Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi

About Duneland Beach Inn

Duneland Beach Inn circa 1924, located one hour from Chicago in Northwest Indiana, welcomes you to enjoy Contemporary American Cuisine made from the freshest ingredients available.



A favorite of locals and Chicagoan's alike, the Duneland has become a destination for a memorable dinner serving steaks, exotic fish and fresh seafood. Our menu offerings are seasonal and produced from local ingredients whenever possible.



Come in for an iced layer martini in our cozy lounge, then retire to dinner beside one of the fireplaces, or weather permitting,have dinner with friends on the patio.



Fine dining in a casual atmosphere at it's best.

CURRENTLY SERVING EARLY BIRD MENU FROM 5:00 - 6:00 P.M.

3311 Pottawattomie Trl
Michigan City, IN 46360
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Off Season Dinner: Open Tuesday through Sunday from Labor Day to Memorial Day: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Summer Season Dinner: Open seven days a week from Memorial Day to Labor Day: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday and Sunday Breakfast: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM (Starting April 11th)

Cross Street:
Duneland Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 874-7729

Website:
http://www.dunelandbeachinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Ron White

Private Party Facilities:
Three Private Dining Rooms that seat up to 20, 40 and 55 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Kay: (219) 874-7729

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Join us for brunch and BBQ from 9:00 - 4:00 p.m. Credit card required to guaranty reservation. Failure to cancel resulting in a "no show" will cause a charge of $10 per person as reserved.

Duneland Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Fireplace (8)
See All
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Waterfront (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I went on a solo adventure to Michigan City from Milwaukee for a few days. I had decided that on my adventure I would have a dinner date with myself. I did just that. I drove out to this lovely eatery in rainy, yucky weather so I really couldn't take in the scenery. You have to go through a wooded residential area to find Duneland. It is a beautiful restaurant. They have a nice wooded bar when you walk through the doors and there were people drinking and laughing. Being that it was a week night there wasn't anyone in the dining room until after I was seated. They let me choose where I wanted to be seated and I chose in front of the fireplace. The dining room was beautiful with each table adorned with flowers and candles. The drink menu was full and the cocktails were interesting. My server was wonderful, the cocktail was delicious and my food was amazing. Had I not been so full I would've indulged in desert as well. They have a part on the menu called, "7 for $11" and the choices were fantastic for the cost. I had the pan seared Tilapia with mashed potatoes. The amount of food I received was outstanding. I also started with their Caesar wedge salad and that was fantastic. I plan on making it back out to Michigan City sooner than later and absolutely will be back for dinner. Everything that night was spectacular!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fireplace, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Aaron, our server, was very attentive. We loved the special menu that offered 7 items for $11 each. An outstanding value. The amount of food was just right for my wife and I.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I like this restaurant and was looking forward to the same good food we have had on three separate occasions. Instead, the food was terrible for all of us. It was like it was prepared by a non-chef. Otherwise , the service was good and the atmosphere great. I should note that the wallpaper in the men's room was partially in tatters. We probably will never return unless I am convinced the food situation has been corrected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly service. The history of the inn and beauty of this setting add to the dining experience. Our waitress, Sarah, was awesome, and the food was very good. The filet special served with red beans and rice and the stuffed mushrooms were especially good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food and service with a romantic ambiance will ensure our return!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went here for Valentine's day. The restaurant was very nice and was part of a bed and breakfast. We were promptly met and sat at our table. The service was very nice and the food was excellent. I had duck with risotto which was cooked to perfection. My wife had fish which she also really liked. My only criticism was that it was a little bit louder than I hoped, but was not so overwhelming that it ruined the experience. I would definitely return for another meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went for our anniversary dinner and will be returning many times. Food was delicious and service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Short ribs and risotto were delicious! I always enjoy coming here for an enjoyable meal. Especially in the summer!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and excellent service.
This restaurant is the best restaurant in the area. We love going at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Visited Duneland Beach Inn for dinner to celebrate an anniversary.

Service was slow to start, then too fast... entrees arrived before we were finished with salads.

Steak was good... cooked as ordered. However, both the lobster in an appetizer and a salmon entrée tasted overly "fishy"... as if it had been frozen, thawed too much, then put in a refrigerator for later use - disappointing.

