Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Wildflower GrillWildflower Grill
(1376)
Wild Game | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Lazia Asian KitchenLazia Asian Kitchen
(1)
Asian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Outback Steakhouse - EdmontonOutback Steakhouse - Edmonton
(33)
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Sultan's Kitchen - NWSultan's Kitchen - NW
Reviews Coming Soon
International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - SkyviewThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Skyview
(83)
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Ernest's at NAITErnest's at NAIT
(545)
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
La BohemeLa Boheme
(91)
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Northern BBQ HouseNorthern BBQ House
Reviews Coming Soon
Chinese | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Colours Restaurant - Northlands ParkColours Restaurant - Northlands Park
(208)
Canadian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Tiramisu BistroTiramisu Bistro
(7)
Bistro | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Solstice Seasonal CuisineSolstice Seasonal Cuisine
(190)
International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Koutouki TavernaKoutouki Taverna
(446)
Greek | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Cibo BistroCibo Bistro
(250)
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now
Lazia Restaurant - DowntownLazia Restaurant - Downtown
(648)
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Reserve Now

About East Restaurant

16049 97 Street NW
Edmonton, AB T5X 6E4
View Larger Map

Our menu features street hawker fare inspired by the Malaysian capital Kuala Lumpur. It is a mix of Chinese and Malaysian cuisines, blending the tastes of both countries into unique dishes. EAST Restaurant is the place to be if you want to try delicious and unique "Old Town" Chinese Malaysian cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Malaysian, Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
97 Street & 160 Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 457-8833

Website:
http://www.eastedmonton.ca/

Executive Chef:
Nathin Bye

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

East Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.2

service

3.2

ambience

3.2

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (3)
fit for foodies (1)
good for groups (1)
See All
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant, waitress very nice & ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice restaurant, waitress very nice & food was great ! Will go back again this time to try dinner.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time I've ever seen my granddaught ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

First time I've ever seen my granddaughter ask for seconds! And she had seconds of all four dishes that we ordered!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service!

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

A lovely spot for lunch - our server was delightful!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great service

Dined on January 27, 2016

A table of five and we ordered different dishes to share. Waitress offered suggestions and advice. Food was excellent and fresh. Quantity was more than sufficient. Waitress was great and helpful. Overall a great experience. Restaurant and washrooms were clean and tidy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Hits home

Dined on December 23, 2015

Being a Malaysian, I was pleasantly surprised to find another Malaysian restaurant in Edmonton. I had previously thought Tropika was the only one in the city. Though it is a bit far from where I live (university), it was nice to have some quite authentic Malaysian cuisine. Going with a large group is definitely better as you can order more things to try without it being too expensive. So that said, the prices are a little expensive but good for a once in awhile thing- especially if I'm missing home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2

My first impressions of this place has m ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

My first impressions of this place has mixed feelings. I stood at the door for about five minutes when the restaurant was empty, with the exception of two tables. One lady sat by herself at the corner table, who turned out to be the server. She had made eye contact with me earlier and then look back down at her iPad. It was awkward as I stood there not knowing if I shall self seat or let these other diners look at me stand there. Finally she came over and seat me after what seemed to be too long. The rest of the evening was fine and food was delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great evening

Dined on October 25, 2015

This was our first visit to East and we found the food and staff to be excellent. The server was there when we needed her but let us dine in peace - just checking the right amount regarding food quality and refills for drinks, etc.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Staff Lunch

Dined on September 28, 2015

It was our first time there and we found the food, service and ambiance great. There were 10 of for lunch and some of our group were not very adventurous. We were supplied with menu's as well as a "picture menu" which was very helpful. We all work with children with Autism and found the picture menu helped us to see what every thing was on the menu and what it looked like. The portion sizes were abundant and each dish had its own unique flavor. Everyone in our group found something that they liked, even the picky ones. We would definitely go back, but if it is a lunch hour we would pre-order so as to make it back to work on time. I'm not saying that the kitchen was slow, we just took a while to order and thus we were a little late getting back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Odd location but phenomenal food. Defini ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

Odd location but phenomenal food. Definitely be back again and again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Never Dissapointed

vip
Dined on July 22, 2015

Good food, love the server, the dishes encourage sharing. I go to East several times a year for business lunches and dinners and my guests have always been very happy. I Have taken my primary school age daughter many times as well. If your child is adventurous with food this is a great place to introduce new foods.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Absolutely delicious food, served super fast

