About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (20)
Historic (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
People Watching (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Fireplace (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First, the service is always great. Very ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

First, the service is always great. Very attentive wait staff. The food however, my wife's steak was ordered medium, it came out moving on the plate, well just shy of moving. It was twin filets, the waited saw it and immediatley took it back to the kitchen to correct, they corrected 1 of them but the second was still rare, doesn't make sense. I ordered the strip special which was good, 14 ounces and also undercooked for med rare but I ate it anyway. My friends both ordered the salmon which was of course, raw in the middle and both sent back. Perhaps they overbook and rush to get food out but when everyone is eating at different times, it makes for an awkward meal. Overall I spent about 150 bucks with wine and tip and I left feeling cheated. I am a fan of Dudleys and eat here often but I want a redo on this meal...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My fiance and I had a spectacular meal t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

My fiance and I had a spectacular meal this past weekend at Dudley's! We loved the creativity evident throughout the menu. We started our meal with the bacon and cheddar beignets and crispy chicken skin, then moved on to the sunchoke and Parmesan soup before splitting the scallops for our main course. We loved the cozy environment and ambiance, and the location was ideal for catching our show at the Lexington Opera House that evening.

We would highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with friends before a concert on ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner with friends before a concert on Valentine's Day. I was worried we might get caught up in the day's traffic, but we had no problems and the food was outstanding. very pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, atmosphere, and service...as ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and service...as always!!! You can never go wrong with Dudley's Downtown :)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Sunday lunch. Staff welcoming and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lovely Sunday lunch. Staff welcoming and attentive. Love everything but the noise. Hard to have a conversation .

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at Dudley's was phenomena ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience at Dudley's was phenomenal overall. My boyfriend had the filet & crab and did not leave one bit untouched! I had the wilted Brussels sprouts salad, which was good, but plain. The serving was also very small- and this is coming from someone who is usually satisfied by a small, vegetarian salad. Our bottle of wine was excellent, service was excellent, and the atmosphere was excellent. We called ahead to mention it was our anniversary, and every single staff member we interacted with wished us a happy day. That was impressive. The pot de creme we had impressed my "not really a desserts guy" boyfriend! The biggest improvement would be the addition of actual entrees for vegetarians. Overall, we would come again for a celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for a special valentines d ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went there for a special valentines day date and we had a wonderful time, great food, great service and honestly not as expensive as we were expecting. It was a bit louder than we would've cared for, but it was the Saturday before Valentines and I'm sure that played a part in that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, warm atmosphere and no ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing service, warm atmosphere and no rush to leave. We enjoyed a long lingering meal while feasting on outstanding cuisine, perfectly seasoned and flavored.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A local favorite that never disappoints. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A local favorite that never disappoints. The menu is always inventive and there's something for everyone. The burger is a favorite comfort dish with excellent fries! The soup is different each day and usually worth a try. The salads are big, fresh and full of flavor. The chicken salad plate is more than you expect. The brunch menu offers more for different tastes, including the burger and salads. Did I mention the breads and muffins? That's the best part!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Historic, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful Lexington b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful Lexington building.

A touch pompous, when asked to recommend a wine to accompany our dinner in the $60 price range the sommelier said, I believe we may have some bargains on the list. He then recommended the house wine... really!

Food was good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely dinner before a UK Game. Service ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Lovely dinner before a UK Game. Service and food were top notch. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal. Brad was an incredible serve ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Phenomenal. Brad was an incredible server and my wife and I got a cozy spot in the back of the dining room. Food was delicious. I highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's always has and always will be m ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dudley's always has and always will be my favorite place to dine in Lexington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Dudley's on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Dudley's on Short. We can always find some new creation that we have to try, and have never been disappointed. We hope to return soon.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. O ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. One of my favorite places to eat. I would highly recommend Dudley's

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent fine dining. The bar was espe ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistent fine dining. The bar was especially loud and the new server was unsure of herself and did not correctly pronounce several dishes/cooking style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great new menu - the pork belly and th ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A great new menu - the pork belly and the pheasant were superb

Great service - as usual

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived a little early so we went to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We arrived a little early so we went to the bar for cocktails. Shortly we were shown to our table.

