About Eddie V's - Chicago

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (54)
Romantic (49)
See All
Good for Birthdays (49)
Live Music (48)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Business Meals (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Cozy (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Fun (10)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

There is a lounge and a restaurant. We sat in the lounge for dinner and there was live music. The only problem was that since we were in the lounge the dinner service was not the greatest. We waited too long to get service and to receive the appetizers, food, and refills on the water. Might be better to go into the restaurant and forgo the lounge to get better service. Food was good and it's a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food as usual. Had the tomahawk steak which was the Best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting Chicago for business but met up with some friends to mix in some pleasure on the trip. Our friends had not been to this restaurant even though they knew the history behind the name. We were all pleased with the atmosphere, the service and the food. We started with the seafood tower as an appetizer which was very good. Some of us ordered seafood (Halibut, Chilean Sea Bass and seafood special that included lobster and crab stuffed shrimp) and some ordered steak and it was all good. Really enjoyed the lobster bisque.

We will go back to Eddie V's next time in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

As usual our food was AH-MAZ-ING!!!!! Best steak ever!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

After many visits to this great establishment, they do not stop to surprise us with consistently great service (Elroy!), tasty food and just outstanding ambiance...and if you are a jazz-fan, there is simply nothing better in the City, than enjoying their music in the lounge, with food and drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

A terrific dining experience. The seafoos chowder was superb and the scallop entree with asparagas was just perfect. the waiter, Eddie, was outstanding and very attentive. A great meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

My table took forever to get ready although I made a reservation in advance. Halibut came burnt but didn't wanna wait for them to redo it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We visited Chicago for our son’s 14 birthday and he wanted oysters for dinner after having deep dish pizza for lunch. We enjoyed the food and service. My husband and son shared oysters. We had Ceasar salad and then my husband and I had the salmon for the main course. It was prepared perfectly and had a nice mix of vegetables. Our son had the pot stickers as he was too full from the oysters. We had no room for dessert but wish we could have tried something! A nice bottle of wine was enjoyed as well. It is a loud restaurant. I think our waiter had trouble hearing us order at times. Service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great dinner, excellent service. a very fun night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was very very good.Waiter was great but the supporting staff seemed a little out of their league.
Smoked Old Fashioned was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was fresh, excellent. Service was slow, even for our large party of 12.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was slow but it was very busy. Took a long time to receive main entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Excellent in all respects; innovative preparation of fresh seafood. Respectful service, with conversationally friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We had 6 in our party for a business meal. We're all friends so we greatly appreciated the efficient service. It was a rainy night and we could not all get there together so we really appreciated the hostess allowing us to sit at the bar a bit longer to wait. We shared the crab fried rick which is amazing! I must try if you go. I had the tuna tartar and it was yummy and just the right serving. The tuna tempura I tried was not as good. My wedge salad was very good as well and not one of those giants that you just cannot eat! They have live jazz band in the background that was just the perfect volume. I would go back again!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great overall experience for my husbands birthday! Although things came to a hault after salad and i had to go to the ER for personal reasons. .my main course and desert was put in to go containers and was even better the next day!! Staff was great all smiles and the lower Speakeasy room I reserved was private and nicely decorated. There was happy birthday confetti on table and a happy birthday card from staff! I will definitely be back to enjoy everything!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dinner is always delicious. The bananas foster cake is AMAZING as was Jeffrey the server. He was a complete professional who offered impeccable service. Robin is great with the reservations and very attentive, as was Drew the manager.

Great Lobster Tacos and delicious steaks. Loved the live music.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was our first time at Eddie V's in Chicago. We were celebrating our daughter's 18th birthday. The restaurant did an awesome job of recognizing my daughter's birthday and many of the staff wishing her a happy birthday. She loved it!

The service, the food, the staff and ambiance were amazing. Keep up the great job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I have been to your restaurant many times. Never disappoints

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Eddie V's. The staff could not have been more attentive and genuine. Our table was in a lovely, quiet spot against the wall and we arrived to find it decorated discreetly for our special night. The food was well prepared and delicious. We would highly recommend a visit. We would suggest letting them know if it is a special occasion.

