Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.

300 Mountain Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Oct-May: Wednesday - Sunday: 6pm - 9pm (check reservations for closure days)
June-Sept: : 6pm - 9:30pm Daily

Cross Street:
300 Mountain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-1848

Website:
http://www.rimrockresort.com/

Public Transit:
Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule.

http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf

Private Party Facilities:
Our private Bordeaux room with stunning views is available for up to 12 guests

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Scenic View (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food and service. Celebrated our anniversary and we felt special and pampered throughout the evening. Chef's tasting menu with wine pairing is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant for an incredible foodie evening. Chad and all the rest of wonderful staff at Eden make you feel like royalty with plenty of surprises throughout the evening while you enjoy the best view of the Rocky Mountains.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a fantastic night to spend with my wife for her birthday and Mother's Day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We came for the food and view. Started well. But 3rd course took 25 minutes to arrive (our server disappeared, and the other servers / maitre d'hotel did not pick up the slack). Restaurant was not too busy to provide backup (maybe 6 or 7 tables had guests). Food was good, not top notch on the night we visited--attractive plates, but a bit bland. Good wine pairings. Unbelievable view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My daughter and I made an overnight trip to the mountains to hike and enjoy each other's company. We booked our dinner at the Eden dining room before arriving and are so glad we did. We thoroughly enjoyed the vegetarian sampler menu, the awesome service of the sommelier, and the excellent attention paid to us having a fabulous experience by all of the serving staff. The views out the window are simply incomparable. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 27, 2017

If you have the $$ this place is just phenomenal, from the view, to the service, food and sommelier. Service was professional yet friendly and there was no rush for the table! We will be remembering our first meal there for many years to come!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Bath)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A superb choice for mine and my fiancee engagement dinner. The food was incredicble and the service was outstanding. The waiting staff attention to detail was attentive without being intrusive. It was worth the expense as the dinning experience included a chauffeur service back to our hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What an amazing experience. The pairings were great and the entire Eden team was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have done my share of fine dining in New York, Paris, and Italy and Eden is comparable to any meal I have had in those places. Top 5 for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 24, 2017

An absolutely gorgeous restaurant with a beautiful view. Our wait staff was incredible - very friendly, knowledgable and professional. The food was to die for, we often found ourselves saying "now THIS is our favourite course" which would change as soon as we got the next one. The wine pairings are very well thought out and add a whole extra dimension to the meal. I would come again without hesitation the next time I'm in Banff if my wallet allowed. Obviously a restaurant of this calibre will come at a higher price, however Eden shows you why they deserve what they charge. Not one complaint from our experience, everything was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I have eaten at restaurants all around the world and have very high expectations when I dine out - this restaurant with its exquisite food and unobtrusive and impeccable service hits every mark. I enjoyed the chef's tasting menu and each course dazzled and delighted in its creativity and flavor. I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Tip: if you reserve your table for a 6pm or 6:30pm seating, you can request a table by the window - stunning view of the mountains!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely dining experience. Innovative cuisine served in a simply beautiful setting overlooking the mountains

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not enough words in the world to describe the experience, service and wine. It''s perfect to celebrate what we had as a 25th wedding annaversary falling over valantine 2015. The meals are original fantastic, but french cusine. Sometimes I had to look for my magnifying glass to see what's on the plate. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Incredible wine selection. Some good suggestions on pairings though I'd encourage you to trust your own palette.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fine dining in a (relatively) relaxed atmosphere. The staff were outstanding and the food was some of the best I have had in Canada. Interesting combinations of flavours and textures and the wine pairings balanced beautifully with the food. One of the pairing selections was not to my partner's taste and the staff substituted a perfect wine after gentle quizzing her as to her preferences. Our initial reservation was for a celebration, but we had such a great experience we returned for dinner the following night. Eden earns it's rating as the top restaurant in Banff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very attentive service. A few great surprises thrown in!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to Eden as a family because one of my children is a super big foodie (age 11). My other son is a budding vegetarian. The staff did an absolutely awesome job of making each and every one of my family feel like they were the most special person in the restaurant that evening!! I know that it was an expensive meal but from my point of view worth every penny spent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service was incredible. Gustavo Rodriguez served our table and I would say that he is the best waiter we have ever had.
The food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This experience was flawless from start to finish. The staff were all courteous, friendly, and engaging. The view - spectacular. The ambience - romantic and inspiring. The food - divine. We ordered the four course meal, and were not disappointed! If you're on the fence about dining here - DO IT. It will be, hands down, the most amazing dining experience. Guaranteed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

An amazing dinner, one of the very best I have ever had, it was so worth the trip . Will use this many times over the years. Excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

If there is a better fine dining experience I am yet to discover it. I highly recommend Eden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was mostly good. The wait times between wine pours and food pairing was unusually long. The food was below average for the class of restaurant. The sommelier was very knowledgeable about wines, being the high point. I would be embarrassed to bring a client here however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic everything but portions too small. If it weren't for the bread we would have left hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Going to Eden is not simply going to dinner but a full experience. The food presentation is exquisite and the depth of flavours are wonderful. Service is very attentitive but not invasive. The Eden Wine Pairing allowed us to try some amazing wines. Overall, we had a wonderful meal, great wines and a very memorable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

looking forward to our next visit.We are always so well looked after.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our experience at Eden restaurant was amazing just like all of the other time we went. If you are a foodie and want a really nice experience, I recommend that you try Eden and try their tasting menu with wine pairing. Your palette will be blown away with unusual flavours. The chefs really create pieces of art with their food, it's beautiful to look at and delicious to eat. I've never been disappointed at Eden and the services is always outstanding. I know that fancy restaurants are usually know to be "snobby" but not Eden, you will get high class service but in a friendly and approachable way! We love it and it's our tradition to go once a year for a special date night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2016

