HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Dudley's Bistro

4.6
183 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Dudley's Bistro in Williamsburg creates classic and contemporary dishes using the freshest ingredients available. With a focus on preparing food with flair and providing an exceptional experience with every guest, the bistro is a foodie's paradise.

Guests can stop in at Dudley's Bistro for a salad or sandwich for lunch, or visit at dinnertime for flavorful entrées and drinks. Start off with the lobster mac and cheese, wild boar sausage or one of the many other appetizers. Dudley's Bistro entrées include traditional favorites like filet mignon and rack of baby lamb, or diners can experience wilder dishes such as the twin venison chops, New York Strip of bison or two stuffed quail.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Low Country, Wild Game
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday 12:00noon - 9:00pm
Sunday 11am-3pm
Closed Monday



icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 566-1157
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jim Kennedy
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Street
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 183 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6  based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on May 21, 2016

The cream of asparagus soup with crab meat was superb!

Report
Helpful
vipSsnsailor (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on May 19, 2016

It was only fitting to break bread once again at Jim's table. Thank you for all the memories going back to the Farm house in Toano to Newtown. We never were disappointed, good choices, excellent presentation, food full of flavors and fine service.

Report
Helpful
GeorgePBurdell (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on May 13, 2016

Jim Kennedy is the chef here and he knows how to cook. I highly recommend any of his soups or bisques. He always has good specials. The entire wait staff is very good. Lunch here is a very good value.

This is a place to go if you want good food in a relaxing setting. Go once; you will go back.

Report
Helpful
Grateful (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner in a quiet setting before heading off to a movie. You can count on their service and high quality of food in a beautiful presentation. Yet to be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on May 11, 2016

I went there again, now for a lunch with my son. I wanted to be on the light side, so I ordered a salad; my son ordered a burger (he said it was fair: college student appetite!). Although it was late lunch time, it seems my salad was chopped early morning... Dehydrated shredded carrots and sliced choux were simply topped with a thick and heavy concoction of blue cheese and molasses, carelessly and unappealingly. It seems the menu tends to steer you towards fat and heavy food, even the salad! No third for me...

Report
Helpful
BigSister (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was wonderful, service was fantastic, interaction with the chef was marvelous!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on April 29, 2016

Perfection. Every time. I will follow this restaurant wherever it ends up and cheer Chef Jim on along the way. He should have won the James Beard he was nominated for without a doubt!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on April 15, 2016

After reading many reviews here and on Trip Advisor I wasn't 100% sure I wanted to eat here as anytime anything critical was said the Chef/Owner seemed to respond very defensively and aggressively.. What that ultimately meant to me though was that the Chef/Owner is passionate about what he is doing and takes pride in the product they put out.

Our server did an excellent job and was very attentive yet not smothering. He was knowledgeable about the food. He explained the specials very well and it was a long list of them!

For an appetizer we had the mushroom tart and it was excellent! My wife and I shared a wedge salad and the blue cheese dressing was what made that so good!

Unfortunately as soon as we finished our salad, the entrees arrived. Way too early.

For entrees my wife had the crab cakes which was one of the specials. The flavor was very good although being from Maryland we are used to jumbo lump crabmeat and while it was very good it didn't seem to be jumbo lump.

I asked the waiter whether he recommended the venison chops or the rack of lamb and he said he would check with the chef. I said bring me whatever the chef recommends. He brought me the rack of lamb and just like the menu says - it was a full 18 oz rack of lamb! I have never had that much lamb served in one dish. It was cooked perfectly and presented beautifully.

A couple of minor issues - the vegetables (carrots in particular) were not cooked enough for my liking. Doesn't mean they were bad - they weren't. They were just harder than I would have preferred.

A bigger issue was the table we sat at (a two top) had one chair and the other seat was on an upholstered bench with cute pillows in an alcove. The seat was too high for the table and my wife was uncomfortable after a few minutes as she had to lean over.

