About Ebisu on Robson

827 Bute Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 3Y4
View Larger Map

The first and only Japanese Restaurant Lounge featuring some of the best deals for food & drinks in town! Delicious tapas and inventive, original sushi created by our master chefs straight from Japan! The trendy modern design of our spacious interior, TV"s and big projector screen help to set the perfect ambiance for any occasion. Quick business lunches, intimate romantic dinners or large group parties of any size are welcome!
Set in the heart of Robson this stylish izakaya restaurant lounge is the hottest new spot that many local dining enthusiasts have been craving for! Our innovative adaptation plays with the contrast of East meets West. Ranging from the freshest sashimi straight out of Japan to home-cooked dishes with a twist. Oriental style pastas, juicy steaks or even sushi rolls flame seared right in front of you! There is definitely something for everyone!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 3:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 689-8266

Website:
http://www.ebisu.ca/robson/

Parking Details:
Impark operated parking is available behind the building.
Street meter parking along Robson, Bute and Haro Street.

Public Transit:
Approximately 5-10 minute walk from the Burrard Skytrain Station.
There is a bus that stops on the corner of Robson and Bute, downstairs from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Shibata

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ebisu on Robson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (10)
great for lunch (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
See All
special occasion (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
fit for foodies (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined at Ebisu for a business group i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

We dined at Ebisu for a business group in happy hour. The foods and drinks were ok but the service was terribly slow and some people in our group had to wait a long time for their orders to arrive. Initially everyone wanted to eat at the same time but because the service was really slow they decided to go ahead and eat while others were still waiting so they can eat while their foods were still warm. I don't recommend this place for large groups particularly business groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Enjoyed sushi experience at Ebisu. Canad ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Enjoyed sushi experience at Ebisu.

Canada Day and very busy. Staff worked hard to keep up. Great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Decent service. Good variety of food on ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Decent service. Good variety of food on happy hour menu. We particularly enjoyed the fish tacos. Patio is great for those who love the sun, but patio umbrella is insufficient for guests who do not. Also, it is appreciated when guests are informed that gratuity has already added. We had a group of 6.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome service!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mediocre food for its price

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We ordered a lot of food since we were a group of 8 friends. For its price, nothing was particular good or special. I can kinda tell its trying to have some special dishes like the Aburi salmon with hot pepper slice, but it really doesn't taste anything better than a fast food sushi place. Tonkatsu was dry and not tender and oysters is barely ok...our server was very boring and didn't care to explain

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

amaze

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great atmosphere, food, drinks. Everything went well for my birthday. Thanks

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Adequate, ok location

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Ok location, short walk from the business area, probably ok for local residents, food and service is just fine, not standout but very adequate

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food.

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sushi for folks who think fast food is gourmet.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

This seemed like the kind for sushi place for people who think that McDonald's burgers are gourmet. It wasn't bad, but it was heavy on the rolls that cater to those who don't actually like sushi. They were prepared well, but underwhelming. The sashimi platter looked nice, but again was nothing to write home about. If you really like good sushi then find someplace else. If you don't know what sushi is then this place would be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed my diner and the food !!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Really enjoyed my diner and the food !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the service and food was delic ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I enjoyed the service and food was delicious. I would love to comeback again :)the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Good service !

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Good service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good prices , so many choices in the men ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Good prices , so many choices in the menu and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

10 ppl group lunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

We booked on the same day morning using opentable for a group lunch of 10. By the time we arrived the table has been set up. We ordered some noodles and set lunch for share. The food is very tasty, although the noodle is a bit too salty, just like most of the Japanese style noodles. The set lunch box is good value for money, have rice, sushi, sashimi & fruit in a combo. The service is not bad either. Overall is a good experience, will back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a quite night out because of Fami ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

It was a quite night out because of Family day holiday. Nice and quite for my family dine out and got a decent service. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good Food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Came to experience the DOV menu ... food was prepared nicely, so we ordered more food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

worst dineout experience so far

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Came here for DineOut 2016 and was deeply disappointed by the food. Our main course was roasted duck (duck breast) and foie gras, and every one at the table finds that the duck was tasteless and overcooked, and worst of all, we have never tasted foie gras as tasteless as this. It was a waste of food ingredients being prepared and served as is. After the entire 3-course dinner, my group had to go downstairs and order chicken wings from Red Chicken Korean Restaurant...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

No point in making reservations.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We made reservations for a group of 30 for a birthday party but they didn't have a table ready for us. We had to seat at 3 tables and kept getting moved around to try and sit closer to each other. We made reservations for a group of 30 but they didn't have a table ready for us. We had to seat at 3 tables and kept getting moved around to try and sit closer to each other. Food took forever and we had to ask for some dishes because they missed it. One table ended up finishing their meals and the others didn't even get any food yet. Very unorganized!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great surprise! Amazing food!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I have been to Ebisu Broadway many times and wasn't too thrilled when my friends said to go to Ebisu Robson for Dine Out. Oh was I wrong! The food was amazing, delicious, beautifully presented and an amazing value for Dine Out. Ebisu Robson is way higher quality than the one on Broadway. Highly recommended! My only light complaint was the service was slow and disorganized, but that might just be because they were packed for Dine Out. Loved it and will come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food and combination of flavors were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The food and combination of flavors were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We went for Dine Out Vancouver and found ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

