About East Thirty-Six

36 Wellington St E
Toronto, ON M5E 1C7
View Larger Map

The restaurant and bar concept at East Thirty-Six focuses on house-made ingredients for craft cocktails and a gourmet menu of shareable dishes. The kitchen, run by Chef Brent Maxwell, prepares beautiful and affordable share plates - perfect for a casual after-work dinner or a carefully curated dining experience. Co-owner and mixologist Julien Salomone brings a wealth of experience to the beverage program; infusing syrups, tinctures and liquors in-house to heighten the stunning array of cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary French / American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday - Monday : 4:00pm - 2:00am
Tuesday - Friday : 11:30am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Wellington and Yonge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 350-3636

Website:
http://eastthirtysix.com/

Entertainment:
We have various DJs spinning every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Lots of street parking nearby, as well as several public parking garages.

Public Transit:
East Thirty-Six is a quick walk from both King and Union stations.

Executive Chef:
Brent Maxwell

Private Party Facilities:
East Thirty-Six is available for cocktail functions of up to 115 people and seated dinners for 65 people. Please contact us at info@eastthirtysix.com for more information and to request our private dining menu options

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: 6473503636x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

smoked sweetbreads
Spiced Ontario Peanuts
Pork Caillettes
Short Rib
Bone Marrow
Octopus
Cauliflower
Humboldt Squid
Pork Belly
Bread and Butter
Burrata

East Thirty-Six Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Tapas / Small Plates
Toronto / Ontario
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

fit for foodies (26)
romantic (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
good for groups (16)
special occasion (13)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (6)
business meals (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for summerlicious and the food w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for summerlicious and the food was disappointing (the favours do not compliment each other. e.g. Tuna with olive source - the taste of olive totally oVerrides the taste of the tuna, cucumber gazpacho is too sour, the source on top of the steak would be better on the side as it doesn't quite go with the steak ). Some items were ok, like the mushroom lasagna and pate. Given that None of the Items on the summerlicious menu are on the regular menu, Maybe just ordering from the regular menu will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Really enjoyed summerlicious at East Thi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyed summerlicious at East Thirty-six. Service was outstanding and the food very good. The chicken melted in your mouth. And the lemon custard divine. Noise level was perfect for conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time here for Summerli ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my first time here for Summerlicious, and I wasn’t blown away. The Gazpacho was like eating dill cold soup….. the texture was nice and smooth but it was just too dilly. I liked the crudo with the nice radish and I wished I’d ordered it. My main was mushroom lasagna and it didn’t remotely look appetizing when it came out but it was really good. It had tonnes of large mushrooms in it and the sauce had a nice cheesy mushroom flavour. I really liked the mix of the peppery arugula as well. The chicken was okay. It had nice texture, but I found the chimichurri a little overpowering with cilantro. Dessert was really good! The delice was like a slice of almost chocolate fudge so rich with that texture. The caramel sauce was really good and there was actual salt on the plate. The only down was there was some olive oil on the plate that greasy and unappetizing. The lemon custard was so extremely good. It was a nice thick consistency in a cute little jar and the macadamia on top were really tasty. The people though were really nice and I might try the regular menu again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great lunch. The Summerlicious menu was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great lunch. The Summerlicious menu was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Summerlicious menu was so-so. The co ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The Summerlicious menu was so-so. The cold cucumber soup tasted more like cold pickle soup. That said when the server realized that I did not eat it, offered me another appetizer, which was fine. Salmon main was ok, nothing special. The chocolate torte dessert was awesome with peanut brittle sticking out, and yummy caramel sauce. Saved by dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The hostess was extremely accommodating ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The hostess was extremely accommodating with helping us celebrate our friend's birthday. The service was attentive and friendly, not pretentious or overbearing as one would assume from the lush decor. Would be ideal for a romantic dinner given the intimate space and the food was well-executed and well-timed to give us enough time in between to chat and enjoy our cocktails. Cocktails lean to the strong and dry side, very aromatic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great shareable plates and excellent ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great shareable plates and excellent service all around

