About Duling Kurtz House

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Western Suburbs
Romantic
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Exton ›

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Scenic View (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From beginning to end, a fantastic dinin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

From beginning to end, a fantastic dining experience. This historic building is charming, seating in various rooms large or small accommodating large groups, small groups or couples. Our server, Cynthia, was delightful, friendly and full of knowledge about the menu and the restaurant. Difficult to make a selection, as there were so many appealing dishes. Fabulous lobster bisque, lobster tails sweeter than we had in New England this summer. Perfect location for a "date night." Felt the price was certainly reasonable for two appetizers, two entrees and two desserts for this caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our friends for their first time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We took our friends for their first time and they loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely my favorite restaurant...have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely my favorite restaurant...have been here about 10 times in the past year, and never a bad meal, always good specials, and the bartender Michael? Simply the best bartender ever! He'll make you the best chocolate-espresso martini you will ever have!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and food prepared to perfe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Service and food prepared to perfection. Menu was wide and the specials sounded very good even though I eventually had the rack of lamb. The view out the window was rustic and quietly beautiful. Could not have had a better date with my bride of 46 years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was very good-esp the popovers ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our food was very good-esp the popovers & starters! Entrees & dessert were good also. June was our waitress & she was fabulous-really excellent at looking after us. Drinks were yummy. Service was just exemplary & very relaxing & elegant ambiance. We will make D-K House a regular experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The service was just ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was good. The service was just average and not nearly what I would expect of a place that charges such high prices. We also thought it extremely petty of them that I had 3 club sodas and they charged us for each. No refills. The glasses were small and they were $3 each. I doubt we'll go back for that reason alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We had guests in from out of town- spend ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had guests in from out of town- spending the night at the Duling Kurtz & enjoy relying on The Duling Kurtz folks to provide consistently great food and service. The Colonial era building is impeccably decorated and maintained- which adds nothing but positives to the delicious food offerings. The DK is easily in the top five in fine dining options for Chester County & the prices are reasonable for the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very service. The duck was excellent - c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very service. The duck was excellent - crispy skin and tender meat. Enjoyed the specialty cocktail aswell.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been dinning at Duling Kurtz for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been dinning at Duling Kurtz for over twenty years, never had a disappointing experience. The food is very good, more traditional in presentation, popovers with lemon curd will bring you back. A respectable wine list, wait staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive to detail. Beautiful setting in a old farm house, well kept grounds enhances the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been staying at this facility fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have been staying at this facility for years during the winter and at the restaurant for lunch frequently for years , the food and service are always excellent and we would recommend it! Jules R even though we have to drive 35 miles to get there

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a nice family dinner. The s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for a nice family dinner. The service was fantastic. The waitress' actions ensured that we had a very relaxing dinner. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed their selections. We especially liked the making of the Caesar salad at tableside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a really great place to go and h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a really great place to go and have a wonderful dinner. You are not rushed, the food is delicious always and staff treat you like family. We always enjoy going and have a relaxing and

fun time.

I would recommend everyone go and see for yourself and I believe you too, would be happy and a repeat diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress clapped her hands and pract ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our waitress clapped her hands and practically danced everytime we made a selection. This alone would prevent us from returning. The food is the other reason. My trout , green beans and potatoes were wonderful before they were smothered in almonds and lots of melted butter. The meal was practically floating. My husband's rack of lamb was slightly overcooked and sort of meager compared to other racks we have had. Not a very good experience for $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Quiet and excellent menu and service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Quiet and excellent menu and service. Very enjoyable for an occasion or fine meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go 1-2 times every year. Very good f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We go 1-2 times every year. Very good food, great service, good wine list. Never disappointed. Not cheap but very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service by our server, Amy! Sh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fantastic service by our server, Amy! She also offered wonderful and appreciated menu suggestions! Every course was delicious and the pop overs are a special and wonderful addition. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our experience. Howev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience. However, the service could have been a bit quicker and my meal was not hot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a great time celebrating a graduatio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Had a great time celebrating a graduation with friends and family. Delicious food, but best of all was a super-sweet waitress, Amy. She made it fun and special. She clearly loves her job and loves the restaurant. Thanks for a really fun night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the restaurant and surrounding property!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Such a beautiful old bldg, the food was also excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I dine at a number of restaurants and this one is one of our favorites

