Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Dudley's on Short

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Historic (36)
Great for Brunch (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Business Meals (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Fun (17)
People Watching (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Seasonal (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (10)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
883 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

We eat here each time we are in Lexington. Excellent food, attentive service, wonderful atmosphere all combine to make this an A+++ choice!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner on the lovely rooftop garden area is always a special treat. Our server, Christian, was excellent and really enhanced the experience. Some of the food portions were a bit small for the price but the food is always consistently good at Dudleys!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Dudley's and they made it a wonderful evening. The service was extremely attentive, the food was wonderful and they surprised us with a special dessert for the occaision. Wonderful all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Took out of town business guests for lunch and had a great experience with fresh and innovative food options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Dudley's made our family graduation celebration special. Best brunch/lunch food I've ever had! Ambience, menu and service couldn't have been any better. Price was very reasonable. Can't wait to go back for Sunday lunch.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall, it was a good experience. My food was really good. However, my mother ordered the duck, and it was tough and bland. She didn't ask for it to be recooked because she didn't want to be trouble, and she got a free dessert which she enjoyed, so it pretty much worked out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I have always been very fond of Dudley's since day one. We go there for special occasions in our lives. We were celebrating my birthday last Friday night. Between the noise level, so loud we could not hear each other and the poor service of our waiter, I will think twice about returning.
The food was exceptional.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was fantastic as always

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent meal as always. Octopus, asparagus salad and onion-garlic soup were all exceptional!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The quality of the food did not equal the price. Since valet parking is almost required, we felt it should have been less expensive. After having read the Southern living review, it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First evening meal at Dudley. Server was friendly and knowledgeable. Had the specials and a great mix of flavors.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food and service. Wedge salad was great, calamari app was delicious and the tuna entree was so fresh.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience for my Friend's Birthday! Our service was very personalized and they accommodated our special requests. The food was delicious (as well as our wine and champagne). Overall they made our special day exceptional. Thanks Dudley's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very busy Saturday night didn't stop Debbie and her crew from providing great food and great service. Beautiful dining room and a fun bar. Liked it so much that I went back for brunch the next day. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was a fantastic time for a Kentucky Derby get together with friends from several states. Great food and service, very accomodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

One of the best restaurants I have ever been at. A true original.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went here after or daughter's graduation from UK. Great experience, pleasant attentive service, fantastic food and wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A local surprise. Well executed menu. Attractive surroundings. A great place to go in Lexington

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great spot, great energy, great art! Go there for lunch or dinner. It's a great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Waiter seemed very new. Maybe it was his first day? It took so long for him to come back to our table we didn't bother ordering dessert. Just wanted to finally leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

One of the finest meals we've had in a long time! We've been loving Dudley's for 37 years, with some long hiatuses- our recent visits have confirmed that not only is it still great, it has grown and evolved over the years and is still one of Lexington's best restaurants.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Dudley's! Never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Dudley's on Short is a must go to in Lexington - great ambience, great food and our server Steve was truly amazing - very informative about the menu and delivers the info with a unique twist .. very energetic. The wine list is great and VERY reasonable prices - unusual but VERY much appreciated for a better end restaurant. I don't often mention restaurants to other people but I have already told people about our great experience at Dudley's.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and our server were great! Very nice boy. Great wine list. Owner was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our group was visiting for Rolex...took a recommendation to dine at Dudley's and boy are we glad we did!! Our waiter, Steve, was EXCELLENT! Probably the best service we have had...he was so knowledgeable about the food...wine...gave excellent reco's as well. Our meals were creative, and prepared exquisitely, from appetizers to fun and tasty desserts.
We had an excellent time at Dudley's and would highly recommend them to anyone visiting historic Lexington. Ask for Steve!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I was struck quite hard in the back of the head by the neighboring table's server. I have never experienced this at a restaurant. The strike came from the server's elbow and was quite painful. The force of the strike physically moved my head forward. I received a whispered apology. On three other occasions that night, this same server jostled my arm and shoulder with appreciable force. Earlier in the night, our table was not ready at the time of the reservation. This was a business dinner, and the only positive part of the night was that it was me who was struck and jostled by the server, and not our guest. We will be placing reservations for our business dinners elsewhere from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The best mussels ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very disappointed in our food although the service was good and the restaurant itself is lovely. The deviled eggs were so hot they took our breaths away. Chicken skin was decent although again hot in taste. The soup special was good, but spouse was disappointed in his braised octopus which he is generally a huge fan of at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Good food, limited menu, great wine list. Great staff.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had oysters with a steak topped with crab. It was great. Orange rye bread with butter, omg....great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great experience! The chicken and pasta dishes were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Downtown Lexington Gem: Dudley's still delivers after many years as Lexington's for mehr restaurant for special occasions or business. In their new location on W. Short St. guests dine in elegant setting on second floor, fabulous patio on the rooftop, or more vibrant first floor that includes bar dining and sidewalk view. The food is always elegant, well plated for presentation and delicious. Everything we've ever ordered is superb. So from the setting to the experience and it's food, Dudley's will always deliver!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our waiter was passionate about his job and made our dining experience fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Dudley's has always been one of our favorite restaurants; great location and great service. Choices for brunch could be a little better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

DOS accommodated our group of 8 women seamlessly. Some ordered from the menu, some ordered from the specials list -- everything was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Best Place in town. A sure thing. Something for everyone with exceptional service and attention to detail.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Was recommended by the staff at the double tree. Was awsome! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and Outstanding service!! Would definitely come back again and again.

First-class....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It's okay, but nothing like it used to be. I left feeling that there are better restaurants in Lexington. The charcuterie board at $18.00 contained what I consider miniscule portions of meat and cheese.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.