About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh
Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (139)
Notable Wine List (72)
Fit for Foodies (67)
See All
Good for Groups (64)
Romantic (63)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Hot Spot (31)
Scenic View (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wylarah filet is amazing. All 3 platinum ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wylarah filet is amazing. All 3 platinum cuts were great. Mushroom side dish with sweet vermouth was the perfect complement to a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best seafood and steakhouse I have had i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best seafood and steakhouse I have had in last 5 years.Service unapproachable by the other big 3 steak restaurants in downtown. Also less money.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we were looking forward to our fir ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

While we were looking forward to our first pre-theatre dinner at this restaurant, several aspects of the experience have resolved us not to return - nor recommend it. On the food front, the lobster bisque was not very flavorful and had only three small pieces of lobster in it; while my filet mignon was fine, my wife's sirloin was chewy; the Caesar salad dressing was too acidic; the side order of fries was oversalted; the crème brulee was soupy and the strawberry shortcake cake was hard and tasteless, plus the desserts finally arrived more than ten minutes after we had finished the entrees, and I had to get up and find our waiter to tell him that we wanted the check - which put us in a pinch to get to the theater on time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

we are members of their club, and live c ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

we are members of their club, and live close by, so we eat here often. especially on Sunday's

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff, very nice decor and atmo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Friendly staff, very nice decor and atmosphere, drinks very well made. Food a good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dinner Saturday night. Very profession ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner Saturday night. Very professional waiter. Lovely ambiance. Appetizers very good. Waited way too long for main course and steaks were not hot when they came out and had clearly been sitting somewhere. Waiter was apologetic. Didn't want to send it back because too hungry by then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Our party of 6 went for my sisters birth ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our party of 6 went for my sisters birthday. Waiter was very unfriendly. It took him 10 minutes to even come to our table. Service was very slow. They told me they would make my sisters birthday very special - our waiter did nothing!! Food was very good. Too bad one person can ruin your whole night.....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We dined here for restaurant week for th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We dined here for restaurant week for the 1st time. The filet's were delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine, ambience is wonderful!! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food, wine, ambience is wonderful!! I would definately return and recommend this great spot

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating in lounge area is fun. The view ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Eating in lounge area is fun. The view is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good was delicious!!!! This was my first ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good was delicious!!!! This was my first visit to Eddie Merlot Pittsburgh. Lobster Bisque outstanding! Steak Amazing! Craving more Short Rib Strognoff !!!

Pat our waiter was awesome! You can tell he is passionate about the restaurant and providing great service to his customers!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried for restaurant week some of best f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tried for restaurant week some of best food and service in Pittsburgh!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my birthday dinner. My girlf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for my birthday dinner. My girlfriends and I went during restaurant week and the food was delicious! We would definitely go back on a special occasion. Service was on-spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Krista was awesome. Very fri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our server Krista was awesome. Very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Awesome job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter paid attention to everyone bu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our waiter paid attention to everyone but us. Left an empty beer glass for over 10 minutes. Got much better service and responses from the food runner. It was a Wednesday night too so they weren't even that busy. This was not my first time there either. I was very upset and don't think I'll be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Visited during Pittsburgh Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Visited during Pittsburgh Restaurant Week which is a great chance to try new restaurants for an affordable price. Thanks to Eddie Merlot's for participating! A summer menu was also available which was also very affordable. Everyone in our party had the 7 oz. filet and we were all very happy with our meals. We'll definitely return for another girls' night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week and the food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went for restaurant week and the food was very good! Also the service was impeccable. My friend spilled dressing on her shirt and within 15 seconds they brought her club soda and a towel to get it off her shirt. They paid attention to every little detail. I will defiantly be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the 2nd time we have been to Ed ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was the 2nd time we have been to Eddie Merlot's. The first time the food and service were excellent. This visit was on a busy Saturday night. The service was still excellent. The quality of the food and preparation were not as good as before. If this weren't one of the most expensive restaurants in Pittsburgh I wouldn't have expected better. Overcooked shrimp, small medallions of sirloin, presentation, etc., should have been better when our bill was over $400 for 4 people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service with very friendly s ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding service with very friendly staff. Food outstanding. Excellent value. We never felt rushed and had a wonderful time so we were in no hurry to leave. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was outstanding, appetizers and s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was outstanding, appetizers and steaks were prepared exactly as ordered. I had spicy asian shrimp as appetizer and was excellent. we both had filet mignons and were perfectly done. the service with our waiter Gordon could have not been more perfect. We love this restaurant and will be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife's favorite steak house in Pittsb ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My wife's favorite steak house in Pittsburgh--have come here many time and will continue to--recommend it to everyone that asks about a great place to eat in Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to go before a show. Walking ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to go before a show. Walking distance to theatre district.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place superb food superb service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place superb food superb service attention to detail great

