About Dusty's Wine Bar

1839 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864
View Larger Map

Dusty's Wine Bar is nationally recognized for its Contemporary American cuisine with a New World flair. Try our Seared Wild Alaskan King Salmon Filet with olive Tapenade and Lemon Oil over Creamy Truffled Grits or enjoy a 14 oz. Grilled Prime Grade NY Strip with Roasted Garlic Butter over Fresh Goat Cheese Potato Mash. select from 30 wines by the glass, enjoy a wine or scotch flight. Dusty's granite bar top is a wonderful accent to our casual bistro. Tables were hand-made from French wine crates, booth and chair seating is available. Dusty's Wine Bar offers many Tapas and daily specials. We are committed to providing the Lansing area with the Finest meats and Freshest seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days & 7 Nights Monday thru Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Marsh Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 349-8680

Website:
http://www.dustyscellar.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking with plenty of lighting. Handicap parking near front entrance. Low curb wheelchair access by main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Cronin

Private Party Facilities:
Dusty's Tuscan, Napa and Bordeaux Rooms seat 6 to 44 guests and are elegant rooms for wedding celebrations, showers, birthday & anniversary parties. Comfortable and quiet for business meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Gillett or Billy Shreck: 5173498680x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chopped Salad - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Almond-Crusted Whitefish With Truffled Grits And Summer Squash  - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Stuffed Chicken Breast Queso Mashed Potatoes - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Grey Goose Martini With Bleu Cheese Stuffed Olives - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Lobster Fritters - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Clous La Coutale Malbec - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Buffalo Chicken Flatbread - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Margherita Flat Bread - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Hanger Steak - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Crab Cake Benedict - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Almond-Crusted Whitefish With Truffled Grits And Asparagus - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
New York Breakfast Sandwich - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
White Chocolate Coconut Mousse With Strawberries - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Crab Cake Appetizer - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Lemon Cheesecake - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Potatoes Au Gratin - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Calamari - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Smoked Wings - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Airline Chicken - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Mini Muffins - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
#Eggporn - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Monte Cristo Sandwich - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Cream Of Broccoli Soup - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Ham & Swiss Panini With Beef Stew  - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Almond-Crusted Whitefish With Truffled Grits And Vegetables - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Toasted Pecan Crusted Goat Cheese - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Scotch Eggs - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Chicken Salad with Fresh Fruit - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Havana Club Turkey Wrap - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Chicken and Waffles - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
the monte cristo - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Fresh Fruit - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Mango Mojo Marinated Grilled Hanger Steak - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Baby Greens Salad - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Brazilian Coffee Bbq Rubbed Tournedos Beef - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Crisp Whites Flight - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Toasted Pecan Crusted Goat Cheese With Caramelized Onions And Truffle-Infused Honey  - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Hibiscus Margarita - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Chocolate Fondue - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Dusty's Tapas Sampler - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Atlantic Skatewing With Pistachio Compound Butter - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Havana Club Turkey Wrap With Avocado - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Appetizer Sampler - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Roasted Half Duck - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Grilled Lamb Chops With Michigan Cherry Mustard - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Wild Mushroom And Garlic Herb Serafina Cheese - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Dry Pack Scallops With "The Chard" - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Burger - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Sauteed Mussels With Chorizo, Sherry, & Garlic Butter - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Sliced Toasted Entrecote Of Beef - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI
Hawaiian Chocolate Raspbery Mousse - Dusty's Wine Bar, Okemos, MI

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Dusty's Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dusty's is consistently good with fresh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Dusty's is consistently good with fresh menu offerings. This is an excellent restaurant for the Lansing area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my fourth visit in about two we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was my fourth visit in about two weeks. This time I tried the smoked pork chop.

