About ECHO St.Simons Island

101 Downing St.
Saint Simons, GA 31522
View Larger Map

The only beachfront restaurant on St. Simons Island, ECHO St. Simons is a new and dynamic restaurant featuring Southern, coastal fare and remarkable seaside views. Our seasonal menus combine fresh, local produce and seafood to create a truly unforgettable experience. Join us for live music, patio dining and an untouched view of what coastal Georgia has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Menu: 7am-11am

Lunch/Dinner Menu: until 10pm

Cross Street:
Arnold Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 268-5967

Website:
http://www.echostsimons.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site self parking available in main hotel lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for large parties is available. Please contact our private dining contact for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Robby Richardson: (912) 268-5967x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chef's Special
East Beach Frittata
Trout With Grits And Green Beans
Scallop Dinner
Surf & Turf Kabob
Salad Sampler
Pan Seared Local Cobia
Corvina Fish
Redsnapper Fish With Soft Shell Crab.
Softshell Crab Sandwich
Salmon salad
Soft Shell Crab
Tiramisu
Pan seared blue nose bass served over grits and sauteéd spinach topped with a banana rosemary buerre blanc
Cisco Brewery Grey Lady Ale
Pan Seared Swordfish
Surf'n'Turf

ECHO St.Simons Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Savannah
Most Booked
Jekyll Island / St. Simons Island
Best Restaurants in St. Simons Island ›

Scenic View (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Waterfront (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has a welcoming feel. We were there for dinner because we were staying at the hotel. Luckily, it was a nice night, and we were able to dine outside with a great view of the beach and ocean.

The service is exemplary, and the ambiance is perfect. I had the stuffed lobster, and my companion had a shrimp dish. My dinner was good, but my companion was not happy with his meal and could not finish it.

The portions were very small for the price charged. An individual with a larger appetite might consider ordering an appetizer or two before the entree' or checking with the staff about the size of the portion before ordering.

The best thing about this restaurant is the ambiance.

There is also an active bar inside that looks interesting, though we did not stop there on our way out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp and grits were cold and crab cake ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Shrimp and grits were cold and crab cakes were .under cooked but the cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The truffle fries and crab cakes were my ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The truffle fries and crab cakes were my favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten there twice in the last 2 wee ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I've eaten there twice in the last 2 weeks and both times I ordered the crab cakes. I've tried crab cakes all over the island here and the ones at Echo are the best, almost all crab and very crispy. Great sauce comes with them. Both times we ate outside by the ocean and it is just wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only real improvement they could mak ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The only real improvement they could make is in the wine list. A little mundane.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

View was spectacular and food outstandin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

View was spectacular and food outstanding. Was heading to the cloisters which we didn't know was a private restaurant so found ECHO on open table and so glad we did. Will go back in a heartbeat. Server was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant and accommodating. Worth going!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best breakfast, lunch and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely the best breakfast, lunch and dinner experience ever.

Best view of the ocean and excellent wait staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say. Ocean front dining with ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What can I say. Ocean front dining with a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Perfect place to bring that special someone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view.....great ambiance......n ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful view.....great ambiance......nice music......varied selections.....easy access.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the food is average and the service was below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This restaurant was extremely disappoint ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This restaurant was extremely disappointing. Saw mixed reviews but decided to try it anyways because of the oceanfront view and that it was at the King and Prince resort. We ordered a variety of small seafood plates. The peel and eat shrimp were raw. I sent them back twice and they still didn't take it off the check. Fish tacos were okay but I have had better in a shack near the beach. Crab cakes were over breaded and bland. Also ordered a vegetable salad that basically had no vegetables except for 2 pieces of broccoli. The service was fair. Overall I'd say this is way overpriced for what it is. Quality is not up to par. They also told open table we didn't show up so we had to dispute that. If you are thinking of going here, chose another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fabulous room and view with active bar, ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous room and view with active bar, good drinks. Food should be better. Everyone in party of 5 complained about excessive salt. Waiter inexperienced and slightly forgetful but OK, very pleasant young man. Overlooks ocean, great scenic view. Good outside area as well as inside. Very nice place. Need to upgrade quality of food service some.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was fabulous but the service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was fabulous but the service was terrible. There were only 3 tables and out waitress had only our table yet we had to walk up and get her 3 times. She acted like we were interrupting her conversation with other waitresses. Although the food was good we wouldnt go back because she ruined the experience. We were there Tuesday July 26th 2016

