About ECHO St.Simons Island

101 Downing St.
Saint Simons, GA 31522
View Larger Map

The only beachfront restaurant on St. Simons Island, ECHO St. Simons is a new and dynamic restaurant featuring Southern, coastal fare and remarkable seaside views. Our seasonal menus combine fresh, local produce and seafood to create a truly unforgettable experience. Join us for live music, patio dining and an untouched view of what coastal Georgia has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Menu: 7am-11am

Lunch/Dinner Menu: until 10pm

Cross Street:
Arnold Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 268-5967

Website:
http://www.echostsimons.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site self parking available in main hotel lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for large parties is available. Please contact our private dining contact for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Robby Richardson: (912) 268-5967

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chef's Special - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
East Beach Frittata - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Trout With Grits And Green Beans - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Scallop Dinner - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Surf & Turf Kabob - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Salad Sampler - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Pan Seared Local Cobia - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Corvina Fish - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Redsnapper Fish With Soft Shell Crab. - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Softshell Crab Sandwich - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Salmon salad - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Soft Shell Crab - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Tiramisu - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Pan seared blue nose bass served over grits and sauteéd spinach topped with a banana rosemary buerre blanc - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Cisco Brewery Grey Lady Ale - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Pan Seared Swordfish - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA
Surf'n'Turf - ECHO St.Simons Island, Saint Simons, GA

ECHO St.Simons Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (15)
Waterfront (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to the ECHO a number of time ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been to the ECHO a number of times and generally the food is quite good. On my most recent visit, the food was good in taste but served barely warm. Sent soup back to be heated but then my main dish was served about room temperature and that is bad for seared scallops.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This is oceanfront dining at it's best! ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is oceanfront dining at it's best! Echo is a beautiful,relaxed but elegant dining experience even for the most discerning culinary consumer! We have eaten at Echo several times and each meal has been a savory treat for the senses! Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food on the buffet needed to be hott ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food on the buffet needed to be hotter. Vegetables and meats were barely warm. By the time you returned to your table it was cold.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were fine. I was a bit ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service were fine. I was a bit disappointed because when I made the reservation with Open Table, in the comments I put that it was for a birthday for one of the guests. I thought that information would be available to ECHO, yet no one bothered to say "Happy Birthday", or offered anything special. It was useless putting it in the comments for the reservation.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It's off season and so is the kitchen it ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It's off season and so is the kitchen it seems. Oysters had no taste - felt like they had been rinsed in warm water; chilled seafood bowl not worth $35 and the deconstructed Cobb salad was limp looking iceberg lettuce surrounded by the usual ingredients but missing eye appeal - not restaurant quality. Sorry to say Echo is no longer a food destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Fun, Friendly and GREAT food. There ar ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fun, Friendly and GREAT food. There are 2 areas. One is more of a bar scene and the regular restaurant. Both have great atmosphere. Try the Chicken Flatbread or the Fish Tacos.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting, good ambiance and friend ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Lovely setting, good ambiance and friendly staff...we shall return

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have had 2 dinners at Echo. Food is very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Have had 2 dinners at Echo. Food is very good, well presented and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My request for a quiet table ignored, as ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My request for a quiet table ignored, as we were seated next to a table for 4 with no one else in the restaurant. Standard menu for a hotel restaurant. Pasta dish had several clumps of noodles stuck together that were inedible. Service friendly but not well trained. Struggled opening wine bottle, cork broken, poured about a tablespoon for tasting. Had to ask for bread, water refill & a cocktail napkin. Too bad the restaurant can't keep up with the hotel reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I was under the impression that the Echo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I was under the impression that the Echo would have a turkey entrée on their menu on Thanksgiving day. I made a reservation for 330. When I arrived, I was told by the chef that there might be a turkey entrée on the dinner menu starting at five. He wasn't sure at that time. My other option was to order the buffet that included turkey and all the trimmings, for $75 plus, which I did. The food was just okay. I suggest the Echo managenent inform the public in advance that your typical Thanksgiving meal may or may not be on the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We always enjoy meals in this lovely set ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy meals in this lovely setting, whether for special buffets or ordering from the menu and usually follow our meal with ocean-watching from a swing or a walk along the shore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. We had a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and great service. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, serviceandambiance. We d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food, serviceandambiance. We dined on our anniversary and really enjoyed it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely restaurant with a beautiful vi ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A lovely restaurant with a beautiful view. We both had the watermelon and goat cheese salad with the surf and turf kabobs which were both excellent

