Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

About Duling Kurtz House

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to dinner with friends at Duling Kurtz. To begin, the location in an old building is handsome. The waitress, Julia, was excellent: efficient, knowledgeable, pleasant and available when we needed her but not hanging over us. The menu could not have been better with a fine selection of appetizers, entrees and deserts. The wine and drinks list had everything we could have wanted.
Our entire meal was delicious. Three of us had the Weiner Schnitzel and one, the duck breast. All cooked to perfection with accompanying veggies. We shared the creme brûlée at dinners' end.
We would highly recommend this restaurant and will return as soon as we have the opportunity.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything was great except for the hostess who actually was quite hostile. I found out during the meal she is the owner and manager. Definitely short handed. She was rude , sat us without menus. Chef is awesome, bartender good but harried ( he was waiting on tables in the bar at the same time)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Our night at Duling Kurtz was excellent though pricey. Because it was a Sunday, we were alone in one of their cozy rooms. We had an excellent server who added to the enjoyment of the evening. This time there were some unusual offerings for the main course one of them being rabbit in a maple glaze. Though we did not order it, the presentation looked wonderful. Happened to catch a glance of it! Plan to return again with friends when they come to visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Totally enjoyed our meal for special occasion! Service excellent and food -the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food and service great
Generous portions
Popovers terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great dinner. Service was great. Had a drink at the bar beforehand and Michael is always a great bartender. We all had a different entree - seafood special, organic salmon, strip steak and the delicious pheasant. French onion soup, beet salad and special pumpkin seafood soup were all delicious. Great meal for our daughter's 30th birthday. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Good food but the waitress was overworked and everything was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amy and Julie were amazing.
The food, like always, was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a memorable meal and special evening. Food nicely presented and friendly and helpful waitstaff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food and wait staff were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great place for a special dinner. My wife and i had found DK when we lived in Downingtown in the early 90's and it was excellent then, its even better now. Just fantastic!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had eaten there when we lived in PA 6 years ago and thought it was very good. This time not so great. First of all the wallpaper hasn't been updated in many years, I remember that pattern from the 1960's, and the atmosphere isn't the best. I ordered crab cakes and I couldn't have been more disappointed in the quality of the crab meat. We had attended the mushroom festival in Kennett Square and had a Portobello sandwich with a crab cake on top and that crab cake was worth a return trip. Delicious. Our server at Duling Kurtz was very good. No complaints about the service. Sorry about such a negative review but perhaps this will be considered constructive criticism and improvements will be made?

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

As per usual - All was excellent - We have been to most of the classical Chester County Restaurants, in our opinion, this one is clearly the best, never a disappointment--ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our favorite date spot... in the bar!! Great food, drinks, atmosphere, best bartender (Michael) in Chester Cty!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The current owners have restored this location to being one of the premier dining spots in Chester County and the Philadelphia suburbs. The food is amazingly tasteful and consistent. Our server June was pleasant and her personality is an added plus.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is a favorite place to dine for us. Great taste and not rushed. Blood Orange Margaritas are wonderful, and popovers with Lemon Curd are a phenomenon.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

So glad to have found this place! We were looking for a quiet, non-rushed lunch in a location convenient to the PA turnpike for family to meet up who were coming from different directions. This could not have better suited the occasion. We had a beautiful day, and the staff are so accommodating that they served us out in their lovely Gazebo. The food was wonderful and the service way above and beyond any reasonable expectation. We'll definitely be looking for an excuse to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The foof was mostly good - the duck breast a tad chewy. Service was superb.\

