Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Biff's BistroBiff's Bistro
(2168)
$$$$
French | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 38 times today
CarismaCarisma
(542)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 30 times today
The Sultan's TentThe Sultan's Tent
(434)
$$$$
Moroccan | St. Lawrence Market, Toronto
Booked 7 times today
Uncle Tony'sUncle Tony's
(93)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 4 times today
Woods Restaurant & BarWoods Restaurant & Bar
(487)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 9 times today
Bravi RistoranteBravi Ristorante
(141)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 5 times today
Hot House Restaurant & BarHot House Restaurant & Bar
(618)
$$$$
Italian | St. Lawrence Market, Toronto
Booked 7 times today
Vagabondo Italian  Ristorante & LoungeVagabondo Italian Ristorante & Lounge
(531)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 3 times today
Real Mo-Mo'sReal Mo-Mo's
(34)
$$$$
Contemporary European | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 1 time today
Victoria's Restaurant @ The King Edward HotelVictoria's Restaurant @ The King Edward Hotel
(212)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 4 times today
Stori Aperitivo BarStori Aperitivo Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower
(16063)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 494 times today
Canoe Restaurant and BarCanoe Restaurant and Bar
(3187)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 102 times today
El CatrinEl Catrin
(2602)
$$$$
Mexican | Distillery District, Toronto
Booked 112 times today
Amsterdam Brewhouse & RestaurantAmsterdam Brewhouse & Restaurant
(526)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Harbourfront, Toronto
Booked 43 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About East Thirty-Six

The restaurant and bar concept at East Thirty-Six focuses on house-made ingredients for craft cocktails and a gourmet menu of shareable dishes. The kitchen prepares beautiful and affordable share plates - perfect for a casual after-work dinner or a carefully curated dining experience. Co-owner and mixologist Julien Salomone brings a wealth of experience to the beverage program; infusing syrups, tinctures and liquors in-house to heighten the stunning array of cocktails.

36 Wellington St E
Toronto, ON M5E 1C7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Tuesday : 4:00pm - 1:00am
Wednesday - Saturday : 4:00pm- 2:00am

Cross Street:
Wellington and Yonge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 350-3636

Website:
http://eastthirtysix.com/

Entertainment:
We have various DJs spinning every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Lots of street parking nearby, as well as several public parking garages.

Public Transit:
East Thirty-Six is a quick walk from both King and Union stations.

Executive Chef:
Brent Maxwell

Private Party Facilities:
East Thirty-Six is available for cocktail functions of up to 115 people and seated dinners for 65 people. Please contact us at info@eastthirtysix.com for more information and to request our private dining menu options

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: (647) 350-3636

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

East Thirty-Six Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Tapas (4)
See All
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great Birthday lovely Tuna and great staff, very friendly .............

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Fun and relaxed atmosphere spent for a birthday dinner with friends.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I was very impressed by this place. Unique cocktails and menu choices. Everything was delicious and the interesting menu selections provided a good variety. My faves were the beef tartare and the buratta plate, but you can't go wrong with any of the items.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Overall, amazing experience, except that I had a serious allergic reaction post meal. It happens, but what was upsetting was that I emailed the restaurant to get some details about what I ate so I could identify the cause, and they never bothered getting back to me.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wow! So lucky to have discovered this in "nearby" category on OpenTable. Loved the location across from a cozy little park and quirky/fun fountain. But the stars were the food and the servers. Very knowledgeable staff, worked well together. It was possible to ask any staff member for service and they were more than happy to oblige. Cocktails and wine were excellent and sharing plates were fabulous. Very innovative and flavourful dishes from starters through dessert. Not cheap, but you'll be pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity your receive for a mid-priced restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Such a cute little restaurant, with super delightful staff, and wonderfully amazing food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always delicious food and great service. Def recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food, great music/atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great downtown location with excellent food! Servings are manageable and you don't leave the place feeling bloated from overeating! Food was delicious although seating is a little cramped. Even here before and will be here again !

