Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Parking Details:
Please park in the 3 Gateway Building Parking Garage and we will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy an elaborate brunch offering which includes roasted beef tenderloin, glazed ham, roasted turkey breast, pork loin, shrimp cocktail, creme brulee french toast, omelet station, and much more! Adults $42.95/$52.95 with Mimosa's or Bloody Mary's, $14.95 Children Under 12, Free to Children Under 3.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy an elaborate brunch offering which includes roasted beef tenderloin, glazed ham, roasted turkey breast, pork loin, shrimp cocktail, creme brulee french toast, omelet station, and much more! Adults $42.95/$52.95 with Mimosa's or Bloody Mary's, $14.95 Children Under 12, Free to Children Under 3.

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Good for a Date (90)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
See All
Romantic (76)
Business Meals (64)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Notable Wine List (45)
Modern Decor (45)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Bar Seating (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Scenic View (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (18)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (12)
Family Style (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Filet Mignon prepared just as ordered and very good. Beautiful setting and comfortable chairs for dining and excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter Gordon was outstanding! Attentive, funny and full of good stories.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

I love eating at Eddie Merlot's The staff is always friendly and helpful. I have never had a bad meal there and they make a special occasion extra special for you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Ask for Michael. He is phenomenal. Food and atmosphere are incredible. Best restaurant in the city

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

First time to Eddie's Merlot! This was a great dining experience. You get what you pay for here, quality food , drinks, and excellent service! Thoroughly enjoyed our meal, a special thank you to our server, Cameron! We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this meal was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dining, not out first time but outstanding as always . Our server Armindo was excellent and catered to our every need. Steak was perfect. Blackened scallops excellent also! Can't go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Expensive but worth the cost. Great bison ribeye. Superb service by Armindo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic food and impeccable service! The calamari was beautiful and delicious! Great steaks and seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best service I've had in a while. The steak was in the top 3 I've ever had. Appetizers were better than most meals at other restaurants. Bananas Foster tableside for desert was wonderful. Great evening. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A hurried experience!
Avoid the calamari, heavy and wet batter, after eating a few crispy pieces the rest became a soggy solid mass. Most unappetizing!
Our mains arrived while still eating the appetizers, which were promptly whisked away. Not what you want when expecting a romantic date night!
I elected to have the caramelized onions and mushrooms on my steak, they were barely cooked through and certainly not caramelized.
Not at all the experience that we were so looking forward to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lovely dinner before a show. Great service and terrific food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Experience did not disappoint. Filet was done perfectly; Brussels sprouts were awesome as were the shrimp. Crab cake was flavorful, but not the best I have experienced. Key lime pie was tasty but not tart enough. $25 corking fee was a bit high. Prices a bit high. Would only return for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great atmosphere and the food was fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

First visit to Eddie Merlot's. Recommended by friends. Filet Mignon was excellent and so was the bison. Service in the lounge was also very good. We went at 5:30 and it was not busy at all. Nice place for a special occasion. Not a cheap place, but the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were celebrating our parent's 75th birthdays and enjoyed they're "finest meal in pittsburgh" to date! The service was prompt and courteous and the food was as good as always. To be super-critical, the calamari was either over cooked or maybe not as quality as usual, but everything else more than made up for it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I got a 16 oz steak that was mostly bone. The flavor was good but wasn't a lot of meat on the bone . Wasn't worth 65.00

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

While it was more expensive then our usual dining choices, it was well worth it! I had the trio of medallions and my husband had the ribeye. Both were amazing! The service was great as well. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love this place! $100 ribeye was disappointing for the price the prime cut I had before was better for half the cost. Overall love this place and would recommend to anyone

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a beautifully decorated restaurant with impeccable service. It is expensive but the food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food is always great. Service was a little slower than normal. It was a Saturday night...

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have never been disappointed with Eddie Merlots.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had dinner here for my birthday. This was not our first visit. Our entire visit was great. Our server, Lauren, did an excellent job. The food was amazing, as always. This is our go-to place for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As usual the food was exceptional and our waiter was very cordial. Very nice experience , as expected.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

First time dining at Eddie Merlot's great place. Can't wait for my next trip to Pittsburgh.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great place for a business lunch. The room between tables allows privacy which is not available in many establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was perfect 5 from host to bartender to wait staff. Salad steaks desert were perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent service and delicious steak. They have a great selection of wine and really helpful waitstaff. The waitress was so friendly and provided excellent recommendations. The steak itself was one of the best I've had, and we chose the filet mignon, which is dry-aged and cooked to perfection. The truffle fries are excellent and the desserts are fantastic. I can only imagine the excellent quality of the dishes we didn't get to try! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Normally I'd go somewhere else, but the restaurant wasn't my choice. Service was severely lacking, especially considering the prices. Maître d' didn't acknowledge my presence when I arrived and ignored me for a good minute or two as he had a seemingly contrived meeting with a staff member. Apparently he did this to someone else in my party. Support staff made multiple mistakes that I find as basic service standards. Food was actually really good though. But, yeah, that service was atrocious. No wonder they're not packed on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was excellent! The decor was very nice and the windows that surround the dining and bar areas create a nice open atmosphere. The restaurant did an outstanding job in accommodating us for what we deemed a minor issue (something ordered, but came out late). Their actions to remedy this were most appreciated and something you normally do not see very often. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved it! We were late because of the stadium series game & traffic was crazy! When we finally arrived, everyone was so friendly! They checked our coats & seated us right away. Our waiter was fantastic!! Gave us great tips and was friendly, and on top of things. The food was also very good!! I recommend!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As usual, Eddie Merlot's delivers. My wife and I stopped by for my birthday dinner and we were promptly seated with a reservation. Our server was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. He was attentive but not over-the-top. The food was impeccably prepared (elk chops and ribeye steak) with our favorite side dish (grilled brussels sprouts). We also got a creme brulee to share and it was on the house as a birthday compliment.

All in all Eddie Merlot's is definitely our favorite steak house in downtown Pittsburgh. The food and service are always top-notch.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We dined in a beautifully decorated, modern upscale room. Service was friendly on a very busy evening. Our appetizer and entrees were delicious. You'll pay for the ambience and the quality. Parking was validated. Overall, I recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent dinner at Eddie Merlot's before the hockey game. Food was fantastic...especially the crab legs and oysters appetizers. Steaks were cooked perfectly and service was exceptional. Highly recommend this spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was a great experience. Loved the Elk chop and the Bison Filet

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I really enjoyed our service and the atmosphere .. the food was EXCELLENT !!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very expensive for what they have to offer!
We also ordered a certain wine per glass and we were charged for the more expensive wine!
Everything on your plate is at an extra cost even the sauce lol

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent dinner all around! Would go back when in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Never disappoints. Probably my favorite steakhouse in the PA/OH area. Always very well taken care of, food is fantastic and the service is top notch. Put it on your list for any special occasion, or just an indulgent evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing! Took way too long to get the main course though and by the time it came, I was already full from the appetizers. Great service and friendly staff. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.