About Edi and The Wolf

102 Avenue C
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard "Edi" Frauneder and Wolfgang "Wolf" Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like schnitzel and spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Contemporary German, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 598-1040

Website:
http://www.ediandthewolf.com/

Catering:
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com

Public Transit:
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town

Executive Chef:
Eduard Frauneder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
  • Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY
Edi - Edi and The Wolf, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Edi and The Wolf can accommodate all your special event needs.

Edi and The Wolf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Fun (7)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great Beer (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely dinner after a movie. The food w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely dinner after a movie. The food was quite good. However there was an extensive wait after the main course before the entrée. Other people actually arrived, dined, and left before our main course arrived. There was minimal explanation/apology from the waitstaff about this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great schnitzel, great atmosphere, I've ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great schnitzel, great atmosphere, I've been wanting to come here for a while and it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food and friendly service wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Incredible food and friendly service with a smile. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Despite the smaller menu, everything on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Despite the smaller menu, everything on the menu is delicious. The cocktails are also not to be missed. The restaurant is very small and a communal table seats the majority of patrons. The interior decorations are very cool and the vibe is super energetic. The service was friendly but the drinks were very slow to hit the table. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Decor is great, rustic and cozy. We had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Decor is great, rustic and cozy. We had to wait 30 mins for our table after making a reservation and were going to be placed in the backroom (cold and quiet) so we waited even longer to be seated at front room (make sure you stress that unless it's summer). Octopus starter was really chewy and definitely not good. Pate and bread was good but the squash salad was very forgettable. I ordered the schnitzel and was looking forward to some crunchy, flavourful meat but was disappointed. Have had much better in non-austrian/germanic places! Overall, food is very hit and miss - though some friends ordered the butternut squash ravioli which was indeed v good. Apple strudel dessert also disappointed in flavour, lacked crackly texture and the chocolate mousse lacked a chocolate punch. I wouldn't go again despite the nice decor...what a shame!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Best schnitzel in new York, for sure. Co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best schnitzel in new York, for sure. Coupled with a great environment and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really friendly and attentive. Great fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Really friendly and attentive.

Great food and lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, the pickled turni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was amazing, the pickled turnips are exquisite and the short ribs were delicious! It was certainly a great choice for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best description is pretentious. Noise ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best description is pretentious. Noise level high, tables jammed together. People at the bar also in the laps of diners, and very dark-never could read a word on my menu or see my food.

Bread and cheeses excellent, entrees fair, dessert good.

It was fine, but I wouldn't make a special effort to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The dining was great asset usual.We'vus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The dining was great asset usual.We'vusual.We've always had great meals at Edinburgh &the Wolf.Thus time was no

Thanks for the great food and experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Second time dining at Edi and the Wolf- ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Second time dining at Edi and the Wolf- it has been an absolute delight both times. Most recently, I brought my mother and a friend of hers, both of whom are major foodies, and they were absolutely BLOWN AWAY (especially by the spaetzle and duck breast).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic restaurant! Food was gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

What a fantastic restaurant! Food was great, ambience was wonderful, music pleasant and the service was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. City of Lost Children meets ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food. City of Lost Children meets Gilligan's Island decor. Loved it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was great, but the service was not. It seemed that the server was annoyed by our presence. She was not friendly or kind, and made my out of town guests feel unwelcome. I left feeling disappointed and slightly embarrassed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Awesome service from beginning to the en ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome service from beginning to the end. Pleasant staff, and awesome food. Will definitely be coming back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great cocktails, and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food, great cocktails, and the back "garden" area was like a secluded oasis. We ate relatively early (6:45) and were the only ones in the back area. It was nice and cool, the lighting was intimate and the waitress visited us regularly but not intrusively. I had a great time and would love to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - best schnitzel for a while

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food - best schnitzel for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

One of the best meals I have had all yea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

