Edi and The Wolf

4.5
299 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Austrian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Authentic
  • Fun
Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard "Edi" Frauneder and Wolfgang "Wolf" Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like schnitzel and spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Austrian, Contemporary German, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 598-1040
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eduard Frauneder
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Edi and The Wolf can accommodate all your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
7.6

Despite the name, Edi And The Wolf has a great spirit to it, and is quite Infatuation-friendly. The food is as accessible and familiar as any – the words for the dishes are just spelled crazy.

Ratings 7.5-8.0:These are restaurants that are reliable, tasty, and particularly good for whatever we have deemed them “Perfect For.” Hit up a 7.7 for Date Night with confidence, as long as you don’t need the restaurant to be the most interesting thing that happens that night.
What 299 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The front of the house is VERY loud. We probably would not have stayed had we not been able to get a table in the back room. We ate in the back in the "garden", which is covered against the elements. It was quiet and had no music blaring. The seats in the back are metal and some are high stools...not the most comfortable. On the other hand the food was delicious. We had the baby back ribs and schnitzel; the latter compared favorably to anything we had in Austria. Delicious wine, too. They were busy and there were occasional lapses in getting food to the table in a timely manner, but the overall experience felt like we had gotten out of town and traveled someplace special, even though we never left Manhattan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We keep coming back, bringing family and/or friends along, and all the newbies are always quite happy! The food is always fresh, and creatively and deliciously prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Had dinner with a friend here that I haven't seen in a while. Food was excellent and service was great. I ordered the schnitzel with crispy brussel sprouts. Delicious! I will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Amazing atmosphere and delicious food!! Great service!! A little jewel in the East Village.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Empanasada does not equal Wiener Schnitzel. The food was not good and definitely not Austrian.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Unique menu, good drink options

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Edit and the Wolf is a wonderful Austrian restaurant in the East Village. The low lighting and natural decorating make for a comfortable ambiance. Long communal wooden dining tables are welcoming while offering space for private conversation. The roasted Brussels sprouts were the best I’ve ever had. Spaetzile (sp?) was amazing. Exceptional service and great cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Met our son for his birthday on a beautful sunny day the open air funky atmosphere was delightful food and drink lovely will visit again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

I have been coming to this restaurant ever since my very first trip to New York City in summer of 2012.

It was recommended by a friend from Brooklyn and I have never looked back. It's fantastic! The wait staff are helpful and totally competent/knowledgeable. The Austrian food is authentic and delicious. I am always and forever getting the Spaztle.

it was a low-key Sunday evening and the restaurant wasn't packed. We noticed this awesome play-list of some of the best throw-back power ballads and R & B from the 90's was playing. It became obvious to the waitstaff we were digging the tunes and singing along and so asked us what 90's songs we wanted to hear! As one can imagine - the Backstreet Boys soon began flowing out of the speakers. Delicious ear candy.

We also had the breads with the hummus spread, the roast chicken and the Weiner Schnitzel. All authentic, perfectly cooked and tasty. I will always come back here.

:)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great food and atmosphere. Loved the pork (not veal) wiener schnitzel. Super fresh salads - roasted peach delicious. Very slow service however. Restaurant full at 9PM on Saturday but took forever just to get menus and a drink. Server never collected menus and they took up a ton of space on the bench and table. Very tight seating too - make sure you're not claustrophobic!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food was just okay. The service and atmosphere definitely make up for it. Just went with a friend, but can see how it would be good for a date. Garden patio is enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 18, 2018

This is an awful restaurant, service very mediocre and the food was supposed to be Austrian and is truly terrible garbage and too expensive for what it offers. Stay away!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I had a wonderful time at this restaurant. The food, staff, drinks and the décor of the restaurant was simple stunning and relaxing. My friends and I had a blast and we had a great time. there were so many items on the menu that we wanted to try so we decided we are going back. LOVED IT!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Although there are some Austrian/German dishes on the menu, I’d say that this place is really more “American.” In any case, everything was delicious. The flatbread appetizer and the ravioli main courses were especially good. The desserts were also terrific, especially the apple strudel. I didn’t give it 5 stars because the short ribs were a little fatty, but I’d certainly be happy to go to this place again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We have visited Edi and The Wolf several times and recently enjoyed an Easter brunch there. The experience couldn't have been better. The food was delicious, the decor and ambiance are appropriate to a relaxing German restaurant and the service was outstanding. Highly recommend at all times of the day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We loved this restaurant. It’s one of the few spots where you can actually have a conversation without the need to speak loud. The food is excellent, the service is great!! We really enjoyed it, and will definitely go back next time we are in NYC.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This place is a must go to. The vibe, food, service. Everything was stellar. I am definitely making this one of my go-tos moving forward.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

