About Edible Canada at the Market

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm



Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm



Afternoon Menu: Saturday & Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy the best of Edible Canada in your own private dining room - one unlike any other in the province. In the heart of Granville Island, our unique and contemporary glass-walled space contains a state - of - the - art demonstration kitchen, full audio visual capabilities and long fir tables.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Blachut: 6045580040x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Duck confit poutine
Duck Fat Fries
Hazelmere Hash
Venison Carpaccio
Mussels
Duck Poutine
Yarrow Meadow Duck Poutine
Edible Canada Breakfast
When Sticky Pigs Fly
Poutine
Hamburger
Hot Chocolate
Mimosa
Bacon Caesar
Bacon Poutine
Traditional Club Sandwich
CANADIAN ROCKIES BEEF BURGER
Wild Westcoast Ling Cod and Chips
Scrambled Eggs
Lois Lake Steelhead Salmon And Chips
Cream Earl Grey Tea
BLT - Bacon Lobster & Tomato
Canadian Inspired Mac and Cheese
duck fat fried hash browns
Bllt Sandwich (Bacon Lobster Lettuce Tomato)
Fraser Canyon Rabbit Terrine
Grangeland Leg Of Elk
Wild Mushroom Crusted Wild Albacore Tuna Salad
Chai Crème Brûlée
Chocolate Tart With Strawberry And Black Tea Infusion
Steak And Benny
Slow Cooked Heritage Angus Beef Cheeks And A Glass Of Stoneboat Vineyards Pinotage 2008
Bacon And Duck Rillette Poutine
Mushroom Crusted Ling Cod
Kettle Valley Veal Bone Marrow
Spiced Marble Chocolate Loaf
Maple Sugar Pie
Spinach And Blueberry Salad
Fraser Valley Duck Poutine
Braised Elk Tacos
Seared Scallops
Vancouver Island Oysters : 1 W/Horseradish Foam &  Other W/Iced Sea Cider Migonette
Fat Tire Amber Ale
Oysters & Bubbles Amuse Bouche
Dark Chocolate Mousse Cake
Yarrow Meadows Duck Ravioli
Nova Scotia Lobster Cake
100% French Press Coffee
Slow Cooked Heritage Angus Beef Cheeks
Sumac Ridge Stellar Jay Brut 2007
Bacon Sea Salt
Yarrow Meadows Duck Ravioli And A Glass Of  Chateau Des Charmes Gamay Droit 2008
Nova Scotia Lobster Cake And A Glass Of Quails' Gate Chardonnay 2010
Dark Chocolate Mousse Cake And A Glass Of Elephant Island Framboise Nv
double smoked bacon and Sloping Hills pork & apple sausage
Coriander Seed & Smoked Serrano Pepper Crusted Wild Albacore Tuna
Slow Cooked Alberta Grangeland Elk Stew
Okanagan Fog
Chef's Selection Of Petit Fours
Hazelmere Farm Potato And Leek Soup
Chef's Fall Greens
Bacon Dipped In Hollandaise
Mushroom Crab Benny
Peppered Candied Bacon With Rye Chocolate Ganache
Crispy Fish And Bacon Tacos
Two Rivers All Beef And Bacon Whistle Dog
Flank Steak and Frittes
Grilled Chicken Breast With A Blueberry Thyme Puree And Summer Veg
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Kurobuta Pork Belly
Crispy Humboldt Squid
Chili Dark Choclate Pudding
Seared Lois Lake Steelhead
Butter Tart
Kettle Ridge Veal Bone Marrow With Bacon Lardon, Great Northern Beans, Parsley Crumb, Garlic Bagette
Warm Chocolate Brownie With Hazelnut Crumble And Alberta Rye Ice Cream
Coast Mountain Mushroom Tarte With Caramelized Onions, Happy Days Goat Cheese And Fried Hens Egg
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Elk 3 Ways

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 5:45PM 6:00PM - 7:30PM

Tue - Thu 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:30PM - 5:45PM 6:00PM - 7:30PM

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Brunch
Vancouver
Canadian
Vancouver
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Island ›

fit for foodies (110)
great for lunch (78)
great for brunch (72)
See All
good for groups (59)
neighborhood gem (57)
great for outdoor dining (55)
special occasion (39)
kid-friendly (27)
notable wine list (26)
scenic view (20)
hot spot (16)
romantic (14)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Local, interesting fair. Most every bite ...

Dined 7 days ago

Local, interesting fair. Most every bite was delicious. Greeted by warm and efficient staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

We were dining before a play and we had ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were dining before a play and we had made reservations short notice. I had been to Edible Canada before and even though I remembered the food being good, I also remembered a very long wait time for service and food. I was a bit worried we were going to be cutting it close with a 615pm res for an 8pm play. Despite my concerns, were served in a timely manner and the food was excellent. My son had the Oxtail Poutine (YUM!) and I had the Hazelmere Kale Salad. I had the small size salad but it was definitely not small. It was more than ample for a dinner salad and the tahini dressing was delicious- flavorful but not overpowering with that sesame taste. We will be back again soon. There are a few other things I want to try from their menu like their Arctic Char Gravlax and the Split Pea Soup with crispy pork jowl.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Most of the people in our party had been ...

