About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Filet
Burger
Tournedos Maxwell
Red Snapper
Pumpkin Spiced Crème Brûlée
Caesar Salad
Keeneland Toast
T.G. Salad
Kentucky Harvest
Peanut Butter Muffin
Whole Wheat Roll
Ribeye Special
Seared Ahi Tuna
Eggs Benedict
Chilled Quinoa And Avocado Salad
Brie Cheese
Lamb T-bone
Seafood Special
Ahi Tuna With Port Miso
Creme Brulee
Lamb Burger

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
9 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (84)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Romantic (59)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Brunch (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my first experience at Dudley's ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first experience at Dudley's and I was quite impressed. The food and atmosphere were great. The only negative response is that our server seemed to care more about the table of 6 than my table of 2 as he rarely came by because he was always at the table of 6. But overall it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I had to send back the Steak Frits twice ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had to send back the Steak Frits twice for it being cold and the over cooked; however, all of the appetizers and desserts were awesome that my group had. Our waitress also did her best to make up for the kitchen's mistake. I would definitely go back, but unfortunately this meal didn't do the food justice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My husband's steak had a lot of gristle. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband's steak had a lot of gristle. My steak was not very hot when served. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Drinks, food and staff were all excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Drinks, food and staff were all excellent. Atmosphere is personable, comfortable and designed to make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best cucumber soup I have ever ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had the best cucumber soup I have ever had. I make a good one but this one was better. I wish I had the recipe.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Fantastic food and service. Overall, it ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Overall, it was a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely enjoyed our birthday meal ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We absolutely enjoyed our birthday meal at Dudley's. We ate on the rooftop patio and it was terrific. I mentioned to my wife that I felt like I was in the Georgetown section of Washington, D.C. The service was impeccable and the food was great.

I highly recommend the rooftop patio. A great find in Lexington dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Lexington! Love the roof t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best place in Lexington! Love the roof top and sitting downstairs at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was outstanding...don't know ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding...don't know his name, but remember that he had moved from Hawaii!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent night celebrating my daughter ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent night celebrating my daughter starting college. Will visi again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is always good. Sat 29 minutes wit ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food is always good. Sat 29 minutes without service. It was so loud we couldn't even hear each other. For a bar, there is slot of children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Sunday brunch donuts are the best!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch donuts are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An excellent fine-dining experience. Th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An excellent fine-dining experience. The restaurant is amazing and always has been - I've been going to, and enjoying, Dudley's since the late 1990s and this particular visit was no exception to their amazing hospitality. The price is fairly high, as fine dining tends to be, but not exceptionally costly (simply what one would expect for this type of thing).

They have/serve Pappy Van Winkle for those who are fond of good bourbon (as I am) and their wine selections are adequately narrow, but well selected, that even a neophyte to wine, such as myself, can just "pick a wine and go" without disappointment. Further, their classic dishes, such as the Tournedos Maxwell are, and always have been, amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome 🍸Steve P was the best! Dan

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome 🍸Steve P was the best! Dan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ms Long and her team never disappoint. F ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ms Long and her team never disappoint. Food was delicious and cocktails were on point!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Dudley's for years, b ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had not been to Dudley's for years, but decided to visit again to celebrate an anniversary. The new (to us, I think they've been on Short St. for several years already) location is really good for a nice dinner - set in an older house with high ceilings and only a few tables per room. There is something on the menu for everyone, and the food was very good; as was the service. The wine list is also very nice, and I especially like that they have several selections available in half-bottles. This was very helpful when I had halibut and my son had beef! Overall, it was a great dinner, and I will not wait years to return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good, food very good, w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was very good, food very good, wine was excellent. A little loud for a business dinner, but not unbearable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dudley's never disappoints. We try to ea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints. We try to eat here when we get back to Lexington. Food is great, changes regularly, staff are knowledgeable and attentive. The prices are very reasonable for the quality and I really like the fact that the owner is often visible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took out-of-town guests to Dudley's b ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took out-of-town guests to Dudley's because this is one of our favorite restaurants. Very consistent, delicious food. Great service. Beautiful restaurant and food presentation. Servers are well-trained and attentive to the clients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Attended for ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Attended for business purposes and was very pleased how it turned out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience overall will return . Ha ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good experience overall will return . Had to request bread

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful, as always!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dudleys is a fair restaurant and there a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dudleys is a fair restaurant and there are better values in Lexington to chose for your dining experience.

There wasn't a steak on the menu. Prime Rib was listed but I was expecting a Filet to be a choice.

I ordered the salmon which was cooked perfectly but the portion was very small.

The beer bread that is offered as a choice of several breads is fantastic but they didn't have enough on this particular evening. Butter wasn't offered. I asked for it but never received it.

The restaurant is crowded and the tables are seemingly close together. I could clearly hear the conversations around me. There was a group of 8 young ladies seated behind us and they were quite loud. They appeared to have a nice time.

Our waiter was fantastic and very attentive.

