About Duling Kurtz House

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Western Suburbs
Romantic
Western Suburbs
American
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Exton ›

special occasion (46)
romantic (41)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
neighborhood gem (17)
scenic view (14)
notable wine list (12)
great for lunch (11)
good for groups (5)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We were cele ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were celebrating a retirement for one of my good friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience, as always ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding dining experience, as always. Superior unique cuisine, and outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going to the Duling-Kurtz since it ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Been going to the Duling-Kurtz since it opened. The food is consistently good, with some dishes earning a "Great!" The servers are always friendly and helpful - very attentive. My wife had a special Box Tomato Salad which she said was very refreshing. I had the Harvest Salad with the Sherry Vinaigrette - awesome combination of flavors - a new favorite. I had a special Seafood Bisque which was prepared perfectly with the seafood being added so it cooked perfectly and was not rubbery. My wife's Surf 'n Turf was to her liking - who can argue with a lobstah - fresh and sweet. The filet was very flavorful and I as I got to help with the mash potatoes, they were the perfect combination of texture and flavor. I had a special Seafood Cioppino - again prepared perfectly and if you're a garlic lover as I am, you will do what I did and enjoy the broth at the end. My only complaints were having to pick the thyme stems out of the dish before eating it and not having a piece of soppy bread for the broth. Always enjoy the D-K - highly recommend it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I think of duling kurtz ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I think of duling kurtz as our go-to place for a lovely time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's day menu was very good.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day menu was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They took care of my Mother the right way!!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I live in Idaho and as a special gift to my mother on Mothers Day I always make reservations to a place she would not herself. I make the reservation and then call the restaurant and give them my card number. This year I picked Duling Kurtz House. She arrived there and from start to finish was treated in a wonderful manner. She and her date loved the food. One of the things I was worried about was that they would be rushed in their meal. This was not the case, in fact they felt just the opposite. The waitress in which they had was bubbly and made it fun for them. I asked that they never see a check and that request was also followed. She was made to feel important and I thank you for giving her a special day.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice place for a quiet dinner

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We have gone to Duling Kurtz frequently for special events and for a nice quiet dinner. This trip the food was up to the normal high standards. Will still go back, everyone is entitled to a bad night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our dinner at Duling Kurtz was in all ways exceptional. The ambiance was warm and inviting; the service by Amy was impeccable; the food was superb. We and our guests had different selections but all were wonderful. I cannot think of a thing I would change and we will certainly return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is ALWAYS good and Amy is an am ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is ALWAYS good and Amy is an amazing server. Thank You!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food. Great atmosphere - small, qu ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere - small, quaint dining space. Cozy even. Server was a little too chatty on this night. The NY strip was amazing - seriously one of best steaks I've ever had. And I spent 4 years in Dallas hitting up some big time places.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointed!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was so excited to go Duling and Kurtz but was disappointed. My husband got the mushroom risotto with crawfish and said it was really good.I got the cioppino special that was just OK. Their was a party 6 that were so loud it became annoying .

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We usually love meeting at Duling-Kurts, ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We usually love meeting at Duling-Kurts, but we were next to a very loud group of women that made communicating with each other quite difficult. Food great, as always. Portions quite small, especially the oysters. Pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an inexperienced waiter who made ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had an inexperienced waiter who made a few mistakes. Paulo took over and made our dinner amazing. I come from a restaurant background and know about service and fine dining, the staff and management at Duling Kurtz are as advertised. They make the restaurant top notch in the area. I have been around the world and I have not had a better experience anywhere. Thank you Paulo and Management!!! We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner for 7

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We started with drinks at the bar and the bartender Michael did his usual excellent job even though the bar was very crowded. The owner even had chairs brought in for us from another room. When we moved to dinner we had a room all to ourselves. The service was nicely paced so that we had a lot of time to catch up with family from out of town. The meals and desserts were excellent for everyone. Will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mixed Experience

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

First of all our waiter was awesome and the hostess accommodating! Half of our entrees were good and the others were mediocre. The meat was dry but the veggies were great. The spaetzle were not traditional and used whole wheat so they were dry and a different consistency than expected.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ron and Angela

Dined on March 27, 2016

At first glance you could feel the relaxing mood. The atmosphere was romantic yet it had a taste of luxury for a special occasion for a couple or family to gather with that homes style touch. The staff members were very polite and professional. The food was excellent and well-priced. I must admit I was surprised at so many friendly people sitting somewhat close together and communicating like old friends. My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves and the waiter we had was the best! We will visit again and again and again...

