About Edible Canada at the Market

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm



Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm



Afternoon Menu: Saturday & Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:45PM - 8:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

Enjoy the best of Edible Canada in your own private dining room - one unlike any other in the province. In the heart of Granville Island, our unique and contemporary glass-walled space contains a state - of - the - art demonstration kitchen, full audio visual capabilities and long fir tables.

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Open Kitchen (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Casual (24)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Healthy (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Special Occasion (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Organic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Waterfront (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for the Dine Out 2017 menu, the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for the Dine Out 2017 menu, the service was phenomenal and extremely attentive definitely a 5/5. The kale salad was disappointedly bland, the rest of the food could of stood to of been warmer. By the time it reaches out dinner table it was like warm. The flavours were phenomenal and the experience was a good one. I wish that they didn't have the air conditioning on though. We found the inside climate very cold and had to put on our jackets, but overall it was a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Was hyped to try something new as they h ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Was hyped to try something new as they had seal meat, but was very disappointed by the cold food not hot enough and the meat being very dry and flavorless. The portions were small and they weren't able to remove the fruits for the dessert as its premade.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We made our reservation aspart of the DO ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

We made our reservation aspart of the DOV event- my husband was very excited to try seal. We had a wonderful server who was very knowledgable and able to answer all of our questions and gave appropriate suggestions

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the food had good taste, the pl ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Although the food had good taste, the plating was poor and felt sloppy. The pasta was mixed in a pan and just thrown on a plate. At those prices you expect great taste and a good presentation, not just one. Also the arrangement of tables is pretty tight, to the point that the staff would have to lean on the back of my chair to get between tables. They lost me as a client.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for Dine Out to try a range of ecle ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for Dine Out to try a range of eclectic items (lamb heart, bison tartar, seal, rabbit) and they didn't disappoint. Food and drinks were tasty, if slightly bland and not quite as warm as they could be, but overall very enjoyable. Great value! Would certainly go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Went for the 2017 dine-out. Overall plea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for the 2017 dine-out. Overall pleased by the flavour, service, and ambience, but confused by the small portion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We selected this restaurant for our DIne ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

We selected this restaurant for our DIne Out Vancouver experience after hearing of the imaginative menu being presented. It was simply outstanding!

Every dish we had was a gem unto itself: cod & potato pakoras, the seared seal loin, Humboldt squid, hanger steak and the rabbit orecchietti; oops, almost forgot the wonderful chocolate pot du creme!

Service was friendly, attentive, and unobtrusive. The decor was bright and classy, without being overly formal; a perfect Vancouver fit.

We applaud Edible Canada for their efforts in presenting this menu at Dine Out Vancouver this year. A great deal of thought and sensitivity went into the decision to offer the seal, and how best to do so. Seal is an essential part of the culture of our country, both in the north and on the east coast. Edible Canada has helped further awareness and discussion of sustainable harvesting of food sources.

This was a terrific experience in every aspect of our visit. Thank you!!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch, casual and tasty.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great lunch, casual and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was extremely disappointed to go all t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

I was extremely disappointed to go all the way from Hong Kong to this well accredited restaurant!

Assuming Ling cod which originates from this port of Vancouver, it would be fresh and tasty. However, the batter of this fish and chips was almost thick and almost as hard as rock. The fish was dry! The fries were like leftovers, burnt and hard.

My daughter's 14 hours beef poutine was gross. The beef was in tiny portion resting on a huge lump of "leftover" burnt fries. Greasy yet not tasty.

A huge waste of time and felt being fooled with all the positive comments on the web!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great spot close to the market.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great spot close to the market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was attentive and food was consi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was attentive and food was consistent even though we were the last party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and the service is decent, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was good and the service is decent, the cocktail is okey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, friendly service, nice ambia ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, friendly service, nice ambiance surrounded by Great shop in Granville Island

Tags: Open Kitchen, , Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the the food was was go ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service and the the food was was good. We had the flank steak and the octopus orecchiette. The Orecchiette was tasty but flank steak was done perfect but seemed a little chewy. We shared the chocolate pot de creme which was out of this world. It was like a deconstructed smore but 100% tastier. The chocolate was yummy without being too sweet. We would definitely return to try their brunch or lunch menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a lovely dinner for 4, celebratin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a lovely dinner for 4, celebrating my Mum's birthday. She had the mussels and my Dad had the burger. My husband and I had the Elk tartar. The food was delicious with some subtle flavours that were original (bacon in the mussels) and enhanced the meals. We shared a bottle of red wine (nice that all the wines on the list are BC wines....AND that they have a good selection of quality wines from the Okanagan!!). It was a bit noisy when we arrived (which is usually the case when the restaurant is full), but everyone left and at the end of our meal (around 8:45pm) there were only two tables left, so it was easy to hear each other. The waitress was fantastic - attentive without being too involved, but very accommodating to our needs. I have eaten here a number of times, and unfortunately each visit seems to be hit or miss. Sometimes the food it fantastic and other times not so much. Not sure why, but this time it was very memorable - thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at this friend ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at this friendly place well located in Granville Market and with a nice cozy feel and good food. Service is sometimes a little slow but more than made up for by the great food and nice ambiance. Particularly love that they take time to create lovely fresh flower arrangements for the tables