My Group of ladies really enjoyed the restaurant. The table they provided for me made it very
comfortable for me. The service was excellent. The food was very good. I believe that my crowd will be back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great Austrian food, but much TOO LOUD. The noise level was insane during our visit, and it was really annoying and uncomfortable. We were glad to get outside and enjoy the quietness of the street, after we were done with dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

I started going here for my birthday to pay homage to my Austrian heritage. The food was so good I just kept coming back! I think this last dinner was my 4th birthday in a row. The rustic ambiance is amazing. Really great vibe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was wonderful. The service first rate. The wine list was "notable" in that at least half the wines were Austrian, and I'll bet you never heard of most of 'em. The prices were what cases for reasonable in New York. The ambience not nearly as weird as some reports and photographs make it seem if you haven't been there. All the same, it's "look" is just a touch offbeat.
I ate early and the restaurant was, fortunately, half empty. Even so, the brick walls and plank ceiling gave the room a bit of a buzz. I dread to think what it might be like when packed full. There are lovely banquets along the side, idea for hand holding and watching everyone else. Up the center there's a row of tables, placed edge to edge.They were all empty when I ate there, but I imagine the setup provides opportunities to meet and chat with the strangers to your left and your right. There's no box to check for "a just-plain-fun place," but it's that, too. As a famous Austrian not associated with this restaurant once said, "I'll be back."

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I have been here before about a year ago, the food was much more the focus of the restaurant. Now, it seems to be more about the "scene" and the food and service have suffered. I'm all about fun restaurants, but the food was so good before!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Love this place! Food, cocktails and service are so good and the decor is amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Delicious Austrian cuisine. The baby back rib starter was outstanding, as was the pork schnitzel. I went on a date and had only one uncomfortable moment when being seated - a reservation does not guarantee an individual table, meaning you are more likely to be seated at the large communal table, which is not the most comfortable set up for a party of two.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Went here for Restaurant Week. I had the beef carpaccio (very good), pork schnitzel (good) and chocolate shuffle (very good). The bread and olive oil/butter were yummy. Service was excellent and the place was nice. Some tables are communal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

I was fortunate enough to discover this gem on a random sunny spring day in 2017. I've been back more times than I can count and each visit is just as special as the first time I dined. Edie and the Wolf is a great date spot or if you're just looking for a place to celebrate any special occasion. The food has to be some of the best dining in the city. Nothing over the top where dishes are deconstructed or overzealous and end up being more complicated than delicious. This place knows what they're great at stick to it. The drinks are also wonderful and it all rounds out beautifully into a picturesque steam punk/ Gotham like setting with a wonderful attentive staff.

A must try if you haven't been

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Very cute atmosphere, great cocktails and delicious food! I had the spatzle and it was so flavorful and satisfying!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great food and restaurant week experience. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 26, 2018

We got seated in the back, an outdoor patio with heating. There was no ambiance there. I guess they don’t really have capacity for restaurant week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Delicious authentic Austrian cuisine in a charming rustic-decorated setting. The food was excellent, and although we were seated at a long family-style table, the restaurant wasn't overcrowded so it was nice and quiet! Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Great place. Consistently good food and good value. Really interesting wine list

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Our favorite restaurant in the city! Great food, atmosphere, and wine. We’ll be back many times more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

Great place in NYC.
You really enjoy autentic austrian food (I‘m from Austria).
The wine is also good and the service is absolutely amazing.
I love Edi and the wolf 🐺

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

It was really great. The food was good, the service was awesome. We really had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Such a great place in the EV! Having lived in Austria, found the food and ambiance to be very authentic (the latter of a Viennese Heuriger). Also, it was my birthday and they went out of their way to make it more special for me! Definitely recommend for a nice, chill evening out! (PS I never write reviews, but wanted to share the very nice experience I had here tonight.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Great place for Austrian food in Alphabet City! Definitely would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Amazing!!! Really great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Sat near entrance door which did not close by itself thus I had to get up multiple times from dinner to close the door as people entered and exited the restaurant to keep the freezing air from coming in. Not so pleasant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

This our first visit. Good menu is very small. We had the baby back ribs to share, very tender and tasty. I had the spaetzle for dinner. Also very good, had a light cream sauce on it. My boyfriend had the shirt rubs and he said they were delicious. Our server was wonderful, so this upped the review. The place is rustic with a modern twist, their is communal seating and also private tables. I was hoping they would have done festive holiday lights inside to help me get into the holiday spirit. Overall, good solid meal and it didn’t break the bank. Would recommend to others if they were in the area

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8