About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
1 More
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (113)
Good for Groups (82)
Vibrant Bar Scene (71)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Special Occasion (66)
Hot Spot (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Great for Brunch (38)
Romantic (29)
Great Beer (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (3)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a great spot altogether, amazing ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is a great spot altogether, amazing food, happening spot with a good atmosphere and great service. I had the chicken and I have to say it was incredible, I was smacking my lips! Our waitress went out of her way to serve us and the beer selection is incredible. Who else has Peanut Butter n' Jelly Beer??? great

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer selection on tap, very flavor ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great beer selection on tap, very flavorful food and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the spread of meats. Beer selec ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We loved the spread of meats. Beer selection is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

One of the best meals I've ever had. I h ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. I had the hanger steak and it came with a sous vide style egg in a hash brown bowl and it was one of the most amazing things I've ever eaten. My boyfriend had the bacon cheese burger and said it was better than the one at Husk. The atmosphere was spectacular. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is beyond wonderful ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and service is beyond wonderful. The housemade charcuterie is superb. The food is excellent and the desserts divine. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It's the first place we make a reservation for when we visit Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous dinner. The corn salad was am ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Tremendous dinner. The corn salad was amazing, so creative. Loved our server and all the beer! Thanks EO!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love love love Edmund's Oast and would a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love love love Edmund's Oast and would actually love to have dinner there again tonight! ; ) The restaurant atmosphere is lovely, relaxed and very open and warehouse-y. (Additional dining options outside for a more relaxed environment) We had table reservations and our waiter was very professional and attentive. He helped our table easily navigate the menu due to food allergy concerns. I had the hanger steak medium rare...yes please! And the desserts were quite tasty too, a grownup twist on smore's and decadent cheesecake. If you are ready for an un-rushed evening out with beautiful food combinations and the freshest ingredients possible you must go to Edmund's Oast.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a wonderful experience for our fa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a wonderful experience for our family get together. The beers were wonderful and the menu items we selected were absolutely Delicious. Our Server was very pleasant and well informed on their selections. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love the Arancini. The sweet co ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always love the Arancini. The sweet corn salad was an amazing surprise!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Charle ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Charleston! Love the food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrific. They change the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was terrific. They change the menu regularly. When we were there the corn salad, sauerkraut dish and the pickled shrimp were great. Nice wine list as well and the waitstaff was very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent gastropub with unexpectedly gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent gastropub with unexpectedly great food with farm to table ingredients. Lots of craft beers on the menu and the servers are very knowledgable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World class gastropub: Serious beer dest ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

World class gastropub: Serious beer destination, top flight cocktails and wine list, and impeccable creative farm to table food. Great service from knowledgeable staff. If you're only eating one meal in Charleston, this is the spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make a reservation for dinner. The place ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Make a reservation for dinner. The place gets packed quickly. It was very loud inside. The outside was amazing and had tons of room to gather with friends. Our waitress made wonderful recommendations on beer. The food was awesome. There are A LOT of beards at this place. We would visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was absolutely impeccable. Food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was absolutely impeccable. Food there is so creative yet simple at the same time .

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an awesome experience here. Food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had an awesome experience here. Food was great, service was exceptional. Highly recommend a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool spot for brunch. We loved the grits ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Cool spot for brunch. We loved the grits and pancakes! Nice service and lots of outdoor seating.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome as always. A can't miss experien ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Awesome as always. A can't miss experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a wonderful experience. The food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and the wait staff was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went last year while on vacation and kne ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went last year while on vacation and knew it was the one restaurant I wanted to go back to when visiting again this year. It was amazing!!! Had brunch this time and the service, food and ambience were wonderful! I wish I lived in Charleston so that I could go regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal in an historic location. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very good meal in an historic location. The food was very good, and the service was excellent. This is a very good meal at a reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and beer. Great value for Cha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and beer. Great value for Charleston. Is great, do not need to go downtown.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is always a fun place. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The restaurant is always a fun place. There is an amazing choice of beer. The server was very knowledgeable. Food was good. We had the charcuterie and cheese plate which was just okay. The rest of our choices were very good. IWe chose to eat outside as it was was too loud for conversation inside. It was an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great first meal in charleston!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great first meal in charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding. My new favor ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was outstanding. My new favorite in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the noisiest restaurant my husb ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This was the noisiest restaurant my husband and I have ever visited. There was no way we could hear each other across the table. My ears hurt for several minutes after we left. The food was good -- not great-- and certainly inventive. The wine list is small and high-priced. The cheapest bottle of white was $45 and prices went up steeply from there. We ate and were out of there in 45 minutes, $110 poorer and reeling from the noise. There are many Charleston restaurants with food as good as Edmund's Oast and with much more pleasant dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

