About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: 2169213333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
12 More
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

Special Occasion (108)
Fit for Foodies (99)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
See All
Romantic (68)
Notable Wine List (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is attractive with an int ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is attractive with an interesting concept (training personnel who have a history of incarceration). Beyond that, the service was very slow and follow through was poor. The restaurant was quite noisy and not restful. The wine selection was good. The food was satisfactory but nothing special.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone should know the story of "Edwin ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone should know the story of "Edwins" by now, if not a google search is in order. To be served the best French cuisine in Cleveland, prepared and served by recently released inmates given a second chance by Brandon Chrostowski.

Brandon is on a mission to change the face of re-entry in the United States. In 2007, he founded EDWINS Leadership & Restaurant Institute. The idea for EDWINS was born “from a break” that Chrostowski received early in life. It has grown from a six-month program conducted in prison that provides training in culinary arts and hospitality to a full-service restaurant dedicated to teaching those recently released all facets of restaurant operations.

After release, individuals are not only equipped with basic culinary skills, they also are assisted with finding employment, have the opportunity to utilize free housing, basic medical care, clothing, job coaching and literacy programs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Cozy, Organic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very yummy. Servers were atten ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very yummy. Servers were attentive and pleasant. I plan on going again-this time we will sit inside--the bees were bothersome-otherwise it was nice to sit outside and watch the Square-we even had live music from the Saturday evening festivities in the park

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Edwin's twice. It is very popul ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Been to Edwin's twice. It is very popular so getting reservation not always easy. Used to be a cool place called Grotto Wine Bar and was a perfect location for a wine/martini/small plates kind of place. As a popular restaurant with high end, fine food, it's a little small--bordering on too small--and that coupled with it's popularity makes it noisy as well. But the valet parking makes it an easy come and go and its reputation as a top Cleveland restaurant is well-deserved. Owner is much in view and attentive to the customers. There is a nice backstory regarding the use of the restaurant to train recent parolees in the restaurant business and they serve as the staff. Very attentive group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Edwins is staffed by former felons who h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Edwins is staffed by former felons who have gone through an extensive training period and are being helped with their return to society as full citizens who are contributors to the economy and neighborhood. The staff was friendly, went out of their way to please and were knowledgeable, too. This program is an excellent example of what one man's vision (the owner, Brandon Chrostowski) can do to give deserving folks a second chance. On top of an excellent recidivism rate for those members of society, the food is also excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was extremely attentive and gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff was extremely attentive and gracious. The food was amazing and the ambiance was inviting. Brandon, the owner, visited our table to make sure that we had a good experience.

Definitely will recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an awesome date night to celebrate ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What an awesome date night to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Great food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwin's is terrific. A real French resta ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Edwin's is terrific. A real French restaurant in Cleveland. Hard to believe. It is consistently excellent. We all know the mission of Edwin's so to help is good. However, the staff have always been fine. The greeting is friendly. Seating is prompt. Bread and water are refilled unobtrusively. A word about the wine list. It very, very well thought-out. Good selection of French and Italian wines. Plus, to see such items as Pommeau and Pineau de Charentes on the menu is unbelievable. I wager there are not 20 restaurants in the US with such available. The value for dollar ratio is excellent. For us, it is a treat to go to Edwin's. It will never occur, but we wish our French friends, world renowned vignerons, could come with us to Edwin's. They would be happy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Quality and quantity did not equal the d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Quality and quantity did not equal the dollars spent. We think the restaurant represents a good cause, but need to give the customer a good dining experience as well. Please include vegetable,and, or salad with the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Such a great place in the area - thanks ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Such a great place in the area - thanks for everything you do Brandon

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes, it is very nice to support this wor ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Yes, it is very nice to support this worthy cause, but besides that, the food and service are wonderful. And sitting out on the patio was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. We were there for ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent experience. We were there for our anniversary and we'll definitely go back. Very French. My husband had the escargot and duck a l'orange and he loved it. I had the scallops and from my first taste of the wonderful sauce, I knew it was a winner. For dessert, definitely try the flourless chocolate pyramid with Grand Marnier macerated fruit...terrific! Very attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is outstanding. Presentatio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service is outstanding. Presentation of food was beautiful. Loved the experience and will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the best French food combined ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Absolutely the best French food combined with unparalleled service! I had cold Tomato/Basil soup, oysters on the half shell, Fois Gras, Duck a la Orange and an unbelievably light Soufflé. I can't wait to go again soon :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special occasion place. Food and s ...