Good ambiance. Staff was pleasant.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve . Great food very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was the our 2nd time there. 1st time was great. This time was a total disappointment. Service was accpetable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We go here for our annual Christmas Shopping dinner. It has become a nice tradition. Had a great complimentary eggnog martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had dinner at Duneland Beach Inn to celebrate a birthday. We had been wanting to go there for their nightly specials and decided to make reservations on Sunday. It was a very snowy evening and that added even more to the already wonderful ambience of the Inn.. We were warmly greeted by a nice young lady named Paige that seated us by the fireplace. Our server Aaron was there when we needed him and not hovering over us. We ordered a steak dinner and fried chicken dinner. Both dinners were very tasty and we brought enough home for another dinner. We would absolutely recommend Duneland Beach Inn to anyone and everyone and we will be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I'm very puzzled by our last experience here. In the past have had excellent food, service and drinks. It started with the wine list. Belle Glos pinot was on the wine list but the server brought us the Meiomi. Big difference! My wife sent her steak back twice. She ordered medium and it came back extremely rare. I ordered the perch which in the past had been terrific but tasted old and mushy. We will give them another chance because of our past great experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The waiter that we had was new. He was falling behind on his tables and it took a good 30 minutes for him to finally acknowledge us. The menu was limited but he never asked what we did or did not want with our Thanksgiving dinner (we both do not like cranberries). we sent the food back when it arrived. We let the hostess know that he was having trouble but she did not seem to care. We talked with the waiter as business died down and let him know we appreciated how much he was working and let him know that things would get better for him as he got more experience. I was more disappointed in the rest of the staff than our waiter because no one seemed to care that he was over his head and customers were waiting.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great, just go and enjoy a great meal. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A hidden gem in a local B&B that has been around for years.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Two of the entrees were overcooked some but tasted good enough to not send back. Salad and dessert were very good. A bit pricey at about $60 per meal all in. Not a bad meal just not remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First time. Wonderful Sunday brunch. Had a table by the fireplace. good breakfast choices for the healthy and for the hearty.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Friendly host and waiting staff always eager to help and provides great service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food, always friendly and great service.
Host are goes out of there way to make you feel welcome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Food good. Service not great. We have always had a good experience here in the past so we might try again. Not that crowded. Maybe they were short handed. Not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Loved the ambiance, hidden amongst old trees in a residential area blocks from Lake Michigan. Food was very very tasty. Lake Perch to die but just 5 little tiny fish for $22 ! Fettuccini Alfredo came with and that was delicious. Add 3 more little perch and I am hooked! Salad was very generous. Server very friendly a tad slow but it is a laid back place....if were weren't waiting to get home for the presidential debate we would have enjoyed the pace sitting by their lovely fire.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was on spot, service was excellent, would love to check out the rooms at some point. Beautiful appearance inside and out.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Three of us ordered prime rib. One person ordered rare and it was cooked medium. Two of us ordered medium rare and it was served almost raw. Returned it but the meat was just not edible. The manager agreed and comped our two meals which we appreciated, but in the end we did not have dinner. I felt that the chef , waitress and manager should have prevented these meals from being served.
I highly recommended this restaurant and we had recently bought a gift certificate for a friend, so needless to say I was very disappointed. I have previously had excellent meals there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food and great service.
Waiting staff was very professional, provided superb service and exceeded our expectations. Receptionists are very friendly and goes out of there's way to help.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Duneland Beach Inn is in a lovely, quiet wooded neighborhood and I have enjoyed them for years. Something seems to have happened in the kitchen, though, and not in a good way. I've had the Lake Perch for years. This time it was a bit dried out, overcooked, tough. Lake Perch should be tender. In the past they've gotten it right. That's not all. Perch used to come with rice pilaf or mashed potatoes. Way back when you could even get a baked. Not this time. Some weird potato salad type thing was delivered and I can't say it was very good. The tartar sauce was thick and heavy. Both our salads - the lettuce had seen better days. It was not big bouncy and fresh but flattened, cut in small pieces and starting to lose its color. For these prices the quality should be consistently high. The dessert tray - it really looked like a selection taken out of a freezer. We got key lime pie - it was too cold, and again looked like something that had been delivered to the restaurant frozen. I regret to say that something has happened and it is not good. I hope they get it together as I really enjoy the location and ambiance of this restaurant. Please don't go the way of so many Northwest Indiana restaurants and settle for mediocre.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Cozy wooded setting. Drinks were good. Lake perch was sub-par; halibut was just okay, key lime pie was disappointing. We've had better food here in the past; not sure what's happened. Doubt we'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent and relaxing getaway. On Fiday night intoxicated guests were very loud on the patio, till late - very annoying. Good experience overall.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food served was very good, but didn't match the description on the menu in a couple of instances. Server needs to be better trained for this level of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tucked away in the woods, this is a GEM OF A RESTAURANT! The bar is quaint while waiting for your table, or just gazing into the woods. Set in a converted house, this is a perfect setting for a warm, enjoyable gathering place for family and friends to enjoy great cooking with a hometown feel. From the soup/salads to the main courses, all the menu choices are sure to please. The service was friendly warm and attentive as well. We are looking forward to our next visit to Duneland Beach Inn.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The kitchen didn't cook the meal correctly. We reordered chicken dinner and waited. The bartender took our dining room order. Then to top it off. They ran out of chicken and my wife never got served. So we left after hour and half .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience! Exceeded our expectations in every category. When in the area, this will be a definite stop for us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food, as usual, was very good. We have dined here multiple times, and this was the first time the service was less than superb. Our waitress apparently had a large table, and thus, we were somewhat forgotten. The other wait staff did their best to service us, but it was still less than the service we've received in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Not impressed. Each time we have been there food seems more expensive and less of it.
Calamari appetizer barely enough for 7 of us to taste. Service slow, very noisy night in the bar.
WIl not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant provides great food and great service. It is best in class.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place has been a regular for me and my family for years. When ever I have friends, family or business visiting I make a point of having one of our dinners here. The food is good and usually the outdoor atmosphere is great. The main dining can be a bit too quick and need of excitement.

Overall this meal was okay, however, service was awful!!! Our server told us they were short staffed to only 3 people. They were VERY SLOW, took forever to get our food, drinks, bill processed and then they forgot we were on their patio and locked us out of the restaurant. Oh and it wasn't even 10:00 PM. Apparently everyone was in a rush to go home. Next time I will rethink about bringing guest here since they will be treated poorly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had reservations and were promptly seated. We were given a choice of tables which I love. Seating is important to me. The wine list is good and features enough wines to match any pallet. Our dinners were delicious and the presentation beautiful. I had ordered a filet medium and it was not as rare as I prefer. I would order medium rare or possibly rare next time. The fish was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.