About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
6 More
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

special occasion (81)
fit for foodies (76)
romantic (54)
See All
neighborhood gem (45)
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (32)
great for lunch (31)
hot spot (28)
vibrant bar scene (24)
great for brunch (24)
great for outdoor dining (12)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite in Lexington!

Dined 5 days ago

The food is fantastic and the service is great! My wife and I come to enjoy a very nice dining experience. The servers we've had have all seemed to pick up on our pace. We never feel rushed nor do we feel neglected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter, a man who recently moved to ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter, a man who recently moved to Lexington from Hawaii, was outstanding and made the evening special for us! Food was delicious, and the back dinning room where we ate was very attractive. We liked the subdued atmosphere in the back dinning rooms, but at another time would probably enjoy the more lively atmosphere in the front of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food

Dined 7 days ago

This was a reconnaissance mission to see if Dudley's would be a good place to hold some high level dinner meetings. It certainly did not disappoint! I truly believe you could just point to something on the menu and you would enjoy it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our experiences at Dudle ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We always enjoy our experiences at Dudley's! This time was even better than the last! Our server was amazing and so good with our group!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great night!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great night!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Dudley's on Short

Dined on May 14, 2016

Seldom does the best food you've ever eaten, outstanding service and upscale ambience coexist in a restaurant setting. It all comes together at Dudley's with energetic and entertaining servers, innovative menu choices, and pleasant upscale surroundings. We plan to return at our next available opportunity.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We always appreciate the service and the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We always appreciate the service and the food. I've never been disappointed and love planning a night out knowing exactly what to expect. Can't wait to go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent server made a fabulous meal ev ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent server made a fabulous meal even better. It's a can't miss !

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Classy

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dudley's is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. My meal was very tasty and nicely presented. The waiter did NOT say, "Is the food tasting great?" What a relief! Talk about a leading question. But the food did taste great. Only complain, a piece of bread from the bread tray was stale. Hint: stick with the scones - excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We drove South from Louisville to have an early Mother's Day celebration. Brian our server was very accommodating and friendly. He made every aspect of the meal enjoyable and relaxing. The food was superb accompanied by a top notch wine list. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of seven loved Dudley's on Sho ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our group of seven loved Dudley's on Short! The service was excellent, including the chef preparing a modified meal for my vegan husband. The food was delicious (loved the quiche!) and the prices reasonable. Noise level was low, and ambiance was open and inviting. We'll go back the next time we are in Lexington.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 5 Dining Experiences!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My boyfriend and I are from Chicago and we agreed this one one of our best dining experiences to date, if not the best one yet! The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. The portion sizes are perfect, and the drink selection was immense. We would most definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Great bourbon menu and the food was excellent. Great service. The bar is intimate, hard for a group of 6 to hang out

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 4, 2016

What a great find. I was in town for the Rolex and tried Dudleys based on a recommendations and write up. I was not disappointed. The service was great, the food outstanding and even though the restaurant was packed the noise level was not bothersome. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a great night out. We were tentative because we had eaten at another high end restaurant around the corner and the experience was a disaster, starting with the dull wait staff to the food being served cool and drowned in sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dudleys--perferct fit for Lexington, his ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Dudleys--perferct fit for Lexington, historic building, great bar, great service, atmosphere, outstanding food and extensive wine list. Best in Lexington!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Warm and Inviting

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Great atmosphere. Bar is bustling. Food always consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a wonderful Sunday brunch filled with mimosas, chicken and waffles, quiche, and lemon ricotta pancakes. All was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kywildcat367

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best brunch in Lexington. Highly recommend eating there anytime, but their brunch is outstanding!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Fabulous food, but so loud!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a lovely dinner and the food was spectacular! The service was impeccable as well. The ambiance is great. The only problem is the noise level. It was so extremely loud, my husband and I could barely hear each other across the table! We were there on a rainy Thursday night and it was pretty busy, but not completely full. I don't think I've ever been in a restaurant of this caliber that was so noisy. Not sure if we would go back, due only to the noise level!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular rooftop dining

