About Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

300 Mountain Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J2
View Larger Map

Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Oct-May: Wednesday - Sunday: 6pm - 9pm (check reservations for closure days)
June-Sept: : 6pm - 9:30pm Daily

Cross Street:
300 Mountain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-1848

Website:
http://www.rimrockresort.com/

Public Transit:
Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule.

http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf

Private Party Facilities:
Our private Bordeaux room with stunning views is available for up to 12 guests

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
12 More
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

special occasion (34)
scenic view (34)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
romantic (32)
notable wine list (28)
neighborhood gem (3)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Eden restaurant for my p ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We dined at the Eden restaurant for my partners 30th and had an amazing evening. The food was sensational and the staff were very attentive and clearly passionate about the service they were providing. I would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food with a fabulous view. Veg ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic food with a fabulous view. Vegetarian tasting menu with wines was excellent, the chef is very talented, the best food we had in Canada. The staff were wonderful and we were made to feel special. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't really know what to expect, bu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We didn't really know what to expect, but we both were completely blown away by how amazing this experience was!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service par excellence, even before we s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service par excellence, even before we stepped into the restaurant. An invitation was sent to our hotel room on the afternoon of the dinner. The food was exquisite but it was the service that outshone everything else. We were pampered like house guests at a private party. A truly memorable affair.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All I can say is absolutely amazing - fr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

All I can say is absolutely amazing - from the food and presentation to the service and then the gorgeous view! Servers were most helpful in answering any questions about food and liquor. The presentation of the delicious food was awesome - couldn't wait for the next course to arrive. We were able to enjoy our dinner and weren't rushed during our 4 courses - yes 4! You could even have a 10 course extravaganza - perhaps next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite fine dining experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed the summer tasting menu paired with the classic pairing. Food was unbelievable as always. Sommelier did a fantastic job pairing wines with every item on the menu. Amazing job done by the hostess and maitre-d. A superb fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food prepared pefectly and presented beautifully.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The nice surprise of 2 amuse bouche and both were perfect. The breads and butters were also perfect. The main dish was impressive and presented beautifully. the desserts were creative and presented beautifully as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

We were really excited about this reserv ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were really excited about this reservation for our anniversary! While the view was amazing, the food, ambience and general experience were just "ok". The restaurant was "dead" for a Friday evening and lacked a bit of excitement and atmosphere because it was sooooo quiet. We tried the pairing/tasting menu - while all of the dishes were good - nothing really amazed us. Our bill, for two, was $700 - that was the strongest taste left in our mouths. Quite overpriced and underwhemled… Try somewhere else!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING WONDERFUL NIGHT!!!!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Our first ever fine dining experience(something we always talk of doing). It was MORE than anything we could have imagined. We will do it again at Eden, and it also pleased us so much that we will continue doing such date nights every so often at similar places in different towns and countries.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superlative

Dined on May 23, 2016

Truly wonderful evening with fantastic food. Not overworked beautifully presented. Deserves all the accolades it has acieved

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eden was am amazing experience. I say 'e ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Eden was am amazing experience. I say 'experience' because not only were the appetizers and entrees tasteful in every respect, but the presentation and attention to detail was over the top. Each dish served stood on its own leaving you to wonder how the next dish could possibly be better than what you just tasted. Trying to describe each dish would be difficult and best done by viewing Eden's website. We tried the 'sample' menu to taste as many items as we could. You won't be disappointed. The scallops, lobster, salad, bison ... everything was prepared extremely well and perfected. Granted, the price point may not suit everyone but for a special occasion and an experience you simply will not forget, try Eden.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing experience! One of th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an amazing experience! One of the four dining in our party, had not had the pleasure of dining at the Eden prior. He was most impressed with the pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu was fantastic. Wine pai ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

The tasting menu was fantastic. Wine pairings were great. My wife is a celiac and there were no issues. The salad with Parmesan mousse was unreal

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience of a life time

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff were absolutely amazing. This restaurant was hoped to be the best in Banff, and the service surpassed my greatest expectations and hopes. I have been able to enjoy "5 star" restaurants in New York City, and what we experienced here was far and beyond service I have EVER had n my entire life! The servers were exceptional in their knowledge and both their education and experience were obvious, amazing and added to a magical experience that is beyond description in the best of ways. The food was exquisite for the most part, though there were some small portions that were not as good at hitting the mark as the rest of the meal, but overall there is nothing that I would change, and returning is definitely on the to-do list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding views and spectacular food.

