Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.

300 Mountain Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Oct-May: Wednesday - Sunday: 6pm - 9pm (check reservations for closure days)
June-Sept: : 6pm - 9:30pm Daily

Cross Street:
300 Mountain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-1848

Website:
http://www.rimrockresort.com/

Public Transit:
Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule.

http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf

Private Party Facilities:
Our private Bordeaux room with stunning views is available for up to 12 guests

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (15)
Scenic View (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food and service were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We ordered a four course dinner that exploded into nine courses, including two amuse-bouches. The service was perfect, as one would expect in a place such as this one. And our taste buds were blown. This was a French Laundry experience but in Banff and at a fraction of the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One waiter over shared personally. We didn't need to know about his golf game or what his (inappropriate) nickname was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Had our 35th wedding anniversary at Eden. We did the four course with the Eden wine paring. The dinner was one of the best I have had.
Chas and Nicholas provided excellent service.
The experience was great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Was highly recommended by friends. Views were exceptional. Service started out well but dwindled into a 1.5 hour standstill after receiving our overpriced bottle of wine and two "amuse bouche" one bites. The restaurant was not even half occupied so couldn't figure out a single reason to wait two hours for our meals. Though we were seated in the middle of the restaurant seemed like we became invisible. They apologized for the wait but offered no reason. The meals finally arrived and were very disappointing. Small fortune. .. Small return. Ruined our night. Won't return.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Top 5 quality of food I have ever eaten and top #1 in service. Very professional.... yes. But if you are a couple or group with a sense of humor and fun, they will go "there" with you. Very expensive yes... but if you are in the Banff/lake Louise area or eve a trip from Calgary and want a single "price is no object night" this is the place - because it is worth that splurge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Without a doubt, Eden deserves its name...not only is the ambiance elegant and sophisticated, the service is beyond exceptional and the food is an experience that every couple should share at least once! From the quiet elegance of the decor to the superior service and attention to detail, eating at Eden is delightful. The cuisine is original, creative, fresh, inviting, and delicious beyond explanation. We celebrated a big zero birthday and being at Eden made the day! Recommend the three or four course with Eden wine pairings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Exceeded my high expectations. The tasting menu and wine pairing were wonderful. Best meal of the holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I booked Eden for our 20th Anniversary and couldn't have been happier about that decision. The service, food, & atmosphere was beyond my expectations for this special occasion. They really went out of their way to ensure we were given the VIP treatment. We expected a high price point but it truly was one of the premier dining experiences we had ever had and in my opinion was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Fabulous- a special experience in a fine establishment with exquisite ambience. Tasting menu is wonderful. Great wines. Staff knew how to connect with us and give us an evening we will long remember. Pricey and worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The restaurant has an enviable reputation. We can only assume they had an off day as it's been our only disappointing dining experience in our three week Canadian holiday. We've happily paid more than double in London restaurants but in terms of value for money, this felt like an expensive mistake. The beautiful presention of the food was not matched by the taste. The waiter was excellent and utterly charming but his good work was completely undone by the loud and opinionated Sommelier who was only interested in telling us what he liked (where he'd been and what he'd done) rather than in listening to what we liked and tailoring his suggestions accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great Food, Awesome Service, Chad the maitre d'hotel always make sure that everything is Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The views are spectacular if you get a window table, and the service is very good (if anything, a bit too haughty and affected), but the food was disappointing. Lots of emphasis on imaginative presentation, not as much on first-rate cuisine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Carlos, Ben, Luke, Chad, Ann, the whole team was amazing and made my son's 18th birthday a unique experience! The food was exquisite, the wine pairings were perfect, but the service was just extraordinary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The folks at Eden know how to do customer service right! The food was excellent and they took care of us with a warm and personal touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary at the Eden Room of the Rimrock. It was the tastiest and most memorable dining experience we have ever had. The food was delicious , presented beautifully and the staff were knowledgeable and gracious. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Celebrated our anniversary and we felt special and pampered throughout the evening. Chef's tasting menu with wine pairing is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant for an incredible foodie evening. Chad and all the rest of wonderful staff at Eden make you feel like royalty with plenty of surprises throughout the evening while you enjoy the best view of the Rocky Mountains.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was a fantastic night to spend with my wife for her birthday and Mother's Day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We visited the Eden Restaurant on our honeymoon. We were treated in an outstanding manner by the staff who are very well prepared and professional. Food & wine pairing were both excellent! The view & the location are stunning. Thumbs up & keep up the great work. Worth revisiting & highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We came for the food and view. Started well. But 3rd course took 25 minutes to arrive (our server disappeared, and the other servers / maitre d'hotel did not pick up the slack). Restaurant was not too busy to provide backup (maybe 6 or 7 tables had guests). Food was good, not top notch on the night we visited--attractive plates, but a bit bland. Good wine pairings. Unbelievable view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My daughter and I made an overnight trip to the mountains to hike and enjoy each other's company. We booked our dinner at the Eden dining room before arriving and are so glad we did. We thoroughly enjoyed the vegetarian sampler menu, the awesome service of the sommelier, and the excellent attention paid to us having a fabulous experience by all of the serving staff. The views out the window are simply incomparable. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

