Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Rock LobsterRock Lobster
(61)
Sushi | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Chop ChandlerChop Chandler
(521)
Steakhouse | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
The Wild Vine UncorkedThe Wild Vine Uncorked
(33)
Latin American | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Benihana - ChandlerBenihana - Chandler
(952)
Japanese | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
SanTan Brewing Co.SanTan Brewing Co.
(254)
American | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Charm Thai CuisineCharm Thai Cuisine
(9)
Thai | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Black Angus Steakhouse - ChandlerBlack Angus Steakhouse - Chandler
(428)
Steakhouse | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - ChandlerThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Chandler
(160)
Steakhouse | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Kona Grill - ChandlerKona Grill - Chandler
(194)
Contemporary American | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Shimogamo RestaurantShimogamo Restaurant
(97)
Japanese | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Kai | Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse PassKai | Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
(1310)
Southwest | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Bella Gusto Urban PizzeriaBella Gusto Urban Pizzeria
(13)
Pizzeria | Chandler, East Valley
Reserve Now
Thirsty Lion Gastropub & Grill - SanTanThirsty Lion Gastropub & Grill - SanTan
(72)
Contemporary American | Gilbert, East Valley
Reserve Now
Nico Heirloom KitchenNico Heirloom Kitchen
(119)
Italian | Mesa, East Valley
Reserve Now

About Earnest

4991 S. Alma School Rd Ste 1
Chandler, AZ 85248
View Larger Map

Earnest Restaurant is a popular spot for enjoying New American comfort food. The local and seasonal foods on the extensive menu at Earnest restaurant are all made from scratch. With upscale service and friendly staff, Earnest is a unique and modern atmosphere to gather with friends or family. Featuring a full bar and great selection of wine, guests are invited to stop in for cocktails, dinner, or just dessert.

From fried brussels sprouts to zucchini cakes covered in a champagne and crab hollandaise sauce, guests won�t be disappointed. Popular entrees chosen by repeat guests are the pork ribs and the pork belly grilled cheese. Earnest is also a hot spot for mouth-watering dessert. Many reviewers rave about the banana cream pie being worth a try.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Chandler Heights Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 883-3773

Website:
http://www.earnestrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Williamson

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room comfortably seats 8 persons and has a 42" TV with audio-visual capabilities.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Morris: 4808833773x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Earnest
  • Earnest
  • Earnest
Earnest
Earnest
Earnest
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a hard review to write. The food ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a hard review to write. The food was amazing, and the space is beautiful, but there were serious problems. Our server DeAnna did her best, and I don't blame her at all, but it was an hour from the time we ordered a bottle of wine to when it actually arrived. Inexcusable. Every food item we ordered was excellent. Not sure what's going on but I hope they fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an emotional visit as the best re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

It was an emotional visit as the best restaurant in Chandler enters its final week of trading - superb as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sadly, this place is closing at month end.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We had an excellent experience here but were shocked and disappointed to learn from our waiter that several adverse factors had converged at once and the owner had decided to close the restaurant at month's end. Sad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Going miss this one.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

My wife and I Just found this gem and it's sad to know they are closing. If you are reading this be sure to visit them before the end of the month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad that we are losing this awesome r ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

So sad that we are losing this awesome restaurant in the East Valley!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Between the four of us, we had the Alaskan cod and wine-braised short ribs. Both were served to perfection and so delicious, I thought the plates would be licked clean. Save room for dessert as the banana cream pie is worth making room for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Braised short ribs fabulous. They know h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Braised short ribs fabulous. They know how to do fries. Loved it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the service! Kind, considerate, a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Loved the service! Kind, considerate, and knowledgable about the menu. Great suggestions!

The short rib burger was perfectly prepared and seasoned. Loved the fries. My husband had the vegetarian pasta and added short ribs. Loved it! Portions are shareable.

Will be back to this neighborhood gem.🍸

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot, incredible customer service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We visited Earnest for our anniversary. Making a reservation was easy and we were seated right away. The restaurant wasn't terribly crowded on a Friday night, but it seemed that our server only had our table, and she went out of her way to make sure we felt like the only customers in the entire place, which was a nice touch. Her recommendations were fantastic, she was attentive and friendly. The food was AMAZING and the portion sizes were just perfect. At her dessert suggestions, I mentioned that I am sensitive to dairy and it seemed that all of the delicious sounding options were things I couldn't enjoy. She went back to the kitchen twice, without our asking, and came back with two dessert options they would be happy to make for us, non-dairy. I was so touched that she and the chef went out of their way to be accommodating. Though we opted not to have dessert at this time, I was quite impressed with the kindness offered and would absolutely return to Earnest again, and have already recommended it to many friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their food was excellent

