About Edible Canada at the Market

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm



Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm



Afternoon Menu: Saturday & Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Duck confit poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Yarrow Meadow Duck Poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Venison Carpaccio - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Mussels - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Edible Canada Breakfast - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Duck Fat Fries - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
When Sticky Pigs Fly - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Hamburger - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Hot Chocolate - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Mimosa - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Bacon Caesar - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Hazelmere Hash  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Traditional Club Sandwich - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
CANADIAN ROCKIES BEEF BURGER  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Scrambled Eggs - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Wild Westcoast Ling Cod and Chips  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Bacon Poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Cream Earl Grey Tea - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Lois Lake Steelhead Salmon And Chips - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
duck fat fried hash browns - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Bllt Sandwich (Bacon Lobster Lettuce Tomato) - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Canadian Inspired Mac and Cheese  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
BLT - Bacon Lobster & Tomato - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Grangeland Leg Of Elk - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Fraser Canyon Rabbit Terrine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Chai Crème Brûlée - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Wild Mushroom Crusted Wild Albacore Tuna Salad - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Chocolate Tart With Strawberry And Black Tea Infusion - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Steak And Benny - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Slow Cooked Heritage Angus Beef Cheeks And A Glass Of Stoneboat Vineyards Pinotage 2008 - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Bacon And Duck Rillette Poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Maple Sugar Pie - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Spiced Marble Chocolate Loaf - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Kettle Valley Veal Bone Marrow - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Mushroom Crusted Ling Cod - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Spinach And Blueberry Salad - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Fraser Valley Duck Poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Braised Elk Tacos - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Seared Scallops - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Bacon Sea Salt - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Yarrow Meadows Duck Ravioli And A Glass Of  Chateau Des Charmes Gamay Droit 2008 - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
100% French Press Coffee - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Yarrow Meadows Duck Ravioli  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Oysters & Bubbles Amuse Bouche - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Slow Cooked Heritage Angus Beef Cheeks - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Fat Tire Amber Ale - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Dark Chocolate Mousse Cake And A Glass Of Elephant Island Framboise Nv - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Vancouver Island Oysters : 1 W/Horseradish Foam &  Other W/Iced Sea Cider Migonette - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Sumac Ridge Stellar Jay Brut 2007 - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Dark Chocolate Mousse Cake - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Nova Scotia Lobster Cake  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Nova Scotia Lobster Cake And A Glass Of Quails' Gate Chardonnay 2010 - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
double smoked bacon and Sloping Hills pork & apple sausage  - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Okanagan Fog - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Chef's Fall Greens - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Hazelmere Farm Potato And Leek Soup - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Chef's Selection Of Petit Fours - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Coriander Seed & Smoked Serrano Pepper Crusted Wild Albacore Tuna - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Slow Cooked Alberta Grangeland Elk Stew - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Bacon Dipped In Hollandaise - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Mushroom Crab Benny - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Crispy Fish And Bacon Tacos - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Peppered Candied Bacon With Rye Chocolate Ganache - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Grilled Chicken Breast With A Blueberry Thyme Puree And Summer Veg - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Flank Steak and Frittes - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Two Rivers All Beef And Bacon Whistle Dog - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Duck Poutine - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Butter Tart - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Crispy Humboldt Squid - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Seared Lois Lake Steelhead - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Chili Dark Choclate Pudding - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Kurobuta Pork Belly - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Kettle Ridge Veal Bone Marrow With Bacon Lardon, Great Northern Beans, Parsley Crumb, Garlic Bagette - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Coast Mountain Mushroom Tarte With Caramelized Onions, Happy Days Goat Cheese And Fried Hens Egg - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Warm Chocolate Brownie With Hazelnut Crumble And Alberta Rye Ice Cream - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Lobster Mac & Cheese - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC
Elk 3 Ways - Edible Canada at the Market, Vancouver, BC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:45PM - 8:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

Enjoy the best of Edible Canada in your own private dining room - one unlike any other in the province. In the heart of Granville Island, our unique and contemporary glass-walled space contains a state - of - the - art demonstration kitchen, full audio visual capabilities and long fir tables.

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Canadian
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Island ›

Local Ingredients (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Casual (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Open Kitchen (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Healthy (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Seasonal (12)
Organic (11)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
1202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The flavours and service here are superb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

The flavours and service here are superb. The value for your money is all there, making even the pricy dishes well worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is great, wine list is pricey! Co ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

food is great, wine list is pricey! Considering that the restaurant is relatively casual in ambience, I was actually quite taken back by the price of a bottle of wine - a good selection but nothing less than $48/bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was particularly great. Foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our server was particularly great. Food was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and wait staff was uninformed ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overpriced and wait staff was uninformed when asked what was in one of the dishes. "Beet Quinoa salad" was really lettuce with a smattering of beets and quinoa.