It was excellent-full of flavor and juicy. I also had the special salad, beet and baked brie, which was very good. My companions had salmon and whitefish, both of which were reportedly very good. One guest had a cup of bacon-mushroom soup, which he enjoyed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the third time eating at Dusty's ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is the third time eating at Dusty's in the last ten days but I still enjoyed it! This time I had the tornedos of beef, cooked medium rare. It was excellent. As before I had the mixed greens salad, which was fresh and plentiful with a nice dressing. My two guests had half duck and the salmon and both reported them to be excellent too. I was tempted to award 5 stars for the food but reserve that rating for meals such as I have had at Chez Panisse in Berkeley or Canoe in Toronto.

Still, I was pleased to find reliably excellent quality, which was not the case a couple of years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful house wine💓💃🏻Comfy booths❗️ ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful house wine💓💃🏻Comfy booths❗️😘

Also wonderful shop loads of goodiies like take home hornet dinners ❤️

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time I had the hanger steak with a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This time I had the hanger steak with a mixed greens salad. The hanger steak was ordered as medium rare and it came slightly on the rarer side but it was good, cut into several thick fingers of tender meat. The accompanying truffle fries were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizer of lamb chops was good with ve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Appetizer of lamb chops was good with very nicely spiced and succulent chops but sauce was not ideally compatible.

"Half roasted duck" was actually half a duck that was half roasted, in my opinion. OK, the meat was cooked medium rare but the skin was not crisped. It was a rather large duck with plenty (too much) of meat but there was not much else on the plate. I found the sauce a little overly sweet and also, not very well attached to the duck but rather in a small pool on the plate.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Service was a bit s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was a bit slow, but it was a Saturday night. Staff was very considerate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

From the moment we entered, we felt we w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 3, 2016

From the moment we entered, we felt we were treated special. Everyone greeted us, throughout our dining experience, and wished us "happy anniversary". Our table was visited frequently, but not too much as to interrupt. Timing of meal courses was just right... and refreshing our drinks was perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was packed at 6:00 on a M ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The restaurant was packed at 6:00 on a Monday night.

We had attentive service, and both enjoyed our meals.

My wife had the almond crusted whitefish and I had the beef tournedos.

My only do over would be to avoid the anchovy filets on the Caesar salad. They were of lighter colored flesh than I have seen before and were of much stronger flavor than we are accustomed.

Both of us left more than half the anchovy, which we have never done before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Sunday brunch. Friendly, atte ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch. Friendly, attentive waiter. Pleasing atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good but not great. Too much foo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food is good but not great. Too much food on plate that overwhelms entree. Vegetables should compliment entree not overwhelm it. The plate does not have to be full but presented well for the diner. Less is more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Our server made our first anniversary ve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Our server made our first anniversary very special thank you we will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never been to Dusty's before but it was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Never been to Dusty's before but it was most definitely worth the money. The service was excellent, the food was impeccable , and the overall atmosphere was perfect for a birthday dinner with my girlfriend. For being close to a college town it was a little expensive but undoubtedly worth every penny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had high hopes for this restaurant bu ...

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had high hopes for this restaurant but sadly it fell short. The service was excellent however. The charcuterie plate for $16.00 was lacking in variety of cheese and meat. (One cheese, one meat). The hanger steak was ordered medium rare but was presented cold. Oddly, when sent back to be "warmed" it still came back cold. The cherry tomato pasta was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I was in East Lansing for a Football gam ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was in East Lansing for a Football game and wanted a real glass of wine and grown up food.

