Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ebisu on Robson

The first and only Japanese Restaurant Lounge featuring some of the best deals for food & drinks in town! Delicious tapas and inventive, original sushi created by our master chefs straight from Japan! The trendy modern design of our spacious interior, TV"s and big projector screen help to set the perfect ambiance for any occasion. Quick business lunches, intimate romantic dinners or large group parties of any size are welcome!
Set in the heart of Robson this stylish izakaya restaurant lounge is the hottest new spot that many local dining enthusiasts have been craving for! Our innovative adaptation plays with the contrast of East meets West. Ranging from the freshest sashimi straight out of Japan to home-cooked dishes with a twist. Oriental style pastas, juicy steaks or even sushi rolls flame seared right in front of you! There is definitely something for everyone!

827 Bute Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 3Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 689-8266

Website:
http://www.ebisu.ca/robson/

Parking Details:
Impark operated parking is available behind the building.
Street meter parking along Robson, Bute and Haro Street.

Public Transit:
Approximately 5-10 minute walk from the Burrard Skytrain Station.
There is a bus that stops on the corner of Robson and Bute, downstairs from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Shibata

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ebisu on Robson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
See All
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Server kept forgetting to bring my drink. Which I asked for two times before I finally got it half an hour later. I understand it gets busy but I’m a server too and this was just stupid. It was my
Birthday as well and everyone struggled getting any attention for any service. I understand big groups can get annoying but half an hour waiting for a drink? I only drank two because who knows how much longer it would take. We didn’t stay too long. Thank you anyways I will most likely be doing my bday elsewhere

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Solid, but not necessarily what I expected. Its sort of a commercialized Japanese place with lots of non-Japanese food on the menu like truffled fries. Strange, but generally pretty tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Food was really good; sushi was fresh and tasty. Service was courteous. Would totally go again and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

It took an hour to get our sashimi/fresh seafood.

An hour.

Checked with the server 30 minutes after ordering, and was told that it would take another half an hour. Did not come until we we're practically done with our whole night. Very disappointing. What was supposed to be a great surprise birthday dinner, turned out to be a waiting game for food. I'm really sorry to say this, but it has been an unsatisfactory experience. Will not be recommending this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Took a shot at this place after reading some positive reviews. We were meeting some family that were in from out of town and staying close by and we all wanted Sushi. Great interior and we had a great big booth which everyone fit perfectly. The interior is a funny mix of 'traditional' sushi restaurant mixed with a sports bar!! (huge TV's all around the place!) Service was great and we got several platters of various sushi, sashimi, and a few deep fried options..all very very fresh and tasty! Drinks were served promptly and effectively. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I really liked the lunch special here. You pick 3 items for approx $12 (can't remember price). But the food was very tasty and tea was refilled often. The only thing I didn't like were the bones I found in my spicy tuna roll. However, the spicy salmon roll and spicy mini ramen were delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Waitress spilled liquor all over my purse and then rolled her eyes when I asked her to get me a wet cloth to wipe it with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Their food tasted amazing .. overall the best Japanese cuisine I have had in a long time .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a group-dinner there not too long ago. Food and drinks were great at its price but the one thing that set us all of was the poor service that we were given; the waiter we had expressed a negative attitude throughout our stay which made our visit slightly unsettling.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Terrible service. Sub par food. Nice outdoor seating. Great reservation app though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Nice food. Good service.
Place is a bit lost. Signs are sun bleached, menu is hard to understand, items are all over.

Place needs to be cleaned up, renovated a bit. New menu and all items should be reorganized.

It could be a very busy place if they made some changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was great. We were a large group of about 20 people but everything was brought to table in timely manner. Food was good. Nice to have a place that can take a reservation for and accommodate a large group.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Not the greatest sushi or ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Been over a year since I came. Got seated at a table next to the front door. Table top wasn't secure. Spun when leaned on. Table was covered in crumbs. 2/4 plates on the table had residue on it.
Food was good. But the table definitely wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We were pushed into a corner behind some chairs that were stacked up. The service was very poor and it took a long time to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was a family gathering with out of town in-laws visiting us. We were interested to go for sushi at a place recommended on yelp, thinking the location would bring it up a notch.

2 of us got the seafood platter for 62$ and we thought it was overpriced for what was included, however the shrimp and other items were very good, we just thought 62 was quite much for what we got there.

Their ginger unfortunately had gluten somehow, and so I didn’t get that with my sushi but I had to ask where the ginger was before she explained why I didn’t have any, would have been better to be told right away but better that she didn’t give me any at all, I was just confused as to why. Other places don’t have gluten in their ginger. My rolls were fine, something I can get of equal quality at less expensive places.

The service was okay - great for some things but not great in other areas, like I mentioned above about my missing ginger. The staff was genuinely kind and caring and nice, I was well cared for in terms of my allergies. I was given gluten free soy sauce which was appreciated. They did forget my sesame seeds on my rolls and forgot my husbands’ rolls until we asked where they were, and he was a bit grumpy as he was left still hungry while everyone else was still full and he waited for them, so we waited while he ate alone.

