About Edi and The Wolf

102 Avenue C
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Edi & The Wolf is the East Village spinoff from Michelin Starred Chefs Eduard Frauneder and Wolf Ban. Inspired by the traditional eastern Austrian wine tavern known as a Heuriger, the rustic establishment boasts a cozy dining room and an outdoor garden area ideal for dates, group dinners, brunches, and everything in between. The rustic decor is balanced with impeccably prepared dishes, resembling fine dining in this casual spot. In addition to an extensive Austrian wine collection, the restaurant also boasts classic comfort dishes like Schnitzel and Spaetzle as well as new spins on traditional Austrian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Contemporary German, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 598-1040

Website:
http://www.ediandthewolf.com/

Catering:
please visit our website
info@elderberrycatering.com

Public Transit:
F train 2nd Stop at Houston Street
L train 1st Ave at 14th Street
M 14D comes down Ave C from 14th Street
M 9 comes from China Town

Executive Chef:
Eduard Frauneder

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Edi and The Wolf
  • Edi and The Wolf
  • Edi and The Wolf
  • Edi and The Wolf
  • Edi and The Wolf
  • Edi and The Wolf
  • Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf
Edi and The Wolf

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:45PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:45PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Edi and The Wolf Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I came here to celebrate my birthday, an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I came here to celebrate my birthday, and we had an amazing experience. The service was perfect--attentive and helpful, with lots of bread refills (we were hungry!). Delicious food--get the spatzle! What won me over though was the round of birthday shots for the table. Night made.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance and decor. The food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decor. The food was delicious as well! I had the schnitzel and it was amazing! The wine that was suggested to us was quite smooth as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Not what it was!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not what it was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Interesting food in an up and coming nei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Interesting food in an up and coming neighborhood. Waitress was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was quite good. Tasty and inter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was quite good. Tasty and interesting. But the service was hectic and confused and they were not able to handle multiple people paying.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was surprisingly incredible. Would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was surprisingly incredible. Would liked to have had drinks too, but the company was not in the mood (no big deal)-- would love to come back! Restaurant was pretty loud though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Cool vibe

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great vibe, decor and indoor / outdoor garden feel. The food was mostly very tasty. The down side was that the brunch choices are quite limited in terms of healthy options. I went for the poached eggs and wheatberry salad as it sounded healthiest but there was so much wheatberry grain and it was far too salty. Their potatoes are delicious, as was the sharing pizza with egg and ricotta. We ordered one thing with substitutions, which the kitchen got wrong twice, despite there not being many people in the restaurant, so that was a bit of a disappointment. I would give the place another go though - probably for dinner this time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

brillant chef!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

While had very good references, I have not only confirmed , but also those they have overcome . Congratulations to the owners for having achieved this excellent proposal with his brilliant Chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dissappointing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were a group of 10 , and we all know how hard it is to find a place for Brunch in NYC for a large group! So i chose to reserve through Open Table! I had had better experiences before, but this time we waited for 45/50 minutes to get our food, and the place wasn't event packed at all . And once we got our food, it was small quantities and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Beautiful dishes and great ambiance.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful dishes and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chose dinner instead of brunch & glad we did

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were seated in the back garden, a funky and totally delightful space, which was pleasant even when filled to capacity. Our server was attentive & helpful and our meal completely unhurried. We had the wiener schnitzel (veal version), the melt-in-your-mouth short ribs, the house made pommes frites and apple strudel for dessert. All very good ---- and accompanied by a good wine list. One of the more pleasant dining experiences in a city where crowding & noise too often rule

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beyond expectations.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I am from SC and came to NY for a trip with some friends. I chose Edi and the Wolf purely because of the show Knife Fight. We arrived early and they seated us immediately. The cocktails, food, and service were all fantastic. I have a culinary degree and was so excited to get traditional Austrian food prepared the right way. It was all amazing. Both of my dining guests agreed with me when I said that it was the best part of our NY trip. Will definitely go back if I head up North again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. Food ok. Waitress diseng ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Disappointing. Food ok. Waitress disengaged. Did not feel welcome. Couldn't wait to leave. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We went for brunch. I must say that alth ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for brunch. I must say that although the food was good, the flatbread appetizer was the best dish of all. Everything else was just scrambled eggs and bacon. Seriously, for a bill that came to $150 for 4 people, I honestly expected something a little more. Austrian? I don't think so; more like the diner across from my apartment. But the staff was lovely and welcoming and we enjoyed it nonetheless. Perhaps dinner is better; the place does have some good reviews. But don't expect the same kind of meal for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I love the ambience and the decor! It's ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the ambience and the decor! It's like dining in the jungle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very personable and attentive - - A Nice Time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We were five that grew to six. Everything went smoothly. Food was fine. We had a pleasant time. Price was the same as lots of other NY restaurants that you go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

great evening

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

great food, excellent professional and friendly service, charming ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Greatjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkf ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Greatjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkffkfkfkfkkfkfkffjhdhdbdbdbdbdbdbdbfbfbfnfnfjdndjd. D. F f. F f f f f fridkkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkkfjffjfhsndjsndnxnxndndjdjdjcjxjjxjdjddkkdkfkffkfkfkfkfkkffkfkfkfkkfkfkffjhdhdbdbdbdbdbdbdbfbfbfnfnfjdndjd. D. F f. F f f f f fridkkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkfkkfjffjfhsndjsndnxnxndnd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable food, ok service, funky space.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyable food, ok service, funky space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic date spot in Alphabet city.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The wine list is extensive, and even found something for someone who doesn't like German/Austrian wines. The food itself is amazing - get the flatbread as an appetizer. Heard the octopus was great too.

