Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Parking Details:
Please park in the 3 Gateway Building Parking Garage and we will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Good for a Date (92)
Business Meals (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Romantic (73)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Notable Wine List (51)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Modern Decor (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Bar Seating (34)
Good for Groups (30)
Worth the Drive (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Hot Spot (21)
Scenic View (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Cozy (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Private Room (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fun (12)
People Watching (11)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Authentic (5)
Fireplace (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious, service was great! We were there to celebrate a special occasion. Our server asked if there was a special occasion that evening, we told her yes. They went above and beyond to recognize the event. Every course they stopped at our table to make sure we were pleased with our food. Nice atmosphere, nicely decorated. Definitely on the repeat list!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

I asked for medium well and was given medium rare... it was too bloody. I did recommend my sister & her husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal, wonderful service

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Eddie Merlot's is one of Pittsburgh's best steakhouses. We love the glitzy decor & the food is consistently good. We always ask for Pat to be our server. He will take excellent care of you. Michael the bartender will do the same for you if you sit at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and our server Armindo was outstanding! Thank you for making my boyfriend's birthday dinner absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was out first time trying this place.
Food was delicious and creative at the same time, specially, appetizers. ...
Fresh , high quality ingredients...
And well constructed and just the right portion size.
All of the staffs have shown courtesy and the service was just superb.

We moved from NYC to Pittsburgh 13 yrs ago and couldn't really find good restaurant as i ur go to place. I think we finally found one.
Though they reimbursed the parking fee after the meal, it was not specified on their web page. But they do. So use the parking garage and have it redeemed before you leave the restaurant.

I would definitely be back many more time.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disgraceful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch buffet was just okay. We've been for dinner before and it was great! I only wish brunch was better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Eddie merlots is second to none. 1 of our top 3 restaurants in the city. Best steak in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Our server Cameron was great. We never felt rushed, but every detail was acted upon. The food was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Relaxed and tasteful environment. Staff and food were excellent. Great menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Quite good, but overpriced. Service was prompt. Waiter was polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I think their food is overpriced and the service is okay. The interior of the restaurant was well decorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great meatloaf with wonderful service bread was awesome as well

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Meal was good. The gentleman (not our waitress) who delivered the meal initially switched them. And, although I had requested no bacon on my salad, gave me one with bacon anyway. I did not return it to the kitchen even though he offered to take it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My fiancée and I decided to give this restaurant a try after hearing good things from a trusted friend. I can fully say for the price, I will not be dining here again. It took forever to get our drinks (Manhattan and a glass of wine), and even longer to get our soups. We waited for at least 50 minutes before our meals came out. I watched three tables (all larger parties) get their meals before we did. When my steak finally came out, it was burnt to a crisp. Mind you I ordered it rare. Not sure how you get well done out of rare. The entire night was a disaster. After paying almost $200 for dinner, I would rather lick the bottom of my hunting boots than eat at this travesty of a restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was excellent. Michael, our server, went above and beyond to be sure that we had what we needed. The restaurant is beautiful and is a great setting for a special dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great location with parking. Food was good although pricey, service was perfect. Great place for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Luxury dining and beyond devine food. A Pittsburgh must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food and wine - our steaks were cooked to perfection and the creamed spinach was great. Good selection of whiskeys at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very speedy lunch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was just so good. It was a relaxing meal with great service. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

we're semi-regulars. That kind of says it all.


that's all folks

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went there for my son's graduation celebration. The food was amazing and our server did a good job. My complaint is that we were seated very close to the kitchen and there was a lot of traffic by our table. My chair got bumped by serving staff at least 5 or 6 times during the evening. When our food came out, one of the staff brought it to the table and instead of placing it on the table at our place, asked us to take it from her. Our side of potatoes came out at least 5 minutes after the other food. For the price, great service is expected. Also, the noise level was not conducive to conversation. I prefer the ambiance of Ruth's Chris. I don't know if there is one in Pittsburgh, but we have eaten at one in the Philadelphia area several times and it was enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was my birthday and my wife wanted to take me to a nice dinner. My buddy and his wife met us at the lounge and we decided to eat there to watch the Penguins game. We ordered salads and appetizers as well as dinner. The salads and apps were very good. The steaks came out and the server couldn't figure out who ordered what. It happens, but the steaks were overcooked. So, now we're trying to figure out steaks and if my buddy ordered medium rare and they are all overlooked, should he get the medium?!? We had fun, the food was good, but, for the money, I'll be taking my business elsewhere like Cap Grille or Eddie Vs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent experience Michael Josh John and Dannie were a great team.
Wonderful food. Steak done perfectly and veggie side dishes generous portions

