Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Dudley's on Short

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Historic (26)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fun (11)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Private Room (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Casual (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience was truly perfect in every way. Despite the 240 miles it took to come there, Dudley's will be placed on the "must return" list of ours. Cuisine, preferred seating, quality and quantity, parking options, liveliness, musical background and staff-to the person-were Perfect. Thank you for the memory(ies). Gary B.

Tags: Live Sports, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Dudley's. It's one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A dining experience that is well proportioned and well prepared, Dudley's truly rises to the occasion. With its warming ambiance filled with the flickering of candles and properly dressed and behaved staff, the restaurant fully captures its customers for an experience to remember - both visually and tastefully.
Without an intrusion by a waiter or waitress, the guests are able to engage in conversation and review the seasonal menus at their leisure. After ample time has been provided to guests for their pre-meal conversations and review of the menu, the waiter/waitress will answer any and all questions regarding the options and provide the specials for the day. Drink options to pair with the meals are splendid, and the pricing on the drinks are very fair and standard, as one would find elsewhere.
The service is rather quick, and freshly baked bread is provided to the guests at their choosing. The food, as previously mentioned, is splendid and just the right amount to where one is satisfied with the entree with room spared for dessert (the dessert menu is short but worth the look).
The prices for the meals are quite high - if budget is something that is important, this location would be recommended as a place to go on special occasions! However, I have rated the value as "Very Good" because the quality of food and experience you receive is well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I must be the exception. Every time I try Dudley's I have a not so great experience. I love the atmosphere, the wait staff is good, the wine list is great, the food choices always look interesting. Party of three, dining on a Sunday night. Started with the calamari, it was very good and also tried the meat/cheese platter, also very good. Two in the party ordered the lamb chop special, medium. Both plates came to the table, cold and raw, had to send back. 3rd party had the pork loin and declared it good. When the lamb arrived back it was cooked right and was tasty but the side pairings didn't do much for the dish. We ordered the chocolate layer cake for dessert to split after seeing our neighbor table enjoy one. Our waiter arrived back at the table bearing an angel food cake and said they had run out of the chocolate. A poor substitute as it tasted like what you'd pick up at Kroger. Total tab including tip was $485. (Included 2 nice bottles of Caymus).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Dudley's! Food (salmon and pork loin) were superb. Steve, one of the most knowledgeable, professional and attentive waiters, was our first class guide. Never a disappointment at Dudley's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My two friends and I had the Sunday brunch which was delicious. I had Eggs Benedict and though one of the eggs was a little overcooked it didn't take away from the wonderful flavor. Another friend had what I would normally call shrimp and grits, but this was Southwest style and she loved it, though it was a little spicy for me.

On this day the restaurant wasn't crowded and we enjoyed the ambiance. I especially love the red room with it's well-lit paintings. Service was just the right amount of attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dudley's is a wonderful restaurant -- creative, delicious food, often made with local ingredients, and totally dependable. I've eaten there three times in the last month (it just happened), and had three very different, equally excellent meals. One occasion was the final dinner of a conference, and everyone had a terrific meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Was in Lexington on business and was impressed by other reviews. Great meal and impeccable service. Had the liver mousse, slow cooked wild salmon and the French toast dessert. Great wine list. A little over $100 for two. A memorable meal and a great experience. There is a public parking lot just past the restaurant on the left and valet available.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great night, as expected. Dudley's is the best. I have visited Lex and Dudley's about twice a year at Kneeland time and finally just thought we would live there. Bought a farm and love it. Now I can be a regular and maybe work my way up to a nameplate on the bar. You will always feel welcome there. Thank you Keith and Thomas for making my group and I feel like we were at home and we didn't have to do the dishes. The food was excellent and it was enjoyed by all. It is tough to please everyone but you did. I'll see you soon so save some seats and eats for me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We decided to venture out to Dudley's for my wife's birthday, and we weren't disappointed. The whole staff was really and wished my wife a happy birthday and the food was delicious. We always love coming to Dudley's and I can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Our service was disappointing, especially compared with service we saw other tables receiving, I think our server was overwhelmed, it was a busy evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I took my wife for our anniversary, made reservations which they called to confirm the day prior. It was the night of a home game for the University of Kentucky so it had lots of people and was a bit noisy ( not bad though). Our server was Brad and he was totally AWESOME, he took great care of us answered every question I had and offered several suggestions wine etc.. The food was super fantastic Chef Richardson has created a wonderful menu of the season and hands down has been the best meal we have had yet to date!!! Totally worth every dollar, it isn't cheap but you get a great value for it. The staff at Dudley's on Short know how to take care of you and make your visit a fantastic experience, certainly we will be dining there again and again! Try it, enjoy!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Dudley's on Short and we were treated to the best meal experience of our lives. First, Bradley is a professional waiter--there is a wide gulf between him and very good servers who will become professionals in another field when they finish school. My hope is that you experience him when you dine at Dudley's.

My wife ordered the Sunchoke & Parmesan Soup and she was still talking about it two days later. I had the T.G. Salad, which is their version of a Wedge Salad, and it was outstanding and well portioned. We both ordered the Wild Salmon for our entrée and it was the best meal either of us has ever had. We asked that the salmon be blacken and our request was readily adhered to. It was fantastic. My wife barely eats seafood but wanted something healthy--and she loved it. The red wheat berry "risotto" was an interesting and very tasty compliment to the salmon.

Dudley's is a class establishment. They presented my wife with the largest piece of chocolate cake I have ever seen as a gift to help us celebrate a very meaningful evening.

