About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Burger - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Pumpkin Spiced Crème Brûlée - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Tournedos Maxwell - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Keeneland Toast - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Kentucky Harvest  - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
T.G. Salad - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Peanut Butter Muffin - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Caesar Salad - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Whole Wheat Roll - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Seared Ahi Tuna - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Eggs Benedict - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Ribeye Special - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Red Snapper - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Chilled Quinoa And Avocado Salad - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Brie Cheese - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Lamb T-bone - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Seafood Special - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Ahi Tuna With Port Miso - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Creme Brulee - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY
Lamb Burger - Dudley's on Short, Lexington, KY

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Historic (14)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Private Room (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fireplace (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dudley's always has and always will be m ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined a day ago

Dudley's always has and always will be my favorite place to dine in Lexington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Dudley's on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine at Dudley's on Short. We can always find some new creation that we have to try, and have never been disappointed. We hope to return soon.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. O ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was outstanding. One of my favorite places to eat. I would highly recommend Dudley's

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent fine dining. The bar was espe ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistent fine dining. The bar was especially loud and the new server was unsure of herself and did not correctly pronounce several dishes/cooking style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great new menu - the pork belly and th ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A great new menu - the pork belly and the pheasant were superb

Great service - as usual

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived a little early so we went to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We arrived a little early so we went to the bar for cocktails. Shortly we were shown to our table.

It took just a few more minutes than it should have for our waiter to arrive but it wasn't excessive. After that everything went smoothly and all us enjoyed our delicious appetizers, food and deserts. Everyone liked the different dining rooms and areas. That really makes for a unique experience. We are planning on coming back in the near future. Thanks for your hospitality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've always had great experiences here ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've always had great experiences here and Dudleys is my favorite for a special occasion(wedding anniversary in this case). My wife and I commented that we thought it was some of the best table service ever. The butternut squash soup was fantastic and creatively served. The lamb and duck are both spot-on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's resides in a fabulous historic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Dudley's resides in a fabulous historic building. The service was outstanding. Overall we really enjoyed the food. The octopus was a miss with a soggy scallion pancake, but otherwise very strong. The bar could use some work. They appear satisfied with being a KY bourbon bar. The bartenders were not craft oriented. Not only did they not have Mezcal, they did not know about Mezcal or Pisco. Wine selection pretty strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed New Years Eve dinner. Reservati ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed New Years Eve dinner. Reservation was prompt which was really appreciated given the holiday. Service was great and the food was delicious.

Always a great place for a special meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Seriously one of the best meals we've ha ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Seriously one of the best meals we've had anywhere - and we've traveled pretty extensively around the world! Who knew the best was right in the heart of bluegrass country! Beautifully appointed setting, attentive service, and excellent food all came together for a memorable experience. Even though we have family in the area, we'll definitely be coming back from Columbus OH and Indianapolis IN just to enjoy Dudley's. Save table 18 for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, food was great, service was f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic, food was great, service was fantastic, and ambiance was not noticeable, which means we weren't disturbed and had a very pleasant evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's never disappoints. The service ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints. The service is excellent and the food consistently delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, , Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason this restaurant has be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There is a reason this restaurant has been around for so long - it is terrific! Had a holiday lunch with friends and the food and service were great. The decor and ambiance really add to the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Dudley's; I on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was my first time at Dudley's; I only moved here 2 months ago. Everything about the restaurant was outstanding. My sister and her husband were visiting, and I was delighted that the restaurant I picked was much, much better than average. I'm going there again by myself!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience at Dudley's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The entire dining experience at Dudley's was exquisite, from the first cocktail to the amazing dessert, but the service and the atmosphere truly sets this restaurant apart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a joy to visit Dudley's, excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a joy to visit Dudley's, excellent food and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Dudley's. It's always ween my fav ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love Dudley's. It's always ween my favorite restaurant in Lexington. The staff is great-friendly and relaxed. My favorite entree is the Pasta Dudley style, but I've found the specials to be excellent also. I love the city vibe in the bar area and the casual elegance in the dining room. Dudley's is a great place for a special occasion or a business lunch.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always excellent food, service, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Nice selection of main items from fish to steaks properly done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service again and again. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service again and again. Dudley's does not disappoint. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful place. The service was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

