About Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort

1500 Kicking Horse Trail
Golden, BC V0A 1H0
View Larger Map

Eagle’s Eye Restaurant is located at 7700 feet; the Summit of Kicking Horse Mountain. Hand carved tabletops; local timbers and stonework provide an elegant setting. Floor to ceiling windows frame panoramic views of the Rocky, Purcell and Selkirk Mountain ranges. The Rocky Mountain cuisine is complimented by an outstanding selection of Canadian wine and artisan beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wild Game, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Summer 2016
May 21st-23rd Lunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
May 28th - June 25th 11:30am - 2:00pm
June 26th - August 28th 11:30am - 4:00pm (3:00pm-4:00pm reduced menu)
August 29th - September 25th Mon-Thurs 11:30am - 2:30pm, Fri-Sun 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 439-5413

Website:
http://kickinghorseresort.com/summer-main/the-resort/eagles-eye-reservations/

Entertainment:
Over the winter season Eagle’s Eye plays host to a number of on mountain events; many of which include entertainment. Please visit www.kickinghorseresort.com to see the schedule for events and entertainment.

Catering:
Off site catering and private dining are available. Please contact our sales team to learn more. 1-800-SKI-KICK

Parking Details:
Parking is available at the base of the mountain. Your private chauffeur is the Golden Eagle Express, offering base to summit service!

Executive Chef:
Benoit Simoneau

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Lunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked
Golden
Best Restaurants in Golden ›

scenic view (31)
special occasion (25)
great for lunch (22)
See All
romantic (20)
good for groups (18)
fit for foodies (15)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (3)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Most stunning views of any restaurant I' ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Most stunning views of any restaurant I've ever been to

food4
ambience5
service4

Unique experience going up and down at n ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Unique experience going up and down at night in gondola and exceptional views from the restaurant. Best ambiance anywhere in the region.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dined on March 17, 2016

The was an amazing find, the highest elevation restaurant in Canada. The views of the mountains were like nothing I had seen before....amazing. The food was great, atmosphere and overall experience - top notch !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food / service The view was spectacular

Dined on March 12, 2016

I would recommend this for everyone. Family's during the day for great food and spectacular view (kids would enjoy). Staff at Eagle Eye were very comidating for family's. Prices are resonable for everything you get. I would most defiantly recommend this at night for a couples dinner. Very romantic, amazing food, spectacular views. Prices are very resonable for everything you get. Highly recommended for date night Waitress / cooks were very accommodating towards my food. allergies.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Caesar Salad

Dined on February 29, 2016

Next time I will offer my services to the chef to make an outstanding Caesar salad dressing - the dressing could use some work (no one ever leaves my house without asking me for my dressing recipe!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a fantastic lunch here. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. The view is breathtaking. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely dinner on a mountain top

Dined on February 21, 2016

They do a great job here. Although service was a bit slow to start, our server was attentive and pleasant as the night went on. It was quite full so they were busy. Eagle Eye signature salad is wonderful if you're in a salad mood. Duck duo really good. Bouillabaisse was pretty different; thick tomato puree with some scallops, mussels, shrimp, clams and a piece of fish. But the seafood was expertly prepared so I won't complain about the lack of broth and odd presentation. Chocolate brownie was amazing - stacked with a ganache layer in the middle, rich warm fudge sauce, black cherries, whipped cream - whoever makes their desserts certainly knows what they're doing! Can't write this review without mentioning the fabulous gondola ride at night (a little spooky with the wind blowing that night though) and the wonderful setting on the mountain top - so beautiful, it's an experience in itself.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High atop the Mountain

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great place to enjoy an upscale lunch while skiing Kicking Horse. Beautiful panoramic mountain views. Definitely a must do if skiing Kicking Horse or even if just in the area of Golden B.C.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great view! Overpriced.

Dined on February 14, 2016

View from this restaurant is amazing. Food was pretty average. Mussels were rubbery, elk burger was okay. Fries were good. Drinks very expensive ($20 for a glass of wine, 18$ for a Ceasar). Service was okay. Be forewarned, you need to purchase a lift ticket (10$ pp) if you just want to go up for lunch (ie. not skiing). They don't make it real clear on the RCR website.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Highly reccomend

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

No better place to have lunch and a beer. Food was great. Service was top notch. And you can not beat the view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely location to have dinner, the food and service were excellent. Relatively expensive but as a treat, well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Not really worth it

Dined on January 30, 2016

Great view. Amazing location. But the food is overpriced and bland. It could have so much potential.....

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Worth a visit.

