About Eddie V's - Chicago

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Ring in the New Year's with Eddie V's, join us from 10:00pm - 12:30am for live music, and complimentary dessert bar and sparkling midnight toast. The evening will be nothing short of dazzling.

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (56)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Business Meals (53)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Live Music (50)
Good for Groups (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Cozy (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fun (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (10)
Healthy (10)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Our anniversary dinner was exceptional. Drew was an awesome waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Have eaten here several times. Food, service and atmosphere are consistently excellent!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service and the live music was fantastic; it was the perfect place to celebrate a very special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

The service was the only negative portion of our experience. I found this strange because of the noticeable amount of staff at work during our meal. I actually pointed this out to my wife while we waited for our table hoping for a good service experience. Fortunately the food and atmosphere make it easy to overlook the poor service by our waiter. We will visit again in hope of the complete experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Love this place. They know how to make dining out special. The menu always has new creative fish dishes. We have some go to favorites like the lobster taco and banana foster cake. Oh don’t forget the bread! Service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Steak was delicious but not hot. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Weekend in Chicago, this was a gem during the visit. Eddie (our waiter) did a wonderful job. Shrimp and Crab salad is the bomb, on the Scallops were the best that we have ever had. And my steak was great.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great staff and wonderful food.
Eddie V's lives up to it's high-end reputation.
A great place to go for a special night.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Upon entering the hostess toll me abruptly to go to the bar and get a drink that my table was not ready.
We did go and sit at the bar which was not busy at all.
I sat for about 5 minutes and politely asked the bartender if I may see a drink menu and she responded with a snotty (I’m looking)
These type of people should not be working in a nice restaurant like this
Will not be back. !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Eddie V's continues to shine with an outstanding menu and creative drinks, as well as a generous (and reasonably priced) wine list. Location is fantastic; access directly from the Nordstrom's mall / Shops at North Bridge and the Gwen Hotel without going outside. Be sure to try a few of the outstanding appetizers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great meal, great service... They messed up the Apple crumble (badly) otherwise a 5 star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Service was great. Marvin was very attentive. Had the best Old Fashioned in years. Outstanding steak cooked perfectly. Scrumptious dessert. I will come back and bring family and friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The service, ambiance and food we all exceptional. We were celebrating my birthday and both managers approached us to inquire about our dining experience that evening. Our server was wonderful and professional, offering different preferences in cuisine, wine and mixed drinks as well. We were so impressed that we booked a table for our family for New Years Eve.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Amazing food! Outstanding Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Had a fantastic meal. It was our 50 th anniversary and we were treated royally. Hannah surprised us with flutes of champagne and ended with a surprise dessert-butter cake with bananas foster and butter pecan ice cream. The meal was best ever. Hubby had melt in your mouth filet and I had the best Parmesan crusted sole. We shared truffle Mac anc cheese which was Devine. Also hubby started with 9 oysters. It was a great find for us and will go back every time we are in Chicago. Wish we could go more often!!!!! Well worth going.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Good food and fast service. Upscale restaurant and it was first class all the way.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Wonderful food and excellent service! Our waitress was friendly and made special efforts to see that we had a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

Holiday celebration! Excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

while the food was great and our server was fantastick, the hostess station seemed to be greatly lacking. we had a reservation and had to wait to the side as we watched others who arrived after us be seated before us. When seated there seemed to be confusion as the table we were being led to was not available thus returning us to the hostess station. 4 people at the hostess station and only 2 of them able to do anything. this caused a 15 minuet delay to get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Very good but expensive. Would go back. Delicious filet

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Louis, our waiter, was exceptional. He took great care of us and his recommendations were indeed “life changing”. The Chilean Sea Bass was voted absolutely the best by the table. It’s hard for me to remember having a better seafood dish. My sincerest compliments to the chef and to Louis for his excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The first visit at Eddie V's was excellent. Most notably, the food was tremendous. We also really enjoyed the live jazz music that blended nicely with energetic dinner conversation. We will look forward to returning to Eddie V's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Eddie V's was a great dining experience. Great selection of menu items and food was very good. Excellent service and ambience. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

First Class service. Oysters were quite small but very good. Sea Bass and filet was outstanding. Shrimp cocktail was great but the Atomic horseradish is aptly named. Great but wow!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We always enjoy Eddie V’s for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Wonderful meal and dining experience. Food, ambiance and service by Octavian, our waiter was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Excellent food, wine and music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Eddie V's has turned into one of our favorite restaurants when visiting Chicago with its close proximity to Michigan Avenue and the area hotels. The cold seafood tower is an appetizer that can almost serve as an entree with the assortment of seafood provided. Although pricey, it was well worth it and rates among the top 3-4 cold seafood platters that we have had at different restaurants across the country.

The attention and service provided for us during our visit was top notch.

If you like seafood, and are in Chicago, Eddie V's is a restaurant well worth a visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Birthday. Nice venue. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

My first time dining experience was good overall but I certainly have one complaint! I'm African American and I was refused a booth, sat by the kitchen with the other couple I was with and the next thing we knew we were in a row with nothing but other African Americans! I hate to think Eddie V's has a "Black Section"! Does your restaurant have a "Black Section"?

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Visited Eddie V's during a visit to Chicago. I felt like I was transported back to the 1920s, great venue, excellent live music, fabulous food, and great service. Will definitely come again when I next visit Chicago!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Scallops are the best. Strip steak was also outstanding especially for a seafood oriented restaurant. Noise level is lower than many other great Chicago restaurants which can get very noisy especially on weekends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The food was very good but they had the waiter taking care of too many tables it was almost a joke how long he took to get anything we finally gave up ordering desert it must have been 20 after he dropped the desert menu off and went over it. The 16oz prime steaks was one of the tastiest I’ve had in a long time and the rest of the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The scenery was great, but I was not impressed with the food. Me and my girl went to Eddie v’s in Troy Michigan and the steaks were mouth watering and they had complimentary valet parking. You guys charged me 200 for food and 16 for parking 🤦🏾‍♂️ If I spend over 150 bucks parking should be free

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

This restaurant is extremely good. The only reason I didn't rated 5-star value is that it is quite expensive. Jazz in the V Lounge is a must.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2017

We had a reservation, and we had to wait over an hour for a table. There was nowhere to sit, so we had to stand for the entire time. The only reason I gave it a higher rating is that the food was great, once we got a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Great food, good service and a nice ambiance. Will definitely come back next time we are in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Thanksgiving meal was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Noisy in lounge. Good jazz band but patrons loud.
Food nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

As I was going stag for the holiday, I eschewed Eddie V's famous seafood menu in favor of the traditional Thanksgiving dinner and was not disappointed. The turkey breast was tender and well-seasoned and the sides were commendable, particularly the cranberry chutney. I chased dinner with a refreshing Pomegranate Mule and topped things off with a sinfully delicious pumpkin pie tarlet. The staff operated with alacrity, and the turnaround from check-in to first bite was the fastest I've ever experienced dining out. Eddie V's definitely merits a return visit, and next time I'll be sure to try the seafood!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.