About Duling Kurtz House

146 S Whitford Road
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Located in Exton Pennsylvannia just behind Main Street at Exton. This Beautiful Old Country Inn & Restaurant offers some of the Best Service & Cuisine in Chester County! - Check out our Zagat 2013 Review . The building was built in 1830 and continues the traditional elegance & designs of the Federal Period.

Best for: Special Occasions, Evenings Out, Friday's Live Music at the Bar, Quiet Lunches, and enjoying the world cuisine from our top notch menu.

The Inn/Bed & Breakfast next door offers 13 guest rooms for an Overnight stay. Perfect for relatives visiting the area or a weekend get away.

Frequent comments of our guests: Delicious, Wonderful Food, Amazing Atmosphere, & Beautiful Grounds.

We look forward to seeing you!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce Drive & South Whitford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 524-1830

Website:
http://www.dulingkurtz.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Duling Kurtz House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fireplace (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place was phenomenal and we loved e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This place was phenomenal and we loved every moment of it. We shall be returning again in the near future!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duhling Kurtz is always wonderful. It ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Duhling Kurtz is always wonderful. It is such a welcoming place to enjoy some time.

Staff is wonderful, food is delicious and great atmosphere.

Please go I am sure you will love it.!

Amy and Cynthia are just great to spend time with as your severs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our New Years Eve dinner! The f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved our New Years Eve dinner! The food was delicious, the cocktails were incredible! We are looking forward to going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent, the waiter was e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent, the waiter was excellent. We would have preferred to sit downstairs as one person in our party has a hard time with stairs. However we were never given the choice. We also arrived on time for our 8:30 reservation and had to wait a long time in the bar to be seated. Then when we were seated there were several empty tables in the dining room. Wonder why the wait was necessary. However, we would go again because of the excellent food and menu choices. However, we would be more specific in our choice of tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice environment and great food!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice environment and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, drink and service . Dessert ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, drink and service . Dessert was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, well prepared and im ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good, well prepared and imaginative. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely atmosphere, great service. This ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, great service. This is our second visit and both times we were in a private dining room. Although the room was lovely and quiet, we would have preferred a table in an area with more diners. The Caesar salad assembled at the table was perfect. Our entrees included the duck entree, a scallop and shrimp combination, salmon, crab cakes, and the special that evening which was a fish dish. All were good, nicely presented but the special, supposed to be served hot, was but lukewarm. The escargots were excellent.

I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions as it is lovely. Ask for a table in the glassed in area- it appears enchanting.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing space and delicious food with gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Amazing space and delicious food with great service. Even the water is delicious, I was informed they have well water. I come here whenever I travel to the area to be inspired and soak up the good kind of southeastern Pennsylvania culture.

Historicity meets fine dining, everything is always delicious and gracious and the ambiance is classy and yet cozy. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Duling-Kurtz for a Christmas Eve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went to Duling-Kurtz for a Christmas Eve dinner. Third year in a row. We have never been disappointed -- excellent food and good/friendly service.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service nowhere near what it should have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service nowhere near what it should have been for an establishment such as Duling Kurtz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent as always. My wife and I alwa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent as always. My wife and I always come around Christmas and it's very romantic sitting in the porch with the Holiday lights outside. Food was fantastic. We both started with Soups. I had one of their specials, the Chester County Mushroom Soup and my wife went with the Lobster Bisque. Both were fantastic. Next, we both had the Chopped Salads. For our entrees, my wife had one of their specialties and one of her favorites, the Lobster Crepes. You can never go wrong ordering the crepes. I decided on the pheasant. I was not disappointed. I also want to make mention that our server was excellent. Very attentive and suggested a cocktail for my wife that she truly enjoyed. Dueling Kurtz is our go to spot for Special Occasions (Anniversaries, Birthdays, Holidays)....and I can honestly say I have never had a bad experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put -- great as always. Excellent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Simply put -- great as always. Excellent service. Superb food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our main problem was the service. I rea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our main problem was the service. I realize that it is Christmas time, but a 3 hour dinner for a table of four, we all thought was a bit much. The table of 8 beside us definitely received better service. Our food was warm, but could have been warmer. The food was good, but not great and the tab was not inexpensive . Cannot say I would go out of my way to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a spectacular restaurant. So qu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is a spectacular restaurant. So quaint and old fashioned. Food is outstanding. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Standard menu and meal preparation but a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Standard menu and meal preparation but always delicious. A bit pricey for some portions and menu description can misrepresent actual preparation (rack of lamb was actually two small double chops and another guest would have ordered but did not expecting a full rack). Ambiance in most rooms is quaint and cozy, the area we were seated felt like a beachy enclosed porch; not exactly the holiday feel we were after.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Never a bad visit

