Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About ECHO St.Simons Island

The only beachfront restaurant on St. Simons Island, ECHO St. Simons is a new and dynamic restaurant featuring Southern, coastal fare and remarkable seaside views. Our seasonal menus combine fresh, local produce and seafood to create a truly unforgettable experience. Join us for live music, patio dining and an untouched view of what coastal Georgia has to offer.

101 Downing St.
Saint Simons, GA 31522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Menu: 7am-11am

Lunch/Dinner Menu: until 10pm

Cross Street:
Arnold Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 268-5967

Website:
http://www.echostsimons.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site self parking available in main hotel lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for large parties is available. Please contact our private dining contact for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Robby Richardson: (912) 268-5967

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

ECHO St.Simons Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (20)
Scenic View (18)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Dancing (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The lights were super bright and service sporadic. Some menu items were good, but others mediocre. The beef cuts were not the best and some not cooked well. Good not served at optimal temperature, which either means it sat too long or wasn't cooked long enough. Examples: Truffle fries, wagyu beef, prime rib.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good, but not outstanding. One dinner was overlooked, and quickly replaced. The wine selection was also very good. The service was excellent, and the view, breathtaking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our meals were wonderful. All our entrees (4) were very good and fairly priced, especially for a resort restaurant. Service experienced was decidedly mixed. At outset was attentive but dropped off decidedly after food was delivered as wait staff moved to another area. Every stage of our meal had long lapses between them. A request for a black napkin required a lengthy search. Meal's ending put a damper on the entire evening - the table was cleared (before all were finished), then nothing happened. No offer of dessert or coffee. Finally we had to snag a passing server and ask for someone to give us our checks. No one asked how the checks should be done, resulting in a redo as we were 3 separate parties. There was a lot of noise from an adjacent dining area. View from restaurant is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Had reservations and table was ready as soon as we arrived. Waitress did a great answering questions about menu items. Last night in St Simons Island spent at Echo with family. It topped off our vacation. The fresh cooked potatoe chips were great. The stuffed salmon with succatase was superb. Everyone in group had clean plates once finished eating.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Timely seating. Well informed server who was willing to ensure patron's satisfaction.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Modern place with an appreciable noise level because if the adjacent hotel bar. The food was very good but priced for location and ambience. Waitstaff was good but not too knowledgeable on menu item preparation. Nice view and nice decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner overlooking the beach. Fun after dinner music!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We were staying at Sea Island and wanted to eat somewhere off property. We enjoyed our meal here. We sat in the lounge and enjoyed the ambience of the outdoor pool through the window and the bar next us where we could watch ACC basketball. Our waiter was kind and timely and our food was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Family gathering at the beach in St. Simon's, and we had a Saturday night dinner at ECHO. Great food and service. James took good care of us. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had moderate expectations. We chose this place out of all to celebrate 3 birthdays as we were there for a girls weekend. Several of us ordered the Special: Prime Rib. It was by far the worst Ive ever had...tough, extremely fatty...yuck! Then the desserts that were suppose to be our birthday desserts were horrible. Several had the turtle pie. WE COULD NOT EVEN SAW THROUGH it with a knife!!! Only way to bite was to pick up with our hand!! A PIE!! WTH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It is a fantastic place. We stumbled into St Simons Island, looking for a place to stop on our trip back north from Florida. We had no idea what a great place is would be. We were charmed. It made our evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Echo at the famous King and Prince Hotel in St Simons Island is charming and comfortable.
The service is very good and the food presentation is well done.
I always enjoy sharing this restaurant with friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent service, wonderful food, terrific experience. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made a dinner reservation for our first Valentine's Day together. We arrived. The hostess informed us it would be a 20min wait (the restaurant had plenty of seating available) and gave us options of eating in the other dining room for a lesser wait time. She describe our dinner options: 4course meal for $60 pp in the "grand dining room" or the 3course meal for $40 pp the echo room. Unaware of the limited food option when I made the reservation, I asked her to repeat it again because of the noise level and being caught off guard about these options. She offered for us to sit at the bar as we waited for our table. We were seated and greeted by our server John ( excellent service from John) and given our "menu". A 3x6 card with our 3course dinner information. My boyfriend and I looked over it and thought to ourselves " how bad could it be?". He has never eaten here before and I have. John brings us our "salad". Literally ONE slice of tomato, a small scoop of pine nuts, some sort of cheese spread/dressing, and ONE quarter slice of tomato (Where is the rest of the salad???). The main course was two lamb ribs and sweet potato au gratin, and I had Halibut ( slightly bigger than a mans wallet) on some sort of Grain or pasta. Red velvet cake with slices of real fruit for dessert. My boyfriend and I noticed a couple sitting across the room from us did not have the same meal selection that everyone else in the restaurant had. I asked John (our server) out of curiosity. He said we had the option to order a le carte. I explained to him we were not givin that option at any point. He apologized and spoke with his manager. The manager apologized to us as well for the misunderstanding. He then offered to buy us a round of drinks on the house. Mind you IM STILL HUNGRY BECAUSE THE SMALL PORTIONS OF BLAND FOOD WE WERE SERVED. I've worked in the restaurant industry and know how things can go. I'm not this critical! But this was outrageous! I'm extremely disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great service! We will be back next time we're on the island!

