About Eden

23 Baltimore Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Critically acclaimed, Eden offers an open kitchen serving American Regional cuisine featuring the freshest fish, dry aged Angus beef & wild game. Eden also features a 200+ bottle wine list with 40 wines offered by the glass and original cocktails featuring house infusions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 6 pm-9 pm, Friday and Saturday 6 pm-10 pm.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-3330

Website:
http://www.edenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
A variety of cuisines available. Contact Catering division for details. Summer catering limited.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available on Baltimore Avenue & adjacent Avenues.

Private Party Facilities:
Eden can accommodate private parties from 10 to 110 guests with a variety of menus available.

Private Party Contact:
Scott Kalesse: 3022273330x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Eden hosts a wine dinner series year round. Call for details/upcoming dinners. Wednesday is 'Steakhouse Night' offering $30 three course prix fixe. Call for details, reservations suggested.

Eden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Ambiance
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Fit for Foodies
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Most Booked
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

special occasion (48)
romantic (46)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (29)
notable wine list (22)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was average. Eden's Mac and cheese wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was average. Eden's Mac and cheese was bland. Caesar salad was nothing special either. Our waiter was young and didn't know anything about the menu. I won't be going back for that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great dinner at Eden. We had two 5 year ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner at Eden. We had two 5 year olds with us and the water (Chris) was very accomodating. Tuna was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The swordfish special was excellent. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The swordfish special was excellent. The crab and lobster tower had abundant meat.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

This is our 4th year in a row celebratin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is our 4th year in a row celebrating a birthday here. We also get her a couple of other times during the year and we are NEVER disappointed. The food is innovative and wonderful. The service outstanding with personable and nice staff. You will pay but you will get your money's worth.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chase was an excellent server and provid ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Chase was an excellent server and provided near perfect service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wasn't worth high praise. Good good but ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wasn't worth high praise. Good good but not 38 a plate good. And service terrible for fine dining

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Absolutely wonderful dinner....the three ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Absolutely wonderful dinner....the three course special on Wednesday night cannot be beat. Food was prepared perfectly and service was terrific. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on a beautiful cool eveni ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful cool evening and had such a great time! Three courses each, wine, cocktails, desert and more wine! The service was excellent as was every course, you can never go wrong at Eden!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time there first time disappointed ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Third time there first time disappointed.Chicken tasted obviously microwaved!Service was not great although the Server was nice we needed to ask her to order.Put it this way....didn't want to take the leftovers home for anything.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Ask to be seated in John's area. He ran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ask to be seated in John's area. He ran the full bar and served the high tops where we sat with dexterity and aplomb. His knowledge of the wine list is impressive and relevant pairings flawless, and mixology amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We sat outside on the balcony -- which w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We sat outside on the balcony -- which was really nice. Service was exceptional. Food and drinks were excellent. Was a wonderful experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved Eden. A bit noisy inside, but they ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved Eden. A bit noisy inside, but they have a very nice outdoor dining area. Much quieter and very pleasant!

Food was great. Nice wine list. Price very reasonable. Very friendly service. Would highly recommend in Rehobeth!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambience, especially when in one o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great ambience, especially when in one of the booths. Great interior and feeling. Food can be really good or just fair to disappointing, especially if you had a good meal there before. You never know. My last time when treating two friends to dinner, food was so mediocre, I probably will not go there again which is a loss for me. It used to be my favorite place to entertain guests until recently. I am not really picky, but I do know good food from not so great. Wait staff was nice but overworked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very good restaurant in a town known for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Very good restaurant in a town known for great food. Eden is reliable, classically inspired, well done and served.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Eden is one of the best restaurants at t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Eden is one of the best restaurants at the beach. Service is attentive, restaurant ambiance is very pleasant, and the food is always wonderful. Try the scallops. Done to perfection!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When one chooses a restaurant that sells ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

When one chooses a restaurant that sells salad courses above $10 and entrée courses above $30, you expect to get your money's worth. That didn't happen the night we were at Eden. What we found instead was a combination of food that is clearly designed to be excellent, but was not executed at that level, and service that was, at best, harried and inattentive with service promises that were made, but not kept.

For a starter we ordered one of the flat breads costing $13 for a delicious, but fairly skimpy size plate. Four of us each got about four square inches of the pizza-like dish. It was very good, but made us glad no one had chosen that as an entree.

