About Duling Kurtz House

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
American
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
5 More
Best Overall
Western Suburbs
Best Food
Western Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Western Suburbs
Romantic
Western Suburbs
American
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Exton ›

Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Historic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After spending numerous Thanksgivings at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After spending numerous Thanksgivings at this restaurant, we will not be going back. First major issue was LILIES on the table. Rule #1 at a restaurant is nothing with fragrance on the table. You want the fragrance of the food to permeate the air....LILIES!!! I could not believe it. I am also very allergic. We removed from our table but my eyes continued to burn and water. They were on almost every table! Then....the entrees were not good. Turkey was so dry I could not swallow it. Rack of lamb loaded with fat...$44.00 for the entree and you just do not expect that. It is a shame because we loved the atmosphere. Drinks were good, popovers & lemon curd are special, baked brie (appetizer) was just OK. Both of our entrees (traditional turkey & rack of lamb) were just not up to par. For the money, there are other fabulous restaurants we will choose from next time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

When we arrived there were at least 20 p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

When we arrived there were at least 20 people who hadn't been seated yet. Our reservations were at 4 and I think maybe we were seated at 4:30. The waiter seemed incredibly overwhelmed, and he may have been as the place was very crowded and obviously, enough wait staff were not working. We didn't get our order placed for about another half hour and we never saw our dinner for at least another 45 minutes. The food was overcooked and the portions were small, yet the prices were very high. Some in my party were vegetarian, and there were no vegetarian options. There should be more. The mushroom tart, our main meal as it was basically the only vegetarian item, was about 3 inches in diameter and half full with filling. Hardly worth the $13 price tag. Husband's turkey dinner was very overcooked, as was daughter's steak. All in all, a very disappointing Thanksgiving dinner. We've had many nice meals where the food was delicious, service was outstanding and cost was commensurate. This, however, was not one of those times. Hopefully, things will improve.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had an exceptional meal, with every c ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had an exceptional meal, with every course being just about perfect. I had the best lobster bisque I've ever had in my life, and I've had lobster bisque a lot. We were also seated right by the fireplace in the old kitchen hearth, and it was a lovely setting for a romantic dinner for two. I've been to this exceptional restaurant several times over the last few years for special occasions and it has yet to disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to the Duling Kurtz Hous ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had not been to the Duling Kurtz House for some time and should have. It's back in the rotation.

This is not a complete trip back to the 60's as you will enjoy at Vicker's, but a bit of that combined with an attempt at New York expense account menu building. How else could you get an 8oz lobster tail and and 8oz filet on the same plate? Capitol Grille in Chester County.

Crab cakes were baked and generous. Lamb shank was fork tender with a deep, rich sauce to be savored. Dark chocolate mouse was not quite dark enough, but very smooth, rich and satisfying. Excelent (!!) coffee. So often not the case anymore.

No more expensive than many lessor restaurants and people actually try to dress up a bit, so rare in this age of blue jeans (not even clean blue jeans) everywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual the food was outstanding! Amy, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding! Amy, our server is an energetic delight. The decor is elegant. Our favorite entrees are the wiener schnitzel and the chipino. Another great touch are the popovers. This has become our go to restaurant for fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at its best. Great food - m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fine dining at its best. Great food - mushroom soup and filet mignon were excellent. Beautiful setting in an historic mansion. Elegant without being stuffy. Service was of high caliber. Wonderful live music - sax and keyboard. We were looking for a special place for dinner and this was a great choice. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone to Durling Kurtz for quite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We have gone to Durling Kurtz for quite a few years and generally had a very good meal.

This time the food was not up to their standards.

Cold plates and sending a meal back only to have the replacement be no better.

Surely any good cook knows that you have to heat the plates for the meal to stay warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a WONDERFUL evening at this lovel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a WONDERFUL evening at this lovely, elegant restaurant. We've been there before and were thrilled to have the same exceptionally enthusiastic and super-competent and friendly waitress -- Amy. Meals start off there with fabulous, light popovers served with lemon curd that is to die for. I could have eaten five of them for my entire meal. I asked for a separate room for our small celebration with five friends and we were given a quiet, wonderful room with a fireplace which we had to ourselves. I highly recommend the Duhling Kurtz Inn for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and ambiance!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant for all ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant for all our special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine's Day, Mother's Day....or just a romantic dinner sitting in the private Duling Kurtz room. The food is exceptional, the service is wonderful (Cynthia is a delight) and the ambiance is warm, elegant and friendly. I have even held large parties upstairs in the gorgeous garden room.

And, last but not least, your Host/Owner, Mrs. Gertie Person personally sees to your complete satisfaction and ensures a perfect dining experience.

You won't find anyplace finer in Chester County.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to this restaurant many times ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times and each time it so great to be there. They make you

feel like family. Everyone is so kind and helpful and really want you to enjoy your time there.

