About Dusty's Wine Bar

1839 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864
View Larger Map

Dusty's Wine Bar is nationally recognized for its Contemporary American cuisine with a New World flair. Try our Seared Wild Alaskan King Salmon Filet with olive Tapenade and Lemon Oil over Creamy Truffled Grits or enjoy a 14 oz. Grilled Prime Grade NY Strip with Roasted Garlic Butter over Fresh Goat Cheese Potato Mash. select from 30 wines by the glass, enjoy a wine or scotch flight. Dusty's granite bar top is a wonderful accent to our casual bistro. Tables were hand-made from French wine crates, booth and chair seating is available. Dusty's Wine Bar offers many Tapas and daily specials. We are committed to providing the Lansing area with the Finest meats and Freshest seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days & 7 Nights Monday thru Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Marsh Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 349-8680

Website:
http://www.dustyscellar.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking with plenty of lighting. Handicap parking near front entrance. Low curb wheelchair access by main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Cronin

Private Party Facilities:
Dusty's Tuscan, Napa and Bordeaux Rooms seat 6 to 44 guests and are elegant rooms for wedding celebrations, showers, birthday & anniversary parties. Comfortable and quiet for business meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Gillett or Billy Shreck: 5173498680x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Dusty's Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Lansing
Best Restaurants in Lansing ›

special occasion (21)
notable wine list (18)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (10)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently very good to excellent food

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Consistently very good to excellent food

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Key Lime pie - great

Dined on April 13, 2016

Split pea soup - not so great; but the key lime pie was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Evening

Dined on March 6, 2016

This a good time to visit for conversational noise levels. Some entrees were more flavorful than others. A nice relaxing evening.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Not up to their usual standards!

Dined on February 28, 2016

New menu is interesting and we were anxious to try it. I ordered a vegetarian pasta dish and while mushroom, etc. sauce was tasty, the pasta was so overdone it was mushy and unpleasant. My companions ordered fish entrees that they said were good; salads and a soup were fine. But the kitchen needs to work on al dente pasta ...otherwise, the pasta is, frankly, yucky.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadie Hawkins date

Dined on February 27, 2016

My experience was excellent! The food was delicious and the servers attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Did not like Brunch Menu

Dined on February 14, 2016

I didn't realize that Dusty's would have a brunch menu on Valentine's Day; if I had known, we would've gone somewhere else for our special day. The service was ok, but we didn't care for the food much.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was an excellent experience, the wine, f ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Was an excellent experience, the wine, food, service and atmosphere was awesome.

food4
ambience4
service5

Change in menu

Dined on December 10, 2015

New menu is good, but a lot of the old items remain. Miss the chopped salad and wedge salad. Salad I had was good but only came with one dressing choice. Seemed a little more pricey than previous visits.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

My wife loves the beef tournedos that th ...

Dined on December 10, 2015

My wife loves the beef tournedos that they serve at Dustys. They were not on the menu but our server asked the chef and he was able to make them for her. Thanks so much. I has the cashew walleye. I have never had anything I didn't like at Dustys but the fish was pretty flavorless. It wasn't bad but not what I would expect from here.

food2
ambience4
service3

Food was just Ok. My duck was over cooked.

Dined on December 6, 2015

Waited 45 minutes after finishing appetizer for our entrees. The waitress had to be called over to ask when entree was coming. They comped my duck and that was nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Food and Experince

Dined on December 3, 2015

Dusty's consistently provides quality service and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on November 13, 2015

The menu was very interesting - good variety with preparations not found elsewhere. I had seafood and my husband and a friend had meat. Both were very good. Reasonably priced with the exception of wine by the glass prices. Waitress was attentive. Would definitely recommend to others. The store looked interesting but did not have time to shop.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service3

Room for Improvement

Dined on November 7, 2015

I do not want to be overly harsh in my review, but after hearing how great this place is for years, I may have come in with excessively high hopes. We were seated in the enclosed outside patio - it was mostly comfortable for me, but my wife got chilly a few times as it was in the 40s outside. We should have asked to be seated inside in order to be more comfortable and experience the ambiance. We both ordered cocktails from the Michigan Spirits section. The drinks were good, although for $9 apiece I did not order a second one. The menu had quite a few items that sounded appealing and I was pleased with the beef tournadoes. Our waitress was pleasant, but slow and not really talkative. The worst part of the experience was the music being pumped into the patio - it was a mix of 80's songs and smooth jazz instrumental tunes...not very appealing to us and seemed to really date the restaurant. The patrons ranged in age and dress varied from sweatshirts and jeans to suits. The food was good, but the experience definitely left something to be desired.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! Nice variety!

