Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Dudley's on Short

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Romantic (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Business Meals (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Historic (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
People Watching (16)
Cozy (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fun (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Scenic View (6)
Private Room (6)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Gaspacho was bland. We're not huge eaters but the portions were very small. Only 3 scallops with our entree. Probably wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at one of Lexington's great restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have eaten here a few times before for special occasions and had exceptional dinners so we were looking forward to another amazing experience. But this time was different, our waiter seemed rushed and distracted - could have been that he was training someone that night (who trains new staff on a Saturday night?)... We were celebrating our 22nd anniversary and I had indicated that in the notes on our reservation but that was never mentioned. Our servers in the past have been very personable and attentive, but this meal took 2 full hours as the service was slow - it took forever to take a drink order and then he waited until well after we finished our appetizer to even take our entree order. Food was good as expected, steak special was underwhelming for the price but was cooked correctly. Then they were out of their signature Limoncello - which I was not told about until AFTER I tried to order it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were in Lexington for the Keeneland Concours auto weekend. Rather than go to the high end Friday function we went to Dudleys.
It is obviously an older out of date restaurant.
Quality was not equal to prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I had a great time at Dudley's but I had to yell across the table to my guests. Very festive, but SO loud.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

While a little too loud for our liking, everything was exceptional from the gaspachio to the champagne cake with Chambord butter cream frosting. Jonathan even thought to offer a black napkin when we enjoyed our dessert on their fabulous roof-top patio (something that wasn't offered at dinner downstairs).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating our daughters 15th birthday at Dudley's. Service, food and atmosphere was excellent. Heath (the manager) and our waiter we outstanding. They went out their way to make this a special night for my family. Thanks to everyone at Dudley's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Celebrated Birthdays and Anniversaries+ casual ding the past 8 years at Dudley's!
Always - Perfection!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We haven't dined at Dudley's for some time, living out of town. The cuisine and service was even far better than what we remembered; and our recollection was it was superb in every respect. A wonderful selection of entrees and each better than the next. The short ribs were different than any preparation I've had and was excellent. My wife had the seared tuna and also was excellent. The fried chicken skins appetizer were unique and worth dining here alone. Our waiter, Brad, was well informed of the menu, personable and very attentive.
The bartender, Laura, makes a tremendous Manhattan!
We will be back soon, and highly recommend to anyone that appreciates the finest of dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

As always, we enjoyed the attentive service and wonderfully prepared food! A true gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday on Friday evening. We have heard a lot about the restaurant Finally tried it, definitely worth the drive from Louisville. The food was outstanding. Grilled peach salad was wonderful! Happy husband!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Awesome experience. Wish they would put the baked Alaska back on the dessert menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

One of the musts for anyone visiting the Bluegrass region of Kentucky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Have eaten here many times, the food is always delicious and the service is perfection

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

ENJOYABLE EVENING and the food/service were both great. We did not think 1 dish was up to the billing and the chef did take it off of our bill. I do think the prices for many of their dishes were on the high side. Would have liked to see more $18-22 plates. This would not stop us from returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was good but small portions for the price. It was so noisy we couldn't hear each other. Not q relaxing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary at Dudley's on the rooftop. The rooftop was quiet, scenic and romantic. The food was amazing and the service was great! Definitely looking forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Fantastic experience! For date night, we got a great table - ambience was wonderful, food was excellent, and service was exemplary! Can't say enough good about it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Dudley's made our Wedding Anniversary very special. The food and the service were outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, attentive service and delicious fare. Dudley's on the Short is excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Oysters on the half shell, rooftop seating and excellent service. Great wine selection and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is the first time I have eaten at this location, I dined at the old Dudley's years ago. I was glad to see the quality has remained the same!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

High noise level makes conversation difficult. Food quality is usually very good here but on this occasion the red snapper was a little dry and the range of the bar is somewhat limited. Still, I intend to give it another chance.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Waiter was extremely attentive without being invasive. Food was excellent and less expensive than I expected. Menu was limited but with added specials, there quite a few options from a salad to a more full course lunch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Dudley's. Food and service are constantly good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Brad (our server) was amazing and helped create an amazing experience. The food and environment was warm, inviting and created a great ambiance. We will refer Dudleys to others and will be back when we are in Lexington next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Consistently wonderful. This trip was with another couple before a Tommy Emmanuel concert at The Opera House. The rooftop patio at 5:30P was quiet, available, and beautiful! Our waiter was wondeful; as was our food! The snapper special was fabulous! Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

1050
Lovely rooftop evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Dudley's has long been a favorite Lexington restaurant of mine in the fine-dining category. That said, there have been some occasional hiccups in the many years we have patronized this establishment, & this evening fit into that category. I must clarify that the current menu is not one that has a lot of items that appeal to me. We started with sharing the wilted Brussels sprouts salad. This was the highlight of the meal. They were crisp-tender & seasoned nicely. We had asked to share this dish & when the bill came we were surprised to see that we charged for two of them. When asked, the server explained that since there were 3 of us, it was necessary to split two of the salads in order for us each to have enough. It would have been nice to have been informed of this.

The three entrees we chose were the pasta special of the evening which was served with marinated pork shoulder. the steak frites, & roasted chicken. The steak frites were good & prepared medium as ordered. The accompaniment of a large serving of french-fired potatoes were crisp and golden. This entree was good but not outstanding & seemed a bit pricey for $28. The same can be said of the chicken dish, which comes with homemade potato tots & asparagus. The chicken was tender, the artichokes a bit bland, but the tots were interesting & tasty though there were only two of them. The pasta special was the standout of the entrees. The meat was very tender & flavorful & went well with the penne and sauce.

We will return to Dudley's on special occasions, but on this night we found it to be good, not outstanding . Given that most of the entrees are in the $30 and up range, I expect a bit more innovative dishes & especially I would like to see more attention to the side items. Nearly all the entrees had some form of potato as a side. Given that Lexington now has quite a number of restaurants in the moderate to expensive range, Dudley's needs to step it up a bit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We eat here each time we are in Lexington. Excellent food, attentive service, wonderful atmosphere all combine to make this an A+++ choice!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Dinner on the lovely rooftop garden area is always a special treat. Our server, Christian, was excellent and really enhanced the experience. Some of the food portions were a bit small for the price but the food is always consistently good at Dudleys!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Dudley's and they made it a wonderful evening. The service was extremely attentive, the food was wonderful and they surprised us with a special dessert for the occaision. Wonderful all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Took out of town business guests for lunch and had a great experience with fresh and innovative food options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Dudley's made our family graduation celebration special. Best brunch/lunch food I've ever had! Ambience, menu and service couldn't have been any better. Price was very reasonable. Can't wait to go back for Sunday lunch.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall, it was a good experience. My food was really good. However, my mother ordered the duck, and it was tough and bland. She didn't ask for it to be recooked because she didn't want to be trouble, and she got a free dessert which she enjoyed, so it pretty much worked out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I have always been very fond of Dudley's since day one. We go there for special occasions in our lives. We were celebrating my birthday last Friday night. Between the noise level, so loud we could not hear each other and the poor service of our waiter, I will think twice about returning.
The food was exceptional.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was fantastic as always

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The quality of the food did not equal the price. Since valet parking is almost required, we felt it should have been less expensive. After having read the Southern living review, it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent meal as always. Octopus, asparagus salad and onion-garlic soup were all exceptional!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

What a lovely birthday lunch! Our server Brittney was cordial and gracious. The Pineapple walnut muffin was light as air, but the blackberry muffin was a little too seedy/dense. Our salads and entrees were scrumptious and visually pleasing. I'm looking forward to a return trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.