About Edible Canada at the Market

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm



Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm



Afternoon Menu: Saturday & Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy the best of Edible Canada in your own private dining room - one unlike any other in the province. In the heart of Granville Island, our unique and contemporary glass-walled space contains a state - of - the - art demonstration kitchen, full audio visual capabilities and long fir tables.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Blachut: 6045580040x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Spoil your Dad with a truly Canadian Brunch and a Best of BC Beer Flight!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Tue - Thu 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Brunch
Vancouver
Canadian
Vancouver
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Island ›

fit for foodies (139)
great for lunch (89)
great for brunch (87)
See All
neighborhood gem (78)
good for groups (71)
great for outdoor dining (59)
special occasion (49)
notable wine list (37)
kid-friendly (31)
romantic (24)
hot spot (22)
scenic view (20)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

Wish the poutine can be less greasy

Dined a day ago

Wish the poutine can be less greasy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great evening, thanks to all the s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had a great evening, thanks to all the staff for going the extra mile for a special occasion :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reasonably-priced casual dinner spot in ...

Dined 6 days ago

Reasonably-priced casual dinner spot in the heart of Granville Island. Pros: - Food was delicious, the kale salad, poutine, fish & chips, burger and sablefish are all recommended - Locally sourced ingredients - Cool ambience Cons: - portions were on the smaller side Didn't get to try out the patio, as it was too cold outside. Will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Service Does Not Equal the Food Quality

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing...the service...not quite. Our server was attentive until the food was dropped off. After that, he was no where to be seen. No one asked to refill coffee or waters, no check in until we tracked down a different server after 45mins. It's too bad because the food is spectacular. Second time I've been here and it was the exact same experience. Thought we'd give it another chance but they failed again. Kudos to the kitchen...management should really do something about the service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I have had here has been deli ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything I have had here has been delicious, and interesting. Not your average place at all - excellent food and service. I love the fact that it is all locally sourced as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful service!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Portions are small. Flavor is missing. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Portions are small. Flavor is missing. Salad not described correctly.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

we had the surf and turf platter.. it wa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

we had the surf and turf platter.. it was very nice with chimichurri.. the night was cool and the head waiter had difficulty with the patio heaters.. I know its' almost summer but to let the gas empty out and leave a guy hanging having to apologise for not being able to turn them on is not cool.. to his credit he grabbed blankets and got the table beside us back up to temperature.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

poor service

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our server not attentive to our orders. He looks annoyed when we asked him whats the specialty in restaurant. He simply replied you already ordered it .

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food here is amazing. If you're loo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food here is amazing. If you're looking for a place to eat on Granville Island, this is it!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Edible is consistently delicious and great service. Often has a line so do make a reservation if you can.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Not that crazy about the new menu.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Have been to Edible Canada numerous times but this will be the last this summer until this new menu is finished. Was with two other people and two of us couldn't find anything we would really like to have so ended up ordering fish and chips. Chips are good. Fish in batter completely unremarkable. The tiny side salad with the dish did have a delicious dressing. Ended up eating the roasted vegetables from one of my friends and they were delicious. Generally love the menu but not so much right now. The server was amazing.

food3
ambience4
service5

Nice place. Good wine list. Awesome serv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice place. Good wine list. Awesome service. Food is good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Overall we really enjoyed it. Veggies we ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed it. Veggies were fantastic. Salmon had a very good flavour, perhaps a little bit dry

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish i'd known this was here earlier

Dined on May 11, 2016

Second time here and was just as good as the first time. Great menu items that are not following the crowd but also not weird and overly fussy - just comfortable, approachable and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We had high hopes for our visit, however ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had high hopes for our visit, however the service was poor and the restaurant was out of their 3 most popular dishes. 20 minutes after we ordered, we were told half of our dishes were not available. In the end, it was nearly 45 minutes for our food to arrive after we ordered and no snacks were offered to us during that time. Not what we expected from our visit as we have had great experiences here in the past.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Didn't live up to the hype

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Edible for Mother's Day brunch this weekend. I was quite disappointed. My Mom ordered the poutine and it was lukewarm. I ordered the banh mi sandwich which was basically two pieces of bread, some small pieces of fried fish and cilantro. It was really dry, and a bit flavourless. The coffee was also sub-par and our food took a very long time to come out. Overall, I would not recommend this restaurant for brunch (can't speak for dinner). Much better options on Granville Island, and in Vancouver generally, for brunch.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food tasted delicious, as always. The on ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food tasted delicious, as always. The only thing was that the food arrived cold-warm as opposed to warm-hot. But in EC's defence, it was a reasonably full (80% capacity) brunch time on Mothers Day.

food4
ambience5
service5

We've been here many times and will be b ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been here many times and will be back again. The food is always delicious. Especially good service this evening.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The great and the mundane

Dined on May 7, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the elk tartare....highly recommended. The fish and chips where just that. Nothing special, but if you like fish and chips they were certainly crispy and fresh tasting. Guess I'm just not a fan. And the duck frites are a lovely change from fries. Service was super.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

an enjoyable experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

We went to Granville Island to get some sausages, meat and coffee. Strolled the waterfront, shopped at Netloft. Then early dinner at Edible. I ordered the burger,came w/fries and salad---cooked medium ,really really good. Also ordered fish and chips---not overcooked as some other reviewers said. As we entered the restaurant the lovely hostess had a big welcoming smile as I mentioned Opentable and addressed us with our last names.Service was excellent, waitstaff came to check on us multiple times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Night out with Friends

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great restaurant and great service. Love their concept of keeping to local ingredients.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not recommend.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Over priced, small portions. There are WAY to many good restaurants in Vancouver to go back to a bad one..

