Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Edible Canada at the Market

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm



Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00m - 4:00pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday day: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Enjoy the best of Edible Canada in your own private dining room - one unlike any other in the province. In the heart of Granville Island, our unique and contemporary glass-walled space contains a state - of - the - art demonstration kitchen, full audio visual capabilities and long fir tables.

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (34)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Casual (25)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Healthy (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Seasonal (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Organic (11)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great Beer (6)
Romantic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Waterfront (3)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

great food ........ unfortunately no outdoor seating available although we made res......... hot and noisy inside.........seating could have been made available outside under umbrella by separating tables

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Canadian size portions, communal dining and unisex restrooms.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was out of this world. This is our new favourite restaurant. My husband had the lamb meatballs and couldn't stop raving about the guajillo tomato sauce; he is Mexican and said it tasted like home. I had the eggs Benedict and it was a delicious, classic Benedict. We split the challah French toast - amazing. Great service, we went with our 1.5 year old and sat on the patio, it was beautiful. Love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Poor service. Food is editable but certainly not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

I had the kale salad and found the kale pretty, hmm, chewy. Could have used some massaging. When I make kale salad I cut it finer and I think that makes it more digestible. The dressing was terrific and, overall, I enjoyed my meal. The humous was outstanding! A good size plate and extremely flavourful.
Good coffee, too. I'l definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a lovely dinner with great options for our adult children's diverse diets. From vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, dairy free and paleo, everyone was satisfied! Our waiter was delightful and our meals were all excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great staff, good food, very helpful with accommodating gluten free options. At the Granville market, a fun part of town to explore, worth the trip over in the water taxi at the end of Hornby St.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were catching up with family and wanted something casual and relaxed. Edible was great, the décor is entertaining and loved the open kitchen. The service was attentive but not in your face and the food was spot on for brunch with lots of different options. The smashed potatoes were a real hit. We had made a reservation for a Saturday morning and glad we did as it was pretty full.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always, a wonderful experience here. Menu staples remain, with new and innovative takes on other offered items.
Wait staff graciously agreed to make me a cocktail no longer on the menu, the Newfoundland Old Fashioned, made with Screech Rum, house made cherry bitters and birch syrup. Superb!
Had a 2nd date with a lovely lady with me and she loved the restaurant and great staff.
Edible Canada may not have a catchy name, but it is a gem!

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not impressed, ordered a burger and it tasted like meatball! It's difficult to screw up a burger and they did

