About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (131)
Good for Groups (99)
Hot Spot (82)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (82)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Special Occasion (70)
Great for Brunch (39)
Romantic (31)
Kid-friendly (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Late-night Find (16)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good meal in an historic location. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 2 days ago

Very good meal in an historic location. The food was very good, and the service was excellent. This is a very good meal at a reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant is always a fun place. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant is always a fun place. There is an amazing choice of beer. The server was very knowledgeable. Food was good. We had the charcuterie and cheese plate which was just okay. The rest of our choices were very good. IWe chose to eat outside as it was was too loud for conversation inside. It was an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great first meal in charleston!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great first meal in charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding. My new favor ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was outstanding. My new favorite in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the noisiest restaurant my husb ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was the noisiest restaurant my husband and I have ever visited. There was no way we could hear each other across the table. My ears hurt for several minutes after we left. The food was good -- not great-- and certainly inventive. The wine list is small and high-priced. The cheapest bottle of white was $45 and prices went up steeply from there. We ate and were out of there in 45 minutes, $110 poorer and reeling from the noise. There are many Charleston restaurants with food as good as Edmund's Oast and with much more pleasant dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

The place is spectacular, open space wit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The place is spectacular, open space with a nice view on the kitchen. Reception is cordial, we are quickly seated. It was a busy evening, even for a Sunday but the service was courteous and relatively fast. The beer is obviously the main reason why people come here but the food is no second to the quality of the beverages. The food was simply outstanding. We opted mostly for vegetarian and ordered some desserts. Everything was presented impeccably and the flavors were well balanced. The only negative is the level of noise but that was expected from an open space room. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great service, great beer, good food--in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

great service, great beer, good food--incredibly over-priced.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

We are huge fans of Edmund's Oast and ha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We are huge fans of Edmund's Oast and have never had a bad meal. The service was off by a mile this time. Food was rushed, everything else was incredibly slow and our primary server was highly disinterested in us. That said, the manager was lovely and provided several special touches even though we never mentioned our dissatisfaction with the service.

Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This was our third time eating dinner at ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our third time eating dinner at Edmund's Oast and tonight it felt like they were phoning it in. The food was fantastic as usual - that's the good thing. But the server forgot one of our appetizers (no big deal, we had plenty of food); twice the food runners brought us both food and drink that were not ours; and the service between courses was extremely slow. All the staff and servers seemed to have bad attitudes, scowls and frowns (eapecially the front of the house, who seemed extremely annoyed that anyone was eating there.) With plenty of dining options in Charleston, I don't know why we would rush back. Their success seems to have gone to their heads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My husband and I picked this restaurant ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I picked this restaurant primarily due to reviews of their beer selection. The beers were indeed excellent however we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food! The mackerel crudo and grouper were amazing! We will sure to be back when we are visiting Charleston in the future!

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food--so thoughtful & unique! B ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome food--so thoughtful & unique! Beer--fantastic & surprised to find one tasting like p,b & j! Wow! We are very impressed with the food & the experience! I highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted for dinner at Edmund's Oast whi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We opted for dinner at Edmund's Oast while vacationing in Charleston based on its favorable reviews and we were not disappointed. The building itself is beautiful, and the food was well prepared, interesting and delicious. My husband enjoyed the hangar steak, cooked medium rare and I opted for the baked grouper, which was flaky and delicious. Do not miss the fresh ricotta plate - it was amazing paired with sourdough bread and charred vegetables. There's a fun, young vibe to this restaurant, but the crowd was nicely mixed. Our waiter was not particularly attentive, but overall we enjoyed our dinner experience. I would recommend Edmund's Oast for the food and the place. I appreciated their interpretation of local southern ingredients with an inventive, lighter preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our obsequious waiter kept calling me "m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our obsequious waiter kept calling me "my friend" with a smirk, and really made the whole experience unpleasant. Delivery was inconsistent, and he forgot to bring our dessert. The food was great, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Delicious food and great service.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined here with a few members of my fami ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Dined here with a few members of my family and it was perfect! The food is always delicious, and the wine and beer are great. Would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a nice place, but VERY LOUD. To the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It's a nice place, but VERY LOUD. To the uninitiated (that was me) the concept, with beers listed on the wall - but they're not all beers, some soft drinks - but they're not all soft drinks, etc. was a bit hard to get a handle on. Perhaps the server could have asked if we'd been there before and given us an overview. I thought it was a bit overpriced for both food and beverages, although the quality of food served was just fine.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were in town for 3 1/2 days and ate h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in town for 3 1/2 days and ate here twice!! We had dinner at the chef's table on Thursday night and came back for Sunday brunch. Amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had a very friendly staf ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant had a very friendly staff. The bartenders were especially sincere and charming. It's a very loud restaurant however so be prepared. The food was good and innovative. The best dish by far was the fish and chips and it was on par with fish and chips we've eaten in Whitby, UK, the worlds best location in the world for British fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Definitely not your ordinary flavors and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Definitely not your ordinary flavors and dishes but everything was exceptional. They do a great job of combining unique flavors into both their dishes and cocktails. I would recommend trying a combination of the apps and small plates to get a good sampling of what they offer. Service was very good as well and they have a very good selection of beers and wine. Overall a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food ok but service so slow. Not going ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food ok but service so slow. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