vip
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great special occasion place. Food and service were great and the owners need to be commended for their project.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edwin's is a real gem. The food is alwa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Edwin's is a real gem. The food is always top quality. This time I ordered the burger - The Burger. It was an amazing experience. I recommend that everyone try it at least once. The flavors are exquisite and it's so exciting to see it all come together right at your table. My dining companions had the potato wrapped fish, which was wonderful as well. Plus fantastic wine - a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent experience. Really enjoyed the food and the message.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edwin's was absolutely amazing. There we ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Edwin's was absolutely amazing. There were so many selections of cheeses which were all amazing!! Dinner was delicious!! We order escargot and the seafood sausage as appetizers followed by a few seafood dishes and the pressed duck. The table side bananas foster dessert was a perfect ending to our evening. Must try this restaurants! The service, staff, and food were all exceptional!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always! Not only is the food ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fabulous as always! Not only is the food delicious the presentation is always beautiful.

Truly my favorite place. The staff makes the experience so heartwarming and meaningful. Great service, attentive but never overbearing.

Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Edwin's for the food, the atmosp ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love Edwin's for the food, the atmosphere, and the organizational culture. We were there on a summer Saturday, around 5:30pm. Turns out that patio seating allowed us to listen to the live band playing in Shaker Square. It was a dreamy dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, Brandon and his team delivere ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always, Brandon and his team delivered a first class dining experience. The food, wine,and service were all top notch. The rabbit pie and grouper were outstanding. We're coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was excellent. waitress was fun. h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

food was excellent. waitress was fun. had scallop dish, sauce was very good and scallops done to a tee and sweet. presentation was very nice and appetizing . will be back. someone at the table needs to order the burger - what a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Burger prepared at table, wow!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Burger prepared at table, wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a lovely evening for my husba ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely evening for my husband's birthday recently. All staff members went above and beyond. The food was very good, traditional French cuisine. They have a very extensive wine list accommodating all palates and budgets and the tableside cheese presentation was the best one we've experienced yet. We will definitely be back. Thanks Edwins :-)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was easy to make a reservation and it ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was easy to make a reservation and it was nice to receive a reminder call. The staff was always courteous and helpful, making sure that your every need was met. From the salad to the dessert, the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this establishment to my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wifes birthday. outstanding food, and so ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

wifes birthday. outstanding food, and some unusual food choices. i had rabbit leg that was superb. best snails i ever had. my wife fell in love with the seafood sausage. very good waitress who was both attentive and worked hard and very watchful managers. every need met. Owner was always large and about and stopped at every table several times. good wine list that was not pricey. no tipping prompted me to leave a very large donation. what a great program for the wait and kitchen staff to find a new career path and learn to succeed. we will be back with family and friends. strongly recommend just for the food alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular patron at Edwin's and had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I am a regular patron at Edwin's and had several great meals there. However, on July 13 I came with my husband and 6 other guests for a business + friendly dinner. My husband and I share the fish "paupiette" which we had ordered several times before and enjoyed. My fish was not fresh. It looked grey and the taste was not good, The sauce was wonderful as usual but I was concerned that this fish might make me sick. We also had the special salad with some greens and strawberry slices and a little goat cheese. The salad was very blend and some of the leaves were not fresh and should have been taken out. My husband ordered a vegetarian dish of lima beans and vegetables to share with the group. This dish was disappointed and just not very good and we left most of it despite the fact that most of us were intrigued and tasted a spoonful.