The place is spectacular, open space wit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The place is spectacular, open space with a nice view on the kitchen. Reception is cordial, we are quickly seated. It was a busy evening, even for a Sunday but the service was courteous and relatively fast. The beer is obviously the main reason why people come here but the food is no second to the quality of the beverages. The food was simply outstanding. We opted mostly for vegetarian and ordered some desserts. Everything was presented impeccably and the flavors were well balanced. The only negative is the level of noise but that was expected from an open space room. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great service, great beer, good food--in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

great service, great beer, good food--incredibly over-priced.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

We are huge fans of Edmund's Oast and ha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We are huge fans of Edmund's Oast and have never had a bad meal. The service was off by a mile this time. Food was rushed, everything else was incredibly slow and our primary server was highly disinterested in us. That said, the manager was lovely and provided several special touches even though we never mentioned our dissatisfaction with the service.

Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This was our third time eating dinner at ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our third time eating dinner at Edmund's Oast and tonight it felt like they were phoning it in. The food was fantastic as usual - that's the good thing. But the server forgot one of our appetizers (no big deal, we had plenty of food); twice the food runners brought us both food and drink that were not ours; and the service between courses was extremely slow. All the staff and servers seemed to have bad attitudes, scowls and frowns (eapecially the front of the house, who seemed extremely annoyed that anyone was eating there.) With plenty of dining options in Charleston, I don't know why we would rush back. Their success seems to have gone to their heads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My husband and I picked this restaurant ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I picked this restaurant primarily due to reviews of their beer selection. The beers were indeed excellent however we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food! The mackerel crudo and grouper were amazing! We will sure to be back when we are visiting Charleston in the future!

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food--so thoughtful & unique! B ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome food--so thoughtful & unique! Beer--fantastic & surprised to find one tasting like p,b & j! Wow! We are very impressed with the food & the experience! I highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted for dinner at Edmund's Oast whi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We opted for dinner at Edmund's Oast while vacationing in Charleston based on its favorable reviews and we were not disappointed. The building itself is beautiful, and the food was well prepared, interesting and delicious. My husband enjoyed the hangar steak, cooked medium rare and I opted for the baked grouper, which was flaky and delicious. Do not miss the fresh ricotta plate - it was amazing paired with sourdough bread and charred vegetables. There's a fun, young vibe to this restaurant, but the crowd was nicely mixed. Our waiter was not particularly attentive, but overall we enjoyed our dinner experience. I would recommend Edmund's Oast for the food and the place. I appreciated their interpretation of local southern ingredients with an inventive, lighter preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our obsequious waiter kept calling me "m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our obsequious waiter kept calling me "my friend" with a smirk, and really made the whole experience unpleasant. Delivery was inconsistent, and he forgot to bring our dessert. The food was great, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Delicious food and great service.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined here with a few members of my fami ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Dined here with a few members of my family and it was perfect! The food is always delicious, and the wine and beer are great. Would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a nice place, but VERY LOUD. To the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It's a nice place, but VERY LOUD. To the uninitiated (that was me) the concept, with beers listed on the wall - but they're not all beers, some soft drinks - but they're not all soft drinks, etc. was a bit hard to get a handle on. Perhaps the server could have asked if we'd been there before and given us an overview. I thought it was a bit overpriced for both food and beverages, although the quality of food served was just fine.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Our waitress was exceptional the night w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional the night we went. She was detailed and extremely helpful with suggestions for wine and food. We would absolutely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for 3 1/2 days and ate h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in town for 3 1/2 days and ate here twice!! We had dinner at the chef's table on Thursday night and came back for Sunday brunch. Amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had a very friendly staf ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant had a very friendly staff. The bartenders were especially sincere and charming. It's a very loud restaurant however so be prepared. The food was good and innovative. The best dish by far was the fish and chips and it was on par with fish and chips we've eaten in Whitby, UK, the worlds best location in the world for British fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.