About Eddie V's - Seaport District

789 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in San Diego and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday through Thursday – 4pm-10pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-11pm

Happy Hour: Every Day - 4pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Kettner Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 615-0281

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Relax in our V Lounge where you can enjoy live music every night of the week. It's the perfect place to meet your friends and make new ones.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Seaport District
Eddie V's - Seaport District

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Seaport District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
7 More
Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (108)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Romantic (71)
See All
Notable Wine List (54)
Good for Groups (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My steak wasn't cooked correctly. The st ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

My steak wasn't cooked correctly. The staff was VERY attentive and apologetic for the mistake. Amazing banana foster. Like perfection. Seafood tower was good and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We sat in the lounge because there was a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

We sat in the lounge because there was a jazz ban playing but the atmosphere was still cozy and romantic. The music was a wonderful touch to a special evening. The calamari was fantastic as was our main course. Everything was done to perfection

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything about this place, except for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything about this place, except for the steak was very nice. Other steakhouses in the area have much better tasting, and well prepared meat. For my date and I, our steaks were overcooked, and we didn't like the rub used on them. The sides were delicious (Brussel sprouts with bacon and mushrooms and crab fried rice). My cocktail (Mojito) was mediocre at best, but my date loved his (their signature Manhattan). Our dessert was so-so. Creme Brulee was too sweet and too custardy for my taste. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the restaurant was beautiful. The service was excellent. The waiter was attentive, but not overly so as be bothersome. Parking sucked big time. Trying to get valet parking made us late for our reservation, but getting our car afterwards was fast. For the money, I would have definitely preferred another upscale steak house.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Best meal I have ever eaten and the serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best meal I have ever eaten and the service was superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a pleasant dinner here. No view l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a pleasant dinner here. No view like the Eddy V's in La Jolla but still very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and service was great but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The atmosphere and service was great but main dishes ordered were overdone. The steaks were all asked to be medium rare to rare but the food was prepared as medium well to well done. The staff removed the items from the bill and we received complementary desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Steaks were cooked right the first time. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Steaks were cooked right the first time. No one sent theirs' back which is rare at a steakhouse serving a large group. Servers seafood suggestion was spot on. Although the food came out prepared as ordered it was a very long wait for the mains.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The wife and I celebrated our Anniversar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The wife and I celebrated our Anniversary with Eddie Vs. In my note to the restaurant I stated as such and they took care of us. Everyone who greeted us wished us a Happy Anniversary, had Rose Petals scattered on our table and they also through in dessert for free, which they so neatly wrote "Happy Anniversary" in Chocolate on the plate. My wife can be a hard a-- and I can be worse, but we totally enjoyed the service, the delicious food and the dining experience Eddie Vs had to offer. Even called me the next day to make sure we had a great time... Sweet...

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay, but the restaurant h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was okay, but the restaurant had a terrible stench. We could tell where it was coming from. It really ruined the mood of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service a little over the top considerin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service a little over the top considering the food was mediocre, pricey wine list. Would not go back on next visit to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our favorite restaurant in San Diego! Se ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in San Diego! Service and food are always superb. The best New York strip anywhere! Also love the crab fried rice and all their desserts. Excellent customer service and attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Guests celebrated an anniversary, ju ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our Guests celebrated an anniversary, just Excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting San Diego on a long weekend to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Visiting San Diego on a long weekend to see our son. Have been to Eddie V's in La Jolla; this was our first time to the one in downtown San Diego. Had a reservation so no wait. Everything was very good with three exceptions: 1) the upstairs family bathroom was very dirty (my son used it and advised me to go downstairs to the main ladies room) , 2) the tuna appetizer (which my son always orders) was "off" on its taste -- okay but not the showcase dish he is accustomed to at your establishment and 3) my son asked for medium rare and got medium well done on his steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful for a special occasion. My bir ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful for a special occasion. My birthday was recognized with a note and rose petals on the table. The complimentary dessert was my choice from the menu and large enough to share with my companion Dinner was excellent , very delicious, and plentiful enough to share for light eaters. We actually took some home. Treatment was the same at the LaJolla location I highly recommend Eddie Vs

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great night here listening to t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a great night here listening to the live band and enjoying the food and drinks. Will be back again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As ALWAYS the food and experience was EX ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As ALWAYS the food and experience was EXCEPTIONAL. the white glove treatment starts from the minute you enter the door and continues throughout the whole night. the food is always perfect and if its not, they will fix it quickly.

Love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and large portions at a price ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and large portions at a price. Wine list only had one compelling value, rest of the list was extremely expensive. Outstanding waitstaff. Definitely 5 stars.

Bad: we were sitting on the patio and people would smoke about 10 to 20 feet away and the smoke would drift over to our table. Since I suffer from asthma, I politely asked the people to move away so that we could breath. Surprising that the city of San Diego does not ban outdoor smoking.

