Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Parking Details:
Please park in the 3 Gateway Building Parking Garage and we will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Romantic (43)
Business Meals (38)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (11)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and Service was good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

It was good not great meal way too expensive but service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Steak wasn’t done right, but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious as always! One of our favorite places to enjoy a good meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to just about every restaurant in Pittsburgh and I got to tell you this is by far the best one. The food quality is ridiculous but, you will pay for that. I travel and eat at high end restaurants often and this is the closest thing our city of Pittsburgh has. Took my skeptical parents they're for this visit and they walked away and loving it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were extremely pleased with our dining experience at Eddie Merlot’s! From the hostess to the servers wishing us a happy anniversary, the two complimentary glasses of champagne and dessert, the happy anniversary card signed by staff members and a personal note from the waitress. The staff did an excellent job going over the top to make us feel welcome and special. We will absolutely be back. Great dining experience. Eddie Merlot’s knows class and customer service! Kudos and thank you! 👏🏽👏🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food and service. Tera was a pleasure to talk to and she was very helpful with suggestions and reviewing the menu.

Tags: Tapas, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had very bad service and I am very unhappy. Our waiter was very unaccomodating and rude. He was overheard several times making comments about patrons at other tables. I was baffled at how they allow this type of behavior in a restaurant that charges $75 for prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food and friendly staff. We enjoyed the flavors, from the fresh bread to the main course. Everything is pretty pricey because they give you big portions, which satisfies most people. But in my opinion, fine dining means rich, buttery food and there is no need for Cheesecake Factory portions. Also, if you are not a greedy eater, you feel wasteful. It would be nice if they offered smaller better priced items. I ate 1/4 of my $50 main course and the three of us ate 1/2 of the huge dessert dish.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was our first time here and the food was excellent. It was also my boyfriends birthday and they went above and beyond to make the occassion special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Delicious! Staff was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything was great. Kate was our server, and she did an amazing job. She walked us through the recent menu changes, and did a great job of describing them. She sold us on the heirloom tomato salad as a shared plate, and it was phenomenal. She also worked hard to find a bottle of wine to all our liking. The steak was well prepared. And the dessert, the Baked Alaska, was incredible. Eddie Merlot's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was excellent. Cameron was super. Best steak in Pittsburgh

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Amazing food, highly recommend the Ribeye Potstickers and the Bison Ribeye. Amazing service, great view, wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Celebrated my fiancé's birthday here. Food was excellent. I recommend the trio of medallions. He ordered the bourbon glaze ribeye and loved it. We had the ahi tuna poke appetizer and I must say it is the best one I've ever had. They had a discounted rate for new menu items which left our bill very reasonable. Our server Cindy was exceptional and never needed to wait for anything but also did not feel bothered by her checking on us. Will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a very relaxing dinner with friends. Our meals were all excellent. My filet was prepared perfectly. We frequently choose this restaurant and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Celebrated my 11th wedding anniversary, it was hands down the best steak I've ever had! Would absolutely go again when I visit Pittsburgh again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Eddie Merlots is Sandra's favorite Downtown --always enjoy the evening and Convenient and Free parking

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food tasted great but the service was not so great. I expected better service at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

My husbands filet was good. My cut of meat was more expensive than his but half of it was inedible. It was very fatty bone in ribeye so when u cut away the fat and the bone, I had about half a piece of meat. The gin and tonics tasted like straight tonic water-they are clearly making a killing on their drinks if they charge that much for so little alcohol. The sides, salad and soup were very average.

Atmosphere and service was good, but the good isn't worth the money. Maybe the fillet, but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

When you proclaim excellence, you need to deliver. I was not blown away, but I should have been. Our server (Kate) was nice and friendly enough, so no issues there. Our reservation was for 7:30, and we were seated right away in a beautiful location. It was busy, but not excessively. It was after 9:30 before our food came out, and my steak as well as the sides I tried were barely warm. There were long stretches of time where nobody came to our table to refresh drinks or update us on why our food was taking so long. The only thing that made it passable was that our group of 8 enjoys each other's company, and good (expensive) wine was flowing. So I was not pleased that the food took so long, and when it did finally come out, at least mine was not as hot as it should have been. A manager came by all proud of the hash brown presentation, but that was lost on 8 really hungry people. He apologized in passing for the delay, but it was an aside instead of a heartfelt apology. Comping a few drinks or a couple sides would have gone a long way, especially since we spent around $1000. As far as I know, everyone enjoyed their meal. If I return to Pittsburgh, I would give them another chance, because the food was quite good, but if the same problems occur, I'll speak up, and likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent steak, the ribeye was outstanding. The whole atmosphere was great. Our waiter Michael was the best! Great staff. We debated long and hard on which steak house we would visit while we were in Pittsburgh. We definitely feel like we made the right choice. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good overall but disappointed in the $100 spent on a special steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Truly relevant Steakhouse and fine dining establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Fantastic service and excellent food. Drink menu outstanding. Wine list very good – highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We've always enjoyed this restaurant because of the great food, service and ambience. However, they no longer have valet parking. They validate your parking lot ticket but it's not convenient at all to park in the parking garage when there are other options (Eddie V's) with valet service AND live music. The lack of valet service will keep us away in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good food and excellent service by Katrina. She was very attentive and made fantastic recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Eddie Merlot's was a great lunchtime dining experience, and I don't doubt that evening dinners would be equally as good if not better. This was a simple birthday lunch for two. We both ordered the special (beef stuffed portobello mushroom with risotto), which was over-the-top good and probably a bit too large for lunch. That didn't stop us from eating almost the entire serving. My guest asked if she could take home the rest of the bread and the young man bussing the table immediately replied in the affirmative and said that he would get her a fresh loaf so it wouldn't be dry! Who does that?! When our regular server offered to bring a complimentary creme brulee birthday dessert and my guest indicated that she simply could not eat another bite of food, our server suggested that he could pack it up to go. The offer was gratefully accepted. To sum up: meal (fabulous!); service (even better--if that's possible). I will definitely put this on my special occasion (and even not-so-specia-occasion) list! Thank you Eddie Merlot's for helping me provide a memorable lunch for a good friends 60th birthday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very average, not as good as what I've previously experienced. Probably could use more wait staff. Wine should be delivered before dinner, not in the middle of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Mike and his crew gave us some of the best service we've ever experienced ... 9 on a scale of 10 only because we had to refill our own wine glasses from our bottle ourselves twice - for this style of restaurant with this many staff attending, they should've attended better to our wine glass levels. Aside from that minor "miss," the food was sterling, the staff a picture of "hospitality," and the atmosphere wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We went here for our anniversary and we had a great time! The food was so delicious and the service was phenomenal! Really was worth the price and hopefully we'll be able to go back soon

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was amazing as always! Thank you Armindo for providing a memorable anniversary dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always a reliable destination for fine dining. Server Pat & bartender Michael are always on top of the game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I always have the best experience and the service is wonderful

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Dinner was amazing!!! Service was fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our experience is always one of a kind. We frequent the restaurant and we've never had a less than desirable experience. Kate was our server for the first time, and she was great. Will be back for sure

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Starters and service excellent. However, always a bit disappointing when a steak place can't cook a steak close to the temperature ordered. But solid evening overall..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The happy hour is an especially great value. Happened to be there when a wine trio tasting event was just coming to a close. Bartender/server Mike was especially knowledgeable and personable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The staff was very responsive to our requests. The food was delicious. We have always had good experiences at this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Mikey the bartender was absolutely outstanding! I'll be back just for his service and hospitality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.