You expect a lot when you dine at a place like this and for the most part they more than live up to that expectation. I would definitely go again when in Williamsburg.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on April 13, 2016

Dudleys is always an incredible experience. Tonight's dinner was no different. The new Spring menu is rich with fresh local flavors. Chef/Owner, Jim, makes sure to always serve the best ingredients. I had the crab bisque and crab cakes. YUM. Never had such fresh crab meat. Dudley's soups are the best I've had and always highly recommend them. Smooth and DELICIOUS! The crab cakes are pure meat, no fillers. A must try. From 4:30-6:30 PM they offer fresh fruit martinis, blueberry, raspberry, strawberry and peach-for only $5. Talk about a MUST HAVE for the warmer months. Summer in a cocktail. If you haven't tried Dudley's yet, go now! If you haven't been back in a while, go try the new menu. It's fresh, local and absolutely delicious. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Report
Helpful
CinEri (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on April 5, 2016

Delicious: from starter through to dessert! Excellent martini and wines, too. Fresh food well presented.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on March 27, 2016

THE MENU IS SMALL BUT EXCELLENT, WITH ENTREES AND APPETIZERS DIFFERENT AND WITH WONDERFUL FLAVORS, BUT NOT EXOTIC OR STRANGE. EVERYTHING IS COOKED TO PERFECTION AND SERVED WITH A FLAIR.

Report
Helpful
vipFCFoodie (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a great Easter Dinner at Dudley’s Bistro. The menu was a’la carte and there were so many great choices. The two soups, crab bisque and cream of asparagus were smooth and silky, and the Rack of Lamb melted in your mouth and was full of wonderful flavors. The Fennel Pollen Dusted Scallops served over a vegetable medley with a delicate broth was equally delicious. We enjoyed dessert, a wonderful Creme Brûlée , and an Irish Coffee. The service was professional, and Jennifer did a great job. We spend many of our holidays at Dudley’s Bistro….you should too!

Report
Helpful
viprobslate (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I took an extended weekend getaway to Williamsburg, VA during the Easter 2016 Holiday. While there we decided to do something a little different for Easter dinner. We chose Dudley's Bistro on a whim and are sure glad we did. While the restaurant is small, only 9 tables inside and 6 more outside for nice weather dining, Dudley's chef must be a true master, and we literally had the place to ourselves. The food we enjoyed was fabulous as was the service. While we dined there for their special holiday meal, I wouldn't hesitate to dine there again on any other day of the week the next time we're in Williamsburg.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on March 23, 2016

Our family of 4 was visiting Williamsburg from Phila and we were lucky enough to have an incredible dinner at Dudleys Bistro! Our waiter was wonderful and before we ordered the chef came out to let us know the crab was fresh caught and local, as well as the other ingredients. We started with the wild boar sausage and mushroom tart, both were out of this world. We moved on to dinner of crab cakes which were delicious and all crab meat, a burger with a side of the most delicious potato salad we have ever tasted. Every dish was amazing and the service was wonderful and super friendly. We eat dinner out quite a bit and this dinner was one of our all time highlights, definitely give it a try!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on March 19, 2016

Outstanding food and perfect service. Always a good choice

Report
Helpful
WilliamsburgFoodie (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on March 19, 2016

We dined in for lunch today and the Chef accommodated my wife with a dinner special! He went out of his way to prepare a fantastic RockFish Dinner in a broth to die for, and did we appreciate it. The service was superior to what we are accustomed to in Williamsburg, knowledgable, polite and not overbearing in any way, and it was appreciated. I had the Foie Gras Burger Special, it was excellent. It was topped with Black Truffle Aioli that was actually loaded with Black Truffle pieces. We had dessert and enjoyed the Goat Cheese Cheesecake and the Key Lime Pie....simply amazing on both. The beer selection was impressive as ever, and the coffee was hot and fresh. We love the decor, original artwork is beautiful, and the music is unforgettable and romantic. We appreciate their attention to detail, timeliness in service, and the food.....it's why we keep coming back again and again....great job to all!

