About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Chicago
Eddie V's - Chicago

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Seafood
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

special occasion (123)
fit for foodies (98)
romantic (88)
See All
notable wine list (61)
good for groups (50)
vibrant bar scene (41)
hot spot (34)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (19)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The aged bone in ribeye was cook perfect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 2 days ago

The aged bone in ribeye was cook perfectly and the entertainment was great. I would come back when in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were looking for good seafood, Eddie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were looking for good seafood, Eddie V's certainly delivered. We decided to start with Salads, these were very generous portions, fresh tasting and beautifully presented. The Entree, I had Snapper and prawn, it was cooked to perfection and the sauce enhanced it perfectly. My sister ordered Swordfish and stated it was the best she had tasted. We did not try dessert, were totally satisfied and wanted to continue to savor the flavorful memories.

Our server was attentive and honored our request to move through the meal slowly as my sister had just arrived from a long international flight and needed to decompress.

The atmosphere was relaxed and intimate, perfect for our reunion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant. Not great having to hi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant. Not great having to hike up 2 floors to go to bathroom in a mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Eddie V's was wonderful, as always! Nev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Eddie V's was wonderful, as always! Never disappoints with the service or the food. The hot bananas foster still is one of my favorite desserts of all time. Make sure to save room for it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding service! Howe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and outstanding service! However, even though wine list was extensive, choices were generally not exciting. Seafood items are outstanding in preparation and taste!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was an amazing time! the seafood was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 6 days ago

it was an amazing time! the seafood was so fresh and best lobster tacos ever!! The food was beyond amazing and the service was so great!! I would definately go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie V's is a top notch seafood restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Eddie V's is a top notch seafood restaurant which seldom disappoints. The crab cake appetizer,wild mushroom salad and the scallop and shrimp entrees were terrific. We were a bit disappointed by the slow service. There appeared to be a slight problem with the management of the service team. Nevertheless, the dinner was quite enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service, with a jazzy atmosphere m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great service, with a jazzy atmosphere made this a very enjoyable meal experience.

Oysters were fresh and tasty, halibut was very good and I went with a filet which was good not great. Loved the has trio playing in the lounge. All servers were exceptional

Would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Where do I start to describe our dinner ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Where do I start to describe our dinner at Eddie V's? Our first round of drinks took over 20 minutes to be served. Salads, after ordering were not at the table within 30 minutes and the kitchen took it upon itself to substitute bibb lettuce for romaine (which they ran out of) without notifying the customer. We asked to see a manager, they arrived 28 minutes after we asked to see them. The bar tried to substitute a wine to my dinner guest because they ran out of the wine he asked for. Instead of asking the customer what they wanted instead, the bar sent something they thought he would like. The entrees were just average. The entire dining room had the same look on their faces as we did all night, "Where is our food? What is going on with this restaurant?"

There are too many significantly better options in Chicago than to ever go to Eddie V's.

When I posted this review to my restaurant review website, over a dozen subscribers sent me feedback saying they'd had similar experiences at this restaurant recently. Very telling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Eddie V's provided an attractive and war ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eddie V's provided an attractive and warm setting for a business dinner. Our server was exceptional; she was bright, attentive and pleasant. Our dinners were excellent, except for the one steak (filet) was cold when it got to the table. The server offered to have it warmed, and she also gave us a complimentary dessert. The jazz trio in the lounge was smooth and not intrusive. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Eddie Vs several times and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been to Eddie Vs several times and I've never been disappointed. The food and service is always amazing and I love siting in the lounge area listening to live Jazz over dinner and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You will not be disappointed. We surely ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

You will not be disappointed. We surely have never been. Whenever we are in Chicago, Eddie's is must top. Service from top to bottom is great. Food is even better. Want a nice, elegant meal... Dining room. Looking for some great food and great music.... Grab a barstool. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks are good. Up to what you would ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Steaks are good. Up to what you would expect for price, location and Midwestern steak house. Service is top notch. Seafood cold and fresh. But the two fish dishes ordered were not worth the effort. Sole is tasteless, sticky coating. Shrimp is a matter of taste. If sauce and loaded like a bake potato is your thing than maybe... Back to the wait staff. Truly A+. Food arrived at a nice pace. No rushing. No wondering what happened to our order. We would recommend but with several caveats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

First time in Chicago, read reviews and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

First time in Chicago, read reviews and tried Eddie V. Enjoyed everything, waiter was attentive, and knowledgable. Food was cooked and served to perfection. My wifes Chealen Sea Bass was white, fluffy, and perfect!