Dined on April 18, 2015

My wife and I decided to go out to East for a dinner while the kids were being babysat by the inlaws. East was within walking distance, so we took advantage of the beautiful evening to walk to this nondescript restaurant tucked in behind the Tim Horton's on 97st. The food we ordered was excellent - ginger beef that was "melt in your mouth" (I had no idea beef could do that) and our server recommended some shrimp/noodle dishes that were spicy but still flavourful. Absolutely would go back. The only downside is that the restaurant seemed a little too empty. It made me worry that they might go out of business, but perhaps it was just a quiet night when we arrived.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Place

Dined on March 20, 2015

The ambiance was quite nice and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The menu is great as you can see a picture of what you are about to order. Food was very tasty and the presentation was very well done.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice and welcoming

Dined on February 22, 2015

Food and staff was great. We stayed pass closing, lost track of time, staff didnt say anything. One menu showed you what the food looks like and it was pretty accurate

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful authentic experience

Dined on January 24, 2015

We had been struggling to find authentic Chinese food, particularly sezchuan food since travelling there earlier in 2014. East did not disappoint! Their food is flavor forward and they dont shy away from "texturaly challenging" dishes. Notable highlights include the Butter Shrimp, pumpkin tofu, Pork Belly "Napoleon" (succulent braised pork belly with a wonderful sticky sauce), wonton soup, etc....... The service was friendly, knowledgeable and extremely fast. A wonderful experience front to back. We have been twice now and will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5

The food was great and was presented ver ...

Dined on January 3, 2015

The food was great and was presented very well. The staff were friendly and I am looking forward to going back to try different dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

New Years Day dinner.

Dined on January 2, 2015

Book a reservation but apparently didn't need it. Hostess unaware of any. Lacked any real ambiance, service was good and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5

Nice food

Dined on December 26, 2014

The service was excellent and the food was OK. Great place for kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

After two visits to EAST I have to admit ...

Dined on November 2, 2014

After two visits to EAST I have to admit the food was wonderful, service was outstanding (next time I need to ask for one dish at a time, service was too prompt for me). Atmosphere was friendly, great decor, helpful and happy staff. We will be going again and again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

Dined on October 15, 2014

The food was fantastic, service was great. I was really surprised that this restaurant wasn't more busy when we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice

Dined on September 21, 2014

This is a nice, quiet place for lunch. They food was good and the service was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Better this time

Dined on September 19, 2014

Choosing some different items I got a much better experience. The spring rolls are still outstanding and very soft. The chicken wings are the best I've had in the city. I was too full for a dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional

Dined on August 22, 2014

Truly superb food, pleasant airy room, excellent and very friendly service. Consistently fabulous. The roti is addictive - crispy, flaky, chewy. You'll want to order extra to take home and enjoy later. Particularly recommend the butter oat chicken and butter prawns, but everything is fresh, perfectly seasoned, and simply but elegantly presented. The lemon iced tea is exquisite. My new favourite place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Omg, soooo good!

Dined on August 21, 2014

Food, service and ambiance were just awesome! Really delicious food and very friendly service! I definably recommend this restaurant! One of my favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Head north to East

Dined on July 28, 2014

Group of 10 for lunch, and not a single person that wasn't raving about the taste, presentation, and quantity of food. This is a great lunch spot. We wish it was a little more central, but a 15 minute drive from town will not disappoint.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Good food but feels a bit generic

Dined on July 27, 2014

There are interesting flavours in the dishes presented. It is a much shorter menu than a typical Chinese restaurant -- indicating the focus they are bringing to the table. So, you get unique dishes with unique flavours. Which is good. But, it feels a bit too much like a typical strip mall restaurant. I think this is a good place for an informal meal but is not a place for special dining or a deliberate event.

food5
ambience4
service4

Best find in Edmonton

Dined on July 6, 2014

We decided on East because our dinner companions raved about the food...they were so very, very right! We chose dishes we were not entirely familiar with, and each one hit a home run. Every dish was so signature and so fantastic, none of our table of 6 could choose a favorite (although we did always put the pork belly on the top 3). I think this has become my new favorite restaurant in Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

fathers day brunch

Dined on June 15, 2014

we have had take out at least 10 tiimes. it was our first time dining in and we had company with us. it was very very good. we enjoyed it all and will definitley be back for more.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

I have been trying to get to this restau ...

