Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Parking Details:
Please park in the 3 Gateway Building Parking Garage and we will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Romantic (50)
Business Meals (47)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Cozy (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Casual (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Scenic View (9)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The concept is great; a more laid back, quieter, more inviting kind of "high end" steakhouse. Not so "masculine," not so noisy, not so "intimidating." But, while the food and service was OK, it could have, and at those prices, it should have, been better.
We were there relatively early, before it "busied up" and still had to wait too long to be acknowledged at our table and to give our server our selections AND to get them. I understand "leisurely pace" (we just returned from 2 weeks in France) but this was unacceptable. Nothing frosts me more than feeling I'm invisible or being ignored.
As for food, the smoking shrimp cocktail was fun and the shrimp are definitely not small, the Ahi tuna beautiful, perfectly prepared and presented, but the prime ribeye left a little more than a little to be desired, as did the creamed spinach.
The steak was a beautiful piece of meat, but should have been hotter, sizzling in fact when brought to the table, even at medium rare. That can be done with super hot ovens, but I suspect the platter sat too long under a warmer and lost its sizzle. The peppercorn sauce, also, had a "crust" on it, like a pudding and also was just warm. Makes me think it sat for awhile, tasty, but not appetizing, if you know what I mean. The creamed spinach was very tasty, much better than other steakhouse's versions, in part because it was so "cheesy." But, the cheese seemed barely melted, and lay on the spinach rather "gloppily." My suggestion is to put it under the broiler for a few seconds and you'll have something spectacular.
So, "OK," but OK isn't good enough at those prices. Get your timing right. We'll be black to see if you do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was great! Presentation of food was beautiful. A little expensive for everyday dining, but great for special occasions or once in a while stops.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Best upscale dining experience I ever had. Went here for my boyfriend birthday. The server gave us our space to enjoy our night and each other. The restaurant was very pretty and elegant. Food was terrific we left full and satisfied. If you are a wine drinker the eddie merlots moscato was perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This place had excellent steak, some of the best I've ever had. The waitress, Savannah, was delightful and helped us pick wines perfect for our tastes. The sides were delightful and steak perfectly done for our taste. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

David our server was excellent. Overall th staff went above and beyond from refilling glasses of water to taking our plates away. I also loved the Pittsburgh restaurant week menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Everything was very good. We went to celebrate our anniversary and they gave us a complimentary campaign toast and a crembrule desert after dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Made reservations for my brother and I to have a night out. Overall impressions were great, nice environment and friendly staff upon entering. To make a quick and simple review it was solely brought down by service and a little bit by food, but only a little by the food. Sat at 7:30, didn't receive first drink until almost 8:00 and didn't get dinner order in until then as well, which wasn't as bad as not receiving beverages for almost half an hour. Moving on dinner service began, soup was fantastic - we had both the lobster bisque and french onion, great, really great! Wrapping up on that we were waiting for our steaks and sides to arrive, which is when I put in another drink order. Shortly after our entrees arrived, steaks were fantastic, no complaints at all. We ordered both the brussels and truffle parm fries and fries were perfect. This is where the service began to wear thin again. My drink didn't arrive until my last couple bites of steak were on the plate and I was never even given the chance to have brussel sprouts corrected, or replaced since they were basically raw (only bad part of the food itself). At that time I just sent them back as we were wrapping up our meal. Again, not the worst meal by far, but when your spending that kind of money you expect service that matches those expectations. At a minimum you expect to have your meal checked on shortly after receiving your entrees, not at the end of the meal. I've dined in the Columbus location and can say the food was equally as good and in that instance service was A+. All in all a good restaurant just doesn't make you want to go back and try again with such similar restaurants available to dine at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great time. The server was good and made recommendations for each course. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were seated in a room with several large groups so the noise level was high. It was in the back facing the garden and, although the garden is lovely, the decor isn't nearly as lovely as the main dining room.
The spicy shrimp was mushy and a real disappointment, it's usually delicious. Our server was good but the people putting the food on the table still have much to learn.
It was definitely not our best experience here but I think we will try it again.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

From the greeter to the check, it was a wonderful evening. Our waiter, the food the ambiance, everything was exceptional. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

If price is not a option this is your spot. Our meal was excellent and the service was top notch. We will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Eddie Merlot's remains my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. Cindy is the best waitress and host. We will back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

everything we had was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent bison steak and bread. The peanut butter/ chocolate dessert is amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