Report
Helpful
Anniversary (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on March 5, 2016

Server was knowledgable of menu and wine list. The service was efficient. The food was fresh and prepared as we requested and was delicious. We highly recommend Dudley's Bistro for a well prepared dinner.

Report
Helpful
Grateful (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2016

Dudley's is very small and you can't always get a reservation. They have the very best soups I have found in Williamsburg. The food is some of the best and the atmosphere is very pleasant. It is my favorite spot for an exceptional dinner for two and then we cross the street to catch a show.

Report
Helpful
Mike (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 20, 2016

Outstanding Evening from the time we entered this establishment. Jack the manager greeted us immediately, seated us promptly and the wait staff took our drink order quickly. The drinks were wonderful and our waitress, whose name I cannot remember, was very attentive and pleasant! Our meal was delicious and the dessert out of this work. Jim Kennedy the owner and chef, check on us several times during the evening to ask about our meal and if we needed anything. Wonderful dining experience!!!!

Report
Helpful
vipFCFoodie (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 19, 2016

Stopped by for a quick lunch and enjoyed the Dudley Burger. What a meal.

Report
Helpful
Spoonwood (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2016

We had a truly exceptional mid-week dinner at Dudley's Bistro. The menu selections are unique for the area - several wild game offerings with a counterpoint of seafood choices. After debating between seared scallops, swordfish (special of the evening), venison, elk, bison, and beef filet, we settled on the venison and the beef - with an appetizer of fried oysters. The oysters were tender and so tasty. The beef tenderloin filet was very good, but the venison was simply over-the-top delicious. The service and the wine list were notable as well. Dudley's is one of the very best places to eat in Williamsburg. Be sure to make a reservation - they have limited seating.

Report
Helpful
CyndiLouWho (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I decided to give Dudley's a try for Valentine's Day. So glad we did! We have found one of our new favorite spots in Williamsburg. The service was impeccable, the menu varied and interesting and each plate selection was outstanding. The calamari was perfectly done and the best we've ever had. The rack of lamb was seasoned to perfection and melt in your mouth delicious. The fresh, wild scallops were delicate and tender. Everything was right on the money. The Chef knows his stuff! Well done! CR. Williamsburg VA

Report
Helpful
antiquelady (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

Pricy, but we had some really good and some not so good. One of us had the elk, it was full of gristle, now they said it was because it was game. No you could have removed the gristle. One of us had the lamb, it was OUTSTANDING. One had the lobster bisque it was the best we ever had. The oysters were also great. My martini was very generous and wife's wine was very good.
Overall good meal, but the place is very small, and the Maitre d' kept looking at his watch, and acting like we needed to hurry up. We left right after desert and coffee, but we felt rushed. It wasn't unreasonable to take an hour and a half for three courses especially when our server was absent most of the time. And not very friendly.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Really enjoyed our meal. Glad I read the review in the Virginian Pilot

Report
Helpful
MaryBeth (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was phenomenal. Every bite melted in your mouth. And it continued with each successive course. The service was very knowledgeable too. By far, one of the best restaurants in our part of Virginia!

Report
Helpful
vipJoeyC (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was superb and the small restaurant was the perfect setting for our special dinner.

Report
Helpful
grimdog (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

Outstanding find in Williamsburg. Highly recommended, food was properly seasoned and the staff was friendly.

Report
Helpful
vipJoeC (Richmond)
2.0  Dined on February 5, 2016

Ordered the dinner special on the advice of the waiter. Did not hear him correctly when he stated the price ($49). Dudley's is know for odd game entrees. This was typical and was touted as tender and lean. It was tough and not at all tasty. To their credit, they took the price off our check. Just an off night for Dudley's

Report
Helpful
vipFCFoodie (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2016

Great Filet Mignon special. Take advantage of this great offer.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on January 9, 2016

A great find for a superior dinner out in WIlliamsburg. Within a modern mall area, the restaurant is a friendly, personal bistro of high caliber and quality and attention to detail in everything that is prepared. Staff is excellent, and expect to see the chef drop by. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7