Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.36mi
  3. Distance: 2.96mi
  4. Distance: 3.11mi

About Duling Kurtz House

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Romantic (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Scenic View (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Historic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The foof was mostly good - the duck breast a tad chewy. Service was superb.\

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Unfortunately, all the women at the other 2 tables were terribly noisy during lunch. We were all seated way too close to each other in the same side room. We should have been spread out more. We were the first two to arrive, and the screaming others were placed right next to us. I could barely hear my friend speak across a small table. We finally got up, and sat and talked in the bar area. One would have thought that women at a restaurant of this quality would have had the courtesy to lower their voices slightly. One could even clearly hear their conversations from another room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have had an outstanding experience at DK and this was less than that. However, I will give them another try. They had a very large party which we believe delayed our meals. More communication about it would have been welcome. Two salads were good to very good; octopus starter was overcooked. Salmon and Ahi tuna entrées were good to very good. Lobster crepes were tasty, however, I believe there was just as much crab as lobster so the dish may be mis-named. Crepes themselves were over-done. Vegetables were overcooked and mashed potatoes were lukewarm. Popovers were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was delicious, and service was attentive, but not intrusive. The popovers are amazing, and our wonderful server offered more of them! It's a little expensive, but worth it. We had a coupon for a free appetizer. We got the scallops appetizer which was so good. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was excellent and we enjoyed the ambiance. The noise level
was high when we got there, but by the time we left it at subsided.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were seated at a window table on the porch, where we were served a wonderful meal. Our waitress June, was very friendly, knowledgeable, & efficient. When we first arrived the noise level was a bit loud, but eased when several of the male diners left. Our experience was a very positive one until it came time to settle the bill, whereupon, we learned that you would not accept our Visa Gift Card. It's our understanding that this card is as good as cash, which I'm sure you would have accepted. We didn't understand the explanation, other than it (the refusal) had to do with the gratituity amount. We are very disappointed with your policy. It makes no sense!
Joan Schwabenbauer

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great atmosphere with great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Outstanding service by Nico & Edyta. Exquisite Long Island duck from the best farm on L.I. Octopus is delicious and mouth watering, cooked perfectly. Happy hour worthwhile beforehand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food, varied selection, we we're not rushed...service was terrific...additions to menu we're innovative and fresh...wish they had a lighter selection of desserts...but we enjoyed it and will go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First time at the Duling-Kurtz. I'll be honest, when we first pulled up I was a little nervous as we were greeted with a quaint, but not well taken care of grounds area. Weeds in the walkway, walkway lights bent over or broken...things like that. The decor is either love it or hate it. The room we ate in was very rustic, which we loved. Huge fireplace with a few candlelit tables. After being seated, any reservations I had slipped away. Servers were pleasant and attentive, glasses always topped off and were able to answer any questions we had. Noise level was low at first then around 7:30 picked up just a little. We were able to speak softly and hear each other perfectly fine. The food was tasty and flavorful. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Loved the food and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We dined at Duling Kurtz House for our 40th anniversary and very much enjoyed the experience. Great food choices with a familiar wine and a delicious cobbler to complete the meal. Great waiter, who described the menu choices well, and spent some time telling us about the history of the restaurant, added to our enjoyment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Another wonderful dinner with excellent service. I would recommend this restaurant. Always superb 👌

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Organic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

After a long hiatus, we returned to Duling Kurtz after a recommendation from a Book Club member. What a lovely dining experience! We went with friends for dinner and went to the cozy bar first for a cocktail. Later we were seated in one of the small dining areas of this historic building. The room had a fireplace which would be very inviting on a crisp winter evening . All of us enjoyed our appetizers and entrees especially the escargot, duck and Wiener Schnitzel. And oh, those yummy popovers! Our server was very attentive and most helpful with menu suggestions. We certainly plan to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great experience. Food was outstanding. Service was a bit slow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Once again, a truly memorable event with friends. The food was great, the service excellent and the ambiance superb. Duling House is one of our favorite places!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Beautiful grounds. Awesome relaxing atmosphere and great food. The popovers are perfect and the spinach seafood salad was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

As usual Duling Kurtz met our expectations. Went with a friend for lunch, it is a bit pricey, but worth every penny. The escargot are to die for. It is just a very lovely, pleasant place to spend an afternoon with friends. The garden could do with a little sprucing up but other than that the porch is a lovely place to enjoy a meal. Our waiter was terrific too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was a business meeting. Everything was great. The service was excellent and the food fantastic. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We enjoyed a pleasant dinner for our anniversary. Food was delicious. Decor was charming. Surprised to see they have live music events - hopefully we'll make it back to check it out

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Having just relocated to the area, we stumbled upon this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We're so glad we did! The food was exceptional, the service perfect, and the ambiance quiet and pleasant. The entire experience was absolutely first class, and we'll return many times.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I really loved this restaurant! It had an ambiance that is missing in so many chain restaurants that is made the time there relaxing and memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

AWESOME as usual. We go here when we want something special, and are never let down. From the Tasmanian smoked trout, to the black bass, and then two of their Austrian specialties, weiner schnitzel and cheese strudel. Everything is cooked to perfection, the wait staff is friendly and appropriately attentive. This is an old country farmhouse so the atmosphere and views are wonderful. Usually quiet dining, even when they have live music. Great place for special occasions, date night, or when you are looking for a fabulous meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great service, wonderful menu, all very well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a gift card from our family. Thank you. We thought it was great. Drinks, apps and both our meals were great! We will return and recommend to our friends.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Outstanding experience. We have been coming there over the years and we always have had great experiences.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

As usual, Duling Kurtz never disappoints. Food and service was outstanding. Best place to celebrate a special event.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always great food and service. The atmosphere was great for a luncheon and great quiet conversation among friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was inconsistent and the service was very poor (staff seemed unconcerned since a 20% gratuity is automatic). Our entrees were served two hours after we were seated and several had to be sent back to the kitchen because they were cold. Drinks weren't provided until 30 minutes after ordered and several were not what was requested. We were overcharged (extra entree) and had to make several requests for a refund.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and great variety. Service was perfect with good attention without interruption.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server greeted us a few mins after we were seated. We ordered drinks, and it took a few mins for the server to bring them. He took our order and spoke in a kind and friendly manner. Verbally, he was trying. Our server did not bring our food to the table, and the runner did not ask if we needed anything. Our server did not check on us to see if we needed anything, and we needed butter, syrup, salt, pepper and drink refills. He finally brought me a second iced tea when I was finished eating, but my daughter was not offered a coffee refill. Serving breakfast/brunch, to me, is different then lunch and dinner. A little extra attention should be paid to what is going on with the food and drink . D.K. was my Mother's favorite, so we wanted to go there for Mother's Day in her honor.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Brandon was an excellent server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent cuisine, especially the crab cakes and the wiener schnitzel and pop-overs. Excellent wine, especially Dr. Loosen's Riesling. Excellent service.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Another delicious dinner with excellent service. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Organic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I frequent this site often for business lunches. It is an upscale menu with great daily special creations. This is a white table cloth kind of place with an impressive selection...from ahi and escargot as a starter to crab cakes and lobster crepes for an entree...they even have great fish and chips and a hamburger. The service is amazing and normally not too crowded over lunch. This is one of my most favorite spots in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Been here many times, great menu, great cocktails, very friendly staff and great food. Good for a romantic evening, or for a group dinner because they are that accommodating. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Such a wonderful place to have a quiet dinner. Atmosphere was wonderful, the staff were beyond helpful and the food a delight!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was our first time at Duling Kurtz and we loved it! The food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Hope to go back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.