About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (147)
good for groups (113)
great for outdoor dining (99)
See All
hot spot (87)
vibrant bar scene (84)
neighborhood gem (82)
special occasion (67)
great for brunch (48)
romantic (30)
notable wine list (29)
great for lunch (28)
kid-friendly (25)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent. I had the tempur ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. I had the tempura fish and chips, both of which were cooked perfectly. The service was a bit slow and one of the appetizers we ordered never appeared. In defense of our server, though, she didn't hear that part of our order because the restaurant is extremely noisy. (Wish they could do something about the acoustics). Our server apologized profusely, and offered all 4 people in our party free desserts of our choice. The house-made toffee ice cream was divine! We will definitely be back, despite the noise and spotty (but well-intentioned) service that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was awesome!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but food was great! Service fa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Expensive but food was great! Service fast and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is tasty, acoustics horrible, skip ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is tasty, acoustics horrible, skip on the desert. The acoustics are really bad. We couldn't hear what each other or the waiter were saying. The food however was super good! I had the flounder and the favors were delightful. The other people I was with got the ricotta and the burger and liked their food. We split two scoops of ice cream and corn bread for desert and should've skipped it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the creative menu and the beers on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the creative menu and the beers on tap. Had the PB+J beer which was awesome. Food was off the charts as well... we had the burger, fresh ricotta, the beef jerky, fries, and the beef tartare. Everything was perfectly done. Good service, fun place, excellent food + beer! Looking forward to a return trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Cocktails were ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Cocktails were also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All around a very special event. Great ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

All around a very special event. Great fun and awesome drinks and food. A bit pricey, but worth it. Pretty noisy if crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My reservation was at 12:45, and we arri ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My reservation was at 12:45, and we arrived at 12:40 and were told our table would not be ready for a few minutes. The other member of my party was walking with a cane and said she could not stand for very long. The hostesses motioned her to a high top chair which she said she could not navigate. So, she was left standing and was never offered a regular chair. At 12:45 on the dot we were seated at a table that had been vacant and ready when we arrived. We were very disappointed that the unsympathetic hostesses refused to seat a disabled person because we were five minutes early. Had the table not been ready, it would have been understandable, but a regular chair should have been offered. I hope that this unfriendly policy towards the disabled was an aberration and not the way this restaurant treats handicapped people. The hostesses that were on duty that day need more training as they are not a credit to the restaurant. Except for the hostesses, our experience was very positive, and it was not our first visit there.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Second visit there but the server seem l ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Second visit there but the server seem less interested with the job. Too soft spoken in this noisy restaurant and not very forthcoming with any information on the menu even with prodding. The server from our first visit was quite knowledgeable and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We regularly bring our out-of-town guest ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We regularly bring our out-of-town guests here for dinner. Food as in the past been on the very salty side, but noticed that they have changed the menu and cut down on the song considerably, at least in the dishes we ordered. Drinks are always interesting and delicious. The wide selection of beers is their biggest draw to the restaurant. Their charcuterie plate was also much better than on previous occasions. Was the first time I ordered the ricotta cheese which was a fabulous surprise. Enjoyed it tremendously. Please add more interesting dishes like this and I will be the client forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved this place. Very restoration hardw ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Loved this place. Very restoration hardware in design and delicious food at reasonable price. Our waiter was friendly and accommodating (I'm a vegetarian and he suggested a special plate, which was terrific!). Love the specialty cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!! The food and service were exce ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome!! The food and service were excellent and it made for a wonderful birthday for my husband!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beer drinker's heaven - their selectio ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A beer drinker's heaven - their selection ran the gamut from the faint of heart to the hardcore beer snob - something on tap for everyone! Food was excellent - the tuna special was truly amazing. And a must - the beef jerky. The service was great and very informative - made super suggestions on what to try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omg. The food was amazing. Just go w a b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Omg. The food was amazing. Just go w a big group so you can taste everything! Hanger steak was excellent and I loved the ricotta. Yum!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love love.. Great ambience, young, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love love love.. Great ambience, young, fresh, modern. Great view of the kitchen keeps you entertained and close to the cooking experience. House made charcuterie was incredible. Beef jerkey was delicious. They make very very tasty beers. Everything we ate was great portion size and extremely flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and fun atmosphere. Too n ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful food and fun atmosphere. Too noisy for a quiet conversation, though.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has become our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This has become our favorite restaurant in Charleston. Great ambiance, service, and menu. I recommend going with a group and trying everything. Don't miss their housemade Peanut Butter and Jelly brew or the Pickled Shrimp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the surprise favorite of our we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was the surprise favorite of our weekend restaurant tour of Charleston. The cauliflower app was amazing. We are still talking about it and want to recreate it. All of the veggies were amazingly fresh and local. We split a few small plates and the hanger steak entrée and there wasn't a bad thing on the table. They also boast a wonderful drinks menu. We each tried a few different beers and enjoyed them all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Edmund's Oas ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was my second visit to Edmund's Oast and it was just as incredible as the first. Excellent staff and super knowledgeable. The menu can be a little intimidating at first glance, but our server was great about breaking it down and explaining it. Same with the drink menu. You could tell her the type of drink you like and she'd give you several recommendations.

