About Edmund's Oast

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (35)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Fun (25)
Modern Decor (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Romantic (12)
Authentic (12)
Seasonal (10)
Family Style (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Healthy (7)
Tapas (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Snapper was fabulous. Loved the space.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Snapper was fabulous. Loved the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to go to Edmund's Oa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

It's always a treat to go to Edmund's Oast. The beer recommendations by the server were great. The food was delicious. Our only disappointment was that the cornbread wasn't available at Sunday brunch. We do love it, so were sorry to have missed it. We understand it is on the dinner menu.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite special event places ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite special event places. Birthday brunch and the food/service met expectations. Waitress (Caroline) offered to by us dessert for my wife's birthday. We didn't take it but the fact that she did shows the character of the restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The hanger steak was out of this world!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The hanger steak was out of this world!!! Highly recommend it! And our server was very knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific and inventive food, great and k ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrific and inventive food, great and knowledgeable service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at the restauran ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time at the restaurant. We are not beer drinkers, but if you are this is an amazing place to visit.

Everything was great except for the food, the cornbread is great, but our meal and side dish wet so salty we could barely eat it.

We had the snapper and a side dish. Maybe stick sandwiches and other simple items here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations at 8:15pm and were n ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had reservations at 8:15pm and were not seated until 8:40pm. Once we were sat it took another 10-15 minutes for the waiter to take our drink order. The waiter said she would be back to give us the specials once our drinks arrived. It literally took another 15 minutes for the drinks to arrive. We finally got our food orders in and the first round of food arrived fairly quickly. However, once those plates were cleared we waited almost another 20 minutes for the rest of our food to arrive. I understand the restaurant might be busy and everyone is working hard, however, not one employee even acknowledged how long everything was taking. A small acknowledgement would have gone a long way, but it was almost as if the staff had an attitude like we are so popular that it is fully ok for us to lack on service and timeliness. If the restaurant cannot keep up with the demand they should cut back the amount of reservations they are taking. Overall, this was a pretty underwhelming experience. The food was not bad, but I would rather eat mediocre food with fantastic service then have the service I had here. Charleston has great food and there are plenty of restaurants here that offer both.

Completely a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The Short Grain Pop-up menu was unbeliev ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The Short Grain Pop-up menu was unbelievably delicious! YUM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best gastropub i've been to. Everything ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Best gastropub i've been to. Everything was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of our all time favorites!! Love eve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of our all time favorites!! Love everything about it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my best meal in Charleston. Ima ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was my best meal in Charleston. Imaginative but not overdone. As vegetarians, we were more than accommodated. Great beer list, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With such amazing and unique beer flavor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

With such amazing and unique beer flavors, it's easy to overlook the food menu. Don't! You're in for a treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every item ordered was too salty, except ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Every item ordered was too salty, except the charcuterie board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Recommended by a friend, we had NYE dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Recommended by a friend, we had NYE dinner at Edmund's Oast and it lived up to the hype. Fantastic service, cocktails and one of the best steaks I've had. The dry-aged meatball is definitely worth ordering.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter took a long time with us expl ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waiter took a long time with us explaining the menu and it was very busy. It would h elp if someone had some talent rewriting the menu as it is very good food but not presented well. We enjoyed it very much but there are only 5 entrees which could be added to.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice funkshway.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice funkshway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Tremendous selection of beers, some brew ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tremendous selection of beers, some brewed on site. Food was simply amazing.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edmund's Oast is in my top three favorit ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Edmund's Oast is in my top three favorite restaurants in Charleston. The food is creative and delicious but not pretentious. This place knows how to do gluten-free just about better than anyone from the homemade bread to the fish n chips to the desserts. The charcuterie alone is worth the visit. Outstanding flavor. There are always excellent cocktail options along with ciders and beers. The service is also outstanding. My only criticism is that it is somewhat noisy inside because it is always crowded. But you can sit outside if you'd prefer.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food used to be innovative and great. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food used to be innovative and great. Then the original chef left. Unfortunately, the new chef relies on his salt shaker too much. The beers have also changed; keep getting weirder. A shame.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

