About Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

300 Mountain Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J2
View Larger Map

Our AAA Five Diamond award winning restaurant is an exquisite dining experience, offering French cuisine with regional accents. Combined with Eden's Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and ALTO Award winning service, this restaurant provides each guest with the finest in dining, service and scenic views in Banff. Sommeliers are on staff to offer the best wine pairing to compliment the experience. Eden is closed Monday and Tuesday or for private functions, please check reservation for availability.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Oct-May: Wednesday - Sunday: 6pm - 9pm (check reservations for closure days)
June-Sept: : 6pm - 9:30pm Daily

Cross Street:
300 Mountain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-1848

Website:
http://www.rimrockresort.com/

Public Transit:
Banff public transit service available to the hotel, please see link below for stops schedule.

http://www.banff.ca/Assets/PDFs/Locals+PDF/Roam+Transit.pdf

Private Party Facilities:
Our private Bordeaux room with stunning views is available for up to 12 guests

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
  • Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel
Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel

Eden - Rimrock Resort Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
16 More
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Fit for Foodies
Banff / Canmore
Romantic
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

scenic view (46)
special occasion (45)
romantic (43)
See All
fit for foodies (38)
notable wine list (38)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I were given a lovely privat ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I were given a lovely private room to celebrate with our parents because we just got married. The staff went above and beyond to make the occasion special. The food and company were amazing. Eden even drove my fathers sun glasses back to our hotel because he forgot them. Couldn't have asked for a better night out to celebrate a wonderful step in life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding everything. It isn't simply ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding everything. It isn't simply a meal, it's an experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinning experience, ambience and ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The dinning experience, ambience and service was outstanding. Unfortunately the food was way below par for a five star Restauraunt. For a total bill of $900.00 we hoped and expected superb food quality.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Perhaps the BEST restaurant experience I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Perhaps the BEST restaurant experience I have had, including good-great restaurants on every continent.

The food was exquisite - we went with the tasting menu which was 7 courses.

The service, from the Maitre D who met us at our car, to the serving staff to the sommelier - was excellent. We never felt crowded or rushed, yet they were always available. The wine list is incredible.

A special shout out to the kitchen staff who we got to meet after dinner.

Last but not least, reserve and ask for a window seat. The view is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our first wedding anniversary at Eden. The service was OUTSTANDING and the food was wonderful and interesting. Our sommelier did an excellent job finding beautiful wines to pair with our meal. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! From the service to the food and th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wow! From the service to the food and the view. Spectacular! We had the tasting menu and it was amazing. So glad we decided to celebrate our anniversary here. Did not care for our drink server...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best food experiences I've ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best food experiences I've had, particularly coupled with the dining room's view to the mountains. In fact, the interior seems to be deliberately mundane as no decoration could ever compete with the scenery. The food was superb - from the amuse bouches (there were 2), to the bread plate (you can tell a lot about a place from the bread plate), through the best scallop appetizer I have ever tasted, exquisite Wagyu beef, cheeses and finishing with the chocolate/coconut dessert. My partner was enthralled as well, though felt her lamb entree portion was on the meager side. My only slight complaints were noise levels - very loud two tables away and the sommelier actually egged the party on - and the champagne cart. The latter was also experienced in another nearby restaurant (is this a Banfff thing?) and is really intrusive. Immediately after sitting down, the sommelier brings a cart topped with different champagnes offered at $17-$60+ per glass. In my view, this is an unwelcome hard sell to customers who are about to spend over $300 anyway. Anyway, upon leaving we were presented with wrapped hunks of wonderful banana bread which we enjoyed later in the week. My quibblings aside, Eden truly is a one of a kind experience. Take your credit card and go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I had gone for our annive ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I had gone for our anniversary, and did the vegetarian tasting menu. Overall the food was good, but I think that the options could have been a lot better, and maybe a little more filling rather than all just vegetables done different ways. Maybe some kind of pasta or quinoa or rice dish would have been more satisfying.

Tags: romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic from the moment we arrived. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic from the moment we arrived. Greeted at door with complimentary valet. Asked about any food allergies/dislikes at entry to restaurant. In all, we probably had 6 or 7 different people check on us throughout the evening. Food quality was excellent from starter right through to the dessert. First class all the way, one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back if/when in Banff again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have ever been too! The views alone are worth going for but the food is absolutely delicious. This is accompanied by an extensive wine list and all delivered by incredible service from the team there. The friendly and knowledgable waiting staff really made our night. My wife is a celiac and they catered for her every need. Eden provides more than just a meal, it provides a culinary experience and I would fully recommend anyone going to see for themselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife got sick after having the appeti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife got sick after having the appetizer so we left. The entre was sent to our room but she was too sick to eat it. We were very excited to dine at a 5 diamond restaurant but after that experience, I don't think we will go back or recommend it to anyone.

