About Dusty's Wine Bar

Dusty's Wine Bar is nationally recognized for its Contemporary American cuisine with a New World flair. Try our Seared Wild Alaskan King Salmon Filet with olive Tapenade and Lemon Oil over Creamy Truffled Grits or enjoy a 14 oz. Grilled Prime Grade NY Strip with Roasted Garlic Butter over Fresh Goat Cheese Potato Mash. select from 30 wines by the glass, enjoy a wine or scotch flight. Dusty's granite bar top is a wonderful accent to our casual bistro. Tables were hand-made from French wine crates, booth and chair seating is available. Dusty's Wine Bar offers many Tapas and daily specials. We are committed to providing the Lansing area with the Finest meats and Freshest seafood.

1839 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days & 7 Nights Monday thru Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Marsh Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 349-8680

Website:
http://www.dustyscellar.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking with plenty of lighting. Handicap parking near front entrance. Low curb wheelchair access by main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Cronin

Private Party Facilities:
Dusty's Tuscan, Napa and Bordeaux Rooms seat 6 to 44 guests and are elegant rooms for wedding celebrations, showers, birthday & anniversary parties. Comfortable and quiet for business meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Gillett or Billy Shreck: (517) 349-8680

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Dusty's Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Eggplant and chicken was good! Bread is always great as well!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Always like it here. The fact that it is adjoined to a wine market is also a plus. Great food - exciting dishes. Excellent wine selection. It's too bad (or good?) that I don't live closer - I'd be there more often.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good and attentive service and very nice wine list. Nice lunch options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Special thanks to Bill S and the staff for making our anniversary dinner extra special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We met 2 friends at Dusty's for a birthday celebration and had a lovely time. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and there was enough variety that everyone found something special. Our waitress was excellent--there when we needed her and knowledgeable about the food and wine, but not intrusive. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience. Have been going here several times a year... will continue the tradition

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Party of three. We had mussels and 'pork cheeks' as appetizers. The mussels were very good, as usual. The pork cheeks were tasty but not noteworthy and the dish was rather heavy with noodles and a thick-ish sauce.

For the main course, one chose whitefish, one the hanger steak (medium) and I had the pub steak (medium rare). Mine was very flavorful, enough so that I highly recommend it. I also had a slice of the hanger steak, which was also very good, but I'd had that several times before.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always, always top notch. From appetizers, wine, meal, dessert and service, Dusty's is an outstanding experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent place for a romantic or just comfortable night out with friends. Incredible wine menu, excellent cocktails, and meat dishes that more than meet their menu price. And, most importantly, the best service I've experienced in the Lansing area.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great experience and very attentive service. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love Dustys but on this occasion I had made reservations well in advance as it was a special dinner but we were put in an overflow room and my guests did not like it. The service was terrible..it took forever to get get our food and the one lady kept telling the waitress she was so hungry and finally got some bread. I stressed and very disappointed ‼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This time there were four of us. All seemed to enjoy it. We started with the charcuterie plate, which was still just OK, though the cheeses were very nice. I had the local chicken which was very tasty (even though the green curry marinade did not come through).

The blood orange cake with almond was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Best waiter!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Mussels were very good, the charcuterie plate was OK.

I had medallions of beef (MR) which was prepared perfectly. Asparagus was very good and the mashed potatoes were just good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great dinner, wine and sevice. It was a bit noisier than I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Consistently amazing food and service. And I was very impressed with all of the gluten free options!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary by returning to Dusty's Cellar for dinner. We had our first date there in 1991. Our service, the ambiance and dinner itself were as good, if not better, than any we have enjoyed in Chicago, Palm Springs or Charleston. Our host (Name?) and Server ("Zach") were delightful and made our visit most enjoyable. What a pleasant surprise to see that this local favorite has only improved over the years! Thank you, Dusty's, for an exquisite anniversary event! - Roger and Marilyn M.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We needed to be out by 6:00 for the MSU Basketball game by didntbget out until 6:20

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was a wonderful evening that we lingered over. The drawback was the room we were seated in was a little cold with no ambiance. We were two couples for an early New Year's Eve dinner. We were seated in the Bordeaux room which was better suited for family and casual dining and not adult special evening out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had lunch at Dusty, great food, great atmosphere, but a party table was seated next to us and we wished they had been put in overflow room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Living on past reputation. Food was not hot coming to the table. Wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Dusty's is consistently good with fresh menu offerings. This is an excellent restaurant for the Lansing area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was my fourth visit in about two weeks. This time I tried the smoked pork chop.

