About Dudley's on Short

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Filet
Burger
Tournedos Maxwell
Red Snapper
Pumpkin Spiced Crème Brûlée
Caesar Salad
Keeneland Toast
T.G. Salad
Kentucky Harvest
Peanut Butter Muffin
Whole Wheat Roll
Ribeye Special
Seared Ahi Tuna
Eggs Benedict
Chilled Quinoa And Avocado Salad
Brie Cheese
Lamb T-bone
Seafood Special
Ahi Tuna With Port Miso
Creme Brulee
Lamb Burger

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
9 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (75)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Romantic (57)
See All
Notable Wine List (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Scenic View (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a view from the patio! The service ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

What a view from the patio! The service and ambiance were amazing. They didn't care that we were loud and obnoxious and having a fabulous time. They joked with us, answered all our questions and made recommendations. The only negative was that I got the pork and it was so dry I couldn't eat it. All the other food was fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about dining at Dudley's is g ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything about dining at Dudley's is good--food, service, atmosphere on the patio.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in Lexington. We ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time in Lexington. We were celebrating a special occasion and our friends recommended Dudley's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steve was a great waiter! Delicious cal ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Steve was a great waiter! Delicious calamari, TG salad, beet salad, and steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a favorite whenever I am in Lexin ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

always a favorite whenever I am in Lexington! Love the atmosphere, love the service and the food is spectacular!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Debbie Long and staff do such a great jo ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Debbie Long and staff do such a great job. Dudley's is the #1 restaurant in Lex. There are others. But Dudley's is beyond them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kevin was an awesome server! We loved th ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Kevin was an awesome server! We loved the food, our service, and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. A gre ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and excellent service. A great meal before going to the theater.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dudley's on Short is remarkably outstand ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dudley's on Short is remarkably outstanding! I and my fiancée went and celebrated our anniversary. They took good care of my ordered roses, put it neatly on the table. The food was well prepared, and fit the season perfectly! The service was fantastic. And we enjoyed a surprised complimentary anniversary desert from the restaurant.

Thank you Dudley's for preparing us a truly memorable anniversary.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent dinner outside on the patio ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

An excellent dinner outside on the patio. Service was superb.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waitress was EXCEPTIONAL

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Waitress was EXCEPTIONAL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The roof top is beautiful.

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The roof top is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had our first date at Dudley's. We on ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had our first date at Dudley's. We one year later for our one-year first date anniversary. The meal was fabulous, as was the service. Thank you for the great anniversary dessert too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at Dudley's ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was my first experience at Dudley's and I was quite impressed. The food and atmosphere were great. The only negative response is that our server seemed to care more about the table of 6 than my table of 2 as he rarely came by because he was always at the table of 6. But overall it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I had to send back the Steak Frits twice ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had to send back the Steak Frits twice for it being cold and the over cooked; however, all of the appetizers and desserts were awesome that my group had. Our waitress also did her best to make up for the kitchen's mistake. I would definitely go back, but unfortunately this meal didn't do the food justice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My husband's steak had a lot of gristle. ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband's steak had a lot of gristle. My steak was not very hot when served. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Drinks, food and staff were all excellen ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Drinks, food and staff were all excellent. Atmosphere is personable, comfortable and designed to make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual!

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best cucumber soup I have ever ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had the best cucumber soup I have ever had. I make a good one but this one was better. I wish I had the recipe.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Fantastic food and service. Overall, it ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Overall, it was a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely enjoyed our birthday meal ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We absolutely enjoyed our birthday meal at Dudley's. We ate on the rooftop patio and it was terrific. I mentioned to my wife that I felt like I was in the Georgetown section of Washington, D.C. The service was impeccable and the food was great.

I highly recommend the rooftop patio. A great find in Lexington dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Lexington! Love the roof t ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best place in Lexington! Love the roof top and sitting downstairs at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was outstanding...don't know ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding...don't know his name, but remember that he had moved from Hawaii!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent night celebrating my daughter ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent night celebrating my daughter starting college. Will visi again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is always good. Sat 29 minutes wit ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food is always good. Sat 29 minutes without service. It was so loud we couldn't even hear each other. For a bar, there is slot of children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Sunday brunch donuts are the best!

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch donuts are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An excellent fine-dining experience. Th ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An excellent fine-dining experience. The restaurant is amazing and always has been - I've been going to, and enjoying, Dudley's since the late 1990s and this particular visit was no exception to their amazing hospitality. The price is fairly high, as fine dining tends to be, but not exceptionally costly (simply what one would expect for this type of thing).

They have/serve Pappy Van Winkle for those who are fond of good bourbon (as I am) and their wine selections are adequately narrow, but well selected, that even a neophyte to wine, such as myself, can just "pick a wine and go" without disappointment. Further, their classic dishes, such as the Tournedos Maxwell are, and always have been, amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome 🍸Steve P was the best! Dan

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome 🍸Steve P was the best! Dan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ms Long and her team never disappoint. F ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ms Long and her team never disappoint. Food was delicious and cocktails were on point!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Dudley's for years, b ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had not been to Dudley's for years, but decided to visit again to celebrate an anniversary. The new (to us, I think they've been on Short St. for several years already) location is really good for a nice dinner - set in an older house with high ceilings and only a few tables per room. There is something on the menu for everyone, and the food was very good; as was the service. The wine list is also very nice, and I especially like that they have several selections available in half-bottles. This was very helpful when I had halibut and my son had beef! Overall, it was a great dinner, and I will not wait years to return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good, food very good, w ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was very good, food very good, wine was excellent. A little loud for a business dinner, but not unbearable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dudley's never disappoints. We try to ea ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints. We try to eat here when we get back to Lexington. Food is great, changes regularly, staff are knowledgeable and attentive. The prices are very reasonable for the quality and I really like the fact that the owner is often visible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took out-of-town guests to Dudley's b ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took out-of-town guests to Dudley's because this is one of our favorite restaurants. Very consistent, delicious food. Great service. Beautiful restaurant and food presentation. Servers are well-trained and attentive to the clients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Attended for ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Attended for business purposes and was very pleased how it turned out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience overall will return . Ha ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good experience overall will return . Had to request bread

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful, as always!

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dudleys is a fair restaurant and there a ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dudleys is a fair restaurant and there are better values in Lexington to chose for your dining experience.

There wasn't a steak on the menu. Prime Rib was listed but I was expecting a Filet to be a choice.

I ordered the salmon which was cooked perfectly but the portion was very small.

The beer bread that is offered as a choice of several breads is fantastic but they didn't have enough on this particular evening. Butter wasn't offered. I asked for it but never received it.

The restaurant is crowded and the tables are seemingly close together. I could clearly hear the conversations around me. There was a group of 8 young ladies seated behind us and they were quite loud. They appeared to have a nice time.

Our waiter was fantastic and very attentive.

I'll never understand why the hostess station acts as if they are doing you a favor by seating me. No one smiled or seemed to enjoy their jobs. Their greeting as we approached their station to be seated wasn't welcoming.

My favorite part about Dudleys is the art on the walls.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I took my best friend to celebrate her b ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I took my best friend to celebrate her birthday with brunch at Dudley's. It was great..be aware that the Saturday Farmer's Market sets up right in front of Dudley's so no parking in front on Sat. during brunch. It was fun to see all the vendors and folks coming down and Dudley's is so great.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dudley's never disappoints! Some of the ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dudley's never disappoints! Some of the best food, service, and ambiance in Lexington!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.