Dined on November 6, 2015

Had a great date night with my wife. We don't drink wine but had heard the food was good. And it was!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Cozy Spot

Dined on October 25, 2015

Booked a reservation for 6 which turned into 9 by the end of MSU Football Game. Our group consisted of our young adult children and a friend's family. Dusty's seated us in a private room off to the side of their wine store. It was so nice to be able to have our own room so we could hear one another and talk without other noise around us. It felt like home. The food was good as always and we will be back. Our waitress was very nice and took great care of us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, great wine selection

Dined on October 12, 2015

Incredible food, great wine selection

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing Food & Wine

Dined on October 10, 2015

Was in East Lansing for the night and found this spot online. Was a little sketchy coming up to the restaurant but was charming inside with a cute market place with wine and food. Started with two red wine flights (all delicious) and the lobster fritters (so light and fluffy). Went with the Korean braised beef and bone in pork for mains - some of the best meals we've had in a long time. Beef melted in your mouth and pork and toppings were scrumptious. Complimentary brownies at the end were awesome too. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again an excellent meal, service an ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

Once again an excellent meal, service and experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Old favorite in the East Lansing area.

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

We loved our dinner as always at Dusty's last week. We've been dining here since 1990. The selection of entrees are great, well prepared, the food is quite tasty, and service is impeccable. The wine list is solid. As a bonus there is a gourmet grocery store on the premises to browse through, that includes products of local origin. The brunch is great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We do not live in the Okemos area, but e ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

We do not live in the Okemos area, but enjoy coming to Dusty's whenever we are in East Lansing for a Michigan State event. The food, service and wine were terrific as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Slow start

Dined on September 12, 2015

We sat down and waited for awhile until our server showed up. Maybe if the restaurant had been crowded that would be understandable but it wasn't once our gal showed up it was ok but still not as attentive as one would expect spending a hundred bucks for dinner

food3
ambience2
service1

Disappointed

Dined on September 11, 2015

We had a reservation for 4 two weeks ahead of time and were ushered to the outside seating area instead of the dinning room which is a shabby 1980's atmosphere. The service was extremely slow and inattentive (except for the water) and the food was fair. I have been going to Dusty's for 20 years and always tell everyone it is my favorite restaurant in Okemos/East Lansing. We had not been there for a year and had friends in town from California and we were embarrassed by the experience.

food2
ambience3
service3

The food was left under the warming ligh ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

The food was left under the warming lights too long, the "coconut shrimp"tasted like it was fried twice

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Hit and Miss

Dined on August 11, 2015

We have been many times over the past 15 years. The service varies based on the servers of the day. The food is always good but never outstanding. This visit was more of the same. Very good service. My wife's coconut and alspice shrimp was excellent and she would have it again. My almond crusted whitefish was overcooked and dry. Because of my poor meal experience we will not hurry back

food3
ambience3
service3

Bad night?

vip
Dined on July 7, 2015

This was our second dinner at Dusty's in the past month and after the great first meal in June we were looking forward to another. The food was lackluster, all the veggies were very uninspired (steamed/sauteed broccoli, big deal) and though the portions were generous, they lacked distinction. The panna cotta dessert was also bland and unrefined. Service, though friendly, made a big mistake when the entrees arrived before the last of us had finished our salads, something we distinctly pre-advised that we didn't want to be rushed. So, nothing was bad, but nothing was good enough to 'write home about'. It really seemed there was a different cook in the kitchen.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Lansing's best

vip
Dined on June 24, 2015

Great dinner and friendly service, we think it's the best in town and look forward to our return soon to try some other items.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dusty's Maintains a fine tradition of excellence

vip
Dined on June 7, 2015

Returned recently to a local fine dining standby, Dusty's Wine Bar. The Food and Service were both excellent. A full menu of all meat dishes and a couple of vegetarian ones are sure to please those that like a unique spin on old standards. The salads are outstanding as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Okay place for lunch; I'd return

Dined on May 30, 2015

All in all, not bad. We had a nice lunch, but some issues: had to get up and ask for our server to come to our table a couple of times and then one of our salads was served without its salmon. However, the place was nice and comfortable. The food was good. When asked, the server made arrangements to not charge us for the missing salmon (even though it was brought late to the table). I would go back to Dusty's. Really a pleasant place in spite of our issues