For the very first time we were disappointed with Eden. Perhaps it was our fault for choosing an evening where the meal was at a "special" price. It was fairly busy and took two requests to have the sommelier visit our table. In the past service has been impeccable, but this time our water glasses were not kept filled. The first two courses were very good, but the scallops were only browned on one side, not both. Where our biggest disappointment occurred was with the main course--the Brant Lake Wagyu beef. Wagyu beef should be fork tender, but ours was very sinewy. My husband had to spit some of his meat out. Having ordered this dish previously, I was expecting to see the edge of the plate garnished with fancy accompaniments. This was not the case as the edge was empty. It was still a fancy meal, but it was evident where the costs were cut to be able to provide the meal at the reduced price. We will return, but only when the regular menu is being served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Four of us went out for a real treat and had the four course meal with wine pairings. What an amazing evening. The food was spectacular but the friendliness and knowledge of the waitstaff made the night unforgettable. Our compliments to the chef and we want to thank Chad and Robert for making the adventure so memorable.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The staff, the decor, the food and the eden pairings with the grand degustation....we enjoy the full experience at the Eden room everytime time we visit Banff. Over the last 6 years we have only had the most splendid time. Each and every time the wait staff and the kitchen surpass our expectations. The Michelin guide must come to Canada so The Eden Room can be awarded 3 stars. Comparable to Per Se or Jean-george in NYC. A must when in Banff for those with taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

tiny portion, set tasting menus which offered little choice, overpriced for what was received. I am familar with wines and these have the highest markup I have seen

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wow! We had our wedding dinner here 5 years ago and now our anni dinner. I'm vegan and my husband's particular on quality. AMAZING! Beautiful food, lovely attention from staff. We did not order off the menu and just trusted them to bring us 5 courses of WONDERFUL. Thank you EDEN for my beautiful vegan fine dining experience and for the amazing dinner my husband had. :)

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Vegan, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The whole experience was perfect - food, wine, service, view, ambience - we had a wonderful evening - it was exquisite. Even though this is not advertised as a restaurant for kids, everyone paid special attention to our 8 year old son and made him feel welcome and part of the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Incredible service and wonderful food. Was a perfect restaurant to spend our honeymoon at.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Can't say enough about the service, the food, the ambiance. The whole experience at Eden was spectacular. We indulged on the Grand Degustation experience which was 10 courses of delicious-ness. Presentation of the food is amazing and we had a special treat with the palate cleansing granite - would like to share but must leave some secrets for the next people who indulge. Staff is amazing and very knowledgeable with descriptions of each of the wines chosen and the food presented (love when they describe what you are eating).

Overall an amazing experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Embarrassingly pretentious. The wait staff went out of their way to speak loudly when discussions of food and wine were occurring. The couple next to us was admonished for selecting a wine in the 200$ range. A couple two tables away was chastised for asking if they could share an item. When my wine pairings arrived, the sommelier was very loud, almost boastfully arrogant with his descriptions. Sadly,it was all for show. My Elk tartar was bland and greasy. My "wagyu" showed no marbling and was more chared than the medium rare ordered. This was our wedding anniversary. We skipped dessert and tried to leave the restaurant without another scene from the employees. Great views of the mountains. I want my over $300 back.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were very excited to spend our anniversary dinner at Eden. Unfortunately the experience did not live up to our expectations, especially given the steep prices. Canapé starter of crab was fishy, husband couldn't eat it. Bread, especially GF was excellent. Trout canapé again, very fishy and tasted off. Bison tartar was inedible for me, and my husband ate it and was ill the next day. Herb flan appetizer was unique and outstanding. Main courses, lamb was fantastic but my husbands Bison was inedible, salty, tough and tasted off. Dessert was the berries, which was 80% flavourless gelatin. In addition my husbands water needed to be replaced, we were drinking bottled water and he said his water tasted like coal oil. What was good was outstanding, was wasn't was awful. Very, very expensive for the mixed review.

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Special Occasion Dinner Music that night:

'Cause wham bam you broke my heart and I hope that you had fun
(Wham bam thank you ma'am) Hope you're satisfied
You took my heart and tore it apart you hurt me deep inside
I'll never be a fool again you really crushed my pride
(Wham bam thank you ma'am) Hope you're satisfied

Perhaps edit the songs off the soundtrack that don't fit with special occasion dining.

Somehow I accidentally insulted the Sommelier in one sentence asking about the restaurant? and that tainted the evening negatively by 5-10%. My bad. My apologies.

Food was great, interesting and beautifully presented. Table was fabulous. Location was stunning. Time of day was perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the food!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful evening! We were at Eden two years ago, and loved the reserved, formal meal. This time, with 2 other couples, we were having a lively evening and the service staff perfectly matched our atmosphere. The food and wine were wonderful on both occasions, and the view is world class. That said, while the service was outstanding on both of our visits, the true testament to their skill was the ability in both instances to match their involvement to that of the table.

An outstanding evening (again).

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Absolutely breathtaking views of the valley, bow river, Banff Springs etc.
The food was exquisite. Perfect portions artistic in presentation. Perfectly timed with pleasant server recommendations.
The ambiance is first class.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience… four of us had the four course dinner with Eden wine pairings. While pricey, the food and wine were outstanding. The serving team consisted of four people who were attentive, well-informed, entertaining and funny - they included a serving team assisted by the maître d' and sommelier. This restaurant has received and deserves many accolades. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.