Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Edible Canada at the Market

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm



Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00m - 4:00pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday day: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (43)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Casual (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Great for Brunch (31)
Great for Lunch (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Healthy (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Seasonal (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
People Watching (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Fun (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great Beer (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Organic (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Waterfront (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Romantic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Business Meals (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (3)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great food with unique menu choices. Service is also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Every dish was absolutely fabulous. From the starters (piccata, tomato soup and roasted cauliflower & Brussels sprouts), to the mains (duck poutine, arugula salad & falafal) everything was perfectly cooked. The duck itself was done to perfection. Great place for a casual meal with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place. Especially as a celiac--so many great options!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Thank you for a fantastic lunch experience. We were hosting a friend from out of town and the location, food and service made it a wonderful outing for all of us. A special shout out to our server who was attentive, made great suggestions, friendly and fun. He even took multiple great photos of us! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Last night in Canada, so thought we would try something a bit different. Lovely friendly and helpful staff but very average decor and ambience. Tried the "authentic" Canadian Poutine. Well I will
Let you into a little secret - back home in England, we call this gravy and chips - available at every fish and chip shop take away - with a few bits of duck strip thrown in. 4 dollars max. mate. Daughter had a pretty ordinary burger - no different to one like we have had all over Canada for about 13 dollars. My son had a few small strips of chicken coated in breadcrumb? (Don't worry Southern USA - your fast food buckets won't be troubled) all in all, I couldn't help feeling someone is having a laugh at vast expense (mine!)
Summary- great staff and service- food average and overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

After two very enjoyable meals at Edible Canada, I feel like this is one of Vancouver's most under rated restaurants. While my parents were visiting we out quite a bit and I have to say our meal at Edible Canada was the highlight. I really love the ambiance, and the service is always super friendly and accommodating, and not in a fake way. And we had to double check the bill at the end because it seemed surprisingly low. Top notch value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great service. We had a reservation and table was ready. We were there for breakfast and the food was delicious. Will be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Fantastic cocktails that match the quality of the menu. I'm celiac and always enjoy my meal at Edible Canada. So many options, including the GF crumble for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lovely food in a friendly atmosphere. We had a fantastic waiter who made some good recommendations and literally ran to the kitchen to order our food and make sure we got the last burger available!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We shared the roasted cauliflower & brussel sprouts, the tuna tostada, the heirloom tomatoe salad, and a side of grilled salmon between 2 people. Also gave tasters to others at our table and it was too much. Could have shared 2 or 3 plates. Food was delicious and our waitress was quite friendly and prompt with our food. The rest of the table also thoroughly enjoy their meals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

great location on Granville island with very good food

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and nice location. Wine list was over priced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great little spot on Granville Island. Great choices of food and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The atmosphere was great. Outside table at Granville island. The Falafel Bowl was so good.
Rest of the food was disappointing. Chicken and fish.
It sure I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Very disappointed! It seems that the quality has gone down. I used to enjoy coming to Edible Canada a lot, but not this time. Not sure i'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My favourite restaurant on Granville Island! The food is always fresh, locally sourced and beautifully prepared!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Such divine food!! The side of grilled salmon was a bit too dry, though. We ate that, the hummus plate, the falafel plate, the cod pakoras and the Brussels sprouts- all fabulous! For dessert we did the PB panna cotta and the lavender rum hot chocolate. So yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I'd been looking forward to eating at this restaurant for months! The menu looks fantastic and we wanted to sample as much as we could. We were running late but I called and they were happy to push our reso back 30 min. She sat us as soon as we got there. Our server came over right away and asked if we wanted drinks. My husband was still looking at the list so she said she'd give us a few minutes. Ten minutes later we place our order. We realised as she walked away that we should have ordered our appies too cos it was ages before she came back (resto was busy but not crazy). I got their white Negroni because I was liked that they used a housemade amaro. Not only was it tiny ($12 for 1.5 oz), all I could taste was the amaro. When she finally checked on us, we each ordered an appy & a share plate, thinking we might share a main after. Food was just okay. Tuna tostada, heirloom tomato salad, beet & Kale salad and roasted cauli with Brussels sprouts . Tuna was the best dish of the 4. Tomatoes didn't look (or taste!) like any heirloom i've had before, kale salad had maybe one small beet cut into wedges. Roasted cauli was very lighted roasted; Brussels were hard. We decided no thank you to another dish altho apparently so had our server; after another wait, on her way to dealing with another table, plopped down a dessert menu. Never asked if we wanted another drink. The service I can ignore cos whatever, everyone has a bad night, but the quality of food was sooo disappointing. I guess they get so many tourists, they can cut corners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This was one of our favorite go to places in Vancouver over the years and we don't know what has happened. The patio area looked liked it hadn't seen a broom in days as there was paper, food and debris on the brick work. The food quality has gone down hill, some items arrived either undercooked or burnt. Our fries with our burger were the last remints of what was in the bottom of the fryer basket. We arrived at 1650 for a 1700 reservation we were given drink menus and when we asked for a dinner menu and told we couldn't have it till 1700 when the kitchen opened, it was only ten minutes so we could have glanced over it also its their display board at their entrance so its no big secret. We were celebrating a birthday (mentioned this when I made the Open Table reservation) and no effort at all, possibly the hostess didn't pass on the information to the server. Our sever had a very big section to work with and was busy he was the only saving grace to the dinning experience. It will be hard for us to go back and recommend. Feeling very disappointed and let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've been here many times and really enjoyed everything - the food, the service, the ambience. Unfortunately, this last time we went late on a Sunday and they had run out of almost everything on the menu - oysters, salmon and the specials on the daily fresh sheet (I wonder why we were even given the fresh sheet in the first place). Our server told us that this happens often on a Sunday. So...maybe do something about it? Get more food or close early, so people don't make reservation expecting to be able to order what they see on your online menu. Quite a disappointment. The Persephone IPA on tap was divine, though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The cocktails were great. We ordered the Brussels sprouts and duck poutine for apples. Both were very good. I had the fried chicken as a main and it was so dry and under seasoned. Ruined the whole meal, unfortunately.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