Dined on April 18, 2016

A friend recommended Dudley's, as I was to be in Lexington on business. I dined alone on the rooftop and felt like a princess! The service was phenomenal, the food was wonderful, the ambiance was fabulous. When in Lexington, I WILL return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Dudleys.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Plan to be here again on April 28 with special out of state guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was adequate. Good. Not reinventin ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was adequate. Good. Not reinventing the wheel. Well prepared. Service spot on. Atmosphere was good. We were passing through but it was the recommendation of a local and there were many locals there for brunch. That has to say something.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When the Lights went out

Dined on April 15, 2016

Yes, the lights went out but Steve never missed a beat. Candles came out and we discussed with him what the kitchen could produce wo/ electricity. We found great things like the shrimp & oysters for starters followed by some great salads. The alcohol wasn't bothered by the outage and neither were we. They had a stash of ice. By the time we got through salads the lights arrived and the kitchen fired up with some great medallions. It was a quiet and romantic evening. The food and service were the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 13, 2016

My husband ordered the beef special. He could not eat the beef it was so tough. This was our favorite restaurant in Lexington. We will seriously consider if we ever return. Our waitor should have noticed all the pieces of beef pushed off to the side and questioned us on it.

food5
ambience4
service4

disappointed with chocolate bruleé desse ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

disappointed with chocolate bruleé dessert

food3
ambience5
service1

My halibut came out cold, when I mention ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

My halibut came out cold, when I mentioned this to the waiter without asking picked up my plate and took it back to the kitchen. When he brought it back it was still not warm and there was less fish on the plate. The same waiter attempted to pour wine while I was holding my glass, when I went to set it down he missed the glass and poured the wine in my lap. Manager was unapologetic and told me I still had to pay for the wine, even though the waiter had spilled a significant amount of it. It was a shame the service was so bad, the other food we had was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire dining experience was FANTAST ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The entire dining experience was FANTASTIC, from food, drinks, and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was very good and the service even better! Went for a special occasion and it definitely fit well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

Dined on April 5, 2016

Dudley's on short never fails to impress. I have visited many other restaurants with similar pricing and rarely find that they can deliver more than once or twice. Every time I have been to Dudley's, I have left thoroughly impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant Evening with a Few Little Twists

Dined on April 4, 2016

Dudleys was recommended by our B&B host. Overall excellent marked only by minor nits. We enjoyed their meat & cheese appetizer, salad and the Specialty pork dinner. Wine selection was broad but rapidly moved to pricey; there are many excellent wines that could be added to the list for those not on expense accounts or friends of the Rich & famous. Our first selection was unavailable but a fine substitute was found. The dessert menu was a bit trendy; it seemed the pastry chef wants to see what odd pairings of sweets could be concocted.; a simple chreme brûlée would have been excellent with the meal. Instead the brûlée was zested up with marshmallow graham crackers -s'mores. Other offering were similar; we passed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

As always long time lex favorite.. Still ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

As always long time lex favorite.. Still getting it done ..

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the food was 5 star fantastic...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was 5 star fantastic. The lamb loin was one of the best in memory. I want to say the food was the best I've ever had at Dudleys.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Priciest eggs in town

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and service. Love coming here. Why are the dudleyd eggs now more expensive for the regular ones and the same price as the ones with fish? Do you know how many eggs I can buy with $5?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful but...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The wait staff was wonderful; our thanks to Padgett. The food was delightful and well-prepared but it was too salty, especially the beef tournedos.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a find!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

This was my first visit to downtown Lexington's dining scene. The menu was impressive enough to book the reservation, the exterior is charming and the decor is delightful. Our server was wonderful, she guided us through a wonderful meal. While the entrees were delicious, we've never had anything quite as unique and delightful as the popcorn ice cream on the warm brownie. I will definitely return and bring friends.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was exquisite! The food was d ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Our server was exquisite! The food was delicious! Lexington staple.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot in Lexington

Dined on March 6, 2016

We were in town for the night and wanted a dining experience unique to Lexington. It was wonderful. The restaurant has a classic feel about it, and a long history in the town. The menu isn't overwhelmingly large, but there is enough variety. Loved the bread tray that came around. We had great service and the food was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great dinner and wonderful service. My out-of-town guests loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

I'm a local, so have had the occasion to eat at Dudley's many, many times over the years. It never disappoints. I've gone here with just my wife or have taken a business group here (20+ people) and they do a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We have eaten at Dudleys for years and years and have never been disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.