About Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort

1500 Kicking Horse Trail
Golden, BC V0A 1H0
View Larger Map

Eagle’s Eye Restaurant is located at 7700 feet; the Summit of Kicking Horse Mountain. Hand carved tabletops; local timbers and stonework provide an elegant setting. Floor to ceiling windows frame panoramic views of the Rocky, Purcell and Selkirk Mountain ranges. The Rocky Mountain cuisine is complimented by an outstanding selection of Canadian wine and artisan beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wild Game, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Summer 2016
May 21st-23rd Lunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
May 28th - June 25th 11:30am - 2:00pm
June 26th - August 28th 11:30am - 4:00pm (3:00pm-4:00pm reduced menu)
August 29th - September 25th Mon-Thurs 11:30am - 2:30pm, Fri-Sun 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 439-5413

Website:
http://kickinghorseresort.com/summer-main/the-resort/eagles-eye-reservations/

Entertainment:
Over the winter season Eagle’s Eye plays host to a number of on mountain events; many of which include entertainment. Please visit www.kickinghorseresort.com to see the schedule for events and entertainment.

Catering:
Off site catering and private dining are available. Please contact our sales team to learn more. 1-800-SKI-KICK

Parking Details:
Parking is available at the base of the mountain. Your private chauffeur is the Golden Eagle Express, offering base to summit service!

Executive Chef:
Benoit Simoneau

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thank you for choosing Eagle's Eye Restaurant! This holiday season we will be offering a special five course dinner menu with entree and appetizer choices on the 25th and 26th only. This menu will be posted on OpenTable soon. Our regular menu will not be available at this time.

Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (4)
Seasonal (3)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great Beer (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining at 7,500 ft at the top of an outs ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Dining at 7,500 ft at the top of an outstanding ski hill. Food is fantastic, very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, People Watching, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most majestic, mesmerizing views fou ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The most majestic, mesmerizing views found nowhere else while enjoying the most delicious meals!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Five of us went for dinner and we were a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Five of us went for dinner and we were all very disappointed in our experience at Eagle's Eye. Most of the food was just adequate but one of our meals, the seafood pasta dish, was inedible. The prices are very high and the quality of the food did not justify the prices. Our server was also inexperienced and seemed confused most of the evening. For example, when pouring out the remainder of a bottle of wine that four of us were sharing, she forgot that she had already poured wine into one person's glass and forgot one person completely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Unique experience, very expensive for th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Unique experience, very expensive for the quality of food - the lamb chops were not good at all - the 3 other meals were good but not as good as other high end restaurants - none of the portions were filling, not very child friendly menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My wife and I visited the Eagle's Eye fo ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I visited the Eagle's Eye for dinner over the holidays. It was her fist time and I had not been for a number of years. We were both very impressed with the food (large portions for high end) and the service was also good (casual and approachable which was nice to find at a place like this). Appetizers were probably the highlight of the meal and top notch. The gondola ride in the dark was an interesting experience. We have been up it many times in the daytime skiing but in the dark it feels a bit unnerving – like you are all alone on a mountain in the pitch black. Wear warm clothes for that part in the winter season.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took almost 4 hours for our meal though ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Took almost 4 hours for our meal though it was 5 course meal. 2nd and rrd couse were scant and cold, and the main course was 90 min late. All they did for us, was comp us a 15 dollar bottle of wine. Dissapointing to say the least given price was 110 dollars a plate.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Absolutely the best ski restaurant in No ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely the best ski restaurant in North America. It's hard not to feel on top of the world when fine dining on top of an actual mountain with beautiful 360 degree views of the surrounding peaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Mountaintop views worth the price!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Mountaintop views worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The restaurant has nice decor, friendly ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The restaurant has nice decor, friendly staff and a view that is priceless! Unfortunately, my husband and I did not plan our lunch date very well and we were not very hungry. We did order something to split, sandwich and soup combo that was good. The Wild Horse and Gin Peaks Mountain Top Caesars were the best caesars we have ever had :) Make sure you give yourself enough time to go hiking and get some photos.......incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely staff, everything very relaxed, f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely staff, everything very relaxed, food excellent as was our wine and coffee. Had read that the food was expensive but compared to Banff, it was cheap!! Views to totally die for - amazing. Something you will always remember, so do make the effort and go up there.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at the Eagle's Eye Restaur ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2016

