About Edwins Restaurant

13101 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

EDWINS Restaurant is steeped in tradition and care for the community. Restaurateur Brandon E. Chrostowski offers a unique experience with seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square.

The restaurant has a unique mission; to eat well and do good. Founded in 2007, the mission of EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Institute is to instill leadership skills in formerly incarcerated men and women through an education in the culinary arts.

Our aim is to change the face of re-entry through food and hospitality.

A bientot!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm. Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Shaker Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3333

Website:
http://edwinsrestaurant.org/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is available every night of the week

Executive Chef:
Chris Terry

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Jordan for more details. jordan@edwinsrestaurant.org

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Levine: 2169213333x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cheese and Wine Tastings, Cigar and Spirit tastings and others, check our website for more details.

Edwins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
9 More
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

fit for foodies (115)
special occasion (112)
neighborhood gem (95)
See All
romantic (72)
notable wine list (56)
great for outdoor dining (39)
hot spot (33)
good for groups (25)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoyed an evening of excellent food ...

Dined 4 days ago

we enjoyed an evening of excellent food, great choice on menu. Most of all we appreciated the staff and service which was friendly, knowledgeable, engaging and professional. Great ambience Highly recommend dining experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place was awesome. One of the best ...

Dined 6 days ago

This place was awesome. One of the best places in Cleveland. Food was delicious and will go back again .

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lobster bisque was superb. Filet and ch ...

Dined 6 days ago

Lobster bisque was superb. Filet and chicken delicious. Waiter needs additional training. Overall the experience was pleasant and we will return. Inspiring concept (the non-profit status) and wishful success to the business owner and those he/they employ.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not know about Edwin's. Is was liste ...

Dined 6 days ago

Did not know about Edwin's. Is was listed on Open Table as a top ten in Cleveland. I agree it is. We go out every weekend looking for unique places to eat. Everything was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meals every time. Delightful, har ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great meals every time. Delightful, hard working wait staff. One of my Cleveland favorite places to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Edwin's is a very pleasant place to have ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Edwin's is a very pleasant place to have a lovely meal. We dined on the lovely patio. The servers were very attentive and helpful. We loved the mojitos.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very friendly and attentive wait staff. ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Very friendly and attentive wait staff. Food was excellent. Great evening on the patio. Only issue was waiting for them to brew coffee, which came after we finished our desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience - great food ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful dining experience - great food, attentive, friendly service from all, and pleasant patio dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely dining space; rich cuisine; excel ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely dining space; rich cuisine; excellent service from dedicated, earnest staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very hard working and friendly wait staf ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Very hard working and friendly wait staff. Enjoyed talking with the manager about Edwin's history and goals.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal. Everything was DELICIOUS! Ca ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great meal. Everything was DELICIOUS! Can't go wrong at Edwin's. After many times. we surely will be back again.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The burger prepped at table side was gre ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The burger prepped at table side was great fun and delicious and fun .Food was very good and the original cocktails were cool. The wine selections were pretty broad for the size of the eatery. On a warm breezy night, the outdoor dining was awesome! You can appreciate the various levels of training in the wait staff and that was kind of fun to think you are helping them educate their students! Overall will look for an excuse to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times and have ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been here several times and have always had a wonderful meal. We will return often. Edwin's has become special to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I moved to CLE from NYC a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I moved to CLE from NYC a couple of years ago and until now we have not been impressed with restaurants until visiting your establishment. The food was delicious, the presentation was appealing, and the service was top notch. We both loved the idea of helping young people that made a mistake in life get back on track. I wish more businesses would take a chance like you did. By doing so, it helps them regain their self-esteem and self-respect and turn their lives around. We will definitely return to Edwins Restaurant and bring our family and friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Edwin's never fails to provide excellent ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Edwin's never fails to provide excellent food in a beautiful environment. The service is wonderful and again, the food is incredible!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner with a friend

Dined on June 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Edwin's. We had received a gift card for a birthday gift, and decided to use it and to take a friend along to celebrate her milestone birthday. Our only concern was we thought the prices were a little too high - at least higher that what we usually spend when we go out to eat. I wonder if the restaurant would do better if the prices were a little lower.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Brandon's successful endeavor deserves a ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Brandon's successful endeavor deserves all the praise he can garner. Go to this restaurant - but be sure to know its mission before you do.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food. The rabbit was unbelievable. ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food. The rabbit was unbelievable. We also had a grouper. Everything was delicious. Awesome cheese selection to cap the meal

food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favourite restaurant in Cleve ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

This is my favourite restaurant in Cleveland without a shadow of a doubt. The food is fabulous and the service too. Plus the whole concept is so very encouraging. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had the pressed duck and the burger made ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Had the pressed duck and the burger made at the table, what an amazing experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

You can always count on a wonderful meal at Edwins. Everyone seems to go out of their way to make every part of your dining experience a good one, no, a great one. Always a treat