Dined on January 28, 2016

The restaurant and view are fantastic, but the food was very disappointing, the pork poutine and fries weren't hot, just luke warm, maybe it was just late in the day at 2pm. The menu and food at the Double Black Cafe at the base of the gondola is superb, very fresh and vibrant, and much more enjoyable.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great view, Poor service and Food

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our group took the gondola up in the evening. The gondola ride was quite fun at night, definitely worthwhile to take the blankets that are offered as it can be quite chilly. The service was not quick - it took over 2 hours to get out meal. Food portions were small and extremely overpriced.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on January 24, 2016

Table for 4 at 630, tomato bisque was cold, bowl was much warmer. Lobster cake was delicious, elk venison duo was good but tataki was cut too thick and wasabi cream was glopped on in huge quantity. Dinner arrived while still eating apps. No follow up on apps or we'd have mentioned the soup. Lamb was good, if sparse, beef tenderloin was good but lobster was thumb sized and over steamed so stuck to the shell. Duck was over salted and boar bacon not present in either cassoulet, which were not hot either. All told it was a very disappointing experience especially considering the extremely high price tag. I don't mind paying for food, and a resort mountaintop will always be pricey but the food was a serious letdown.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

At the end of a great ski week

Dined on January 23, 2016

One of the highlights of our week long ski holiday at Kicking Horse is the Friday Evening meal at the Eagle Eye Restaurant. This Year did not disappoint! The food was excellent, The wait staff was friendly, and the overall experience was suburb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good.. but used to be great..

Dined on January 2, 2016

Food, service and ambience have declined over the years. The location is wonderful and food still pretty decent, but I noticed the following that detracted from my experience: - Significant (gut wrenching) sewage smell at the front entrance/washroom area - Fireplace has been converted from a well maintained and glorious wood hearth (complete with floor to ceiling stone chimney) to a neglected gas fire with fake logs in the centre of the room.. such a waste - Bun on my burger was dry and unsatisfying (used to be fresh baked daily!!) - Shocktop and Rolling Rock on tap at the top of a BC mountain??? What?? Such a missed opportunity to celebrate some Alberta/BC craft beer at the top of the Rockies.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

world class views and ceasers!

Dined on January 2, 2016

Fantastic spot for lunch or dinner. Spectacular views like nothing you can find other than in the Alps.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sky lunch option

Dined on January 1, 2016

A great value option is to purchase the gondola ticket with lunch. Several choices off the regular menu. Perfect for folks without a season's pass.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Eagles Eye restaurant - Kicking Horse resort.

Dined on January 1, 2016

It was great fun catching the gondola at night time to reach the top of the mountain but I'm afraid that was the only positive of the evening. The service was ok but the food a real disappointment . We had booked several visits for our trip but after our first visit we cancelled all our other bookings.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Unimpressed with booking process

Dined on January 1, 2016

I had booked a table for 6 people at Eagle's Eye Restaurant for Dec 31 (New Years Eve) through open table many weeks ago. The booking was approved at the time. On 29 Dec (2 days prior to our reservation), I received a phone call from the restaurant informing me that they were no longer able to honor my reservation and that they had changed what they were doing, having a "family style meal" at 5pm and a "gala meal" at 8:30pm. The gala meal was priced at $125 pp (inc tax + gratuity). This was most disappointing considering this New Years Eve meal had been planned for many months, and was our special meal of the holiday with my family from New Zealand. We did end up reluctantly booking in for the 8:30 pm gala meal (for 6 adults the family style meal would not have been appropriate), as it was now 2 days prior to NYE and we were unable to reasonably find a suitable alternative to this restaurant. Overall the food was good, but the service below expectations for the price. I suggest you contact Eagle's Eye with a strategy in mind to support a smoother booking process. This was most frustrating and disappointing. Sincerely, Hannah Weakley

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food to go with fabulous views

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Excellent service and food to go with amazing views from the top of Kicking Horse.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

december 2015 lunch

Dined on December 30, 2015

22nd anniversary, took our kids for lunch while skiing at Kicking Horse. reservations ensured a fantastic table, with stunning views and good food

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wow

Dined on December 30, 2015

Top of the world views. Nice spot. Allowed my wife who wasn't skiing that day to join the spectacular scenery up top with my daughter and I. Recc'd.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, service and location

Dined on December 30, 2015

You can't beat the location -- the view is out of this world! However, it's not just about the view as the service was great and the food imaginative. Try the truffle fries!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place in Golden

Dined on December 30, 2015

Excellent staff and food higher end. Fantastic location. Nice for lunch and a great ride up the mtn for the nite menu. Will return again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely worth every penny!

