About ECHO St.Simons Island

101 Downing St.
Saint Simons, GA 31522
View Larger Map

The only beachfront restaurant on St. Simons Island, ECHO St. Simons is a new and dynamic restaurant featuring Southern, coastal fare and remarkable seaside views. Our seasonal menus combine fresh, local produce and seafood to create a truly unforgettable experience. Join us for live music, patio dining and an untouched view of what coastal Georgia has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Menu: 7am-11am

Lunch/Dinner Menu: until 10pm

Cross Street:
Arnold Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 268-5967

Website:
http://www.echostsimons.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site self parking available in main hotel lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for large parties is available. Please contact our private dining contact for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Robby Richardson: (912) 268-5967x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chef's Special
East Beach Frittata
Trout With Grits And Green Beans
Scallop Dinner
Surf & Turf Kabob
Salad Sampler
Corvina Fish
Soft Shell Crab
Redsnapper Fish With Soft Shell Crab.
Softshell Crab Sandwich
Salmon salad
Pan Seared Local Cobia
Pan seared blue nose bass served over grits and sauteéd spinach topped with a banana rosemary buerre blanc
Tiramisu
Cisco Brewery Grey Lady Ale
Pan Seared Swordfish
Surf'n'Turf

ECHO St.Simons Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Savannah
Most Booked
Jekyll Island / St. Simons Island
Best Restaurants in St. Simons Island ›

scenic view (31)
great for outdoor dining (21)
romantic (15)
See All
special occasion (14)
great for lunch (12)
fit for foodies (11)
good for groups (10)
great for brunch (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Echo was ok. The service was slow. Foo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Echo was ok. The service was slow. Food was good but not exceptional. Would go back but would go only to the bar. Great bar

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

The cheese platter was good. The pawl w ...

Dined 7 days ago

The cheese platter was good. The pawl was delicious. Key lime pie was a different style than the traditional. I'm just a lover of a thick graham cracker crust with a cold thick pie filling. Our waitress was very nice. This was not a big deal to us because we weren't in a hurry, but it took over an hour for our meal to arrive. The service staff apologized and were sincerely sorry. They wanted to make things right for us. We had a lovely night.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. We were able ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was excellent. We were able to sit outside and of course, the view was wonderful. Overall, it was a great evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

This was the worst food ever at this res ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the worst food ever at this restaurant! Also the service was awful we were told the seafood risotto dish was to be die for and we did not have very little seafood in it maybe two shrimp , two mussels, the mussels were awful , we had one little tiny piece of lobster in it and one scallop. our total bill was $138 just for that dish was 37 each. We feel that we need to be reimbursed on our Discover card for $138 it wasn't awful awful experience..thank you..John Mishkula

food1
ambience2
service3
value2

An extreme disappointment. My husbands ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

An extreme disappointment. My husbands breakfast was not what he ordered and seemed like old food. I sent my poached eggs back to be cooked correctly, not hard boiled

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. We were all pleased with ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service. We were all pleased with our meal selection. Will definitely reserve here again and recommend this restaurant to friends .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved dining outdoors overlooking the oc ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Loved dining outdoors overlooking the ocean. Great spot! Unfortunately app's and main course were not spaced far enough apart time wise, and we felt a bit rushed even though restaurant did not seem overly crowded. Definitely wait to order your main course until your are done with appetizers. Overall food was delicious, beautifully presented and cocktails were also on trend and fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful oceanside dining.

Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a party of 6 and all of us very much enjoyed our food. The setting on the patio overlooking the ocean can't be beat. Event with an extremely hot day we were all very comfortable in the shade of the umbrella enjoying the wonderful meal and sounds of the waves. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Setting great . . . Prime rib not so good

Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I met some friends here . Wine was great . . . I think everyone enjoyed their meals except me. I ordered the prime rib special . . . Medium . It came well done and so tough it was difficult to cut. Fortunately , the extra vegetables made up for it, considering I had maybe 1/4 of the meat . My husband had the scallops and loved them . . . Moral to this story . . . Don't get prime rib outside of Kansas City !