The staff, however, were great. They gave us a surprise desert because we were on our honeymoon. (My wife couldn't have that either)

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant should have at least 1 M ...

 
 (Österreich)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant should have at least 1 Michelin star. The vegetarian tasting menue was awesome 🙂

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the vegetarian tasting menu and i ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had the vegetarian tasting menu and it was incredible! Each course was a unique and wonderful surprise, full of amazing flavours and artfully presented. The service was very good and they even drove us back to our hotel after dinner. We would absolutely recommend Eden to anyone celebrating a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top of the class services and view. A bi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Top of the class services and view. A bit pricy for food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolute top notch fine dining! Service ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolute top notch fine dining! Service and atmosphere created by staff was amazing and truly genuine. We celebrated our engagement in Eden and it was perfect. I can say with confidence that other future dining experiences will be chasing after ours at Eden. Go with someone special...to experience something special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our wedding meal there last year ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had our wedding meal there last year and decided to go back again for our anniversary and my husbands birthday meal. What can I say it's just an amazing experience and the food is exceptional. It's not just a meal it's an eating experience. The staff are excellent warm and inviting and Gusto humour made our evening even better. Looking forward to going back for a third time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Eden restaurant for my p ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We dined at the Eden restaurant for my partners 30th and had an amazing evening. The food was sensational and the staff were very attentive and clearly passionate about the service they were providing. I would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food with a fabulous view. Veg ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic food with a fabulous view. Vegetarian tasting menu with wines was excellent, the chef is very talented, the best food we had in Canada. The staff were wonderful and we were made to feel special. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We didn't really know what to expect, bu ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We didn't really know what to expect, but we both were completely blown away by how amazing this experience was!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service par excellence, even before we s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service par excellence, even before we stepped into the restaurant. An invitation was sent to our hotel room on the afternoon of the dinner. The food was exquisite but it was the service that outshone everything else. We were pampered like house guests at a private party. A truly memorable affair.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I can say is absolutely amazing - fr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

All I can say is absolutely amazing - from the food and presentation to the service and then the gorgeous view! Servers were most helpful in answering any questions about food and liquor. The presentation of the delicious food was awesome - couldn't wait for the next course to arrive. We were able to enjoy our dinner and weren't rushed during our 4 courses - yes 4! You could even have a 10 course extravaganza - perhaps next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite fine dining experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed the summer tasting menu paired with the classic pairing. Food was unbelievable as always. Sommelier did a fantastic job pairing wines with every item on the menu. Amazing job done by the hostess and maitre-d. A superb fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food prepared pefectly and presented beautifully.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The nice surprise of 2 amuse bouche and both were perfect. The breads and butters were also perfect. The main dish was impressive and presented beautifully. the desserts were creative and presented beautifully as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were really excited about this reserv ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were really excited about this reservation for our anniversary! While the view was amazing, the food, ambience and general experience were just "ok". The restaurant was "dead" for a Friday evening and lacked a bit of excitement and atmosphere because it was sooooo quiet. We tried the pairing/tasting menu - while all of the dishes were good - nothing really amazed us. Our bill, for two, was $700 - that was the strongest taste left in our mouths. Quite overpriced and underwhemled… Try somewhere else!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

AMAZING WONDERFUL NIGHT!!!!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our first ever fine dining experience(something we always talk of doing). It was MORE than anything we could have imagined. We will do it again at Eden, and it also pleased us so much that we will continue doing such date nights every so often at similar places in different towns and countries.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superlative

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Truly wonderful evening with fantastic food. Not overworked beautifully presented. Deserves all the accolades it has acieved

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eden was am amazing experience. I say 'e ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Eden was am amazing experience. I say 'experience' because not only were the appetizers and entrees tasteful in every respect, but the presentation and attention to detail was over the top. Each dish served stood on its own leaving you to wonder how the next dish could possibly be better than what you just tasted. Trying to describe each dish would be difficult and best done by viewing Eden's website. We tried the 'sample' menu to taste as many items as we could. You won't be disappointed. The scallops, lobster, salad, bison ... everything was prepared extremely well and perfected. Granted, the price point may not suit everyone but for a special occasion and an experience you simply will not forget, try Eden.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience! One of th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an amazing experience! One of the four dining in our party, had not had the pleasure of dining at the Eden prior. He was most impressed with the pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tasting menu was fantastic. Wine pai ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The tasting menu was fantastic. Wine pairings were great.

