About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Report a photo problem

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Romantic (53)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Business Meals (49)
Modern Decor (44)
Notable Wine List (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Bar Seating (16)
Scenic View (16)
Fun (15)
Private Room (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Family Style (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bar tenders could pay more attention to ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Bar tenders could pay more attention to the customers and less on themselves

They are not very friendly think they have been there too long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Loved it, only place I go to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent! Loved it, only place I go to when in Pittsburgh

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my husband's birthday d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We went here for my husband's birthday dinner. He appreciates a good steak and wine. We've dinedone at several of the finest steakhouses in the country. He said the steak he enjoyed here would be memorable. I was most impressed with the menu and the wine list. I'm picky and this menu had several of my favorites- just as I like them, no substitutions needed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the lobster bisque. Hus ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely loved the lobster bisque. Husband's salmon was very good and my short rib stroganoff was delicious. Husband devoured the bourbon butter cake but it was a bit too strong for me (and at the same time very good - if you can imagine that). Our waiter, David, was friendly and attended to us very well. All staff were professional and courteous. The only downfall is that the portions are small, but if you eat their cute little round bread loaves, you're good to go!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Eddie Merlot's continues to deliver a fa ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Eddie Merlot's continues to deliver a fantastic dining experience. This was restaurant week and we ordered the filet mignon from the specialty menu (I did have to specifically ask for the restaurant week menu as it wasn't provided when we sat down.) The special included either house salad or lobster bisque and choice of creme brûlée or a pound cake. We ordered the house salad and each ordered s different dessert to try. They informed us they were out of creme brûlée but substituted chocolate cake for us. I also added a side of brussel sprouts which wasn't part of the restaurant week special. We had an inordinately long wait for our entrees to arrive but when they did, the steaks were done to perfection, and the brussel sprouts were amazing. Overall I would give Eddie Merlot's five stars and highly recommend this restaurant as it never fails to live up to its excellent reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of the best restaurants in Pittsburg ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh. Great ambiance and food.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, the wine list w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was delicious, the wine list was amazing, our server helped us pick the perfect bottle of wine, and the service was top notch. This was our first visit. We will be back and I've already recommended it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant week specials. 7 ounce filet ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Restaurant week specials. 7 ounce filet, salad and dessert was perfect size dinner. Service was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall, food and atmosphere were very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Overall, food and atmosphere were very good. However, when reservations were made, and once at the restaurant, we informed them this was for a college graduation. You would have thought that at least a dessert would have been comped. Needless to say, no acknowledgement was given, and no discount towards the desserts purchased.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a fine place for a friends lunc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was a fine place for a friends lunch. The a,Bianca is great. The food is wonderful and ther is plenty of choice for a diverse group. The prices are higher than average so not for the faint at heart. I knew this going in so I expected it. I hear wonderful things about the happy hour and I plan to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent filet!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent filet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

enjoyed. We went because of Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

enjoyed. We went because of Restaurant Week. We really like the place. Great everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for restaurant week. Service w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Went here for restaurant week. Service was outstanding, ambiance was great. I understand that the meal was a special price, but found the the filet and mashed potatoes to be less than ordinary, and the bourbon butter cake a struggle to eat. I have dined here before for business dinners and the quality of those meals was outstanding. If this cannot be upheld for restaurant week, then perhaps they should not participate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Best salmon ever. We came for restauran ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Best salmon ever. We came for restaurant week. Outside of that it's pricy but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Eddie Merlot's is always ter ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food at Eddie Merlot's is always terrific. Their New York strip is one of the best NY Strips I have ever had. The other thing that stands out is the service. Everyone has a smile on their face and does whatever is necessary to make happy.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved everything about this place!! Mo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I loved everything about this place!! Most of all, the food was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not very good. Our bread, apps, ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was not very good. Our bread, apps, salad and entree were all delivered to the wrong table. It was like the Keystone Cops watching our food go to all over the restaurant. We did not eat much of our food and it came to over $200 for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great experience. The food was fabulous ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great experience. The food was fabulous and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was very good. We had our 2.5 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Restaurant was very good. We had our 2.5 year old with us and they were very accommodating. Very nice overall experience. This was our second time there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is close to my office in Gateway Ce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This is close to my office in Gateway Center and is a great place for a business lunch. Patrick, our server, is what you expect of a server at a higher end restaurant, professional, courteous and has great knowledge of the menu. The menu has enough variety there is something for everyone. Deserts are on the large size and very good. The very small negative is the restaurant has high ceilings, beautifully decorated but it can be a bit noisy at the height of the lunch hour. Perhaps I am a bit sensitive on the noise issue, regardless I look forward to my next visit and another first class meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We were there for New Year's Eve. Every ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Year's Eve. Everything was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great. Nice at ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service was great. Nice atmosphere, not crowded in. Portion size was good especially for the pork chop.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolute gorgeous restaurant. Open conce ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolute gorgeous restaurant. Open concept with great lighting and fantastic ambiance. The food is top notch but be prepared to pay as this is a high end steakhouse in the heart of downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