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Tasting Menu and it was 7 course. Lobster bisque and scallops were to die for. As the courses moved towards the entree, they got smaller but I was getting full. The entree was somewhat disappointing as the amount was so small but I was full by then anyway. DON'T EAT THE BREAD AS YOU DON'T HAVE ENOUGH ROOM FOR ALL THE FOOD. My wife had 3 regular courses and the amount of food was better and the quality of all the food was outstanding. Menu is limited but everything was great. This is the place to take chances and try food you have never had before as everything was fantastic. Definitely worth going but it is expensive. Their wine list was incredible and they do pairings with each course but we passed and had our bottle which was enough for us. I cannot drink 7 glasses of booze with one meal! Planning a romantic date or anniversary, this is the place to go as it will impress anyone. Plan at least 3 hours for the entire adventure and you will likely spend at least $200 per head with food and booze. If you like expensive wine, you will spend alot more. Highly recommend going if you have never been as it was unforgettable. The Manager was also a great guy who stopped by and assisted his staff......great personality and very social. Made you feel at home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A night to remember!

Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I had the tasting menu with the wine pairings and had an amazingly romantic evening together. We had a table with a beautiful view of the mountainside and the entire experience from the food to the service and the ambiance were all exceptional!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wait time from taking the order to getting the drinks was too long. We had to order a separate wine bottle to keep the group entertained after the long drive from Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Eden is quaint and quite romantic from t ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Eden is quaint and quite romantic from the moment you stepped into the restaurant. The Maître D was very pleasant and very attentive. I had a hard time deciding whether I would like to try the tasting menu or choosing the 2 or 3 course dinner. Given I was the only person dining for the evening, I opted for the 2 course dinner with wine pairings. To my surprise, the Chef prepared 2 separate amuse bouche for the evening which were quite delicious. The wine pairings went well with my choices: the Arctic Char and the lamb. Although it was more about presentation than quantity, the aroma and taste of each bite was delicate and fulfilling. The view was spectacular and I wish I had arranged for an earlier reservation to enjoy the sun setting.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at its best

Dined on April 10, 2016

Wow! What a meal! Every dish we had was exceptional (taste and presentation). My sturgeon was perfectly cooked. Even the bread and butter was a step up from what other restaurants would serve. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Note that this is an expensive restaurant but well worth it every once and a while if you are in Banff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eden was simply heaven!

Dined on April 10, 2016

I have nothing but amazing things about Eden. Not only is the view breath-taking, the wine pairing was exquisite! Compliments to the chef because everything was delicious! I had never had such tender flavorful lamb. The coffee at the end was the icing on the cake. I would do it over again and again. This is something you HAVE to experience when visiting Banff Springs!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Most amazing restaurant we've ever enjoy ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Most amazing restaurant we've ever enjoyed. Service was amazing, the food divine and the window views were heavenly. Romantic beyond belief. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We have been going to the Eden room for the approximately the last 10 years for our anniversary and every year they continue to impress us with their service and food. Would highly recommend the Eden Room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous dining experience with great ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

A fabulous dining experience with great service. Could have been a bit louder, as at times it seemed like we were in a library. The plating and presentation was amazing, and the breakfast loaves they sent home with us were delightful. The hotel sent us back to our hotel in their car, which was a nice surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was a delight! One of the best res ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was a delight! One of the best restaurants we have ever visited! Don't miss out on this dining experience. It is pricey but well worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Feb in Banff

Dined on February 20, 2016

The Grand Dégustation was excellent. We loved the His-Hers plates allowing us to share and discover more tasty creations. Huge wine selection, maybe a little too large and overwelming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant with very attentive sta ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great restaurant with very attentive staff. Vegetarians are welcomed and offered inventive options. Wine pairings were very good. All in all a lovely experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food.