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect special night

Dined on May 26, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic experience at Edwin's for his birthday. I wanted to do something special, and he had mentioned the pressed duck several months ago. I decided to give it a try, and my boyfriend was thrilled! He has more of a refined taste than me and raved about it. I thought it was delicious, too. Excellent service. Great cause.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great classic French cuisine. And the ch ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great classic French cuisine. And the cheese board is not to be missed. For a truly amazing meal, arrange to get the pressed duck (but you have to call in advance)

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambiance was conducive to a special ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The ambiance was conducive to a special occasion. The service is commendable. In addition the owner is very friendly and cordial. The frog legs are excellent.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything you want

Dined on May 24, 2016

From the moment you arrive the service begins and doesn't end. Great service is just there, but not intrusive. They have got it right! The food and presentation is superb. I can be a cheap skate, but when everything is this fine, I get over it! My highest recommendation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

It is our favorite French restaurant in Cleveland. The owner is one of the CNN heroes this year. We love it there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was outstanding

Dined on May 21, 2016

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and worked as a team. We enjoyed having a drink at the bar before dinner and the food was delicious. For us, this is a special occasion restaurant due to the prices but will go back. We also will stop in at the bar for a drink and a nosh when we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had heard about this restaurant, and finally decided to go. I cannot say enough good things about this establishment. Food: classic french; prepared excellently, presented beautifully. Appropriate portion sizes that allow for having an appetizer and an entree without feeling either over-full, or guilty for leaving much food on the plate. Drinks: fairly standard cocktail list, but made quite well, with a few unique offerings. Extensive wine list with glasses and bottles to fit every wallet Ambiance: bar seemed lively but not overly loud; dining space was beautifully decorated, lighting more on the "romantic" side, but not overly dark. Noise levels were appropriate - easy to have a conversation, though you had to lean in some at times. Service: from the greeting though to the exit and all facets in between, could not have been better. There is a great joy that exudes from the staff that is infectious, and lends to transforming a dinner here from excellent to memorable. Again, I could not have been more pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. Would put it easily in my top 5 restaurants in Cleveland/NE Ohio. Will absolutely be back. And for those who are unfamiliar with the mission of the restaurant, it is worth checking out. For me, this made an outstanding dining experience even more so.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Went for our anniversary. E ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding. Went for our anniversary. Excellent service, food, ambience. Hope to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit and we brought ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our second visit and we brought friends. Great food! Great cause!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST cheese selection!

Dined on May 20, 2016

* The cheese cart was the biggest surprise of all. We have not experienced this level of diversity and quality of cheeses anywhere in the US. * The service was a breath of fresh air. The staff were interesting and engaging, open, honest and enjoyable. * The ambiance was pleasant and tasteful, filled with many guests (e.g. busy) but not awkwardly so. We never felt rushed or crowded. Nothing was intimidating about this ultra fine dining experience. My advice to anyone looking for a delicious meal out is to skip the (needless and pretentious) hoity-toity-ness of other high end places and embrace the 'realness' of this restaurant. We would list this as a "MUST DO" for anyone new or coming to visit Cleveland. It represents the best that this wonderful city has to offer. Positively ingenious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brandon has done a fabulous job with Edw ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Brandon has done a fabulous job with Edwins. The menu is much more innovative than any other restaurant in Cleveland. Our dinner consisted of escargots, the grilled seafood sausage, foie gras, the grouper, and the duck l'orange. For dessert the bananas foster and the beignets. Everything was outstanding with the exception of the escargots. Unlike the rest of the meal they were tasty but nothing special. The duck was a half a duck and could easily feed two. Although not inexpensive I consider this restaurant to be a great value. There are very few restaurants that put out the kind of quality that Edwins does.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant that serves delicious ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A great restaurant that serves delicious food and has a worthy cause.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed it, with the exception ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We really enjoyed it, with the exception of the horrible 80's music. Good time, good food!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tables are extremely close!!!! Entertai ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Tables are extremely close!!!! Entertainment was watching the servers dance around one another!!!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the food, felt like there were man ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Loved the food, felt like there were many people waiting on us. A little much.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Besides the excellent food and service, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Besides the excellent food and service, eating at EDWINS is a feel-good experience because of the wonderful mission behind the restaurant. We especially enjoyed the obvious pride displayed by our young server who was clearly learning the restaurant trade and anxious to demonstrate his new skills. The delicious food was classic French cuisine. The entire staff was attentive and focused and checked in with us often. Kudos to EDWINS for the opportunities they are providing for these hard-working men and women.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my mom here for Mother's Day and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for Mother's Day and we had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, our waiter was great, and the valet parking made it very easy to get in and out of the square. My mom wanted to try the frog legs, which was the best I ever had, anywhere else they are so greasy, but Edwin's must know the secret. The oysters were perfect and I got a meal with seasonal ramps and morels which I thought was awesome to be able to enjoy those hard to find foods.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and a neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was outstanding, and our waiter was a very sweet young man who tried very hard to make sure our evening was special. We loved it, and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exciting

Dined on May 4, 2016

Edwin's never ceases to impress. Brandon has created a gem which creates world class dishes. Most notably however is his mission behind Edwin's. He is creating excellent opportunities for those to whom most would nit give a second thought to. Thanks again to the establishment and staff for a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.