My experience at the Eagle's Eye Restaurant was outstanding!! The ride up and down in the gondola was incredible ( even saw a grizzly bear on the ride down!) and the view from the top is breathtaking!! Our lunch was lovely and the service exceptional - they even put together a special meat and cheese tray at our request. I recommend this experience for everyone! Take lots of pictures when you're "on top of the world" - a fantastic memory making day that won't be forgotten!! Cheers!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful scenery, excellent food and gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Beautiful scenery, excellent food and great service . Definitely would return.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a stunning view with amazing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, a stunning view with amazing food. I've dined here several times and always make a point of heading up the hill. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A must do if you are visiting in Golden ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

A must do if you are visiting in Golden BC and certainly a special occasion place for locals. This is not your everyday restaurant but part of the whole Kicking Horse country experience, including learning all about grizzly bears from Boo.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place to enjoy a special lunch w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Perfect place to enjoy a special lunch with fantastic views. Great food, good service in a relaxed atmosphere. Premium prices but good value when considering the location.

Summit salad with smoked salmon was delicious. After lunch perhaps enjoy a hike to the Stairway to Heaven lookout for even more stunning views.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Best dining experience we had in the Can ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best dining experience we had in the Canadian Rockies. Food was excellent, staff were courteous and the view was outstanding!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Travelling from France, we had lunch her ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Travelling from France, we had lunch here during our trip to Canada this summer. Fantastic 360° view but too cold to eat outside. Ask for a window seat!

Lots to see around with mountain biking and rock-climbing. The meal was not too expensive but you pay to take the Gondola which adds a chunk to the overall cost and being tourists, we took the option to go and see Boo the Bear as well. Bon apetit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We made a reservation for (our anniversa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made a reservation for (our anniversary) lunch. We were lead to believe that

there would be a ($10) charge for the lift up (this charge is waived for dinner bookings but

there was no dinner offered at this time). When we got to the cashier at the bottom of the lift

(after a 3.5 hour drive), we were told that the lift would cost $37.50 per person! We expected that the price of the meal would be higher than normal (and it was) but this just made our cost go from $44.29 for an average lunch to $119.79! Clearly, this did not "leave a good taste in our mouths". I'm still left shaking my head and thinking that there must be a mistake.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We arrived after 3pm and had to eat o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We arrived after 3pm and had to eat off of the limited menu. Very good food albeit a bit pricey. Service is lovely and we talked to

Our server about Boo the grizzly bear . We saw him in his pool on the way up in the gondola. The view is magnificent . Just breath taking . Highly recommended .

Our family from Chile were pleased to no end with their day. Everyone that works at Kicking Horse resort are so happy and pleasant. So nice to be looked after by such a wonderful group of people .

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My Australian relatives wanted to see th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

My Australian relatives wanted to see the Rockies, but they are not suited to strenuous hikes through the back country. Golden offers the ability for anyone of any fitness level to be delivered, via scenic gondola, to the top of the Rockies for an outstanding panoramic view and all the pictures you can take. I booked ADVENTURE PASSES + SKY LUNCH, so we took the chair lift to see Boo, and then took the gondola to the top of KH mtn. We had one of the best lunches ever at a corner table with a breathtaking (literally, after the hike) view. MY RELATIVES LOVED THE ENTIRE DAY, AND I LOOKED LIKE A GENIUS FOR BOOKING IT. You can't visit Kicking Horse resort without eating at this fantastic restaurant. You will want to bring all of your family & friends to this jewel in the Rockies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Given we were only the second table in t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Given we were only the second table in the restaurant after opening it would have been better if everyone's food came out at the same time. 2 got their food and it was a 15 minute wait for the next two to be served.

Why the wait. I hear it is a constant complaint.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

You cannot beat the view at 7700 ft. WOW ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2016

You cannot beat the view at 7700 ft. WOW. You can see all around the Columbia valley & Golden. This is one of a kind. Food (lunch) was very good. So was the service. Everyone friendly & helpful. Ambience is cozy & warm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great! What a view! Serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was great! What a view!

