Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 3.48mi
  3. Distance: 3.74mi
  4. Distance: 4.80mi

About Duneland Beach Inn

Duneland Beach Inn circa 1924, located one hour from Chicago in Northwest Indiana, welcomes you to enjoy Contemporary American Cuisine made from the freshest ingredients available.



A favorite of locals and Chicagoan's alike, the Duneland has become a destination for a memorable dinner serving steaks, exotic fish and fresh seafood. Our menu offerings are seasonal and produced from local ingredients whenever possible.



Come in for an iced layer martini in our cozy lounge, then retire to dinner beside one of the fireplaces, or weather permitting,have dinner with friends on the patio.



Fine dining in a casual atmosphere at it's best.

CURRENTLY SERVING EARLY BIRD MENU FROM 5:00 - 6:00 P.M.

3311 Pottawattomie Trl
Michigan City, IN 46360
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Off Season Dinner: Open Tuesday through Sunday from Labor Day to Memorial Day: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Summer Season Dinner: Open seven days a week from Memorial Day to Labor Day: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday and Sunday Breakfast: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM (Starting April 11th)

Cross Street:
Duneland Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(219) 874-7729

Website:
http://www.dunelandbeachinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Ron White

Private Party Facilities:
Three Private Dining Rooms that seat up to 20, 40 and 55 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Kay: (219) 874-7729

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining

Duneland Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Cozy (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Quiet and good food. Service was phenomenal! Great placed in a tucked away area!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had an excellent dinner here. It was very enjoyable. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Happened to find this lovely inn/restaurant when perusing Open Table. What a find! Easy to reserve a table for the same night for two. We opted to sit outside and the patio area was lovely. Service was never rushed but we never felt neglected, either. Enjoyed a leisurely cocktail before ordering. Many unique combinations on the menu and some very tempting specials, but we both chose the Mediterranean platter appetizer (olive tapenade, bruschetta, and baba ganoush--delicious, though I didn't understand the crispy pita triangles, would have preferred soft pita) and the lake perch. Breading was light, as advertised, and even gluten-free I believe. Served over a basil risotto that was delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Inexplicably, we were the only people in the restaurant. So it was no surprise that service was prompt and attentive, and noise level was only of our own making.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We tiik friends for their anniversary and had a wonderful time! Great service, wonderful food and pleasant surroundings!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My husband had dinner at the Duneland Beach Inn last Sunday. It was a beautiful night and we had a table on the terrace. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The entrée portions were very generous. Both our entrée were daily specials. We will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I ordered the ribs which were very good, a friend ordered chicken which was also very good. Our wives ordered gray snapper which was disgusting. We told the server who did absolutely nothing, didn't even offer an alternative.

The service started off poorly when we found out there were specials available but were not told by the server and went down hill from there.

This was my 3rd or 4th visit to this restaurant and I hope it's not declining. I was surprised that it was only partially filled on a Saturday night and the bar was totally empty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always friendly great service and food.This restaurant is neighborhood Gem and unmatchable food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place doesn't have the best service, but I think it's the owners responsibility. The staff really seemed to be very hard-working.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service went from bad to worse, and no one seems to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our first time there, wonderful food and service. We will be back!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had a very nice evening dinner here. Definitely made up for the last time we were there. I will add though that two of our guests were vegan and the only options they had to eat was the side salad and French fries. We weren't aware of the dietary restrictions at the time we place the reservations - just would have liked to have a more varied menu to include more vegan options.
Otherwise, service was great and the rest of the food was delicious. Thanks!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, very good food, good service, actually loved the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very pleasant surroundings for a quiet dinner. Our waitress did an excellent job. She was very welcoming and attentive without hovering. Our two meals were excellent. Nice presentation and excellent flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner! Excellent food and service in beautiful surroundings by the beach.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The staff is friendly and attentive. The outdoor seating is very nice. The menu selections looked promising but sadly fell short. We both got the house salad, which consisted of 3 pieces of butter lettuce, 3 cherry tomatoes with a sprinkling of feta and black olive rings. My husbands fish was burnt and his vegetables were a pile of mush. I got the mussels and fettuccine. The mussels were decimated along with clumps of noodles in a watery butter sauce. The carrot cake was good.
Against our better judgement, we decided to try it again for breakfast the next day.
I got the quiche which was actually a frittata and seriously overdone. My husband got the crab Benedict which made him pretty sick after eating it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual this restaurant is top of my list, the best restaurant in town, great service, great food and it is absulatly a neighborhood Gen.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food and great service always. One of the best restaurant in town, unmatch service and atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I went on travel advisory for a cozy place to dine in Michigan City. We drove from Chicago .
It exceed my expectations !!! The staff was warm and helpful.
Please try this gem by the beach, it was worth the drive.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a delightful dinner outside in the patio. The food was great and the service friendly. Overall a really nice experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Cozy inviting dining areas (3 not counting the bar) two fireplaces for ambience and good food menu with a broad choice what is not to love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

