About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh
Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (130)
Notable Wine List (76)
Romantic (72)
See All
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Groups (58)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Scenic View (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Modern Decor (17)
Business Meals (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful dining facilities well support ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful dining facilities well supported by excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere . ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere . Waiter was very personable and manager came over to inquire about our satisfaction.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have imagined a better experien ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Couldn't have imagined a better experience. The food, drinks, and service were fantastic. My wife and I received complimentary champagne and dessert for celebrating our 5th anniversary. It's admittedly pretty pricey but it was well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I ever had. No need for a st ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best steak I ever had. No need for a steak knife it was that tender.

Waiter was great. Will definitely revisit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with two friends and we had dinne ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

I went with two friends and we had dinner before going see a show. Parking validation is a nice service that is provided. All the staff were incredibly attentive and very family with the menu. They were able to make recommendations and when they were not completely sure about salt content or allergens, they checked with the chef. From start to finish the meals and service was superb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we have been to this restaurant on many ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

we have been to this restaurant on many occasions. It is always excellent. This takes are prepared exquisitely. I highly recommend the bone in fillet. Salads are flavorful. The creamed spinach is the best in the Burgh. Wine list is very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were in town for the Steeler game. A ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were in town for the Steeler game. Ate here Saturday night and had an excellent experience. The waiter was a little unusual in personality but he did a good job and we had no complaints. Love the décor and particularly the art they have used to decorate. Had a nice conversation with the manager and he gifted us with their cook book. We will certainly go back next year.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very Good all in all ...... of course $1 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very Good all in all ...... of course $11 for a baked potato is a bit over the top.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice ambiance and the food was exce ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very nice ambiance and the food was excellent. Our service/server was very good, but the times between visits could have been shorter. For just the two of us, it was two hours from start to finish. We were not in a hurry, but based upon our experiences at other fine restaurants, 1-1.5 hours would have been the expectation. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Birthday dinner for two of us. Server wa ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Birthday dinner for two of us.

Server was just wonderful.

food very good. Very pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Come here frequently. Usually get steak. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Come here frequently. Usually get steak. Tried the sea bass this time. Fantastic portion that did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an 8:00 p.m. reservation, and wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had an 8:00 p.m. reservation, and were seated at a window table in the bar area. Spectacular decor and low noise level made it easy to converse. This is a good place to impress a date, or for people-watching. Our waiter was a bit too attentive and chummy for my liking, and managed to get both our wine and food orders wrong or incomplete. This is an upscale, expensive steak house, but the food was only OK. Honestly, I expected much better. The lobster bisque was tepid with chewy pieces of lobster. The pork chop was mediocre. I would not recommend it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Beet salad was delicious and the Ahi Tun ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Beet salad was delicious and the Ahi Tuna dinner was excellent with a huge portion. Server was attentive and took extra pains to substitute items to accommodate food allergies . We had birthday celebrations for 3 of the 6 persons and they served us each complimentary creme brulee with a candle. So it was a lovely way to celebrate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Bison ribeye always great. Our early din ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Bison ribeye always great. Our early dinner arrival allowed for interaction with our server Gordon. He was very attentive and a super interesting conversationalist. His tableside Bananas Foster prep was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific steakhouse experience. Went on ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Terrific steakhouse experience. Went on a whim and were totally satisfied with all aspects of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous dining experience at E ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a fabulous dining experience at Eddie Merlot's! From beginning to end, everything was absolutely perfect.

Weston was a very gracious host and extremely professional. He set the tone for a great evening.

The ambiance is beautiful, bright and inviting.

Our service from Cameron and Cindy was impeccable! I have dined at some of the finest restaurants in the country and I can honestly say that the service here is at the highest level you will find anywhere.

The food was exactly what one would expect from a high end steak house. Steaks were seasoned and cooked to perfection. One of the highlights was the the bison ribeye.... Absolutely incredible!

Dominick, the manager, stopped by our table and was very gracious.

Thank you for a wonderful evening! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Food is always great here and the at ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Food is always great here and the atmosphere is very upbeat. The staff, the bartenders and the management all pull together to offer a great experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at the Birmingham Michigan locati ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We eat at the Birmingham Michigan location regularly, so we had to try the Pittsburgh location. We were not disappointed. It was great, as we expected. We'll definitely return the next time we are in Pittsburgh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crabcake app is large and delish (I live ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Crabcake app is large and delish (I lived in MD for many years so I know a good crabcake!).

Never had a steak cooked or seasoned better.

Not crazy about the lobster mashed potatoes, though.

Great service (John).

