About Eddie V's - Chicago

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Live Music (63)
Romantic (61)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Bar Seating (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Notable Wine List (34)
Business Meals (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Cozy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (17)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best meals we've ever had! My son and I were on a trip together and loved every second at Eddie V's! The service, good and ambiance were second to none!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We sat in the lounge area of the restaurant near live soft jazz music. The ambiance was perfect for a get together with friends. It would be perfect for a romantic evening out as well. The server was friendly and efficient and overall added to our experience. The food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to eat. We went for our anniversary and there were rose petals on the table. The staff was awesome and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have gone to Eddie V three times now and each time has been perfect. Andrea made sure we had a great anniversary dinner. The food is great and the service puts Eddie V above other fine dining restaurants around. We will continue to spend our special occasions with them. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second time at Eddie V's. Again, we were not disappointed. Wait staff was very attentive, food was fabulous . We will certainly be back again.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

It's one of our favorite restaurants. Great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Loved this place. Definitely a keeper for my future trips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Eddie V's delivered a completely lovely evening. A favorite singer's group (Judy Roberts Trip) performed. We had an interesting variation of potstickers with drinks. The pour of top shelf bourbon was generous. We had between us a ny stripsteak au poivre and Parmesan crusted sole and asparagus - all delivered hot and perfectly done. Each had a wine to go with the food. We finished with chocolate cake and more music. Perfect evening to start the week.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Eddie V's atmosphere, staff, and food made for an enjoyable evening that allowed for great discussion, laughter, and an overall relaxing business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great evening. We chose to sit in the bar are instead of the dinning room so that we could enjoy the live music with our meal.
Everything was perfect!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A bit expensive but you pay for experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was fantastic. Our filet was so packed with flavor and just melted like butter. Thank you so much for making our evening special.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to Eddie Vs for my husband's 50th birthday. We were well-taken care of with detailed attention and superb cuisine. Eric was a delight, and we left happy. We will visit again when we return to Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was our third visit and we celebrated an anniversary with friends. One person in our party was gluten free and our server comped us on a bananas foster dessert. Without even being prompted, she brought our gluten free companion a different dessert option. Always excellent and attentive service. We had the sea bass and it was terrific as usual. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We have been twice. Both meals were excellent - great steaks and fresh seafood with outstanding preparation! During each visit our servers were knowledgeable and answered questions so that we could make well-informed choices. During our meals they were attentive without being overbearing. We feel like Eddie V's is exactly what it tries to be - a comfortable restaurant with excellent food & service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My first time here and it was amazing. The steak was seasoned perfect and cooked just the way I ordered it. I have been to several Chicago Steakhouse and Eddie V's is now in my top 3. My cocktail the Gatsby Sour is now my go to drink. Next time I am coming for the Seafood Tower. I would have given 5 stars but the live music was too loud. The performer was great but the music was too loud to hear the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I had the steak and crab legs. The reason I gave only a 4 star was that the crab legs
were just ok. Steak was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food service and atmosphere was amazing. We celebrated by wife's birthday and she was very happy! Great job Eddie V's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Eddie Vs is an AMAZING restaurant!! I enjoy it every time but this was the first time I've celebrated a birthday and they truly made it memorable!! From the handwritten card and rose petals on the table to the amazing Bananas Foster. A great space with even greater food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outstanding seafood. The suicide blond oysters were delic as was the Chilean sea bass. Save room for the bananas foster....even if you're not fond of bananas it is delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

If I must say it was an IMPECCABLE service, staff, atmosphere, and food. Live music was an awesome added touch. The ambiance was beautiful... The food was AMAZING. WE WILL RETURN..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were treated like royalty. Service was impeccable. The food was delicious. Only comment: we ordered three dishes with crab meat - a salad, the halibut special, and crab fried rice. the last was at the server’s suggestion. It was very good and rich. Two crab dishes would have been less filling for us and better. Our desert was decadent. Wine list is extensive. Don’t be afraid to go to the Reserve section of the wine list. They have some well known wines that are moderately priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The live band is so amazing! Great ambiance while enjoying good food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We love this place, the food the staff the music - we love it all!

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food and service was very good. I would recommend you try.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Easy to say that Eddie V's is my favorite sea food restaurant in Chicago! Always great food and the service exceptional. The live music is the cherry on top!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

A great meal and wonderful service. The staff at the bar were very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal in an excellent ambient. Justin, our server, was very attentative and yet subtle. Food was outstanding. Shrimp, halibut, swordfish, everything on point. Loved the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall great dinner - we unfortunately had a table next to us of people who were very loud and it ruined our experience a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Loved the live jazz in the V lounge. All of the food was tasty, especially the South African lobster tail and the crab fried rice. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Waiter was very good his name was ray

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Elroy was a great server but a little slow because of his table load. The manager was very good as he checked on us frequently and even brought us some drinks we ordered They really try and take care of you at Eddie V's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very accommodating. Excellent food and excellent service. Great for date night and just as good for a business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was delicious and waitress was very nice and friendly. However, I only wanted the halfbirder of crab legs $28 and pointed to it on menu, but ended up being charged for a pound which was $58! Of course I didn't know this until check came. I was a little upset. She knew which item I was pointing to. I think the staff is trained to upcharge as much as they can. When I asked for a glass of Pinot noir she wanted to give me Annie expensive glass. I had to tell her the cheapest one. Which was still $10! Not cheap, but of course it's fine dining in Chicago!
I was disappointed in being overcharged for my meal. Just beware of this and hajebdurebyiu specify completely what it is you're ordering so as not to be surprised at the end.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Would have given all 5 stars but our table was right in front of kitchen area and that was loud. They really shouldn't have a table there. A lot of noise and constant traffic going by you from waiters. Everything else was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Never fails to disappoint. We have been going here regularly for the last 18 months and as we are moving away from Chicago it will be a place we really miss.
Friendly staff , a great atmosphere, fantastic food and drinks, all with live music every night!
Other restaurants have one or two of these things but only Eddie Vs in Chicago has it all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We dine there regularly and never fail to have a wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always a good time and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.