Management: is it worth a customer who is spending $3 on their draft beer to ruin the dinner of someone who is spending $500 (five hundred) on dinner????

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I was super impressed with Eddie Vs at S ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I was super impressed with Eddie Vs at Seaport. Downtown San Diego has turned itself into an absolute hotspot and with the Ritz, Pendry and Pacific Gate coming looks to only get better. I would highly recommend Eddie Vs for business, date, casual dinner type event. Food was great and service was FANTASTIC.

Ill be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, and the extra touch they put on for my lady's birthday almost made me tear up. Loved this place and highly recommend. The twice baked potato 👌🏾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing seafood and great service. Will ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing seafood and great service. Will definitely return the next time we are in San Diego. Loved the entire experience. Best oysters I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is delicious. I think food is littl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food is delicious. I think food is little over priced for the portion they serve. Live music is a plus and we enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Where do I start. Reservations were at 9 ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Where do I start. Reservations were at 9pm. Got seated at 9:35. Food was served at 10:40pm. Ahi Tuna was like a piece of rubber with no flavor at all. Manager could give a dam about the service. Offered free sparkling water. She then disappeared. Waiter did comp the two meals. We do eat out a lot but won't be going back here. Why do the have kids manage a restaurant with no people skills?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Went here for our anniversary..Was treat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went here for our anniversary..Was treated great and will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the decor of the restaurant - love ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

loved the decor of the restaurant - loved the greeting from the hostesses at front door and loved the attention. was especially impressed with the sofistication and style of Eddie V's. It was nice to see how classy the staff looked - great attire!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second dinner at an Eddie V ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our second dinner at an Eddie V's... the first was in Austin TX. We thought the San Diego waterfront location was excellent, no complaints at all. The lobster bisque tasted just as good as it did in Texas. My wife had a salmon special while I had grouper. Both dishes were good, but the grouper was really the star. Nice service; a definite repeat. Oh, and the wine list is quite varied and well chosen... also "fully priced".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Crab cake!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best Crab cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and live music

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , excelent wine Serviré grea ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food , excelent wine

Serviré great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Eddie V's is always a fabulous choice fo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Eddie V's is always a fabulous choice for fine dining. The service is impeccable, the food choice amazing and the presentation beautiful. Customer service is definitely their number one priority and is consistent from visit to visit. The live music is just the right volume so you can talk to your dining party and enjoy good music. I definitely recommend Eddie V's for any special occasion. They really make it special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the evening with friends. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We enjoyed the evening with friends. The food and drinks are very good and consistent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was seated in a private dining room for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was seated in a private dining room for 12 which was a great experience.

Food was very good and the service was great. We will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Live music in the bar every day. Perfect ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Live music in the bar every day. Perfect date night. Bananas foster was AMAZING!! Go see Ryan in the bar, he'll take great care of you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and staff. Bar staff was att ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good food and staff. Bar staff was attentive and helpful. Very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinning experience. Great foo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent dinning experience. Great food, excellent friendly service, private dining rooms, nice live Jazz

Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We very much enjoyed the outstanding foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We very much enjoyed the outstanding food, as well as the option to go upstairs for a quieter location to eat and talk easily with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was great! We absolutely love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 35th wedding ann ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and also celebrating my wife's birthday. We were both interested in seeing the inside of the restaurant as it has a special meaning to me. I worked out of the headquarters building in the early 80s. The food was amazing along with the service. My wife had the swordfish with the truffled macaroni and cheese. I had the 8 ounce filet mignon with the fried rice with crabmeat . The swordfish was fresh and the mac & cheese was very creamy. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth like butter. The fried rice with crabmeat was simply delicious. Thank you for making it a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing dinner. They were ou ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointing dinner. They were out of our first two choices on the wine list. Service was spotty at best. Food was way too salty - the crab fried rice was barely edible. They brought out the wrong second side dish -- the correct one was brought out after we were almost finished with our meals. No apology. Still charged for it. The Sea bass was good but again too salty. My wife had the snapper which was overpowered with curry.

I have dined at Eddie Vs in North Scottsdale many times. The one in San Diego was nothing like the quality and service at the North Scottsdale location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Upscale place, excellent service and the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Upscale place, excellent service and the food was fantastic!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent restaurant that took good care ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

excellent restaurant that took good care of us. Oysters excellent. My strip steak came out well instead of medium rare. Waiter apologized and offered to bring another, but since we had traveled from east coast that day were tired and decided not to wait. Manager came and again apologized and took cost of steak off bill. got phone call during meal that daughter had just gotten engaged. waiter realized something big had happened in our lives, inquired and then brought us free desert. always seek out an "Eddie V's" when we travel and this kind of caring is the reason

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.