I believe this is the best restaurant in town and they certainly delivered a very memorable dining experience for me and my wife. Bravo.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very pleasent atmosphere, and excellent service from wait staff.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Once again our meal was delicious and the service was EXCELLENT! A wonderful evening for our family!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food great but realized the next morning when I looked at the detail receipt that I'd been charged for two additional entrees. May have been an accident and I should have noticed before signing but I expect a server to double check as well...and we were only a party of three. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Dudleys never fails to please. Every tim I'm in Lexington I try to make a visit. The food is exceptional and the service is outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in the Lexington area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Solo dinner on business in town. Nice downtown location, good vibe and decor. Menu is appealing and reasonably priced, and my server was friendly and attentive. Ordered a strip steak, when asked how I was enjoying my meal I advised the server it seemed like a rib-eye, not a strip and while cooked more rare than I prefer, I was fine with the temp. Server apologized, asked to continue cooking the beef, and checked w kitchen who acknowledged that they had run our of strips and sub'd the rib eye instead. Server apologized over and over for not being informed. Steak was reasonably seasoned but the cut was poor and very tough; sub-Costco grade. Might give them another chance in the future given the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First, the service is always great. Very attentive wait staff. The food however, my wife's steak was ordered medium, it came out moving on the plate, well just shy of moving. It was twin filets, the waited saw it and immediatley took it back to the kitchen to correct, they corrected 1 of them but the second was still rare, doesn't make sense. I ordered the strip special which was good, 14 ounces and also undercooked for med rare but I ate it anyway. My friends both ordered the salmon which was of course, raw in the middle and both sent back. Perhaps they overbook and rush to get food out but when everyone is eating at different times, it makes for an awkward meal. Overall I spent about 150 bucks with wine and tip and I left feeling cheated. I am a fan of Dudleys and eat here often but I want a redo on this meal...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My fiance and I had a spectacular meal this past weekend at Dudley's! We loved the creativity evident throughout the menu. We started our meal with the bacon and cheddar beignets and crispy chicken skin, then moved on to the sunchoke and Parmesan soup before splitting the scallops for our main course. We loved the cozy environment and ambiance, and the location was ideal for catching our show at the Lexington Opera House that evening.

We would highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dinner with friends before a concert on Valentine's Day. I was worried we might get caught up in the day's traffic, but we had no problems and the food was outstanding. very pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and service...as always!!! You can never go wrong with Dudley's Downtown :)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lovely Sunday lunch. Staff welcoming and attentive. Love everything but the noise. Hard to have a conversation .

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience at Dudley's was phenomenal overall. My boyfriend had the filet & crab and did not leave one bit untouched! I had the wilted Brussels sprouts salad, which was good, but plain. The serving was also very small- and this is coming from someone who is usually satisfied by a small, vegetarian salad. Our bottle of wine was excellent, service was excellent, and the atmosphere was excellent. We called ahead to mention it was our anniversary, and every single staff member we interacted with wished us a happy day. That was impressive. The pot de creme we had impressed my "not really a desserts guy" boyfriend! The biggest improvement would be the addition of actual entrees for vegetarians. Overall, we would come again for a celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went there for a special valentines day date and we had a wonderful time, great food, great service and honestly not as expensive as we were expecting. It was a bit louder than we would've cared for, but it was the Saturday before Valentines and I'm sure that played a part in that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing service, warm atmosphere and no rush to leave. We enjoyed a long lingering meal while feasting on outstanding cuisine, perfectly seasoned and flavored.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A local favorite that never disappoints. The menu is always inventive and there's something for everyone. The burger is a favorite comfort dish with excellent fries! The soup is different each day and usually worth a try. The salads are big, fresh and full of flavor. The chicken salad plate is more than you expect. The brunch menu offers more for different tastes, including the burger and salads. Did I mention the breads and muffins? That's the best part!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Historic, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful Lexington building.
A touch pompous, when asked to recommend a wine to accompany our dinner in the $60 price range the sommelier said, I believe we may have some bargains on the list. He then recommended the house wine... really!
Food was good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Lovely dinner before a UK Game. Service and food were top notch. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Phenomenal. Brad was an incredible server and my wife and I got a cozy spot in the back of the dining room. Food was delicious. I highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dudley's always has and always will be my favorite place to dine in Lexington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Dudley's on Short. We can always find some new creation that we have to try, and have never been disappointed. We hope to return soon.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. One of my favorite places to eat. I would highly recommend Dudley's

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistent fine dining. The bar was especially loud and the new server was unsure of herself and did not correctly pronounce several dishes/cooking style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A great new menu - the pork belly and the pheasant were superb
Great service - as usual

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We arrived a little early so we went to the bar for cocktails. Shortly we were shown to our table.
It took just a few more minutes than it should have for our waiter to arrive but it wasn't excessive. After that everything went smoothly and all us enjoyed our delicious appetizers, food and deserts. Everyone liked the different dining rooms and areas. That really makes for a unique experience. We are planning on coming back in the near future. Thanks for your hospitality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've always had great experiences here and Dudleys is my favorite for a special occasion(wedding anniversary in this case). My wife and I commented that we thought it was some of the best table service ever. The butternut squash soup was fantastic and creatively served. The lamb and duck are both spot-on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Dudley's resides in a fabulous historic building. The service was outstanding. Overall we really enjoyed the food. The octopus was a miss with a soggy scallion pancake, but otherwise very strong. The bar could use some work. They appear satisfied with being a KY bourbon bar. The bartenders were not craft oriented. Not only did they not have Mezcal, they did not know about Mezcal or Pisco. Wine selection pretty strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed New Years Eve dinner. Reservation was prompt which was really appreciated given the holiday. Service was great and the food was delicious.
Always a great place for a special meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.