Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Parking Details:
Please park in the 3 Gateway Building Parking Garage and we will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy an elaborate brunch offering which includes roasted beef tenderloin, glazed ham, roasted turkey breast, pork loin, shrimp cocktail, creme brulee french toast, omelet station, and much more! Adults $42.95/$52.95 with Mimosa's or Bloody Mary's, $14.95 Children Under 12, Free to Children Under 3.

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Good for a Date (95)
Romantic (76)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Business Meals (68)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Notable Wine List (51)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Modern Decor (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Worth the Drive (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Scenic View (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Cozy (16)
Fun (15)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Sunday Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Private Room (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

When we arrived, on time, I dropped my wife off so she could go in & I went to park my vehicle. When I walked in nobody asked me if they could help me or even if I was looking for someone. I then walked into the restaurant & found my wife. She told me when she walked in & gave her name, the gentleman at the host stand said OK, then left her & went & got 2 other couples from the bar & sat them. He returned to the host stand & didn't say a word to my wife. She finally asked if she was going to be seated? He looked at her & said, Oh Yes. Then took her in.
I didn't get what I ordered which was the 10oz Filet with just Caramelized Onions, no Mushrooms, Bearnaise & Peppercorn. My wife ordered the Bison Filet with Mushrooms & Caramelized Onions. When our waiter delivered the food, she had no Mushrooms, just Onions & mine was all Mushrooms, no Onions & was the Bone In Filet. When my wife mentioned about the Mushroom & Onions being wrong on both orders the waiter took both meals back before I could tell him it was the wrong Filet. When he returned I informed him that I ordered the 10oz Filet. He offered to take it back & cut it off the bone or to cook a new one. Since we had waited about 20 minutes for the main courses after our salads, I opted to just eat the Bone-In Filet & it didn't have the Peppercorn. The waiter offered to adjust the price & I told him that wasn't my concern. In the end he adjusted the prices & also gave us a complimentary Creme Brûlée.
On the positive side, all of the food from the bread to salads & the main dishes were excellent! The Bone-In Filet was actually very tender. My wife's Bison Filet was outstanding. Everything was cooked properly. Also the Asparagus were great!
I also want to say our waiter was very attentive, always checked on us, had a great personality & I would like to have him again as our waiter. This was our 1st time here but we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

Waited 17 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us being at our table. And once we were finished dining our plates sat in front of us for another 15 minutes before anyone removed them. Seemed like one waiter was serving every table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

had a bad ribeye, but they took it off the bill
have had a lot of ribeyes here and they are always
good. just had a big one no big deal. when they ask tell the truth

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

I thoroughly enjoyed Eddie Merlot's. I had a business dinner here with a client. The atmosphere was perfect for a meeting. The staff was very professional and went above and beyond to make our time enjoyable. Thank you - I'll be back. (St. Louis)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great server, Michael. Food was fantastic and reasonable for what was served. Sunday the wine bottle certain ones were half off. Everything was delicious and the key lime pie was excellent and tasty. One of the best Keylime pie I've ever had . Dinner was excellent.. Ask for Michael, outstanding server !! Will be back !!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family truly enjoyed the Easter brunch. Our meal was delicious! We appreciate that the restaurant carefully manages reservations so that the restaurant is not over-crowded, resulting in a comfortable and pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Eddie merlots easter brunch was phenomenal. I would recommend it to anyone as well as their regular dining menu. There are so many choices and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Food and great atmosphere. The Brunch was superb