Dined 7 days ago

Most of the people in our party had been here before, but we liked it so much, we decided to go back! We ended up sharing a few dishes, as we all wanted to try a little bit of everything. We started with the duck fat fries and mussels along with the oxtail poutine. Both were very tasty! My main was the elk tartar - a smaller sized portion compared to most of their other dishes but packed with flavor! We almost didn't get dessert, as our waiter said the maple bourbon ambrosia apples had sold out. He came back quickly and said he was mistaken and promptly brought the dish out! LOL. It was very tasty but my friend had the house-made s'more cookie which was even better than my dessert. (I had a few bites of hers.) There's plenty of parking, both free and paid, around the restaurant. We had to go for a short walk before going home as we ate so much! The service was stellar and the waiter was kind enough to split the bill for us. There's a small store in the back and if you dine in the restaurant, you will get 10% off your purchase, something we took advantage of! I would definitely come back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

While there was nothing wrong with our d ...

Dined 7 days ago

While there was nothing wrong with our dinner, it was not as memorable as my first visit. Service is still great, but the food seems overpriced and the menu a bit too limited for my taste.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Nice but . . .

Dined on June 5, 2016

We made a reservation and expected to be on the patio. But alas, we were seated inside on a beautiful sunny Sunday. Our table was right beside the door that the servers used to access the patio so it was a bit extra noisy. And, there was quite a draft or the air conditioning blowing so we were actually cold. I have celiac disease My food was good although one of my friends ordered something that was really small for a lot of $$$. We all had a nice visit which was the point of the lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

disappointing

Dined on June 5, 2016

our server was terrific. our food however took forever to come and then on arrival was burnt black but hidden with sauce. by that time we were too hungry to send back for a redo . prices online menu are lower than actual. servings were small for the price. overall great location but wouldn't return based on quality/price.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great. Food was delicious a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was great. Food was delicious and had a great local appeal. I would like to come back to try other things on the menu. I thought it was a nice touch to have blankets available for those that were a little chilly in the morning for outdoor dining.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

More dessert options

Dined on June 3, 2016

More dessert options

food5
ambience5
service5

Staffs are very nice and helpful, so we ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Staffs are very nice and helpful, so we have no frustration like Japanese advice in Tokyo. Foods are also nice and hot. We found very hip and nice Canadian restaurant.

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food quality

Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and I took two friends for lunch. The ladies had a pasta dish that they both enjoyed. The men had fish and chips; the chips and salad were fine but the fish had clearly been cooked before hand and came to us with a very tough outer crust that made it almost inedible.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect B-day brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

What a delicious birthday brunch. We arrived too late to get our reservation (stupid GI island traffic/parking), but the hostess promptly sat us in the patio without a wait. Our table was quickly engulfed in sunshine as it popped over the bridge. The food came out fast. My Arctic Char was beautifully plated although a bit too small for a meal portion. My bf praised that his eggs benny was the best he's had in a while, with the hollandaise sauce being light and flavourful. Oh! and those smashed potatoes roasted in duck fat are the absolute best! What a lovely restaurant in the heart of lively Granville Island. I keep coming back time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Wish the poutine can be less greasy

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wish the poutine can be less greasy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great evening, thanks to all the s ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Had a great evening, thanks to all the staff for going the extra mile for a special occasion :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reasonably-priced casual dinner spot in ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Reasonably-priced casual dinner spot in the heart of Granville Island. Pros: - Food was delicious, the kale salad, poutine, fish & chips, burger and sablefish are all recommended - Locally sourced ingredients - Cool ambience Cons: - portions were on the smaller side Didn't get to try out the patio, as it was too cold outside. Will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Service Does Not Equal the Food Quality

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing...the service...not quite. Our server was attentive until the food was dropped off. After that, he was no where to be seen. No one asked to refill coffee or waters, no check in until we tracked down a different server after 45mins. It's too bad because the food is spectacular. Second time I've been here and it was the exact same experience. Thought we'd give it another chance but they failed again. Kudos to the kitchen...management should really do something about the service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I have had here has been deli ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything I have had here has been delicious, and interesting. Not your average place at all - excellent food and service. I love the fact that it is all locally sourced as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful service!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Portions are small. Flavor is missing. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Portions are small. Flavor is missing. Salad not described correctly.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

we had the surf and turf platter.. it wa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

we had the surf and turf platter.. it was very nice with chimichurri.. the night was cool and the head waiter had difficulty with the patio heaters.. I know its' almost summer but to let the gas empty out and leave a guy hanging having to apologise for not being able to turn them on is not cool.. to his credit he grabbed blankets and got the table beside us back up to temperature.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

poor service

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our server not attentive to our orders. He looks annoyed when we asked him whats the specialty in restaurant. He simply replied you already ordered it .