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reasonably good food, terrible service. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Reasonably good food, terrible service. We were ignored the entire meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great experience, the food combinations ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great experience, the food combinations and sharing style works really well. Each dish was unique in flavour and portions were well sized for a meal, loved the tastes. Very attentive and knowledgable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The fries were really good, not oily. We ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The fries were really good, not oily. We also had the lamb burger, bone marrowwwww and pork skewers. All very good. We liked their happy hour beer special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was quite good but the portions ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was quite good but the portions were small at this price point. We had the burger that was the special for the day and the gnocchi. The desserts were delicious and portions generous. Good service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was average

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Average food. The only thing that was good was the cauliflower and didn't have a great vibe. I won't be back

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Great overeall experience.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, good for sharing. Great cocktails. Good music, not stuffy at all. Reminded me of being in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was efficient and friendly. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was efficient and friendly. The food was exceptional and designed for sharing. Cocktails are varied and crafted expertly. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant in this neighborhood ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Favorite restaurant in this neighborhood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! Love the bone marrow and chick ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing!! Love the bone marrow and chicken liver pate!!! Wish there was more bread to eat the marrow... Everything is super tasty!! Highly recommend this place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice suprise. Food served tapas style ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

A nice suprise. Food served tapas style. Flavors rivaled some of the more well known restaurants. We were there on a quiet, rainy Sunday night so not sure how noisy it would be normally. A great value aa price was about half of the big name places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Superb spot that everyone should be talking about

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I went to this restaurant for the first time this past week and was surprised to find out it had been open for 2 years.

The menu has a great selection of French appetizers and mains with a good wine list as well.

For lunch, they pick one item that is on the menu each day and with a glass of wine or beer charge $20. The best deal in town! I had the Bavette Steak with house mustard, fried egg, mushrooms and fries (frites!!!) and were offered a lemon aioli to go with the fried. If offered, take it! It was light, fluffy, and very lemon.

I was so full from the lunch I only had room for a grapefruit for dinner at home that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2.5 stars

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

inattentive server (walked away while we were in the middle of ordering), left glasses empty, never checked in with us. perhaps they were shortstaffed?

really good music on a Friday night.

food was good but for certain items the portions were really small (ie. the octopus)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Awesome food and drinks. Best in the hood.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Best cocktails and tapas style food. Excellent service as well. Great value. Ocean wise cetufied fish program. The Chef knocks it out of the park every time.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went there for tapas with colleagues whi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Went there for tapas with colleagues while visiting Toronto for a meeting. Food was outstanding, waitress was awesome, and atmosphere was great. Would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second time here after a year. The q ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our second time here after a year. The quality of food and drinks are consistent and absolutely AMAZING. This place also has a great vibe and it is not annoyingly loud like most other restaurants in the city. We would go back anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great experience! The restaurant is charming and cozy. The service is just perfect. Since you are supposed to share the food, this is a place where you need a helpful server who can help you select the dishes that can please you and your companion. We had the meat caillete which was fantastic. We had the tuna in coconut milk, delightful. Finally, the lamb burger which was very flavorful. There was a couple two tables away from ours, and we heard them praise the food. I usually don't give the 100% rating on everything but this little gem got it all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas style dinner

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I went for lunch with colleagues once and returned with my husband for dinner. I was surprised the dinner format is completely different. They offer tapas style small plate sharing which seems to be the trend now. I do like it. Food is tasty but there were too many deep fried dishes on the menu. A few grilled seafood would be preferable.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Every staff member we came in contact wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Every staff member we came in contact with was accommodating and welcoming. Our server was super friendly and helped suggest some really well balanced cocktails. The food was delicious and perfectly timed (our favourite was the lamb burger). We look forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Meat course

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Each course was memorable except for the Steak course which I found high priced for the value! There was a lot of fat and some was too chewy for the price point. The salad and cauliflower were delicious as was the pickerel !

