Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Parking Details:
Please park in the 3 Gateway Building Parking Garage and we will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Business Meals (72)
Good for a Date (70)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Romantic (55)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Notable Wine List (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Modern Decor (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Scenic View (12)
Cozy (11)
Fun (11)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1075 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Beautiful restaurant, fun spot to watch people in the city. Our service was excellent, the menu is diverse and the food was fresh and well made.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Our wait staff was amazing. On top of filling our drinks and clearing the table of finished plates. Super nice and friendly. Everyone seemed to work well together

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fine. Not the best high end steakhouse food but definitely not the worst. It just wasn't memorable. The time for appetizers, food and desserts to be served was exceedingly long. The presentation of desserts was a truly a show but the dessert itself was bland. The specialty drink menu lackluster as well. Svedka is not a vodka to brag about using. Nor is Cruzan rum.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Upon arrival we were seated at a nice table in the corner as requested. The maitre d was very informative of the special
pre fixe they were offering that evening. From there it went down hill. The waitress never came around to get a drink order. She arrived at the table about 8-10 minutes after we sat down. It was later in the evening and not very busy at this point.
Drink orders and dinner orders were taken at the same time. Everything from this point on took forever to come out. It was at least 20 minutes between our salad and entree course. At the end we had to ask for our check twice and I still had to go and find her. The food was ok. Nothing was hot like it should have been. At this price point there is no excuse for cold food and bad service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Fathers Day dinner with the kids

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing service and delicious food!
Food was well
Prepared and delivered to our table promptly!
Server was attentive and well versed on the menu!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

.
Favorite restaurant in the Burgh. Love to go here before a Pirates game (though that wasn't why we were here tonight.) Food and service consistently excellent. If you are lucky enough to get Pat as your server (or Tiffany as your bartender) the service will be better than excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

I think if the food was hot I would of given a better review. My husband and I both sent back our food due to it being cold....and then when it came back out it was still cold. Prime rib at a high end restaurant I would expect perfection in taste and in quality and neither was true on Father's day. However, I will say without asking they deducted $20.00 off the bill. Still over $100 for 2 is a lot of money and I just wish it would of been better experience.
The only way I would go back is if someone gave us a gift card other than that I will stick with my favorite Hyde Park.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, delicious food presented in a beautiful setting. Outstanding professional service significantly contributes to an extremely enjoyable, relaxing experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Just a disappointing dining experience for our 45 th anniversary.
Food was average went their for the lobster. They only had 6 oz available but when served liked more like a 4 oz potion, we paid a higher amount vs the menu price for 8 oz. Waiter could not figure out what the big deal was. Just not friendly seemed like we where taking up his valuable time. Did comp a dessert we did not really want,would have liked to order what we liked and some low end after dinner drink. We dine out every week not a once or twice a year experience. We laughed as the management staff went to table to table asking how their food etc was and then pretended that we did not exist. Was going to call Ruth's to see they had a reservation available. Just not impressed food/service you should go with the other steakhouse's in the city. I know I will on our next outing for steak and lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great time. loved everything. 15-20th time to dine there. never leave disappointed

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit. The food was incredible. The staff were wonderful. Kate was our server. She was attentive and very nice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were in town for a couple of days. This was a recommendation to us. Can't say enough to good things about it. The food was wonderful, the service exceptional, there was no rush, they paid attention to us and also gave us privacy. Hated to leave.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Had a great time with my wife!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went here for our 39th anniversary with great expectations but it wasn't all we had hoped.
Service was slow from the start and when we finally got water my wife ask for a dish of lemons as always and she says the response is a good predictor of service to come. So when we had to ask twice we were immediatly concerned. We each had a cocktail and finished them before the server returned to take our order. When our warm bread was delivered without butter, the server said he would be right back with it but we had to remind him later and the bread was not so warm anymore. On to dinner, we ordered a shrimp cocktail, trio of medallions and lobster tail all to share. The shrimp was not that fresh and the cocktail sauce was like tomato sauce with no bite. The server then informed us that the 8-10 oz. tail was not available and would be substituted with 2 5-6 oz tails. The server returned later to say they were not offering the 2 smaller tails for same price but for $50. We decided to take the scallops with raspberry sauce. After finally getting our meal, the first two scallops were amazing but the others were not all fully cooked. The medallions were very enjoyable especially the one with Oscar topping.
The server brought a nice piece of chocolate cake for our anniversary. If I were ever to go back, and don't plan to, I would only go for the steak and hope the service was better. As far as the service went, we couldn't blame the server as much as the restaurant because at a high end place such as this there should be enough servers to not have so many tables they couldn't provide the kind of service one would expect for a $185 meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Server, Eddie, was very responsive, but too many kitchen errors is concerning. Dining for four at 6 pm on a Saturday, there should be no entrée shortages, but Eddie came back & apologized that the porterhouse special was not available because of a chef error in cutting the steak. Then, when the replacement entrees were delivered, the cauliflower side dish was not. After having almost finishing eating the entrees, the cauliflower finally arrived, but was slightly undercooked. The more than $200 tab, with tip, did not include a charge for the side dish. No drinks were ordered. So Eddie Merlot's is on the expensive side, and the kitchen errors are not what is expected for the cost, but the entrees were delicious, the location is very convenient & we will consider it for very special occasions in the future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Eddie Merlot's is a good restaurant to go to if you are seeing a show in downtown. It's a short walk to Heinz Hall and the Benedum, plus it's easy to get a reservation on short notice. The food was very good but a bit pricy. Our appetizer, bacon and figs, was very good. I had the salmon which was also very good. My husband had the steak and salmon pre fixe dinner and thought the steak was tender but didn't have a lot of flavor. The decor is very appealing and our service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

