About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Filet
Burger
Tournedos Maxwell
Red Snapper
Pumpkin Spiced Crème Brûlée
Caesar Salad
Keeneland Toast
T.G. Salad
Kentucky Harvest
Peanut Butter Muffin
Whole Wheat Roll
Ribeye Special
Seared Ahi Tuna
Eggs Benedict
Chilled Quinoa And Avocado Salad
Brie Cheese
Lamb T-bone
Seafood Special
Ahi Tuna With Port Miso
Creme Brulee
Lamb Burger

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
9 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

special occasion (74)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (52)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
notable wine list (39)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (26)
hot spot (25)
great for brunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for outdoor dining (18)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointing Visit. We have been patro ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing Visit. We have been patrons of Dudley's for a very long time. Dudley's has been one of our favorite restaurants, but unfortunately we did not enjoy our last visit. We went for my husband's birthday and though the service was outstanding, the food was just okay. My friend and I split the prime ribeye special. I only order steak out when it is prime, but this one was tough and over seasoned. My husband's wild salmon was a very small (too small) portion and hardly seasoned at all. The bread basket was only passed around once and the bread portions were also very small, so we couldn't even fill up on bread. For the cost of this restaurant, there are other better and more generous restaurant choices. I will say that their wine pours were very generous that evening. In the past, a glass of wine there was hardly worth the price as it was quite skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

I recently had lunch here with a friend. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

I recently had lunch here with a friend. We both ordered the chicken salad plate. It arrived so beautifully arranged with fresh fruit! Our server was so helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live Dudleys normally but felt the lun ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I live Dudleys normally but felt the lunch menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Bartenders and servers are the best in t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bartenders and servers are the best in town! Food was amazing, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places. Night was wo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of our favorite places. Night was wonderful as usual!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is be far my favorite place in Lexi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is be far my favorite place in Lexington. Everything about my experience here was fabulous. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Dudley's on Short for a date, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We visited Dudley's on Short for a date, and the food and service was excellent. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice night out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent. Sat on the back upstairs porc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent. Sat on the back upstairs porch. Much better than inside. Much too dark inside the restaurant. Service was great and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous as always, Dudley's never disap ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous as always, Dudley's never disapoints! Whether it is brunch or dinner, the food is delicious and unique. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food again for brunch.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service and food again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. I can't sa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and great service. I can't say enough nice things about this place. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's was recommended to me by a loca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dudley's was recommended to me by a local as a great place to take a new business partner for dinner. The food, the service and the atmosphere was incredible! You should try the Brussel Sprouts when you go. Our server has a real passion for food, for Dudleys, but even more for providing great experiences for all of his guests. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As wonderful as the food and ambiance, t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

As wonderful as the food and ambiance, the entire staff somehow surpassed all of that! A great place to feel special!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday brunch. Outstanding food a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great Sunday brunch. Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit pricey for the food and drink. Se ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A bit pricey for the food and drink. Service good, pleasant surroundings, but think it is overpriced.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great and the portions reas ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was great and the portions reasonable for the type of restaurant where you intend to have several courses. The wine list markups seemed a bit high, but this is sadly common. Highlights included the burrata salad and the roasted sea scallops (portion of four seems a bit much - three would have sufficed).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Dudleys is great !! Always!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Dudleys is great !! Always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and flavorful food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great service and flavorful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went when on vacation in Lexington. Love ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Went when on vacation in Lexington. Loved it! Charming and romantic vibe, great food, great service, prime location, all around great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite in Lexington!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food is fantastic and the service is great! My wife and I come to enjoy a very nice dining experience. The servers we've had have all seemed to pick up on our pace. We never feel rushed nor do we feel neglected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, a man who recently moved to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter, a man who recently moved to Lexington from Hawaii, was outstanding and made the evening special for us! Food was delicious, and the back dinning room where we ate was very attractive. We liked the subdued atmosphere in the back dinning rooms, but at another time would probably enjoy the more lively atmosphere in the front of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This was a reconnaissance mission to see if Dudley's would be a good place to hold some high level dinner meetings. It certainly did not disappoint! I truly believe you could just point to something on the menu and you would enjoy it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our experiences at Dudle ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We always enjoy our experiences at Dudley's! This time was even better than the last! Our server was amazing and so good with our group!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great night!!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Dudley's on Short

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Seldom does the best food you've ever eaten, outstanding service and upscale ambience coexist in a restaurant setting. It all comes together at Dudley's with energetic and entertaining servers, innovative menu choices, and pleasant upscale surroundings. We plan to return at our next available opportunity.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always appreciate the service and the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We always appreciate the service and the food. I've never been disappointed and love planning a night out knowing exactly what to expect. Can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent server made a fabulous meal ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent server made a fabulous meal even better. It's a can't miss !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classy

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Dudley's is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. My meal was very tasty and nicely presented. The waiter did NOT say, "Is the food tasting great?" What a relief! Talk about a leading question. But the food did taste great. Only complain, a piece of bread from the bread tray was stale. Hint: stick with the scones - excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Extraordinary!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We drove South from Louisville to have an early Mother's Day celebration.

Brian our server was very accommodating and friendly. He made every aspect of the meal enjoyable and relaxing. The food was superb accompanied by a top notch wine list.

Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of seven loved Dudley's on Sho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our group of seven loved Dudley's on Short! The service was excellent, including the chef preparing a modified meal for my vegan husband. The food was delicious (loved the quiche!) and the prices reasonable. Noise level was low, and ambiance was open and inviting. We'll go back the next time we are in Lexington.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 5 Dining Experiences!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My boyfriend and I are from Chicago and we agreed this one one of our best dining experiences to date, if not the best one yet! The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. The portion sizes are perfect, and the drink selection was immense. We would most definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Great bourbon menu and the food was excellent. Great service. The bar is intimate, hard for a group of 6 to hang out

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

What a great find. I was in town for the Rolex and tried Dudleys based on a recommendations and write up. I was not disappointed. The service was great, the food outstanding and even though the restaurant was packed the noise level was not bothersome. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a great night out.

We were tentative because we had eaten at another high end restaurant around the corner and the experience was a disaster, starting with the dull wait staff to the food being served cool and drowned in sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dudleys--perferct fit for Lexington, his ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Dudleys--perferct fit for Lexington, historic building, great bar, great service, atmosphere, outstanding food and extensive wine list. Best in Lexington!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and Inviting

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great atmosphere. Bar is bustling. Food always consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely Sunday Brunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a wonderful Sunday brunch filled with mimosas, chicken and waffles, quiche, and lemon ricotta pancakes. All was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Kywildcat367

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Best brunch in Lexington. Highly recommend eating there anytime, but their brunch is outstanding!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, but so loud!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a lovely dinner and the food was spectacular! The service was impeccable as well. The ambiance is great. The only problem is the noise level. It was so extremely loud, my husband and I could barely hear each other across the table! We were there on a rainy Thursday night and it was pretty busy, but not completely full. I don't think I've ever been in a restaurant of this caliber that was so noisy. Not sure if we would go back, due only to the noise level!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Spectacular rooftop dining

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

A friend recommended Dudley's, as I was to be in Lexington on business. I dined alone on the rooftop and felt like a princess! The service was phenomenal, the food was wonderful, the ambiance was fabulous. When in Lexington, I WILL return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Dudleys.

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Plan to be here again on April 28 with special out of state guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.