About Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh

444 Liberty Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A word from Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh: Eddie Merlot's Prime-aged Beef and Seafood starts with U.S.D.A. Prime Beef and the freshest seafood. Eddie Merlot's has created one of the hottest concepts today; the wine bar provides more than 75 wines by the glass and a very extensive reserve wine collection by the bottle. The bar is stocked with all of the finest spirits and after dinner cordials and Cognacs. Eddie Merlot's boasts a contemporary but stunningly elegant interior design and atmosphere—where guests can have fun, relax and enjoy listening to up-tempo music, while dressed in business or casual attire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 235-7676

Website:
http://www.eddiemerlots.com/

Executive Chef:
Terry Davidson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Eddie Merlot's - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
1 More
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (47)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Business Meals (37)
Modern Decor (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Scenic View (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Cozy (11)
Fun (11)
Private Room (11)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

cauliflower side amazing - and desserts ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

cauliflower side amazing - and desserts are yummy. Had crab legs and they were a bit too salty but ate them.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Terrific steaks and wonderful service. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 2 days ago

Terrific steaks and wonderful service. We had an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great and the food delic ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was great and the food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic night for dinner. Well done by ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic night for dinner. Well done by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't seem prepared for our visit. Try ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Didn't seem prepared for our visit. Try to seat 3 adults at a small table for two .... the other similar tables only had two people. Ask for a different table and got a annoyed look (even through they had open tables) but they did move us but acted through it was an bother for them. Also had a piece of cork in my wine glass ask for a replacement which seem to be another bother for them. It took over 5 minutes to replace. Overall food was great but for the price I was surprise about the attitude from the host to the server when the above requests where made, which weren't unreasonable. Hopefully they read this and address the issues........

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our first experience at Eddie Merlot's w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our first experience at Eddie Merlot's was so enjoyable. Our waitress was knowledgeable, professional and fun; the food was delicious; and we have a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Prices on p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Prices on par with other high end steakhouses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and excellent food. A ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food. Always a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great first visit and perfect seating fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great first visit and perfect seating for Pghs light up night!

Kevin was excellent!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love eating at the bar - bartenders are ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love eating at the bar - bartenders are funny, attentive and great. The king crab appetizer (get it hot with butter) and the bison (healthy choice) are both amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was impeccable. Both my serv ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was impeccable. Both my server and the Manager on site, Joe helped make the night enjoyable and even helped me when I needed taxi service. Thank you for all that you did.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great experience for me and my g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Another great experience for me and my guests

Alex

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Pat to be your server. He will b ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Ask for Pat to be your server. He will be sure to take good care of you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time we come to Pittsburgh Eddie M ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Every time we come to Pittsburgh Eddie Merlot's is the place we go. The food is exceptional and the overall experience rivals some of the best in NYC. The menu is pricey, but worth it for the quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always expect an excellent meal at Edd ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I always expect an excellent meal at Eddie Merlot's and it sure lived up to my expectations as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary there this ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary there this past Friday and could not have had a more enjoyable experience. Our server, Krista, was outstanding and very attentive, but not intrusive. The food was out of this world. I highly recommend the Sea Bass and the Sweet Potato casserole! Oh my! These are my favorite dishes. And lastly, we topped off the night with a piece of the Out of this World carrot cake! To die for! Thank you for such a lovely evening. Pam and Eric

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have grown to prefer Merlots to the o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have grown to prefer Merlots to the other steakhouse. We felt the meat was the difference. This time my wife and I both had strips and they overcooked medium versus med rare. More importantly the steak was not the quality we had become accustomed to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful service and food! Wonderful a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful service and food! Wonderful atmosphere in downtown Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff and the food are always amazin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The staff and the food are always amazing. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure that you have an exceptional evening. Prices are a little higher than necessary and it would be nice to have smaller side items instead of only shareable sizes. Drink price reduction with dinner purchase would be a good option as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing experience here. We we ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had an amazing experience here. We went for our wedding anniversary and our waitress Rehanna was amazing. She was kind and attentive and funny! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly amazing steaks, fabulous chopped s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Truly amazing steaks, fabulous chopped salad and Brussel sprouts to die for. The carrot cake...huge so be prepared to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delecious food, good service and nice lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delecious food, good service and nice location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. Some had steak ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Some had steaks, some fish, all perfectly prepared. Very helpful and attentive wait staff. Allowed us to add guest onto our reservation the day of. Really enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we enjoyed our evening at Eddie Merlot's ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

