About Eddie V's - Chicago

Join us at Eddie V's in Chicago and let the comfortably sophisticated environment, sparkling atmosphere, and sounds of live jazz that fill the air set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and broiled to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Master Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our V Lounge where you can sip classic and creative cocktails, and enjoy signature appetizers against a backdrop of soulful jazz and seductive lighting. Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

521 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday – 5pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 5pm-10pm;
Friday & Saturday – 5pm-11pm

V Lounge: Sunday – 4pm-10pm
Monday through Thursday – 4pm-11pm; Friday & Saturday – 4pm-12am

Eddie's Happy Hour: Monday through Sunday – 4pm-6pm featuring half shell selections, Chef's sharable teasers, new hand-shaken cocktails along with wines by the glass.

Cross Street:
Grand/Rush Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 595-1114

Website:
http://www.eddiev.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly in the V Lounge.
See www.eddiev.com for calendar of bands.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

This Easter, join us for brunch from 11:00am - 3:00pm, $49 adults, $15 children.
Or enjoy exceptional seafood and Prime steaks from our Dinner menu, available from 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Private Dining

Whether you’re celebrating a personal milestone or counting on a successful meeting, planning it with us is for those who crave attention to detail. Book a private or semi-private room and let our Private Dining Professionals deftly guide you. Contact us at www.eddiev.com/private-dining/home

Eddie V's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (80)
Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Romantic (62)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Live Music (48)
Bar Seating (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Modern Decor (26)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (11)
Fun (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Private Room (8)
Casual (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
1346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was great! Berlin was fantastic she took the time to explain the menus and gave great recommendations. She was even better at the end of the night. We were all on expense reports and she did a great job splitting up the bill and providing extra copies. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my 3rd time and they do a nice job. Food is not cheap but good food can't be cheap. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent decor-- soft and contemporary.
Service was great. Eddie was attentive without being overbearing. He gave his opinion on a few personal favorites and he didn't disappoint.
The calamari was outstanding and plentiful.
The lemon sole was delicious too!
Highly recommend for a special date night or work dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Had Troy as a server he was a real cool dude and made sure everything was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic, one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The table was white cloth, but we didn't feel out of place dressed casually. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was very good. We had a relatively new waiter to the restaurant, but he was very attentive. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were both excellent. Their crab cake was the best and so were our entrees. Pricey but well worth it if you're looking for a nice dinner spot in Chicago.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My friends birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I am being shown as a no show, please rectufyp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I scheduled a reservation for Eddie Vs after visiting the restaurant previously and receiving empeccable service. However, this time the service was awful the waiter seated us took our drink order and never returned. When we flagged down another waiter who informed our original waiter that we never received drinks , the original waiter mumbled well I don't care that's not my faults he then returned to the table with watered down drink and poured my martini splashing the liquid everywhere. We waited for a manager who we were told was on a telephone call (which I did not believe at all) The manager never showed we left the restaurant without paying for drinks and never received menus to place a dinner order. Very dissatisfied!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Exceptional live music trio playing four instruments and singing jazz not to loud you could still talk and hear each other perfect if your with friends or dining alone. I went back a second time by myself and sat at a cozy little table.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My family (3) spent the last night of our Chicago trip here, it surely is the highlight of our entire trip from Toronto. Amazing food throughout even for foodies like my family, the sea bass is as good as advertised and the swordfish is the best I ever had. The banana frost cake is simply gorgeous. The server is very knowledgeable and super nice. In a word, fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The ambiance lent way to a wonderful reuniting of us two childhood friends.
Wine selection was excellent as well as our ever doting server who took time and showed interest in our visit.
Now to the food. Every single morsel delighted and felt like explosions of pure joy in our mouths.
Eddie V's in La Jolla was my favorite restaurant .... now it is Eddie V's in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our food was delicious. The steak, fish and seafood were tender and prepared well. The service at the table was great, but unfortunately at the bar it was less desirable .
Regardless, we would return for the food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent presentation of the meals. Wait staff was on top of everything. Always return to this location when in Chicago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Daughter & her roommates were visiting from NC for spring break, plus both birthdays are this Month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first visit to Eddie V's. There are so many delicious choices on the menu it was difficult to choose. The food was absolutely wonderful. Our waiter was terrific as well. We certainly will be going back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Thank you to our server Mitch Bean. We were in for an opera weekend and this was wonderful. Mitch was knowledgeable and fun! We will be back. Husband loved the swordfish and I loved the ahi tuna. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food !!! Atmosphere!!! Cocktails!! And The Banana Foster ?!!!!! WAS AMAZING 💕💕💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious salad. Loved the dressing. Lobster tacos were fantastic. The bananas foster was out of this world. The wait staff were attentive and informative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server Elroy was fantastic! He made the experience even better. Elroy was very knowledgeable about the menu and his suggestions were to our liking. Thank you for a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Over seasoned everything. We were at this restaurant before and had a great experience. Waited 30 min for our table. I have a hard time believing at this price you over salt everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We love Eddie V's - it is consistently fabulous and conversation friendly. The fish is super fresh, great preparations; also great starters, side dishes and desserts. The service is awesome . Also, always nice live music in the bar.
We have taken several friends, who had not been there, and they all loved it as well.
I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had an amazing evening! My husband and I went for our anniversary with another couple. Both of us women were given a rose even though it was only my anniversary. I appreciate the fact that the restaurant management/staff wanted to make the other woman at the table feel special and/or at the very least, not left out. The service was absolutely impeccable! All four of us raved about our food. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It was definitely expensive, more than we ever usually spend, but if money is not an object or if you really want a fabulous evening or special occasion this is the place!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience. Not certain if the food was worth it. I've had better at places 1/2 the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