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3

Rare Miss

Dined on May 23, 2015

Dustys is our #1 choice for a nice meal out. Tonight the overlap of an ornery toddler, a robotic waiter, and an "ok" meal (which is admittedly rare at Dustys) took the glow off the evening. I have children of my own, and plenty of nieces/nephews in towns, of all ages. The parents can scoff about having the right to do what they want and where the want. The child was beautiful, though cranky. Find a family zone Dustys. I know Bill the manager has little ones. He'll understand this isn't a lack of love for kids. And please, tell the waiter it is ok to serve a glass of wine and step away for a minute or two. He must have asked "are you ready to order" 5 times in five minutes. We had never touched the menus, and even advised we were in no rush.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. Something for everyone.

Dined on May 22, 2015

Really enjoyed our dinner there. The mussels we're some of the best I've had in a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Time!

Dined on May 11, 2015

An early dinner will be a bit quieter & that's what we experienced this time around. The food was good. The wine, exceptional. The service was better. I've have good servers, bad servers and exceptional servers at this restaurant. Today's early dinner was "good". We waited a very long time for our bill to arrive, once we asked for it, but it slipped her mind and that happens to the best of us. I've had this server before and she gets better with each passing day, so that's a plus! The ambiance is always good here. Just like their wine. You cannot go wrong. Especially w/a group!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dusty's is reliably wonderful

Dined on April 18, 2015

Three of us visited Dusty's for a birthday dinner and received the expected wonderful service, food and drinks. The atmosphere is very comfortable and the wine list is spectacular, with many local varieties includes with the extensive international offerings. The service was top notch, very attentive without being annoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great wine, food and service -excellent experience

Dined on April 11, 2015

We visited Dusty's after a show at Wharton Center for an early supper. The manager assisted when the wine we selected was not available -- making a suggestion which we thoroughly enjoyed. The extra attention was greatly appreciated. (We purchased several bottles to take home from their store after our meal -- another plus). Our server was knowledgeable and made the meal a very enjoyable experience with a perfect pace. The menu had a wide variety of options and the food was creative and delicious. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Food very good, Service doesn't match

Dined on March 7, 2015

The food has been consistently above average. The service on the other hand could be considerably improved. The service is prompt at the beginning of the experience but once the food is served the wait staff disappear. This is something we've noticed repeatedly. This probably reflects the type of training provided to the wait staff.

food1
ambience3
service2

applebee's food is better..

Dined on March 6, 2015

I had the red snapper daily special ($38). Aweful. Fish overcooked, no flavor, sauce sweet without any other flavor. wild rice out of a box... Applebee's has better food for 1/3 of the price. Waitress was friendly and professional, but when I mentioned my complaints she just walked away... not any action taken. seems like they don't care anymore. Wine was very good!

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Service/Food

Dined on February 15, 2015

Our reservation was at 7:30 and we didn't leave the restaurant until 10:15; service was very slow (we didn't see our waitress for a good 20 minutes after putting our order in). Our drinks were continuously empty. When we would ask for refills, the waitress would forget so we would have to ask again. My chicken was dry and my daughters filet was under cooked. For a bill over $200+, you would expect better.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great dinner, just the two of us. ...

Dined on February 7, 2015

Had a great dinner, just the two of us. Good wine, good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food for Everyone

Dined on February 6, 2015

Met on a Friday night for a business dinner - friendly college age staff, wide variety on the dinner menu, diverse wine selection in the lower to mid price range. We started off with crab cakes with avocado chimichurri and goat cheese balls, both very good. Our entrees consisted of three cheese penne pasta (think adult mac n'cheese), pork chop, airline chicken and coconut shrimp, again all very good paired with a nice Pinot Grigio. We finished up with crème brulee (excellent), Hawaiian chocolate lava cake and tiramisu (missed the mark, little coffee flavor) and coffee. The service was attentive and allowed us to conduct our business before dinner. I would recommend Dusty's for a great night out!

food5
ambience5
service3

Pre-theater dinner

Dined on January 29, 2015

We made 5pm reservations to allow lots of time to get to the theater at 7:30. The food was outstanding, but the service was a bit slow. The server was very nice and knowledgeable; she just disappeared once in a while. We did make it to the play on time, but were more rushed than we'd hoped to be.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for my daughters 22nd birth ...

vip
Dined on January 26, 2015

We went here for my daughters 22nd birthday and were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. Service was excellent would definitely recommend this place and will return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.