About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (80)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
See All
Romantic (68)
Business Meals (53)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Modern Decor (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Scenic View (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Fun (14)
Casual (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Family Style (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Private Room (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

We dined in a beautifully decorated, modern upscale room. Service was friendly on a very busy evening. Our appetizer and entrees were delicious. You'll pay for the ambience and the quality. Parking was validated. Overall, I recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Was a great experience. Loved the Elk chop and the Bison Filet

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Very expensive for what they have to offer!

We also ordered a certain wine per glass and we were charged for the more expensive wine!

Everything on your plate is at an extra cost even the sauce lol

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dinner all around! Would go back when in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints. Probably my favorite steakhouse in the PA/OH area. Always very well taken care of, food is fantastic and the service is top notch. Put it on your list for any special occasion, or just an indulgent evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing! Took way too long to get the main course though and by the time it came, I was already full from the appetizers. Great service and friendly staff. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Last weekends experience wasn't as good as when me and my wife went there on Valentines day.. The service was so good I even remembered our servers name Cameron. This last time I didn't wanna remember the guys name. I felt like we didn't get the attention like we should have when we always attend Eddie Merlot's its by far my favorite restaurant but I highly critical when it comes to service. I hope my next time will not be with that waiter...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I think they overbooked with several large parties. Despite having a reservation, we waited for our table and were there 30+ minutes before even getting to order. Our waiter was nice, but it was clear our 2 top was not a priority. Very disappointed as we visit there frequently for work lunches and it is an entirely different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Birthday and Valentine's

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Filet was excellent and cooked to temperature perfectly. The bourbon bacon wrapped shrimp were a great choice to go with the steak. Crab cake was ok. Not the best or the worst. The peanut butter cup desert my wife and I split was very decadent. Seating by the door in the bar and a chilly evening gave us multiple cold air blasts as people exited the restaurant. I would recommend to be seated elsewhere on our next visit and to anyone going here for a meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Promptly seated for the scheduled reservation. Beautiful atmosphere, quiet surroundings. Service was impeccable. Grey Goose Cosmo was out of the park great. Four in our party with combined choices: (3) 7 oz. Filet mignons- cooked to perfection, (1) New York Strip ( a slight disappoint due to fat and gristle, but overall flavor was good). Shared sides of Cauliflower Au Gratin, good, but too much sauce overpowered the vegetable, Brussels Sprouts, good, but nothing special and Truffle Fries, the big winner. Lobster Chowder was delicious, as was the Chopped salad. Desserts were shared and included the Peanut Butter Cup and Carrot Cake, both splendid. I would order the Brownie for Two the next visit. Just the presentation was enticing. I finished off with an Eddie's Coffee which was a very good choice.

My husband has a handicap and walks with much difficulty. We were at a loss in locating our car in the garage. David, a server at Eddie Merlot's, was just coming off work and noticed our problem. He was so kind and personally drove us to our vehicle! That's what I call service with a smile. I thank him so much. I will request him the next time we dine At Eddie Merlot's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Post Valentine's Day dinner with my special someone. Great food and ambiance!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Anniversary meal. Lobster & Lamb Chops were exceptional. The Ceasar Salad was also terrific. Josh, our server was friendly, helpful, wished us A Happy Anniversary on arrival and made the Bananas Foster fabulous! Definitely will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was able to get a table on Valentine's Day which was a big plus. The food and atmosphere was excellent. Our server was not prompt and was a bit confused at times. To her defense she seemed very young and may have been new. Overall I would still highly recommend Eddie Merlot's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went Valentine's day.

Overall experience was fantastic.

A little pricey but good for special occasions

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had dinner at Eddie Merlot's for Valentine's Day. Great food and atmosphere. The waiter was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were greeted there like we were special and that we were welcome.

Emily was our server and she was attentive with perfect timing and recommendations.

The food was outstanding - even my picky boyfriend loved the way the meat was cooked (and he is never happy with this). 😔 I would go there again and again!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great time. Everything was excellent. Josh, our server, was tremendous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing place as always! The food is super and so it's the service A+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service and ambiance were great, as usual, but the food was really off today. My meal was extremely salty and the cut of meat my wife had (beef skewers special) was fairly tough. Our waitress, true to form, did give me an option for an alternate meal but the time to place and prep the initial order plus the time to consume the 2nd order didn't leave much time to enjoy the time spent with my wife on V-Day.