A little expensive but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, awesome service, good jazz f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, awesome service, good jazz from the trio in the lounge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was something to remember . ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was something to remember . When you include the meal, it turned the meal into one of my best restaurant experiences. I will definitely return anytime I'm in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really bad service. Cashews were burnt. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really bad service. Cashews were burnt. Not coming back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Amazing steaks and sides and great servi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing steaks and sides and great service. Had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and have been telling everyone. We came here as it was close to the conference we were attending and it surpassed all expectations. Hoping to return next time I'm in Chicago.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic and the servers and w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was fantastic and the servers and wait staff were great also. I would recommend and will be back our next trip to Chicago.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything we had was phenomenal althoug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything we had was phenomenal although I highly recommend the shrimp and crab salad, the truffle mac n cheese and the lobster with crab stuffed shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! The wine list was un ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent service! The wine list was unexpectedly reasonable - especially by downtown Chicago standards. Fish was incredibly fresh; I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding! Definitely ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was outstanding! Definitely made my husband's birthday very special and they even had a signed birthday card waiting for him at our table. Such a sweet gesture. I have already referred Eddie Vs to my friends. We will definitely return:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot! Been to EV's in San Diego, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great spot! Been to EV's in San Diego, Tampa, and now Chicago. Always fantastic! Ask for Catie---she was and excellent server!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner and good location. Food wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great dinner and good location. Food was excellent. We would return when wevsrecback in Chicago

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Great ambia ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Great ambiance, very polished staff and servers and a menu with so many great options it was hard to decide. Our party of four were all extremely satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food!! Out waiter was friendly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food!! Out waiter was friendly and very attentive when necessary. He knew we were there for our anniversary so didn't interject himself constantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shellfish tower was incredible. And ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The shellfish tower was incredible. And all I said on the reservation was that it was my girlfriend's birthday and they had a table with a rose and birthday card right by the small jazz band stage for us. The drinks and the service were also amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding from beginning to end. Lobs ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding from beginning to end. Lobster tacos appetizer, oysters, swordfish were delicious. Thomas Linsk trio in bar added nice musical backdrop to a romantic evening with my wife. Great service from our waiter, Frank. Memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat in the lounge for live jazz. What a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Sat in the lounge for live jazz. What a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent meal here having a d ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an excellent meal here having a delicious Beet Salad, Scallops, and Salmon. All of our food was exquisitely done and extremely fresh, and delicious. Our waitress, Andrea, was helpful and very friendly. I had shown her a picture we had just taken of him, his daughter and his 7 week old grandson whom we had gone to Chicago to visit. Andrea surprised us with a flaming Bananas Foster which had Congratulations written in chocolate on the dish.

This was decidedly a grand experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu did not specify twice baked potatoe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Menu did not specify twice baked potatoes had cheese nor that salmon would be cooked medium rare. When salmon was sent back and asked to be cooked through it was then barely medium rare. Berries for dessert were plentiful but not sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Our experience on Sunday June 6, 2016 at ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our experience on Sunday June 6, 2016 at Eddie V's was amazing. The atmosphere, food, service and ambiance were all TOP NOTCH. I can't say enough positive things about the entire experience. The Australian Lobster was the best I have ever had. The Sea Bass was excellent. The Banana's Foster was sinful. It was a pleasure to dine there. The waiter as well as the wait staff were very attentive. Just an amazing experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Eddie V's was impressive. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, Eddie V's was impressive. This is our go-to place for bringing guests. And they are ALWAYS impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiter was OUTSTANDING and food was as w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waiter was OUTSTANDING and food was as well. Can't wait to try the local Eddie V's in Tysons!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star date night! Amazing date night! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

5 star date night! Amazing date night! We sat in the lounge and had a fantastic waiter named ELroy- attentive, made great suggestions, and he was great at his job! Amazing food (crab tacos for appetizers, steak and lobster-done to perfection-champagne and wonderful red wine!) . We purposely chose the lounge to hear the live jazz music. It was so worth it and we can't wait to go back! We have plans to come back with friends for two different occasions! Thanks again EddieV's!!!! 5 Stars all the way!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered special of the day, steak, med r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Ordered special of the day, steak, med rare, but made the mistake of not asking for the price. The steak was cooked med well and the plate was $40 more than any of the entrees on the regular menu. Felt cheated, and definitely disappointed in the food. My guest also ordered the special, but asked to have hers re-cooked when it came out overdone. Her meal arrived as the rest of us were finishing, and no compensation was made on her bill. I'd overlook that at a casual dining place, but not when you're paying $76 for a steak. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Crab cakes were highly recommended & the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Crab cakes were highly recommended & they did not disappoint. Very unique tasty crab cakes. Our server Eric was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster tacos are to die for- best ever. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Lobster tacos are to die for- best ever. Everything very delicious. Was bummed salad didn't arrive after appetizer and before meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eddie V's has become my "go to" place fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Eddie V's has become my "go to" place for all my business dinners, in Chicago. Consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.