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious.....service was g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was delicious.....service was great. Waiter wasn't too 'in your face' (in other words didn't bother them so much that they were a nuisance). Definitely would go back--you can't beat Eddie Merlot's for a good meal and a nice way to entertain clients.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance were excellent. U ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and ambiance were excellent. Unfortunately, our server was very disorganized. Our salad and dinner orders were given to the wrong people twice. Our dinners sat on a tray for quite a while before she served them. All three couples' bills were incorrect and charged with the wrong food selections. Plus, we had to wait for the bills and then we waited so long for her to return that we contacted the main hostess for assistance. Then, of course, the bills were incorrect. The young lady needs training. The restaurant shouldn't suffer because of her.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This was my first time dining at Eddie M ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my first time dining at Eddie Merlot's. The food, service and ambiance were OUTSTANDING. I will recommend this restaurant to others. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Eddie Merlot's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my first time at Eddie Merlot's, would definitely return. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. The service was also good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a wonderful dinner. Good food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a wonderful dinner. Good food and wine. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice lunch with the team. Good value. Ev ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Nice lunch with the team. Good value. Everyone enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always order salmon and did again , bu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I always order salmon and did again , but I prefer the way it was served prior with the corn succotash and not the new potatoes . All else was delish .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening dining, sumptuous meal c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Perfect evening dining, sumptuous meal complimented with superb service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Eddie Merlots. Any special occas ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We LOVE Eddie Merlots. Any special occasion is a must for us.

Perfect food, perfect staff.

Always a pleasure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very pleasant eating experience ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was a very pleasant eating experience and the service was super

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was fantastic,professional, an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The staff was fantastic,professional, and pleasant. Once the staff was told it was for birthday they went far and beyond to make it enjoyable. The steak was very good but could have been hotter.

Great place to go to enjoy the evening. Valet parking was not opened at the time and parked in the lot near by but wasn't told the parking pass could have been validated by staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time experience. With all the rave ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

First time experience. With all the rave reviews, we were anticipating a great experience. Service was superb; was our anniversary and they were very attentive. Shrimp app was outstanding. Had the 18 oz ribeye. Was highly disappointing for a steakhouse. A bit thin; OK flavor; not the best cut I have experienced. Don't think it was 18 oz, more like 8-10. Had Oscar, skimpy on crab meat and three twigs of asparagus. For $61, expected much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I think it is now the signature restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I think it is now the signature restaurant in Pittsburgh. Best Sea Bass I have ever tasted and the finest steaks of any steakhouse in this city! Service and attention to detail is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was perfect and the bread to die f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Steak was perfect and the bread to die for! I would highly recommend Eddie Merlot's restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is way overpriced for the value ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food is way overpriced for the value. The wines were half off on Monday and that was a good deal , but they are also grossly overpriced relative to other downtown restaurants.

Service was solid , but the restaurant got busy and it appeared they were understaffed at that point .

Too many other good choices in downtown pittsburgh

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

A relative recommended this restaurant. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A relative recommended this restaurant. I made reservations for our anniversary and we both loved it. The atomosphere was great. Our waiter,Jim was fabulous. The food was outstanding. We were treated a complimentary dessert for our anniversary and a $25 gift card for a future visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff!! Ate outside. Seemed like ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great staff!! Ate outside. Seemed like an island in the middle of the city!!! Steak melted in my mouth. Blackened scallops were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.