Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 34 times today

Dudley's on Short

4.7
1118 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Business Meals
Dudley's Restaurant has been a mainstay on the Lexington dining scene since 1981. Dudley's offers delicious modern American cuisine with an impressive wine list to match.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(859) 252-1010
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 1118 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This is our favorite Lexington restaurant. Good food and great service! Greeted at the door by the owner, a friend for 50 yrs! It doesn’t get better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Group of 8 in for Keeneland
Great experience
Service was spectacular & our food was wonderful !
Can’t wait till we can return!!
Everyone on staff took care of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Rooftop is great for outdoor meal. Food and service was also excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Dined on 4/20/18. Duck was amazing. Always reliable, one of your go-tos in Lexington.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great service from Anthony! Also, you need to put a box GREAT deserts!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Ottimo cibo in ambiente elegante ma non snob ricette solide ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo. Servizio cortese, puntuale ed attento senza essere invadente. Una serata molto piacevole in un ristorante frequentato da locali.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We had a delightful dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere. It was nice that we didn’t feel rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Ambiance, service and food were EXCELLENT! Would not have changed one thing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Have always enjoyed going to Dudley's for many years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Stopped in Lexington on my way home from a business trip in Cincinnati. I’m so glad I did. This was some of the best food and service I’ve had in a very long time. Everything was wonderful. Can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

From drinks at the bar thru a surprise birthday dessert, our dinner at Dudley's was spectacular. Service was attentive and not intrusive and the meals were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were looking for a special place to celebrate the holiday. The Easter dinner was very nice. The food and the presentation was very good. It was a special occasion and we appreciate the chefs, waiters and staff going to a special effort to make the occasion superb. Thanks to all.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Last time we dined at Dudley’s the food was really good. Unfortunately our food was served nearly cold for Easter brunch. The Bloody Mary and bread were delicious but entree was soggy and served cold - it was eggs Benedict and was also very salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch was superb as usual. Started off with delicious bacon Bloody Mary’s, then fried green tomatoes and deviled eggs. The lamb shank was so tender it fell off the bone. The skirt steak and smoked mashed potatoes were fantastic. My sister didn’t like her quiche. Said it was too bland. We finished up with the grasshopper dessert....phenomenal. My sister tried the carrot layered dessert...took one bite and hated it. Poor thing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We had delicious steaks and seafood at Dudleys. We were celebrating a birthday on a Saturday night but we were never rushed. The wait staff were all friendly and accommodating. Loved the fresh bread selection, and I really enjoyed the chefs special New York Strip with baked beans. Who knew that baked beans could be so tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Loved our meal at Dudley's. The food was excellent. In fact, it was the best chicken salad I have tasted in a very long time. The waiter, Jonathan, was excellent. We will definitely be back-

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

EVERYTHING was spot on!
..from the moment we arrived, the service staff was cordial, engaging and discrete. The food choices were abundant. Our meals were all not only beautiful at presentation, but delicious, as well (had duck, filet, sampling of appetizers and the BEST homemade marshmallow desert I’ve ever had...honestly haven’t had a better desert anywhere).. Go to Dudley’s! It’ll become a favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

It was a great spot for somewhat late dinner. We asked for and were seated in a quieter part and our server was attentive and knowledgeable. Great food and good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Always great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

I was surprised at how nice it is. My wife had the chicken galadriel, she loved it. My son and I had the halibut. The whole plate was mushy, wasn't a big fan. I would go back, and try the lamb next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Every time we come here for dinner it's always delicious. The food and staff are great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Outstanding dining experience. Some of the very best food in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Amazing! Our server was very attentive and kind. We never went without.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Good food very nice ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Excellent food and service...as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Had high hopes based on the reviews but must have hit the place on an off night. They are trying to make the atmosphere refined with the white tablecloths and the very dark lighting (welcome to the early 90's) but the bar was so loud it sounded like we were in a sports bar. We had the octopus appetizer we normally love but it was beyond chewy (rubber band like) - had the pork and salmon entrees both were ok - nothing over the top the table next to us ordered the same fish dish and sent it back - so we weren't the only ones unhappy with the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Best place in town! Taylor is phenomenal. Great atmosphere. The food never disappoints. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Unique main course, great service. Not very crowded for an early dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

One of the finest dining experiences ANYWHERE! We WILL be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Awesome meal as always!! Great place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Celebrated an important birthday and so pleased we chose this lovely and special restaurant. Very pretty and very delicious. The best part of the evening was our WONDERFUL server. She was memorable.... if only I could remember her name!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was great. Wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Really wonderful food and service in an elegant environment. We had a halibut special that was spectacular. Will be back next time we are in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Elegant and wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Service is spectacular as well as the food. Highly recommend this restaurant.
Its our first choice whenever we are in Lexington.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

I loved the ambiance and the food. We sat at the bar and enjoyed the special cosmo and a few apps. While I thought the fried oysters were not so great (I didn't agree with the breading choice), the octopus was amazing!! We also had the Brussels salad and they surprised me with a birthday ice cream! I loved the old feel and the great staff! I will recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

A Lexington gem! The entire experience was divine. Our server, Thomas, was great & sweet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great food, great service. Will be back again. Thanks!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Wonderful as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Wait staff was absolutely superior and food was very good. Unfortunately, the evening got off to a poor start when we were told by the hostess/front staff we needed to go to a table upstairs even though we said we had mobility restrictions and there were several vacant tables downstairs. We were then seated upstairs by a very noisy table of 10+ men. As this was our daughter’s birthday celebration, we asked to be moved downstairs again. Once we arrived back downstairs (having had to navigate steps which were a problem), we were again told the vacant tables for four were reserved and we then pointed out, once again, that we, too, had reservations - having made them on Open Table over a week before. The hostess and front end staff remained surly but we finally got a decent table downstairs for four. I remain puzzled why we could not have had one before. Wait staff (Bradley (?) with pulled back black hair and female assistant in training) absolutely saved our evening and we thank them for that. I would suggest some lessons in manners and diplomacy for those up front. As a note, we have been dining at Dudley’s for over 20 years and have never had a negative experience like this. Makes one hesitant to return with so many other dining options in Lexington.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28