About Eddie V's - Seaport District

789 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in San Diego and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday through Thursday – 4pm-10pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-11pm

Happy Hour: Every Day - 4pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Kettner Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 615-0281

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Relax in our V Lounge where you can enjoy live music every night of the week. It's the perfect place to meet your friends and make new ones.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Seaport District, San Diego, CA
Eddie V's - Seaport District, San Diego, CA

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Seaport District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Diego
Seafood
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (40)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Live Music (25)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (8)
People Watching (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Waterfront (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We really enjoyed this restaurant.

The ambiance was formal yet comfortable. The service was impeccable.

The food was truly delicious. I try to avoid the bread but there it was warm and chewy with a crisp crust and herb butter. I had to have it. It was worth every bite.

My husband had a delicious cocktail.

Everything looked so good on the menu we decided to share an appetizer and each get a salad and entree. We got the jumbo shrimp appetizer. The shrimp were huge and perfect with three options for sauce.

He had the seafood chopped salad which was so full of seafood it was almost a meal. I had the warm goat cheese salad with chanterelles. The seasoned chanterelles and cheese were so tasty I barely had to put dressing on it, which is how I prefer it.

Hubby got seared scallops, also perfect, but I had the steamed Chilean sea bass and thought I died and went to heaven. It was done so nicely I can't even explain. The light soy and ginger and the perfectly cooked fish were amazing.

Sorry, no room for dessert, but they had good options.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

I loved the decor, especially wine rack and the restrooms.

Also, they are aware of how to keep gluten allergic people safe-a big plus for us.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way over priced. I ordered sea bass as a ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Way over priced. I ordered sea bass as a main dish, the only thing I tasted was soy souse and it's very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Always our favorite!! The food, drinks, ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always our favorite!! The food, drinks, service, and music cannot be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great evening with good food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was a great evening with good food and good service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing dinner, great service. Highly re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing dinner, great service. Highly recommend. Great menu, extensive wine list. Loved it.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual. Great place for a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Great place for any occasion.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Turkey di ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Turkey dinner was sumptuous. And as usual the service was outstanding. We've been here several times and it has never disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perhaps because it was Thanksgiving Day ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Perhaps because it was Thanksgiving Day the tables were jammed together so that one of our party's chair was "bumped" by one at the next table throughout the meal. There was a skylight above our table so while there was sunlight the lighting was fine, however at dusk and beyond the lightly was grossly inadequate. Ambiance is good, it being too dark to even read the bill is not. The food (both the turkey dinner and the seafood) was overpriced but OK and the service was spotty, at best. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Went for Thanksgiving dinner and it was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner and it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shared appetizers and cocktails. Food an ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Shared appetizers and cocktails. Food and service were great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typically, food and service is impeccabl ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Typically, food and service is impeccable. This visit server was condescending and inattentive. Steaks were overlooked along all edges, but we were too hungry after 5 hour flight to send them back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Our server was exceptional, but our 20th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server was exceptional, but our 20th wedding anniversary was ruined by the excessive saltiness of all our food. We ordered very high-end items: the lobster bisque was so salty we couldn't finish it; the sea bass - though the fish in itself was good- was swimming in a black soy broth reminiscent of the Dead Sea. My wife ordered the lobster tails, which would have been very good if not for the gravel road of salt poured over on top. Even the broccolini, which were steamed crisp to perfection, were drowned in a heavy-duty shower of shaved garlic. Excessive, excessive, excessive. We didn't want to complain because it would have ruined our special night, but what kind of chefs or culinary supervision are they resorting to back in the kitchen? Abysmal. Unbelievable. Unpalatable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Fantastic special celebration where food ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic special celebration where food and service were impeccable. We've had Ki most of our visits to Eddie V's....and he executes perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal with distinct full favour ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent meal with distinct full favours. Loved the entrees and sides we selected. A good value wine list at various price points.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing food - great service - interesti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