This is our second time here ( we like to give a resterant a second chance) and experience was the same both times.

We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food and service were great! I had the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service were great! I had the fish and chips and it was great! The battered cod was very crispy. My husband had the flank steak. This is where there is an issue. The steak was tasty, the plating looked great and the veggies were good....except one mistake....flank steak should be cut against the grain....not following the grain.....this made the flank steak a little chewy....if it had been cut properly against the grain it would have been perfect. This unfortunately is a big kitchen No No! So please please....be sure to cut the flank steak the proper way against the grain.

Had the crumble and it was very very good!

Would definitley go back.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience at Edible Cana ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a great experience at Edible Canada. The food was delicious and the services was excellent. Nice selection of unique cocktails and a diverse and interesting menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and the food was awesome!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service and the food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday morning brunch: I brought a wor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Saturday morning brunch: I brought a work colleague who had never been to Canada and wanted to "experience bacon", so we both had the Canadian breakfast with an extra order of bacon. The eggs were cooked to perfection and the server was delightfully attentive. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I would cheerfully return.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. The setting is more open and engaging than quiet and cosy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Was a great experience with great food. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was a great experience with great food. Service was excellent. Overall I was extremely happy with everything. If there was 1 issue it would be that the wine list was a little limited. I highly recommend Edible to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, perfectly cooked and served ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, perfectly cooked and served wonderfully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! The servers even offer ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience! The servers even offered to hold my baby while we ate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not our first visit; Not our last. Sinc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Not our first visit; Not our last. Sincere intent to obtain quality, locally sourced ingredients. Organic an vegan selections are offered. Menu adjusts to accommodate seasonal product availability. Service staff has always been prompt, courteous, professional, knowledgeable. Chef and team are true artists. Many offerings require delicate preparations and practiced technique. We have never been disappointed.

Thank you all for another wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous food. One of the best meals I' ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Fabulous food. One of the best meals I've had in a long time. Unfortunately, the service was slow and not very attentive. I also ordered a coffee and it was HUGE! Careful of caffeine overdose! The food alone will bring me back for sure.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We brought some friends from Morocco to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We brought some friends from Morocco to Edible Canada as we wanted to treat them to Canadian cuisine. We had an overall nice experience, and felt that the food was cooked with integrity (my steak was delicious). The service was a little sloppy, as the waitress took almost no time to build rapport or romance the menu, but we still enjoyed ourselves. Based on the quality of service I would not classify this as fine dining, but casual dining.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food and drinks! I thoroughly enj ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great food and drinks! I thoroughly enjoyed the poutine, hamburger, and my cocktail. Our server was very friendly and attentive. I will definitely visit Edible Canada again the next time I'm in Canada. I was visiting because I was in Seattle for work for a week. Edible Canada was the best food I had the entire week.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a jem. Super nice service staff , ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a jem. Super nice service staff , knowledgeable in Canadian wines and Canadian Foods. Great way to experience all that this beautiful country has to offer. The food, setting, experience should not be missed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food at Edible Canada is excellent - loc ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food at Edible Canada is excellent - local, sustainable, healthy, and delicious. The menu is always updated to reflect the season and feature new ideas. Wine list features local wines. A great place for dinner and the Granville Island setting is a bonus.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal. Like that the menu had chang ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great meal. Like that the menu had changed and my choices were much better!! Love the flank steak added to a nice beer salad. Fun with son and wife before Arts Club eve. Perfect pairing :).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating my Birthday and one of the g ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Celebrating my Birthday and one of the guests was Celiac so the fact that you offer a full gluten free menu was a huge bonus. Being gluten free doesn't make for bland...the food was absolutely delicious and nicely presented. The drinks were great as well! Excellent Martini!

Thanks so much

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Hi always have amazing food and service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Hi always have amazing food and service here. A great place to study, catch up with friends or have a date night. Edible Canada is at the top of my list when it comes to Vancouver restaurants.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time at Granville market we made s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time at Granville market we made sure to get in for brunch on a Sunday. Very good food, nice ambience and super service. Caesar with candied bacon was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate lunch here with 5 colleagues while ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I ate lunch here with 5 colleagues while attending the Vancouver Writers Festival on Granville Island. I made reservations a week in advance and had no difficulty even with a largish group of 6 people. While we were at Edibles for lunch, the restaurant was very busy, fully booked and noisy. My dining companion sitting 2 seats away from me could not near me. Our service was pretty good for the most part, with our orders taken quickly, drinks and food coming out promptly, but our server did flip a condescending comment at our table that I flipped right back at him so, hopefully, he won't do that again. I ordered the kale salad and some french fries. My bill came to $21. I thought $14 for a salad was pretty steep. And about that salad ... the best kale salads have mouth-sized pieces of kale that have been "massaged" in a dressing and are tossed with a some other interesting vegetables. The kale salad at Edibles was pretty much nothing but kale in large pieces, rather tough and chewy, with a smattering of other vegetables that were buried in the mounds of kale leaves. The dressing was very tasty though. And my french fries were overcooked, and too crunchy. I really like the concept of Edibles - "promoting local food and highlighting Canadian cuisine" - but they'll have to do better on food prep and price to have me as a return customer.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was awful considering it was wri ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service was awful considering it was writer fest...,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