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Never a bad visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not my first time at the Duling ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was not my first time at the Duling Kurtz House, but it was for my two friends. Since it was the Holiday Season, I felt that this restaurant with its history and beauty would be a great place to go. It was decorated beautifully for the holidays and enjoyed by all. The service although pleasant, was a little slow, and was attributed to being busy. The food, although delicious, was disappointing in quantity. It appears that they have cut down on their portions, while charging the same price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

the overall experience was fairly good b ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

the overall experience was fairly good but it is possible the kitchen was overwhelmed withe the amount of people there. So, the food wasn't really that fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

It seems my recollection in past dining ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It seems my recollection in past dining was more notable then our dining experience. We had to chase down the servers for bread and adult beverage refills. The food was not as appealing as I noted in the past - we were very disappointed in what we remembered as a the "place to go".

For the price we spent on a special evening, good food and ambiance - it fell short of our expectations (and memories). We have much better quality from $$$ restaurants and would rather pay for what it's worth, not for what is expected.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything nicely presented, and of high ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything nicely presented, and of high quality:

Room

Cuisine

Service

Hadn't been there for quite awhile, much better than we remember.

Will absolutely return in the near future.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! A quaint and cozy little ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent food! A quaint and cozy little Inn! Our server was upbeat and knowledgeable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After spending numerous Thanksgivings at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After spending numerous Thanksgivings at this restaurant, we will not be going back. First major issue was LILIES on the table. Rule #1 at a restaurant is nothing with fragrance on the table. You want the fragrance of the food to permeate the air....LILIES!!! I could not believe it. I am also very allergic. We removed from our table but my eyes continued to burn and water. They were on almost every table! Then....the entrees were not good. Turkey was so dry I could not swallow it. Rack of lamb loaded with fat...$44.00 for the entree and you just do not expect that. It is a shame because we loved the atmosphere. Drinks were good, popovers & lemon curd are special, baked brie (appetizer) was just OK. Both of our entrees (traditional turkey & rack of lamb) were just not up to par. For the money, there are other fabulous restaurants we will choose from next time...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

When we arrived there were at least 20 p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

When we arrived there were at least 20 people who hadn't been seated yet. Our reservations were at 4 and I think maybe we were seated at 4:30. The waiter seemed incredibly overwhelmed, and he may have been as the place was very crowded and obviously, enough wait staff were not working. We didn't get our order placed for about another half hour and we never saw our dinner for at least another 45 minutes. The food was overcooked and the portions were small, yet the prices were very high. Some in my party were vegetarian, and there were no vegetarian options. There should be more. The mushroom tart, our main meal as it was basically the only vegetarian item, was about 3 inches in diameter and half full with filling. Hardly worth the $13 price tag. Husband's turkey dinner was very overcooked, as was daughter's steak. All in all, a very disappointing Thanksgiving dinner. We've had many nice meals where the food was delicious, service was outstanding and cost was commensurate. This, however, was not one of those times. Hopefully, things will improve.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had an exceptional meal, with every c ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had an exceptional meal, with every course being just about perfect. I had the best lobster bisque I've ever had in my life, and I've had lobster bisque a lot. We were also seated right by the fireplace in the old kitchen hearth, and it was a lovely setting for a romantic dinner for two. I've been to this exceptional restaurant several times over the last few years for special occasions and it has yet to disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to the Duling Kurtz Hous ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had not been to the Duling Kurtz House for some time and should have. It's back in the rotation.

