About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (160)
good for groups (119)
great for outdoor dining (107)
See All
vibrant bar scene (103)
hot spot (96)
neighborhood gem (87)
special occasion (67)
great for brunch (55)
romantic (32)
notable wine list (29)
great for lunch (29)
late-night find (19)
kid-friendly (18)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edmund's Oast is such a hidden gem! My b ...

Dined 4 days ago

Edmund's Oast is such a hidden gem! My boyfriend and I went for a date night and it was so worth it. The food was incredible and we tried things we've never had before. We decided to eat a bunch of small plates so we could try more flavors and I'm convinced there is not a bad thing on the menu because every dish was better than the last. We also tried a couple of the cocktails to start and they were excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant - it's SO good, especially for the value. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Charcuterie. Fabulous beers. Overa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great Charcuterie. Fabulous beers. Overall great experience. Noisy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I think this would be a great place for ...

Dined 6 days ago

I think this would be a great place for a crowd of folks to meet up and drink and eat light snacks but not really a place for fine dining, although the food was very good, it was not the romantic type of place one wants on an anniversary. my mistake. I would go back but for a different event!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Charcuterie presentation was as excellen ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Charcuterie presentation was as excellent as the taste. Something for everyone on the menu, stellar service and awesome drinks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I stopped in to have dinner ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

A friend and I stopped in to have dinner at Edmund's Oast and we were immediately impressed with not only the service, but the overall atmosphere and cool décor. Our food choices were phenomenal. I had the Hanger Steak and I think it has to be the best steak I've had in my 50+ years of eating steak! We were in Charleston on business and I may not make it back, but if I do I will certainly be dinning at the Oast.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The ambiance and decor is amazing. Every ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambiance and decor is amazing. Everything we had was great. The cornbread was good but our least favorite dish of the evening. The portion was very small. The cauliflower dish was impeccable as was the pickled shrimp. My husband had the fish and chips and had nothing but great things to say. The fish was tempura battered and had only a minimal amount of batter and was cooked to perfection. We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great First Experience at Edmund's Oast

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great meal and enjoyed the atmosphere at Edmund's Oast. The service was fantastic, too. We started with the small charcuterie and cheese platter and the chicken liver parfait which were delicious! The bacon and egg burger was fantastic for dinner. And so many beers to choose from! Only two things we were not crazy about - the soft shell crab dish (the house made pasta was great but did not enjoy it over the soft shell crab) and the Paloma cocktail. But everything else was great and we would go back again for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place and their pickled shrimp ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Love this place and their pickled shrimp and gluten free bread!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Graduation week

Dined on May 11, 2016

Still celebrating CofC graduation so we headed out here with a party of 6. Good service and food, just a little loud inside. Highly recommend sharing the various small plates - didn't have one that we didn't love. Would return here again - great beer and creative food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time! Great beer selectio ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had a great time! Great beer selection, amazing crafted cocktails and delicious food!

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

service was bad

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great once we decided what to order. But with the menu being so unexplanatory, we needed a waiter that was engaged and helpful. This waiter was the opposite, barely attending to us, quiet, and unwilling to go into depth about the dishes. He didn't explain the menu, didn't recommend dishes, and seemed generally impatient rather than excited to help first-time diners. What we ordered turned out to be complex, interesting, and fabulous, but the kitchen deserves better salesmen on the floor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good,been several times love it ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always good,been several times love it every time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch was excellent. Biscu ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was excellent. Biscuits and Gravy and Vegetable Hash were both outstanding and the cornbread was the best I've ever had! We had our 2 year old and they were very accommodating with her. We love the restaurant and will definitely be back

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place

Dined on May 4, 2016

Came highly recommended and we really enjoyed it

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Edmond's Oast

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the chicken and it was outstanding. My dining partner had the grouper and thought it was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

its quite good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

been there a number of times. It doesn't disappoint . Brunch is good and charcuterie is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Service and Phenomenal Food

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This wasn't our first time to Edmund's Oast and definitely won't be our last, though it was our first time for Brunch. The food was delicious as always and the portions for brunch were surprisingly large. Our waitress was very attentive and cheerful, giving my indecisive husband a lot of pointers as to what he should order (he ultimately went with the Trout Benedict which did not disappoint!) To sum it up, we'll be back and will definitely be back for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were in town visiting family and decided to try this place. We ate the large smoked meat and cheese board which was amazing. The sausage was my favorite. The ricotta was a very generous portion and the peas were nice and crisp. The local beer selection was great as well. The best part was the meal wasn't too pricey. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and charming

Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious and charming

food5
ambience4
service5

Celebrating a relative's 80th birthday a ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Celebrating a relative's 80th birthday and anniversary. Everyone loved their food. Many items are not the traditional ones found on most CHS menus, and our group loved experimenting. Always enjoy this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always on point. Fresh. Innovative. Deli ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Always on point. Fresh. Innovative. Delicious with great service. On my permanent short list.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Dude what

