enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! We tried a wide variety ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food! We tried a wide variety of dishes including rabbit, guinea hen, venison, salmon and grouper. Everyone in our party said it was the best meal they had ever eaten and everyone will return again! The music is very hip, but a little loud making so conversations at times were hard to hear. Desserts were fun. Try the bananas foster! Service very attentive! Well done, Edwin's!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in the city. Food is de ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant in the city. Food is delicious and service is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the finest French dining experien ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of the finest French dining experiences I've had in Cleveland. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, friendly staff. Overall ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food, friendly staff. Overall outstanding. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening! Sophisticated atmosphere ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great evening! Sophisticated atmosphere, Owner made rounds which provided an opportunity to discuss philosophy behind the restaurant. Staff was most gracious and accommodating, Will definitely return!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great, food very good (b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The service was great, food very good (but somewhat over priced), but very noisey (problem trying to talk over a large polital gathering in the bar area).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining at Edwin's is a delight. Their st ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dining at Edwin's is a delight. Their staff is sincerely eager to please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.