Great bartender (David).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was splendid ! When we had fi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was splendid ! When we had finished dinner it was raining. The manager was wonderful ! He walked my wife and I to our car with umbrellas. He could not have been nicer. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and excellent service, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

excellent food and excellent service, highly recommend Eddie Merlots

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious experience. Gordon was incred ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious experience. Gordon was incredible albeit overwhelmed with other tables. The busboy was extra helpful. The only exception was my father commenting that his over-priced high-end steak had "gristle." I was extremely pleased with the taste and cost of my "surf and turf" summer special. The desserts were absurdly large. A memorable occasion for a special Anniversary, Birthday, and Engagement experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wylarah filet is amazing. All 3 platinum ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wylarah filet is amazing. All 3 platinum cuts were great. Mushroom side dish with sweet vermouth was the perfect complement to a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best seafood and steakhouse I have had i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best seafood and steakhouse I have had in last 5 years.Service unapproachable by the other big 3 steak restaurants in downtown. Also less money.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we were looking forward to our fir ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

While we were looking forward to our first pre-theatre dinner at this restaurant, several aspects of the experience have resolved us not to return - nor recommend it. On the food front, the lobster bisque was not very flavorful and had only three small pieces of lobster in it; while my filet mignon was fine, my wife's sirloin was chewy; the Caesar salad dressing was too acidic; the side order of fries was oversalted; the crème brulee was soupy and the strawberry shortcake cake was hard and tasteless, plus the desserts finally arrived more than ten minutes after we had finished the entrees, and I had to get up and find our waiter to tell him that we wanted the check - which put us in a pinch to get to the theater on time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

we are members of their club, and live c ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

we are members of their club, and live close by, so we eat here often. especially on Sunday's

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff, very nice decor and atmo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Friendly staff, very nice decor and atmosphere, drinks very well made. Food a good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dinner Saturday night. Very profession ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner Saturday night. Very professional waiter. Lovely ambiance. Appetizers very good. Waited way too long for main course and steaks were not hot when they came out and had clearly been sitting somewhere. Waiter was apologetic. Didn't want to send it back because too hungry by then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Our party of 6 went for my sisters birth ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our party of 6 went for my sisters birthday. Waiter was very unfriendly. It took him 10 minutes to even come to our table. Service was very slow. They told me they would make my sisters birthday very special - our waiter did nothing!! Food was very good. Too bad one person can ruin your whole night.....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We dined here for restaurant week for th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We dined here for restaurant week for the 1st time. The filet's were delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine, ambience is wonderful!! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food, wine, ambience is wonderful!! I would definately return and recommend this great spot

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating in lounge area is fun. The view ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Eating in lounge area is fun. The view is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good was delicious!!!! This was my first ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good was delicious!!!! This was my first visit to Eddie Merlot Pittsburgh. Lobster Bisque outstanding! Steak Amazing! Craving more Short Rib Strognoff !!!

Pat our waiter was awesome! You can tell he is passionate about the restaurant and providing great service to his customers!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried for restaurant week some of best f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tried for restaurant week some of best food and service in Pittsburgh!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my birthday dinner. My girlf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for my birthday dinner. My girlfriends and I went during restaurant week and the food was delicious! We would definitely go back on a special occasion. Service was on-spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Krista was awesome. Very fri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our server Krista was awesome. Very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Awesome job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter paid attention to everyone bu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our waiter paid attention to everyone but us. Left an empty beer glass for over 10 minutes. Got much better service and responses from the food runner. It was a Wednesday night too so they weren't even that busy. This was not my first time there either. I was very upset and don't think I'll be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Visited during Pittsburgh Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Visited during Pittsburgh Restaurant Week which is a great chance to try new restaurants for an affordable price. Thanks to Eddie Merlot's for participating! A summer menu was also available which was also very affordable. Everyone in our party had the 7 oz. filet and we were all very happy with our meals. We'll definitely return for another girls' night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week and the food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went for restaurant week and the food was very good! Also the service was impeccable. My friend spilled dressing on her shirt and within 15 seconds they brought her club soda and a towel to get it off her shirt. They paid attention to every little detail. I will defiantly be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the 2nd time we have been to Ed ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was the 2nd time we have been to Eddie Merlot's. The first time the food and service were excellent. This visit was on a busy Saturday night. The service was still excellent. The quality of the food and preparation were not as good as before. If this weren't one of the most expensive restaurants in Pittsburgh I wouldn't have expected better. Overcooked shrimp, small medallions of sirloin, presentation, etc., should have been better when our bill was over $400 for 4 people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.