New Year's Eve

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal...Cameron was incredible ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful meal...Cameron was incredible as our waiter. Order only one side per person as they are quite large. Magnificent view and wine selection! We will definitely be back again when I return to see the Steelers!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The banana fosters dessert was amazing .

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The banana fosters dessert was amazing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place and great food and service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice place and great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is excellent. This is a good restau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is excellent. This is a good restaurant for a special occasion. Staff is very friendly and making you feel comfortable while answering all of your questions with a simile. If you are on a special diet they will accommodate you with no problem.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Eddie Merlots. We arrived ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time at Eddie Merlots. We arrived early but they had our table ready and seated us immediately. I noted in the reservation that it was my birthday and the first thing the server did was tell me "Happy Birthday". He continued to make reference to my special day, and even brought me a dessert with a candle. Very attentive and friendly staff, nice decor, comfy surroundings. The food was phenomenal! I had the filet - perfect medium rare, my partner had the strip steak - very tender and juicy. We only ordered one side the- Cauliflower Gratin - it was so delicious...it could have been a meal in itself. I had two drinks - white wine sangria and a chocolate martini - both were fine, but nothing to write home about. Highly recommend for business dinner, date night, special occasion, or just when you want a great night out for good food. NOTE This is a high-end restaurant, the quality and service ARE reflected in the price Depending on if/how much you drink, if you get appies and dessert, you can easily expect to pay $200 for two people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for our 1 year anniversary, a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went there for our 1 year anniversary, and enjoyed quite the spread of delicious food. At first our waiter seemed pushy with getting us to order drinks, as we had to continually tell him that we would prefer to order our drinks after we decided upon our meals. He didn't get the first two hints and it took me speaking up on the third in order for him to move along and allow us a few quiet moments to look over the menu. The meal and food were fantastic and they do treat you well. I was disappointed that, even after making it a point on my reservation that it was our special 1 year Anniversary, that there wasn't even a congratulatory comment or something special done for us. Spending several hundred dollars on a meal, I would have expected more. The Capitol Grille for instance, at the same price point, has gone out of their way for previous experiences and done anniversary deserts, small special appetizers, or even a congratulations. They make it feel more special, while Eddie Merlot's although a wonderful meal experience, did not focus on the reason for the occasion. That was the only disappointment for the several hundred dollars that was spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely wonderful, would recommend to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, would recommend to anyone looking for a great place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was simply outstanding. I think ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was simply outstanding. I think his name was Armando. We were the last table there on 12/28. Please commend him for his outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good food atmisgiere

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

good food atmisgiere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent food and service. The staff wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. The staff was very polite and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out waiter was Armindo. He was very know ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Out waiter was Armindo. He was very knowledgeable and attentive. This made the dining experience even nicer for my Mom's 80th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Forth time to this restaurant and I have ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Forth time to this restaurant and I have to admit that each time I think it has gone down hill.

On drive home all 6 agreed that it was just so so, the service was excellent but overall was just average. We go once or twice a year with friends or family. Not sure we will return in 2017. For the money you spend, I will take my business back to Capital Grill or Meat and Potatoes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Upon arrival we were informed of a fan i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Upon arrival we were informed of a fan issue in the kitchen. We were asked to wait in the bar until it was fixed and we were given complimentary drinks which was very nice. Fan was fixed and we were seated for dinner. Our usual waiter was either full up or not working. The table we were given was a smaller table for two. Would have preferred a comfortable booth. The service was slower than normal. Had to ask the waitress twice to bring us bread. Our steaks too much longer than usual also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Wonderful meal and service, but definite ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful meal and service, but definitely pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fabulous!!!! Always love coming ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always fabulous!!!! Always love coming here. I am never disappointed. Food is great service is great. Drinks well priced.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.