Good is excellent, service is excellent. Great atmosphere and once you go you will go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned again, and had an absolutely wo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Returned again, and had an absolutely wonderful evening. The chef specials were amazing, as was the service for the evening. DK is really an exceptional destination in our local area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic inn experience. Good food, beau ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Classic inn experience. Good food, beautiful place, and pricey.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Still the best ever !!!!!!!!! The food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Still the best ever !!!!!!!!! The food is fantastic and the small room off the porch is great for private celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a quiet lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great place for a quiet lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Great ambiance. Superior, friendly and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great ambiance. Superior, friendly and attentive service. Excellent food and a wide selection of items. Whenever my wife and I want to go to a restaurant that we know will always be a special treat, we select the Duling Kurtz House. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and our server June ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was amazing and our server June was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is simply one of the finest places ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This is simply one of the finest places to eat in all of the Delaware Valley. My wife had three delicious appetizers while I enjoyed a remarkable mussels/lobster starter followed by a perfectly-cooked medium-rare NY strip. We shared a decadent dessert. The only glitch was a mixup twixt server and wine cellar which produced a Chablis we didn't order, then a different vintage Burgundy than what was listed, before we settled on a very nice Bordeaux.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Dueling Kurtz is one of the best restaur ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Dueling Kurtz is one of the best restaurants in Chester County. We just celebrated my 60th birthday with friends in the private room. It was perfect🍾

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate both our daugh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We came here to celebrate both our daughter and her husband's birthdays. We all had great meals - 2 had Scottish salmon, special seafood pasta in white wine sauce and braised beef short ribs. Ken is a great waiter and Michael is a great bartender. A great spot with great food for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great experience at DKH. Loo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2016

As always, great experience at DKH. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always the highest quality food preparat ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always the highest quality food preparation, unusual specials, and top quality service, plus a cozy, historic, quiet atmosphere/ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Spectacular dining experience to celebra ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Spectacular dining experience to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Lobster Entree was fabulous. The Tasmanian Trout appetizer was fantastic and the desserts were very tasty and beautifully prepared!

Thank you so much for another wonderful celebration and delicious food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and they accomm ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was outstanding and they accommodated us with a quiet table as we had an elderly person with us who has hearing issues. But our server was very unorganized and extremely slow. We had to ask several times for things and at one point asked the bus boy to get it. Felt like she didn't like us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

This night was an amazing way to spend o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This night was an amazing way to spend our Anniversary!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. Excellent me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Excellent menu for a wide variety of tastes. Had the Arctic Char special and it was awesome. A wonderful "special occasion " place as well as comfort food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From beginning to end, a fantastic dinin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

From beginning to end, a fantastic dining experience. This historic building is charming, seating in various rooms large or small accommodating large groups, small groups or couples. Our server, Cynthia, was delightful, friendly and full of knowledge about the menu and the restaurant. Difficult to make a selection, as there were so many appealing dishes. Fabulous lobster bisque, lobster tails sweeter than we had in New England this summer. Perfect location for a "date night." Felt the price was certainly reasonable for two appetizers, two entrees and two desserts for this caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our friends for their first time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took our friends for their first time and they loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely my favorite restaurant...have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely my favorite restaurant...have been here about 10 times in the past year, and never a bad meal, always good specials, and the bartender Michael? Simply the best bartender ever! He'll make you the best chocolate-espresso martini you will ever have!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and food prepared to perfe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Service and food prepared to perfection. Menu was wide and the specials sounded very good even though I eventually had the rack of lamb. The view out the window was rustic and quietly beautiful. Could not have had a better date with my bride of 46 years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was very good-esp the popovers ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our food was very good-esp the popovers & starters! Entrees & dessert were good also. June was our waitress & she was fabulous-really excellent at looking after us. Drinks were yummy. Service was just exemplary & very relaxing & elegant ambiance. We will make D-K House a regular experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The service was just ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was good. The service was just average and not nearly what I would expect of a place that charges such high prices. We also thought it extremely petty of them that I had 3 club sodas and they charged us for each. No refills. The glasses were small and they were $3 each. I doubt we'll go back for that reason alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We had guests in from out of town- spend ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had guests in from out of town- spending the night at the Duling Kurtz & enjoy relying on The Duling Kurtz folks to provide consistently great food and service. The Colonial era building is impeccably decorated and maintained- which adds nothing but positives to the delicious food offerings. The DK is easily in the top five in fine dining options for Chester County & the prices are reasonable for the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very service. The duck was excellent - c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very service. The duck was excellent - crispy skin and tender meat. Enjoyed the specialty cocktail aswell.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been dinning at Duling Kurtz for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been dinning at Duling Kurtz for over twenty years, never had a disappointing experience. The food is very good, more traditional in presentation, popovers with lemon curd will bring you back. A respectable wine list, wait staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive to detail. Beautiful setting in a old farm house, well kept grounds enhances the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been staying at this facility fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have been staying at this facility for years during the winter and at the restaurant for lunch frequently for years , the food and service are always excellent and we would recommend it! Jules R even though we have to drive 35 miles to get there

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a nice family dinner. The s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for a nice family dinner. The service was fantastic. The waitress' actions ensured that we had a very relaxing dinner. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed their selections. We especially liked the making of the Caesar salad at tableside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a really great place to go and h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a really great place to go and have a wonderful dinner. You are not rushed, the food is delicious always and staff treat you like family. We always enjoy going and have a relaxing and

fun time.

I would recommend everyone go and see for yourself and I believe you too, would be happy and a repeat diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress clapped her hands and pract ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waitress clapped her hands and practically danced everytime we made a selection. This alone would prevent us from returning. The food is the other reason. My trout , green beans and potatoes were wonderful before they were smothered in almonds and lots of melted butter. The meal was practically floating. My husband's rack of lamb was slightly overcooked and sort of meager compared to other racks we have had. Not a very good experience for $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Quiet and excellent menu and service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Quiet and excellent menu and service. Very enjoyable for an occasion or fine meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.