Tags: Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great, the meal was ruined by o ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great, the meal was ruined by our rude waiter and his very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food was great. Service was a bit slow. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great. Service was a bit slow. Big delay between appetizers and mains. Our server indicated they were short staffed. Overall still a fan of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our server wasn't unpleasant, but not ex ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our server wasn't unpleasant, but not exceptional either. Just she like her job? The food, ambience was lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Historic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service were great. We trie ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food and service were great. We tried the grass-fed burgers and loved them. We were just disappointed they don't offer brunch options for weekdays.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was too fast. We had to ask ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service was too fast. We had to ask them to slow down couple of times, as we were going from there to a play. They were out of two of the limited number of mains, both of which we would have ordered. ( our reservation was for 5:30).

It was a just ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Excellent experience and we were able to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent experience and we were able to stay for a good visit including a young child in our group of 7. Thank you

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing customer service, my glass was a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing customer service, my glass was always full with water, no need to ask!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edible Canada is my favourite restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Edible Canada is my favourite restaurant in Vancouver but this visit was disappointing. Food over cooked and under cooked, location of table was drafty, server did not have a very good attitude.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food, service and environment. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food, service and environment. Edible Canada is a gem in Vancouver that too many locals don't visit because it is on the Island. A small sit up bar in the back corner allows conversation with Callum and Spencer, the excellent bartenders who have a creative cocktail list, a solid line up of craft beers on tap and an excellent array of BC wines showing the depth of available grape varieties and skills of many BC wine makers. The chefs provide a short but excellent menu with food to suit vegetarians, pescatarians and meat lovers. Elk tartare - out of this world. Arctic Char, done perfectly with lentils that could be a dish on their own and the pork chop - flavours abound. Harriet manages the team and her hands on approach and approachable style reflects on how the entire restaurant runs - keep up the great work and you have a great team in place Eric.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were just ok, that's al ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food and service were just ok, that's all about how I feel about this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Had a really enjoyable brunch with my fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had a really enjoyable brunch with my friends. Our waitress was so welcoming and accommodating. The food was yummy and we felt under no obligation to vacate the table once we were done. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal but dessert was awkward. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic meal but dessert was awkward. Server was nowhere to be found after 30 min + of waiting after ordering and we needed to get the birthday girl her dessert before some guests had to leave. The weird delay resulted in a change of dessert that was comped. A little more communication would have helped. Otherwise an excellent meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The flavours and service here are superb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The flavours and service here are superb. The value for your money is all there, making even the pricy dishes well worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, , Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is great, wine list is pricey! Co ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

food is great, wine list is pricey! Considering that the restaurant is relatively casual in ambience, I was actually quite taken back by the price of a bottle of wine - a good selection but nothing less than $48/bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Seated on time, excellent food and very ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Seated on time, excellent food and very lovely service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was particularly great. Foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our server was particularly great. Food was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and wait staff was uninformed ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overpriced and wait staff was uninformed when asked what was in one of the dishes. "Beet Quinoa salad" was really lettuce with a smattering of beets and quinoa.

This is our second time here ( we like to give a resterant a second chance) and experience was the same both times.

We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food and service were great! I had the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service were great! I had the fish and chips and it was great! The battered cod was very crispy. My husband had the flank steak. This is where there is an issue. The steak was tasty, the plating looked great and the veggies were good....except one mistake....flank steak should be cut against the grain....not following the grain.....this made the flank steak a little chewy....if it had been cut properly against the grain it would have been perfect. This unfortunately is a big kitchen No No! So please please....be sure to cut the flank steak the proper way against the grain.

Had the crumble and it was very very good!

Would definitley go back.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience at Edible Cana ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a great experience at Edible Canada. The food was delicious and the services was excellent. Nice selection of unique cocktails and a diverse and interesting menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and the food was awesome!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service and the food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday morning brunch: I brought a wor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Saturday morning brunch: I brought a work colleague who had never been to Canada and wanted to "experience bacon", so we both had the Canadian breakfast with an extra order of bacon. The eggs were cooked to perfection and the server was delightfully attentive. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I would cheerfully return.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. The setting is more open and engaging than quiet and cosy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Was a great experience with great food. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was a great experience with great food. Service was excellent. Overall I was extremely happy with everything. If there was 1 issue it would be that the wine list was a little limited. I highly recommend Edible to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, perfectly cooked and served ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, perfectly cooked and served wonderfully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.