We went for Dine Out Vancouver and found the portions to be too small and a little tastless in fact we went to get crepes afterwards. For $30 it could have been better. Would like to come back for their regular menu though as everyones sushi looked wonderful!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everyone with me enjoyed their time here ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Everyone with me enjoyed their time here very much. Loved the extensive drink menu and the food was delicious as well. The restaurant staff was very accommodating to the amount of people and just the general busyness of the restaurant. It was a wonderful experience for my 23rd birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The salmon carpaccio is awesome

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

The salmon carpaccio is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Limited choices compare to its sister re ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Limited choices compare to its sister restaurants but food was good. Service was prompt. Would consider returning in the future even though the sushi was limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

great drinks!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

I visit Vancouver about twice a year. I always hold one dinner with my friends in Vancouver at Ebisu Robson for the past 6 years. Great drinks, food, and music. Really glad they now offer online reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Ebisu on NYE. Made a reservation ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Visited Ebisu on NYE. Made a reservation a few hours earlier; waited a few minutes for our table. Service was fast and good; food was incredible and it was a great value. Will definitely be going back!!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Below my expectation

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined there on New Year's eve. We decided to hang out together just one night before New Year's eve. The best restaurant were full undoubtedly, so this is our only choice. Maybe because it's so busy on that day, the service was not that good. We had to wait for a while for a waitress. The quality of food was far below my expectation. The oysters were not that fresh although it's much cheaper than most of the restaurants. And the taste of the food was not as good as other Japanese restaurants I often go to. I probably won't choose this restaurant next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

New Year's Eve

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Unfortunately we sat beside a large table whose members were loud and boisterous. Because we were in a corner, the noise was amplified to an uncomfortable level. The noise level was quite in the rest of the restaurant.

The service was a bit slow initially.

Had to ask for a glass of water.

Food arrived quickly after ordering and was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Always love it there.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Never had a time that I did not enjoy there. Always love their food. No comparison.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vibe but crowded and lots of large parties.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

This is a very popular spot amongst younger people, with amazing food and drinks typical of a Kamei Group restaurant. Waited for about 10 minutes even though we had a reservation, and the line was quite big at the front of the store. The spaces can be a little bit cramped, but it's manageable for a typical dinner. Food is great, portions arn't too big. Expect to spend about $35-45 per person after a drink and getting full.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food OK, Limited Selection

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Ebisu has gone over to a "set menu" format for lunches. Although the "3 items for $12.99" seems good at first, you are pretty much limited to those items or to other set combinations. The food is reasonably good (the chicken teriyaki was VERY good, the yakisoba good, but the chicken karaage was average). Also, the lunch combo is not quite the deal it seems at first - for example, a nearby East Indian restaurant has a good quality full lunch buffet for only $1.00 more. There is a void left in the downtown core for an excellent Japanese restaurant since Tsunami Sushi closed, but Ebisu will have to take their food and service to a much higher level if they hope to fill that void.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good sushi but lacks sophistication.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Definitely not your average sushi joint. The menu's are difficult to understand but the food is always consistent. Sometimes could take a while to get served and get your food mainly because it is definitely popular because of it's size and advertising with local businesses.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Outstanding Service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I don't usually write reviews, or give feedback. But I feel like it should be said. I go to Ebisu Robson on the bi-monthly basis maybe for the last few years. But haven't been there for dinner in a long time. Usually, the service is good, and never had a complain about it.

But this time, the service has been outstanding. The food came fast, the drinks as well, and the waitresses have been doing an amazing job for answering all our requests, in the most friendly manners ever. I was really impressed. Good job!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great sushi in downtown Vancouver!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

Just like most we were coming in from out of province and had to rely on other reviews to find a good place to go. I was also a bit worried since some of our group couldn't eat raw fish. I'm happy to say our entire group raved about how great it was the next day. The menu is all online so we could scope out what we wanted before hand but the waiter was also super helpful in recommending a few great dishes like Tuna Tataki and the Robson Roll. Overall great quality and the price was very reasonable considering the size of the group. Had a hard time trying to convince the group to try other restaurants after that, highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, Great Atmosphere

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

I came in with a reservation, so wait was very minimal. The serving team wasn't pushy. The food was excellent and I will definitely come back with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great! Dishes were freshly made ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Food was great! Dishes were freshly made and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to Ebisu for dinner with a large gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Went to Ebisu for dinner with a large group. The food very good, and our tea was refilled frequently (but you have to pay $1.50, then refills are free). However, the restaurant was very loud and crowded, and a baseball and/or hockey game was playing on the TVs at the bar. There was no closed captioning on the TVs, so it is not accessible for patrons with a hearing loss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Food was fantastic! However service was hit and miss. Some waitresses were awesome and very friendly. Others were stuck up and didn't want to work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome food and service. Vivi was aweso ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Awesome food and service. Vivi was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Selected this restaurant based on review ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Selected this restaurant based on reviews. Disappointed in the seating. The music was loud and irritating. The chef selection sushi was terrible. Of all the great sushi places in Vancouver this is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.