Following the starter, the waiter appeared to clear the table promising to bring fresh flatware and some bread to the table. Neither made it until well after the salad course was served and then only when reminded. When we were ordering, our server left the table before we could order wine, leaving us to wait until he opted to return to attempt again. That level of inattentiveness continued for most of the meal, though the restaurant gets credit for delivering orders in a timely manner.

Among the entrees ordered were the Antelope loin (quite tasty, but in desperate need of something wet as it was dry as a bone), Halibut (an interested presentation, but significantly overcooked. One end was crunchy), filet mignon (again, overcooked), and a dish purported to be mac 'n' cheese that is a bit more like chicken with pasta.

No doubt, if the dishes on the menu were cooked properly and if the restaurant's service staff were a good bit more attentive, Eden could be paradise. Sadly, there sins will banish them from my go-to list for a while longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The atmosphere was nice and the waitress ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The atmosphere was nice and the waitress seemed nice. She was a little difficult to understand at times. The Lobster tower was delicious!! Get that appetizer! One reason I gave it a 4 over all was the dessert. It was less than thrilling. The ice cream was crystallized as if it had been refrozen and the dark chocolate cake was not very good. After the dessert came and it seemed two steps below the rest of the meal, I remembered a review that said there dessert wasn't very good. They were right. Even so, I would go again if I could! Thanks :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter was personable and knowledgea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waiter was personable and knowledgeable, and the food was delicious. We especially enjoyed sharing the chocolate panna cotta. The lobster crab tower was absolutely delicious too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Educated and attentive waitress - makes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Educated and attentive waitress - makes such a difference, even when food is great too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has a very pleasant roman ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The restaurant has a very pleasant romantic ambiance with a soft light and many sheer curtain walls that provide privacy to the booths. The round tables in the middle for larger groups are equally pleasant. The food was good, not great. Not an overwhelmingly long menu with a good selection of both meet and fish dishes. All of the salads were good: Caesar ( lightly grilled by the way), the wedge and the Bay... Green salad. My lamb dish although very tasty and cooked as ordered " medium" came out a bit cold, scallops were slightly fishy and the vegetables that they were paired with were very hard. Filet mignon was good but again not superb. Desert was very good, we had bread pudding that was a special that night and some icecream. The server was attentive without being overwhelming. I have been coming to this restaurant for years and it remains pretty consistent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an amazing find....we had sched ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was an amazing find....we had scheduled to see Chicago at Clear Space they recommended it on their website. It is located across street walked from restaurant to play.

Our server was Adina B...she was professional and friendly had great recommendations and the drinks and desert were amazing...we will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great although we had a later r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great although we had a later reservation (8:30) and by then they were out of many of their specials and some proteins.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Eden, by its pricing and general ambianc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Eden, by its pricing and general ambiance, seems to want to be considered as an upscale restaurant for Rehoboth. But while my wife and I had a good experience overall, with the increasing quality of Rehoboth eateries it's hard to rank them in the top tier. Eden is s very attractive place, and our service was outstanding. Both of us got the soft shell crab tempura, and it was very good (a special that day). My wife also enjoyed her salad very much. I tried a standby, the sea scallops, and found them disappointing. The scallops were lacking in taste, and the vegetables with them were not good at all (I couldn't tell you what they were--and I love vegetables). The wine list, at least for half bottles and glasses, was boring. While we had an acceptable experience, it's probably not going to be a regular stop for us, as the value in my opinion did not match the price level.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We have been to Eden every time we come ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been to Eden every time we come to Rehoboth. We love it there. The food is always wonderful & we always have great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during Rehoboth Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went during Rehoboth Restaurant Week and had a great evening! This wasn't our first time at Eden but the first during Restaurant Week. In past experiences at other establishments, restaurant week menus were not so exciting and the portions tend to be smaller. Not so this time. The only let down was the tenderloin flatbread-it arrived looking and tasting as if had been zapped in the microwave at the last minute. Our server was friendly but had a few hiccups in her service. My fruit crumble at dessert was blueberries not strawberry rhubarb. But all was forgiven with the overall happy and satisfied meal we experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were there for Restaurant Week, $45 e ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We were there for Restaurant Week, $45 each for 3 courses. I had the char, it was amazing. The sides were all terrific. Hubby had the duck. There wasn't a lot of it, but it was delicious. sides were also wonderful. Dessert was warm fruit tart with ice cream and tiramisu. Both were delicious, took the tiramisu home, however.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food cold. Sent back. Still cold and fla ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food cold. Sent back. Still cold and flavorless. Tried to overcharge bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A Rehoboth Must!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food, great service. Awesome location. A great experience overall

