About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Charleston
1 More
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (168)
good for groups (130)
great for outdoor dining (114)
See All
vibrant bar scene (102)
hot spot (101)
neighborhood gem (93)
special occasion (76)
great for brunch (58)
romantic (32)
great for lunch (32)
notable wine list (28)
kid-friendly (24)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Edmund's Oas ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit to Edmund's Oast and it was just as incredible as the first. Excellent staff and super knowledgeable. The menu can be a little intimidating at first glance, but our server was great about breaking it down and explaining it. Same with the drink menu. You could tell her the type of drink you like and she'd give you several recommendations. The food was incredible and I left happy and content. This is my favorite place to splurge at when I'm in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time celebrating my parents ...

Dined 7 days ago

Had a great time celebrating my parents anniversary! Got the meat and cheese board and the hangar steak. This along with some great beverage provided a fantastic meal! Great job as usual guys.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy going to EO. One of my favo ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Always enjoy going to EO. One of my favorite places in Charleston with a great selection of beers and wonderful food items

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food wasn't as good as previous visits b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food wasn't as good as previous visits but the service was terrible. The food took a very long time and our server would disappear for long periods of time and then reappear to give half hearted service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband was in culinary school so whe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband was in culinary school so when he loves the food served, it means he has critiqued it & found it to be superb! We ordered the cornbread & fries with basil mayo sauce then had the buttermilk pancakes & charcuterie for Father's Day lunch. All of it was delicious ! His main reason for going there was the craft beer which did not disappoint. Great food, drinks, & atmosphere - Edmund Oast has it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Best beer selection in Charleston. Good ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Best beer selection in Charleston. Good food and energetic vibe in the place. Glad it's in Charleston!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unique restaurant a little off the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very unique restaurant a little off the beaten path of the noisy downtown scene which i prefer. The food was prepared with the utmost attention to detail and originality. The wait staff was very attentive to your every need. I would go again next time i am in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Very knowle ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was outstanding. Very knowledgable wait staff. Excellent night out in Chalreston.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our meal!..delicious, unique me ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We loved our meal!..delicious, unique menu, great service. But we were a party of six at a large booth and had difficulty hearing each other over the general noise. Will return with a smaller group...or outside. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, delicious beer! Lively a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Delicious food, delicious beer! Lively atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The prices are steep for the small porti ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The prices are steep for the small portions, but everything is delicious and well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was interesting and delicious. The ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was interesting and delicious. The beer selection was vast. It was a very pleading experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I took some friends from out of town and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I took some friends from out of town and they loved it. The pickled shrimp and ricotta dish are not to be missed!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

prices have gone up significantly since ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

prices have gone up significantly since the last time I was there.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Charle ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Charleston,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a little off the beaten path from t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It's a little off the beaten path from the Historic Charleston areas, but well worth the extra few blocks and a drive- plenty of parking. The room is very cool- well designed and very comfortable, and the attention to design detail carries through all the way to the menus. We visited for brunch on a Sunday and it was excellent. I had their turn on biscuits and gravy,and it was delicious. Highly recommended for brunch- and we looked at the dinner menu and will probably check that out the next time we're in Charleston.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place, great food and excellent serv ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun place, great food and excellent service. One of our favorites!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside for a quick drink, and ha ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We sat outside for a quick drink, and had great service. We were seated a touch before our reservation with great care, our server at the table (Palmer) was excellent, and the food was outstanding. A must visit in Charleston.

food4
ambience3
service4

Ate outside which was better option as i ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Ate outside which was better option as inside was VERY loud on a Friday nite. Chicken liver parfait was excellent as.were most dishes. We had about 8 different meals. It's fun, relaxed atmosphere that seems to be family friendly in courtyard dining area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great local food, knowledgeable & personable service. Can't wait to dine again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love, love, love Edmund's Oast!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Edmund's Oast is one of my favorite places to go to and I am happy to say I dine there as often as I can! Veridi Rex, is one of my top 5 IPAs, and the food is always ever changing, creative, and delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Old timers

Dined on June 7, 2016

Would love to come back with friends instead of my wife! A great guys place. I am too old to understand why all the young women were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A great find with a casual atmosphere

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

When we entered Edmund's Oast, we thought, "uh oh... this is a brewery focused on beer". This would have been an issue since neither of us drink. However, we were seated, then enjoyed a wonderful meal. We started with the charcuterie plate and accompanied this with the cheese plate. Great! We then had an assortment of small plates that we shared.... savoring each and every bite. The Sauerkraut with smoked trout was a standout! Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must when in Charleston

