About Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

300 Mountain Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J2
View Larger Map

Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Oct-May: Wednesday - Sunday: 6pm - 9pm (check reservations for closure days)
June-Sept: : 6pm - 9:30pm Daily

Cross Street:
300 Mountain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-1848

Website:
http://www.rimrockresort.com/

Public Transit:
Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule.

http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf

Private Party Facilities:
Our private Bordeaux room with stunning views is available for up to 12 guests

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
15 More
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Eden is a top notch dining experience. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Eden is a top notch dining experience. OMG! I reserved a table citing that we were celebrating a milestone bday and from the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were treated to the best customer experience ever including several surprises from the chef throughout the night. Unbelievable. I highly recommend Eden for a classy and amazing food experience. The food was out of this world delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was top notch from start ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The experience was top notch from start to finish. We were there celebrating my mom's 60th birthday and were given the back private room with the most unbelievable views. We ordered the tasting menu and unlike almost every other fine dining tasting menu, the restaurant was not only happy to accommodate food sensitivities but also swap any dish from the a la carts menu. The food was as good as the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From artistic presentation, impeccable s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

From artistic presentation, impeccable service, excellent menu and delectable food and drink topped by the majestic view our evening was a memorable experience. Highly recommended. Too bad we don't have Michelin stars.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I dined at this restaurant d ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I dined at this restaurant during our tour of Canada. The service and most of the food was superb. We chose to have three courses with accompanying wine selection. The quality of the food and presentation was excellent with some nice added touches of complimentary pre course tasters.

My wife had the Scallops to start which she really enjoyed and I had the herb flan which was well presented, although not as tasty as expected and was spoilt due to containing a small pebble!

For our main courses we both had Brant Lake Wagyu which was fantastic. To finish, my wife had cheese and I had citrus, both of which were lovely.

This is a fine dining restaurant with great food and service. The existence of a pebble in my starter was unacceptable and was not handled well by the waiter who dismissed it as one of those things that can happen when food is served in a slate platter. The offending pebble was not a piece of the slate. In my opinion, they should have been very apologetic and made an adjustment in the cost of the meal. Had it not been for this, I would have rated it 5 star.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romance, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. We were seated at a window table with a fantastic view. We each chose the 3-course menu with the Classic wine pairing. It did not disappoint in the slightest. We each chose a different app, main, and dessert, with wine for each course, and everything was incredible. The service throughout our 2.5 hour dining experience was unbeatable. Everywhere else looks cheap and shoddy compared to Eden.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience and meal. Wines on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful experience and meal. Wines on tasting menu were excellent. Views were spectacular. The only recommendation to improve the overall experience would be for management to change the music played during the meal. The Jazz and other music selections were terrible!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience! Staff wer ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful experience! Staff were attentive and courteous, adding a personal touch to the service. The food was incredible - definitely try the Elk tartare. The location and view could not have been better. They even drove us back to our hotel instead of calling for a taxi. Consider this place for any extra special occasion, or even if you simply need an escape for a few hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prettiest, most delicious meal I hav ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The prettiest, most delicious meal I have ever enjoyed!! Pricey and worth every penny! Gorgeous, innovative, creative presentations as well as delicious! Can't wait to come back. Service was impeccable.view is breathtaking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We can hardly see smiley face on the ser ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We can hardly see smiley face on the servers who attended our table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Incredible place; jaw-dropping views of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Incredible place; jaw-dropping views of the Canadian Rockies, gourmet experience in every way. Service was first class, wine list was outstanding, and although the restaurant is pricey (certainly by Banff standards), it's actually a good value. I would rate this one of the best meals I've ever had anywhere-- and I'm a NY'er!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We spent our anniversary here and it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We spent our anniversary here and it was absolutely beautiful! The staff were so attentive and helpful. The food was beautifully presented and everything tasted amazing. I highly recommend the chocolate dessert. Truly 5 star dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eden is a world class restaurant. Not to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Eden is a world class restaurant. Not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As German-Swiss visitors of our Canadian ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

As German-Swiss visitors of our Canadian friends we planned to invite them for his 71st birthday and their forthcoming 50th wedding anniversary. Therefore we were looking for an adaquate, specaial resraurant on our trip from Calgary to Vancouver with a stop in Banff. As we had never been to this area before and nobody could give us a recommendation, we looked into the internet and found your restaurant over TRIPADVISOR. We were a little bit hesitant, as we were not sure if the comments were objective and what we could really expect. All the more we were very surprised and overwhelmed by the eveing we spent at Eden-Rimrock by:

the highly professional and attentive service,

the fantastic, outstanding and very creative menue,

the impressive wine list

the tasteful and pleasant ambiance,

and last but not least the magnificient view!