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on their sidewalk patio w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We sat outside on their sidewalk patio which was very enjoyable. They have an excellent wine list with choices at varying price points. We both ordered their signature grilled Cesar salad to start which was great! My colleague had the chicken and I had the halibut. Both were tasty and well prepared. We topped off dinner sharing the cream brûlée and fresh raspberries. We will return on our next trip to Rehoboth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed a fish stew which was well pre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I enjoyed a fish stew which was well presented with well prepared fish, mussels, clams, shrimp and a delicious broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hopefully, just an off-night.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We eat at Eden often. We're considered "regulars". The cuisine has always been excellent, and the service superb. Our last venture was quite the opposite. The staff was running around like chickens without a head.

In fairness, I was told that they hadn't expected as many people as they had (it was the Wednesday before Memorial Day weekend, ). But, the ONLY server was a trainee. He was arrogant and condescending. He actually ruined our meal.

The food was still excellent, but ambience and service are so much of why we eat out that our evening was ruined.

We sincerely hope they get their act together, or we will become "irregulars".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We sat down. No waiter came After a wh ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We sat down. No waiter came After a while, a waiter came over. She said our waiter was a trainee. He was not yet ready to wait tables. He needed much more training. It was a Sat night and he shouldn't have been training on a Saturday. It ruined our experience. Also the ambiance is romantic bc there r booths, but then they place large table next to the booths. This made it very loud. When the food came it was not good at all. The scallops were way oversalted and there were 5 competing flavors on one plate. The gnocchi was undercooked and its sauce had no flavor. Waitress made a big deal after the trainee got our wine selection incorrect. Terrible experience. Has potential to be much better. Ambiance is nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We have been here a number of times. Alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been here a number of times. Always wonderful. This night however was a very off night apparently. The RockFish was over cooked. Three of us sent it back. The second time it was still,overlooked, but we ate it anyway. The Porterhouse steak was thin and tough. Our service is usually great, but not consistent tonight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The food was excellent! Loved the wine ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent! Loved the wine selection! The service was ok, the waiter seemed over allocated. He was attentive but not sincere, for example every time he spoke to us he was constantly looking away and looking at his tables and never made eye contact. It's like trying to talk to your child when they are watching TV. It could have been that they were short staffed that night, which I can appreciate his stress trying to keep up with his customers. The service was not bad, the staff just seemed stressed. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We are at Eden over the summer and it wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We are at Eden over the summer and it was great. We dined there on Friday night and the food was subpar. My husband ordered the fried quail sweet potato waffle for an appetizer and the waffle was burnt black and the quail was dry. He also ordered the venison And it was very chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Eden is that

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner -- each dish, service, ambience, etc. Definitely recommend it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative and Delicious!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Mother's Day weekend, we gathered our adult kids for a Saturday night celebration. We were promptly seated and our server came quickly. Our appetizer was the big cheese plate--every cheese was wonderful. I ordered the scallops, others ordered swordfish, bison short ribs, mushroom ragout, and osso bucco (entree portion). Everything I tried was delicious. Our drinks and entrees were served promptly, and the care with which they were made was apparent in the plating and the flavors. We enjoyed our desserts, but except for the rhubarb berry pie, did not feel they were as creative or as good as the rest of the menu. We enjoyed our evening greatly, the flexible helpful server was terrific also. We would return for a special occasion. Actually we would return for any occasion if we had an unlimited budget :) Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Perfect night!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waiter did not mind that we took a few minutes to head to the bar to see the Kentucky Derby--he was very personable and patient. The food was very good and his recommendations were spot-on. We will definitely return again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Place for Special Event

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The food is always delicious and we love the little experiments they do with cuisine. The specialty cocktails are always great inventions. We love the romantic atmosphere but it is suitable for a larger more casual gathering, too, or a business meeting. The service is very personable and professional. Eden makes a special occasion very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.