About EAT at The Pearl

1410 Rosecrans Street
San Diego, CA 92106
View Larger Map

EAT at The Pearl features New American and California Coastal cuisine, friendly table service, and award-winning interior design. Executive Chef Todd Bencivenni calls upon his background in a variety of regional styles to create exciting and eclectic dishes from seasonal, local ingredients. Prepare to be treated to menus that invite you to indulge culinary whims from simple to sophisticated or classic to contemporary. Together, the spirited food and the mood in the dining room fuel an energetic and urbane atmosphere. EAT at The Pearl also features an intimate bar area to relax alone or await dining companions. Friendly and knowledgeable bar staff serves expertly-selected wines and beers, along with signature cocktails to prime your palate for our kitchen’s winning preparations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch (March-September)
Saturday: 10:00am to 2:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am to 2:00pm

Dinner
Monday-Friday: 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm

Bar
Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm to 10:30pm
Friday: 4:00pm to 11:30pm
Saturday 10:00am to 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Fenelon St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 226-6100

Website:
http://www.thepearlsd.com/

Entertainment:
DIVE-IN THEATRE: Every Wednesday, all-year round, The Pearl Hotel presents "Dive-In Theatre," a FREE weekly "cinema social" combining eclectic film selections, food and drink and light conversation. The event takes place outdoors at our poolside lounge and theater located connected to EAT at The Pearl. Scheduled films project onto a 10' x 13' foot projection screen with full sound, overlooking our vintage, oyster-shaped swimming pool. Showtime is 8:00 pm; Food served until 10:00 pm; and bar open until 11 pm.

BINGO NIGHT: Scheduled for the last Thursday of each month, BINGO night is a great way to unwind, bring friends together and win prizes! Limited to the first 40 people to RSVP. Check-in is at 8:30PM. Reserve you space at RSVP@thepearlsd.com with your name, phone, # of people, time, and if you want to join us for dinner! NOTE: BINGO dates are subject to change due to holidays and special events. Call 619.226.6100 to confirm dates.

Catering:
EAT at The Pearl provides amazing, hand-crafted food and beverage for your event, up to 150 persons. Our culinary team satisfies a variety of tastes with four-star, farm-to-table cuisine: tray passed and stationary hors d’oeuvres, action stations, carving stations and buffet. Also, enjoy 10 taps of local craft beer, eclectic wine lists and specialty cocktails. Our banquet menus are guides for customizing cuisine that’s magical and delicious.

Parking Details:
Limited on-site parking is offered at The Pearl to hotel guests only, when available. Parking costs are $10 per night. ½ price for Hybrid vehicles ($5). Restaurant diners can find ample parking in the area on the street without meters or time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Show your Car2Go membership card to get 15% of your restaurant bill! Car2Go charging and designated parking on site.

Executive Chef:
Todd Bencivenni

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDINGS & RECEPTIONS
The Pearl Hotel packs enough luster to make The Big Day, the best day – ever! Just like the happy couple, we’re deeply invested, vowing to provide a unique San Diego venue for wedding ceremonies and small, romantic receptions. See below for our “Own a Hotel for a Day” info!

CORPORATE / RECEPTIONS / PRIVATE EVENTS
The Pearl makes a big impact for business and private functions. Night or day, our accommodations set the perfect tone, as guests benefit from stylish indoor and outdoor settings. Whether it’s a meeting or celebration for an individual, group or business team building, our hotel staff and event coordinator will ensure a smooth, satisfying result.

OWN A HOTEL FOR A DAY
With food, beverage and hotel room packages starting at just $10,000.00, you can have up to 150 people join you for a private event at The Pearl. Contact sales@thepearlsd.com to learn about your dream day in San Diego.