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect weather and oceanfront dining. ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect weather and oceanfront dining. We all enjoyed the seafood, might like a little more explanation of what is the difference between small plates and entrees. Very nice cocktail list

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Happy hour

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great views from outdoor restaurant overlooking the ocean. Food was very good. Had the short ribs with smashed potatoes. Ribs were tender and potatoes moist not dry. Although I Wished the waiter would have mentioned Happy Hour. I would go back. Waiter was very attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

While the view at our table outdoors on ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

While the view at our table outdoors on the patio was amazing (doesn't get much better than looking out over the ocean) . . . everything else was a bummer, especially for the prices. We were there on Mother's Day afternoon which may have had something to do with it, but . . . service was just bad. Had to ask twice to get our table cleaned off from the prior guests . . . then we were given dinner menus instead of lunch menus (which meant what we REALLY wanted to eat wasn't available), and then the food itself was just so-so. I had the seafood macaroni and cheese which was reminiscent of velvetta cheese. My husband had the cobb salad which was just so so. And our friend had the shrimp pasta which looked the best of everything we ordered. We may have just hit them on a bad day and because of that and because of the beautiful view, we would give them another chance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

App and main course was excellent. desert not so

Dined on May 6, 2016

The waiter was very attentive but his timing needs to be better. The main course came out prior to us finishing the apps. He then came back twice while we were still eating to ask us if we wanted desert. He was great at making sure the wine was poured etc but we felt rushed. We went for a romantic dinner after a couples message and were not happy with the rushed feeling at dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth the trip

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We stayed on Jekyll but ventured off to Echo for a highly rated dining experience...great ocean views, particularly when one of the larger cargo ships is entering the GA transit lanes. We ate a bunch of the tasting plates....the mussels were good and recommended as were the crab cakes. It was Sunday night but the place was filled with lots of diners and folks on the beach. If you're outside you do run the risk of less attention but the trade off is a great view!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Oceanside lunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were very surprised to find out that the restaurant was in a historic oceanside hotel. beautiful surroundings.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great View Steps From the Ocean

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant is fairly small but doesn't feel closed in. The wall of windows facing the ocean provides a spectacular backdrop. The menu is expansive and should provide something for all tastes. The blue crab and avocado salad was very good but the timing was off and the main course arrived before I was finished. I felt rushed with the server trying to collect it 3x before I was done! The surf & turf kabob that followed was very good. The manager came to thank us for booking online and gave us a choice of free dessert or another round of drinks. A lovely surprise ending!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Informal. Extremely informal.

Dined on April 16, 2016

"Final Countdown" was blasting on the sound system when we came in. Strangely enough, it was appropriate background music - fit the ambiance perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Best Place to Eat With a View

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was great and the salmon dish was good. Basket of warm rolls were very tasty--not bad for the South. I love sitting in the bar area near the windows. A wedding was going on and I could see the beautiful ocean view. I wish there were a few more dinner choices on the menu. The portions were not very large but that suits me well. I will be back again soon.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service

Dined on April 3, 2016

We were surprised the restaurant was not busier, because the food was very good and inventive, but the restaurant was mostly empty. The service also was good, so that cannot have been it. Here's hoping they stay in business so we can go back next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

Slower than expected

Dined on March 23, 2016

Slower than expected

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very disappointing!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Stayed @ King & Prince 4 yrs ago & remember a wonderful dining experience.The new restaurant, Echo, is sterile & cold. Their menu was disappointing as well. Tried to order scallops & we're out of them. Ordered crab cakes & couldn't eat them- unrecognizable! Would never go back which is unfortunate bc hotel is nice.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Good Breakfast

Dined on February 27, 2016

We really like going to the King and Prince for breakfast. The view is outstanding and the food excellent. The dinner menu is however, another story. We got the trout smothered in a very heavy rosemary sauce with zucchini and inedible squash tops. The waiter did not know what he was doing. We will not go there again for dinner.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not worth the money

Dined on February 15, 2016

Not worth my time. Not worth the money, not worth it period.

food4
ambience3
service2

We took a chance on ECHO for a Valentine ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We took a chance on ECHO for a Valentine's dinner based on previous feedback from patrons. I think there has been improvement. The food was good with nice presentation. The wine flight was good. On the whole we had a pleasant time, but the service was really lacking considering the price of the food. Our waiter was pleasant but just seemed to be struggling with the number of tables, wasn't very familiar with the menu and the specials and did a couple of peculiar things that were entertaining but probably not in keeping with the restaurant's aspirations. It's a great location, but it needs to step up its game on staff training if it wants repeat local patrons.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best meal on St. Simon's Island

Dined on January 31, 2016

Last minute choice when other places were full, but ended up as the best food on our 3-day visit to St. Simon's. Shrimp and grits was one of the best ever. Cobb Salad with seafood was a Cobb in name only... wow. Pimento cheese appetizer superb.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dylan made the evening wonderful.

vip
Dined on December 7, 2015

Good food is more easily available than good service, and we experienced both tonight. The food was excellent, and our serve, Dylan, was extremely professional, attentive, and charming. He just put a good experience into the superb category. We were also very impressed with Myron, who was working quickly and quietly to set the room up for breakfast. Nice to see two young men who know how things are supposed to work. The food was just great, and the presentations were lovely. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1

I could not recommend this restaurant to anybody!