It was excellent-full of flavor and juicy. I also had the special salad, beet and baked brie, which was very good. My companions had salmon and whitefish, both of which were reportedly very good. One guest had a cup of bacon-mushroom soup, which he enjoyed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is the third time eating at Dusty's in the last ten days but I still enjoyed it! This time I had the tornedos of beef, cooked medium rare. It was excellent. As before I had the mixed greens salad, which was fresh and plentiful with a nice dressing. My two guests had half duck and the salmon and both reported them to be excellent too. I was tempted to award 5 stars for the food but reserve that rating for meals such as I have had at Chez Panisse in Berkeley or Canoe in Toronto.

Still, I was pleased to find reliably excellent quality, which was not the case a couple of years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful house wine💓💃🏻Comfy booths❗️😘

Also wonderful shop loads of goodiies like take home hornet dinners ❤️

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This time I had the hanger steak with a mixed greens salad. The hanger steak was ordered as medium rare and it came slightly on the rarer side but it was good, cut into several thick fingers of tender meat. The accompanying truffle fries were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Appetizer of lamb chops was good with very nicely spiced and succulent chops but sauce was not ideally compatible.

"Half roasted duck" was actually half a duck that was half roasted, in my opinion. OK, the meat was cooked medium rare but the skin was not crisped. It was a rather large duck with plenty (too much) of meat but there was not much else on the plate. I found the sauce a little overly sweet and also, not very well attached to the duck but rather in a small pool on the plate.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was a bit slow, but it was a Saturday night. Staff was very considerate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 3, 2016

From the moment we entered, we felt we were treated special. Everyone greeted us, throughout our dining experience, and wished us "happy anniversary". Our table was visited frequently, but not too much as to interrupt. Timing of meal courses was just right... and refreshing our drinks was perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The restaurant was packed at 6:00 on a Monday night.

We had attentive service, and both enjoyed our meals.

My wife had the almond crusted whitefish and I had the beef tournedos.

My only do over would be to avoid the anchovy filets on the Caesar salad. They were of lighter colored flesh than I have seen before and were of much stronger flavor than we are accustomed.

Both of us left more than half the anchovy, which we have never done before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch. Friendly, attentive waiter. Pleasing atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food is good but not great. Too much food on plate that overwhelms entree. Vegetables should compliment entree not overwhelm it. The plate does not have to be full but presented well for the diner. Less is more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Our server made our first anniversary very special thank you we will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Never been to Dusty's before but it was most definitely worth the money. The service was excellent, the food was impeccable , and the overall atmosphere was perfect for a birthday dinner with my girlfriend. For being close to a college town it was a little expensive but undoubtedly worth every penny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had high hopes for this restaurant but sadly it fell short. The service was excellent however. The charcuterie plate for $16.00 was lacking in variety of cheese and meat. (One cheese, one meat). The hanger steak was ordered medium rare but was presented cold. Oddly, when sent back to be "warmed" it still came back cold. The cherry tomato pasta was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was in East Lansing for a Football game and wanted a real glass of wine and grown up food.

Absolutely delicious, well priced food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Waitress created a message in Carmel on our dessert. "Happy anniversary ". Really impressed my wife and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Dusty's invariably provides great food and service. It's one of my standard "go to" places for entertaining friends and business associates alike in the greater Lansing area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food just okay, service slow. Could be so much better, really wish it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very Nice joint for business lunch, staff was patient with us while ordering apps than lunch. We did enjoy 4 different bottles of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding. However, the service was terrible. The waitress would disappear for extended periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Dusty's thinks they are much better than they are. Decent food, but not the fine dining prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Late dinner after busy Saturday night, and we were pleased with the Mussels and the Filet...chopped salad with heart of palm was very good, as was the fine wine selection. Key lime cheese cake with raspberry drops ended things just right!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic. However, the traditionally stellar wine list was a disappointment. The list has not been updated; indeed it includes a notation that the listed wines may be out of stock or different vintages. This might be acceptable if the vintage change was a matter of one year &/or the price was adjusted to reflect the vintage actually available. It is not acceptable when the listed vintage is 3 years older than the vintage in stock & there is no price adjustment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Meh. We had always heard that Dusty's was an awesome place. The food was below the quality of the price. Unfortunately, probably won't be back. Drinks were mixed well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We met friends for dinner at Dusty's Wine Bar. Very good service. The food was very good. The atmosphere was pretty simple, not fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Consistently very good to excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Split pea soup - not so great; but the key lime pie was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 6, 2016

This a good time to visit for conversational noise levels. Some entrees were more flavorful than others. A nice relaxing evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.