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We were cele ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were celebrating a retirement for one of my good friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience, as always ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding dining experience, as always. Superior unique cuisine, and outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to the Duling-Kurtz since it ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Been going to the Duling-Kurtz since it opened. The food is consistently good, with some dishes earning a "Great!" The servers are always friendly and helpful - very attentive. My wife had a special Box Tomato Salad which she said was very refreshing. I had the Harvest Salad with the Sherry Vinaigrette - awesome combination of flavors - a new favorite. I had a special Seafood Bisque which was prepared perfectly with the seafood being added so it cooked perfectly and was not rubbery. My wife's Surf 'n Turf was to her liking - who can argue with a lobstah - fresh and sweet. The filet was very flavorful and I as I got to help with the mash potatoes, they were the perfect combination of texture and flavor. I had a special Seafood Cioppino - again prepared perfectly and if you're a garlic lover as I am, you will do what I did and enjoy the broth at the end. My only complaints were having to pick the thyme stems out of the dish before eating it and not having a piece of soppy bread for the broth. Always enjoy the D-K - highly recommend it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I think of duling kurtz ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I think of duling kurtz as our go-to place for a lovely time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day menu was very good.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day menu was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They took care of my Mother the right way!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I live in Idaho and as a special gift to my mother on Mothers Day I always make reservations to a place she would not herself. I make the reservation and then call the restaurant and give them my card number. This year I picked Duling Kurtz House. She arrived there and from start to finish was treated in a wonderful manner. She and her date loved the food. One of the things I was worried about was that they would be rushed in their meal. This was not the case, in fact they felt just the opposite. The waitress in which they had was bubbly and made it fun for them. I asked that they never see a check and that request was also followed. She was made to feel important and I thank you for giving her a special day.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for a quiet dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We have gone to Duling Kurtz frequently for special events and for a nice quiet dinner. This trip the food was up to the normal high standards. Will still go back, everyone is entitled to a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Exceptional Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our dinner at Duling Kurtz was in all ways exceptional. The ambiance was warm and inviting; the service by Amy was impeccable; the food was superb. We and our guests had different selections but all were wonderful. I cannot think of a thing I would change and we will certainly return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is ALWAYS good and Amy is an am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is ALWAYS good and Amy is an amazing server. Thank You!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great atmosphere - small, qu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere - small, quaint dining space. Cozy even. Server was a little too chatty on this night.

The NY strip was amazing - seriously one of best steaks I've ever had. And I spent 4 years in Dallas hitting up some big time places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I was so excited to go Duling and Kurtz but was disappointed. My husband got the mushroom risotto with crawfish and said it was really good.I got the cioppino special that was just OK. Their was a party 6 that were so loud it became annoying .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We usually love meeting at Duling-Kurts, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We usually love meeting at Duling-Kurts, but we were next to a very loud group of women that made communicating with each other quite difficult. Food great, as always. Portions quite small, especially the oysters. Pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We had an inexperienced waiter who made ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We had an inexperienced waiter who made a few mistakes. Paulo took over and made our dinner amazing. I come from a restaurant background and know about service and fine dining, the staff and management at Duling Kurtz are as advertised. They make the restaurant top notch in the area. I have been around the world and I have not had a better experience anywhere. Thank you Paulo and Management!!! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner for 7

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We started with drinks at the bar and the bartender Michael did his usual excellent job even though the bar was very crowded. The owner even had chairs brought in for us from another room. When we moved to dinner we had a room all to ourselves. The service was nicely paced so that we had a lot of time to catch up with family from out of town. The meals and desserts were excellent for everyone. Will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mixed Experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

First of all our waiter was awesome and the hostess accommodating! Half of our entrees were good and the others were mediocre. The meat was dry but the veggies were great. The spaetzle were not traditional and used whole wheat so they were dry and a different consistency than expected.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Ron and Angela

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

At first glance you could feel the relaxing mood. The atmosphere was romantic yet it had a taste of luxury for a special occasion for a couple or family to gather with that homes style touch. The staff members were very polite and professional. The food was excellent and well-priced. I must admit I was surprised at so many friendly people sitting somewhat close together and communicating like old friends. My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves and the waiter we had was the best! We will visit again and again and again...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunningly enjoyable experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We were actually stunned by the dining experience. Great country setting, in a elegant aged homestead setting. The food was exceptional, as was the service. The ambiance was quite enjoyable as well. Would highly recommend this ding experience to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Date night

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I ate here last week and had a great time. The food was very good and classic, not cutting edge but you standard high end fare. The best part about the night was the overall length of our dinner. Our children were on sleepovers at friends houses so we were able to dine and talk for over 3 hours and never felt rushed or waited for our next course. Highly recommended for those looking for some one on one time with their significant other. The food was fairly expensive so I can't say we would go more than a few times per year but on those special occasions I will keep this on the list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely Evening:

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Beautiful romantic evening! Food was superb!!!

Would highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food here is exquisite and very well prepared. The menu is fresh and seasonal. We can always count on a great meal here. Always an enjoyable evening. Thank You.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.