Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.83mi
  3. Distance: 2.32mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi
  1. Distance: 1.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.83mi
  3. Distance: 2.32mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Cuisine & Wine Bistro - ChandlerCuisine & Wine Bistro - Chandler
(25)
$$$$
French | Chandler, East Valley
Steak 44Steak 44
(1568)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Central Phoenix, Phoenix
Booked 58 times today
Mastro's Ocean Club - ScottsdaleMastro's Ocean Club - Scottsdale
(2624)
$$$$
Steakhouse | North Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 31 times today
Benihana - ChandlerBenihana - Chandler
(1262)
$$$$
Japanese | Chandler, East Valley
Booked 34 times today
The HenryThe Henry
(1296)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Central Phoenix, Phoenix
Booked 37 times today
Chop ChandlerChop Chandler
(683)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Chandler, East Valley
Booked 1 time today
True Food Kitchen - ScottsdaleTrue Food Kitchen - Scottsdale
(363)
$$$$
Contemporary American | North Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 48 times today
elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountainelements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
(2376)
$$$$
American | Central Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 24 times today
Dominick's SteakhouseDominick's Steakhouse
(1072)
$$$$
Steakhouse | North Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 14 times today
Roaring Fork - ScottsdaleRoaring Fork - Scottsdale
(2213)
$$$$
American | Old Town Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 20 times today
White Chocolate Grill - ScottsdaleWhite Chocolate Grill - Scottsdale
(3144)
$$$$
American | North Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 32 times today
Eddie V's - Scottsdale QuarterEddie V's - Scottsdale Quarter
(2590)
$$$$
Seafood | North Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 7 times today
North Italia – Kierland CommonsNorth Italia – Kierland Commons
(1664)
$$$$
Italian | North Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 41 times today
Fat OxFat Ox
(270)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Central Scottsdale, Scottsdale
Booked 17 times today
Rusconi's American KitchenRusconi's American Kitchen
(1492)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Central Phoenix, Phoenix
Booked 15 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.83mi
  3. Distance: 2.32mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi
  1. Distance: 1.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.83mi
  3. Distance: 2.32mi
  4. Distance: 2.34mi

About Earnest

Earnest Restaurant is a popular spot for enjoying New American comfort food. The local and seasonal foods on the extensive menu at Earnest restaurant are all made from scratch. With upscale service and friendly staff, Earnest is a unique and modern atmosphere to gather with friends or family. Featuring a full bar and great selection of wine, guests are invited to stop in for cocktails, dinner, or just dessert.

From fried brussels sprouts to zucchini cakes covered in a champagne and crab hollandaise sauce, guests won�t be disappointed. Popular entrees chosen by repeat guests are the pork ribs and the pork belly grilled cheese. Earnest is also a hot spot for mouth-watering dessert. Many reviewers rave about the banana cream pie being worth a try.

4991 S. Alma School Rd Ste 1
Chandler, AZ 85248
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Chandler Heights Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 883-3773

Website:
http://www.earnestrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Williamson

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room comfortably seats 8 persons and has a 42" TV with audio-visual capabilities.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Morris: (480) 883-3773

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Sort By:
S
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 24, 2016

It was an emotional visit as the best restaurant in Chandler enters its final week of trading - superb as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2016

We had an excellent experience here but were shocked and disappointed to learn from our waiter that several adverse factors had converged at once and the owner had decided to close the restaurant at month's end. Sad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2016

So sad that we are losing this awesome restaurant in the East Valley!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Between the four of us, we had the Alaskan cod and wine-braised short ribs. Both were served to perfection and so delicious, I thought the plates would be licked clean. Save room for dessert as the banana cream pie is worth making room for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Braised short ribs fabulous. They know how to do fries. Loved it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Loved the service! Kind, considerate, and knowledgable about the menu. Great suggestions!

The short rib burger was perfectly prepared and seasoned. Loved the fries. My husband had the vegetarian pasta and added short ribs. Loved it! Portions are shareable.

Will be back to this neighborhood gem.🍸

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Food was excellent and waiter "Dee" was excellent but the bill was really too high. We were told our bottle of wine ($42) was half off and bill was doubled. So check your bill before you sign...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for the Valentines dinner on Sunday and had a great experience. We love this restaurant. It's so nice to have a high quality meal in the East Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The menu choices were perfect from the appetizer to the main course and of course the desserts. An extra was the wine selection which the waiter provided guidance on and was a perfect match for our dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service are always fantastic. We went on 2/13 as we have a Valentine's Anniversary. My husband hates onions and the Chef was so sweet and made a special onion free succotash for him even though it was a busy evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The timing of our dinner was poor. We received the appetizer with the salad and soup and were brought the main course before our soup and salad plates were picked up. We felt rushed! Dinner itself was very good except the whoopie pies were hard. The red wine was served in stemless glasses-we much prefer a stemmed glass. My husband had a second glass of wine and there was definitely less than what we expected- we said to each other that they had probably emptied the bottle and didn't want to open another one to finish giving him his glass of wine. We should have said something, but didn't. We've always enjoyed Earnests (Cork), but not this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Excellent in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 6, 2016

This is now the 2nd time I am giving Earnest a bad review…not that anyone seems to care cause nothing has changed there. the first time we went we had a pretty good experience. The send time it was horribly slow and we ended up canceling our food, corking our bottle, and going home to a frozen pizza. We thought we'd give it one last try last night for my daughters birthday. NO GOOD. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks and my food was barely warm. No more chances for Earnest….we give up.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2016

Quite possibly, the best restaurant dinner I've ever had. The braised short ribs were outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our evening started out a little shaky when they brought out my appetizer and forgot my wife's salad. Then they brought her salad and both our entrees. I sent back the entrees with instructions to the chef to re-fire them because I didn't want them sitting under a hot lamp drying. When the main course came they were perfect, hot and juicy.