This was my first bad meal at Edwin's. I realized that others did not get spoiled fish. Theirs had white and healthy looking fish so I kept quiet. I also want to support Edwin's so did not want to share my disappointments but if I had been alone with my husband that night I would have returned my dish. I suggest you pay closer attention to fish freshness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Edwin's is unique, to say the least. G ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Edwin's is unique, to say the least. Great food and service. Moreover, it is an organization with a mission to improve the lives of its staff. Everyone should support and patronize this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Edwin's to celebra ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Edwin's to celebrate living in Cleveland for one year. I have often spoke about Edwin's at work, as I lived near it and new about its mission, and how much I wanted to try it. It exceeded my expectations in every way. My wife has Celiac disease, and didn't have any issues with the food. I made sure to let the restaurant know in advance that we would be dining gluten free, and we were greeted with freshly fired gluten free bread. That alone would have been great. Our server seemed quite nervous, and had no idea about which menu items would be/could be gluten free. However, he answered every question perfectly with a "Let me go check on that." I prefer a server that is willing to ask the kitchen the questions we need asked over a server who is trying to be a know it all. It was great.

I had the Braised Rabbit, and my wife had the lamb chops; both were amazing. I suppose it could be said that my fingerling potatoes were a little under cooked, but I am not a chef or a food critic. I do not know what excellent rabbit tastes like, and I do not know what a perfectly cooked potato tastes like. What I do know is that good food is food that makes you happy. Every bite of my food, and my wife's food made both of us extremely happy. Plain and simple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Given Edwins' mission we were extremely ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Given Edwins' mission we were extremely pleased with the service and the quality of the meal. Keep doing what you're doing!!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic experience in all ways. Wonder ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic experience in all ways. Wonderful food and great people. Really special !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Edwin's is a bit on the pricey side but ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Edwin's is a bit on the pricey side but worth every penny. The food is both creative and absolutely delicious; servings are ample but not excessive (as is the case in some restaurants). The service is top-notch and easily surpasses that of many restaurants at any price. What makes this even more amazing and wonderful is the ethical aspect of Edwin's. The focus on providing culinary training for previous offenders is marvelous and noteworthy. Edwin's is a classic example of "doing well while doing good" and they definitely succeed on every level. I am delighted to be able to give Edwin's a huge vote of confidence and my thanks for a superb dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Food was exceptional and the service could not be better.!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff works hard to go over and above on ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Staff works hard to go over and above on making our evening a wonderful experience!

Food was delicious too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu appears to be very full and inv ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The menu appears to be very full and inviting. There were three of us: the pasta had wonderful ingredients, but the taste was very bland, my lamb chops were just OK, the vegetables had a great flavor but the veggies were non-identifiable, my wife's fish was the best overall. The cocktails were just so-so, the wine by the glass was very good but served in small doses (4 oz), I think. However, our biggest complaint was that the prices were way too high and not commensurate w/ the food. I understand that its a 501 (C) 3, however, that does not justify the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

An excellent dining experience with atte ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

An excellent dining experience with attentive staff, an interesting French menu, and a good wine list. You would never know the staff is in training. We received much better service than in other established restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time. Not only was th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first time. Not only was the food and service great. The owner is giving back to the community by giving those a second change that would not get one. It was a pleasure to talk with the owner and staff. The Lamb Chops and scallops was delish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The food was exquisite, as were the wine and cocktails, and we've honestly never had better service in our lives. I couldn't recommend this place more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by newly-trained staff was poor. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service by newly-trained staff was poor. They did not know the menu or how to describe or pronounce the French items (all of them are French). They did not know how to uncork or pour a bottle of wine. More experienced staff were excellent, however. Chef was eager to accommodate special requests. Disappointed in desserts: souffles were too sugary and egg-whitey, no substance; bananas Foster similarly disappointing, although preparation was a delight to watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

First time to Edwin's and we were not di ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time to Edwin's and we were not disappointed. Ordered escargot and frog legs for a starter, and both were perfectly prepared. I ordered the rabbit leg and enjoyed it and the vegetables that accompanied it. I felt it was a bit heavy in gravy, but perhaps that's just to my taste. My husband ordered the scallops and enjoyed them. We saw plates of lamb chops go by to the next table, and decided we would try that entree next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.