One of the best meals I have had all year! The decor was super cool, the drinks were delicious, and the food was excellent! Two of my friends got the chicken which was cooked to perfection and my ravioli was the perfectly filling while also not making me feel weighed down like pasta dishes often do. I would absolutely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here to celebrate my birthday, an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I came here to celebrate my birthday, and we had an amazing experience. The service was perfect--attentive and helpful, with lots of bread refills (we were hungry!). Delicious food--get the spatzle! What won me over though was the round of birthday shots for the table. Night made.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance and decor. The food w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decor. The food was delicious as well! I had the schnitzel and it was amazing! The wine that was suggested to us was quite smooth as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Not what it was!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not what it was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Interesting food in an up and coming nei ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Interesting food in an up and coming neighborhood. Waitress was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was quite good. Tasty and inter ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was quite good. Tasty and interesting. But the service was hectic and confused and they were not able to handle multiple people paying.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was surprisingly incredible. Would ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was surprisingly incredible. Would liked to have had drinks too, but the company was not in the mood (no big deal)-- would love to come back! Restaurant was pretty loud though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This place is very cool! We felt like we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2016

This place is very cool! We felt like we were in another country sitting in the back patio. The cocktails and the food were delicious! We brought another couple who are a bit conservative and picky eaters. At first they were a bit skeptical but they followed our lead and loved it!!! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cool vibe

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great vibe, decor and indoor / outdoor garden feel. The food was mostly very tasty. The down side was that the brunch choices are quite limited in terms of healthy options. I went for the poached eggs and wheatberry salad as it sounded healthiest but there was so much wheatberry grain and it was far too salty. Their potatoes are delicious, as was the sharing pizza with egg and ricotta. We ordered one thing with substitutions, which the kitchen got wrong twice, despite there not being many people in the restaurant, so that was a bit of a disappointment. I would give the place another go though - probably for dinner this time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

brillant chef!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2016

While had very good references, I have not only confirmed , but also those they have overcome . Congratulations to the owners for having achieved this excellent proposal with his brilliant Chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dissappointing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were a group of 10 , and we all know how hard it is to find a place for Brunch in NYC for a large group! So i chose to reserve through Open Table! I had had better experiences before, but this time we waited for 45/50 minutes to get our food, and the place wasn't event packed at all . And once we got our food, it was small quantities and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Beautiful dishes and great ambiance.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful dishes and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chose dinner instead of brunch & glad we did

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were seated in the back garden, a funky and totally delightful space, which was pleasant even when filled to capacity. Our server was attentive & helpful and our meal completely unhurried. We had the wiener schnitzel (veal version), the melt-in-your-mouth short ribs, the house made pommes frites and apple strudel for dessert. All very good ---- and accompanied by a good wine list. One of the more pleasant dining experiences in a city where crowding & noise too often rule

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beyond expectations.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2016

I am from SC and came to NY for a trip with some friends. I chose Edi and the Wolf purely because of the show Knife Fight. We arrived early and they seated us immediately. The cocktails, food, and service were all fantastic. I have a culinary degree and was so excited to get traditional Austrian food prepared the right way. It was all amazing. Both of my dining guests agreed with me when I said that it was the best part of our NY trip. Will definitely go back if I head up North again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. Food ok. Waitress diseng ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Disappointing. Food ok. Waitress disengaged. Did not feel welcome. Couldn't wait to leave. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We went for brunch. I must say that alth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for brunch. I must say that although the food was good, the flatbread appetizer was the best dish of all. Everything else was just scrambled eggs and bacon. Seriously, for a bill that came to $150 for 4 people, I honestly expected something a little more. Austrian? I don't think so; more like the diner across from my apartment. But the staff was lovely and welcoming and we enjoyed it nonetheless. Perhaps dinner is better; the place does have some good reviews. But don't expect the same kind of meal for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I love the ambience and the decor! It's ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the ambience and the decor! It's like dining in the jungle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very personable and attentive - - A Nice Time

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We were five that grew to six. Everything went smoothly. Food was fine. We had a pleasant time. Price was the same as lots of other NY restaurants that you go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

great evening

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2016

great food, excellent professional and friendly service, charming ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Greatjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkf ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Greatjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkffkfkfkfkkfkfkffjhdhdbdbdbdbdbdbdbfbfbfnfnfjdndjd. D. F f. F f f f f fridkkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkkfjffjfhsndjsndnxnxndndjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkffkfkfkfkkfkfkffjhdhdbdbdbdbdbdbdbfbfbfnfnfjdndjd. D. F f. F f f f f fridkkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkkfjffjfhsndjsndnxnxndnd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable food, ok service, funky space.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyable food, ok service, funky space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic date spot in Alphabet city.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The wine list is extensive, and even found something for someone who doesn't like German/Austrian wines. The food itself is amazing - get the flatbread as an appetizer. Heard the octopus was great too.

The chicken option was perfect, as well as the spatzel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.