Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Dudley's on Short

Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.

259 W. Short St.
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(859) 252-1010

Website:
http://www.dudleysrestaurant.com/

Dudley's on Short Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (11)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious country ham quiche. Huge serving was a 1/4 of pie dish. also served selection of yummy pastry breads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Everyone at Dudley's creates a special experience. Debbie, the owner, is a class act and knows how to share it with all her guests. Marc Richardson delivers with innovation in food and produces probably the best dining experience in town. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. Server was very friendly and helpful, but service was incredibly slow. 2 hours 45 mins for dinner was not enjoyable. Had to ask for bread, ask for our order to be taken, ask for dessert menu, ask for check.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Dudley's on Short is a great venue for an upscale meal when in Lexington. Couples as well as gatherings of friends and family are well accommodated. Our meal could not have been prepared better and our server was very attentive while not being interruptive. As the restaurant slowly filled to capacity during our meal, no change in atmosphere was noted as staff skillfully attended to others as if they were the only ones there. Well staffed and efficient. Quiet and laid back. We would not hesitate to recommend and we look forward to returning.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

It was superb. Came in way earlier than our reservation for drinks, but the bar was full. They were very accommodating and took us to the roof. It was perfect! Service was very good. We decided to have dinner early and they moved chairs around to take care of us. Food was awesome & wine pairings were great. Pulled out a new wine not on the list. Made us feel at home.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have eaten here several times. Usually is is great food. Tonight was our worst . Food was either over cooked or cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wow! Everything was spot on- great service, great food, great wines, great bourbons & great people watching. A LEX hot spot for sure!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great food, great service and a beautiful, quaint environment. Really nice wine selection at reasonable prices. Portions on the smaller side for what we ordered. With that being said we would all order the same meals again

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was decent and in some instances inspired. The ambience is nice if not a little passé. Our waiter was earnest and polite but compared with waiters in similar level restaurants around the country, he seemed quite amateurish and green. Just not very professional. Went from being nowhere to be found to being too folksy and in our grill. Had to send him away several times when he blurted into our business conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Recommended by locals and it did not disappoint. Service and food were excellent. Highlight of our visit to Lexington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

One of the best in Lexington - and that says a lot. Lexington has become a very competitive spot for upper end restaurants. We dined there during the Keeneland auction and were seated promptly during a very busy time. Recommend the valet parking which was free thanks to Lanes End Stables that night - be sure to tip regardless! Great appetizers and entrees. Great place for either a couple looking for a quiet spot or a large group looking to celebrate.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Flavor of Beef Short Ribs was very good but the meat was tough. No way that was slow smoked for 24 hours. Maybe an off night but beware.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Had a lovely lunch for two with stellar service and wonderful fare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Whenever I come to town from the Ashland area on Saturday morns, my first stops every time include the farmers' market and brunch at Dudley's. Both have become anticipated weekend destinations for some friends and me. My fave brunch item: crab Benedict! Always delish! This time I tried the special shrimp and grits, which were wonderfully savory. Love the scones and muffins, and the always great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service and food are always top-notch here. Menu is always different and accustomed to the season and the food is authentically southern yet light. Service is always attentive yet not obnoxious. Dudley's is a staple of the Lexington dining scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always excellent every time we come here. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Everything was great, appreciated the special touch of birthday cake!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Lexington. The variety and taste of the breads is impressive. The Tornedoes Maxwell with béarnaise were cooked to perfection. Because I am allergic to crab, the kitchen graciously removed it from my dish. The staff is well-trained, professional and alert to diners' needs/requests. I will, most certainly return here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always fantastic service. Never too difficult to get a reservation due to the size of the restaurant and amount of seating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Dudleys is the best place in Lexington in my opinion. I think it is good just not great. It still remains my favorite dinner place in town. The service is good, food good, atmosphere is good. I'm just not sure anything is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent, professional service! Nice atmosphere. Like being in Manhattan or similar place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing dinner and atmosphere! Christian provided wonderful service and went above necessary. We will highly recommend to others traveling through Lexington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our meal was delicious from starter to dessert. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. Our server was very attentive but not at all intrusive. The pacing of the meal was excellent and relaxed. The restaurant is very comfortable and quiet, very nice for a Friday night after a busy work week. An excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very good business meal setting. Food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food and service!! Great location downtown in the heart of Lexington. Our waiter was fantastic, attentive, knowledgeable, and went out of his way to make our anniversary special!!! (Ask for the waiter who he used to live in Hawaii).