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This place was great all around. The service was was great and the food was excellent. I cannot wait to go back to try other items on the menu. They also had a fun well rounded drink list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food at a price

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Food was excellent and waiter "Dee" was excellent but the bill was really too high. We were told our bottle of wine ($42) was half off and bill was doubled. So check your bill before you sign...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We went for the Valentines dinner on Sun ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for the Valentines dinner on Sunday and had a great experience. We love this restaurant. It's so nice to have a high quality meal in the East Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day Treat

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The menu choices were perfect from the appetizer to the main course and of course the desserts. An extra was the wine selection which the waiter provided guidance on and was a perfect match for our dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Anniversary

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service are always fantastic. We went on 2/13 as we have a Valentine's Anniversary. My husband hates onions and the Chef was so sweet and made a special onion free succotash for him even though it was a busy evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed with timing and wine

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The timing of our dinner was poor. We received the appetizer with the salad and soup and were brought the main course before our soup and salad plates were picked up. We felt rushed! Dinner itself was very good except the whoopie pies were hard. The red wine was served in stemless glasses-we much prefer a stemmed glass. My husband had a second glass of wine and there was definitely less than what we expected- we said to each other that they had probably emptied the bottle and didn't want to open another one to finish giving him his glass of wine. We should have said something, but didn't. We've always enjoyed Earnests (Cork), but not this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Could have been better

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Have to pay for bread but the bread was cold. Also it took a long time to actually order our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent in every way

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Excellent in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service and cold food

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This is now the 2nd time I am giving Earnest a bad review…not that anyone seems to care cause nothing has changed there. the first time we went we had a pretty good experience. The send time it was horribly slow and we ended up canceling our food, corking our bottle, and going home to a frozen pizza. We thought we'd give it one last try last night for my daughters birthday. NO GOOD. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks and my food was barely warm. No more chances for Earnest….we give up.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Night out on the town

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The restaurant was nice,, but the menu was very small. Food was very good, wine was good too. I would go back again but hopefully the menu will be expanded to offer more choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Quite possibly, the best restaurant dinner I've ever had. The braised short ribs were outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Turned out Good

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our evening started out a little shaky when they brought out my appetizer and forgot my wife's salad. Then they brought her salad and both our entrees. I sent back the entrees with instructions to the chef to re-fire them because I didn't want them sitting under a hot lamp drying. When the main course came they were perfect, hot and juicy.

Overall the food was great and our server was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We we so excited to go to Earnest since we loved going to Cork before its ownership transferred. I have to say we were both disappointed with the menu and choices. The fish was cod and honestly cod isn't a very exciting dish. The foi gras was delicious but that's the only dish that was tasty. Sorry to say we won't be in a hurry to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Date night gem! Upscale industrial ambi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Date night gem! Upscale industrial ambiance, with very pleasant, competent, attentive staff. Been here several times and always excellent appetizers, salads, entrees and deserts. Red wines from their list are always excellent. The chef is outstanding! Must try the deviled eggs, the brussel sprouts (no, really, trust me), the fried chicken, and the short ribs.

Ambiance will be 5 stars when they find less industrial chairs. The look is great, but in an upscale place with upscale food, I'd prefer a more comfortable seat. Certainly not a reason to stay away, as there are cushioned booths and a portion of the chairs are comfortably cushioned. Just go already!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Worst Experience

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Our experience this weekend at Earnest was the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant. They were clearly understaffed and overwhelmed. We waited over 35 minutes just to get a drink. We had to flag down a busser and ask him if he could send over a waiter. After the waiter finally greeted us, 25 minutes after we sat down, she took our drink order and 10 minutes later we asked the manager to check on them. The manager turned out to be the owner where she rudely said "it's only been 10 minutes since the order was put in...they should be right out". But they didn't come right out and 35 minutes after we sat down we got our drinks. The owner was unapologetic and really seemed to care less. It was at that point that we cancelled our appetizers and asked to pay our bill. We waited so that we could pay for our drinks but they never even bothered to bring our bill. We left 10 minutes after that just leaving money on the table. I would never not pay for what I ordered but they made it difficult to do that. I enjoy fine dining and can deal with a lot but I do expect some sort of apology and attempt to make things right. We received neither and were treated poorly. I would never give them one dollar of my money after our experience. They clearly do not care about their patrons. It is a shame because Chandler does not have that many restaurants that are not chains restaurants and I would always prefer supporting local owned restaurants but they sure make it tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unhappy surprise

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I went to Earnest with my wife and another couple to celebrate a birthday. It was our first choice to go because we have had wonderful meals there in the past. This time, unfortunately, our meals were of uneven quality and the service was slow and erratic. I hope this was just an unusual situation, but will wait for awhile before trying Earnest again. I love the concept, but the execution left a lot to be desired this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Good food and service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I was able to get a last minute reservation here on a Friday night. I will return to try more dishes. The Alaskan Cod was very good, as was the deviled egg app. The server was on top of everything, even a last minute change. Extensive wine list make this place a winner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a charming staff! Great bartenders ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

What a charming staff! Great bartenders with genuine personality; sweet servers providing excellent suggestions, and without a doubt an excellent menu!

