About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (47)
Great Beer (46)
Creative Cuisine (37)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Open Kitchen (21)
Fun (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Romantic (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Authentic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Healthy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Family Style (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Tapas (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Music (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
 (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very loud. Couldn't even hear the coupl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Very loud. Couldn't even hear the couple we sat with. Service was slow but no fault of the server. Food was just ok. Will not recommend not will we visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Was good but I didn't realize it was a g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Was good but I didn't realize it was a gastropub, not quite my thing. Sat at the chef's bar, so we watched all the action in the kitchen, making it more fun. And the staff was very accommodating, very good service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We absolutely loved this place! Got to s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We absolutely loved this place! Got to sit at the chef kitchen bar and watch everyone do their thing! It was pretty cool!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the restaurant, everything ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time at the restaurant, everything was great. Loved the atmosphere, food & service was above par. Will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

My girlfriend and I visited from out of ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited from out of town and heard about the awesome beer list here, so we came for dinner and were not disappointed. The hanger steak & butternut squash were delicious. The broccoli rabe was a bit overly mustard-tasting. The wreckfish was tasty though a bit too thick of sauce paired with polenta.

Excellent meal, would give 4.5 stars if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reallly nice eclectic menu that changes ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Reallly nice eclectic menu that changes frequently. Great beer selection. Awesom

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FIT FOR FOODIES. Loved the Wreckfish Fra ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

FIT FOR FOODIES. Loved the Wreckfish Francaise and the Hangar Steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beer was some of the best I've had but f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Beer was some of the best I've had but food was just okay.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Came for the great selection of beer. Di ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Came for the great selection of beer. Did not disappoint! Also cheese plate, charcuterie, and pickled vegetables were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

as always, it was wonderful. We had the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

as always, it was wonderful. We had the tempura fish and chips, a wreckfish "jowl," and the pickled shrimp. My guest lives in Atlanta and just wanted seafood. The waitress was charming and all of her suggestions were excellent, especially the magnum of wine that was being poured by one of the owners. very much a favorite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the week! A must visit if you a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best of the week! A must visit if you are a true foodie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time at Edmund's and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my second time at Edmund's and it was just as fantastic as the first! My family was in town for our first visit in almost a year, and I wanted to take them somewhere special. My sister and I both have celiac's disease, which often means we have to walk the line between convenience/safety and quality of food/options. That is never the case at Edmund's. The servers are exceptionally polite and take our note of celiac's with a degree of seriousness that puts us at ease in a way we don't often experience when eating out. There are so many gluten free options and they are all above and beyond the quality of the options I have found anywhere else. Incredible service, fantastic food, good drinks, and all reasonably priced. We had an excellent experience and will be back soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food! good service! cool place ins ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

great food! good service! cool place inside and outside!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinning experience. Server is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent dinning experience. Server is very knowledgeable about all options and preperations on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I and another couple had din ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I and another couple had dinner at Edmund's Oast after a play at Dock Street. This was not our first visit to this place and we were looking forward to the dinner. The food as usual was wonderful, the service not so much. To start we ordered wine and I ordered a beer, the wine was served at least 10 minutes before the beer (no it was not draft so a blown keg was not the issue). I had to flag down the our server and ask where my beer was. After getting our drinks we ordered 4 small plates to share, again the food was wonderful, but we had to ask the server to remove the empty plates after we ordered the main course. We ordered desserts and it took over 20 minutes to receive them, yes the server took them off the bill when we brought it to his attention on how long it took.

I hope this is a fluke because I do like this restaurant. Charleston is way to completive to have poor service.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great hospitality, great food. I really ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great hospitality, great food. I really appreciate a place that can make solid recommendations, especially for drinks.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food ad amazing. Beer was almost to orig ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food ad amazing. Beer was almost to original to make a decision. Wish we lived nearby, we would frequent. Only issue for us was a server at the chef table bar that seems frustrated that we had a charcuterie and drinks and. Ever ordered an entree. The menu leans itself to tasting but he seemed to think he was in a traditional establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The food is delicious and the cocktails ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is delicious and the cocktails are very creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had early reservations but when we arriv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had early reservations but when we arrived waited in line whilst the hostess spent an overly long time chatting to a family that did not have reservations . No one smiled or greeted us . She said can I help you accusingly ..when our server came Took forever to get drinks . Our large charcuterie was disappointing we have eaten there several times and love the presentation on a wooden cutting board . They have switched to a china platter w curved edges and a piece of cardboard sat under a dish of inedible super salty topping . Not enough cold cuts or cheese too much pate it was not a fun appetizer as we usually Get . Not enough to share among 3 people . Asked for extra bread . My husband had a burger my son the beef tartare my fish was good but the sauce was very salty . The desert menu has changed and not even our 6 year old could find anything he liked so we asked for the bill and left . My husbands beer choices were good . I was not happy with. 12 dollar Chardonnay so had one . The ambience was great and the restaurant was buzzing but the outdoor area where we like to sit was reserved for a special occasion . Looking for a new favorite place .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing food! Service was awesome and be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing food! Service was awesome and beer was great too! Overall one of the best dinners our group has had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended by the m ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by the mother of the groom as a place for us to dine the night before a wedding we were attending in Charleston.She is a foodie so I knew it would be good but it exceeded our expectations.The whole experience was great.We started with their charcuterie plate and small plates such as pickled shrimp,meatball,spaghetti squash.Chocolate torte for dessert was fabulous.I had their Lager beer which was well explained on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great, but a little noi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The ambience was great, but a little noisy. Our waitress was so friendly I felt she was a family member! So much fun and so nice.

