About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt Strabbing

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh
Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (138)
fit for foodies (73)
notable wine list (73)
See All
good for groups (66)
romantic (60)
scenic view (41)
vibrant bar scene (38)
great for lunch (33)
hot spot (27)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (13)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great staff!! Ate outside. Seemed like ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great staff!! Ate outside. Seemed like an island in the middle of the city!!! Steak melted in my mouth. Blackened scallops were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and exceptional service. Onl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and exceptional service. Only issue was a mix up with our check, but everything else was perfect. Definitely a 5 out of 5 and we will be back very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The evening started out great -- through ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The evening started out great -- through apps. Had issues with delivery of food but was quickly triaged by the manager and Chef which was much appreciated. Food itself was well prepared and the value was there with the three course dinner selections for the summer.

Reiterate, most impressive was that they had a couple problems and quickly and effectively dealt with them such that we would consider returning as it was our first visit there--been a Capital Grille family. I liked the ambiance better, a little more relaxed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome as always!!! The food and servic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome as always!!! The food and service are always exceptional!! We have Bill help us everytime we dine because he is the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance and tasty food. Great crea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Nice ambiance and tasty food. Great creamed spinach and beet salad. Both steaks came out very rare when ordered medium rare and medium. Always wonder about a steak house that doesn't get the temperature correct. I understand that mistakes can be made, but both steaks severely undercooked? Just wonder who is cooking the steaks since it's a steak house. Seems like they want to make sure they don't overcook them, so they purposely bring them out raw to rare. Not a really big deal, but then of course, your sides have to go back as well. The only other problem was that we were originally asked to sit at a table next to a large party of 20 or so people when the restaurant was practically empty on a Wednesday night. The hostess had to return to the hostess stand and then returned only to seat us at another table in close proximity to this loud group. I asked to be as far from the group as possible, so she again returned to the hostess stand before escorting us to a satisfactory table. During this process, a manager commiserated with us, twice, about being seated next to a large group in an almost empty restaurant, but did not say anything to the hostess or the others at the restaurant's entrance. Seems to be a policy thing. But overall, we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I think it is a great place to take peop ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I think it is a great place to take people for a business lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner prior to Heinz Field co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful dinner prior to Heinz Field concert. Great location; great bar and terrific food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was top notch, David U at th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was top notch, David U at the Pittsburgh location was the best server we could have had. The food was amazing and the place looked great! My husband and I will be going back, we recommend Eddie merlot's to a couple of people already. Keep up the good work guys!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Eddie Merlot's is fabulous. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff at Eddie Merlot's is fabulous. They are familiar with the menu, attentive and respectful to theater obligations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellant as was the staff ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellant as was the staff from top to bottom especially the wait staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent I wish I could eat there every ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent I wish I could eat there every night!! The service was great and the atmosphere was great!! Service was great all the way down to the valet!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was AMAZING! She was very kin ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The server was AMAZING! She was very kind to my family and I and gave great recommendations on what to try!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered the bone in filet. Not worth t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I ordered the bone in filet. Not worth the money. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Enjoyed the meal. Great service and rel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. Great service and relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We visit here a few times a year. This v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We visit here a few times a year. This visit wasn't particularly great though, our service was below par for the price of this meal. In the waiters defense, the computers were down and there was a concert that night with a lot of concert goes pre partying. Our drinks and food took exceptionally long. We knew the problems they were having, but other customers who were seated after us, we're getting served before us. Food was excellent though. To cap it off we were billed incorrectly also. Spoke to the manager the next day, he was very understanding and resolved our issues. Will be back soon and hope to have a better experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

- waited 30 minutes beyond reservation t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

- waited 30 minutes beyond reservation time

- food was overpriced for its quality and taste

- wait staff lacked knowledge regarding beer selections

- floor under table was covered in food

- food was not hot upon receiving it at table

- decent experience but would not dine again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This was my first dining experience in P ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first dining experience in Pittsburgh, and it was to celebrate my father's birthday, and it was amazing. From the appetizers (smoking shrimp cocktail, carpaccio) to the perfectly prepared steaks, everything was outstanding.

I'm going to go out on a limb here - I've been to higher end chain steakhouses, and I've been to legendary single-offering steakhouses around the country and the filet mignon my son got was probably the best steak I've ever had.