EAT at The Pearl Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Point Loma ›

great for outdoor dining (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
fit for foodies (11)
See All
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (5)
romantic (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
special occasion (4)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

eat lunch on the patio by the pool

Dined on April 17, 2016

Cool Southern California vibe, modernized beach feeling, interesting to see an old motel spruced up like this. Food was pretty good, burgers were a little over cooked, but the french fries were the best. Enjoyed the bloody marys. Only concern is that the music was a bit loud and the way they have the high seats close to the ceiling, your heads pretty close to the speaker so a little hard to talk if you are sitting at those tables. Cool music selection though.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Dinner review

Dined on April 15, 2016

Third time here with a small group. Typically service is first rate but this time it was just kind of off. Waited to long to get acknowledged by waiter although he was professional when we did. Forgot drink orders and a few minor requests a few different times. Place offers a nice intimidate atmosphere yet is becoming a little worn.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a wonderful dinner. Our wait ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had such a wonderful dinner. Our waiter Jules was attentive, thoughtful, and extremely helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Had been wanting to try a meal at The Pearl for some time. Took the in-laws out. They aren't too adventurous when it comes to food but my partner and I like to try new spots and new creations. The Pearl was a perfect fit with a few traditional items scaled-up and a few interesting creations! Friendly and accommodating staff. Definitely want to go back and try the Tuesday evening with a movie sometime when we are back in San Diego

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and delicious!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fun and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always love The Pearl!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We may be biased since we chose to have our wedding here several years ago, but the Pearl never fails to impress. On our latest visit, the grilled octopus appetizer was the star of the meal - I could have licked the plate. Service is always impeccable as well. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

One of our favorites

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

What a throw-back - we love The Pearl. Great food and good service by poolside watching old movies on the big screen. Small and quaint but lively and fun. We always have a good time at The Pearl. Cool hotel as well.....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem! Great staff and excellent f ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Hidden gem! Great staff and excellent food.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Stayed at The Pearl; ate at The Pearl

Dined on January 19, 2016

Had the Brussel sprout appetizer and it was a large portion and excellent. Couldn't finish my burger and fries. Had nice warm drinks prepared by the guy at the bar who was very thorough. Was very loud for me I like it quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful little spot!

Dined on November 13, 2015

Great food & service. Complimentary birthday dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Good not as good

Dined on October 17, 2015

Food was not as good as past visits. Not sure if they had a change of chefs but very bland. Disappointed won't be going back.

food3
ambience5
service4

Good but a bit too expensive

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

Service and ambiance were great, but food seemed expensive for what we received. Portions are good size (if you don't want entrees all to yourself!), but there was something a bit wrong with everything ordered (pork belly good flavor but dry -- not sure how that's possible, farotto an interesting concept -- faro served like risotto -- but not much flavor, salad plain). an interesting experience overall though, and I would recommend it to others, and I would go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Wedding Reception

Dined on August 30, 2015

This was supposed to be an all inclusive wedding reception venue. It wasn't. My daughter had to do so much extra and we were so disappointed. The months and weeks leading up to the event were filled with food and beverage problems. The night of the reception went well except for the food line. For serving 150 people the table was far too short and one sided. People waited over an hour for dinner! The brunch was good, though.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice experience!

Dined on August 29, 2015

We met friends for a drink and dinner, and just stayed at our bar table for dinner. The service was excellent and the food was very good. Impressive that the owner/manager came over to tell us about the special winery dinners they've started doing monthly. We will be back to check those out. Our server was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive, as were the rest of the staff who helped. Very positive experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

great food and atmosphere, would recomme ...

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

great food and atmosphere, would recommend sitting away from bar d/t noise level if you are on a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Yusssss

Dined on August 22, 2015

We had such an enjoyable time. The service was excellent and so was the food and cocktails. We went for a friends 27th birthday, and the ambience was exactly what we were looking for, suave yet casual and the right mix of party. The retro feel is such a blast and it lends for intimate conversations, and our celebration hullabaloo. All the food is excellent too, we started off with the brussels sprouts, martinis and Fred and ginger (a Pimms cup and mule hybrid). Portion size was great- we continued to order cocktails and split small plats. Very enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

SOCAL feeling with excellent service & food!