I'll be back, though. All restaurants are allowed an "off day", I suppose.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were seated at a two-top outside the door to the men's room and next to the area where the servers left their dishes. Really? They had to put someone there, right? No, there should not be a table in that location. The average meal price was, without appetizer or drinks, $30+ dollars. No surprise, this is an upscale restaurant. There was no value, but one does not expect value in an expensive steak house. But one would expect excellent food. The food was only okay. Portion size, small. With drinks, etc., the price was very expensive given the lack of anything one would consider impressive. P.S. The wait staff was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The server Mike M. Was awesome. He did a great job and was very professional. His recommendations were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first visit to Eddie Merlot's. Two fine steak dinners with excellent service. For a large restaurant with a lot of glass, the restaurant was very quiet. Very enjoyable. We split a salad and side dish and also split a dessert. The portions are generous. Nice wine list as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fine dining in Pittsburgh. EM's is a high end restaurant that has excellent food and ambiance. It was a special night out and we enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh. Both the food and service are consistently superior.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, People Watching, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The bar area is a great place to start the evening, especially with the happy hour. Bar staff (Michael and Stevie) do a great job. Wait staff in the restaurant area are very attentive and generous portions were served. Ambiance is very nice but the restaurant can get a little loud. Food is very good but I could not say this time it was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Simply wonderful!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Eddie Merlot's totally missed the mark for us. We were asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, which we were (husband's birthday) but no effort was put into making our visit special whatsoever. The hostess said "Oh, happy birthday" when we were seated. The waiter made no mention of it throughout our visit and frankly didn't do much other than complain that he couldn't wait to finish his shift and get out of there because it was crazy busy due to Valentine's Day weekend. I ordered my filet medium and was served a well done steak. I ended up eating it anyway which was my mistake, but the noise level was honestly giving me a headache so I just wanted to hurry up and leave. My husband did enjoy the lobster bisque, but his rack of lamb was just OKAY. The sides were subpar. We were seated in a small room with a few other couples and several very large, very LOUD parties. We could barely hear each other which added more annoyance to the underwhelming meal. Between the price, noisy atmosphere, unethusiastic service and mediocre food, it's just not worth it in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the worst dining experiences my wife & I have ever had. The service was awful. From start to finish, we were at our tablet for 2 hours & 40 minutes. The server, Cameron, paid little to no attention to us. It was Valentine's Day so we decided to have dessert & of course Cameron was MIA so we had to place the order with the women clearing our tablet. Unfortunately after the long wait between courses, the food was just fair at best. If only he would have known we are excellent tippers but he blew it. We definitely will not be back. We should have just gone to the Capital Grille, which treats customers with respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a delicious meal and a great time at Eddie Merlot's!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service is exceptional. Fresh baked bread is just the best I have ever had at a restaurant. Great for steak and seafood. And after a great meal they have exceptional french pressed coffee. Always a great place for date night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I don't know what I expected, it was very little food for $150. My fiancé left hungry after getting the king crab and a side, we had to go eat nakama right after. We also got sat in the back by a door which wasn't really romantic either. It was just an okay place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to the restaurant before but my experience last weekend was amazing!!! And my date loved me for it. Thank You!!!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is good. Great location, clean great service. But the food is very expensive, I would expect these prices in a large city or a resort. As long as you know the cost the meal is great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever eaten. Steak was delicious as well as all of the sides. Service was excellent too! Will go back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friendly staff and amazing food. The wine and drink list were huge. This was our first time and we will be be back again for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was great as usual. Gordon was awesome as usual. However, refills on water and bread service was subpar. The normal service for water refills and bread were absent throughout the date night. We had to stop different individuals and ask for water and bread service. Even Gordon had to get us water several times. Hopefully, this is resolved before we come back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a last minute decision took my 3 year old waiter was fantastic with him all around good job

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food, good service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Eddie Merlots, Pittsburgh. The crab and advocado salad was to die for! Our steaks were good, but a bit overdone as per what we ordered and not as juicy as we expect at an upscale steak house. Our waitress was outstanding!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I find $37 pp for lunch a little pricey and I have business lunches 5 days a week. I had a salad (nothing else) and my guest had the beef special and a side salad. The food is average. Nothing special. Check was $74 plus $20 to park in garage downstairs for 75 mins. No parking validation. $100 for lunch for two. Yikes. It's a corporate expense account but I think we're all watching budgets these days. It's literally cheaper to have lunch in NYC than Pittsburgh. My guest ordered a salad in addition to the $24.95 beef special. $12.95 to add a basic side salad seems a little excessive. We also had 2 club sodas.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This was our first visit to Eddie Merlot's, lovely decor We reserved through Open Table. When we arrived, 3 persons were behind the large podium and stayed there until we were taken to our table, not very welcoming. Perhaps since we chose to dine in the lounge area, our service was adequate, but rather confused; initially approached by one server who took our drink orders and very hastily described the Specials of the day.

Bartender who eventually served our food was very pleasant.

Spinach artichoke dip was very good, but the pita wedges were over fried.

Steaks , as we expected, were amazing. Shrimp on Chef's choice (I think it was called) was tasty, but very dry. Substituted an extra shrimp for the sausage for upcharge of 3.50, really?!

Dressing on Caesar salad was excellent, but overly generous.

We will definitely stay with Monterey Bay for seafood, not sure yet about best place for steak

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I took a client to lunch hoping to enjoy a nice meal. The chicken was very dry and bland; not up to par to my expectations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My table had 2 burgers and the steak French dip. We also had a side of calamari. Burgers and sandwich were nothing out of the ordinary but good (expected exceptional for $). Fries were just fries... Calamari was very disappointing, greasy and bland and a bit undercooked. Sauces were very very good that saved it. If one thing annoyed me, we ate a little less than half the calamari and the waiter took it away without asking if we were done or wanted it to go.

Outside of that wait staff was very good.

You can get better fries, burgers and steak dip in Pittsburgh for a lot less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

very nice evening. Gordon and the other servers were excellent

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Birthday dinner was outstanding. Excellent food,service and friendliness. Plenty to eat and to share. Desert was excellent too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to dinner before a show, service was exemplary (thank you David for your wonderful attentiveness) and the food was fantastic. We had an appetizer, shared the salad and side, (each were enough for two people) and even had dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Their people are the reason I go to Eddie Merlot's quite often and the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I visit Eddie Merlot's often, and I really like it. However they need to pay more attention to customer requests that meat be cooked in a certain way, or to leave an ingredient out when requested to do so.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.