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best Steakhouse in Pittsburgh! Service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We eat here fairly often, usually before going to theater. When we tell the server we have to leave by a specific time the server always gets us served and out in timely manner. Food is always good.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The tomahawk rib eye was amazing (we shared it). Michael was our server and he was attentive without being pushing, gave great recommendations for food and wine. For couples, the semicircle booths are the best to share food and take in the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service and ambiance were very vice, but this was a very poor food experience. All of our dishes were overly salty and the gnocchi were virtually inedible. Having grown up eating gnocchi, I have a pretty good idea what to expect, but both the texture and taste were unrecognizable. The salmon and steak were well prepared, but they, also, had way too much salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Cindy was fabulous, very helpful and knowledgeable of the food and wine. Food was absolutely perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my mother here for her birthday and we were thoroughly impressed. We are all from out of town and had a tremendous experience. The steak and seafood were second to none. We will find a way to make this happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went there for my husband's birthday. We were seated right next to the kitchen which made it noisey and took away from the special night. Also, our our server seemed to disappear from time to tume so overall service was slow. Food was outstanding, we want to go back but hopefully have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, great service. We had a fantastic meal to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Large menu full of interesting choices. Oysters were pricey but huge and worth the price. Spinach salad, pork chops and sea bass preparations were fabulous. I appreciate the mini carafes when serving wine by the glass which allows a nice volume pour, without having the glass full. Very knowledgeable wait staff. Lovely table by the window. Only down side - rather loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Eddie Merlots stood out to me as a suitable alternative to the more high profile Mortons or Ruth Chris'. Yes, the menus are all very similar and the steaks always great, but I really liked the slightly different and more 'airy' ambience of the room.
Service was friendly but occasionally forgetful and being two foreigners, I couldn't help but observe that the locals seemed to receive more attention than me and my Hong Kong colleague.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Above average food. Great for business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Meal was excellent, service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was great and the service was excellent. I was very happy that our server honestly discouraged my wife from ordering the entrée I selected because of the level of spiciness, when we told her of my wife's low tolerance for spicy food. Although we were still quite full, my wife would have been uncomfortable (at the least, probably ill) at the show we saw that evening, if she had even tasted my meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Upscale. Excellent service. Bison was worthy a try!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were sat right at 630pm as scheduled. Services was top notch. Food was very good and there were lots of choices. Excellent meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The waiter, servers, and food was excellent and could not ask for better.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We went for our anniversary dinner. Excellent food, great service. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a memorable dining experience. We were treated royally by Michael & Company the moment we were seated. Four of us shared appetizer of calamari & shrimp cocktail. Then we moved to salads while sipping the best Manhattan cocktails in Pittsburgh. We shared bites of everyone's entrees all suggested by Michael. I had the lamb which was magnificently prepared. Desserts were delicious and plenty big to share. This was a first time visit for my 2 friends & they praised the restaurant the entire way home!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My disappointment was being seated in the bar area. I made a reservation far in advance and would have preferred being in the dining room. The TV's at the bar are distracting. We went to that restaurant for conversation not to watch sports. Good and service were terrific. Lesson learned to request dining room. It never crossed my mind.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and service. The server (Tera)was very patience and attentive. Dessert was to die for. Berry flambay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It's was a great meal, with great service and with great company! We will be back very soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Joe, the GM, is the best, makes you feel like one of the EM family. Samantha, our server, could not have been more friendly, cheerful and accommodating. EM is a great overall downtown Pittsburgh dining destination.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Came here for the first time for my birthday with 3 other couples and was blown away! Everyone's dish was amazing, the service was excellent and the ambiance was magical. Highly recommended and will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Superb service. Elegant, upscale atmosphere. Fantastic food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The steak is outstanding. All portions should be shared as they are generous!!
The Wyagu steak - go for it - the price is worth it and the peanut butter cheesecake for dessert - divine - and worth the calories.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food and service never disappoints. It is high quality food, steaks are top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome as always. Loved the new twist on oscar to top off the great meat.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was extremely disappointed with Eddie Merlot's this past weekend. I went to the restaurant several times before for business and had the best dinning experience in western PA. I decided to take my wife, son and his godfather for a delightful dinner experience . What a shock! We arrived at 5:15 ordered a very nice bottle of wine and a seafood appetizer. 40 minutes later we got the appetizer and the crab was frozen solid and they forgot the dry ice for the shrimp cocktail. I told the waitress and to correct the problem they brought out more frozen crabs! What a disappointment! Thirty minutes later they took our order. Another hour goes by and no salad or main course. The manager bought the table another bottle of wine. Looking around at other costumers they had their meals and dessert finished. Seeing this, everyone at our table wanted to leave. I assured them the the steaks will be worth the wait. Finally the main course arrived. We ordered medium and it was rare. This time I wan't to leave. I asked for the check and I was told I got triple reward points! Big deal! To concluded, if you like four hours to dine and frozen crab and enjoy under cooked meat, then Eddie Merlot's is the place to go! Will I be back? Don't think so. Nor would I recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good service and consistently high quality food. Relaxing atmosphere combined with outstanding artwork.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I am a repeat customer who has experienced Eddie Merlots many times. We enjoyed this evening sitting in the most outer room facing the gardens. It was a quiet and extremely pleasant dining experience. Steaks are always great, but the notable food item for the evening was the lobster mac and cheese. Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were seated near the bar, which was a bit too noisy for a relaxing evening - at the prices, less noise would be appreciated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.