My boyfriend took me here for an early birthday dinner , and it was amazing! The waiter was great, the atmosphere was great, and the food was amazing! I really enjoyed myself and I love the fact it appeals to young adults and older adults. It's definitely not a place you'll take your kids too for a family dinner. It's very romantic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

no doubt they know how to cook a Steak Pittsburgh Rare!! best hard sear/char on a Steak that was still Raw in the middle ever! that's the correct way to do Pittsburgh Rare. just a outstanding Dry aged Prime Bone in Ribeye. off the charts Marbling!! my only issue I had was with the Cocktail Sauce with the shrimp , very very Wimpy and the extra Horseradish was also very Wimpy, it had no kick at all! I ate a spoon of the ground extra Horseradish and it was mild!! I want to cry when I have Shrimp Cocktail!! but that being said the meal was outstanding and would highly recommend to anybody in Pittsburgh. sides also outstanding!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Expensive ($200+ for party of 4, with or without drinks) but nice place for special occasion if you can afford it. We've dined here several times & this was the best one yet. Gordon, our waiter, was attentive but not intrusive. Food was very good. Salads plentiful enough to share, if you are into that. Large complementary dessert for birthday celebration, enough for party of 4. Will come back for special occasions, but too pricey otherwise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food was some of the best I've had at a steakhouse. We had the medallion trio and the ribeye, both were outstanding and the sauces with the trio made for a great sampling of flavors. The bacon wrapped shrimp was phenomenal. Service was great, Cyndi was our waitress and knew the menu very well while continually making sure our drinks were full and she checked in on us when appropriate.

Highly recommend for business dinners, dates or any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Waitress was very good & make a great table side peach flambé.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The managerial personnel and staff, both front of house and back alike, made for a very enjoyable experience in restaurant.

Thank you all...looking forward to returning anon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Christopher was our waiter and he made the evening. The food was excellent! Christopher gave recommendations and he was spot on. His approach and cantor was welcomed and made for an enjoyable experience! Will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Second time going and once again had an amazing time. Both times were for my birthday and it just seemed to keep getting better and better. The food is amazing, service is awesome and nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My office is across the street so Eddie Merlot is always a good choice for a business meal with a colleague or my staff. The food is dependable, the service impeccable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Soup and service were good. Had to send my wife's steak back as it was barely cooked. I was done with my "ok" steak by the time she got hers back. I would have thought they would have at least topped off the wine for us, but just got a sorry from the manager. At that price you would expect everything to be done perfectly. Too many other better and cheaper steakhouses out there to ever go back to this one. On another note that isn't a big deal, but again details matter at these prices, I hated the tables and kept hitting my foot on the bottom of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was delicious-great atmosphere and exceptional service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great stakes and a very nice atmosphere with some table side cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

One of my go to spots for business lunches downtown. Food is excellent as is the service. Great place to take clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Service was good and staff was friendly and attentive. Bison filet was cooked to perfection- waiter suggested it be ordered as rare plus and he was spot on. It was tender, juicy and seasoned well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was great, had lobster bisque and ocean salad. Service was horrendous for such a high end restaurant for lunch. Very inattentive and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food, fast friendly service, easy to get to, just a great place for a special dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Eddie Merlots is a first class restaurant in every area. This was our first visit to any Merlots and when traveling we will look for other locations. Thank you for a very enjoyable experience in dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Have been here often, never disappointed. Special marks 10 Stars to our waiter, "Mike & Ike",
(there already was a Mike, so he had to be creative). Told him upfront not to hold things up,
I was tired and had a long day. And front salad to dessert, (BANANA FOSTER!!! made right at table !!!!) to getting the check,, he was BRILLIANT!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food is always wonderful. We celebrate most of our special occasions at Eddie Merlot's. The service on this trip was not quite what we are used to at Eddie Merlot's, but it was a wonderful meal anyway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

First time there! Awesome birthday celebration!! Wonderful food and great service!!! We will definitely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Sunday $44 special 12 oz. prime rib was excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first visit and we absolutely loved everything about Eddie Merlot's. The food was delicious, our waitress was beyond kind and very prompt, the overall ambiance of the restaurant was top notch! We loved it!!! Would definitely recommend to anyone for a very upscale dining experience. :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We're always looking for new dinner options close to Heinz Hall. Turns out Eddie Merlot's is just around the corner from the cultural district! Relatives invited us here before the symphony because they know we love a good steak and fine wine. The extensive wine list did not disappoint. Excellent food in a classy, pleasant atmosphere - including great lighting (expansive windows) and relaxing music. Attentive and knowledgeable wait staff. I wish we'd discovered this "hidden gem" sooner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were given a gift card from son & wife for Christmas, knowing we go to shows downtown. Our 35th anniversary was in July & we were going to the POPS concert featuring music of John Williams. It was a good weather & a pleasant evening that we could walk to & from the restaurant before the concert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.