About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie V's - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Romantic (43)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Live Music (35)
Business Meals (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Modern Decor (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
People Watching (9)
Private Room (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was Amazing ❤️❤️The crab fried ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was Amazing ❤️❤️The crab fried rice !?Bravo👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down one of the top five steak hou ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Hands down one of the top five steak houses in Chicago, and the seafood is just as good. Really enjoyed our meal, every course was outstanding. Sat in the bar area with the live music, enjoyed it, maybe a touch loud, but you can opt for the regular dining area. Had an appetizer of crab cakes and reordered another, best crab cake I have had in Chicago, superb. Together we had a filet with scallops and Chilean Sea Bass. Again, best sea bass I have tasted, and the steak was prepared perfectly and seasoned better. I must say the service matches the quality of food, along with recommendations. Dessert may have been a touch off the previous level of food, but still very good. A little bit of a Las Vegas vibe in the atmosphere, but if you are going for food, the high rating is accurate.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Chicago!!! Fantastic ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Chicago!!! Fantastic food, excellent service. Really treated well here always. The seafood is perfectly prepared and very fresh. The halibut with the crab, avocado & Cajun seasoning - - - over the top! Love the small band too for bar area live music! WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for her birthday and ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I went for her birthday and had a great time. The food was great and our server Andrea was awesome. We will definitely be dining there again . If you go ask for Andrea , she made the evening special

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. Very good food and gre ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loved this place. Very good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Taylor knows his job wel ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service. Taylor knows his job well and really seems to enjoy sharing the Eddie V's experience with the guest. He shared his favorites and made very appropriate recommendations. I had the jumbo shrimp which was fantastic. My husband had the 8oz filet and it was perfect. Of course the meal wasn't cheap, but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eddie V's exceeds expectations. We had a ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Eddie V's exceeds expectations. We had a business dinner with the leadership of our organization. The food was exceptional, and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Fantastic seafood especially the lobster and scallops. Filet mignon was thick, tender and done to perfection. The seafood tower was generous, and the shell fish that filled the tiers were fresh and tasty. Everyone of the eight diners raved about the experience. The wine list was large and the pricing was anything but pretentious. Cocktails were well-crafted and smooth. Our dinner was truly one of the best dining experiences ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Andrea did an amazing job servicing our ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Andrea did an amazing job servicing our table. She was friendly, personal and professional. This is my 3rd time at this restaurant and I must say, it will not be my last! Thanks everyone for making my Birthday feel so special!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, seafood amazing. Ste ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent service, seafood amazing. Steak was just ok, sad to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening at Eddie V's for my wi ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic evening at Eddie V's for my wife's birthday. Seafood was fresh and prepared exactly as described and delicious. Oysters from raw bar were excellent. For dessert we had the Bananas Foster Rum Cake. Decadent. One of the best deserts we have ever had. Ask for Benjamin as your waiter. He was attentive but not intrusive. He timed out the meal perfect and we never felt rushed.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service and food. My wife and I sp ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great Service and food. My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary and they made our date a memorable one. Our waitress did a fantastic job! The food was outstanding. A shout out to Eddie V's for the 5 star service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here twice now, once in a larg ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been here twice now, once in a large party and the other as a couple. Each time the food and service has been excellent. The waitstaff is especially attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Mitch made the evening perfe ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server, Mitch made the evening perfect. The venue was clean and classic. The food was a tremendous tasting work of art. Wish I could afford to eat there more often!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and service! The entertainmen ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food and service! The entertainment was outstanding, however we never got a visit from a manager at our table. We would have liked to let them know about our experience.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our night started by the host not coming ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our night started by the host not coming and getting us from the bar lounge area for 45 minutes after we checked in. It wasn't until we went back to see why the long delay and her saying she could find us. We had a group of 8, it wasn't like we would be easy to miss...

Our waiter was good but often we found ourselves rainy and looking around for him and not seeing him anywhere. The food was very good, I would recommend the place it just was a long drawn out experience. We were there for over three hours +

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our New Year's dinner spot, and ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our New Year's dinner spot, and it was awesome. Our server, Berlin, was perfect; attentive but not hovering, cheerful, fun to chat with, very knowledgeable about the food and wine offerings. We were seated right on time, even though the restaurant was obviously at capacity. The food was awesome, the only demerit being the tomatoes in the Caprese Salad were a little mushy. Everything else was pretty much perfect, the scallops were lovely, and my date's ahi tuna with wasabi oil was exceptional. We have dined at fine restaurants in many cities and multiple countries, and this meal held its own with most of them, even though the prices were not in the stratosphere. The atmosphere is elegant enough, and I would definitely think of this place for a special night out, birthday, pre- or post-show etc.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lively crowd at the hostess sta ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a lively crowd at the hostess stand and bar area when we checked in on NYE but the hostesses got us to our table quickly. Wine selection was good, service was wonderful and food was great! Go for the lobster tacos! We will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal!! We had the Chilean sea ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent meal!! We had the Chilean sea bass, New York strip steak, sautéed spinach and au gratin potatoes. Each were prepared perfectly and were delicious! The service was also excellent. If you want to hear live jazz you can request to sit in the lounge when making your reservation. We will definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best New Year ever! From the time we hit ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best New Year ever! From the time we hit the door our experience was superb. Host stand had the most energetic smiles that I may have ever seen. Loved that they offered the bar while we waited on the rest of our tardy party with no problem.

