About Edi and The Wolf

102 Avenue C
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard Frauneder and Wolf Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes, resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like Schnitzel and Spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Contemporary German, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 598-1040

Website:
http://www.ediandthewolf.com/

Catering:
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com

Public Transit:
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town

Executive Chef:
Eduard Frauneder

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:45PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Edi and The Wolf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (38)
fit for foodies (35)
romantic (24)
See All
good for groups (18)
special occasion (9)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Dissappointing

Dined 6 days ago

We were a group of 10 , and we all know how hard it is to find a place for Brunch in NYC for a large group! So i chose to reserve through Open Table! I had had better experiences before, but this time we waited for 45/50 minutes to get our food, and the place wasn't event packed at all . And once we got our food, it was small quantities and average food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful dishes and great ambiance.

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful dishes and great ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beyond expectations.

Dined on May 19, 2016

I am from SC and came to NY for a trip with some friends. I chose Edi and the Wolf purely because of the show Knife Fight. We arrived early and they seated us immediately. The cocktails, food, and service were all fantastic. I have a culinary degree and was so excited to get traditional Austrian food prepared the right way. It was all amazing. Both of my dining guests agreed with me when I said that it was the best part of our NY trip. Will definitely go back if I head up North again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Disappointing. Food ok. Waitress diseng ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Disappointing. Food ok. Waitress disengaged. Did not feel welcome. Couldn't wait to leave. Won't be back.

food3
ambience3
service4

We went for brunch. I must say that alth ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for brunch. I must say that although the food was good, the flatbread appetizer was the best dish of all. Everything else was just scrambled eggs and bacon. Seriously, for a bill that came to $150 for 4 people, I honestly expected something a little more. Austrian? I don't think so; more like the diner across from my apartment. But the staff was lovely and welcoming and we enjoyed it nonetheless. Perhaps dinner is better; the place does have some good reviews. But don't expect the same kind of meal for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love the ambience and the decor! It's ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the ambience and the decor! It's like dining in the jungle.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very personable and attentive - - A Nice Time

Dined on April 28, 2016

We were five that grew to six. Everything went smoothly. Food was fine. We had a pleasant time. Price was the same as lots of other NY restaurants that you go to.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great evening

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

great food, excellent professional and friendly service, charming ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Greatjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkf ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Greatjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkffkfkfkfkkfkfkffjhdhdbdbdbdbdbdbdbfbfbfnfnfjdndjd. D. F f. F f f f f fridkkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkkfjffjfhsndjsndnxnxndndjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkffkfkfkfkkfkfkffjhdhdbdbdbdbdbdbdbfbfbfnfnfjdndjd. D. F f. F f f f f fridkkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkkfjffjfhsndjsndnxnxndnd

food4
ambience3
service3

Enjoyable food, ok service, funky space.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyable food, ok service, funky space.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic date spot in Alphabet city.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The wine list is extensive, and even found something for someone who doesn't like German/Austrian wines. The food itself is amazing - get the flatbread as an appetizer. Heard the octopus was great too. The chicken option was perfect, as well as the spatzel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent!! Such an authent ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was excellent!! Such an authentic schnitzel and delicious creamy spätzle. I went with my German inlaws and they loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Woneedful meal

Dined on April 3, 2016

Loved the food as did my Austrian husband! The schnitzel Spaetzle wasfantastic

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Find .. but don't miss the door

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great decor and food. Awesome beer and nice size portions. Enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great find in Alphabet City

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

We were staying nearby and took a chance, based on favorable reviews. We are so glad we did. Unusual but appealing décor, great food and fine service. We loved the pickled vegetables, the ribs and the schnitzel. We took dessert home (apple strudel and the almond cake). Both were divine and travelled well. I smile thinking of our time at Edi and the Wolf!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious !

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

This spot is excellent in every way. Mainly it is a delicious meal, a real treat these days !

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unique decor, great value for the qualit ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Unique decor, great value for the quality of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed this time

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I have eaten dinner at this restaurant twice before and everything was delicious but the brunch was tasteless and boring. I ordered a frittata with seasonal vegetables - the omelet was flat with a sparse spattering of vegetables. While my husband was eating his bread, the waiter came by and removed his plate. The drinks should have come first but arrived after we started eating. The coffee and espresso was lukewarm and undrinkable. Not a great experience and won't be returning for brunch again

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love going here. Truly a neighborhood gem.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Every item on the short menu is fantastic. It really reminds you how great a short menu. It's Austrian food but with a gourmet twist...and after you have had that, going back to regular Austrian food just isn't an option. Besides all the good things I can say about the food and unique tasteful decor, the last time I went was a big hit for service reasons. I put in my note on the Open Table reservation that I would really appreciate a solo table. The hostess read the request and accommodated my guest and I without even a reminder about it. We got to share the couch side of the table and really have a nice comfortable "cuddle" with our meal. Sounds cheesy, but its our preferable eating style and in a place that's cozy like Edi it really is great. Obviously this can't always happen, but this last time it did and it caused me to write my first and probably only review I'll write. Haha! So, thanks Edi and the Wolf. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Romantic, yummy, beauitful.

