About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Chicago
Eddie V's - Chicago

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Seafood
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Special Occasion (110)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Romantic (81)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Good for Groups (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Hot Spot (25)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jessica was an EXCELLENT waitress! Great ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 12 hours ago

Jessica was an EXCELLENT waitress! Great service and friendliness. Jazz trio was excellent, although a bit loud in the bar area. 24 carat drink is excellent, although found our about it being from a couple of TripAdvisor reviews, not from the bar tender while waiting for our table. But I was able to get it outside of Happy Hour by asking for it. Warm bread and butter was excellent, as wierd as that sounds. Lobster and Shrimp Bisque was OK. Seafood Trio with Lobster Tail, Crab stuffed Shrimp, and Scallops was was excellent per my wife as well as the 16 Oz lobster tail special I had. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Mitch, was one of the best a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter, Mitch, was one of the best and most professional servers we've ever had. The raw oysters (west coast) were awesome. The chopped salad with shrimp and lump crab was five star all the way. Definitely big enough for two to share. My wife's snapper dish was excellent and my Parmesan crusted sole was good albeit a bit too generous on the butter and slightly over cooked. The acoustics are poor in this restaurant and the sound is loud. That was the one negative about the atmosphere. The place is otherwise pleasant, service was amazing and the food very good but not great.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The consierge was good. Front desk ok. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The consierge was good. Front desk ok. The service at breakfast dosent give a good feeling. Yo feel more that, Oh' no a New costoumer, and the way the coffe and meal is served is not very elagant way. Room is good, and nice and clean. Good solution for the AC.

The recommandation is Connected to the waterfront, and good room facilities.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First they sent my family at the back ne ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First they sent my family at the back near nobody. I informed them u will not be shoved in the back with total silence or i would of stayed in my hotel room. I added i may have kids but they are good and quiet kids... I hate that treatment

Then it took them 3 times to good my steak right. And the sides were lightly warm...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Excellent food, service, ambiance. First ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, service, ambiance. First class all the way. Best food I've ever tasted at a restaurant. Waitress, Andrea, was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was really disappointed . I made a res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was really disappointed . I made a reservation for main dining room but when I arrived was put in bar area next to band.

The Mac and cheese was really dry

And you wine selection by glass was not good.

Desert was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful Saturday night meal. Long onc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful Saturday night meal. Long once a year dinner with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great with Morgan!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always great with Morgan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will consider Eddie V's a typical high ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I will consider Eddie V's a typical high end steakhouse. The food was good. I ordered a 16oz NY and it was well cooked but lacked flavor. My companion ordered the double breasted chicken and sent it back. We ordered the cold crab appetizer and the hot crab cakes and both were very good. I thought the prices were reasonable for this type of restaurant. Service was good as well. It takes a lot for a restaurant like this to blow me away and get five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was fantastic, from service t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was fantastic, from service to food to atmosphere. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bone-in Ribeye was outstanding. Bananas ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bone-in Ribeye was outstanding. Bananas Foster dessert was one of the best finishers I've had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate dinner there for our 12 anniversa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We ate dinner there for our 12 anniversary, the food was good,service was great and would definitely recommend and I'll be back next time I'm in Chicago!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our dining experience was phe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always, our dining experience was phenomenal. The food was amazing, the ambiance was a good mix of relaxed and lively. The music was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was top notch. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and the service was top notch. It was a wonderful birthday celebration for both of us. We throughly enjoyed every aspect of the evening. The booth, our birthday cards from Eddie V's a really nice touch, the food was wonderful, and the personalized dessert was a great conclusion to our dinner. We will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon was under cooked. Our son, wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The salmon was under cooked. Our son, who ordered the salmon experienced gastro issues after dinner, which halted our after dinner plans. The salmon was cooked the way the chef suggested. I would recommend cooking it longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious foods, seafoods cooked perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious foods, seafoods cooked perfectly! Beautifully plated! Palate pleasing desserts! Attentive wait staff. Suggestions: have the daily specials in print - hard to assess for selection the information orally presented and increase lighting - darkness of room make bad pictures!

Must come back for personal attention to the live jazz in the adjoining room. It sounded real

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's was a really nice dining exper ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Eddie V's was a really nice dining experience. The room is dimly lit, and most of the people there (it was Saturday night) were on dates. The highlights of my meal were the crab cakes and the Miso Sea Bass. I normally would not really get the Sea Bass, but the waitress recommended it to me and it was really great! I would recommend it, too. The only thing that wasn't great was the bill. It was definitely an "experience" for dinner and very quality, but I think there are some other options that are a better value for your money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance throughout the restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great ambiance throughout the restaurant. Disappointing was specially requesting on the Open Table reservation not to be seated near the kitchen. They seated us by a clean-up station where 3 busboys were standing. We asked to be moved and they gave us a cozy two person booth a few feet away. It was great until we noticed it was the table next to the entrance to the bathrooms. There was no sign that would have given us fair warning as we would have refused that table. We mentioned it to our waiter Bradley who talked to the hostess. The manager Brian stopped by to apologize but that was it. Bradley took it upon himself to advocate for us and after dinner the hotness came by to offer us a free after dinner drink and desert. Finally! Thanks to Bradley who was an outstanding server and advocate. He knew every item on the menu and was able to offer educating comments. Thanks the Bradley the evening turned out OK. Obviously it should have never got to that point so I think the management needs additional customer service training. Food was very good, but pricey. We plan to return sometime and hopefully they will read the special request section of the Open Table reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was our anniversary. From the moment ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our anniversary. From the moment we arrived and through the meal we were treated special. Our server was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there during our, vacation trip to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went there during our, vacation trip to Chicago. Lived up to it's fine TripAdvisor reviews . Would go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A friendly welcome, excellent service wi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A friendly welcome, excellent service with the waiters knowing your name and wonderful food with delicious flavours.