Service was a bit slow for a not so busy afternoon but overall great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Awesome experience! Food is good, servic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome experience! Food is good, service is excellent! Made my day! The visit to Boo's place is an bonus! Thank you Eagle eye's

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning location, 7,700 feet at the top ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Stunning location, 7,700 feet at the top of Kicking Horse mountain. A gondola ride to the top makes it a special experience for sure! Our waitress was genuine and lovely. I loved that we could order, then walk outside to look at the view, and come effortlessly back in to eat. An amazing experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate lunch here twice and on both occa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We ate lunch here twice and on both occasions the service was second to none with a very attentive waitress, the food was well presented and tasted great! Not to mention that spectacular scenery.

Will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most stunning views of any restaurant I' ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Most stunning views of any restaurant I've ever been to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique experience going up and down at n ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Unique experience going up and down at night in gondola and exceptional views from the restaurant. Best ambiance anywhere in the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2016

The was an amazing find, the highest elevation restaurant in Canada. The views of the mountains were like nothing I had seen before....amazing. The food was great, atmosphere and overall experience - top notch !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food / service The view was spectacular

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2016

I would recommend this for everyone. Family's during the day for great food and spectacular view (kids would enjoy). Staff at Eagle Eye were very comidating for family's. Prices are resonable for everything you get.

I would most defiantly recommend this at night for a couples dinner. Very romantic, amazing food, spectacular views. Prices are very resonable for everything you get. Highly recommended for date night

Waitress / cooks were very accommodating towards my food. allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caesar Salad

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 29, 2016

Next time I will offer my services to the chef to make an outstanding Caesar salad dressing - the dressing could use some work (no one ever leaves my house without asking me for my dressing recipe!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful place!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a fantastic lunch here. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. The view is breathtaking. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner on a mountain top

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2016

They do a great job here. Although service was a bit slow to start, our server was attentive and pleasant as the night went on. It was quite full so they were busy. Eagle Eye signature salad is wonderful if you're in a salad mood. Duck duo really good. Bouillabaisse was pretty different; thick tomato puree with some scallops, mussels, shrimp, clams and a piece of fish. But the seafood was expertly prepared so I won't complain about the lack of broth and odd presentation. Chocolate brownie was amazing - stacked with a ganache layer in the middle, rich warm fudge sauce, black cherries, whipped cream - whoever makes their desserts certainly knows what they're doing! Can't write this review without mentioning the fabulous gondola ride at night (a little spooky with the wind blowing that night though) and the wonderful setting on the mountain top - so beautiful, it's an experience in itself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

High atop the Mountain

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great place to enjoy an upscale lunch while skiing Kicking Horse. Beautiful panoramic mountain views. Definitely a must do if skiing Kicking Horse or even if just in the area of Golden B.C.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view! Overpriced.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

View from this restaurant is amazing. Food was pretty average. Mussels were rubbery, elk burger was okay. Fries were good. Drinks very expensive ($20 for a glass of wine, 18$ for a Ceasar). Service was okay. Be forewarned, you need to purchase a lift ticket (10$ pp) if you just want to go up for lunch (ie. not skiing). They don't make it real clear on the RCR website.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Highly reccomend

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2016

No better place to have lunch and a beer. Food was great. Service was top notch. And you can not beat the view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely location to have dinner, the food and service were excellent. Relatively expensive but as a treat, well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not really worth it

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Great view. Amazing location. But the food is overpriced and bland. It could have so much potential.....

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Worth a visit.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2016

The restaurant and view are fantastic, but the food was very disappointing, the pork poutine and fries weren't hot, just luke warm, maybe it was just late in the day at 2pm. The menu and food at the Double Black Cafe at the base of the gondola is superb, very fresh and vibrant, and much more enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great view, Poor service and Food

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Our group took the gondola up in the evening. The gondola ride was quite fun at night, definitely worthwhile to take the blankets that are offered as it can be quite chilly. The service was not quick - it took over 2 hours to get out meal. Food portions were small and extremely overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.