Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Edi and The Wolf

Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard "Edi" Frauneder and Wolfgang "Wolf" Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like schnitzel and spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.

102 Avenue C
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Contemporary German, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 598-1040

Website:
http://www.ediandthewolf.com/

Catering:
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com

Public Transit:
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town

Executive Chef:
Eduard Frauneder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Edi and The Wolf can accommodate all your special event needs.

Edi and The Wolf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (8)
Great Beer (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Real good find in east village. Late night dinner, full menu after theatre. we sat in the front room which was a little noisy. There is also a back room that I have not tried yet. Everything we ordered was excellent. Sharing appetizers were good for two. We had octopus, bacon, ribs, salad, brussel sprouts and shared one main dish of short ribs. Every dish that came out looked great. Tough to choose. Would definitely return!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on October 6, 2017

LOVED the decor and the dimly lit ambiance at this place. food was great, the burger may be the best i've ever tasted. we ate in the garden, which has an air of enchantement. great place!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere, lovely staff and delicious food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Authentic, Great Beer, Vegan, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

It's my favorite restaurant in the E Village, I go there frequently and always take visitors from out of town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

So-so, completely forgettable dinner. Decor is rustic - think hunting cabin. Gin/basil, cucumber cocktail was annoyingly sweet and had very little gin. Aperol spritzer was tasty. Labnah-like fresh cheese in olive oil made for a pleasant spread on fresh bread. Short ribs were cooked dry and covered with a blah, sweet-ish sauce. Wiener Schnitzel was fried to dryness and and the meat had no particular taste. Accompanying berry jam helped slightly. Side German-style potato salad was tasty as was the side cucumber tsatsiki. Overall okay but blah food. Service was attentive - better than in other reviews. No real reason to stop here in a neighborhood full of varied eating options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Nice place. Loved it! Food was excellent and service was great. We will definitely come back

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Very much enjoyed our meal here- delicious food and cocktails, and not too noisy. Cozy interesting decor, comfortable banquette seats and laid-back service. Octopus appetizer was great-as was our meal overall. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Every course was consistently excellent. Full flavor profiles made the hearty dishes interesting from first bite to last. The service was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We stumbled upon this place All 4 of us got Wolf burgers Really good! Not cheap, but worth it

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The ambiance is great, the many plants and entirely open front side makes it feel like a patio. The decoration has so many details! As an Austrian, I can say that the food is great. I wouldn't say it is very traditionally Austrian but each menu item has a great twist on traditional Austrian food that makes it very creative and interesting!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Too noisy for an intimate dinner. Food was great, but a bit overpriced for the place .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

What an incredible place Edi and the Wolf is! The menu changes seasonally, so all the food is fresh. It's tucked away on Avenue C and 7th, so definitely a great neighborhood joint. I had corn soup and short ribs that was beyond delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Awesome spot to catch up with friends. Good food and wine. Unique vibe with a cool bar. Could stay there for hours!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

gem in the ruff. great place. great food . nice atmosphere. small place. seating was a bit cramped. but overall we have good seats. there for restaurant week. choices were made and the waiter offered a wine off the menu since we were not familiar happened to be a great choice (had three glasses) the food was GREAT EVERYTHING WE HAD ENJOYED FULLY. it took a bit of time for the entrees to arrive the waiter offered us a drink on them for the wait. we left satisfied and asked to see the brunch menu , we will be returning next month for the brunch birthdays. will be a favorite place to go.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Group of 5 for restaurant week. 3 ordered the restaurant week menu and 2 did not. Apparently that was a problem and we were told we had to do 2 separate checks. All of us ordered a starter but the 3 restaurant week dishes came first and they were finished by the time the other 2 starters showed up. Not sure why they couldn't stage all of them together as the rest. weeks were salads. Same challenge with the main courses.... the 3 restaurant weeks came first (all schnitzel) and after waiting at least 15 minutes we inquired when we would receive the other 2 mains only to be told that due to ordering off different menus caused the delay - however one of them was schnitzel (the other short rib) and we were all confused as to why the kitchen couldn't execute the order all together?!?! I can understand if the restaurant was extremely busy that it might be difficult but it was only half full at it's busiest whilst we were there.