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunningly enjoyable experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were actually stunned by the dining experience. Great country setting, in a elegant aged homestead setting. The food was exceptional, as was the service. The ambiance was quite enjoyable as well. Would highly recommend this ding experience to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner Date night

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I ate here last week and had a great time. The food was very good and classic, not cutting edge but you standard high end fare. The best part about the night was the overall length of our dinner. Our children were on sleepovers at friends houses so we were able to dine and talk for over 3 hours and never felt rushed or waited for our next course. Highly recommended for those looking for some one on one time with their significant other. The food was fairly expensive so I can't say we would go more than a few times per year but on those special occasions I will keep this on the list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Evening:

Dined on March 18, 2016

Beautiful romantic evening! Food was superb!!! Would highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food here is exquisite and very well prepared. The menu is fresh and seasonal. We can always count on a great meal here. Always an enjoyable evening. Thank You.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food!

Dined on February 26, 2016

The service at Duling Kurtz was very impressive. The staff employed the perfect level of attentiveness; not too bothersome but always there when you needed something. Food was delicious. The cost was on the pricier side but well worth it. The only negative was it was a little Honestly go here and eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had our 30th Anniversary dinner at Duling Kurtz, and everything was excellent. The drinks, the appetizer, the popovers with lemon curd, the dinners, service.......everything. It was a Monday night, so it wasn't very crowded. Quiet with the fireplace nearby.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The escargot is wonderful.

Dined on February 19, 2016

The escargot was wonderful with a puff pastry top and a hazelnut butter. My friend had the alligator which she said was delicious and tender. Salads were great and desert was a special delight. I also appreciated the fact that they had Dubonnet available; not every bar carries it and it is a great aperitif. All in all it was a wonderful treat for my birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Impress Your Date

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went there for Valentines Day. They offered a special holiday menu where all the dishes were more expensive than normal. After we were seated it was a full 15 minutes before anyone came to our table and acknowledged us, and another 15 (so 30 min total) before we were given water and bread (1 roll each). It was an hour before we got our food. Yes it was a holiday, but still, it's not like a busy night was unexpected. Food was good. Please be warned: the atmosphere of the upstairs room is far inferior to downstairs. So you need to call and ask specifically for down. Nice restaurant,but overall not worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Horrible Service

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a reservation for 4 at 7:30 though opentable at Dueling Kurtz. We received a call that they wanted to push back our reservation due to the fact that we booked through opentable and didn't call the restaurant directly. Great way to start off what was a lousy dinner. We were seated a little later then our reservation time which was okay and to be expected on a holiday night (Valentine's Day). We were handed a quite condensed menu to choose from. We thought this was just a holiday set menu like most restaurants do. Our waiter did not explain the menu just abruptly asked us if we wanted any cocktails. We all order a soup and entrée. Three of the four soups showed up; the last one not arriving until everyone else was finished. This happened without any type of apology. We soon found out that other tables around us were receiving the full menu. We thought this was strange but continued with our entrees and decided to forgo dessert because service was so slow and this turned into and almost three hour ordeal. When our check was dropped we were charged a dinner package rate (of $65 a person) because they though we were staying in the rooms. When our server found out he just charged our cards the package rate instead of going through and charging us ala carte. We figured it out after we left (once looking at the online menu) that we were charged over 100 dollars more than the ala carte prices. As family to a local business owner (right down whitford road from the restaurant) I will not be recommending DK to anyone. I left with a very poor taste in my mouth of a restaurant that once was an Exton staple.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Valentine Choice

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had to wait about 15 min to be seated, but after that all was very good. Good food, ample servings and very attentive service. Appreciated valet parking on frigid night.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful as soon as we g ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was wonderful as soon as we got there!! The food, delicious! The ambiance, romantic! The service, attentive!! Loved it, will definitely be back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ambiance and elegance. Valet parking, cost check, candle light dinner. All very nice touches not to mention the decor. The food and popovers were excellent making for an excellent evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Who was Duling Kurtz.?

