About Eddie V's - Chicago

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-7pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Chicago
Seafood
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

special occasion (144)
romantic (116)
fit for foodies (92)
See All
notable wine list (67)
good for groups (59)
vibrant bar scene (50)
hot spot (44)
neighborhood gem (28)
late-night find (27)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Ask for Elroy for your waiter! We lov ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Ask for Elroy for your waiter! We love this place - great food. Great service. Great atmosphere! Check it out yourself!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. I mean really great food. Di ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food. I mean really great food. Did I say great food. You will love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A++ Experience

Dined 6 days ago

My wife was traveling with me to Chicago and wanted to treat her to a nice dinner. Good food, ambiance and not too much money. Eddie V's was a homerun. Great service, food and experience. Highly recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Food was good but too expensive for ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Food was good but too expensive for what you get!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. T ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not over the top. Our waiter recommended great wines that paired with the food perfectly. Our table was very close to the bar area so we were able to hear live music as we dined, the music and sound from the bar was noticeable but we were still able to converse with out having to raise our voices. The food was exceptional and we couldn't have been happier with our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always consistent no matter what state y ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always consistent no matter what state you go to. A pleasure to dine there can not say a negative thing about the food and wait staff. Always music a plus. Great Spot

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Eddie V's several times ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have eaten at Eddie V's several times and have had nothing but excellent service and food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was josh and he made everythi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter was josh and he made everything perfect!

food3
ambience3
service3

The first unpleasant thing i experienced ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The first unpleasant thing i experienced was the greeting. They tried to seat us at the bar instead of at a table even though we had a reservation and the restaurant was half empty. The food was good but did not leave me wowed for the price. I however thought the portion sizes we sufficient bucking the trend. The highlight was the Banana Fosters over Butter cake. That made up for the other shortcomings. The waiter was very professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous seafood and atmosphere! Truly ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous seafood and atmosphere! Truly memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best seafood/fish houses in Chicago

Dined on May 17, 2016

I consider myself a fresh fish connoisseur and Eddie V's meets and exceeds my standards for outstanding dining on fresh fish meals. Upscale but not too expensive for normal business meals. Waiters very well trained and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible steak and seafood! Everything ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Incredible steak and seafood! Everything was perfect, from the service to the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can wait to go back!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish! Ambience, service, food, drinks! The bananas Foster was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second trip to Eddie V's - always great. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Second trip to Eddie V's - always great. Food was perfectly prepared, and the service was spot on. Great wait staff. Loved the halibut - WOW! Keep up the great work and I will return as often as I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Our food was delicious! My only complai ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our food was delicious! My only complaint is the "shareable" size portions of salads and sides. My husband and I often have different tastes and wants when dining out. We would each prefer our own choice. When traveling it's not easy just to take leftovers with us when we can't eat it all.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Chilean sea bass. Crab fried r ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Delicious Chilean sea bass. Crab fried rice. Came with a party of 7 and all enjoyed the meal.

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Basic!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was not friendly, seemed annoyed the entire time. The other server kept reaching over everyone with no manners or a simple excuse me. The food was basic, no flavor. I expected more after waiting so long for my meal. By the way it was not crowded. Was really looking forward to this meal after hearing good reviews. Skip it!!

food3
ambience4
service2

To expensive for the level of food

Dined on May 8, 2016

To expensive for the level of food

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. The food was great ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent experience. The food was great and the service was outstanding.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not So Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

For Mother' s Day I invited that ladies out to brunch and although the service and atmosphere was great the food and drink (Bellini) was just average. I have definitely had better.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit, great experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, good service, good ambiance. I'd go back anyway!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent parking is 20 bucks and you need cash. The decor is very nice. The food was fantastic beyond anything that I have had in awhile. Top notch. The steak melted in my mouth. I didn't get the lobster but that is on the list for next time. The appetizers were just as good as the meal. I don't know why I have not been here before but a true mistake on my part.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and beautiful!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Eddie V's is a wonderful restaurant. The food is delicious. Chef Anamaria Solis is amazing! Service is great and the place is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was hands down the best wait staff ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff was hands down the best wait staff I've encountered here in Chicago we arrived at 1045pm kitchen closes at 11pm but that did not effect the quality and quantity of food it was like the place just opened 👍👍👍👍👍 I'll be bock!

food4
ambience5
service5

Live Jazz was great!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Live Jazz was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food highest quality, service, especiall ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food highest quality, service, especially our waiter was knowledgeable and very witty!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. Will return.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and service. Noise level was a bit much after 7:00 p.m. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not impressed this time around

