About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Filet - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Burger - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Pumpkin Spiced Crème Brûlée - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Tournedos Maxwell - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Keeneland Toast - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Kentucky Harvest  - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
T.G. Salad - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Peanut Butter Muffin - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Caesar Salad - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Whole Wheat Roll - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Seared Ahi Tuna - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Eggs Benedict - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Ribeye Special - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Red Snapper - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Chilled Quinoa And Avocado Salad - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Brie Cheese - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Lamb T-bone - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Seafood Special - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Ahi Tuna With Port Miso - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Creme Brulee - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Lamb Burger - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
6 More
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Historic (8)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fireplace (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated our 13th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary and were so glad we chose Dudley's. The food, service and ambiance was as good as the best restaurants in Manhattan.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's never disappoints! Spectacular ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Dudley's never disappoints! Spectacular service and fabulous seasonal menu! The butternut squash soup was delicious and presented beautifully, and the ahi tuna was as delcious as always. The jam cake and pumpkin creme brulee were to die for! My favorite restaurant for that special dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere were fair. Sitting ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and atmosphere were fair. Sitting is tight so not very romantic. Probably better for business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Outstanding food, great service! We will ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food, great service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AWESOME service and food ... Exceptional ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

AWESOME service and food ... Exceptional Staff that really made us feel special. Will definitely dine here again and recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a perfect night with delicious food ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a perfect night with delicious food and great service. Everything was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were very good. Dinin ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service were very good. Dining tables are very close together. Dining room is very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, good service, hip downtown l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, good service, hip downtown location--what's not to like? Dudley's has been around a long time, and there are several good reasons for this. We were celebrating, and Dudley's makes it FEEL like a celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food, great service, and we wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, and we will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love our experience at Dudleys ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always love our experience at Dudleys. food, service, ambiance always outstanding.

Only complaint this time was that we asked to be seated in the bar and it was extremely loud.

Too loud for a table of 6. There will always be a next time and we will request the dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though we were dressed appropriatel ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Even though we were dressed appropriately (similar if not better than many of the other diners) and on time for our reservation the hostess greeted us coldly. She then tried to seat us at a table at the back right next to the kitchen even though there were many other tables available. We asked for another table and were reluctantly seated at something better. Fortunately our server, Nate, was wonderful and made the rest of the experience pleasant but with Lexington's emerging food scene I would not go back as there are too many better alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Dudleys has always been my "go-to" for b ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Dudleys has always been my "go-to" for business lunches and it probably always will be. But come on with the country ham sandwich - it was probably the worst quality I have ever had. I even asked that it be lean and not fatty selection, but truly I ended up with about enough meat to actually be sufficient for only 1/4 of the bread. NOONE at a business meeting wants to pick through their meat or risk chewing on gristle and fat that they may not be able to choke down. I grew up southern and the measure of the quality of country ham is the taste not the quantity of fat. Get a different supplier or trim the meat much much better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

As always, very attentive and profession ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As always, very attentive and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable meal to celebrate our annivers ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Enjoyable meal to celebrate our anniversary before a show at the Lexington Opera House. Dudley's Eggs with smoked trout were delicious, as was the butternut squash soup and wilted Brussels sprout salad. Fresh egg linguine with tenderloin and pomodoro sauce special was heavenly, but two small salmon filets on regular entree were a little overcooked. Nice wine list, fresh bread selections, yummy dessert and friendly service provided a great start to a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Dudley's. Quite nice! Food ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2016

First time at Dudley's. Quite nice! Food selection, taste and service were very good. Would go back when in Lexington!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food and service were super! Loud! Tal ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food and service were super! Loud! Tall ceilings with no buffers. Party of six on a Thursday made it impossible to hear from one end of table to the other. Vibe was real, though.