Dined on June 4, 2016

My boyfriend is a pretty picky eater and a beer snob (lucky me!) so I was slightly concerned about whether or not he would like Edmund's Oast due to its reputation for having a bit of an eccentric menu, but selfishly booked a reservation since it popped up on every must-do-in-charleston list. So glad I did, because he absolutely loved it - from the goat.sheep.cow cheese plate and jerky to his bacon egg burger and then right on over to my hanger steak. He found several of his favorite beers on tap and even found a few new favorites at the suggestion of our awesome waiter (he and the young woman training with him were phenomenal and so attentive). I, much like everyone else who's visited, haven't stopped dreaming of the peanut butter & jelly beer. Seriously incredible. Overall it was one of the highlights of our visit to charleston. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I moved to Charleston a y ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I moved to Charleston a year ago, and Edmund's Oast has become our number one go to spot here in Charleston! This is our absolute favorite place - whether we just want a good beer or a nice date night. This place never disappoints!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot with local flare

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food is fresh and changes based on what is in season. Great beers made in house. PB&J is my personal favorite, but my mom and brother enjoyed theirs as well. Plates are great to order several and share!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Don't miss the beef ta ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great experience! Don't miss the beef tartar...it's excellent! Fun wine list as well

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Brunch at EO

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our first brunch at Edmund's Oast, but not first visit. Service was impeccable as always. Everything on the menu looked excellent. It was hard to pick just one entree. Will definitely be back again for our favorite meal of the week.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Some really fantastic and creative dishe ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Some really fantastic and creative dishes! Everything was so fresh and flavorful.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere - food okay.

Dined on May 27, 2016

The Soup was really good but the ricotta cheese and toast missed the target for me. Ambiance was great and the beer list looked awesome.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A wonderful space. The food was simply p ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

A wonderful space. The food was simply prepared and the wine and beer pairings were well thought out. The ambience was subdued and allowed for conversation. I appreciated Palmer checking in since I am sans gluten. He helped by being attentive and was extremely knowledgeable of the menu items and ingredients. He was professional and pleasant. It was a great experience. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

We'd tarted outside in the bar, having s ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We'd tarted outside in the bar, having some of the special beers. Very helpful and friendly bartender who explained in detail about the beers. We also had the cornbread starter, which was pretty mediocre, and the chicken liver parfait, which was very good and that I highly recommend. We had dinner inside and out waiter seemed to either just have woken up or possibly was half asleep, he defo looked and acted like it! We shared the sauerkraut and smoked trout starter, which was a very unexpected but splendid pairing. For mains we had the egg and bacon burger, that was good, and the hanger steak that was very tender and juicy. The food was good, but not outstanding. The service was sloppy and borderline arrogant. We had to ask three times for condiments, and this was not a very crowded evening (a regular Wednesday night).

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at edm

Dined on May 25, 2016

We had a great experience at edm

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was, as always, out of this wor ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was, as always, out of this world. The service was great--very unobtrusive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves inventive farm to table food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the beer selection

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great meal, great beer, nice outside seating area. Overall very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

After trying to get reservations several ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

After trying to get reservations several times over the course of the last year when traveling to Charleston, I was finally able to get a table booked. Perhaps the anticipation made it difficult for the restaurant to live up to the hype and earn an outstanding review. None in our party are beer drinkers and that was probably the other issue. I think if you are into craft beers, then Edmund's Oast is DEFINITELY a place you want to go. They have a GREAT outdoor area and bar where you can enjoy the wide variety of beers they offer. Meanwhile, for we cocktail and wine drinkers, well, I will say that the Pina Collateral I had was EXCELLENT. While we enjoyed the charcuterie plate, we weren't at all impressed with the broccoli and ricotta cheese plate and the pickled shrimp got mixed reviews. We didn't get an entree as by this time we were full, but we did enjoy a dessert called Candy Bar that was quite tasty. There are great restaurants all over Charleston and I don't think we'd choose to go back to this one. It was just - Meh. And inside is too LOUD ... they need to find away to soften the noise level so that you can have easy conversation with your fellow diners. BUT if you want to drink beer and you want to enjoy a nice outdoor area, then this could be your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Where do I start?! Everything was amazin ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Where do I start?! Everything was amazing. The BEER is off the charts, service was top-notch & the food was incredible. We made reservations early & sat at the outside bar till our table ready. The bartender was great to chat with & our server was amazing! He had great recommendations & enjoyed every moment. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edmund's Oast is such a hidden gem! My b ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Edmund's Oast is such a hidden gem! My boyfriend and I went for a date night and it was so worth it. The food was incredible and we tried things we've never had before. We decided to eat a bunch of small plates so we could try more flavors and I'm convinced there is not a bad thing on the menu because every dish was better than the last. We also tried a couple of the cocktails to start and they were excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant - it's SO good, especially for the value. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Charcuterie. Fabulous beers. Overa ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great Charcuterie. Fabulous beers. Overall great experience. Noisy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I think this would be a great place for ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I think this would be a great place for a crowd of folks to meet up and drink and eat light snacks but not really a place for fine dining, although the food was very good, it was not the romantic type of place one wants on an anniversary. my mistake. I would go back but for a different event!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.