Dined on February 14, 2016

Regardless, the atmosphere is warm and cozy , sort of mid-twenties. Food was well prepared,presented, tasty and thankfully not salty . It arrived without undue delay and was not rushed, allowing for a pleasant leisurely celebration a-deux. Our waitress was well informed about the menu items even though somewhat pleasantly exuberant. Good wine list. Valet parking an added bonus on a very cold evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated 20 minutes after our rese ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. Not too bad considering it was Valentines eve. Food and service were excellent even with a full house. The duck was an excellent entree as was my sea bass. Michael at the bar was in continual motion keeping up with the drink orders. I wish there were better wines available by the glass. Perfect place to share dinner with my Valentine.

food5
ambience4
service2

The food and ambiance were fantastic. We ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and ambiance were fantastic. We enjoyed the special Valentine's menu. Our server was very slow and while another table with another server changed over and the new diners were served immediately we waited. We also had to ask for the wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

Charming restaurant with great food. It ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Charming restaurant with great food. It's a little pricey but well worth it for a special occasion or a special night. Can't wait to go back when the weather is nice to enjoy their outdoor dining. Ask for Amy, she is a wonderful server.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service. For de ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious food and great service. For dessert, chocolate peanut butter lava cake is a must.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there for Valentine's Day dinner.

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife raves to everyone about the excellent food and ambiance. Other people we know go there for their special occasions too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Enjoyable

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

The D-K House has a wonderful ambiance. Attractive small rooms, quiet, and memorable. The food was excellent, as was the service. Our waiter was Scott, who provided great guidance on the menu, and was very personable, making for a very enjoyable night out. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Still smiling!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The owner is almost always there to greet you with a smile when you arrive and another to wish you well when you leave! It's a very warm and inviting restaurant. We like fire places and good food and service and the pop overs are a cute touch. They have a nice little bar as well. Keep up the good work and thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful for a Special Celebration!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Loved everything! Quaint, cottage like. Beautifully historical. Food was amazing. While perfect for a special occasion, it look like plenty of locals were there for dinner. We had the short ribs and the wiener schnitzel and they were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience

Dined on February 1, 2016

We go to Duling Kurtz whenever we want a sure thing. This is a delightful place with very friendly staff and wonderful food. The atmosphere is very relaxing and never fails to please us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently classic

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Duling-Kurtz NEVER fails to impress. From the service to every course, perfection and excellence are present. Thank you once again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Duling Kurtz 1/30/2016

Dined on January 30, 2016

Visited 1/30/2016 My husband and I ordered the calamari and escargots as appetizers; mushroom soup and french onion soup, respectively, as a soup course; the pheasant and crab cakes, respectively, as an entree; and the Austrian cheese plate and the house cobbler for desert. The calamari was ok - good but nothing to write home about. The escargots were pretty large compared to those I've had at other places, and they were very garlicy. The soups were the same as the calamari - good, but not amazing. The pheasant was dressed with a fruit glaze that was a little too sweet for our liking, and the crab cakes were good, but not the best I've had. The best part was the dessert - the house cobbler was amazing. The Austrian cheese plate basically was the inside of a cheese danish on a plate. Good - but too much of a serving for something so rich. Aside from the food, the volume of the restaurant was too loud. My husband and I were basically shouting at each other in order to hear each other. I think that was because there were too many tables for the size of the room we were in (Raspberry Room). Our service was excellent, however. Cynthia (our waitress) was attentive without being overbearing, and very professional. Overall, experience was good but not great. Probably wouldn't go back for the prices they're charging.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.