Our thanks to all who made the night special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We went to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. We let them know this in our reservation notes, and they prepared our experience accordingly. Decorated table, note from the staff, and special complimentary dessert helped make the night truly special. The food and service were exceptional. They were attentive, made superb recommendations on wine, and prepared our food precisely as requested. Flavors were amazing, and steaks were some of the best we’ve had. Would highly recommend Eddie V’s to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I chose this restaurant for our 2 year anniversary. It had good reviews and the menu seemed really good. The only issue i had was my steak came back rare whereas i had requested medium well. They had no issue at all as far as making it right was concerned (taking it back and cooking it a little longer) but i was pretty hungry. So, I opted to just eat it as is, albeit a little begrudgingly. Anna, the manager on at the time came over to the table to see how things were and i told her. In the conversation, my wife mentioned it was our anniversary. Anna offered to comp us with a desert and we were satisfied with that. Alex was our waiter and he did a phenomenal job as well! To top it off, Anna brought out the desert on a plate that had happy 2nd anniversary written in chocolate as well as a card signed by the staff, and a rose for my wife. Above and beyond service and all the other food is excellent. DO NOT leave there without ordering the batter fried oysters...phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I was on business in Chicago and I wanted a higher end place for dinner. I was glad I picked Eddie V’s. It’s conveniently located downtown near Michigan Avenue, hotels, shopping and it’s a fantastic restaurant.

I was lucky enough to enjoy live music in theloung on the night I was there. You can sit in the Lounge and eat or get a quieter table in the restaurant area. I wanted to feel the vibe of the jazz and vocal music.

Great food, great service great music and a great first class establishment. My only beef and it’s a small one - they are only opened for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The service was great at the beginning of the meal but there was a long lag between our appetizers and the steaks. Then our empty plates were not removed for at least 10 minutes and the server took a long time to come back with the dessert menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Dining in the lounge with live jazz was really cool. Service was outstanding. The waiter didn’t recommend the most expensive wine as most of them do, in fact one of the very cheapest bottles of Kendal Jackson Reserve Zin for only $32 which was a steal. Food and desserts also outstanding. I will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Steak was outstanding & a la carte portions were perfect. A must when back in Chicago 👍👍

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great place for all locations, the launch is probably the best area to sit in. Music was awesome. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Awesome atmosphere and food was wonderful from the oysters to the tuna tartare and the sea bass was melt in your mouth!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Possibly the best seafood I have ever had in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always a good time at Eddie’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Eddie V's was absolutely top notch! We were promptly seated by very friendly staff and our waiter was very professional and knowledgeable. The ambiance was perfect and quite enjoyable. I will definitely return to this restaurant whenever in Chicago!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. You cannot go wrong here. Super steaks and fine fish. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Eddie V's is fast becoming my favorite restaurant. Although it is very pricey, the food is superb. Definitely try the Lobster Tacos appetizer and order the Crab Fried Rice as on of your sides.
I typically order the steaks which have always been cooked to perfection. Many of the guests that I have dined there with have ordered the fish dishes and I know they were not disappointed. The ambiance is excellent. Ask to sit in the lounge to best hear the music.

Neil

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I’m a foodie...i love traveling to places and have been wanting to go to this restaurant for the longest. Well!!!!.....this restaurant alone made my trip to Chicago the best!! I made birthday reservations and they decorated my table. I booked thru Open table and this is the first restaurant that actually paid attention to my note, which stated it was a special occasion and that I was traveling from Philadelphia to eat there. The food is beyond excellent and is now on the top of the list for 5 star restaurants I’ve eaten at!! And believe me...I’ve been to many. The service is excellent....I loved my waiter!! The food is mouth watering!! You have to try the shrimp and crab meat salad! Real crab meat and was not skimpy!! The Au Gratin potatoes with cheese was great and so was the salmon and veggies. I can’t even write everything I loved, you would have to go there yourself and PLEASE DO! I will be back...I LOVE EDDIE V’S.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Spectacular evening! Perfect food, great service, really nice jazz in the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing food. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was excellent as usual (calamari appetizer, salads and halibut, swordfish and shrimp entrees) however the service was terrible. Waited 30 minutes for our drink order and then brought the wrong drinks. Long waits for appetizers and then the entrees. We were seated in the lounge and clearly they were understaffed. Our waiter was moving fast but couldn't keep up. No one checked on us other than the waiter saying another 5 minutes which turned into 30 minute intervals. In the end, they comped us an appetizer but that hardly made up for a disappointing dining experience. We were thinking of hosting our daughter's UChicago graduation party there but will need to rethink after the dinner last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Amazing food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

80 birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Eddie V's creates an excellent dining experience that is personal abd professional with a good mix of attention and autonomy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.