About Edi and The Wolf

102 Avenue C
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard "Edi" Frauneder and Wolfgang "Wolf" Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like schnitzel and spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Contemporary German, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 598-1040

Website:
http://www.ediandthewolf.com/

Catering:
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com

Public Transit:
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town

Executive Chef:
Eduard Frauneder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Edi and The Wolf can accommodate all your special event needs.

Edi and The Wolf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Cozy (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (12)
Casual (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious. That should be reason enough to try it out! But in addition the setting is warm and comfy with some real rustic charm.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall great atmosphere and the food tasted great. Two things that could have been improved were the portion sizes and the speed of the service. It took almost 2.5-3 hours for our dinner and took a long time for our food to come out after we ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a good time. I loved the decor. I loved their beer and appetizers. However, the portions were on the smaller side, even by local standards. Also, my boyfriend felt like the short ribs weren't properly seasoned and had an "Americanized" not an authentic flavor. Other than that, wiener schnitzel was very good, it is a must-try. The waitstaff was attentive and polite. It didn't feel rushed at all. We might come back. After all, it was a lovely night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for the past 2 years. I must say the experience this last time was not the best. My group and I sat in the back room which is quiet and great for chatting. The service in the back room, however, is not the best. We had to wait over 20 minutes for the bill after finishing eating until I had to get up and go to the front to mention we needed to leave. It also took plenty of time between dishes to be attended for extra drinks, etc...

The food is great and I highly recommend the octopus appetizer - it is fantastic. The schnitzel is a must! We lived in Vienna for very long and the food makes us feel very much at home.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the eclectic decor, great food, and best customer service I've had at a New York eatery. Our server was so lovely and accommodating!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pre fix meal was advertised as a NY strip - but I'm almost positive the cut was london broil :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My friends and I got together for dinner and this place is so aesthetically charming. The food was delicious and the staff was attentive but weren't pressing. We stayed a lot longer than we thought because we were so comfortable and the ambiance was so relaxing. I definitely recommend coming here for dinner and I would love to go back for brunch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

cool ambiance, good food and decent deal for restaurant week...small space but well used and not crowded feel

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was really good and ambience was great. Only negative was portion size- entrees were too small. Everything was really sharing size. They should increase the size of the entrees or reduce price and make it a sharing menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were a little disappointed as OpenTable recommended it as a good place for Restaurant Week that evening, only to find they didn't serve Restaurant Week that night.

However, the food and ambiance were wonderful. It's a cozy spot, great for friends or dates.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Friday night Restaurant Week dinner. Funky rustic decor has East Village vibe. Waited 15 minutes before server first approached us. Ordered beers, Pilsner & wheat beer. Started with spareribs which were meaty & tasty and potato & leek soup with strings of collards & bacon was very flavorful. Mains of pork schnitzel was very good and spaetzle in cream sauce topped with crispy fried onions was very rich but a underseasoned. All portions were very generous. Desserts of apple strudel & Austrian chocolate souffle were the weak link, both lacked spices & seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My son was happy with the food and ambiance, he will remember his 18th birthday for many years to come. I am sure he will return on his own for the ribs.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The space is quiet and cozy, with candles on the mostly family style tables. Dinner and dessert were delicious, with surprisingly large portions.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everything was exceptional. I will return often. A true gen in the EV.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The place is good but I was really disappointed. I've made the reservation by Open table using the restaurant week link and it appeared as available and when I arrived there there was no restaurant week menu for lunch. Only brunch menu. More than the feedback for the restaurant this is a feedback for Open table website. You need to be sure that you will mark as restaurant week available only when it's really is. I came all my way from NJ to the city and there was no special menu or prices. Really mad!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A first at Edi & the Wolf. Welcoming hostess and seats at a communal table which we didn't mind (though we could hear some complaints); warm lighting and a Restaurant Week menu that was uneven: very good and not so good. Good appetizers and one main; the main that disappointed was a classic: schnitzel (light breading did not adhere and really no flavor at all)--which should have been good; dessert okay, as were wines. Cocktails were different and tasty but too much ice and not enough liquid. We would return but before we do we're going to try a sister restaurant in our neighborhood, Tribeca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was DELICIOUS and the restaurant itself is decorated so nicely

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Edi and the Wolf was a very pleasant surprise. I will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Came during restaurant week had the ribs branzino and the apple strudel. Everything was great except the entree the fish had more of a fishy taste like it wasn't as fresh. All in all good experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best duck I've had in a long time! The waitstaff was helpful and friendly, and all of the food and drinks were amazing. Definitely recommend checking it out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Cool place, good location, great staff and good people watching. Pricey but tasty food, loved the burger served at weekend lunch! Beautiful bar area too. Would go back...