3 of us has dinner and we all raved about our dishes. One of us had fish with risotto, one had pasta with a pesto sauce and I had mussels with pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice place for a relaxing meal. Only caveat was that the wait was way too long, and for no valid reason.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great friendly service and great food. It is neighborhood 💎 and very calm and friendly atmosphere and food service unmatchable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

A cozy place to stay, though the room was a bit small and had a few issues, but the owner was right on it, correcting the problems. Frankly, it is a beautiful, old house. and issues come with age. The chef created delicious meals for us, even though I have food allergies, and that shows a real talent to pull something together. Service was outstanding too. I cannot wait to go back next year. It was one of the best restaurant I have been to, in a long time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2017

An ole standby for me but this time a new menu and tough service disappointed! Went with some friends and while the ambiance and feel was nice, the food was a little disjointed and the service was not good. There is a new chef and the menu has been completely changed. Lot's of new "sweet n' savory" approached dishes. Drinks were ordered and promptly delivered and from that point on we had to run down our server to order and deliver everything. Apps were ok. The Fried Clams were ok BUT it was a "mountain" of food. Also not sure the sweet chili sauce for the clams is the way to go either. Soup was tasty but totally cold. The salads we had were nice but nothing to write home about. Took way too long to get them too. For dinner, I had the double cut Pork Chop with what was supposed to be a sweet cranberry glaze that was floating in a sweet pink watery sauce. I could barely get through it without getting a cavity. My guests had the Prime Rib which was as usual good but the server kept telling us that we got the last two orders. Not sure why that's important other than she may have been trying to tell us she pulled off some sort of heroics in light of the fact that she was not giving us enough attention. Anyway, she was polite enough just not efficient. Lastly the deserts were OK. We had the baked Blondie and the Cheesecake. Fine with those. All in all I hope that this is just a new chef trying to find her menu here and an off night for service. It's still a cozy place with great ambiance so do go check it out but pay close attention to the sweet thing going on there as well as the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I can't say enough about our dining experience. The bar tenderness was very friendly, efficient, and makes great cocktails. The wait staff was attentive. The food was delicious. We were celebrating an anniversary and their congratulatory remarks were abundant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our 4th or 5th visit. We've had the same experience each time. Very bad service. The food is very good and the restaurant is lovely, but they just don't seem to be able to put the whole package together. It took about an hour to get our entrees and no one --not our waiter or the very present manager checked in with us. They forgot about my husband's salad. Finally, we were told that the special two of us had ordered "took 20 minutes to cook" and the kitchen was backed up. The restaurant wasn't full and the entrée was on their featured menu so why the difficulty?

We noticed a table next to us was also having difficulties with their orders. The manager did drop off a gift certificate as an apology for the slow service but I doubt we'll use it.

I would love to love this place but unfortunately they make it difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We dined outside and it was lovely. The bar was lively with people drinking and dining. We had a very quiet table outside with most diners inside. I would recommend this to anyone for great food, outside seating, service and exceptional setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The ahi tuna appetizer was out of this world!

The patio ambiance was beyond charming.

The hostess having her toddler at a table in the dining room.....unacceptable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food!
Fair Service...our dinner came before our salad

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Seemed overpriced for the meal and location. Food was good but not spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The sautéed perch dinner was best ever!! Good wine list and friendly helpful service.. Banana cream pie topped off terrific dinner!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I love the atmosphere here. The bar is inviting and the restaurant is cozy. With the fireplaces burning you get a feeling of home. The menu is changing - there is a new chef - and she is adapting the menu. I had the "New Bills Chicken". It was delicious. My daughter had her old stand by, the filet. Great cut of meat and very flavorful. It is always a nice experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

great place for dinner! Beautiful atmosphere, fast service. The dining room was very intimate, and the menu had a lot to offer. It was a very relaxing meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the host was not very welcoming but everything else was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This has always been a family favorite because it's local and the food was reliable. Then the menu changed. No longer able to pick our side dishes, nor is prime rib an option. Instead only pesto risotto and whipped potatoes are offered. Where are the baked potatoes and rice options? Even the famous wedge is gone. Oh no! This past weekend I ordered the lamb shank which was obviously reheated, overcooked and smothered in a pasta sauce instead of basking in au jus. Was it to hide the condition of the meat? I was so sad to see one of my favorite venues rule out what worked well for a trendy menu. Bring back the old menu! It worked and all of us understood it!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Once again we were terribly disappointed. Service was poor. We had to wait 20 min. For a beer to be delivered. The waitress forgot to order one of the dinners. Which arrived when everyone else was through eating. No compensation or complimentary dessert was offered! There were only 6 other diners (3 tables) in the restaurant at the time. We love the atmosphere of this restaurant, but the service and food are so hit or miss that it makes it difficult to want go back. I definitely would not bring houseguests because it is too undependable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The outdoor patio offered a quiet yet attractive scene to enjoy a wonderful brunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Not the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.