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 30, 2017

This is a neighbourhood spot for us and every time we dine there we wonder why we don't go more often. Food is always delicious and servers are always friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Shirt ribs
Kimchi fries
E36 tartare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

If you get the bone marrow ask for the luge of bourbon at the end! Recommended by our server. The food was delicious and unique just a little expensive. Definitely a place to check out for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

East Thirty Six was an unexpected surprise for a last minute change for a group of ten. The staff were wonderfully accommodating and the service, food and drink were top notch. An excellent value all around. Our group had a great time. My personal favourites were the kimchi fries and the bone marrow. Thanks for taking excellent care of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal before heading to the theatre. Happy hour on draught beer between 5-7 pm. Chicken confit was excellent as was the swordfish. Good variety on the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My first experience here was decent but my second not so much. The food took FOREVER to come out and then my fish was cold :(
The servers were very nice but they seemed to be very busy almost to the point that the restaurant seemed understaffed.
There are so many other great options in the city that I don't think I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great but the service was extremely poor - slow and inconsistent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

great cocktails, food was good - nothing special.
would recommend more for drinks and finger food than dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely best cocktails in Toronto and their customized drinks on request were even better! Food is sincere and creative, can't have enough of kimchi fries and bone marrow. Service tops most of restaurants on King West, accommodative and open-minded. Hidden gem among all pretentiousness in dt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place if the food suites your taste, I loved it girlfriend not so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is designed for sharing so each menu item is quite small. We really liked the taste and presentation of the food. I especially liked the kimchi fries. This restaurant is definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall good experience. Best dish was likely the calamari. Apparently wine is half price on Sundays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The servers here are always really great - knowledgeable, quick and courteous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for valentines day and they had some valentines day specials. The menu does not give too many options (which I usually love) - but when the options aren't that great, the limited selection backfires.

Had the duck - it was too salty and too fatty even for duck. I would not recommend the duck again.

Cauliflower was awesome. Good for drinks and a few small snacks after work.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great food. Always like the ambiance of the place

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

WE went for Winterlicious. It was fantastic! I had a chilled char dish for my entree, and honestly didn't think I was going to like a cold fish, but it was fantastic! Very creative. Service was great also. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. Will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Incredible cocktail list goes way beyond expectations! And the food! WOW! Best flatiron steak cooked perfectly! Came for Winterlicious dinner but coming back for more soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great ambiance and service. Very helpful staff. Food great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and lovely atmosphere, service from the host and servers was just OK not great, but there was another individual that was walking around ensuring everyone was happy and doing well (guessing the owner), which was nice. Would highly recommend for the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I suppose most people come here for drinks. Their food is ridiculously salty. I could barely eat it. And it wasn't just my entree that was riddled with salt, all the other dishes were equally as high in sodium. Wouldn't recommend going their just for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We booked East-36 for their Winterlicious lunch menu. All three courses were delicious from the cauliflower soup to the chicken confit to lemon custard. It was a great value, nice ambience and above all, sophisticated comfort food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Went in for Winterlicious and had their special. Roasted cauliflower soup, flat iron steak, and chocolate delice. Fantastic food. Quality was superb and service was attentive and knowledgeable
Definitely going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I've been there twice, but this time wasn't nearly as good as it was. I was disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Over the years, we have had many Winterlicious dinners and East Thirty-Six ranks among the top.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

went here for winterlicious 2017- order the flat iron steak entree as medium rare. it was amazing! only thing would be the noise- the DJ was unnecessary amidst the crowd. when i entered i think there wasnt enough space as well.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My friend and I had a very disappointing experience. The service as poor, as we were often sitting unspoken to for over 20 minutes at a time and eventually waved servers down to be spoken to. The food was also extremely disappointing and to us, unappealing. The wine was corked, and the food just tasted off. We did not finish the two plates we ordered and were hoping the kitchen would forget about the third plate we ordered because we were so disappointed by the first two. We asked for our bill as soon as we could (by waving down a server). Would not recommend and would not go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great venue downtown, great food options to share between people. Decor was nice and cocktails were very good! Will be coming back to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

East 36 and all their staff never cease to amaze me! One of my favorite spots in Toronto.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another great meal! Best lamb-burger in town. Salmon was outstanding and cauliflowers was excellent.
Alex took great care of us with a perfect level of attention, great wine recommendation and overall friendliness.

This restaurant is a real gem.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great cocktails and small dishes. But with extremely loud music and people hanging around our table waiting for us to leave, I wouldn't classify this a restaurant. Strange because I used to visit here regularly and as far as i knew (and what is on the website) is that there is a DJ there on friday and saturday nights but I was there on a thursday and it was a full-on club vibe. I thought maybe when happy hour was over it would turn back into a restaurant but nope. Would not recommend if you expect to be able to talk with anyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great cocktail list but the food menu is limited and portions small for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.