Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

EAT at The Pearl

4.4
165 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

EAT at The Pearl features New American and California Coastal cuisine, friendly table service, and award-winning interior design. Executive Chef Todd Bencivenni calls upon his background in a variety of regional styles to create exciting and eclectic dishes from seasonal, local ingredients. Prepare to be treated to menus that invite you to indulge culinary whims from simple to sophisticated or classic to contemporary. Together, the spirited food and the mood in the dining room fuel an energetic and urbane atmosphere. EAT at The Pearl also features an intimate bar area to relax alone or await dining companions. Friendly and knowledgeable bar staff serves expertly-selected wines and beers, along with signature cocktails to prime your palate for our kitchen’s winning preparations.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Californian, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch (March-September)
Saturday: 10:00am to 2:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am to 2:00pm

Dinner
Monday-Friday: 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm

Bar
Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm to 10:30pm
Friday: 4:00pm to 11:30pm
Saturday 10:00am to 11:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 226-6100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Todd Bencivenni
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
EAT at The Pearl provides amazing, hand-crafted food and beverage for your event, up to 150 persons. Our culinary team satisfies a variety of tastes with four-star, farm-to-table cuisine: tray passed and stationary hors d’oeuvres, action stations, carving stations and buffet. Also, enjoy 10 taps of local craft beer, eclectic wine lists and specialty cocktails. Our banquet menus are guides for customizing cuisine that’s magical and delicious.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fenelon St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Limited on-site parking is offered at The Pearl to hotel guests only, when available. Parking costs are $10 per night. ½ price for Hybrid vehicles ($5). Restaurant diners can find ample parking in the area on the street without meters or time restrictions.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Show your Car2Go membership card to get 15% of your restaurant bill! Car2Go charging and designated parking on site.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
DIVE-IN THEATRE: Every Wednesday, all-year round, The Pearl Hotel presents "Dive-In Theatre," a FREE weekly "cinema social" combining eclectic film selections, food and drink and light conversation. The event takes place outdoors at our poolside lounge and theater located connected to EAT at The Pearl. Scheduled films project onto a 10' x 13' foot projection screen with full sound, overlooking our vintage, oyster-shaped swimming pool. Showtime is 8:00 pm; Food served until 10:00 pm; and bar open until 11 pm.

BINGO NIGHT: Scheduled for the last Thursday of each month, BINGO night is a great way to unwind, bring friends together and win prizes! Limited to the first 40 people to RSVP. Check-in is at 8:30PM. Reserve you space at RSVP@thepearlsd.com with your name, phone, # of people, time, and if you want to join us for dinner! NOTE: BINGO dates are subject to change due to holidays and special events. Call 619.226.6100 to confirm dates.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
WEDDINGS & RECEPTIONS
The Pearl Hotel packs enough luster to make The Big Day, the best day – ever! Just like the happy couple, we’re deeply invested, vowing to provide a unique San Diego venue for wedding ceremonies and small, romantic receptions. See below for our “Own a Hotel for a Day” info!

CORPORATE / RECEPTIONS / PRIVATE EVENTS
The Pearl makes a big impact for business and private functions. Night or day, our accommodations set the perfect tone, as guests benefit from stylish indoor and outdoor settings. Whether it’s a meeting or celebration for an individual, group or business team building, our hotel staff and event coordinator will ensure a smooth, satisfying result.

OWN A HOTEL FOR A DAY
With food, beverage and hotel room packages starting at just $10,000.00, you can have up to 150 people join you for a private event at The Pearl. Contact sales@thepearlsd.com to learn about your dream day in San Diego.


Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 165 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 21, 2017

Good place for some good food and fun. It is kinda loud but fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2017

First time for me at lunch, could really use some Hash Browns on the menu, and How about toast.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Service was disappointing, food was great. Server forgot to put in our appetizer. Food that we did get was delicious. Best experience is sitting at the bar, even if you are on a date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

A fun spot to chill and have a cocktail or a bite to eat or on some nights watch the movies they project over the pool. Mid century modern decor

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Good food and a cute place to have dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I came here out of curiosity. We were always driving past it when I was working for the Navy. When we arrived there was such a nice quiet vibe with ambiance. That all ended about an hour later when the obnoxious group of people came in cursing up a storm. This place is perfect for the mid week dates. No matter how much money you have, you cannot buy class. People need to act their age, not their shoe size. If we go back, it will be on a slow night. The food was ok but overpriced.
The drinks were really weak and lacked the flavors advertised.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2017

Show up for brunch, you will be treated to a fun music scene with DJ, and the bottomless mimosas are always nice! Although the menu is small, options are strong.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

This place has great styling, music and coffee. And bottomless mimosas for Sunday brunch! The food looked good but the frittata was undercooked. The service was friendly but slow and we were never given salt/pepper, condiments etc so need to ask. I'd check this place out just for the cute interior and vibe but fingers crossed they lift their game on the food side. Would also love to see them use real cream rather than the fake canned stuff. It's the little things that make the difference.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Fun Easter brunch next to the pool on a warm sunny day. Birds were chirping and music was flowing in the background. Perfect chill setting, Bloody Mary on point and delicious crispy bacon. Our server Dani was outstanding--super positive attitude and very attentive and helpful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2017

great food, like the atmosphere, nice people... however the service was a little bit too long.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2017

We love The Pearl, it is so refreshingly unique! My only knock is that drink service was really slow, we waited 15 minutes to get our cocktails after being seated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

Fun, eclectic, funky place. Open air, overlooks a swimming pool, has outdoor movie screen. Delightful, attentive wait staff. Sign by pool and T-shirts give an indication of the zaniness of the place: "Booze & Swimmin' Don't Mix ... Prevent Accidents - Quit Swimming." A most enjoyable find!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2017

Brunch was tasty, service ranged from spotty to not good at all. With a ton of great brunch options in SD, I wouldn't come back here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Love the contemporary relaxed atmosphere. And the service was awesome ! Food was good but would appreciate a vegan entree choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

They have poolside seating and old movies. Great atmosphere, fun and family friendly. Lots of liveliness at the bar. They serve my favorite red zinfandel, Seghesio. The menu is always hip and creative, as well as having something for the hungry guy. The bacon wrapped dates are to die for. Service is friendly and competent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Reservation wasn't in the pearl computer. Drink group at bar were very noisy. Staff was great. Food was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2017

A last minute decision to grab a bite out turned into quite a good find. Cute retro decor. Old 1960's movie playing on multiple viewing screens around the outdoor pool. Quaint courtyard look and matching Craft cocktails. Yummy gf and veggie options.

Only two criticisms, they had really cool booth seating available but put us at a table under the stairwell. I didn't ask to be moved however as my brother liked the proximity to the heat lamps. It's still winter here in San Diego. And the second was my glass of champagne, Prosecco actually, was quite warm. I told the waitress but she didn't know what to do. At my husband's suggestion to bring ice to set it in, and pointed to the table next to us with a bottle of white wine chilling in an ice bucket ....she brought me a glass of ice to presumably plunk cubes into my drink. Needless to say, that didn't happen, but we didn't complain further. I'm all about speaking up, but with only half a champs glass left it seemed rather pointless. I definitely recommend this place. The brussel sprouts with jalapenos and bacon left a memorable impression, and clearly outweighed the other issues.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2017

The ambiance is very cool. Seating was outdoors by the pool, there was an old movie being projected. We had he bacon wrapped dates as an appetizer which was good. The meal was a bit on the pricey side as expected and was mediocre at best. I had the sea bass because it's usually one of my favorites. It was a very thin little fish with a few potatoes around it on a bed of like a corn slaw. Could have used some seasoning and I thought the portion was rather small especially for the price. My sister had the mushroom lasagna. Again it lacked seasoning. It was fair but don't think either of us is excited about eating there again. May come back for wine/apps sometimes because of the cool atmosphere. The service/waiter was great. Very attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was excellent! Drinks were also very tasty. We started with Brussels sprouts (highly recommend). Also loved my martini with strawberry and basil. I had the steak frites and bf had the burger. We were both pleased, the french fries were bomb.