What a beautiful place. The service was great, food great. A little too crowded. Hard to carry on a conversation with the table so close.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I recently celebrated our ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband and I recently celebrated our annual Christmas season tradition of brunch at Dudley's. The bloody marys were creative and exceptional as were the fried oysters and cheese/chive scones. The corned beef hash was the best ever and the Eggs St. Charles was a delight. Our server offered very friendly and attentive service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, , Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, innovative on point menu, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great dinner, innovative on point menu, outstanding waiter and food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our sons U.K. Graduation with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Celebrated our sons U.K. Graduation with friends and family. Service and food were excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience! They were abl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a great experience! They were able to seat us early and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dining room is lovely. The food and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The dining room is lovely. The food and service were excellent. My only disappointment was the wine price. We purchased a bottle to drink during dinner and enjoyed it immensely. So much so, that we went shopping the next day to find a bottle to drink at home. We found it at a local liquor store for one fourth the price! Dudley's markup seems a bit extreme to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always s great experience.

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always s great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was very friendly and knowled ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our server was very friendly and knowledgable. The restaurant itself is quiet, so its easy to have a conversation with friends. And did I mention the duck fat hamburger? Delectable...

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dudley's never disappoints! Spectacular ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints! Spectacular service and fabulous seasonal menu! The butternut squash soup was delicious and presented beautifully, and the ahi tuna was as delcious as always. The jam cake and pumpkin creme brulee were to die for! My favorite restaurant for that special dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 13th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary and were so glad we chose Dudley's. The food, service and ambiance was as good as the best restaurants in Manhattan.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere were fair. Sitting ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food and atmosphere were fair. Sitting is tight so not very romantic. Probably better for business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Outstanding food, great service! We will ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food, great service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AWESOME service and food ... Exceptional ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

AWESOME service and food ... Exceptional Staff that really made us feel special. Will definitely dine here again and recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a perfect night with delicious food ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a perfect night with delicious food and great service. Everything was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were very good. Dinin ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service were very good. Dining tables are very close together. Dining room is very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They were very nice & we had a great eve ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

They were very nice & we had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service, hip downtown l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, good service, hip downtown location--what's not to like? Dudley's has been around a long time, and there are several good reasons for this. We were celebrating, and Dudley's makes it FEEL like a celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food, great service, and we wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, and we will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love our experience at Dudleys ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always love our experience at Dudleys. food, service, ambiance always outstanding.

Only complaint this time was that we asked to be seated in the bar and it was extremely loud.

Too loud for a table of 6. There will always be a next time and we will request the dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though we were dressed appropriatel ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Even though we were dressed appropriately (similar if not better than many of the other diners) and on time for our reservation the hostess greeted us coldly. She then tried to seat us at a table at the back right next to the kitchen even though there were many other tables available. We asked for another table and were reluctantly seated at something better. Fortunately our server, Nate, was wonderful and made the rest of the experience pleasant but with Lexington's emerging food scene I would not go back as there are too many better alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Dudleys has always been my "go-to" for b ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Dudleys has always been my "go-to" for business lunches and it probably always will be. But come on with the country ham sandwich - it was probably the worst quality I have ever had. I even asked that it be lean and not fatty selection, but truly I ended up with about enough meat to actually be sufficient for only 1/4 of the bread. NOONE at a business meeting wants to pick through their meat or risk chewing on gristle and fat that they may not be able to choke down. I grew up southern and the measure of the quality of country ham is the taste not the quantity of fat. Get a different supplier or trim the meat much much better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.