Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Edi and The Wolf

Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard "Edi" Frauneder and Wolfgang "Wolf" Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like schnitzel and spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.

102 Avenue C
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Contemporary German, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 598-1040

Website:
http://www.ediandthewolf.com/

Catering:
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com

Public Transit:
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town

Executive Chef:
Eduard Frauneder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Edi and The Wolf can accommodate all your special event needs.

Edi and The Wolf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Authentic (16)
Cozy (16)
Casual (14)
Fun (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always solid and very good. Service is great, unpretentious, friendly and down to earth (whether we bring our baby or not! This is priceless for me and not a given in the east village, LES area). We come here all the time. The shnitzel is my go-to. The octopus and the spatzle are also excellent. The cocktails are creative and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful chic East Village Austrian spot with great food lively ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I really liked this place. The waitress was very attentive and the door was super interesting. The food was amazing and as a plus they let a girl and a man with a guitar come in a perform a song while I was there, which was awesome! Definitely a place to check out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My Birthday at the end of April and wanted to kick off the start of a new month with a new restaurant. Overall amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and ambiance, the only negative things is you might be seated right next to a different group since they have a huge table everyone shares in the middle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had never been here before but my friend had been here in the summer time. I love the place and look forward to going back soon or when its warmer outside.
It was very quaint and even has a back garden area which my friend didn't know about and we sat out there. The wait staff was great and very attentive; I had the Butternut Squash Ravioli and Brussell Sprouts. We also shared the flat bread which was delish. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrific surprise. Great eggs benedict (not gloppy), and excellent burger (light brioche, crispy flavorful bacon, juicy and perfectly cooked. (Didn't order the fries and regret it three days later. They looked beautiful coming out.) Bloody Marys full of delicious vegetation. Pleasant, seafaring motif.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Worth trying. Nothing wrong with the place, just not a place I would rush back to.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was delicious and even the simple items, like the green salad, were absolutely delicious! The cocktails were delicious, just didn't love that they tried to sit us in the middle of two large groups. Still, will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had a nice birthday dinner here. Everyone loved the food. I was nervous to go because I read that there is often a long wait in between courses. This is definitely true... so order appetizers, be prepared to get a few drinks, and only go with people who can carry a good conversation. Great food and atmosphere though and the waitstaff was friendly. We enjoyed it, I'd go again.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We didn't know what to expect, but we loved our dinner at Edi and the Wolf. My husband and I come from gErman families and found familiar tastes of home on the menu. The schnitzel was perfectly crispy, the picked vegetables were delicious and the beers were on point. The decor - which is sort of like a rustic barn look - was charming too. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Couple date time action fun

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious. That should be reason enough to try it out! But in addition the setting is warm and comfy with some real rustic charm.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall great atmosphere and the food tasted great. Two things that could have been improved were the portion sizes and the speed of the service. It took almost 2.5-3 hours for our dinner and took a long time for our food to come out after we ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a good time. I loved the decor. I loved their beer and appetizers. However, the portions were on the smaller side, even by local standards. Also, my boyfriend felt like the short ribs weren't properly seasoned and had an "Americanized" not an authentic flavor. Other than that, wiener schnitzel was very good, it is a must-try. The waitstaff was attentive and polite. It didn't feel rushed at all. We might come back. After all, it was a lovely night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for the past 2 years. I must say the experience this last time was not the best. My group and I sat in the back room which is quiet and great for chatting. The service in the back room, however, is not the best. We had to wait over 20 minutes for the bill after finishing eating until I had to get up and go to the front to mention we needed to leave. It also took plenty of time between dishes to be attended for extra drinks, etc...

The food is great and I highly recommend the octopus appetizer - it is fantastic. The schnitzel is a must! We lived in Vienna for very long and the food makes us feel very much at home.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I will not be returning. The hostess was very sweet, and because I informed her of my brother's birthday, we were sent a free dessert with a candle. Lovely! Otherwise, though, the experience was seriously lackluster. I'll give them the fact that it was a busy Friday night, but the bartender knew very little about the food and the kitchen seemed confused about my gluten allergy (they said quinoa has gluten). The food was very pricey for small portions, and it came out room temp/cold. I also wouldn't recommend the "seasonal pickle plate" - thick cuts of white onion, a pile of sauerkraut, and 2 cucumber wedges. We didn't eat very much of it. Maybe it's better on a less crowded night, I don't know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the eclectic decor, great food, and best customer service I've had at a New York eatery. Our server was so lovely and accommodating!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pre fix meal was advertised as a NY strip - but I'm almost positive the cut was london broil :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My friends and I got together for dinner and this place is so aesthetically charming. The food was delicious and the staff was attentive but weren't pressing. We stayed a lot longer than we thought because we were so comfortable and the ambiance was so relaxing. I definitely recommend coming here for dinner and I would love to go back for brunch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