I'll never understand why the hostess station acts as if they are doing you a favor by seating me. No one smiled or seemed to enjoy their jobs. Their greeting as we approached their station to be seated wasn't welcoming.

My favorite part about Dudleys is the art on the walls.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I took my best friend to celebrate her b ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I took my best friend to celebrate her birthday with brunch at Dudley's. It was great..be aware that the Saturday Farmer's Market sets up right in front of Dudley's so no parking in front on Sat. during brunch. It was fun to see all the vendors and folks coming down and Dudley's is so great.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dudley's never disappoints! Some of the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints! Some of the best food, service, and ambiance in Lexington!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant, but fresh and current food and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Elegant, but fresh and current food and drink. Reasonably priced for quality of food, service and atmosphere. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during restaurant week. The res ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We went during restaurant week. The restaurant was pretty busy, but you wouldn't know that based on the service we received. Our server was very attentive. The food was amazing. We had the salmon and steak dishes and both were delicious. A bread tray was brought to our table with many different bread options to choose from. We sampled a few breads and all were great, but the beer bread was our favorite. Our seat was in the street-level dining room, but I had heard that the rooftop seating area was very nice so we walked up to check it out. When we return to the restaurant, I will definitely ask for the rooftop seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even with the restrictions of a prix fix ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Even with the restrictions of a prix fixe menu for Lexington Restaurant Week, Dudley's delivered with a good choice of excellent food. The service was attentive and polite and our server (shout out to Christian) was aware of what we needed without hovering. The competing9muted) noise from Thursday Night Live made us wish that Dudley's would just turn off their piped music and give in to the live stuff just outside, but we got used to the discord. We were on the second floor and it was definitely quiet enough for serious conversation. A most enjoyable dinner out with the girls.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall, a wonderful meal. Went here fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Overall, a wonderful meal. Went here for restaurant week and got their prix fixe menu, which was very good. Had a wonderful waiter. Very much enjoyed the bread tray, although wish they had come back around and offered a second piece.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dudley's is my favorite Lexington restau ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Dudley's is my favorite Lexington restaurant, especially for celebrations. My husband and I go here for our birthdays every year and it is always special. The food is spectacular! The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and taken care of without being too overbearing. It's special, really just very special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudleys is such a gem!!! We love the res ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Dudleys is such a gem!!! We love the restaurant for the drinks, food, atmosphere, and the friendliness of all the employees. Grab a cocktail at the bar and move into the dining room or up to the rooftop for a memorable dinner!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were very experienced in the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The servers were very experienced in the menu selection . The manager made several personal stops to insure of the quality of the food and service. It was an exceptional personal experience. We will make sure it's at the top of our restaurant list.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a friend's recommendation and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went on a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed!! Our waiter was fabulous and suggested many of the foods that we selected. He was right on! As Foodies from CA, we have often found Lexington wanting. NOT ANYMORE!! We will gladly return to Dudley's. In fact, I can hardly wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had lately! ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best meals we've had lately! Food was innovative as well as delicious and presentation was nice. We sat on the rooftop patio which is why the noise level was low-inside dining is noisy. This is really my only complaint about the restaurant. Debbie Long, the owner, was present in the restaurant as is often the case. I think this helps insure the quality of the food. We both had choices from the Restaurant Week selection, and they are by far the best we have had in the city this week. The grape gazpacho was heavenly, the fried green tomatoes excellent, the salmon and the pork entrees both tasty with wonderful accompaniments, and the peach panna cotta and pot de creme desserts divine. Bravo Dudley's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Outstanding brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited Dudley' s during out local re ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We visited Dudley' s during out local restaurant week. Of all the restaurants participating Dudley' s had the most interesting menu choices. Our dinner was well thoughout, well prepared and the service was excellent. Kudos to Debbie and her staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant week dinner!!! There w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great restaurant week dinner!!! There were 3 of us so we tried everything except the cheesecake. We really liked everything but the absolute favorite was the gazpacho. It was my 1st time here since the new chef arrived last year. I can't wait to return! Most creative menu & great service too! We sat outside & this must also be the best outdoor space downtown. I recommend you come too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Visit. We have been patro ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Disappointing Visit. We have been patrons of Dudley's for a very long time. Dudley's has been one of our favorite restaurants, but unfortunately we did not enjoy our last visit. We went for my husband's birthday and though the service was outstanding, the food was just okay. My friend and I split the prime ribeye special. I only order steak out when it is prime, but this one was tough and over seasoned. My husband's wild salmon was a very small (too small) portion and hardly seasoned at all. The bread basket was only passed around once and the bread portions were also very small, so we couldn't even fill up on bread. For the cost of this restaurant, there are other better and more generous restaurant choices. I will say that their wine pours were very generous that evening. In the past, a glass of wine there was hardly worth the price as it was quite skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

I recently had lunch here with a friend. ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I recently had lunch here with a friend. We both ordered the chicken salad plate. It arrived so beautifully arranged with fresh fruit! Our server was so helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.