HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today
Special offers available. See details

Edi and The Wolf

4.5
278 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Austrian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (13)
  • Neighborhood Gem (11)
  • Good for a Date (10)
Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard "Edi" Frauneder and Wolfgang "Wolf" Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like schnitzel and spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Austrian, Contemporary German, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 598-1040
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eduard Frauneder
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Edi and The Wolf can accommodate all your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

What 278 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipNYCvmd (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on February 18, 2018

I have been here before about a year ago, the food was much more the focus of the restaurant. Now, it seems to be more about the "scene" and the food and service have suffered. I'm all about fun restaurants, but the food was so good before!

Report
Helpful
MKSJ (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Love this place! Food, cocktails and service are so good and the decor is amazing!

Report
Helpful
Alba (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Delicious Austrian cuisine. The baby back rib starter was outstanding, as was the pork schnitzel. I went on a date and had only one uncomfortable moment when being seated - a reservation does not guarantee an individual table, meaning you are more likely to be seated at the large communal table, which is not the most comfortable set up for a party of two.

Report
Helpful
vipjsal (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Went here for Restaurant Week. I had the beef carpaccio (very good), pork schnitzel (good) and chocolate shuffle (very good). The bread and olive oil/butter were yummy. Service was excellent and the place was nice. Some tables are communal.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

I was fortunate enough to discover this gem on a random sunny spring day in 2017. I've been back more times than I can count and each visit is just as special as the first time I dined. Edie and the Wolf is a great date spot or if you're just looking for a place to celebrate any special occasion. The food has to be some of the best dining in the city. Nothing over the top where dishes are deconstructed or overzealous and end up being more complicated than delicious. This place knows what they're great at stick to it. The drinks are also wonderful and it all rounds out beautifully into a picturesque steam punk/ Gotham like setting with a wonderful attentive staff.

A must try if you haven't been

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Very cute atmosphere, great cocktails and delicious food! I had the spatzle and it was so flavorful and satisfying!

Report
Helpful
vipMeghanB (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Great food and restaurant week experience. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
Sarah (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

We got seated in the back, an outdoor patio with heating. There was no ambiance there. I guess they don’t really have capacity for restaurant week.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Delicious authentic Austrian cuisine in a charming rustic-decorated setting. The food was excellent, and although we were seated at a long family-style table, the restaurant wasn't overcrowded so it was nice and quiet! Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Great place. Consistently good food and good value. Really interesting wine list

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

Our favorite restaurant in the city! Great food, atmosphere, and wine. We’ll be back many times more.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 8, 2018

Great place in NYC.
You really enjoy autentic austrian food (I‘m from Austria).
The wine is also good and the service is absolutely amazing.
I love Edi and the wolf 🐺

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

It was really great. The food was good, the service was awesome. We really had a great time.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Such a great place in the EV! Having lived in Austria, found the food and ambiance to be very authentic (the latter of a Viennese Heuriger). Also, it was my birthday and they went out of their way to make it more special for me! Definitely recommend for a nice, chill evening out! (PS I never write reviews, but wanted to share the very nice experience I had here tonight.)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19