Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Dudley's on Short

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Romantic (28)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Authentic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Fun (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Bar Seating (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined a day ago

Perfect, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waitress was amazing. On top of things. Food, as usual, was divine. I’ve never had a bad meal here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Dinner was wonderful!
We enjoyed everything and sat in the bar area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Dudley’s makes a nice cocktail and the food is always consistent. My only complaint was it was quite warm at our table in the back the night we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

When you drop over 100.00 for a meal you expect it to be good. Dudley’s has been a staple in Lexington for many years, but it fell way short of expectations and was a complete waste of money. The fried Chicken Skins were very good, but that was it. I ordered the special strip loin steak and specifically asked the waiter if it was tough. He assured me it wasn’t. When I received the steak, as soon as I cut into it I knew it was awful. Tough, gristle, fatty. All around terrible. The manager came over and told me he would bring me something else and said he would come half of it. I agreed and sat and waited and waited and waited for something And it never came. My bill came and I was charged 30.00 for cabbage and rice. Eventually they comped my meal. The attitude of not caring about my experience was the troubling part. The manager acted like my money wasn’t a priority. My bill was still over 100.00 because I used this as a valentines dinner for me and my date. We purchased wine and other drinks. My date had to awkwardly eat her food while I sat there and waited for something that never came. If you are waiting to take your date out and splurge. DO
NOT GO TO DUDLEYS. The whole staff couldn’t care less of you are satisfied or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best meals we have had in a while. The shrimp and grits were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Really great meal and service. Outstanding! Beet salad was insane and the tournedos were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined 6 days ago

Had another fantastic meal here. I'm always impressed with the food, drink menu, and the service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was absolutely top notch. Excellent Valentine dinner with my wife. Service was impeccable .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently very good!! The atmosphere makes a great get together with friends. The food is very delicious! Always happy to be there. Service is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We had the calamari appetizer. It was good, but wished I had asked for different dipping sauce. What comes with the dish was too spicy for my taste. The Caesar was nice but I felt the croutons were burnt (my husband like them). Our entrees were amazing. I had the filet medallions. Our server and wait staff were very attentive. Loved the interior. Noise level was high, felt like I was yelling and I kept asking my husband to repeat himself. Not sure that was the restaurant's fault. There was a very loud and lively group sitting in our area. Looks like it would be a really nice spot on warm evening as the front windows open to the sidewalk. Overall, we had a really nice time and will likely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Wonderful meal to celebrate a friend's birthday! We shared many delicious appetizers and we all ordered something different as everything on the menu looked appealing. Every plate was a work of art and prepared perfectly. Owner was there and we passed along our compliments. A terrific evening for all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Food was awesome, waiter was very professional and courteous .. totally enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2018

One of the best restaurants in Lexington, always excellent.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Although we were celebrating a birthday with brunch, we frequent Dudley’s because we simply love it. As always, our appetizers and mains were splendid. We really appreciated the warm and attentive service Seth provided too. Dudley’s never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Great wine list. Had a great table in the corner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2018

As always, we enjoyed excellent food and service at Dudley’s. We were there for brunch and enjoyed both the variety of menu choices and the quality of the food. The staff is knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. We have always had a wonderful dining experience at this classic Lexington restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 27, 2018

We went for brunch, for my husband's birthday, and it was beyond great, food, service, atmosphere. The portions are a great size, we were very full! The servers were all great and very helpful. We would highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Had a great date night here with my fiancé. We loved every moment of it and will be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Great dinner. Great wine list!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Another wonderful meal at Dudley's. It was our anniversary and also pre-Broadway play. Great waiter with a fabulous wine recommendation. Always a lovely place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Dudley’s is always my go to restaurant in Lexington! The best and very consistent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 23, 2018

The food was excellent. Service was perfect. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 23, 2018

It was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Once again - another fabulous night out at Dudley's. Ate in the bar before a basketball game. While crowded - we still received excellent food & service. BRAVO!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We had no idea what to expect as we were just visiting Lexington and wanted a good meal before the basketball game. The setting was nice, elegant. We ordered the John Dory and living in south Florida we are pretty particular about fish dishes. The John Dory was outstanding. We shall happily return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Taylor was awesome, and the flatbread was perfect for a light dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2018

food and service were excellent as usual. Waitress was always right there and we enjoyed her interaction.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Very nice dinner - great cocktails. Our server was terrific!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2017

On New year's Eve you expect to pay more so we were quite satisfied with the price. We had a late sitting, the nose level was so bad that conversation was impossible but we understood that was out of Dudley's control. However they were out of some of the choices, so I chose the beef tenderloin which was excellent, but cold which did not impact the taste but DID impact the sauce, which was concealed, and the greens , made bitter and uneatable. My water did take it back to the kitchen but it returned in a very hot plate but the food was still cold.
Dudley's is one of our favorite places especially after a performance at the Opera House, but perhaps more attention needs to be given to special occasions.
Our servers were very good but obviously tired. The drinks came quickly, but he immediately wanted to place our dinner orders and never came back for second drink orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Fantastic 3 course meal for New Years Eve celebration. Wine selection was outstanding. Fun evening

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Can't go long with this longtime Lexington favorite. Great for UK basketball games.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great menu options and super service. Reservations suggested.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Food wasn’t great. We were really annoyed that my boyfriend and I split a steak and a pasta (both main courses) and without asking they split them each onto two plates and charged us $5 per split. We didn’t need them split apart and would rather have not paid the $10. We also still ordered 2 entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Dudley's on Short is our favorite place to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries! The other evening, Anthony was the very best host/server and made a wonderful evening even more memorable! Thank you Heath, Mark, Debbie and Anthony!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We had a great experience. We had Taylor as our waiter and he was fantastic. Food was excellent. My vegetarian daughter had the pasta Dudley with no chicken and was very happy. Wonderful drink selection and great atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Great food, nice wine selection, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2017

A favorite brunch and lunch spot of mine. Their quiche is always wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.