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Echo is amazing, you can eat fabulous fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Echo is amazing, you can eat fabulous food while listening to the ocean, it doesn't get any better then this!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What didn't go wrong that night. The ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What didn't go wrong that night. The service was horrible, we were charged for items we didn't purchase, didn't get items we ordered, the server failed to mention they were out of the chicken entree that we ordered until all the food arrived for the rest of the 12 people in our party. How can you run out of chicken? The waiter also proceeded to argue with one of us about ordered the cheese plate.

To top it all off we had 4 girls get food poisoning from eating something there. We tried to pinpoint it and think it was the mussels or the tuna. Unsure of exactly what was the culprit but it definitely came from that restaurant. Overall, it was disastrous. The owners happened to be in the restaurant as we were eating so i'm not sure if this had anything to do with our poor service as i'm sure the staff were focused on trying to please them.

Hotel was beautiful. Restaurant was very pretty. Aside from that everything else was subpar. Don't waste your time here. Absolutely horrible experience for a tab that was over $600.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The ambiance overlooking the beach was v ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance overlooking the beach was very nice.

Service was very good. Wife and I both had fish.

The salmon was cooked in a soy preparation. She thought it was ok. I had grilled wahoo which was dry and over cooked.

The wine pour was generous and reasonably priced.

The price for the evening was 75$ plus tip.

Other local Restaurants do a better job of fish preparation

but all in all it was a ok evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Absolutely one of the worst dining exper ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Absolutely one of the worst dining experiences we have had on St Simons. We've been coming to the island for years and love trying all the local restaurants. This was such an enormous disappointment! The ambiance in general was poor. We sat inside - the view was ok but that's where any good comments end. The menu online looked decent enough - the food did NOT meet our expectations (although the lobster ravioli my daughter had was ok). The paella was a joke. It has very little seafood and interestingly enough because traditional paella is never served with a pound of cheese melted in it, it was drowned in what reminded me of Velvetta - the description mentioned nothing about cheese. To round out our disappointment, the wine list showed a Rodney Strong Alexander Crown cab - a very nice wine. We were presented with a much lower end Rodney Strong cab - they didn't even have the one listed on the menu. The wine list wasn't really worth mentioning after that. We had 2 Bud Lights. Overall not an experience we enjoyed nor will we ever return. Such a waste of money…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The pimento cheese hummus was delicious ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The pimento cheese hummus was delicious and unique. The lobster ravioli was outstanding. Service was very good and nuce to have a dinner looking out at the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food with a beautiful view. Ni ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food with a beautiful view. Nice selection for breakfast. We did have to ask for spoons and a replacement coffee cup. Otherwise, the waitstaff was friendly and efficient. The waffles with strawberries and fresh fruit was especially good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Drinks are expensive and we didn't get t ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Drinks are expensive and we didn't get the sauces for our prime rib. Dessert was presented beautifully but cake part tasted a bit stale or over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our shrimp and grits, fried green tomato ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our shrimp and grits, fried green tomatoes, and martinis were excellent. Service was a little slow, but we loved our busboy, Jeorge. He brought us water quickly, picked up dishes and chatted with us, just delightful! Great dining by the sea at one of my favorite resorts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very loud, with children running around ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very loud, with children running around and screaming. Chairs on hard floor make too much noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was pleasantly surprised just how far th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised just how far this restuarants has come since its remodel a couple of years ago. Always enjoyed dining at king and prince because of the great view. Now they have an updated vibe with a really good menu to go with it. If you have not been in a while, you need to give it a try. It is now on our go to list when we are on the island.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fine. Nothing special. Odd that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was fine. Nothing special. Odd that they didn't clear our salad plates before serving dinner or ever, until we asked. I waited a very long time for a drink refill after ordering. Restaurant not even half full. After sun went down we sat in the dark in the patio, unintentionally. Kinda pricey for the mediocre experience of five adults.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Echo was ok. The service was slow. Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Echo was ok. The service was slow. Food was good but not exceptional. Would go back but would go only to the bar. Great bar