Overall the food was great and our server was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We we so excited to go to Earnest since we loved going to Cork before its ownership transferred. I have to say we were both disappointed with the menu and choices. The fish was cod and honestly cod isn't a very exciting dish. The foi gras was delicious but that's the only dish that was tasty. Sorry to say we won't be in a hurry to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I went to Earnest with my wife and another couple to celebrate a birthday. It was our first choice to go because we have had wonderful meals there in the past. This time, unfortunately, our meals were of uneven quality and the service was slow and erratic. I hope this was just an unusual situation, but will wait for awhile before trying Earnest again. I love the concept, but the execution left a lot to be desired this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2016

What a charming staff! Great bartenders with genuine personality; sweet servers providing excellent suggestions, and without a doubt an excellent menu!

Highly recommend for date night ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2016

First time at Earnest...just wanted to try someplace new.
The wine list is extensive and they were happy to help us make a choice. Our waitress was very accommodating. Food was excellent! Portions were very large, and it just tasted good. Dessert was good too. I had the Bread pudding...just enough for me. Others had the Apple Crisp and noted it was excellent.
I will be going back again...great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2016

This was our first time at Earnest but will definitely not be the last. A new favorite find. We were celebrating my husbands birthday - the service was excellent and the food (including what we took home in doggie bags for the next day) was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2015

First time there, everything that we ordered was fantastic. Even the kids thought all of the food was the best they ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Cork was one of our favorites, now we tried Earnest, and like the new look and menu. Happy hour is very nice with a friendly bar tender. We had the Wednesday night fried chicken and it was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Loved it when it was Cork, as Earnest I think that it took a step backwards. Perhaps the problem was going on an event night, a wine pairing. My guest and I were not allowed to sit in a booth even though some booths had couples. Instead we were herded into a line of narrow tables, so close together that we had to turn sideways to pass between. There was no chance of a quiet intimate conversation.
Most national, family restaurant chains provide better service, although the waitress did try to sell up. After the food it took ten minutes just to get the waitress to take the check.
The food was as good as it was when it was Cork and the wine pairing was very nice, but that is about all that I can say that was positive. Maybe it would be better on a slower night. Having regularly enjoyed excellent food and a very nice dining experience in the past I am willing to try again and recommend Earnest. But if I walk into the same situation I will turn around and walk out and will not return or recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 5, 2015

It was so busy…which is great, but the service was sooooo slow and we just didn't feel that the server really cared . I know he was busy so that might have made him seem a bit aloof. My friend and I had two bottles of wine and ordered 4 dishes off the happy hour menus. It was all taking so long that we cancelled 2 of the 4 items cause they were just taking too long…oddly enough the salad was thing thing that was taking the longest. We let the server know we were a bit irritated and asked him to cork our wine and we came home and made something to eat here. I have been their once before and it was perfect…service food, atmosphere. So I begged my friend to drive across town to meet me there and then we were super disappointed. Everyone has a bad night but it would have been nice if the manager had come over and apologized or offered us a cocktail or something for the hassle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2015

There were ten of us (including boys 16- and four-years-old) there, celebrating our granddaughter's first birthday. We first enjoyed the Happy Hour and then moved to a table for dinner. All of the dishes we tried were excellent (as was the special cocktail!). The servers were very accommodating and friendly. We will return for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Fantastic! Very enjoyable evening for our party of 6. The private room was great so we were able to have a great conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 22, 2015

This is a special place. The food is fabulous and the bread and butter pudding is legendary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2015

My wife and I really like Earnest. We were there before they changed names and it was ok but the atmosphere is much better, the food is great and the service was impeccable. I didn't have to order a thing, our server took care of the cocktail, app, entree and wine pairing. Great experience and we are going back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2015

As always, amazing food and fantastic service. Try the Banna Cream pie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Everything we ordered was very good. Highly recommend the deep fried brussel sprouts and zucchini cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2015

I selected this place based solely on information found on Open Table site was new to the area. My wife and I both were very pleasantly surprised and pleased with the result. The food was very attractively prepared and utterly delicious. The service was attentive and helpful without being overbearing. The ambience was so relaxing that we soon forgot about everything and everyone else around us. We gladly make a return visit anytime we are in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Great date spot. I was impressed with appetizers (popcorn chicken, and deviled eggs) and the pasta and soup was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Wish it was open for lunch. But I had won a gift card and couldn't wait to try it out. We came here last when it was called cork for our anniversary. Food was yummy. Dessert was heavenly. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Very good food (delicious foie gras!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Their Mac and Cheese with bacon and mushroom was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Delicious food, spectacular presentation, wonderful service, great ambiance! I recommend the flat iron steak and the bread pudding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2015

My husband and I used to go all the time when it was Cork. We have been twice now that it has changed to Earnest. Little more relaxed atmosphere but the food is still spot on and the banana cream pie is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Disappointing service not typical of other times we've dined. Seemed like a bus load of 16 year old servers were dropped off to train. They tried but really not a match for the high food quality. Hope this was a blip not a trend! Pork chop, flank steak and cod dishes all amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2015

They were not exceptionally busy and we had a reservation, but still we waited over 20 minutes for the waitress to take our order. We waited over an hour for our food to arrive. The food was uninspired. My salad greens were wilted. I ordered a flat iron steak medium; I don't know what cut they actually gave me but it was too bloody. I just ate as much of it as I could stand (less than half) so that we could get out of there. Definitely not worth $80+ tip, won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2015

This was our 1st trip to this restaurant but it will not be our last. The food was delicious and fresh and well prepared and presented. Service was impeccable. It was so nice of Chef Danielle Morris to stop by our table to say hello as well. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.