About Eddie V's - Chicago

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (65)
Romantic (60)
See All
Live Music (59)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Bar Seating (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Groups (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Business Meals (36)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Cozy (29)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fun (19)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Private Room (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (11)
People Watching (11)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
1480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful evening. Great waiter! Fabulous food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Jazz cocktail bar. Had cocktails and appetizers at the bar before dinner, phenomenal, Great ambience, food and drinks. Then moved on for dinner. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and it was a perfect evening. Lobster and halibut was spectacular, friendly attentive service in a quiet environment. Anna the manager is a gem. A great dining experience I'm coming back with friends loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic! We had to rush a bit at the end as we were taking a helicopter ride that we needed to be on time for. They were great about getting us checked out and on our way. They even invited us back for dessert afterwards as it was my husband's birthday. We weren't able to return but look forward to returning!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Some of the best food and service in Chicago. My wife and I go there for all special occasions!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional experience! both food and service were amazing. Live jazz and modern design give a special atmosphere! Definitely will come back and recommend to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding experience! The quality of the crab cake was unbelievable! The Lemondrop cocktail and the cosmo were absolutely lovely.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excelentes

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A very romantic evening out, enjoyed the atmosphere and dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous experience as always. Service is terrific and the food is off the charts. Wine list is special

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a nice birthday party there.
I received a special birthday desert. Nice service!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The shrimp and scallop salad was very good. On a Friday night the dining room was very noisy. We were seated next to a large party who became increasing loud during the course of our dinner including the use of expletives. Next time I will sit at the bar to eat and drink and enjoy the live jazz.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A very lovely, classy restaurant with music taking it to an even nicer level.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The musical trio was great! My hubby and I had an awesome time listening to the trio and we enjoyed the wonderful food. The Jacobi brothers are friends and we were so happy to see them playing there at Eddie V. Made our trip to CHI fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Place was excellent. Service was top notch. Steaks were cooked to perfection

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The food looked great but didn't taste so great, especially not for the price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Unfortunately our experience during this visit did not meet our expectations that had been created after dining at the Orlando location. While the service was good, entrees were cold and bland; sides were undercooked and hard to consume. Had this been my only visit to an Eddie V's, I would not return. With that said, any restaurant can have a bad night. Based on prior history, we'll give them another chance.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wait staff was incredible, the food was perfect, and the music was at a perfect volume to enjoy, but still have a conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great experience from start to finish! Excellent service, great food, hip vibe. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Bradley was great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We came to Eddies V's to celebrate our anniversary. From the greeting at the door, to the rose petals scattered across the table and the fantastic music, the entire experience was fantastic. We will be back as soon as we can to enjoy another night under their excellent care!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Seemed to have down in quality and service since our last visit. Was once one of our favorite places to go. Think we will try other options when we are back in Chicago again

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, great service and fairly priced. Great quality of food. I liked the way the servers work with the bus boys and keep things flowing. Great atmosphere, well done! Can't wait to go back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very nice. We visit Chicago once a year and try to eat the best food in Chicago. TThis is a little less stiff than Joe's and just as good!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I really enjoyed myself and was quite surprise as well. Not too many restaurants can hold a standard in my books.
The service was excellent, food was properly prepared, the music I loved and enjoyed. The ambiance was good a bit noisy while the band perform. Other than that 5star in book

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great restaurant (food & service) but too noisy for a restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I love this place. Always fresh and creative cuisines!!!! My waiter was accommodating as well.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was amazing, but costly. Waiter was a little cold.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I booked the restaurant based on their menu, something for everyone. They were very accommodating to seat us at a larger table than I booked since my party grew from 4 to 7. We were seated promptly, service was excellent, and our meal was delicious. With so many choices in Chicago for great steaks and seafood I highly recommend Eddie V's for their variety of menu choices.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2017

fantastic experience !Great food--- incredible service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

By far exceeded my expectations, from the valet gentleman to the waitress that served us water, excellence is what to expect from this establishment, that was just the service to top it off food was amazing, without a doubt we will be returning.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very noisy
Table location quite poor (better tables were free but "reserved" to "regular" customers
Food and service ok

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Eddie V's rebounded well from my negative Mother's Day experience. Last night was comfortable and dinner was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Came to hear Katie Ernst Trio and loved the food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great bone-in rib-eye steak. Wonderful crab-stuffed orangutan shrimp. Great service. we bypassed the wine for cocktails. Creative bar. Drinks were terrific. Talented musicians, but loud.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was the 1st time we had dined at this Eddie V location and we loved it. The service was awesome and the food was even better. Best meal we had in Chitown this weekend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Amazing restaurant all around. Food is superior quality, oustanding service and romantic atmosphere. They went out of their way to accommodate our anniversary dinner. Kudos to our server Andrea. Her knowledge and appreciation for great food shows through in her expert recommendations. A memorable experience for our special weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was delicious and the ambience is impeccable for any special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We go to Eddie V's regularly. However, we are treated very badly too often. The food is delicious and consistent. The staff needs training in how to treat people especially the hosts/hostesses. I was pouring water for the table myself! We were totally ignored until I asked for a manager. If this is how they treat people who come in often, imagine how they treat people who come in the first time!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.