food is excellent. we ordered a lot to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

food is excellent. we ordered a lot to share and everything was great. Sunday night so it was quiet. Server was not very polished.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is probably the best food in Ch ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is probably the best food in Charleston if you're looking for a hip/cool meal. You can definitely have a dress up date here or a more casual brunch for friends. Can't recommend this place enough!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful! Very well thought out ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was wonderful! Very well thought out. Service was prompt! My only consideration was that the charcuterie include the cheese. The restaurant probably did more research than me regarding charcuterie, but we have always have it with cheese. When we learned the cheese had to be ordered separately, it was confusing. Either way, when it came, it was fabulous! The drinks were outstanding and reasonably priced. My friend shared this with me and I agree! 'After I eat there, I think about the food for months!' That's the truth! I am still thinking about it! Very well done!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This restaurant has quickly become a fav ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant has quickly become a favorite, we can't get enough of it! We have been several times and each time the food is outstanding, the service impeccable, and the ambiance comfortable yet energetic. The menu changes frequently and we are consistently blown away with everything we try. The chef has a knack for taking simple fresh ingredients and transforming them into amazing dishes. The servers are so knowledgeable and are great at steering you in the right direction if you are like us and want to try everything! It is also a pleasure to see the very personable owner there helping out in all aspects, making sure everyone has an outstanding experience! Don't miss the arancini, the ricotta, the pickled shrimp, the hanger steak, really everything is superb!! We are ready to go back already!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Recommended by friends, and it did not ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Recommended by friends, and it did not disappoint! The food was unique and delicious and the drink menu was expansive, with many beer, wine, and cocktail options. We will definitely go back the next time we are in CHS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Waiter did a great j ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Waiter did a great job of explaining how different dishes paired well - and his recommendations did not disappoint. Outstanding collection of beers on tap - 48, with 12 made in house. Beautiful interior and while a little too hot, very nice outside tables and bar that was picked by the time we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprising good food for what I original ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Surprising good food for what I originally thought was just a bar scene. Definitely worth going for the food. The flounder was perhaps the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot of flounder!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fantastic meal with superb serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a fantastic meal with superb service. Cannot imagine anything better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Very creative menu and ext ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food! Very creative menu and extensive beer list. Waitresses was knowledgeable about the food and drinks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is incredible. I'm a beer lo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This place is incredible. I'm a beer lover, so that's what initially drew me to Edmund's Oast. The draft list is extensive, including a selection of their own beer and some options from other breweries near and far. My personal favorite was the Edmund's Oast PB&J beer. It literally tasted like a big bite of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich -- amazing. That being said, the food was not outdone by the multitude of delicious beer! We tried a variety of plates, which were all spectacular. My favorite dish was the chicken liver parfait -- just try it.

On top of the excellent consumables, the service was outstanding. Our waitress was on top of everything from beer orders to replacing plates and silverware with each new dish. All in all, I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and food. Service was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and food. Service was great and beer was good. Definitely visit this place on you trip to Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!!! Food great, service amazing ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved it!!! Food great, service amazing.....our server was a rock star!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I had the tempur ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the tempura fish and chips, both of which were cooked perfectly. The service was a bit slow and one of the appetizers we ordered never appeared. In defense of our server, though, she didn't hear that part of our order because the restaurant is extremely noisy. (Wish they could do something about the acoustics). Our server apologized profusely, and offered all 4 people in our party free desserts of our choice. The house-made toffee ice cream was divine! We will definitely be back, despite the noise and spotty (but well-intentioned) service that night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was awesome!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but food was great! Service fa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Expensive but food was great! Service fast and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is tasty, acoustics horrible, skip ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is tasty, acoustics horrible, skip on the desert. The acoustics are really bad. We couldn't hear what each other or the waiter were saying. The food however was super good! I had the flounder and the favors were delightful. The other people I was with got the ricotta and the burger and liked their food. We split two scoops of ice cream and corn bread for desert and should've skipped it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the creative menu and the beers on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the creative menu and the beers on tap. Had the PB+J beer which was awesome. Food was off the charts as well... we had the burger, fresh ricotta, the beef jerky, fries, and the beef tartare. Everything was perfectly done. Good service, fun place, excellent food + beer! Looking forward to a return trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Cocktails were ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Cocktails were also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All around a very special event. Great ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

All around a very special event. Great fun and awesome drinks and food. A bit pricey, but worth it. Pretty noisy if crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My reservation was at 12:45, and we arri ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My reservation was at 12:45, and we arrived at 12:40 and were told our table would not be ready for a few minutes. The other member of my party was walking with a cane and said she could not stand for very long. The hostesses motioned her to a high top chair which she said she could not navigate. So, she was left standing and was never offered a regular chair. At 12:45 on the dot we were seated at a table that had been vacant and ready when we arrived. We were very disappointed that the unsympathetic hostesses refused to seat a disabled person because we were five minutes early. Had the table not been ready, it would have been understandable, but a regular chair should have been offered. I hope that this unfriendly policy towards the disabled was an aberration and not the way this restaurant treats handicapped people. The hostesses that were on duty that day need more training as they are not a credit to the restaurant. Except for the hostesses, our experience was very positive, and it was not our first visit there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.