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Unfortunately, all the women at the other 2 tables were terribly noisy during lunch. We were all seated way too close to each other in the same side room. We should have been spread out more. We were the first two to arrive, and the screaming others were placed right next to us. I could barely hear my friend speak across a small table. We finally got up, and sat and talked in the bar area. One would have thought that women at a restaurant of this quality would have had the courtesy to lower their voices slightly. One could even clearly hear their conversations from another room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have had an outstanding experience at DK and this was less than that. However, I will give them another try. They had a very large party which we believe delayed our meals. More communication about it would have been welcome. Two salads were good to very good; octopus starter was overcooked. Salmon and Ahi tuna entrées were good to very good. Lobster crepes were tasty, however, I believe there was just as much crab as lobster so the dish may be mis-named. Crepes themselves were over-done. Vegetables were overcooked and mashed potatoes were lukewarm. Popovers were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was delicious, and service was attentive, but not intrusive. The popovers are amazing, and our wonderful server offered more of them! It's a little expensive, but worth it. We had a coupon for a free appetizer. We got the scallops appetizer which was so good. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was excellent and we enjoyed the ambiance. The noise level
was high when we got there, but by the time we left it at subsided.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were seated at a window table on the porch, where we were served a wonderful meal. Our waitress June, was very friendly, knowledgeable, & efficient. When we first arrived the noise level was a bit loud, but eased when several of the male diners left. Our experience was a very positive one until it came time to settle the bill, whereupon, we learned that you would not accept our Visa Gift Card. It's our understanding that this card is as good as cash, which I'm sure you would have accepted. We didn't understand the explanation, other than it (the refusal) had to do with the gratituity amount. We are very disappointed with your policy. It makes no sense!
Joan Schwabenbauer

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great atmosphere with great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Outstanding service by Nico & Edyta. Exquisite Long Island duck from the best farm on L.I. Octopus is delicious and mouth watering, cooked perfectly. Happy hour worthwhile beforehand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food, varied selection, we we're not rushed...service was terrific...additions to menu we're innovative and fresh...wish they had a lighter selection of desserts...but we enjoyed it and will go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First time at the Duling-Kurtz. I'll be honest, when we first pulled up I was a little nervous as we were greeted with a quaint, but not well taken care of grounds area. Weeds in the walkway, walkway lights bent over or broken...things like that. The decor is either love it or hate it. The room we ate in was very rustic, which we loved. Huge fireplace with a few candlelit tables. After being seated, any reservations I had slipped away. Servers were pleasant and attentive, glasses always topped off and were able to answer any questions we had. Noise level was low at first then around 7:30 picked up just a little. We were able to speak softly and hear each other perfectly fine. The food was tasty and flavorful. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Loved the food and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We dined at Duling Kurtz House for our 40th anniversary and very much enjoyed the experience. Great food choices with a familiar wine and a delicious cobbler to complete the meal. Great waiter, who described the menu choices well, and spent some time telling us about the history of the restaurant, added to our enjoyment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Another wonderful dinner with excellent service. I would recommend this restaurant. Always superb 👌

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Organic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

After a long hiatus, we returned to Duling Kurtz after a recommendation from a Book Club member. What a lovely dining experience! We went with friends for dinner and went to the cozy bar first for a cocktail. Later we were seated in one of the small dining areas of this historic building. The room had a fireplace which would be very inviting on a crisp winter evening . All of us enjoyed our appetizers and entrees especially the escargot, duck and Wiener Schnitzel. And oh, those yummy popovers! Our server was very attentive and most helpful with menu suggestions. We certainly plan to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great experience. Food was outstanding. Service was a bit slow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Once again, a truly memorable event with friends. The food was great, the service excellent and the ambiance superb. Duling House is one of our favorite places!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Beautiful grounds. Awesome relaxing atmosphere and great food. The popovers are perfect and the spinach seafood salad was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

As usual Duling Kurtz met our expectations. Went with a friend for lunch, it is a bit pricey, but worth every penny. The escargot are to die for. It is just a very lovely, pleasant place to spend an afternoon with friends. The garden could do with a little sprucing up but other than that the porch is a lovely place to enjoy a meal. Our waiter was terrific too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was a business meeting. Everything was great. The service was excellent and the food fantastic. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We enjoyed a pleasant dinner for our anniversary. Food was delicious. Decor was charming. Surprised to see they have live music events - hopefully we'll make it back to check it out

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Having just relocated to the area, we stumbled upon this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We're so glad we did! The food was exceptional, the service perfect, and the ambiance quiet and pleasant. The entire experience was absolutely first class, and we'll return many times.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.