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We bought a $90 bottle of wine and the w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We bought a $90 bottle of wine and the waitress had no idea how to open it. She had to go back 3 times to ask someone for help. Then never once refilled our glasses. The service was extremely slow. When we were finally done with our main dish we asked to see a dessert menu. After 30 minutes of waiting we finally flagged her down and asked for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Stumbled across this restaurant while on ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Stumbled across this restaurant while on vacation and decided to give it a try for a date night. The view of the ocean was gorgeous. The food was amazing, especially the country fried chicken, along with the cocktails. The service was also excellent. I would definitely go back the next time I am on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Waterfront, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Scenic View, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only reason I come to this restauran ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The only reason I come to this restaurant is to sit on the oceanfront patio, when I have guests in town. The view and breeze are absolutely delightful! Unfortunately, the seating arrangements are lack luster. The outdoor chairs are uncomfortable and the tables allow condensation from cool drinks (and anything else ) to drip to the ground (and shoes, pants/legs, purse) below. The service staff has always been nice, but the timing is consistently horrific. 20 minutes for a round of cocktails, appetizers being served just moment before entrees, forgotten dressings/straws/napkins, the standard things that could be fixed...but never are. Generally, the food is decent, but not fantastic and certainly not worth the price. With so many outstanding restaurants in the area with great service and awesome food there's no reason to come here except for the view. It's really too bad, this could have been a wonderful venue.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The hostess admitted she did not read th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The hostess admitted she did not read the complete reservation, where we indicated it was our 47th anniversary and we would like an outside table. She asked if we would like to wait, we responded NO. She then went to verify that there were no tables available and came back saying one just became available.

Food was OK and slightly overdone.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has a welcoming feel. We were there for dinner because we were staying at the hotel. Luckily, it was a nice night, and we were able to dine outside with a great view of the beach and ocean.

The service is exemplary, and the ambiance is perfect. I had the stuffed lobster, and my companion had a shrimp dish. My dinner was good, but my companion was not happy with his meal and could not finish it.

The portions were very small for the price charged. An individual with a larger appetite might consider ordering an appetizer or two before the entree' or checking with the staff about the size of the portion before ordering.

The best thing about this restaurant is the ambiance.

There is also an active bar inside that looks interesting, though we did not stop there on our way out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp and grits were cold and crab cake ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Shrimp and grits were cold and crab cakes were .under cooked but the cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The truffle fries and crab cakes were my ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The truffle fries and crab cakes were my favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten there twice in the last 2 wee ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I've eaten there twice in the last 2 weeks and both times I ordered the crab cakes. I've tried crab cakes all over the island here and the ones at Echo are the best, almost all crab and very crispy. Great sauce comes with them. Both times we ate outside by the ocean and it is just wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only real improvement they could mak ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The only real improvement they could make is in the wine list. A little mundane.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service, beer and wine. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent food, service, beer and wine. Beautiful dining room with nice outdoor seating.

There was a band in the lounge that seemed a lot louder than necessary in that the sound reverberated around the restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

View was spectacular and food outstandin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2016

View was spectacular and food outstanding. Was heading to the cloisters which we didn't know was a private restaurant so found ECHO on open table and so glad we did. Will go back in a heartbeat. Server was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant and accommodating. Worth going!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best breakfast, lunch and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely the best breakfast, lunch and dinner experience ever.