service was a little slower this time --but food was great as usual

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Visiting Pittsburgh and wanted a glass of wine and a steak. Had the filet mignon and creamed spinach. Food was delicious and service attentive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our server was THE BEST! So sweet and attentive! We are consistently happy with our experience at Eddie Merlots

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. We had a variety from the bison, to tomahawk to the surf and turf. Food literally melted in your mouth! The service (John) was superb. He was super polite and exceptional. We do not live near the location but may have found our anniversary dinner spot! Thank you so much!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great meal for a birthday celebration with family. Wonderful wine selection. The food was all good. Wasn't the best steak I ever had, but it was outstanding quality. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was awesome The Service,The Waitress And the host.... My birtyhday brulee was good as well

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Love Eddie Merlot's. The food is amazing. The service is always great. This is our go-to place for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 24, 2017

we went there for dinner before going to the Heinz Hall for a show. We were running late because of traffic and only had an hour. Our waiter was great and we never felt rushed but yet we were out in more than enough time to get to the theatre. We had the garlic shrimp appetizer which was delicious. our waiter brought out the most delightful bread that was warm and had a nice crust on the outside with soft bread on the inside :) my sister and I shared the beet salad which the kitchen split and the presentation was lovely. We also shared the Ahi tuna and same thing they split it in the kitchen and presentation was beautiful and both the salad and tuna were amazing!!! my mom who does not eat very much had the lobster bisque and was very happy with her meal!!! Thank you for the wonderful dining experience!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We love the artwork and the stained glass. The waiters and waitresses are excellent and the food is great and the selection wide. We had the special and the desserts were a bit weak but overall it is a great dining experience. We haven't had a waiter crumb the table in quite a while so that was excellent. Great place to celebrate with that special one or great place for a group as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Fabulous decor as well as food. A bit pricey but the extensive menu has many options. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was delicious, service was great! We were there to celebrate a special occasion. Our server asked if there was a special occasion that evening, we told her yes. They went above and beyond to recognize the event. Every course they stopped at our table to make sure we were pleased with our food. Nice atmosphere, nicely decorated. Definitely on the repeat list!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I asked for medium well and was given medium rare... it was too bloody. I did recommend my sister & her husband.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great meal, wonderful service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Eddie Merlot's is one of Pittsburgh's best steakhouses. We love the glitzy decor & the food is consistently good. We always ask for Pat to be our server. He will take excellent care of you. Michael the bartender will do the same for you if you sit at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was delicious and our server Armindo was outstanding! Thank you for making my boyfriend's birthday dinner absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food , drinks & service was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was out first time trying this place.
Food was delicious and creative at the same time, specially, appetizers. ...
Fresh , high quality ingredients...
And well constructed and just the right portion size.
All of the staffs have shown courtesy and the service was just superb.

We moved from NYC to Pittsburgh 13 yrs ago and couldn't really find good restaurant as i ur go to place. I think we finally found one.
Though they reimbursed the parking fee after the meal, it was not specified on their web page. But they do. So use the parking garage and have it redeemed before you leave the restaurant.

I would definitely be back many more time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disgraceful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch buffet was just okay. We've been for dinner before and it was great! I only wish brunch was better!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Eddie merlots is second to none. 1 of our top 3 restaurants in the city. Best steak in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Our server Cameron was great. We never felt rushed, but every detail was acted upon. The food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Relaxed and tasteful environment. Staff and food were excellent. Great menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Quite good, but overpriced. Service was prompt. Waiter was polite.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.