It was not only for our Canadian friends a memorable and unique dinner, but also for us, as we had not expected such a high class cuisine in Canada. We also very much appreciated that you could seat us at that lovely table at the window with the fantastic view over the surrounding mountains.

It will be our big pleasure to further recommend the Restaurant of Eden-Rimrock. Thank you very much for a delightful experience!

P.S. In our personal opinion the quality and the high standard of the cuisine at Eden-Rimrock suprassed that of the top restaurant Gary Danko in San Francisco, which we visited in 2013.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived, we felt take ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

From the moment we arrived, we felt taken care of. From the hostess who took our coats, to several staff members who helped serve us throughout the evening. They were friendly, yet professional at all times. The food was excellent, and the view of the valley from our table by the window was spectacular. At the end of the evening the hostess gave us a gift of banana bread to take home, then arranged the in-house car service to take us back to our hotel. We are already making plans to return tot he area and to visit Eden again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were given a lovely privat ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My wife and I were given a lovely private room to celebrate with our parents because we just got married. The staff went above and beyond to make the occasion special. The food and company were amazing. Eden even drove my fathers sun glasses back to our hotel because he forgot them. Couldn't have asked for a better night out to celebrate a wonderful step in life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding everything. It isn't simply ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding everything. It isn't simply a meal, it's an experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for our pre-anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went there for our pre-anniversary celebration. Stunning view. Probably the only restaurant that can be genuinely regarded as a fine dining place in Banff, in terms of the dining environment, deco, view, service and the sophistication of the dishes. Servers were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. We tried the tasting menu which is extremely good, especially the crab leg salad and lobster. The only issue we had was that the two pieces of venison tenderloin as main course were a bit too much to us, as we are only capable of handling much less than a typical "North American portion". The tasting menu comes with various wine pairing options but I didn't try as I needed to drive back to our hotel. At the end, the manager gave us a couple of nice small fruit cake as a present for our anniversary. Very thoughtful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The dinning experience, ambience and ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The dinning experience, ambience and service was outstanding. Unfortunately the food was way below par for a five star Restauraunt. For a total bill of $900.00 we hoped and expected superb food quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Perhaps the BEST restaurant experience I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Perhaps the BEST restaurant experience I have had, including good-great restaurants on every continent.

The food was exquisite - we went with the tasting menu which was 7 courses.

The service, from the Maitre D who met us at our car, to the serving staff to the sommelier - was excellent. We never felt crowded or rushed, yet they were always available. The wine list is incredible.

A special shout out to the kitchen staff who we got to meet after dinner.

Last but not least, reserve and ask for a window seat. The view is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our first wedding anniversary at Eden. The service was OUTSTANDING and the food was wonderful and interesting. Our sommelier did an excellent job finding beautiful wines to pair with our meal. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! From the service to the food and th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wow! From the service to the food and the view. Spectacular! We had the tasting menu and it was amazing. So glad we decided to celebrate our anniversary here. Did not care for our drink server...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best food experiences I've ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best food experiences I've had, particularly coupled with the dining room's view to the mountains. In fact, the interior seems to be deliberately mundane as no decoration could ever compete with the scenery. The food was superb - from the amuse bouches (there were 2), to the bread plate (you can tell a lot about a place from the bread plate), through the best scallop appetizer I have ever tasted, exquisite Wagyu beef, cheeses and finishing with the chocolate/coconut dessert. My partner was enthralled as well, though felt her lamb entree portion was on the meager side. My only slight complaints were noise levels - very loud two tables away and the sommelier actually egged the party on - and the champagne cart. The latter was also experienced in another nearby restaurant (is this a Banfff thing?) and is really intrusive. Immediately after sitting down, the sommelier brings a cart topped with different champagnes offered at $17-$60+ per glass. In my view, this is an unwelcome hard sell to customers who are about to spend over $300 anyway. Anyway, upon leaving we were presented with wrapped hunks of wonderful banana bread which we enjoyed later in the week. My quibblings aside, Eden truly is a one of a kind experience. Take your credit card and go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I had gone for our annive ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I had gone for our anniversary, and did the vegetarian tasting menu. Overall the food was good, but I think that the options could have been a lot better, and maybe a little more filling rather than all just vegetables done different ways. Maybe some kind of pasta or quinoa or rice dish would have been more satisfying.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic from the moment we arrived. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic from the moment we arrived. Greeted at door with complimentary valet. Asked about any food allergies/dislikes at entry to restaurant. In all, we probably had 6 or 7 different people check on us throughout the evening. Food quality was excellent from starter right through to the dessert. First class all the way, one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back if/when in Banff again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have ever been too! The views alone are worth going for but the food is absolutely delicious. This is accompanied by an extensive wine list and all delivered by incredible service from the team there. The friendly and knowledgable waiting staff really made our night. My wife is a celiac and they catered for her every need. Eden provides more than just a meal, it provides a culinary experience and I would fully recommend anyone going to see for themselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife got sick after having the appeti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife got sick after having the appetizer so we left. The entre was sent to our room but she was too sick to eat it. We were very excited to dine at a 5 diamond restaurant but after that experience, I don't think we will go back or recommend it to anyone.

