About ECHO St.Simons Island

101 Downing St.
Saint Simons, GA 31522
View Larger Map

The only beachfront restaurant on St. Simons Island, ECHO St. Simons is a new and dynamic restaurant featuring Southern, coastal fare and remarkable seaside views. Our seasonal menus combine fresh, local produce and seafood to create a truly unforgettable experience. Join us for live music, patio dining and an untouched view of what coastal Georgia has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Menu: 7am-11am

Lunch/Dinner Menu: until 10pm

Cross Street:
Arnold Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 268-5967

Website:
http://www.echostsimons.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site self parking available in main hotel lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for large parties is available. Please contact our private dining contact for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Robby Richardson: (912) 268-5967x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chef's Special - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
East Beach Frittata - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Trout With Grits And Green Beans - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Scallop Dinner - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Surf & Turf Kabob - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Salad Sampler - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Pan Seared Local Cobia - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Corvina Fish - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Redsnapper Fish With Soft Shell Crab. - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Softshell Crab Sandwich - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Salmon salad - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Soft Shell Crab - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Tiramisu - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Pan seared blue nose bass served over grits and sauteéd spinach topped with a banana rosemary buerre blanc - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Cisco Brewery Grey Lady Ale - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Pan Seared Swordfish - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Surf'n'Turf - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA

ECHO St.Simons Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Savannah
Most Booked
Jekyll Island / St. Simons Island
Best Restaurants in St. Simons Island ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Scenic View (12)
Waterfront (12)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was under the impression that the Echo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I was under the impression that the Echo would have a turkey entrée on their menu on Thanksgiving day. I made a reservation for 330. When I arrived, I was told by the chef that there might be a turkey entrée on the dinner menu starting at five. He wasn't sure at that time. My other option was to order the buffet that included turkey and all the trimmings, for $75 plus, which I did. The food was just okay. I suggest the Echo managenent inform the public in advance that your typical Thanksgiving meal may or may not be on the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We always enjoy meals in this lovely set ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy meals in this lovely setting, whether for special buffets or ordering from the menu and usually follow our meal with ocean-watching from a swing or a walk along the shore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. We had a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and great service. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, serviceandambiance. We d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food, serviceandambiance. We dined on our anniversary and really enjoyed it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely restaurant with a beautiful vi ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A lovely restaurant with a beautiful view. We both had the watermelon and goat cheese salad with the surf and turf kabobs which were both excellent

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We bought a $90 bottle of wine and the w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We bought a $90 bottle of wine and the waitress had no idea how to open it. She had to go back 3 times to ask someone for help. Then never once refilled our glasses. The service was extremely slow. When we were finally done with our main dish we asked to see a dessert menu. After 30 minutes of waiting we finally flagged her down and asked for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Stumbled across this restaurant while on ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Stumbled across this restaurant while on vacation and decided to give it a try for a date night. The view of the ocean was gorgeous. The food was amazing, especially the country fried chicken, along with the cocktails. The service was also excellent. I would definitely go back the next time I am on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Waterfront, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Scenic View, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only reason I come to this restauran ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The only reason I come to this restaurant is to sit on the oceanfront patio, when I have guests in town. The view and breeze are absolutely delightful! Unfortunately, the seating arrangements are lack luster. The outdoor chairs are uncomfortable and the tables allow condensation from cool drinks (and anything else ) to drip to the ground (and shoes, pants/legs, purse) below. The service staff has always been nice, but the timing is consistently horrific. 20 minutes for a round of cocktails, appetizers being served just moment before entrees, forgotten dressings/straws/napkins, the standard things that could be fixed...but never are. Generally, the food is decent, but not fantastic and certainly not worth the price. With so many outstanding restaurants in the area with great service and awesome food there's no reason to come here except for the view. It's really too bad, this could have been a wonderful venue.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The hostess admitted she did not read th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The hostess admitted she did not read the complete reservation, where we indicated it was our 47th anniversary and we would like an outside table. She asked if we would like to wait, we responded NO. She then went to verify that there were no tables available and came back saying one just became available.

Food was OK and slightly overdone.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has a welcoming feel. We were there for dinner because we were staying at the hotel. Luckily, it was a nice night, and we were able to dine outside with a great view of the beach and ocean.