Charcuterie plate over-priced for the offering. Fish and pasta dishes were big wins!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner celebrating our 24th An ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful dinner celebrating our 24th Anniversary. Great location to our historic downtown VRBO. Great staff and comfortable table near the fireplace. The leftovers were great for late evening snack! Thanks Dudley's

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal at Dudleys! The service ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Enjoyed our meal at Dudleys! The service was perfect and the food was fabulous!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I are in Kentucky for work. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wife and I are in Kentucky for work. We have lived all of over the world from Paris to London, Hong Kong and San Francisco. We were immediately pulled to Dudley's because of its curb appeal and worldly elegance.

The food reflects certain creativity and has a fine balance of different tastes. Our second meal at Dudley's was a bit disappointing because the Duck entree dish came with a substantial fat on it. We pointed this out to the waitress but she said that it was supposed to be like that. Later she came back confirming that it was not the way it should be served. They offered a dessert to counterbalance this experience but it really should have been taken off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Went there for a pre-game meal. They we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Went there for a pre-game meal. They were serving brunch. Everything was well prepared and tasted great. Brownie Sunday was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must for foodies. Excellent service. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A must for foodies. Excellent service. The staff knows, loves and appreciates food. You will be in good hands. Perfect for special occasions or just because.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was outstanding. Can't wait to ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The meal was outstanding. Can't wait to return. Our server was great. A longstanding hot spot in Lexington.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I dined at Dudley's on Septe ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I dined at Dudley's on September 30 to celebrate our 4th anniversary. We arrived early, so we enjoyed great drinks and friendly service at the bar until the time for our reservation. Our server, Kevin, was fantastic and listened to our questions and never let us wanting for anything. The butternut bisque was superb, and so were the smoked olives. My wife enjoyed the filet and asparagus. My lamb was cooked perfectly. This is a great place for special occasions and anniversaries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All in all, a great dining experience fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

All in all, a great dining experience for 7 of us in our party. However 2 in group had the pasta special of the night, and both declared it tasteless & awful. One guest sent it back & got a steak, which they thoroughly enjoyed. The other guest simple took one bite, and that was all. Everyone else's food was very good & we had a great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Always perfect. Fall inspired menu has s ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always perfect. Fall inspired menu has some fun adventures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a view from the patio! The service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

What a view from the patio! The service and ambiance were amazing. They didn't care that we were loud and obnoxious and having a fabulous time. They joked with us, answered all our questions and made recommendations. The only negative was that I got the pork and it was so dry I couldn't eat it. All the other food was fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about dining at Dudley's is g ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything about dining at Dudley's is good--food, service, atmosphere on the patio.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in Lexington. We ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was our first time in Lexington. We were celebrating a special occasion and our friends recommended Dudley's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steve was a great waiter! Delicious cal ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Steve was a great waiter! Delicious calamari, TG salad, beet salad, and steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a favorite whenever I am in Lexin ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

always a favorite whenever I am in Lexington! Love the atmosphere, love the service and the food is spectacular!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Debbie Long and staff do such a great jo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Debbie Long and staff do such a great job. Dudley's is the #1 restaurant in Lex. There are others. But Dudley's is beyond them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kevin was an awesome server! We loved th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Kevin was an awesome server! We loved the food, our service, and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. A gre ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and excellent service. A great meal before going to the theater.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dudley's on Short is remarkably outstand ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dudley's on Short is remarkably outstanding! I and my fiancée went and celebrated our anniversary. They took good care of my ordered roses, put it neatly on the table. The food was well prepared, and fit the season perfectly! The service was fantastic. And we enjoyed a surprised complimentary anniversary desert from the restaurant.

Thank you Dudley's for preparing us a truly memorable anniversary.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent dinner outside on the patio ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

An excellent dinner outside on the patio. Service was superb.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waitress was EXCEPTIONAL

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Waitress was EXCEPTIONAL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The roof top is beautiful.

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The roof top is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had our first date at Dudley's. We on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had our first date at Dudley's. We one year later for our one-year first date anniversary. The meal was fabulous, as was the service. Thank you for the great anniversary dessert too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at Dudley's ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was my first experience at Dudley's and I was quite impressed. The food and atmosphere were great. The only negative response is that our server seemed to care more about the table of 6 than my table of 2 as he rarely came by because he was always at the table of 6. But overall it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.