Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Edible Canada at the Market

Edible Canada at the Market is a full service bistro, focusing on new Canadian cuisine. Unpretentious, welcoming and accessible, we celebrate the best food, wine, beer and spirits from across Canada. Our open kitchen, 150 seat bistro features a private dining space, expansive patio and take-out window for tasty bites and Salt Spring Coffee to go. We are open daily for lunch and dinner, plus weekend brunch.

1596 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm



Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm



Afternoon Menu: Saturday & Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm



Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm



Cross Street:
Anderson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-6681

Website:
http://www.ediblecanada.com/

Entertainment:
At our popular Market Dinners, guests enjoy a multicourse seasonally inspired dinner prepared right in front of your eyes. Our sommelier chooses select and often rare BC and Canadian wine, beer and spirits to pair with your meal, and guests are offered a 10% discount in the Edible Canada Retail Store and on future tours booked at the event. Since the goal of the evening is just to relax and enjoy the experience, we will email you a copy of the recipes and wine pairings from the night

Parking Details:
There is a mix of paid and free parking on Granville Island. Edible Canada has recently partnered with Powertech to install the first Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Level 2 charger on Granville Island.
Free Parking after 7pm.

Public Transit:
#50 False Creek
Aquabus
www.theaquabus.com
False Creek Ferry
www.granvilleislandferries.bc.ca

Executive Chef:
Eric Pateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Enjoy the best of Edible Canada in your own private dining room - one unlike any other in the province. In the heart of Granville Island, our unique and contemporary glass-walled space contains a state - of - the - art demonstration kitchen, full audio visual capabilities and long fir tables.

Edible Canada at the Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (45)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Casual (35)
Comfort Food (26)
Open Kitchen (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Seasonal (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Healthy (18)
Cozy (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fun (15)
Organic (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Romantic (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (8)
Waterfront (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (2)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food and excellent service. A very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place for dinner before a play on Granville Island.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We booked a last minute reservation for 5 with an out of town guest. Table was ready when we arrived. Food was great. It was actually hard to decide what to order there were so many great options. We ended up with two orders of fish and chips, pasta with rabbit, beef shin Poutine and honey fried chicken. For dessert we shared pot de chocolat, goats milk cheese cake, blueberry apple crisp with vanilla Ernest ice cream and an additional jar of Ernest ice cream that you can purchase in the adjacent store to have served at your table. Needless to say, we left stuffed and happy.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Organic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Extremely disapponted. This was our 4th visist and will likely be our last. 3 of 4 diners found the food to be just average. Server was inanttentive. Server ignored us for nearly 15 minurtes after all entrees completed and we did not have time to order dessert even though we were seated at 6:15 and they knew in advance we had theatre tickets across the street for 8pm. Had to ask for coffee 2x. Saw several other customers looking for and or trying to flag down servers. Menu seemed less inspired than it used to be. Out of one menu item we tried to order but only told after we tried to order it not when menu and specials were presented. Have recommended in the past to friends but would no longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The fresh sheet had a liver pate that was excellent, the use of wild onion made it special. The fish and chips are gluten free and and wonderful. The mussels arrived cold and were sent back the second batch half were not open. Best part of the meal - dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hamburger undercooked Sent back
Still raw ! When brought back
Waitress lovely

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Although the restaurant was busy, it was pleasantly quiet. Notable wine/cocktail list. Awesome menu and entrees were outstanding. Server was lovely and never once did we feel we were being rushed! Look forward to dining here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great dinner. This time it was pre show at Arts Club. Chris was a great server and the new beverage menu was great. Well done Calum and Harriet. A favourite spot always. See you all soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The fresh sheet offered interesting alternatives to the regular menu featuring local ingredients. Wonderful cocktails (my friend said the Negroni was the best she has ever had). Food arrived promptly. The tuna tostada daily special was spectacular. Good wine list. Terrific and friendly service.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

An interesting and different selection of menu items. Always something special worth trying. Fresh ingredients with an interesting twist.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good food with quality ingredients. Wine overpriced, as everywhere in Vancouver. Casual setting, with single open space in somewhat industrial setting, but not unpleasant. Friendly service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Busy times may not be best. Very loud, had to wait for reservation and the meals lacked the customary touch.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

a favourite place for breakfast and lunch... this was first time for dinner. The food was great. Really appreciate that so much of the menu is naturally gluten fee. Been years since I have had fried squid! Such a treat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always a great meal at Edible Canada. Their GF* selection is one of the best in the city for this type of menu. I am celiac and happily devoured their fish and chips; a dish I haven't had since being diagnosed 5 years ago. Thank you, Edible Canada! We also enjoyed their kale salad and cocktails. Edible Canada remains one of the top eateries in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent selection of food (including gluten-free options, although the kitchen is not entirely GF) and drinks. Aromas were amazing, tastes and textures were perfect and interesting, portions were generous, service was fantastic, and the staff were knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A great restaurant and so nice to have Canadian cuisine featured! Sorry we missed out on the seal, but we'll be back. The poutine was legit (I used to live in QC), the rabbit was amazing and the flatiron steak was perfectly done.
Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had a lovely meal before a play at Granville stage. Not our first visit to Edible Canada and have enjoyed it every time. The food is always interesting and the drinks recommendations were perfect. Hope to be back soon and will keep an eye on their special events.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A funky place for breakfast or lunch. with good food, attentive waiters and terrific Americano coffee. Next time we are in VCR we'll be back for breakfast and a stroll through Granville market.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made a quick reservation for tonight just in case and we were served promptly. Our waitress was quite attentive and served us efficiently. We shared an appy, which I can't remember the name of but it had to do with pakura's. The sauce had a nice spicy kick to it. My gf had the fried chicken entreè and I had the flank steak medium rare. Both dishes were satisfying but she thought the chicken wad a bit too salty whereas I did not. Everything worked efficiently for a last minute dinner decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great local cuisine. I've never had a bad meal here. The fried chicken on the current menu is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a lovely time. All aspects of the evening were wonderful

