Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

About Duling Kurtz House

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Romantic (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Historic (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fireplace (10)
Scenic View (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (7)
Private Room (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful grounds. Awesome relaxing atmosphere and great food. The popovers are perfect and the spinach seafood salad was fantastic

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

As usual Duling Kurtz met our expectations. Went with a friend for lunch, it is a bit pricey, but worth every penny. The escargot are to die for. It is just a very lovely, pleasant place to spend an afternoon with friends. The garden could do with a little sprucing up but other than that the porch is a lovely place to enjoy a meal. Our waiter was terrific too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a business meeting. Everything was great. The service was excellent and the food fantastic. Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We enjoyed a pleasant dinner for our anniversary. Food was delicious. Decor was charming. Surprised to see they have live music events - hopefully we'll make it back to check it out

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Having just relocated to the area, we stumbled upon this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We're so glad we did! The food was exceptional, the service perfect, and the ambiance quiet and pleasant. The entire experience was absolutely first class, and we'll return many times.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

AWESOME as usual. We go here when we want something special, and are never let down. From the Tasmanian smoked trout, to the black bass, and then two of their Austrian specialties, weiner schnitzel and cheese strudel. Everything is cooked to perfection, the wait staff is friendly and appropriately attentive. This is an old country farmhouse so the atmosphere and views are wonderful. Usually quiet dining, even when they have live music. Great place for special occasions, date night, or when you are looking for a fabulous meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service, wonderful menu, all very well presented.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a gift card from our family. Thank you. We thought it was great. Drinks, apps and both our meals were great! We will return and recommend to our friends.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

As usual, Duling Kurtz never disappoints. Food and service was outstanding. Best place to celebrate a special event.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always great food and service. The atmosphere was great for a luncheon and great quiet conversation among friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was inconsistent and the service was very poor (staff seemed unconcerned since a 20% gratuity is automatic). Our entrees were served two hours after we were seated and several had to be sent back to the kitchen because they were cold. Drinks weren't provided until 30 minutes after ordered and several were not what was requested. We were overcharged (extra entree) and had to make several requests for a refund.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and great variety. Service was perfect with good attention without interruption.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server greeted us a few mins after we were seated. We ordered drinks, and it took a few mins for the server to bring them. He took our order and spoke in a kind and friendly manner. Verbally, he was trying. Our server did not bring our food to the table, and the runner did not ask if we needed anything. Our server did not check on us to see if we needed anything, and we needed butter, syrup, salt, pepper and drink refills. He finally brought me a second iced tea when I was finished eating, but my daughter was not offered a coffee refill. Serving breakfast/brunch, to me, is different then lunch and dinner. A little extra attention should be paid to what is going on with the food and drink . D.K. was my Mother's favorite, so we wanted to go there for Mother's Day in her honor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent cuisine, especially the crab cakes and the wiener schnitzel and pop-overs. Excellent wine, especially Dr. Loosen's Riesling. Excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Another delicious dinner with excellent service. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Organic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I frequent this site often for business lunches. It is an upscale menu with great daily special creations. This is a white table cloth kind of place with an impressive selection...from ahi and escargot as a starter to crab cakes and lobster crepes for an entree...they even have great fish and chips and a hamburger. The service is amazing and normally not too crowded over lunch. This is one of my most favorite spots in the area!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Been here many times, great menu, great cocktails, very friendly staff and great food. Good for a romantic evening, or for a group dinner because they are that accommodating. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Such a wonderful place to have a quiet dinner. Atmosphere was wonderful, the staff were beyond helpful and the food a delight!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was our first time at Duling Kurtz and we loved it! The food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Hope to go back soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A wonderful lunch. Wish we lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I recently attended a special lunch for staff at Duling Kurtz. Although the restaurant was sparsely filled, the service was very slow. My lunch and several others commented that the food was just average. Considering the prices, for example $12.00 for a small salad that was mainly spinach with 2 or 3 arugula leaves, 3 pieces of shredded carrot and 2 cherry tomatoes cut in half, we expected more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was quite delicious but the portions were a bit small for the prices in my experience. Our waiter was wonderful and loved telling us about the various items on the menu. He was a great ambassador for the restaurant! The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the ambiance. We will definitely go back again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One entrée was poorly prepared and unacceptable. Noise level was quite high. Waiter failed to provide detailed receipt with credit card bill and followed our party into the parking lot and rudely demanded additional tip (20%).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the entire staff and our service was outstanding. My husband said it was the best filet he has ever had and that is saying something.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had lovely meal for Easter Sunday. Food was delicious as always. We were served by June who was awesome. So friendly and professional. Lovely place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Perfect Easter dinner!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My wife and I had a lovely dinner here. The food was exceptional as was the service. We were celebrating our anniversary and our waiter (Ken) presented us with a special candle when he served dessert. Nice touch. The ambiance was nice, though marred by two patrons sitting at the other end of the room who insisted on sharing a couple of music videos (with volume on). Why their waiter did not stop this we're not sure. In addition, a kitchen staff person was ordered to weed wack the garden just outside our dining room. Not only was it noisy and distracting, but small stones and debris carreened off our and other diners' windows. Bad timing for doing yard work. All this being said, we'd go back for a special occasion, as the food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food! The Kale & Caesar salad is definitely the best salad I've ever had in my life. Goes well with the scallops. Michael the bartender is so friendly and made me a special off the menu wine spritzer. Such a wonderful evening with spectacular service. 5 stars all around

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Everything was divine. They were kind enough to give us a complimentary creme brûlée to celebrate. My wife loved her crab cakes which came on a butternut squash puree. My lobster and crab crepes were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Perfect 👌🏻 I would definately recommend you this place. The good was fantastşc. Our waştress Amy did an excellent job. We are eager to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great ! Good food and service. Worth the drive (0:35 min.) Will take some friends next time. Wine a little expensive,

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Came to celebrate our daughter's confirmation. There were eight of us. They gave us a private room with a fireplace. The food and service were awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

First time meal at the establishment, an amazing evening and excellent service by the one and Only June! I will return soon with my business team and for seasonal dining.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a wonderful first visit to this historic restaurant. Our servers were excellent and made us feel welcomed from the minute we arrived. Without us asking, they gave us a beautiful table in front of a fireplace, in a semi private room. Rooms are small, and feel intimate. The food was extremely impressive: creative dishes, complex recipes, and everything was presented beautifully. We are happy we discovered this place for monthly date nights- and will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service. We had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. The food was excellent, and the waiter was friendly, and attended to us as needed, never felt rushed or forgotten. We all had seafood dishes, the grouper was amazing, as was the fish boil. The lobster tails again were quite good. The strudel was FANTASTIC!!!!! They are known for their Austrian dishes, but all food was top notch! A regular spot for us...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent menu, wine list, and nice fireside table! Attentive and nice service staff. We enjoyed our meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our first time here with friends. A+ in "every" respect. Can't wait to return !!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.