Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi

About Duneland Beach Inn

Duneland Beach Inn circa 1924, located one hour from Chicago in Northwest Indiana, welcomes you to enjoy Contemporary American Cuisine made from the freshest ingredients available.



A favorite of locals and Chicagoan's alike, the Duneland has become a destination for a memorable dinner serving steaks, exotic fish and fresh seafood. Our menu offerings are seasonal and produced from local ingredients whenever possible.



Come in for an iced layer martini in our cozy lounge, then retire to dinner beside one of the fireplaces, or weather permitting,have dinner with friends on the patio.



Fine dining in a casual atmosphere at it's best.

CURRENTLY SERVING EARLY BIRD MENU FROM 5:00 - 6:00 P.M.

3311 Pottawattomie Trl
Michigan City, IN 46360
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Off Season Dinner: Open Tuesday through Sunday from Labor Day to Memorial Day: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Summer Season Dinner: Open seven days a week from Memorial Day to Labor Day: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday and Sunday Breakfast: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM (Starting April 11th)

Cross Street:
Duneland Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 874-7729

Website:
http://www.dunelandbeachinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Ron White

Private Party Facilities:
Three Private Dining Rooms that seat up to 20, 40 and 55 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Kay: (219) 874-7729

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining

Duneland Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

3 of us has dinner and we all raved about our dishes. One of us had fish with risotto, one had pasta with a pesto sauce and I had mussels with pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great friendly service and great food. It is neighborhood 💎 and very calm and friendly atmosphere and food service unmatchable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A cozy place to stay, though the room was a bit small and had a few issues, but the owner was right on it, correcting the problems. Frankly, it is a beautiful, old house. and issues come with age. The chef created delicious meals for us, even though I have food allergies, and that shows a real talent to pull something together. Service was outstanding too. I cannot wait to go back next year. It was one of the best restaurant I have been to, in a long time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I can't say enough about our dining experience. The bar tenderness was very friendly, efficient, and makes great cocktails. The wait staff was attentive. The food was delicious. We were celebrating an anniversary and their congratulatory remarks were abundant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our 4th or 5th visit. We've had the same experience each time. Very bad service. The food is very good and the restaurant is lovely, but they just don't seem to be able to put the whole package together. It took about an hour to get our entrees and no one --not our waiter or the very present manager checked in with us. They forgot about my husband's salad. Finally, we were told that the special two of us had ordered "took 20 minutes to cook" and the kitchen was backed up. The restaurant wasn't full and the entrée was on their featured menu so why the difficulty?

We noticed a table next to us was also having difficulties with their orders. The manager did drop off a gift certificate as an apology for the slow service but I doubt we'll use it.

I would love to love this place but unfortunately they make it difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We dined outside and it was lovely. The bar was lively with people drinking and dining. We had a very quiet table outside with most diners inside. I would recommend this to anyone for great food, outside seating, service and exceptional setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The ahi tuna appetizer was out of this world!

The patio ambiance was beyond charming.

The hostess having her toddler at a table in the dining room.....unacceptable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food!
Fair Service...our dinner came before our salad

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Seemed overpriced for the meal and location. Food was good but not spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The sautéed perch dinner was best ever!! Good wine list and friendly helpful service.. Banana cream pie topped off terrific dinner!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I love the atmosphere here. The bar is inviting and the restaurant is cozy. With the fireplaces burning you get a feeling of home. The menu is changing - there is a new chef - and she is adapting the menu. I had the "New Bills Chicken". It was delicious. My daughter had her old stand by, the filet. Great cut of meat and very flavorful. It is always a nice experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

great place for dinner! Beautiful atmosphere, fast service. The dining room was very intimate, and the menu had a lot to offer. It was a very relaxing meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the host was not very welcoming but everything else was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This has always been a family favorite because it's local and the food was reliable. Then the menu changed. No longer able to pick our side dishes, nor is prime rib an option. Instead only pesto risotto and whipped potatoes are offered. Where are the baked potatoes and rice options? Even the famous wedge is gone. Oh no! This past weekend I ordered the lamb shank which was obviously reheated, overcooked and smothered in a pasta sauce instead of basking in au jus. Was it to hide the condition of the meat? I was so sad to see one of my favorite venues rule out what worked well for a trendy menu. Bring back the old menu! It worked and all of us understood it!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Once again we were terribly disappointed. Service was poor. We had to wait 20 min. For a beer to be delivered. The waitress forgot to order one of the dinners. Which arrived when everyone else was through eating. No compensation or complimentary dessert was offered! There were only 6 other diners (3 tables) in the restaurant at the time. We love the atmosphere of this restaurant, but the service and food are so hit or miss that it makes it difficult to want go back. I definitely would not bring houseguests because it is too undependable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The outdoor patio offered a quiet yet attractive scene to enjoy a wonderful brunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Not the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I went there specifically for the softshell crab which were in season. The cramp were breaded and fried and too salty in my opinion. Even the waitress said the meat should be sweet not salty . The two crash were served on top of a huge mound of angel hair pasta which had no flavor but was heavily buttered. Overall the dish was disappointing. My husband had sautéed lake perch and he was quite satisfied with his dish.
The ambience of this place is five stars. Our waitress was very attentive. I talked with her about the possibility of having more Paleo options. I would rather have had a vegetable or salad with my crab cakes instead of all that pasta. She said she would take it to their weekly meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