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

a bit disappointing

Dined on April 29, 2016

My husband and I ate here recently for the first time. My salad was mostly arugula w and a bit boring. We were warned that the iron pan with my husbands seafood platter would be very hot. It was not hot at all, and the seafood was just warm. The seafood tasted very good though. We shared butternut squash creme brulee for dessert which was fine, but i found the grated and fried topping tasted greasy. Overall, the food was disappointing, but the service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu. Love the flavours. Highly re ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great menu. Love the flavours. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great gem

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was delicious and looks like a work of art. We ordered the arctic char gravlax to start, beautiful and very tasty and had fish and chips and the sablefish for the mains. Delicious, both fishes were tender and nicely cooked as well as flavourful. S'mores baked cookie for desert. Highly recommended. Our server was excellent as well.

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch service

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a great time dining at Edible Canada. It was a bit noisy and the tables are quite close together so maybe not be for those looking for a quiet, romantic evening. Our server (and every other staff member we came in contact with) was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. The food was great but it was the service that really made our night. I would love to go back when it's a big warmer out and dine on their patio!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was mediocre overall

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

First off, the service was great, both the manager and our server were very good and professional. Nothing to complain about there. The food was 50/50. A couple of the mains were very good, the other not so much. The potatoes were 'off' and they cheerfully replaced them. The desserts were both weak in our opinion. Overall not a bad experience, but not a great one either. Just so-so.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food but not great value

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been to Edible Canada previously and returned primarily for the maple boar bacon Caesar , however this time we were surprised by the price of the food. Have prices increased recently? We don't mind paying a little more for local and organic, however $21 for a burger and $12 for a Caesar is quite a bit more than other equally good Vancouver restaurants. As well, the Scallop Crudo for $19 was 3 small scallops (at best) cut into thin slices with minimal accompaniments. Beautiful to look at and tasty, but $19 is a bit much. As well, the salad that accompanied the burger was nothing but a few lettuce leaves with a tiny bit of bland dressing. This little piggy ordered a side salad and although the ingredients were lovely and fresh, boring bland dressing. Truly disappointing. To top it off, the restaurant put us down as a No Show and we had to follow up to have this corrected. All in all, not a great experience.

food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Lunch date

Dined on April 20, 2016

Good food but a bit over-priced. I had a salad that was very tasty and healthy but very small for the full portion and for $18. I wondered how small the half portion would be.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

never been disappointed here. brought o ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

never been disappointed here. brought out of town friends for a taste of Canadian food and they loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good food

Dined on April 18, 2016

The food was very good, fresh and tasty. The service was good even if this restaurant seems to run on minimum staff. They were all efficient and you got service. Kudos to the wait staff and cooks! The nanaimo dessert is outstanding and great for two people.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great locally sourced food, sustainable ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great locally sourced food, sustainable eating!! That's what really impressed me. And located right at Granville island, great ambience and lots to see in the area. I would recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on April 17, 2016

Unique combinations of local and seasonal ingredients. Great view of the bustling Granville Island scene. Real linen napkins. Excellent service. Love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great brunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

All the food was excellent. I loved my avocado toast with pouched eggs. We would recommend this place for brunch. The only downside was it was very noisy and since we were catching up with old friends it was difficult to hear or be heard.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Arts Club Theater Dining Group

Dined on April 15, 2016

All four of us had the Farmers Harvest, beautifully stacked, local cooked vegetables on a bed of humus. Mine was complimented with a delicious cocktail of blueberry with lavender soda.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints! Love the refreshed me ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Never disappoints! Love the refreshed menu as always. Had the birch syrup and kasu marinated sablefish; west coast seafood pan; duck fat frites; and elk tartare! Everything was delicious as usual

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not that great this time...

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's good when restaurants vary their menus, but this visit coincided with a not-so-great period for the menu, I suppose. Finally chose the fish and chips, which were not as good as what one might get at an average pub. The server got the bill wrong several times; by the time I realized that he had not given us the theatre discount, we had already paid, and the staff - while apologetic - didn't seem to be able to do anything about it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Perfection

Dined on April 3, 2016

Another glorious meal at Edible Canada. As a celiac I always feel safe and in well-educated hands when I eat here. Having so many delicious options every season ensures I come out to sample these innovative recipes all year round. To have beautiful service every time is a particularly wonderful added feature. Of note: we got carried away chatting and suddenly noticed we were the last two people in there and it was late. Not once did I get the feeling from the staff that they were tapping their toes and waiting for us to leave. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Definitely lives up to its promise of sh ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Definitely lives up to its promise of showcasing Canada food and cooking at its finest. Love taking people from out of town here.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.