The food is local, carefully and thought ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food is local, carefully and thoughtfully sourced, and beautifully presented. We go anytime we are downtown.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and building! Eggs Benedict w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and building! Eggs Benedict was fantastic and the drinks were amazing. Highly recommend for brunch!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Energetic and friendly staff. Fantastic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Energetic and friendly staff. Fantastic and interesting food and cocktails. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was less than thrilled with my kale sa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I was less than thrilled with my kale salad served with flank steak. Steak was tough and salad needed to be lightly dressed ahead of time to let the kale "relax" -- I'm never happy with a restaurant if I can do better, at home, with the same ingredients. Canadian Edible has always been a delight in the past -- I'll wait some before trying again.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great menu that changes seasonally! Get ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great menu that changes seasonally!

Get a bacon Cesar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I have been consistently impressed with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been consistently impressed with the quality and creativity of the food and the drink at Edible Canada. One thing I especially appreciate is that the "side" parts of the entrees are genuinely good in their own right. This is rare.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere; the Elk tatar and the H ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice atmosphere; the Elk tatar and the Halibut was outrageous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good but nothing stood out ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was good but nothing stood out as spectacular. For a lack of a better descriptor, it was "reliable". I would say the same for the service...steady but not particularly personable. The water glass was filled with some regularity but the server seemed bored with the effort.

I had only been to this restaurant for special events in the past. There were a surprising number of families with young children. I would not consider this a "date night" type of restaurant but more of a family friendly establishment.

Not a bad choice if you happen to be on the Island already but this would not be a destination restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We first ate at Edible Canada in January ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

We first ate at Edible Canada in January 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience - the food was excellent using fresh, local produce and the staff were delightful. We got chatting to one of the staff, Mick, who came from Manchester. When we went back in October 2016 we caught up with him (get those papers in!) which was really nice. And the place hadn't changed - the food was just as delicious as we remembered and the atmosphere just as friendly. We will be back one day!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The quality of the food here in unbeliev ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The quality of the food here in unbelievable! As it was a cool evening, we both had the pea soup to start. It was the best pea soup I've ever tasted. I added a touch of their ghost pepper salt, and it kicked up the flavor very nicely. Our mains were also fantastic. I just loved every mouthful of my farmers harvest grilled vegetables and flank steak. I can only describe it as a taste you must experience. I'll certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely ambience, friendly waiting staff. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Lovely ambience, friendly waiting staff. Tasty food. Limited vegetarian options but the option they had was tasty though not very substantial - salads really. Good for meat-eaters and pescatarians. Fish & chips and the burger are the fav options. We had the kale salad, salmon and veggies. Beautiful presentation.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second occasion at this eat ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our second occasion at this eatery. Again it was a special occasion. I would recommend this restaurant as the best on Granville Island.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Organic, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent. We shared the s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was excellent. We shared the surf and turf and the sable fish was particularly tasty. The duck fat fries were amazing - crisp the way I like them but no greasiness. I liked that all the ingredients and wines, etc., were local. The location at Granville Market makes this place a winner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Organic, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

フレンドリーな気の利くスタッフと旬の美味しいブランチを頂きました。 月に何度も利 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

フレンドリーな気の利くスタッフと旬の美味しいブランチを頂きました。 月に何度も利用したいお店です。海外から来る友人や家族にも紹介したいお店です。

Tags: 地元の食材を使った料理, ブランチメニューがあるお店, カジュアルな雰囲気, ベジタリアン対応, テラス席, 日曜日ランチがあるお店, 楽しい雰囲気
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had tickets to a show and wanted dinn ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had tickets to a show and wanted dinner before. It was a busy night because the Fringe Festival was on and lots of people were there for dinner before the show. It took over 20 minutes before anyone came to get our drink order and that was only because we asked a bus boy. Our server when finally located was rushed, clearly flustered and a bit rude. We had to flag someone down again to get our drinks refilled. The meal was good, but not excellent. The place isn't particularly comfortable but its adequate. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We feel you could received more food for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We feel you could received more food for the money you pay, and the server was great, friendly, and attentive

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.