cool ambiance, good food and decent deal for restaurant week...small space but well used and not crowded feel

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was really good and ambience was great. Only negative was portion size- entrees were too small. Everything was really sharing size. They should increase the size of the entrees or reduce price and make it a sharing menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were a little disappointed as OpenTable recommended it as a good place for Restaurant Week that evening, only to find they didn't serve Restaurant Week that night.

However, the food and ambiance were wonderful. It's a cozy spot, great for friends or dates.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Friday night Restaurant Week dinner. Funky rustic decor has East Village vibe. Waited 15 minutes before server first approached us. Ordered beers, Pilsner & wheat beer. Started with spareribs which were meaty & tasty and potato & leek soup with strings of collards & bacon was very flavorful. Mains of pork schnitzel was very good and spaetzle in cream sauce topped with crispy fried onions was very rich but a underseasoned. All portions were very generous. Desserts of apple strudel & Austrian chocolate souffle were the weak link, both lacked spices & seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My son was happy with the food and ambiance, he will remember his 18th birthday for many years to come. I am sure he will return on his own for the ribs.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The space is quiet and cozy, with candles on the mostly family style tables. Dinner and dessert were delicious, with surprisingly large portions.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everything was exceptional. I will return often. A true gen in the EV.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The place is good but I was really disappointed. I've made the reservation by Open table using the restaurant week link and it appeared as available and when I arrived there there was no restaurant week menu for lunch. Only brunch menu. More than the feedback for the restaurant this is a feedback for Open table website. You need to be sure that you will mark as restaurant week available only when it's really is. I came all my way from NJ to the city and there was no special menu or prices. Really mad!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A first at Edi & the Wolf. Welcoming hostess and seats at a communal table which we didn't mind (though we could hear some complaints); warm lighting and a Restaurant Week menu that was uneven: very good and not so good. Good appetizers and one main; the main that disappointed was a classic: schnitzel (light breading did not adhere and really no flavor at all)--which should have been good; dessert okay, as were wines. Cocktails were different and tasty but too much ice and not enough liquid. We would return but before we do we're going to try a sister restaurant in our neighborhood, Tribeca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was DELICIOUS and the restaurant itself is decorated so nicely

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Edi and the Wolf was a very pleasant surprise. I will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Came during restaurant week had the ribs branzino and the apple strudel. Everything was great except the entree the fish had more of a fishy taste like it wasn't as fresh. All in all good experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best duck I've had in a long time! The waitstaff was helpful and friendly, and all of the food and drinks were amazing. Definitely recommend checking it out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Cool place, good location, great staff and good people watching. Pricey but tasty food, loved the burger served at weekend lunch! Beautiful bar area too. Would go back...

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I normally like this restaurant a la carte, but the New Year's Eve experience was a mess. Despite not being full, it seemed like the staff was rushing us through our meal--putting the appetizer out before we had even touched out our amuse, trying to take our plates before they were done. Also, the desert was disappointing. Chocolate cake does NOT equal chocolate souffle. I was disappointed because I enjoy this place so much normally, but their NYE experience was inadequate and overly priced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our waitress was a Gem however the food was sub-par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Incredible ambiance - could not have had dinner in a cooler spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Not the first time eating here. Food is usually very good. Service is quick; don't expect to be lingering very long. We were sat in the back patio on the coldest night of the year thus far. It was eerily quiet and drafty. It was a unique dining experience that I would not like to repeat. I'm sure the patio is lovely in the spring.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Lovely dinner after a movie. The food was quite good. However there was an extensive wait after the main course before the entrée. Other people actually arrived, dined, and left before our main course arrived. There was minimal explanation/apology from the waitstaff about this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.