Dined on April 29, 2016

Reservations for 8:30. Made the reservations kinda late because we know how busy things can get at restaurants in the city.... we got there right on time... and they didn't have a table. we were led to the bar area to sit and wait for a table. I wonder if they do this to push the overpriced drinks on you. 7 bucks for a Stella? 10.50 for a highball sized vodka and diet coke? I know, it's downtown Chicago but I can't help feel like the gouging is unnecessary..... so we sit there for almost 30 minutes waiting for a table... the music was nice.. atmosphere was nice... but the wait, didn't care for it... especially since we could see the dining room from our vantage point and we could see at least 4 empty tables.... Service was very slow. The waiter, Frank, was personable enough... Brought us our menus and then disappeared for about 10 minutes or so.... came back... took our orders... and then we waited...and waited... I am a pretty good cook... which means I know what kind of time it takes to prepare stuff... and nothing we ordered would have taken more than 10 minutes to prepare... but 40 minutes later, our food arrived.... what little of it there was. 6 scallops for 35 bucks? a 6 ounce portion of cod for 30 bucks? if it wasn't for the twice baked potato we ordered (for 12 bucks, I think), we would have left hungry and would have had to find someplace else to finish dinner. I ordered a softdrink with my meal, because I drink alot when I eat, and at 7 bucks a pop for Stella, I wasn't about to keep ordering those.... Frank refilled the glass once promptly when he saw it was getting low.... but then, after the meal was delivered, he disappeared.... for about 20 minutes. I needed a refill and ALMOST went to the bar to get it myself.... I watched for him to flag him down.. and just didn't see him. He finally DID show up so I got a refill... after my dinner was almost gone. Then we waited for the check, probably another 15 or 20 minutes after our table was cleared.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, service and ambiance. It ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Awesome food, service and ambiance. It will be on my list each time I go to Chicago.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Customer service was excellent

Dined on April 25, 2016

Big place. Great food. It was a Sunday night and there was live jazz in the bar area which was a nice touch. It was not too loud to interrupt conversation. The restaurant was about half full at 7-10 PM so unsure how the noise would be when it was full but it was not an issue that night. We had two different seafood dishes for entries and first courses. We usually always order at least one of the specials anywhere we go as we figure if it was the special for the evening it had to be good which this night was red snapper. Scallops were excellent also. First courses were tuna tartare and lobster bisque. All excellent. Food was flavorful and cooked perfectly. We were celebrating our anniversary so they added a few nice touches off rose petals on the table, a card signed by the staff and a butter cake, flambé for dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. Our waiter was great, very attentive. We did have to ask for crystal wine glasses as they only bring those out he said if the bottle of wine you order is over $100, which ours was not. Wine list was extensive and a varied price range. Unsure about any other drinks or beer as we do not drink those. Don't know about parking there as we went by cab, which are all around when you leave. The two people at the front desk had great personalities. From the minute you walked in the door, they made you feel welcome. When visiting Chicago again we would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time there to celebrate ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

It was our first time there to celebrate an occasion. Everyone was very welcoming and answered all our requests. The drinks were great and the food was very impressive. Our server was Josh. Great guy. Forgot our lobster bisque soup, but made it up with a complimentary dessert for our celebration. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a first date had the lobster ta ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Went for a first date had the lobster taco to start which was perfect. Had the sea bass and steak with shrimp as a main with the truffle macaroni and cheese and the mushroom sides. All are must haves the mushrooms can be passed but that's only cause everything else is great! The banana fosters is not to be passed! The live music in the lounge and service were superb

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and drinks with great servi ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Awesome food and drinks with great service and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ChicagoApril

Dined on April 22, 2016

I was on a business trip looking for a good restaurant to eat while in Chicago. Eddie V's was a recommendation from a co-worker also visiting. The food was excellent and service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server,Taylor, was great and the foo ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our server,Taylor, was great and the food is awesome. Outstanding calamari and halibut. I am always impressed with the food and the service here. Nice place for romance and live music too.

food3
ambience4
service4

Waiter was good. Salad great. Steak okay

Dined on April 20, 2016

Waiter was good. Salad great. Steak okay

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible. Service was exc ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was incredible. Service was excellent. Love the music.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

This is one if the best places in Chicago especially if you are looking for world class food! You can't go wrong with anything here. In fact the best thing to do is just let your wait staff decide what apps and sides to bring you! This place should be right up there with mastros and any other fine dining experience. Absolutely love it and would recommend it to everyone I know!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome, the ambiance the ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This place is awesome, the ambiance the live music and the food was delicious!! My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves, Lobster tacos Great

food5
ambience5
service4

This was a fabulous treat! Right inside ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was a fabulous treat! Right inside where our hotel was, it was a hidden gem. The food was fabulous. Expect about 100.00 a person if everyone has a drink, but worth it.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.