It was chilly so they had the heaters going, but every now and then we were smelling gas/propane really strongly. It was becoming quite noxious so finally after a couple attempts the culprit was discovered and they turned one off and closed the tank all the way (it had been leaking).

Our server was wonderful and attentive as possible. I was able to make a special note on our reservation about it being our anniversary and our server actually brought us a surprise dessert compliments of The Pearl. Such a nice touch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was pretty good. Service and ambiance were great. Decor was lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and even better food! Ambiance isn't like other places and one of a kind!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 14, 2017

The price just isn't worth the service and food quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Such a cute place! Most seating is outdoors by their pool, and they show vintage flicks on the wall over the pool - most nights without sound, but once a week they play a movie with sound. Wine list is decent, all solid choices; great craft beer and cocktail list. Food is fun - all the appetizers are great. The mushroom lasagne entree is to die for! A really fun, laid back gem.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 22, 2016

We were given a gift certificate for this restaurant last year and wanted to try it on our trip to San Diego this year. The food was interesting and very tasty but were were not aware that the dining is mainly out doors. Unfortunately it was raining and cold which isn't the usual weather for San Diego. We had to wear our down jackets while eating!!! Great restaurant when the weather is good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

The staff at the Pearl was so responsive and professional. We felt so welcomed and cared for on the occasion of our 28th Anniversary. The food and drink were wonderful. The attention to detail by your staff made this a very memorable event. Thank you Pearl; we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2016

I must have driven by the Pearl 100's of times but last Friday was the first time I ventured in to meet a friend for dinner. Wonderful vibe, great food, full of friendly and happy people. I will definitely be back for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2016

Very cool atmosphere in a redone older hotel. Sit by the pool, possibly watch a movie on the big screen. The menu s varied and quite good. Definitely heading back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2016

We eat at Eat frequently and have literally never had poor service, and the food is almost always spot on! The servers often have great suggestions for wine or other cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

Great atmosphere! Super friendly servers! Great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a great dining experience! Our waitress was awesome, we were able to visit, and the wine recommendation was perfect. And the cocktails are special...Thank you for the complimentary biegnets, which we loved!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

My husband and I live in Point Loma, so this is a true 'neighborhood gem' for us, and we visit several times a year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2016

We had exceptional service during our 1 year anniversary! We appreciate the kindness and attentiveness of our waitress (I believer her name is Dani). This is definitely our go-to hotel for a relaxing vibe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 24, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Food was great. (although the cocktail glass I had was 90% full of an iceberg ice cube!) Negatives relating to the venue are mainly the severe lack of vehicle parking. Looks like there's about 10 spaces if you're an overnight guest at the hotel, but I ended up parking 3 blocks away on a side street.

Very happy to see the Gluten Free options, and the food we did have tasted great.

We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2016

This place has a cool modern retro vibe to it. The food was good and they had a nice variation of of dishes and drinks as well. The staff was very friendly and the movie during dinner was fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 20, 2016

"Exceptional Cuisine" at its BEST! .....describes this eatery

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2016

Such a great place. I have been wanting to go for years but we saved this for a date night. The food, ambiance, setting...all of it was great. Food was a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for!
They have a lot of events we will attend in the future. Definitely one for the bucket-list!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2016

The Pearl's staff is amazing. Dinner at 9:00 and they were still super nice and all smiles.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Happy we found The Pearl on trip advisor. Loved sitting by the pool watching an Elvis movie! We started with the cheese plate and cocktails. The pork tenderloin and the steak entrees were also delicious. Creme brûlée and something chocolate for dessert! A lovely evening!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 16, 2016

Where to start.
Food was good until a long hair was found mixed in with all the brussel sprouts, and our waitress just responds with "oops I hope it's not mine"
Was there for over 1 1/2 and was only able to get 2 drinks, and no food.
Horrible.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2016

Cool Southern California vibe, modernized beach feeling, interesting to see an old motel spruced up like this. Food was pretty good, burgers were a little over cooked, but the french fries were the best. Enjoyed the bloody marys. Only concern is that the music was a bit loud and the way they have the high seats close to the ceiling, your heads pretty close to the speaker so a little hard to talk if you are sitting at those tables. Cool music selection though.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5