first time with a 7:45 reservation. they were already out of Katama oysters and lobster tails. the meal we had was good but not outstanding. service OK. live music in the lounge very mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Although our waiter Edie was just three weeks on the job he recommended items and obtained wine recommendations we couldn't have asked for better service. The food was exceptional my Seabass was out of this world my husband loved his salmon . We also added the brussels sprouts which were the best I've ever had anywhere. We shared a wedge salad and an appetizer fried oysters also equally good. It was a great value and since it was our 45th anniversary they sprung for a beautiful upside banana fosters cake. . I describe myself as a real foodie! I will definitely come back again and again! Service was prompt and we were not rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have been to Eddie Vs over 45 times and this was the worst. I dont know what happened but the food that was coming out of the kitchen was great at all. They couldnt cook steaks right to save a life. So disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went with some out of town friends on a Thursday evening. They were staying at the Marriott on Michigan Ave. We didn't have reservations but they were able to seat our party of 4 immediately. The menu, service, food, presentation, ambience and decor were all top notch. I would definitely recommend and come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was JUST AMAZING!!!!! Waiter was very helpful and attentive

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dined at Eddie V's on Valentine Day. We had reservations for 8:45 made it around 8:50 and had to wait about ten minutes for our table. Overall the ambiance in the restaurant was superb, wait stafff was super friendly and inviting. The food and drinks was delicious, especially the lobster mash potatoes(to die for). Before departing our waitress gave me a long stem rose and a little box of chocolate truffles. Turns out they were given to all guest that night in honor of Lovers Day. I will definitely be back again. Super impressed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was great and the food was delicious as always!! I always have a positive experience at Eddy Vs. The live music adds a great touch to the atmosphere for a nice date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, our server Drew. I think his name was Drew. He introduced himself and already knew my name from the reservation. He did a great job in describing the food and giving his recommendations. The entire wait staff was great in my opinion. It was for Valentine's Day so all of the women received roses, I don't know if that's a regular occurrence but it was appreciated. Of course its pricey, but its seafood and we are in Chicago so its expected. I most definitely will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic Evening, great from start to finish! Waiter was attentive and super nice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was my 3yr old Valentine Day biryhdsyNEW YORK (WLS) -- As many are making spring break plans, a travel warning for Americans headed to Mexico remains in place.

According to the warning issued on Dec. 8, 2016, the U.S. State Department continues to caution against traveling to certain areas of Mexico after U.S. citizens have been the victims of violent crimes, including homicide, kidnapping, carjacking and robberies.

"Gun battles between rival criminal organizations or with Mexican authorities have taken place on streets and in public places during broad daylight," the State Department said.

The warning includes tourism hot spots including Acapulco, Puerto Vallarta, Guadalajara and Mexico City. Other popular tourist areas of Cancun, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya and Tulum are not included under the warning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Eddie V's was very nice, our waiter was very friendly, the food was awesome, wish we could've gone earlier to experience the live band but other than that it was a great Valentines Day night, we'll definitely be going back again soon..!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My birthday.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was spectacular. Our server (Nick) was an absolute delight - friendly but not overbearing; knew the menu and took time to describe the entrees. Our meal was excellent - my wife had Sole and I had bone-in Ribeye. She talked about the Sole for two days and every time she did, I couldn't help but think of the savory flavors of my perfectly prepared, juicy steak! We did get caught up in "Valentines Weekend" crowd so took longer than expected to get seated. But, the bar service was equally as excellent and we found the wine pours to be "friendly". We enjoyed a couple glasses of complimentary Prosecco - which was a nice touch and rounded out our night.

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful welcoming experience food very tasty drinks great as well staff very productive and professional atmosphere lovely! I Definitely recommend the vlounge to all music makes you feel great while enjoying dinner or drinks

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Did not honor reservation and kitchen was very slow. Food came out warm at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have dined here many, many times. The most recent before this last time that I am now reviewing was just the week before. So, you think they would acknowledge that. They seem to not recognize us or even the same name that keeps turning up in their reservations. Upon checking in for our reservation we were told they were running about 20 minutes behind schedule. They had our phone number and email, but for some reason, they didn't think to notify us of the delay. Instead we rushed over from having drinks just to sit and wait. We happened to notice several empty tables in the lounge area and repeatedly went to the hosts to inquire if we could sit there or what was happening. We were told the tables were being held. Finally, they called us and walked us around the entire lounge before sitting us...you guessed it...one of the empty lounge tables that had been sitting empty the entire time. For the record, the woman who sat us was the same one that told me a few months ago I could not wear my summer hat in the restaurant because she did not understand that the restaurant simply didn't want men to wear baseball caps. The food was delicious, but it was frustrating and we asked to speak to the manager..twice. He bought us a pound of drinks, which was nice, but they need to get their act together when people walk in the door. By the way, every lady received a rose upon leaving the restaurant that evening.. except the two at our table. Good food will only take you so far.. there are many wonderful restaurants in Chicago. Walk across the street and go to Joe's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.