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

I had a great night. The service is really good, the space is very beautiful and informal but with a lot of style. The food was great and overall is a place I'd go back anytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

good but not great

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

edi and the wolf is really cute and a definite hot spot. we went on friday at 8:15 and were seated around 30 minutes late for our reservation. the food was just OK. the drinks there and at their sister bar were kind of meh... i wouldn't go back, but it was good to experience.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

We had a very enjoyable meal. There were 6 of us and all enjoyed our apps (oysters, brussel sprouts, octopus) - as well as our main courses (wiener schnitzel, arctic char, braised ribs). Dessert was great too! There were not a lot of options on the menu but they do offer something for everyone (fish, meat, veggies). The bar area is small but they offered a nice menu of speciatly drinks. It's not a big place although there is a back area with some tables. The restaurant is decorated in a rustic manner and is adorable. We had a 6:45 reservation & the place was packed by 7:30. There is a long communal table where most of the two person reservations were seated. There is no sign outside the restaurant that we saw so make sure you have the address. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything here is amazing. Walk into a ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Everything here is amazing. Walk into a space hidden behind a garden. Great cocktails and incredibly thoughtful and balanced menus. Easily one of my top three restaurants in the city and somewhere I always take visitors if they have time to see only one NYC restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ask for a table in the main dining area

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We were seated in the back and it was awkward at first until more people showed up. No music in the back room. Server was wonderful and the food was delicious. Great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, overpriced wine list

Dined on January 5, 2016

It's the most authentic Austrian food in New York; the Schnitzel is pork, as it should be, and the Liptauer has a nice round flavor though it could use a bit more caraway. The apple strudel was outstanding. Unfortunately, the wine list is pricey --- an Austrian Wirtshaus, which this place is aiming to be,must have affordable wine options.

Tags: brunch, romance
food5
ambience5
service2

Great food, fun environment, service was ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food, fun environment, service was pretty poor. Actually were wanting a second drink, but the waitress never came back to the table until the bill. Overall I would still recommend this place.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went for NYE, very busy and not enoug ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for NYE, very busy and not enough space for people to comfortably move around. Food was pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and special

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We reserved a table for New Year's Eve in the early evening, and the restaurant was just great. Delicious food, attentive service and a warm winter atmosphere that we were looking for! Felt snug in a good way. It was a fixed menu because of the holiday, but our server accommodated a couple of our special requests, gave us perfect wine recommendations and overall made the night a total blast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, warm and friendly. The food was wonderful!

Dined on December 18, 2015

We picked this little gem for its coziness and decor and it delivered!!! The food was unique and delicious. We wish there was a better selection of wine...but the whole experience was amazing! We will return for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

While the crispy octopus appetizer was a ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

While the crispy octopus appetizer was a bit small for $16, it was none the less delicious. The grapefruit was something I've never had with octopus before, and it was a great pairing. The entrees (Spaetzle and true Weiner Schnitzle) were both fantastic and really just like grandma makes. Cocktails were creative and delicious and the atmosphere was perfect for a nice dinner or grabbing a few cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

A little bit of Austria in Alphabet City

Dined on December 5, 2015

Our group of four squeezed into the crowded space and settled in for a pleasant evening. We each ordered a different main course so that we could sample the spaetzle, schnitzel, pappardelle and gnocchi. The Austrian white wine was delicious. I can see why Edi and the Wolf is popular with all ages. The only down side was the noise level and having my chair bumped repeatedly by the servers, but it is a very cool spot with yummy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, drinks & service

Dined on November 28, 2015

Took out of town friends here. Food was amazing! Everyone loved their meals. There were a few interesting drink concoctions and the Austrian beer was delicious too! Prices were also pretty reasonable. I would definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

A Good Time Had By All

Dined on November 28, 2015

Having eaten there in the past and enjoyed it I was keen to see how it fared now. I was not disappointed! The food was really very good - try the baby ribs and the must-have brussels sprouts with bacon. Oh, and the chocolate souffle for dessert. The wine list is eclectic with rather too many sweetish Austrian whites for my taste, but we ended up selecting a red Sancerre that pleased everyone at the table. The decor is funky and the lighting flatteringly subdued. The service was attentive when reqired but not intrusive. All-in-all an enjoyable and satisfying dining experience. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1

Thanksgiving dinner here was lackluster

Dined on November 26, 2015

We went here hoping for a special Thanksgiving dinner but were completely underwhelmed with what was served, and to add to that had a terrible waitress who didn't tend to our table so much so that someone in our party had to bring the bill to the front of the house to pay and try to leave and forget this dining experience. The kitchen ran out of the optional scallop appetizer and the waitress without informing the table and asking if we wanted to order something else, simply brought out a fish substitute. The oyster appetizer was one per person, and was baked with some cheese that made it taste unpleasant. The turkey was dry, the cod was bland, the side dishes of string beans and stuffing were served family style but were portioned so small they were really only appropriate for one person. The only saving grace of the meal was an apple cobbler, which comparative to the meal seemed good because everything preceding it was poorly prepared and delivered, but in retrospect, still wasn't even that good. For the $240 bill we paid for three people to dine here we all agreed it was 100% not worth it. We felt like we wasted our money, time, and what could have been a memorable family experience here, and agreed there are much better dining experiences to be had elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent experience.

Dined on November 24, 2015

Stop by ABC Brewing Company next door or Zum across the street for a cleansing ale afterwards.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was good but they were out of half ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Food was good but they were out of half of the things on an already small menu. I've eaten there a couple of times and not had an issue, so hopefully just a 1-off.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great date spot!

Dined on November 21, 2015

Amazing place hidden along Ave C. The food and service were incredible. Couldn't ask for a better night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing Austrian food and fantastic wines!!

Dined on November 10, 2015

I've been at this restaurant several times and I just loved the atmosphere there. Very friendly staff and a great crowd there. Food was outstanding and the Austrian wines were delicious!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just discovered Edi & the Wolf. The food ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Just discovered Edi & the Wolf. The food was delicious, and the dimly lit, rustic ambiance is exactly what I like on a casual night out with friends. It will now be my neighborhood go-to spot.

food4
ambience4
service4

Made reservation for a 1000-points time ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Made reservation for a 1000-points time slot on a Sunday but wasn't honored. In touch with them about it but annoying.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.