Dined on August 15, 2015

Such a great place to take out of town guests. The open air restaurant with the view of the pool and more tables outside by the movie viewing screen make this a unique little place. The menu is all good especially that burger and the beet salad! I would not leave without trying the beignets...IF you have leftovers the beignets are even great when they are cold the next day. The staff is always friendly and makes great suggestions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Retro Fun

Dined on August 15, 2015

Campy and delightful retro setting. Menu was unique and innovative without being pretentious. Enjoyed all aspects of our dining experience. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience4
service1

Lackluster

vip
Dined on August 9, 2015

The food was bland and subpar. Mimosas were primarily orange juice and very little champagne, and they were warm. The service was absolutely horrid. I was very disappointed in the Pearl and will not be recommending this establishment to anyone, which is frustrating as I was hoping to use them for a work gathering!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Unique Restaurant/Unique Setting

vip
Dined on July 29, 2015

The Pearl restaurant is located within The Pearl Hotel, up against the edge of the pool, and into the bar area. A very cozy, casual and unique setting. A large projection screen located above the pool entertains with vintage movies and TV programs. The entire area is small and not capable of accommodating large groups. But don't let this scare you away, the food is very good. Had the steamed mussels, excellent. Had a "farmers salad" very good. Split the salmon entree, very good. Wine list is very good and the full bar produced my excellent Manhattan. Have been to The Pearl several times, never disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Long wait for drinks, not enough servers.

Dined on July 8, 2015

Much too long of a wait for our table that we had reserved. Even longer wait for first round of drinks. Then they forgot a drink on 2nd order. Poor communication between server/ hotel side, you work there, we asked for service, deliver it.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4

Brunch!

Dined on July 5, 2015

Second brunch here, I love the 12 (almost) bottomless mimosas, they never let your glass get past half way, even after you pay your bill! The menu has a fun and different twist on traditional brunch items. I got the chorizo biscuits and gravy, was delicious! My out of town guests loved it as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2

Average

Dined on June 14, 2015

Food was average. Service was slow but very nice and accommodating when she was available. The bottomless mimosas were basically orange juice in a plastic glass. The pool looked dingy but the rest of the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mid-century Modern Spot

Dined on May 10, 2015

Very cool looking hotel/restaurant/bar. We've been twice. Once, near Christmas. 3 of us sat in the bar, had a drink and dinner while they showed Miracle on 34th Street on the bar tvs and on the giant screen in front of the pool. The second, was for Mother's Day where 4 of us (including a wheelchair) ate outside near the pool. Casablanca was on the tvs. The music is a little loud for a Mother's Day brunch, but the service, atmosphere, food, and drinks are all great. Everybody had a good time. Cocktails are very good. So's the burger with smoked gouda. I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

We are returning customers, always have ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2015

We are returning customers, always have enjoyed all food and drink items, but this visit was a bit off. Pork chop was too dry , and the steak was in a sauce that was just ok.,and was much better when it was grilled w/ frites. Specialty cocktail at $11 was a Tequila, St Germaine and various other ingredients. Tasty, but served in a very small champagne type glass. Very small , actually very puny. I have come to expect a bit more at the Pearl. The Brussel sprouts were tasty, but the mussels are a bit strange with pineapple flavor in broth. A simple wine and garlic broth is preferable. We will return, but hope some of the menu is better. P.s. The service was very good as usual, and appreciated the courteous" thanks for dining "on the way out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We have eaten at the Pearl probably 10 t ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2015

We have eaten at the Pearl probably 10 times and always have a delicious outing. The mussels and delish as are the brussel sprouts. One of the best burgers in San Diego, always consistent. The retro atmosphere adds to the relaxing, and tasty experience! we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of variety

Dined on March 22, 2015

Food is consistently good. They change their menu with the seasons so sometimes you cant find an item from the past that you really liked, but the replacements are always fun to try. Their version of "The Best Burger" is still a great burger and the fries are always tasty. Nice spot to just relax and chat and enjoy some good food with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A SPECIAL LITTLE GEM

vip
Dined on March 22, 2015

Dining at the Pearl is like no other place I have been.Great menu;fun atmosphere;friendly staff.The new menu is fresh and delisious.The new Chef came out and asked how everything was....a very nice touch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

UNIQUE DINING EXPERIENCE

vip
Dined on January 23, 2015

Very good food, neat small location in the lobby and pool side of a boutique hotel. 50's movies playing on a large screen above the pool. To the meal: very good. The hamburger and fries excellent. Bone in pork chop also excellent. Appetizers: mussels a good choice, mushroom soup very good Service: excellent. We'll be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

They show movies on a big projector over ...