This is not a complete trip back to the 60's as you will enjoy at Vicker's, but a bit of that combined with an attempt at New York expense account menu building. How else could you get an 8oz lobster tail and and 8oz filet on the same plate? Capitol Grille in Chester County.

Crab cakes were baked and generous. Lamb shank was fork tender with a deep, rich sauce to be savored. Dark chocolate mouse was not quite dark enough, but very smooth, rich and satisfying. Excelent (!!) coffee. So often not the case anymore.

No more expensive than many lessor restaurants and people actually try to dress up a bit, so rare in this age of blue jeans (not even clean blue jeans) everywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual the food was outstanding! Amy, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding! Amy, our server is an energetic delight. The decor is elegant. Our favorite entrees are the wiener schnitzel and the chipino. Another great touch are the popovers. This has become our go to restaurant for fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at its best. Great food - m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fine dining at its best. Great food - mushroom soup and filet mignon were excellent. Beautiful setting in an historic mansion. Elegant without being stuffy. Service was of high caliber. Wonderful live music - sax and keyboard. We were looking for a special place for dinner and this was a great choice. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone to Durling Kurtz for quite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We have gone to Durling Kurtz for quite a few years and generally had a very good meal.

This time the food was not up to their standards.

Cold plates and sending a meal back only to have the replacement be no better.

Surely any good cook knows that you have to heat the plates for the meal to stay warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a WONDERFUL evening at this lovel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a WONDERFUL evening at this lovely, elegant restaurant. We've been there before and were thrilled to have the same exceptionally enthusiastic and super-competent and friendly waitress -- Amy. Meals start off there with fabulous, light popovers served with lemon curd that is to die for. I could have eaten five of them for my entire meal. I asked for a separate room for our small celebration with five friends and we were given a quiet, wonderful room with a fireplace which we had to ourselves. I highly recommend the Duhling Kurtz Inn for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and ambiance!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant for all ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant for all our special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine's Day, Mother's Day....or just a romantic dinner sitting in the private Duling Kurtz room. The food is exceptional, the service is wonderful (Cynthia is a delight) and the ambiance is warm, elegant and friendly. I have even held large parties upstairs in the gorgeous garden room.

And, last but not least, your Host/Owner, Mrs. Gertie Person personally sees to your complete satisfaction and ensures a perfect dining experience.

You won't find anyplace finer in Chester County.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to this restaurant many times ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times and each time it so great to be there. They make you

feel like family. Everyone is so kind and helpful and really want you to enjoy your time there.

Good is excellent, service is excellent. Great atmosphere and once you go you will go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned again, and had an absolutely wo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Returned again, and had an absolutely wonderful evening. The chef specials were amazing, as was the service for the evening. DK is really an exceptional destination in our local area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic inn experience. Good food, beau ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Classic inn experience. Good food, beautiful place, and pricey.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Still the best ever !!!!!!!!! The food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Still the best ever !!!!!!!!! The food is fantastic and the small room off the porch is great for private celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a quiet lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great place for a quiet lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Great ambiance. Superior, friendly and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great ambiance. Superior, friendly and attentive service. Excellent food and a wide selection of items. Whenever my wife and I want to go to a restaurant that we know will always be a special treat, we select the Duling Kurtz House. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and our server June ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was amazing and our server June was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is simply one of the finest places ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This is simply one of the finest places to eat in all of the Delaware Valley. My wife had three delicious appetizers while I enjoyed a remarkable mussels/lobster starter followed by a perfectly-cooked medium-rare NY strip. We shared a decadent dessert. The only glitch was a mixup twixt server and wine cellar which produced a Chablis we didn't order, then a different vintage Burgundy than what was listed, before we settled on a very nice Bordeaux.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.