Highly recommend for date night ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

No longer Cork

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Our first visit here since the change over from Cork to Earnest. Clearly borrowing theme from sister location BLD.

Thru dessert the wife and I were both pleased with the food.

Would have been nice if the waiter had introduced himself.

The only food disappointment was the dessert, crème brulee, topped with yummy peanuts and a nice crust (as it should) it was more a very tasty soup than a custard. Le Sigh.

Notified them that was wife's birthday so an acknowledgment (not singing) would have been nice as Cork used to do.

Oh well, no longer Cork.

Last note: the place has NO sound baffling. It was so noisy there I could almost not hear my wife most of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

First time at Earnest...just wanted to try someplace new.

The wine list is extensive and they were happy to help us make a choice. Our waitress was very accommodating. Food was excellent! Portions were very large, and it just tasted good. Dessert was good too. I had the Bread pudding...just enough for me. Others had the Apple Crisp and noted it was excellent.

I will be going back again...great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

This was our first time at Earnest but will definitely not be the last. A new favorite find. We were celebrating my husbands birthday - the service was excellent and the food (including what we took home in doggie bags for the next day) was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there, everything that we ord ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

First time there, everything that we ordered was fantastic. Even the kids thought all of the food was the best they ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nice upgrade from cork

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Cork was one of our favorites, now we tried Earnest, and like the new look and menu. Happy hour is very nice with a friendly bar tender. We had the Wednesday night fried chicken and it was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice neighborhood find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

The food quality matched the price. The food, service and ambiance were all very good. I would return to this location. Nice to have an upscale feel in this neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Retired

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Loved it when it was Cork, as Earnest I think that it took a step backwards. Perhaps the problem was going on an event night, a wine pairing. My guest and I were not allowed to sit in a booth even though some booths had couples. Instead we were herded into a line of narrow tables, so close together that we had to turn sideways to pass between. There was no chance of a quiet intimate conversation.

Most national, family restaurant chains provide better service, although the waitress did try to sell up. After the food it took ten minutes just to get the waitress to take the check.

The food was as good as it was when it was Cork and the wine pairing was very nice, but that is about all that I can say that was positive. Maybe it would be better on a slower night. Having regularly enjoyed excellent food and a very nice dining experience in the past I am willing to try again and recommend Earnest. But if I walk into the same situation I will turn around and walk out and will not return or recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

their were just too busy and possibly understaffed

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

It was so busy…which is great, but the service was sooooo slow and we just didn't feel that the server really cared . I know he was busy so that might have made him seem a bit aloof. My friend and I had two bottles of wine and ordered 4 dishes off the happy hour menus. It was all taking so long that we cancelled 2 of the 4 items cause they were just taking too long…oddly enough the salad was thing thing that was taking the longest. We let the server know we were a bit irritated and asked him to cork our wine and we came home and made something to eat here. I have been their once before and it was perfect…service food, atmosphere. So I begged my friend to drive across town to meet me there and then we were super disappointed. Everyone has a bad night but it would have been nice if the manager had come over and apologized or offered us a cocktail or something for the hassle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I traded emails with one of the owners p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

I traded emails with one of the owners prior to our visit regarding a special occasion. I thought we had a meeting of the minds, but the check came and nobody ever mentioned it. It was my wife's birthday, and needless to say, she didn't get to blow out a candle. I did get an apology the next day....the food and service were great, so life goes on.

Evidently NOT as they closed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We loved our meal at Earnest

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

There were ten of us (including boys 16- and four-years-old) there, celebrating our granddaughter's first birthday. We first enjoyed the Happy Hour and then moved to a table for dinner. All of the dishes we tried were excellent (as was the special cocktail!). The servers were very accommodating and friendly. We will return for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tony

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Fantastic! Very enjoyable evening for our party of 6. The private room was great so we were able to have a great conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite place in Chandler

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

This is a special place. The food is fabulous and the bread and butter pudding is legendary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Treated like a friend

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

My wife and I really like Earnest. We were there before they changed names and it was ok but the atmosphere is much better, the food is great and the service was impeccable. I didn't have to order a thing, our server took care of the cocktail, app, entree and wine pairing. Great experience and we are going back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.