About East Thirty-Six

36 Wellington St E
Toronto, ON M5E 1C7
View Larger Map

The restaurant and bar concept at East Thirty-Six focuses on house-made ingredients for craft cocktails and a gourmet menu of shareable dishes. The kitchen prepares beautiful and affordable share plates - perfect for a casual after-work dinner or a carefully curated dining experience. Co-owner and mixologist Julien Salomone brings a wealth of experience to the beverage program; infusing syrups, tinctures and liquors in-house to heighten the stunning array of cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday : 11:30pm - 1:00am
Saturday - Monday : 4:00pm- 2:00am

Cross Street:
Wellington and Yonge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 350-3636

Website:
http://eastthirtysix.com/

Entertainment:
We have various DJs spinning every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Lots of street parking nearby, as well as several public parking garages.

Public Transit:
East Thirty-Six is a quick walk from both King and Union stations.

Executive Chef:
Brent Maxwell

Private Party Facilities:
East Thirty-Six is available for cocktail functions of up to 115 people and seated dinners for 65 people. Please contact us at info@eastthirtysix.com for more information and to request our private dining menu options

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: 6473503636x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spiced Ontario Peanuts - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Pork Caillettes - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
smoked sweetbreads - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Cauliflower - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Short Rib - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Octopus - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Bone Marrow - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Pork Belly - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Bread and Butter - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Burrata - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON
Humboldt Squid - East Thirty-Six, Toronto, ON

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Monday $1 OYSTERS / COCKTAIL SPECIALS (4PM - 7PM)

Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 25, 2016 - Jan 22, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Monday $1 OYSTERS / COCKTAIL SPECIALS (4PM - 7PM)

Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 19, 2016 - Jan 18, 2017 on Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

East Thirty-Six Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
See All
Authentic (5)
Tapas (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great meal! Best lamb-burger in ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Another great meal! Best lamb-burger in town. Salmon was outstanding and cauliflowers was excellent.

Alex took great care of us with a perfect level of attention, great wine recommendation and overall friendliness.

This restaurant is a real gem.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails and small dishes. But w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great cocktails and small dishes. But with extremely loud music and people hanging around our table waiting for us to leave, I wouldn't classify this a restaurant. Strange because I used to visit here regularly and as far as i knew (and what is on the website) is that there is a DJ there on friday and saturday nights but I was there on a thursday and it was a full-on club vibe. I thought maybe when happy hour was over it would turn back into a restaurant but nope. Would not recommend if you expect to be able to talk with anyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great cocktail list but the food menu is ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great cocktail list but the food menu is limited and portions small for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Simply outstanding. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Simply outstanding. Service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing. Food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eliza (sp?) was awesome again, food terr ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Eliza (sp?) was awesome again, food terrific. Looking forward to getting back next month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful from the food to th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely wonderful from the food to the ambience and the staff .

Killer music while we were eating was a pleasant surprise .

I would recommend it to all my friends

Robert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place to eat if you want something ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to eat if you want something a little different

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal, pre theatre. Bone marr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed our meal, pre theatre.

Bone marrow app is fantastic.

Will be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food well prepared and presented, compri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food well prepared and presented, comprising of very good quality ingredients - salmon with lentils was exceptional. Service was fine - nothing noteworthy positive or negative. Wines by the glass were also ok but could be better quality and/or more interesting. Overall great place for pre-theatre. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great cocktails ... refined, sensuous, e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great cocktails ... refined, sensuous, essential, vibrant... really good work!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came during our Honeymoon. Great serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We came during our Honeymoon. Great service, great food, and great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic evening at East Thirt ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a fantastic evening at East Thirty-Six and all four of us agreed that we would visit again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! Incredible music! Fantast ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Amazing place! Incredible music! Fantastic food and great service! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was varied, interesting, and flavor ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was varied, interesting, and flavorful. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. Excellent experience for a group of foodies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I reserved a table here because it is cl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I reserved a table here because it is close to the theatre. Food and service were fine but the music was thump loud . Other patrons didn't seem to mind so I didn't complain but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Host was excellent and made us feel very ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Host was excellent and made us feel very welcome. Meal was tatsy and the dishes showed creative flair. An awesom dinner we really enjoyed. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was delectable from start to ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our dinner was delectable from start to finish. Our server Alexa was gracious and a delight. She guided us through the menu so we had just the right amount of food.

Sunday night was 1/2 off the wine list so we enjoyed two bottles; '14 McManis Viognier and '13 Clos Du Val Zinfandel both from California. We enjoyed peanuts with smoked paprika, and cayenne and warm olives with garlic. Fries with crispy chicken skin and lemon aioli. cauliflower with brown butter hazelnut and parsley, burrata with heirloom tomatoes. The highlight was the bone marrow with chicken liver parfait and the lamb burger with smoked onion and goat milk Gouda....dessert was lemons custard and a chocolate ganache.... Oh my ... Can't wait to go back!!!

