About Eddie V's - Seaport District

789 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in San Diego and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday through Thursday – 4pm-10pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-11pm

Happy Hour: Every Day - 4pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Kettner Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 615-0281

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Relax in our V Lounge where you can enjoy live music every night of the week. It's the perfect place to meet your friends and make new ones.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Seaport District
Eddie V's - Seaport District

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Seaport District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
7 More
Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

special occasion (110)
fit for foodies (80)
romantic (69)
See All
notable wine list (58)
good for groups (36)
vibrant bar scene (28)
hot spot (21)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best Crab cake!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 20 hours ago

Best Crab cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed the evening with friends. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed the evening with friends. The food and drinks are very good and consistent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was seated in a private dining room for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Was seated in a private dining room for 12 which was a great experience.

Food was very good and the service was great. We will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Live music in the bar every day. Perfect ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Live music in the bar every day. Perfect date night. Bananas foster was AMAZING!! Go see Ryan in the bar, he'll take great care of you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and staff. Bar staff was att ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good food and staff. Bar staff was attentive and helpful. Very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinning experience. Great foo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent dinning experience. Great food, excellent friendly service, private dining rooms, nice live Jazz

Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We very much enjoyed the outstanding foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We very much enjoyed the outstanding food, as well as the option to go upstairs for a quieter location to eat and talk easily with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was great! We absolutely love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 35th wedding ann ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and also celebrating my wife's birthday. We were both interested in seeing the inside of the restaurant as it has a special meaning to me. I worked out of the headquarters building in the early 80s. The food was amazing along with the service. My wife had the swordfish with the truffled macaroni and cheese. I had the 8 ounce filet mignon with the fried rice with crabmeat . The swordfish was fresh and the mac & cheese was very creamy. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth like butter. The fried rice with crabmeat was simply delicious. Thank you for making it a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing dinner. They were ou ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointing dinner. They were out of our first two choices on the wine list. Service was spotty at best. Food was way too salty - the crab fried rice was barely edible. They brought out the wrong second side dish -- the correct one was brought out after we were almost finished with our meals. No apology. Still charged for it. The Sea bass was good but again too salty. My wife had the snapper which was overpowered with curry.

I have dined at Eddie Vs in North Scottsdale many times. The one in San Diego was nothing like the quality and service at the North Scottsdale location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Upscale place, excellent service and the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Upscale place, excellent service and the food was fantastic!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent restaurant that took good care ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

excellent restaurant that took good care of us. Oysters excellent. My strip steak came out well instead of medium rare. Waiter apologized and offered to bring another, but since we had traveled from east coast that day were tired and decided not to wait. Manager came and again apologized and took cost of steak off bill. got phone call during meal that daughter had just gotten engaged. waiter realized something big had happened in our lives, inquired and then brought us free desert. always seek out an "Eddie V's" when we travel and this kind of caring is the reason

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a group of 8 including a "CA wine ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a group of 8 including a "CA wine groupie" and a German professor who was very pleased... all enjoyed the evening and the food--especially the crab cakes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Perfect. The sea bass was so we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing. Perfect. The sea bass was so well prepared. Calamari was unique and delicious. The fresh bread is to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love happy hour in the bar, with grea ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love happy hour in the bar, with great jazz, service and food. The new Eddie's Hour menu is also very good, with some great new menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were warmly greeted by our hosts as s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were warmly greeted by our hosts as soon as we entered, brought to our seats, & offered drinks immediately. Walking in to the dining area, it was the perfect atmosphere to set up a beautiful dinner. Our server Melissa was exceptional, a true professional. She made us feel welcomed, very patient while we ordered, & extremely knowledgeable with our questions along with her recommendations. Bone in Rib Eye, broccolini, crab fried rice, steak & scampi combo, & the hot banana foster to finish. Delicious from start to finish. Zero complaints, true professionals through & through.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food and service were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Start to finish - perfect! Made reervati ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Start to finish - perfect! Made reervations on Open Table. The room was elegant. Our server was helpful, congenial. It was an anniversary dinner for two and when we arrived there were rose petals on the table and a card from Eddie V's wishing us Happy Anniversary.

Good wine selectins, one seafood dinner, one steak - both excellent and each cooked to a requested doneness. There were complimentary deserts. Bill was not excessive.

We will go again - and not wait for our next anniversary to be there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's shines once again. Notified t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Eddie V's shines once again. Notified them that its was wife's birthday. Greeted with red rose petals and a handwritten birthday card on the table. This is our 6th visit here, and all six have been outstanding. Excellent service by knowledgeable and helpful staff, with suggestions on menu options and preparations. And the meal, oh the meal. Wife had wonderful sea bass, I ordered the Tomahawk steak. Both fantastic, and of course the banana foster. Pricey but worth the expense for that special occasion.

Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fantastic restaurant. They ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a fantastic restaurant. They are known for their great seafood but I always get a steak. Their "Tomahawk" rib-eye steak is fantastic (if you have a big appetite) We sat in the lounge and listened to the Jazz Trio which was just at the right volume. This restaurant is FIVE STARS for service, cuisine, and ambiance. Our waiter was Josh and he anticipated our every need. The entire dining experience was AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we love this place, great service, excel ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

we love this place, great service, excellent wine knowledge and food recommendations

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and good live music in the bac ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Good food and good live music in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This was an awesome place! Our first tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was an awesome place! Our first time eating here. I'm from Atlanta and I'm a totally foodie and this place goes in as one of my new favs! I two lobster tails we're juicy and so sweet! The truffle Mac was Devine. We will have to come back here our nXt San Diego trip. Round of applause to Eddie V's ;-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an elegant dining experience. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is an elegant dining experience. The staff was very accommodating. We selected several items to share as small plates. We an excellent filet and added lobster. On top of that was a great BLT salad (bacon, lettuce wedge and cherry tomatoes). We started off with an excellent ahi appetizer.

We had a pleasant surprise when management called us to ask how we liked the dinner today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service & food was perfect. Dave was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our service & food was perfect. Dave was wonderful at guiding us through the food and wine menu as well as pacing the meal perfectly. One of the best dining experiences ever. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, great. This time we dined w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Once again, great. This time we dined with another couple; everything from food variety, quality, and service was excellent. We were sorry to hear that our favorite waiter would be moving north for college, but wish him well. We know their total staff excels.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding, expensive but very ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was outstanding, expensive but very good. Portion's were quit large. Our server Kevin was very attentive!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were on vacation in San Diego and thi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were on vacation in San Diego and this was our first time dining at Eddie V's. What a wonderful experience. Not only was the food, service & ambiance beyond expectations, they also called me the day after to ask how our experience was. I was shocked! We will definitely be dining with them again. Very happy to know that they are also here in the DFW area!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The room to the right of the entrance ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The room to the right of the entrance had the bar and a trio putting out some great jazz music was there. I would not want to be one of the diners though in the rim of tables around the bar as the loud music would have interfered with conversation.

Our server was effective, but ?overcaffeinated, which didn't help with setting a relaxed upscale tone. My wife had the swordfish entree and I had the scallops entrees, and we shared. Both seafoods were cooked to perfection. However the dishes were too bland in my opinion, and that opinion is from someone who likes their seafood subtly prepared so as not to overshadow the delicate flavors of what is supposed to be showcased. So I was somewhat disappointed by the entrees. The broccolini and bread were good. The Kim Crawford SB wine bottle was not overly marked up (as opposed to a prior experience at the Hotel del Coronado), and the shared dessert with chocolate cake and ice cream was good. For over $170 (after tip) for two though, this just was just too expensive for the experience.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything was fantastic - best restaura ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was fantastic - best restaurant we have eaten at, and we are not new to fine dining. Only drawback we were seated near a very large group so it was very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very nice time--service was great- ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a very nice time--service was great--food was delicious

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each visit gets better. Expensive, but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Each visit gets better. Expensive, but worth it. Kinda like my wife........

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and outstanding meal. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding meal. Loved everything about it. Only negative comment....claiming the Bananas Forster are prepared table side is a bit of an exaggeration! I was expecting the awesome old school presentation. Simply lighting the bananas on fire was a serious let down! Otherwise, it's a great place and I would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time to Eddie V's's w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was my second time to Eddie V's's with someone very special. And like the first time the food and staff were fantastic! Great place to celebrate a special event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was awesome! The food wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This restaurant was awesome! The food was really amazing and the service was impeccable. Glad we tried it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's was a memorable dinning experi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Eddie V's was a memorable dinning experience. When I booked the reservation I had informed them that we were celebrating our 5th anniversary and if they could spread a few rose petals around our table. I wasn't sure if they would go through with my request however, when we arrived at our table, they did have rose petals spread out. My wife loved the detail and I was very impressed that they did that for me. Overall it was great dining experience. The service was a bit slow, and my steak was slightly overcooked, however the staff made sure everything was corrected and that we were happy with our meal. Despite the few mishaps my wife and I were very satisfied with our dinner. We would gladly return to Eddie V's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We had a wonderful time at Eddie V's for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Eddie V's for our anniversary dinner. They greeted us with a special card and rose petals for the occasion. Miguel was great with his recommendations and service. Live band was a bonus with some great cover songs. Definitely will return again. Thank you Eddie V's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to Eddie's V and from other r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time to Eddie's V and from other reviews I knew it would be a experience. They did not disappoint. It was the flavors of the foods that was the most impressive. The way they treated the Birthday dinner was special. The service was very friendly and professional. Only one note was the Happy Hour. Happy Hour is everyday for 3 hours, but not all the Happy Hour menu is Happy (reduced price).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in San Diego for a special reaso ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were in San Diego for a special reason. My girlfriend and I wanted to celebrate a special occasion and heard that this was a nice Resturant. It turned out to be an extremely nice Resturant that my girlfriend truly enjoyed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for dinner prior to seeing ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here for dinner prior to seeing James Taylor in San Diego and the service was outstanding. Our server was advised that we were a hurry, so he took quick care of getting our order out to us quickly. Food tasted wonderful and very fresh, can't wait to go back for a full meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.