Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.16mi
  3. Distance: 3.06mi
  4. Distance: 3.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.02mi
  2. Distance: 2.16mi
  3. Distance: 3.06mi
  4. Distance: 3.08mi

About Dusty's Wine Bar

Dusty's Wine Bar is nationally recognized for its Contemporary American cuisine with a New World flair. Try our Seared Wild Alaskan King Salmon Filet with olive Tapenade and Lemon Oil over Creamy Truffled Grits or enjoy a 14 oz. Grilled Prime Grade NY Strip with Roasted Garlic Butter over Fresh Goat Cheese Potato Mash. select from 30 wines by the glass, enjoy a wine or scotch flight. Dusty's granite bar top is a wonderful accent to our casual bistro. Tables were hand-made from French wine crates, booth and chair seating is available. Dusty's Wine Bar offers many Tapas and daily specials. We are committed to providing the Lansing area with the Finest meats and Freshest seafood.

1839 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days & 7 Nights Monday thru Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Marsh Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 349-8680

Website:
http://www.dustyscellar.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking with plenty of lighting. Handicap parking near front entrance. Low curb wheelchair access by main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Cronin

Private Party Facilities:
Dusty's Tuscan, Napa and Bordeaux Rooms seat 6 to 44 guests and are elegant rooms for wedding celebrations, showers, birthday & anniversary parties. Comfortable and quiet for business meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Gillett or Billy Shreck: (517) 349-8680

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Dusty's Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and wine. We celebrated our 7th anniversary and it was everything we expected. Great atmosphere and top-notch service. Will go back again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been to Dusty's before and always enjoyed their food. However, their Mother's Day brunch was bland and ordinary - absolutely nothing worth noting. I would not recommend going for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Dined here over 30 times but ...
Last two visits here were a disappointment not sure if we had a different chef but the food preparation was definitely a change for the worse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent service, went above and beyond what a normal staff would do. An extensive wine list, sure to please anyone. Food was delightful and filling (no small portions here)!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Dusty's is becoming our new favorite in Lansing. Billy and his team are the most personable group, the food offerings and ambiance are always notable and we enjoy our time there immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to me by a business associate. I was very pleased with the food and service. I had an incredibly tender filet mignon with a very delicious spinach and cheese sauce. It is not very elegant inside but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a great time at dinner. The service was great and so was the food. However, it was a little loud at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We come to Dusty's frequently and have never been disappointed. In East Lansing, Michigan this is truly one of the best restaurants around for that very special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a lovely brunch here with my mother. It is one of her favorite spots to go since it is relatively quiet. The food is always good and the service was outstanding. They have a great wine list and fun cocktails for brunch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We made a reservation for our 6th anniversary, and were pleasantly surprised when we got there and the host acknowledged it! Then the waiter also told us Happy Anniversary when he got to our table. The food is very good; however, the waiter was so busy he forgot to bring a couple things and there was a period of time when we didn't see him for a while. We love the cheese fondue, and we got it with fries this time. The dinners are a little pricey, but they taste fresh and the atmosphere is very romantic. Overall it was a lovely experience, and we will definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Upon entering, Dustys has a cool shop with a huge variety of wine and beer, cheeses, desserts, and gifts. We loved looking around the store after our dinner! Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that he was quite slow. The food options are interesting, a bit over priced in my opinion. My husband had a $55 dry aged steak and it didn't impress him. The pork was a bit dry, at $36 I would expect a very juicy flavorful pork dish and it was neither. Regardless, our wine was delicious, we enjoyed the ambience, and would go again. It's a unique place. I would definitely like to check out their Tap room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We hadn't been to Dusty's in a while and thought it would be fun. We had a reservation, but the two ladies at our table in the dining room sat talking long beyond the length of their dinner, so the Maitre D' asked if we'd like the quiet back room or the fully warm sun room. While we might have wanted to tell the ladies to beat it, we chose the back room which was very nice. Our food was excellent. We split an order of haddock croquettes which were absolutely delicious. We considered just having another order of croquettes, wine and dessert, but the entrees were too good to pass up. My husband had a traditional Irish lamb stew which he really enjoyed, and I loved the maple glazed salmon over black pepper grits with green beans. I've had the salmon before and it's always great! I also had the flight of crisp white wines and really enjoyed them. The food is beautifully prepared and presented, delicious, and creative.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding! Can't wait to go back! The GM, Billy, and his staff are the most hospitable team in town!

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I love going to a wine bar when the wines are not overly priced and the food is great. I was taking my daughter to an MSU college tour and we had dinner there. The host and the wait staff were very friendly. The wine menu is good and far reaching and everything appears to be priced two times retail which is fair to me. The food was delicious and there is a variety of specials. Both my daughter and my main entree when presented were like works of art.