The staff, however, were great. They gave us a surprise desert because we were on our honeymoon. (My wife couldn't have that either)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant should have at least 1 M ...

 
 (Österreich)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant should have at least 1 Michelin star. The vegetarian tasting menue was awesome 🙂

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the vegetarian tasting menu and i ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had the vegetarian tasting menu and it was incredible! Each course was a unique and wonderful surprise, full of amazing flavours and artfully presented. The service was very good and they even drove us back to our hotel after dinner. We would absolutely recommend Eden to anyone celebrating a special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top of the class services and view. A bi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Top of the class services and view. A bit pricy for food

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolute top notch fine dining! Service ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolute top notch fine dining! Service and atmosphere created by staff was amazing and truly genuine. We celebrated our engagement in Eden and it was perfect. I can say with confidence that other future dining experiences will be chasing after ours at Eden. Go with someone special...to experience something special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our wedding meal there last year ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had our wedding meal there last year and decided to go back again for our anniversary and my husbands birthday meal. What can I say it's just an amazing experience and the food is exceptional. It's not just a meal it's an eating experience. The staff are excellent warm and inviting and Gusto humour made our evening even better. Looking forward to going back for a third time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Eden restaurant for my p ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We dined at the Eden restaurant for my partners 30th and had an amazing evening. The food was sensational and the staff were very attentive and clearly passionate about the service they were providing. I would definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food with a fabulous view. Veg ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic food with a fabulous view. Vegetarian tasting menu with wines was excellent, the chef is very talented, the best food we had in Canada. The staff were wonderful and we were made to feel special. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We didn't really know what to expect, bu ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We didn't really know what to expect, but we both were completely blown away by how amazing this experience was!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service par excellence, even before we s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service par excellence, even before we stepped into the restaurant. An invitation was sent to our hotel room on the afternoon of the dinner. The food was exquisite but it was the service that outshone everything else. We were pampered like house guests at a private party. A truly memorable affair.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I can say is absolutely amazing - fr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

All I can say is absolutely amazing - from the food and presentation to the service and then the gorgeous view! Servers were most helpful in answering any questions about food and liquor. The presentation of the delicious food was awesome - couldn't wait for the next course to arrive. We were able to enjoy our dinner and weren't rushed during our 4 courses - yes 4! You could even have a 10 course extravaganza - perhaps next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite fine dining experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed the summer tasting menu paired with the classic pairing. Food was unbelievable as always. Sommelier did a fantastic job pairing wines with every item on the menu. Amazing job done by the hostess and maitre-d. A superb fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food prepared pefectly and presented beautifully.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The nice surprise of 2 amuse bouche and both were perfect. The breads and butters were also perfect. The main dish was impressive and presented beautifully. the desserts were creative and presented beautifully as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were really excited about this reserv ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were really excited about this reservation for our anniversary! While the view was amazing, the food, ambience and general experience were just "ok". The restaurant was "dead" for a Friday evening and lacked a bit of excitement and atmosphere because it was sooooo quiet. We tried the pairing/tasting menu - while all of the dishes were good - nothing really amazed us. Our bill, for two, was $700 - that was the strongest taste left in our mouths. Quite overpriced and underwhemled… Try somewhere else!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

AMAZING WONDERFUL NIGHT!!!!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our first ever fine dining experience(something we always talk of doing). It was MORE than anything we could have imagined. We will do it again at Eden, and it also pleased us so much that we will continue doing such date nights every so often at similar places in different towns and countries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.