 We waited way too long for dinner, but the food was wonderful when it came. The staff did apologize for the wait. It took about an hour and 15minutes before we got our dinner. The food was pricey but worth it. My son said the whole place reminded him of Charles Dickens. I loved the dried meats hanging. The charcuterie was wonderful and fun!
Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great meal and wonderful service. Very e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great meal and wonderful service. Very energetic so it was a little noisy for conversation, but the food was the best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good-probably better than 4 stars.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very good-probably better than 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and food incredible. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great service and food incredible. The waitress was very knowledgeable with suggestions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Peanut butter and jelly beer is worth th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Peanut butter and jelly beer is worth the hype, as is the meatball. Service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience. Will definately go bac ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. Will definately go back. Great beer options. Charcuterie was spectacular!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good and the server wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was very good and the server was on-point. Overall, it was a great experience.

As is the case with most high-end restaurants, the portions were a little small- even after the charcuterie appetizer. I stand 5'7" and weigh 150lbs, so I'm a small guy. I would recommend getting some side dishes to fill the meal out a little more for most people.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the change to the cheeseburger.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love the change to the cheeseburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very interesting and tasty food and comb ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very interesting and tasty food and combinations. Server offered a complete description of the various items on a large tasting plate. Wine is extremely expensive except at the bar during happy hour. Beer is a better deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent! Loved the atmosphere! Waiter ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent! Loved the atmosphere! Waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Extensive beer selection and great veget ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Extensive beer selection and great vegetarian options!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, fun place, especially for groups ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great, fun place, especially for groups of friends age 21 and over. Extensive beer list, nice wines but pricey, and offers fun activities (bocci, ping pong, etc.). Lots of free parking not to be found in downtown! Less than $10 Uber ride each way.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with my sons on the early side. A ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I went with my sons on the early side. Although we have lived here for a year, I have never dined here before. I will certainly put Edmunds Oast at the top of the list! The okra is a dish that I'm still thinking about.....and I don't even LIKE okra!

There is a great looking outdoor area (dog friendly) that I will request next time.

I had the flounder, one son a burger, another the fish and chips. We were all so happy! This is a great crowd pleaser with super fresh produce and good size portions. I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and great beers on tap. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Outstanding food and great beers on tap. This is definitely one of my favorite restaurants in the country!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time dining here but it ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was my first time dining here but it certainly won't be the last! Absolutely great experience with delicious food, fantastic beer and a friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had two small plates: Butternut Squash ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I had two small plates: Butternut Squash with ricotta, hazelnuts and pomegranate and the Bagel with Lox. Both were yummy. My husband had the Tempura fish. The names of these dishes do not do them justice. There were layers upon layers of flavors but all complimentary. We were there early, and even then, it seemed a bit noisy for our preferences.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing time at EO. Each bite was delici ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Amazing time at EO. Each bite was delicious. My wife & I typically order differently (2-3 apps and share a main) and they didn't blink that we weren't both getting entrees. So, we got the perfect amount of food, fully enjoyed

Spoke with other locals in the hosptiality Biz locally, who claimed it was their fave local spot. Extensive, yet reasonably priced beer list, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great spot altogether, amazing ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is a great spot altogether, amazing food, happening spot with a good atmosphere and great service. I had the chicken and I have to say it was incredible, I was smacking my lips! Our waitress went out of her way to serve us and the beer selection is incredible. Who else has Peanut Butter n' Jelly Beer??? great

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer selection on tap, very flavor ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great beer selection on tap, very flavorful food and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.