The food was incredible and I left happy and content. This is my favorite place to splurge at when I'm in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time celebrating my parents ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my parents anniversary! Got the meat and cheese board and the hangar steak. This along with some great beverage provided a fantastic meal! Great job as usual guys.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy going to EO. One of my favo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Always enjoy going to EO. One of my favorite places in Charleston with a great selection of beers and wonderful food items

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positive about food and ambiance. Servi ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Positive about food and ambiance. Service was mediocre. Not particularly interested describing plates/entrees. Very millennial in attitude.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food wasn't as good as previous visits b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food wasn't as good as previous visits but the service was terrible. The food took a very long time and our server would disappear for long periods of time and then reappear to give half hearted service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

My husband was in culinary school so whe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband was in culinary school so when he loves the food served, it means he has critiqued it & found it to be superb! We ordered the cornbread & fries with basil mayo sauce then had the buttermilk pancakes & charcuterie for Father's Day lunch. All of it was delicious ! His main reason for going there was the craft beer which did not disappoint. Great food, drinks, & atmosphere - Edmund Oast has it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best beer selection in Charleston. Good ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best beer selection in Charleston. Good food and energetic vibe in the place. Glad it's in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very unique restaurant a little off the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very unique restaurant a little off the beaten path of the noisy downtown scene which i prefer. The food was prepared with the utmost attention to detail and originality. The wait staff was very attentive to your every need. I would go again next time i am in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was a great way to celebrate our 5 ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It's was a great way to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Food, drinks & service were perfect! Pricy for the surrounding neighborhood/area but nonetheless amazing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was outstanding. Very knowle ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was outstanding. Very knowledgable wait staff. Excellent night out in Chalreston.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our meal!..delicious, unique me ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We loved our meal!..delicious, unique menu, great service. But we were a party of six at a large booth and had difficulty hearing each other over the general noise. Will return with a smaller group...or outside.

Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, delicious beer! Lively a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Delicious food, delicious beer! Lively atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prices are steep for the small porti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The prices are steep for the small portions, but everything is delicious and well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was interesting and delicious. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was interesting and delicious. The beer selection was vast. It was a very pleading experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took some friends from out of town and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I took some friends from out of town and they loved it. The pickled shrimp and ricotta dish are not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

prices have gone up significantly since ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

prices have gone up significantly since the last time I was there.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This is my favorite restaurant in Charle ...

 
 (Zacatecas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Charleston,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a little off the beaten path from t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It's a little off the beaten path from the Historic Charleston areas, but well worth the extra few blocks and a drive- plenty of parking. The room is very cool- well designed and very comfortable, and the attention to design detail carries through all the way to the menus. We visited for brunch on a Sunday and it was excellent. I had their turn on biscuits and gravy,and it was delicious. Highly recommended for brunch- and we looked at the dinner menu and will probably check that out the next time we're in Charleston.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place, great food and excellent serv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun place, great food and excellent service. One of our favorites!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat outside for a quick drink, and ha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We sat outside for a quick drink, and had great service. We were seated a touch before our reservation with great care, our server at the table (Palmer) was excellent, and the food was outstanding. A must visit in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate outside which was better option as i ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Ate outside which was better option as inside was VERY loud on a Friday nite. Chicken liver parfait was excellent as.were most dishes. We had about 8 different meals. It's fun, relaxed atmosphere that seems to be family friendly in courtyard dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great local food, knowledgeable & personable service. Can't wait to dine again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.