Thank you East Thirty-Six for a lovely evening....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions were bigger than I thought. Exc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Portions were bigger than I thought. Excellent food! Very original and the prices were reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and drinks. The cocktails ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic food and drinks. The cocktails are wonderful creations, and the sharing plates allow for great pairings. A great spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice feel to the bar / restaurant comb ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

A nice feel to the bar / restaurant combination. Martinis (sans vermouth) were a really good surprise. The lamburger was great and the fries were done just right - crispy, but not crunchy and good dips on the side. We went here before catching a game at ACC and it worked out perfectly.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The drinks menu had a great selection an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The drinks menu had a great selection and the food was original and wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very European looking which ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The place is very European looking which creates a very pleasant atmosphere. The place wasn't to busy and both servers and bartenders were paying a lot of attention to us. The cocktail selection is unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a great experience overall... the wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not a great experience overall... the waiter was clearly too busy serving the one customer next to the bar

Cocktail was bad and although we were one of the first customers there food took forever to come.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We went for summerlicious and the food w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went for summerlicious and the food was disappointing (the favours do not compliment each other. e.g. Tuna with olive source - the taste of olive totally oVerrides the taste of the tuna, cucumber gazpacho is too sour, the source on top of the steak would be better on the side as it doesn't quite go with the steak ). Some items were ok, like the mushroom lasagna and pate. Given that None of the Items on the summerlicious menu are on the regular menu, Maybe just ordering from the regular menu will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Really enjoyed summerlicious at East Thi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Really enjoyed summerlicious at East Thirty-six. Service was outstanding and the food very good. The chicken melted in your mouth. And the lemon custard divine. Noise level was perfect for conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time here for Summerli ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my first time here for Summerlicious, and I wasn’t blown away. The Gazpacho was like eating dill cold soup….. the texture was nice and smooth but it was just too dilly. I liked the crudo with the nice radish and I wished I’d ordered it. My main was mushroom lasagna and it didn’t remotely look appetizing when it came out but it was really good. It had tonnes of large mushrooms in it and the sauce had a nice cheesy mushroom flavour. I really liked the mix of the peppery arugula as well. The chicken was okay. It had nice texture, but I found the chimichurri a little overpowering with cilantro. Dessert was really good! The delice was like a slice of almost chocolate fudge so rich with that texture. The caramel sauce was really good and there was actual salt on the plate. The only down was there was some olive oil on the plate that greasy and unappetizing. The lemon custard was so extremely good. It was a nice thick consistency in a cute little jar and the macadamia on top were really tasty. The people though were really nice and I might try the regular menu again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great lunch. The Summerlicious menu was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great lunch. The Summerlicious menu was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Summerlicious menu was so-so. The co ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The Summerlicious menu was so-so. The cold cucumber soup tasted more like cold pickle soup. That said when the server realized that I did not eat it, offered me another appetizer, which was fine. Salmon main was ok, nothing special. The chocolate torte dessert was awesome with peanut brittle sticking out, and yummy caramel sauce. Saved by dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The hostess was extremely accommodating ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The hostess was extremely accommodating with helping us celebrate our friend's birthday. The service was attentive and friendly, not pretentious or overbearing as one would assume from the lush decor. Would be ideal for a romantic dinner given the intimate space and the food was well-executed and well-timed to give us enough time in between to chat and enjoy our cocktails. Cocktails lean to the strong and dry side, very aromatic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great shareable plates and excellent ser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great shareable plates and excellent service all around

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reasonably good food, terrible service. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Reasonably good food, terrible service. We were ignored the entire meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great experience, the food combinations ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great experience, the food combinations and sharing style works really well. Each dish was unique in flavour and portions were well sized for a meal, loved the tastes. Very attentive and knowledgable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The fries were really good, not oily. We ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The fries were really good, not oily. We also had the lamb burger, bone marrowwwww and pork skewers. All very good. We liked their happy hour beer special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was quite good but the portions ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was quite good but the portions were small at this price point. We had the burger that was the special for the day and the gnocchi. The desserts were delicious and portions generous. Good service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was average

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Average food. The only thing that was good was the cauliflower and didn't have a great vibe. I won't be back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Great overeall experience.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, good for sharing. Great cocktails. Good music, not stuffy at all. Reminded me of being in Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was efficient and friendly. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was efficient and friendly. The food was exceptional and designed for sharing. Cocktails are varied and crafted expertly. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant in this neighborhood ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Favorite restaurant in this neighborhood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! Love the bone marrow and chick ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing!! Love the bone marrow and chicken liver pate!!! Wish there was more bread to eat the marrow... Everything is super tasty!! Highly recommend this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice suprise. Food served tapas style ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 1, 2016

A nice suprise. Food served tapas style. Flavors rivaled some of the more well known restaurants. We were there on a quiet, rainy Sunday night so not sure how noisy it would be normally. A great value aa price was about half of the big name places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.