Dined on November 13, 2014

They show movies on a big projector over the pool. It's a great date night idea!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

Trendy Spot - Mediocre Food

Dined on November 6, 2014

Place is fun, a renovated Motel 6 that's more of a place to hang out. The beer was warm, the white wine was relatively warm and the food was cold with a unique (moreso odd) mixture of flavors. Great selections, more of a way to deliver. Place is fun to hang out at, the service is very good and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Returned for Another Great Dinner!

Dined on November 2, 2014

Had a wonderful mahi-mahi dinner here Saturday night. A unique spot with great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Fun dining at The Pearl

Dined on October 30, 2014

If you want to have fun, along with very good food and service, have dinner at The Pearl. Sit at the bar and chat with the locals and hotel guests. Reserve one of the cabanas for celebrations with friends. Enjoy the retro decor and the old movies and TV reruns. The atmosphere is lively without being riotous or deafening. The Pearl is definitely my favorite restaurant in Point Loma.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Different - fun little place

vip
Dined on October 4, 2014

This little funky hotel poolside nook had surprisingly good food. The watermelon salad with mint vinaigrette was unusual and very fresh. Also delicious: happy hour swordfish skewers served with heirloom tomato jam (small taste for $5). Old movies and TV shows (e.g. I Dream of Jeannie) are projected on an outside "screen" above the tiny pool (no sound). On Wednesday, they turn on the sound for "movie night". The service was very good and the noise level (6 pm on a Friday) was low - good for conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it

Dined on October 2, 2014

I always love coming here and watching the outdoor movies!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my Top 5 Favs in San Diego

Dined on September 27, 2014

The amazing food is only surpassed by the amazing staff. I still can't believe their happy hour specials are so reasonably priced, and the incredible selection of local beers on tap they have. My favorite go-to happy hour staples are: the peanut butter stout, a half dozen oysters (@ $1 each), and their brussels sprouts (not on the happy hour menu). A waiter once convinced me to try the basil crème brûlée, and it did NOT disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

About the noise level

Dined on August 28, 2014

I know in a bar atmosphere there is loud noise. But movie night noise level should be lower. I couldn't listen due to the loud noise level. Oh, there was the closed caption but I done want to be reading when I want to watch the movie.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Poolside movies while dining

Dined on August 14, 2014

Movies show at 8pm so if you book around that time, you can watch a movie while eating. Nice relaxing evening out particularly with such great weather!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful late night experience

vip
Dined on August 8, 2014

Watching a Steve Martin movie on the big screen while you float on an inner tube in a pool and drink and eat, what a concept. Even though I saw the movie sideways, and I wasn't in the pool, it was still good fun. The fried chicken was not great, and the waiter took it off the bill without me even asking. The Brussel sprouts were amazing: crispy with chunks of bacon. The mojito was okay. The cornbread was wonderful, but it would have been better with butter. For 9 p.m. on a Thursday, EAT was very active, which was nice. It was "bike-in movie" night, so there were many bikes outside. I suppose if you drink too much, you could always stay in the Pearl hotel that surrounds the pool. Easier than biking home in your swimsuit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, but they sat us poorly

Dined on August 7, 2014

We came for the "dive in theater." I made a dinner reservation over day in advance and then we got seated at a table in a section where you could not see the big screen. They didn't bring me a drink list and then ran out of the rosemary creme brûlée that I had been craving. We had asked early in our evening to be moved to one of the open tables for two in order to see the big screen if the other reservations didn't show. No follow up on that end and then no one ended up coming to sit at that table anyway, which was frustrating. The food was very good though and we enjoyed each other's company although we could not see the movie.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.