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The cheese platter was good. The pawl w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The cheese platter was good. The pawl was delicious. Key lime pie was a different style than the traditional. I'm just a lover of a thick graham cracker crust with a cold thick pie filling. Our waitress was very nice. This was not a big deal to us because we weren't in a hurry, but it took over an hour for our meal to arrive. The service staff apologized and were sincerely sorry. They wanted to make things right for us. We had a lovely night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The service was excellent. We were able ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was excellent. We were able to sit outside and of course, the view was wonderful. Overall, it was a great evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst food ever at this res ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the worst food ever at this restaurant! Also the service was awful we were told the seafood risotto dish was to be die for and we did not have very little seafood in it maybe two shrimp , two mussels, the mussels were awful , we had one little tiny piece of lobster in it and one scallop. our total bill was $138 just for that dish was 37 each. We feel that we need to be reimbursed on our Discover card for $138 it wasn't awful awful experience..thank you..John Mishkula

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

An extreme disappointment. My husbands ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

An extreme disappointment. My husbands breakfast was not what he ordered and seemed like old food. I sent my poached eggs back to be cooked correctly, not hard boiled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Great service. We were all pleased with ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service. We were all pleased with our meal selection. Will definitely reserve here again and recommend this restaurant to friends .

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved dining outdoors overlooking the oc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Loved dining outdoors overlooking the ocean. Great spot! Unfortunately app's and main course were not spaced far enough apart time wise, and we felt a bit rushed even though restaurant did not seem overly crowded. Definitely wait to order your main course until your are done with appetizers. Overall food was delicious, beautifully presented and cocktails were also on trend and fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful oceanside dining.

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a party of 6 and all of us very much enjoyed our food. The setting on the patio overlooking the ocean can't be beat. Event with an extremely hot day we were all very comfortable in the shade of the umbrella enjoying the wonderful meal and sounds of the waves. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Setting great . . . Prime rib not so good

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I met some friends here . Wine was great . . . I think everyone enjoyed their meals except me. I ordered the prime rib special . . . Medium . It came well done and so tough it was difficult to cut. Fortunately , the extra vegetables made up for it, considering I had maybe 1/4 of the meat . My husband had the scallops and loved them . . . Moral to this story . . . Don't get prime rib outside of Kansas City !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfect weather and oceanfront dining. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect weather and oceanfront dining. We all enjoyed the seafood, might like a little more explanation of what is the difference between small plates and entrees. Very nice cocktail list

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Happy hour

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great views from outdoor restaurant overlooking the ocean. Food was very good. Had the short ribs with smashed potatoes. Ribs were tender and potatoes moist not dry. Although I Wished the waiter would have mentioned Happy Hour.

I would go back. Waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

While the view at our table outdoors on ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

While the view at our table outdoors on the patio was amazing (doesn't get much better than looking out over the ocean) . . . everything else was a bummer, especially for the prices. We were there on Mother's Day afternoon which may have had something to do with it, but . . . service was just bad. Had to ask twice to get our table cleaned off from the prior guests . . . then we were given dinner menus instead of lunch menus (which meant what we REALLY wanted to eat wasn't available), and then the food itself was just so-so. I had the seafood macaroni and cheese which was reminiscent of velvetta cheese. My husband had the cobb salad which was just so so. And our friend had the shrimp pasta which looked the best of everything we ordered. We may have just hit them on a bad day and because of that and because of the beautiful view, we would give them another chance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

App and main course was excellent. desert not so

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The waiter was very attentive but his timing needs to be better. The main course came out prior to us finishing the apps. He then came back twice while we were still eating to ask us if we wanted desert. He was great at making sure the wine was poured etc but we felt rushed. We went for a romantic dinner after a couples message and were not happy with the rushed feeling at dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Worth the trip

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We stayed on Jekyll but ventured off to Echo for a highly rated dining experience...great ocean views, particularly when one of the larger cargo ships is entering the GA transit lanes. We ate a bunch of the tasting plates....the mussels were good and recommended as were the crab cakes. It was Sunday night but the place was filled with lots of diners and folks on the beach. If you're outside you do run the risk of less attention but the trade off is a great view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oceanside lunch

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were very surprised to find out that the restaurant was in a historic oceanside hotel. beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.