About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Eddie V's - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Seafood
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Live Music (37)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Business Meals (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Modern Decor (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
Private Room (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful restaurant with great service ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful restaurant with great service and a wonderful menu certainly worth the time and effort to get to downtown Chicago

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love this place. It has bec ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Love, love, love this place. It has become my go to spot in Chicago. Food is always awesome. Try everything!!! Love the live trio! The bar is tops! Service is perfect. Great spot, great find, in a city full of great restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's is one of my favorite restaura ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Eddie V's is one of my favorite restaurants in downtown Chicago. The food and service are always excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Three of us went for dinner. The wedge s ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Three of us went for dinner. The wedge salad, steaks & sides were delicious. The creme brûlée with cookies was very good. The service is always attentive. We enjoyed the live jazz in the bar after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Huge value for downtown? Exceeded all ex ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Huge value for downtown? Exceeded all expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great date...food was fabulous and ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had a great date...food was fabulous and it was a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb food and service, varied wine lis ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Superb food and service, varied wine list, good ambience. I would definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Excellent food. I app ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent food. I appreciated the live music. Really good experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our evening was fantast ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything about our evening was fantastic. The persons in our party that have never been to Eddie V's stated that they would definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elroy made sure we knew what we wanted e ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Elroy made sure we knew what we wanted even though we didn't .

Donna is gluten sensitive and went out of his way to make everything perfect.

Best rib steak ever had.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am a serious foodie...From the moment ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

I am a serious foodie...From the moment we walked in (requested and received lounge seating), every member of the staff was fabulous. Service was prompt (not rushed); our server, Elana, was knowledgeable & informative, a pure delight. Every single dish ordered was out of this world...Norwegian Salmon, Butterfish, Sea scallops, broccolini, and of course the flaming bananas foster..perfect amount of seasoning. Not one suggestion for improvement! Can't believe I have never been here before. Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

To start our waiter was pretentious and ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

To start our waiter was pretentious and snobby. My Snapper was way over-cooked and although it listed "morels" didn't find a single one and the waiter didn't care! They attempted to cover-charge me for my wine but I caught it. Worst of all I think I got food poisoning as I was very ill after my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

An amazing enviroment to be in with fami ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

An amazing enviroment to be in with family. The food, the drinks and the dessert was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience! Our table w ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience! Our table was ready at the time of our reservation in a clean and quiet dining room with a serene ambiance. Our waiter, Marcus, was amazing paying attention to every detail. He knew all of the menu items in detail and his service was impeccable! We cannot wait to come back to Chicago and stop in again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's was highly recommended to me a ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Eddie V's was highly recommended to me and everything I was told was true! We were there for Thanksgiving so 2 of our party had their Thanksgiving Turkey dinner w all trimmings and the rest had normal menu! Everything was absolutely fabulous! Our Server was on top of everything and very gracious as well! I loved the ambiance of Eddie V's as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening and our server Mitch ma ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fabulous evening and our server Mitch made it even better. Music was lovely and we got up and danced. Food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I found this restaurant on open table an ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

I found this restaurant on open table and was pleasantly surprised. The service was terrific and the food was great. There was live music, which was also enjoyable. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent! Our server made t ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Service was excellent! Our server made the entire experience worth the trip. Food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our third visit . The restaur ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was our third visit . The restaurant did not disappoint. Only glitch - we had a reservation , there were open tables but we were directed to the bar. Fine ...nice bar but after we finished our drink I had to

Go back to the reception desk which had no other diners in the area and ask to be seated as did another couple who

Also had been directed to the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good seafood. The music in the lou ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very good seafood. The music in the lounge was very enjoyable.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect...food, service, atmosphere, jaz ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Perfect...food, service, atmosphere, jazz band playing in the lounge so you could hear them but not so loud you couldn't have a quiet conversation. Lobster tacos, crab cake, scallops, filet oscar...can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere great music

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

Love the atmosphere great music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service.

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Wonderful service. The ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Delicious food. Wonderful service. The Malbec by the glass was a great match with the steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great except the wait on ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Everything was great except the wait on our food. The manager apologized and comped our meals. Great recovery for our table. They didn't have to comp all the meals. They went beyond what they needed to do for us. Kudos to the manager!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very good atmosphere and service was gre ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very good atmosphere and service was great, I will recommend this place

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My siblings and I decided to celebrate m ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

My siblings and I decided to celebrate my mother's birthday at Eddie V's and it was an absolute treat for everyone. The ambience, the food and the decor ALL EXCELLENT --but paled in comparison to the service we received from MITCH. He was absolutely the best! The Eddie V team was right to hire him. I am looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was fun and lively, with ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

The restaurant was fun and lively, with a welcoming vibe. Although the food was very good, my daughter's scallops were a bit over salted, and my fish entree ("butterfish") was luke warm by the time it got to our table, and frankly, overpriced. These are not major complaints, just an observation.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food. Good service. But far too noi ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food. Good service. But far too noisy. Especially with people around the table trying to be heard above the piped-in music. Our server was kind enough to lower the music twice. But each time other servers would increase the volume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We loved this place so much we went back ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We loved this place so much we went back the next night. The live jazz is superb and not too loud even if you're seated in the bar area. The food and service are great. It's on my must-go-again list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in a very pleasant environmen ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food in a very pleasant environment with excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So 'Chicago' you can imagine a Mob boss ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

So 'Chicago' you can imagine a Mob boss dining there in days of old .. From food to ambiance to Berlin our waitress .. it was phenomenal... we would definitely revisit .. Hands down the best lobster tail I have ever consumed and I am a foodie ... loved it !!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants for celeb ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants for celebrating special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding and the foll ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

The service was outstanding and the follow up during the meal was very impressive. We asked for a quiet table, got one, AND they followed up after 15 mins to make sure it was OK. Very impressive. Oh, and the food was very good also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience overall. I even lef ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic experience overall. I even left a shopping bag there and they were able to save it for me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent night out in Chicago. Nice men ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent night out in Chicago. Nice menu, we had lobster tails and filet mignon and they were excellent. We can recommended the mashed potatoes with lobster and cheese as side orders. With a bottle of Red and starters shared it came to 320$ incl. T&T. A bit overpriced for people earning their salaries in Euros, but we loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Kitchen seemed a Little slow on food pre ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Kitchen seemed a Little slow on food prep tonightv

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent service, food and amazing amb ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service, food and amazing ambiance. Eric made great recommendations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I took my wife here for her birthday. Ve ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday. Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff and nice jazz music. The lobster tacos and scallops were delicious. Are server Peter was very helpful with are selections. CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was fantastic. I had the Red ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. I had the Red snapper and it was perfect. Our waitress Andrea was the bomb. Very attentive and so sweet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.