HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Earnest

4.4
138 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Notable Wine List

Similar Restaurants

About

Earnest Restaurant is a popular spot for enjoying New American comfort food. The local and seasonal foods on the extensive menu at Earnest restaurant are all made from scratch. With upscale service and friendly staff, Earnest is a unique and modern atmosphere to gather with friends or family. Featuring a full bar and great selection of wine, guests are invited to stop in for cocktails, dinner, or just dessert.

From fried brussels sprouts to zucchini cakes covered in a champagne and crab hollandaise sauce, guests won�t be disappointed. Popular entrees chosen by repeat guests are the pork ribs and the pork belly grilled cheese. Earnest is also a hot spot for mouth-watering dessert. Many reviewers rave about the banana cream pie being worth a try.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(480) 883-3773
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Williamson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our private dining room comfortably seats 8 persons and has a 42" TV with audio-visual capabilities.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Danielle Morris: (480) 883-3773
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Chandler Heights Rd.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 138 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipNancyB (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a hard review to write. The food was amazing, and the space is beautiful, but there were serious problems. Our server DeAnna did her best, and I don't blame her at all, but it was an hour from the time we ordered a bottle of wine to when it actually arrived. Inexcusable. Every food item we ordered was excellent. Not sure what's going on but I hope they fix it.

Report
Helpful
Fordy (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on March 23, 2016

It was an emotional visit as the best restaurant in Chandler enters its final week of trading - superb as usual

Report
Helpful
TahoeDon (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on March 23, 2016

We had an excellent experience here but were shocked and disappointed to learn from our waiter that several adverse factors had converged at once and the owner had decided to close the restaurant at month's end. Sad.

Report
Helpful
Paul (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on March 22, 2016

My wife and I Just found this gem and it's sad to know they are closing. If you are reading this be sure to visit them before the end of the month.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on March 19, 2016

So sad that we are losing this awesome restaurant in the East Valley!!!!

Report
Helpful
vipjleewilson (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on March 12, 2016

Between the four of us, we had the Alaskan cod and wine-braised short ribs. Both were served to perfection and so delicious, I thought the plates would be licked clean. Save room for dessert as the banana cream pie is worth making room for.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on March 11, 2016

Braised short ribs fabulous. They know how to do fries. Loved it all!

Report
Helpful
vipRobin (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2016

Loved the service! Kind, considerate, and knowledgable about the menu. Great suggestions!

The short rib burger was perfectly prepared and seasoned. Loved the fries. My husband had the vegetarian pasta and added short ribs. Loved it! Portions are shareable.

Will be back to this neighborhood gem.🍸

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2016

We visited Earnest for our anniversary. Making a reservation was easy and we were seated right away. The restaurant wasn't terribly crowded on a Friday night, but it seemed that our server only had our table, and she went out of her way to make sure we felt like the only customers in the entire place, which was a nice touch. Her recommendations were fantastic, she was attentive and friendly. The food was AMAZING and the portion sizes were just perfect. At her dessert suggestions, I mentioned that I am sensitive to dairy and it seemed that all of the delicious sounding options were things I couldn't enjoy. She went back to the kitchen twice, without our asking, and came back with two dessert options they would be happy to make for us, non-dairy. I was so touched that she and the chef went out of their way to be accommodating. Though we opted not to have dessert at this time, I was quite impressed with the kindness offered and would absolutely return to Earnest again, and have already recommended it to many friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2016

This place was great all around. The service was was great and the food was excellent. I cannot wait to go back to try other items on the menu. They also had a fun well rounded drink list

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on February 23, 2016

Food was excellent and waiter "Dee" was excellent but the bill was really too high. We were told our bottle of wine ($42) was half off and bill was doubled. So check your bill before you sign...

Report
Helpful
EVFoodie (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for the Valentines dinner on Sunday and had a great experience. We love this restaurant. It's so nice to have a high quality meal in the East Valley.

Report
Helpful
dineinchandler (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu choices were perfect from the appetizer to the main course and of course the desserts. An extra was the wine selection which the waiter provided guidance on and was a perfect match for our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and service are always fantastic. We went on 2/13 as we have a Valentine's Anniversary. My husband hates onions and the Chef was so sweet and made a special onion free succotash for him even though it was a busy evening.

Report
Helpful
Wanda (Montana)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

The timing of our dinner was poor. We received the appetizer with the salad and soup and were brought the main course before our soup and salad plates were picked up. We felt rushed! Dinner itself was very good except the whoopie pies were hard. The red wine was served in stemless glasses-we much prefer a stemmed glass. My husband had a second glass of wine and there was definitely less than what we expected- we said to each other that they had probably emptied the bottle and didn't want to open another one to finish giving him his glass of wine. We should have said something, but didn't. We've always enjoyed Earnests (Cork), but not this time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10