The service is exemplary, and the ambiance is perfect. I had the stuffed lobster, and my companion had a shrimp dish. My dinner was good, but my companion was not happy with his meal and could not finish it.

The portions were very small for the price charged. An individual with a larger appetite might consider ordering an appetizer or two before the entree' or checking with the staff about the size of the portion before ordering.

The best thing about this restaurant is the ambiance.

There is also an active bar inside that looks interesting, though we did not stop there on our way out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp and grits were cold and crab cake ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Shrimp and grits were cold and crab cakes were .under cooked but the cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The truffle fries and crab cakes were my ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The truffle fries and crab cakes were my favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten there twice in the last 2 wee ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I've eaten there twice in the last 2 weeks and both times I ordered the crab cakes. I've tried crab cakes all over the island here and the ones at Echo are the best, almost all crab and very crispy. Great sauce comes with them. Both times we ate outside by the ocean and it is just wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only real improvement they could mak ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The only real improvement they could make is in the wine list. A little mundane.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service, beer and wine. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent food, service, beer and wine. Beautiful dining room with nice outdoor seating.

There was a band in the lounge that seemed a lot louder than necessary in that the sound reverberated around the restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

View was spectacular and food outstandin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2016

View was spectacular and food outstanding. Was heading to the cloisters which we didn't know was a private restaurant so found ECHO on open table and so glad we did. Will go back in a heartbeat. Server was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant and accommodating. Worth going!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best breakfast, lunch and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely the best breakfast, lunch and dinner experience ever.

Best view of the ocean and excellent wait staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say. Ocean front dining with ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 20, 2016

What can I say. Ocean front dining with a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Perfect place to bring that special someone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view.....great ambiance......n ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful view.....great ambiance......nice music......varied selections.....easy access.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the food is average and the service was below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This restaurant was extremely disappoint ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 2, 2016

This restaurant was extremely disappointing. Saw mixed reviews but decided to try it anyways because of the oceanfront view and that it was at the King and Prince resort. We ordered a variety of small seafood plates. The peel and eat shrimp were raw. I sent them back twice and they still didn't take it off the check. Fish tacos were okay but I have had better in a shack near the beach. Crab cakes were over breaded and bland. Also ordered a vegetable salad that basically had no vegetables except for 2 pieces of broccoli. The service was fair. Overall I'd say this is way overpriced for what it is. Quality is not up to par. They also told open table we didn't show up so we had to dispute that. If you are thinking of going here, chose another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fabulous room and view with active bar, ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous room and view with active bar, good drinks. Food should be better. Everyone in party of 5 complained about excessive salt. Waiter inexperienced and slightly forgetful but OK, very pleasant young man. Overlooks ocean, great scenic view. Good outside area as well as inside. Very nice place. Need to upgrade quality of food service some.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was fabulous but the service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was fabulous but the service was terrible. There were only 3 tables and out waitress had only our table yet we had to walk up and get her 3 times. She acted like we were interrupting her conversation with other waitresses. Although the food was good we wouldnt go back because she ruined the experience. We were there Tuesday July 26th 2016

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Echo is amazing, you can eat fabulous fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Echo is amazing, you can eat fabulous food while listening to the ocean, it doesn't get any better then this!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What didn't go wrong that night. The ser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

What didn't go wrong that night. The service was horrible, we were charged for items we didn't purchase, didn't get items we ordered, the server failed to mention they were out of the chicken entree that we ordered until all the food arrived for the rest of the 12 people in our party. How can you run out of chicken? The waiter also proceeded to argue with one of us about ordered the cheese plate.

To top it all off we had 4 girls get food poisoning from eating something there. We tried to pinpoint it and think it was the mussels or the tuna. Unsure of exactly what was the culprit but it definitely came from that restaurant. Overall, it was disastrous. The owners happened to be in the restaurant as we were eating so i'm not sure if this had anything to do with our poor service as i'm sure the staff were focused on trying to please them.

Hotel was beautiful. Restaurant was very pretty. Aside from that everything else was subpar. Don't waste your time here. Absolutely horrible experience for a tab that was over $600.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The ambiance overlooking the beach was v ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance overlooking the beach was very nice.