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have eaten at Echo 2 times now and probably would not dine there again any time soon. ECHO is correct - we could overhear the table next to us due to the ECHO. Food portion was very small for the price. No dress code anything goes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for prime rib night and was not impressed with the food. The meat was of lower quality than I expected from a restaurant with its reputation, and the baked potato was undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice setting on the water in a casual atmosphere. Good service, good food at a price value. Also nice to have gluten free options available.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at ECHO! The view was great, and our waiter, Jordan, was absolutely spectacular and so kind to cater to our every need and answer every question. He was even so kind as to take our picture outside and give us a free dessert! Our food was amazing as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went here for dinner. It is the one place on the island to dine ocean front. It is nice and you look out over the ocean. Our server was very nice. There was a band playing when we walked through the door. It was so loud we could not hear the hostess. We concidered leaving but we were seated far enough away from the band that it was bearable. The dinner menu was limited. The cocktails were so so. The food was good but not excellent. We did eat here for lunch. We enjoyed lunch a lot more than dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been to the ECHO a number of times and generally the food is quite good. On my most recent visit, the food was good in taste but served barely warm. Sent soup back to be heated but then my main dish was served about room temperature and that is bad for seared scallops.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is oceanfront dining at it's best! Echo is a beautiful,relaxed but elegant dining experience even for the most discerning culinary consumer! We have eaten at Echo several times and each meal has been a savory treat for the senses! Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food on the buffet needed to be hotter. Vegetables and meats were barely warm. By the time you returned to your table it was cold.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service were fine. I was a bit disappointed because when I made the reservation with Open Table, in the comments I put that it was for a birthday for one of the guests. I thought that information would be available to ECHO, yet no one bothered to say "Happy Birthday", or offered anything special. It was useless putting it in the comments for the reservation.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It's off season and so is the kitchen it seems. Oysters had no taste - felt like they had been rinsed in warm water; chilled seafood bowl not worth $35 and the deconstructed Cobb salad was limp looking iceberg lettuce surrounded by the usual ingredients but missing eye appeal - not restaurant quality. Sorry to say Echo is no longer a food destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fun, Friendly and GREAT food. There are 2 areas. One is more of a bar scene and the regular restaurant. Both have great atmosphere. Try the Chicken Flatbread or the Fish Tacos.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Lovely setting, good ambiance and friendly staff...we shall return

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Have had 2 dinners at Echo. Food is very good, well presented and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My request for a quiet table ignored, as we were seated next to a table for 4 with no one else in the restaurant. Standard menu for a hotel restaurant. Pasta dish had several clumps of noodles stuck together that were inedible. Service friendly but not well trained. Struggled opening wine bottle, cork broken, poured about a tablespoon for tasting. Had to ask for bread, water refill & a cocktail napkin. Too bad the restaurant can't keep up with the hotel reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I was under the impression that the Echo would have a turkey entrée on their menu on Thanksgiving day. I made a reservation for 330. When I arrived, I was told by the chef that there might be a turkey entrée on the dinner menu starting at five. He wasn't sure at that time. My other option was to order the buffet that included turkey and all the trimmings, for $75 plus, which I did. The food was just okay. I suggest the Echo managenent inform the public in advance that your typical Thanksgiving meal may or may not be on the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy meals in this lovely setting, whether for special buffets or ordering from the menu and usually follow our meal with ocean-watching from a swing or a walk along the shore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and great service. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food, serviceandambiance. We dined on our anniversary and really enjoyed it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A lovely restaurant with a beautiful view. We both had the watermelon and goat cheese salad with the surf and turf kabobs which were both excellent

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We bought a $90 bottle of wine and the waitress had no idea how to open it. She had to go back 3 times to ask someone for help. Then never once refilled our glasses. The service was extremely slow. When we were finally done with our main dish we asked to see a dessert menu. After 30 minutes of waiting we finally flagged her down and asked for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Stumbled across this restaurant while on vacation and decided to give it a try for a date night. The view of the ocean was gorgeous. The food was amazing, especially the country fried chicken, along with the cocktails. The service was also excellent. I would definitely go back the next time I am on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Waterfront, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Scenic View, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The only reason I come to this restaurant is to sit on the oceanfront patio, when I have guests in town. The view and breeze are absolutely delightful! Unfortunately, the seating arrangements are lack luster. The outdoor chairs are uncomfortable and the tables allow condensation from cool drinks (and anything else ) to drip to the ground (and shoes, pants/legs, purse) below. The service staff has always been nice, but the timing is consistently horrific. 20 minutes for a round of cocktails, appetizers being served just moment before entrees, forgotten dressings/straws/napkins, the standard things that could be fixed...but never are. Generally, the food is decent, but not fantastic and certainly not worth the price. With so many outstanding restaurants in the area with great service and awesome food there's no reason to come here except for the view. It's really too bad, this could have been a wonderful venue.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The hostess admitted she did not read the complete reservation, where we indicated it was our 47th anniversary and we would like an outside table. She asked if we would like to wait, we responded NO. She then went to verify that there were no tables available and came back saying one just became available.
Food was OK and slightly overdone.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The restaurant is lovely, modern and has a welcoming feel. We were there for dinner because we were staying at the hotel. Luckily, it was a nice night, and we were able to dine outside with a great view of the beach and ocean.
The service is exemplary, and the ambiance is perfect. I had the stuffed lobster, and my companion had a shrimp dish. My dinner was good, but my companion was not happy with his meal and could not finish it.
The portions were very small for the price charged. An individual with a larger appetite might consider ordering an appetizer or two before the entree' or checking with the staff about the size of the portion before ordering.
The best thing about this restaurant is the ambiance.
There is also an active bar inside that looks interesting, though we did not stop there on our way out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was amazing. Gorgeous views, good food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.