About Eddie V's - Chicago

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

This Mother's Day, join us for jazz brunch from 11:00am - 3:00pm, $49 adults, $15 children. Or enjoy exceptional seafood and Prime steaks from our Dinner menu, available from 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (72)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Live Music (61)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Bar Seating (42)
Good for Groups (40)
Business Meals (39)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Notable Wine List (33)
Cozy (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Happy Hour (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fun (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Private Room (14)
Casual (12)
People Watching (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
1401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 9 hours ago

Love this place! The lobster tacos are awesome as is the lemon sole. Really enjoyed hearing the band in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great time, classy, wonderful jazz in the lounge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The room is nice, decent food, service was better. No need to go back, the city offers so many more options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is good, the service was also good but some waiters can be a little bit nicer in the beginning, the wait to be seated is too long especially when you've booked a reservation. But the food is great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Special friends spending time together...the food and service made this a must attend restaurant again!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Friends in town

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Love eddiie Vs. it's our go to!

Tags: Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Such fabulous service -- from the front door to our waiter to the bus boys! Any each of our dinners were fabulous -- from steaks to lamb chops to seafood! Great night!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and service! A wide choice of food from steaks, to fish, and sides.
Great wine and drink selections as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always sit at the bar with Margot, Matt and Pete. Service, food and atmosphere NEVER disappoint. One of our FAVES!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing. One of the best dining of my life and the other three who dined with me agreed. Phenomenal service and food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Live Music, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and selection of food. The oysters are simply amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food and service. I absolutely love it. The drinks are amazing

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One of the most highly rated restaurants in Chicago - and for good reason. We dined for Easter brunch and found not only the food to be excellent, but the service and flexibility the same. Many holiday brunches only serve the special meals, but Eddie V's also served their regular menu, and our waiter (Mitch) introduced the options in a way that communicated an ease on the restaurant's part of being able to do both, or either (within reason).

Speaking of Mitch, he has a great personality for service, demonstrated excellent service competence, and also high emotional IQ: his timing was good, he was patient, and he paid attention to detail. We felt he gave us his authentic self, which we always appreciate and try to do the same. That always makes dining a better experience for both the server and the diner (in my opinion). Even when the lights dimmed at 3:45 (automatic due to lunch - dinner transition), Mitch came by and lit our table lamp without having to be asked.

The food was excellently prepared, and artistically served. It was rich without being "too rich", which is great for a set 3-course (even though we were still pretty full at the end of dinner). My wife and I had a mixture of seafood, and beef items from the set menu, and our daughter had a chicken dish - all excellent. Desserts were excellent too.

We look forward to dining at Eddie V's in the future. (This was our first time dining there.)
Thanks TA / OT reviewers - nailed this one!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Mitch was a really great server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Celebrating A long weekend with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

From the appetizer, main course, sides and dessert everything was fantastic. No complaints.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server Nick was awesome. Food top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Andrea was a fantastic server!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

What a nice surprise this was in our neighborhood because it's a corporate restaurant - the Darden Group (Red Lobster, Olive Garden) This was nothing like a corporate restaurant. Very upscale. Service was top notch. Food was outstanding, with a strong thumbs up for Swordfish topped with crab meat, avocado. It had a great ambiance with a spectacular jazz trio-made it very cozy, romantic. And I'm told they have entertainment 7 nights a week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Eddie V's is a sexy place. The ambiance is great. Our waiter William was nice, had a great sense of humor, and helpful with the menu. Everything was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Beautiful from beginning to ending! The perfect place to celebrate my eternal love with my soulmate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Organic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Berlin was a fantastic waitress. The food was great and having live music was a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Absolutely a perfect dining spot in Chicago. The food, service, and atmosphere can't be beat!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great ambience, live jazz. Busy night, service was slow but food worth the wait.

Tags: , , Cozy, , , , , Fun, ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Only thing better then the food was the service. I will be back again!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

You must get the mashed potatoes! They were so creamy and wonderful, and they come with lobster on top - what more could you ask for...

We had the scallops (phenomenal) and the filet with crab (also great). I'd recommend this place for good seafood or steak options, and definitely the mashed potatoes.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Exceptional service from Chicago Eddie V"s the valet Fabian, hostess ROBIN , and to the waiter ERIC. Thanks to you all. A terrific experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our server took a good 10 mins from seating to greet us. He then took another 20 mins from ordering to deliver our drinks. While food is good, the service is ridiculously slow. For the price tag, we expect better service! Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Boy, did we enjoy our dinner at Eddie Vs. Went with my daughter on our college tour. She had Pot Stickers (which were not spicy) and the Ahi Tuna, with the Gratin Potatoes. I had the 22 oz Ribeye with bone and the Lobster Mashed Potatoes. It couldn't have been better. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I skeptical about a high end Darden restaurant but Eddie V's lived up to the reviews. My coworkers typically go to Shaws when in town but I have yet to be impressed by a meal there and it is similarly priced. Eddie V's was not cheap, averaging over $100 a person with drinks, appetizers, meals, and sides. Stand out dishes for me included the lobster tacos, seared scallops, mac and cheese, Chilean sea bass, and the bananas foster. The tacos were a crowd favorite at the table with a delicious, buttery lobster flavor and equally delicious corn tortilla. A couple people had the scallops and I tried one. It had an amazing sear and was very flavorful. The sea bass was cooked to perfection and was served in a delicious Asian style ginger broth. The truffle mac and cheese was creamy and had real slices of truffle as opposed to just a truffle infused oil drizzle common at lesser restaurants. The presentation of the bananas foster was impressive. They poured the flambeed caramel over a butter cake and the bananas at the table. The dish continued to burn as we began to eat it. The cake was the star of this dish with an excellent crust that resembled pineapple upside down cake. I would definitely eat here again. Our service was excellent as well. Expect to spend several hours here if you are doing a 3 course meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great food, great time. Our entire group (7) continue to talk about the scallops and calamari (and the shrimp and the sashimi, etc...) Excellent find!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Delicious chicken. Best is the spinach. The Fuji salad and dressing are a nice starter. I highly recommend Eddie Vs. wait staff are informative and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent seafood and steaks. Our server, Eddie, was knowledgeable and helpful with suggestions. Perfect setting for a business dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 3, 2017

In town from Florida... for business but dining with friends. Had an AMAZING meal!!

West coast oysters perfectly shucked, clean and delicious. Excellent crab cake, scallops were perfection, not to mention martinis that we're ON POINT! We had the Dirty Devil and the Hope Diamond.

Waitress was terrific. Polite, professional, easy going with great recommendations. A Must-Try in Chicago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was a terrific dining experience. Service and quality was top notch!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was a great place & Date

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our 2nd visit here after our 1st visit was not that great. While the whole experience was better, it's not a place we will come back to. Food and service was better than before, but unfortunately still was at most subpar. Plenty of places in Chicago to get fine dining, this just wasn't to our standards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great experience, will definitely be back soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always the best when it comes to food, service and ambiance. Seating is well spaced. Never rushed at the table and a fantastic menu and wine list! Dined there often with total satisfaction!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.