After spending $200+ to say we where disappointed is an understatement. The food had no flavor. The calamari appetizer was good however, everything else was SAD. My beer was skunked. My friends sangria was just red wine on the rocks. The main course for all four of us at the table was a huge letdown. The manager did comp the pasta entree and offered a complimentary dessert which was nice, however we declined the offer. I am not a person that leaves reviews. I believe if there is a problem you should share it with the establishment not on a review site. We tried to do that. Called the restaurant and asked to speak with management they told us they where busy and would call us back and never did. Save your money and go somewhere else. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I went on a solo adventure to Michigan City from Milwaukee for a few days. I had decided that on my adventure I would have a dinner date with myself. I did just that. I drove out to this lovely eatery in rainy, yucky weather so I really couldn't take in the scenery. You have to go through a wooded residential area to find Duneland. It is a beautiful restaurant. They have a nice wooded bar when you walk through the doors and there were people drinking and laughing. Being that it was a week night there wasn't anyone in the dining room until after I was seated. They let me choose where I wanted to be seated and I chose in front of the fireplace. The dining room was beautiful with each table adorned with flowers and candles. The drink menu was full and the cocktails were interesting. My server was wonderful, the cocktail was delicious and my food was amazing. Had I not been so full I would've indulged in desert as well. They have a part on the menu called, "7 for $11" and the choices were fantastic for the cost. I had the pan seared Tilapia with mashed potatoes. The amount of food I received was outstanding. I also started with their Caesar wedge salad and that was fantastic. I plan on making it back out to Michigan City sooner than later and absolutely will be back for dinner. Everything that night was spectacular!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Aaron, our server, was very attentive. We loved the special menu that offered 7 items for $11 each. An outstanding value. The amount of food was just right for my wife and I.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I like this restaurant and was looking forward to the same good food we have had on three separate occasions. Instead, the food was terrible for all of us. It was like it was prepared by a non-chef. Otherwise , the service was good and the atmosphere great. I should note that the wallpaper in the men's room was partially in tatters. We probably will never return unless I am convinced the food situation has been corrected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly service. The history of the inn and beauty of this setting add to the dining experience. Our waitress, Sarah, was awesome, and the food was very good. The filet special served with red beans and rice and the stuffed mushrooms were especially good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food and service with a romantic ambiance will ensure our return!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went here for Valentine's day. The restaurant was very nice and was part of a bed and breakfast. We were promptly met and sat at our table. The service was very nice and the food was excellent. I had duck with risotto which was cooked to perfection. My wife had fish which she also really liked. My only criticism was that it was a little bit louder than I hoped, but was not so overwhelming that it ruined the experience. I would definitely return for another meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for our anniversary dinner and will be returning many times. Food was delicious and service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Short ribs and risotto were delicious! I always enjoy coming here for an enjoyable meal. Especially in the summer!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and excellent service.
This restaurant is the best restaurant in the area. We love going at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Visited Duneland Beach Inn for dinner to celebrate an anniversary.

Service was slow to start, then too fast... entrees arrived before we were finished with salads.

Steak was good... cooked as ordered. However, both the lobster in an appetizer and a salmon entrée tasted overly "fishy"... as if it had been frozen, thawed too much, then put in a refrigerator for later use - disappointing.

Good ambiance. Staff was pleasant.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve . Great food very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was the our 2nd time there. 1st time was great. This time was a total disappointment. Service was accpetable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We go here for our annual Christmas Shopping dinner. It has become a nice tradition. Had a great complimentary eggnog martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had dinner at Duneland Beach Inn to celebrate a birthday. We had been wanting to go there for their nightly specials and decided to make reservations on Sunday. It was a very snowy evening and that added even more to the already wonderful ambience of the Inn.. We were warmly greeted by a nice young lady named Paige that seated us by the fireplace. Our server Aaron was there when we needed him and not hovering over us. We ordered a steak dinner and fried chicken dinner. Both dinners were very tasty and we brought enough home for another dinner. We would absolutely recommend Duneland Beach Inn to anyone and everyone and we will be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I'm very puzzled by our last experience here. In the past have had excellent food, service and drinks. It started with the wine list. Belle Glos pinot was on the wine list but the server brought us the Meiomi. Big difference! My wife sent her steak back twice. She ordered medium and it came back extremely rare. I ordered the perch which in the past had been terrific but tasted old and mushy. We will give them another chance because of our past great experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The waiter that we had was new. He was falling behind on his tables and it took a good 30 minutes for him to finally acknowledge us. The menu was limited but he never asked what we did or did not want with our Thanksgiving dinner (we both do not like cranberries). we sent the food back when it arrived. We let the hostess know that he was having trouble but she did not seem to care. We talked with the waiter as business died down and let him know we appreciated how much he was working and let him know that things would get better for him as he got more experience. I was more disappointed in the rest of the staff than our waiter because no one seemed to care that he was over his head and customers were waiting.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great, just go and enjoy a great meal. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A hidden gem in a local B&B that has been around for years.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Two of the entrees were overcooked some but tasted good enough to not send back. Salad and dessert were very good. A bit pricey at about $60 per meal all in. Not a bad meal just not remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First time. Wonderful Sunday brunch. Had a table by the fireplace. good breakfast choices for the healthy and for the hearty.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.