Dined on December 29, 2015

I would return here again and again if only I could...absolutely perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Very dissapointing for the price

Dined on December 28, 2015

Salad was great. Everything else was way too salty including the bill. The schedule was somewhat confusing, the staff polite but not cert helpful. Will not come back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant great food and atmosphere

Dined on December 26, 2015

Fantastic food always. Great drinks. Great atmosphere with amazing views. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The elk 2 ways was superb. Exceptional ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

The elk 2 ways was superb. Exceptional food, great service. Seats next to the window were a tad chilly. The gondola ride was also colder than expected so bundle up more than you'd expect to. We were given a small blanket for the ride which was a nice touch and did help. You need to go get special lift passes to go up (you cant use your ski ones) Slight confusion on this from staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Family Christmas night spoiled

Dined on December 26, 2015

On arriving at the restaurant after a gondola ride in -17 temperature we got told we may need to keep our coats on as the restaurant was cold. We ordered 4 drinks. 3 of which couldn't be provided, coffee machine apparently broken. The food arrived and was as cold as our gondola ride. This venue needs to provide a warming environment and cuisine fit for the price, on this occasion it failed woefully. Most of the family had traveled from the UK to be together for XMas and What was meant to be a family treat ended in tears, very disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

was extremely disappointed in the Christmas dinner for 40 per plate to expect an actual turkey breast only to be served pressed turkey meet canned gravy and a stuffing made from God only knows what. Although the lamb and elk steak the other party members ordered was of exceptional quality as well as the seafood the Christmas dinner was in very poor taste

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing and Expensive Experience with a View

Dined on December 26, 2015

We booked the Eagle's Eye restaurant prior to leaving Scotland for Christmas Dinner thinking that it would be a special occasion that we wouldn't want to miss. We were really looking forward to it having stopped in for a drink and snack whilst skiing the previous day. We were one of the first parties to arrive (5pm booking) so were surprised to be told that some of the menu items were not available. The staff were very friendly and apologised on numerous occasions for the time that it took for our food to be served, over 1 hour for the main course, and they kept saying that the chef wanted it to be "just right". Unfortunately, my son and I ordered the smoked turkey, which was cold when served, the accompanying Yorkshire pudding and stuffing was inedible and the potatoes, which arrived 5 minutes after the main course, were hard and cold. My husband had the fish pie, which contained more peas than anything else and didn't taste particularly nice and subsequently caused him to have a sore stomach all night and prevented him skiing the next day. The signature chocolate bomb was not available for dessert so we opted for the chocolate brownie, which was good, and the Crème Brule, which tasted ok but there wasn't very much of. We had a very average bottle of wine for $60 and a couple of speciality coffees to finish off. The whole meal took 3.5 hours to get through and cost $300 for the 3 of us, with only 1 starter, which we did not think was good value for money at all. We had planned to book for the New Year's Eve Gala event but decided against it based on our experience. We spoke to another British family who cancelled their booking for New Year's Eve based on their experience on a previous evening as well. The Eagle's Eye is in an enviable and stunning location but unfortunately the food is not up to the standard that I had expected given previous reviews that I had read before going there and I'm afraid that I am not willing to accept poor quality just for the view.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Top of the world

Dined on December 5, 2015

Sensational spot for a restaurant. The staff was upbeat and pleasant the food was awesome and I'm looking forward to going back to sample the full menu. The prices were very acceptable which was not expected for such a special spot. There are few spots in the world that are specia like this. I recommend all try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

A Golden Experience

Dined on September 26, 2015

A great place dine for any occasion or just to pop in for a pint at the bar.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

unfortunately it was foggy and raining t ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

unfortunately it was foggy and raining the day we were there, but I'm sure the scenery is fantastic! Food was good, our server was helpful with gluten free options

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Make this your choice as #1

Dined on September 16, 2015

The most important aspect of our visit was the warmth of our waitress (a very young Australian girl and I wish I could recall her name. She made the day (of course, the scenery and food were outstanding!)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a pleasure

Dined on August 17, 2015

My fiance and I took his parents to lunch here. It was their first time seeing the mountains, let alone dining at the Eagles Eye. The staff was pleasant, although it did take almost 5 minutes for someone to seat us, even with a reservation. We enjoyed the Alpine Special. It was delicious. Would recommend eating here, and you can't beat the view!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Eagle's Eye Review

Dined on August 16, 2015

Everyone in our group of 7 was very impressed with the presentation, quality, and taste of each of our lunches. The caesars and beers were also equally as delicious. The view, ambiance and service all were excellent, and the prices were fair considering the location and quality, especially when compared to the similar bill and far inferior meal we had at Peak's Grill down below in the village. Kudos to the chef, manager and our Aussie server for creating a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

I bought the package which included an e ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

I bought the package which included an entre and dessert. I was disappointed in the limited choice in meals. I ended up with a hamburger which somehow didn't go with the view.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.