cod pakoras very good. daily special ribs lacked flavor. risotto also bland
servers were working very hard and all seemed efficient. many hard surfaces make
noise level very high--difficult for conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food And ambience was great. Service was lacking. Need more servers. Found errors on bill. Meals did not come put at once and one sidedish was brought out after meals were finished

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent imaginative food. Great service. Lovely location.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Had a very nice first-time experience. It was a pre-show dinner in celebration of a birthday. The food was very tasty - falafel dinner, tomato salad & lamb meatballs. Service was attentive & friendly. It was a bonus to find out that we got 15% off the menu as pre-theatre patrons. Would do it again! Perfect weather for the patio.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was good except the gluten free bread used on my hamburger was poor. With all the gluten free bread products on the market I would have expected something much better. We all felt that the menu was too limited. More variety and more daily specials would help make this restaurant a place you'd like to keep coming back to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent birthday lunch with good service and the usual high quality food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We sat on the patio, which was just right for a fairly warm day. Tried the poutine, as reviews were excellent. It was good, fries tasted a bit like they'd been cooked in old/stale fat - duck, gravy, cheese were excellent ... and meatballs, arugula salad were also both excellent. This place will be on our "go again" list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2017

A great spot for lunch with friends.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for an early dinner with our 4-year old on the Canada Day long weekend. Only 4 food options for our son, but he was happy! My husband and I enjoyed the season catch of the day (salmon). Patio ambiance was lovely. Wait staff was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were totally enchanted by the creativity of the menu. The servers were outstanding, and they accommodated fairly challenging array of dietary needs. We also stopped in at the made in Canada shop when we were done, and dropped $45 on amazing food to go. Total gy creativity of the menu. The servers were outstanding, and they accommodated a fairly challenging array of dietary needs. We also stopped in at the made in Canada shop when we were done, and dropped $45 on amazing food to go. Total gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I had the Cod Pakoras and they were lovely. Some were a bit too crispy. Cocktail was great.
Service was excellent. Not keen on the trop petit washroom. But the portions were smaller than expected.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great vegetarian options here - the best on Granville Island. Also lots of locally sourced food and a good BC wine list. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great sunny patio, excellent service and the duck poutine was amazing!!!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

great food ........ unfortunately no outdoor seating available although we made res......... hot and noisy inside.........seating could have been made available outside under umbrella by separating tables

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Canadian size portions, communal dining and unisex restrooms.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was out of this world. This is our new favourite restaurant. My husband had the lamb meatballs and couldn't stop raving about the guajillo tomato sauce; he is Mexican and said it tasted like home. I had the eggs Benedict and it was a delicious, classic Benedict. We split the challah French toast - amazing. Great service, we went with our 1.5 year old and sat on the patio, it was beautiful. Love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Poor service. Food is editable but certainly not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I had the kale salad and found the kale pretty, hmm, chewy. Could have used some massaging. When I make kale salad I cut it finer and I think that makes it more digestible. The dressing was terrific and, overall, I enjoyed my meal. The humous was outstanding! A good size plate and extremely flavourful.
Good coffee, too. I'l definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with great options for our adult children's diverse diets. From vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, dairy free and paleo, everyone was satisfied! Our waiter was delightful and our meals were all excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.