About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Chicago
Eddie V's - Chicago

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Seafood
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

special occasion (128)
fit for foodies (94)
romantic (92)
See All
notable wine list (58)
good for groups (54)
vibrant bar scene (39)
hot spot (35)
neighborhood gem (22)
late-night find (20)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service3

Menu did not specify twice baked potatoe ...

vip
Dined 19 hours ago

Menu did not specify twice baked potatoes had cheese nor that salmon would be cooked medium rare. When salmon was sent back and asked to be cooked through it was then barely medium rare. Berries for dessert were plentiful but not sweet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cakes were highly recommended & the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Crab cakes were highly recommended & they did not disappoint. Very unique tasty crab cakes. Our server Eric was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster tacos are to die for- best ever. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Lobster tacos are to die for- best ever. Everything very delicious. Was bummed salad didn't arrive after appetizer and before meal

food3
ambience3
service2

Problems with seating our party, they we ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Problems with seating our party, they were very confused and moved us twice. Also, I'd called ahead to specify they had a certain cocktail ingredient. They assured me they did. When I ordered the cocktail, I was told " oh, we no longer have that". Very amateur service for a very expensive dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I took our 16 year old an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I took our 16 year old and 14 year old to celebrate fabulous report cards and a hard working school year. We requested seating in the lounge so we could hear the music. We were not happy with our first seat. The hostess was very accommodating, and found us a perfect table that better fit our preference. Our waiter (Josh/Joshua) was EXCELLENT. Three of us ordered steaks, and my son had the scallops. We also had appetizers and desserts. The food was excellent.....prepared to perfection!!! Would definitely recommend and go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our dinner at Eddie Vs. Everyth ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved our dinner at Eddie Vs. Everything from the food to the service and live music was great. We can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Eddie V's dinners are terrific! Every d ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Eddie V's dinners are terrific! Every dish that I've ever ordered from Eddie V's is outstanding! We love this restaurant and feel that this Eddie V's is the most outstanding of all the Eddie V's in the country.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our fourth visit to Eddie V's. Excellent ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Our fourth visit to Eddie V's. Excellent food, wonderful service from Troy and Jessica! Whether you are a native or a visitor put this restaurant on your must-do list.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

I've always enjoyed Eddie Vs. The food ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I've always enjoyed Eddie Vs. The food is great, the drinks are delicious, and the service is amazing. My prime issue was the time it took for us to be seated. We came for my father's birthday, setting an 8:15 reservation. We weren't seated until 915, which we thought was beyond ridiculous. We weren't even compensated for our wait.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great meal and experience. Would ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Overall great meal and experience. Would recommend this to anyone looking for fresh and light seafood meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The bananas foster topped of an incredib ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The bananas foster topped of an incredible meal! Should not leave Chicago without trying it.

food4
ambience5
service5

Oysters are always great to have. The fr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Oysters are always great to have. The fried lobster was delicious!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

In town for the America's Cup Sailing Regatta

Dined on June 11, 2016

We came to Chicago the sailing races and wanted a superior steak and seafood restaurant in walking distance of our hotel. Eddie V's was right next door to the Chicago Marriott downtown where we were staying. It did not disappoint. For appetizers we had oysters on the half shell from Washington- very good, and the steak tartare and chilled lobster - outstanding. For the entrée we both had the 8 oz filet mignon "Oscar style". The filet was one of the best we've ever had - cooked to perfection served with asparagus, Jonah crab and hollandaise. They have a significant wine list with a wide variety and price range. Service was excellent. It is not a cheap restaurant but the overall experience justified the prices. We will put it on our list of favorites in Chicago for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and fresh. Fish was ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was outstanding and fresh. Fish was delicious! Sea Bass, the best.

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Eddie V's used to be my choice for date ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Eddie V's used to be my choice for date night. I love the food and atmosphere. I invited my boss, the president of our co, and a colleague to dinner here to show it off. Sadly, the service was awful. Our server disappeared for long periods of time, which stretched out our dinner so much that we had no interest in dessert. We weren't even asked for 2nd drinks. The pres of my co had asked someone -not our absent server-for a glass of wine and didn't get it until he was near completion of his entree. Extremely disappointing and very embarrassing to me.

food5
ambience5
service5

Calimari was awesome COD and sea bass we ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Calimari was awesome COD and sea bass were also delicious

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Place

Dined on June 5, 2016

We met with another couple for dinner. The place is very nice. Good trio playing in the bar, good music not too loud, just nice. Our waiter Martin was very attentive, talkative and helpful, great service. I had a steak (filet) and it was delicious. My wife had the Sea Bass and it was a nice piece of fish, fresh, meaty, flaky, all the things you want but very bland, too bad. Brussels sprouts were great and so were the Au Gratin potatoes. Dessert was good, nothing fancy but good. Overall it's a nice place with great ambiance and good food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the crab fried rice, the lobster t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Love the crab fried rice, the lobster tacos and the ribeye steak.