My wife is a celiac and there were no issues.

The salad with Parmesan mousse was unreal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience of a life time

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff were absolutely amazing. This restaurant was hoped to be the best in Banff, and the service surpassed my greatest expectations and hopes. I have been able to enjoy "5 star" restaurants in New York City, and what we experienced here was far and beyond service I have EVER had n my entire life!

The servers were exceptional in their knowledge and both their education and experience were obvious, amazing and added to a magical experience that is beyond description in the best of ways.

The food was exquisite for the most part, though there were some small portions that were not as good at hitting the mark as the rest of the meal, but overall there is nothing that I would change, and returning is definitely on the to-do list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding views and spectacular food.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Tasting Menu and it was 7 course. Lobster bisque and scallops were to die for. As the courses moved towards the entree, they got smaller but I was getting full. The entree was somewhat disappointing as the amount was so small but I was full by then anyway. DON'T EAT THE BREAD AS YOU DON'T HAVE ENOUGH ROOM FOR ALL THE FOOD.

My wife had 3 regular courses and the amount of food was better and the quality of all the food was outstanding. Menu is limited but everything was great. This is the place to take chances and try food you have never had before as everything was fantastic. Definitely worth going but it is expensive.

Their wine list was incredible and they do pairings with each course but we passed and had our bottle which was enough for us. I cannot drink 7 glasses of booze with one meal!

Planning a romantic date or anniversary, this is the place to go as it will impress anyone.

Plan at least 3 hours for the entire adventure and you will likely spend at least $200 per head with food and booze. If you like expensive wine, you will spend alot more.

Highly recommend going if you have never been as it was unforgettable. The Manager was also a great guy who stopped by and assisted his staff......great personality and very social. Made you feel at home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A night to remember!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I had the tasting menu with the wine pairings and had an amazingly romantic evening together. We had a table with a beautiful view of the mountainside and the entire experience from the food to the service and the ambiance were all exceptional!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Wait time from taking the order to getting the drinks was too long. We had to order a separate wine bottle to keep the group entertained after the long drive from Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eden is quaint and quite romantic from t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Eden is quaint and quite romantic from the moment you stepped into the restaurant. The Maître D was very pleasant and very attentive. I had a hard time deciding whether I would like to try the tasting menu or choosing the 2 or 3 course dinner. Given I was the only person dining for the evening, I opted for the 2 course dinner with wine pairings. To my surprise, the Chef prepared 2 separate amuse bouche for the evening which were quite delicious. The wine pairings went well with my choices: the Arctic Char and the lamb. Although it was more about presentation than quantity, the aroma and taste of each bite was delicate and fulfilling. The view was spectacular and I wish I had arranged for an earlier reservation to enjoy the sun setting.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Fine dining at its best

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Wow! What a meal! Every dish we had was exceptional (taste and presentation). My sturgeon was perfectly cooked. Even the bread and butter was a step up from what other restaurants would serve. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Note that this is an expensive restaurant but well worth it every once and a while if you are in Banff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eden was simply heaven!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have nothing but amazing things about Eden. Not only is the view breath-taking, the wine pairing was exquisite! Compliments to the chef because everything was delicious! I had never had such tender flavorful lamb. The coffee at the end was the icing on the cake. I would do it over again and again. This is something you HAVE to experience when visiting Banff Springs!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most amazing restaurant we've ever enjoy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Most amazing restaurant we've ever enjoyed. Service was amazing, the food divine and the window views were heavenly. Romantic beyond belief. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We have been going to the Eden room for the approximately the last 10 years for our anniversary and every year they continue to impress us with their service and food. Would highly recommend the Eden Room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous dining experience with great ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

A fabulous dining experience with great service. Could have been a bit louder, as at times it seemed like we were in a library. The plating and presentation was amazing, and the breakfast loaves they sent home with us were delightful. The hotel sent us back to our hotel in their car, which was a nice surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a delight! One of the best res ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was a delight! One of the best restaurants we have ever visited! Don't miss out on this dining experience. It is pricey but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.