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

What a disappointment. Great space as long as noise doesn't bother you and fabulous inventive drinks. Food was a problem - my friend accurately describe our squid appetizer as "Kentucky fried". Two of us had the rabbit pasta dish that had so much mustard seed it was inedible after a few bites. We both left our plates more than half full, no server ever came to check and even at the bill did not ask us how our meal was despite our plates being virtually untouched. As we had to ask for the bill by the time the server came it was too late to say anything. In fairness our third diner had a vegetable risotto which she said was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food on Valentine's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was super slow and taste did not match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The beef tartare appetizer was delicious, as was the squid. However the wonderful flavour of the mushroom risotto was eclipsed by a tad too much salt, would have been perfect otherwise. Service was great and we loved the special touch for Valentine's Day with the two complimentary chocolate ganache macarons that was placed on our table. Edible Canada is one of our favourite dining spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We like the atmosphere of this restaurant. We have dinner before attending the theatre.
The food is good for the price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious and filling Valentine's Day meal

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place to get food after a day on Granville Island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Came to try the seal for dine out and was not disappointed. Very tender

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent Dine out menu. The service was exceptional and created a superb atmosphere for the evening. The food was delicious...the kale salad perfect, the steak was tasty albeit a bit tough and the dessarts were good. Overall, our group of four had a great time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Edible Canada is one of my top restaurants in Vancouver. Being gluten-free, I'm always in the need for good dining options other than salads or rice dishes. Edible Canada's gluten-free options are AMAZING. Gluten-free fried chicken? YES! Duck fat fries? YES! It's not 100% GF kitchen, but they are very considerate of gluten-free needs. I take any visitor here as well, as they really try to showcase the cuisine of the area and show great care and concern for where their meat (and all their food) comes from. That's super important to me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Organic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I got my table after 10 minutes of waiting, which is fine because it was during Dine Out. Service was excellent, same as food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I went for Dine Out for the very interesting menu that they offered. However, I ended up being disappointed. The food arrived very, very slowly and in very, very small portions. I walked out the restaurant so unsatisfied and got pizza on my way home.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I usually LOVE Edible Canada, it's a fantastic restaurant. However, I went there for Dine Out Vancouver 2017 and I was very unimpressed. The food was not good, and my dish was majorly uncooked and lacked flavour. Despite my horrible experience, I will come again and will continue to recommend this restaurants to others.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

not a lot of restaurants choose to use a creative menu for dine-out. kudos to them! and the lamb heart was super tender and delicious. seal meat was definitely different and beyond what i expected. cod pakoras were very yummy. fried chicken was good but not impressive and it's way undercooked. hanger steak was a little too chewy. bus girl was super nice while our main server lacked basic attentiveness. we left a good portion of friend chicken uneaten and she didn't care to ask why. not the level of service i would expect in this type of restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Quite a loud restaurant. Not ideal if you have hearing loss and are placed right in the middle. Ask for a table off to the side if you want a quieter experience. Great food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was slow. The food was ok but the dinnerware the food was served on was chipped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I was drawn to this restaurant by their DOV menu, especially the seal offerings, however I had one of my guests decline because of the presence of seal on the menu. The rest of us really enjoyed the food. I had both the seal amuse and the seal pappardelle. Both were prepared very well and I was quite impressed by the portion of the amuse. The pappardelle itself was not quite al dente but it wasn't too bad, and although the seal meat sauce was slightly on the dry side the flavours were on point. Left the meal feeling pretty great until we realized that some of our items resulted in extra charges on top of the regular $30 + $8 w/ amuse. At first we thought this was an untold auto-grat but one of my guests enquired with management and the response was that some of the items we chose from the DOV menu resulted in extra charges. The DOV menu was presented in an a la carte format with different prices for each dish, and the server did not alert us of any special pricing for Dine Out so it was not at all obvious to us, hence the star reduction for Service and Value in my review. Overall I would rate this 3.5 stars if I had the option. I will try to not let the billing at this occasion detract me from visiting again. For future, I hope the servers would explain the menu and any extra charges applicable to specific choices.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our waitress was amazing, very friendly and attentive (I believe her name was Reagan?). The food was delicious, I had their fried chicken and it was amazing! and their chocolate pot du creme desert was super rich and smooth. The staff seemed to help each other out, everyone bringing food to each others tables if they saw it and had a moment, so nothing seemed to sit up there for long. It was really nice to see and it meant everyone got their food a little quicker! Overall great restaurant and great staff!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The hostess has a big attitude problem. We asked if we (2) could be changed to a window table. Her answer was " NO this is how it was on the booking" This is OK if she cannot change but her attitude and tone was rude and condescending as if we are eating on her. By the time we left (1.5 hours) the two window tables were still not occupied.
The server was excellent.
The food was mediocre, not value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.