food5
ambience5
service5

The bone in filet with foie gras was the ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The bone in filet with foie gras was the best steak I've ever had.....everyone had a great meal

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner in Chicago

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We had visited Eddie V's once before and enjoyed it so we decided to return for my husband's birthday dinner. The server was excellent and very attentive. The wine list quite extensive and varied. The cod and swordfish were well prepared. We definitely enjoyed our dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 30, 2016

What a great place. Entree's were fantastic, server was super friendly, music and ambiance were perfect, and the banana's foster was one of the best things I've ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food as usual. Make sure you try t ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food as usual. Make sure you try the fried rice as a side and the Banana's Foster for desert. We frequent Eddie V's. However, on this occasion we had a problem being seated appropriately. We arrived at the beginning of regular dinner service and the dining room only had 2 other guest at the time. Yet, they sat us by the entrance to the kitchen which was very loud. When we asked to move over one both, we were given a hard time. It took 10 minutes and wait staff intervention to be seated one booth over in an empty dining room. Wait staff was excellent - hostess made me think twice about returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Can't recommend because the service was so bad!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our waiter kept appearing and disappearing randomly, promising to bring us water "I'll be right back with your waters", promising to tell us about the specials "I'll be right back to tell you about the specials", promising to take our drink order "I'll be right back to take your drink orders." Finally 45 minutes later I cornered him, insisted he tell us the specials then-and-there, and then insisted that he take our order then-and-there. After our wine finally appeared and we had eaten our appetizer, I accidentally spilled a glass of wine on the table. The waiter was at the table next to us and there is no way he could have not seen it happen, but he disappeared before I could get his attention. Luckily a wonderful bus girl was walking by, saw what happened, changed the table cloth, wiped everything down, was pleasant and quick about it... I nearly tipped her more than we tipped the waiter. Man who seated us was also similarly nice and attentive. We wish he had been a waiter instead of a host. Food itself was outstanding when it was finally ordered and arrived. Calling the music "jazz" was stretching it, but it was nicely done. It was a lot of money for bad service, so we won't be coming back. And it's a shame because there are not a lot of good food/music venues in the area that play jazz (or at least jazz-like).

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal overall and you could cut ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent meal overall and you could cut the filet with a butter knife. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to eat!Love the tables ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My favorite place to eat!Love the tables in the bar area where the music is. Best lobster tacos and calamari I've ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining Experience

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was great! Our food was delicious. We ordered wine, appetizers ( crab cakes & shrimp cocktail), halibut and salmon with sides of fries and crab fried rice and Godiva cake for dessert. The atmosphere was comfortable in the bar. Music was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, romantic atmosphere, nice se ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food, romantic atmosphere, nice service....a hidden gem in the city. Never had a bad meal there, new guests always are very impressed. Best fresh seafood in the city!

food5
ambience4
service5

Ask for Elroy for your waiter! We lov ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Ask for Elroy for your waiter! We love this place - great food. Great service. Great atmosphere! Check it out yourself!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. I mean really great food. Di ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food. I mean really great food. Did I say great food. You will love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A++ Experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife was traveling with me to Chicago and wanted to treat her to a nice dinner. Good food, ambiance and not too much money. Eddie V's was a homerun. Great service, food and experience. Highly recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Food was good but too expensive for ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The Food was good but too expensive for what you get!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. T ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not over the top. Our waiter recommended great wines that paired with the food perfectly. Our table was very close to the bar area so we were able to hear live music as we dined, the music and sound from the bar was noticeable but we were still able to converse with out having to raise our voices. The food was exceptional and we couldn't have been happier with our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always consistent no matter what state y ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always consistent no matter what state you go to. A pleasure to dine there can not say a negative thing about the food and wait staff. Always music a plus. Great Spot

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Eddie V's several times ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have eaten at Eddie V's several times and have had nothing but excellent service and food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was josh and he made everythi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter was josh and he made everything perfect!

food3
ambience3
service3

The first unpleasant thing i experienced ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The first unpleasant thing i experienced was the greeting. They tried to seat us at the bar instead of at a table even though we had a reservation and the restaurant was half empty. The food was good but did not leave me wowed for the price. I however thought the portion sizes we sufficient bucking the trend. The highlight was the Banana Fosters over Butter cake. That made up for the other shortcomings. The waiter was very professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous seafood and atmosphere! Truly ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous seafood and atmosphere! Truly memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best seafood/fish houses in Chicago

Dined on May 17, 2016

I consider myself a fresh fish connoisseur and Eddie V's meets and exceeds my standards for outstanding dining on fresh fish meals. Upscale but not too expensive for normal business meals. Waiters very well trained and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible steak and seafood! Everything ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Incredible steak and seafood! Everything was perfect, from the service to the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can wait to go back!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish! Ambience, service, food, drinks! The bananas Foster was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.