And the kicker to the entire service snafu was when we asked for our check the server offered to just give us one check if we'd prefer (HUH???).

We all enjoyed our food and the atmosphere but the service was perplexing and due to that we will not be recommending this restaurant or returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Communal table was cramped, I was bumping elbows with the people on each side of me. I would come back if I could sit at my own table or at the bar. Food was good and the ambiance is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was amazing. I am still thinking about the beef carpaccio. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've been To Edi and the Wolf multiple time, mostly for Sunday brunch. It is a total hidden gem. The decor is like a sunken fishing ship with a large rope draped over the bar. Quiet and great lighting make it a great intimate location, but size and table arrangement make it great for a larger group as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

What a cool place. We were seated inside by right next to their open front so it felt like we were outside too. The food was food, filling but not leaving us overstuffed. I would absolutely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Oysters were a bit small. Drink prices were decent for happy hour. The first course was arguably the best. Second course was a big let down and dessert was as expected. Great ambiance but service could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

great food. tight, tight, tight table set up. would only go back if I got a table on the
side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Small menu, which may be tricky if anyone in your party is picky. That said, they have some basic menu items which would satisfy ALL

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The place was quaint and seemed like a good place for the people in the neighborhood. The food was good and the service was very attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Stopped in for a Sunday brunch, and was greeted by Eddie and family, who were getting everything set up. After a friendly chat and a couple of excellent Bloody Mary's, went for the Wolf burger. I rarely order burgers out, and am rarely impressed when I do, but this one was excellent. Perfectly cooked, the bun tasty and well toasted, but most importantly the rest of the ingredients on the burger not only tastily prepared but in perfect balance. The house ketchup was zesty and a nice bonus. Would definitely go back for the burger, but looking forward to trying the other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was good and the ambiance was lovely. The service was a bit odd - some of the staff very friendly and warm, though our wait-staff was ... less so.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Who knew Austrian food could be so light and subtle? The schnitzel was amazing, but so was the apple strudel. We will go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My favorite place in the East Village!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food is always excellent here. Very fresh, authentic and yet creatively prepared, and delicious. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the seating. The place is small and cramped, which is to be expected in NYC, esp. in a casual place, and if you are along the bank seating it's fine - but the folding chairs are just not comfortable (besides providing no cushioning, just wooden chairs) . They are somewhat low and the back support leans a bit too far back, so you can never really lean on it (and it also makes for tough passing through since they thus protrude more into the narrow aisle spaces). We all love this place and have been here several times for the food - but I'd really suggest getting more comfortable - and practical - chairs. For the quality and price of the food, seating should be more comfortable. Even so, we'll likely be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Edi and The Wolf was ideal for meeting friends for an outdoor brunch. Good drinks and wines and high-quality food. I want to go back for an evening meal as dinner probably allows for greater culinary expression of their Austrian roots.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Dad in town :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

A nice little restaurant situated in an old garage that opens out to the street, Edi and the Wolf was the perfect spot for a nice Sunday brunch. Reservations were easy (and perhaps unnecessary) but the place did start filling up as we left around 1pm. The eggs florentine was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The service was terrible! The waitress was the worst and the food, nothing special. This in NYC why put up with that when there are so many wonderful options. It's not like it was free.☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Best New York Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Austrian food has now become one of my favorites! If you are not sure what to order, ASK! The staff is really good at recomrnding plates and whatever you do, always order the specials! The place is super cozy, perfect for some Austrian wines. This will be my go to place from now on.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Edi & The Wolf is one of my East Village favorites for European cuisine. The vibe is very authentic and the food is beyond solid. The service is great and I would highly recommend this as an addition to anyone's regular East Village list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It was great food....we had their specialty veal with brussel sprouts and oysters....delicious....a must try and a cozy restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food is always solid and very good. Service is great, unpretentious, friendly and down to earth (whether we bring our baby or not! This is priceless for me and not a given in the east village, LES area). We come here all the time. The shnitzel is my go-to. The octopus and the spatzle are also excellent. The cocktails are creative and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful chic East Village Austrian spot with great food lively ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I really liked this place. The waitress was very attentive and the door was super interesting. The food was amazing and as a plus they let a girl and a man with a guitar come in a perform a song while I was there, which was awesome! Definitely a place to check out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.