Would return in an instant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We came to Pittsburgh to celebrate our 1 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We came to Pittsburgh to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and this restaurant did not disappoint. It may be a steak house, but the salmon was delicious too! Highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal as usual. The BBQ shrimp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very good meal as usual. The BBQ shrimp appetizer was great. the sides were certainly big enough for two or three. The seafood and steaks were great and prepared to perfection. They have an outstanding wine list with economical wines as well as top shelf wines for special occasions. Would recommend to Pittsburghers and out of town visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Kelly was incredible. Awesome experience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Kelly was incredible. Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Bill was great and the food w ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our waiter Bill was great and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always everything was perfect, especi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As always everything was perfect, especially service by David.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Eddie Merlot's was actually ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food at Eddie Merlot's was actually excellent; however, I found a hair in my salad. This ruined the rest of the experience as I was checking everything else that came to the table. This restaurant is very expensive, and I expected quality control to do a better job. I am very torn as to whether I would return to this restaurant or not. If not for the hair, I would have enjoyed my meal very much, but as that was the first food set in front of me, I was turned off. Both the waiter and management apologized profusely, removed the salad from our bill and treated us to 3 different desserts on the house. I would venture to say, this was probably an isolated incident. But I am on the fence with this one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We won't be back. My wife and I were sea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We won't be back. My wife and I were seated in the lobby/bar area, even with reservations. We ordered French Onion Soup / Caesar Salad to begin. My soup was sloppy, having been spilled all over its saucer and my wife's salad was wilted from an over-abundance of dressing. I ordered a Ribeye - Medium and it was delivered well done, to which the server exclaimed "You know, it was probably left in the window and dried as it sat." Wow. We had theatre tickets and were unable to wait for a replacement. The manager was kind to comp. the steak, which even dry, had decent flavor. To their credit, they also provided an additional 25.00 gift card for the error. They said they wanted us to come back, but everything about our experience, with the noticeable gift card exception, said they didn't really care if we did. There are more than a handful of steakhouses in this price range and of the others I have frequented (Andrew's, Hyde Park, Capital Grille, Morton's, etc...) each seems to operate with a guest-driven sense of urgency, wanting to ensure you return. They do this with their attitudes, how they manage their teams, product and service quality control. It seemed the employees at Eddies were just going through the motions. No one smiled, looked be enjoying themselves, or conveyed to the patrons that anyone cared they were there. This experience resulted in chain quality food at gourmet prices and with less than chain quality polish. I was looking forward to this visit and left wishing we'd gone somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

This is a restaurant that I've heard a l ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is a restaurant that I've heard a lot about --primarily good-- so I wanted to see for myself. The staff is really outstanding. They accommodated our schedule when I called, since we were running late with traffic which was wonderful. Often, if I have to call to make a modification, I'm made to feel like it's a monumental irritation to whoever is on the phone. Let's keep in mind, this is a meal, not open heart surgery. This part was great, as was the service. Not at all snooty or overly pushy. Katie (or Kate --sorry if I got your name wrong!) was outstanding as our server. Jim, who cleaned the table was really personable -- very nice. Everyone is also very professional. That is the shining part of Eddie Merlot's.

The food is good; don't get me wrong, but there were 2 of us and we ordered 6 items (including 1 appetizer, 4 drinks, 1 side to split and 2 entrees) and with tip, it was $200 (or, divided equally, $33 per item). I expected 'great'. The salads were not interesting enough to order. The bbq shrimp wrapped in bacon was good. The steak and salmon entrees were good and cooked to order and the side of creamed spinach (good, but uninspired) was 'good'. The wine list is fine, but I expected more from this venue and the same could be said of the cocktail menu. I had a 'Berry White' martini which was a sweet concoction with one red raspberry, one blueberry and part of a strawberry thrown in. The mojito that was also ordered was much more interesting.

In conclusion, go there for a sure-fire meat entrée, great service and atmosphere, but bring your wallet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We have always had great dining experien ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have always had great dining experiences here. It is one of the few places that always gets the meat or seafood done exactly as ordered the first time. We love the menu and wine selection. So much better than other steakhouses in town. Elegant without being snooty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice. Great service and wonderful f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very nice. Great service and wonderful food. We enjoyed it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was perfect

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service, good food, excellent servi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good service, good food, excellent service and a beautiful setting.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual from the smokin shrim ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Fantastic as usual from the smokin shrimp cocktail to the filet and Eddies potatoes along with a special request for sautéed spinach and the enormous tasty cheesecake! My wife's salmon was one of the best she's ever had with an excellent portion size as well as being very tender and flavorful.Service was polite,informative and not overly intrusive.Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was by far the best restaurant in t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was by far the best restaurant in the city! The steak I had was amazing! I cherished every single bite of it! Also our server rheanna was incredible! She knew the menu like it was the back of her hand! She was so professional and amazing! This place has instantly became me and my girlfriends special occasion spot!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal, steaks done to perfection an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great meal, steaks done to perfection and service was just outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant dining experience. Food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very pleasant dining experience. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Only issue we had was we asked for a glass of wine with dinner and our waiter must have forgotten. By the time we were able to remind him we were almost done with our meal. We would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Customer service excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Customer service excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been there many times, but the fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I have been there many times, but the food was only mediocre this visit. Also, we went to 3 different tables before we were seated. I got Steak Frittes and it was swimming in gravy, and the fries were over cooked. I had to ask for a different potato.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food, service and ambiance at Eddie Merl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food, service and ambiance at Eddie Merlot top notch, indeed worthy of 5 stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were here for the first time on a rec ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

we were here for the first time on a recent trip to Pittsburgh. We had higher expectations of the evening. While our server was nice, I asked about the oysters on the menu (where they were from), she had no idea. I asked about the featured wine flights on menu, again, she said it was new and she had no idea what it was.... Really??? Saturday night at this type of restaurant... Overall our entrees were good, we both had fish. We waited quite a long while with empty plates in front of us, until our server came and removed them... commenting "I guess I'm the only one working tonight" .... Lots of staff "looking busy", but restaurant was maybe 50% full, so not sure how they could be that busy. Of course the couple behind us that complained and sent food back had the manager at their table most of the evening ... too obviously killing them with kindness, while we had a hard time getting routine service. Had a difficult time even getting our check to leave. Would be in no rush to return. Again, our server was very nice and cordial, but overall service was unnecessarily slow.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As usual, very fine dining.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, very fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal no matter what we or ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great meal no matter what we order. Great wine list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife here for our anniversary, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I took my wife here for our anniversary, we arrived early so we had a drink at the bar, the bartenders were perfect, outgoing and 100% on everything . When we went to our table the entire staff was phenomenal, the food was outstanding and the dessert was too!! The price was great for the service we received. We will most definitely be back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.