The chicken option was perfect, as well as the spatzel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent!! Such an authent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was excellent!! Such an authentic schnitzel and delicious creamy spätzle. I went with my German inlaws and they loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Woneedful meal

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Loved the food as did my Austrian husband! The schnitzel Spaetzle wasfantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find .. but don't miss the door

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great decor and food. Awesome beer and nice size portions. Enjoy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A great find in Alphabet City

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We were staying nearby and took a chance, based on favorable reviews. We are so glad we did. Unusual but appealing décor, great food and fine service. We loved the pickled vegetables, the ribs and the schnitzel. We took dessert home (apple strudel and the almond cake). Both were divine and travelled well. I smile thinking of our time at Edi and the Wolf!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious !

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

This spot is excellent in every way. Mainly it is

a delicious meal, a real treat these days !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique decor, great value for the qualit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Unique decor, great value for the quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointed this time

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I have eaten dinner at this restaurant twice before and everything was delicious but the brunch was tasteless and boring. I ordered a frittata with seasonal vegetables - the omelet was flat with a sparse spattering of vegetables. While my husband was eating his bread, the waiter came by and removed his plate. The drinks should have come first but arrived after we started eating. The coffee and espresso was lukewarm and undrinkable. Not a great experience and won't be returning for brunch again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Always love going here. Truly a neighborhood gem.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Every item on the short menu is fantastic. It really reminds you how great a short menu. It's Austrian food but with a gourmet twist...and after you have had that, going back to regular Austrian food just isn't an option. Besides all the good things I can say about the food and unique tasteful decor, the last time I went was a big hit for service reasons. I put in my note on the Open Table reservation that I would really appreciate a solo table. The hostess read the request and accommodated my guest and I without even a reminder about it. We got to share the couch side of the table and really have a nice comfortable "cuddle" with our meal. Sounds cheesy, but its our preferable eating style and in a place that's cozy like Edi it really is great. Obviously this can't always happen, but this last time it did and it caused me to write my first and probably only review I'll write. Haha! So, thanks Edi and the Wolf. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, yummy, beauitful.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I had a great night. The service is really good, the space is very beautiful and informal but with a lot of style. The food was great and overall is a place I'd go back anytime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good but not great

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

edi and the wolf is really cute and a definite hot spot. we went on friday at 8:15 and were seated around 30 minutes late for our reservation. the food was just OK. the drinks there and at their sister bar were kind of meh... i wouldn't go back, but it was good to experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We had a very enjoyable meal. There were 6 of us and all enjoyed our apps (oysters, brussel sprouts, octopus) - as well as our main courses (wiener schnitzel, arctic char, braised ribs). Dessert was great too! There were not a lot of options on the menu but they do offer something for everyone (fish, meat, veggies). The bar area is small but they offered a nice menu of speciatly drinks. It's not a big place although there is a back area with some tables. The restaurant is decorated in a rustic manner and is adorable. We had a 6:45 reservation & the place was packed by 7:30. There is a long communal table where most of the two person reservations were seated. There is no sign outside the restaurant that we saw so make sure you have the address. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything here is amazing. Walk into a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Everything here is amazing. Walk into a space hidden behind a garden. Great cocktails and incredibly thoughtful and balanced menus. Easily one of my top three restaurants in the city and somewhere I always take visitors if they have time to see only one NYC restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for a table in the main dining area

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We were seated in the back and it was awkward at first until more people showed up. No music in the back room. Server was wonderful and the food was delicious. Great spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, overpriced wine list

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

It's the most authentic Austrian food in New York; the Schnitzel is pork, as it should be, and the Liptauer has a nice round flavor though it could use a bit more caraway. The apple strudel was outstanding. Unfortunately, the wine list is pricey --- an Austrian Wirtshaus, which this place is aiming to be,must have affordable wine options.

Tags: Brunch, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, fun environment, service was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food, fun environment, service was pretty poor. Actually were wanting a second drink, but the waitress never came back to the table until the bill. Overall I would still recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We went for NYE, very busy and not enoug ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for NYE, very busy and not enough space for people to comfortably move around. Food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious and special

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We reserved a table for New Year's Eve in the early evening, and the restaurant was just great. Delicious food, attentive service and a warm winter atmosphere that we were looking for! Felt snug in a good way. It was a fixed menu because of the holiday, but our server accommodated a couple of our special requests, gave us perfect wine recommendations and overall made the night a total blast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, warm and friendly. The food was wonderful!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We picked this little gem for its coziness and decor and it delivered!!! The food was unique and delicious. We wish there was a better selection of wine...but the whole experience was amazing! We will return for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the crispy octopus appetizer was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

While the crispy octopus appetizer was a bit small for $16, it was none the less delicious. The grapefruit was something I've never had with octopus before, and it was a great pairing. The entrees (Spaetzle and true Weiner Schnitzle) were both fantastic and really just like grandma makes. Cocktails were creative and delicious and the atmosphere was perfect for a nice dinner or grabbing a few cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A little bit of Austria in Alphabet City

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Our group of four squeezed into the crowded space and settled in for a pleasant evening. We each ordered a different main course so that we could sample the spaetzle, schnitzel, pappardelle and gnocchi. The Austrian white wine was delicious. I can see why Edi and the Wolf is popular with all ages. The only down side was the noise level and having my chair bumped repeatedly by the servers, but it is a very cool spot with yummy food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.