Dined on May 31, 2014

I have been trying to get to this restaurant since it opened. Finally made it there last Friday. Had a great time, food was original and delicious, service was friendly and prompt. The couple that we met there were just as pleased and where shocked to know a restaurant of this caliber is just down the street from their house, they didn't even know it. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food for price

vip
Dined on April 29, 2014

East has many interesting and classic Asian style foods to choose from -- stir fried and steamed are the methods of preparation. All are generous portions and meant to share for 2 or 3. At lunch you can get individual combo plates, but not at supper time. I would suggest that East provide knives at the table settings for helping to cut up their over sized veggies and meat dishes, or slice them into smaller bite sized pieces for those of us that use chopsticks. Excellent ginger tea - sweet and spicy at the same time. Parking can be challenging if coming during lunch or on weekends with Timmie's right across the drive. Best to park in behind the lot (Canuck Tire) and just walk around. $10-15 per dish & you'll probably have left overs.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food

Dined on April 19, 2014

This is fast becoming one of my favorite restaurants for Asian food. Amazing care in the food preparation and presentation. I am not a tofu guy, never liked it in anything, but this tofu was amazing and I will definitely order it again. I highly recommend you check this place out!

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Malaysian/Chinese Food!

Dined on April 18, 2014

This place is a winner if you are looking for delicious Malaysian/Chinese food in a restaurant that offers a casual atmosphere and very good service. We started with the Curry Soup and the Duo of Spring Rolls (both were fantastic). We shared the flavourful Szechuan Chicken and the Beef Rendang, with lots of food to take home as leftovers. We are so glad that we found this restaurant will definitely return.

food3
ambience4
service4

I was impressed with the restaurant

Dined on March 22, 2014

I was impressed with the restaurant.We went there with our 4 kids. Even though it is not really a kid friendly restuarnt. They made the children feel welcome

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Worth a try

Dined on March 15, 2014

We tried this restaurant after someone recommended it to us. Our party of six really enjoyed the food and will definitely recommend it to others. The service was good and the server recommended some of the dishes for us to try. We would recommend the Scheuzan ginger beef and the naan bread with curry sauce. The seafood hot pot is also a must try if you are a seafood fan.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Service

Dined on March 3, 2014

A nice restaurant with good staff, the menu is extensive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Disapponted with my reservation

Dined on March 2, 2014

I booked my reservation about weeks ahead I guess. But on the exact day, i decided to call the restaurant to move it 30 mins later and added more people as our plans that day changed. We got into the place 30 mins late of my booked time, so when I approached the waitress she said she already gave away our seats. So i was disappointed.Because of that my guests had ti wait 30mins to ger seated. I understand that it was busy that night, but I believe I deserved being informed atleast or asked before they gave the seats away.. But overall, my friends who I invited for my birthday was happy with the food. Thanks!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3

It's gotta be good!

Dined on March 2, 2014

I was impressed with the food and how each plate had their own flavors. So unlike many Chinese restaurants, where it seems the cooks tend to use the same spices regardless of what the dish is. We had the highly recommended pork belly but I found that although the flavor of the sauce was great, the actual pork was just deep fried bacon and scant. The silver noodles, stir fried vegetables and the 3 flavor ribs were fantastic, as was the daily soup we ordered which was a curry soup. Flavors are wonderful and very individual per dish. It was a pretty busy night, so service was slow, so it wouldn't be fair to comment. They held their own. I would very much recommend this restaurant and I definitely will be going back again.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3

Not what I expected

Dined on February 22, 2014

Firstly, I didn't think the restaurant would be in a strip mall so we were a little over-dressed for date-night. There were only two mediocre choices of wine, so we chose none. Our satay app was very dry and hard, overcooked, but the sauce was flavourful. Our shrimp dish was delicious though. Our meat dish was also tender and flavourful, but there was gristle in every bite, so it needed dissecting before you put it in your mouth. I found that tedious after a couple of mouthfuls. Overall, the meal was OK but I wouldn't go back.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service4

Enjoyed by All

Dined on February 21, 2014

6 of us returned to East Restaurant for our monthly supper. We were there about 2 years ago and both times, the food was outstanding. The Butter Oat Chicken and Silver Noodles were absolutely divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Obsessed with the Butter Prawns

Dined on February 16, 2014

Overall, I had a great experience at East :) The Butter Prawns were unforgettable!! Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

All the dishes we tried were

Dined on February 16, 2014

All the dishes we tried were super tasty and were every interesting (especially the 3 flavor ribs!). Highly recommended if you want to add some variety to your asian food selection

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.