If you looking for good food and wine this the place to go. They also have a nice selection of half bottles of wine which you can't find everywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Living in the Royal Oak we have access to Hyde Park,Mable Gray,Roast and others. The food here was fine. At this price level I would expect the Chef to put a little wow on the plate.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfectly prepared meal! The salads & bread were fresh and tasty, our entrees delightful! Two of us ordered the hangar steak and loved it. The other diner in our group ordered the salmon. It too was expertly prepared & seasoned. The hangar steak and creamed spinach was a standout however. Can't wait to come back for more.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The servers all do an excellent job; please tell them thank you for me!

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Still the top spot in the Lansing area for quality food, ambiance and service. we visit occasionally since Dusty's opened food service. A little pricey but never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My wife and I received a gift card for Dusty's from an incredibly generous relative. We used it to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary on 2/28/17.

And we could not have been more pleased! Everything from the front-of-house greeting thru the service and every food course was top-shelf. No rush between courses, and everything arrived at the table at the proper temp and prepared as ordered. The quantity of the mussel appetizer that my wife ordered was enormous. My Delmonico steak was as good as any I've had at any of the 'Big Name' steakhouses we've dined at. And our server was attentive, cheerful, and very well informed about the menu. We had no complaints, and we'll certainly return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The only thing I wish is that they had a few more creative vegetarian options other than cheesy pasta. For a fancy restaurant it, its menu lacks creativity.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always outstanding and a good experience. We have also enjoyed it for Sunday brunch

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were in a rush but had a great server who was able to accommodate the unfortunate and unexpected situation we found ourselves in. The food was great and the wine flights were a fun and affordable way to experience a variety. The fondue and king crab appetizers were plenty for a pre-show meal for a couple of generally light eaters. Looking forward to returning for a special occasion and to pick up a bottle of our favorite wine from our flights.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Eggplant and chicken was good! Bread is always great as well!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always like it here. The fact that it is adjoined to a wine market is also a plus. Great food - exciting dishes. Excellent wine selection. It's too bad (or good?) that I don't live closer - I'd be there more often.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good and attentive service and very nice wine list. Nice lunch options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Special thanks to Bill S and the staff for making our anniversary dinner extra special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We met 2 friends at Dusty's for a birthday celebration and had a lovely time. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and there was enough variety that everyone found something special. Our waitress was excellent--there when we needed her and knowledgeable about the food and wine, but not intrusive. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience. Have been going here several times a year... will continue the tradition

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Party of three. We had mussels and 'pork cheeks' as appetizers. The mussels were very good, as usual. The pork cheeks were tasty but not noteworthy and the dish was rather heavy with noodles and a thick-ish sauce.
For the main course, one chose whitefish, one the hanger steak (medium) and I had the pub steak (medium rare). Mine was very flavorful, enough so that I highly recommend it. I also had a slice of the hanger steak, which was also very good, but I'd had that several times before.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always, always top notch. From appetizers, wine, meal, dessert and service, Dusty's is an outstanding experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent place for a romantic or just comfortable night out with friends. Incredible wine menu, excellent cocktails, and meat dishes that more than meet their menu price. And, most importantly, the best service I've experienced in the Lansing area.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great experience and very attentive service. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love Dustys but on this occasion I had made reservations well in advance as it was a special dinner but we were put in an overflow room and my guests did not like it. The service was terrible..it took forever to get get our food and the one lady kept telling the waitress she was so hungry and finally got some bread. I stressed and very disappointed ‼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This time there were four of us. All seemed to enjoy it. We started with the charcuterie plate, which was still just OK, though the cheeses were very nice. I had the local chicken which was very tasty (even though the green curry marinade did not come through).
The blood orange cake with almond was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Best waiter!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Mussels were very good, the charcuterie plate was OK.
I had medallions of beef (MR) which was prepared perfectly. Asparagus was very good and the mashed potatoes were just good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great dinner, wine and sevice. It was a bit noisier than I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Consistently amazing food and service. And I was very impressed with all of the gluten free options!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary by returning to Dusty's Cellar for dinner. We had our first date there in 1991. Our service, the ambiance and dinner itself were as good, if not better, than any we have enjoyed in Chicago, Palm Springs or Charleston. Our host (Name?) and Server ("Zach") were delightful and made our visit most enjoyable. What a pleasant surprise to see that this local favorite has only improved over the years! Thank you, Dusty's, for an exquisite anniversary event! - Roger and Marilyn M.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We needed to be out by 6:00 for the MSU Basketball game by didntbget out until 6:20

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.