Absolutely delicious, well priced food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Waitress created a message in Carmel on ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Waitress created a message in Carmel on our dessert. "Happy anniversary ". Really impressed my wife and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dusty's invariably provides great food a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Dusty's invariably provides great food and service. It's one of my standard "go to" places for entertaining friends and business associates alike in the greater Lansing area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food just okay, service slow. Could be s ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food just okay, service slow. Could be so much better, really wish it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very Nice joint for business lunch, staf ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very Nice joint for business lunch, staff was patient with us while ordering apps than lunch. We did enjoy 4 different bottles of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was outstanding. However, the s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding. However, the service was terrible. The waitress would disappear for extended periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Dusty's thinks they are much better than ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Dusty's thinks they are much better than they are. Decent food, but not the fine dining prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Late dinner after busy Saturday night, a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Late dinner after busy Saturday night, and we were pleased with the Mussels and the Filet...chopped salad with heart of palm was very good, as was the fine wine selection. Key lime cheese cake with raspberry drops ended things just right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was outstanding.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. However, the traditi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic. However, the traditionally stellar wine list was a disappointment. The list has not been updated; indeed it includes a notation that the listed wines may be out of stock or different vintages. This might be acceptable if the vintage change was a matter of one year &/or the price was adjusted to reflect the vintage actually available. It is not acceptable when the listed vintage is 3 years older than the vintage in stock & there is no price adjustment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh. We had always heard that Dusty's wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Meh. We had always heard that Dusty's was an awesome place. The food was below the quality of the price. Unfortunately, probably won't be back. Drinks were mixed well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

NIce dinner.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We met friends for dinner at Dusty's Wine Bar. Very good service. The food was very good. The atmosphere was pretty simple, not fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Consistently very good to excellent food

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Consistently very good to excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Key Lime pie - great

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Split pea soup - not so great; but the key lime pie was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Sunday Evening

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 6, 2016

This a good time to visit for conversational noise levels. Some entrees were more flavorful than others. A nice relaxing evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not up to their usual standards!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2016

New menu is interesting and we were anxious to try it. I ordered a vegetarian pasta dish and while mushroom, etc. sauce was tasty, the pasta was so overdone it was mushy and unpleasant. My companions ordered fish entrees that they said were good; salads and a soup were fine. But the kitchen needs to work on al dente pasta ...otherwise, the pasta is, frankly, yucky.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Sadie Hawkins date

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2016

My experience was excellent! The food was delicious and the servers attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not like Brunch Menu

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I didn't realize that Dusty's would have a brunch menu on Valentine's Day; if I had known, we would've gone somewhere else for our special day.

The service was ok, but we didn't care for the food much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Was an excellent experience, the wine, f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Was an excellent experience, the wine, food, service and atmosphere was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Change in menu

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2015

New menu is good, but a lot of the old items remain. Miss the chopped salad and wedge salad. Salad I had was good but only came with one dressing choice. Seemed a little more pricey than previous visits.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife loves the beef tournedos that th ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2015

My wife loves the beef tournedos that they serve at Dustys. They were not on the menu but our server asked the chef and he was able to make them for her. Thanks so much. I has the cashew walleye. I have never had anything I didn't like at Dustys but the fish was pretty flavorless. It wasn't bad but not what I would expect from here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was just Ok. My duck was over cooked.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2015

Waited 45 minutes after finishing appetizer for our entrees. The waitress had to be called over to ask when entree was coming. They comped my duck and that was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Wonderful Food and Experince

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2015

Dusty's consistently provides quality service and amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 13, 2015

The menu was very interesting - good variety with preparations not found elsewhere. I had seafood and my husband and a friend had meat. Both were very good. Reasonably priced with the exception of wine by the glass prices. Waitress was attentive. Would definitely recommend to others.

The store looked interesting but did not have time to shop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Room for Improvement

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I do not want to be overly harsh in my review, but after hearing how great this place is for years, I may have come in with excessively high hopes. We were seated in the enclosed outside patio - it was mostly comfortable for me, but my wife got chilly a few times as it was in the 40s outside. We should have asked to be seated inside in order to be more comfortable and experience the ambiance. We both ordered cocktails from the Michigan Spirits section. The drinks were good, although for $9 apiece I did not order a second one. The menu had quite a few items that sounded appealing and I was pleased with the beef tournadoes. Our waitress was pleasant, but slow and not really talkative. The worst part of the experience was the music being pumped into the patio - it was a mix of 80's songs and smooth jazz instrumental tunes...not very appealing to us and seemed to really date the restaurant. The patrons ranged in age and dress varied from sweatshirts and jeans to suits. The food was good, but the experience definitely left something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great food! Nice variety!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Had a great date night with my wife. We don't drink wine but had heard the food was good. And it was!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.