Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.16mi
  3. Distance: 3.06mi
  4. Distance: 3.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.16mi
  3. Distance: 3.06mi
  4. Distance: 3.08mi

About Dusty's Wine Bar

Dusty's Wine Bar is nationally recognized for its Contemporary American cuisine with a New World flair. Try our Seared Wild Alaskan King Salmon Filet with olive Tapenade and Lemon Oil over Creamy Truffled Grits or enjoy a 14 oz. Grilled Prime Grade NY Strip with Roasted Garlic Butter over Fresh Goat Cheese Potato Mash. select from 30 wines by the glass, enjoy a wine or scotch flight. Dusty's granite bar top is a wonderful accent to our casual bistro. Tables were hand-made from French wine crates, booth and chair seating is available. Dusty's Wine Bar offers many Tapas and daily specials. We are committed to providing the Lansing area with the Finest meats and Freshest seafood.

1839 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days & 7 Nights Monday thru Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Marsh Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 349-8680

Website:
http://www.dustyscellar.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking with plenty of lighting. Handicap parking near front entrance. Low curb wheelchair access by main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Cronin

Private Party Facilities:
Dusty's Tuscan, Napa and Bordeaux Rooms seat 6 to 44 guests and are elegant rooms for wedding celebrations, showers, birthday & anniversary parties. Comfortable and quiet for business meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Gillett or Billy Shreck: (517) 349-8680

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Dusty's Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The scallops were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great place to celebrate birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This place serves a fantastic filet mignon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Dusty's is always amazing! Their menu is always an eclectic collection of amazing dishes. A wonderful romantic restaurant with amazing food!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was good and reasonably priced. The service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Dusty's is a consistently good place to eat. The wait staff is attentive and the food is good as well as good value for the money. There are options, too, if you are gluten free or vegetarian. Overall, a really good dining experience when you're out with friends of on business.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our wait person was fantastic. Food was very good. They have a fresh tomato salad that was very good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I had the roast duck on the recommendation of the waiter. Duck is so easy to overcook but what I was served was done to perfection! I couldn't have been more pleased with the selection. My waiter went the extra mile, as well. Service was wonderful. Thank you,

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We don't get to the Lansing area that often but when we do, we try to carve out time to dine at dusty's. we started with the frites. The combination of garlic confit and garlic aioli made them garlic-ly delicious. The filet, potato croquettes and fondue spinach made for a great main course. The strawberry panne cotta was the perfect light desert finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food and service were stellar. Bar looked closed due to inadequate lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was phenomenal. Seriously great meal and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Sunday brunch was very enjoyable! The brunch menu included just a few specials, but our selections were well prepared, as were the cocktails.
To start, I chose the Bellini Martini, a perfect brunch drink. One of my tablemates chose the Mimosa, and while tasty, it was the smallest Mimosa we had ever seen!
My brunch consisted of two small crab cakes, each topped with a perfectly cooked poached egg and served with a couple of sauces and several pieces of bacon (which in my opinion were totally unnecessary). My tablemates each got the "hash", which they seemed to enjoy, but not as enthusiastically!
The restaurant was not very busy this holiday weekend, but the server was quietly attentive to our needs. Our coffee cups and water glasses were always filled!
The reader should understand, that when it comes to Dusty's, locals set a very high bar for performance--and Dusty's rarely disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ok, so this place isn't a recommendation of mine and I would say just pick someplace else. Food wasn't good, especially for the cost. Service was just like any bar or dinner and ambience is old. Mediocre food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Cold waffles, rubbery omelettes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I went to Dustys to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. It was quite easy to make a reservation for dinner online. There was a large graduation party on the porch in front, but we enjoyed a quiet, pleasant dinner in the dining room. The potato bacon soup and field greens salad were tasty. We both had beef; my tournedo could not have been more tender and Tom enjoyed the pub steak. We could not comfortably order dessert, so our server dressed up the usual brownie bites with whipped cream and white chocolate. It was a very special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We've been there many times, but this time the food was a bit off. Wondering if they got a new chef.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Dusty's has lost that special something that lured you back time and again. The food quality has become inconsistent and some menu choices don't make sense for the area. Drinks also are inconsistent and generally unimaginative. Stick with wine rather than cocktails and you'll enjoy yourself more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great food and wine. We celebrated our 7th anniversary and it was everything we expected. Great atmosphere and top-notch service. Will go back again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been to Dusty's before and always enjoyed their food. However, their Mother's Day brunch was bland and ordinary - absolutely nothing worth noting. I would not recommend going for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Dined here over 30 times but ...
Last two visits here were a disappointment not sure if we had a different chef but the food preparation was definitely a change for the worse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service, went above and beyond what a normal staff would do. An extensive wine list, sure to please anyone. Food was delightful and filling (no small portions here)!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Dusty's is becoming our new favorite in Lansing. Billy and his team are the most personable group, the food offerings and ambiance are always notable and we enjoy our time there immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to me by a business associate. I was very pleased with the food and service. I had an incredibly tender filet mignon with a very delicious spinach and cheese sauce. It is not very elegant inside but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a great time at dinner. The service was great and so was the food. However, it was a little loud at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We come to Dusty's frequently and have never been disappointed. In East Lansing, Michigan this is truly one of the best restaurants around for that very special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a lovely brunch here with my mother. It is one of her favorite spots to go since it is relatively quiet. The food is always good and the service was outstanding. They have a great wine list and fun cocktails for brunch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We made a reservation for our 6th anniversary, and were pleasantly surprised when we got there and the host acknowledged it! Then the waiter also told us Happy Anniversary when he got to our table. The food is very good; however, the waiter was so busy he forgot to bring a couple things and there was a period of time when we didn't see him for a while. We love the cheese fondue, and we got it with fries this time. The dinners are a little pricey, but they taste fresh and the atmosphere is very romantic. Overall it was a lovely experience, and we will definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Upon entering, Dustys has a cool shop with a huge variety of wine and beer, cheeses, desserts, and gifts. We loved looking around the store after our dinner! Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that he was quite slow. The food options are interesting, a bit over priced in my opinion. My husband had a $55 dry aged steak and it didn't impress him. The pork was a bit dry, at $36 I would expect a very juicy flavorful pork dish and it was neither. Regardless, our wine was delicious, we enjoyed the ambience, and would go again. It's a unique place. I would definitely like to check out their Tap room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We hadn't been to Dusty's in a while and thought it would be fun. We had a reservation, but the two ladies at our table in the dining room sat talking long beyond the length of their dinner, so the Maitre D' asked if we'd like the quiet back room or the fully warm sun room. While we might have wanted to tell the ladies to beat it, we chose the back room which was very nice. Our food was excellent. We split an order of haddock croquettes which were absolutely delicious. We considered just having another order of croquettes, wine and dessert, but the entrees were too good to pass up. My husband had a traditional Irish lamb stew which he really enjoyed, and I loved the maple glazed salmon over black pepper grits with green beans. I've had the salmon before and it's always great! I also had the flight of crisp white wines and really enjoyed them. The food is beautifully prepared and presented, delicious, and creative.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding! Can't wait to go back! The GM, Billy, and his staff are the most hospitable team in town!

