About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Chicago
Eddie V's - Chicago

Specials

Prixe Fixe Thanksgiving Dinner

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Prixe Fixe Thanksgiving Dinner

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

This year, we're stuffing more than olives. Join us for an exquisite turkey dinner with all the traditional trimmings. Adult $38; Child $15. Need more to be thankful for? Our full dinner menu will also be available. Live Jazz in the lounge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Seafood
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (70)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Good for Groups (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Live Music (13)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dined at Eddie V's for an anniversary di ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 2 days ago

Dined at Eddie V's for an anniversary dinner and it was excellent. They had rose petals and a card on the table that was personally signed by the entire kitchen staff (great touch).. Our waiter was exceptional, made worthwhile suggestions, and our meal was fantastic. They even made us an anniversary dessert that was off the charts.. I am still raving about the cake and would recommend this place to anyone in the area. Another cool feature is the live jazz bar that sits right off the dining area. Great music and cool atmosphere.. Worth a try....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant place

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Elegant place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Loved the food. Loved the service. Loved the ambiance. GREAT JOB!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & food!! The tuna tart ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service & food!! The tuna tartare was amazing! Plus the Chilean Sea Bass is a must! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great service...especially from Andrea! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

great service...especially from Andrea!

Food consistently presented and done well

Tags: Vegan, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out to dinner with my mom and my husband ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Out to dinner with my mom and my husband on a Monday evening. Our waitress Berlin was professional and made great suggestions. The food was fabulous and I look forward to returning and listening to the live music in the lounge/bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to say we were disappointed when we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Have to say we were disappointed when we walked in and the restaurant was in a shopping mall . . . But we were quickly swayed by the ambiance, service, cocktails and food. Our waiter was charming and entertaining and we are all so looking forward to our next trip to Chicago to visit again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place! We were a party of six, ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful place! We were a party of six, entertaining two couples from the UK. Had requested a quieter table, they put us in our own "room" off the bar. Fantastic! Several different entrees and sides ordered. EVERYONE was pleased with the choices! Service was top notch! Thank you for making our European friends so very welcome! We will be back for sure the next time we visit Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, I had the New York strip and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food, I had the New York strip and my wife had the lobster . Both were cooked perfectly and tasted great. Our server Frank was very pleasant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had a great experience at Eddie V's. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had a great experience at Eddie V's. It was my first time dining here. It was my birthday, so they made sure I got the center booth on the Lounge side as I requested. I thought it was so sweet that they put a rose on the table and a signed card from the staff on the table. I also appreciated the complimentary dessert of my choice! The banana foster was amazing. I loved the shrimp and crab. My husband enjoyed the live music in the Lounge. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants for a nice meal. The food is always delicious , the wine list extensive, and the service excellent. We always ask for William, who has blessed us with perfect wine pairings and food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and atmosphere were perfect. Lots o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food and atmosphere were perfect. Lots of fun, great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is very intimate and perf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The restaurant is very intimate and perfect for a romantic date. Lovely live jazz played while we dined. Eddie V's has THE best fine dining experience - Hands Down. Everything from filet mignon, scallops, lobster tails and crab fried rice & broccoli were cooked to perfection. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and our server, Josh, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was excellent and our server, Josh, was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was an electrical problem and they ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

There was an electrical problem and they canceled 10 minutes before we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I arrived with my in-laws, who were visi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I arrived with my in-laws, who were visiting from out of town to find that the restaurant had to close unexpectedly. This was a big disappointment and an inconvenience. I was not contacted by the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Geoffrey is God Sent.. This place knows ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Geoffrey is God Sent.. This place knows how to do it from start to finish. I made reservations on Friday Aug.12, 2016 for a party of 8 to end the night of my 7 days of events home in Chicago for my Birthday.

Best DECISION EVER ( Besides marrying my husband, having beautiful children and being self employed) okay back to this place.

I entered and informed the host that 6 of the 8 cancelled and she was extremely understanding and accommodating and acknowledged my birthday from my notes. We were seated at a round spacious table in Geoffrey section. He was so friendly and helpful with our appetizer, cocktails age dinner selections as well as our dessert which he comped for my birthday.

We started with the lobster tacos and when I say we could've stopped there I MEAN IT. I was stuffed I mean these tacos are stuffed with meat and full of flavor. I opted for the seabass which was succulent and extremely tender YUM.. My friend and I shared the crab fried rice alongside of out entrees. She had the Salmon which was AMAZING. Our server Geoffrey brought out Banana Foster cake with a candle that I blew out before he set it on fire with 151 to crisp the outside. The ice cream was house made and super yummy to compliment the cake.

I've been back since having dinner on another return visit home to Chicago on Friday Sept. 2 where I invited a friend who currently resides in Chicago still and hadn't been. I requested Geoffrey again and he was just as awesome and the hostesses as well as all the staff were just as welcoming and professional.