we enjoyed our evening at Eddie Merlot's. The service was outstanding - very attentive staff. While our appetizer, bread, and salad came to the table in a timely fashion, our main courses took a little bit of time. Nothing ridiculous but noticeably longer - so much so that our waiter thanked us for our patience.

The food was OK - my wife really enjoyed her bone in filet - my regular filet was OK - but I thought the lobster was a bit overcooked.

All in all we can recommend Eddie Merlot's to others - but there are other steak house options we prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Eddie Merlot's never fails and has becom ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Eddie Merlot's never fails and has become one of our favorite PIttsburgh steakhouses. The steaks are always perfectly prepared and the accompaniments are equally as tasty. The lobster mac and cheese is a personal favorite! Service was flawless...even on a busy Saturday night!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience - much better than ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent experience - much better than past trips to Ruth's Chris! We cannot wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Date night for my girlfriends birthday a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Date night for my girlfriends birthday and couldn't of asked for a better experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Had a great ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. Had a great time as we celebrated a birthday.

Food prices were reasonable, drinks a little pricey but worth it.

We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was just perfect! It was Halloween so ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It was just perfect! It was Halloween so not very crowed! The service seemed personal and friendly! Our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Modern Decor, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a birthday celebration ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were there for a birthday celebration on a Sunday evening. It wasn't crowded due to the day we were there so The service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Top notch Service ! Splendid Evening!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Top notch Service ! Splendid Evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the more expensive restau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is one of the more expensive restaurants in Pittsburgh, but I do have to say that they treat you like valued and important clients. Having only been there once before, the asked if we would like to sit at our same table, or gave us another option. They also mentioned what drinks we had ordered last time as well. Everything they did made you feel that you were very important to them. Tera was our server again this time and you won't find better and more personable service anywhere. She is very educated on all of the menu and really makes you feel at home without being overbearing. Everything that we have had there has been oustanding, until my ribeye this time was a little on the fatty side. They were very concerned about this and Tera and her manager went above and beyond in taking care of us. Even finishing it off with a Creme Brulee on the house. I always like to reserve my final judgement on service until you see how someone will respond to resolve an issue, and in this case, Eddie Merlots passed with flying colors. This is our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh and we will continue to go back, because I do believe that you get what you pay for and you get treated like royalty and eat like kings at Eddie Merlots.

Thanks TERA!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner was fabulous!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Anniversary Dinner was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The short rib stroganoff was delicious a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The short rib stroganoff was delicious as was the salad and the crème brulee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb ribeye was an excellent impulse ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The lamb ribeye was an excellent impulse buy! Eddie Merlot's is brighter and feels more modern than the "traditional" steakhouses. I had a great dinner with 3 coworkers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was not good! Arrived to restau ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was not good! Arrived to restaurant about 15 minutes prior to reservation and were told they were running 10 minutes behind. No big deal. An hour later, 45 minutes past reservation time, we were finally seated. Sat at table for 10-15 minutes and had to flag someone down to take drink order and provide water. Overall, the food was good, but they did undercook steak and then over cooked on second attempt.

Not worth the costs with this service. To their credit, they did comp an appetizer and dessert as well as provide a $75 gift card for follow-up visit. Undecided on return even with a $75 gift card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was fantastic. The only down si ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was fantastic. The only down side was getting seated about a half hour after our reservation but the bar was great entertainment in the mean time and once we sat everything was wonderful. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful service, extremely slow. Steaks co ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Awful service, extremely slow. Steaks cooked improperly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great experience all around! Food was e ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience all around! Food was excellent and service was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the food delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.