Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About East Thirty-Six

The restaurant and bar concept at East Thirty-Six focuses on house-made ingredients for craft cocktails and a gourmet menu of shareable dishes. The kitchen prepares beautiful and affordable share plates - perfect for a casual after-work dinner or a carefully curated dining experience. Co-owner and mixologist Julien Salomone brings a wealth of experience to the beverage program; infusing syrups, tinctures and liquors in-house to heighten the stunning array of cocktails.

36 Wellington St E
Toronto, ON M5E 1C7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday : 11:30pm - 1:00am
Saturday - Monday : 4:00pm- 2:00am

Cross Street:
Wellington and Yonge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 350-3636

Website:
http://eastthirtysix.com/

Entertainment:
We have various DJs spinning every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Lots of street parking nearby, as well as several public parking garages.

Public Transit:
East Thirty-Six is a quick walk from both King and Union stations.

Executive Chef:
Brent Maxwell

Private Party Facilities:
East Thirty-Six is available for cocktail functions of up to 115 people and seated dinners for 65 people. Please contact us at info@eastthirtysix.com for more information and to request our private dining menu options

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: (647) 350-3636

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

East Thirty-Six Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Happy Hour (9)
See All
Tapas (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was great but the service was extremely poor - slow and inconsistent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

great cocktails, food was good - nothing special.
would recommend more for drinks and finger food than dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely best cocktails in Toronto and their customized drinks on request were even better! Food is sincere and creative, can't have enough of kimchi fries and bone marrow. Service tops most of restaurants on King West, accommodative and open-minded. Hidden gem among all pretentiousness in dt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place if the food suites your taste, I loved it girlfriend not so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food is designed for sharing so each menu item is quite small. We really liked the taste and presentation of the food. I especially liked the kimchi fries. This restaurant is definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall good experience. Best dish was likely the calamari. Apparently wine is half price on Sundays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The servers here are always really great - knowledgeable, quick and courteous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for valentines day and they had some valentines day specials. The menu does not give too many options (which I usually love) - but when the options aren't that great, the limited selection backfires.

Had the duck - it was too salty and too fatty even for duck. I would not recommend the duck again.

Cauliflower was awesome. Good for drinks and a few small snacks after work.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great food. Always like the ambiance of the place

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

WE went for Winterlicious. It was fantastic! I had a chilled char dish for my entree, and honestly didn't think I was going to like a cold fish, but it was fantastic! Very creative. Service was great also. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. Will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Incredible cocktail list goes way beyond expectations! And the food! WOW! Best flatiron steak cooked perfectly! Came for Winterlicious dinner but coming back for more soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great ambiance and service. Very helpful staff. Food great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and lovely atmosphere, service from the host and servers was just OK not great, but there was another individual that was walking around ensuring everyone was happy and doing well (guessing the owner), which was nice. Would highly recommend for the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I suppose most people come here for drinks. Their food is ridiculously salty. I could barely eat it. And it wasn't just my entree that was riddled with salt, all the other dishes were equally as high in sodium. Wouldn't recommend going their just for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We booked East-36 for their Winterlicious lunch menu. All three courses were delicious from the cauliflower soup to the chicken confit to lemon custard. It was a great value, nice ambience and above all, sophisticated comfort food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went in for Winterlicious and had their special. Roasted cauliflower soup, flat iron steak, and chocolate delice. Fantastic food. Quality was superb and service was attentive and knowledgeable
Definitely going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've been there twice, but this time wasn't nearly as good as it was. I was disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Over the years, we have had many Winterlicious dinners and East Thirty-Six ranks among the top.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

went here for winterlicious 2017- order the flat iron steak entree as medium rare. it was amazing! only thing would be the noise- the DJ was unnecessary amidst the crowd. when i entered i think there wasnt enough space as well.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My friend and I had a very disappointing experience. The service as poor, as we were often sitting unspoken to for over 20 minutes at a time and eventually waved servers down to be spoken to. The food was also extremely disappointing and to us, unappealing. The wine was corked, and the food just tasted off. We did not finish the two plates we ordered and were hoping the kitchen would forget about the third plate we ordered because we were so disappointed by the first two. We asked for our bill as soon as we could (by waving down a server). Would not recommend and would not go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great venue downtown, great food options to share between people. Decor was nice and cocktails were very good! Will be coming back to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

East 36 and all their staff never cease to amaze me! One of my favorite spots in Toronto.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another great meal! Best lamb-burger in town. Salmon was outstanding and cauliflowers was excellent.
Alex took great care of us with a perfect level of attention, great wine recommendation and overall friendliness.

This restaurant is a real gem.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great cocktails and small dishes. But with extremely loud music and people hanging around our table waiting for us to leave, I wouldn't classify this a restaurant. Strange because I used to visit here regularly and as far as i knew (and what is on the website) is that there is a DJ there on friday and saturday nights but I was there on a thursday and it was a full-on club vibe. I thought maybe when happy hour was over it would turn back into a restaurant but nope. Would not recommend if you expect to be able to talk with anyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great cocktail list but the food menu is limited and portions small for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Simply outstanding. Service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing. Food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Eliza (sp?) was awesome again, food terrific. Looking forward to getting back next month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely wonderful from the food to the ambience and the staff .
Killer music while we were eating was a pleasant surprise .
I would recommend it to all my friends

Robert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to eat if you want something a little different

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed our meal, pre theatre.
Bone marrow app is fantastic.
Will be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food well prepared and presented, comprising of very good quality ingredients - salmon with lentils was exceptional. Service was fine - nothing noteworthy positive or negative. Wines by the glass were also ok but could be better quality and/or more interesting. Overall great place for pre-theatre. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great cocktails ... refined, sensuous, essential, vibrant... really good work!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We came during our Honeymoon. Great service, great food, and great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a fantastic evening at East Thirty-Six and all four of us agreed that we would visit again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Amazing place! Incredible music! Fantastic food and great service! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was varied, interesting, and flavorful. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. Excellent experience for a group of foodies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I reserved a table here because it is close to the theatre. Food and service were fine but the music was thump loud . Other patrons didn't seem to mind so I didn't complain but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Host was excellent and made us feel very welcome. Meal was tatsy and the dishes showed creative flair. An awesom dinner we really enjoyed. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our dinner was delectable from start to finish. Our server Alexa was gracious and a delight. She guided us through the menu so we had just the right amount of food.
Sunday night was 1/2 off the wine list so we enjoyed two bottles; '14 McManis Viognier and '13 Clos Du Val Zinfandel both from California. We enjoyed peanuts with smoked paprika, and cayenne and warm olives with garlic. Fries with crispy chicken skin and lemon aioli. cauliflower with brown butter hazelnut and parsley, burrata with heirloom tomatoes. The highlight was the bone marrow with chicken liver parfait and the lamb burger with smoked onion and goat milk Gouda....dessert was lemons custard and a chocolate ganache.... Oh my ... Can't wait to go back!!!
Thank you East Thirty-Six for a lovely evening....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Portions were bigger than I thought. Excellent food! Very original and the prices were reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.