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was not the first time I have eaten at Edible Canada. I was actually there the beginning of April of this year (2017) as well. I have never had a bad meal at EC. This particular time, I used their online reservation process through OpenTable. It was quick and painless, and even though they sent me an email confirmation, they also called me. This particular time I had the Albacore Tuna Tostada and the Garden Greens(?) salad. The heirloom carrots were a nice touch. I forgot to take a photo of the tostada, but it was really good. It's not very big, but it is filling. Still had room for the Goat Cheese Cheesecake, which I highly recommend, and, I did take a photo of that. See below. They also serve really great decaf coffee. It comes in it's own French press carafe. I actually took the remainder of it with me in a "to-go" cup because I didn't want to leave any of it behind. This is a great place for lots of different occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Organic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Fresh ingredients prepared in creative way. Canadian cuisine options yet uniquely combined.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Nice patio dining on a warm day.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great place for local and seasonal dishes...excellent atmosphere!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Edible Canada at the Market is a great restaurant. I organized a high school reunion-social as EC is a great go-to place ... the food is fresh and local and the dishes are creative. The staff are flexible to slight amendments to dishes, as well as great service and friendliness. It's a beautiful, bright place and a great location. You can't go wrong with this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food & drinks are over priced. $22 for some of the worst fish & chips I've had. Small pieces that were so dry and over cooked. Supposed to come with Coleslaw and my plate arrived without any. When I asked the server said "oh we are out" I asked why I wasn't informed of that and her reply was "I didn't know until I picked up the plates that they didn't have any" that's not an excuse for not saying anything she could have when they brought the food instead of my having to ask a few minutes later. Service was already lacklustre. Can honestly say that I would not return and would not reccomend it to anyone. My friend paid $27 for a salad with a small piece of salmon. You could go for a whole steak dinner at these prices. You can't even say you're paying for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had an awesome Mothers Day dinner with our fam. The PB & J for the kids was perfect!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our meal was fabulous on Mother's Day and the service was great with our server. The food is always top notch seasonal and fresh. Our only complaint would be that the air conditioner was on full bore and made our entire party quite chilly. As it was barely double digits outside the temperature inside felt colder than out. We did get the issue resolved after speaking with three separate people and eventually warmed up. Stay away from the tables near the entrance unless you need extra ventilation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Fun take on traditional classics and a feeling that someone cares about what they are putting out. Can be pricey but you are in the heart of Granville island!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was very good and surprised us as we didn't expect such great food! Nice ambiance and service was fantastic. Look forward to going again.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great service -friendly & efficient. Love the quality food using local & organic ingredients. Some nice little twists on the meals & ingredients to keep the menu interesting too. Thanks Edible Canada!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was fantastic. We both had the kale salad plus the grilled avocado and side of veggies. So delicious. A bit disappointed that the season veggies was just broccoli but the sauce was so good, we ended up not minding. Made a reservation online but when we got there they couldn't find it because someone had already seated "us". Luckily a table was available so we didn't have to wait. Service was slow, had to wait quite a while to be waited on and took too long for our bill that we went on a search for our server. Servers and hosts were pleasant though and everything else was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server was great, but the initial greeting was a bit frustrating. We asked to move because of the noisy table but the hostess kept us waiting while another table was cleaned and set. No one was in a hurry to set the table and we waited 10 minutes while other staff were chatting or otherwise not busy. The hostess certainly didn't take the matter into her own hands.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service we were running behind schedule due to traffic issues & they were very accommodating. Servers were very attentive & the food was quick & delicious.
They did not rush us to leave once we were finished eating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing service and food. The location is fantastic and the store on the way out is worth a browse. Lots of wonderful food and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food at Edible Canada was delicious! The preparation of the food was impeccable. The broth/sauce for the mussels was perfection and the fries that accompanied the mussels were extra crispy. The fried chicken was sweet and crunchy and the potatoes were soft and velvety. Such a nice spot for a date and the prices were reasonable given the quality of the food. Would highly recommend dining here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Server didn't have much personality, was almost passive aggressive with her attitude and responding to our questions. Bought a bottle of wine for the table and she didn't come by to top up our glasses once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food and excellent service. A very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great place for dinner before a play on Granville Island.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Girlfriends dinner before a show.

Tags: Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We booked a last minute reservation for 5 with an out of town guest. Table was ready when we arrived. Food was great. It was actually hard to decide what to order there were so many great options. We ended up with two orders of fish and chips, pasta with rabbit, beef shin Poutine and honey fried chicken. For dessert we shared pot de chocolat, goats milk cheese cake, blueberry apple crisp with vanilla Ernest ice cream and an additional jar of Ernest ice cream that you can purchase in the adjacent store to have served at your table. Needless to say, we left stuffed and happy.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Organic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Extremely disapponted. This was our 4th visist and will likely be our last. 3 of 4 diners found the food to be just average. Server was inanttentive. Server ignored us for nearly 15 minurtes after all entrees completed and we did not have time to order dessert even though we were seated at 6:15 and they knew in advance we had theatre tickets across the street for 8pm. Had to ask for coffee 2x. Saw several other customers looking for and or trying to flag down servers. Menu seemed less inspired than it used to be. Out of one menu item we tried to order but only told after we tried to order it not when menu and specials were presented. Have recommended in the past to friends but would no longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The fresh sheet had a liver pate that was excellent, the use of wild onion made it special. The fish and chips are gluten free and and wonderful. The mussels arrived cold and were sent back the second batch half were not open. Best part of the meal - dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hamburger undercooked Sent back
Still raw ! When brought back
Waitress lovely

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Although the restaurant was busy, it was pleasantly quiet. Notable wine/cocktail list. Awesome menu and entrees were outstanding. Server was lovely and never once did we feel we were being rushed! Look forward to dining here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great dinner. This time it was pre show at Arts Club. Chris was a great server and the new beverage menu was great. Well done Calum and Harriet. A favourite spot always. See you all soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The fresh sheet offered interesting alternatives to the regular menu featuring local ingredients. Wonderful cocktails (my friend said the Negroni was the best she has ever had). Food arrived promptly. The tuna tostada daily special was spectacular. Good wine list. Terrific and friendly service.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

An interesting and different selection of menu items. Always something special worth trying. Fresh ingredients with an interesting twist.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good food with quality ingredients. Wine overpriced, as everywhere in Vancouver. Casual setting, with single open space in somewhat industrial setting, but not unpleasant. Friendly service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Busy times may not be best. Very loud, had to wait for reservation and the meals lacked the customary touch.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.