Dined on April 24, 2016

Meh, this place has a reputation it just can't live up to because it is charleston's best beer bar. Try again.. If you're a rebel brewer you should be brewing great beers not shitty overpriced ones. Will not recommend.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food Good/Service Poor

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Edmund's Oast is a nice restaurant with an interesting small plate menu. We've had good meals there before, and this time the food was just as good. But, the service was quite poor. Should one have to wait 10-15 minutes for a beer? And it wasn't busy. There seemed to be plenty of help to attend to the 50% of tables that were occupied. Our server just disappeared, and again after our refill request. And then, after waiting ... she dumped our bill on the table and went off to schmooze with another table ... finally, a different server picked up our payment. There are too many good restaurants in Charleston, with good food, to put up with this kind of inattention.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good!

Dined on April 24, 2016

food good, crew good, drinks good! good! love eo every time

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at EO overall!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a great time at EO overall. We brought freinds with us and We did a quick beer tour and then beer tasting and really enjoyed it. Cameron did a fantastic job. Melanie was our waitress and she did great as well...staff overall was very informative. Definitely will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as always

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Our 4th trip with many more to go. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dinner

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

My wife and I were on a mini-vacation to Charleston. A friend recommended Edmund's Oast. When we asked the folks at our hotel to arrange transportation, they were surprised. More trendy than touristy. We had a great and fun meal. Everything was fresh and extremely well prepared. I had a hanger steak that was tender and tasty. Service was great. I had one of their ales which went great with my steak. This place would do great back in Boston

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, creative and tasty. A b ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Excellent food, creative and tasty. A bit hipster but not overly. Chicken and smoked trout were excellent.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Beer

Dined on April 16, 2016

Edmund's Oast has a beer selection that is the best in town. You really can't go wrong. We have the best luck there when ordering a bunch of small plates with beer pairings. Whenever we order a full meal, we end up disappointed. This should not deter anyone. The beer and small plates (never mind the ambiance) are so amazing that it makes up for any main courses that don't quite measure up.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

In a town with a ton of great restaurant ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

In a town with a ton of great restaurants, this is one of the best. I know it will sound crazy to say, but if it's on the menu, don't skip the sauerkraut. Unbelievably awesome dish!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved my flight of beers so much. Food w ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Loved my flight of beers so much. Food was all excellent. Loved everything about this place. Parking is also a bonus!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Server Knowledge

Dined on April 14, 2016

The server was extremely knowledgable about the craft beer options, which helped us in enjoying the beer more than if we had to select on our own. Also, we were able to engage with the brewery staff as we entered into the building. They were very friendly and we enjoyed the interaction. Great overall place to enjoy good beer, good conversation and interesting food. Would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time; good food

Dined on April 13, 2016

We had reservations and we were seated on time. The server was friendly and efficient. She answered all our questions regarding the menu selections. Great selection of appetizers and entrées. Awesome selection of beer and wine. Food came out in good timing. Everything tasted wonderful! The restaurant was a little loud, but that did not really distract from our dining pleasure. We shared a dessert which was incredible. And we were quite surprised at how inexpensive our bill was. For two beers, two soft drinks, one appetizer, two entrées, and one dessert, the bill was less than $75. We will definitely return if we are in the area again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Wall of Beers

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

If you are a beer-drinker (I am not), then Edmunds Oast is for you. Dozens of beer on tap, many brewed in-house. From my point of view, the food is excellent, with a brilliant charcuterie starter and several small plates expertly executed. Strong, knowledgeable staff and a young, engaging vibe puts this place high on a list of must-visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiance and I had a pasta dish with so ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

My fiance and I had a pasta dish with soft shell crab and it was delicious! The beer selection is great especially your home brewed varieties.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charleston!

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Edmund's Oast is a gem in a city packed with excellent restaurants. As a food writer and food historian I'm most particular about where I spend my money on dining. Edmund's Oast NEVER disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Always Delicious! Excellent Food! Exqui ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Always Delicious! Excellent Food! Exquisite Craft Cocktails!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful brunch! We tasted a series of beers and had the croque madame and vegetable hash, along with a cured charcuterie plate. So, so delicious! The staff were really friendly and had great suggestions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic

Dined on April 2, 2016

We really enjoyed our stop on our trip to Charleston. What a fun place! Fantastic beer selection and a very unique menu. We normally don't go for a tapas sort of thing, but it was fun to pick different items to share for dinner. The outdoor seating area is fantastic. Service was great, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soo good

Dined on April 1, 2016

I was thoroughly impressed by this restaurant and the vision of the owner. The area is an up and coming spot with a cool outdoor seating area. What impressed me most was that the restaurant makes so much of their own things: bacon, charcuterie, beer and even has special processes for their steak and seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.