Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

East Thirty-Six

4.5
211 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Creative Cuisine
The restaurant and bar concept at East Thirty-Six focuses on house-made ingredients for craft cocktails and a gourmet menu of shareable dishes. The kitchen prepares beautiful and affordable share plates - perfect for a casual after-work dinner or a carefully curated dining experience. Co-owner and mixologist Julien Salomone brings a wealth of experience to the beverage program; infusing syrups, tinctures and liquors in-house to heighten the stunning array of cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary French / American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Tuesday : 4:00pm - 1:00am
Wednesday - Saturday : 4:00pm- 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(647) 350-3636
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sung Hyo Byun
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wellington and Yonge
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lots of street parking nearby, as well as several public parking garages.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
East Thirty-Six is a quick walk from both King and Union stations.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have various DJs spinning every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wine
What 211 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The perfect fun, friendly bar and bites! Good music and vibe. Brilliant selection of craft cocktails- excellent happy hour (4 hours) pricing, great choice of tasty bar bites and small plates perfect for snack or tapas style dinner. Tuna tataki amazing and love the $1 oysters we had on Tuesday. Perfect service from Eliza.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

The eggs Benedict was absolutely amazing.
Only thing was that my boyfriend asked a question, in regards to substitution, and the waiter was like “I don’t know... I guess that makes sense.. yea” when I asked if she had hot chocolate she again responded with “I don’t know let me check” I don’t know if she was new but that was horrible service. she didn’t even check on us to see if our food tasted good like every other restaurant I go to does - considering I myself work in this business, it is crucial. And I had to flag her down half the time for more mimosas. Still gave a good tip because the cooks in the back deserved it (hoping it gets split with them at least).

This rate was also based on my boyfriends review as I had asked him what to rate it claiming I was going to do 4 and he said “no it’s a solid 3). 🤷🏽‍♀️.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a pre-show dinner. Oysters were so fresh & delicious!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

I went to this place before going to a concert. The restaurant has a very nice ambience with also very tasty food. The only thing I was a little bit surprise was the service. It seems that the restaurant needs to level up their service to the customer. Our waiter took almost the whole night to search for the bottle of wine that we ordered to the point that we end up canceling it for only 2 glasses of wine. The waiter took for ever to take our order. The place was not full, probably even half full. So, there was no excuse to the level of service we got that night. We still pay a good tip, because the food and ambience was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Philippe was a great server. Very relaxed atmosphere with GREAT music and well priced cocktails. Food options on the sharing menu were very tasty and well portioned. Burrata should come with bread through :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Just amazing as per usual!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

As always, Julien and Sébastien make their guests feel very welcome, and appreciated. Food is phenomenal as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food and great service. $5 mimosas and caesars were great for Brunch. Also, finally a good brunch spot that takes reservations!!!!! No one likes waiting in line.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Give it a go, it is a great spot to get some great food in a great neighbourhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

So happy that they finally do brunch! The food is great as always, perfect service, and you can't beat 5$ caesars and mimosas!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The ambiance was nice. There was a real delay in getting our food. Which would be fine since we were a big group but everything was cold when it arrived.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had been there a number of times but this time we were very disappointed in the food. The bone marrow was very undercooked and cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Intimate and creative dining experience! Our St. Lawrence neighbourhood go to!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Went here for the first time with my husband on a Friday. The brussel sprouts and kimchi fries were fantastic. The short rib was just ok - all I could really taste was the charred exterior. Great ambiance and happy hour drinks though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Nice selections of trendy cocktails. Food dishes are very modern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I have frequented this venue several times now with both business associates/customers and friends and have always been impressed with the level of food and service. Their French fusion food is incredible and could recommend anything on the list. Their cocktails are also amazing, so if you are into that scene, you should check out this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 20, 2017

Great Birthday lovely Tuna and great staff, very friendly .............

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2017

Fun and relaxed atmosphere spent for a birthday dinner with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 22, 2017

I was very impressed by this place. Unique cocktails and menu choices. Everything was delicious and the interesting menu selections provided a good variety. My faves were the beef tartare and the buratta plate, but you can't go wrong with any of the items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 20, 2017

Overall, amazing experience, except that I had a serious allergic reaction post meal. It happens, but what was upsetting was that I emailed the restaurant to get some details about what I ate so I could identify the cause, and they never bothered getting back to me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Wow! So lucky to have discovered this in "nearby" category on OpenTable. Loved the location across from a cozy little park and quirky/fun fountain. But the stars were the food and the servers. Very knowledgeable staff, worked well together. It was possible to ask any staff member for service and they were more than happy to oblige. Cocktails and wine were excellent and sharing plates were fabulous. Very innovative and flavourful dishes from starters through dessert. Not cheap, but you'll be pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity your receive for a mid-priced restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2017

Such a cute little restaurant, with super delightful staff, and wonderfully amazing food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Always delicious food and great service. Def recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food, great music/atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2017

Great downtown location with excellent food! Servings are manageable and you don't leave the place feeling bloated from overeating! Food was delicious although seating is a little cramped. Even here before and will be here again !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2017

This is a neighbourhood spot for us and every time we dine there we wonder why we don't go more often. Food is always delicious and servers are always friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Shirt ribs
Kimchi fries
E36 tartare

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

If you get the bone marrow ask for the luge of bourbon at the end! Recommended by our server. The food was delicious and unique just a little expensive. Definitely a place to check out for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2017

East Thirty Six was an unexpected surprise for a last minute change for a group of ten. The staff were wonderfully accommodating and the service, food and drink were top notch. An excellent value all around. Our group had a great time. My personal favourites were the kimchi fries and the bone marrow. Thanks for taking excellent care of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal before heading to the theatre. Happy hour on draught beer between 5-7 pm. Chicken confit was excellent as was the swordfish. Good variety on the wine list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2017

My first experience here was decent but my second not so much. The food took FOREVER to come out and then my fish was cold :(
The servers were very nice but they seemed to be very busy almost to the point that the restaurant seemed understaffed.
There are so many other great options in the city that I don't think I'd go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great but the service was extremely poor - slow and inconsistent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2017

great cocktails, food was good - nothing special.
would recommend more for drinks and finger food than dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely best cocktails in Toronto and their customized drinks on request were even better! Food is sincere and creative, can't have enough of kimchi fries and bone marrow. Service tops most of restaurants on King West, accommodative and open-minded. Hidden gem among all pretentiousness in dt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place if the food suites your taste, I loved it girlfriend not so much

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is designed for sharing so each menu item is quite small. We really liked the taste and presentation of the food. I especially liked the kimchi fries. This restaurant is definitely worth a visit!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall good experience. Best dish was likely the calamari. Apparently wine is half price on Sundays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

The servers here are always really great - knowledgeable, quick and courteous!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for valentines day and they had some valentines day specials. The menu does not give too many options (which I usually love) - but when the options aren't that great, the limited selection backfires.

Had the duck - it was too salty and too fatty even for duck. I would not recommend the duck again.

Cauliflower was awesome. Good for drinks and a few small snacks after work.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great food. Always like the ambiance of the place

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by East Thirty-Six