jazz and Blues from a superbly talented trio made the evening complete

We dined there 2 out of 4 nights

Eddie V's would be the best reason to return to Chicago

Tags: Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Zedria was great and customer service wo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Zedria was great and customer service would come back for the service along with the my waitress was nice. Crab cakes were great Australia lobster was dry along with the crab rice was cold. But great customer service for the hostess Zedria.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the jazz music, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the jazz music, and food ...the service was good and they let us share a steak......The tenderloin was delicious....You could cut it with a fork.......WE will be back......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food (this is a tremendous spo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food (this is a tremendous spot for steaks), great ambiance and live music, lovely hosts, but for the second time in a row our waiter lacked in skills/attitude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything about this meal was excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything about this meal was excellent. The wine, bread, appetizers, service, entrees, and dessert were all amazing. We love this place! Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great the scene was perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was great the scene was perfectly suited to our needs but what stood out most as being exceptional was our waiter. He was present when needed attentive and personable. He really elevated the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The aged bone in ribeye was cook perfect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The aged bone in ribeye was cook perfectly and the entertainment was great. I would come back when in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Expensive, b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. Expensive, but the quality is high. Nice live music.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and awesome staff! I would ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing food and awesome staff! I would highly recommend Eddie V's

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for out 46th wedding anniv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were there for out 46th wedding anniversary. All the staff that we came into contact with congratulated us personally. In addition there was a card on the table signed individually by all of the staff.

Food was exceptional as was the service by Catherine, our server.

We couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for good seafood, Eddie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were looking for good seafood, Eddie V's certainly delivered. We decided to start with Salads, these were very generous portions, fresh tasting and beautifully presented. The Entree, I had Snapper and prawn, it was cooked to perfection and the sauce enhanced it perfectly. My sister ordered Swordfish and stated it was the best she had tasted. We did not try dessert, were totally satisfied and wanted to continue to savor the flavorful memories.

Our server was attentive and honored our request to move through the meal slowly as my sister had just arrived from a long international flight and needed to decompress.

The atmosphere was relaxed and intimate, perfect for our reunion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant. Not great having to hi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great restaurant. Not great having to hike up 2 floors to go to bathroom in a mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great jazz dining experience in the loun ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great jazz dining experience in the lounge. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The hostess staff made us feel very welcome. It was our second time at the restaurant and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Eddie V's was wonderful, as always! Nev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Eddie V's was wonderful, as always! Never disappoints with the service or the food. The hot bananas foster still is one of my favorite desserts of all time. Make sure to save room for it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding service! Howe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and outstanding service! However, even though wine list was extensive, choices were generally not exciting. Seafood items are outstanding in preparation and taste!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was an amazing time! the seafood was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

it was an amazing time! the seafood was so fresh and best lobster tacos ever!! The food was beyond amazing and the service was so great!! I would definately go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's is a top notch seafood restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Eddie V's is a top notch seafood restaurant which seldom disappoints. The crab cake appetizer,wild mushroom salad and the scallop and shrimp entrees were terrific. We were a bit disappointed by the slow service. There appeared to be a slight problem with the management of the service team. Nevertheless, the dinner was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service, with a jazzy atmosphere m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great service, with a jazzy atmosphere made this a very enjoyable meal experience.

Oysters were fresh and tasty, halibut was very good and I went with a filet which was good not great. Loved the has trio playing in the lounge. All servers were exceptional

Would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Where do I start to describe our dinner ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Where do I start to describe our dinner at Eddie V's? Our first round of drinks took over 20 minutes to be served. Salads, after ordering were not at the table within 30 minutes and the kitchen took it upon itself to substitute bibb lettuce for romaine (which they ran out of) without notifying the customer. We asked to see a manager, they arrived 28 minutes after we asked to see them. The bar tried to substitute a wine to my dinner guest because they ran out of the wine he asked for. Instead of asking the customer what they wanted instead, the bar sent something they thought he would like. The entrees were just average. The entire dining room had the same look on their faces as we did all night, "Where is our food? What is going on with this restaurant?"

There are too many significantly better options in Chicago than to ever go to Eddie V's.

When I posted this review to my restaurant review website, over a dozen subscribers sent me feedback saying they'd had similar experiences at this restaurant recently. Very telling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Eddie V's provided an attractive and war ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eddie V's provided an attractive and warm setting for a business dinner. Our server was exceptional; she was bright, attentive and pleasant. Our dinners were excellent, except for the one steak (filet) was cold when it got to the table. The server offered to have it warmed, and she also gave us a complimentary dessert. The jazz trio in the lounge was smooth and not intrusive. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.