Best view of the ocean and excellent wait staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say. Ocean front dining with ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 20, 2016

What can I say. Ocean front dining with a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Perfect place to bring that special someone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view.....great ambiance......n ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful view.....great ambiance......nice music......varied selections.....easy access.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, but the food is average and the service was below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This restaurant was extremely disappoint ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 2, 2016

This restaurant was extremely disappointing. Saw mixed reviews but decided to try it anyways because of the oceanfront view and that it was at the King and Prince resort. We ordered a variety of small seafood plates. The peel and eat shrimp were raw. I sent them back twice and they still didn't take it off the check. Fish tacos were okay but I have had better in a shack near the beach. Crab cakes were over breaded and bland. Also ordered a vegetable salad that basically had no vegetables except for 2 pieces of broccoli. The service was fair. Overall I'd say this is way overpriced for what it is. Quality is not up to par. They also told open table we didn't show up so we had to dispute that. If you are thinking of going here, chose another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fabulous room and view with active bar, ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous room and view with active bar, good drinks. Food should be better. Everyone in party of 5 complained about excessive salt. Waiter inexperienced and slightly forgetful but OK, very pleasant young man. Overlooks ocean, great scenic view. Good outside area as well as inside. Very nice place. Need to upgrade quality of food service some.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was fabulous but the service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was fabulous but the service was terrible. There were only 3 tables and out waitress had only our table yet we had to walk up and get her 3 times. She acted like we were interrupting her conversation with other waitresses. Although the food was good we wouldnt go back because she ruined the experience. We were there Tuesday July 26th 2016

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Echo is amazing, you can eat fabulous fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Echo is amazing, you can eat fabulous food while listening to the ocean, it doesn't get any better then this!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What didn't go wrong that night. The ser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

What didn't go wrong that night. The service was horrible, we were charged for items we didn't purchase, didn't get items we ordered, the server failed to mention they were out of the chicken entree that we ordered until all the food arrived for the rest of the 12 people in our party. How can you run out of chicken? The waiter also proceeded to argue with one of us about ordered the cheese plate.

To top it all off we had 4 girls get food poisoning from eating something there. We tried to pinpoint it and think it was the mussels or the tuna. Unsure of exactly what was the culprit but it definitely came from that restaurant. Overall, it was disastrous. The owners happened to be in the restaurant as we were eating so i'm not sure if this had anything to do with our poor service as i'm sure the staff were focused on trying to please them.

Hotel was beautiful. Restaurant was very pretty. Aside from that everything else was subpar. Don't waste your time here. Absolutely horrible experience for a tab that was over $600.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The ambiance overlooking the beach was v ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance overlooking the beach was very nice.

Service was very good. Wife and I both had fish.

The salmon was cooked in a soy preparation. She thought it was ok. I had grilled wahoo which was dry and over cooked.

The wine pour was generous and reasonably priced.

The price for the evening was 75$ plus tip.

Other local Restaurants do a better job of fish preparation

but all in all it was a ok evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Absolutely one of the worst dining exper ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Absolutely one of the worst dining experiences we have had on St Simons. We've been coming to the island for years and love trying all the local restaurants. This was such an enormous disappointment! The ambiance in general was poor. We sat inside - the view was ok but that's where any good comments end. The menu online looked decent enough - the food did NOT meet our expectations (although the lobster ravioli my daughter had was ok). The paella was a joke. It has very little seafood and interestingly enough because traditional paella is never served with a pound of cheese melted in it, it was drowned in what reminded me of Velvetta - the description mentioned nothing about cheese. To round out our disappointment, the wine list showed a Rodney Strong Alexander Crown cab - a very nice wine. We were presented with a much lower end Rodney Strong cab - they didn't even have the one listed on the menu. The wine list wasn't really worth mentioning after that. We had 2 Bud Lights. Overall not an experience we enjoyed nor will we ever return. Such a waste of money…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The pimento cheese hummus was delicious ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The pimento cheese hummus was delicious and unique. The lobster ravioli was outstanding. Service was very good and nuce to have a dinner looking out at the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food with a beautiful view. Ni ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food with a beautiful view. Nice selection for breakfast. We did have to ask for spoons and a replacement coffee cup. Otherwise, the waitstaff was friendly and efficient. The waffles with strawberries and fresh fruit was especially good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Drinks are expensive and we didn't get t ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Drinks are expensive and we didn't get the sauces for our prime rib. Dessert was presented beautifully but cake part tasted a bit stale or over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.