Thanks for the desert for the birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

service was fab...loved the cocktail rec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

service was fab...loved the cocktail recs and even custom created to my taste/preference!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Want a loud noisy busy restaurant, then come here

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We love the food. Our server was great. It was too noisy for us to hear each other though so we ended up eating quicker than normal so we can get out of there to be able to have an actual conversation. If the noise level was a bit lower, then it would have been a perfect evening. The tapas style food choices were good. Pricey but it's flavourful so we didn't mind. Try it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent cocktails, flavorful food, great service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had Valentines Dinner with my SO here a couple of nights ago. The host and wait staff were very polite, and never missed a beat (the place was fairly busy). I loved the food - we started with the sprout salad, then had some seafood dishes (scallops and squid), then finished with the short rib and Berkshire pork. Everything at E36 was served with the intention of sharing (i.e. tapas) which is one of the reasons I picked the place, and I loved each dish that we had, would recommend them all. The meat dishes were very strong in flavor, the short rib in particular being delightfully smoky, mmmm.

We finished with dessert - a chocolate thing and a lemon custard - both were good, small portions, and not too sweet.

The cocktails were superb. The bartender was not skimping out, and as I had a view of the bar, could tell he was making them with care, and patience.

I definitely recommend this place - it is a bit pricey, but the atmosphere is great, and service/food/drinks are all wonderful - a great place for a special night out, or just to go for some solid bevies.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful romantic evening

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day at East Thirty-Six with a dinner prior to a show at the Sony Center. The service was attentive without being overbearing, and the food was fantastic. The Berkshire pork belly and bone marrow with chicken liver parfait side were standouts. We're looking forward to trying some of the other items on the menu on our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Winterlicous Experience!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Went on Thursday, last day of Winterlicious. Greeted by very friendly staff. We were taken to our seat and asked for another table and they were more than accommodating. The food was delicious and the desert recommendation by the waitress was divine. The atmosphere was lively and the lighting created great ambiance. Would definitely visit again probably for a night out with friends or a date. The staff knows how to treat their customers and show that they genuinely care about the experience you have. Thank you for a lovely dining experience and hats off to the creative chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

The bartender, BJ and the staff are gems here. The ambience is nice and the people make the place =)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Very enjoyable Winterlicious meal.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Very enjoyable Winterlicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent all around

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great service, great food, great ambiance. Highly recommend and would go back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food but deafening noise level.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We here for the first time with friends. It's a very cute spot and the food was excellent, but I have to say the whole evening was spoiled by the extraordinary noise level. There seemed to be a lot of young people hanging around at the bar, so maybe that's what the issue was. But we couldn't even carry on a conversation at our table (which was at the back of the restaurant), so it wouldn't be a place I'd return to if you want to do more than just sit at a table and eat! Maybe we'll try it another time for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service could definitely be better e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

The service could definitely be better especially when the restaurant is part of Winterlicious event. The intent is for the client to come back to the restaurant - my friends and i just felt we were quite rushed throughout dinner when there was still plenty of empty tables left. Not very good exprience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

72-hours braised short ribs?

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

They claim the short ribs was braised for 72-hours. If that was the case my knife should easily flow through it. I still had to put some muscle into cutting the meat. The taste was delicious but the meat wasn't tender enough to make it seem like it was braised for 72-hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Strange ambiance

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Did not enjoy the ambiance in this bar/restaurant - we were seated in the back room that was very strangely decorated and loud due to a speaker directly overhead.

The food was ok but the ambiance ruined the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The location of the restaurant was easy ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The location of the restaurant was easy to find however, upon entering the premises, the dining area seemed really confined to one side of the building. There was no proper "waiting" area as we had to step aside every few seconds for people who were leaving, and people who were entering. The food was below adequate in my opinion as a lot of the options on the pre-fixe menu at the time had ingredients related to nuts which I am not a very big fan of. Everytime I was to receive a new course, I would be excited however, once I realized a nut related ingredient was added, I was turned off.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

I've been here a few times - once for lu ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I've been here a few times - once for lunch, and twice for dinner. The portions are adequate if you have a small to medium appetite (like me). My partner, who is a 5"10 man, did not find the portions to be enough. He stated that the grilled octopus, while delicious, was way too small and balked a bit at the price of the dish compared to the portion of octopus.

I found the food to be presented thoughtfully and to be generally delicious. The cauliflower is one of the best items on the menu (cooked in butter and herbs). The fries and gnocchi are also quite good. I would come back here again because of my small-to-medium appetite and the general good quality of the dishes. However, I don't recommend this place if you have a large appetite, unless you want to order two main dishes just for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.