Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

About Duling Kurtz House

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Historic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Romantic (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fireplace (15)
Private Room (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Scenic View (6)
Live Music (4)
Wood Oven (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Such a wonderful place to have a quiet dinner. Atmosphere was wonderful, the staff were beyond helpful and the food a delight!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time at Duling Kurtz and we loved it! The food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Hope to go back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A wonderful lunch. Wish we lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I recently attended a special lunch for staff at Duling Kurtz. Although the restaurant was sparsely filled, the service was very slow. My lunch and several others commented that the food was just average. Considering the prices, for example $12.00 for a small salad that was mainly spinach with 2 or 3 arugula leaves, 3 pieces of shredded carrot and 2 cherry tomatoes cut in half, we expected more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was quite delicious but the portions were a bit small for the prices in my experience. Our waiter was wonderful and loved telling us about the various items on the menu. He was a great ambassador for the restaurant! The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the ambiance. We will definitely go back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the entire staff and our service was outstanding. My husband said it was the best filet he has ever had and that is saying something.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had lovely meal for Easter Sunday. Food was delicious as always. We were served by June who was awesome. So friendly and professional. Lovely place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Perfect Easter dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My wife and I had a lovely dinner here. The food was exceptional as was the service. We were celebrating our anniversary and our waiter (Ken) presented us with a special candle when he served dessert. Nice touch. The ambiance was nice, though marred by two patrons sitting at the other end of the room who insisted on sharing a couple of music videos (with volume on). Why their waiter did not stop this we're not sure. In addition, a kitchen staff person was ordered to weed wack the garden just outside our dining room. Not only was it noisy and distracting, but small stones and debris carreened off our and other diners' windows. Bad timing for doing yard work. All this being said, we'd go back for a special occasion, as the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food! The Kale & Caesar salad is definitely the best salad I've ever had in my life. Goes well with the scallops. Michael the bartender is so friendly and made me a special off the menu wine spritzer. Such a wonderful evening with spectacular service. 5 stars all around

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Everything was divine. They were kind enough to give us a complimentary creme brûlée to celebrate. My wife loved her crab cakes which came on a butternut squash puree. My lobster and crab crepes were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Perfect 👌🏻 I would definately recommend you this place. The good was fantastşc. Our waştress Amy did an excellent job. We are eager to go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great ! Good food and service. Worth the drive (0:35 min.) Will take some friends next time. Wine a little expensive,

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Came to celebrate our daughter's confirmation. There were eight of us. They gave us a private room with a fireplace. The food and service were awesome.

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

First time meal at the establishment, an amazing evening and excellent service by the one and Only June! I will return soon with my business team and for seasonal dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a wonderful first visit to this historic restaurant. Our servers were excellent and made us feel welcomed from the minute we arrived. Without us asking, they gave us a beautiful table in front of a fireplace, in a semi private room. Rooms are small, and feel intimate. The food was extremely impressive: creative dishes, complex recipes, and everything was presented beautifully. We are happy we discovered this place for monthly date nights- and will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. The food was excellent, and the waiter was friendly, and attended to us as needed, never felt rushed or forgotten. We all had seafood dishes, the grouper was amazing, as was the fish boil. The lobster tails again were quite good. The strudel was FANTASTIC!!!!! They are known for their Austrian dishes, but all food was top notch! A regular spot for us...

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent menu, wine list, and nice fireside table! Attentive and nice service staff. We enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our first time here with friends. A+ in "every" respect. Can't wait to return !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everyone is just so helpful and great at what they do. Amy and Cynthia are wonderful people, the bartender the same. You will love going there. Part of the family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The surf and turf was wonderful and June is a fantastic server!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

love this place very quaint, the atmosphere was very nice and the food and service was the best

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A lovely way to celebrate my birthday! Even if I do cringe at non-BYOB wine prices! A good excuse to drink less.... Amazing food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Favorite place for special dinners. Never disappoints. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We are never disappointed at the Duling Kurtz House. The food and service is excellent! It is a great place to go on a date or to celebrate a special occassion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day, even though they were very busy everything came out tasting great. We were not rushed at all, we had four courses over 3 hours, the scallops and baked bre were awesome. I had the filet and my girlfriend had the mahi mahi, both were well worth it. Our server Amy made the night extra nice she was great, and even with many tables to worry about she gave everyone her undivided attention. She made a great night perfect!! Thanks for making it a great Valentines Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Even though it was Valentines Day and the place was packed, Michael the bartender did an awesome job taking our drink order and responding quickly. The same goes for our meal and server, as the food was delicious! Always lives up to or exceeds our expectations!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

If you are looking for fine dining in Chester County with great ambiance, this is the place. The food is great, service is wonderful and overall dining experience the best you can expect. Bring that special date here and impress them as I did. You won't regret it and you will have an exceptional meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Once again another wonderful dinner at DK. Always good and always a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the charming, historical setting but unfortunately that's where the positive comments end. Service was painfully slow, waiter was inattentive and food was okay. Not worth the trip, too many better choices a lot closer to home.
Fortunately our table was close to the bar, I actually had to ask the bartender for a glass of wine because our waiter was nowhere to be found.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very slow service. After 30 minutes needed to ask for waiter to take order and then meal finally came at 2hr mark... what made it worse was limited checking on drinks. Was a busy night and clearly they were not ready for the traffic. Food, when it finally came, was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were the first to arrive for lunch on a Saturday. We were pleased with the menu selections and the waiter was knowledgeable. Two of us ordered the French onion soup which arrived warm, not hot. We chose to ignore the temperature so as not to hold up the third person in our party from starting to eat. Two of us ordered the leek and mushroom tart. The waiter said the chef was able to accommodate a change of cheese in the tart and we were thrilled. When the tarts arrived, they we only moderately warm. As the room was filling up, it took a while to catch our waiter's attention. New tarts were brought 20 minutes later. By then the third member of our party had finished his meal--we told him to go ahead and not wait which would have spoiled his meal. The tarts were delicious but we were pretty irritated by then. We also had to wait a ridiculous amount of time for our coffee. We do not know if the cold tarts were the fault of the kitchen of the waiter. To his credit, the waiter informed us that there would be no charge for the tarts or the coffee, but we would have preferred a meal without this aggravation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday celebration with friends. Delicious food where we altered the menu and everything came out wonderfully.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. As expected, the menu was varied and the food selected was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. We like the décor and ambiance. Being a week night, there were not many patrons so the noise level was low.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Gourmet gem hidden in Exton. This place has an impressive menu and a talented chef.

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent as usual. We always go to DK for special occasions and otherwise. AMY our server provided great service and alert to every detail. The food goes without saying always perfectly prepared and presented. We cannot wait to return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The pre meal pop overs with lemon curd are always amazing. Food is always amazing and services usually excellent. It's expensive but worth every penny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Once again, a fantastic meal! You certainly do not disappoint

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.