It took just a few more minutes than it should have for our waiter to arrive but it wasn't excessive. After that everything went smoothly and all us enjoyed our delicious appetizers, food and deserts. Everyone liked the different dining rooms and areas. That really makes for a unique experience. We are planning on coming back in the near future. Thanks for your hospitality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've always had great experiences here ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've always had great experiences here and Dudleys is my favorite for a special occasion(wedding anniversary in this case). My wife and I commented that we thought it was some of the best table service ever. The butternut squash soup was fantastic and creatively served. The lamb and duck are both spot-on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's resides in a fabulous historic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Dudley's resides in a fabulous historic building. The service was outstanding. Overall we really enjoyed the food. The octopus was a miss with a soggy scallion pancake, but otherwise very strong. The bar could use some work. They appear satisfied with being a KY bourbon bar. The bartenders were not craft oriented. Not only did they not have Mezcal, they did not know about Mezcal or Pisco. Wine selection pretty strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed New Years Eve dinner. Reservati ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed New Years Eve dinner. Reservation was prompt which was really appreciated given the holiday. Service was great and the food was delicious.

Always a great place for a special meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Seriously one of the best meals we've ha ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Seriously one of the best meals we've had anywhere - and we've traveled pretty extensively around the world! Who knew the best was right in the heart of bluegrass country! Beautifully appointed setting, attentive service, and excellent food all came together for a memorable experience. Even though we have family in the area, we'll definitely be coming back from Columbus OH and Indianapolis IN just to enjoy Dudley's. Save table 18 for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, food was great, service was f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic, food was great, service was fantastic, and ambiance was not noticeable, which means we weren't disturbed and had a very pleasant evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudley's never disappoints. The service ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints. The service is excellent and the food consistently delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, , Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason this restaurant has be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There is a reason this restaurant has been around for so long - it is terrific! Had a holiday lunch with friends and the food and service were great. The decor and ambiance really add to the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Dudley's; I on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was my first time at Dudley's; I only moved here 2 months ago. Everything about the restaurant was outstanding. My sister and her husband were visiting, and I was delighted that the restaurant I picked was much, much better than average. I'm going there again by myself!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience at Dudley's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The entire dining experience at Dudley's was exquisite, from the first cocktail to the amazing dessert, but the service and the atmosphere truly sets this restaurant apart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a joy to visit Dudley's, excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a joy to visit Dudley's, excellent food and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Dudley's. It's always ween my fav ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love Dudley's. It's always ween my favorite restaurant in Lexington. The staff is great-friendly and relaxed. My favorite entree is the Pasta Dudley style, but I've found the specials to be excellent also. I love the city vibe in the bar area and the casual elegance in the dining room. Dudley's is a great place for a special occasion or a business lunch.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always excellent food, service, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Nice selection of main items from fish to steaks properly done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service again and again. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service again and again. Dudley's does not disappoint. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful place. The service was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

What a beautiful place. The service was great, food great. A little too crowded. Hard to carry on a conversation with the table so close.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I recently celebrated our ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband and I recently celebrated our annual Christmas season tradition of brunch at Dudley's. The bloody marys were creative and exceptional as were the fried oysters and cheese/chive scones. The corned beef hash was the best ever and the Eggs St. Charles was a delight. Our server offered very friendly and attentive service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, , Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, innovative on point menu, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great dinner, innovative on point menu, outstanding waiter and food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our sons U.K. Graduation with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Celebrated our sons U.K. Graduation with friends and family. Service and food were excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience! They were abl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a great experience! They were able to seat us early and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dining room is lovely. The food and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The dining room is lovely. The food and service were excellent. My only disappointment was the wine price. We purchased a bottle to drink during dinner and enjoyed it immensely. So much so, that we went shopping the next day to find a bottle to drink at home. We found it at a local liquor store for one fourth the price! Dudley's markup seems a bit extreme to me.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always s great experience.

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always s great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was very friendly and knowled ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our server was very friendly and knowledgable. The restaurant itself is quiet, so its easy to have a conversation with friends. And did I mention the duck fat hamburger? Delectable...

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dudley's never disappoints! Spectacular ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints! Spectacular service and fabulous seasonal menu! The butternut squash soup was delicious and presented beautifully, and the ahi tuna was as delcious as always. The jam cake and pumpkin creme brulee were to die for! My favorite restaurant for that special dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.