Dined on November 5, 2015

We went to ECHO to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant was not crowded at all. I have never experienced the feeling of inconveniencing our waitress. 10 minutes for water... When I made the reservation I indicated the birthday celebration. That was never acknowledged. I could not recommend this restaurant to anybody I know.

food3
ambience5
service4

outside dining

Dined on October 28, 2015

It was a nice evening to meet friends on the patio. We didn't have to wait for a table. The food was better, but still needs a little work. You can't beat the spot!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Seaside

Dined on October 25, 2015

The view is out of this world , but that's pretty much where it stops , really nice staff , food is average at best , outside dining is nice waitstaff very friendly .

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner

Dined on October 18, 2015

My husband and I went to ECHO for our anniversary. We were seated by the window with a great view of the ocean. The food was wonderful and the lighting low. The noise level was quiet, so we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Excellent food! Cannot be ...

Dined on October 9, 2015

Great service! Excellent food! Cannot beat the ocean view!

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was courteous and extremely fast ...

Dined on October 8, 2015

Service was courteous and extremely fast. Could be because it was a weekday afternoon but regardless it was exceptional

food5
ambience5
service2

Good food, terrible service for such a nice hotel.

Dined on October 2, 2015

This was our second visit and once again, the service was terrible. My husband needed more tea for a long time and finally decided to hunt for our waitress who only served two tables. He found her sitting down watching TV near the bar area. ECHO also changed their menu and removed their Red Fish with grilled okra. It was the best dish they had.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Date Night

Dined on September 14, 2015

Great date night food! Prices are a higher than some places, but worth going! The shrimp and grits are a must!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service1

Great restaurant suffering from poor service

Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife and I recently dined at ECHO for breakfast with our two grade school children. The restaurant is attached to the lobby/pool of a hotel our condo complex that rests right on the beach. We sat on the patio overlooking the ocean. Everything about the venue was stunning. We were greeted and seated immediately upon arriving. All of the cues set our expectations high. The food held to these consistent standards as well. For these reasons, we would definitely return and recommend this place. The table service; however, was another story. Our waitress was initially present, but socially awkward and very much lacking personality. After our order was served, she stopped by once soon afterward to check in and provide a false sense of hope for topping off our coffee. Our mugs were never refilled the entire hour or so that we were seated there for our meal. Our waitress abandoned us to try to take part in serving a bachelorette party that started arriving to the patio. There was plenty of wait staff and the restaurant was not very busy at all. Another girl who was bussing tables stopped by a few times. She had some personality and returned with one take-home container instead of the two we'd requested and never did send anyone back to bring coffee or the bill for the meal. Where is the manager watching this? We'll likely try this place again, but WILL NOT patiently wait for an acceptable level of service that should even be expected to befall the nearest pancake chain diner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

King & Prince

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

The beach scene is fantastic. You can sit & dine in comfort and enjoy the scenery. The food is very good & the wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Evening at Echo

Dined on August 24, 2015

Our first time to Echo, had a wonderful waitress (Nikia) very pleasant and friendly, started the evening off on the perfect note. Food was very good and they adjusted choices to our liking. All four of us had an excellent meal. Only disappointment was the décor, as we dressed for dinner but atmosphere is very casual. The next day, we had lunch before heading home and again food was very good. Look forward to return visits as we are only an hour and a half drive away (SC).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on August 23, 2015

Planned one meal there and ended up coming back two more times during our stay. Excellent menu with options to cover all food tastes. The food was delicious and the plate presentation was attractive. Usually you get one or the other. The portions were huge. I left the table full.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3

Over-rated.

Dined on August 18, 2015

Lighting, music, and waitstaff's "uniforms" were grossly mismatched to the otherwise beautiful setting. One of three menu items ordered was sent back; it should never have been served that significantly over cooked.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great post-movie dinner

Dined on August 16, 2015

We couldn't make dinner before the movie so great to find a restaurant that would seat us at 2130. Only second date night since our 14 mo was born so was nice to have the place to ourselves. When we walked into the hotel, the band in the bar was deafening & we almost left right away but the hostess sat us against the window so the noise was just a dull roar in the background. Husband had popcorn at the movie so he got the steak salad & the steak just cut like butter. I got the shrimp & Grits minus the collards (who puts greens on S&Gs?!?!?) & although we don't eat fried foods anymore, the shrimp were lightly breaded & delicious. Servicer was quick to help us (sure she wanted to go home!) & attentive to us (helps we were her only table though!) Would recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.