Then there's Elena. Hope I spelled her name correctly. The most understanding, superb, energetic and all the other possible kind words to describe the most perfect server ever. A party of 9 can sometimes be hard to deal with. Especially when we're all hyped up because of the new year! She handled us with the upmost respect and for that I am so grateful. Her presence is just something special, most likely gifted from a loving family.

The food. Outstanding is just an understatement. Best ribeye EVER. Lobster mashed potatoes to die for. And that banana foster butter cake! Just know that everything was perfect.

Thank You Eddie V for making New Years superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was excellent. We shared the sh ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food was excellent. We shared the shrimp crab salad which is plenty for 2. My wife had the chilean sea bass and I had the grilled swordfish with crabmeat. Both were exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

At the Chicago location, our server Eric ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

At the Chicago location, our server Eric B. made our first time dining there (for my husbands birthday) an enjoyable experience. My husband not only enjoyed the food, but the ambiance was excellent. A bit pricey, but acceptable for special occasions. We will be back for future visits.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would not sit in the lounge area. It's g ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Would not sit in the lounge area. It's glorified bar seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Eddie V's is my go-to place for a really ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Eddie V's is my go-to place for a really great steak! The service is not always consistent: the hosts are impeccable but during our last visit, the server was gone for long periods of time without checking in on us -- or asking if we need more drinks (even though the restaurant wasn't crowded).

However, if the steak is what you want - the bone-in ribeye is always great! Also try lobster mashed potatoes (basically, the sauce is lobster bisque). They also have fun musicians -- so if you don't mind the higher volume, ask to sit by the bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We were pleasantly pleased with the more ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were pleasantly pleased with the more traditional steakhouse atmosphere and food. Our waiter was a pleasant mix of humor and attentive service. The kicker for the meal was the Bananas Foster Cake. Save room for this treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great.. our favorite

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great.. our favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! We will be b ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service! We will be back for another special occasion! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jessica our server was fabulous . The se ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Jessica our server was fabulous . The service fantastic . Food above average steak house fare. Would definitely going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and environment. However; Our ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food and environment. However; Our waitress was slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Top notch all the way! Drinks and food w ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Top notch all the way! Drinks and food were amazing, ambiance was very chill, and the service was spectacular. We will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the great food and ambie ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We always enjoy the great food and ambience as well as the service at Eddie V's.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Christmas E ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Christmas Eve spirit was lively and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Eddie V's, we come all the time! ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love Eddie V's, we come all the time! The rack of lamb was amazing, and you must try the bananas foster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had mild expectations for this place in ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had mild expectations for this place in Chicago in a sea of HQ restaurants. This place is a bit expensive for what you get yet it's better than Shaws. Overall we really enjoyed our Xmas Eve dinner. The service was great and the food was amazing. The Caesar salad had a tapenade that my wife didn't like and the lobster bisque was a little thick with less lobster flavor than I'm used to. But both were good. The lump crabcake was better then most we've had in Chicago. The oysters were fresh and tasty. The bananas foster dessert was outstanding. We will return for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dined at Eddie Vs in Houston. Great stea ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dined at Eddie Vs in Houston.

Great steak. Hoping to have a great piece of fish this time in Chicago. Had the sole. It was a large piece not much flavor. All I could taste was the Panko. All in all it was ok. The bill was over 500.00 $ for 5 people. We had 2 bottles of wine and one app.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Super fun especially if you like music w ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Super fun especially if you like music while you dine-Highly suggest sitting in the bar close to the music-Fresh great seafood selections. Great wine and cocktail choices- Server amazing as checked in appropriately and did not interrupt. Loved it and will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and we enjoyed everythin ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our first visit and we enjoyed everything about Eddie V. The restaurant is very pretty and warm feeling. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was good and hot. Enjoyed the lobster tacos and husband had a steak. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My review is simple: my wife and I have ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

My review is simple: my wife and I have been here a few times and we've tried something different each time - it is all fantastic. The Chilean Sea Bass is my wife's favorite meal of all time. You can expect only the best service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have to save leading up to arriving at ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

I have to save leading up to arriving at the restaurant the hostesses were very flexible. I had to change the reservation 3 times and each time there was no problem. When we arrived it took a little longer than we expected to be seated. Thus the 4 stars on service. Our waiter started out a little slow also. It did worry us. However, service did pick up after we ordered wine. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. The food was absolutely delicious. In particular the lobster tacos, which I had. The table shared the crab fried rice which everyone enjoyed. All at the table enjoyed their respective dishes. Dessert, we ordered three, the blackberry cobbler, the chocolate molten cake and the bananas foster. Hands down the bananas foster was the favorite. Will visit Eddie V's again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a surprise gem! We were entertaini ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

What a surprise gem! We were entertaining clients from out of town and needed to find a nice Chicago restaurant that possibly had some music in the lounge area. Stumbled upon Eddie V's on OpenTable and saw so many great reviews that we booked immediately. Nothing disappointed from food, drink,service, ambience and The lovely sounds of the live jazz trio in the background. I almost want to keep this place a secret as it is my new favorite restaurant. I have been born and raised in Chicago and lived here my whole life this reminds me of the old Pump Room on a smaller scale! Even the hostess was helpful with recommending a nearby late night spot when the music stopped and the restaurant was closing. We will definitely return over and over again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the reviews for Eddie V's are great ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

All the reviews for Eddie V's are great so we were very excited to go for dinner with friends. The restaurant is beautiful - the service was friendly and attentive and when we had an issue with the quality of our Wagyu beef, it was addressed promptly. The food was solid - nothing outstanding, except the crab fried rice (and the bread). Cocktails were good too. Overall - a good meal but nothing notable enough to recommend or come back for.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.