In April, we had the pleasure of dining at the Eden. Although the Eden is a 5 diamond restaurant, it still managed to exceed all expectations on many levels.

From the hostess who seated us, to Luke our sommelier, Gus our server and Benoit our maître d, we received excellent service and superb recommendations on both the food and the wines.

At a restaurant of this caliber, one might expect the service to be stiff or stuffy perhaps. Pleasantly, such was not the case with our evening. Not only was the dining experience exceptional, but we truly enjoyed the staff's playful banter throughout the meal. They were truly engaging.

By the end of the evening we were not only delighted with every aspect of our experience, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

If you have the $$ this place is just phenomenal, from the view, to the service, food and sommelier. Service was professional yet friendly and there was no rush for the table! We will be remembering our first meal there for many years to come!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Bath)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A superb choice for mine and my fiancee engagement dinner. The food was incredicble and the service was outstanding. The waiting staff attention to detail was attentive without being intrusive. It was worth the expense as the dinning experience included a chauffeur service back to our hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What an amazing experience. The pairings were great and the entire Eden team was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have done my share of fine dining in New York, Paris, and Italy and Eden is comparable to any meal I have had in those places. Top 5 for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 23, 2017

An absolutely gorgeous restaurant with a beautiful view. Our wait staff was incredible - very friendly, knowledgable and professional. The food was to die for, we often found ourselves saying "now THIS is our favourite course" which would change as soon as we got the next one. The wine pairings are very well thought out and add a whole extra dimension to the meal. I would come again without hesitation the next time I'm in Banff if my wallet allowed. Obviously a restaurant of this calibre will come at a higher price, however Eden shows you why they deserve what they charge. Not one complaint from our experience, everything was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have eaten at restaurants all around the world and have very high expectations when I dine out - this restaurant with its exquisite food and unobtrusive and impeccable service hits every mark. I enjoyed the chef's tasting menu and each course dazzled and delighted in its creativity and flavor. I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Tip: if you reserve your table for a 6pm or 6:30pm seating, you can request a table by the window - stunning view of the mountains!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely dining experience. Innovative cuisine served in a simply beautiful setting overlooking the mountains

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not enough words in the world to describe the experience, service and wine. It''s perfect to celebrate what we had as a 25th wedding annaversary falling over valantine 2015. The meals are original fantastic, but french cusine. Sometimes I had to look for my magnifying glass to see what's on the plate. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Incredible wine selection. Some good suggestions on pairings though I'd encourage you to trust your own palette.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fine dining in a (relatively) relaxed atmosphere. The staff were outstanding and the food was some of the best I have had in Canada. Interesting combinations of flavours and textures and the wine pairings balanced beautifully with the food. One of the pairing selections was not to my partner's taste and the staff substituted a perfect wine after gentle quizzing her as to her preferences. Our initial reservation was for a celebration, but we had such a great experience we returned for dinner the following night. Eden earns it's rating as the top restaurant in Banff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very attentive service. A few great surprises thrown in!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went to Eden as a family because one of my children is a super big foodie (age 11). My other son is a budding vegetarian. The staff did an absolutely awesome job of making each and every one of my family feel like they were the most special person in the restaurant that evening!! I know that it was an expensive meal but from my point of view worth every penny spent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was incredible. Gustavo Rodriguez served our table and I would say that he is the best waiter we have ever had.
The food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This experience was flawless from start to finish. The staff were all courteous, friendly, and engaging. The view - spectacular. The ambience - romantic and inspiring. The food - divine. We ordered the four course meal, and were not disappointed! If you're on the fence about dining here - DO IT. It will be, hands down, the most amazing dining experience. Guaranteed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2016

An amazing dinner, one of the very best I have ever had, it was so worth the trip . Will use this many times over the years. Excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service was mostly good. The wait times between wine pours and food pairing was unusually long. The food was below average for the class of restaurant. The sommelier was very knowledgeable about wines, being the high point. I would be embarrassed to bring a client here however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If there is a better fine dining experience I am yet to discover it. I highly recommend Eden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.