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I normally like this restaurant a la carte, but the New Year's Eve experience was a mess. Despite not being full, it seemed like the staff was rushing us through our meal--putting the appetizer out before we had even touched out our amuse, trying to take our plates before they were done. Also, the desert was disappointing. Chocolate cake does NOT equal chocolate souffle. I was disappointed because I enjoy this place so much normally, but their NYE experience was inadequate and overly priced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our waitress was a Gem however the food was sub-par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Incredible ambiance - could not have had dinner in a cooler spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Not the first time eating here. Food is usually very good. Service is quick; don't expect to be lingering very long. We were sat in the back patio on the coldest night of the year thus far. It was eerily quiet and drafty. It was a unique dining experience that I would not like to repeat. I'm sure the patio is lovely in the spring.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Lovely dinner after a movie. The food was quite good. However there was an extensive wait after the main course before the entrée. Other people actually arrived, dined, and left before our main course arrived. There was minimal explanation/apology from the waitstaff about this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great schnitzel, great atmosphere, I've been wanting to come here for a while and it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Incredible food and friendly service with a smile. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Despite the smaller menu, everything on the menu is delicious. The cocktails are also not to be missed. The restaurant is very small and a communal table seats the majority of patrons. The interior decorations are very cool and the vibe is super energetic. The service was friendly but the drinks were very slow to hit the table. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Decor is great, rustic and cozy. We had to wait 30 mins for our table after making a reservation and were going to be placed in the backroom (cold and quiet) so we waited even longer to be seated at front room (make sure you stress that unless it's summer). Octopus starter was really chewy and definitely not good. Pate and bread was good but the squash salad was very forgettable. I ordered the schnitzel and was looking forward to some crunchy, flavourful meat but was disappointed. Have had much better in non-austrian/germanic places! Overall, food is very hit and miss - though some friends ordered the butternut squash ravioli which was indeed v good. Apple strudel dessert also disappointed in flavour, lacked crackly texture and the chocolate mousse lacked a chocolate punch. I wouldn't go again despite the nice decor...what a shame!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best schnitzel in new York, for sure. Coupled with a great environment and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Really friendly and attentive.

Great food and lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was amazing, the pickled turnips are exquisite and the short ribs were delicious! It was certainly a great choice for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best description is pretentious. Noise level high, tables jammed together. People at the bar also in the laps of diners, and very dark-never could read a word on my menu or see my food.

Bread and cheeses excellent, entrees fair, dessert good.

It was fine, but I wouldn't make a special effort to eat there again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The dining was great asset usual.We'vusual.We've always had great meals at Edinburgh &the Wolf.Thus time was no

Thanks for the great food and experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Second time dining at Edi and the Wolf- it has been an absolute delight both times. Most recently, I brought my mother and a friend of hers, both of whom are major foodies, and they were absolutely BLOWN AWAY (especially by the spaetzle and duck breast).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

What a fantastic restaurant! Food was great, ambience was wonderful, music pleasant and the service was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wanted to love it. Meal was served cold. Would have been perfect if it was served at correct temperature. Cocktail

Menu was good and the ambiance was terrific. We had a perfect seat by front windows. Waitress was friendly and cheerful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food. City of Lost Children meets Gilligan's Island decor. Loved it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was great, but the service was not. It seemed that the server was annoyed by our presence. She was not friendly or kind, and made my out of town guests feel unwelcome. I left feeling disappointed and slightly embarrassed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome service from beginning to the end. Pleasant staff, and awesome food. Will definitely be coming back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food, great cocktails, and the back "garden" area was like a secluded oasis. We ate relatively early (6:45) and were the only ones in the back area. It was nice and cool, the lighting was intimate and the waitress visited us regularly but not intrusively. I had a great time and would love to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food - best schnitzel for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

One of the best meals I have had all year! The decor was super cool, the drinks were delicious, and the food was excellent! Two of my friends got the chicken which was cooked to perfection and my ravioli was the perfectly filling while also not making me feel weighed down like pasta dishes often do. I would absolutely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I came here to celebrate my birthday, and we had an amazing experience. The service was perfect--attentive and helpful, with lots of bread refills (we were hungry!). Delicious food--get the spatzle! What won me over though was the round of birthday shots for the table. Night made.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decor. The food was delicious as well! I had the schnitzel and it was amazing! The wine that was suggested to us was quite smooth as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not what it was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Interesting food in an up and coming neighborhood. Waitress was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.