Service was very good. Wife and I both had fish.

The salmon was cooked in a soy preparation. She thought it was ok. I had grilled wahoo which was dry and over cooked.

The wine pour was generous and reasonably priced.

The price for the evening was 75$ plus tip.

Other local Restaurants do a better job of fish preparation

but all in all it was a ok evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Absolutely one of the worst dining exper ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Absolutely one of the worst dining experiences we have had on St Simons. We've been coming to the island for years and love trying all the local restaurants. This was such an enormous disappointment! The ambiance in general was poor. We sat inside - the view was ok but that's where any good comments end. The menu online looked decent enough - the food did NOT meet our expectations (although the lobster ravioli my daughter had was ok). The paella was a joke. It has very little seafood and interestingly enough because traditional paella is never served with a pound of cheese melted in it, it was drowned in what reminded me of Velvetta - the description mentioned nothing about cheese. To round out our disappointment, the wine list showed a Rodney Strong Alexander Crown cab - a very nice wine. We were presented with a much lower end Rodney Strong cab - they didn't even have the one listed on the menu. The wine list wasn't really worth mentioning after that. We had 2 Bud Lights. Overall not an experience we enjoyed nor will we ever return. Such a waste of money…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The pimento cheese hummus was delicious ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The pimento cheese hummus was delicious and unique. The lobster ravioli was outstanding. Service was very good and nuce to have a dinner looking out at the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food with a beautiful view. Ni ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food with a beautiful view. Nice selection for breakfast. We did have to ask for spoons and a replacement coffee cup. Otherwise, the waitstaff was friendly and efficient. The waffles with strawberries and fresh fruit was especially good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Drinks are expensive and we didn't get t ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Drinks are expensive and we didn't get the sauces for our prime rib. Dessert was presented beautifully but cake part tasted a bit stale or over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our shrimp and grits, fried green tomato ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our shrimp and grits, fried green tomatoes, and martinis were excellent. Service was a little slow, but we loved our busboy, Jeorge. He brought us water quickly, picked up dishes and chatted with us, just delightful! Great dining by the sea at one of my favorite resorts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

It was an easy place to go for dinner an ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was an easy place to go for dinner and drinks but there were so many family groups (3) in such a small place that it was super noisy and felt stressful.

The bar area is nice and we will return there but maybe not the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very loud, with children running around ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very loud, with children running around and screaming. Chairs on hard floor make too much noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was pleasantly surprised just how far th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised just how far this restuarants has come since its remodel a couple of years ago. Always enjoyed dining at king and prince because of the great view. Now they have an updated vibe with a really good menu to go with it. If you have not been in a while, you need to give it a try. It is now on our go to list when we are on the island.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fine. Nothing special. Odd that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was fine. Nothing special. Odd that they didn't clear our salad plates before serving dinner or ever, until we asked. I waited a very long time for a drink refill after ordering. Restaurant not even half full. After sun went down we sat in the dark in the patio, unintentionally. Kinda pricey for the mediocre experience of five adults.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Echo was ok. The service was slow. Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Echo was ok. The service was slow. Food was good but not exceptional. Would go back but would go only to the bar. Great bar

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The cheese platter was good. The pawl w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The cheese platter was good. The pawl was delicious. Key lime pie was a different style than the traditional. I'm just a lover of a thick graham cracker crust with a cold thick pie filling. Our waitress was very nice. This was not a big deal to us because we weren't in a hurry, but it took over an hour for our meal to arrive. The service staff apologized and were sincerely sorry. They wanted to make things right for us. We had a lovely night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The service was excellent. We were able ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was excellent. We were able to sit outside and of course, the view was wonderful. Overall, it was a great evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst food ever at this res ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the worst food ever at this restaurant! Also the service was awful we were told the seafood risotto dish was to be die for and we did not have very little seafood in it maybe two shrimp , two mussels, the mussels were awful , we had one little tiny piece of lobster in it and one scallop. our total bill was $138 just for that dish was 37 each. We feel that we need to be reimbursed on our Discover card for $138 it wasn't awful awful experience..thank you..John Mishkula

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.