It wasn’t spectacular, but it was just normal, not the experience we expected for such good yelp ratings. We understand the cost is due to excellent location in Vancouver, so naturally more expensive area.

We don’t regret going but not sure we’ll be back again. It was incredibly loud and we had to shout to speak to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I would definitely recommend Ebisu and this service and app! Awesome experience with family and friends!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We sat at the patio facing Robson street. This spot in the restaurant is highly recommended.

The sashimi and rolls tasted fresh and delicious.

After one pitcher of tasty red sangria, we were informed of the blue sangria which was also tasty - it is very tropical and has a coconut taste.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was a very lovely place. Usually known for being busy but if you go later you get good meal deals and able to get a seat. I do recommend booking ahead so you know you got a table.
The food was delicious but took a while, to be expected. Has a wide range of everything and big portion sizes. Along with, staff was amazing as we had two allergies present (peanut and duck) so they kept us informed and were alert.
Went with my boyfriend and his family, and they had a big enough spot for all 4 of us with extra room. So I do recommend it for medium sized groups 4-7.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our appetizers of magic beans and truffle fries were delicious and a treat for a family that rarely eats fried foods. Sadly, the sushi itself did not measure up. It was decent, just not amazing. If we lived near one of the locations, we would give it another chance. Maybe next time we are in Vancouver.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The service was very slow. We need to follow-up a couple of times for our orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Overall was ok :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service, the food was really good. Love the variety of drinks. Perfect for birthdays. All in all, it was a great time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The staff enforced a 2 hour time limit on our table, while they did not mention it at all when we arrived or sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Vast array of food choices. Good food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pretty good but the food was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very very slow service, food took an hour to come. Some of us got our dishes way before others, like a half hour apart. Some of us finished while other friends were still starving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Good quality food, very informal, no sushi,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was fine, but service was slow

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had our 2 kids with us during busy dinner and service was excellent

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service. Foods were served to us in a fair amount of time. Price is just right.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was OK, but it took over an hour for food to arrive. Everyone else had well finished eating by then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The reviews looked good so we thought we would give it a try and when we arrived there were a dozen people waiting for tables. When it was my turn to talk to the hostess I mentioned I had an open table reservation and we were seated almost immediately. The sushi was good, we tried several house specialties and sadly had no room for the enticing deserts. We would go again and will recommend this restaurant to everyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wonderful food, atmosphere and service! One of our favourite places to go.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was pretty bad when we went there.. our reservation time was not respected... our waiter didn't have time to explain dishes, some of the people that brought our food were rude.. worst experience dining in Vancouver...

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Slow service. Reservation for 6:00pm. Drinks and appy's okay. After an hour or more had to ask for them to take our dinner orders. Around eight pm manager came to scold us that our reservation was for one hour.
We had not been served our dinner and we were told our sushi order was going to take much longer and that we may have to take it out. As it was taking a long time to do the order as they were too busy.!!
I reserved for a family dinner for fourteen and we were very crowded at the table. Finally our last order we had to cancel it as it was still not ready at 8:30.
If we are to be finished in one hour I think we should have had our order taken before 7:00pm
Half my family left the restaurant hungry and we had to stop for takeout sushi from the restaurant below Ebisu.
No one came to see if we wanted anything else to drink.

Please send this to Ebisu on Robson privately.
I had told my family that I had budgeted about $70 dollars per person. We only spent about half of that or less per person. You missed out on making twice as much money because of your poor service.
yet we were their for more than two and a half hours. mostly waiting for our food and service.
Betty Y

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Made a reservation to celebrate my birthday with a party of 11 people at 8:00. Table was not ready and we had to wait 45 minutes before we were sat. The table they gave us did not even fit 11 people and had to wait again for them to rearrange. By the time we settled down it was already 9:15 and all of us were starving. Server (Pink) does not acknowledge our table and doesn't even drop by to take orders. I tried to wave her down, and she just walks away.... it wasn't until I physically got up and chased her down before she came to us. After taking just a few orders she then walks away without taking the other half of our orders . Drinks did not arrive until 9:45, we've been waiting 2.75 hours now and server did not even bother to bring us any water. Food finally arrived at 10:00 with the last guest getting her food at 10:30.

I am VERY DISAPPOINTED at the horrible service and management of the restaurant. I was recommended to celebrate my birthday here as I heard they had good drinks and food. This was not true and thank you guys for ruining my birthday celebration. This was my FIRST time here and most likely not coming back. Nothing was done by management or server to fix any of the issue that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Sushi took an hour to serve.
Everything else took 45 mins. Wait staff were good and apologetic. They were obviously under staffed for Boxing Day dinner. This is the longest we had to wait for sushi. Will not be going back to this one. Richmond branch is more organized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and good value. Nice sashimi and uni.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.