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Meh...delivered on some spots, fell short on others. Our server was pretty good overall. He was attentive with the drinks and paced the meal well. The main entrees were good. My strip steak was prepared as I ordered, and my wife's lobster tail was done well. The bread served before hand was nothing special compared to other steakhouses I've been to, but that's not a big deal. Worse thing of the evening was dessert, which you might say, left a bad taste in my mouth. We ordered the bourbon butter cake with a full serving of ice cream, indicating to waiter that we wanted to eat them together. Cake arrived, but no ice cream. We waited ten minutes for the ice cream to arrive, only to have it arrive melting. Should have sent it back, but didn't want to wait any longer. Then felt even angrier when the bill arrived and I saw we paid $7 for one scoop of half melted ice cream! Waiter really shouldn't have even served it. We go to steakhouses all around the country, and the Eddie Merlot chain isn't the best bang for your buck anymore; second time in a row we've been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Eddie Merlots was everything I expected. My date was there for the first time and he loved the experience. Our waiter Cameron was wonderful. Definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is by far one of the best places downtown. I've been for lunch and dinner and everything is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food was over priced for the quality we received. NY strip was good but not great like a Ruth Chris or Delfrisco. Service was very good.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Eddie Merlots always delivers !! Wonderful
Atmosphere and Service are always a pleasure . It's number one in our book for any occasion .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Different decor than the typical dark wood steakhouse atmosphere.
Modern and colorful. Great food quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

When we arrived, on time, I dropped my wife off so she could go in & I went to park my vehicle. When I walked in nobody asked me if they could help me or even if I was looking for someone. I then walked into the restaurant & found my wife. She told me when she walked in & gave her name, the gentleman at the host stand said OK, then left her & went & got 2 other couples from the bar & sat them. He returned to the host stand & didn't say a word to my wife. She finally asked if she was going to be seated? He looked at her & said, Oh Yes. Then took her in.
I didn't get what I ordered which was the 10oz Filet with just Caramelized Onions, no Mushrooms, Bearnaise & Peppercorn. My wife ordered the Bison Filet with Mushrooms & Caramelized Onions. When our waiter delivered the food, she had no Mushrooms, just Onions & mine was all Mushrooms, no Onions & was the Bone In Filet. When my wife mentioned about the Mushroom & Onions being wrong on both orders the waiter took both meals back before I could tell him it was the wrong Filet. When he returned I informed him that I ordered the 10oz Filet. He offered to take it back & cut it off the bone or to cook a new one. Since we had waited about 20 minutes for the main courses after our salads, I opted to just eat the Bone-In Filet & it didn't have the Peppercorn. The waiter offered to adjust the price & I told him that wasn't my concern. In the end he adjusted the prices & also gave us a complimentary Creme Brûlée.
On the positive side, all of the food from the bread to salads & the main dishes were excellent! The Bone-In Filet was actually very tender. My wife's Bison Filet was outstanding. Everything was cooked properly. Also the Asparagus were great!
I also want to say our waiter was very attentive, always checked on us, had a great personality & I would like to have him again as our waiter. This was our 1st time here but we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good value and solid atmosphere. Warmly welcomed as we entered the restaurant. Although a few minutes early, we were seated right away. Good service and the entrees were well prepared and very tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I had the waylahra beef, it was pricey, but the best I've tasted. For a special occasion it was
nice.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Waited 17 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us being at our table. And once we were finished dining our plates sat in front of us for another 15 minutes before anyone removed them. Seemed like one waiter was serving every table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

By far the best culinary establishment I have had the pleasure of dining. My wife, son, daughter, and myself enjoyed the even flow of the evening. The constant attention by our server, Kate, made the experience delightful. The lobster, which I had, was a sweet culinary delight, and the bison steak my son had was done to perfection. My wife and daughter had steak with mushrooms, which both enjoyed very much. From the time we entered Eddie Merlot's until we left, the service could not have been any better. I want to thank all your staff for their efforts to make Saturday night a true adventure in hospitality and culinary night to remember... Again, thank you, and we hope to return soon....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 18, 2017

had a bad ribeye, but they took it off the bill
have had a lot of ribeyes here and they are always
good. just had a big one no big deal. when they ask tell the truth

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed Eddie Merlot's. I had a business dinner here with a client. The atmosphere was perfect for a meeting. The staff was very professional and went above and beyond to make our time enjoyable. Thank you - I'll be back. (St. Louis)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.