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food here is amazing. If you're loo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food here is amazing. If you're looking for a place to eat on Granville Island, this is it!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Edible is consistently delicious and great service. Often has a line so do make a reservation if you can.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Not that crazy about the new menu.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Have been to Edible Canada numerous times but this will be the last this summer until this new menu is finished. Was with two other people and two of us couldn't find anything we would really like to have so ended up ordering fish and chips. Chips are good. Fish in batter completely unremarkable. The tiny side salad with the dish did have a delicious dressing. Ended up eating the roasted vegetables from one of my friends and they were delicious. Generally love the menu but not so much right now. The server was amazing.

food3
ambience4
service5

Nice place. Good wine list. Awesome serv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice place. Good wine list. Awesome service. Food is good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Overall we really enjoyed it. Veggies we ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed it. Veggies were fantastic. Salmon had a very good flavour, perhaps a little bit dry

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish i'd known this was here earlier

Dined on May 11, 2016

Second time here and was just as good as the first time. Great menu items that are not following the crowd but also not weird and overly fussy - just comfortable, approachable and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We had high hopes for our visit, however ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had high hopes for our visit, however the service was poor and the restaurant was out of their 3 most popular dishes. 20 minutes after we ordered, we were told half of our dishes were not available. In the end, it was nearly 45 minutes for our food to arrive after we ordered and no snacks were offered to us during that time. Not what we expected from our visit as we have had great experiences here in the past.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Didn't live up to the hype

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Edible for Mother's Day brunch this weekend. I was quite disappointed. My Mom ordered the poutine and it was lukewarm. I ordered the banh mi sandwich which was basically two pieces of bread, some small pieces of fried fish and cilantro. It was really dry, and a bit flavourless. The coffee was also sub-par and our food took a very long time to come out. Overall, I would not recommend this restaurant for brunch (can't speak for dinner). Much better options on Granville Island, and in Vancouver generally, for brunch.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food tasted delicious, as always. The on ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food tasted delicious, as always. The only thing was that the food arrived cold-warm as opposed to warm-hot. But in EC's defence, it was a reasonably full (80% capacity) brunch time on Mothers Day.

food4
ambience5
service5

We've been here many times and will be b ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been here many times and will be back again. The food is always delicious. Especially good service this evening.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The great and the mundane

Dined on May 7, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the elk tartare....highly recommended. The fish and chips where just that. Nothing special, but if you like fish and chips they were certainly crispy and fresh tasting. Guess I'm just not a fan. And the duck frites are a lovely change from fries. Service was super.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

an enjoyable experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

We went to Granville Island to get some sausages, meat and coffee. Strolled the waterfront, shopped at Netloft. Then early dinner at Edible. I ordered the burger,came w/fries and salad---cooked medium ,really really good. Also ordered fish and chips---not overcooked as some other reviewers said. As we entered the restaurant the lovely hostess had a big welcoming smile as I mentioned Opentable and addressed us with our last names.Service was excellent, waitstaff came to check on us multiple times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Night out with Friends

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great restaurant and great service. Love their concept of keeping to local ingredients.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not recommend.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Over priced, small portions. There are WAY to many good restaurants in Vancouver to go back to a bad one..

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

a bit disappointing

Dined on April 29, 2016

My husband and I ate here recently for the first time. My salad was mostly arugula w and a bit boring. We were warned that the iron pan with my husbands seafood platter would be very hot. It was not hot at all, and the seafood was just warm. The seafood tasted very good though. We shared butternut squash creme brulee for dessert which was fine, but i found the grated and fried topping tasted greasy. Overall, the food was disappointing, but the service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu. Love the flavours. Highly re ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great menu. Love the flavours. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great gem

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was delicious and looks like a work of art. We ordered the arctic char gravlax to start, beautiful and very tasty and had fish and chips and the sablefish for the mains. Delicious, both fishes were tender and nicely cooked as well as flavourful. S'mores baked cookie for desert. Highly recommended. Our server was excellent as well.

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch service

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a great time dining at Edible Canada. It was a bit noisy and the tables are quite close together so maybe not be for those looking for a quiet, romantic evening. Our server (and every other staff member we came in contact with) was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. The food was great but it was the service that really made our night. I would love to go back when it's a big warmer out and dine on their patio!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was mediocre overall

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

First off, the service was great, both the manager and our server were very good and professional. Nothing to complain about there. The food was 50/50. A couple of the mains were very good, the other not so much. The potatoes were 'off' and they cheerfully replaced them. The desserts were both weak in our opinion. Overall not a bad experience, but not a great one either. Just so-so.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food but not great value

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been to Edible Canada previously and returned primarily for the maple boar bacon Caesar , however this time we were surprised by the price of the food. Have prices increased recently? We don't mind paying a little more for local and organic, however $21 for a burger and $12 for a Caesar is quite a bit more than other equally good Vancouver restaurants. As well, the Scallop Crudo for $19 was 3 small scallops (at best) cut into thin slices with minimal accompaniments. Beautiful to look at and tasty, but $19 is a bit much. As well, the salad that accompanied the burger was nothing but a few lettuce leaves with a tiny bit of bland dressing. This little piggy ordered a side salad and although the ingredients were lovely and fresh, boring bland dressing. Truly disappointing. To top it off, the restaurant put us down as a No Show and we had to follow up to have this corrected. All in all, not a great experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.