amazing food - great service - interesting building/architecture -

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service, live ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, live band was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambience - abysmal se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food and ambience - abysmal service. Greeted and seated courteously, but when our server, "Polly" arrived, it was made clear that our presence was a nuisance and imposition on her time. Information about food, specials, etc, was provided begrudgingly only after we had to ask. Inattentive, dismissive, and mostly absent. The secondary server was the only one who kept us from walking out of the restaurant (unfortunately did not catch his name to offer thanks). At this price point, excellent food cannot carry the show - there needs to be accompanying impeccable, professional service. Lacking that, it's difficult for me to recommend this restaurant to my business colleagues.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Best meal I've had in a long, long time. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best meal I've had in a long, long time. My husband and I are still talking about it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic seafood surpassed by even bett ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic seafood surpassed by even better service. Waiter Sergio knew the menu, the wines, and really helped us have a great meal. OK, you will spend about $75 or more a head, but it will be a great meal. Value is receiving more quality and satisfaction than you pay for and this place is high value. Book a table and take your friends and family to celebrate anything. You will remember the occasion for a long time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service from a very attentive and profes ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service from a very attentive and professional staff was top notch but food was generally poor - especially for the price. When dining at a restaurant that specializes in seafood and steak - you would expect something to be good - we left disappointed. Ordered a couple appetizers which were decent, but ordered 2 "specials" that disappointed. Seafood trio of shrimp scampi, scallops, and lobster tail - only the lobster was edible. The other special was beef medallions and shrimp - all over cooked. Ordered a side of truffle mac and cheese - tasteless and made me wonder where the cheese went. We left half the food and didn't bother to take it with us - it was that bad. No bottles of wine ordered - collectively we had a total of 3 glasses. $300 tab for a well below average meal. Definitely won't repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Always fabulous! Jazz in the bar is the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always fabulous! Jazz in the bar is the BEST! Best service in the bar, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again Eddie V's was fantastic! Just ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Once again Eddie V's was fantastic! Just when you think that it can't get any better, it does.

We had oyster and spring roll appetizers, both were great tasting. The cocktails were perfect. For main courses we had both seafood and steak dishes. All were cooked to perfection! Our server Kevin was the best! We've had him several times and the service has always been wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Eddie V's for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Visited Eddie V's for a birthday dinner. Every single staff member we encountered went out of their way to make sure the birthday girl felt special. The service was beyond exceptional, and the food... Amazing. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place for a nice steak and ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love this place for a nice steak and martini. We love sitting upstairs where it is a lot quieter. The ambiance is wonderful and warm. For this outing, we had an especially attentive sever named Javier. He took great care of us and timed the meal beautifully, My steak was done exactly as requested and was very tasty. My wife's sole was ample, lightly dusted and prepared perfectly. And the Brussels sprouts were spectacular. Highly recommend this restaurant and this location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere, & ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere, & on a scale of 1- 10---a 10 plus👍

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Eddie Vs for making my birthda ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Thank you Eddie Vs for making my birthday wonderful and beautiful 😊. Great service and great food all a girl could ask for.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not great. The filet m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good but not great. The filet mignon was well prepared, but the Béarnaise sauce was pretty mediocre. The chocolate cake (Godiva) was ok - but the shell was too hard. Almost as though they made the shell first using a mold and then injected the molten chocolate into it. Seafood was ok - nothing special. All in all, not a special dinner venue, especially given the price. I will not be going back...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Strong recommendation

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Strong recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great appetizers and salads everything ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great appetizers and salads everything was well prepared Mains were pricey

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We had two exceptionally good meals. Fre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had two exceptionally good meals. Fresh nicely prepared seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, great and attentive serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food, great and attentive service. Sole, halibut, swordfish, and tuna are tasty dishes, complimented with sautéed spinach and potato au gratin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great. Wonderful food. Really convenient ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great. Wonderful food. Really convenient location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the waiters were nice and polite, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

While the waiters were nice and polite, service took too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

In town for a conference and found this ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

In town for a conference and found this on trip advisor. Service was amazing. The crab cake appetizer and wedge salad were great. The seal bass was perfectly cooked. Very good wine list as well. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time here, the food w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time here, the food was delicious! Our server was on top of it, and most importantly my clients we impressed and happy! thank you for the wonderful service

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I celebrated my birthday. They had a bi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I celebrated my birthday. They had a birthday card for me and desert at the end of the meal. I highly recommend this place. waiters are excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and excellent ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and excellent service. Dave K. was awesome at explaining the menu and making recommendations. I could not have asked for a better surprise birthday dinner for my husband.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, music and service. In p ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Excellent food, music and service. In particular, our waitress, Kera, was fabulous and made our dinner and time there fabulous. We will be definitely going back - and we will be asking for a "Kera" table!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's my second visit to an Eddie v's. L ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It's my second visit to an Eddie v's. Last year I had gone to the La Jolla location and don't remember the food as anything great. It was a work function and everyone felt the same. No one at work would be back. I had gone this time because a friend had wanted to go for their birthday.

The waiter was great. He helped in every aspect. I, on the other hand can't send food back. I've done it before and end up with something worse or just uncomfortable because I just don't trust the food after a complaint.

They were out of the halibut and I ended up with butterfish. It wasn't horrible but I've definitely had a much better meal. My partner ordered the 12 oz filet. We had planned on just splitting it between the two of us but he didn't care for mine at all and I wasn't all that impressed with his. He ordered it medium rare which it came out medium. The main problem was that it was cold. Had it been warm it would have been better. The meat was tender...just cold. Although we did have to wait a couple minutes for another person in the party to receive their food, I can't imagine those couple minutes getting it that cold.

Although service was great I just can't fathom spending 300 on a meal that I flat out don't care for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.