Dined on February 4, 2016

Had the tasting menu at Eden, no complaints, plenty of food and great service. There was a real variety of food all very well presented. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

World Class

Dined on January 31, 2016

World class food, ambiance, service, and view. A gem in the Rockies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience, amazing service

Dined on January 23, 2016

Wonderful experience, amazing service

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Very very good, but slipping a bit?

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

An evening in Eden is always worthwhile - in the past, all our dinners have been exquisite. Our frame of reference has always been that about halfway through the meal, you get angry at all the other food you've ever eaten, wondering why it can't all be so magnificent. This time though, the food was only very good. Nothing in particular blew us away; neither the taste nor the plating. The service was consistently wonderful, as always. It remains one of the best restaurants in Banff, but not as many miles ahead of the others as it used to be. Still, very enjoyable overall. Will certainly go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MOST AMAZING EXPERIENCE EVER HAD!!

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had the chef sampler dish. It was by far the MOST AMAZING FOOD WE HAVE EVER HAD!! I was in awe with every dish we had. There was not ONE thing we did not like. The service was impectable and we were served by Chad, Julie, Beny, Julieo, Kristen, Kate and Gustavo. Yes, ALL of them served us. When we would get up to go to the washroom, they would replace our napkin for us, push in our chairs when we got back. They made sure we had the most romantic night out of our lives. We will NEVER forget the hospitality NOR the food. Amazing, simply amazing. We cant WAIT to come back there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Experience

Dined on January 10, 2016

The dining experience at the Eden was an amazing experience. The moment you arrive until the moment you leave the experience was focused on your enjoyment. The recommendations from the staff were always helpful and made the experience memorable. The cost would seem expensive to many people; but when one considers the pairing of exceptional food and wine the expense worthwhile.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Memorable evening - very consistent

Dined on December 31, 2015

We enjoyed the "game-themed" tasting menu on 30th December with the family. Excellent food quality - each dish was exquisitely prepared. The best elk steak ever! Service was attentive and not overbearing - just right. Only false note was the greeting at the entrance of the restaurant. All-in-all a fabulous evening; we will be back. (recommend for those who don't stay at the RImrock to take a taxi!)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on December 25, 2015

A great indulgence for a special ocassion! The service and food was unreal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining experience

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

We had a pre-Xmas family dinner at Eden. This is a very high-end restaurant. Beautiful decor, outstanding service and elegantly presented food. Everything was top-notch. But I have to admit that it is extremely expensive restaurant. You'd need to be ready to spend over $800.00 for a dinner for 4 adults. If you are OK with this price range, you won't be disappointed with everything else. We had a great time at Eden.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, as usual

Dined on December 6, 2015

Eating here is a special event. We love to do the tasting menu with the wine pairings. The food is so much fun (and really really good) and the staff treats everyone like royalty. Not for the meat and potatoes crowd but if you like to be a little adventurous, the Eden is like a little luxury vacation

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Another excelent Diner

Dined on December 5, 2015

This is the second time we have had diner at Eden . Both to celebrate our weading aniversary. Both time we have selected the Testing Menu with wine paring. An excelent culinary experience. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An evening to remember.

Dined on November 22, 2015

My Wife and I celebrated our 15th Anniversary. Eden made it an evening to remember. The food was excellent and the wine pairings were superb. Each plate had a great story, was well prepared and was pared with a wonderful wine. We had a window table with a great view. All of the serving staff provided great service and treated us very well from the time we entered the restaurant to the time we left. I will be back. It was worth every dime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

Dined on November 21, 2015

Celebrated another anniversary at Eden and they never disappoint. A number of culinary surprises were had. Thank you again to the fine folks at Eden.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Great attent ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Excellent food and service. Great attention to detail to maximize our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.