This is a must do in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, friendly attentive ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding food, friendly attentive service. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and atmosphere were excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service and atmosphere were excellent. Our server, Taylor, could not have been more gracious or accommodating. The main courses (strip steak and halibut) were slightly disappointing as they were salty. However, the appetizer (lobster tacos) and dessert (a chocolate cake with ice cream) were outstanding. Overall, Eddie V's is recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Jessica was an EXCELLENT waitress! Great ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Jessica was an EXCELLENT waitress! Great service and friendliness. Jazz trio was excellent, although a bit loud in the bar area. 24 carat drink is excellent, although found our about it being from a couple of TripAdvisor reviews, not from the bar tender while waiting for our table. But I was able to get it outside of Happy Hour by asking for it. Warm bread and butter was excellent, as wierd as that sounds. Lobster and Shrimp Bisque was OK. Seafood Trio with Lobster Tail, Crab stuffed Shrimp, and Scallops was was excellent per my wife as well as the 16 Oz lobster tail special I had. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I decided to eat at Eddie V' ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife and I decided to eat at Eddie V's during a long weekend in Chicago. The service was great and the food was spectacular! One of the best crab cakes I have ever had and the lobster and shrip bisque was delicious. My wife really enjoyed her scallops and I loved the stuffed jumbo shrimp. I wanted very badly to make it to desert because the bananas foster butter cake sounded amazing, but we were both so full it will have to wait until next time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was over the top delicious!!!! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was over the top delicious!!!! Our waiter was informative and knew the kitchen and the chef inside and out you could tell he loved his job , I especially liked that his recommendations were not just the specials but listened to what we were interested in. I will definitely be going back to this restaurant in the near future!!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I celebrated my birthday early and the r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I celebrated my birthday early and the restaurant treated me to a free dessert. The waitress was so attentive and knowledgeable about the food, drinks, and specials. I had an amazing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eddie V's never disappoints. Always exce ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Eddie V's never disappoints. Always excellent food and service. For a restaurant that is owned by the same restaurant group as The Olive Garden and Red Lobster to deliver this kind of quality is exceptional. Portion sizes are large and the staff accommodates any special request.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A great meal and ambiance for our annive ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A great meal and ambiance for our anniversary. The only hiccup was the hostess sat someone else at the table that was originally prepared for us. Flower petals and such on the table. But they found us another table immediately.

The food was excellent and the service was just as wonderful. Jazz music could be heard in the back ground. Overall, an excellent evening and I will be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything I ordered was perfectly prepa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything I ordered was perfectly prepared and amazingly delicious, service was excellent, and it was a perfect dinner date. I couldn't have asked for anything better. I'm still dreaming about the banana flambé and can't wait to go back. Perfect!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful upscale restaurant and fantast ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful upscale restaurant and fantastic service from start to finish. I have a gluten allergy and Eddie V's was very careful with menu recommendations and preparation. The filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare and was so good that I giggled like a school girl. I will definitely make Eddie V's a staple each time I make it to Chicago.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter, Mitch, was one of the best a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our waiter, Mitch, was one of the best and most professional servers we've ever had. The raw oysters (west coast) were awesome. The chopped salad with shrimp and lump crab was five star all the way. Definitely big enough for two to share. My wife's snapper dish was excellent and my Parmesan crusted sole was good albeit a bit too generous on the butter and slightly over cooked. The acoustics are poor in this restaurant and the sound is loud. That was the one negative about the atmosphere. The place is otherwise pleasant, service was amazing and the food very good but not great.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The consierge was good. Front desk ok. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The consierge was good. Front desk ok. The service at breakfast dosent give a good feeling. Yo feel more that, Oh' no a New costoumer, and the way the coffe and meal is served is not very elagant way. Room is good, and nice and clean. Good solution for the AC.

The recommandation is Connected to the waterfront, and good room facilities.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First they sent my family at the back ne ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First they sent my family at the back near nobody. I informed them u will not be shoved in the back with total silence or i would of stayed in my hotel room. I added i may have kids but they are good and quiet kids... I hate that treatment

Then it took them 3 times to good my steak right. And the sides were lightly warm...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Excellent food, service, ambiance. First ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, service, ambiance. First class all the way. Best food I've ever tasted at a restaurant. Waitress, Andrea, was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was really disappointed . I made a res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was really disappointed . I made a reservation for main dining room but when I arrived was put in bar area next to band.

The Mac and cheese was really dry

And you wine selection by glass was not good.

Desert was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful Saturday night meal. Long onc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful Saturday night meal. Long once a year dinner with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great with Morgan!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always great with Morgan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will consider Eddie V's a typical high ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I will consider Eddie V's a typical high end steakhouse. The food was good. I ordered a 16oz NY and it was well cooked but lacked flavor. My companion ordered the double breasted chicken and sent it back. We ordered the cold crab appetizer and the hot crab cakes and both were very good. I thought the prices were reasonable for this type of restaurant. Service was good as well. It takes a lot for a restaurant like this to blow me away and get five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was fantastic, from service t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was fantastic, from service to food to atmosphere. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bone-in Ribeye was outstanding. Bananas ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bone-in Ribeye was outstanding. Bananas Foster dessert was one of the best finishers I've had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate dinner there for our 12 anniversa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We ate dinner there for our 12 anniversary, the food was good,service was great and would definitely recommend and I'll be back next time I'm in Chicago!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our dining experience was phe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always, our dining experience was phenomenal. The food was amazing, the ambiance was a good mix of relaxed and lively. The music was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.