It looked like they were understaffed. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It looked like they were understaffed. The waiters were always busy, but it was difficult to order a drink once we sat down. it took 20-30 min for our charcuterie plate to arrive which okay tastes wise, but nothing on the board was exceptional. There are ample beers to try and the pickled shrimp toast was the highlight of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Pickled shrimp and butternut squash to d ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pickled shrimp and butternut squash to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside, love the decor, the drin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We sat outside, love the decor, the drinks were great, especially their own beer. They also have an awesome charcuterie and cheese board.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

pbj beer revered for a reason, butternut ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

pbj beer revered for a reason, butternut squash and homemade ricotta outstanding, pickled shrimp a good pick, cheeseburger solid but there are better in Charleston, hangar steak a bit small but an excellent meal, waitress terrific and free parking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent variety of dishes and all done ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent variety of dishes and all done to perfection. Enjoyed our dinner very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a special family dinner. A wonde ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a special family dinner. A wonderful 32oz rib steak and butter poached lobster. Yum

The tempura fish was also wonderful

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed our evening out at Edmund's. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed our evening out at Edmund's. The decor was simple and very open and I expected more noise. we were able to converse pretty well but could hardly hear the wait person. Dinner was served promptly. We had swordfish which I would rate 4.5 out of 5. The rice polenta was not gummy at all and very well done. I did not particularly care for the selection of greens sprinkled on top but that is personal preference. My other dislike was having all the food piled on top of each other. When this is done the sauces/gravies dilute the rice/mashed potatoes/ bottom layer into a soupy mess which you then must eat with a spoon(loss of texture). The nice crusty breading on the fish becomes soggy on the bottom. The menu was not extensive but divided to smaller plates or entrees for $25-30. The plate sizes allow for different dining/drinking purposes but each has a limited number of choices. Entrees had OK quantity but seemed a little small to me. This is a place for adventurous diners who like food prepared in an unusual ways and love craft beers(peanut butter and jelly beer???). It cost us more to dine and we got less than McCrady's tavern where we had dined the night before. I would go back but the value is not there for dining as it is very expensive for a tavern like atmosphere. The Half Mile area seems it would support a trending restaurant but if price was more in line with expendable income of the surrounding neighbor growth, they would probably have more longevity. It is definitely not a neighborhood restaurant. The guests at my Inn would expect a more upscale dining experience for the money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, great food , great service, g ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As always, great food , great service, great beer choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent beer selection but some are a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent beer selection but some are a little pricy

Good bar food and small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed out dinner at Edmund's Oast-2 ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We enjoyed out dinner at Edmund's Oast-2 orders of hanger steak and 1 burger. Our waiter was attentive without being overbearing. I appreciate being given a booth, as requested--helps muffle the noise somewhat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch. Just fabulous.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sunday brunch. Just fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing food and bubbly brews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Absolutely amazing food and bubbly brews to keep your stomach happy!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. This was our first ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a great time. This was our first visit. Everyone will like it here. Beer is the focus but they have a solid wine list and interesting cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome as usual. Actually this was the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Awesome as usual. Actually this was the best meal we have had there, and we have loved every meal. We especially enjoyed the Sauerkraut and trout. The pickled shrimp was especially good last night.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I consider this a foodie spot

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I consider this a foodie spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great experience! Delicious food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Such a great experience! Delicious food (not heavy or overpriced) and tasty beer without al the hop.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular! Taste buds wer ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was spectacular! Taste buds were bursting. I can't wait to come back with friends.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second time eating here and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was my second time eating here and the food was over the top amazing! The flavors are incredible from the handcraft cocktails to the dessert! Must try the flounder francaise! The service was great too. Our waitress knew the food and guided our culinary experience to perfection. Will be back before the month ends!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed everything about it. Great space ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Enjoyed everything about it. Great space, great service & the best charcuterie plate in the city. Massive beer menu. First time visiting but it won't be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud. Couldn't even hear the coupl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very loud. Couldn't even hear the couple we sat with. Service was slow but no fault of the server. Food was just ok. Will not recommend not will we visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Was good but I didn't realize it was a g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Was good but I didn't realize it was a gastropub, not quite my thing. Sat at the chef's bar, so we watched all the action in the kitchen, making it more fun. And the staff was very accommodating, very good service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.