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very pleasant almost really good food (said as a food snob who is overly critical)
I live in New Orleans and would come back anytime I found myself in Lexington and wanted a good meal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Dudley's is a Lexington BEST for food, conversation, and great people! Debbie Long knows how to make all feel like Family. Our usual waiter, Mr. Padgett, is attentive and so personable. We LOVE Dudley's!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Overall very good experience- we had Sunday brunch. The Bloody Mary was only average- if I ordered again I would use the pepper vodka as it lacked the zing for which I am accustomed. We had the shrimp and grits special which was excellent- just the right amount of spice- I was expecting bigger shrimp but it was good as is. I would definitely order it again! No complaints with the service. Not cheap but worth the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Outstanding! The food, ambiance and restaurant is one of my favorites!
Always first choice for special occasion and out of town guests!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

First experience
It was fabulous
Bradley was excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fabulous food at reasonable prices. We loved the walnut chicken salad fruit plate. Beautiful plating. I give it the James Beard Chopped Champion Iron Chef Award. The creme brûlée with ladyfingers was exquisite for desert. Our waiter was engaging and entertaining. They have a great bourbon selection. We drove 75 miles to have lunch here and we would do it again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended so we were very much looking forward to trying it. The service was quite good as was the food. My issue with the restaurant is we were there for our wedding anniversary and it was just too noisy and not very romantic. My hope was for a more quiet atmosphere. I called at least three times and reminded them it was our anniversary, and I believe they tried to put us in a relatively quiet corner, but it really didn't help with the noise level. We liked the décor.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Dudley's had a wonderful offering for Lexington Eats Week. Even discounted the service was excellent and the food outstanding. Unfortunately, the noise level precludes any reasonable conversation, killing the mood immediately. This combined with tables stacked so close to each other that you can't avoid a level of awkwardness I've never experienced at any other dining establishment. The waiters derrières were a little too close for my comfort as they served the adjacent tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

As always, Dudley's was excellent. We ordered too much food, but that was okay because everything was perfect. My friend had the duck, which always is perfect. I had the pork. Just amazing food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We took advantage of "Lexington Eats Week" to try Dudley's for the first time. We had high expectations and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, perfectly prepared, and nicely paired with sides. The service was outstanding. The overall ambiance was quiet, we could easily converse. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I honestly wasn't expecting Dudleys to be as good as it was. Such a pleasant surprise. We went for brunch and I had the home made ricotta starter and the frittata. It might be the best frittata I've ever had. Service was good. My only suggestion, would be to have a few more non meat options and entree salads on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I honestly am not a fan of Dudley's. It was our second visit. I love the ambience and the noise level is fine. Our server was excellent! My complaint is the food. I believe it is WAY overpriced for what you get and it really was not great - not what one would expect for a restaurant of this caliber and pricing. I'm not sure if it's because I'm not a "gourmet" food lover, although I do like some, or it just really was not good. My husband and friends did not care for it either. I had pasta that was dry with no much of anything in it other than a few tomatoes, and my husband had a NY strip dish that had some awful tasting thick green puree on it. There is nothing even halfway "normal" on Dudley's menu for those of us who do not like everything gourmet. We frequent many gourmet restaurants because there is a little of both. Dudley's entire menu is gourmet and high priced for it. I do not expect we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Gaspacho was bland. We're not huge eaters but the portions were very small. Only 3 scallops with our entree. Probably wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Another great meal at one of Lexington's great restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have eaten here a few times before for special occasions and had exceptional dinners so we were looking forward to another amazing experience. But this time was different, our waiter seemed rushed and distracted - could have been that he was training someone that night (who trains new staff on a Saturday night?)... We were celebrating our 22nd anniversary and I had indicated that in the notes on our reservation but that was never mentioned. Our servers in the past have been very personable and attentive, but this meal took 2 full hours as the service was slow - it took forever to take a drink order and then he waited until well after we finished our appetizer to even take our entree order. Food was good as expected, steak special was underwhelming for the price but was cooked correctly. Then they were out of their signature Limoncello - which I was not told about until AFTER I tried to order it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.