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I love going to a wine bar when the wines are not overly priced and the food is great. I was taking my daughter to an MSU college tour and we had dinner there. The host and the wait staff were very friendly. The wine menu is good and far reaching and everything appears to be priced two times retail which is fair to me. The food was delicious and there is a variety of specials. Both my daughter and my main entree when presented were like works of art.

If you looking for good food and wine this the place to go. They also have a nice selection of half bottles of wine which you can't find everywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Living in the Royal Oak we have access to Hyde Park,Mable Gray,Roast and others. The food here was fine. At this price level I would expect the Chef to put a little wow on the plate.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfectly prepared meal! The salads & bread were fresh and tasty, our entrees delightful! Two of us ordered the hangar steak and loved it. The other diner in our group ordered the salmon. It too was expertly prepared & seasoned. The hangar steak and creamed spinach was a standout however. Can't wait to come back for more.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The servers all do an excellent job; please tell them thank you for me!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Still the top spot in the Lansing area for quality food, ambiance and service. we visit occasionally since Dusty's opened food service. A little pricey but never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My wife and I received a gift card for Dusty's from an incredibly generous relative. We used it to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary on 2/28/17.

And we could not have been more pleased! Everything from the front-of-house greeting thru the service and every food course was top-shelf. No rush between courses, and everything arrived at the table at the proper temp and prepared as ordered. The quantity of the mussel appetizer that my wife ordered was enormous. My Delmonico steak was as good as any I've had at any of the 'Big Name' steakhouses we've dined at. And our server was attentive, cheerful, and very well informed about the menu. We had no complaints, and we'll certainly return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The only thing I wish is that they had a few more creative vegetarian options other than cheesy pasta. For a fancy restaurant it, its menu lacks creativity.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always outstanding and a good experience. We have also enjoyed it for Sunday brunch

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were in a rush but had a great server who was able to accommodate the unfortunate and unexpected situation we found ourselves in. The food was great and the wine flights were a fun and affordable way to experience a variety. The fondue and king crab appetizers were plenty for a pre-show meal for a couple of generally light eaters. Looking forward to returning for a special occasion and to pick up a bottle of our favorite wine from our flights.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Eggplant and chicken was good! Bread is always great as well!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.